# Opposition Brief — Pan Am Corp. v. Section 1110 Parties

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1878%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 500 U.S. 946

## Text

INO. BJU-19D9U -— m_meecons =
LiL D

IN THE MAY 3 199)
Supreme Court of the United S —
October Term, 1990 —

In re: PAN AM CORPORATION; PAN AMERICAN WORLD AIRWAYS,
INC.; PAN AM SHUTTLE INC.; PAN AM EXPRESS, INC.; PAA CORP.;
ALLMAT INTERNATIONAL, INC.; ALERT MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS,
INC.; PAN AM COMMERCIAL SERVICES, INC.,

Debtors in Possession-Petitioners.

SECTION 1110 PARTIES; OMNIBUS SECTION 1110 PARTIES, PS GROUP,
INC.; GRAND CENTRAL PARTNERS NO. 1; GRAND CENTRAL
PARTNERS NO. 2; GRAND CENTRAL PARTNERS NO. 3; UNITED
STATES AIRLEASE, INC.; CL AIRCRAFT VII, INC; C.I.T. LEASING
CORPORATION; THE CIT GROUP/EQUIPMENT FINANCING, INC.;
UNITED STATES TRUST COMPANY OF NEW YORK, as icdenture trustee;
NMB LEASE NV; ORIX CORPORATION; NISSHO IWAI CORPORATION;

(Caption continued on inside cover)

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals For the Second Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

MARVIN E. JACOB
Counsel of Record

STEPHANIE R. SCHWARTZ
WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES
767 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10153
(212) 310-8000
Attorneys for Respondents
Evergreen International Airlines, Inc.
and Cobblestone Corporation

STEPHEN H. Gross JOHN I. KARESH
WALTER, CONSTON, ALEXANDER & GREEN Jie Levi
90 Park Avenue >LTMAN, KARESH, MAJOR & FARBMAN
New York, New York 10016 — 152 West 57th Street
(212) 210-9400 New York, New York 10019
Attorneys for Respondents (212) 586-3800
PS Group, Inc., Attorr.cys for Respondents
Grand Central Par wnt No. I, Greyhound Financial Corporation
Grand Central Partners No 2 and De Nationale Investeringsbank N.V.,

Grand Central Partners No. 3 Credit Lyonnais/PK AIRFINANCE and
Aeron Aviation Corporation

(Additional Counsel continued on inside cover)

.)

C. ITOH 7 CO., LTD.; CITIBANK, N.A.; CITICORP NORTH AMERICA,
INC., formerly doing business as Citicorp Industrial Credit Inc.; DE NATIONALE
INVESTERINGSBANK N.V.; GREYHOUND FINANCIAL CORPORATION;
PK FINANS INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION; WESTINGHOUSE CREDIT
CORPORATION; AERON AVIATION CORPORATION; IBJ SCHRODER
LEASING CORPORATION; U.S. CONCORD, INC.; LDI FINANCIAL
SERVICERS CORPORATION; PLC LEASING CORPORATION; PROGRESS
LEASING CORPORATION; BRITISH AEROSPACE, INC.; JET ACCEPT-
ANCE CORPORATION; ROLLS ROYCE CREDIT CORPORATION; ROLLS
ROYCE HOLDINGS, INC.; AVIONS DE TRANSPORT REGIONAL G.LE.,
on behalf of itself and Wilmington Trust Company; NEW ENGLAND
MERCHANT LEASING CORPORATION; MANHATTAN BAIL, G.LE.;
THE CONNECTICUT NATIONAL BANK; WESTINGHOUSE CREDIT
CORPORATION; MANHATTAN LEASE, G.I.E.; CHRYSLER CAPITAL
CORPORATION; BARCLAYS BANK; THE CONNECTICUT NATIONAL
BANK AND TRUST COMPANY, N.A.; PACIFIC HARBOR CAPITAL INC.;
G.M. AVIATION SERVICES S.A.; UNIBANK A/S, NEW YORK BRANCH;
INTEGRATED AIRCRAFT CORPORATION; NATIONAL WESTMINSTER
BANK; INTEGRATED AIRCRAFT CORPORATION; AERONAUTICS
FOUR-SEVEN A, INC.; AERONAUTICS I, INC.; THE BANK OF NEW
YORK, as Trustee; EVERGREEN INTERNATIONAL AIRLINES, INC.;
EVERGREEN VENTURES, INC.; COBBLESTONE CORPORATION; WIL-
MINGTON TRUST COMPANY; GENERAL ELECTRIC CAPITAL
CORPORATION; OFFICIAL UNSECURED CREDITORS COMMITTEE;
UNITED AVIATION SERVICES: WELLS FARGO BANK NATIONAL

ASSOCIATION,
Respondents,
- Vv. -
PAN AM CORPORATION,
Petitioner.
JON YARD ARNASON JAMES W. GIDDENS
JOHN J. REILLY Davip M. LEMAyY
ALAN HEBLACK HUGHES HUBBARD & REED
ANDREA FISCHER One Battery Park Plaza
HAIGHT, GARDNER, Poor & HAVENS New York, New York 10004
195 Broadway (212) 837-6000
New York, New York 10007 Attorneys for Respondent
(212) 341-7000 IBJ Schroder Leasing Corporation

Attorneys for Respondent
U.S. Concord, Inc.

CT AVATLARLE COPY

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit erred
in affirming the order of the District Court for the Southern
District of New York that section 1110 of the Bankruptcy
Code, 11 U.S.C. § 1110, by its unqualified use of the terms
"lessor," "leased" and "lease" includes within its protection ~
lessors that have leased aircraft or equipment to a certificated
air carner in connection with a sale-leaseback transaction
which did not result in the acquisition by the air carrier of
aircraft or equipment "new" to its fleet?

F
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

In addition to the parties identified in the caption, all amici
curiae (except Continental Airlines, Inc.) submitted briefs to
the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in opposition to
Debtors' appeal of the Opinion and Order of the District Court
for the Southern District for New York.*

* The following information is provided pursuant to Rule 29.1 of this
Court: Evergreen International Airlines, Inc. identifies Evergreen
International Aviation, Inc. as its parent company and has no nonwholly
owned subsidiaries; Cobblestone Corporation identifies its parent companies
as Franklin Leasing Corporation, Redes Corporation and Redes Holding
Corporation and has no nonwholly owned subsidiaries; U.S. Concord, Inc.
identifies Concord Leasing Inc. as its parent company and has no
nonwholly owned subsidiaries; Greyhound Financial Corporation identifies
Dial Corp. as its parent company and has no nonwholly owned subsidiar-
ies; De National Investeringsbank N.V. has no parent companies and no
nonwholly owned subsidiaries; Aeron Aviation Corporation has no parent
companies and identifies Newair Flight, Inc., Aeron Leasing International,
Inc. and Aero Leasing (USA), Inc. as its nonwholly owned subsidiaries;
Credit Lyonnais/PK AIRFINANCE identifies Credit Lyonnais and Nord
Banken as its parent companies and has no nonwholly owned subsidiaries;
PS Group Inc. has no parent companies and identifies Statex Petroleum,
Inc., USTravel Systems Inc. and Recontek, Inc. as its nonwholly owned
subsidiaries; Grand Central Partners No. 1 identifies GATX GCP
Corporation, DMC Aircraft Corporation No. 1 and SPB I Corp. as its
general partners and has no nonwholly owned subsidiaries; Grand Central
Partners No. 2 identifies GATX GCP Corporation, DMC Aircraft
Corporation No. 2 and SPB II Corp. as its general partners and has no
nonwholly owned subsidiaries; Grand Central Partners No. 3 identifies
GATX CP Corporation, DMC Aircraft Corporation No. 3, SPB III Corp. as
its general partners and has no nonwholly owned subsidiaries; and IBJ
Schroder Leasing Corporation identifies IBJ Schroder Bank & Trust
Company, The Industrial Bank of Japan, Ltd. and Schroders, Inc. as its
parent companies and has no nonwholly owned subsidiaries.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Se Bg 8 | ie a
PARTIES TO THE BROCEEDING 2.2... ns eeee
pp ee eee
SEALEMEITE SON EERE COD ok ee eC iw eee we
IN 636 64k os A Oe ee
FOR TNE «5g 6 05 5-0 6-5 Kei eee

A. THe SE 8k 6 5 EAC OO

we Pee ee ee ee

C.. Wee Ce OE kk oe i Ea

ee oon ik hk Chae eee

I. THERE IS NO REASON FOR THIS
COURT TO GRANT CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE ORDER BELOW DOES
NOT RAISE SPECIAL AND IMPORTANT
REASONS UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)
WARRANTING THIS COURT'S REVIEW ...

iv
PAGE

A. Letting The Lower Court's Judgment
Stand Would Provide Certainty And
Predictability To Section 1110

oe aa eee we eee 6 eee 4

B. Debtors' Reading Of Section 1110 Defies
Logic And Only Creates Uncertainty And
The Likelihood Of Potential Litigation .... 7

C. Debtors Themselves Are Unable To Apply
Consistently The Construction Of Section
1110 They Urge Upon This Court ...... 8

D. The Application of Section 1110 Does
Not Conflict With Legislative Intent
Because Congress Clearly Recognized
The Impact Of Section 1110 On Airline
Reorganizations When It Enacted That
DO gc ees heehee wes avane ewes 9

Il. THERE IS NO REASON FOR THIS
COURT TO GRANT CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THERE IS NO CONFLICT
AMONG THE CIRCUITS OR OTHER
COMPELLING REASON WARRANTING
THIS COURT'S REVIEW ...........-- 12

A. This Case Involves A Straightforward
Application Of Statutory Construction.... = 12

PAGE
1. The Application Of The Plain Meaning
Rule Established By This Court
Mandates The Construction That The
Clear And Unambiguous Language Of
Section 1110 Apply Without Limitation
oe a ee ee ee 12
2. The Terms-"Lessor," "Leased" And
"Lease" Must Be Given Their Plain
And Ordinary Meaning, Separate From
The Terms "Purchase Money Equip-
ment Security Interest" And "Con-
ca oe US ews ws 16
B. The Second Circuit's Decision That
Section 1110 Is Clear And Unambiguous
On Its Face And Applies To All Lessors
Is Not In Conflict With Any Other Circuit
Co ee ee eres eee 19
C. The Literal Meaning Of Section 1110 Is
Consistent With The Congressional
Purpose And Its Implementation ...... 20
FR ree 20

2. The Legislative History Of Section
1110 Is Fully Consistent With The
Recognition Of Nonacquisition Sale-
Leasebac&&s As Section 1110 Trans-

RD b's 0 6b cewek be eee wee 22

PAGE

3. Nothing In The Legislative History
Warrants Departure From The Plain
Meaning Of Section 1110 ........ 23

D. The Petition Does Not Present Any Issues
Of Compelling Importance — This
Court's Review 2... ccc cece e rene 26

Ill. THIS COURT DOES NOT NEED TO SETTLE
THE QUESTION PRESENTED BECAUSE
ALL AUTHORITY HOLDS THAT NON-
ACQUISITION SALE-LEASEBACK TRANS-
ACTIONS -ARE ENTITLED TO THE
PROTECTIONS OF SECTION 1110 ...-.. 26

IV. THE APPELLATE COURT'S DECISION
ei) ty ee i 29

CONCLAIIS a Nw Sc diwwe ese e wee e eas waes 30
APPENDIX:

Appendix A: Opinion of the District Court for
District of Delaware in /n re
Continental Airlines, Inc., 91
Civ. 58 (RSG), slip op. (D. Del.
Mawch 26, 1D9R) . wee ese. la

Vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGES

Braniff, Inc. v. Toren (In re Braniff, Inc.), 110 Bankr.
980 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1990) ........ 7, 13, 14, 27

California Chieftan v. Air Vermont, Inc. (In re Air

Vermont, Inc.), 761 F.2d 130 (2d Cir.

SOE KPA ANN SRSA OR ORE 13, 14, 15, 26
Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S. 470 (1917) ... 16
Consumer Product Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc.,

447 U.S. 102, 100 S.Ct. 2051, 64 L.Ed.2d 766

EE Ste a a a ee ee ae ee ae 15

Crooks v. Harrelson, 282 U.S. 55, 51 S.Ct. 49, 75
a er een ae ae 15

Demarest v. Manspeaxer, _U.S.__, 111 S.Ct. 599, 112
LOO GOB (RGRE) owe ecesn 13, 15, 26

Griffin v. Oceanic Contractors, Inc., 458 U.S. 564
es Stet CE oh eo Ae Cea 12

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240
ee in EET Te eT eT ee Se 4

EPP CERT ESE CTE CT ORE Te CTT eee 22

ere et eee eee Pe en eee ee 13, 26

PAGES
In re Continental Airlines, Inc., No. 91 Civ. 58 (RSG),
slip op. (D. Del. March 26, 1991) .... 13, 17, 18, 26
Jarecki v. G.D. Searle & Co., 367 U.S. 303, 81 S.Ct.
IS7O. 6 LEGO GSP IGS). ecco cee. 18
Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp. v. Bonjorno, 110
S.Ct. 1570, 108 L.Ed.2d 842 (1990) ........ 15
Keller v. Adams-Campbell Co., 264 U.S. 314
RG RG eT Nas tes erica ee an nal aa ag rer ga 20
Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works, Inc., 261
ee ee I a oc sa aa a ae hee eae oe 20
Mansell v. Mansell, 490 U.S. 581 (1989) ........ 26
Rodriguez v. United States, 480 U.S. 522 (1987) ... 16
Russell Motor Car Co. v. United States, 261 U.S. 514,
43 S.Ct. 428, 67 L.Ed. 778 (1923) ......... 17
Smith v. Fidelity Consumer Discount Co., 898 F.2d
gg A RN ae ee ee 26
Sun Oil Co. v. CLR., 562 F.2d 258 (3d Cir. 1977),
cert. denied, 436 U.S. 944 (1978) ............ 5
Tennessee Valley Authority v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153, 98
SAX. 2279, ST L.be26 1RT GSTS) ow wc cc ees 15

United States v. American Trucking Ass'ns, Inc., 310
a ee ape a oe 15

ix
PAGES

United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S.

235, 109 S.Ct. 1026, 103 L.Ed.2d 290

CN a8 ac hee RC a ale ae oe 12, 15, 16, 26
West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey,

__ US. __, 111 S.Ct. 1138 (1991) ....... 16, 26
Wisconsin Elec. Co. v. Dumore Co., 282 U.S. 813

A ain ah ek orang Sarre Liaraa ae dae 20
Yorkshire Ry. Wagon Co. v. Maclure, 21 Ch. D. 309

SS or eA ts oe a es oo ee EO 3
Statutes and Rules
ar eg L278 a AS SER A a ag 5, 10
eR fe 0 eee are ee 25
Teoh se 5 EPs ere erat are ener or 10
Pe ee eo acl's sy bs oar ale eae a ee a oo
ee ES hoe swne oak wee oe ee 11
Tete oo 0. Re rer a ar ee 11, 25
ER 8 2 ere ae 25
Li USA. 8 Pepe 1 eee See er err Oe 24
Pe ee eer ee eee ee 24
BRE A 0 , eee re ee 11
ee 8 ot i ee ae eer ae Passim
FEF 5) err
es ins ko ook 6 oe oo ow Oe ee 19
, Re ag” ae eae ae 4
ee a ee ED fee ee es eee iea venues 4

Se eo A ae eo eae eee 4, 20

PAGES

Legislative History
H.R. Rep. No. 1283, 74th Cong., Ist Sess. 4, 6
I Ol ee ee ee eS 20

H.R. Rep. No. 944, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 1, 2
reprinted in 1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
SD SO IEE se CA's « Oik6.5 Ke es 20, 21, 22, 28

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 239-40,
reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
PS I ne ee we we we 19, 21, 23

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 238-40,

reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

POO ns RNs 6 hc a ee ob cence 5, 9, 10
S. Rep. No. 1032, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 1,2 .... 20, 21

S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 116-7,
reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
a ge ee, ee 24

Treatises

2A Sutherland Statutory Construction, § 47.16 (4th
AAS eure are aaa ree 17

5 Collier on Bankruptcy { 1110.01 (L. King 15th ed.
Es 4 ee oe OE Oo a RES 22

xi

PAGES
B. Fritch, A. Reisman & I. Shrank, ] Equipment
Leasing and Leverage Leasing 834 (3d Ed.
eee eee rr ee Se ere ree eee 25
Gerstell & Hoff-Patrinos, Aviation Financing Problems
Under Section 1110 of the Bankruptcy Code, 61
Aus. Ter, Le. 1, BO CE) ce ce wee es 13, 21

Kruft, Leverage Aircraft Leases: The Lender's
Perspective, 44 Bus. Law. 737 (1989) ......... 6

Respondents, Evergreen International Airlines, Inc.,
Cobblestone Corporation, U.S. Concord, Inc., Greyhound
Financial Corporation, De Nationale Investeringsbank N.V.,
Aeron Aviation Corporation, Credit Lyonnais/PK
AIRFINANCE, PS Group, Inc., Grand Central Partners No. 1,
Grand Central Partners No. 2, Grand Central Partners No. 3
and IBJ Schroder Leasing Corporation ("Respondents"),
respectfully request that this Court deny the petition for a writ
of certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit seeking review of its opinion entered on April
2, 1991 (the "Petition").!

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Background

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, the District
Court for the Southern District of New York and _ the
Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York have
all rejected the argument in the Petition that the unqualified
terms "lessor," "leased" and "lease" as used in section 1110
of chapter 11, title 11 of the United States Code (the
"Bankruptcy Code") should be construed to exclude from the
coverage of section 1110 all leases that do not result in the

acquisition by Debtors of aircraft or equipment "new" to
Debtors' fleet.

Proceedings Below
A. The Bankruptcy Court

On February 22, 1991, petitioners, Pan Am Corporation
and affiliated e.tities ("Debtors"), filed a motion in the United
States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York,
seeking a determination, inter alia, that sale-leaseback
transactions entered into between Respondents and certain
Debtors were not entitled to the protection of section 1110
(the "section 1110 motion"). After a hearing on March 7,
1991, the Bankruptcy Court denied Debtors' section 1110

L. “Pee. " refers to the Petition.

a

2

motion and rendered a bench decision, followed by a written
decision entered on March 18, 1991, in which it held, inter
alia, that the term "Jessors" as used in section 1110 includes
lessors under nonacquisition sale-leaseback transactions. On
March 8, 1991, the Bankruptcy Court entered an order (the
"section 1110 order"), which provides in paragraph five
thereof as follows:

Transactions designated by the Debtors as "non-
acquisition sale/leaseback transactions" are not
disqualified from the protection of Section 1110
solely because they are "non-acquisition sale/
leaseback transactions". .

A. 470.?

B. The District Court

Debtors filed a Notice of Appeal in the District Court for
the Southern District of New York and sought expedited
review, together with a stay of the order pending the appeal.
The District Court granted an expedited appeal, but denied a
stay pending appeal "for failure to show likelihood of success
on the merits.". A, 472. On March 18, 1991, the District
Court rendered its opinion and order, holding that section
1110 is unambiguous and, therefore, applies to all lessors,
including those who lease aircraft and equipment pursuant to
nonacquisition sale-leaseback transactions.

The terms "lessor," "leased" and "lease" are not
modified in any way which suggests that the statute
was not meant to apply to lessors in a sale-leaseback

transaction.
Pet. 17a.
a "Re " refers to the Appendix filed in connection with the decision

C. The Court of Appeals

On March 19, 1991, Debtors received permission of the
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit for expedited review
and were granted a stay of the District Court's order pending
such review. After oral argument on April 2, 1991, the Court
of Appeals affirmed, in a per curiam opinion, but stayed its
order until 12:00 noon, Fnday, Apnl 5, 1991, to permit
Debtors to seek a stay from this Court.

D. This Court

On April 5, 1991, Justice Thurgood Marshall denied
Debtors' application for a stay.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
Introduction

Debtors' construction of section 1110 is totally without
merit and certiorari should be denied. Section 1110 is clear
and unambiguous on its face and the plain and ordinary
meaning of such section is not at odds with the legislative
intent. Using a principle of statutory construction established
by this Court, five federal courts have uniformly so held.
Debtors have failed to demonstrate any support for their
analysis other than a short bench decision of a Bankruptcy
Judge which has been reversed. Moreover, the judicial
rewriting of section 1110 that Debtors seek would have a
chilling effect on the raising of low cost capital by the airline
industry, generate myriad issues which, undoubtedly, would
leave the law in confusion and open a floodgate of potential
litigation. Accordingly, as demonstrated: below, there is no
reason for this Court to grant certiorari.

4

I. THERE IS NO REASON FOR THIS COURT TO
GRANT CERTIORARI BECAUSE THE ORDER
BELOW DOES NOT RAISE SPECIAL AND
IMPORTANT REASONS UNDER 28 _ U.S.C.
§ 1254(1) WARRANTING THIS COURT'S REVIEW

28 U.S.C. § 1254 provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

Cases in the courts of appeals may be reviewed by
the Supreme Court by the following methods:

(1) By wnit of certiorari granted upon the petition
of any party to any civil or criminal case, before or
after rendition of judgment or decree; . . .

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (1991).

As the Supreme Court Rules provide, "[a] review on wmit of
certiorari is not a matter of night, but of judicial discretion. A
petition for a writ of certiorari will be granted only when there
are special and important reasons therefor." Sup. Ct. R. 10.
Indeed, it is well-settled that certioran jurisdiction is "to be
exercised sparingly, and only in cases of peculiar gravity and
general importance, or in order to secure uniformity of deci-
sion." Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240
U.S. 251, 258 (1916). Accordingly, as demonstrated below,
on the state of the record before this Court, there are no
reasons in this case warranting this Court's review; nor does
any lack of uniformity exist in any decisions that have been
rendered to date.

A. Letting The Lower Court's Judgment Stand
Would Provide Certainty And Predictability To

Section 1110 Transactions

Section 1110 of the Bankruptcy Code provides special
protection to certain lenders and all lessors of qualified equip-

5)

ment to certificated air carriers. Section 1110 and its prede-
cessors have permitted lessors and conditional vendors (and,
from 1978, holders of purchase money equipment security
interests), to exercise their contractual nghts to repossess their
leased or financed equipment, notwithstanding otherwise
applicable provisions of the Bankruptcy Code or the former
Bankruptcy Act.

Since at least 1957, financiers have engaged in aircraft
sale-leaseback transactions and relied on the benefits of section
1110 and its predecessors. S.A. 184-187.‘ The legislative
history expressly shows that Congress was keenly aware that
financiers in the airline industry, as well as financiers in the
railroad and water transport industries, greatly relied upon
such benefits in extending financing to such industries. H.R.
Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 238-39, reprinted in
1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5963, 6198.°

3. Contrary to Debtors’ assertion, section 1110 is not an anomalous
provision of the Code because it bypasses the automatic stay. Pet. 3. In
fact, section 362 of the Bankruptcy Code, which imposes the automatic
stay and which Debtors have erred in citing as section 365 (Pet. 3),
contains 17 exceptions to the automatic stay after the 1990 amendments to
the Bankruptcy Code. Section 1168 of the Bankruptcy Code also provides
certain financiers of railroad equipment protection analogous to that
provided in section 1110. Moreover, section 1110 was enacted for the
benefit of air carriers (Pet. 11), and Debtors did not complain about the
"anomaly" of section 1110 when they enjoyed its benefits outside of
chapter 11 in their dealings with lessors and lenders who relied on the
protections the statute provides.

4. "S.A. " refers to the Supplemental Appendix filed in connection
with the decision below.

5. Sale-leaseback transactions are of an ancient vintage. Yorkshire Ry.
Wagon Co. v. Maclure, 21 Ch. D. 309 (1882). See, e.g., Sun Oil Co. v.
C.LR., 562 F.2d 258, 268-69 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 944
(1978) ("we recognize that sale-leaseback arrangements play a useful and
accepted role in our economy").

6

Sale-leaseback transactions are currently the predominant
form of aircraft leasing transactions employed in the United
States airline industry and provide a major source of reliable
low-cost financing to the industry.° S.A. 185-186. Indeed,
billions of dollars in financing are provided every year through
sale-leaseback transactions, accounting for a substantial portion
of the financing of the industry's aircraft fleet. S.A. 184-185.
Because of the benefits of sale-leaseback transactions and the
protections provided by section 1110, domestic airlines are
able to compete with other borrowers in the world capital
markets at a time when credit is scarce. If the special
protections accorded by section 1110 were no longer available
to financiers, the uncertainty of whether financiers would have
any predictable remedy would have a major impact on the cost
of equipment financing to the airline industry and, in all
likelihood, would make _— sale-leaseback transactions
prohibitively expensive, if at all feasible. Contrary to Debtors'
assertions, any reversal of the Court of Appeals' decision
would further the interests of only chapter 11 debtors that
already enjoyed the benefits of section 1110. Pet. 13.
However, the consequences of the judicial rewriting of section
1110 that Debtors seek would be severely adverse to the
airline industry, would no doubt increase dramatically the
industry's cost of financing and would dry up the current
sources of capital upon which the industry is dependent for its
continued growth, modernization and self-sufficiency.

Moreover, as District Judge Mukasey noted, the folly of
Debtors' position is brought into sharp focus when it is
realized that their position does not preclude the application of

6. Air carriers favor these transactions to avoid debt on their balance
sheets when they can no longer use tax benefits associated with ownership
of the property and to procure financial benefits when the cost of leasing is
lower than the cost of borrowing. See Kruft, Leveraged Aircraft Leases: The
Lender's Perspective, 44 Bus. Law. 737, 738 (1989).

-

section 1110 to transactions that are functionally equivalent to
nonacquisition sale-leaseback transactions, but only makes
obtaining such protection more expensive and cumbersome.
Pet. 24a. For example, selling an aircraft to a purchaser and
leasing a virtually identical aircraft from that purchaser is no
different than a conventional sale-leaseback. Under Debtors'
facile analysis, only the first transaction involving a sale and
lease, and not the sale-leaseback transaction, would have the
benefit of section 1110. The bottom line is that Debtors
would be in the same position as if they had done a
conventional sale-leaseback, except that Debtors' transaction
costs would be much higher. Such a result should not be
sustained by this Court and denial of certiorari seems
compelling.

B. Debtors' Reading Of Section 1110 Defies Logic
And Only Creates Uncertainty And The Likeli-
hood Of Potential Litigation

The judicial rewriting of section 1110 that Debtors seek, if
adopted, would create confusion by generating myriad issues
and leaving the law in disarray. As District Judge Mukasey
recognized:

The distinction Pan Am would draw, based on legis-
lative history, between sale-leasebacks and conven-
tional leases would generate numerous additional
issues that could not be resolved by that legislative
history. In the future, there would likely be
litigation on whether the words Pan Am hopes to
read into the statute through references to selected
legislative history limit the protection of § 1110 to
lessors of brand new equipmeni, lessors of
equipment new to the debtor airline, lessors of
equipment new to the debtor airline and also new to
any predecessor of the debtor airline, see Braniff,
110 B.R. at 985, or some other category. In
addition, it would be unclear whether the statute

8

applies to lease renewals if the equipment was new
to the airline at the beginning of the initial lease
term. As mentioned, Pan-Am_ concedes for
purposes of this motion that § 1110 applies to
leases of used equipment so long as that equipment
is new to the airline. Yet this concession itself does
not seem to arse from anything in the legislative
history. ... [T]he benefit sought to be achieved by
a statute like § 1110 -- the prospect of a quick and
predictable remedy that encourages _ potential
financiers to be forthcoming -- will be lost in a
miasma of potential litigation.

Pet. 23a-24a. (Footnote omitted).

There is no reason why this Court should grant certiorari
where any determination other than affirmance of the
judgment below would create issues rather than resolve an
issue that, in our view, is nonexistent because of the clarity of
secton 1110.

C. Debtors Themselves Are Unable To Apply Con-
sistently The Construction Of Section 1110 They
Urge Upon This Court

As fully explained by the District Court, Debtors have
urged upon this Court a contorted construction of section
1110 that has no basis for a consistent application. Debtors
have patently failed to demonstrate that- their proposed
construction can be applied -- and, indeed, Debtors themselves
are unable to apply their construction -- in a uniform manner
consistent with what they perceive to be the legislative

purpose.

For example, the Bankruptcy Court held that lease exten-
sions and renewals and replacement leases are entitled to the
protection of section 1110. Pet. 48a. Debtors appealed the
section 1110 order with respect to sale-leaseback transactions

9

but did not challenge the section 1110 order on lease exten-
sions or renewals or replacement leases, although all such
leases involve equipment that is not new to Debtors. S.A.
473. Debtors have completely failed to provide a rational
explanation for the inconsistent application of the very
principle they now ask this Court to validate.

Debtors have also failed to explain the basis for their
contention that section 1110 requires that leased aircraft need
not be new or modern but only that such aircraft, although
used, old or even obsolete, be "new" to Debtors. Debtors'
attempt to find support for this contention in the legislative
history completely fails. As noted by Judge Mukasey, the
construction urged by Debtors is not founded upon anything in
the legislative history. Pet. 24a. It is incomprehensible how
Debtors can urge that the purpose of section 1110 is to
provide for new and modern equipment and also argue that
such purpose is satisfied so long as the leased equipment is
"new" to Debtors.

D. The Application of Section 1110 Does Not
Conflict With Legislative Intent Because
Congress Clearly Recognized The Impact Of
Section 1110 On Airline Reorganizations When
It Enacted That Section

Congress was acutely aware of the impact of the special
protections afforded to lessors of aircraft under section 1 16(5)
of the former Bankruptcy Act, the predecessor to section
1110, which permitted financiers to repossess their collateral
immediately without regard to the filing or pendency of a
reorganization case. H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., 2d
Sess. 239-40, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
News 5963, 6198. The legislative history clearly reveals that
the enactment of section 1110 was, in fact, intended to be a
compromise between the reorganization policy of the
Bankruptcy Code and a lessor's interest in protecting its

——

10

investment. To mitigate the immediate impact of section
116(5) of the former Bankruptcy Act, Congress struck a
balance between such competing interests by giving the debtor
60 days to determine whether particular leased aircraft and
equipment are essential to its reorganization efforts and by
leaving the choice to the debtor of whether to return
equipment to the lessor or to make payment and retain the
equipment. Thus, Congress explained that:

The protection afforded the financier is similar to
that contained in other sections of the bill governing
use of collateral by the estate and the treatment of
executory contracts and unexpired leases... .
Under those sections, ... [a] lessor is entitled to
lease payments under the terms of the lease, and to
the curing of past defaults, if the trustee elects to
assume a lease. ... In the case of a lease, the
protection is the same afforded other lessors, but the
trustee is required to make a decision within 60 days
of the order for relief. This should not impose an
undue burden on the trustee, because transportation
equipment in any major transportation company
reorganization is one of the most important assets. A
decision must be made quickly if the business is to be
kept operating and be rehabilitated.

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 239-40, reprinted in
1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5963, 6199
(emphasis added). The foregoing language clearly reveals that
Congress considered that the effect of section 1110 on the
reorganization of the debtor would be the same as the effect of
the sections of the Bankruptcy Code governing the treatment of
executory contracts and unexpired leases (e¢.g., §§ 362, 363(e)
and 365), notwithstanding that, under section 1110, the
debtor would have a strict 60-day period in which to decide
whether to cure defaults with respect to its aircraft and
equipment. Moreover, that language also clearly reveals that

ee

11

Congress believed that lessors of aircraft deserved the same
protection afforded other lessors under the Bankruptcy Code.
For example, the strict 60-day decision period imposed on the
debtor with respect to a lease of aircraft is similar to the time
restrictions imposed upon the debtor with respect to non-
residential realty leases.’ Yet, the importance of the airline
transportation industry, the potential impact on the public at
large, the sheer dollar amount of the aircraft and equipment at
stake, and the rate at which such equipment deteriorates in
value through usage present far greater exigencies than those
encountered with respect to commercial realty leases.

In sum, Debtors have failed to present any special and
important reasons in the Petition that would require review by
this Court. Indeed, as demonstrated below, the only issue
raised in the Petition is the simple issue of statutory
construction, which neither raises any Constitutional concerns
nor involves any conflict among the courts of appeals
warranting this Court's review.

7. Section 365(d)(3) of the Bankruptcy Code states in relevant part:

(3) The trustee shall timely perform all the obligations of
the debtor, except those specified in section 365(b)(2), arising
from and after the order for relief under any unexpired lease
of nonresidential real property, until such lease is assumed or
rejected, notwithstanding section 503(b)(1) of this title. The
court may extend, for cause, the time for performance of any
such obligation that arises within 60 days after the date of the
order for relief, but the time for performance shall not be
extended beyond such 60-day period. This subsection shall not
be deemed to affect the trustee's obligations under the
provisions of subsection (b) or (f) of this section. Acceptance
of any such performance does not constitute waiver or
relinquishment of the lessor's rights under such lease or under
this title.

12

il. THERE IS NO REASON FOR THIS COURT TO
GRANT CERTIORARI BECAUSE THERE IS NO
CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS OR OTHER
COMPELLING REASON WARRANTING THIS
COURT'S REVIEW

A. This Case Involves A Straightforward Application
Of Statutory Construction

1. The Application Of The Plain Meaning Rule
Established By This Court Mandates The
Construction That The Clear And Unambiguous
Language Of Section 1110 Apply Without
Limitation To Ali Lessors

Section 1110 protects the night of a "lessor" of aircraft and
aircraft equipment "leased" to a certificated air carrier to take
possession of such equipment pursuant to the terms of its
"lease." Contrary to Debtors' assertions, the plain and
ordinary meaning of the terms "lessor," "leased" and "lease"
as used in section 1110 is neither ambiguous nor qualified by
any restrictive language in the statute.

Finding that the question presented here is a straight-
forward application of statutory construction, the District Court
reached its conclusion that the terms "lessor," "leased" and
"lease" do not implicitly or explicitly exclude nonacquisition
sale-leaseback transactions by applying equally straightforward
principles of statutory interpretation:

"The plain meaning of legislation should be
conclusive, except in the ‘rare cases [in
which] the literal application of a statute will
produce a result demonstrably at odds with
the intention of its drafters.'"

United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S.
235, 242, 109 S.Ct. 1026, 1031 (1989) (quoting
Griffin v. Oceanic Contractors, Inc., 458 U.S.

13

964, 571 (1982)) (brackets in original). See also
Demarest v. Manspeaker, 111 S.Ct. 599, 604
(1991); In re Chateaugay Corp., 920 F.2d 183,
184 (2d Cir. 1990).

Pet. 16a.

The District Court, concluding that such terms are clear
and unambiguous and must be literally construed, followed the
mandate of the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit:

This basic rule of statutory construction has been
applied to interpret the very statute at issue here,
$1110. In re Air Vermont, 761 F.2d 130, 134 (2d
Cir. 1985) ("[where] the statute is unambiguous on
its face ... the statute's literal meaning must be
applied" unless "there is something to make plain
the intent of Congress that the letter of the statute is
not to prevail"). In Air Vermont, the Second
Circuit, noting that "the statute's literal meaning
must be applied," reversed an order of the
bankruptcy court which read into §1110 an
additional, unstated statutory requirement that a
conditional seller perfect its security interest by fil-
ing its contract with the Federal Aviation
Administration. /d. at 134.

Pet. 17a. Accord In re Continental Airlines, Inc., 91 Civ. 58
(RSG), slip op. (D. Del. March 26, 1991) (literal reading of
section 1110 not at odds with Congressional purjose)*;
Braniff, Inc. v. Toren (In re Braniff, Inc.), 110 Bankr. 980,
985 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1990) (literally construed, section
1110 applies to all leases); see also Gerstell & Hoff-Patrinos,

8. The Continental decision has been appealed to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit. The Court of Appeals heard oral

argument on May !, 1991. No decision has been made.

14

Aviation Financing Problems Under Section 1110 of the
Bankruptcy Code, 61 Am. Bankr. L.J. 1, 24-25 (1987).

Moreover, Debtors have urged the Bankruptcy Court, the
District Court and the Court of Appeals judicially to rewrite
section 1110 by superimposing an acquisition element on
leases in derogation of the plain meaning of the Statute. Each
of those courts unequivocally rejected Debtors' request
because courts may not superimpose additional conditions on
the requirements specified in section 1110. Braniff, Inc. v.
Toren (In re Braniff, Inc.), 110 Bankr. 980, 984 (Bankr. M.D.
Fla. 1990) (no acquisition element for leases may be imposed
as an additional requirement); California Chieftan v. Air Ver-
mont, Inc. (In re Air Vermont, Inc.), 761 F.2d 130, 134 (2d
Cir. 1985) (perfection of a security interest may not be
supenmposed on the requirements specified in section 1110).

In Air Vermont, the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
faced the question of whether a conditional vendor that had
failed to perfect its security interest in an aircraft by recording
the contract was entitled to repossess such aircraft pursuant to
section 1110. /d. at 130. The debtor argued that the right of
a secured party with a purchase money equipment security
interest in aircraft to take possession should be construed to
apply only to perfected security interests. The Court of
Appeals, however, found that section "1110 makes no
mention whatsoever that a conditional sales contract must be
recorded in order for § 1110 to apply. Rather, § 1110, on its
face, empowers a vendor of aircraft pursuant to a conditional
sales contract to repossess the aircraft provided only that
elements of the section are satisfied." Id. at 134 (emphasis
added). The Court of Appeals concluded that:

{S]ince the statute is unambiguous on its face in this
respect, and since this is not one of those "rare and
exceptional circumstances [when there is] something
to make plain the intent of Congress that the letter

15

of the statute is not to prevail," ... the statute's
literal meaning must be applied, and no condition of
recording may be superimposed on the requirements
explicitly specified in order for § 1110 to apply.

Id. at 134 (quoting Tennessee Valley Authority v. Hill, 437
U.S. 153, 187 n.33, 98 S.Ct. 2279, 2298 n.33, 57 L.Ed.2d
117 (1978), quoting Crooks v. Harrelson, 282 U.S. 55, 60, 51
S.Ct. 49, 50, 75 L.Ed. 156 (1930)) (emphasis added).

This basic rule of statutory construction employed in Air
Vermont and by the courts below has been established and
consistently applied by this Court. E.g., Kaiser Aluminum &
Chemical Corp. v. Bonjorno, 110 S.Ct. 1570, 1575, 108
L.Ed.2d 842 (1990) (absent clearly expressed legislative
intent to the contrary, the statutory language is conclusive);
United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S. 235,
242, 109 S.Ct. 1026, 1031, 103 L.Ed.2d 290 (1989) (the
plain meaning of legislation should be conclusive, except in the
rare cases in which the literal application of a statute will pro-
duce a result demonstrably at odds with the intention of its
drafters); Consumer Product Safety Comm'n v. CTE Sylvania,
Inc., 447 U.S. 102, 108, 100 S.Ct. 2051, 2056, 64 L.Ed.2d
766 (1980) ("[T]he starting point for interpreting a statute is
the language of the statute itself."); Demarest v. Manspeaker,
_US._, 111 S.Ct. 599, 604, 112 L.Ed.2d 608, 616
(1991) ("When we find the terms of a statute unambiguous,
judicial inquiry is complete except in rare and exceptional cir-
cumstances."); United States v. American Trucking Ass'ns, Inc.,
310 U.S. 534, 543 (1940) ("There is, of course, no more
persuasive evidence of the purpose of a statute than the words
by which the legislature undertook to give expression to its
wishes. ... In such cases we have followed their plain
meaning.").

aati le

16

As this Court held recently in West Virginia University
Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey, ___ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 1138, 1147
(1991):

As we have observed before, however, the purpose
of a statute includes not only what it sets out to
change, but also what it resolves to leave alone.
See Rodriguez v. United States, 480 U.S. 522, 525-
526 (1987). The best evidence of that purpose is
the statutory text adopted by both Houses of
Congress and submitted to the President. Where
that contains a phrase that is unambiguous -- that
has a clearly accepted meaning in both legislative
and judicial practice -- we do not permit it to be
expanded or contracted by legislators or committees
during the course of the enactment process. See
United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S.
235, 241 (1989) ("[W]here, as here, the statute's
language is plain, 'the sole function of the court is
to enforce it according to its terms.'"), quoting
Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S. 470, 485
(1917).

Here, too, section 1110 is clear and unambiguous and
should be enforced "according to its terms."

2. The Terms "Lessor," "Leased" And "Lease"
Must Be Given Their Plain And Ordinary
Meaning, Separate From The Terms "Purchase

Money Equipment Security Interest" And
"Conditional Sale"

Debtors perceive the term "lease" as ambiguous because it
is grouped with the terms "conditional vendor" and "purchase
money security interest," both of which possess an acquisition
‘element. Pet. 18. In an attempt to support their distorted
perception, Debtors unavailingly rely on noscitur a sociis, a
maxim of statutory construction whereby the meaning of one

17

term or phrase may be determined by reference to its
association with the statute's other words and phrases. But
"(t]he rule will not be applied where there is no ambiguity, or
to thwart the legislative intent, or to make general words
meaningless. The maxim is only an extrinsic aid and should
only be used when the clear meaning of the words used in the
statute is doubtful." 2A Sutherland Statutory Construction,
§ 47.16 at 161 (4th ed. 1984). This Court long ago
determined that noscitur a sociis would only be applicable
when ambiguity surrounds a term or phrase. This Court said:

Tha. a word may be known by the company it keeps
is, however, not an invariable rule, for the word
may have a character of its own not to be
submerged by its association. Rules of statutory
construction are to be invoked as aids to the
ascertainment of the meaning or application of
words otherwise obscure or doubtful. They have no
place, as this Court has many times held, except in
the domain of ambiguity.

Russell Motor Car Co. v. United States, 261 U.S. 514, 43
S.Ct. 428, 67 L.Ed. 778 (1923).

Debtors have consistently attempted to create ambiguity
where none exists. As District Judge Mukasey found, “[o]n its
face, the statute is unambiguous." Pet. 17a. Similarly,
Bankruptcy Judge Blackshear in his opinion emphasized:
"The statute clearly and unambiguously refers to "lease" and
"lessor" without modifying or restricting those words; that is
how this Court shall read section 1110." Pet. 48a. In
accord, the District Court in /n re Continental Airlines, Inc.
concluded:

In short, because the words "lease" and "lessor"
in §1110 are’ unrestricted and facially
unambiguous, with a meaning fully ascertainable

18

without reference to the related terms, the simple
observation -- that the lease is, in one respect, not
like the conditional sale and the PMESI -- is of no
moment in ascertaining the plain meaning of these
words. Nothing on the face of the statute suggests
that each word in the grouping was not intended to
have its clear ordinary meaning.

App. 14a.?

Furthermore, in Jarecki v. G.D. Searle & Co., 367 U.S.
303, 81 S.Ct. 1579, 6 L.Ed.2d 859 (1961), this Court held
that noscitur a sociis is best used where the ambiguous word is
capable of many meanings; thus, looking at the surrounding
terms best defines the correct usage. Here, however, the
words "lease," "leased" and "lessor" have an ordinary and
plain meaning. If Congress wanted to deviate from that
meaning, it could have inserted terms such as "new" or
"acquisition" to modify the words. It chose not to do so. As
the District Court in Jn re Continental Airlines, Inc. found,
conditional sale contracts, purchase money equipment security
interests and leases are dissimilar (App. 14a) and attempts to
find complete symmetry among such terms _ introduces
complexities and ambiguities into the statute where they do not
otherwise exist. Plainly, noscitur a sociis is not an appropriate
rule of statutory construction to be applied in this case.

Debtors also make the anomalous argument that the re-
quirement that a lease be a "true lease," somehow renders the
term "lease" ambiguous.’® Pet. 18. However, section 1110

9. "App. ___" refers to the appendix annexed to this brief in opposition
to the Petition. .

10. Similarly, Debtors argue that a nonacquisition sale-leaseback
transaction is substantively identical to a general mortgage. Pet. 14-15.
However, the purchase of an aircraft is not a loan; and a lease of such

(continued...)

19

protection extends only to leases, not to transactions that take
the form of leases that are disguised financings. Congress
considered this point when enacting section 1110. See H.R.
Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., lst Sess. 240, reprinted in 1978
U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5963, 6199. The strict
application of section 1110 to leases does not create
ambiguity; on the contrary, it shows preciseness and clarity of
intent by the drafters of the statute to exclude any transaction
from its coverage that is a mortgage, not a "lease." The
drafters recognized that "some leases are merely disguised
security agreements," and are to be so treated. /d.

Accordingly, there is no reason for this Court to grant
certioran. because section 1110 has been uniformly held to be
clear and unambiguous.

B. The Second Circuit's Decision That Section
1110 Is Clear And Unambiguous On Its Face
And Applies To All Lessors Is Not In Conflict
With Any Other Circuit Court Decision

In determining whether to grant a petition for a wnt of
certiorari, this Court has often required that the decision sub-
ject to review be in direct conflict with a decision of another
court of appeals. This Court has, on occasion, dismissed a
writ of certiorari as improvidently granted where it has later
been determined that the alleged conflict between decisions of
the courts of appeals does not in fact exist. See, eg.,

10. (...continued)

aircraft back to a seller is not a mortgage. A lease differs in many
important ways, both legal and economic, from a loan. For example, a
lessor owns the property and, upon lease expiration, has the right to sell,
release or use the equipment. In contrast, a lender generally enjoys no
residual rights in the property financed and has no ability to participate in
the aircraft's appreciation. As an owner, a lessor is also entitled to the tax
benefits of ownership, such as depreciation deductions. 26 U.S.C. § 168.

20

Wisconsin Elec. Co. v. Dumore Co., 282 U.S. 813 (1931);
Keller v. Adams-Campbell Co., 264 U.S. 314 (1924); Layne &
Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works, Inc., 261 U.S. 387
(1923). Moreover, Rule 10 of the Supreme Court Rules
specifically provides that one reason for granting certiorari is
"{wl]hen a United States court of appeals has rendered a
decision in conflict with the decision of another United States
court of appeals on the same matter.... Sup. Ct. R. 10
(emphasis added).

Our research has not revealed any opinion by any other
court of appeals which addresses the issue presented by the
Petition, although, as indicated supra, the Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit has heard argument but not yet decided the
issue. Indeed, Debtors do not cite a single circuit or district
court decision which is at odds with the decision below. The
granting of review by this Court at this time is, accordingly,
unwarranted.

C. The Literal Meaning Of Section 1110 Is Con-
sistent With The Congressional Purpose And Its
Implementation

1. Background

As the lower courts correctly found, the legislative history
from the enactment of section 77} of the former Bankruptcy
Act through the enactment of the Bankruptcy Reform Act of
1978 reveals clearly an intent that section 1110 applies to all
leases. Congress' intention to promote financing of the airline
industry in the way it did was firmly rooted in the concept of
"title." Sections 77j and 116(5) of the former Bankruptcy Act
exempted lessors and conditional sales vendors from the
restraints imposed by the automatic stay because title to the
equipment remained in the lessors or conditional sales
vendors. See H.R. Rep. No. 1283, 74th Cong., Ist Sess. 4, 6
(1935); S. Rep. No. 1032, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 1 (1957);
H.R. Rep. No. 944, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 1, reprinted in

21

1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1926, 1927.
Congress clearly recognized that where title is outside the
debtor, it is "appropriate to exclude what is not property of
the estate from the automatic stay in a reorganization case."
H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 240, reprinted in
1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5963, 6199."

Moreover, by its terms, section 116(5) protected the "title
of any owner" to aircraft equipment "leased, subleased or
conditionally sold to any air carner." "Title" is simply not,
and has never been, a "purchase-money" or "acquisition"
concept. A sale-leaseback transaction, for example, whenever
it might be consummated, would unquestionably place "title"
in the lessor.

The legislative history of the 1957 statute is quite short and
simple. The relevant committees in both houses of Congress
stated that the bill's purpose was to "permit the parties to a
lease or conditional sale of specified aircraft equipment to
render immune from the provisions of chapter X of the
Bankruptcy Act the title and right to possession of such prop-
erty." S. Rep. No. 1032, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 2 (1957);
H.R. Rep. No. 944, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 2, reprinted in
1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1926.

11. Debtors' argument as to the historical relationship between after-
acquired property clauses and leases is misplaced. Pet. 22. The advent of
after-acquired property clauses created the problem of carving out an
exception to the lien in after-acquired property for subsequent purchase
money security interests, not for leases. Gerstell and Hoff-Patrinos,
Aviation Financing Problems Under Section 1110 of the Bankruptcy Code,
61 Am. Bankr. L.J. 1, 5 (1987). The exemption for leases in section
1110 and its predecessors had nothing to do with after-acquired property
clauses. Instead, Congress’ rationale for the exemption was that title to
leased equipment remains in the lessor outside the estate and the automatic
stay should not apply.

22

2. The Legislative History Of Section 1110 Is Fully
Consistent With The Recognition Of
Nonacquisition Sale-Leasebacks As Section 1110
Transactions

Sale-leaseback transactions are consistent with the legis-
lative intent to encourage financing in the airline industry at
lower costs. The Report of the House Bankruptcy
Subcommittee states:

Testimony before the Bankrupt.y Subcommittee of
this committee indicated that the smaller [air]lines
are presently unable to attract the capital necessary
for their current reequipment requirements.
Testimony also indicated that the enactment of this
bill would result in an increased availability of
capital and at a lower interest rate than would be
demanded under present conditions. The reason for
this is the greater security afforded conditional sales
vendors and lessors by the amendment to chapter X
made in this bill.

H.R. Rep. No. 944, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 1, reprinted in
1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1926, 1927
(emphasis added); see also In re Airlift Intern., Inc., 761 F.2d
1503, 1507 (11th Cir. 1985) (the purpose of section 116(5)
was "to enhance the borrowing ability of airlines"); 5 Collier
on Bankruptcy 4 1110.01, at 110-3 (L. King 15th ed. 1990)
(the predecessors to section 1110 "were designed to afford
equipment financiers greater certainty than existed under the
other provisions of the former Bankruptcy Act concerning such
financiers").

[t is clear that facilitating the financing of the aircraft
industry was a prime Congressional purpose behind the
amendment of section 116(5) of the Bankruptcy Act in 1957
and that it remained an important object've of that section's
reenactment and expansion as section 1110 of the Bankruptcy

23

Code in 1978, H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 239
(1977), reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. Admin. News.
5963, 6198-6199. While we do not challenge Debtors'
contention that one of Congress' purposes in enacting section
1110 and its predecessors was to enable domestic certificated
air carriers to acquire modern equipment, that certainly was
not Congress' only purpose. Moreover, to adopt Debtors'
position would only frustrate the purpose Debtors are urging
upon this Court, since the requirement that equipment be
"new" to Debtors does not, as Debtors concede, mandate that
equipment itself be new or modern.

To arrive at the conclusion urged by Debtors, the broader
explicit goals that Congress intended must be completely
ignored. Such a myopic reading would raise more questions
than it resolves. The District Court recognized that:

In cases such as this where the legislative history
appears to reflect many seemingly different but
consistent goals, courts should be reluctant to
rewrite the words of a statute unless the plain
meaning of those words leads to a result clearly
contrary to Congress' expressed intention.

Pet. 24a.

3. Nothing In The Legislative History Warrants
Departure From The Plain Meaning Of Section
1110

Debtors are unable to cite any legislative history that states
that the term "lease" for the purposes of section 1110
excludes sale-leaseback transactions which do not provide the
acquisition of equipment "new" to an air carrer or only
includes leases providing the acquisition of equipment "new"
to the air carrier. In fact, the distinction between transactions
that provide a new acquisition of equipment to the air carner

and those that do not was recognized by Congress when
section 1110 was adopted. Carefully distinguishing between

24

acquisition and nonacquisition transactions, Congress added
the concept of a “purchase money equipment security
interest" to what became section 1110, thus limiting the class
of lenders protected by section 1110, but imposed no similar
limitation on the class of lessors eriitled to the protection of
section 1110. This is itself a persuasive indication of
Congress' intent regarding the meaning of "lease" and
"lessor" under section 1110. The legislative history reveals
that:

This section [1110], to a large degree, preserves
the protection given lessors and conditional vendors
of aircraft to a certified water carrier under section
116(5) and 116(6) of present Chapter X. It is
modified to conform with the consolidation of
Chapter X and XI and with the new chapter 11
generally. It is also modified to give the trustee in a
reorganization case an opportunity to continue in
possession of the equipment in question by curing
defaults and by making the required lease or
purchase payments. This removes the absolute veto
power over a reorganization that lessors and condi-
tional vendors have under present law, while
entiting them to protection of their investment.

S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 116-17, reprinted in
1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5787, 5902, 5903.

If Congress wanted to restrict the operation of section 1110
to acquisition leases, it clearly would have done so through the
express words of the statute. Congress knew how to distin-
guish among categories, and subcategories, of lessors and
leases when it so desired. See, ¢.g., section 502(a)(6) (limiting
the damage claims only with respect to leases "a lease of real
property") (emphasis added); section 365(h) (limiting
consequences to lessee of rejection by trustee of "an
unexpired lease of real property under which the debtor is the

25

ott eed.

lessor") (emphasis added); section 365(d)(3)-(4) (special rules
for the timing of rejection of, and the performance of post-peti-
tion obligations under, "an unexpired lease of non-residential
real property") (emphasis added); section 362(b)(10) (excepting
from the automatic stay acts of a lessor under an expired lease

! of non-residential real estate). As indicated above, Congress

knew how and, in fact, did provide an acquisition limitation in

section 1110 on purchase money equipment security interest
financing; by contrast, Congress left alone, notwithstanding
repeated amendments to section 1110 and its predecessors,
the all-encompassing and unqualified terms "lessor," "leased"
and "lease."

If adopted, Debtors' view of section 1110 would eliminate
the dominant type of financing needed by airlines in troubled
financial circumstances (such as currently exist throughout the
airline industry), namely, the use of a debtor's equity to obtain
additional funds. B. Fritch, A. Reisman & I. Shrank, 1
Equipment Leasing and Leveraged Leasing 834 (3d ed. 1988).
The preeminent legal authority in the equipment leasing field
concludes:

The better view from a policy standpoint, and
certainly a less strained interpretation of the statute,
is that §§ 1110 and 1168 [railroads] should apply
to all equipment leases and conditional sales
(including leveraged leases and _ sale-leasebacks)
where there has been a change in ownership.

Id.

We respectfully submit that a review of the legislative
history shows that Congress’ purposes were multiple and that
focusing on any single objective to the exclusion of others will
imperil Congress' overriding policy, which was to enhance the ~
airline industry's ability to raise capital at a cost the airlines
could afford.

|
i
!
'
)

26

Given the absence of a clear and unequivocal indication
that the inclusion of nonacquisition sale-leasebacks within the
protection of section 1110 "will produce a result demonstrably
at odds with the intention of [the] drafters", United States v.
Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S. at 242, or "would thwart
the obvious purposes of the ... statute," Smith v. Fidelity
Consumer Discount Co., 898 F.2d 907, 910 (3d Cir. 1999)
(quoting Mansell v. Mansell, 490 U.S. 581, 592 (1989), this
Court should sustain the plain and unambiguous text of section
1110 and afford the aircraft lessors in sale-leasebacks their
protection thereunder. See, e.g., West Virginia University
Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey, 111 S.Ct. at 1147; Demarest v.
Manspeaker, 111 S.Ct. at 604; In re Chateaugay Corp., 920
F.2d at 184; Air Vermont, 761 F.2d at 134.

D. The Petition Does Not Present Any Issues Of
Compelling Importance Warranting This Court's
Review

As stated, the dispute herein is solely an issue of statutory
construction. Although the plain meaning of this statute may
not fit with Debtors' view of the legislative purpose, it can
hardly be said that the issue presented by this appeal rises to
the level of importance justifying review by this Court in the
absence of other compelling reasons to grant certiorari.

Ill. THIS COURT DOES NOT NEED TO SETTLE THE
QUESTION PRESENTED BECAUSE ALL
AUTHORITY HOLDS THAT NONACQUISITION
SALE-LEASEBACK TRANSACTIONS ARE
ENTITLED TO THE PROTECTIONS OF SECTION
1110

The decisions below by Judges Lumbard, Winter and
Walker of the Second Circuit, Judge Mukasey of the District
Court and Judge Blackshear of the Bankruptcy Court are
consistent with all judicial authority on this issue: Jn re
Continental Airlines, Inc., 91 Civ. 58 (RSG), slip op. (D. Del.

tp cwbab) eh wed

COE rte ders a a! ee

27

March 26, 1991), and Braniff, Inc. v. Toren (In re Braniff,
Inc.), 110 Bankr. 980 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1990).

As Debtors do here, Continental and Braniff urged that the
legislative history of section 1110 demonstrates that Congress
intended the statute to apply only where a lessor leases aircraft
new to an airline. Both courts unequivocally rejected that
claim.

In Braniff, for example, the court began with an examina-
tion of the statute itself:

The language of Section 1110 is clear and
unambiguous; according to the statute, the benefits
that Section 1110 provides are applicable when the
enumerated, plainly stated elements are present and
satisfied, as they obviously have been satisfied here.

Id. at 982-83 (emphasis added).

The court then rejected Braniff's claim that Congress
proposed the legislation solely to encourage acquisition of
equipment new to the airlines and, the plain language of the
statute notwithstanding, intended to limit the scope of section
1110 to acquisition leases. The court especially criticized
Braniff's analysis of section 1110's legislative history because,
like Debtors' identical analysis here, it focused solely on the
Congressional debate of a recent amendment expanding
section 1110 to cover purchase money financing. The court
stated:

It is not surprising, therefore, that references to new
acquisitions were featured prominently in the
Congressional debates and reports constituting the
legislative history of the 1978 expansion. But
focusing on the 1978 legislative history that
discusses the purposes for a particular expansion of
the statute without also examining the earlier base

28

from which the expansion was being made distorts
the conclusion.

Id. at 983 (emphasis added).

This "earlier base" is quite revealing. The court
continued:

In the legislative history before the 1978 expansion
into purchase money financing, there appears no
support for the proposition that new acquisitions
were intended to underlie, and be a necessary
prerequisite for, the protection afforded to lessors by
Section 1110's predecessors.

Id. (emphasis added).

The Braniff court quoted from House Report No. 944 to
conclude that, in fact, no acquisition of any sort was required
for section 1110 protection:

Testimony also indicated that the enactment of this
bill would result in an increased availability of
capital and at a lower interest rate than would be
demanded under present conditions.

Id. at 983-84 (emphasis added).
The court then pointed out the true purpose of the bill:

[T]he stated purpose of the bill -- protecting lessors
and conditional sellers -- facilitates the reduction of
capital costs to an airline regardless of whether the
transaction contemplates the acquisition of new
equipment (by a new lease, for example) or the
refinancing of existing equipment (by the renewal of
an existing lease, for example).

Id. at 984 (emphasis added). Finally, after a review of the
entire history, the court concluded:

i a iia eel

ante ts

29

Certainly the history provides no express legislative
intent that is contrary to the plain language of the
statute, which omits any "acquisition" element for
leases, that would justify the Court's inclusion of this
additional requirement.

Id. at 984 (citations and footnote omitted) (emphasis added).

IV. THE APPELLATE COURT'S DECISION IS
CORRECT

The courts below correctly declined Debtors’ invitation to
judicially rewrite section 1110. The Court of Appeals
affirmed the District Court's order "for substantially the
reasons stated by Judge Mukasey." Pet. 8a.

The District Court found the words "lessor," "leased" and
"lease" in section 1110 to be unambiguous and unrestricted:
such words "are not modified in any way which suggests that
the statute was not meant to apply to lessors in a sale-
leaseback transaction." Pet. 17a. After an extensive review,
the District Court was satisfied that the legislative history failed
to demonstrate the requisite clarity to justify a deviation from
the statutory language. Judge Mukasey found that "the
legislative history appears to reflect many seemingly different
but consistent goals." Pet. 24a (emphasis added). The
District Court also rejected Debtors' argument that an
acquisition limitation should be read into leases because
section 1110 contains an explicit acquisition limitation for
security interests. This argument "contradicts both logic and
rules of statutory construction. Congress placed explicit
limitations on one group [security interests].... That
difference suggests the logical conclusion that Congress
actually did not intend so to restrict the class of protected
lessors." Pet. 22a (emphasis in original).

30
CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should
be denied.

Dated: May 3, 1991.

Respectfully Submitted,
MARVIN E. JACOB

Counsel of Record
JAMES W. CIDDENS STEPHANIE R. SCHWARTZ
DAVID M. LEMAY WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES
HUGHES HUBBARD & REED 767 Fifth Avenue
One Battery Park Plaza New York, New York 10153
New York, New York 10004 (212) 310-8000
(212) 837-6000 Attomeys for Respondents
Attomeys for Respondent Evergreen International
IBJ Schroder Leasing Corporation Airlines, Inc. and
Cobblestone Corporation
JOHN I. KARESH JON YARD ARNASON
JILL LEVI ‘ JOHN J. REILLY
FELTMAN, KARESH, MAJOR & ALAN HEBLACK
FARBMAN ANDREA FISCHER
152 West 57th Street HAIGHT, GARDNER, POOR
New York, New York 10019 & HAVENS
(212) 586-3800 195 Broadway
Attomeys for Respondents New York, New York 10007
Greyhound Financial Corporation, (212) 341-1000
De Nationale Investeringsbank N.V., Attorneys for Respondent
Credit Lyonnais/PK AIRFINANCE U.S. Concord, Ine.

and Aeron Aviation Corporation

STEPHEN H. GROSS

WALTER, CONSTON, ALEXANDER & GREEN

90 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10016 y

(212) 210-9400 .

Attomeys for Respondents
PS Group, Inc., Grand Central Partners No. 1,
Grand Central Partners No. 2 and Grand Central Partners No. 3

a
=)
Z.
w
~
a
<

la

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

: Case Nos. 90-932
CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC. : through 90-984
et al., :

: Civl Action No. 91-58
Debtors.

OPINION
GAWTHROP, J.' March 26, 1991

This is a consolidated appeal? from a bench opinion
issued by the Honorable Helen S. Balick, Judge of the United
States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware, on
January 30, 1991, in which Judge Balick ruled that creditors
leasing aircraft equipment by "sale-leaseback" transactions are
not entitled to nghts under § 1110 of the bankruptcy code.
See 11 U.S.C. § 1110. Appellants are creditors who lease
aircraft under sale-leaseback leases to appellees and debtors,
Continental Airlines, Inc., et al.. Five other airlines--America
West Airlines, Inc., American Airlines, Inc., Northwest
Airlines, Inc., United Air Lines, Inc., and USAir, Inc.--as weil
as the American Association of Equipment Lessors--have filed
as amicus curiae in support of the appellants' position.

1. Robert S. Gawthrop, III, United States District Judge for the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

2. Sixty-one creditors took twelve separate appeals, (Nos. 91-58, 91-98
through 91-104, 91-107 through 91-110, and 91-113). These appeals,
which all raise the same legal question, were consolidated by the court,
upon stipulation of counsel.

2a

Appellants and amici urge this court to reverse the bankruptc
court and hold that leases resulting from sale-leasebac
transactions are entitled to § 1110 protection. For th
following reasons, I shall so hold.

BACKGROUND

Continental Airlines, like other major airlines in the Unite:
States, holds a significant number of its aircraft by lease, an
does so, in large part, by so-called "sale-leaseback
transactions. Airplane leases are generally of two types: (1
acquisition leases, under which an airline acquires aircraft fo
its fleet, and (2) non-acquisition leases, under which an airlin
sells aircraft from its existing fleet, and then leases the sam
aircraft back from the purchaser. These latter, widely used
sale-leaseback transactions, allow an airline to obtain operatin
capital, in exchange for a promise to pay a rental annuity
The annuity, combined with the residual value of the aircrai
so leased, is calculated to bring the lessor a profit over th
purchase price.

On December 3, 1990, Continental filed a voluntar
petition in bankruptcy under Chapter 11. On January 16
1991, Continental filed a motion before the bankruptcy cour
asking the court to find that the leases that debtors hold unde
sale-leaseback transactions are not subject to § 1110 of th
bankruptcy code.

Section 1110, in effect, exempts persons, who hav
specified interests in aircraft or aircraft equipment from th
automatic stay of the bankruptcy code, which stay orde
attaches to a debtor's property upon the filing of a bankruptc
petition. See 11 U.S.C. § 362(a). The stay ordinaril
prevents creditors from moving against any property of th
debtor to recover on any debts owed, until granted permissio
to do so by the bankruptcy court. /d. Parties within th

ll: eh

3a

protection of § 1110, however, may repossess aircraft and
aircraft equipment in which they have an interest, despite the
e automatic stay, if the debtor does not agree to pay all
obligations and cure all defaults within 60 days. By its terms,
§ 1110 protects "lessors", "conditional vendors", and parties
with "purchase money equipment security interest[s]" (PMESIs).°

~~

j
j
. 3. Section 1110 provides in relevant part:
) Aircraft equipment and vessels
r
- (a) The right of a secured party with a purchase-money
p equipment security interest in, or of a ‘essor or conditional
’ vendor of, whether as trustee or otherwise, aircraft, aircraft
engines, propellers, appliances, or spare parts ... that are
B subject to a purchase-money equipment security interest
. granted by, leased to, or conditionally sold to, a debtor that is
t an air carrier .. ., to take possession of such equipment in
e compliance with the provisions of a purchase-money equipment
security agreement, lease, or conditional sale contract, as the
case may be, is not affected by section 362 or 363 of this title
or by any power of the court to enjoin such taking of
Y possession, unless--
ry
, (1) before 60 days after the date of the order for
relief under this chapter, the trustee, subject to the
e court's approval, agrees to perform all obligations of
the debtor that become due on or after such date
under such security agreement, lease, or conditional
. sale contract, as the case may be; and
€ (2) any default, other than a default of a kind
r specified in section 365(b)(2) of this title, under such
y security agreement, lease, or conditional sale contract,
y as the case may be--
z (A) that occurred before such date is cured before
. the expiration of such 60-day period; and
e€

(continued...)

4a

Continental sought authority from the bankruptcy court to
cure defaults and meet obligations on various transactions that
Continental determined to fall within § 1110. Payments due
on these transactions total approximately $108 million.
Continental did not seek similar authority to cure payments
due under non-acquisition leases. Asserting that non-
acquisition leases are not within § 1110, Continental seeks the
continued use of aircraft so leased without having to pay the
amounts now due on these leases, which totals approximately
$58 million.

On January 30, 1990, after hearing oral argument from
both parties, the bankruptcy court ruled that, unless non-
acquisition leases are part of an acquisition package, they are
not "leases" within the meaning of § 1110: i.e. only if an
airline arranges to buy an aircraft, with the design of
immediately selling it to, and leasing it back from, a financier,
is the non-acquisition lease a "lease" within § 1110. See Tr.
at 116 (Nos. 90-932 through 980, January 30, 1990). In
reaching this conclusion, the bankruptcy court observed that
the other transactions covered by § 1110--the PMESI and the
conditional-sale contract--involve acquisitions. The court
concluded that there was no basis for construing "lease" more
broadly than these related terms. See id., at 115-116.

3. (...continued)
(B) that occurs after such date is cured before the
later of--
(i) 30 days after the date of such default; and
(ii) the expiration of such 60-day period.

Da

DISCUSSION
I. Jurisdiction over Appeal

Parties adversely affected by "final judgments, orders and
decrees" of bankruptcy courts, may appeal, as of right, to the
district court in the relevant jurisdiction. 28 U.S.C. § 158(a).
Parties adversely affected by interlocutory orders may appeal
by leave of court. /d. Continental argues that Judge Balick's
order was not final, and that leave to appeal is inappropriate

in this case. I do not address whether leave is appropriate, as
I find that the order was final.

Since bankruptcy proceedings involve many parties and are
frequently protracted, a strict finality requirement in the
bankruptcy context, allowing appeal by right only after a
reorganization plan is confirmed, could cause substantial was:e
of time and resources in particular cases. See In re Amatex
Corp., 755 F.2d 1034, 1039 (3rd Cir. 1985). Thus, the
Third Circuit has declared that courts faced with bankruptcy
appeals should take a pragmatic approach to the finality
requirement, and treat as final, orders that in other contexts
might be considered interlocutory. Walsh Trucking v.
Insurance Co. of North America, 838 F.2d 698, 701 (3rd Cir.
1988).

The factors to be considered in determining whether the
order of a bankruptcy court is final include: the impact of the
issue on the assets of the bankruptcy estate, the necessity for
additional fact-finding on remand, the preclusive effect of a
decision on the merits of subsequent litigation, and the
furtherance of judicial economy. See Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel
Corp. v. McCune, 836 F.2d 153, 158 (3rd Cir. 1987) (citing
In re Mevertech, 831 F.2d 410, 414 (3rd Cir. 1987). The
§ 1110 issue pressed here is one of law, requires no
factfinding, affects the distribution of $58 million from the

6a

bankruptcy estate, and, when decided, will have preclusive
effect on actions by future parties to sale-leaseback
transactions.

Continental argues that the bankruptcy court's order,
finding § 1110 not to apply to sale-leaseback transactions, is
not final, because it merely postpones, rather thay forecloses,
the creditors' nights in their collateral. See First American
Bank of New York v. Century glove, Inc., 64 B.R. 958, 959
(D.Del. 1986). This is a mischaracterization. Section 1110
grants certain creditors the right to be free from the automatic
stay of the bankruptcy code. The bankruptcy court's order in
this case deprives appellants of these nights forever. Although
the lessors retain rights in their property, these rights are
fundamentally altered when subjected to the operation of the
bankruptcy code. This is the essence of a final decision. This
court has jurisdiction thereby.

II. Sale-Leaseback Transactions and § 1110

The substantive issue before the court is solely one of
statutory construction: whether the terms "lessor" and "lease"
in § 1110 cover lessors who purchase from an airline the very
aircraft or aircraft equipment that they lease back to the
airline. Before addressing this question, it is important to note
a related issue not being decided.

Under the Uniform Commercial Code, financing
transactions denominated as leases, but designed to create
security interests, are not treated as bona fide leases, but
rather are treated as security agreements for sale. See In re
Aspen Impressions, Inc., 94 B.R. 861, 864 (Bankr.E.D.Pa.
1984) (citing § 1-207(37) of the U.C.C.). Continental has
argued that many, if not all, of the sale-leaseback leases in
question on this appeal are not bona fide leases but are
properly characterized as security agreements for sale, and

ae

7a

thus not entitled to protection under § 1110 as leases.‘
Further, Continental suggests that since these sale-leaseback
transactions create secunty interests that are not "purchase-
money equipment security interests", as that term is used in
§ 1110,° they are not subject to the protection of § 1110 at
all.

However, this characterization issue, which Continental has
vowed to press with respect to each of its non-acquisition
leases, should it lose this appeal, is not now before me.®
Here, I assume that the non-acquisition leases in question are
bona fide leases, and thus address the legal question whether
such leases are nevertheless outside the protection of § 1110,
because they did not bring new airplanes to Continental's fleet.

Two courts have already wmitten on this question, both
finding that non-acquisition leases are covered by § 1110.
See In re Pan Am Corporation, No. 91-1659, slip op.
(S.D.N.Y. March 18, 1991); In re Braniff, Inc., 110 B.R.
980, 985 (Bankr.M.D.Fla. 1990). These opinions are
instructive. However, due to the importance of the question,

4. Continental urges, in effect, that the word "lease" within § 1110 be
read to include only "bona fide leases." Although the court is aware of no
cases so holding with respect to § 1110, there is case law holding that the
word "lease" in other sections of the bankruptcy code includes only bona
fide leases. See In re PCH Associates, 804 F.2d 193 (2nd Cir. 1986)
(addressing 11 U.S.C. §§ 365(d) and 502(b)(6)).

5. "Purchase money equipment security interest" is not defined in
§ 1110. The legislative history behind the section links this phrase to the
concept as developed by the U.C.C. in § 9-107. See H.R.Rep.No. 595,
95th Cong., ast Sess. 240, reprinted in 1978 U.S.Code & Adm.News at
6199. See also footnote 10.

6. Nor does the in terrorem intimation of Continental, regarding the
incremental judicial labor that such a holding could engender, have any
impact on the task of fairly and accurately construing the statute.

8a

and the difference of opinion from the court below, I will take
a fresh look.

Continental asserts that the word "lease" in § 1110, when
read in the context of surrounding words in the section, and in
the light of the purposes of the bankruptcy code as a whole,
can only be taken to include those "leases" that are designed
to augment a carrier's fleet and equipment supply.
Continental contends that this result is dictated by the
principle of statutory construction known as noscitur a sociis,
and by the legislative history behind § 1110. I shall address
each in turn.

A. Noscitur A Sociis

Noscitur a sociis means, literally, that a thing may be known
by its associates. In the context of statutory construction, it is
invoked for the proposition that the meaning of a word may be
derived from the meaning of accompanying words. See Jarecki
v. G.D. Searle & Co., 367 U.S. 303, 307 (1961); see also
Black's Law Dictionary at 956 (Sth Ed., 1979). This
principle has been applied by the Supreme Court, Jarecki, 367
U.S. at 307, and recently by the Third Circuit. Balley v. Legg
Mason Wood Walker, Inc., 925 F.2d 682 (3rd Cir. 1991).
Elsewhere the Supreme Court has expounded the similar
principle that "words grouped in a list should be given related
meaning". See Massachusetts v. Morash, 490 U.S. 107, 114-5
(1988); see also Third National Bank v. Impac Limited, Inc.,
432 U.S. 312, 322 and n. 16 (1977) (equating noscitur a
sociis with principle that grouped words are to be given related
meaning).

Continental urges the court to apply noscitur a sociis to
§ 1110, and rule that "lease" means acquisition lease,
because the other words in the list: "conditional sales" and
"purchase money equipment security agreements" necessarily

9a

involve acquisitions. I find to the contrary that noscitur a
sociis is no aid in this context.

Maxims of statutory construction are aids in ascertaining
the plain meaning of a statute, not tools to contradict plain
meaning. Simply because Congress places a word in a
statutory list, does not mean that the word is intended to be
treated like its fellows in all respects. Indeed, the Supreme
Court has recognized that when words are grouped by the
disjunctive "or", they are ordinarily to be given separate
meaning. See Garcia v. United States, 469 U.S. 70, 73
(1984). Because a word in a list "may have a character of its
own not to be submerged by its association," noscitur a sociis
should be applied, as a general rule, only where the meaning
of the word is "obscure" or "doubtful". Russel Motor Car Co.
v. United States, 261 U.S. 514, 519 (1923). See also Jarecki,
367 U.S. at 307 and Balley, 925 F.2d at 682 (noscitur a
sociis is "wisely applied where a word is capable of many
meanings").

The word "lease", as used in § 1110, suffers from no
apparent ambiguity. Although a "lease" may arise in many
contexts, the word is generally limited to specific transactions
in property, under which an owner/lessor conveys property to
a lessee for a term of years, in exchange for the lessee's
promise to pay a fixed rent. See generally Webster's Third New
International Dictionary at 1286 (1986). Sale-leaseback
leases are leases within this definition. The fact that an airline
sells a lessor an aircraft, before entering an agreement to lease
the same aircraft back from the lessor, does not mean that the
agreement is not a "lease", as the term is commonly
understood. See eg. Frank Lyon Co. v. United States, 435
U.S. 561, 581 (1978) (taxpayer leasing building under sale-
leaseback transaction is treated as owner/lessor under a
standard lease transaction and is entitled to tax benefits from
depreciation).

10a

Continental points to no ambiguity inherent to the term
"lease" as used in § 1110. Rather, Continental suggests that
the meaning of lease must be restricted to avoid a clash with
the meaning of the other two terms in the list. However, the
fact that lease transactions need not involve new acquisitions,
while conditional sales or PMESIs_ necessarily involve
acquisitions, does not mean that the three terms were not
intended to have their full and ordinary meaning. Indeed,
absent clear indication to the contrary, the plain meaning of
the terms controls. See Demarest v. Manspeaker, 498 U.S.
___, 111 S.Ct. 599, 112 L.Ed.2d 608, 616 (1991).

Continental relies on a number of cases where the Supreme
Court applied noscitur a sociis, explicitly or implicitly, te
restrict the meaning of a statutory term. See Morash, 490
U.S. at 107; Schreiber v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 472 U.S. 1
(1985); Third National Bank, 432 U.S. at 312; Jarecki, 367
U.S. at 303. These cases are fact-specific, demonstrating
circumstances where the principle of noscitur a sociis can be
helpful to elucidate a statute's meaning, but adhering to no
particular rule of thumb for its application. Having considered
these cases separately and in some length, I find none to be
apposite to the case at bar.

Morash and Jarecki illustrate the classic circumstance for
the application of noscitur a sociis: in each, the language in
question contained an ambiguity, or constructural conundrums,
that could not be solved without reference to related words.
In Morash, 490 U.S. at 107, the Court was called upon to
decide whether policies of employers to pay employees for
accrued but unused vacation days are "vacation benefit plans"
within the meaning of § 3(3) of the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act, (ERISA), see 29 U.S.C. § 1023(3).
Section 3(3) provides that “any plan, fund, or program"
maintained to provide "medical, surgical, or hospital care or
benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness, accident,

lla

disability, death or unemployment, or vacation benefits,
apprenticeship or other training programs, or day care centers,
scholarship funds, or prepaid legal services" are welfare
benefit plans subject to ERISA's regulatory scope. See 11
U.S.C. § 1023(3) (emphasis added). Despite the specific
inclusion of “vacation benefits" within the section, the
Supreme Court held that vacation accrual plans "payable on a
regular basis frum the general assets of the employer" are not
benefit plans subject to ERISA's requirements.

Looking to the characteristics of the other "listed" benefits,
the Court determined that Congress intended to regulate only
those plans which give an employee nghts that are contingent
on future occurrences, or which subject an employee to risks
different from the normal employment risk. 490 U.S. at 116.
In so doing, the Court tacitly acknowledged that the term
"vacation benefit plan", within the definition section of
ERISA, could not be interpreted without reference to the other
terms in that section. This is in marked contrast to the term
"lease" as it appears in § 1110. "Vacation benefit plan" is a
statutory construct, created by Congress to refer to a certain
class of employee benefit plans. "Lease", on the other hand,
is a word not invented by the bankruptcy code, and not
dependent on the other provisions of the code for its meaning.
Rather, it has a long history in the English language and in the
common law.

The Court's opinion in Jarecki, 367 U.S. at 303, is similar.
There, the Court was asked to address a section of the Excess
Profits Tax Act of 1950, which excluded from the excise tax,
"income resulting from exploration, discovery, or prospecting".
See 367 U.S. at 305. A group of taxpayers asserted that the
word "discovery" included the "discovery" or invention of
new products. The Court disagreed, finding the term to be
limited to income generated in the oil and gas and mining
industries. 367 U.S. at 307. In doing so the court

12a

specifically recognized that "discovery" is a word capable of
many meanings that could only be interpreted with reference
to the surrounding terms "exploration" and "prospecting". /d.

The two other Supreme Court cases cited by Continental
are distinguishable for other reasons. In Schreiber v.
Burlington Northern, Inc., 472 U.S. at 1, the Court considered
whether the prohibition against "manipulative" practices in
tender offers, contained in § 14(e) of the Williams Act, covers
practices that artificially affect the price of stock, but which are
fully disclosed. Section 14(e) prevents persons from engaging
in "fraudulent, deceptive, or manipulative acts". Noting that
"fraudulent" and "deceptive" acts both involve some element
of misrepresentation, the Court read "manipulative" acts to
require misrepresentation as well. See 472 U.S. at 8. At the
same time, the court noted that this definition of
"manipulative" was in accord with the word as used as a term
of art in common law, and as defined in the dictionary. See
472 U.S. at 7. In short, although the Court referred to
noscitur a sociis to strengthen its holding, it did se not to vary
the plain meaning of the term, but to confirm it.

In Third National Bank, 432 U.S. at 312, the Court ruled
that courts may preliminarily enjoin federal banks from
foreclosing on mortgages, despite the language of 12 U.S.C.
§ 91, which states that no "attachment, injunction, or
execution" may issue against a bank of the United States. The
Court's holding limits the application of the statute to
injunctions that would have the effect of seizing a bank's
property, and is based, in part, on the Court's recognition that
the wnits of "attachment" and "execution", which "sandwich"
the word "injunction" in the statute, are writs used by
creditors to seize bank property, while the writ of garnishment,
used by banks to move against the property of others, was
"conspicuously absent" from the statute's terms. 432 U.S. at
322-23.

l3a

At first blush, the Court appears to be using noscitur a
sociis to vary the meaning of a word--"injunction"--which is
otherwise without ambiguity. However, this was an
extraordinary case. Historical evidence before the Court
suggested a reason for preventing creditors from obtaining
injunctions against and seizing property from national banks,
before a judgment is entered: viz. the threat of insolvency and
the need to preventing creditors from gaining preferences. Yet
the Court could find no "national or local" interest to be
served in forbidding injunctions against national banks,
preventing the banks themselves from moving against
noncreditors. 432 U.S. at 323. Indeed, the Court found that
if courts were not allowed to preliminarily enjoin aggressive
actions by national banks, the only result would be to give
these banks a "license to inflict irreparable injury against
others." In short, the Court invoked noscitur a sociis to avoid
an irrational reading of the statute.

Continental argues that a restrictive reading of § 1110--i.e.
one that excludes non-acquisition leases--would further the
public policy in favor or reorganization, which is embodied
within the bankruptcy code. Nevertheless, Continental does
not and cannot suggest that an expansive reading of § 1110 to
cover non-acquisition leases is irrational. The policy question
here concerns the trade-off of pre-bankruptcy benefits for post-
bankruptcy burdens. If sale-leasebacks are afforded § 1110
protection, solvent airlines are benefitted with a means to
obtain inexpensive financing, enabling them to upgrade
operations and stave off insolvency during a credit crunch. At
the same time, if the airline goes into bankruptcy, it will be
faced with the obligation of having to make payments on the
sale-leaseback leases if it wishes to keep operating the aircraft
held under these leases. The national economic implications
of this dynamic, while subject to debate, are not so clearly
undesirable to require that § 1110 be read contrary to its
literal terms.

l4a

In short, because the words "lease" and "lessor" in
§ 1110 are unrestricted and facially unambiguous, with a
meaning fully ascertainable without reference to the related
terms, the simple observation--that the lease is, in one respect,
not like the conditional sale and the PMESI--is of no moment
in ascertaining the plain meaning of these words. Nothing on
the face of the statute suggests that each word in the grouping
was not intended to have its clear ordinary meaning. Thus I
turn to Continental's argument with respect to legislative
history.

RB. Legislative History
1. Relevance to Interpretation of § 1110

Review of legislative history is appropriate in interpreting a
statute, even when the statutory language is professed to be
plain on its face. Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259, 266 (1981);
Train v. Colorado Public Interest Research Group, 426 U.S. 1,
10 (1976); Smith v. Fidelity Consumer Discount Co., 898 F.2d
907, 910 (3rd Cir. 1990); Paskel v. Heckler, 768 F.2d 540,
543 (3rd Cir. 1985). This is not to say that plain language
can be ignored. To the contrary, the words the legislature
chooses are the most persuasive evidence of a statute's
purpose and must be treated accordingly. See Smith, 898
F.2d at 910 (citing Griffin v. Oceanic Contractors, Inc., 458
U.S. 564, 570 (1982); United States v. American Trucking
Ass'n. Inc., 310 U.S. 534, 543 (1940)). Wen the words are
"clear and plain" a court must follow them, unless a literal
reading produces results that are "demonstrably at odds with
the intention of the drafters". United States v. Ron Pair
Enterprises, 489 U.S. 235, 242 (1989); Smith, 898 F.2d 2
910.

The party who would vary the literal reading of a statute
faces the heavy burden of demonstrating that the literal

15a

reading is demonstrably at odds with the legislative intent. See
Paskel, 768 F.2d at 543. This burden is high because the
statutory language, as the embodiment of the law, contains a
significance not present in the words of legislative reports. Not
only does Congress place more thought on the future
implications of the actual language of a statute, see Paskel, 768
F.2d at 544, but that language is the guide by which citizens
are expected to order their affairs.

Continental contends that. this stringent standard does not
apply here, because it is not attempting to vary the meaning of
§ 1110. Continental states that the meaning of the statute,
properly understood, is that meaning suggested by application
of the doctrine noscitur a sociis. While I have rejected the
view that noscitur a sociis alone can be applied to vary the
statute's literal meaning, I acknowledge that this principle may
provide some support for Continental's ciaim if consistent with
the legislative history. Nevertheless, this does not mean that
Continental can create an ambiguity with noscitur a sociis when
none otherwise exists. The heavy burden attaches whenever a
party would vary the literal reading of the statute. Paskel, 768
F.2d at 544. That a party can point to a maxim of statutory
construction, to support a meaning other than the literal
reading, is irrelevant. m

Thus while I look to the legislative history, | bear in mind
the limited purpose of the search. The question here is
whether a literal reading of the statute to include non-
acquisition leases produces a result "demonstrably at odds"
with the legislators' intent, as manifest in the legislative history.
Ron Pair, 489 U.S. at 24; Smith, 898 F.2d at 910.

l6a

2. Historical Development
a. Section 77(j)

Section 1110 of the current bankruptcy code has its ongin
in like provisions of previous codes. The first such provision,
§ 77(j), appeared in 1935, for the benefit of equipment
financiers in the railroad industry. See Act of August 27,
1935, Pub.L.No. 74-381, ch. 774, 49 Stat. 911 (codified at
11 U.S.C. § 205(j), repealed). Amending the then existing
law regarding the reorganization of railroads, Congress added
a clause that exempts lessors and conditional vendors of rolling
stock equipment from the court's power in bankruptcy to
enjoin repossession of such equipment. See id..’

The purpose of this exemption, as articulated in the House
Report accompanying the legislation, was to preserve the rights
of trustees under "typical equipment trust agreement{s]", see
H.R.Rep.No. 1283, 74th Cong., Ist Sess. at 4 (1935).
Equipment trusts were financing devices used by the railroad
industry in which trustees purchased equipment from a
manufacturer, and then leased equipment to railroad
companies. See Black's Law Dictionary at 482 (Sth ed.
1979). The advantage of the equipment trust for financiers

7. Section 77(j) provides in relevant part, that:

... the judge may enjoin or stay the commencement or
continuation of suits against the debtor until after final decree;
and may, upon notice and for cause shown, enjoin or stay the
commencement or continuance or any judicia) proceeding to
enforce any lien upon the estate until after final decree:
Provided, . . . [that] [t}he title of any owner, whether as trustee
or otherwise, in rolling stock equipment leased or conditionally
sold to the debtor, and any right of such owner to take
possession of such property in compliance with the provisions
of an such lease or conditional sale contract, shall not be
affected by the provisions of this section.

17a

was that it gave the financier/trustee priority over claims to the
equipment by holders of mortgages containing after-acquired
equipment clauses.* However, before the passage of § 77(j),
it was unclear whether the trustees’ title in railroad equipment
was also free from the powers of the bankruptcy court. There
was case law at the time suggesting that the trust agreement
should be treated, in reorganization proceedings, like a general
mortgage. See H.R.Rep.No. 1283, 74th Cong., Ist Sess. at 4.

In deciding to resolve the doubt in favor of an exemption
for equipment financiers, and in favor of the validity of the
equipment trust "as a means of financing equipment
purchases," the drafters of the house report noted the need to
make equipment financing readily available

. at a time when the development of the
transportation art is providing new forms of
equipment, particularly in the passenger field, /
which, in interests of efficiency and economy, the
carriers should be able to avail themselves, and
because, after a depression the carriers are usually
required to make !arge expenditures for equipment
in order to accommodate the improved traffic . . .

See id., at 4. The design of § 77(j) was thus to preserve for
financiers and railroads, the benefits of an established form of
financing equipment purchases. By preserving the financiers'
rights to repossess equipment, § 77(j) provided low-cost
financing for railroad equipment purchases.

8. The theory behind the trustee's priority is not entirely clear. Under
both leases and conditional sales the lender retains title to the equipment.
Since the equipment thus does not become property of the railroad, it is
isolated from general mortgages thereon. However, it also appears that
equipment financiers could obtain priority over general mortgages simply
by virtue of having a purchase-money claim. See generally 2 Gilmore,
Securizy Interests in Personal Property, § 28.2 at 748.

18a
b. Section 116(5)

In 1957, Congress added a similar clause to the
bankruptcy code to encourage equipment financing in the
airline industry. See Act of September 4, 1957, Pub.L.No.
85-295, ch. 681, 71 Stat. 617, reprinted in 1957 U.S.Code
Cong. & Admin.News 681 (codified at 11 U.S.C. § 516(5),
repealed). Section 116(5) rendered the then-existing
provisions of Chapter X, and the court's power to issue
injunctions thereunder, inapplicable to property claims of
lessors and conditional vendors of certain aircraft equipment.?

The house report accompanying this amendment likened
§ 116(5) to § 77(j), and "contemplated" that the enactment of
§ 116(5) would "result in extensive use of equipment trust
financing as the financial basis for a major reequipment
program [in the airline industry]." See H.R.Rep.No. 944,
85th Cong., Ist Sess. at 2 (1957), reprinted in 1957 U.S.Code
Cong. & Admin.News 1926, 1927. The report also noted
tesimony before the house judiciary committee, which
established that "smaller [air]lines" were having trouble
attracting capital for reequipment requirements, and _ that
enactment of § 116(5) would increase the availability of
capital at lower rates of interest, due to the "greater security"
thereby provided to lessors and conditional vendors. The

9. Section 116(5) provided, with citations omitted, that:

Notwithstanding any other provisions of chapter X, the title of
any owner, whether as trustee or otherwise, to aircraft, aircraft
engines, propellers, appliances and spare parts .. . leased,
sub-leased or conditionally sold to any air carrier . . . and any
right of such owner or of any other lessor to such air carrier to
take possession of such property in compliance with the
provisions of any such lease or conditional sale contract shall
not be affected by the provisions of chapter X if the terms of
such lease or conditional sale so provide.

19a

report thus suggested that in enacting § 116(5), Congress was
concerned with encouraging a financial climaie in the airline
industry that would allow carriers to obtain financing to
acquire new aircraft and equipment.

In 1968, Congress enacted a similar provision, § 116(6),
to aid financing in the shipping industry. See Act of October
17, 1968, Pub.L.No. 90-586, 82 Stat. 1149, reprinted in
1968 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News 1322 (codified at 11
U.S.C. § 516(6), repealed). The house report accompanying
this legislation noted that both the railroads and airlines
already had "equipment trust" financing, which were exempt
from the operations of the bankruptcy code. H.R.Rep.No.
1932, 90th Cong., 2nd Sess. (1968), reprinted in 1968
U.S.Code Cong. & Adm.News 4279.

c. Section 1110

In 1978, when Congress passed an entirely new
bankruptcy code, the protection afforded lessors and
conditional vendors in §§ 77(j), 116(5) and 116(6) of the old
code, were in large part retained. See 11 U.S.C. § 1168
(railroads) and 11 U.S.C. § 1110 (shipping and airlines). Two
important changes, however, were made. Under §§ 1168 and
1110, parties holding PMESIs are added to the protected
class, and all parties with protected interests are required to
wait 60 days, in which the airline can move to cure defaults,
before moving to repossess.

In addressing the new transportation equipment exceptions,
the drafters of the 1978 house report first summarized the
old, stating that the railroad exemption was originally enacted
to "protect a form of financing that had obtained in the rail
industry for several decades before the enactment of the first
railroad reorganization provision", while the airplane and ship
exemptions were enacted to "encourage|] new financing in the

20a

relevant industries." See H.R.Rep.No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist
Sess. at 239 (1977), reprinted in 1978 U.S.Code Cong. &
Admin.News at 1698. The drafters also explained that the old
provisions exempted only "leases and conditional sales" on the
theory that under these transactions "title of the property does
not pass to the debtor, but remains in the financier". Where
property is not part of the debtor's estate, the report states, "it
is appropriate to exclude [it] from the automatic stay in a
reorganization case". /d. at 240, reprinted in 1978 U.S.Code
Cong. & Admin.News at 6199.

The report suggests that Congress retained the old
provisions, not so much to reaffirm their initial purposes, as to
preserve a system of financing to which the industry had
grown accustomed. "Whether or not there was an initial need
for these provisions," the report states, "their existence has
become largely addicting to the financing industry, and now
the industry claims it would simply cease financing of the
relevant equipment if the protections were removed." /d. at
239, reprinted in 1978 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News at
6198. -

While thus acceding to the industry's desire that the
exemptions remain, Congress did see a need to soften their
impact and modernize their effect. Noting that the absolute
exemptions were "harsh in... application", the drafters of
the house report explained that the 60-day grace period was to
take the edge off the old provisions, and "accommodate the
joint interests of the equipment financiers and ... the
reorganization process". /d. at 240, reprinted in 1978
U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News at 6199. The drafters further
explained that the PMESI was included within the exemption
to avoid having financing transactions "unnecessarily force[d]
. . . into outmoded forms," and to accommodate new forms of
equipment financing "more consonant with modern law". I/d.
at 240, reprinted in 1978 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News at

2la

6199. The report, however, is careful to state that the
addition of "equipment security interest[s]" included "only
secunity interests that were granted to finance the acquisition
of the covered equipment" and excluded "general
mortgage[s]". Jd. at 240, reprinted in 1978 U.S.Code Cong.
& Admin.News at 6199.'°

10. Because the parties disagree as to the precise meaning of this portion
of the legislative history, I reproduce it at length:

An attempt was made to preserve the limitations on the right of the
financier contained in current law. However, certain changes were
made. First, the proposed sections provide protection for equipment
security interests. The term includes only security interests that were
granted to finance the acquisition of the covered equipment. A
general mortgage is excluded. Under present law, the protection
applies only to leases and conditional sales of equipment. The
theory behind the present limitation is that under leases and
conditional sales, title of the property does not pass to the debtor,
but remains in the financier. Thus, it is appropriate to exclude what
is not property of the estate from the automatic stay in the
reorganization case.

Changes in financing practices and in the bankruptcy laws have
suggested that the former limitation be deleted, and that the
protection be expanded to cover equipment security interests. Since
the adoption of the original sections, there has been universal
adoption of Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code, which
abolishes conditional sales contracts, and substitutes security
agreements and security interests instead. changes in the bankruptcy
laws provide similar restraints for lessors of property to the debtor as
exist for mortgages of secured creditors. Indeed, the Uniform
commercial code acknowledges that some leases are merely
disguised security agreements, and directs that they be so treated.
Because retention of the prior limitation would unnecessarily force
equipment financing into outmoded forms, protection of security
interests was added to make financing forms more flexible and more
consonant with modern law.

22a

3. Interpretation

In summary, the legislative history behind § 1110 reveals
the following: The notion of an equipment financing
exemption was first adopted into law in the railroad industry,
in § 77(j), to preserve for financiers the benefits of what was
known as "equipment-trust financing", because the availability
of such financing would provide inexpensive capital to
railroads, allowing them to reequip and begin to pull out of the
Great Depression. H.R.Rep.No. 1283 at 4. Congress later
extended the exemption to the airline industry, in § 116(5), to
bring equipment trust financing to air carriers, and particularly
to aid "smaller" carriers in obtaining capital to reequip their
fleets. H.R.Rep.No. 944 at 2, reprinted in 1957 U.S.Code
Cong. & Admin.News at 1926. Congress made _ these
exemption applicable to leases and conditional sales, on the
theory that when title remains with the creditor, as when
equipment is leased or sold conditionally, the property is not
properly part of the debtor's estate when reorganization is
attempted. H.R.Rep.No. 595 at 240, reprinted in 1978
U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News at 6199.

Congress continued the protection provided by § 116(5)
when enacting § 1110. Congress did so in apparent
acquiescence to the financing industry's "addiction" to
equipment trust financing. /d. at 239, reprinted in 1978
U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News at 6198. Congress added
PMESIs to the list of protected transactions, despite the fact
that the holders of such interests do not hold title to the
secured property, because conditional sales, under modern
commercial law, have been discredited in favor of the PMESI.
Id. at 240, reprinted in 1978 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News
at 6199. In adding security interests to the protected
category, Congress was careful to include only purchase
money interests, and not general mortgages.

23a

To interpret the legislative history of § 1110, Continental
focuses on the fact that leases and conditional sales, and
equipment-trust financing in general, were the means by which
carners traditionally acquired new equipment. Continental
further notes Congress's design to include, within the
protection of § 1110, the modern form of acquisition
financing--transactions creating purchase money security
interests--while excluding general mortgage financing, aimed at
raising operating capital. From this Continental gleans a
Congressional intent to include only acquisition financing in
the exemption, and to exclude lease transactions that do not
bring new equipment to an airline, but which are used instead
to bring in operating capital.

[ agree that the legislative history demonstrates tha
Congress was concerned with facilitating acquisition financing.
However, I am unable to also find that Congress was
concerned only with facilitating acquisition financing, and
intended § 1110 to be so limited. The legislative reports from
§ 1110 and its predecessors contain various remarks
regarding the encouragement of financing in general. The
legislative reports also show that Congress favored inexpensive
financing, at least in part, because it would promote
acquisition of new equipment and modernization within the
transportation industries. However, Continental has pointed to
no statements, in any of the predecessor statutes or the
accompanying legislative reports, that manifest a Congressional
desire to limit the exemption for lease financing to the goal of
promoting acquisitions.

Continental contends that this function is performed by the
phrase from the 1978 report, in which the drafters assert that:
"A general mortgage is excluded". /d., reprinted in 1978
U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News at 6199. However, this
comment was made in the discussion of the addition of
security interests to the airplane equipment exemption, and

24a

was apparently used to distinguish common secuntty interests
from purchase money security interests."' Further, even if
this comment is read more broadly, it does not mean that non-
acquisition leases must be excluded from the protection of
§ 1110. Continental argues for such a result by analogizing
non-acquisition leases to general mortgage financing. Yet a
mortgage is not a lease. It is one thing to say that mortgages
are excluded, and quite another to say that all transactions
behaving like mortgages are excluded. There is nothing in the
legislative history asserting the latter. Indeed, the house report
to § 1110 notes that the exemptions are based on a title
theory, which applies whether or not the lease is an acquisition
lease.

Further, the inclusion of non-acquisition leases within the
exemption can be seen to be consonant with the legislative
goal of encouraging acquisitions. While non-acquisition leases
do not directly result in new aircraft or equipment for a
carrier, the conversion of ownership interests in existing
aircraft to leasehold interests, frees up capital that an airline
can use to facilitate the acquisition of such aircraft. See Pan
Am, No. 91-1659, Slip Op. at 8.

in so noting, I recognize that the equipment financing
exemption in § 1110 is at cross purposes with the automatic
stay in § 362(a). As § 1110 is read more broadly, the size of
the debtors' estate protected for reorganization by § 362(a) is
narrowed. Since parts or sections of statutes are not to be
read in isolation, but in view of the statute as a whole, see
United States v. Morton, 467 U.S. 822, 828 (1984), it is
axiomatic that statutory exemptions should not be read to
emasculate the provisions that they vary. On the other hand,
the inclusion of non-acquisition leases within § 1110
diminishes the protections of the automatic stay, not generally,

11. See footnote 10.

25a

but only in the airline and shipping industries. Congress
certainly knew that the inclusion of equipment leases within
§ 1110 would limit the resources available for airlines during
reorganization. That Congress nevertheless failed to restrict
the type of leases exempted, and failed to suggest a need for
such restriction in legislative reports, is evidence that Congress
meant what it said.'?

The legislative history demonstrates that Congress had a
goal of encouraging equipment financing in the airline
industry. Under the terms of § 1110, Congress chose to
exempt equipment leases, without exception, from the
automatic stay, as a means to achieve this goal. Continental
argues that the goal would be better served if only acquisition
leases were exempted. Yet it can also be argued that
Congressional purposes would be better achieved if the
exemption were limited to acquisition leases on new
equipment, excluding leases acquiring older aircraft, because
Congress was concerned with modernization. Likewise, it can
be argued that the exemption should be limited to persons
leasing to "smaller carriers", because Congress only

12. Congress's knowledge of the use of sale-leaseback transactions in the
transportation industries is not certain. Sale-leaseback transactions,
however, are not new t the financing industry. See eg. Yorkshire Ry.
Wagon Co. v. Maclure, 21 Ch.D. 309, 51 L.J.Ch. 857, 47 L.T. 290, 10
Digest (Rept.) 756 (1882) (addressing sale leaseback of "locomotives and
wagons"); Brodsky v. Perth Amboy National Bank, 259 F.2d 705 (3rd Cir.
1958) (addressing sale leaseback on real property); see also Sun Oil Co. v.
CIR., 562 F.2d 258, 268-9 (3rd Cir. 1977) (recognizing that "sale-
leaseback arrangements play a useful and accepted role in our economy").
In construing a statute, courts may look to the conditions of the times when
it was passed. See Stern v. United States Gypsum, 547 F.2d 1329, 1335
(7th Cir. 1977). Legislators are presumed to have knowledge of those
conditions. See Crosby v. United States, 8 Cl.Ct. 428 (1985). That sale-
leaseback transactions were used in and prior to 1978, and Congress did
not act to exclude them from the coverage of § 1110, is evidence that
Congress intended them to be included.

.

26a

specifically identified these carriers as having trouble obtaining
financing. In short, there are numerous ways Congress could
have written § 1110 in order to further its apparent goal.
However, the judicial task is to give effect to what Congress
actually did.

Since the legislative history here does not demonstrate a
Congressional purpose at odds with a literal reading of the
statute, | am compelled to find that Congress mean what it
said, and hold that non-acquisition leases are entitled to
§ 1110 protection.

An order follows.

27a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

IN RE: :
: Case Nos. 90-932
CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC. : through 90-984
et al., :
: Civil Action No. 91-058
Debtors.

ORDER

AND NOW, this 29th day of March, 1991, in
consideration of the appeals taken from the bench opinion and
order issued on January 30, 1991, by the Honorable Helen S.
Balick, United States Bankruptcy Judge, it is hereby
ORDERED that the order is REVERSED.

BY THE COURT

l WwW iI
Robert S. Gawthrop, III, J.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1878%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
