# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lear Siegler, Inc. v. Kirby

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1807%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 977

## Text

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

LEAR SIEGLER, INC., a Delaware Corporation,
. Petitioner,
v.

RANDALL SCOTT KIRBY,
Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLiAM H. Cosy *
SHOOK, HARDY & BACON
One Kansas City Place

1200 Main Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64105
(816) 474-6550

WENDELL E. KOERNER, JR.
BROWN, DOUGLAS AND BROWN
Pioneer Building

510 Francis Street

St. Joseph, Missouri 64501
(816) 232-7748

Counsel for Petitioner
March 18, 1991 * Counsel of Record

' =
WILSON - Epgs PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals in this diversity case de-
parted from settled principles governing federal court de-
terminations of state law by expressly rejecting and
refusing te follow the latest decision from a state inter-
mediate appellate court.

ii
LIST OF PARTIES

The caption of the case contains the names of all
parties.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ey |
ea hd aresinehnshbnshnaninnnnnntpiwkencnnens
pO hey 2 sy |. rome
dics ncopssaciiandansnsnsnanaewseennensnnesasnaeses
EE EI OOS OT OR
STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED ...........0.......

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ........................................
ss cstnsanhubeaeeanuaneean

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT .....0. oo...

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS PLAINLY VIO-
LATED THE FUNDAMENTAL PRINCIPLES
ESTABLISHED BY THIS COURT FOR DE-

TERMINING STATE LAW WWW...

A. The Court of Appeals Ignored Controlling
| Ee

B. The Court of Appeals Error Raises Issues of
Fundamental Importance .............00000.0......0.0.--
ES

(iii)

Page

iv

TABLE OCF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Day & Zimmermann, Inc. v. Challoner, 423 U.S. 3
6 SRNR eran e ye eel oP vn TROON LI” ROR A 6

Duke v. Gulf & Western Manufacturing Co., 660
S.W.2d 404 (Mo. App. 1988) ~..........002. ee. 9
Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1988) ......... 5-6, 10
Ferens v. John Deere Co., 110 S. Ct. 1274 (1990)... 6
Fidelity Trust Co. v. Field, 311 U.S. 169 (1940)... 7

Freeport McMoRAN, Inc. v. K.N. Energy, Inc.,

ES RR ee ree 6
Gibson v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 352 U.S. 874

6 PRR Rate yioa eI cs RR AO 0 oe 6
Gomez v. Clark Equipment Company, 743 S.W.2d

Or 4, 7-10

Guaranty Trust Co. v. York, 326 U.S. 99 (1945)... 6
Hales v. Green Golonial, Inc., 490 F.2d 1015 (8th

RRR EE ARRAS SR aires ete See 8
Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965) ...000000 0... 6
Hicks v. Feiock, 485 U.S. 624 (1988) -....000000000000... 7-9
Jarrell v. Fort Worth Steel & Manufacturing Co.,

666 S.W.2d 828 (Mo. App. 1984) -.......0220 en... 9
Nesselrode v. Executive Beechcraft, Inc., “707

S.W.2d 871 (Mo. banc 1986) ....................000000.... 9
Six Companies v. Highway District, 311 U.S. 180

| RSPR Maes bs Cs Ree ae Oe Te Pe Se 5
Stoner v. New York Life Ins. Co., 311 U.S. 464

I ia eae re a ee: 5

Vanskike v. ACF Industries, Inc., 665 F.2d 188
(8th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. i000

a Pict SN RA hee EE SNe Ses ek 8-9
West v. A. T. & T. Co., 311 U.S. 223 (1940) . eee 7
Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 87 (1971) —.......00.2..... 5
Constitution and Statutes:
a cesacaieniioniebieninnaas 1
Other Authorities:
$9 Defense L. J. 279 (1990) ......................... ee . 2)
76 A.B.A. Journal 35 (Mar. 1990) ....0..-o ee. 9
L. 1987 H.B. No. 700 § C, effective July 1, 1987... 9

IN THE
Suprenve Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No.

LEAR SIEGLER, INC., a Delaware Corporation,
. Petitioner,

RANDALL SCOTT KIRBY,
Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

”?)

Lear Siegler, Inc. (“Lear Siegler’) respectfully peti-
tions for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Cir-
cuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. A, infra,
la-2a) is unreported. The opinion of the district court
(App. B, infra, 3a-10a) is also unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered in
November, 1990. The court denied a timely petition for
rehearing on December 13, 1990 (App. D, infra, 16a).
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254/1).

2

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

T preduct liability suit involved the application of
Miss. ri common law, as set out fully below, by a federal
_ court,

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Accident

This is a product liability action arising from an acci-
dent in 1986. Respondent Randall Kirby was injured
while using a fifty-one foot long portable grain auger
manufactured by petitioner Lear Siegler. A grain auger
is a simple farm implement used to transport seed or
grain. A long rotating corkscrew encased in protective
housing carries grain or seed from an intake area on
the auger to the auger downspout. It is a familiar scene
on farms to see a stream of grain or seed pouring from
the top of an auger into a waiting grain truck or silo.

Lear Siegler manufactured the auger involved in this
case in 1979. When it left the factory, the auger had a
guard over the intake opening at the bottom of the auger
as well as protective guards mounted over the entire
length of the drive shaft. These guards were designed to
be easily removable for routine maintenance, including
tubrication. The guards also had to be removed to clear
the auger if it became clogged.

On the day of his accident, Kirby was loading grass
seed into a grain truck from the warehouse of his em-
ployer, the Empire Seed Company. Empire Seed loaded
grass seed onto trucks through an opening high on the
wall of the warehouse by use of the portable grain auger.
The process of loading seed with the auger required two
tractors. One tractor had a power take off (“PTO”)
shaft connected to the auger, which supplied the power
to drive the auger. Empire Seed used the second tractor

to load grain into the intake end at the bottom of the
auger.

3

Empire Seed jury-rigged the storage of seed at this
warehouse to help dry it. Along one wall of this ware-
house it mounted dryers at floor level. Along another
wall it laid large concrete blocks on the floor, and stacked
hollow wooden pallets on top of the blocks. It then spread
cheesecloth over the top of the pallets to prevent the seed
from falling through the pallets and cinder blocks, and
the seed was piled on top of the cheesecloth. Under-
standably, the auger from time to time became clogged
with cheesecloth, broken pallet boards and even pieces of
breken concrete block. Such a clog caused the auger or
its power unit to shut down and the operator had to clear
the clog before the auger could operate again.

On the day of his accident, Kirby was loading seed into
the intake opening on the auger using the tractor equipped
with a front-end loader. Kirby noticed that the auger
had clogged and left the loading tractor to turn off the
power. He then cleared the clog by sliding a metal sleeve
covering an inspection hole on the auger down the auger
tube to expose the hole. Kirby reached into the auger
and pulled out a piece of cheesecloth. Kirby did not have
to remove the guards over this part of the drive shaft to
clear the clog on this day, however. Empire Seed had
removed the guards earlier and they were missing at the
time of the accident.

Once Kirby cleared the clog, he restarted the power
drive tractor. After he had determined that the auger
was once again running normally, Kirby got off the power
drive tractor and left it running. Because the auger was
operating and the inspection hole was not covered by its
sleeve, seed was coming out of this hole. Kirby approached
the auger intending to slide the sleeve or cover back up
the auger to cover the inspection hole. As he reached
over the top of the unguarded, rotating drift shaft, with
the inspection hole open, Kirby’s shirt sleeve was caught
and his left arm was drawn into the drive shaft and
injured.

4

Kirby admitted repeatedly, as did his experts, that the
accident would not have happened if the guards furnished
with the auger had not been removed.

B. Proceedings in the Lower Courts

In December of 1987, Kirby filed a complaint against
Lear Siegler in federal court in Missouri claiming under
both negligence and strict liability theories. Kirby claimed
that Lear Siegler had defectively designed its auger in
a variety of ways and that it failed to warn of these
defects. Kirby also sought punitive damages.

After substantial discovery, Lear Siegler moved for
summary judgment. Lear Siegler contended that under
clear Missouri law a manufacturer has no liability when
a purchaser modifies a safe product and that modification
makes the product unsafe. See Gomez v. Clark Equip-
ment Company, 743 S.W.2d 429 (Mo. App. 1987). The
manufacturer is absolved even when the modification is
foreseeable. 7d. at 432. As discussed fully below, the
trial judge denied the summary judgment motion (App.
C, infra, 1la-15a), concluding that the three Missouri
appellate judges in Gomez had incorrectly interpreted
Missouri law regarding modification.

The case then went to trial solely on the issue of strict
liability for design defect and failure to warn, and the
jury returned a verdict of $500,000. The trial judge sub-
sequently denied Lear Siegier’s motion for judgment not-
withstanding the verdict and alternative motion for a
new trial. The federal judge again ruled that the Mis-
souri appellate judges had incorrectly interpreted Mis-
souri law. App. B, infra, at 6a-8a.

Lear Siegler appealed the case to the Eighth Circuit.
That court affirmed the trial judge’s rulings by unpub-
lished per curiam order. App. A, infra, at la-2a.

5

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

The concept of “our federalism” represents a delicate
balancing of legitimate state and federal interests.
Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 44 (1971). The federal
courts here have failed that balancing miserably.- A sin-
gle federal trial judge in the court belew ruled that a
panel of three Missouri appellate judges, which decided
the dispositive Missouri decision, simply did not under-
stand and therefore misinterpreted and misapplied Mis-
souri law. He therefore refused to follow the only Mis-
souri law on point. The Eighth Circuit affirmed the trial
court without explanation or opinion. The Eighth Circuit
decision is therefore directly contrary to the most recent
pronouncement of Missouri law by a Missouri appellate
court.

The affront to principles of federalism is obvious. Fed-
eral courts are required to follow decisions of state ap-
pellate courts. Without more, this Court has ample
ground to review this decision. But the practical conse-
quences are likewise dramatic. A product manufacturer
sued in Missouri state court has a complete defense if a
consumer modifies a product and later suffers an injury.
The same manufacturer in federal court has no such
defense. This erroneous ruling will lead to widespread
forum shopping by plaintiffs who can satisfy diversity
jurisdiction. The very existence of this split in authority
demands intervention by this Court.

It is the primary responsibility of state courts, not the
federal courts, to construe and apply state statutes and
common law. The express refusal of a federal court to
follow state law as announced by a state appellate court
has long been grounds for review of the federal deci-
sion. See, e.g., Six Companies v. Highway District, 311
U.S. 180 (1940); Stoner v. New York Life Ins. Co., 311
U.S. 464, 467 (1940). Indeed, in certain instances the
Court has acted summarily to preserve the integrity of
these principles of federalism announced in Erie R. Co.

6

v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938). See, eg., Day &
Zimmermann, Inc. v. Challoner, 423 U.S. 3 (1975);
Gibson v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 352 U.S. 874 (1956).
The instant case deserves similar treatment. The deci-
sion of the court of appeals is so plainly wrong that it
should not be allowed to stand, and summary reversal is
justified. See, e.g., Freeport McMoRAN, Inc. v. K.N.
Energy, Inc., 111 S.Ct. 858 (1991).

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS PLAINLY VIOLATED
THE FUNDAMENTAL PRINCIPLES ESTAB-
LISHED BY THIS COURT FOR DETERMINING
STATE LAW

A. The Court of Appeals Ignored Controlling State
Court Decisions

This Court ruled in Erie that federal courts must fol-
low state substantive law in cases in which state law is
the source of the cause of action. The Erie principle
“expresse[s] a policy that touches vitally the proper dis-
tribution of judicial power between state and federal
courts” that is “so important to our federalism.” Guar-
anty Trust Co. v. York, 326 U.S. 99, 109-10 (1945).
Its purpose is to ensure that the state and federal courts
in a state apply the same substantive law irrespective of
the happenstance of federal jurisdiction. Such even-
handed justice discourages forum shopping and avoids
unfair discrimination between state and federal litigants.
See Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460, 468 (1965) (“the

twin aims of the Erie rule... [are] discouragement of
forum-shopping and avoidance of inequitable administra-
tion of the laws”). “The Erie rule remains a vital ex-

pression of the federal system and the concomitant in-
tegrity of the separate States.” Ferens v. John Deere
Co., 110 S. Ct. 1274, 1280 (1990).

The duties of federalism are not limited to state su-
preme courts. A federal judge must follow and apply the
decision of state intermediate appellate courts just like

7

state supreme courts. The decision of an intermediate
state appellate court “ ‘is not to be disregarded by a fed-
eral court unless it is convinced by other persuasive data
that the highest court of the state would decide other-
wise.’” Hicks v. Feiock, 485 U.S. 624, 630 n.38 (1988),
quoting West v. A.T. & T. Co., 311 U.S. 223, 237-38
(1940). It is

“the duty of the federal courts, where the state law
supplies the rule of decision, to ascertain and apply
that law even though it has not been expounded by
the highest court of the State. An intermediate state
court in declaring and applying the state law is
acting as an organ of the state and its determina-
tion, in the absence of more convincing evidence of
what the state law is, should be followed by a fed-
eral court in deciding a state question.”

Fidelity Trust Co. v. Field, 311 U.S. 169, 177-78 (1940).

The federal courts here flatly disregarded these guid-
ing principles laid down by this Court. The federal trial
judge reviewed Gomez v. Clark Equipment Co., 743
S.W.2d 429 (Mo. App. 1987), the most recent and clear-
est pronouncement by a Missouri appellate court of the
law applicable to this case, and unabashedly pronounced
that these three Missouri judges had simply misunder-
stood Missouri law.

Gomez is remarkably similar to the present case. In
Gomez the operator of a lift truck crushed several fingers
while maneuvering her truck. Her employer had modi-
fied the lift truck by removing the fuel tank supplied by
the manufacturer and adding a larger tank, which ob-
structed the vision of the driver. The Gomez court fully
reviewed Missouri law. It concluded that, in Missouri, if
the modification of a product makes a safe product unsafe
then the manufacturer is not liable, even if the modifica-
tion was foreseeable. 743 S.W.2d at 432. The modifica-
tion acts as a supervening cause which absolves the man-
ufacturer of any liability. Jd. The court made clear that

8

this issue is one for the court not the jury. The modifica-
tion bars plaintiffs’ claim as a matter of law. Gomez,
743 S.W.2d at 433; see also Hales v. Green Colonial, Inc.,
490 F.244615, 1021 (8th Cir. 1974).

The federal trial judge here openly acknowledged that
“Gomez is the last Missouri case which addresses this
particular issue |[modification].” App. B, infra, 6a.
The judge nonetheless refused to apply the law of Gomez
to the modification in this case. He examined the same
cases that the three Missouri appellate judges examined
in Gomez, and simply pronounced their analysis of Mis-
souri law wrong:

“While the Vanskike and Hales language is awk-
ward using a double or triple negative, this Court is
of the opinion that Vanskike and Hales hold that if
the modification is foreseeable and if it is foreseeable
that modification will make the product unsafe, then
the manufacturer is not relieved from liability.”

App. C, infra, 14a; see also App. B, infra, 6a.

A federal judge may not disregard a state appellate
decision unless there is “persuasive data that the highest
court of the state would decide otherwise.” Hicks, supra,
485 U.S. at 630 n.3. No such data is present here. In
the first place, the federal judge relied primarily on the
federal cases quoted above to reject Gomez, not on Mis-
souri law. Moreover, the three Missouri judges under-
stood that the federal cases used confusing language.
Indeed, the Missouri judges in Gomez reviewed and dis-
tinguished these very cases and their confusing language
based on Missouri law. Gomez, 743 S.W.2d at 432-33.’

1In Hales v. Green Colonial, Inc., 490 F.2d 1015, 1020 (8th Cir.
1974), retailers sold a heater for use with natural gas. The retailers
also supplied a conversion kit to modify the heater for use with LPG
fuel. Gomez concluded that the modification of the heater using the
kit was not a superseding cause, because modification for use with
LPG fuel was intended by the retailei. S.W.2d 743 at 432-33.

Likewise in Vanskike v. ACF Industries, Inc., 665 F.2d 188 (8th
Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1000 (1982), removal of retaining

9

The Missouri appellate judges relied on Missouri law
to determine how modification of a product is treated in
Missouri.” The interpretation of Missouri law by these
judges is sensible, rational and in complete keeping with
the public policy of Missouri. Many state courts and
legislatures have grown increasingly dissatisfied in recent
years with the explosion of products liability lawsuits
and the treatment of manufacturers as near insurers of
their products. The Missouri law set out in Gomez is
fully defensible. But Missouri judges are not required to
defend their interpretation of Missouri law to federal
judges. A single federal judge cannot simply overrule
and reject the reasoned analysis of Missouri law by three
Missouri judges. That is exactly what happened here.*
And by rejecting Missouri law, the federal judge denied
Lear Siegler any access to its best defense under Mis-
souri law. Federalism demands more.

rings from a railroad car was not a superseding cause where there
was evidence that the hitch was completely defective so that it could
not hold the rings at all. Gomez, 743 S.W.2d at 443.

2 See Gomez, 743 S.W.2d at 432-33 (discussion of Jarrell v. Fort
Worth Steel & Manufacturing Co., 666 S.W.2d 828, 835 (Mo. App.
1984), and Duke v. Gulf & Western Manufacturing Co., 660 S.W.2d
404, 414 (Mo. App. 1983) ).

3 See, e.g., 76 A.B.A. Journal 35 (Mar. 1990) (discussing the
marked “decline in judicial receptivity to products cases’); 39
Defense L. J. 279 (1990). Missouri recently reformed its tort laws
to lend additional protection to manufacturers. See L. 1987 H.B.
No. 700 § C, effective July 1, 1987.

4 The federal trial judge here suggested that Gomez was “contra-
dictory to” Nesselrode v. Executive Beechcraft, Inc., 707 S.W.2d 371
(Mo. bane 1986). App. B, infra, 6a-7a. As stated above, the
federal courts must follow state intermediate courts unless “persua-
sive data” compels a departure from that court. Hicks, supra, 485
U.S. at 630 n.3. The Nesselrode case did not deal with or discuss
the modification of a product by a consumer. Nor did it discuss the
concept of intervening cause. It provides no suport for the action
of the federal court here. Certainly the Gomez court had access to
the Nesselrode decision and the general statements of black letter
law for products actions it contains.

10

Only one Missouri case, Gomez, deals directly with the
issue of modification of a product by a consumer. Under
Gomez, Lear Siegler is entitled to a determination as a
matter of law on the issue of modification. Lear Siegler
manufactured a grain auger that left its factory with
safety shields intact. Kirby’s employer removed these
safety shields. Lear Siegler does not dispute that the
shields were designed to be removabie for various
maintenance. Nonetheless, if the modification of this
auger by removing critical safety shields was a super-
vening cause of injury, then Lear Siegler is not liable
under any theory. The federal court here refused to even
address the issue. Under its interpretation of Missouri
law, Lear Siegler could not raise such a defense because
the modification was foreseeable. App. C, infra, 14a
(“The evidence in this case indicates that defendant fore-
saw and even observed farm equipment being operated
with guard devices removed .. .”). Missouri law de-
mands no such thing. Lear Siegler is entitled to a deter-
mination on the issue of modification, just as if it were
in state court. A federal court has denied Lear Siegler
this right. The court of appeals ruling is clearly wrong
and should not be allowed to stand.

B. The Court of Appeals Error Raises Issues of Funda-
mental Importance

The decision of the federal courts here violates all of
the principles of Erie. It will lead to inequitable admin-
istration of laws—one law in state court, the opposite in
federal. It will encourage blatant forum shopping by
Missouri plaintiffs lucky enough to meet diversity re-
quirements. And perhaps most egregious, it will allow
a single federal judge to overrule three Missouri appellate
judges and their interpretation of Missouri law. This
Court should not condone such blatant disregard for our
federalism.

11

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted,
and the judgment below should be summarily reversed or
the case should be set for briefing and argument.

March 18, 1991

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM H. Coby *
SHOOK, HARDY & BACON
One Kansas City Place

1200 Main Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64105
(816) 474-6550

WENDELL E. KOERNER, JR.
BROWN, DOUGLAS AND BROWN
Pioneer Building

510 Francis Street

St. Joseph, Missouri 64501
(816) 232-7748

Counsel for Petitioner
* Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-1410

RANDALL SCOTT KIRBY,
Appellee,
Vv.

LEAR SIEGLER, INC.,
Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Missouri

Submitted: October 10, 1990
Filed:

Before LAY, Chief Judge, BRIGHT and TIMBERS,*
Senior Circuit Judges.

*The HONORABLE WILLIAM H. TIMBERS, Senior Circuit
Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, sitting
by designation.

2a

PER CURIAM.

Lear Siegler, Inc., appeals from the district court’s'
order in this diversity case denying its motion for judg-
ment notwithstanding the verdict and alternative motion
for a new trial. We construe the appeal as taken from
the final iudgment on the jury verdict. See McGowne v.
Challenge-Cook Bros. Inc., 672 F.2d 652, 658-59 (8th
Cir. 1982). Randall Kirby injured his left arm while
using a grain auger manufactured by Lear Siegler, and
the jury awarded him $500,000 on a theory of strict
products liability. After carefully reviewing the record
and hearing oral argument, we find no prejudicial error
of law or fact. We affirm the judgment of the district
court on the basis of its well-reasoned opinion. See 8th
Cir. R. 47B.

A true copy.
Attest:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

1The Honorable Russell G. Clark, United States District Judge
for the Western District of Missouri.

38a
APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI
SOUTHERN DIVISION

No. 87-3657-CV-S-4

RANDALL SCOTT KIRBY,
Plaintiff,
VS.

LEAR SIEGLER, INC.,
Defendant.

ORDER
| Filed Feb. 6, 1990]

On December 14, 1989 following a jury verdict, judg-
ment was entered in favor of plaintiff and against de-
fendant in the amount of $500,000.00.

On December 26, 1989 defendant filed a motion for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict and an alternative
motion for a new trial. While defendant’s motions were
filed on the 12th day after entry of judgment, the mo-
tions were timely filed in that the 10th day was a Sun-
day and the 11th day was Christmas Day. (F.R.C.P. 6).

Very briefly the facts are as follows: Plaintiff was an
employee of Empire Seed Company and was employed at
Rogers, Arkansas. At the time of his injury he was
engaged in transporting fescue seed from his employer’s
warehouse in Monett, Missouri to Arkansas. At the time
of the injury he was using a grain auger manufactured

4a

by defendant to load a grain trailer from seed which
was stored in the employer’s warehouse. The auger was
powered by the power take off of a farm tractor. The
auger became clogged and a coupler broke. The plaintiff
stopped the auger, removed the covering from the clean
out hole and pulled a handful of cheesecloth out of the
auger. He then repaired the coupler using a bolt and
restarted the auger. After restarting the auger he
reached over the top of it and the unguarded rotating
shaft to attempt to slide the cover back over the clean
out hole. His shirtsleeve and arm were pulled into the
drive shaft inflicting severe injuries to his arm.

When the auger left the manufacturer there were
shields or guards over the drive shaft; however, at the
time of plaintiff’s injury, these guards had been removed.
The guards were attached to the auger by means of
screws and were removable. As a matter of fact at least
one guard had to be removed in order to grease the auger.
At the time of plaintiff’s injuries the guards which had
been installed by the manufacturer at the intake part of
the auger had been removed and a modified guard in-
stalled in its place. Also near the intake portion of the
auger the manufacturer had placed a warning that the
auger should not be used without the guards in place:
however, this warning had become obliterated and worn
away long before plaintiff was injured. There was no
warning on the guards themselves and particularly no
warning in the area where plaintiff was working when
his arm got caught by the drive shaft.

The case was submitted to the jury on a strict liability
products theory that the auger was defective and un-
reasonably dangerous when put to a reasonably antici-
pated use and that it was unreasonably dangerous due
to defendant’s failure to give an adequate warning of the
danger. A contributory fault instruction was given on
behalf of defendant. In the plaintiff’s verdict directing
instructions the jury was told that they could find in

5a

favor of plaintiff if the defect “directly caused or directly
contributed to cause damage to plaintiff.”

The standard for granting a directed verdict and a
judgment notwithstanding the verdict are the same un-
der federal law. A directed verdict should be granted
only when all the evidence points one way and is sus-
ceptible of no reasonable inference sustaining the position
of the nonmoving party. Dill v. Janklow, 828 F.2d 481
(8th Cir. 1987). The evidence must be viewed in the
light most favorable to the nonmoving party and the
Court must assume that all conflicts in the evidence were
resolved in plaintiff’s favor and must assume as proven
all facts which plaintiff’s evidence tended to prove. Sunk-
yong International, Inc. v. Anderson Land and -Invest-
ment Company, 828 F.2d 1245 (8th Cir. 1987). The
authority to grant a new trial however is confined al-
most entirely to the exercise of discretion on the part of
the trial court. Allied Chemical Corp. v. Daiflon, Inc.,
449 U.S. 33, 36, 101 S.Ct. 188, 191, 66 L.Ed.2d 193
(1980). A trial court may grant a new trial for the
reason that the jury verdict is against the weight of the
evidence. In making such a determination the trial court
may makes its own evaluation of the evidence, may
weigh the evidence, may disbelieve witnesses and grant
a new trial even where there is substantial evidence
supporting the jury verdict. Brown By Brown v. Syntex
Laboratories, Inc., 755 F.2d 668 (8th Cir. 1985): and
Ouachita National Bank v. Tasco Corporation, 686 F.2d
i291 (8th Cir. 1982),

In the motion for judgment notwithstanding the ver-
dict, defendant contends that there was not sufficient evi-
dence to make a submissible case that the auger at the
time of manufacture and sale was in a defective condi-
tion, unreasonably dangerous when put to a reasonably
anticipated use, whether such claim was based upon a
defect in design or on the inadequacy of the warning.
Defendant further contends that the evidence failed to

6a

disclose that the auger was being used in a manner rea-
sonably anticipated and that it had been modified by
removal of the drive shaft guards, enlargement of the
guard at the intake of the auger and by replacement
of roll pins and bolts in the drive shaft couplers.

There was sufficient evidence for the jury to find that
defendant knew that many farmers used the auger with
the drive shaft guards removed and also that it was a
common practice to replace the roll pins in the couplers
with bolts. There was also evidence that even with the
intake guard furnished with the auger by defendant it
had on occasion become clogged which necessitated the re-
moval of the drive shaft guards in order to unclog the
auger. The only real issue in defendant’s motion is
whether there had been such modification in the auger
to relieve the defendant of any liability. In this regard
defendant relies on the case of Gomez v. Clark Equip-
ment Co., 473 S.W.2d 429 (Mo. App. 1987) which in in-
terpreting language in Vanskike v. ACF Industries, Inc.,
665 F.2d 188, 195 (8th Cir. 1981) concluded that “‘if the
modification is foreseeable but the modification makes a
safe product unsafe, the manufacturer is not liable.”
Gomez is the last Missouri case which addresses this par-
ticular issue. However in denying defendant’s motion
for summary judgment in an order issued November 2,
1989, this Court ruled that the Gomez court misinter-
preted the Vanskike language. In Vanskike it was
stated: “Subsequent changes or alterations in the prod-
uct do not relieve the manufacturer of strict liability if
the changes were foreseeable and the changes did not un-
foreseeably render the product unsafe.” Jd. at 195.

A correct interpretation of that language would be that
the manufacturer is not relieved from liability if the
modification is foreseeable and if it could have been fore-
seen that such modification would create a hazard. In
this Court’s opinion the Gomez statement of Missouri
law is inconsistent with and contradictory to the law as

7a

expressed in Nesselrode v. Executive Beechcraft, Inc., 707
S.W.2d 371 (Mo. bane 1986) where the court stated that
the concept of reasonably anticipated use includes misuse
and abnormal use which is objectively foreseeable. The
Nesselrode court also stated that underneath the cun-
ceptual umbrella of proximate cause can be found the
concepts of misuse, abnormal use, reasonably anticipated
use, and contributory fault. The court concluded that the
manufacturer of the actuators could have reasonably an-
ticipated that Executive would make an abnormal use
of the actuators.

In Bhagvandoss v. Beiersdorf, Inc., 723 S.W.2d 392
(Mo. bane 1987) the court stated that a product may be
unreasonably dangerous and defective even though it
would not have caused injury when used properly if the
actual use is one reasonably anticipated by the manu-
facturer.

Without belaboring the issue as to whether a manu-
facturer is relieved from liability if the modification
makes a safe product unsafe, it is the opinion of the
Court that defendant is not entitled to a judgment not-
withstanding the verdict. The drive shaft guards were
designed so that they could be removed and in certain
circumstances had to be removed. Therefore, in this re-
gard there was no modification in the design of the
guards. Since the guards were designed to be removed,
the mere failure to replace them upon removal does not
constitute such a modification as to relieve the manufac-
turer of liability. The same can be said for substitution
of bolts for roll pins in the couplers.

The only warning placed on the auger by the manu-
facturer to not use it without the drive shaft guards in
place was located near the intake section of the auger.
This was several feet from the point where plaintiff suf-
fered his injury. In addition this warning had been
worn away or completely obliterated long before plain-
tiff’s injury. The place where the injury occurred was

8a

at a point where the manufacturer knew that it would
be most likely required that a guard would be removed
in order to unclog the machine, grease the drive shaft
or to replace coupler pins. It was clearly a jury issue
as to whether failure to place a warning in this specific
area rendered the product unreasonably dangerous. The
auger was being used to load grain which was the very
use for which it was manufactured and thus it was an
anticipated use. In addition there was evidence that de-
fendant knew that augers were used with the guards re-
moved and also knew that bolts were frequently sub-
stiuted for roll pins. Defendant’s motion for judgment
notwithstanding the verdict will be denied.

In the alternative to its motion for judgment notwith-
standing the verdict, defendant has moved for a new
trial. It set forth numerous issues for which it claims
a new trial would be appropriate. It alleges that there
was insufficient evidence for the submission of Instruc-
tion No. 5, plaintiff’s verdict directing instruction. The
Court has addressed this issue in denying defendant’s
motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and
will not address it further. The defendant also alleges
that there was insufficient evidence to submit Instruc-
tion No. 7, plaintiff’s verdict directing instruction, on the
issue of inadequate warning. The basis for this instruc-
tion is that the danger confronting plaintiff was open
and obvious and therefore defendant had no duty to
warn.

In a products liability case plaintiff’s contributory neg-
ligence is not an issue. Ponte v. Harley Davidson Motor
Co., 732 S.W.2d 561 (Mo. bane 1987). For contributory
fault to be a defense it must be shown that the user
discovered the defect and was aware of the danger but
nevertheless proceeded unreasonably to make use of the
product and was injured by it. White v. Thompsen Con-
crete Pump Company, 747 S.W.2d 655 (Mo. App. 1988).
Defendant relies on Haines v. Powermatic Houdaille, Inc.,

aici)

9a

661 F.2d 94 (8th Cir. 1981) as support for its position.
That case merely holds that it was not error for the
trial court to give a contributory fault instruction. One
was given in this case. The issue was one for the jury
which was decided adversely to defendant.

Defendant also claims that it is entitled to a new trial
as a result of the Court not admitting the admission by
plaintiff made to his employer Royal Carnes that the ac-
cident was his fault. At the time the statement was made
the evidence discloses that plaintiff was under heavy se-
dation and was in severe pain. It was not a statement
concerning a fact but at most was a conclusion. Ob-
viously the plaintiff did not know the law concerning
strict liability. He may have felt that he was contribu-
torily negligent which would not be a defense.

Defendant also alleges that it is entitled to a new trial
because of the admission of the testimony of plaintiff’s
economic expert Larry G. Cox. The testimony of Mr.
Cox set forth the average earnings of a high school grad-
uate and it was not restricted by the work history of
plaintiff; however, it is clear that the jury did rely upon
Mr. Cox’s testimony in returning his verdict. Any error
in permitting the testimony of Mr. Cox was at the worst,
harmless error.

Defendant also contends that it is entitled to a new
trial because of the admission of evidence concerning
prior accidents. These accidents involved an unguarded
rotating shaft which was the hazard presented in the in-
stant case. In addition this evidence was admissible to
show that defendant knew that such machines were being
operated by users without the benefit of a guard.

Defendant also buses its motion on the admission of
opinion testimony by experts concerning the inadequacy
of warnings, foreseeability, unreasonable danger and de-
fectiveness on the basis that such testimony invades the
province of the jury. Under Fed.R.Evid. 704(a) such

10a

testimony is not objectionable on the basis that it invades
the ultimate issue to be decided by the trier of fact.

Defendant also alleges that it is entitled to a new trial
because of the admission concerning designs and warn-
ings offered by another manufacturer, Mayrath, some
ten years after the auger in issue was manufactured.
The designs and warnings incorporated in Mayrath’s
product were well known in the engineering field prior
to the manufacture of the auger in this case. This tes-
timony was helpful to the jury in determining whether
the product in question was defective and whether there
was an adequate warning.

Plaintiff testified that while he knew he should not
touch the rotating_shaft, he was not aware that there
was a danger of a protrusion on the shaft catching his
shirt and thus wrapping his arm around the rotating
shaft. He also testified that had there been a warning
he would have abided by it.

As stated above in denying the defendant’s motion for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict, the only warning
placed on the equipment was completely obliterated long
before plaintiff’s injury. These issues were properly sub-
mitted to the jury and found by the jury against de-
fendant.

It is

ORDERED that defendant’s motion for judgment not-
withstanding the verdict is denied; and it is further

ORDERED that defendant’s alternative motion for a
new trial is denied.

/s/ Russell G. Clark
RUSSELL G. CLARK
Judge
United States District Court

Date: February 6, 1990

lla
APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI
SOUTHERN DIVISION

No. 87-3657-CV-S-4

RANDALL ScoTT KIRBY,
Plaintiff,
VS.

LEAR SIEGLER, INC.,
Defendant.

ORDER
[Filed Nov. 2, 1989]

Defendant has moved for summary judgment on Count
I of plaintiff’s complaint. Count I alleges strict liability
by reason of defendant’s manufacture of a defective
grain auger.

There are well settled principles in ruling a motion for
summary judgment. Summary judgment is appropriate
when there is no genuine issue of material fact present
in the case and judgment should be awarded to the party
seeking the motion as a matter of law. Percival v. Gen-
eral Motors Corporation, 539 F.2d 1126, 1129 (8th Cir.
1976). However, because summary judgment remedy is
drastic, it should not be granted unless the moving party
has established the right to a judgment with such clarity
that there is no room for controversy. Jewson v. Mayo
Clinic, 691 F.2d 405, 408 (8th Cir. 1982). In addition,
the party opposing summary judgment motions may not
rest upon the allegations in their pleadings. The non-

12a

movant must resist the motion by setting forth specific
facts showing there is a genuine issue of fact for trial.
Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(e); Burst v. Adolph Coors Company, |
650 F.2d 930, 932 (8th Cir. 1981) In Green v. United

States Dept. of Labor, 775 F.2d 964, 973 (8th Cir. 1985),

the Court stated that such a motion is to be viewed in the

light most favorable to the opposing party who also must

receive the benefit of all reasonable inferences obtainable

from the material before the Court. In Butler v. MFA

Life Ins. Co., 591 F.2d 448 (8th Cir. 1979), the Court

held that summary judgment should not be granted un-

less the moving party has established his right to judg-

ment with such clarity that no room for controversy re-

mains and has demonstrated that the nonmoving party is

not entitled to recover under any discernible circum-

stances.

In ruling a motion for summary judgment, the Court
does not decide material factual issues, rather it deter-
mines whether or not they exist. Columbia Union Na-
tional Bank v. Hartford Accident and Indemnity Co.,
669 F.2d 1210 (8th Cir. 1982). Summary procedures
are appropriate where the issues for resolution are pri-
marily legal rather than factual. Lomar Wholesale Gro-
cery, Inc. Vv. Dieter’s Gourmet Foods, Inc., 824 F.2d 582,
585 (8th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 707 (1988).
Issues of fact must be material to a resolution of the
dispute between the parties; where the only disputed
issues of fact are immaterial to the resolution of the legal
issues, summary judgment is appropirate. Lomar, 824
F.2d at 585.

With these standards in mind, the Court will proceed
to consider defendant’s motion for summary judgment.

Very briefly, the facts are as follows: Plaintiff was
an employee of Empire Seed Company and was employed
at Rogers, Arkansas. At the time of his injury he was
engaged in transportation of fescue seed from his em-
ployer’s warehouse in Monett, Missouri to Rogers, Ar-

a eeaieianineernmemmmmiiaiiiiae

13a

kansas. At the time of his injury he was using the grain
auger manufactured by defendant to load a grain trailer.
The auger became clogged and a coupler broke. Plaintiff
stopped the auger, removed the cover from the clean-out
hole and pulled a handfull of cheese cloth out of the auger.
He then repaired the coupler using a bolt and restarted
the auger. After restarting the auger he reached over
the top of the auger and the unguarded, rotating drive
shaft to attempt to slide the cover back over the clean-out
hole. His shirt sleeve and arm were pulled into the drive
shaft, injuring him. When the auger left the manu-
facturer there were shields or guards over the drive
shaft; however, at the time of his injury, these guards

had been removed. Defendant contends that by removal
_ of the guards there was such a material change in the
auger as manutactured by it to relieve it of liability as
a matter of law.

The parties agree that the substanitve law of Missouri
applies in this case. They also agree that the essential
elements of a strict liability case are as follows: (1) the
defendant sold or manufactured the grain auger in the
course of its business; (2) the grain auger was then in
a defective condition unreasonably dangerous when put
to a reasonably expected use; (3) the grain auger was
used in the manner reasonably anticipated; and (4) plain-
tiff was damaged as a result of the defective condition
that existed when the grain auger was sold.

In support of its motion for summary judgment de-
fendant relies on only one Missouri case: Gomez v. Clark
Equipment Co., 743 S.W.2d 429 (Mo. App. 1987). In
Vanskike v. AFC Industries, Inc., 665 F.2d 188 (8th Cir.
1981) the court stated:

[S]ubsequent changes or alterations in the product
do not relieve the manufacturer of strict liability
if the changes were foreseeable and the changes did
not unforeseeably render the product unsafe.

l4a

Substantially the same language appears in Hales Vv.
Green Colonial, Inc., 490 F.2d 1015, 1020 (8th Cir. 1974).
Gomez interprets the Vanskike and Hales language to
hold:

If a modification is foreseeable but the modifications

make a safe product unsafe the manufacturer is not
liable.

While the Vanskike and Hales language is awkward using
a double or triple negative, this Court is of the opinion
that Vanskike and Hales hold that if the modification is
foreseeable and if it is foreseeable that the modification
will make the product unsafe, then the manufacturer is
not relieved from liability.

The evidence in this case indicates that the defendant
foresaw and even observed farm equipment being oper-
ated with guard devices removed and thus could foresee
that the auger which injured plaintiff would be used with
the guard shields removed. Since the guard shields were
removable, this Court is of the opinion that it becomes
a jury issue as to whether this constituted a material
modification of the auger. A jury might very well deter-
mine that operation of the auger without the shields was
nothing more than a misuse of the product. In Jarrell
v. Fort Worth Steel and Manu. Co., 666 S.W.2d 828
(Mo. App. 1984) the court held that where there is both
a design defect and a misuse of the product each of which
contributes to the accident, the misuse does not become
an intervening cause if the misuse was foreseeable. Plain-
tiff contends that the danger could have been eliminated
by various design changes in the product. It is a jury
issue as to whether failure to make one or more of these
possible changes rendered the product defective at the
time of its manufacture and its sale. There are genuine
issues of fact which are disputed in this case which make
granting defendant’s motion for summary judgment on
Count I inappropriate.

anemia

lda
It is
ORDERED that defendant’s motion fr summary judg-
ment on Count I of plaintiff’s complaint is denied.

/s/ Russell G. Clark
RUSSELL G. CLARK
District Judge
United States District Court

Dated: November 2, 1989

l6a
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-1410WM
RANDALL SCOTT KIRBY,
Appellee,
Vv.

LEAR SIEGLER, INC.,
Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Missouri

Appellant’s petition for rehearing has been considered
by the court and is denied.

December 13, 1990

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

/s/ Robert D. St. Vrain
Clerk
U.S. Court of Appeals
Eighth Circuit

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1807%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
