# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Clark v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2209%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 818

## Text

: No.

| JUN 10 199%

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
|

IN THE

Supreme Couwt of the United States
Ortober Germ, 19590

DONALD E. CLARK
Petitioner,

v.

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER &
SMITH, INC., and WENDELL C. HOOVER
Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to
the Hnited States Court of Appeals
for the Hourth Circuit

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

DAVID KENT HIGGINS

ROBINSON & MCELWEE
P.O. Box 1791
Charleston, WV 25326
(304) 344-5800

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

‘—_—,

(1)

(2)

(i)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

DOES RESCISSION OF RULE 15C2-2 BY THE SEC
INVALIDATE AN AGREEMENT BETWEEN A
STOCKBROKER AND HIS CUSTOMER WHICH ExX-
PRESSLY PROVIDES THAT THE CUSTOMER’S
FEDERAL SECURITIES LAW CLAIMS MAY BE LIT-
IGATED RATHER THAN ARBITRATED?

FIVE CIRCUITS HAVE HELD THAT THE
CUSTOMER’S CONTRACT RIGHT TO LITIGATE
SECURITIES CLAIMS IS NOT AFFECTED BY RE-
SCISSION OF THE RULE. SHOULD A FOURTH
CIRCUIT DECISION TO THE CONTRARY NULLI-
FYING THE CUSTOMER’S CONTRACT RIGHT TO
LITIGATE BE PERMITTED TO STAND?

(ii)

LIST OF PARTIES BELOW

The Appellee in the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals
(Petitioner herein) was Donald E. Clark. Appellants in that
Court (Respondents herein) were Merrill Lynch, Pierce,
Fenner & Smith, Inc. and Wendell C. Hoover. There were no
other parties before the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals in this
matter.

(iii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Statutes and Regulations Involved ..................
Nee ck ccc cnccnsesccnccceccs

*

Te seu scccnuccecces

ererereeeeeree ee ee ee eee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeese

10

la

(iv)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page
Ballay v. Legg Mason Wood Walker, Inc., 878 F.2d
Fee es I aa ccnlekbicdeesecctescnatsances 4,5,7

Bird v. Shearson Lehman/American Express, Inc.,
871 F.2d 292 (2d Cir. 1989), vacated, US.
—__., 110 S.Ct. 225, 107 L.Ed.2d 177 (1989) ...... 5

Blue Gray Corps. I & I] v. Merri!l Lynch, Pierce,
Fenner & Smith, Inc., 921 F.2d 267 (11th
Se ede dura, Cod orer site e las cn ciéensees 5

Catholic Diocese of Brownsville, Texas v. A. G.
Edwards & Sons, Inc., 919 F.2d 1054 (Sth Cir.

PUL ReeuUNeL MUL CLL cenaakneiwebeabbusensc< 5,7,8
Giles yv. Blunt, Ellis & Loewi, Inc., 845 F.2d 131
CS nas wanGabekseucheecascesédnsss 5

Gooding v. Shearson Lehman Bros., Inc., 878 F.2d
en ct cic dGhediswisbennsesens

Jeske v. Brooks, 875 F.2d 71 (4th Cir. 1989) ........ 8,9

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon,
482 U.S. 220, 107 S.Ct. 2332, 96 L.Ed.2d 185

Neen Te ee sd ui seescee 6
Regulations and Releases
17 C.F.R. Part 240, 240.15c2-2 (rescinded
Ne cbedseneses 1,6,9

Securities Exchange Act Release No. 25034
RR ae an ae 1,6

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit (Record No. 90-2039) whose judgment is
herein sought to be reviewed, was decided and filed on
January 31, 1991. Said opinion has been published at 924
F.2d 550 (4th Cir. 1991). A copy of the opinion is reprinted in
the Appendix hereto, infra, page la. A Petition for Rehearing
was denied on March 22, 1991. A copy of the order denying
the Petition is reprinted in the Appendix hereto, injra,
page 13a. The Memorandum Opinion and Order of the trial
court entered February 9, 1988 and the Memorandum
Opinion and Order of the trial court entered May 27, 1988
(both of which rulings relate to the decision of the trial court
that the federal securities law claims may be litigated and need
not be arbitrated) are reprinted in the Appendix hereto, infra,
pages 14a and 24a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals was
entered on January 31, 1991. A timely Petition for Rehearing
was denied on March 22, 1991. The jurisdiction of this Court
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

No statutes are directly involved in this case. A Securities
Exchange Commission regulation is involved. That regulation
is Chapter Il, Title 17 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part
240—General Rules and Regulations, Securities Exchange Act
of 1934, § 240.15c2-2 commonly referred to as Rule 15c2-2.
(Appendix, infra, page 30a). In addition, Exchange Act
Release No. 25034 dated October 15, 1987, which rescinded
Rule 15c2-2 (Appendix, infra, page 31a), is involved in this
case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 7, 1986, Donald E. Clark (“Clark’’) instituted a

civil action in the United States District Court for the Southern
District of West Virginia against Merrill Lynch, Pierce,
Fenner & Smith, Inc. (“Merrill Lynch”) and Wendell C.
Hoover (“Hoover”) seeking to recover monetary damages
resulting from the mishandling of Clark’s brokerage accounts
by the defendants during 1985. The Complaint alleged that
the defendants had violated Rule 10b-5 promulgated under
Section 10b of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (Count J), i
the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Practices Act (Count II),
West Virginia securities laws (Count III), and a broker’s
common law duty of ordinary care and fiduciary duty to its
customer (Count IV). The Complaint also alleged a cause of
action for breach of contract (Count V) and a cause of action
for money due and owing (Count VI). Based upon the
applicable 1985 customer agreements between the parties, the
defendants moved for an order staying all further litigation and
requesting that all of Clark’s claims be sent to arbitration.

The District Court granted the defendants’ motion to
compel arbitration with regard to five of the six counts
contained in the Complaint. At the same time, the District
Court held that the federal securities law claims (Count I
should be litigated since the customer agreements expressly
contained language which excluded federal securities law
claims from the requirement that all other types of disputes
were to be arbitrated. Those claims were tried before a jury.
On September 1, 1989 the jury returned a verdict in favor of
Clark and against both Hoover and Merrill Lynch in the
amount of $1,683,170.00 plus interest.'

Respondents herein appealed to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit alleging, among other things,
that the trial court had committed error in refusing to compel
arbitration of the federal securities law claims. In its decision

a -

‘By agreement of the parties, the arbitration proceedings are being

stayed pending resolution of this litigation.

of January 31, 1991, the Fourth Circuit held that the federal
securities law claims should have been sent to arbitration by
the District Court for reasous stated in the opinion.
Accordingly, the Fourth Circuit vacated the jury award and
remanded the case to the trial court.

Clark filed a timely Petition for Rehearing with Suggestion
for Rehearing In Banc. In the Petition for Rehearing he
argued that the decision of the Fourth Circuit was in direct
conflict with the decisions of five other circuit courts that had
considered the issue, a point which the Fourth Circuit failed to
note in its January 31 opinion.

After a poll of the Court where three judges voted to rehear
the case in banc, the Fourth Circuit by majority vote denied
the rehearing in banc. The panel thereupon denied the
Petition for Rehearing without further comment.

JURISDICTION OF THE DISTRICT COURT

Subject matter jurisdiction in this case was conferred upun
the United States District Court by 28 U.S.C. § 1332, 28
U.S.C. § 1331, the principle of pendent jurisdiction and 18
U.S.C. § 1964(c).

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

I. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT IS IN DIRECT CONFLICT
WITH THE DECISIONS OF THE FIVE OTHER
CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS THAT HAVE
RULED ON THE SERIOUS ISSUE RAISED IN THIS
CASE. THE ANOMALOUS RULING OF THE
FOURTH CIRCUIT IS MISTAKEN AND SHOULD BE
REVERSED.

The applicable customer agreements between Clark and
Merrill Lynch were drafted by Merrill Lynch and state
expressly that Clark is not required to arbitrate claims and
disputes arising under the federal securities laws. Three of the

four customer agreements executed between Clark and Merrill
Lynch in 1985 contain the following language:

Except to the extent that controversies involving claims
arising under the Federal Securities laws may be
litigated ... any controversy between us ... shall be
settled by arbitration.

The fourth agreement also signed in 1985 contains this
language:

Although you have signed a customer agreement form
with MERRILL LYNCH that states you are required to
arbitrate any future dispute or controversy that may
arise between us, you are not required to arbitrate any
dispute or controversy that arises under the Federal
Securities laws but instead can resolve any such dispute
or controversy through litigation in the courts.

This language plainly excludes claims arising under federal
securities law from the scope of the arbitration agreement
between the parties. Such language is generally referred to as
“litigation language” or “exclusionary language.”

The Fourth Circuit refused to enforce the “litigation
language” contained in the customer agreements between
Clark and Merrill Lynch. It held that the ianguage constituted
““mere notice” of a right to litigate established by a Securities
and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) rule that was in effect at
the time the agreements were executed. The court apparently
took the view that the language did not mean what it says.
Thus, the court concluded that Clark’s contractual right to
litigate lapsed when the SEC unilaterally rescinded its rule in
1987.

The Fourth Circuit must have reviewed the decisions of five
other circuit courts that have considered this issue.
Inexplicably, however, its opinion failed to mention that those
courts have uniformly held that “litigation language” is nof
““mere notice” of a right to litigate but rather constitutes a
substantive and fully enforceable term of the contract between
the parties. See Ballay v. Legg Mason Wood Walker, Inc., 878

> --———

F.2d 729 (3d Cir. 1989); Catholic Diocese of Brownsville,
Texas v. A. G. Edwards & Sons, Inc., 919 F.2d 1054 (Sth Cir.
1990); Giles v. Blunt, Ellis & Loewi, Inc., 845 F.2d 131 (7th
Cir. 1988); Gooding v. Shearson Lehman Bros., Inc., 878 F.2d
281 (9th Cir. 1989); Blue Gray Corps. I & II v. Merrill Lynch,
Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 921 F.2d 267 (11th Cir. 1991).

In a decision that was reviewed by this Court on grounds
unrelated to the issue at hand, the Second Circuit did state in a
footnote its view that “litigation language” constituted only a
notice unenforceable as a contract provision between the
parties. Bird v. Shearson Lehman/American Express, Inc.,
871 F.2d 292, 295 N.5 (2d Cir. 1989), vacated US.
—__—. 110 S.Ct. 225, 107 L.Ed.2d 177 (1989). However, the
Second Circuit did not state its reasons for the footnoted
comment. Its decision was subsequently vacated by this Court
on other grounds.

In the Petition for Rehearing, Clark brought to the attention
of the Fourth Circuit that its decision was in direct conflict
with the rulings of the five other circuits that have resolved the
question. Nevertheless, without explanation the Fourth
Circuit refused to rehear the case. Clark is compelled therefore
to seek relief from this Court.

In its decision upholding the customer’s right to litigate, the
Third Circuit correctly observed that the matter at hand
“presents a question of considerable current interest in the
marketplace.” Ballay, 878 F.2d at 730. The integrity of
federal law with respect to brokerage and other financial
services agreements makes it imperative that this Court resolve
the serious conflict between the Fourth Circuit and five other
circuits. The Fourth Circuit should not be permitted to
maintain a rule that directly contradicts the law as
unanimously interpreted by the other circuits. Customers of
brokerage houses should not have materially different rights
depending only upon the circuit in which they reside.

Il. THE REASONING OF THE FIVE CIRCUITS THAT
HAVE HELD THAT THE “LITIGATION
LANGUAGE” CONSTITUTES AN ENFORCEABLE
CONTRACT TERM IS VASTLY SUPERIOR TO THE
REASONING OF THE FOURTH CIRCUIT.

Five circuits uphold the customer’s right to litigate federal
securities law claims under “litigation language” clauses
inserted in customer agreements prior to the rescission of Rule
15c2-2. The Fourth Circuit, however, adopts a contrary
rationale which has been specifically rejected by every other
circuit which has analyzed the issue.

In its decision, the Fourth Circuit began by observing that
the “litigation language” used by Merrill Lynch in its 1985
customer agreements with Clark was inserted as a response to
adoption by the SEC of Rule 15c2-2 in 1983. Under that rule,
the SEC announced that it would be a fraudulent,
manipulative or deceptive act or practice for a broker to enter
into an agreement with a public customer which purported to
bind the customer to the arbitration of future disputes between
the brokerage house and the customer which arose under the
federal securities laws. After this Court’s decision in
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220,
107 S.Ct. 2332, 96 L.Ed.2d 185 (1987), the SEC decided to
rescind its Rule. Exchange Act Release No. 25034
(October 15, 1987). (Appendix, infra, page 31a).

Unlike all other circuits which have fully addressed this
issue, the Fourth Circuit somehow has erroneously concluded
that recission of Rule 15c2-2 by the SEC also served to repeal
and void a contract right to litigate securities claims agreed to
by the parties. It translates the “‘litigation language” expressly
agreed upon into nothing more than “mere notice” of a right
which will continue only if the SEC does not decide to rescind
its rule.

The other circuits, however, have repeatedly refused to void
or re-write the contract between the parties mercly because the
SEC rescinded Rule 15c2-2. Those circuits have all held that

—————————wowowrer’

rescission of the rule had no effect whatsoever on the plain
language of the customer agreement. They have taken the
view that a broker’s rationale for including the “litigation
language”’ in the contract is irrelevant to the status of that
language as a substantive, enforceable contractual provision.
Several circuits have taken note of the fact that, as here,
“‘[t]here is no indication on the surface of the contract that the
parties intended this language to serve merely a notice
function. Indeed, the context in which the language is found
suggests the opposite.” Catholic Diocese, 919 F.2d at 1057.

The rationale of the five other circuits is expressed well in
the following lang-age of the Third Circuit:

... [W]e conclude that the unequivocal exclusionary
language in the plaintiffs’ arbitration agreements creates
a contractual right to litigate plaintiffs’ Securities Act
claims. The language admits of no justification for
looking beyond it to the regulatory history surrounding
its conclusion. In any event, even if we were to look at
the regulatory background we see no reason in it for
rejecting customers’ reasonable expectations. A
customer reading the exclusionary language would not
be expected to be aware of the regulatory background or
to understand that the language may become
meaningless with the winds of change in the law. Legg
Mason, [the defendant brokerage firm] if it truly did not
mean to be bound by the contractual language it drafted,
should have challenged Rule 15c2-2 or re-executed the
arbitration agreements in accordance with its intent after
recission of the Rule. It cannot now win relief from the
specific language of its own contract simply because it
claims not to have meant what it said.

Ballay, 878 F.2d at 734.

Nothing in the agreement between Clark and Merrill Lynch
indicates that Merrill Lynch did not intend to be bound by its
own language. No indication is given, though it easily could
have been, that this language was not to be interpreted as an
enforceable term of the contract. No hint is given that the
parties intended this language—which seems plainly to be an

enforceable contractual provision—to be interpreted as ““mere
notice” of a right derived solely from an SEC rule. Speaking of
the virtually identical agreement between the parties in
Catholic Riocese, the Fifth Circuit observed that the broker
“might have drafted an explicit notice provision, or it might
have drafted the exclusion so that it expired along with rule
15c2-2 and Wilko v. Swan, as other brokers did.” 919 F.2d at
1057. Thus, in the words of the Fifth Circuit, the language in
question “‘did more than give notice of the existing law: it
incorporated that law, without exception or qualification, into
the contract.”” Id.

Il. ONLY ONE RULE OF LAW SHOULD APPLY ON
THIS SUBJECT.

The Fourth Circuit stands in isolation against five other
circuits on a matter of significant procedural importance. The
issue of the enforceability of “litigation language”’ has arisen in
at least six circuits and affects the rights of public customers of
brokerage firms throughout America. It is likely to arise
elsewhere. Without action by this Court, customers of Merrill
Lynch and other brokerage houses having “litigation
language” in their contracts will be allowed to litigate federal
securities law claims in most jurisdictions but will be
compelled to arbitrate those claims in the states comprising
the Fourth Circuit and in other states if circuit courts that have
not ruled on the issue decide to follow the Fourth Circuit.
Such an imbalance can only be rectified by this Court. It is
submitted that only one rule of law should prevail.

IV. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT MISAPPLIES ITS OWN
PRECEDENTIAL AUTHORITY.

The Fourth Circuit relies upon its decision in Jeske v.
Brooks, 875 F.2d 71 (4th Cir. 1989). In Jeske, the court held
that the mere existence of Rule 15c2-2 as an administrative
regulation promulgated by the SEC did not confer upon a
public customer the substantive right to litigate federal
securities law claims when the customer agreement with the
brokerage firm clearly provided that all disputes would be

subject to binding arbitration. In other words, the contract
provision which required arbitration of all disputes should
prevail over the rule which required litigation of securities
claims. In Jeske Rule 15c2-2 was held to be totally ineffective
to modify the express agreement between the customer and his
broker.

In the case at hand, however, the Fourth Circuit failed to-
consider the following question: If the presence of the rule did
not affect the contract between the parties in Jeske, how can
the recission of the rule modify the contract in this case? If the
rule is ineffective for one purpose, it must be ruled ineffective
for the other.

Vv. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT DECISION IS AN
UNJUSTIFIED INTRUSION INTO THE RIGHT OF
PRIVATE CONTRACT.

The Fourth Circuit decision, if permitted to stand, will
invite citation as authority for the proposition that language in
a contract should be ignored by the courts whenever the
language in question was inserted in the contract in response to
an administrative rule which was subsequently withdrawn. In
this case, Merrill Lynch could have drafted its customer
agreements with Clark in such a manner that Merrill Lynch’s
willingness to litigate federal securities law claims would be
clearly conditioned upon the continued existence of the
regulation. The agreements in this case contain no such
condition. Nevertheless, the Fourth Circuit’s decision permits
Merrill Lynch to avoid its own contract language merely
because Rule 15c2-2 was rescinded. Such a result is wholly
inconsistent with a due regard for the integrity of private
contracts.

10

CONCLUSION

The Fourth Circuit has rendered a decision which is in
conflict with at least five other circuits. The decision by the
Fourth Circuit should be reviewed by this Court. Without
review by this Court, there will be a “split” in the circuits on
an important issue of federal law.

Respectfully submitted, |

DAVID KENT HIGGINS

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

E. GLENN ROBINSON
Robinson & McElwee

P.O. Box 1791

Charleston, WV 25326
Telephone: (304) 344-5800

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-2039

DONALD E. CLARK,
Plaintiff—Appellee,
versus

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH,
INCORPORATED, a New Jersey corporation;
WENDELL C. HOOVER
Defendants— Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of West Virginia, at Huntington.
Robert J. Staker, District Judge. (CA-86-879-3)

Argued: October 31, 1990 Decided: January 31, 1991

Before MURNAGHAN and NIEMEYER, Circuit
Judges, and YOUNG, Senior United States District
Judge for the District of Maryland, sitting by designation.

Vacated and remanded by published opinion. Judge
Murnaghan wrote the opinion, in which Judge Niemeyer
and Senior Judge Young joined.

ARGUED: Richard H. Sinkfield, ROGERS & HARDIN,
Atlanta, Georgia, for Appellants. E. Glenn Robinson,
ROBINSON & MCELWEE, Charleston, West Virginia,
for Appellee. ON BRIEF: Paul W. Stivers, James W.
Beverage, ROGERS & HARDIN, Atlanta, Georgia, for
Appellants. David K. Higgins, ROBINSON &
MCELWEE, Charleston, West Virginia, for Appellee.

2a

MURNAGHAN, Circuit Judge:

Appellee Donald Clark is a successful businessman who,
since 1981, had traded in securities markets through appellant
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith and its employee-
broker, appellant Wendell Hoover. In January of 1985, Clark
decided he needed a new investment strategy to meet cash flow
requirements and told Hoover that he was thinking of invest-
ing in municipal bonds. Hoover and Merrill Lynch options
specialist Richard Gordon convinced Clark instead to produce
income through a combination of premiums from covered op-
tions, dividends, interest, and gains from sales of stock,
assuring Clark that such a strategy would meet Clark’s
monthly cash flow requirements.

The strategy did not perform as expected. By December of
1985, despite repeated assurances by Hoover and Gordon that
his monthly income requirements were being met, Clark liqui-
dated his positions and invested in municipal and corporate
bonds.

Clark then brought suit in the United States District Court
for the Southern District of West Virginia, Charleston Divi-
sion, alleging state and federal securities fraud claims. The dis-
trict court (Staker, J.) referred all of the claims to arbitration
except the claim brought under Section 10(b) of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b), and Rule 10b-5,
17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5, thereunder. Merrill Lynch filed a mo-
tion to compel arbitration of that claim, and the motion was
denied.

After a trial on the Section 10(b) claim, the jury returned a
verdict in favor of Clark, awarding $1,683,170 in lost income,
the increased cost of purchasing the bond portfolio, and pre-
judgment interest. Merrill Lynch and Hoover appeal, claim-
ing that (1) the district court erred in refusing to compel arbi-
tration of Clark’s Section 10(b) claim; (2) Clark fa*!ed to prove
actionable fraud or fraud in connection with the purchase or
sale of a security under Section 10(b); (3) Clark failed to prove
damages; (4) the damages awarded constituted a double recov-
ery and were speculative; (5) the district court submitted erro-
neous jury instructions on scienter, damages, reliance, and de-
fenses to fraud; and (6) the district court abused its discretion
in denying Merrill Lynch’s and Hoover’s motion for a new

3a

trial. The paramount question confronting us is whether the
motion to compel arbitration of the Section 10(b) claim was
improperly denied.

I.

Donald Clark lived in Buckhannon, West Virginia, from
1963 until 1983; he started his own company there in 1963.
The company provided services to the oil and gas industry,
and Clark sold it to NL Industries, Inc. (“NL”) in April 1979.
Clark received over $9 million on the sale, including 300,000
shares of NL stock valued at $20 per share.

In 1981, Clark opened a brokerage account with Smith Bar-
ney, Harris, Upham & Company. Hoover was his broker
there, and when Hoover moved to Merrill Lynch shortly there-
after, Clark transferred his account. The account became
known as the “‘02” account.

Hoover also introduced Clark to Richard Gordon, manager
of Merrill Lynch’s Managed Options Service in New York.
Gordon specialized in options, specifically covered call writing.
Clark opened a second account with Merrill Lynch in New
York in February 1982 which Gordon managed and which be-
came known as the “01” account.

The covered call writing continued through 1981, 1982, and
1983. During that time and into 1984, Clark’s income fell by
roughly $500,000, and he became pressed for income to pay
his expenses. After examining his accounts’ performance and
concluding that the 02 account was not providing him with a
sufficient return, Clark told Hoover in September 1984 to stop
trading in options.

On January 16, 1985, Clark, Hoover, and Clark’s account-
ant, Don Nestor, met in Buckhannon. Clark was considering
investing in tax-free municipal bonds to produce the income
that he felt he needed and told Hoover so. Hoover told Clark
that he should consider another course, and recommended in-
come production through a combination of premiums from
covered options, dividends, interest, and gains from sales of
stock. Hoover emphasized that he believed such a program
could exceed the return on municipal bonds. After discussions
with Hoover, and after a subsequent telephone conference call

4a

with Hoover <4 Gordon in which Gordon said that he be-
lieved that Clark’s needs could be met through the recom-
mended strategy, Clark decided not to invest in municipal
bonds and to follow Hoover’s recommendation to restructure
the portfolio.

Clark kept the 01 account in New York with Gordon and
the 02 account in Huntington with Hoover and opened a new
“03” account in Huntington with proceeds from the sale of his
NL stock. Clark’s income goals or objectives were $5,500 per
month from the 01 account, $15,000 per month from the 02
account, and $25,000 per month from the 03 account, repre-
senting an annual return of approximately 12.7%.

As early as February or March 1985, the accounts were fail-
ing to meet their objectives. In April or May 1985, Clark
spoke with Hoover several times about Clark’s inability to
conclude from his account statements that his investment
objectives were being met. According to Hoover, Clark’s
objectives were being met and he so informed Clark although
that fact was not reflected in the monthly account statements.
To address Clark’s concerns, Hoover recommended transfer-
ring the 02 and 03 accounts from Huntington to New York.
The accounts wer¢ transferred in June 1985. Hoover contin-
ued to be in contact with Clark about his accounts, although
investment decisions thereafter were made through Gordon in
New York.

Clark, Nestor, Hoover and Gordon met on August 15,
1985, to review the accounts. At the meeting, Hoover again
assured Clark that his accounts were performing as they
should. By late October, however, Clark was again pointing
out to Hoover and Gordon that he was unable to see where his
accounts had earned more in income than he could see in his
monthly statements, and arranged a meeting in New York
with Gordon and with Nestor, accountant for Clark. Clark
and Gordon compared summaries of the accounts at the Octo-
ber 31, 1985, meeting, and Clark, not satisfied with the
amounts he had been receiving, stopped any new trading in the
accounts. On November 21, 1985, he directed Gordon to
close the accounts and liquidate the investments. By Decem-
ber 3, 1985, the liquidation was complete.

5a

Clark brought the present action in August 1986, alleging
that Merrill Lynch and Hoover had violated Section 10(b) of
the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and Rule 10b-5 thereun-
der. He also alleged that Merrill Lynch and Hoover had vio-
lated the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act
(“RICO”), 18 U.S.C. §§ 1962 and 1964, and were liable under
a number of state law claims. The district court referred all of
the state law claims to arbitration! but did not act to refer with
respect to the Section 10(b) and RICO claims.

Merrill Lynch and Hoover moved to compel arbitration of
the federal claims; the motion was granted as to the RICO
claim and denied as to the Section 10(b) claim. After trial, the
jury returned a verdict in favor of Clark, awarding $1,683,170
in lost income, the increased cost of purchasing the bond port-
folio, and prejudgment interest. Merrili Lynch and Hoover
filed a timely notice of appeal.

Il.

At the threshold we are confronted with two issues arising
from a dispute between the parties as to whether they contrac-
tually agreed to submit any claim, including a Section 10(b)
claim, to arbitration.

By memorandum opinion and order dated February 9,
1988, the district court ruled that Clark’s federal securities law
claim could be litigated and denied Merrill Lynch’s motion to
compel arbitration and to stay further court proceedings relat-
ing to that claim. A subsequent motion by Merrill Lynch for
reconsideration was denied on May 27, 1988. Merrill Lynch
now appeals the denial of the motion for reconsideration.

A. Effect of Waiving Interlocutory Appeal on Availability of
Appeal from Final Judgment

While conceding that the denial of Merrill Lynch’s motion
was subject to interlocutory appeal under 28 U-S.C.
§ 1292(a)(1), Clark contends that this court now lacks jurisdic-
tion to review the district court’s ruling on the issue, simply be-
cause the time within which to bring the interlocutory appeal

'! The arbitration proceedings have been suspended pending the out-
come of this appeal.

6a

has long since expired and that, in failing to bring an interlocu-
tory appeal, Merrill Lynch somehow waived its right to raise
the issue on appeal after final judgment. To rule otherwise,
continues Clark, would afford Merrill Lynch “‘a second bite at
the apple.”’ In support of his novel argument, Clark cites
Browder v. Director, Dept. of Corrections, 434 U.S. 257 (1978);
Washington v. Bumgarner, 882 F.2d 899 (4th Cir. 1989); and
Shah v. Hutto, 722 F.2d 1167 (4th Cir. 1983) (en banc).

The argument is utterly without merit. Shah and the other
cases Clark cites have nothing to do with the instant case; they
involve tardy appeals from final orders and final judgments.
Rather, 16 Wright, Miller, Cooper & Gressman, Federal Prac-
tice and Procedure § 3921 (1977) at 11, provides the proper
authority:

[A]lthough appeals are available under § 1292(a)(1) as a
matter of right, failure to take an available appeal does
not of itself waive the right to secure review, on appeal
from final judgment, of matters that could have been ap-
pealed but were not.

See, e.g., Drayer v. Krasner, 572 F.2d 348, 353 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 436 U.S. 948 (1978) (“failure to take an authorized
appeal from an interlocutory order [staying the action pending
arbitration] does not preclude raising the question on appeal
from the final judgment”). Hence, we clearly have jurisdiction
to consider an appeal from the final judgment of the district
court’s denial of Merrill Lynch’s motion to compel arbitration.

B. Agreement to Litigate Federal Securities Law Claims

Turning to the question of an agreement to litigate federal
securities claims, Merrill Lynch asserts that the language of the
arbitration clauses in all of the brokerage agreements entered
into with Clark require arbitration of all of Clark’s claims.
Thus, it continues, the district court erred in concluding that
the contradictory language of one particular agreement was
controlling and thus gave Clark the option of litigating his Sec-
tion 10(b) claim.

Between 1981 and 1985, Clark signed numerous brokerage
agreements containing three types of arbitration clauses. The
first of those three clauses appears in all of the agreements exe-
cuted prior to 1985—eight agreements in all—and provides

Ta

that “‘any controversy” between Clark and Merrill Lynch aris-
ing out of Clark’s transactions with Merrill Lynch or out of the
particular agreement itself shall be settled by arbitration.

The second arbitration clause, which appears in three other
agreements signed in the first half of 1985, provides:

Except to the extent that controversies involving
claims arising under the Federal securities laws may be
litigated .... any controversy between us... shall be set-
tled by arbitration.

The third type of arbitration clause, and the one to which
the district court ultimately looked in finding a contractual
agreement to litigate federal securities claims, appeared in a
single Managed Options Agreement signed by the parties on
June 24, 1985, and read as follows:

Although you have signed a customer agreement form
with MERRILL LYNCH that states that you are re-
quired to arbitrate any future dispute or controversy that
may arise between us, you are not required to arbitrate
any dispute or controversy that arises under the federal
securities laws but instead can resolve any such dispute
or controversy through litigation in the courts.

At the same time the Managed Options Agreement was exe-
cuted, the parties executed two Standard Options Agreements
containing the second type of arbitration clause discussed
above.? The two Standard Options Agreements also contained
a clause which purported to resolve conflicting language in
other brokerage agreements. The clause reads:

Any agreement by me with you, whether previously or
hereafter made applicable to any account of mine with
you, shall also apply to such option transactions except
to the extent which it conflicts with this agreement. In
the event of a conflict, this agreement shall control, and
where there is no conflict, each provision of each agree-
ment shall apply.

Merrill Lynch offers two arguments as to why the district court
erred in concluding that the language of the Managed Options
Agreement clause clearly and unambiguously shows that the
parties intended and agreed that Clark did not have to submit

2 Thus constituting two of the three agreements signed in the first half of
1985 which contained the second type of clause at issue.

8a

to arbitration—but rather could litigate—any claim arising out
of alleged violations of federal securities laws.

First, Merrill Lynch contends that, because of the conflict
resolution clauses in the Standard Options Agreements signed
the same day as the Managed Options Agreement, the arbitra-
tion clauses in the Standard Options Agreements—the second
type of clause discussed above—control and must be read in
connection with the arbitration clause in the Managed Options
Agreement. Thus, the argument continues, because the dis-
trict court concluded that the language of the second type of
clause requires arbitration of all claims, it erred in finding
otherwise under the Managed Options Agreement clause.

Second, Merrill Lynch urges that the language of the arbitra-
tion clause contained in the Managed Options Agreement is
simply a notice provision mandated by a now-rescinded SEC
rule, Rule 15c2-2, 17 C.F.R. § 240.15c2-2 (1987), and that as
such does not create any substantive right to litigate rather
than arbitrate a federal securities law claim. Therefore, claims
Merrill Lynch, the inclusion of the Rule’s language by Merrill
Lynch in any agreement with Clark should not be held to have
superseded and rendered void previous agreements to arbitrate
all disputes-—

As a preliminary proposition, we note that, in construing the
arbitration clauses of contracts, there exists a presumption in
favor of arbitrability. Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v. Mer-
cury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1 (1983); see also Mitsubishi Mo-
tors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614
(1985) (as with any other contract, parties’ intentions control,
but those intentions are generously construed as to issues of
arbitrability). The question, so reframed, is whether the lan-
guage of the agreements between Clark and Merrill Lynch is
sufficient to overcome the presumption of arbitrability in favor
of litigating the Section 10(b) claim.

We quickly dispose of Merrill Lynch’s first contention by
noting that the language of the arbitration clauses in the Stan-
dard Options Agreements was also added in response to the

3 Rule 15c2-2, entitled “Disclosure regarding recourse to the courts not-
withstanding arbitration clauses in broker-dealer customer agreements,”
provided, in pertinent part:

9a

notice provisions mandated by SEC Rule 15c2-2, an observa-
tion with which both the district court and Merrill Lynch
agree. See Clark v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,
CA-86-879-3 (S.D.W. Va. Feb. 9, 1988) (order granting in
part and denying in part the defendant’s motion to compel ar-
bitration and stay proceedings) at 6; Brief of Appellants at 24,
n.9. Thus, the arbitration clauses in the Standard Options
Agreements and the Managed Options Agreement, all execut-
ed together on June 24, 1985, are not in conflict at all, render-
ing immaterial the question of which arbitration clause con-
trols.

As noted earlier, however, the district court interpreted the
language of the arbitration clauses in the Managed Options
Agreement (the result of voluntary action) and the Standard
Options Agreement (included only because of Securities and
Exchange Commission mandate) differently. The court found
that the language of the arbitration clauses in the Standard Op-
tions Agreements “‘to be advice or notice to the customer that
the courts have held that claims involving the securities laws
are not subject to binding arbitration agreements (not an ex-
pression by Merrill Lynch of willingness to litigate),” an obvi-
ous reference to Rule 15c2-2. But in construing the arbitra-
tion clause contained in the Managed Options Agreement, the

(a) It shall be a fraudulent, manipulative or deceptive act or
practice for a broker or dealer to enter into an agreement with
any public customer which purports to bind the customer to
the arbitration of future disputes between them arising under
the Federal securities laws, or to have in effect such an agree-
ment, pursuant to which it effects transactions with or for a
customer.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this section, until De-
cember 31, 1984 a broker or dealer may use existing supplies
of customer agreement forms if all such agreements entered in-
to with public customers after December 28, 1983 are accom-
panied by the separate written disclosure:

Although you have signed a customer agreement
form with FIRM NAME that states that you are
required to arbitrate any future dispute or contro-
versy that may arise between us, you are not re-
quired to arbitrate any dispute or controversy that
arises under the Federal securities laws but instead
can resolve any such dispute or controversy
through litigation in the courts.

10a

court found that, because Rule 15c2-2 required the specific
notice provision contained in the Rule be included in broker-
age agreements only until December 31, 1984, the language of
the clause in the Managed Options Agreement, entered into by
Clark and Merrill Lynch on June 24, 1985 (i.e., well after De-
cember 31, 1984), had to be construed to have become, cha-
meleon-like, a voluntary agreement not to require arbitration.
In so construing the clause language, the court concluded that
the parties had agreed to litigate the Section 10(b) claim and
denied Merrill Lynch’s motion to compel arbitration. The
only remaining question, then, is which of the district court’s
interpretations of two similar clauses contained in three docu-
ments executed on the same day—June 24, 1985—is correct.

To answer that question, we need look no further than Judge
Murray’s well-reasoned opinion in Tauber v. Prudential-Bache
Securities, Inc. [Current Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep.
(CCH) 195,226 (D. Md. 1990). In Tauber, the district court
was confronted with facts virtually indistinguishable from the
instant case in ruling on the defendant broker’s motion to
compel arbitration. There the plaintiff had entered into a se-
ries of brokerage agreements from 1984 through 1986. The
agreements entered into in 1984, like all of agreements for
Clark’s 01 account and most of the agreements for his 02 ac-
count, contained arbitration clauses whereby the parties agreed
to submit a// claims to arbitration. The agreements entered in-
to in 1985 and 1986 contained arbitration clauses containing
language very similar to that contained in Clark’s Standard
Options Agreements signed on June 24, 1985. The Tauber
court also noted that it had been the defendant’s practice dur-
ing 1984 to provide clients with the same notice contained in
Clark’s Managed Options Agreement.

Like Clark, the plaintiff in Tauber argued that the litigation
language in the 1985 and 1986 agreements should be con-
strued not as mere notice but as creating a substantive right to
litigate federal securities law claims. The Tauber court began
its analysis by carefully examining (a) the Supreme Court case
law shaping Rule 15c2-2 from cradle to grave; see Wilko v.
Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953); Shearson/American Express Inc.
v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220 (1987); Rodriguez de Quijas v.
Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989);

lla

(b) other circuits’ construction of the Rule’s language as a sub-
stantive term of the contract or as mere notice; see, e.g., Ballay
v. Legg Mason Wood Walker, Inc., 878 F.2d 729 (3d Cir.
1989); Gooding v. Shearson Lehman Bros. Inc., 878 F.2d 281
(9th Cir. 1989); and (c) various courts’ attempts to draw dis-
tinctions between substantive and notice provisions by exam-
ining the precise language involved; see, e.g., Stander v. Finan-
cial Clearing & Services Corp., 718 F. Supp. 1204 (S.D.N.Y.
1989). The court then turned to a line of cases from this cir-
cuit which have consistently held that the Rule does not create
any substantive rights nor does “‘a party’s preference for litiga-
tion over arbitration ‘. . . rise to the level of a substantive
right.’ ”’ Jeske v. Brooks, 875 F.2d 71, 75 (4th Cir. 1989); see
also Ottenritter v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 727 F. Supp.
980 (D. Md. 1989); Fisher v. Prudential-Bache Securities Inc.,
635 F. Supp. 234 (D. Md. 1986); Shotto v. Laub, 632 F. Supp.
516 (D. Md. 1986). We are disinclined to depart from that
line of reasoning now.

Admittedly, Judge Murray’s opinion in Tauber did not ad-
dress the fact, present in Tauber, that the precise language set
forth in Rule 15c2-2(b), see n.3, supra, was only required to
appear in brokerage agreements until December 31, 1984.
But we think that here the district court below construed sub-
section (b) too broadly in concluding that Rule 15c2-2 must
not have required any type of notice after that date and so
must be deemed to have served a contractual purpose thereaf-
ter. Subsection (b) merely provided a grace period within
which brokers were permitted to use preexisting brokerage
forms. The obvious implication of such a provision is that af-
ter December 31, 1984, brokers should print new forms con-
forming to the requirements of the Rule if they meant to stay
up to date, not that notice language was no longer required,
and so the language had to become contractual in nature.

Had the parties entered into brokerage agreements contain-
ing the Rule’s notice provisions after the Rule had been re-
scinded in 1987, see Sec. Exch. Act Rel. No. 25034, [1987
Transfer Binder], Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) 9 84,163, 52 Fed.
Reg. 39, 271 (Oct. 15, 1987), the district court’s reasoning
would have far more force. Here, however, the agreements
were entered into while the Rule was still in effect, rendering

12a

Jeske, Ottenritter, and Fischer fully applicable. Obviously, the
Tauber court reached the same conclusion.

We thus hold that the litigation language contained in the
arbitration clauses of the Standard Options Agreements and
the Managed Options Agreement entered into by Clark and
Merrill Lynch on June 24, 1985, were notice provisions only
and did not create a substantive right to litigate federal securi-
ties law claims. Like the court in Tauber, we find additional
support for that conclusion by noting the parties’ prior course
of conduct in agreeing, in at least eight brokerage agreements
entered into between 1981 and 1985, to submit all claims to
arbitration, including-federal securities law claims.4 There is
nothing in the record to indicate that Clark at any time bar-
gained for an agreement to the contrary.‘

The district court erred, therefore, in construing the arbitra-
tion clause of the Managed Options Agreement as an agree-
ment between the parties to litigate federal securities law
claims and in denying Merrill Lynch’s motion to compel arbi-
tration of Clark’s Section 10(b) claim. Accordingly, we vacate
the judgment of the district court and remand the case to the
district court with instructions to compel arbitration of the
Section 10(b) claim.

VACATED AND REMANDED

4 Of course, those agreements entered into while Rule 15c2-2 was in
effect were nonetheless enforceable. Fisher, 635 F. Supp. at 236.

5 Indeed, Clark testified at trial that he did not read his brokerage agree-
ments with Merrill Lynch.

13a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-2039

DONALD E. CLARK
Plaintiff— Appellee
v.

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH,
INCORPORATED, a New Jersey corporation;
WENDELL C. HOOVER
Defendants — Appellants

On Petition for Rehearing with Suggestion for Rehearing
In Banc

The appellee’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for re-
hearing in banc were submitted to the Court. In a requested
poll of the Court, Judges Widener, Hall and Sprouse voted to
rehear the case in banc; and Judges Ervin, Russell, Phillips,
Murnaghan, Chapman, Wilkinson, Wilkins, and Niemeyer
voted against rehearing the case in banc. As a majority of the
judges voted to deny rehearing in banc, and

As the panel considered the petition for rehearing and is of
the opinion that it should be denied,

IT IS ADJUDGED AND ORDERED that the petition for
rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in banc is denied.
Judge Widener would favor granting rehearing.

Entered at the direction of Judge Murnaghan.

For the Court,

CLERK

l4a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA
AT HUNTINGTON

CIVIL ACTION
NO. 3:86-0879

DONALD E. CLARK,

Plaintiff,
v.

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH,
INC.; and WENDELL C. HOOVER,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Before the court is the defendants’ motion to compel arbi-
tration of plaintiff's claims alleging violations of § 10b of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C.A. § 78j(b) (West
1981), and Rule 10b-5 of the Securities and Exchange Com-
mission, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1986), (hereinafter “securities
law claim”’) and of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Or-
ganizations Act, 18 U.S.C.A. §§ 1962 and 1964 (West 1984),
(hereinafter ““RICO”’) and to stay the proceedings in this court.
This court, by memorandum opinion and order entered
March 18, 1987, previously had ordered arbitration of the
other claims asserted by the plaintiff against the defendants.
However, we stayed ruling on the motion to arbitrate the
securities law and RICO claims pending the Supreme Court’s
decision in Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon,
No. 86-44, cert. granted, __._ U.S. : ar

15a

L.Ed.2d 20 (1986). Inasmuch as the Supreme Court has ren-
dered its decision, Shearson/American Express, Inc. vy.
McMahon, 482 U.S. , 107 S.Ct. 2332, 96 L.Ed.2d 185
(1987), and the parties have fully briefed its effect on the case
sub judice, the motion is now ripe for decision.

When ruling on a motion to compel arbitration, this court
must first determine whether the parties agreed to abritrate the
dispute in question. Mitsubishi Motors Corp. vy. Soler
Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 626 (1985). Second,
we must determine whether the dispute is in fact one that may
be submitted to arbitration. Mayaja, Inc. v. Bodkin, 803 F.2d
157. 160 (Sth Cir. 1986), vacated ___. U.S. ___., 107 S.Ct.
3205, 96 L.Ed.2d 692 (1987); Creative Securities Corp. v. Bear
Stearns & Co., 671 F.Supp. 961, 965 (S.D.N.Y. 1987); Hail v.
Prudential-Bache Securities, Inc., 662 F.Supp. 468, 470
(C.D.Cal. 1987). The Supreme Court in the McMahon case
supra, has determined that claims alleging violations of the
securities laws and of RICO, such as those set forth in the com-
plaint in this present action, are arbitrable. Therefore the only
issue that this court must decide is whether the parties agreed
to submit such claims to arbitration.'!

1 The defendants, in their supplemental memorandum of law of
June 29, 1987, at 3, state that the court has already ruled in our memoran-
dum opinion and order of March 18, 1987, that the parties have agreed to
arbitrate these claims. While we perceive that the language in the first full
paragraph on page 3 of that opinion might be interpreted as so holding,
that was not the court’s intention. Furthermore, inasmuch as the court did
not have before it at that time all the documents relating to the agreements
between the parties, see Stipulations of Fact of Counsel, Court Document
19, the court would not consider any such ruling, if one had been made,
binding on us so as to be the law of the case.

16a

The resolution of this issue is complicated by the fact that
apparently the plaintiff had more than one account with the
defendant Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.? (here-
inafter ‘Merrill Lynch”) and that he signed numerous docu-
ments or agreements related to these accounts.? Furthermore,
many of these documents contained provisions regarding arbi-
tration of disputes between the parties thereto. The last such
agreement, a Managed Options Client Agreement, was
executed in June, 1985, and contained the following clause:

8. Arbitration Clause. Although you have signed a cus-
tomer agreement form with MERRILL LYNCH
that states that you are required to arbitrate any fu-
ture dispute or controversy that may arise between
us, you are not required to arbitrate any dispute or
controversy that arises under the federal securities
laws but instead can resolve any such dispute or
controversy through litigation in the courts.

2 The plaintiff alleges in his complaint that he had three separate ac-
counts with Merrill Lynch, the first one, Account Number 301-67101, sub-
sequently renumbered 301-96101, (hereinafter “the 01 Account”), estab-
lished on September 1, 1981; the second one, Account Number 671-
96169, subsequently renumbered 301-96002 (hereinafter “the 02 Ac-
count”), established sometime thereafter; the third one, Account Number
671-16280, subsequently renumbered 671-96172 and then 301-96003
(hereinafter “the 03 Account”), established on January 21, 1985. The de-
fendants admit in their answer the existence of the first two accounts but
deny the existence of the third.

The court, in an order entered on September 3, 1987, Court Document
18, acting on the assumption that there were in fact three separate ac-
counts, asked the parties to stipulate as to the complete contract applicable
to each account. Counsel for the parties submitted a stipulation in re-
sponse to the order. Court Document 19. However, in an oblique effort to
avoid conceding exactly how many accounts did exist, counsel merely stip-
ulated that the documents submitted were those executed by the plaintiff
and Merrill Lynch without specifying which documents applied to which
account. Because the documents submitted establish the existence of at
least account numbers 301-67101, 671-96169, 301-96002, and 301-96003,
the court will assume for purposes of deciding this motion that the plaintiff
had three separate accounts with Merrill Lynch.

3 See n.2 supra. The court notes in passing that certain documents pre-
viously submitted to the court as being copies of agreements entered into
by the parties were not included in the stipulation.

17a

Exhibit A to Stipulation of Counsel, Court Document 19.
Plaintiff contends that this agreement is the contract control-
ling the entire relationship between himself and Merrill Lynch
and therefore applies to a dispute involving any account he has
with Merrill Lynch. In the alternative, he argues that if that
client agreement does not in and of itself govern all the ac-
counts it was made applicable thereto by a clause in an option
agreement executed contemporaneously with the Customer
Agreement. Exhibit B to Stipulation of Counsel. That clause
states:
11. Any agreement by me with you, whether previ-

ously or hereafter made applicable to any account

of mine with you, shall also apply to such option

transactions except to the extent which it conflicts

with this agreement. In the event of a conflict,

this agreement shall control, and where there is

no conflict, each provision of each agreement

shall apply.

Id. He contends that by reading these two documents together
paragraph 8 of Exhibit B makes paragraph 11 of Exhibit A
controlling as to any other contract between the parties if there
should be a conflict between the arbitration clauses of the two
contracts. It appears that the defendants also assume that the
arbitration clause cited supra is applicable to all accounts in-
volved although they contest the effect of the conflicts clause of
Exiibit B. Their disagreement with the plaintiff is about the
interp*tation of the arbitration clause.

Although the court has some question as to the applicability
of the Managed Options Client Agreement to the three ac-
counts, given the fact that it contains only the account number
of the 03 Account and has no statement of general application,
as do the Customer Agreements, Exhibit P, para. 12 & Exhibit
Q, para. 17, we will assume for the sake of deciding this mo-
tion that it does apply to all three accounts. However, Exhib-
it A is not the only document that we must review in order to
determine whether the parties did or did not agree to arbitrate
the securities law and RICO claims. In determining the extent
of the parties’ agreement to arbitrate, any doubts must be re-
solved in favor of arbitration. Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler
Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 626 (1985); S. A.
Mineracao Da Trindade—Samitri v. Utah International, Inc.,

18a

745 F.2d 190, 194 (2d Cir. 1984); Hall v. Prudential-Bache
Securities, Inc., 662 F.Supp. 468, 470 (C.D.Cal. 1987).

We will start with the documents, other than Exhibit A, that
have general application to all the accounts—the Customer
Agreements. In Exhibit P, which was executed on Septem-
ber 1, 1981, the plaintiff and Merrill Lynch‘ “agreed that any
controversy between us arising out of your business or this
agreement shall be submitted to arbitration... .” This is a
broad statement without any reservations or exclusions and we
believe that it is unnecessary to cite any case law to support the
finding that the securities law and RICO claims would be en-
compassed thereunder.

The arbitration clause in the other Customer Agreement,
Exhibit Q,5 states that “‘[e]xcept to the extent that controver-
sies involving claims arising under the Federal securities laws
may be litigated, it is agreed that any controversy between us
arising out of your business or this agreement shall be submit-
ted to arbitration. ...”’ Jd., para. 13. Plaintiff has argued that,
irrespective of the meaning and effect of Exhibit A, the open-
ing clause of that quoted sentence excludes any claim it has as-
serted in Count I from arbitration because such claim involves
controversies arising under the federal securities laws.
However, we interpret that language to be advice or notice to
the customer that the courts have held that claims involving
the securities laws are not subject to binding arbitration agree-
ments. Therefore, if the customer’s dispute with his broker in-
volves such a claim, he does not have to submit the claim to
arbitration but may litigate it in court instead. See Girard vy.
Drexel Burnham Lambert, Inc., 805 F.2d 607, 609-10 (Sth
Cir. 1986); Austad v. Drexel Burnham Lambert, Inc., 638
F.Supp. 480, 483-84 (N.D.ILL. 1986); Chandler v. Drexel
Burnham Lambert, Inc., 633 F.Supp. 760, 762-63 (N.D.Ga.
1985); Shotto v. Laub, 632 F.Supp. 516, 523 (D.Md. 1986);
West v. Drexel Burnham Lambert, Inc., 623 F.Supp. 26, 26-27

4 Although the defendant Hoover was not a signatory to any of the doc-
uments involved he is covered by any arbitration agreement, Creative Se-
curities Corp. v. Bear Stearn & Co., 671 F.Supp. 961, 968 n. 11 (S.D.N.Y
1987); therefore, we will refer to the signatories hereafter as “the parties”.

5 Although this agreement is undated, we will assume for the sake of de-
ciding this motion that it was executed after and would modify Exhibit P.

19a

(W.D.Wash. 1985); Finkle & Ross v. A. G. Becker Paribas,
Inc., 622 F.Supp. 1505, 1509-10 (S.D.N.Y. 1985). Contra
Scharp v. Cralin & Co., 617 F.Supp. 476, 479-80 (S.D.Fla.
1985). However, it does not exclude from the agreement
securities law claims which may be subject to arbitration. In-
asmuch as the Supreme Court has held that securities law
claims such as alleged herein may be arbitrated and are subject
to an agreement to arbitrate, Shearson/American Express, Inc.
v. McMahon, supra, that advice in the opening clause has no
bearing here. That clause does not exclude Count I from
arbitration.

We will now look at the documents related to the individual
accounts, beginning with the 01 Account. Exhibits G, H, K, L
and M all have broad arbitration clauses calling for arbitration
of “‘any controversy”’ arising out of the agreement. These are
similar to the arbitration clause in Exhibit P and likewise
would include plaintiff's securities law claim. The documents
submitted related specifically to the 02 Account are Exhibits C
and O; both are what plaintiff refers to as Standard Option
Agreements. The arbitration clause in Exhibit O, the older of
the two in time of signing, calls for arbitration of “‘[a]Jny con-
troversy between us arising out of such option transaction or
this agreement. ...” Again this language is to the same effect
as that in Exhibit P and our previous ruling as to its scope ap-
plies to Exhibit O. Exhibit C’s arbitration clause is very simi-
lar to Exhibit Q’s and the court’s ruling as to its effect applies
equally to Exhibit C.

With regard to the 03 Account, besides Exhibit Q—the Cus-
tomer Agreement—which we have interpreted previously, the
only documents applicable are Exhibits A and B. Since
Exhibit A is the Managed Options Client Agreement, which is
keystone of plaintiff's argument, we will leave it for separate
treatment. Exhibit B is another Standard Option Agreement
with an arbitration agreement identical to Exhibit C. The
opening clause thereof is identical to the beginning clause in
the arbitration agreement in Exhibit Q. Consequently, the rea-
soning applied and ruling made regarding Exhibit Q are also
applicable to Exhibit B as though repeated verbatim.

The parties have not advised us as to which account
Exhibit F applies and the plaintiff denies the authenticity of

20a

Exhibit D. However, their arbitration provisions are no differ-
ent than those previously discussed. They therefore do not
alter the court’s determination that, without considering
Exhibit A, under the other contracts or agreements entered in-
to by the parties the plaintiff has agreed to submit all disputes,
including his securities law claims, to arbitration.

This brings us to Exhibit A, the Managed Options Client
Agreement, which contains the heart of plaintiff's argument
against arbitration. Paragraph 11, the arbitration clause,
states:

Although you have signed a customer agreement form
with MERRILL LYNCH that states that you are re-
quired to arbitrate any future dispute or controversy that
may arise between us, you are not required to arbitrate
any dispute or controversy that arises under the federal
securities laws but instead can resolve any such dispute
or controversy through litigation in the courts.

Plaintiff contends that this language clearly and unambigu-
ously shows that the parties intended and agreed that he did
not have to submit to arbitration any claim arising out of al-
leged violations of securities laws. Instead, they agreed that he
could litigate such claim in court. Defendants, on the other
hand, contend that this provision was included only because it
was required by the Securities and Exchange Commission
(hereinafter “‘SEC’’). 17 C.F.R. § 240.15c-2-2 (1987). It is
their position that the SEC required brokers to send the notice
in paragraph 11 in order to notify customers that courts had
held that securities law disputes were not subject to arbitration
and that consequently agreements between brokers and cus-
tomers binding them to arbitrate such disputes were not en-
forceable. However, since the Supreme Court has now held in
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, supra, that
such disputes are arbitrable and that agreements to arbitrate
them are enforceable, the notice required by the SEC was erro-
neous; therefore, its inclusion by Merrill Lynch in any agree-
ment with plaintiff should not be held to have superseded and
rendered void previous agreements to arbitrate all disputes.

The court notes that the arbitration clause in Exhibit A is
verbatim the language of the notice the SEC required brokers
to send to customers who had established accounts before

2la

December 28, 1983. 17 C.F.R. § 240.15c2-2(b)(1987). How-
ever, the use of this specific language was mandated only as ac-
companiment to customer agreement forms preexisting the
regulation and then only until December 31, 1984. The Man-
aged Options Client Agreement between the parties evidenced
by Exhibit A was entered into in June, 1985. This court finds
therefore that the arbitration clause in Exhibit A was not in-
cluded because of the SEC regulation set out in 17 C.F.R.
§ 240.15c2-2. Consequently, that clause should be interpreted
on its own merits according to the usual rules of construction
of contracts.

Paragraph 11 clearly states that the customer is “not re-
quired to arbitrate any dispute or controversy that arises under
the federal securities laws but instead can resolve any such dis-
pute or controversy through litigation in the courts.”
Exhibit A. This court finds this language clear and unambigu-
ous. The parties expressly agreed that the customer—plaintiff
herein—had the right to litigate disputes between them involv-
ing federal securities law issues. See Hammerman y. Peacock,
No. 84-2724 (D.D.C. Juiy 31, 1985) (available on
WESTLAW, DCTU database). Since the parties to this action
have represented to the court that this arbitration clause ap-
plies to and governs ail the accounts that the plaintiff had with
Merrill Lynch, see supra at 4-5, this court finds that the claim
asserted in Count I of the complaint is not required to be sub-
mitted to arbitration but may be litigated in this court.

Plaintiff contends that this same result should also apply to
RICO claim alleged in Count II of his complaint. It is his posi-
tion that since the predicate acts, 18 U.S.C.A. § 1961(a)(West
Supp. 1986), for this claim involve violations of federal securi-
ties laws the RICO claim itself “‘arises under the federal securi-
ties laws”, Exhibit A para. 11, and consequently is also
excluded from arbitration by the parties’ agreement.

Prior to the Supreme Court’s decision in Shearson/
American Express, Inc. vy. McMahon, supra, several courts
held that RICO claims founded on predicate acts involving
violations of securities laws were excluded from arbitration.
Tashea v. Bache, Halsey, Stuart, Shields, Inc., 802 F.2d 1337
(11th Cir. 1986) (per curiam); Jacobson v. Merrill Lynch,
Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 797 F.2d 1197, 1202-03 (3rd

22a

Cir. 1986). vacated __. U.S. —___, 107 S.Ct. 3204, 96
L.Ed.2d 691 (1987); Romyn v. Shearson Lehman Brothers,
Inc., 648 F.Supp. 626, 630-32 (D.Utah 1986). This was done
in order to avoid an inconsistency between the handling of
securities law claims and RICO claims which involved allega-
tions of violations of the same laws. Jd. This is analogous to
plaintiff's argument that nis RICO claim “arises under” the se-
curities laws because the predicate acts therefor involve such
laws.

However, some of the ground for this analogy has been cut
from under plaintiff by the Supreme Court’s holdings in
Shearson/American Express, Inc. that securities law and RICO
claims such as those asserted herein are in fact arbitrable.
More importantly for our purposes, we agree with the dissent
in Jacobson that a RICO claim is separate and distinct from
the violations which constitute the predicate acts. 797 F.2d
1197, 1209; accord, Mayaja, Inc. v. Bodkin, 803 F.2d 157,
162 n.6 (Sth Cir. 1986), vacated » CE cnt, SOT GX.
3205, 96 L.Ed. 2d 692 (1987); Hall v. Prudentiail-Bache
Securities, Inc., 662 F.Supp. 468, 472-74 (C.D.Cal. 1987).
Therefore, the question of the arbitrability of the RICO claim
and of the predicate acts must be considered separately. Jd.
This court believes the same reasoning should be used in deter-
mining whether an arbitration agreement covers RICO claims.
Inasmuch as the RICO claim is separate from the security law
claim and inasmuch as we are to resolve doubts as to the scope
of arbitration agreements in favor of arbitration, see Moses H.
Cone Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Construction Corp., 460
U.S. 1, 24-25 (1983), we find that the RICO claim involved
herein does not “arise under the federal securities laws’’.
Therefore, it is not encompassed by the arbitration clause of
Exhibit A; instead it is covered by the earlier agreements be-
tween the parties and must be submitted to arbitration. Al-
though this may result in piecemeal litigation of plaintiffs
claims, that is not a reason to deny enforcement of the parties’
agreement to arbitrate. See Dean Witter Reynolds Inc. v. Byrd,
470 U.S. 213, 216-21 (1985).

The defendants have also asked that the proceedings regard-
ing any claims which are not ordered to arbitration be stayed
pending resolution of the arbitration of the other claims. We

23a

do not believe that such a stay is necessary. Dean Witter
Reynolds Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. at 221-24.

The court’s rulings in this opinion also apply to plaintiff's
claims against the defendant Hoover. Letizia v. Prudential
Bache Securities, 802 F.2d 1185, 1187-88 (9th Cir. 1986).

For the feasons stated in this memorandum opinion, it is
ORDERED that:

The defendants’ motion to compel arbitration of Count I of
the complaint be, and the same hereby is, OVERRULED and
DENIED;

The defendants’ motion to stay all proceedings in this court
concerning Count I of the complaint be, and the same hereby
is, OVERRULED and DENIED:

The defendants’ motion to compel arbitration of Count II of
the complaint and to stay all proceedings in this court concern-
ing Count II be, and the same hereby is, SUSTAINED and
GRANTED.

The clerk of the court is directed to mail a certified copy of
this order to all counsel of record.

ENTER:

ROBERT J. STAKER
United States District Judge

24a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA
AT HUNTINGTON

CIVIL ACTION
NO. 3:86-0879

DONALD E. CLARK,
Plaintiff,
v.

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER &
SMITH, INC. and WENDELL C. HOOVER,
Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

The parties have filed motions requesting the court to recon-
sider our order of February 9, 1988. The defendants ask the
court to reverse our ruling denying their motion to compel ar-
bitration of and to stay all proceedings in this court with regard
to Count I of the complaint. The plaintiff takes issue with our
ruling granting the motion to compel arbitration of and a stay
with regard to Count II of the complaint. Inasmuch as the
plaintiff has not presented any argument or law in addition to
that already presented to and considered by the court in our
previous ruling, the plaintiffs motion for reconsideration will
be denied without further discussion.

In the defendants’ motion, they object to the court’s ruling
that none of plaintiff's securities law claims that he had raised
regarding any of the accounts he had established with the de-
fendant Merrill Lynch had to be submitted to arbitration. The
court had based this ruling on the arbitration clause contained
in a Managed Options Client Agreement entered into by the
parties on June 25, 1988. Exhibit A to Stipulations of Fact,
Court Document Number 19. We found that the parties had
clearly agreed therein to exclude from arbitration any dispute
the plaintiff had which involved the federal securities law.

25a

Memorandum Opinion and Order of February 9, 1988, Court
Document Number 20, at 8-10. We held that that arbitration
clause applied to all the accounts plaintiff had with Merrill
Lynch based upon our understanding that all the parties had
represented to the court, at least implicitly, that the arbitration
clause was so applicable. Jd. at 4-5, 10.

The defendants now emphatically deny that they agree, or
have ever agreed, that the arbitration clause found in the Man-
aged Options Client Agreement, Exhibit A, is applicable to
any account plaintiff had with Merrill Lynch other than the
option account which was established when that agreement
was signed. Defendants’ Motion for Reconsideration, Court
Document Number 21, at 3-4. They dispute plaintiff's con-
tention that the aforesaid arbitration clause was made applica-
ble to previous agreements between the parties and thus to
other accounts by a conflicts clause contained in paragraph 8
of Exhibit B to the Stipulation. Jd. at 4. Instead, it is their
position that the other accounts are governed by contracts in
which the parties agreed to arbitrate all disputes. Jd. at 4-5.
Consequently, the defendants ask the court to amend our pre-
vious ruling and to order to arbitration all of the accounts the
plaintiff had with Merrill Lynch except for the option account
established in June, 1985.

Upon rereading the prior memorandum of law referred to in
the defendants’ motion for reconsideration, it now appears to
the court that our understanding that the defendants agreed
that the arbitration clause set forth in Exhibit A was applicable
to all accounts involved in this litigation was erroneous. In de-
fense of our reaching this mistaken impression we would point
out that the positions taken by the parties, and some of their
representations to the court, see Memorandum Opinion of
February 9, at 3 n.3, have shifted as these proceedings have
progressed. Furthermore, the parties have been less than
forthright with the court in our attempts to determine how
many accounts the plaintiff had with Merrill Lynch and the
documents or contracts applicable to each accourt. Jd. at 3
n.2; see Stipulations of Fact, Court Document Number 19;

26a

Court’s Order of September 3, 1987, Court Document Num-
ber 18. Be that as it may, we will reconsider our previous rul-
ing regarding the arbitrability of Count I of the complaint in
light of the defendants’ present position on the issue.

In our Memorandum Opinion of February 9, the court as-
sumed, based on what it could determine from the parties’ rep-
resentations, that the plaintiff had three separate accounts with
Merrill Lynch. Jd. at 3 n.2. This assumption is not now called
into question by any of the parties. We also held that two
agreements executed by the plaintiff and Merrill Lynch, the
Customer Agreements, Exhibits P and Q, were applicable to
all three accounts. Memorandum Opinion at 5-6. No party
contests that. However, in order to forestall any dispute on
this point we wish to make clear that that particular ruling was
not based upon any assumption on our part or any perceived
representation by the parties. Instead, each Customer Agree-
ment clearly states that “[t]his agreement. . . shall cover indi-
vidually and collectively all accounts which the undersigned
[customer] may open or reopen with [Merrill Lynch]... .”
Stipulations of Fact, Exhibit P para. 12; Exhibit Q para. 17.
We further held that the other relevant documents submitted
as exhibits to the stipulation, other than Exhibit A, were appli-
cable only to individual accounts. Memorandum Opinion at
5, 7-8. (This finding did not include Exhibits F and D for
which we could not make a determination of applicability.)
We then determined that the arbitration clauses found in Ex-
hibits P and Q would require submission to arbitration of all
disputes, including claims of securities law violations. Further-
more, the arbitration clauses contained in the documents ap-
plicable to individual accounts were to the same effect; conse-
quently they did not alter the scope of the arbitration clauses
in the Customer Agreements. Memorandum Opinion at 5-8.
No one has taken issue with these determinations insofar as
they are concerned with the securities law claims.

The court then determined that the arbitration clause in Ex-
hibit A allowed a customer to litigate, rather than arbitrate, a
dispute with Merrill Lynch which involved federal securities
law. Id. at 8-10. The defendants do not challenge that ruling
in their present motion. What they take issue with is the

27a

court’s decision that that clause applied to all plaintiff's ac-
counts with Merrill Lynch. It is their position that this clause
did not alter or amend previous arbitration agreements entered
into by the parties. Instead they contend that the arbitration
provision of Exhibit A applies only to the account established
by that agreement. It is also possible to interpret their memo-
randum of law of June 29, 1987, as asserting the argument
that arbitration agreements cannot be amended.

“[T]he first task of a court asked to compel arbitration of a
dispute is to determine whether the parties agreed to arbitrate
that dispute.” Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-
Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 626 (1985). That is a question
of what the parties contracted. Davis v. Chevy Chase Finan-
cial Lid., 667 F.2d 160, 165 (D.C. Cir. 1981); see eg,
Janmort Leasing, Inc. v. Econo-Car International, Inc., 475
F.Supp. 1282, 1288 (E.D.N.Y. 1979); Midland Tar Distillers,
Inc. v. M/T Lotos, 362 F.Supp. 1311, 1312-13 (S.D.N.Y.
1973). A party cannot be compelled to arbitrate an issue he
did not agree to submit to arbitration. Davis, supra. A court
is to make the determination of arbitrability by applying
federal substantive law. Mitsubishi Motors Corp., supra. Fed-
eral law counsels that “‘any doubts concerning the scope of ar-
bitrable issues should be resolved in favor of arbitration... .”
Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Construction
Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24-25 (1983) (footnote with citations omit-
ted). State law is applicable only insofar as it concerns general
contract law. Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S. : , 107
S.Ct. 2 , 96 L.Ed.2d 426, 437 n.9 (1987).

Agreements to submit disputes to arbitration may be
amended or modified the same as any other contract.
5 Am.Jur.2d Arbitration and Award § 35 (1962); see S.A.
Mineracao Da Trindade-Samitri v. Utah International, Inc.,
745 F.2d 190, 195-96 (2d Cir. 1984); Employees Protective
Ass'n v. Norfolk & Western Railway, 571 F.2d 185, 192 (4th
Cir. 1977); Creative Securities Corp. v. Bear Stearns & Co.,
671 F.Supp. 961, 967 (S.D.N.Y. 1987). Modification of a
contract requires the assent of the parties, 17 Am.Jur.2d Con-
tracts § 465 (1964); it must be supported by consideration, id.
§ 469; and ordinarily it must be in writing if the contract being
modified is in writing. Id. § 466.

28a

Exhibit A, which contains the arbitration clause in question,
is a contract between the parties entered into when the plaintiff
opened a new account with Merrill Lynch. This is according
to the defendants’ own representations to the court. It seems
clear, therefore, that the defendants assented to the arbitration
clause and that it was supported by consideration—the open-
ing of the new account. The question is did the arbitration
clause amend earlier arbitration agreements entered into by
the parties. The court in the Memorandum Opinion of Febru-
ary 9 stated that we had reservations about the applicability of
Exhibit A to all the accounts involved herein. We now recog-
nize that our reasoning behind that expression of doubt was er-
roneous insofar as it applied to the arbitration clause therein
and consequently retract that statement.

The arbitration clause in Exhibit A expressly refers to the
Customer Agreement between the parties and the scope of the
arbitration agreement contained in the Agreement. It also
clearly amends the scope of the parties’ agreement to arbitrate
contained in the Customer Agreement by excluding therefrom
“‘any dispute or controversy that arises under the federal secur-
ities laws....”’ Stipulations of Fact, Court Document Num-
ber 19, Exhibit A para. 11. Parties to a contract may modify a
part thereof in a later contract. 17 Am.Jur.2d Contracts § 459
(1964). “‘The original contract generally remains in force ex-
cept as modified or superseded by the new agreement.” Jd. at
925 (footnote with citations omitted). Where a contract refers
to an earlier contract between the parties the two agreements
should be read together. See S. A. Mineracao Da Trindade-
Samitri, 745 F.2d at 196. This court finds that the parties
clearly intended to, and did, amend the arbitration clauses
contained in the Customer Agreements by the arbitration
clause set out in Exhibit A. (The effect of the latter clause has
already been determined and does not need to be repeated
here.) We have already shown how the Customer Agreements,
by their own terms, applied to all the accounts plaintiff had
with Merrill Lynch. Therefore, the arbitration clauses of the
Customer Agreements as amended by the arbitration clause of
Exhibit A applied to all such accounts. Because the amended
arbitration clauses excluded disputes involving federal securi-
ties laws, the plaintiff, by contract, is not required to submit to
arbitration any of his claims of federal securities law violations

29a

involving any of his accounts with Merrill Lynch. This deter-
mination is not affected by the arbitration clauses in other doc-
uments because of our previous determination that such
clauses do not alter the arbitration clauses contained in the
Customer Agreements.

For the reasons set forth above, it is ORDERED that the
motions for reconsideration filed by the plaintiff and by the de-
fendants be, and the same hereby are, OVERRULED and
DENIED.

The clerk of the court is directed to mail a certified copy of
this order to all counsel of record.

ENTER:

ROBERT J. STAKER
United States District Judge

30a

Title 17—Commodity and Securities Exchanges;
Revised as of April 1, 1987

CHAPTER II—SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE
COMMISSION

PART 240—GENERAL RULES AND REGULATIONS,
SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
Subpart A—Rules and Regulations Under the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934

RULES RELATING TO OVER-THE-COUNTER
MARKETS

§ 240.15c2-2 Disclosure regarding recourse to the courts not-
withstanding arbitration clauses in broker-dealer customer

agreements.
17 CFR 240.15c2-2

(a) It shall be a fraudulent, manipulative or deceptive
act or practice for a broker or dealer to enter into an
agreement with any public customer which purports to
bind the customer to the arbitration of future disputes
between them arising under the Federal securities laws,
or to have in effect such an agreement, pursuant to which
it effects transactions with or for a customer.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this section, un-
til December 31, 1984 a broker or dealer may use ex-
isting supplies of customer agreement forms if all such
agreements entered into with public customers after De-
cember 28, 1983 are accompanied by the separate writ-
ten disclosure:

Although you have signed a customer
agreement form with FIRM NAME that
states that you are required to arbitrate any
future dispute or controversy that may arise
between us, you are not required to arbitrate
any dispute or controversy that arises under
the Federal securities laws but instead can re-
solve any such dispute or controversy through
litigation in the courts.

(c) A broker or dealer shall not be in violation of para-
graph (a) of this section with respect to any agreement

a" rere Came

3la

entered into with a public customer prior to Decem-
ber 28, 1983 if:

(1) Any such public customer for whom
the broker or dealer has after July 1, 1983
(i) carried a free credit balance, or (ii) held
securities for safekeeping or as collateral, or
(iii) effected a securities transaction is sent, no
later than December 31, 1984, the disclosure
prescribed in paragraph (b) of this section; or

(2) Any other public customer is sent upon
the completion of his next transaction pursu-
ant to such agreement, the disclosure pre-
scribed in paragarph (b) of this section.

SOURCE: 48 FR 53406, Nov. 28, 1983

AUTHORITY: Secs. 2, 10, 15, 23 and 29 thereof (15
U.S.C. 78b, 78j, 780, 78w and 78cc)

Rescission of Rule Governing Use of Predispute Arbitration
Clauses in Broker-Dealer Customer Agreements.

Exchange Act Release No. 25034. October 15, 1987. Re-
lease in full text.

Arbitration—Broker-Dealers—Customer Agreements.—In
light of a recent U.S. Supreme Court ruling, the SEC has re-
scinded a rule requiring brokers to disclose that clauses in cus-
tomer agreements mandating arbitration of disputes are inap-
plicable to federal securities law claims. The rescission of Rule
15c2-2 is effective upon Federal Register Publication.

ACTION: Final rule.

SUMMARY: The Securities and Exchange Commission is
announcing the rescission of Rule 15c2-2 [17 CFR 240.15c2-
2] concerning the use of predispute arbitration clauses since, in
light of the development of case law, the rule is no longer
appropriate.

DATE: (Effective upon publication in the Federal Register).

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Robert
Love, (202) 272-3064, Division of Market Regulation, Securi-
ties and Exchange Commission, 450 Fifth Street, N.W., Wash-
ington, D.C. 20549.

32a

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:
I. DISCUSSION

The Commission is rescinding § 240.15c2-2 of the Code of
Federal Regulations (17 CFR 240.15c2-2). Rule 15c2-2 was
adopted by the Commission in 1983! in order to address regu-
latory concerns arising from the inclusion in standard form
customer agreements of predispute arbitration clauses (i.e.,
agreements requiring customers to submit to arbitration all fu-
ture disputes.) In light of the fact that then existing case law
generally held that predispute agreements to arbitrate claims
arising under the Securities Act of 1933 and the Securities Ex-
change Act of 1934 (“Exchange Act’) were void and unen-
forceable,? the Commission determined that their inclusion in
customer contracts without disclosure of their inapplicability
to federal securities law claims was misleading, thus constitut-
ing a “fraudulent, manipulative or deceptive act or practice”
within the meaning of the Exchange Act.?

On June 8, 1987, the Supreme Court held in Shear-
son/American Express v. McMahon‘ that predispute agree-
ments to arbitrate claims arising under the Securities Exchange
Act of 1934 are enforceable. In addition, although the Court

! Securities Exchange Act of 1934 Release No. 20397, November 18,
1983, 48 FR 53404.

2 See Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953); Moran v. Paine Webber Jack-
son & Curtis, 389 F.2d 242 (3d Cir. 1968); Greater Continental Corp. v.
Schecter, 422 F.2d 1100 (2d Cir. 1970); Colonial Realty Corp. v. Bache &
Co., 358 F.2d 178 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 817 (1966); Ayres v.
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 538 F.2d 532 (3d Cir.), cert.
denied, 429 U.S. 1010 (1976); Sibley v. Tandy Corp., 543 F.2d 540 (5th
Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 824 (1977); Allegaert v. Perot, 548 F.2d
432 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 432 U.S. 910 (1977); Weissbuch v. Merrill
Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 558 F.2d 831 (7th Cir. 1977); Mans-
bach v. Prescott, Ball & Turben, 598 F.2d 1017 (6th Cir. 1979); DeLancie v.
Birr, Wilson & Co., 648 F.2d 1255 (9th Cir. 1981) (dictum); Jngbar v.
Drexel Burnham Lambert, Inc., 683 F.2d 603 (ist Cir. 1982) (same); and
First Heritage Corp. v. Prescott, Ball & Turben, Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH)
§ 99,404 (6th Cir. 1983). But cf., Scherk v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417 U.S.
506 (1974).

3 Securities Exchange Act Release No. 20397 (November 18, 1983).
4 482 U.S. (1987).

33a

did not expressly overrule Wilko v. Swan,’ which held that
predispute agreements to arbitrate claims arising under Section
12(2) of the Securities Act of 1933 were not enforceable, the
Court’s reasoning raised questions regarding the continuing vi-
tality of that decision. In light of these developments, the
commission believes that Rule 1 5c2-2 is no longer appropriate
or accurate and, accordingly, should be rescinded.

The Commission finds that notice and public procedures are
unnecessary in the public interest because Rule 15c2-2 is no
longer appropriate in light of case law developments.* More-
over, rescission of the rule may become effective upon publica-
tion in the Federal Register since it relieves a restriction.’? The
Commission further finds that this action will not impose a
burden on competition not necessary or appropriate in fur-
therance of the purposes of the Exchange Act.®

List of Subjects in 17 CFR Part 240
Reporting and recordkeeping requirements, Securities.

In accordance with the foregoing, Title 17 Chapter II of the
Code of Federal Regulations is amended as follows:

PART 240—GENERAL RULES AND REGULATIONS,
SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT of 1934

1. The authority citation for Part 240 continues to read, in
part, as follows:

Authority: Sec. 23, 48 Stat. 901, as amended; 15 U.S.C.
78w, unless otherwise noted.

2. Section 240.15c2-2 is removed.
By the Commission.

> 346 U.S. 427 (1953).

© See 5 U.S.C. § 553(b)(3)(B).

7 See 5 U.S.C. § 553(d)(1) and (d)(3).
8 See 15 U.S.C. § 78w(a)(2).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2209%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
