# Opposition Brief — Simmons v. Connecticut

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2132%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 814

## Text

faspteme Court, U.S,

(2) FILED
No. 90-1807 JUL 12 1991

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991
¢

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,

Petitioner,
V.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT AND CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

Respondents.

¢

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
Connecticut Supreme Court
*

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION

¢

RICHARD BLUMENTHAL
Attorney General
State of Connecticut

KENNETH N. TEDFORD
Assistant Attorney General
State of Connecticut

55 Elm Street

Hartford, CT 06106

(203) 566-2257

(Counsel of Record)

ARNOLD K. SHIMELMAN
Assistant Attorney General
State of Connecticut

251 Maxim Road
Hartford, CT 06114

(203) 566-2298

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

¢
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Should petitioner’s cause be reviewed by this Court?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ab) 5 8 By |) ) rr re i
peek ee wo 8 |) errr. iii
SiAreeeans OF THE CASE. . ow... ccneescccesneten 2
REASONS FOR DENIAL OF THE PETITION....... 7
PIPE 6a cine dceuscuns VON eek eune ese eeeEe 8
SEITE vases vcunincdéesenew eae einen 16

iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:
Baker v. Ives, 162 Conn. 295, 294 A.2d 290 (1972) ..9, 11

Barnhart v. Brinegar, 362 F.Supp. 464 W.D.Mo

EE RE SS yr oe 14
City of Columbia v. Costle, 710 F.2d 1009 (1983) ...... 15
Consumer Power C. v. Costle, 468 F.Supp. 375 C.

Ee re ee 14
Duguay v. Hopkins, 191 Conn. 222, 464 A.2d 45

Ga oan es bs bode shan sada nddensnas » i
Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445, 96 S.Ct. 2666

SEE Re ee 14

Horak v. State, 171 Conn. 257, 368 A.2d 155 (1976) ....12

Horton v. Meskill, 172 Conn. 615, 376 A.2d 359
Ne eee etn edeees sees 8, 9

Kinney v. State, 213 Conn. 54, 566 A.2d 426 (1989)..... 8
Murphy v. Ives, 151 Conn. 259, 196 A.2d 596 (1963) . .9, 11
New Haven v. East Haven, 35 Conn. Supp. 157, 402

ee ie ean sh icc kn ngkabbbesrerecss 15
Parden v. Terminal R. Co., 377 U.S. 184 84 S.Ct. 1207

EEE Oe a ee ere 15
Rubin v. Department of Housing and Urban Develop-

ae oer wae. Soo O.Fa. (1972)................ 14
Sentner v. Board of Trustees, 184 Conn. 339, 439

EO ee ee 10

Simmons v. Burns, 9 Conn. App. 802, 516 A.2d 664
| TSG RS GUNA ch nee nn casesees 4

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Simmons v. Burns, 201 Conn. 815, 518 A.2d 72
RG ed) Data irae Oar a ei aes Bie ate oa 4
Simmons v. Wetherall, 180 Conn. 587, 430 A.2d 1296
ee ek ee te et a ie eat Nee 3, 4, 5
Simmons v. Wetherall, 3 Conn. App. 672, 491 A.2d
UN ho a ee a a eee ae 4
|
Struckman v. Burns, 205 Conn. 542, 534 A.2d 888 |
RL De iced bbe aber cake he bret ae ee ies 10
Textron, Inc. v. Wood, 167 Conn. 334, 355 A.2d 307
SS CAL cin uty l ate etackeuis Gea ee eaka wis oe 9, 11

Upson v. State, 190 Conn. 622, 461 A.2d 987 (1983) .... 12

STATUTES: |
STATE: |
ee tee, a, Gr, TN oe i ie vk oe en ean eeee 10, 11
FEDERAL:
I oe et ee naa 13
ee os ie cane Ge cee ekea kena 13, 14, 15
ee eS ln i ov wun abe daeckeeanécaawieke 14
I ae aes GLE a A era 14

_

No. 90-1807

anne

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1991

¢

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,

Petitioner,

STATE OF CONNECTICUT AND CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

Respondents.

o

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
Connecticut Supreme Court

¢

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION

e

The respondents, State of Connecticut and the Con-
necticut Department of Transportation, pray that a writ of
certiorari, as requested by the petitioner, not be issued to
review the judgment of the Connecticut Supreme Court
rendered on February 28, 1991.

s

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The sole issue before the Connecticut Appellate
Court, P. App. at App. 11,1 and the Connecticut Supreme
Court, P. App. at App. 12, was the granting by the Con- |
necticut Superior Court of the respondents’ motion to
dismiss an amended complaint on the grounds of sover-
eign immunity in state court proceedings, P. App. at App.
8-10.

The history of litigation over three decades between
the petitioner and the respondent, State of Connecticut,
its officers and employees, is so unusual that a brief
summary should aid this Court in its deliberation of the
pending Petition.

This is the most recent in a long series of litigation
between the parties and others going back to the year
1963 and the third time the parties have appeared before
the Supreme Court of the United States.? All of these trial
and appellate court actions concerned title to the same
three parcels of land situated in the Town of East Granby,
Connecticut at the end of Runway 6/24 at Bradley Inter- |
national Airport. |

On January 4, 1978, a final judgment by stipulation of
five re-opened and consolidated Superior Court cases

' The Appendix to the petition is designated “P. App. at

ee as
2 Augustus J. Simmons v. United States, et al., No. 83-1833,

cert. denied, October 1, 1984. App. A-1. Augustus ]. Simmons v. ].

William Burns, Commissioner, et al. No. 88-693, cert. denicd,

November 28, 1988. App. A-2.

eee

seemed to finally end the prior years of litigation. P. App.
at App. 13-17.

The petitioner represented by counsel and appearing
pro se, agreed to convey the subject land to the State for
$385,600. The petitioner subsequently refused to accept
the agreed upon compensation, and the State secured a
Supplemental Judgment dated June 2, 1978, which re-
affirmed the January 4, 1978 judgment and vested title to
the three parcels in the State and ordered the State to
deposit, with the Clerk of the Superior Court, $385,600 on
the petitioner’s behalf. P. App. at App. 18-31. In 1980, the
Supreme Court of Connecticut recognized the validity of
this stipulated final judgment in Simmons v. Wetherall, 180
Conn. 587, 430 A.2d 1296 (1980). P. App. at App. 5.

In compliance with the Supplemental Judgment, the
State deposited $385,600 with the clerk. The clerk con-
tinues to hold these funds on deposit with the Connecti-
cut National Bank for the benefit of the petitioner,
encumbrancers and lienors, consistent with the Supple-
mental Judgment. As of February 1991, the balance, with
accrued interest was approximately $518,600.%

In February 1984 the petitioner filed a “Claim for
Declaratory Judgment” in the Superior Court. The peti-
tioner sought a declaratory judgment on eleven different
issues regarding the same three parcels of land. He also

3 These funds were recently drawn down upon by Court
Order upon a Motion for Payment by a listed encumbrancer.
The petitioner participated in and did not object to the same,
and this process was consistent with the Judgment and Supple-
mental Judgment (Simmons v. Wetherall, No. 163875, June 11,
1990). App. A-3.

sought to void the judgment settling the prior litigation, |
which had been upheld by the Connecticut Supreme |
Court in 1980. The trial court denied the declaratory relief

sought, and this decision was upheld by the Connecticut

Appellate Court. (Simmons v. Wetherall, 3 Conn. App. 672,

491 A.2d 1908 (1985)).

Undaunted, the petitioner returned to the Superior
Court in January of 1986 with another civil action seeking
to relitigate the issues previously determined and
affirmed in Simmons v. Wetherall, 180 Conn. 587, 430 A.2d
1296 (1980). The State’s motion to dismiss was granted by
the Court. This decision was also affirmed by the Appel-
late Court (Simmons v. Burns, 9 Conn. App. 802 (1986)),
and a petition for certification to appeal was denied by
the Connecticut Supreme Court on November 25, 1986
(Simmons v. Burns, 201 Conn. 815 (1986)).

The petitioner, refusing to acknowledge the finality
of the prior judicial decisions, initiated yet another Supe-
rior Court action in August 1987. That action was, in
essence, an attack on the June 2, 1978 Supplemental Judg-
ment. The trial Court granted the State’s Motion to Dis- )
miss on the grounds of sovereign immunity.

Although this State action was dismissed, the federal
defendant, the Federal Aviation Administration, peti-
tioned for removal prior to the filing of the court’s deci-
sion and, therefore, the State was before the U.S. District
Court. The State filed a motion to dismiss as to the State
defendants. This motion was granted by the Court (Dor-
sey, J.) on November 10, 1987 (Ruling on Motion to Dis-
miss, Docket No. H-87-732, App. A-6). The petitioner

i ereeeereeninmeimiinanmnatiniee

moved to set aside this decision, and the Court (Cab-
ranes, J.) denied this motion and dismissed the case with
prejudice (Ruling on Pending Motions and Order March
15, 1988, Docket No. H-87-732. App. A-8).

It is of particular note that Judge Cabranes also
enjoined the petitioner from filing in the U.S. District
Court “ . . . any lawsuit in which he asserts the same
claims as‘were litigated, or as might have been litigated,
in the Connecticut Superior Court cases referred to as
Simmons v. Wetherall . . . 180 Conn. 587 (1980), and all the
cases consolidated therewith.” App. A-22.

The petitioner appealed to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, which Court affirmed the
U.S. District Court decision, including the injunction
against further federal litigation. Simmons v. Burns, et al.,
Order, Docket No. 88-6093, September 14, 1988. App.
A-27.

This Supreme Court of the United States denied the
petitioner’s petition for a writ of certiorari, Simmons v.
Burns, et al., No. 88-693, cert. denied, November 28, 1988.
App. A-2.

The petitioner has also sought direct relief in the
federal court system on numerous occasions. In 1981 he
initiated an action alleging that the taking of his land
violated his constitutional rights, and in 1983 he initiated
an action sounding in trespass and ejectment. These two
cases were consolidated and the United States District
Court (Cabranes, J.) dismissed the suits holding the
issues to be barred by the doctrine of res judicata and also
an impermissible collateral attack on a valid state court
judgment. App. A-30. Judge Cabranes’ order was

affirmed by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit on December 20, 1983. App. A-34, and this
Supreme Court denied a petition for certiorari on October
1, 1984. Simmons v. United States, et al., No. 83-1833, cert.
denied, October 1, 1984. App. A-1.

Notwithstanding the above dispositions by both the
state and federal courts, the petitioner initiated yet
another federal court action in January of 1985. In an
attempt to avoid the res judicata effect of the 1978 State
court judgment, he alleged new violations of federal stat-
utes by the State and other defendants. The central issue
of this federal court litigation was the question of owner-
ship of the three parcels of land, the subject of this
Petition. On April 8, 1985, the District Court dismissed
the petitioner’s claims on the grounds of res judicata. The
U.S. Court of Appeals, for the Second Circuit, affirmed
this judgment on November 22, 1985 (App. A-37). In
addition to affirming the trial court, the Court of
Appeals’ decision states as follows:

We also consider this a frivolous appeal. Appel-
lant has litigated the same matters numerous
times before in both state and federal courts
over a period of many years. Because appellant
is a pro se litigant, we are not imposing sanc-
tions at this time. However, appellant is hereby
placed on notice that he risks imposition of
sanctions in the future should he seek once

again to relitigate these same matters (App.
A-38).

The litigation that is the subject of this Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari is an alleged quiet title action under
Connecticut law in state court. The Connecticut Supreme
Court denied a petition for certification (P. App., at App.

12) to appeal from the Appellate Court decision (P. App.,
at App. 11), which decision affirmed the trial court’s
dismissal of the action (P. App., at App. 8-10).

The issues raised in this litigation are, in essence, the
same that petitioner has repeatedly raised in the many
prior actions instituted by the petitioner and which have
been conclusively resolved against him. The petitioner
now asks this Supreme Court to consider them yet again.
Clearly, under Rule 10 of the Rules of the Supreme Court
of the United States, the considerations governing review
on the writ of certiorari establish beyond doubt that
petitioner’s cause does not warrant review.

4

REASONS FOR DENIAL OF THE PETITION

The respondents respectfully represent that there are
no special or important reasons to support the Petition.
The Connecticut Supreme Court denial of certification
has not decided a federal question in a way that conflicts
with the decision of another state court of last resort or of
a United States court of appeals, nor does the decision of
the Connecticut Supreme Court decide a federal question
in a way that conflicts with applicable decisions of this
Supreme Court.

ARGUMENT

THE COURTS BELOW DID NOT ERR IN GRANTING
AND AFFIRMING THE RESPONDENTS’ MOTION TO
DISMISS THE AMENDED COMPLAINT ON THE
GROUNDS OF SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY.

A. Motion To Dismiss

The sole issue before the appellate courts was to
determine if the trial court properly dismissed the
amended complaint on the grounds of sovereign immu-
nity, raised by the respondent’s motion to dismiss. “The
doctrine of sovereign immunity involves the jurisdiction
of the court over the subject matter of the action.” Horton
v. Meskill, 172 Conn. 615, 624, 376 A.2d 359 (1977)).

In Kinney v. State, 213 Conn. 54, 58, 566 A.2d 426
(1989), the Connecticut Supreme Court most recently
stated as follows:

“Once an issue of subject matter jurisdiction

is raised, the court must dispose of this legal

question as a threshold matter. (citing cases).

‘Whenever a court discovers that it has no juris-

diction, it is bound to dismiss the case... ’
(citing cases).”

This case did not proceed beyond the granting of the
State’s motion to dismiss the amended complaint. The
trial court decision on the “threshold matter” of subject
matter jurisdiction and sovereign immunity was disposi-
tive of the case, and there was no further judicial action
taken on the allegations or merits of the amended com-
plaint.

The petitioner raises issues that exceed the jurisdic-
tional issues raised by the State’s motion to dismiss and
seeks to introduce, before this United States Supreme

eal
.

Court, evidentiary matters or legal issues that go to the
merits of the allegations in the amended complaint. Such
evidentiary matters are properly within the jurisdiction
of the trial court, absent the disposition of this matter by
the trial court on jurisdictional issues in granting the
respondents’ motion to dismiss.

B. The Amended Complaint Is Barred By The Doctrine
Of Sovereign Immunity.

It is an established principle of law, recognized and
upheld by the Connecticut Supreme Court, that the State
cannot be sued without its consent. Horton v. Meskill, 172
Conn. 615, 623, 376 A.2d 359 (1977); Textron, Inc. v. Wood,
167 Conn. 334, 339, 355 A.2d 307 (1974).

In Duguay v. Hopkins, 191 Conn. 222, 227, 464 A.2d 45
(1983), the Supreme Court reiterated the law as follows:

It is well established law that the state is
immune from suit unless it consents to be sued
by appropriate legislation waiving sovereign
immunity in certain prescribed cases. Baker v.
Ives, 162 Conn. 295, 298, 294 A.2d 290 (1972);
Murphy v. Ives, 151 Conn. 259, 262-63, 196 A.2d
596 (1963).

Two narrow exceptions to the doctrine of sovereign
immunity are also set out in a footnote on page 227 of
Duguay v. Hopkins, supra.4 The courts below determined

4 The State is subject to suit without consent in an action
for declaratory judgment where the defendant state officer is
allegedly proceeding under an unconstitutional statute or in
excess of his statutory authority; Horton v. Meskill, 172 Conn.

(Continued on following page)

10

that the amended complaint does not fall within the
purview or scope of these exceptions because the peti-
tioner is seeking coercive relief, damages, costs and the
setting aside of prior Superior Court judgments, as
affirmed by the Connecticut Supreme Court. The courts
below found that there is no proper nor sufficient allega-
tion or claim that the respondents have proceeded under
an unconstitutional statute or have acted in an uncon-
stitutional manner. In addition, the relief sought by the
petitioner would clearly be an undue interference with
governmental functions, as the same would have a direct
adverse impact on Bradley International Airport, the
Connecticut Department of Transportation and the State
of Connecticut.

The petitioner does claim that the instant case was
filed as a quiet title action under C.G.S. Sec. 47-31, which
is entitled “Action to settle title or claim interest in real or
personal property.” P. App. at App. 58-60.

Assuming, solely for this argument, that the
amended complaint is brought under Sec. 47-31 C.GS.,
this statute does not confer the trial court with jurisdic-
tion over the subject matter. In Struckman v. Burns, 205
Conn. 542, 558, 534 A.2d 888 (1987), the Connecticut
Supreme Court held:

(Continued from previous page)

615, 624, 376 A.2d 359 (1977); and in a suit for injunctive relief
when the action does not defeat the purpose of the doctrine of
sovereign immunity by undue interference with governmental
functions. Sentner v. Board of Trustees, 184 Conn. 339, 439 A.2d
1033 (1981).

11

It is a matter for the legislature, not this court, to
determine when our state’s sovereign immunity
should be waived. “The question whether the
principles of governmental immunity from suit
and liability are waived is a matter for legisla-
tive, not judicial, determination. Rogan v. Board
of Trustees, 178 Conn. 579, 582, 424 A.2d 274
(1979); Bergner v. State, 144 Conn. 282, 286-87,
130 A.2d 293 (1957).” Duguay v. Hopkins, 191
Conn. 222, 228, 464 A.2d 45 (1983). Sovereign
immunity may be waived only through a statute. Id.
Any statutory waiver of immunity must be nar-
rowly construed. Id. “The State’s sovereign right
not to be sued may be waived by the legislature,
provided clear intention to that effect is disclosed ‘by
the use of express terms or by force of a necessary
implication.’ Baker v. Ives, [162 Conn. 295, 298,
294 A.2d 290 (1972)]; Murphy v. Ives, [151 Conn.
259, 262-63, 196 A.2d 596 (1963)].” Id. (Emphasis
added).

Clearly, Sec. 47-31 C.G.S. does not waive sovereign
immunity, as the statute does not expressly nor by force
of necessary implication provide the required clear inten-
tion.

C. Constitutional Issues

It is recognized that under proper circumstances and
with the proper framing of a complaint, the doctrine of
sovereign immunity is not available as a defense for just
compensation arising under Article First, Section 11 of
the State Constitution. See Textron, Inc. v. Wood, 167 Conn.
334, 342, 355 A.2d 307 (1974).

The Connecticut Supreme Court has clarified the
essentials of a complaint if constitutional issues are to be
raised.

12

The complaint, to survive the defense of sover-
eign immunity, must allege sufficient facts to
support a finding of a taking of [property] in a
constitutional sense . . . ” Horak v. State, 171
Conn. 257, 261, 368 A.2d 155 (1976). Where “the
complaint is insufficient to establish an uncon-
stitutional taking . . . the doctrine of sovereign
immunity is a sufficient bar to the jurisdiction of
the court” Id., 262.

Upson v. State, 190 Conn. 622, 625, 461 A.2d 991 (1983).

In Upson, 626, the Supreme Court declared that the
mere allegation of wrongful taking, coupled with an allega-
tion of constitutional violation, are not sufficient to pre-
clude the court from an inquiry concerning a claimed
jurisdictional defect such as sovereign immunity. At page
626 of Upson, supra, the Court stated as follows:

Regardless of the phraseology in the nature of a
conclusion employed by the pleader, if the fact
of the record indicates that the court is without
jurisdiction, the complaint must be dismissed.
Horak v. State, supra, 260. A reading of the trial
court’s decision demonstrates conclusively that
the court analyzed the facts alleged in the com-
plaint and concluded that those facts did not
amount to an unconstitutional taking, and that,
therefore, the court lacked jurisdiction. We con-
cur in the conclusion of the trial court that the
record on its face discloses that the plaintiff was
fully compensated, that there was no uncon-
stitutional taking, and that the defendant's
motion to dismiss was correctly granted.

The courts below found the facts alleged in the
amended complaint do not amount to a proper allegation
of unconstitutional activity by the State defendants. The
appellate courts below determined that the amended
complaint in this matter, as in Upson, supra, fails to meet

13

the tests established by the Connecticut Supreme Court,
and thus, the trial court was correct in its analysis of the
facts alleged and in granting the State’s motion to dis-
miss.

D. Violation Of Federal Law

The petitioner argues that the existence of a federal
statutory scheme for relocation assistance and real prop-
erty acquisition (Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real
Property Acquisition Policies Act, 42 USC Sec. 4601, et
seq. “Uniform Act”) is all that is required to defeat the
respondents’ immunity from suit in the Connecticut
courts. The respondents argue that such an assertion is
without a foundation or basis in law.

The issue of the Uniform Act (42 USC Sec. 4601 et
seq.) was not an issue before the trial court, and it is not
cited in the amended complaint as a basis for any federal
claim or as a waiver of sovereign immunity.

Notwithstanding the argument offered by the peti-
tioner, the federal law itself provides an answer by
express provision as follows:

Sec. 4602 Effect upon property acquisition

(a) The provisions of Section 4651 of this title
create no rights or liabilities and shall not affect the
validity of any property acquisitions by purchase or
condemnation.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed
as creating in any condemnation proceedings
brought under the power of eminent domain,
any element of value or of damage not in exis-
tence immediately prior to January 2, 1971. (42
USC Sec. 4602) (Emphasis added).

14

42 USC Sec. 4651 provides for the adoption, for fed-
eral programs, of a uniform policy on real property acqui-
sition practices, and 42 USC Sec. 4655 requires that the
states also be guided by the same policy.

The courts have interpreted 42 USC Sec. 4602 as
follows:

The relocation and acquisition statutes were
intended to set forth guidelines rather than to
create rights of the kind giving rise to a legal
cause of action. Consumer Power Co. v. Costle, 468
F. Sup. 375 (D. Mich, 1979) aff’d, 615 F2d 1147
(6th Cir. 1980).

No rights are created in favor of property
owners enforceable in district court, and this
statutory scheme merely sets policy guidelines
to be followed in acquisition of real property.
Rubin v. Department of Housing and Urban Devel-
opment, 347 F. Supp. 555 (D. Pa. 1972).

The congressional intent behind 42 USC Sec.
4602(a) is to preclude judicial review of federal
and State agency actions under real property
acquisitions set forth in 42 USC Sec. 4651. Barn-
hart v. Brinegar, 362 F. Supp. 464 (W.D. Mo.
1973).

By its express terms, the Uniform Act does not waive
the State’s sovereign immunity from suit.

The petitioner misleads this Court in his reliance
upon Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445, 96 S. Ct. 2666
(1976). Fitzpatrick was a Title VII, Civil Rights Act federal
court action, which Congress authorized to be brought
against a state defendant under Section 5 of the Four-
teenth Amendment. The issue was whether there was an
express waiver of a state’s sovereign immunity under the
Eleventh Amendment. Fitzpatrick was not an action

15

brought under the Uniform Relocation Assistance and
Real Property Acquisition Policies Act (42 USC Sec. 4601
et seq.), nor did it involve the defendant’s sovereign
immunity in state court actions.

Similarily, Parden v. Terminal R. Co., 377 U.S. 184, 84S. Ct.
1207 (1964), is not applicable to the matter before this Court,
as in Parden, there was a congressional intent to abrogate the
immunity conferred by the Eleventh Amendment. The Uni-
form Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition
Policies Act does not contain a provision that expressly
creates a cause of action against the State. In fact, the con-
trary is set forth in 42 USC Sec. 4602.

The petitioner has misread the case of New Haven v.
East Haven, 35 Conn. Supp. 157, 402 A.2d 345 (1977), and
tortures its holding in its favor. The New Haven case is
founded on Connecticut law and has no relevance to the
federal law cited by the plaintiff. East Haven had
attempted to acquire, by condemnation, a portion of
Tweed-New Haven Airport, owned by the City of New
Haven, but located in East Haven. New Haven sought to
enjoin this action and was successful. There was no issue
of sovereign immunity nor waiver of immunity.

The case of City of Columbia v. Costle, 710 F.2d 1009
(1983), cited by the petitioner does not even discuss the
issue of a state’s sovereign immunity. The case did
involve the Uniform Act, but the issue was a contract
dispute over grant agreement language between the
municipality and the federal Environmental Protection
Agency.

16

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing, it is clear that the peti-
tioner has not established any basis upon which this
Court, in its discretion, should grant review. Accordingly,
it is respectfully urged that the petition be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
Respondents

RICHARD BLUMENTHAL
Attorney General
State of Connecticut

KENNETH N. TEDFORD
Assistant Attorney General
State of Connecticut

55 Elm Street

Hartford, CT 06106

(203) 566-2257

(Counsel of Record)

ARNOLD K. SHIMELMAN
Assistant Attorney General
State of Connecticut

251 Maxim Road
Hartford, CT 06114

(203) 566-2298

APPENDIX

A-i

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Page
Simmons v. United States, et al
Supreme Court of the United States Docket No.
83-1833 Cert. Denied October 1, 1984............. A-1
Simmons v. Burns, et al
Supreme Court of the United States Docket No.
88-693 Cert. Denied November 28, 1988........... A-2
Simmons v. Wetherall
Superior Court Docket No. 163875 Order - Motion
Ber PE I OE, DOD s a's nos de vina essences A-5
Simmons v. Burns, et al
U.S. District Court Docket No. H-87-732 Ruling on
Motion to Dismiss (Dorsey, J.) November 10,
AEE a he an eee rare Ce ore A-6
Simmons v. Burns, et al
U.S. District Court Docket No. H-87-832 Ruling on
Pending Motions and Order (Cabranes, J.)
EY MN 40s 6 604s 0s sh dake CARS CA S668 50% A-8
Simmons v. Burns, et al
U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit Docket No.
88-6093 Order - September 14, 1988 ............ A-27
Simmons v. United States, et al
U.S. District Court Docket No. H-81-778 (JAC)
Docket No. H-83-225 (TEC) Order August 16,
SE ee ov carr aae ieek baeee enous A-30

A-ii
INDEX TO APPENDIX - Continued

Simmons v. Powers, etc.

U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit Docket No.
83-6257 Decision Decetnber 20, 1983 ............ A-34

Simmons v. United States, et al

U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit Docket No.
85-6087 Decision November 22, 1985............ A-37

Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property
Acquisition Policies Act 42 USC 4602........... A-39

A-1

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20543
October 1, 1984

Mr. Gerard J. Dowling
P.O. Box 120
Hartford, CT 06101

Re: Augustus J. Si. mons,
v. United States, et al.
No. 83-1833
Dear Mr. Dowling:

The Court today entered the following order in the
above entitled case:

The petition for a writ of certiorari is denied.

Very truly yours,
Alexander L. Stevas, Clerk

A-2

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20543
November 28, 1988

Mr. Carl J. Schuman
Office of Atty. General
30 Trinity Street
Hartford, CT 06106

Re: Augustus J. Simmons,
v. J. William Burns, Commissioner, Connect-
icut Department of Transportation, et al.
No. 88-693

Dear Mr. Schuman:

The Court today entered the following order in the
above entitled case:

The petition for a writ of certiorari is denied.

Very truly yours,

Joseph F. Spaniol, Jr., Clerk
/s/ Joseph F. Spaniol, Jr.

A-3

No. 20 21 21-8
STATE OF CONNECTICUT

VS. AUGUSTUS J. SIM-
MONS

NO. 19 92 30-9
AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
VS.

SAMUEL KANNELL, ET
AL

NO. 14 09 65
STATE OF CONNECTICUT
VS.

ANASTASIA SIMMONS
AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
and

CHARLES SIMMONS

NO. 16 29 23
AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
VS.

FRANK C. PARIZEK, ET
AL

NO. 16 38 75
AUGUST J. SIMMONS
VS.

HORACE B. WETHERELL,
ET AL

SUPERIOR COURT

JUDICIAL DISTRICT
OF HARTFORD/NEW
BRITAIN AT
HARTFORD

MAY 29, 1990

A-4

MOTION FOR PAYMENT

JEROME DIAMOND; hereby moves the court to for [sic]
an order of payment of a mortgage from Augustus J.
Simmons to Jerome Diamond including all costs of fore-
closure.

In support of said Motion he represents:

1. Said mortgage was supposed to have been paid
in full by virtue of the decision of Judge John Brennan
and a release to have been filed on the land records;

2. Funds are being held in the name of Augustus J.
Simmons by the court for payment of liens on the prop-
erty;

3. The State of Connecticut has taken the position
before the court that Augustus J. Simmons can file a
Motion for Payment with the court;

4. In the absence of payment by the court, Augustus
J. Simmons will suffer a foreclosure of his land.

Wherefore, the court should grant the Motion and
order payment of the entire mortgage debt to Jerome
Diamond and all costs for foreclosure in Case No. CV 87
0327480 S.

ARGUMENT REQUESTED
TESTIMONY NOT REQUIRED

JEROME DIAMOND
By /s/ Richard B. Laschever

His Attorney

A-5

ORDER

The foregoing Motion having been heard by the
Court, it is ORDERED: GRANTED. The sum of

$116,552.28 shall be paid to JEROME DIAMOND, c/o
ATTY. RICHARD LASCHEVER from said fund.

JUNE 11, 1990
BY THE COURT

/s/ illegible

A-6

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS

a Civil No. H-87-732

J. WILLIAM BURNS, et al. : (PCD)

RULING ON MOTION TO DISMISS

Plaintiff commenced this action in state court on
August 10, 1987. The action was removed to this court on
the petition of the defendant Administrator of the Federal
Aviation Administration. Defendants Julian Tashjian, Sec-
retary of the State of Connecticut, and William Burns,
Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Trans-
portation, move to dismiss the action as to them.

Plaintiff's complaint against the state defendants
essentially seeks to quiet title to certain parcels of land
and to eject the State of Connecticut from possession of
that land. The complaint is only the latest in a long line of
state and federal actions which plaintiff has filed relating
to the same subject. However, these issues were validly
and finally adjudicated in Simmons v. Wetherall, No.
163875 (Superior Court January 4, 1978, as modified June
2, 1978). The judgment entered in that case was affirmed
on appeal by the Connecticut Supreme Court. Simmons v.
Wetherall, 180 Conn. 587 (1980). Plaintiff is bound by that
judgment through the doctrine of res judicata. Moreover,
his complaint is impermissible either as an attempt to
. appeal to this court from the state court judgment, Rooker
v. Fidelity Trust Co., 261 U.S. 114 (1923), or to collaterally
attack that judgment.

A-7

For the foregoing reasons, the motion of the state
defendants to dismiss the complaint is granted.

SO ORDERED.

Dated at Hartford, Connecticut, this 10th day of
November, 1987.

/s/ Peter C. Dorsey

Peter C. Dorsey
United States District Judge

A-8

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS :
v.
WILLIAM BURNS, et al.

CIVIL NO. H-87-732J AC)

RULING ON PENDING MOTIONS
AND ORDER

(Filed March 15, 1988)

This represents the latest, and this court hopes, the
final chapter in the epic tale of one pro se plaintiff’s
passion for engaging in vexatious litigation. Plaintiff
Augustus Simmons has struggled for over twenty-four
years to control several parcels of land situated in the
Town of East Granby, parcels which long ago became part
of Bradley Interational [sic] Airport. The instant action
seeks, inter alia, declaratory and injunctive relief and
damages against various state and federal defendants, all
of which claims rest upon plaintiff’s reassertion of his
lawful ownership of these parcels. Insofar as is relevant
to the pending motions, plaintiff also asserts various
complaints against two attorneys who represented him at
an earlier stage in this struggle. Presently pending is an
assortment of motions filed by plaintiff of varying
degrees of intelligbility [sic] and importance. Because the
determinations on the merits of Plaintiff’s Motion to Set
Aside Dismissal of State Defendants (filed Dec. 1, 1987)
(“Motion to Set Aside Dismissal”), the Federal Defen-
dant’s Motion to Dismiss (filed Nov. 30, 1987) and Defen-
dant Rogin and Hirtle’s Motion for Summary Judgment
(filed Jan. 6, 1988) are dispositive of the claims against

—_— =

A-9

these defendants, these are the only motions which the
court will discuss at any length.

For the reasons set forth below, the complaints
against the state and federal defendants, are DISMISSED
WITH PREJUDICE; summary judgment is GRANTED for
defendants Rogin and Hirtle.

I

BACKGROUND

It is difficult to summarize the tortuous path of this
litigation. We rehearse this history here because the repet-
itiveness of it is in large part the ground for our decision.
Fully fifteen years ago, our Court of Appeals described
the beginnings of the story as follows:

The battle began [in 1964] when the state
aeronautics commission moved under Conn.
Gen. Stat. § 15-79, which then governed taking
of land for airports, to condemn the Simmons
property [adjoining Bradley International Air-
port]. Pursuant to the statute, a petition for the
determination of compensation was brought by
the state in Hartford Superior Court; a judgment
was rendered finding the taking reasonable and
appointing a referee to assess damages.
Anastasia Simmons [plaintiff's mother]
appealed to the Connecticut Supreme Court,
which reversed, finding error in the trial court’s
exclusion of evidence offered to show that prop-
erty similarly situated had not been taken. State
v. Simmons, 153 Conn. 351, 216 A.2d 632 (1966).
Since this evidence was held to be relevant on
the issue of whether the state had acted arbi-
trarily in singling out the Simmons land, the
case was remanded for a new trial.

A-10

While the first suit was pending, Mrs. Sim-
mons died, and Augustus entered the fray.
Before the second trial began, he raised as an
affirmative defense to the taking the fact that
the state authorities had not received the requi-
site statutory approval from the Town of East
Granby before proceeding with the condemna-
tion. The trial court agreed; the Supreme Court
affirmed. State v. Simmons, 155 Conn. 502, 234
A.2d 835 (1967). Round two for the Simmons
family.

Undaunted, the state tried again, this time
attempting to use Conn. Gen. Stat. § 48-12, the
general condemnation statute, which provided
for procedures different from section 15-79 in
cases where compensation could not be agreed
upon by the parties. The Simmons family pre-
vailed again, in Simmons v. State, 160 Conn. 492,
280 A.2d 351 (1971), when the Supreme Court
held that the state was required to use the sec-
tion .5-79 procedure.

At about the same time the abortive con-
demnation attempts were taking place, a related
dispute arose between the state and Simmons
over some land upon which runway lights had
been placed. Simmons claimed that the land was
his; the state said it was the state’s. An eject-
ment action followed. In Simmons v. Parizek, 158
Conn. 304, 259 A.2d 642 (1969), the Supreme
Court held that since the complaint did not
allege that the state officials had acted uncon-
stitutionaily or in a manner unauthorized by
some statute, the suit was barred by the doctrine
of sovereign immunity. Appellant took the hint,
and on October 14, 1969 resurrected the eject-
ment action, this time alleging that the taking of
the land and the erection of runway lights was
done both unconstitutionally and without statu-
tory authorization. That suit, Docket No. 162923,

A-11

Hartford Superior Court, [was] still pending [as
of January, 1973].

Shortly before the Connecticut Superior
Court decision in Simmons v. Parizek, supra, a
Special Act was passed by the Connecticut Gen-
eral Assembly, allowing Augustus Simmons to
sue the state for damages over “loss of use of
land,” arising out of the bumbling condemna-
tion proceedings. On January 5, 1970, Simmons
brought such a suit, Docket No. 163875, Hart-
ford Superior Court; [as of January, 1973,] the
action [was] still pending.

Thus, if there ever was a litigant who knew
that his claims would be fairly heard in the state
courts, Augustus Simmons was he. Neverthe-
less, perhaps for a change of setting, he insti-
tuted [a] section 1983 action on December 22,
1971 [in the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut, Simmons v. Wetherall,
Civil No. 14806] alleging that his property was
taken without due compensation, and seeking
damages.

Simmons v. Wetherall, 472 F.2d 509, 510-11 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 412 U.S. 940 (1973); see also Simmons v. McKone, 158
Conn. 71 (1969) (lawsuit concerning plaintiff’s succession
to the land).

Judge Blumenfeld dismissed the section 1983 action
after finding that, at most, Simmons had alleged a tor-
tious interference with his property by state officials.
Upon review of Judge Blumenfeld’s decision, our Court
of Appeals determined that Simmons’ claim also involved
a boundary dispute; accordingly, it affirmed in part and
remanded in part so that the district court could stay the
action pending resolution of one of two state court pro-
ceedings. See Simmons v. Wetherall, 472 F.2d at 511-12.

A-12

In December, 1977, the plaintiff retained the firm of
Rogin, Nassau, Caplan, Lassman & Hirtle to represent
him in his then-pending cases. Attorneys Edward Rogin
and Robert Hirtle, two defendants in the instant action,
were partners in that firm. Negotiations ensued, and
Docket No. 163875 was consolidated with Docket No.
162923 and three other related actions that Simmons had
pending in the Connecticut Superior Court. On December
13, 1977, state referee Louis Shapiro, with the consent of
the parties, entered a final judgment by stipulation in the
consolidated actions, a judgment which promised to end
years of litigation. Pursuant to the judgment by stipula-
tion, the plaintiff, still represented by Rogin, Nassau,
Caplan, Lassman & Hirtle, agreed, inter alia, to sell the
disputed parcels of land to the state for $518,000.

The resolution of the matter was short-lived. Only
days after the settlement, Simmons voiced his refusal to
accept the terms of the judgment, terms which he had
previously stated were satisfactory. Specifically, Simmons
wanted to retain one piece of “Parcel A,” the whole of
which he had agreed to sell on December 13, 1977. Again,
the plaintiff’s attorneys negotiated. On January 4, 1978,
the state agreed to allow the plaintiff to retain the
requested portion of Parcel A. In return, the plaintiff
agreed to sell the remaining disputed land for $385,600.
He further agreed that the ‘[j)udgment entered in this
matter be a full and final settlement between the parties
of any and all claims and disputes concerning said par-
cels of land and any and all other claims contained in the
above consolidated cases.” Memorandum in Support of
Motion to Dismiss (filed Oct. 7, 1987) (“State Defendant’s
Memorandum”), Exhibit A at 3. Pursuant to the new

A-13

agreement and judgment, a closing was scheduled for
January 24, 1978, at which time the exchange of title was
to be consummated. See Affidavit of Robert Hirtle attached
to Motion for Summary Judgment by Defendants Edward
Rogin and Robert Hirtle (filed Jan. 6, 1988) at 2-3.

Before the closing, however, Simmons apparently
encumbered the property by leasing a portion of it, not-
withstanding that he knew title was to vest in the state
pursuant to the stipulated judgment. Simmons took this
action without the prior knowledge of his attorneys, and
eventually, he refused to cooperate with his attorneys. On
April 20, 1978, the firm sent the plaintiff a notice of its
withdrawl [sic] as his counsel. See id. at 3.

On June 1, 1978, the plaintiff, acting pro se, filed a
motion to reopen the judgment entered January 4, 1978.
In rejecting the plaintiff's request, the state referee wrote:

The plaintiff argued that Attorney Robert L.
Hirtle, Jr., of the firm Rogin, Nassau, Caplan,
Lassman and Hirtle, failed to disclose to him
that he once served as an assistant attorney
general for the State. His claim is that this cre-
ated a conflict of interests and thereby he was
not fully and adequately represented at the
prior proceedings. It is true that Hirtle served as
an assistant attorney general between 1965 and
1971. Thereafter he joined the Rogin law firm.
Hirtle stated that before the Rogin firm entered
the seitlement talks he discussed with the plain-
tiff his former affiliation. The plaintiff was
informed by his other counsel that Hirtle’s inter-
vention would be beneficial to the plaintiff. As it
turned out, Attorneys Salzman and Silverman
who represented the plaintiff in the trial before
me of case #162923, Simmons v. Parizek, et al.

A-14

which went to judgment, were unable to negoti-
ate a post judgment settlement with the state.
The Rogin firm entered an appearance at a later
date and the participation of attorneys Edward
Rogin and Hirtle in discussions with the attor-
ney general’s office brought results. At a date
prior to January 4, 1978, being on December 13,
1977, these five cases were settled by agreement
with plaintiff and all attorneys. At this point, the
plaintiff lauded his counsel and stated for the
record his satisfaction with the settlement in the
amount of five hundred and eighteen thousand
dollars. A judgment was entered for the amount
with full and clear consent of the plaintiff. A
few days later, the plaintiff suddenly notified
the court that he was unhappy with the settle-
ment. As a result, with consent of counsel, the
judgment was vacated ....

Plaintiff and his counsel, following further
discussion with the Attorney General’s office,
came before the undersigned at a hearing on
January 4, 1978. As a result of further discus-
sions between the parties, an agreement was
reached whereby the plaintiff was to retain the
portion of land io which he desired to retain
title. . . . Following this action judgment was
entered on January 4, 1978....

I have carefully reviewed the plaintiff’s
claims under his motion. I find that in entering
the judgment of January 4, 1978, the plaintiff
was fully, adequately and skillfully represented
by counsel at these prior proceedings. I find no
conflict of interests as may be related to Attor-
ney Hirtle. He rendered the highest degree of
service and devotion to his client’s (Plaintiff's)
interest. As a result, the settlement reached was,
in my judgment, the optimum. The plaintiff
stated for the record, on January 4, 1978, how
pleased he was with the result.

A-15

I must conclude that I find no merit in
plaintiff’s motion. He has played fast and loose
with the court, his counsel and the state. His
conduct is devious indeed.

State Defendants’ Memorandum, Exhibit E.

Accordingly, the state secured a supplemental judg-
ment dated June 2, 1978, see id., Exhibit B, under which all
encumbrances on the property were to be removed, and
title to the disputed parcels of land automatically was
vested in the state. The state referee further ordered the
state to deposit with the Clerk of the Superior Court
$385,600 on behalf of plaintiff. Plaintiff appealed the stip-
ulated judgment, and the Supreme Court upheld it and
the findings of the trial referee. See Simmons v. Wetherall,
180 Conn. 587 (1980) (per curiam). As of June 29, 1987,
pursuant to this judgment, there was on deposit in
United States treasury bills the sum of $497,314.24. This
sum represents principal and interest and apparently is
available to plaintiff upon appropriate motion to the
Clerk of the Superior Court. See State Defendants’ Mem-
orandum, Exhibits C and D.

Ignoring Principles of res judicata and collateral
estoppel, plaintiff then commenced a new series of state
and federal court actions in which he raised claims which
were, without exception, reiterations of the claims ulti-

mately decided by the state Supreme Court in Simmons v.
Wetherall.

For example, in 1981, the plaintiff initiated an action
in this court in which he alleged that the taking of his
land had violated his constitutional rights. See Simmons v.
United States Government, Civil No. H-81-778 (JAC). In

A-16

1983, he initiated another action which sounded in tres-
pass and ejectment. See Simmons v. United States of Amer-
ica, Civil No. H-83-225 (TEC). These two cases were
consolidated in this court and dismissed as barred by res
judicata in an order also noting that, by bringing these
cases in federal court, plaintiff was impermissibly mount-
ing collateral attacks on a valid state court judgment. See
Order (dated Aug. 16, 1983) (Cabranes, J.). Our court of
appeals affirmed that decision on appeal. See Simmons v.
Powers, Simmons v. United States, Docket No. 83-6257 (2d
Cir. Dec. 20, 1983) (unpublished order); see State Defen-
dants’ Memorandum, Exhibits F and G. Thereafter, the
United States Supreme Court denied plaintiff’s petition
for a writ of certioriari [sic]. See State Defendants’ Mem-
orandum, Exhibit H.

Notwithstanding the rejection of his claims by every
state and federal trial and apellate [sic] court having any
arguable basis for assuming jurisdiction, this zealous liti-
gant initiated yet another federal lawsuit in January, 1985.
The plaintiff’s strategy to avoid the res judicata effect of
the 1978 state supplemental judgment was to allege new
violations of federal statutes and to bring in an assort-
ment of new defendants to join the old. Again, the court
dismissed the complaint on res judicata grounds. See
Simmons v. Dole, Civil No. H-85-45 (D.Conn. Apr. 8, 1985)
(Blumenfeld, J.). Again, plaintiff appealed and the Court
of Appeals affirmed, stating:

We agree with the April 8, 1985, order of the
district court dismissing appellant’s claims on
the ground of res judicata. We also consider this
a frivolous appeal. Appellant has litigated the
same matters numerous times before in both
state and federal courts over a period of many

A-17

years. Because appellant is a pro se litigant, we
are not imposing sanctions at this time. How-
ever, appellant is hereby placed on notice that
he risks imposition of sanctions in the future
should be seek once again to relitigate these
same matters.

Simmons v. United States, Docket No. 85-6087 (2d Cir. Nov.
22, 1985) (unpublished order).

Undeterred, plaintiff mounted another attack in Con-
necticut Superior Court just a few months later. In the
new suit, filed in January 1986, he attempted to recover
damages from the state. The state’s motion to dismiss was
granted. The Connecticut Appellate Court affirmed the
dismissal, see Simmons v. Burns, 9 Conn.App. 802 (1986)
(per curiam), and the Connecticut Supreme Court denied
certification to appeal, see Simmons v. Burns, 201 Conn.
815 (1986).

I]
THE INSTANT ACTION

Plaintiff commenced the instant action in Connecticut
Superior Court on August 10, 1987. The action was
removed on the petition of one of the d iendants, the
Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration.
The only even arguable new element in this suit is a claim
that plaintiff has suffered from legal malpractice at the
hands of his former attorneys, Edward Rogin and Robert
Hirtle. Cf. Opinion of State Referee, quoted above in this
Ruling at 5-6.

Prior to transferring the case to the docket of this
court, Judge Dorsey granted a motion to dismiss the

iii sill

A-18

action as to state defendants Julia Tashjian, Secretary of
the State of Connecticut, and J. William Burns, the Com-
missioner of the Connecticut Department of Transporta-
tion on res judicata grounds. See Simmons v. Burns, Civil
No. H-87-732, Ruling on Motion to Dismiss (D.Conn.
Nov. 19, 1987). Plaintiff has filed what can be construed
as an objection to the granting of the state defendants’
motion to dismiss, which is one of the pending motions to
which this ruling is addressed.

Thereafter, defendants Rogin and Hirtle filed a
motion for summary judgment and the federal defendant
filed a motion to dismiss. These pending motions present
the court with the opportunity to write the final chapter
of this lengthy and tiresome story.

A. The Motions to Dismiss

The doctrine of res judicata bars relitigation of the
same cause of action between the same parties or their
successor in interest. See Mohegan Tribe v. Connecticut, 528
F.Supp. 1359, 1370 n. 2 (D.Conn. 1982). It is an absolute
bar not only as to every matter which was offered ‘to
sustain a claim, but also as to any other matter which
might have been offered for that purpose. See State v.
Aillon, 189 Conn. 416, 423, cert. denied, 464 U.S. 837 (1983).
“{A] federal court must give to a state court judgment the
same preclusive effect as would be given that judgment
under the law of the State in which the judgment [sic]
was rendered.” Migra v. Warren City School District Board
of Education, 465 U.S. 75, 81 (1984). Moreover, a litigant
“may not engage in extensive proceedings throughout the
state court system, and then, after every point has been

A-19

decided against him by the state courts and the Supreme
Court has denied certiorari, make a fresh start in federal
court.” Friarton Estates Corp. v. City of New York, 681 F.2d
150, 159 (2d Cir. 1982). Thus, issues which were actually
litigated, or which could have be: « litigated, in a state
court proceeding are entitled in a federal suit to the same
preclusive effect accorded them by the state. Migra, 465
U.S. at 83; Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 94 (1980); accord
Kaufman v. Somers Board of Education, 368 F.Supp. 28, 33
(D.Conn. 1973).

In Connecticut, a valid judgment entered by agree-
ment or consent operates to end the controversy to the
same extent as would a valid judgment rendered after
adjudication on the merits. See Connecticut Pharmaceutical
Association v. Milano, 191 Conn. 555, 558 (1983); Gagne v.
Norton, 189 Conn. 29, 34 (1982). The Connecticut Supreme
Court in Simmons v. Wetherall, 180 Conn. 587 (1980),
upheld the actions of the state referee whereby title of the
disputed land vested in the State of Connecticut. In the
instant action, plaintiff asserts claims which rest upon his
purported legal ownership of the same land.

Accordingly, Plaintiff's Motion to Set Aside Dismissal
of State Defendants (filed Dec. 1, 1987) is DENIED, and
the case against them is dismissed with prejudice.

Because the claims against the federal defendant rest
upon the claim that the State of Connecticut is in wrong-
ful possession of plaintiff’s land, they are likewise barred.
The Federal Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss (filed Nov.
30, 1987) is therefore GRANTED, and the case against
him is dismissed with prejudice.

A-20

B. Defendants Rogin’s and Hirtle’s Motion for Summary
Judgment

Liberally construed, the complaint against Attorneys
Rogin and Hirtle can be viewed as alleging fraud, breach
of contract or legal malpractice. The adequacy and loyalty
of their representation of plaintiff was explicitly
addressed and decided against plaintiff by the state ref-
eree; the referee’s denial of piaintiff’s motion to reopen
the judgment based claims of inadequate representation
were upheld by the Connecticut Supreme Court in Sim-
mons v. Wetherall, 180 Conn. at 589. Because the record
does not demonstrate clearly that Rogin and Hirtle have
been parties to litigation on the merits of any of these
claims, there is some doubt whether they would be enti-
tled in Connecticut courts to assert the prior state court
judgment as a defense. See State v. Ellis, 197 Conn. 436,
462-69 (1985); Doe v. Maher, 40 Conn.Supp. 394, 405, 515
A.2d 134 (New Haven, 1986). It could be argued, consis-
tently with the rationales of these decisions, that defen-
dants should be so entitled because this plaintiff certainly
has had a full and fair opportunity to litigate the claims.
See DiMauro v. Pavia, 492 F.Supp. 1051, 1059 n. 7
(D.Conn.), aff'd mem., 614 F.2d 1286 (2d Cir. 1979).

In any event, the record reveals another clear ground
for granting summary judgment for Rogin and Hirtle. It
is undisputed that these two attorneys ceased represent-
ing plaintiff almost nine years ago. Moreover, since plain-
tiff explicitly questioned the adequacy of their
representation before the state referee in 1978, he cannot
credibly argue that, until recently, he was unaware of the
harm which he is alleged to have suffered at their hands.

A-21

Any suit based upon their representation is certainiy
barred by whatever statute of limitations might arguably
be applicable. See Conn. Gen. Stat. § 52-576 (six-year
limitation for actions based on simple or impled [sic]
contract) and § 52-577 (three-year limitation for actions in
tort, held applicable to legal malpractice in Shuster v.
Buckley, 5 Conn.App. 473, 477 (1985)).

C. Prospective Relief

Finally, the court would be remiss if it did not put an
end to plaintiff’s vendetta and relieve its victims from the
burden of vexatious relitigation of these issues. See In re
Martin-Trigona, 737 F.2d 1254, 1262 (2d Cir. 1984), cert.
denied, 106 S.Ct. 807 (1986); see also Procup v. Strickland,
792 F.2d 1069, 1073 (11th Cir. 1986). The District Court has
the authority to issue “all writs necessary or appropriate
in and of their respective jurisdictions and agreeable to
the usages and principles of law.” 28 U.S.C. § 1651(a). It
may be appropriate in some circumstances to enter an
injunction to prevent the continuation of harassments
which come from frivolous and repetitious lawsuits. See,
e.g., Matter of Hartford Textile Corp., 681 F.2d 895, 897 (2d
Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1206 (1983). Courts are not
to be used as a vehicle for harassment by a litigant who
asserts the same baseless claim repeatedly in slightly
altered guises. See Kane v. City of New York, 468 F.Supp.
586, 590 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd mem., 614 F.2d 1288 (2d Cir.
1979). Although an order enjoining a particular plaintiff
from commencing future actions is an unusual step, the
courts have not hesitated to enter such orders where a
litigant continues to abuse the legal process, and defen-
dants, by filing meritless claims. See, e.g., In re Martin-

itil

A-22

Trigona, 763 F.2d 140 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct.
807 (1986).

Apart from such extraordinary and pathological
examples as Anthony R. Martin-Trigona, it would be
difficult to find a litigant more pertinacious that [sic]
Augustus J. Simmons. This plaintiff has brought approx-
imately one dozen suits arising out of the state’s initially
inept attempt to condemn his land over twenty years ago.
At this point in his “legal career,” he could not credibly
argue that he believes, in good faith, that his claims have
merit. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 11. He has harassed a variety of
defendants and has squandered the resources of both
state and federal courts, all due to his persistent refusal to
accept as final the 1978 supplemental judgment of the
Hartford Superior Court, and the 1980 decision of the
Connecticut Supreme Court upholding that judgment.
Our Court of Appeals has warned him unequivocally that
he would risk the imposition of sanctions if he persisted
in filing the same claim. It is difficult to believe, however,
that any sanction, short of an injunction, would either be
effective or appropriate to protect potential defendants
and preserve judicial resources for other litigants who
await their own day in court.

Accordingly, the court hereby ENJOINS plaintiff,
Augustus J. Simmons, from filing in the United States
District Court for the District of Connecticut or any other
federal court any lawsuit in which he asserts the same
claims as were litigated, or as might have been litigated,
in the Connecticut Superior Court cases referred to as
Simmons v. Weatherall, Docket No. 163875 (Superior Court
at Hartford, Jan. 4, 1978, as modified June 2, 1978), aff'd,

A-23

180 Conn. 587 (1980), and all the cases consolidated there-
with.

1. This injunction includes any filing in which the
harm is alleged to have arisen from or relate to the
plaintiff’s ownership, at one time, of the parcels of land
in the Town of East Granby as described in the original
and supplemental judgments in Simmons v. Wetherall,
Docket No. 163875, supra, and all cases consolidated
therewith.

2. Plaintiff is also enjoined from filing any state or
federal claims in any federal court against any of the
defendants named in the complaint in this lawsuit of
such lawsuit related to his alleged ownership of the par-
cels of land described in the original and supplemental
judgments in Simmons v. Wetherall, Docket No. 163875,
supra, and all cases consolidated therewith.

3. This injunction applies only to lawsuits of the
sort described above filed in the federal courts, including
the United States District Court for the District of Con-
necticut. Nothing in this order shall be construed as
restricting plaintiff’s ability to file a suit in any state
court. Nor shall it be construed as restricting plaintiff’s
ability to file suit in any federal court, so long as the
lawsuit does not relate to plaintiff’s alleged ownership of
the parcels of land described in the original and supple-
mental judgments in Simmons v. Wetherall, Docket No.
163875, supra, and all the cases consolidated therewith.

4. - Nothing in this order shall be construed to deny
plaintiff access to the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit, or to the Supreme Court of the United
States, in any matter.

A-24

5. Nothing in this order shall be construed to pro-
hibit Augustus J. Simmons from filing complaints under
28 U.S.C. § 372(c), provided, however, that nothing in this
order, and nothing in this subsection in particular, shall
be construed as intimating any view on the constitu-
tionality of 28 U.S.C. § 372. See, e.g., Rule § 0.24, Com-
plaints with Respect to Conduct of Judges, Rules of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
(Nov. 1983) (identical disclaimer by the Judicial Council
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit).

6. All future complaints submitted by plaintiff to
this court shall first be reviewed for compliance with this
order. Any complaint that does not comply with this
order shall not be docketed and will be returned to plain-
tiff.

In entering this injunction, the court reserves the
right to order such additional relief as may become
appropriate or necessary to accomplish its objective of
protecting individuals and the system of justice from
further abuse by this litigant.

Ill
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated above:

(1) Plaintiff’s Motion to Set Aside Dis-
missal of State Defendants is DENIED, and the
case against the state defendants in DISMISSED
with prejudice.

(2) The Federal Defendant’s Motion to Dis-
miss is GRANTED, and the case against it is
DISMISSED with prejudice.

A-25

(3) The Motion for Summary Judgment of
‘Defendants Rogin and Hirtle is GRANTED.
There being no just cause for delay, judgment
shall enter forthwith for defendants Rogin and
Hirtle. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b).

(4) The other pending motions, identified
in the note at the margin and having been
resolved by decisions on the above motions, are
denied as moot.!

(5) Plaintiff is enjoined, as specified above,
from filing any lawsuit in federal court in which
he asserts the same claims as were litigated, or
might have been litigated, in the Connecticut
Superior Court cases referred to as Simmons v.
Wetherall, Docket No. 163875 (Superior Court at
Hartford, Jan. 4, 1978, as modified June 2, 1978),
aff'd, 180 Conn. 587 (1980), and all the cases
consolidated therewith.

It is so ordered.

Dated at New Haven, Connecticut, this 15th day of
March, 1988.

Jose A. Cabranes
United States District Judge

A-26

NOTE

1 The following motions filed by plaintiff are hereby
denied as moot: Motion for Payment of Rent (filed Sept. 29,
1987); Motion for Order of Referral and Enforcement of 49
U.S.C. § 2216 (filed Nov. 12, 1987); Petition for Hearing on
Determination of Due Process (Civil Process) Under 14th
Amendment Upon all Necessary Parties (filed Nov. 19, 1987);
Motion for Payment of Real Property Taxes by Federal Aviation
Administration under 49 CFR § 25.106(c) (filed Nov. 25, 1987);
Motion to Set Aside State Court Judgment Rendered Without
the “Necessary Parties” (filed Dec. 30, 1987); Motion to Set
Aside State Court Judgment Rendered Without Just Compensa-
tion (filed Dec. 30, 1987); Motion to Set Aside State Court
Judgment Rendered Without Jurisdiction and in Violation of
Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition
Policies Act of 1970 (filed Dec. 30, 1987); Motion to Set Aside
State Court Judgment Rendered Without Due Process (filed
Dec. 30, 1987).

A-27

CONN
H-87-732
CRABRANES

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

* * *

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 14th day of
September one thousand nine hundred and eighty-eight.

Present:

HONORABLE J. EDWARD LUMBARD,
HONORABLE J. DANIEL MAHONEY,

Circuit Judges
HONORABLE CON. G. CHOLAKIS,
District Judge.”

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS, ORDER
88-6093

re (Filed
ms SEP 14 1988)
J]. WILLIAM BURNS, et al., ISSUED AS

Defendants-Appellees. MANDATE:

October 5,
1988

Plaintiff-Appellant,

* Hon. Con. G. Cholakis, District Judge, United States District
Court for the Northern District of New York, sitting by desig-
nation.

A-28

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

This cause came to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut, and was argued by appellant pro se
and by counsel for appellees.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby
ordered, adjudged and decreed that the order of said
district court be and it hereby is AFFIRMED, and appel-
lant is assessed double court costs.

1. We affirm for the reasons stated in the ruling of
the district court. We also consider this a frivolous
appeal. This is appellant’s third appearance before this
court in the past five years, and on each occasion res
judicata barred or bars his reassertion of the same claims
which were either fully litigated or should have been
litigated in prior state and federal proceedings. In his last
appearance before this court, Simmons v. United States of
America, et al., Docket No. 85-6087 (2d Cir. Nov. 22, 1985)
(unpublished order), appellant Simmons was placed on
notice that he risked imposition of sanctions should he
seek to appeal the same matters again.

2. It is accordingly appropriate to assess double
court costs against appellant pursuant to Fed. R. App. P.
38.

3. We specifically call to appellant’s attention that
we affirm the order of the district court in all respects,
including its injunction against further federal litigation

Diet sn

A-29

concerning these claims, and that any violation of that
injunction may be punished as a contempt of court.

/s/ }) Edward Lumbard
J. Edward Lumbard,

/s/ J) Daniel Mahoney
J. Daniel Mahoney,
Circuit Judges
/s/ Con. G Cholakis

Con. G. Cholakis,
District Judge

N.B. This summary order will not
be published in the Federal Re-
porter and should not be cited or
otherwise relied upon in unrelated
cases before this or any other
court.

A-30

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS, ) Civil Action
aT ) No. H-81-778
Plaintiff

) JUNE 21, 1983
V. )

UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT, ON TTONe
THE FEDERAL AVIATION
ADMINISTRATION; J. LYNN

- HELMS, ADMINISTRATOR, FAA

STATE OF CONNECTICUT;
STATE DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION; J. WILLIAM
BURNS, COMMISSIONER, STATE
DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION,

Defendants

Nee eee ee ee ee”

MOTION TO DISMISS

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6) the
State Defendants hereby move the Court to dismiss these
actions for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and failure
to state a claim on which relief can be granted.

The State respectfully requests seven days in which
to file its memorandum in support of this action.

STATE DEFENDANTS

Joseph I. Lieberman
Attorney General

By /s/ Gerard J Dowling

Gerard J. Dowling
Assistant Attorney
General

A-31

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff

Civil Action
No. H-83-225 TEC
= JUNE 21, 1983
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA;
ELIZABETH DOLE, SECRETARY
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT
OF TRANSPORTATION; FEDERAL

)
)
)
)
)
CONSOLIDATED

~ ACTIONS
)

AVIATION ADMINISTRATION; J.
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

LYNN HELMS, ADMINISTRATOR;
STATE OF CONNECTICUT; J.
WILLIAMS BURNS,
COMMISSIONER, CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION,

Defendants
MOTION TO DISMISS

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6) the
State Defendants hereby move the Couirt to dismiss these
actions for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and failure
to state a claim on which relief can be granted.

The State respectfully requests seven days in which
to file its memorandum in support of this action.

STATE DEFENDANTS

Joseph I. Lieberman
Attorney General

By /s/ Gerard J. Dowling

Gerard J. Dowling
Assistant Attorney
General

A-32

CERTIFICATION

On this 21st day of June 1983, a copy of the foregoing
was mailed to Donna L. Fatsi, and Augustus J. Simmons.

/s/ Gerard J. Dowling
Gerald J. Dowling
Assistant Attorney General
90 Brainard Road
Hartford, CT 06114
Tel. (203) 566-7070

ORDER

Based upon the full record of this case, including the
State Defendants’ Memorandum in Support of Its [sic]
Motion to Dismiss the Complaints (filed June 28, 1983),
the exhibits appended thereto, and the arguments of
counsel in open court on August 15, 1983, the court
concludes that these cases effectively constitute appeals
from state court judgments and litigation of them before
this forum is barred by the doctrine of Rooker v. Fidelity
Trust Co., 261 U.S. 114 (1923), that collateral attack in this
court on the judgment of the Connecticut Superior Court
is barred by 28 U.S.C. § 1738, and that, in any event, the
prior adjudication of these claims in Simmons v. Wetherall,
180 Conn. 587 (1980) bars their reassertion, because of the
doctrine of res judicata. For all of the foregoing reasons,
the state defendants’ motion to dismiss the complaints in

A-33

Civ. Nos. H-81-778 and H-83-225 is GRANTED. It is so
ordered.

/s/ Jose A Cabranes
Jose A. Cabranes,
U.S. District Judge
August 16, 1983, Hartford, Conn.

A-34

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 20th day of
December, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-three.

Present:
HONORABLE N.B. Since this statement
WILFRED FEINBERG does not constitute a formal
Chief Judge opinion of this court and is
HONORABLE not uniformly available to all

parties, it shall not be
HENRY J. PRISNDLY reported, cited or otherwise

HONORABLE used in unrelated cases
JAMES L. OAKES before this or any other
Circuit Judges. court.

X
AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS, 83-6257
Plaintiff-Appellant,

(Filed
-v.- DEC 20 1983)

ARTHUR B. POWERS, etc.,
Defendant-Appellee.

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
-V.-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
et al.,

Defendant-Appellee.
X

A-35

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut, and was argued by appellant pro se
and by counsel for appellees.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby
ordered, adjudged and decreed as follows:

1. This appeal arises out of a dispute over title to
and use of land adjacent to Bradley International Airport.
It concerns two actions, filed by appellant in the United
States District Court for the District of Connecticut, and
directed against various state and federal defendants. The
complaint in the first case, Civ. No. H-81-778, was filed in
October 1981, and subsequently amended. On February 7,
1983, Judge Cabranes granted the federal defendants’
motion to dismiss. Simmons appealed, and this court, by
order dated June 9, 1983, dismissed the appeal for lack of
jurisdiction because the dismissal of the claim against the
federal defendants did not constitute a final judgment of
the district court. We stated that, to pursue the appeal,
Simmons would have to seek the entry of a final judg-
ment as to the federal defendants, or await the deter-
mination of the claims against the state defendants.

2. On March 22, 1983, appellant filed the complaint
in the second case, Civ. No. H-83-225. On May 23, 1983,
Judge Cabranes granted a motion by the State of Con-
necticut to consolidate both cases. On August 16, 1983,
Judge Cabranes dismissed the complaints in the consoli-
dated actions. Simmons now appeals from that dismissal.
We agree with Judge Cabranes that the doctrine of res

A-36

judicata bars the reassertion of these claims, already liti-
gated in state courts. Simmons v. Wetherall, 430 A.2d
1295 (Conn. 1980).

3. The judgment of the district court is affirmed.

/s/ Wilfred Feinberg
Wilfred Feinberg, Chief Judge

/s/ Henry J Friendly
Henry J. Friendly,

/s/ James L Oakes

James L. Oakes,
Circuit Judges.

A-37

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 22nd day of
November, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-five.

Present:

HONORABLE WILFRED FEINBERG,
Chief Judge

HONORABLE WALTER R. MANSFIELD,

HONORABLE JAMES L. OAKES,
Circuit Judges.

x
AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,

Plaintiff-Appellant, 85-6087

-against- (Filed
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, NOV 22 1985)
et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.
X

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut, and was argued by appellant pro se
and by counsel for appellees. .

A-38

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby
ordered, adjudged and decreed that the judgment of said
District Court be and it hereby is AFFIRMED.

We agree with the April 8, 1985, order of the district
court dismissing appellant’s claims on the ground of res
judicata. We also consider this a frivolous appeal. Appel-
lant has litigated the same matters numerous times before
in both state and federal courts over a period of many
years. Because appellant is a pro se litigant, we are not
imposing sanctions at this time. However, appellant is
hereby placed on notice that he risks imposition of sanc-
tions in the future should he seek once again to relitigate
these same matters.

/s/ Wilfred Feinberg
Wilfred Feinberg, Chief Judge

/s/ Walter R Mansfield
Walter R. Mansfield,

/s/ James L Oakes
James L. Oakes,

Circuit Judges

Since this statement does. not con-
stitute a formal opinion of this
court and is not uniformly avail-
able to all parties, it shall not be
reported, cited or otherwise used
in unrelated cases before this or
any other court.

a)

hatch ithe SERIAL INGE «9 Nia eRe han

—

A-39

§ 4602. Effect upon property acquisition

(a) The provisions of section 4651 of this title create
no rights or liabilities and shall not affect the validity of
any property acquisitions by purchase of condemnation.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as
creating in any condemnation proceedings brought under
the power of eminent domain, any element of value or of
damage not in existence immediately prior to January 2,

1971.

(Pub.L. 91-646, Title I, § 102, Jan. 2, 1971, 84 Stat. 1895.)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2132%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
