# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lowrimore v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1908%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 500 U.S. 919

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED |

APR 10 1991 |

9,9 -15 60 OFFICE OF THE CLERK |

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1990

JACKIE DALE LOWRIMORE, SR.,
Petitioner,
vs.
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GENE STIPE
Counsel of record

Stipe, Gossett, Stipe,
Harper, Estes, McCune and
Parks

P.O. Box 1368

McAlester, Oklahoma 74502
(918) 423-0421

“ Attorney for Petitioner

April, 1991

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Was Petitioner's conviction based upon unfairly
prejudicial evidence of murder as opposed to

evidence supporting the indictment?

Can a violation of the Sixth Amentment to the
United States Constitution at sentencing, which
results in imposition of additional incarceration time,

be harmless error?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
rrr [OEM . 5 «6 « «© « we eo eee &
DP TM—EE—> «6 «¢ 5s 6 6 es © s «© pw soe lh
EEE 5 «© 6 6 © 8s es se we se see ff
Constitutional and Statutory
ES
Brarement OF the Cage ... ++ 2+ © «© © « §

A. Conviction 5
B. Sentencing . 6
C. Appeal .... » 7
ARGUMENT
DEE . «6 « « & © 6« « 6s «© os ®
Petitioner's conviction is based
upon unfairly prejudicial evidence
of the Oklahoma murder charge.
A. Error 1: Murder charge ... 10
B. Error 2: Disguise testimony 11
C. Error 3: Improper statement 12
EE a ee
Petitioner received additional
incarceration time based upon hearsay
evidence in violation of the Sixth
Amendment to the United States
Constitution.
Dr . e664 6 & «© &© © © 6 2 8 0 «6 ct AP

APPENDIX

A.

Opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Cam@MRGe « es secs eee bbs

Order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
Denying Petition for Re-Hearing.

-iii-

1A

1B

I.

Il.

[II.

TABLES OF AUTHORITIES

s sti Ke)
Amendment VI... . «+. +2 « « «
ed atute
Title 28 U.S.C. Section 1254 (1)
Title 18 U.S.C. Section 1958 (a)
Title 18 U.S.C. Section 371 ..

Title 18 U.S.C. Section 2 ..

Rule 10.1 (a) of the Supreme Court

nee ee ae a

Rule 403 of the Federal Rules of
yg a a a ee

Rule 404 of the Federal Rules of
| ae are

Cases

United States v. Dawkins, 562, F.
S67, 569 (8th Cr. 1977) .....

United States v. Fortier, $11 F.
300 (06K Cir. 19600) . . « «+ « «

United States v. LONKLBOTS, 923 F.

590 (8th Cir. 1991)... apr

-iv-

2d

13

16

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit is reported
as United States v. Lowrimore, 923 F. 2d. 590
(8th Cir. 1991) and contained herein at
Appendix A.
The order denying Rehearing by the panel
appears at Appendix B.
JURISDICTION
Judgment affirming Petitioner's jury
trial conviction was rendered on January 11,
1991.
Order denying rehearing on sentencing
issues was rendered on February 28, 1991.
This Honorable Court's jurisdiction is
invoked under Title 28 U.S.C. Section 1254
(1) and Rule 10.1 (a) of the Supreme Court

Rules.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
I. United States Constitution;
1. Amendment VI, in pertinent part;
In al} criminal prosecutions,
the accused shall enjoy the
right . . . to be confronted
with the witnesses against
him...
II. Federal Statutes;

1. Title 18 U.S.C. Section 1958
(a), in pertinent part;

Whoever travels in or causes
another . . . to travel in
interstate or foreign commerce,
. . »« with intent that a murder
be committed in violation of
the laws of any State or the
United States as consideration
for the receipt of, or as
consideration for a promise or
agreement to pay, anything of

-2-

pecuniary value, .. . and if
personal injury results, shall
be fined not more than $20,000
and imprisoned for not more
than twenty years, or both;

2. Rule 403 of the Federal Rules
of Evidence, in pertinent part;

Although relevant, evidence may
be excluded if its probative
value is substantially
outweighed by the danger of
unfair prejudice, confusion of
the issues, or misleading the
SUEW « «3 «

3. Rule 404 (b) of the Federal
Rules of Evidence, in pertinent
part;

Evidence of other crimes,
wrongs, or acts is not
admissible . .. It may,

-3-

however, be admissible
for other purposes, such as

proof of motive, ..- .- intent,

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. CONVICTION

Petitioner was convicted in the United
States District Court for the Western
District of Arkansas, Fort Smith Division,
for conspiracy to use interstate commerce
facilities in the commission of murder for
hire (Count One) and aiding and abetting in
the use of interstate commerce facilities in
the commission of murder for hire (Count
Two), in violation of Title 18 U.S.C. Section
1958 (a), Title 18 U.S.C. Section 371 and
Title 18 U.S.C. Section 2. Petitioner's ex-
wife, Shirley Lowrimore, received a non-fatal
shotgun wound on July 22, 1989 as a result of
the alleged conspiracy.

Prior to Federal indictment, Petitioner
was charged in Oklahoma State Court with the
murder of his ex-wife who was found dead on
September 29, 1989. Conviction on the

-5-

Oklahoma State Court murder charge did not
occur until October 12, 1990, well after the
briefing cycle was completed in the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth ;
Circuit.

Petitioner attempted to prevent
Respondent's use of any evidence concerning
the Oklahoma murder charge prior to and
during the course of trial. Petitioner's
pre-trial Motion in Limine was at least
partially sustained as the District Trial
Court ruled that Respondent could not mention
the Oklahoma murder charge during the trial
but could present evidence of any actions
Petitioner took up to the murder.

B. S8E NCING

Petitioner objected to hearsay
statements contained in the Pre-Sentence
Report prepared by the Respondent's Probation
and Parole Officer. The Probation and Parole

-6-

Officer testified at sentencing hearing that
much of the Pre-Sentence Report came from
Respondent's case file without personal
interview or any independent attempt to
verify the accuracy of the hearsay statements
contained within the Pre-Sentence Report.
The Trial Court accepted the Pre-Sentence
Report as accurate and sentenced Petitioner
to Two Hundred Sixty-two (262) months of
imprisonment, three (3) years of supervised
release, a fine of Twenty Thousand Dollars
($20,000.00) and a special assessment of One
Hundred Dollars ($100.00). Petitioner's
incarceration time includes a four (4) level
enhancement attacked by Petitioner as being
based upon hearsay statements.
Cc. PFA

Petitioner timely appealed to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit asserting improper use of the

-7-

Oklahoma murder charge evidence at trial and
violation of Petitioner's rights under the
Sixth Amendment to the United States
Constitution at sentencing hearing.
Conviction was affirmed by opinion filed on
January 11, 1991, even though the Eighth
Circuit Court of Appeals did find viclation
of Petitioner's Sixth Amendment Rights under
the United States Constitution, at sentencing
hearing.

Petitioner timely requested Rehearing on
the issue of sentencing. Rehearing was
denied on February 22, 1991.

Petitioner now timely requests this
Honorable Court to grant a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit, allowing review of the issues

presented herein.

ARGUMENT ;
I. ONV 12)

Petitioner's conviction is

based upon unfairly

prejudicial evidence of the

Oklahoma murder charge.

Petitioner's, ex-wife, Shirley Lowrimore
received a non-fatal shotgun wound on July
22, 1989. (Federal conviction). Ms.
Lowrimore was then found dead three (3)
months later on September 29, 1989.
(Oklahoma murder charge). The Federal
indictment under Title 18 U.S.C. Section 1985
(a) alleged and required Respondent's proof
of personal injury to the victim. Throughout
trial, Respondent continually offered
evidence of the victim's murder over
Petitioner's pre-trial and trial objections.
Respondent's assumption of the

additional burden of proof of the victim's

murder allowed unfairly prejudicial evidence

to go to the jury.

ERROR 1: OKLAHOMA MURDER CHARGE

Prior to trial, the District Trial Court
ruled that Respondent could not mention the
Oklahoma murder charge. Appendix A, pg. 5A.
Respondent's first witness testified about a
conversation with Petitioner after Petitioner
had been charged and posted bond. Appendix
A, pg. 5A. The United States Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit found no error
in this testimony finding no evidence of
direct knowledge by the jury of the Oklahoma
murder charge and failure to request a
limiting instruction on other charges.
Appendix A at pg. 6A.

Petitioner asserts that a request for a
limiting instruction on other criminal
charges with the first witness to testify in
the trial, immediately after the witness had
testified about other charges, would have
only given the jury direct knowledge of the

-10-

Oklahoma murder charge. Any limiting
instruction would have only highlighted the
Oklahoma murder charge as opposed to keeping
it from the jury. Petitioner's only remedy
for the unfairly prejudicial evidence which
violated the District Trial Court's pre-trial
Order was the requested mistrial.
ERROR 2: DISGUISE TESTIMONY
Petitioner's cross examination testimony
of disguise worn the day his ex-wife was
found dead was allowed as being probative of
intent under Rule 404 (b) of the Federal
Rules of Evidence. Appendix A, pg.s. 6A and
7A. The United States Court of Appeals for
the Eighth Circuit in upholding the testimony
found that the testimony, ". .. , tends to
prove that Lowrimore murdered his wife.
It also tends to prove that Lowrimore wanted
his wife dead badly enough to do it
himself, which, in turn, makes it more likely

-ll-

Se ee

he would have hired someone else to do the
job." Appendix A, pg. 7A.

™he first two (2) statements of the
above clearly indicate that the testimony
proved guilt of murder. The testimony is
then stretched to include proof of intent to
commit the Federal crime in the last
statement of the above.

Rule 403 of the Federal Rules of
Evidence is asserted as barring this
testimony especially if the testimony has to
be stretched to fit under Rule 404 (b) of the
Federal Rules of Evidence. Additionally, the
testimony is evidence of Petitioner's actions
after the murc2r as opposed to actions up to
the murder, again in violation of the
District Trial Court's Pre-Trial Order.

Appendix A, pg. 5A.

-12-

ERROR 3: IMPROPER STATEMENT

Respondent stated on cross-examination
of Petitioner, “You know, Mr. Lowrimore, I
have seen you testimony, this is the third
time, and the main thing that struck me - -
I've never seen any remorse that your wife is
dead, Mr. Lowrimore." Appendix A, pg. 8A.
This was not a question on cross-examination
but rather an inaccurate statement.
Petitioner had only testified twice.
Appendix A, pg. 8A. The statement placed
Respondent's counsel in the position of a
witness carrying an inference of outside
knowledge. See: United States v. Dawkins,
562, F. 2d. 567, 569 (8th Cr. 1977).

Petitioner asserts that the above errors
establish Respondent's use of unfairly
prejudicial evidence of the Oklahoma murder
charge, inadmissable under Rule 403 of the
Federal Rules of Evidence, throughout the

-13-

course of a one and one-half (1 1/2) day
trial, resulting in Petitioner's conviction
of the Federal crime.

II. SENTENCING

Petitioner received additional
incarcertion time based upon
hearsay evidence in violation
of the Sixth Amendment to the
United States Constitution.

The opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit finds
violation of Petitioner's Sixth Amendment
Right under the United States Constitution.
Appendix A, pgs. 9A - 11A. Improper
procedure was used at sentencing when the
District Trial Court accepted the Pre-
Sentence Report as accurate over Petitioner's
hearsay objections to portions of the Pre-
Sentence Report. Appendix A, pgs. 9A and
10A. Testimony by Respondent's Probation and
Parole Officer who prepared the Pre-Sentence

Report revealed no independent attempt to

-14<-

determine the veracity of the hearsay
statements gleaned from Respondent's case
file. Appendix A, pgs. 9A and 10A. The
opinion found harmless error in the Sixth
Amendment violation as "The District Court
was entitled to rely upon its recollection of
testimony at Lowrimore's trial. The hearsay
statements in the Report made by Jeremy
Parker, Ronnie Woodson, and Harlan Daniel
Sweeten, none of whom testified at trial,
were inconsequential to the determination of
Lowrimore's sentence."

Petitioner received a four (4) level
enhancement, ". . . for being an organizer or
leader of a criminal activity involving five
or more participants, or which was otherwise
extensive, Section 3Bl.1 (a)." Only three
(3) other possible criminal activity
participants testified at trial.

The District Trial Court in using

-15-

recollection must have recalled hearsay
testimony from the three (3) who actually
testified at trial by way of hearsay
concerning the other three (3) who did not
appear and testify at trial. Petitioner
asserts that allowing use of the District
Trial Court's reccllection and departing from
United States v. Fortier, 911 F. 2d 100 (8th
Cir. 1990) resulted in Petitioner receiving
additional incarceration time in violation of
the Sixth Amendment to the United States
Constitution. The additional incarceration

time rises to more than harmless error.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner respectfully requests this
Honorable Court to grant a Writ of Certiorari

for the reasons asserted herein.

Respectfully submitted;

GENE STIPE
Counsel of record

Stipe, Gossett, Stipe,

Harper, Estes, McCune and
rae Parks

P.O. Box 1368

McAlester, Oklahoma 74502

(918) 423-0421

Attorney for Petitioner

April, 1991

-17-

Appendix A

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-1952WA

United States of America,
Appeliee,
stl On Appreal from the United

7 States District Court for the

cki | ’ ” j j
Jackie Dale Lowrimore, Sr Winstece, District of

A llant.
—_ Arkansas.

ee eaeaeneaaeaanaenananneeaanen

Submitted: October 26, 1990
Filed: January 11, 1991

Before ARNOLD, Circuit Judge, FLOYD R. GIBSON and
HEANEY, Senior Circuit Judges.

ARNOLD, Circuit Judge.

Jackie Dale Lowrimore, Sr., appeals from a jury convic-
tion for his part in a murder-for-hire scheme targeting his

ex-wife. Shirley Lowrimore was murdered in LeFlore Coun-

-2A-

ty, Oklahoma, on September 29, 1989.' This case was
brought in federal district court in Arkansas as a result of
events preceding the murder, including a non-fatal shooting
of Shirley Lowrimore on July 22, 1989, in Fort Smith, Arkan-
sas. The two-count indictment alleged that Lowrimore used
interstate-commerce facilities in a conspiracy for the com-
mission of murder for hire (count one), and that he aided
and abetted in the use of interstate-commerce facilities in
the commission of murder for hire (count two), in violation of
18 U.S.C. §§ 2, 371, and 1958(a). The jury returned guilty
verdicts on both counts. Lowrimore was sentenced to 262
months of imprisonment, three years of supervised release,
and to pay a fine of $20,000 and a special assessment of

$100. We affirm.

The government's version of the events surrounding the
July 22, 1989, shooting, which the jury was entitled to be-

lieve, is as follows. In April 1989, Lowrimore offered Jimmy

' After the trial of this case, Lowrimore was convicted in an Oklahoma
state court of murdering his former wife, and sentenced to life in prison with-
out parole.

2 The Hon. H. Franklin Waters, Chief Judge, United States District Court
for the Western District of Arkansas.

-3A-
Thomas $1200, and the forgiveness of debt a Thomas

owed Lowrimore of approximately $1100, to kill his ex-wife.
At that time, Shirley Lowrimore was living in Arkansas. Low-
rimore and Thomas lived in Oklahoma. Thomas gave the
$1200 to Ronnie Woodson for Shirley Lowrimore’s murder,
but Woodson failed to follow through on his obligation, and

never returned the money to Thomas.

Thomas then hired Phillip Allen Potter, who also lived in
Oklahoma, to kili Shirley Lowrimore. Potter agreed to the
killing for $350 -- $200 to purchase a used car for himself,
and $150 for expenses in connection with an upcoming
move. Thomas supplied Potter with three guns obtained
from Lowrimore and lent Potter a vehicle to drive from Okla-
homa to Arkansas. Potter and several friends made numer-
ous trips in May and June seeking an opportunity to kill
Lowrimore’s ex-wife. On July 22, outside her apartment in
Fort Smith, Shirley Lowrimore was shot several times with a

.20 gauge shotgun. She survived this attack but required

5Potter testified that he was accompanied on some of the trips by Jere-
my Parker, Lee Martin, Keith Butler, and Harlan Daniel Sweeten. Lee
Martin and Jeremy Parker accompanied Potter on the night that Shirley
Lowrimore was shot. Tr. |-154, 156.

-4A-
hospital treatment. Immediately after the shooting, Potter re-

ported to Thomas (mistakenly, as it turned out) that his
group had killed Shirley Lowrimore.

Potter and Thomas testified at Lowrimore’s trial. Thomas
told the jury that Lowrimore provided him with weapons and
keys to Shirley Lowrimore’s apartment and car, in addition to
the $1200 in cash. Tr. |-70-71. Thomas also stated that after
the July 22 shooting, Lowrimore asked for the .20 gauge
shotgun to be returned, so "he could get rid of it permanent-
ly." Tr. I-79. Lowrimore told Thomas that "the job was
botched" -- "[i]t wasn’t completed." Tr. i-80. Lowrimore "kept
insisting that he wanted her killed." Tr. |-81. Potter testified
that he had no direct conversations with Lowrimore, but he
Knew fromm Thomas that the killing was to be done at Low-

rimore’s direction. Tr. |-162-63.

On appeal, Lowrimore raises numerous issues relating to
his trial and sentence’ The primary claim of trial error comes
from Lowrimore’s efforts to keep from the jury the fact that he

had been charged in another court with his ex-wife's mur-

“We need not addess Lowrimore’s contention that he was improperly de-
nied release pending sentencing and appeal. Because we affirm Low-
rimore’s conviction and sentence, these issues are now moot.

-5A-
der . The District Court ruled that the government could not

mention the Oklahoma indictment during the trial. The de-
fense requested that certain other evidence be excluded,
including an autopsy report showing Shirley Lowrimore’s
cause of death, but the Court allowed both the autopsy re-
port and “any actions [Lowrimore] took up to the murder,”
so long as the evidence was probative of Lowrimore’s intent
to commit the crimes of conspiring, aiding, and abetting in
the commission of a murder for hire. Tr. |-8. Lowrimore
claims the government violated these pretrial evidentiary
rulings on two occasions, and because of the resulting de-
gree of prejudice, he says he should have been granted a

mistrial.

The first alleged violation concerns the Court’s order not
to bring up the Oklahoma proceedings. On direct
examination of Jimmy Thomas, the government attorney
asked: "Did you have any other conversations with Mr.
Lowrimore after her death?" Thomas replied: "Yes, sir. It
was a little while after he was bonded out after being
charged.” Tr. I-82. From this point on, Lowrimore maintains,
the jury knew about the Oklahoma murder charge, making

it impossible for Lowrimore to receive a fair trial.

-6A-

We dc not agree that a mistrial was warranted. Although Th-
omas was apparently referring to the Oklahoma murder
charge, it is not at all clear that the jury so concluded. The
jury could have thought Thomas was referring to charges in
this prosecution, or a prosecution in another court unrelated
to Shirley Lowrimore’s death. Even if the jury understood
that Lowrimore had been charged with his ex-wife’s murder
(and assuming such knowledge was unduly prejudicial), his
counsel did not request an instruction to the jury that any
other charges or criminal proceedings were irrelevant to the
case at hand. Rather, his counsel requested a mistrial -- a
remedy reserved for significant, highly prejudicial trial errors.
While an instruction to the jury might have been appropriate
here, had one been requested, the vagueness of Thomas's
answer, and the inadvertent character of the government's
conduct, are not sufficiently serious for us to conclude that
the District Court abused its discretion in failing to declare a
mistrial.

The second alleged violation occurred during the govern-
ment’s cross-examination of Lowrimore. Lowrimore was

asked: "What did you do to disguise your identity on the day

-TA-

of the murder?” Tr. Il-222. The District Court overruled de-
fense objections to the question, stating that it did not impli-
cate the Oklahoma murder charge, and was relevant to
intent under Rule 404(b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence.
Lowrimore then explained that he had been seen wearing a
wig “within a couple of hundred yards" of where his wife’s
body had been found, and that he had worn the wig to con-
ceal his identity. Tr. !1-223.

No error occurred here. The jury already knew, and was
entitled to Know, that Shirley Lowrimore had been mur-
dered. Any evidence linking Lowrimore to her murder is rel-
evant to the crime he was tried for in the District Court --
hiring someone to have Shirley Lowrimore killed. Wearing a
disguise in close proximity to where his ex-wife’s body was
found, and on the same day, tends to prove that Lowrimore
murdered his wife. It also tends to prove that Lowrimore
wanted his wife dead badly enough to do it himself, which,
in turn, makes it more likely he would have hired someone
else to do the job. Fed. R. Evid. 404(b) allows evidence of
other crimes to prove motive and intent. Of course such

evidence is prejudicial, as all relevant evidence invariably

-BA-
is, so the only question is whether this evidence was

unfairly prejudicial, in effect denying Lowrimore a fair trial.
We cannot say that it was, particularly since this question
was properly within the scope of cross-examination of
Lowrimore, who had denied any knowledge of or

participation in a scheme to have his ex-wife killed.

Lowrimore also claims he should have been granted a
mistrial following an improper statement by the prosecuting
attorney during his cross-examination. Counsel for the
government concluded his questioning of Lowrimore with:
"You Know, Mr. Lowrimore, I’ve seen you testify, this is the
third time now, and the main thing that struck me -- I’ve
never seen any remorse that your wife is dead, Mr.
Lowrimore." Tr. Il-224. We agree that government
counsel’s statement was improper, not only because he
misstated the number of times Lowrimore had previously
testified, but also because statements by counsel are not
evidence, and should not be offered as such. (At the oral
argument, government counsel forthrightly conceded that
he should not have made the statement.) The District Court
might have instructed the jury to this effect, and that would

have been appropriate. However, defense counsel did not

-9A-
request a limiting instruction, and we conclude that the

improper statement was harmless beyond a reasonable
doubt in light of all the other evidence against Lowrimore. In
any event, the District Court did not abuse its discretion in

denying Lowrimore’s request for a mistrial.

Lowrimore raises two other trial errors. He contends the
District Court improperly limited cross-examination of
Thomas's financial status, and that the government failed to
prove any connection between Lowrimore and the $350
paid by Thomas to Potter. We have considered both of

these claims and have determined them to be without merit.

We do find merit in Lowrimore’s challenge to the proce-
dures used at his sentencing, but the error does not require
reversal of his sentence. After Lowrimore was convicted, a
probation officer prepared a Presentence Report detailing
conduct which the officer considered to be relevant to
Lowrimore’s sentence under the United States Sentencing
Guidelines. The officer testified that he prepared much of
the Report from the files of the United States Attorney in
charge of the prosecution. As a result, the officer reported

statements of witnesses whom he had not personally inter-

-10A-
viewed. Some of the witnesses whose statements were in-
cluded in the Report had not testified at trial, and the officer
admitted that he did not know if their statements had been
made under oath. Lowrimore objected to many of the factu-
al statements made in the Report. The only witness pre-
sented at sentencing was the probation officer, who testified
to the manner of his preparation of the Report. The District
Court then placed the burden on Lowrimore to refute the

factual statements contained in the Report.

This procedure violated Lowrimore’s rights under the
Confrontation Clause, contained in the Sixth Amendment to
the Constitution of the United States. In United States V.
Fortier, 911 F.2d 100 (8th Cir. 1990), a case decided after
Lowrimore’s trial was completed, we outlined the appropri-
ate procedure to be used at sentencing to avoid Confronta-

tion Clause problems when hearsay testimony is presented.

We said:

The Confrontation Clause requires
that the government make its proof in
a reliable fashion; the absence of prop-
er confrontation of witnesses calls into
question the integrity of the fact-finding
process. A court nay rely solely upon
a presentence re; ort for findings rele-
vant to sentencing only if the facts in

-11A-

the presentence report are not disputed
by the defendant.

911 F.2d at 103. Hearsay statements used against a de-
fendant at sentencing, over the defendant's objection, vio-
late the Confrontation Clause unless the statements are
within well-recognized exceptions to the hearsay rule, or
unless the court makes a finding that the statements are

otherwise especially reliable. Cf. Idaho V. Wright, 110 S.
Ct. 3139, 3145-52 (1990).

Because Lowrimore objected to the hearsay state-
ments contained in the Report, the Court should have de-
cided whether each statement objected to fit within a well-
recognized exception to the hearsay rule, or bore some
“particularized guarantees of trustworthiness." Ohio v.
Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 66 (1980). Calling the probation of-
ficer to testify about how he prepared the report did not
correct the problem. As we said in Fortier, "[t]he Confron-
tation Clause requires that district courts not rely on the
Presentence Report alone for the required trustworthi-
ness evaluation -- such fact-finding is a judicial function,
not to be delegated to staff people." 911 F.2d at 104. The

probation officer here had no personal knowledge

-12A-
of the events; Lowrimore’s objections to the sentencing

procedure are thus well taken.

The procedural error at sentencing was undoubtedly
harmlessinthiscase, however, andweaffirmLowrimore's
sentence. The District Court was entitled to rely upon its
recollectionoftestimony atLowrimore’strial. Thehearsay
statements inthe Report made by Jeremy Parker, Ronnie
Woodson, and Harlan Daniel Sweeten, none of whom
testified attrial, wereinconsequentialtothedetermination
of Lowrimore’s sentence. The District Court hed already
heard adequate testimony at trial for each enhancement
Lowrimore received: two levels for more than minimal
planning, U.S.S.G. § 2A2.1(b) (1); four levels for serious
bodily injury to the victim, § 2A2.1 (b) (3) (B); five levels for
discharge of a firearm during the offense, § 2A2.1(b) (2)
(A); twolevelsbecausetheconspiracywasmotivatedby a
payment or offer of money (trial testimony indicated
Lowrimore was motivated at least in part by an insurance
policy on Shirley Lowrimore’slife), §2A2.1(b) (4); andfour
levels for being an organizer or leader of acriminal activity
involvingfiveormore participants, orwhichwasotherwise

extensive, § 3B1.1(a).

-13A-
The judgrnent of the district court is affirmed.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

Appendix B

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-1952WA

United States of America,

Appeal from the United
States District Court for
the Western District of
Arkansas

Appellee,

Vs.

Jackie Dale Lowrimore, Sr.,

Appellant.

See aaeaaaeaaaaaaeaanane

Appellant's petition for rehearing has been considered by
the court and is denied.

February 28, 1991

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

Kibet D. id You's

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1908%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
