# Opposition Brief — Duluth-Superior ILA Marine Ass'n Restated Pension Plan v. Seaway Port Authority

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1972%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 501 U.S. 1218

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED
WAY 2 44
No. 90-1636 991
QESICE—SE-FHE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990

¢

DULUTH-SUPERIOR ILA MARINE ASSOCIATION
RESTATED PENSION PLAN; AND THE BOARD OF
TRUSTEES OF THE DULUTH-SUPERIOR ILA MARINE
ASSOCIATION RESTATED PENSION PLAN,

Petitioners,
VS.

SEAWAY PORT AUTHORITY OF DULUTH,
Respondent.

¢ a

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Eighth Circuit

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT

°

Rosert C. Maki* |

Maki & Overom, Chartered
31 W. Superior Street
Suite 402

Duluth, MN 55802

(218) 726-0805

Counsel for Respondent
May 24, 1991
Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (492) 342-2831

Sfp.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
RP AI PET CP LEN oo ccc ct ob xesuwccesedss ii
i RO ks ay va ees ae eee eed eee 1
SO Ts ic akc ee a ieee Ca ea RAR eee aS 1
RPUPETROES FURGPUNE UIE? 2. wo ccienseceueeseuecnss 1
Ree ee GPP ENUM GPU. 6c hob vee eee ccecuns
ESR P RAIS a NR ee ol av fat RE MEE 1
aE, Va ost ar st eas eros enn ee eees 17

APPENDIX

A. Restated Agreement and Declaration of Trust
Under Duluth-Superior ILA Marine Association
ee Be hg rere A-1

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

FEDERAL CASES

Abbot Labs v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 87 S.Ct. 1507,
18 L.Ed. 2d. 661 (9967). 6 oe a hl eee 14

Bowers v. Transportacion Maritima Mexicana, S.A.,
901 F.26 256 (ind Cie. TRUE isc ei ee eee eens 6

Carriers Container Council, Inc. v. Mobile S. & S.
Ass’n, Inc. — Int’! Longshoremen’s Ass'n, AFL-CIO
Pension Plan and Trust, 896 F.2d 1330, 904 F.2d 28
(11th Cir. 1990), petition for cert. denied, 111 S.Ct.
308 (U.S. Oct. 15, 1990) (No. 90-323) ....-.-.....<: 7,9

Communist Party v. Subversive Activities Control
Bd., 367 U.S. 1, 81 S.Ct. 1357, 6 L.Ed.2d 625
CEIIB ED oxic wee Vee a ek 0 te ee 14

Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 432 U.S. 1 (1987)..... 2

H.C. Elliot, Inc. v. Carpenters Pension Trust Fund,
859 F2d G06 Gth Cit. 1906). ... 6crccsscivavsisevins 7

Ingersoll-Rand Company v. Perry McClendon, 111
BAK OU CHORD), gk ea 1

Korea Shipping Corp. v. New York Shipping Ass‘n
Int’l Longshoremen’s Ass'n Pension Trust Fund,
680 F.2d 1531 Gad Cir. 1900)... 2... 000005005; > & 7,3

Laborers Local 938 v. B.R. Starnes Co., 827 F.2d 1454
62: Be ey. Mr rere, Say te nr ony ae 7

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. Center City
Motors, Inc., 609 F.Supp 409 (S.D. Cal 1984)....... 16

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. Ouimet, 470
F.Supp 945 (D. Mass 1979, aff'd, 630 F.2d 4 (1st
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 914, 101 S.Ct.

Some ee Games SOP CIOB1) ... 05.2... cee.

Philippines Micronesia & Orient Navigation Company
v. N.Y.S.A. — ILA Pension Trust Fund, 909 F.2d 39
(2nd Cir. 1990) (per curiam), petition for cert.
denied, 111 S.Ct. 515, 112 L.Ed.2d 1527 (US.

November 26, 1990) (No. 90-576) ..............

OTHER CASES

Albrecht v. Sell, 260 Minn. 566, 110 N.W.2d 895

eg sche SNE bh bv vb hs beac cess

Port Authority of City of Saint Paul v. Fisher, 269

Minn. 276, 132 N.W.2d 183 (1964)..............

STATUTES

see aa ds laps eves svascse>
iene kv wh veh ess boxes cbacaess
oe Ee ee
eR 2
ee

Page

ares

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the District Court (Petitioner’s
Appendix C) is not officially reported. The opinion of the
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit (Petitioner’s
Appendix A) is reported at 920 F.2d 503 (8th Cir. 1990).

¢

JURISDICTION

The jurisdictional requisites are adequately set forth
in the Petition.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Respondent is an “employer” within the
meaning of the MPPAA. ;

STATEMENT

The facts of the case are stated fully in the decision of
the Court of Appeals (Petitioner’s Appendix A, at A2-
A4).

’ ¢

ARGUMENT

1. The Eighth Circuit’s Decision Does Not Conflict
With The Decisions Of This Court

Petitioner claims that the decision below is in conflict
with the decisions of this Court, citing Ingersoll-Rand
Company v. Perry McClendon, 498 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 478,

ho

482, 112 L.Ed.2d 474, 483 (1990); Fort Halifax Packing Co. v.
Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 12, 107 S.Ct. 2211, 2218, 96 L.Ed.2d 1
(1987). In particular, Petitioner contends that the Eighth
Circuit’s decision failed to follow this Court’s lead in
recognizing the pre-emption of state laws insofar as they
relate to an employee benefit plan described in 29 U.S.C.
Section 1003(b). See 29 U.S.C. Section 1144(a)

Contrary to Petitioner’s argument, the Eighth Cir-
cuit’s reasoning in its decision below is in complete har-
mony with the decisions of this Court. The Eighth Circuit
was fully aware that ERISA pre-empts state law relating
to an employee benefit plan. For example, in footnote 3 of
the decision below, the Eighth Circuit explicitly recog-
nized the dynamics of pre-emption, noting:

“The circuits that have addressed the definition
of employer under ERISA and MPPAA, how-
ever, have uniformly rejected the use of state
common law.”

Rather than resting its definitional analysis upon
state law, the Eighth Circuit borrowed the well-recog-
nized federal “contributing obligor” test first adopted by
the Second Circuit in Korea Shipping Corp. v. New York
Shipping Ass‘n-Int’l Longshoreman’s Ass'n Pension Trust
Fund, 880 F.2d 1531, 1537 (2nd Cir. 1989), wherein the
Second Court stated:

[T]he term employer in 29 U.S.C. Section 1381 (a)
means ‘a person who is obligated to contribute
to a plan either as a direct employer or in the
interest of an employer of the plan’s partici-
pants.’

(See Petitioner’s Appendix A at A10). Applying this test,
without regard to state law of any kind, the Eighth Cir-
cuit concluded SPAD was not an employer under
MPPAA:

Our review of the record does not reveai any
contracts SPAD signed explicitly obligating it to
make pension contributions. (footnote omitted).
| Thus, applying the relevant case law, SPAD is
not obligated to contribute and is not an
employer under MPPAA.

(Petitioner’s Appendix at A, A14-A15).

The Eighth Circuit’s primary reference to state law is
found in a lone short paragraph on page A15 of Peti-
tioner’s Appendix. In that paragraph, as further support
for its conclusion that SPAD was not a contributing
obligor, the court gave due recognition to the nature of
SPAD. The court observed that SPAD, unlike any of the
other employers in the case law, is a creature of state law.
As a public body using public funds, SPAD operates only
within a strict statutory framework. Under the Minnesota
Statutes, SPAD was given the power to hire a managing
agent, if it so chose, and to specify that “employees
engaged by the agent are employers of the agent and not
of the port authority” and that “the agent is responsible
to pay the employees and to comply with * * * federal
laws affecting employees.”

Nowhere in the above-mentioned paragraph did the

| court imply that states have the power, by state legisla-
tion, to “isolate” themselves from federal laws such as

ERISA and MPPAA. (See Petitioner’s Brief at 9). Rather,

the Eighth Circuit cited these Minnesota statutes merely

to convey that although SPAD was unique compared to

—— EE

the private-sector employers in case law, it had authority,
like private sector employers, to hire an independent
agent which, by state statute, was placed in a position
free of political influence to hire, fire and make its own
contracts regarding employment and benefits. Like pri-
vate-sector employers, SPAD had the power to sign, or
not sign, collective bargaining contracts and other docu-
ments evidencing an obligation to contribute to a plan.
This power was expressly granted by state statute, which
law Petitioner is presumed to know. Albrecht v. Sell, 260
Minn. 566, 110 N.W.2d 895, 897 (1961). By lawfully exer-
cising its power to hire an independent agent that was
free and unfettered in determining which employees to
hire and which agreements to sign as a contributing
obligor, SPAD is entitled to be free from any obligor
liability arising out of the managing agent’s contract with
the ILA Plan. This is true not because the Minnesota
Statutes superseded the MPPAA but because within the
confines of the MPPAA, the state of Minnesota gave
SPAD express legislative authority to hire independent
agents who, as a result of agreements made solely by the
agent, become contributing obligors, thereby protecting
SPAD’s limited public treasury.' (Without the existence of
this state legislation, and the reference to it by the Eighth
Circuit, Petitioner would argue that SPAD’s contract with

1 SPAD has no general taxing authority. See Minn. Stat.
Section 469.053, subd. 1 (1990). Moreover, SPAD may not incur
an obligation or expense unless existing appropriations
together with reasonably expected SPAD revenue from other
sources are sufficient to discharge the obligation or expense
when due. Minn. Stat. Sec. 469.056, subd. 2 (1990).

North Central was outside its statutory authority, there-
fore ultra vires, with SPAD liability presumed on an ultra
vires contract).

SPAD’s unique status is also relevant in that, as a
governmental non-profit body, SPAD had no incentive to
hire a managing agent for an improper purpose. Peti-
tioner’s fears of a “sham” arrangement and “dummy”
agents are simply unfounded in a public sector context
such as this. (See Petitioner’s Appendix A at A16). This is
especially true under the particular facts of the instant
case, where SPAD’s sole concern was to find a private
entity to manage and assume responsibility for the port
terminal. SPAD’s only “crime” was that it did not want to
be in the day-to-day port management business. Peti-
tioner does not and cannot point to any “hidden” or
inappropriate motives behind the SPAD/North Central
managing agent contract. That Petitioner’s fears of
impropriety and fraud with regard to SPAD’s contractual
arrangements are without foundation is only reaffirmed
by a recognition of SPAD’s government nature.”

? Government plans are exempt from the requirements of
ERISA and the MPPAA. 29 U.S.C. 1103(b)(1). SPAD’‘s real
employees (office personnel, etc.) have always been partici-
pants in a government plan. Assuming, arguendo, that SPAD
employed the longshoremen, SPAD could have avoided pen-
sion liability by obliging itself to make contributions to a
government plan. Thus, although private sector employers
might find a method to unfairly use intricate corporate struc-
tures to avoid withdrawal liability, public entities such as
SPAD have no incentive to do so.

a

Thus, a closer examination of the Eighth Circuit’s
analysis reveals that the Eighth Circuit’s opinion is com-
pletely consistent with the decisions of this Court. Peti-
tioner is in error when it attempts to portray the Court of
Appeal’s relatively short references to state law as a
separate, independent decisional basis for the court’s
opinion. To the contrary, the court rested its decision
upon the contributing obligor test alone. Reference to the
unique nature of SPAD bolstered the Eighth Circuit’s
conclusion that an extension of the contributing obligor
test would be unwise in light of the absence of any
evidence that SPAD either acted outside its authority or
acted with improper motives.

Assuming, arguendo, that the court’s state law anal-
ysis formed a separate and inaccurate basis for the court’s
decision, the court’s ultimate conclusion of law (i.e. SPAD
is not an employer within the meaning of MPPAA), is
fully supported by the court’s contributing obligor anal-
ysis, without regard to state law.

2. The Eighth Circuit’s Decision Is Not Erroneous And
Does Not Conflict With Other Appellate Decisions.

Petitioner acknowledges that in all of the appellate
decisions where an entity has been held liable for
“employer” withdrawal liability under MPPAA, the
entity had a contractual obligation to make contributions
to a multi-employer plan. (Petitioner’s Brief at 11). See
Korea Shipping Corp.; Bowers v. Transportacion Martima
Mexicana, S.A., 901 F.2d 258 (2nd Cir. 1990); Philippines
Micronesia & Orient Navigation Company v. NYSA - ILA

Pension Trust Fund, 909 F.2d 39 (2nd Cir. 1990) (per cur-
ium), Petition for cert. filed, 59 U.S.L.2. 3295 (U.S. Oct. 3,
1990) (No. 90-576); Carriers Container Council, Inc. v.
Mobile S. & S. Ass'n, Inc — Int'l Longshoremen’s Ass'n, AFL-
CIO Pension Plan and Trust, 896 F.2d 1330, 904 F.2d 28
(11th Cir. 1990) petition for cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 308 (U.S.
October 15th, 1990) (No. 90-323); Laborers Local 938 v. B.R.
Starnes Co., 827 F.2d 1454 (11th Cir. 1987) (per curium);
H.C. Elliot, Inc. v. Carpenters Pension Trust Fund, 859 F.2d
808 (9th Cir. 1988). The Eight Circuit, after reviewing this
case law, determined that since SPAD had no contractual
obligation to contribute to the Plan, SPAD was not an
employer within the meaning of MPPAA. This analysis
by the Eighth Circuit is perfectly consonant with the
decisions of the other circuits.

The so-called “contributing obligor” test adopted by
the Eighth Circuit is premised upon the remedial and
protective policies underlying the MPPAA. This test
derives its authority from the congressional concern for
the financial stability of multi-employer plans. Korea Ship-
ping Corp., 880 F.2d 1531, 1536-37. As noted by the Elev-
enth Circuit,

The contributing obligor test drawn from Title I
of ERISA furthers Congress’ purposes in pass-
ing the MPPAA because it prevents a contribu-
tor to a plan from withdrawing its support
without covering its share of unfunded lia-
bilities.

Carriers Container Council, 896 F.2d 1330, 1343.

Rather than challenging the Eighth Circuit’s adoption
of the contributing obligor test, as developed by the
Second, Ninth, and Eleventh Circuits, for determining

whether an entity is an employer within the meaning of
MPPAA, Petitioner challenges the Eighth Circuit’s applica-
tion of the test. (Petitioner’s Brief at 13.) Petitioner argues
that the Appellate Court “simply erred when it concluded
that there was no contractual obligation on the part of
SPAD” to make contributions to a malti-employer plan.
(Petitioner’s Brief at 14.) Thus, Petitioner’s disagreement
with the Eighth Circuit is exceedingly narrow compared
to the larger issue concerning the general meaning of the
term “employer.”

In contending that SPAD was coniractually bound to
make contributions to the ILA plan, Petitioner quotes
Article III of the Managing Agent Agreements between
SPAD and North Central, which provided as follows:

FUNDS

All funds which are required for or arise out of
the operations conducted by the Agent shall be
deposited in an account or accounts in deposito-
ries to be designated by SPAD. Such accounts
shall be designated ‘North Central Terminal
Operators, Inc., Managing Agent, Public Marine
Terminal Division, Seaway Port Authority of
Duluth’. All such funds shall be considered the
property of SPAD and not of the Agent. SPAD
will provide Agent with sufficient funds in said
accounts to carry on the operations.

Agent will have a separate bank account to be
called a payroll account into which deposits will
be made from the operating account above
described in order to enable Agent to meet its
payroll expenses and related fringe benefits.
ALL SUCH FUNDS SHALL CONTINUE TO BE
THE PROPERTY OF SPAD UNTIL DISBURSED
TO OR FOR THE ACCOUNT OF EMPLOYEES

FOR PAYROLL EXPENSES AND RELATED
FRINGE BENEFITS.

(Emphasis added.)

Petitioner somehow interprets this language as a con-
tractual obligation undertaken by SPAD to make contri-
butions to a multi-employer plan. Such en interpretation
is inaccurate for several reasons. First, the above-quoted
language fails to even mention a multi-employer plan. In
fact, unlike the contractual documents relied upon in the
cases cited by Petitioner, nowhere in the entire managing
agent agreement is there any reference to a multi-
employer plan. Compare Korea Shipping Corp. (document
provided that “assessment shall be collected by the direct
employer from each of the carriers and shall be paid to
the NYSA for immediate transmittal to the NYSA-ILA
Fringe Benefits Escrow Fund . . . Pension payment shall
be made by the NYSA directly to the NYSA-ILA Pension
Trust Fund”); Carriers Container Council, 896 F.2d at 1344
(document provided that “assessment amounts shall be
collected as necessary from the carriers by . . . [CCC]
which shall pay out the [multi-employer pension plan]
shortfall payments. . . . ) With respect to the managing
agent agreements, neither North Central nor SPAD made
promises regarding the maintenance of a multi-employer
plan. Although it is true that SPAD agreed to advance
Operating capital to North Central for North Central’s
payment of “fringe benefits” to the employees, such an
agreement is in no way comparable to the pension fund
obligations undertaken by the contributing obligors of
previous case law, as the agreement established no duty
running from SPAD to the ILA Plan that SPAD would
make contributions to the Plan. Accordingly, SPAD could

10

not possibly incur withdrawal liability for failing to make
contributions which were never promised the Plan in the
first place.

Second, Petitioner misunderstands the purpose of the
above-quoted language in the managing agent agree-
ments. The monies that were deposited into the payroll
account were public monies. As such, under the Minne-
sota Constitution, the monies had to be used for public
purposes only, and not in the furtherance of any private
purpose or in the aid of any private individual or entity.
See Port Authority of City of Saint Paul v. Fisher, 132 N.W.2d
183, 192, 196 (Minn. 1964). Respondent, recognizing this
constitutional limitation, reserved limited control of the
funds until final disbursement to ensure that the funds
would not be co-mingled with private funds but instead
used by North Central for a public purpose. To suggest
that this sound fiscal management somehow evidenced a
contractual commitment on the part of SPAD obligating it
to make contributions to the ILA plan is a distortion of
the facts. SPAD never contractually obliged itself to the
ILA plan.

Third, Petitioner’s ill-conceived expansion of the con-
tributing obligor contractual test leaves SPAD and sim-
ilarly situated public bodies at the mercy of their private
managing agents. Carrying Petitioner’s position to a logi-
cal conclusion, a managing agent’s unilateral decision to
join and then withdraw from a multi-employer plan
would expose the public body to unexpected and unini-
tiated pension liability. The public body would bear the
full financial consequences of a decision in which it had
no participation. This is not the result intended by the

11

MPPAA nor was this result contemplated by the originators
of the contributing obligor test. Under the contributing
obligor test adopted by the Second, Eighth, Ninth and Elev-
enth Circuits, the public body is not held liable for an
unfunded multi-employer plan unless it expressly enters into
a bargaining agreement or similar contract whereby it agrees
to fund that particular plan. By contrast, in the instant case,
SPAD never asked North Certral to join the ILA plan or, for
that matter, any plan whatsoever. North Central never
sought SPAD’s approval for North Central’s acts relating to
the Plan or the employees. SPAD had no opportunity to stop
North Central from withdrawing from the ILA plan. To
impose unfunded pension liability upon SPAD under these
circumstances is unreasonable and unfair. Protecting the
financial viability of multi-employer plans should not come
at the expense of the victimization of public bodies who hire
independent managing agents. This is particularly true in the
instant case, where Petitioner has made no attempt to
recover its loss from North Central, the only entity which
had a choice as to whether or not withdrawal liability was to
be incurred.

Fourth, it is important to note that before the MPPAA
was enacted, SPAD at one time had contractually obli-
gated itself to contribute to the ILA multi-employer plan.
(See Respondent’s Appendix A at Al). In 1979, SPAD was
removed as a signatory to the Restated Trust Agreement.
(See Petitioner’s Appendix A at A33-A35).3 The 1979
Restated Trust Agreement also provided that,

3 In Section 1.5(d) of the Restated Trust Agreement, the
agreement provided that SPAD and certain other original

(Continued on following page)

12

Employers, who are not signatory to this Agree-
ment but who have persons in their employ
coming within the classifications represented by
the Unions signators hereto and who have col-
lective bargaining agreements with such Unions,
may become a participating employer under the
terms of this Agreement and make contributions
to the Trust, with the consent of the Trustees, on
the signing of a Participation Agreement and/or
a labor agreement, where applicable, providing
for participation in the Trust containing such
terms as required by the Trustees and on such
basis as agreed upon by such new contributing
Employers and the Trustees respecting the con-
tributions to be made and the coverages to be
afforded to the employees.

(Respondent’s Appendix A at A6, Section 2.2.) It is undis-
puted that SPAD never signed a Participation Agreement
or labor agreement providing for participation in the
Trust. Thus, by its own terms, the Restated Trust Agree-
ment disavows any SPAD responsibility for plan contri-
butions. Had Petitioner intended to hold SPAD
contractually liable for plan contributions, it never would
have expressly excluded SPAD by the very language of
the Restated Trust Agreement.

Finally, it is important to note that Petitioner has not
cited a single appellate case which is in conflict with the
Eighth Circuit’s decision. Petitioner cannot dispute the
fact that not a single appellate decision has imposed
withdrawal liability upon an entity that has such a ten-
uous, if any, connection to a plan. Nor has any appellate

(Continued from previous page)

signatories “are no longer parties to this restated Agreement
and Declaration of Trust” (Respondent’s Appendix A at A4).

13

decision imposed withdrawal liability upon a public
entity. In every case cited by Petitioner, the “contributing
obligor” was a private sector entity which signed a con-
tract expressly requiring it to contribute to a particular
multi-employer plan.

3. National Importance Of The Case.

Petitioner argues that the Court of Appeals’s decision
below unwisely permits an “employer” to “contract
away” its withdrawal liability by entering into an agree-
ment with a third party for that purpose. (See Petitioner’s
Brief at 15). To begin with, this argument begs the ques-
tion with respect to who is an “employer.” The Second,
Eighth, Ninth and Eleventh Circuits have defined
“employer” as an entity that obligates itself to make
contributions to a multi-employer plan. Under such a
definition, an employer who withdraws from a plan will
be liable for such withdrawal regardless of any contracts
to the contrary. In other words, it is impossible to be an
“employer” and at the same time be absolved of with-
drawal liability.

Second, Petitioner’s use of the term “contract away”
is misleading. SPAD cannot “contract away” something it
never had to begin with.

Boiled to its essence, Petitioner’s position is that
principals should not be able to hire managing agents to
serve as both common law employer and sole “contribut-
ing” employer. But as the Eighth Circuit stated succinctly,

“There is nothing inherently improper in this,

however, because parties may contract as they
see fit, within certain limitations. A pension

14

plan’s proper recourse is to assess withdrawal

liability against the managing agent.”
(See Petitioner’s Appendix A at A16). Petitioner has
made no attempt to hold North Central liable for its
withdrawal from the Plan. Instead, it leapfrogged the
managing agent and sought recourse directly from SPAD,
a public body with limited funds. Now Petitioner asks
this Court to extend the contributing obligor test when it
has not even exhausted the remedies it already has.

Petitioner seeks to distract the Court from Peti-
tioner’s ability to redress its own withdrawal liability
situation by conjuring up scenarios where entities
attempt to circumvent the MPPAA by the use of “intricate
corporate structures.” (Petitioner’s Brief at 16-17). This
circumvention argument is unpersuasive. For one thing,
Petitioner’s fears of sham, insolvent entities circumvent-
ing the MPPAA are entirely hypothetical and conjectural.
Petitioner does not assert that North Central was an
insolvent or undercapitalized entity, nor is there an alle-
gation that SPAD encouraged North Central to join a
multi-employer plan.* Petitioner merely asserts that some
entity under some circumstance might employ an insol-
vent agent to assume pension liability, thereby undermin-
ing the financial stability of a plan. The Court is well
aware that rules of law are best decided upon specific
concrete facts, not abstract, hypothetical scenarios. See
Abbott Labs v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 148, 87 S.Ct. 1507,
1515, 18 L.Ed.2d 681 (1967); Communist Party v. Subversive
Activities Control Bd., 367 U.S. 1, 72, 81 S.Ct. 1357, 1397, 6

4 As observed in footnote 2 of this brief, SPAD had no
incentive to circumvent ERISA or MPPAA.

15

L.Ed.2d 625 (1961). The Eighth Circuit, recognizing this
principle, refused to be drawn into an abstract analysis.
Instead, it correctly concluded that if and when there is
evidence of a particular “sham” or insolvent entity
assuming pension fund liability, the judicial response can
be decided at that time, under the clear light on concrete,
specific facts.

Also, Petitioner’s fears of a sham entity circumvent-
ing the MPPAA are totally unfounded. The trustees of
multi-employer pension plans are perfectly capable of
protecting their plans from “sham” contributors. If the
plan trustees are uncertain as to the financial viability of
a potential contributor, the trustees can require financial
assurances and/or refuse the entity admission to the
plan. Labor organizations are also capable ef monitoring
the financial health of bargaining agreement signatories.
This self-help is far more likely to protect the financial
stability of multi-employer plans than Petitioner's
scheme in which entities associated with contributing
obligors are unsure whether or not they may be held
liable for millions of dollars in unfunded pension obliga-
tions.

Finally, the MPPAA already has a special provision
by which corporations are prohibited from utilizing intri-
cate corporate structures in order to avoid withdrawal
liability. Section 1301(b) provides that:

For purposes of this subchapter, under regula- \
tions prescribed by the corporation, all *
employees of trades or businesses (whether or
not incorporated) which are under common con-
trol shall be treated as employed by a single
employer and all such trades and businesses as

a single employer.

16

Treasury Regulation 11.-414(c)-1(a) provides in pertinent
part:

[T]he term “two or more trades or businesses
under common control” means_any group of
trades or businesses which is either a “parent-
subsidiary group of trades or businesses under
common control” ...,a “brother sister group of
trades or businesses under common con-
trol” ..., or a “combined group of trades or
businesses under common control”. . . .

Under the “controlled group” concept, a business may
not “limit its responsibilities under [the MPPAA] by frac-
tionalization of its business operations. Pension Benefit
Guaranty Corp. v. Center City Motors, Inc., 609 F.Supp. 409,
412 (S.D. Cal. 1984); see also Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp.
v. Ouimet, 470 F.Supp. 945 (D. Mass 1979), aff'd, 630 F.2d 4
(1st Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 914, 101 S.Ct. 1356, 67
L.Ed.2d 339 (1981). Thus, congress foresaw the problem
of business fractionalization and devised a limited special
remedy to prevent its occurrence. Interestingly, by con-
trast, congress made no attempt to forbid principals from
hiring managing agents to serve as common law
employer and sole “contributing” employer. One can only
conclude that had congress intended to hold all princi-
pals, even those who have signed nothing obligating
them to contribute to a multi-employer plan, responsible
for the withdrawal liability of independent managing
agents, congress would have adopted a framework more
expansive than the “controlled group” concept.

17

CONCLUSION

As discussed at length above, it is both premature
and unnecessary to grant the petition for certiorari with
respect to the legal issues now before the Court. It is
premature for three reasons. First, as noted by the Eighth
Circuit, there is a paucity of case law from which the
Court can gather insight with regard to the definition of
“employer” as used by the MPPAA. (Petitioner’s Appen-
dix A at A10). In fact, only the Eighth Circuit has
addressed the question of whether withdrawal liability
may be imposed upon a public body like SPAD which
had such a tenuous connection with a multi-employer
plan. Second, as noted by the Eighth Circuit, the Court is
not faced with a sham insolvent agent in the instant case;
accordingly that issue should be left for another day.
(Petitioner’s Appendix A at A16). Finally, Petitioner has
not cited a single appellate case which conflicts with the
Eighth Circuit’s decision. Prudence dictates that other
circuits should be given the first opportunity to deter-
mine whether the Eighth Circuit’s analysis is correct.

It is unnecessary for this Court to grant the petition
for certiorari because the Eighth Circuit properly adjudi-
cated the issues before it. The Eighth Circuit correctly
recognized that SPAD never obligated itself to make con-
tributions to a multi-employer plan. (Petitioner’s Appen-
dix A at Al4). SPAD did not sign any collective
bargaining agreements, shipping association agreements,
or pension plan trust agreements obligating itself to con-
tribute to the Plan. The Plan was well aware both prac-
tically and legally that by the terms of its Restated Trust
Agreement and the Minnesota Statutes governing the
managing agent arrangement, it could not look to SPAD

18

for financial support. To impose withdrawal liability on a
public body such as SPAD (which made no decision,
evidenced by the execution of any documents, to join the
Plan, nor did it engage in contractual avoidance by
encouraging its managing agent to join the Plan) is com-
pletely contrary to the spirit behind the MPPAA and the
well-reasoned law of the circuit courts.

For the reasons set forth above, the petition for cer-
tiorari should be denied.

Dated: April 24, 1991

Respectfully submitted,
Rosert C. Maki
Attorney I.D. No. 66771

Maki & Overom, Chartered
31 W. Superior Street
Suite 402

Duluth, MN 55802

(218) 726-0805

Attorney for Respondent,
Seaway Port Authority of Duluth

A-1

APPENDIX A

RESTATED AGREEMENT AND DECLARATION OF
TRUST UNDER DULUTH-SUPERIOR ILA MARINE
ASSOCIATION RESTATED PENSION PLAN

THIS RESTATED TRUST AGREEMENT, made and
entered into as of the 13th day of December 1979, by and
between the undersigned Union Trustees and Employer
Trustees, who, together with their successor Trustees des-
ignated in the manner hereafter provided, are hereinafter
collectively referred to as “Trustees”.

WHEREAS, an Agreement and Declaration of Trust
for the purpose of providing and maintaining insured
pensions for participating employees was made and
entered into effective the 10th day of December 1964,
between General Cargo Workers, Local No. 1366, Duluth,
Minnesota, an affiliate of the International Longshore-
men’s Association, AFL-CIO, and General Cargo
Workers, Local No. 1037, Superior, Wisconsin, an affiliate
of the International Longshoremen’s Association, AFL-
CIO, and the International Longshoremen’s Association,
AFL-CIO, hereinafter called the Union, and Duluth-Supe-
rior Marine Association, American Grain Trimmers, Inc.,
Atlantic & Gulf Grain Stevedoring Associates, Boland &
Cornelius, Cullen Stevedoring Company, Ltd., Duluth
Seaway Agency, Inc., Ceres Stevedoring, Inc., Alastair
Guthrie, Incorporated, The M. A. Hanna Company, S.A.
McLennan, J. F. McNamara Corp., Nicholson Transit Co.,
Pearson Stevedoring Co., Rogers Terminal and Shipping
Corporation, Sauter Stevedoring Corp., Sealanes Interna-
tional, Inc., Seaway Port Authority of Duluth, Svensson &
Baker, Inc., and Twin Ports Ship Cleaners, Incorporated,
hereinafter called the Employers, and the individual

A-2

employers who employ members of “the Unions” and
who have individually entered into a collective bargain-
ing agreement with “the Unions”, hereinafter referred to
collectively as “the Employer”, which agreement has her-
.etofore been amended; and

WHEREAS, said Agreement and Declaration of Trust
provides that it is subject to amendment from time to
time by an agreement in writing signed by the Board of
Trustees; and

WHEREAS, the Trustees desire to amend, continue
and restate this Trust Agreement and maintain the
Duluth-Superior, ILA Marine Association Pension Trust
to conform with the requirements of the Employee Retire-
ment Income Security Act of 1974 and any subsequent
amendments thereto and regulations promulgated pur-
suant to and any other federal or state law as may or
become applicable.

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the promises
and in order to continue and provide for the maintenance
of the Duluth-Superior, ILA Marine Association Pension
Trust, hereinafter referred to as the “Trust”, the under-
signed Union Trustees and Employer Trustees declare
that they will receive and hold such contributions and
other money or property which may come inte the Trust
pursuant to the following powers and duties and for the
following uses, and none other, to-wit:

ARTICLE I.
DEFINITIONS

1.1 Act. The term “Act” as used herein shall mean the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, any

A-3

“amendments as may from time to time be made and any
regulations promulgated pursuant to the provisions of
the said Act.

1.2 Administrator. “Administrator” means the
Trustees, collectively, of this Trust.

1.3 Collective Bargaining Agreement. Any collective
bargaining agreement now or hereafter in effect, includ-
ing any extensions, amendments and renewals that, pur-
suant to which payments are made by the Employer into
the Trust.

1.4 Employee. Any employee with respect to whose
employment payments are required to be made to the
Trust by an Employer pursuant to a Collective Bargaining
Agreement or pursuant to any written agreement here-
inafter described. The term “Employee” also includes
employees of “the Unions”, and employees of the Duluth-
Superior Marine Association General Cargo Workers,
Local No. 1366 and Local No. 1037 and International
Longshoremen’s Association Health and Welfare Fund.

1.5 Employer.

a. The term “Emplover” as used herein shall mean
any employer (1) who has a Collective Bargaining Agree-
ment with the Unions requiring periodic contributions to
be made to the Trust and who are or become parties to
this Agreement or (2) who are not parties to this Agree-
ment but who have persons in their employ coming
within the classifications represented by the Unions and
have collective bargaining agreements with the Unions
and who consent to be bound by the terms of this Trust

A-4

Agreement and are bound in writing to make contribu-
tions te the Trust with respect to Employees, or (3)
Employers who are not parties to this Agreement and do
not have a collective bargaining agreement in the Unions
but who on occasion use members of the Union and who
have agreed in writing to make contributions to the Trust
with respect to those employees.

b. The term “Employer” also includes a Union affili-
ated with “the Unions”, and the Duluth-Superior Marine
Association General Cargo Workers, Local No. 1366 and
Local No. 1037 and International Longshoremen’s Asso-
ciation Health and Welfare Fund, providing any such
organization shail first become contractually obligated to
make similar contributions on behalf of its employees in
accordance with the Trust, signs a Participation Agree-
ment, is accepted for participation by the Trustees in
accordance with the provisions of the Plan and makes
contributions to the Trust as required by the Plan. Neither
a Union affiliated with “the Unions”, nor the Duluth-
Superior Marine Association General Cargo Workers,
Local No. 1366 and Local No. 1037 and International
Longshoremen’s Association Health and Welfare Fund
becoming an Employer pursuant to this paragraph shall
become entitled to participate in the selection or replace-
ment of Union or Employer Trustees by virtue of being an
Employer hereunder.

c. If an Employer has more than one place of busi-
ness, the term “Employer” shall only apply to the place
or places of business covered by the Collective Bargain-
ing Agreement requiring contributions to the Health and
Welfare Fund.

A-5

d. The term “Employer” includes the following
Employers and all other subsequent employers who fall
within the definition of an “Employer” as contained in this
Article I., Section 1.5: Ceres Stevedoring, Inc.; American
Grain Trimmers, Inc.; Guthrie Hubner, Inc.; Hanna Mining
Company, Agent; S.A. McLennan; Rogers Terminal and Ship-
ping Corporation; the Svensson Shipping Agency, Inc.;
Empire Stevedoring Company, Inc.; Federal Marine Termi-
nal, Inc.; Great Lakes Storage and Contracting Company,
Inc.; and North Central Terminal Operators, Inc.; and the
Duluth-Superior Marine Association General Cargo Workers,
Local No. 1366 and Local No. 1037 and International Long-
shoremen’s Association Health and Welfare Fund. Those
other employers who signed the original Agreement and
Declaration of Trust who are not described immediately
above are no longer parties to this restated Agreement and
Declaration of Trust.

1.6 Union. The term Union shall mean the General
Cargo Workers, Local No. 1366, Duluth, Minnesota and
affiliate of the International Longshoremen’s Association,
AFL-CIO, and General Cargo Workers, Local No. 1037,
Superior Wisconsin, an affiliate of the International Long-
shoremen’s Association, AFL-CIO.

1.7 Trust Agreement. The terms “Trust Agreement”,
“Trust” or “Restated Agreement and Declaration of
Trust” as used herein shall mean this instrument, includ-
ing any amendments or modifications which may from
time to time be made.

1.8 Pension Plan or Plan. “Pension Plan or Plan”
shall mean the Duluth-Superior, ILA Marine Association
Restated Pension Plan, as amended.

A-6

1.9 Administrative Manager. The individual, firm or
corporation employed by the Trustees to administer the
office or offices of the Trust Fund as set forth in Article
7.6 of this Trust Agreement.

1.10 Trustees. Trustees are those persons selected from
time to time by both the Employer and Union pursuant to
section 3.2 of Article III of this Agreement to administer
the Trust.

1.11 Contract or Group Insurance Contract. The term
“Contract” or “Group Insurance Contract” as used herein
means a group annuity policy issued by an insurance
company which provides for the accumulation of funds
and the purchase of annuities at a participant’s retirement
date.

ARTICLE II.
CONTRIBUTIONS

2.1 Contributions. Each participating Employer shall
pay to the Trustees, on or before the 15th day of each
month the contribution required to be made by the
Employer, such contributions to be in such amount as the
parties may by their collective bargaining agreement
determine from time to time between them. Such date or
payments may be adjusted by the Trustees as they may
determine pursuant to their rules of procedure.

2.2 New Employers. Employers, who are not signatory
to this Agreement but who have persons in their employ
coming within the classifications represented by the

A-7

Unions signators hereto and who have collective bargain-
ing agreements with such Unions, may become a partici-
pating employer under the terms of this Agreement, and
make contributions to the Trust, with the consent of the
Trustees, on the signing of a Participation Agreement
and/or a labor agreement, where applicable, providing
for participation in the Trust containing such terms as
required by the Trustees and on such basis as agreed
upen by such new contributing Employers and the
Trustees respecting the contributions to be made and the
coverages to be afforded to the employees covered.

ARTICLE III.
DESIGNATION OF TRUSTEES

3.1. Number of Trustees. The Trust shall be adminis-
tered by a Board of Trustees, two of whom shall be
chosen by the Employers and two of whom shall be
chosen by the Union.

3.2 Selection of Trustees. The two Employer Trustees
shall be selected by the Employers, and two Union
Trustees shall be selected by the Unions. Both the
Employers and the Unions may also select up to two (2)
alternate Trustees for each group.

The term “Trustees” as used herein shall include an
Alternate Trustee when he is acting in the place of a
Trustee.

The Trustees shall consent to their appointment as
Trustees and accept such appointment in writing.

3.3 Identity of Trustees. As of the effective date of this
Restated Trust Agreement, the Trustees are as follows:

A-8

Employer Trustees Union Trustees
; :
2. 2.

3.4 Tenure. Each Trustee shall continue to serve dur-
ing the existence of the Trust until his death, incapacity,
resignation or removal.

3.5 Resignation or Removal of Trustees. A Trustee may
resign at any time by giving a ten (10) day notice in
writing to the remaining Trustees, which notice shall state
the effective date of the resignation, when it shall take
effect. In the event of the death, incapacity, removal or
resignation of a Trustee, a successor Trustee shall be
appointed within thirty (30) days of the effective date of
the vacancy as follows: At any time for good cause, after
notice and hearing with the Trustee present, a Union
Trustee may be removed or appointed by a written
instrument signed by the Union. Similarly, any Employer
Trustee may be removed or appointed at any time by a
written instrument signed by not less than three of those
Employers employing a majority of the Employees cov-
ered by this Trust Agreement. In such event of party
removing a Trustee shall give the other Trustees five (5)
days written notice prior to the effective date of such
removal of such action and shall designate in such notice
the successor Trustee. The Trustees may require a special
accounting before a deceased, retired, or removed Trustee
is relieved of his responsibility as a Trustee.

In no event shall this Trust or the operation of the
Board of Trustees be impaired by the death, incapacity,
resignation or removal of a Trustee, and in the event of a
vacancy on the Board of Trustees, the remaining Trustees

A-9

shall have full power to act until the designation of a
successor Trustee.

As long as a vacancy exists on the Board of Trustees,
or in the temporary absence of a Trustee, any alternate
Trustee designated by the Employer may act in the place
and stead of an absent or deceased Trustee designated by
the Employer, and any alternate Trustee designated by
the Union may act in the place and stead of an absent or
deceased Trustee designated by the Union, and any alter-
nate Trustee shall be vested with all the property, rights,
power and duties of a Trustee.

3.6 Successor Trustee. In the event of the death, inca-
pacity, removal or resignation of a Trustee, a Successor
Trustee shall be appointed within thirty (30) days of the
effective date of the vacancy by a written instrument
signed by the chief executive officer of the Union, if a
Successor Union Trustee, and by a written instrument
signed by a majority of the Employers party to this
Agreement or by Employers employing a majority of
employees covered by this Agreement. In the event of
conflicting action, action by Employers employing a
majority of the covered employees shall control. Written
notice of the appointment shall be served upon the other
Trustees with said time.

Any Successor Trustee shall immediately upon his
designation as a Successor Trustee and his acceptance
thereof in writing, as provided in Section 3.7, become
vested with all the property, rights, power and duties of a
Trustee hereunder with like effect as if originally named a
Trustee without necessity of any formal conveyance of
other instrument of title. No Successor Trustee shall in

A-10

any way be liable or responsible for any act or omission
in the administration of the Trust prior to the date any
such Trustee becomes a Trustee.

3.7 Acceptance of the Trust by Trustees. A Trustee shall
execute a written acceptance in a form satisfactory to the
Trustees and consistent with the Act and thereby shall be
deemed to have accepted the Trust created and estab-
lished by this Trust Agreement and to have consented to
act as Trustee and to have agreed to administer the Trust
Fund as provided herein. Such written acceptance shall
be filed with the Trust’s Administrative Manager, who
shall notify the remaining Trustees of the Receipt of such
acceptance.

3.8 Limitation of Liability of Trustees. No Trustee shall
be liable or responsible for his own acts or for any acts or
defaults of any other fiduciary or party in interest or any
other person except in accordance with applicable federal
law. The Trustee shall not be liable for the acts or omis-
sions of any investment manager, attorney, agent or assis-
tant employed by them in pursuance of this Agreement,
provided such investment manager, attorney, agent or
assistant was selected pursuant to this Trust Agreement.

ARTICLE IV.
NAME AND PRINCIPAL OFFICE OF TRUST
4.1 The Trustees shall be known in their joint capacity

as the “Trustees of the Duluth-Superior, ILA Marine
Association Pension Trust.

4.2 The principal office of said Trust shall be located
at 2904 West Third Street, in the City of Duluth, St. Louis

A-11

County, Minnesota 55806, unless otherwise designated by
the Trustees.

ARTICLE V.
ADMINISTRATION OF TRUST FUND

5.1 Meetings. The Trustees shall meet at least once
each fiscal year at the principal office of the Trust and at
such other times at the Trustees shall deem necessary. The
Chairman shall set the date, time and call the annual
meeting, and, if he fails within the year to do so, the
Secretary shall do so. The Chairman or Secretary or any
two or more Trustees may call a special meeting of the
Board of Trustees. Any annual or special meeting shall be
called by giving the Trustees twenty (20) days’ notice if
an annual meeting or two (2) days’ notice in writing if a
special meeting, stating the time and place of such meet-
ing. The attendance of a Trustee at a meeting shall consti-
tute a waiver of notice of such meeting, except where a
Trustee attends a meeting, and objects thereat to the
transaction of any business because the meeting is not
lawfully called or convened. Notice of substance of all
matters to be acted upon at any meeting shall be con-
tained in the notice of the meeting unless all the Trustees
shall be present at the meeting. A quorum of the Trustees
for the transaction of business except as otherwise pro-
vided herein shall consist of one Trustee appointed by the
Union and one Trustee appointed by the Employers. !t is
the intention of the parties that at any time any vote or
other action is taken by the Board of Trustees the number
of Union Trustees and Employers Trustees qualified to
act, vote and constitute a quorum shall always be equal.

A-12

5.2 Voting. All actions by and decisions of the Board
of Trustees at a meeting at which a quorum is present
shall be by the affirmative vote of a majority of the total
number of the Trustees authorized. Each Trustee shall
have one (1) vote. An alternate Trustee cannot vote except
if acting in behalf of an absent Trustee.

5.3 Organization and Operation of Trustees. At the com-
mencement of each fiscal year of the Trust, the Trustees
shall select from among them a Chairman and a Secretary
who shall each serve for a period of one (1) year. One
officer shall be a Union Trustee and one officer shall be an
Employer Trustee. The Secretary shall cause to have kept
an accurate record of the proceedings at all meetings of
the Trustees and of any action taken. The minutes of all
meetings and a record of action take shall be transcribed
and a copy retained by the Secretary as a trust record and
a copy distributed to each Trustee at the cost of the Trust.

5.4 Procedure in Event of Deadlock of Trustees. In the
event that a majority of Trustees are unable to agree upon
any matter in connection with the administration of this
Trust, then the Trustees shall select a neutral person as an
impartial arbitrator who is willing to act in the deter-
mination of such dispute. In the event a majority of the
Trustees fail to agree upon the selection of an impartial
arbitrator, then any one or more of said Trustees may
petition the U.S. District Court, District of Minnesota, to
make the appointment of an impartial umpire to decide
such dispute. The reasonable compensation of such
umpire and the costs and expenses (including, without
limitation, attorneys’ and reporter fees) incidental to any
proceedings instituted to break a deadlock shall be paid
by the Trust. Proceedings hereunder shall be conducted

A-13

pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 572. The impar-
tial arbitrator shall have no power to alter, delete, amend,
add to, take away from or disregard any of the provisions
of this Agreement and Declaration of Trust. The decision
of the impartial arbitrator shall be final and binding upon
the Trustees, all parties hereto, the employees and their
beneficiaries, and upon all persons involved in any way
with the Trust or claiming any benefit thereunder.

Differences arising as to the interpretation or applica-
tion of the provisions of this Trust Agreement or relating
to Employee benefits provided for hereunder shall not be
subject to the grievance or arbitration procedure estab-
lished in any collective bargaining agreement.

5.5 Office of the Trust. The Trustees shall establish an
office in Duluth, Minnesota, the address being 2902 West
Third Street, Duluth, Minnesota 55806 for the transaction
of the business of the Trust. At such office and at such
other places as may be required by law there shall be
maintained the books and records pertaining to the Trust
and its administration.

5.6 Removal of Trustee (Violation of Act). The Board of
Trustees shall initiate action to cause the removal of any
fellow member Trustee who may be serving as a Trustee
in violation of the Act. The vacancy or vacancies caused
by such a removal shall be filled in accordance with
Section 3.5 of this Agreement.

ARTICLE VI
POWERS AND DUTIES OF TRUSTEES

6.1 Conduct of Trust Business. The Trustees shall have
general supervision of the operation of this Trust and

A-14

shall conduct the business and activities of the Trust in
accordance with this Trust Agreement and applicable law.
The Trustees shall hold, manage and protect the Trust and
collect the income therefrom and contributions thereto.
The Trustees may, in the course of conducting the busi-
ness of the Trust, execute all instruments in the name of
the Duluth-Superior, ILA Marine Association Pension
Trust, which instruments shall be signed by at least one
Employer and one Union Trustee; provided, however, any
one Trustee may execute legal documents to commence
and process lawsuits to enforce trust collections on behalf
of the Trustees.

6.2 Employers, Expert Assistance and Delegation. The
Trustees shall have the power and authority to use and
apply the Trust for the following purposes:

a. To pay or provide for the payment of all reason-
able and necessary expenses of collecting Employer con-
tributions and administering the affairs of this Trust,
including but not limited to, the employment of such
administrative, legal, expert, investment, advisory, cleri-
cal or other assistance, the purchase or lease of such
premises, materials, supplies and equipment and the per-
formance of such other acts as the Trustees, in their sole
discretion, find necessary or appropriate in the perfor-
mance of their duties.

-

6.3 Investments.

a. The Trustees shall have the power and authority,
in their sole discretion, to invest and reinvest such funds
as are not necessary for current expenditures or liquid
reserves, as they may from time to time determine, in

A-15

such investments as are legal investments under applica-
ble state and federal law relating to the investment of the
employee Trust, not limited, however, by any limitation
restricting investments in common stocks to a percentage
of the Trust or to a percentage of the total market value of
the Trust. The Trustees may sell, exchange or otherwise
dispose of such investments at any time and from time to
time. The Trustees shall also have power and authority
(in addition to, and not in limitation of, common law and
Statutory authority) to invest in any stocks, bonds or
other property, real or personal, including improved or
unimproved real estate and equity interests in real estate,
where such an investment appears to the Trustees, in
their discretion and consistent with their fiduciary obliga-
tions, to be in the best interest of the Trust and its
Participants and Beneficiaries, judged by then prevailing
business conditions and standards. The Trustees shall
have the authority, ‘n respect to any stocks, bonds or
other property, real or personal, held by them as Trustees,
to exercise all such rights, power and privileges as might
be lawfully exercised by any person owning similar
stocks, bonds er other property in his own right.

b. Delegation and Allocation of Investment Functions.

(1) The Trustees are authorized, in their discre-
tion, by resolution, to allocate to a committee of Trustees
such duties and responsibilities to invest and reinvest
such Trust assets as they shall specify in such allocation.

(2) The Trustees shall have the power and
authority to appoint one or more investment managers
(as defined in Section 3(38) of the Act) who shall be
responsible for the management, acquisition, disposition,

A-16

investing and reinvesting of such of the assets of the
Trust as the Trustees shall specify. Any such appointment
may be terminated by the Trustees upon thirty (30) days’
written notice. The fees of such investment manager, and
its expenses to the extent permitted by law, shall be paid
out of the Trust.

(3) In connection with any allocation or delega-
tion of investment functions under paragraphs (1) and (2)
of this Subsection b, the Trustees shali, from time to time,
adopt appropriate investment policies or guidelines.

6.4 Deposits and Disbursements. All Trust funds not
invested shall be deposited by the Trustees in such depos-
itory or depositories as the Trustees shall from time to
time select, and any such deposit or deposits, or disburse-
ments therefrom, shall be made in the name of the Trust
in the manner designated by the Trustees and upon the
signature(s) of the persons designated and authorized by
the Trustees or by the Investment Manager appointed in
accordance with Section 3b(2) of this Article.

6.5 Allocation and Delegation of Fiduciary Respon-
sibilities. The Trustees may, by resolution or bylaw or by
provisions of this Trust Agreement, allocate fiduciary
responsibilities and various administrative duties to com-
mittees or subcommittees of the Board of Trustees, and
they may delegate such responsibilities and duties to
other individuals, as they may deem appropriate or nec-
essary in their sole discretion and consistent with the Act.
The Trustees shall not be deemed responsible for any
errors or omissions of persons to whom such respon-
sibilities or duties have been properly allocated or dele-
gated.

A-17

6.6 Administrative Manager. The Trustees may employ
cr contract for the services of an individual, firm or
corporation, to be known as “Administrative Manager”,
who shall, under the direction of the Trustees or under
the direction of any appropriate committee of the
Trustees, administer the office or offices of the Trust and
of the Trustees, coordinate and administer the account-
ing, bookkeeping, and clerical services, provide for the
coordination of actuarial services furnished by the con-
sulting actuary, prepare (in cooperation where appropri-
ate with the consulting actuary, and independent auditor)
all reports and other documents to be prepared, filed or
disseminated by or on behalf of the Trust in accordance
with law, assist in the collection of contributions required
to be paid to the Trust by Employers and perform such
other duties and furnish such other services as may be
assigned, delegated or directed or as may be contracted
by or on behalf of the Trustees. The Administrative Man-
ager shall be the custodian on behalf of the Trustees of all
documents and other records of the Trustees and of the
Trust.

6.7 Bylaws, Rules and Regulations.

a. The Trustees are hereby empowered and autho-
rized to adopt bylaws and to promulgate any and all
necessary rules and regulations which they deem neces-
sary or desirable to facilitate the proper administration of
the Trust, provided the same are not inconsistent with the
terms of this Trust Agreements. All bylaws, rules and
regulations adopted by action of the Trustees shall be
binding upon all parties hereto, all parties dealing with
the Trust and all persons claiming and benefits here-
under.

A-18

b. The Trustees shall, by the affirmative vote of at
least two (2) Employer Trustee votes and two (2) Union
Trustee votes, adopt the Plan and bylaws, rules or regula-
tions in respect to the Plan or eligibility of Participants
and Beneficiaries for the benefits herein provided, which
Plan, bylaws, rules or regulations may, by the above-
specified vote, be changed and modified from time to
time in such manner and to such extent as the Trustees
may deem expedient and necessary in the proper admin-
istration of the Trust.

c. No bylaw, regulation, rule, action or determina-
tion made or adopted by the Trustees, nor any decision or
determination made by any impartial umpire appointed
pursuant to Section 6.4 of this Agreement, shall in any
manner conflict or be inconsistent (1) with any provision
of the applicable current collective bargaining agreement
in effect or, which may be made, between the Employers
and the Union, (2) with this Trust Agreement, and (3)
with any applicable federal, state or local law.

6.8 Additional Authority. The Trustees are hereby
empowered, in addition to such other powers as are set
forth herein or conferred by law:

a. To enter into any and all contracts and agree-
ments for carrying out the terms of this Trust Agreement
and for the administration of the Trust and to do all acts
as they, in their discretion, may deem necessary or advis-
able, and such contracts and agreements and acts shall be
binding and conclusive on the parties hereto and on the
Participants involved, except as may be limited by law;

b. To keep property and securities registered in the
names of the Trustees or of the Trust or in the name of

A-19

any other individual or entity nominee or nominees duly
designated by the Trustees with disclosure of any fiduci-
ary relationship;

c. To establish and accumulate as part of the Trust
such reasonable reserve funds as the Trustees, in their
sole discretion, deem necessary or desirable to carry out
the purposes of such Trust;

d. To pay out of the Trust all real and personal
property taxes, income taxes and other taxes of any and
all kinds levied or assessed under existing, or future laws
or upon or in respect to the Trust or any money, property
or securities forming a part thereof;

e. To do all acts, whether or not expressly autho-
rized herein, which the Trustees may deem necessary or
proper for the protection of the property held hereunder;

f. To sell, exchange, lease, convey, mortgage or dis-
pose of any property, whether real or personal, at any
time forming a part of the Trust upon such terms as they
may deem proper and to execute and deliver any and all
instruments of conveyance, lease, mortgage and transfer
in connection therewith; and

g. To establish and carry out a funding policy and
method consistent with the objectives of this Trust Agree-
ment and the Act.

6.9 Bonds. The Trustees shall obtain from an autho-
rized surety company such bonds as may be required by
law, covering such persons and in such amounts (but not
less than required by law) as the Trustees, in their discre-
tion, may determine. [The cost of premiums for such
bonds shall be an expense of the Trust.]

A-20

6.10 Insurance. The Trustees may, in their discretion,
obtain and maintain policies of insurance, to the extent
permitted by law, to insure themselves, the Trust as such,
as well as employees or agents of the Trustees and of the
Trust, while engaged in business and related activities for
and on behalf of the Trust (1) with respect to liability to
others as a result of acts, errors or omissions of such
Trustee or Trustees, employees or agents, respectively,
provided such insurance policy shall provide recourse by
the insurer against Trustees as may be required by law,
and (2) with respect to injuries received or property dam-
age suffered by them. The cost of the premiums for such
policies of insurance except for recourse insurance shall
be an expense of the Trust.

6.11 Information to Participants and Beneficiaries. The
Trustees will provide Participants and Beneficiaries such
information as may be required by law.

6.12 Accountants and Actuaries. The Trustees shall
engage one or more independent qualified public accoun-
tants and one or more enrolled actuaries to perform all
services as may be required by applicable law and such
other services as the Trustees may deem necessary.

6.13 Compensation. The Trustees and their successors
shall receive reasonable compensation for services ren-
dered, and shall be reimbursed for expenses properly and
actually incurred in the performance of their duties with
the plan; provided, however, that no Trustee who receives
full-time pay from an employer or an association of
employers, whose employees are participants in the
Trust, or from an employee organization whose members
are participants in such Trust shall receive compensation

A-21

from such Trust, except for reimbursement of expenses
properly and actually incurred.

6.14 Reports. All reports required by law to be
signed by one or more Trustees shall be signed by all of
the Trustees, provided that all of the Trustees may
appoint, in writing and by resolution adopted and spread
on the minutes, one or more of their members to sign
such report on behalf of the Trustees.

6.15 Records of Trustee Transactions. The Trustees
shall keep true and accurate books of account and a
record of all of their transactions and meetings (including
actions taken at such meetings and by informal action of
the Trustees), which records and books shall be audited at
least annually by a certified public accountant. A copy of
each audit report shall be furnished both to the Trustees
and shall be available for inspection by interested per-
sons at the principal office of the Trustees.

6.16 Construction and Determinations by Trustees.
Subject to the stated purposes of the Trust and the provi-
sions of this Agreement, the Trustees shall have full and
exclusive authority to determine all questions of eligi-
bility, amount of benefits payable under the Pension
Trust, methods of providing or arranging for benefits and
all other related matters. They shall have full power to
construe the provisions of this Agreement, the terms used
herein, and the Pension Trust, bylaws and regulations
issued hereunder. Any such determination and any such
construction adopted by the Trustees in good faith shall
be binding upon all of the parties hereto and the
employees, Participants and Beneficiaries hereof to the

A-22

extent permitted by law. No matter respecting the forego-
ing or any difference arising thereunder or any matter
involved in or arising under this Trust Agreement shall
be subject to the grievance or arbitration procedure estab-
lished in any collective bargaining agreement between
the Employer and the Union, provided, however, that this
clause shall not affect the rights and liabilities of any of
the parties under any of such collective bargaining agree-
ments.

6.17 Liability.

a. Every act done, power exercised or obligation
assumed by the Trustees pursuant to the provisions of
this Agreement or in carrying out this Trust shall be done,
exercised or assumed, as the case may be, by the Trustees
in their capacity as Trustees and not otherwise, and every
person, corporation, partnership, association or firm con-
tracting or otherwise dealing with the Trustees shall look
only to the Trust for payment under such contract or any
obligation arising under this Agreement, in whole or in
part.

b. Except as provided by law, no Trustee shall be
liable for any act, ommission or failure to act or for any
mistake of fact or law or error of judgment or for loss or
depreciation in the value of the Trust occurring by reason
thereof, nor shall any Trustee be liable for the acts or
defaults of any other Trustee under this Trust Agreement
or for any acts or defaults of any officer, agent, attorney
or employee in whose appointment the Trustee shall have
exercised reasonable care and diligence.

6.18 Reliance on Written Instruments. Each of the
Trustees shall be protected in acting upon any paper or

-

A-23

document believed by him to be genuine and to have
been made, executed or delivered by the proper parties
purporting to have made, executed or delivered the same
and shall be protected in relying and acting upon the
opinion of legal counsel in connection with any matter
pertaining to the administration or execution of the Plan.
The Trustees may rely upon an instrument in writing
purporting to have been signed by, or upon telegrams
purporting to have been transmitted by, any Trustee,
Employer or the Unions as conclusive evidence of the fact
that the said Trustee, Employer or the Unions have duly
taken the action stated to have been taken in such instru-
ment or telegram.

6.19 Reliance by Others. No party dealing with the
Trustees shall be obligated (1) to see to the application to
the stated Trust purposes of any funds or property of the
Trust or (2) to see that the terms of this Trust Agreement
have been complied with or (3) to inquire into the neces-
sity or expediency of any act of the Trustees. Every
instrument executed by the Trustees shall be conclusive
evidence in favor of every person relying thereon (1) that
at the time of the execution of said instrument the Trust
was in full force and effect, (2) that the instrument was
executed in accordance with the terms and conditions of
this Trust Agreement, and (3) that the Trustees were duly
authorized and empowered to execute the instrument.

6.20 Discharge of Liability. The receipt of the Trustees
for any money or property or checks (after such checks
are honored at the bank and paid to the Trust) shall
discharge the person or persons paying or transferring
the same.

A-24

6.21 Muitiple Benefit Schedules. The Trustees shall be
authorized to accept contributions at more than one rate
and they shall provide in the Pension Trust for levels of
benefits appropriate for each such rate of contribution.
However, it is the intention of the parties hereto that
contributing Employers hereto shall, to the extent feas-
ible, negotiate identical contribution rates.

ARTICLE VII.
CONTRIBUTIONS AND COLLECTIONS

7.1. Employer Contributions. Each Employer shall
make prompt contributions or payments to the Trust in
such amount and under the terms as are provided for in
the applicable collective bargaining agreement in effect
from time to time between the Employer may also be
required to make contributions in such amount and
under such terms as such Employer may be obligated, in
writing, to make, provided that such contributions shall
be subject to acceptance by the Trustees. The employer
agrees that such contributions shall constitute an absolute
obligation to the Trust, and such obligation shall not be
subject to set-off or counterclaim which the Employer
may have for any liability of the Union or of an
Employee.

7.2 Transmission of Reports and Contributions. The
Trustees shall establish a uniform system among the
Employers for the timely transmission of reports and
contributions and shall also establish a periodic date on
which such reports and contributions shall be due. The
Trustees shall immediately notify any Employer of a
delinquency, mistake or discrepancy in such Employer's

A-25

report or contribution. The Trustees may at any time have
an audit made by an accountant or any representative or
employee of the Trust of the payroll and wage records of
any Employer in connection with the said contributions
and/or reports.

7.3. Trustees Sanctions.

a. Collection and Enforcement of Payments. The
Trustees, or such committee of the Trustees as the Board
of Trustees shall appoint, or the Administrative Manager
if one has been appointed and when directed by such
committee or by the Board of Trustees, shall have the
power to demand, collect and receive Employer pay-
ments and all other money and property to which the
Trustees may be entitled and shall hold the same until
applied to the purposes provided in this Trust Agree-
ment. They shall take such steps, including the institution
and prosecution of, or the intervention in, such legal or
administrative proceedings as the Trustees, in their sole
discretion, determine to be in the best interest of the Trust
for the purpose of collecting such payments, money and
property, without prejudice, however, to the rights of the
Union to take whatever steps it deems necessary and
wishes to undertake for such purposes.

b. Contributions to the Trust shall be due and pay-
able fifteen (15) days following the end of the preceding
month. The failure of an Employer to pay all amounts
due within thirty (30) days following the due date,
whether willful or otherwise, shall subject the delinquent
Employer to a payment of liquidated damages of an
additional ten percent (10%) of the amount due plus all

A-26

costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees incurred in connec-
tion therewith. Payments and liquidated damages unpaid
by the first day of the following month shall be subject to
an interest charge of eight percent (8%) per annum on the
payments and liquidated damages.

If legal action is taken to recover the amount due the
Trust, the delinquent Empioyer shall also be required to
pay all court costs, including reasonable attorneys’ fees.
In addition to the other provisions as herein set forth, any
Employer who is delinquent in his payment to the Trust
shall make such Employer primarily liable and respons-
ible to its employees or employees’ estates for any claim
for benefits accruing to such employees or employees’
estates which would otherwise be due such employees or
employees’ estates under the administration of this Trust.
The payment of any and all such claims shall not operate
to relieve such Employer from his liability to make the
payments due the Trust, including the liquidated damage
payment.

Any Employer who on more than one occasion dur-
ing any one year becomes delinquent in its payment to
the Trust shall be required to post a bond with the
Trustees in an amount equivalent to the total contribu-
tions which it was obligated to make during the preced-
ing calendar year.

Nonpayment by any Employer of any contribution or
other monies owed to the Trust shall not relieve any other
Employer from his or its obligation to make required
payments to the Trust.

c. Each Employer shall promptly furnish to the
Trustees, on demand, the names of employees, their

A-27

social security numbers, the hours worked by each
employee and such other information as the Trustees may
reasonably require in connection with the administration
of the Trust and for no other purposes. The Trustees may
by their Administrative Manager or Certified Public
Accountant examine the pertinent employment and pay-
roll records of each Employer at the Employer’s place of
business whenever such examination is deemed neces-
sary or advisable by majority vote of the Trustees in
connection with the proper administration of the Trust.
The Union shall, upon the request of the Trustees,
promptly furnish information in respect to an employee's
employment status.

ARTICLE VIII.
BENEFICIAL RIGHTS

8.1. No Rights, Title or Interest of Employers and Union.
No Employer or Union shall have any right, title or
interest in or to the Trust or any part thereof except that,
upon either the written request of the Employer or Union,
the Trustees shall return to the Employer or Union the
amount of the Employer’s or Union’s contribution made
by the Employer or Union by good faith mistake of fact or
the amount of the Employer’s or Union’s contribution
disallowed as a deduction under Code Section 404.

The Trustees shall not return any portion of the
Employer’s or Union’s contribution made pursuant to
Article II more than one (1) year after:

(a) The Employer or the Union made the contribu-
tion by good faith mistake of fact; or

A-28

(b) The disallowance of the contribution as a deduc-
tion, and then, only to the extent of the disallowance.

Except as herein before provided, no Employer shall
directly or indirectly, receive any refund on contributions
made by it to the Trust, or directly or indirectly partici-
pate in the disposition of the Trustor receive any benefits
from the Trust. No employee shall have any individual
right, title, interest, or claim against any Employer,
Employer’s contribution, or the Trust, except as may be
expressly provided for in the Plan and in this Agreement
and Declaration of Trust.

8.2 Limitations Upon Beneficial Rights of Employees.
No employee, Participant, or any Beneficiary of a Partici-
pant shall have any right, title or interest in or to the
Trust or any part thereof, provided, however, that any
Participant who shall be covered by the Plan, or his
Beneficiaries under such Plan, shall be entitled to the
benefits in the forms and amounts and subject to the
terms and conditions of this Trust; provided, further,
however, the benefits shall be free from the interference
and control of any creditor, and no benefits shall be
subject to any assignment or other anticipation or subject
to seizure or sale under any legal, equitable or any other
process, and, in the event that any claim or, benefit shall,
because of any debt incurred by or resulting from any
other claim or liability against any Participant or Benefici-
ary, by reason of any sale, assignment, transfer,
encumbrance, anticipation or other disposition made or
attempted by said Participant or Beneficiary, or by reason
of any seizure or sale or attempted sale under any legal,
equitable or other process, or in any suit or proceeding,
become payable, or be liable to become payable, to any

A-29

person other than the Participant or Beneficiary for
whom the same is intended, as provided herein and in
the Trust.

ARTICLE IX.
TERMINATION OF TRUST

9.1 Conditions of Termination. This Trust Agreement
shall cease and terminate upon the happening of any one
or more of the following events:

a. In the event the Trust shall, in the opinion of the
Trustees, be inadequate to carry out the intent and pur-
pose of this Trust Agreement or be inadequate to meet the
payments due or to become due under this Trust Agree-
ment and under the plan of benefits to Participants and
Beneficiaries already drawing benefits;

b. In the event there are no individuals living who
can qualify as employees hereunder;

c. In the event of termination by action of the Union
and the Employers;

d. In the event of termination as may be otherwise
provided by law.

9.2 Procedures in Event of Termination. In the event of
termination, the Trustees shall:

a. Make provisions out of the Trust for the payment
of expenses incurred up to the date of termination of the
Trust and the expenses incidental to such termination;

b. Arrange for a final audit and report of their
transactions and accounts for the purpose of termination
of their Trusteeship;

A-30

c. Apply the Trust to pay any and all (or provide for
the payment of) benefits accrued prior to the date of
termination in the manner and order of preference set
forth in provisions of the Plan then in effect;

d. Give any notices and prepare and file any reports
which may be required by law.

ARTICLE X.
MISCELLANEOUS

10.1 Law Applicable. This Trust is created and
accepted in the State of Minnesota, and all questions
pertaining to the validity or construction of this Trust
Agreement and of the acts and transactions of the parties
hereto shall be determined in accordance with the laws of
the State of Minnesota, except as to matters governed by
federal law.

10.2 Refund of Contributions. In no event shall any
Employer, directly or indirectly, receive any refund on
contributions made by them to the Trust (except to the
extent permitted by law), nor shall an Employer directly
or indirectly participate in the disposition of the Trust.
Upon payment of contributions to the Trustees, all
responsibilities of the Employer for each contribution
shall cease, and the Employer shall have no respon-
sibilities for the acts of the Trustees, nor shall an
employer be obliged to see to the application of any
funds or property of the Trust or to see that the terms of
the Trust have been complied with.

10.3 Judicial Settlements and Action by Trustees. The
Trustees shall be entitled, at any time, to have a judicial

A-31

settlement of their accounts and to seek judicial protec-
tion by any action or proceeding they determine neces-
sary and, further, to obtain a judicial determination or
declaratory judgment as to any question or construction
of this Trust Agreement or for instructions as to any
action thereunder and, further, as to any questions relat-
ing to the discharge of their duties and obligations under,
or in connection with the administration of this Trust and
as to the distribution of assets belonging to the Trust. Any
such determination, decision or judgment shall be bind-
ing upon all parties to, or claiming under, this Trust
Agreement.

10.4 Withholding Payment. In the event any question
or dispute shall arise as to the proper person or persons
to whom any payments shall be made hereunder, the
Trustees may withhold such payment until there shall
have been made an adjudication of such question or
dispute which, in the Trustees’ sole judgment, is satisfac-
tory to them or until the Trustees shall have been fully
protected against loss by means of such indemnification
agreement or bond as they, in their sole judgment, deter-
mine to be adequate.

10.5 Gender. Whenever any words are used in this
Trust Agreement in the masculine gender, they shall also
be construed to include the feminine or neuter gender in
all situations where they would so apply; whenever any
words are used in the singular, they shail also be con-
strued to include the plural in all situations where they
would so apply, and wherever any words are used in the
plural they shall also be construed to include the singular.

A-32

10.6 Amendment of Trust Agreement.

a. The provisions of this Trust Agreement may be
amended at any time by either of the following methods:

1. An amendment may be proposed by any Trustee
or any signatory in this Agreement. A majority of the
Trustees voting in accordance with the provisions of Sec-
tion 6.2 shall first concur in the amendment and thereaf-
ter shall submit the same in writing to the Union and the
Employers signatory to the original Trust Agreement.
Within thirty (30) days after the date of mailing of said
amendment, the Union or such Employers signatories
may present in writing to the Trustees objections thereto.
The amendment shall not become effective if (a) the
Union objects to the amendment, or (b) a majority of such
Employers signatories hereto or of such Employers
employing a majority of the employees covered by this
Trust Agreement object to the amendment. If no objec-
tions are made, or if the objections are insufficient in
number pursuant to the provisions of this Section, then
the amendment shall become effective as of the effective
date set forth therein.

2. An amendment may be proposed by any Trustee
and may be adopted by the unanimous vote of the Full
Board of Trustees.

b. No amendment shall be adopted which alters the
basic purpose of this Trust Agreement or of the Plan;
conflicts with any applicable law or government regula-
tion; causes the use or diversion of any part of the Trust
for purposes other than those authorized herein; or so
amend this Trust Agreement that there shall not be an
equal number of Employer Trustee votes and of Union

A-33

Trustee votes in the administration of the Trust. An
amendment may have retroactive effect, if deemed neces-
sary by the Trustees.

10.7. Article and Section Titles. The Article and Sec-
tion titles are included solely for convenience and shall in
no event be construed to affect or modify any part of the
provisions of this Trust Agreement or be construed as
part thereof.

10.8 Counterparts. This Trust Agreement may be exe-
cuted in any number of counterparts, each of which shall
be deemed an original, but all of which shall constitute
one and the same agreement.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Union Trustees and
Employer Trustees have caused this Restated Agreement
and Declaration of Trust to be executed this 13th day of
December, 1979.

In the presence of: EMPLOYER TRUSTEES:
/s/ Mllegible /s/ Illegible
/s/ Fred Beatty /s/ Illegible

UNION TRUSTEES:
/s/ Mlegible ‘/s/ IMllegible

/s/ Fred Beatty
CESES TERMINAL, INC.

BY /s/ Illegible

AMERICAN GRAIN TRIMMERS, INC.
BY /s/ Illegible

A-34

GUTHRIE-HUNTER, INC.

BY /s/ Illegible

HANNA MINING COMPANY, ASSOC.

BY /s/ Illegible

S. A. MCLKHWAN

BY /s/ Illegible

ROCKES TERMINAL & SHIPPING CORPORATION

BY /s/ Illegible

THE SVENSON SHIPPING AGENCY

BY /s/ Illegible

EMPIRE STEVEDORING COMPANY, INC.-

BY /s/ Illegible

FEDERAL MARINE TERMINALS, INC.

BY /s/ Illegible

GREAT LAKES STORAGE & CONTRACTING COM-
PANY, INC.

BY /s/ Illegible

NORTH CENTRAL TERMINAL OPERATIONS, INC.

BY /s/ Illegible

GENERAL CARGO WORKERS, LOCAL NO. 1366
BY /s/ Illegibie

A-35

GENERAL CARGO WORKERS, LOCAL NO. 1037
BY /s/ Illegible

GREAT LAKES ASSOCIATES, INC.

BY /s/ Ilegible

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1972%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
