# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Minnicks v. Mistich

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2160%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 815

## Text

| 9071656 Supreme Court, U.&
FILED
NO. MAY 23 1991
IN THE ae al

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

HETTIE M. MINNICKS,
as Executrix of the Succession
of Stephen A. Mistich
Petitioner,
versus

BRANDON L. MISTICH,
REBECCA MISTICH TERRASE,
and PATRICIA MONROE MISTICH, as natural tutmx
of SHAWN A. MISTICH
Respondents.

Petition on Behalf of Hettie M. Minnicks,
as Executrix of the Succession of Stephen A. Mistich,
For Writ Of Certiorari To The Louisiana State Court
Of Appeal, Fourth Circuit

Frank H. Walk, Jr.*

Frederick W. Swaim, Jr.,

Professor of Law,

Loyola University School of Law,
New Orleans, Louisiana

600 Carondelet St., Suite 602

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130-3587
(5U4) 522-6090

Counsel for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

Pel Hughes Printing, Inc., 134 Carondelet St., New Orleans, LA (504) 523-2618

5¢

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
In a Jones Act and general maritime law personal injury
Case in state court under the “saving to suitors” clause, when the
plaintiff seaman dies after award of a final judgment in his favor:

1. Does federal maritime law or state law determine the
substantive beneficiary of the final judgment?

2. Does federal maritime law designate the seaman’s
estate as the substantive beneficiary of the final judgment?

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Hettie M. Minnicks

Brown and Root, Inc.*

Brandon L. Mistich

Rebecca Mistich Terrase

Patricia Monroe Mistich, as natural tutrix of Shawn A. Mistich

*Its parent company is Halliburton, Inc.; its partially owned
subsidiaries are:

Brown & Root Constructores Petroleros de Venezuela,
C.A.

Brown & Root Do Brasil Servicos Maritimos Ltda.

Brown & Root Ingenieros Petroleros de Venezuela, C.A.

Brown & Root (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd.

Brown & Root - Malta Limited

Brown & Root Nigeria Limited

Brown & Root - Saudi Limited

Constructora Indolatina, S.A. de C.V.

Constructores de Venezuela, Brown & Root, Inc., C.A.

Halliburton Holdings, Inc.

Manteniven, S.A.

Martec-Engenharia & Obras Ltda.

P.T. Brown & Root Indonesia

SBR Offshore Limited

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .............cccceceses0- i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS .............cccccscsesssesseceeees li
EE RINNE hice. snsnsosdskcisdssecsesnsasesnsverecssscvecscsece lil
TPR I FA ES anno sescksceccssiccscidiscssceceovececcseses iv
asses csnssttnnetmenton l
pO EE SS a Oe l
ID sacs sccescseapacasesecsssseseseccnseese 2
RPMI OO DEMIS CASES oon. .cccccccecesesecccocosevesosesososes 6
FEDERAL QUESTIONS RAISED TIMELY .................... 10
ARGUMENT

I. WHETHER FEDERAL MARITIME LAW

OR STATE LAW DETERMINES WHO IS

THE SUBSTANTIVE BENEFICIARY OF

THE FINAL JUDGMENT. ...............cccccccccccosssceseess 10

Il. WHETHER UNDER FEDERAL MARITIME
LAW THE SUBSTANTIVE BENEFICIARY OF
THE FINAL JUDGMENT IS THE SEAMAN’S
NINN balls elistlatadscadshcadevesesccasahicie. 886,
© 5 FE. 20 CEES tictctnks cinesbsdiccmeestndba bh Addicicenesiadd 22, 25

Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571, 73 S.Ct. 921,
FF CRs BAO GUD OED desciiicestndnenenletbiitldaibbesdibaiardherssaiaios 24

Lerner v. Karageorgis Lines, 488 N.E.2d 824 (N.Y. 1985) .26

Levenson v. Deupree, 345 U.S. 648, 73 S.Ct. 914,
Fe AR RR ED chescleneccbiibeks Aaiaalies db heTthichiahiabsidvianiens 27

Madruga v. Superior Court, 346 U.S. 556, 74 S.Ct. 298,
Se Se ETD ele dreitecnskdanat lichens cnlttebecltnitibiiss 12

Marcano v. Offshore Venezuela, 497 F.Supp. 204
CAM Ta salad bedanicintnbinicdeneaiconstbatibisbubsttn Shcneciessbisl 33

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Page
Matter of Rederi [Dow Chem. Co.], 25 N.Y.2d 576,
307 N.Y.S.2d 660, 225 N.E.2d 774 (1970), cert. denied,
398 U.S. 939, 90 S.Ct. 1844, 26 L.Ed.2d 272 (1970) .......... 26
Matterhorn, Inc. v. NCR Corp., 727 F.2d 629
CP Ee BE cecnernesecarqensvnnergneenneenngepesnmennanans 32, 33
Mayor of City of Anniston v. Hurt, 140 Ala. 394, 37
Sn Fe crctansepnatitianenaninigmemaninmmanigianganten 30
Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 111 S.Ct. 317
CD cnrtseasemnenniiciannapemeenetinareennen 22, 24, 37
Moore-McCormack Lines v. Amirault, 202 F.2d 893
CE Ti caaininetenctistenmnnnemsmmenitimnemennitamanneanas: 13
Moragne v. States Marine Lines, 398 U.S. 375,
90 S.Ct. 1722, 26 L.Ed.2d 339 (1970) ..................... 18, 21, 24
Nathan v. Touro Infirmary, 512 So.2d 352 (La. 1987) .......... 7
Offshore Logistics, Inc. v. Tallentire, 477 U.S. 207,
106 S.Ct. 2485, 91 L.Ed.2d 174 (1986) ...................cce 19, 20
Oroz v. American President Lines, 259 F.2d 636,
| | I EC TEA SIE Nae 17
Panama R. Co. v. Johnson, 264 U.S. 375, 44 S.Ct. 391,
Rk RELEASE. ATT e renner 16
Pastore v. Taivo Gyogzo, 571 F.2d 777 (3rd Cir. 1978)...... 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)
Pope & Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406, 74 S.Ct. 202,
Pe ay OU chi dockaiantindhsitenceetersnherencnnnnrnnrereaneenenes 16

Red Cross Line v. Atlantic Fruit Co., 264 U.S. 109, 44 S.Ct.
ee es BE Cr tnnenmmennmnanmannmnen 11

Roberson v. N.V. Stoomvaart Maatschappij, 507 F.2d 994
REESE EET SE ee 14

Romero v. International Terminal Operating Co., 358 U.S.
354, 79 S.Ct. 468, 3 L.Ed.2d 368 (1959)... 24, 36

Rosenblum v. Ginis, 297 Mass. 493, 9 N.E.2d 525 (1937) .30

Seaboard Air Line Ry. v. Oliver, 261 F.2d 1

EE A ee a 29, 33
Sea-Land Services, Inc. v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573, 94 S.Ct.

— BM. La nssveennesnnsnsnssoes 34
Sherwin v. Southern Pacific Co., 168 Cal. 722, 145 P. 92

SU chestitieinniatecsatincenin MN tid sentatdisnninaiemenenndtainsathinnin 23, 32
Siberell v. St. Louis - San Francisco Ry., 9 S.W.2d 912
at cre ersinsncrtenemsetnhenmnmnenmnannnaannn 31
Sisson v. Ruby, 110 S.Ct. 2892 (1990) ..........cccccccccccccccseeeees 21

Southern Pacific Co. v. Jensen, 244 U.S. 205, 37 S.Ct.
~- FFE 1h, nee 12, 24, 36

St. Hilaire Moye v. Henderson, 496 F.2d 973
TEA RARE eR a RAN 13

x
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)
Page

State Trading Corporation of India v.
Assuranceforeningen Skuld, 921 F.2d 409 (2nd Cir. 1990) .25

Stein v. Sea-Land Services, Inc., 440 F.2d 1191 (1971) ...... 34
Succession of Lodato, 250 So.2d 792 (La. App. 4th Cir.
Succession of Packwood, 9 Rob. 438, 12 Rob. 366

CEM, EIRIID ensccnssncnsinvnseneqnccttiensoteeseylieste spabaneaaniniiaaiaaiideAeediicine 23

Taylor v. Taylor, 232 U.S. 363, 34 S.Ct. 350, 58 L.Ed.
GI CEI ccssncocscnnsnassetetnssascencsicatcanduckentusislsbabia lattice 14

Tunnell v. Edwardsville Intelligencer, 43 I11.2d 239,
252 NE.2d 538 (1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 1021,

FS SAF. Fae ee Cee SCA FP isis tersicicensccesccsncscoecee 30

Variety Children’s Hospital v. Perkins, 382 So.2d

Fe i I TS TIE ncaihatetncdatatittesintesesssessininnes 31

Vincent v. Sharp, 9 La.Ann. 463 (1854) .0............ccceseeeeeeesees 32

Wilburn Boat Co. v. Fireman’s Fund Insurance Co.,

348 U.S. 310, 75 S.Ct. 368, 99 L.Ed. 337 (1955) ................ 11

Wilkinson v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 920 F.2d 1560

hp Fe | Ree TRY TN, ee Oh 13
STATUTES

U.S. Constitution, article I, § 8, clause 3
CE IID ss nctnccussennin nedamnceneientbsies tite eaie Sk el 4312

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Page

U.S. Constitution, article III, § 2, clause 1

(Admiralty and Maritime Jurisdiction)...................... 2, 12, 14
U.S. Constitution, article VI, clause 2 (Supremacy) ....... 3,14
28 U.S.C. § 1333 (savings to suitors clause)................ passim
28 U.S.C. § 1961 (a) (judicial interest) 2.0.0.0... eee eeeeeeee 32
45 U.S.C. § 59 (Federal Employers

Ld I atisismestctccniennmuionrantnuntam sosiocecicerbtete’ 14, 31, 35, 36
46 U.S.C. § 688 Glones Act) ...........ccocccssssssscsessesccsesceees passim

U. S. Supreme Court Rules 10.1(b) and (c) (considerations
governing review on writ Of Certiorari). ..............ccceeseeeeeeees 10

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 43, Substitution of
PN peace hiviedetadisacchepnchidnss es cniiintaiatlageontnbtininesendasdinn ses 4, 33, 34

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 25(a) , Substitution of
RRR ARE Ree ere ee Oe ee Te eA NOPE, eee ee 4, 33

Uniform Rules of Louisiana Courts of Appeal, Rule 2-9
I ih ial ch icieiachblie cbasenenninn 5

Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 801 (substitution
a I Siescctecicidistcccnlectehccteiidisbatishicthainiasiiinisaiiinsonibck 5

Louisiana Civil Code Article 2315 (torts) ................. 7, 14, 28

Louisiana Civil Code Article 2315.1
a ssniinisniinsbiacabuniia 5, 7, 14, 28

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Page
OTHER AUTHORITIES
1 Am. Jur. 2p Abatement, Survival, and Revival
© OE CRO niet ill ees E i cchrintibttlse eencnseninitsise 31
46 Am. Jur. 2D, Judgments §s 383, 384 .........sseeseeseeseeee 31, 32
SSA, CES. DOGG AD ciserenichictisitinbihinciltcicctnbiintinhctntntslanvdgorn 31

Cook, “Substance” and “Procedure in the Conflict of Laws” ,
Be Te ID concitanctstanretiancininisttiinanaininnndiictdns 26

Comment Survival of Actions in Article 2315 of the
Louisiana, Civil Code: The Victim’s And The Wrongful

Death Action, 43 Tulane L.Rev. 330 (1969) .................:008 28
G. GitMorE & C. BLACK, THE LAw oF ADMIRALTY, 2d ed.
(IDF, © Pei Pius Ada ied cain 13
F. HARPER, F. James, & O. Gray, THE Law OF Torts, 2d ed.,
Veal. 4; © DO Ge ii aetna Niatcd ttle 28
Johnson, Death On The Callais Coach, 37 La.L.Rev. 1

(UD DGD esis thin ihintticthahactsitlbletadliai teh eaiaeiswisiedenties 28
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF ConFLict OF Laws 2d § 122,
comment a at 351; § 125, comment a (1971) ................ 25, 26
RESTATEMENT OF JUDGMENTS, Section 47 (1942) ...............00 32

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)
Page

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) Or JUDGMENTS § 13, comments b
and f; § 18, comment a (1982); § 45 (1), comment b
acer aitlense acta tender retire. Ra R TEE 32; 30; 30

Schumacher, Rights Of Action Under Death And Survival
Statutes, 23 Michigan L.Rev. 114 (1924) ........cccecscsscseeees 30

E. STIMSON, CONFLICT OF LAWS (1963) scccccccccsseccscecsescseossees 26

C. WRIGHT, A. MiLLeR & E. Cooper, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND
eT) ee ee ee 14

1

DECISIONS BELOW
1. April 28, 1989 judgmentin favor of original plaintiff Stephen
A. Mistich in the 25th Judicial District Court for the Parish of
Plaquemines, State of Louisiana, Case Number 29-703, Stephen
A. Mistich v. Pipelines, Inc., et al. (Appendix, page A-1)

2. January 8, 1990 order of the Louisiana Court of Appeal,
Fourth Circuit, Case Number 89-CA- 1420, Stephen A. Mistich v.
Brown & Root, Inc., substituting the adopted children Brandon
L. Mistich et al. in place of the deceased original plaintiff.
(Appendix, page A-4)

3. December 28, 1990 denial by the Louisiana Court of Appeal,
Fourth Circuit, in the same case, of the executrix of the estate of
Stephen A. Mistich’s Petition of Intervention, as the beneficiary
in interest of the April 28, 1989 judgment in favor of Stephen A.
Mistich (Appendix, page A-6)

4. February 22, 1991 denial by the Supreme Court of the State
of Louisiana, Case Number 90-OC-0164, Stephen A. Mistich v.
Brown & Root, Inc., of application for a writ of certiorari, (page
A-7)

JURISDICTION

Sought to be reviewed is the December 28, 1990 order of the
Louisiana Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit, denying the inter-
vention of the deceased seaman’s executrix to be the beneficiary
in interest of the judgment awarded the seaman while he was
alive (Appendix, page A-6). The Louisiana Supreme Court
denied the executrix’s application for a writ of certiorari on
February 22, 1991 (Appendix, page A-7).

2

Suit was originally brought in 25th Judicial District Court for
the Parish of Plaquemines, State of Louisiana, Case Number 29-
703, under the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, the general maritime
law, and the “saving to suitors” clause, 28 U.S.C. § 1333 (1). In
this Jones Act and general maritime law case, the seaman
brought suit for and was awarded damages caused by his
employer’s negligence and the unseaworthiness of the vessels on
which he was employed. Jurisdiction in this Court is founded
upon this Court’s final review of admiralty and maritime causes,
United States Constitution, article III, § 2, clause 2, and upon 28
U.S.C. §§ 1257 and 2104.

STATUTES INVOLVED

1. U.S. Constitution, article I, § 8, clause 3 (Commerce)
[3.] To regulate commerce with foreign nations, and among
the several States, and with the Indian tribes.

2. U.S. Constitution, article III, § 2, clause 1 (Admiralty and
Maritime Jurisdiction)

[1.] The judicial Power shall extend to all Cases, in Law and
Equity, arising under this Constitution, the Laws of the United
States, and Treaties made, or which shall be made, under their
Authority;-to all cases affecting Ambassadors, other public
Ministers and consuls;-to all Cases of admiralty and maritime
Jurisdiction;-to controversies to which the United States shall be
a Party;-to Controversies between two or more States;-between
a State and citizens of another State;-between Citizens of differ-
ent States;-between Citizens of the same State claiming Lands
under Grants of different States, and between a State, or the
Citizens thereof, and foreign States, Citizens or Subjects.

3

3. U.S. Constitution, article VI, clause 2 (Supremacy)

[2.] This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States
which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and all Treaties made,
or which shall be made, under the Authority of the United States,
shall be supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in every State
shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or Laws of
any State to the Contrary notwithstanding.

4. 46U.S.C. § 688

688. Recovery for injury to or death of seaman

(a) Application of railway employee statutes; jurisdic-
tion. Any seaman who shall suffer personal injury in the course
of his employment may, at his election, maintain an action for
damages at law, with the right of trial by jury, and in such action
all statutes of the United States modifying or extending the
common-law right or remedy in case of personal injury to
railway employees shall apply; and in case of the death of any
seaman as a result of any such personal injury the personal
representative of such seaman may maintain an action for dam-
ages at law with the right of trial by jury, and in such action all
statutes of the United States conferring or regulating the right of
action for death in the case of railway employees shall be
applicable. Jurisdiction in such actions shall be under the court
of the district in which the defendant employer resides or in
which is principal office is located.

5. 28 U.S.C. § 1333

1333. Admiralty, maritime and prize cases

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction, exclusive
of the courts of the States, of:

(1) Any civil case of admiralty or maritime jurisdiction,
saving to suitors in all cases all other remedies to which they are
otherwise entitled.

4

6. Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure Rule 43. Substitu-
tion of Parties

(a) Death of a party.-If a party dies after a notice of appeal
is filed or while a proceeding is otherwise pending in the court of
appeals, the personal representative of the deceased party may be
substituted as a party on motion filed by the representative or by
any party with the clerk of the court of appeals. The motion of
a party shall be served upon the representative in accordance with
the provisions of Rule 25. If the deceased party has no represen-
tative, any party may suggest the death on the record and
proceedings shall then be had as the court of appeals may direct.
If a party against whom an appeal may be taken dies after entry
of a judgment or order in the district court but before a notice of
appeal is filed, an appellant may proceed as if death had not
occurred. After the notice of appeal is filed substitution shall be
effected in the court of appeals in accordance with this subdivi-
sion. If a party entitled to appeal shall die before filing a notice
of appeal, the notice of appeal may be filed by that party’s
personal representative, or, if there is no personal representative
by that party’s attorney of record within the time prescribed by
these rules. After the notice of appeal is filed substitution shall
be effected in the court of appeals in accordance with this
subdivision.

7. Federal Rule of Civil Procedure Rule 25. Substitution of
Parties

(a) Death.

(1) If a party dies and the claim is not thereby extinguished,
the court may order substitution of the proper parties. The
motion for substitution may be made by any party or by the
successors Or representatives of the deceased party and, together
with the notice of hearing, shall be served on the parties as
provided in Rule 5 and upon persons not parties in the manner
provided in Rule 4 for the service of a summons, and may be
served in any judicial district. Unless the motion for substitution

5
is made not later than 90 days after the death is suggested upon
the records by service of a statement of the fact of the death as
provided herein for the service of the motion, the action shall be
dismissed as to the deceased party.

8. Uniform Rules of Louisiana Courts of Appeal, Rule 2-9
Rule 2-9. Substitution of Parties
The rules and procedures for substitution of parties provided
by LSA-C.C.P. Arts. 801-807 shall regulate the substitution of
parties.

9. Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 801

Art. 801. Voluntary substitution for deceased party;
legal successor

When a party dies during the pendency of an action which is
not extinguished by his death, his legal successor may have
himself substituted for the deceased party, on ex parte written
motion supported by proof of his quality.

As used in Articles 801 through 804, “legal successor”
means:

(1) The survivors designated in Article 2315.1 of the Civil
Code, if the action survives in their favor; and

(2) Otherwise, it means the succession representative of the
deceased appointed by a court of this state, if the succession is
under administration therein; or the heirs and legatees of the
deceased, if the deceased’s succession is not under administra-
tion therein.

10. Louisiana Civil Code Article 2315.1

Art. 2315.1. Survival action

A. If a person who has been injured by an offense or quasi-
offense dies, the right to recover all damages for injury to that
person, his property or otherwise, caused by the offense or quasi-

6

offense, shall survive for a period of one year from the death of
the deceased in favor of:

(1) The surviving spouse and child or children of the
deceased, or either the spouse of the child or children;

(2) The surviving father and mother of the deceased, or
either of them if he left no spouse or child surviving; and

(3) The surviving brothers and sisters of the deceased, or
any of them, if he left no spouse, child, or parent surviving.

B. In addition, the right to recover all damages for injury to
the decedent, his property or otherwise, caused by the offense or
quasi-offense, may be urged by the decedent’s succession repre-
sentative in the absence of any class of beneficiary set out in the
preceding Paragraph.

C. The right of action granted under this Article is heritable,
but the inheritance of it neither interrupts nor prolongs the
prescriptive period defined in this Article. 3

D. As used in this Article, the words “child,” “brother,”
“sister,” “father,” and “mother” include a child, brother, sister,
father, and mother, by adoption, respectively.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The original plaintiff, seaman Stephen A. Mistich, filed suit
on December 2, 1986 against defendant Brown and Root, Inc.
and other defendants, solely under the Jones Act and the general
maritime law. The suit was for personal injury damages resulting
from plaintiff’s employment by defendants on pipe-laying ves-
sels. The personal injury had been caused by plaintiff’s exposure
to welding-inspection x-ray radiation over a period of several
years. During this period, plaintiff worked on the vessels
predominantly in high seas locations. Suit was filed, under the
saving to suitors clause, in the 25th Judicial District Court for the

-

7

Parish of Plaquemines, State of Louisiana. All defendants except
Brown and Root, Inc. settled with plaintiff and were dismissed
prior to trial.

On April 28, 1989, after trial on the merits, final judgment for
$7,147,608.00 was rendered in favor of the original plaintiff
while he was alive. Then, after final judgment, he died on May
14, 1989. Thus here there is no survival or wrongful death action
involved. The plaintiff's personal injury causes of action were
merged into his judgment. The judgment was his property right
and at death became part of his estate.

Defendant Brown and Root, Inc. took an appeal to the
Louisiana Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit. On January 4, 1990
the adopted children of the plaintiff, the respondents, as statutory
survival beneficiaries under La. C.C. Art. 2315.1 moved to be
substituted for the deceased plaintiff as parties plaintiff-appellees.
On January 8, 1990 the Court of Appeal ordered said children
substituted in place of the deceased original plaintiff.

In short, contrary to clearly applicable federal law, the state
court applied the state survival statute to a federal maritime non-
survival case.

On April 4, 1990 Hettie M. Minnicks, the mother of the
deceased original plaintiff, was confirmed as ancillary executrix
for his Louisiana succession and she moved to be substituted as
the plaintiff-appellee.

On June 1, 1990 the Court of Appeal denied the executrix’s
motion to substitute, citing only Nathan v. Touro Infirmary, 512
So.2d 352 (La. 1987), a La. C.C. Art. 2315, tort survival action
case, and thus again treated a federal maritime non-survival case
as a State survival case. On September 14, 1990, the Louisiana
Supreme Court without explanation denied supervisory or other
writs directed to the Court of Appeal.

Since the state order was not clear as to whether it determined
mere procedural capacity or whether it determined the substan-
tive beneficiary in interest in the lawsuit, the executrix inter-

vened on November 14, 1990 as substantive beneficiary of the
decedent’s judgment. On December 22, 1990 the Court of
Appeal denied the intervention. This state ruling deprived the
seaman’s estate of his substantive federal maritime judgment.
This state ruling is the subject of this petition.

Petitioner on December 14, 1990 had filed a petition to this
United States Supreme Court in Case No. 90-1082 for a writ of
certiorari to the Court of Appeal for its denial of the executrix’s
motion to substitute as the proper party. This Court denied writs
on the motion to substitute on February 19, 1991, apparently
because the matter of the executrix’s substantive intervention was
still pending before the Louisiana Supreme Court.

However, on February 22, 1991 the Louisiana Supreme
Court denied petitioner’s application for a writ of certiorari on
the denial of her intervention. So the state court of last resort has
now ruled on this substantive issue. The state court has applied
state law to deprive the seaman’s estate of the final judgment
awarded, solely under federal maritime law, to the living seaman
in his own right. The state court has applied state law solely
because this is a saving to suitors clause case. Had this action
been brought in federal court, federal maritime law would have
been applied. This is an impermissibly intrusive and unprec-
edented denial of the seaman’s federal maritime substantive
rights which belong to his estate as the continuation of his legal
person.

The seaman had previously been diagnosed as suffering with
terminal leukemia and as having only a very limited time
remaining tolive. He, shortly before the trial, executed on March
3, 1989 a last will and testament which substantially excluded his
adopted children and left most of his estate to three of his closest
relatives: his mother, sister, and brother. The only asset of real
value to be distributed by the will was his potential judgment in
this personal injury action. At that time no defendant had settled.

This will was filed for probate on May 30, 1989 and ordered
probated on August 30, 1989 in the Superior Court of California

9

for the County of Orange, where the seaman was domiciled. The
judgment and a partial pre-trial settlement were included in the
Inventory and Appraisement of the estate filed in that proceeding
on November 6, 1989. Under California law the judgment
belongs to the seaman’s estate.

The deceased had no wife or natural children. The adopted
children were his former wife’s children from her prior marriage.
The plaintiff had adopted them only eleven months before he and
his former wife separated on November 1, 1980. They were
divorced on April 19, 1982, the wife not seeking nor being
awarded child or other support, but receiving full custody of the
children. Thereafter , although two of them became majors, the
children did not support him when he was in financial need. He
had had no significant contact with them for several years before
his death. If the state court denial of the executrix’s intervention
determines the ultimate beneficiaries of this personal injury
lawsuit, then the most significant property right possessed by the
plaintiff-seaman at his death, his maritime personal injury
judgment, will not be distributed according to his will. On the
other hand, if this judgment is a right of his estate, it will be
transmitted according to his solemn will to legatees other than his
children. Whether these children are proper survival or wrongful
death beneficiaries is a question completely unrelated to the
case herein. Under federal law the personal injury judgment is
a property right of the estate, being the fruits of the seaman’s own
federal maritime personal injury action. A subversion of the
express will of the deceased seaman through the application of
State law to this federal maritime case should not be allewed.

Clearly had the plaintiff survived past the appeal and then
died after recovering on his judgment, these funds as part of his
estate would be distributed according to his testament. In fact,
the funds from the plaintiff's partial pre-trial settlement with the
other defendants were sent, by the respondents’ counsel without
objection, to the estate. Is it reasonable the actions of the de-

10

fendants in settling or in appealing should determine the ultimate

beneficiary of the plaintiff’s federal maritime rights? For, if the

defendant had settled or had not appealed, the recovery without
challenge would have been an asset of the seaman, and at his
| death, of hisestate. Itis submitted that this Court should preserve
the seaman’ s rights to his estate and preserve the needed uniformity
of substantive rights under federal maritime law.

FEDERAL QUESTION RAISED TIMELY

The federal questions sought to be reviewed were raised in
petitioner’s November 14, 1990 Memorandum in Support of
Petition of Intervention, on page 6, where petitioner stated
“federal maritime law should clearly have applied to this sub-
stantive issue” of “who is the real party in interest” to receive the
benefits of the federal maritime, saving to suitors clause cause of
action. The federal questions were also raised in petitioner’s
Application for Writ of Certiorari or Review to the Louisiana
Supreme Court filed January 17, 1991.

ARGUMENT

I. Whether federal maritime law or state law determines
who is the substantive beneficiary of the final judgment.

Two of the considerations in favor of granting certiorari are
presented by this petition: a conflict between the state court
action and Federal Courts of Appeals; and a conflict between the
state court action and this Court. See U.S. Supreme Court Rules
10.1 (b) and (c).

In this case the state court has applied Louisiana law to
determine the question of ultimate beneficiaries under the Jones
Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, and general maritime law. It is petitioner’s
position that federal law should apply to this question.

) ee ne

11

The state court order clearly conflicts with decisions of this
Court, of the United States Courts of Appeals, and of other courts
which have uniformly held that, in maritime actions in state court
under the saving to suitors clause, federal maritime law governs
over state law which interferes with substantive maritime rights.

Excluded from this discussion are distinguishable cases
where state law has not been preempted in maritime cases
because of recognized exceptions not present in the instant case. !
Distinguished first are cases where state law is adopted to fill the
gaps where there is no federal law on point by virtue of the
interstitial nature of federal law, e.g., Wilburn Boat Co. v.
Fireman’ s Fund Insurance Co., 348 U.S. 310, 75 S.Ct. 368, 99
L.Ed. 337 (1955) (insurance contract for houseboat on land-
locked lake); and Baggett v. Richardson, 473 F.2d 863 (Sth Cir.
1973) (state tort law adopted for maritime beating). Distin-
guished second are cases where the state law regulates behavior
in which the state has an especially strong regulatory interest,
e.g., Askew v. American Waterways Operators, 411 U.S. 325,93
S.Ct. 1590, 35 L.Ed.2d 280 (1972) (Florida oil spill pollution
regulations).

Also distinguishable are cases in which state law was used to
supplement the remedies available in admiralty for the vindica-
tion of maritime rights, e.g., Just v. Chambers, 312 U.S. 383,
668, 61 S.Ct. 687, 85 L.Ed. 903 (1941); Red Cross Line v. At-
lantic Fruit Co.,264 U.S. 109, 44S.Ct. 274, 68 L.Ed. 582 (1924).

Simply stated, if this maritime case had been heard in federal
court, the substantive beneficiary of the judgment would be the
seaman’s estate. A different substantive result should not follow
because this action was brought under the saving to suitors clause
in state court.

1 See Exxon Corp. v. Chick Kam Choo, 817 F.2d 307 (Sth Cir. 1987),
reversed on other grounds, 486 U.S. 140, 108 S.Ct. 1684, 100 L.Ed.2d
127 (1988) for a discussion of these recognized exceptions.

12

A. Federal maritime law, not interfering state substantive
law, governs a seaman’s substantive maritime rights.
It has long been held that federal maritime law governs all
substantive rights in cases falling within the admiralty and
maritime jurisdiction of the federal courts, to the exclusion of
interfering state law. Chelentis v. LuckenbachS.S.Co.,247 U.S.
372, 38 S.Ct. 501, 62 L.Ed. 1171 (1918), quoting Southern Pa-
cific Co. v. Jensen, 244 U.S. 205, 215, 216, 37 S.Ct. 524, 528, 61
L.Ed. 1086 (1917) with reference to the U.S. Constitution article
I, § 8, clause 3 (Commerce) and article III, § 2, clause 1
(Admiralty):
[I]t must now be accepted as settled doctrine that, in
consequence of these provisions, Congress has
paramount power to fix and determine the maritime
law which shall prevail throughout the country. . . .
and further, that in the absence of some controlling
statute, the general maritime law, as accepted by the
federal courts, constitutes part of our national law,
applicable to matters within the admiralty and mari-
time jurisdiction.

In the Chelentis case, this Court, further quoting Southern Pa-

cific Co., stated that the “saving to suitors” clause?:
[G]ave no authority to the several states to enact
legislation which would work “material prejudice to
the characteristic features of the general maritime law
or interfere with the proper harmony and uniformity
of that law in its international and interstate relations.”

In Knickerbocker Ice Co. v. Stewart, 253 U.S. 149, 40 S.Ct.
438, 64 L.Ed. 834 (1920), this Court held that state workers
compensation laws constitutionally could not take away sub-
stantive rights under federal maritime laws.

228 U.S.C. 1333 (1). See Madruga v. Superior Court, 346 U.S. 556,
560, n. 12, 74 S.Ct. 298, 300, n.12, 98 L.Ed. 290 (1954).

13

The Federal Circuit Courts of Appeals have likewise held
that federal law, not state law, governs substantive maritime
rights: Moore-McCormack Lines v. Amirault, 202 F.2d 893 (1st
Cir. 1953) (allowance of prejudgment interest determined by
federal law in general maritime personal injury and property
actions); Branch v. Schumann, 445 F.2d 175 (Sth Cir. 1971)
(defendant’s standard of care determined by general maritime
law); St. Hilaire Moye v. Henderson, 496 F.2d 973 (8th Cir.
1974) (a general maritime personal injury case not governed by
Arkansas state statute limiting recovery by social guests on boats
to willful and wanton disregard of rights of others); Pastore v.
Taivo Gyogzo, 571 F.2d 777, 784 (3rd Cir. 1978) (questions of
contribution and indemnity rights governed by federal not state
law); Everett v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 912 F.2d 1355 (11th Cir.
1990) and Wilkinson v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 920 F.2d 1560
(11th Cir. 1991) (federal maritime law governs substantive legal
issue of standard of care of shipowner).

The Pastore case holding that questions of indemnity in a
Jones Actand saving to suitors clause case must be decided under
federal law, is the perfect counterpart to what is involved in this
case. Indemnity has to do with who will be ultimately liable; and
this case has to do with who will be the ultimate beneficiary of the
judgment recovery.

It is a “constitutional truism” that “state legislation is clearly
invalid where it actually conflicts with the established general
maritime law or federal statutes.” States may not “flatly contradict
established maritime law” nor “interfere with the uniform working
of the federal maritime legal system.” G. GiLMorE & C. BLAcK,
THE LAW OF ADMIRALTY, 2d ed., § 1-17, at 48-50 (1975). The
saving to suitors clause “does not authorize the application of
substantive rights created by state statutes that significantly

TY

4

modify or change the national substantive maritime law that
otherwise would be applicable.” C. Wricut, A. MILLER & E.
CooPER, FEDERAL PRACTICEAND PROCEDURE, § 3672 (1985).

In the present case, the respondents rely upon La.C.C. Art.
2315.1, which designates the state survival beneficiaries as the
parties to be substituted. This same survivorship provision,
previously contained in Art. 2315, was held to be a “rule of
substantive law” and was also held, under the U.S. Constitution,
articles VI (Supremacy) and III, § 2 (Admiralty), to be inappli-
cable to a federal maritime personal injury claim. Roberson v.
N.V. Stoomvaart Maatschappij, 507 F.2d 994 (Sth Cir. 1975).

Also see Taylor v. Taylor, 232 U.S. 363, 34 S.Ct. 350, 352,
353, 58 L.Ed. 638 (1914), a Federal Employees Liability Act
(FELA; incorporated by reference into the Jones Act) wrongful
death and survival case holding that the New York State succession
law was preempted by the FELA grant of the right of action to
specified parties.’ The court stated that “the source of the right of
plaintiff . .. was the Federal statute” and “‘the laws of the states,
in so far as they cover the same field, are superseded.””. Similarly
in our case federal law clearly placed the substantive judgment
right in the seaman, and subsequently in his estate, and this right
is supreme over any interfering state law.

If the seaman herein had died before final judgment, then
federal maritime law would govern and designate the beneficia-
ries of the survival actions which would have arisen. Similarly,
if the seaman herein had died after the appeal, then federal
maritime law would also have preserved his judgment rights to
himself, and to his estate. It is wholly illogical to allow state law
to intrude in the present case, which falls chronologically in
between these two situations.

This same situation as the present case did arise in Connors
v. Gallick, 339 F.2d 381, 386 (6th Cir. 1964), a FELA personal
injury case in which, as here, the plaintiff received a personal
injury final judgment in his lifetime. The FELA survivorship
provision, which would have designated the plaintiff’s daughter

: 15
as beneficiary, was found not applicable to the judgment pro-
ceeds. Rather, federal law was found to place the judgmentrights
in the plaintiff’s estate, since his “causes of action ha[d] been
merged in his judgment” and the judgment “became part of his
estate.” But the state courts below have not followed this federal
law.

An analogy could be drawn to a wrongful death or survival
Jones Act and general maritime law claim filed under the saving
to suitors clause in the court of a state whose laws designated the
deceased’s cousin as the designated beneficiary of the action.
Surely we would not suffer the argument that state law should
dislodge the Jones Act and general maritime law designated
beneficiaries. In all three situations (wrongful death, survival,
and the present case) the question is the same. The public policy
of uniformity represented by a single maritime rule for who is the
substantive beneficiary of a seaman’s final judgment, i.e., who is
entitled to his judgment, carries a strong regulatory interest of the
United States, not of the individual states. These matters of
federal law require uniform application to facilitate maritime
commerce. Further, such a question is surely a matter of
substance, not procedure.

B. Federal maritime law, not interfering state procedural
law, governs a seaman’s substantive maritime rights.

Assuming arguendo that the interfering state law is proce-
dural, still the estate’s entitlement to the judgment the seaman
obtained while alive is a substantive maritime right, and so
federal maritime law would govern over interfering state proce-
dural law. Garrett v. Moore-McCormack Co.,317 U.S.239, 245,
63 S.Ct. 246, 251, 87 L.Ed. 239 (1942) (concerning a Jones Act
personal injury claim brought in state court under the saving to
suitors Clause). In Garrett this Court reversed the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court which had held as procedural, and determined by
state law, the question of the burden of proof on whether a
seaman’s release was valid, and held this matter substantive in its

| | |

16

effect and so controlled by federal law, stating:

The source of the governing law applied is in the
national, not the state, governments. If by its practice
the state court were permitted substantially to alter the
rights of either litigant, as those rights were estab-
lished in federal law, the remedy afforded by the state
would not enforce, but would actually deny, federal
rights which Congress, by providing alternative rem-
edies, intended to make not less, but more secure. The
constant objective of legislation and jurisprudence is
to assure litigants full protection for all substantive
rights intended to be afforded them by the jurisdiction
in which the right itself originates. . . . So here, in
hearing this case the state court was bound to proceed
in such manner that all the substantial rights of the
parties under controlling federal law would be pro-
tected.

Similarly, this Court refused to apply Pennsylvania state
contributory negligence law to a general maritime law
unseaworthiness and negligence claim, as here, in place of
maritime comparative negligence. In Pope & Talbot, Inc. v.
Hawn, 346 U.S. 406, 409, 410, 74 S.Ct. 202, 205, 98 L.Ed. 143
(1953) this Court stated: “While states may sometimes supple-
ment federal maritime policies, a state may not deprive a person
of any substantial admiralty rights as defined in controlling acts

of Congress or by interpretative decisions of this Court.”

In Pope, this Court stated that a maritime tort is “‘a type of action
which the Constitution has placed under national power to
control in its substantive as well its procedural features,” quoting
Panama R. Co. v. Johnson, 264 U.S. 375, 386, 44 S.Ct. 391, 393,
68 L.Ed. 748 (1924). Panama R. Co., as here, was a Jones Act
personal injury suit.

17

The Federal Courts of Appeals have followed this same
course. In /.B. Effenson Co. v. Three Bays Corp., 238 F.2d 611,
615 (Sth Cir. 1956) the court held that a maritime right is
governed as to a limitation of actions issue “by the maritime
law”, explaining:

Such law is that which the Congress has enacted or the
Federal courts, sitting in admiralty or in the exercise
of their maritime jurisdiction, have declared and would
apply. ... The maritime principles would prevail even
though the action were brought in a state court.
[citation omitted] They are “common law remedies”
which may be had, where available, but maritime
rights which are redressed.
Similarly, in Oroz v. American President Lines, 259 F.2d 636,
638 (2nd Cir. 1958), the issue of the time within which a general
maritime law personal injuries suit must be commenced was held
governed by general maritime law, not a local state statute of
limitations. This was the case even though the statute of
limitations was characterized as procedural under state law. It
was stated that “Admiralty principles govern the civil action and
override common law rules such as those concerning contribu-
tory negligence, burden of proof, and assumption of the risk even
though these rules are often characterized as ‘procedural’ or
‘remedial.’ ”
The 3-year federal statute of limitations, not the 6-year Maine
state law, governed a maritime personal injury action in Butler v.
American Trawler Co., 887 F.2d 20, 21 (1st Cir. 1989). Thecourt
stated “the relevant question is not whether the federal limitations
statute [citation omitted] is ‘substantive’ or ‘procedural,’ but
whether Congress intended that statute to preclude the operation
of different state limitations statutes in respect to maritime torts.
We believe that it did.”

InJ. Ray McDermott & Co. v. Vessel Morning Star, 457 F.2d

815, 818 (Sth Cir. 1972) (en banc), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 948, 93

ad

18

S.Ct. 271, 292, 34 L.Ed.2d 218 (1972), a maritime contract case,
it was held that a maritime statute, “when read together with the
statutes delineating the judicial sale procedure in the federal
courts, forms a comprehensive procedure.” There the Louisiana
deficiency judgment statute was not allowed to affect the “uni-
form application” of the federal maritime statute [emphases
added].

In Byrd v. Byrd, 657 F.2d 615, 617 (4th Cir. 1981), a general
maritime law personal injury case establishing a federal admi-
ralty rule on interspousal immunity and declining to look to local
state procedural law, the court stated “A state law, even though
it does not contravene an established principle of admiralty law
will, nevertheless, not be applied where its adoption would
impair the uniformity and simplicity which is a basic principle of
the federal admiralty law. ”

In Genetics International v. Cormorant Bulk Carriers, 877
F.2d 806 (9th Cir. 1989), the court held that a set-off against
payment of freight charges is determined by federal maritime,
not state law.

In Daughtry v. Diamond M Co., 693 F.Supp. 856, 863 (E.D.
Cal. 1988), the court applied federal law, not state procedural
statutes dealing with good faith in settlements among joint
tortfeasors in a Jones Act personal injury case; it quoted Moragne
v. State Marine Lines, 398 U.S. 375, 401-02, 90 S.Ct. 1772, 1788,
26 L.Ed.2d 339, 357 (1970) recognizing a general maritime
wrongful death action to assure “uniform vindication of federal
policies, removing the tensions and discrepancies that have
resulted from the necessity to accommodate state remedial
statutes to exclusively maritime substantive concepts... .
[U]niformity . . . will give effect to the constitutionally based
principle that federal admiralty law should be ‘a system of law
coextensive with, and operating uniformly in, the whole country.
[citation omitted]’” In Ciolino v. Sciortino Corp., 721 F.Supp.
1491, 1495 (D. Mass. 1989), a Jones Act and general maritime
law personal injury case, the court stated “because federal

19

substantive law controls the decision of this case, this court
should apply” the federal procedural rule on amended com-
plaints relating back to an earlier date.

The Federal Fifth Circuit has recently held the existence of a
federal procedural defense, forum non conveniens (considered a
“characteristic” feature of federal maritime law), justified re-
versing plaintiff’s voluntary dismissal to prevent his refiling suit
in state court where this defense would not be available. That is,
the state court would not be permitted to take away a federal
maritime procedural right. [kospentakis v. Thalassic Steamship
Agency, 915 F.2d 176 (Sth Cir. 1990). A fortiori the state court
must not be allowed to take away the federal maritime substantive
rights at issue herein.

This Court itself in Offshore Logistics, Inc. v. Tallentire, 477
U.S. 207, 222, 223, 106 S.Ct. 2485, 2494, 91 L.Ed.2d 174 (1986),
supporting the uniformity of federal maritime law, referred to the
“saving to suitors” clause which:

[A]llows state courts to entertain in personam mari-
time causes of action, but in such cases the extent to
which state law may be used to remedy maritime
injuries is constrained by a so-called “reverse - Erie”
doctrine which requires that the substantive remedies
afforded by the States conform to governing federal
maritime standards.
In accordance with this principle, the court in /celandic Coast
Guard v. United Technologies Corp., 722 F.Supp. 942, 949 (D.
Conn. 1989) refused to apply state tort law which conflicted with
applicable substantive maritime law.

Exxon Corp. v. Chick Kam Choo, 817 F.2d 307 (Sth Cir.
1987), reversed on other grounds, 486 U.S. 140, 108 S.Ct. 1684,
100 L.Ed.2d 127 (1988), a maritime wrongful death case, in-
volved a conflict between state and federal procedural rules of
forum non conveniens. Referring to Offshore Logistics, Inc.,
supra, the court said that when state court procedures conflict
with maritime law “it is clear that they must yield.” The court

20
explained: “The ‘reverse - Erie’ question is whether the incon-
sistent state law, whether deemed a matter of substance or
procedure, conflicts with maritime law.” (817 F.2d at 319, em-
phasis added). The Exxon court analyzed the factors favoring
maritime law preemption of state law. Relevant here is the
uniformity factor, i.e.:
Whenever a uniform rule will facilitate maritime
commerce, or, conversely, when non-uniform regu-
lation will work a material disadvantage tocommrcial
actors. ... A corollary of this concept is the notion
found in the J. Ray McDermott & Co. [supra] test of
“characteristic features” or core principles of the
maritime law. [citation omitted] Applying state law
inconsistent with “characteristic features” would de-
feat the reasonably settled expectations of maritime
actors. .. . Since uniformity is related to predictability
and to reasonable legal expectations, it is of greatest
importance when legal relations are not predictably
related to a certain locale and its laws.
All this is generally true for maritime commerce and particularly
true for the type of offshore maritime activities here, involving
varied party and vessel locations.

Needed uniformity would surely be compromised if the law
of each state could dictate who is to be the ultimate beneficiary
of Jones Act and general maritime law personal injury actions. In
this same way needed uniformity would be compromised if each
state could dictate the ultimate beneficiary in maritime wrongful
death and survival actions.

Would not a significant lack of uniformity exist in allowing
seaman Smith in State A to determine through his testament the
ultimate beneficiary of his maritime personal injury recovery,
but in denying this right to seaman Jones in State B?

The issue of substantive beneficiary is similar to that before
this Court in Offshore Logistics, Inc., supra, concerning the
federal Death on the High Seas Act preemption of the Louisiana

21

state wrongful death statute which otherwise would have al-

lowed recovery of non-pecuniary damages. This Court stated:
However, the questionable practical significance of
this difference in recovery [citation omitted] is far
overshadowed by the potential for serious conflicts
between DOSHA and state substantive law in such
areas as limitations periods, classes of beneficiaries, and
the definition of potential defenses. We defer to
Congress’ purpose in making a uniform provision for
recovery for wrongful deaths on the high seas, an area
where the federal interests are primary.

477 U.S. at 233 (emphasis added).

Here the personal injury occurred very predominantly or
exclusively in international waters, “on the high seas.” Here the
“classes of beneficiaries” have been determined by Congress in
the Jones Act and by the general maritime law. Here the state law
should likewise defer to the federal purposes underlying unifor-
mity of substantive beneficiaries.

If the several states apply varying rules, how will persons
against whom maritime claims are made know the proper claim-
ant for redress? As herein, how will defendants know the proper
party with whom to discuss settlements of judgments on appeal?

The general features of this case, the determination of the
substantive beneficiary of Jones Act and general maritime law
causes of action, are of the character which requires uniformity
to facilitate maritime commerce. The inquiry here is thus
analogous to the admiralty jurisdiction inquiry before this Court
in Sisson v. Ruby, 110 S.Ct. 2892, 2896 (1990), where the “po-
tential disruption to commercial maritime activity” plainly sat-
isfied the requirement.

Maritime substantive rights and duties should not form a
patchwork across the nation. Significant substantive uniformity
is needed here and throughout federal maritime law. Moragne v.

Ee

|
:
i
‘

22

States Marine Lines, supra; Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale
Transatlantique, 358 U.S. 625, 629-631, 79 S.Ct. 406, 409, 410,
3 L.Ed.2d 550, (1959); Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 111 S.Ct.
317 (1990).

C. Balancing of interests, state and federal.

Underlying the foregoing federal preemption jurisprudence,
and the exceptions to federal preemption, is a balancing of state
interests against federal interests. This balancing or “accom-
modation” of interests was explained by this Court in Kossick v.
United Fruit Co., 365 U.S. 731, 739, 81 S.Ct. 886, 892, 6 L.Ed.2d
56 (1961):

[T]he process is surely rather one of accommodation,
entirely familiar in many areas of overlapping state
and federal concem, or a process somewhat analogous
to the normal conflict of laws situation where two
sovereignties assert divergent interests in a transaction
as to which both have some concern.

What are the interests, state and federal? The only Louisiana
state interest is in having a simple, singularrule forall substitutions
of a “legal successor” when a party dies at any time during
litigation, including after final judgment but before resolution of
an appeal. Louisiana would apply this single rule regardless of
whether the substantive cause of action arose under its law or that
of another jurisdiction, such as federal admiralty.

Here Louisiana has an insignificant interest in the seaman’s
suit and judgment. At the time of his death he was no longer
domiciled in Louisiana, but rather had been domiciled in Califor-
nia for some two and a half years, including during most of the
trial court proceeding and at the time of the judgment. Also the
personal injury at issue herein did not occur primarily, if at all,
in Louisiana territorial waters. Rather the injury was caused to
the seaman by exposure to x-ray radiation, incident to pipe weld
inspections, occurring over a period of several years. During that
period of time, the vessels on which the seaman was working
were located in various jurisdictions. The vessels’ work was

23
located exclusively or very predominantly in offshore interna-
tional waters well beyond Louisiana and other state territorial
waters. The vessel work locations also included international
waters offshore of Mexico and, during three periods, interna-
tional waters offshore of Europe. Thus, even under the maxim
lex loci delicti, state law would not apply.

Further, as discussed above, the seaman was domiciled in
California for years before and continuing through the times of
the judgment and =f his subsequent death. Therefore the legal
situs of the incorporeal moveable property right represented by
his judgment, under the rule mobilia sequuntur personam, was
California, not Louisiana. This is true under the laws of both
California and Louisiana. /n re Burnison’ s Estate, 204 P.2d. 330
(Cal. 1949), aff d U.S. v. Burnison, 70 S.Ct. 503, 339 U.S. 87
(1950); Succession of Lodato, 250 So.2d 293 (La. App. 4th Cir.
1971); Succession of Packwood, 9 Rob. 438, 12 Rob. 366 (La.
1845).

Also, the decedent seaman’s will was executed in, and under
the laws of, California. Then the seaman died in California and
his will was probated there on August 30, 1989. Further, the
judgment was inventoried on November 6, 1989 as part of the
estate in the California probate proceeding. All this occurred
before the adopted children were substituted as parties in the
Louisiana appeal on January 8, 1990. Note that under long-
established California law, the right to a judgment, in favor of a
plaintiff who died pending an appeal, belongs to the plaintiff’s
estate. Fowden v. Pacific Coast Steamship Co., 149 Cal. 151, 86
P. 178 (1906); Sherwin v. Southern Pacific Co., 158 Cal. 722,
145 P. 92 (1914).

So Louisiana’s interest in the case was limited to providing,
by virtue of the federal saving to suitors clause, the forum court
for the litigation of two federal maritime causes of action. Thus
the State of Louisiana has but a negligible interest in comparison
with the State of California or the United States.

The United States’ federal maritime interests are most sig-

SE ay

24

nificant, markedly outweighing the interests of Louisiana and
California. The first federal interest, as the sovereign who
created the substantive rights, is the protection of its own statu-
torily (Jones Act) and judicially (general maritime law) created
federal maritime rights. The integrity of these substantive
| - maritime rights should be protected from their inception through
| final judgment and appeal. Otherwise the Congressional and
| judicial purposes of these rights will not be served if the rights are
subject to deprivation under such circumstances.

The second federal interest is the promotion of uniformity in
the substance and application of federal maritime law. Such
uniformity aids maritime commerce, as discussed. Also see,
e.g., Romero v. International Terminal Operating Co., 358 U.S.
354, 79 S.Ct. 468, 3 L.Ed.2d 368 (1959); Southern Pacific Co. v.
Jensen, supra; Moragne v. States Marine Lines, supra; Kermarec
v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, supra; and Miles v. Apex
Marine Corp., supra.

This Court, in similar choice-of-law cases, notably Lauritzen
| v. Larsen3, has examined several factors in deciding whether to
apply United States law or to apply foreign law to personal injury
suits by seamen. “The broad principles of choice of law and the
! applicable criteria of selection set forth in Lauritzen were in-
| tended to guide courts in the application of maritime law gener-
ally.”4 The factors which are relevant here are: (1) the place of
the wrongful act; (2) the domicile of the injured seaman; (3) the
domicile of the defendant shipowner (or employer); and (4) the

3345 U.S. 571,73 S.Ct. 921,97 L.Ed. 1254 (1953); Hellenic Lines Ltd.
v. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306, 90 S.Ct. 1731, 26 L.Ed.2d 252 (1970).

4 Romero v. International Terminal Operating Co., 358 U.S. at 382.
This Court also noted “the place of contracting is largely fortuitous and
of little importance in determining the applicable law in an action of
marine tort.” 358 U.S. at 383.

ia elle

25

base of operations of the defendant shipowner. Here the wrong-
ful act took place in international waters, the seaman’s domicile
during most of the trial court proceedings and at the time of the
final judgment was California, the domicile of the defendant
employer was Texas, and the principal place of business of the
defendant employer was Texas. Thus Louisiana lacks the
interests which would be shown by such factors.

This Court in Kossick v. United Fruit Co., supra, expressly
analogized this balancing of interests to a conflict of laws
situation. Also see State Trading Corporation of India v.
Assuranceforeningen Skuld, 921 F.2d 409, 416 (2nd Cir. 1990),
in which a Connecticut direct action statute, substantive in
nature, was held inapplicable to a federal maritime suit under
“federal choice of law rules” which prevent “ ‘substantial varia-
tion as result of choice of forum in the rights and duties arising
from a given legal situation (citation omitted)’ ” which “would
run counter to the strong federal admiralty interest of uniformity
and predictability.” Note well that the conflict-of-laws and
choice-of-law authorities fully support the petitioner’s position.
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF ConFLict Or Laws 2d, § 122, com-
ment a, 351, 352 (1971), cited in State Trading Corporation of
India, supra, discusses the factors to consider concerning the
application of the law of the jurisdiction under which the right
originated rather than the law of the forum. Of the two relevant
factors discussed, one factor favoring the original (here federal)
jurisdiction’s law would be if the application of the local law
“would be likely to affect the ultimate result of the case.”

The second factor, the classification of the issue as “substan-
tive,” also favors applying the original jurisdiction’s law. On this
point Mr. Justice Harlan, while on the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit, said in an admiralty context:

In actions where the rights of the parties are grounded
upon the law of jurisdictions other than the forum, it is
a well-settled conflict-of-laws rule that the forum will
apply the foreign substantive law....

26
Bournias v. Atlantic Maritime Co., 220 F.2d 152, 154 (2nd Cir.
1955); cited with approval in Chevron Oil Company v. Huson, 404
U.S. 97, 113, 92 S.Ct. 349, 358, 30 L.Ed.2d 296 (1972), (Dou-
glas, J. concurring).

Also see RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF ConFLict OF Laws 24d, §
125, comment a (1971), stating “the local law of the forum as
such will not...be applied when its application would substantially
affect the rights and duties of the parties.” Also see E.StImson,
ConFLICT OF Laws, at 28 (1963), stating “the true objective of
conflict of law rules is that the outcome of the suit should be the
same regardless of the jurisdiction in which it is brought,” and
at 29 stating “if there is doubt as to whether the law applied will
affect the result, the law of the forum should not be applied.”
(emphasis added). Surely a forum law determining the ultimate
beneficiary of the personal injury action does affect the “outcome”
and the “result” of the case. This “outcome determinative” rule
has governed in other federal maritime tort, saving to suitors
clause cases in state courts. Matter of Rederi [Dow Chem. Co.],
25 N.Y.2d 576, 581, 307 N.Y.S.2d 660, 255 N.E.2d 774 (1970)
cert. denied, 398 U.S. 939, 90 S.Ct. 1844, 26 L.Ed.2d 272 (1970)
(State courts must apply federal law “to secure a single and
uniform body of maritime law.”); Lerner v. Karageorgis Lines,
488 N.E. 824, 826 (N.Y. 1985); Haggerty v. Moran Towing &
Transportation Co., 556N.Y.S.2d314,316(A.D. 1 Dept. 1990).
Itis undeniable that. had this action been brought in federal court,
the federal maritime law would have applied and would have
determined that the estate was the substantive beneficiary. Also
see discussion at §§ IT. B. and C., infra. The federal court would
not have applied state law to the question.

Finally, see Cook, “Substance” and “Procedure” in the
Conflict of Laws, 42 Yale L.J. 333,334 (1933), characterizing the
correct test as “How far can the court of the forum go in applying
the rules taken from the foreign system of the law without unduly
hindering or inconveniencing itself?” At 349 Cook distinguishes
between primary rights, secondary rights (both considered sub-

27

stantive), and tertiary rights (remedial or procedural rights)
having to do with the mode of enforcing the prior existing and
violated rights. In the instant case the petitioner’s right to the
judgment, as the personal representative of the deceased seaman
who was awarded that judgment, is clearly substantive and may
not rightfully be taken from her under a state forum procedure.
Such rights of a seaman, as “ward of the admiralty” must be
protected from encroachment.) Garrett v. Moore-McCormack
Co., supra.

Such protection has also been extended by this Court to an
ancillary estate administrator, like the petitioner, of a maritime
tort decedent in order to preserve maritime substantive rights
which otherwise would have been lost under state procedural
law, concerning the amendment of a petition at a time when a
new suit would be barred by a statute of limitations; “federal
practice” was held tocontrolin this wrongful death case. Levenson
v. Deupree, 345 U.S. 648, 652, 73 S.Ct. 914, 916, 97 L.Ed. 1319
(1953).

A reasoned balancing of interests favors application of
federal maritime law to the significant maritime legal issues
herein. Otherwise irrational fortuities would control significant
issues: the fortuities of which state holds the forum court, of
whether the defendant appeals a final judgment, and of when the
seaman dies. In Exxon v. Chick Kam Choo, supra, it was said that
such fortuities, there the fortuity of diversity of citizenship,
should not determine crucial aspects of litigation. (817 F.2d at
320).

Il. Whether under federal maritime law the substantive
beneficiary of the final judgment is the seaman’s estate.

Under federal maritime law the estate of the deceased is the
proper party in terest when the plaintiff dies after obtaining a
final judgment in his favor. In the present case, the state court

5 The ward of the admiralty concept is not needed in this case. This
judgment belongs to the estate not because the deceased was a seaman,
but because that is the federal law which would apply to anyone.

28

applied state law to find that the respondents, as the survival
beneficiaries under Article 2315.1, were the proper parties to
substitute substantively for the deceased. But clearly survival
Statutes, state or federal, are irrelevant to the present case in
which the deceased seaman obtained a judgment before his
death. Jn effect, the state court has made this case a survival case
because that court applied the survival statute. [t is important to
distinguish the instant case from survival and wrongful death
actions, which are the only two actions to which the respondents
could have been entitled.

A. Not survival or wrongful death action.

The courts below have erroneously relied upon La.C.C. Art.
2315.1, astate tortsurvival statute. Addressing La.C.C.Art.2315’s
prior survival subpart, which is now this same Art. 2315.1, a
commentator has said:

Certainly if the victim brings a suit and recovers ©

an award for his injuries and then dies, the

beneficiaries’ survival action is merged into the

prior judgment . . . .Since the beneficiaries are

merely procedural representatives to assert a claim

which the victim would have asserted if he were

alive, they cannot assert a claim which the victim

has already litigated and lost [or won, as herein].
Johnson, Death On The Callais Coach, 37 La.L.Rev. 1,48 (1976).
The point is that “survival” has to do with the action the victim
could have brought to judgment but was prevented from so doing
because of death. If he has brought the action to a judgment, then
there is simply no action to survive. The victim has already
before his death merged his action into a judgment. The purpose
of survival is to prevent the death of the victim from eliminating
a rightful action. If he has already been awarded the judgment,
then survival, by its very nature, does not apply. Comment,
Survival Of Action In Article 2315 of the Louisiana Civil Code:
The Victim’ s And The Wrongful Death Action, 43 Tulane L.Rev.
330, 335, 336 (1969). F. HARPER, F. James, & O. Gray, THE Law
OF Torts, 2d ed., Vol. 4., § 24.6, 471-472 (1986).

29

In a survival case under federal law, the enumerated benefi-
ciaries named in the survival statutes or jurisprudence are those
in whose favor the action lies (thatis, any recovery will ultimately
go to these beneficiaries). But where the deceased had initiated
his action during life and had obtained final judgment in his favor
before his death, this judgment is his property right and at his
death becomes part of his estate to be distributed in accordance
with the intestate or testate succession laws. Connors v. Gallick,
339 F.2d at 386, discussed above in §1.A.. Connors wasaFELA
case involving a railroad employee who died after receiving a
trial court verdict and pending appeal. The Court noted that the
employee’s causes of action had been “merged into his judgment”
and that the judgment “became part of his estate.” In Seaboard
Air Line Ry. Co. v. Oliver, 261 F.2d 1 (Sth Cir. 1919), cited in
Connors, supra, a case directly on point dealing with the FELA,
the court addressed the question of whether § 59 of the act (the
“survival” provision added in 1910 by amendment), could apply
after the deceased had recovered a judgment for his personal
injuries during his lifetime. The court found that it could not
apply because the employee's right of action must “survive” to
invoke § 59, and under the circumstances, the right of action had
been terminated by the judgment. The right of recovery was
merged in or extinguished by the judgment.

If the claim for injury to the decedent was terminated
in his lifetime, no claim exists at the time of his death
to which to survival status could apply. Hence, if the
decedent settled the claim, obtained judgment upon it,
or suffered adverse judgment in an action on the claim,
a subsequent action upon the claim by his personal
representative or other successor is precluded, just as
successive actions by the decedent himself would be
precluded.
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF JUDGMENTS, § 45, comment b (1982).
Also see Schumacher, Rights of Action Under Death And Sur-
vival Statutes, 23 Michigan L.Rev. 114, 117-118 (1924).

30

B. Cause of action, merged into final judgment, becomes
property right of estate.

As discussed above in the context of survival actions, the
plaintiff’s cause of action was merged into his final judgment.
When a plaintiff obtains a judgment in his favor, his cause of
action is merged in the judgment. Mamer v. New YorkR.Co., 244
U.S. 266, 61 L.Ed. 1125, 37 S.Ct. 511 (1916); Kaspar Wire Works
v. Leco Engineering and Machine, 575 F.2d 530, 533 (Sth Cir.
1978). The cause of action no longer exists, only the final
judgment exists then. “When the plaintiff recovers a valid and
final personal judgment, his original claim is extinguished and
rights upon the judgment are substituted for it. The plaintiff's
original claim is said to be ‘merged’ in the judgment.” RE-
STATEMENT (SECOND) OF JUDGMENTS, § 18, comment a (1982).
Accord: e.g., Connors v. Gallick, supra. Tunnellv. Edwardsville
Intelligencer, 43 111.2d 239, 252 NE.2d 538 (1969), cert. denied,
397 U.S. 1021, 90 S.Ct. 1259, 25 L.Ed.2d 530 (1970); Ahearn v.
Goble,90 Colo. 173, 7 P.2d.409 (1932); Mayor of City of Anniston
v. Hurt, 140 Ala. 394, 37 So. 220 (1904); Brundrett v. Hargrove,
204 Ark. 258, 161 S.W.2d 762 (1942); Heuchert v. State In-
dustrial Acc. Commission, 168 Or. 74, 121 P.2d 453 (1942);
Rosenblumv.Ginis, 297 Mass. 493, 9 N.E.2d525 (1937); Gordon
v. Hillman, 102 Wash. 411, 173 P.22 (1918); Castelluccio v.
Cloverland Dairy Products Co., 165 La. 606, 115 So. 796 (1927);
Fowden v. Pacific Coast Steamship Co., supra; Bailey v. Trav-
elers Insurance Co., 383 S.W.2d 562 (Tex. 1964).

“It is also worthy of notice that with respect to the primary
function of the doctrine of merger to bar subsequent actions on
the original cause of action, the doctrines of merger and res
judicata are identical, and both are grounded on the sarne funda-
mental precepts”. 46 Am. Jur. 2D Judgments, § 384. Inthe present
case, had the respondents brought a subsequent survival claim,
such would be barred by the merger doctrine underlying the
doctrine of res judicata. The respondents have no greater i zhts
herein.

il iateaaieaetitiaidieeeill

aA AAO ites eae Re

31

The time of the final judgment is the point at which the
- seaman’s cause of action became merged into his judgment as a
property right of his estate, even though an appeal was later
taken. Siberell v. St. Louis - San Francisco Ry. Co., 9 S.W.2d
912,917 (Mo. 1928). Accord: e.g., Variety Children’ s Hospital
v. Perkins, 382 So.2d 331 (Fla. App. 3rd Dist. 1980); Bailey v.
Travelers Insurance Co., supra; 1 AM. Jur. 2p Abatement, Sur-
vival, and Revival, § 60 (1962). Siberell was a FELA death case
in which the widow beneficiary died after judgment while the
case was on appeal and the court treated the judgment as a
property right which had vested in the deceased plaintiff’s (the
widow’s) estate.

The court said the question was a “question of right, and not
of procedure, depending upon the substance of the cause of
action, and its solution must be sought in the statute giving the
right of action”. Both of these points support the application
herein of federal maritime law; see § 1 A., B., and C., supra.

In Siberell, the judgment vested in the plaintiff before she
died. The court held the cause of action merged in the judgment
to be subject to the general law of property succession upon
death. The court said:

[I]t is as obvious as it is elementary that a final
judgment is the end of litigation. That which up to the
moment of the entry of a judgment for the relief sought
was a matter in controversy becomes an absolute debt
of one party to the other. The cause of action then has
ceased to exist, being merged in the judgment.
“After judgment the right . . . .is a vested property right which
passes under the statute of descent and distribution like any other
personal property” 25A C.J.S. Death, § 40, at 699 (emphasis in
original).

The law, that the merger of a cause of action into a final
judgment is not affected by the appeal of that judgment, can be
further shown because the merger doctrine is the basis for the
doctrine of res judicata or claim preclusion. 46 Am. Jur. 2p
Judgments, § 383. The finality of a judgment for merger

32

purposes is not affected by the taking of an appeal (nor by a
motion for a new trial) unless the judgment be in fact set aside.
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF JUDGMENTS, § 13, comment f. The
“final judgment” and “judgment” referred to in the above quota-
tions refer to a judgment final in the trial court and subject to
appeal. The fact that a final judgment is on appeal does not affect
its status as a final judgment. In fact, generally only a “final
judgment” may be appealed, thus the fact that it is subject to
appeal does not make the judgment any less “final.” 28 U.S.C.
§ 1291. Bankers Trust Co. v. Mallis, 435 U.S. 381,98S.Ct. 1117,
55 L.Ed.2d 357 (1978); Matterhorn, Inc. v. NCR Corp., 727 F.2d
629 (7th Cir. 1984).

If the judgment is reversed on appeal, of course, the judgment
is then a nullity. Sut until then, it has full force and effect. A
judgment affirmed on appeal is “affirmed as of the date when it
was rendered.” Coughlan v. District of Columbia, 106U.S.7, 11,
1 S.Ct. 37, 40, 27 L.Ed. 74, 76 (1882). This is consistent with the
federal rule concerning judicial interest on judgments. In a
federal maritime tort case, as in federal cases generally, the
judicial interest accrues from the date the final judgment is
rendered, not the date the judgment is affirmed. 28 U.S.C. § 1961
(a). Kolsopoulos v. Asturia Shipping, 467 F.2d 91, 95 (2nd Cir.
1972), a maritime personal injury case, applied § 1961 based on
this merger doctrine: “Once a claim is reduced to judgment, the
original claim is extinguished and merged into the judgment; and
a new Claim, called a judgment debt arises. See Restatement of
Judgments, § 47 (1942).” (citing the predecessor of RESTATEMENT
(SECOND) OF JUDGMENTS, § 18 (1982)).

This same rule, merger of causes of action into a final
judgment, is the long-established law of California, the state of
domicile of the plaintiff and therefore the situs of the moveable
property right represented by the judgment. Fowden v. Pacific
Coast Steamship Co., supra; Sherwin v. Southern Pacific Co.,
supra. This is also the long-established law of Louisiana, the
forum court. Vincentv. Sharp,9La.Ann. 463 (1854); Castelluccio
v. Cloverland Dairy Products Co., supra; Kirby v.AlbertT J.,517

33

So.2d 974 (La. App. 3rd Cir. 1987). This is also the federal law.
Hamer, supra; Connors, supra; Kaspar Wire Works, supra. This
is also the federal maritime law. Kolsopoulos, supra.

C. Federal maritime law.

Maritime law has been held, “even though the action were
brought in a state court,” to be “Such law is that which the
Congress has enacted or the Federal courts, sitting in admiralty
or in the exercise of their maritime jurisdiction, have declared
and would apply.” J.B. Effenson Co. v. Three Bays Corp., supra.
Therefore, all the federal cases relied upon in §§ II. A. and B.,
supra, as to the points of law applicable herein, constitute the
federal maritime law which should be applied to the present case.
Hamer v. New York R. Co., supra; Coughlan v. District of Co-
lumbia, supra; Kaspar Wire Works v. Leco Engineering and
Machine, supra; Kolsopoulos v. Asturia Shipping, supra (a
plaintiff’s cause of action, at the time of a final judgment in his
favor, is merged into the final judgment); Bankers Trust Co. v.
Mallis, supra; Matterhorn, Inc. v. NCR Corp., supra (although
appealable or appealed, a judgment remains a final judgment).
Connors v. Gallick, supra; Seaboard Air Line Ry. Co. v. Oliver,
supra (the Jones Act/FELA personal injury judgment belongs to
the estate, not the survival beneficiaries).

Had the case herein been heard in the federal courts, Federal
Rule of Appellate Procedure 43, Substitution of Parties, Subpart
(a), “Death of a Party” would require the “personal representa-
tive of the deceased party,” here the succession executrix, to be
substituted as a party in place of the original plaintiff.

It has been held that under the comparable Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 25 (a), the trial court rule on the substitution of
parties on death, only the succession representative is the proper
party to be substituted. See Marcano v. Offshore Venezuela, 497
F.Supp. 204, 206-208 (E.D.La. 1980), a federal general maritime
personal injury case, in which the court by analogy relied on the
same requirement of procedural capacity as contained in the
Jones Act and the Federal Employers Liability Act.

34

Also see Asklar v. Honeywell, Inc., 95 F.R.D. 419 (D.Ct.
1982), (a federal Age Discrimination in Employment Act case)
holding that federal rules on substitution of parties, “in an action
based on federal substantive law . . ., control over inconsistent
State statutes.” The actions herein were also based on federal
substantive law.

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure Rule 43 (a) was ineffect
at the time of Stein v. Sea-Land Services, Inc., 440 F.2d 1181 (Sth
Cir. 1971), where the seaman had received a trial court verdict in
his lifetime for his personal injuries under the general maritime
law of unseaworthiness. After the verdict, but before judgment
was entered on the verdict, the seaman died. Thereafter, during
the appeal, his widow and administratrix of his succession was
substituted for the decedent as plaintiff-appellee and the case was
affirmed in her favor. Subsequently the widow for herself
asserted additional claims for wrongful death and survival in
Sea-Land Services, Inc. v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573, 94 S.Ct. 806,
39 L.Ed.2d 9 (1974). In Gaudet this Court clearly differentiated
between wrongful death and survival actions, on the one hand,
and personal injury actions prosecuted to judgment by the
plaintiff before death, on the other. There Justice Powell referred
to the prior Stein case and noted without objection that “because
Gaudet’s death intervened between the jury verdict and the
appeal, his recovery went directly to his estate, not to him
personally.” (414 U.S. 611, n. 23, Powell, J. dissenting). It was
a foregone conclusion that, because the plaintiff died after
verdict, the recovery went to his estate. The case herein is even
stronger since the plaintiff died after being awarded a final
judgment.

The very reasoning upon which Gaudet is founded dictates
that obtaining a personal injury judgment during plaintiff’s
lifetime cuts off a survival action for the same damages. That
reasoning was that the injury action and the wrongful death
action were totally distinct, i.e., they were actions for different
injuries to different persons and thus one did not exclude the

35
other. Although this is true of wrongful death, it certainly is not
true of survival, which is exactly the same as the personal injury
claim and for the samme damages to the same person. This sup-
ports the executrix’s substitution herein and establishes the
estate as the ultimate party in interest of the general maritime law
judgment.

The instant case’s Jones Act claim clearly is controlled by the
holding in Connors v. Gallick, supra, where a railroad employee
died after receiving a final judgment, but while a motion for a
new trial was pending. The question before the court was
whether the survivorship provision of the FELA (45 U.S.C. §59,
incorporated by reference into the Jones Act), applied so as to
entitle the daughter to the proceeds of a settlement received by
the employee’s estate. The court distinguished between the
employee’s own personal injury cause of action and the survival
right of action based on that same cause of action and held that
the survivorship provision did not apply since the employee’s
own personal injury cause of action had been merged into his
final judgment, and thus there was no cause of action Se see
to survive. The court explained:

At the time the railroad filed its motion serene trial,
Gallick was its judgment creditor and it was his
judgment debtor. We are impressed that Gallick’s
cause or causes of action ha[d} been merged in his
judgment . . . . Gallick’s death did not convert his
judgment into a cause of action to be prosecuted for
the benefit of his [survivors].
Thus the judgment and the resulting settlement belonged to the
employee’s estate:
Gallick in his lifetime had prosecuted his own cause of
action to judgment, and his death did not abate his
action or vacate his judgment. The appellate proceed-
ings did not wipe out his judgment [citation omitted]
...Gallick died possessed not of an unlitigated cause
of action, but of a judgment which became part of his
estate.

36

Connors v. Gallick, 339 F.2d at 386.
This is dispositive of this Jones Act/FELA and the general
maritime question since “the similarity in purpose and function
of the Jones Act and the general maritime principles of compen-
sation for personal injuries, admit of no rational differentiation
of treatment for choice of law purposes,” Romero v. Interna-
tional Terminal Operating Co., 358 U.S. at 382.

Connors v. Gallick, supra, states the FELA, Jones Act, and
general maritime law controlling this case. Under this federal
law, the decedent’s judgment is an asset of his estate.

CONCLUSION

The Louisiana court’s action in this matter interferes with
necessary supremacy and uniformity of the substantive federal
maritime law. No recognized exception justifies this interfer-
ence with a substantive maritime right of the deceased seaman’s
estate. Petitioner submits that the Louisiana court has erred, and
that its action must be reversed. It is imperative that this Court
order summary reversal or grant certiorari to protect the judgment
rights of the deceased seaman, and to preserve the constitutional
uniformity of federal maritime law needed here.

This Court, the United States Courts of Appeals and District
Courts, and the state courts have all uniformly held that questions
of substance, such as presented in this case, must be decided
under the uniform federal law; that the law applied in saving to
suitors Clause cases in state courts or federal civil courts must
conform to that which would be applied in federal admiralty.
Had this Jones Act and general maritime action been brought in
federal court, that court would not have applied state law to the
question of substantive beneficiary in interest. It would have
applied the federal maritime law which is contrary to the state
law as applied by the state court in this case. From the Southern
Pacific Co. v. Jensen case, supra, in the early part of this century,
to the recent Miles case, supra, substantive uniformity and fed-

37

eral supremacy have been regarded by this Court as the hallmarks
of federal maritime law. Since the Chelentis case, supra, this
Court has consistently held that these virtues also should inform
cases brought in state court under the saving to suitors clause.
Both federal and state saving clause jurisprudence have rein-
forced this principle to the present day. The action of the
Louisiana court in this case is thus contrary to nearly a century
of federal and state jurisprudence and should not be allowed to
stand. as

Respectfully submitted,
FRANK H. WALK, JR.*
FREDERICK W. SWAIM, JR.,
Professor of Law,
Loyola University School of Law
New Orleans, Louisiana
Attorneys for Petitioner
600 Carondelet St., Suite 602
New Orleans, Louisiana 70130-3587
(504) 522-6090

*Counsel of Record

A-l
APPENDIX
25TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT FOR THE PARISH
OF PLAQUEMINES
STATE OF LOUISIANA
NO. 29-703 DIVISION “B”

STEPHEN A. MISTICH
VERSUS
PIPELINES, INCORPORATED, ET AL.
FILED: April 28,1989 (Signed) Merlene M, Barthelemy
DEPUTY CLERK

IUDGMENT

This matter came on for trial on the 11th day of April, 1989
and concluded on the 20th day of April, 1989.

PRESENT: Lawrence D. Wiedemann, William Hazlaris and
Mark A. Pivach, Attorneys for Plaintiff

James F. Holmes, J. Warren Gardner and
Jeffrey Christovich, Attorneys for Defendant,
Brown and Root, Inc.

The Court, after hearing the evidence, the argument of
counsel, and considering the exhibits admitted into evidence by
the parties, finds as a matter of fact, as follows:

Plaintiff, Stephen A. Mistich, was unnecessarily and improp-
erly exposed to excessive levels of radiation as a seaman aboard
vesseis owned by Brown and Root, Inc., Pipelines, Inc., Lennard
Pipelines, Inc., Sea-Con Services, Inc., and Santa Fe Interna-
tional, Inc., over the period June 11, 1976 - November 18, 1985.

The exposure to which plaintiff, Stephen A. Mistich, was
subjected during his employments with Lennard Pipelines, Inc.,
Pipelines, Inc., and Sea-Con Services, Inc., was not causally [sic]
related to plaintiff’s condition because the employment periods

A-2
were subsequent to the latency period for chronic myelogenous
leukemia diagnosed on January 19, 1986.

The exposure period during plaintiff’s employment with
Santa Fe International, Inc. (seven days) is questionably related
due to the latency period, but, if related, is de minimis when
compared to the exposure period during plaintiff's extended
employment with Brown and Root, Inc. over the period 1976 -
1984 (approximately 1073 days).

The Court finds, as a matter of fact, that Brown and Root, Inc.
was negligent and that the various vessels owned by it on which
plaintiff worked over the aforesaid period were unseaworthy.
The court also finds, as a matter of fact, that the negligence of
Brownand Root, Inc. wasacause-in-fact, and the unseaworthiness
of Brown and root, Inc.’s vessels was the cause-in-fact of
plaintiff’s chronic myelogenous leukemia due to exposure to
excessive levels of radiation; each of the aforesaid theories of
fault contributing equally to plaintiff’s injuries and damages.

The Court finds, as a matter of fact, that plaintiff did not
contribute in any way to the injuries, or damage, sustained by
him. :

The Court apportions the fault of plaintiff’s Jones Act/
General Maritime employers, as follows:

Brown and Root, Inc. 100%
Pipelines, Inc. 0%
Lennard Pipelines, Inc. 0%
Sea-Con Services, Inc. 0%
Santa Fe International, Inc. 0%

The Court finds that plaintiff is entitled to compensatory
damages in the sum of THREE MILLION ONE HUNDRED
FORTY-SEVEN THOUSAND SIX HUNDRED EIGHT AND
NO/100 ($3,147,608.00) DOLLARS, itemized as follows:

Past Medical $ 73,298.78
Past lost wages 83,912.00
Future medical 186,000.00

Future lost wages 804,397.00

A-3
Past and Future physical
pain and suffering 800,000.00
Past and Future emotional
injury, mental pain and suffering 1,200,000.00

The Court further finds, as a matter of fact, that the conduct
of Brown and Root, Inc. was willful and in gross disregard of
plaintiff’s rights, and accordingly, awards to plaintiff punitive
damages in the sum of FOUR MILLION AND NO/100
($4,000,000.00) DOLLARS.

Finally, the Court utilizes its discretion and awards pre-
judgment interest from the date of judicial demand on one-half
(1/2) of the amount awarded in compensatory damages, at the
legal rate provided under Louisiana law, and herewith taxes all
costs against defendant, Brown and Root, Inc.

JUDGMENT READ, RENDERED AND SIGNED at Pointe-
a-la-Hache, Louisiana, this 28th day of April, 1989.

(SIGNED) EMILE E. MARTIN
JUDGE

A4
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT [sic]

[LOUISIANA STATE COURT OF APPEAL]
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
NO. 89-CA-1420

STEPHEN A. MISTICH
VERSUS
PIPELINES, INC., ET AL.

APPEAL FROM PLAQUEMINES 25TH
JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT, NO. 29-703

MOTION FOR SUBSTITUTION OF PARTIES
NOW INTO COURT, through undersigned counsel, come

Brandon L. Mistich, Rebecca Mistich Terrase, and Patricia A.
Mistich as natural tutrix of Shawn A. Mistich, legal survivors of
original petitioner, Stephen A. Mistich, who move of this Court
to be recognized as party plaintiffs in this action pursuant to
Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Art. 801; Rule 2-9 of Uniform
Rules - Court of Appeal; and Louisiana Civil Code Art. 2315.1,
and upon suggesting the following:
I.

Judgment was rendered on April 28, 1989 in favor of original
plaintiff, (Stephen A. Mistich and against defendant, Brown &
Root, Inc. in the above entitled action for damages.

II.
Original plaintiff, Stephen A. Mistich, died on May 14, 1989.
Il.

There exists no surviving spouse of the deceased, Stephen A.

Mistich.

A-5
IV.

Brandon L. Mistich, Rebecca Mistich Terrase and Shawn A.
Mistich are the sole surviving children of the deceased, Stephen
A. Mistich, and therefore, the proper parties to be substituted in
the appeal as per the authorities cited. Proof of their quality is
attached as Exhibit 1 to this Motion.

Patricia A. Mistich is the natural mother and tutrix of minor
Shawn A. Mistich. Proof of her capacity is attached as Exhibit
2 to this Motion.

WHEREFORE, surviving children, Brandon L. Mistich,
Rebecca Mistich Terrase, and Patricia A. Mistich as natural
tutrix of Shawn A. Mistich, urge this Honorable court to recog-
nize their right of substitution under the authorities previously
cited, and that they be substituted as party plaintiffs and appellees
herein for original plaintiff, now deceased, Stephen A. Mistich.

IT ORDERED that Brandon L. Mistich, Rebecca Mistich
Terrase, and Patricia A. Mistich as natural tutrix of Shawn A.
Mistich, survivors of the deceased, Stephen A. Mistich, be
hereby recognized and substituted as party plaintiffs and appellees
in the above entitled and numbered cause.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 8th day of January, 1990.

(SIGNED) PATRICK M, SCHOTT
JUDGE
RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED:

WIEDEMANN & FRANSEN

(SIGNED) WILLIAM_N, HAZLARIS
LAWRENCE D. WIEDEMANN, T.A.
BAR #13457

WILLIAM N. HAZLARIS,

BAR #1950

821 Baronne Street

New Orleans, LA 70113
504/581-6180

A-6

STEVEN A. MISTICH “ NO. 89-CA-1420
VERSUS , COURT OF APPEAL
BROWN & ROOT,INC. * FOURTH CIRCUIT

? STATE OFLOUISIANA

HeH2eEKkH£KRHAARESERSE

The Petition for Intervention filed by Hettie M.
Minnick is denied. Under Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure
Article 801 and Louisiana Civil Code Article 2315.1 the proper
party to be substituted as the legal successor are the children of
the deceased plaintiff.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 28th day of December
1990.

(SIGNED) __RFB. IIT
Judge Rudolph F. Becker, III

(SIGNED) _ __ DAB
Judge Denis A. Barry

(SIGNED) _ _ JBA
Judge Joan Bernard Armstrong

A-7
The Supreme Court of the State of Louisiana
STEPHEN A. MISTICH
VS. NO. 91-0C-0164
PIPELINES INC. ET AL

IN RE: Minnicks, Hettie M.; - Other(s); Applying for Supervi-
sory and/or Remedial Writs; Parish of Plaquemines 25th Judicial
District Court Div. “B” Number 29-703; to the Court of Appeal,
Fourth Circuit, Number 89CA-1420

February 22, 1991

Denied.

LEMMON, J. would grant the writ

Supreme Court of Louisiana
February 22, 1991

(SIGNED) Frans J. Labranche, Jr.
Clerk of Court

For the Court

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2160%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
