# Opposition Brief — Simpson v. Simpson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1712%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 500 U.S. 932

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S
FILED

APR 23 199)
No. 90-1340

OFFICE OF THE Cy

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1990

*
ELZANOR 6&6. SIMPSON

Petitioner,
vs.
DONALD M. SIMPSON; TERRY C. YOUNG;
GILES, HEDRICK & ROBINSON, P.A.;

TANYA PLAUT; LAWSON LAMAR, SHERIFF OF
ORANGE COUNTY, FLORIDA; AND MINNIE BRIDGES;

Respondents.

+

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals For The
Eleventh Circuit

.

RESPONDENTS'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

*

William G. Osborne, Esquire Tanya M. Plaut, Esquire
538 East Washington Street 506 Mariposa Street

Orlande. Florida 32801 Orlando, Florida 32801

(407) 843-5211 (407) 425-6610

Attorney for Respondent, Attorney for Respondent.
Denald Sispson Tanya Plaut

Lavinia Dierking, Esquire Jeffrey M. Fleming, Esquire

ll East Pine Street Post Office Box 3427
Orlando, Florida 32801 Orlando, Florida 32802
(407) 425-1802 (407) 849-6459

Attorneys for Respondents, Terry C. Young
and Giles, Hedrick & Robinson, P.A.

Jeffrey G. Slater, Esquire James WV. Glatt, Esquire

605 East Robinson Street lll North Orange Avenue
Orlando, Florida 32801 Suite 2000
(407) 425-4251 Orlando, Florida 32801
Attorney for Respondent, (407) 841-7000

Lavson Lamar, Sheriff Attorney for Respondent.

of Orange County, Florida Minnie Bridges

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Respondents would respectfully submit
that neither the decision below nor the
facts contained in the record, raise the
questions presented in the Petitioner's
brief. Therefore, Respondents respect-
fully restate the questions presented
that relate to this Court's discretionary
jurisdiction to issue a Writ of Certio-

rari:

I.

WHETHER SALE BY SHERIFF OF PETITIONER'S
HALF INTEREST IN HER FORMER MARITAL
RESIDENCE WAS CONDUCTED PURSUANT TO A
CONSTITUTIONAL STATE STATUTE AND WHETHER
PETITIONER WAS DENIED SUBSTANTIVE AND
PROCEDURAL DUE PROCESS.

II.

WHETHER THE PETITIONER WAS DENIED SUB-
STANTIVE AND PROCEDURAL DUE PROCESS WHEN
SHE FAILED TO MAKE A BID ON HER FORMER
MARITAL RESIDENCE AND WHEN SHE WAS NOT
ALLOWED AN OPPORTUNITY TO REDEEM PRIOR TO
FINAL DEPRIVATION OF HER PROPERTY.

WHETHER THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DISMISS-
ING WITH PREJUDICE AND GRANTING RESPOND-
ANT'S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON
PETITIONER'S CLAIMS PREDICATED UPON ALLE-
GATIONS OF UNLAWFUL ARREST AND EXCESSIVE
USE OF FORCE.

Iv.

WHETHER THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN HOLDING
THAT PETITIONER FAILED TO ADEQUATELY
PLEAD OR PROVE A CONSPIRACY BECAUSE THE
"UNDER COLOR OF STATE LAW" REQUIREMENT OF
42 U.S.C. §1983 HAD NOT BEEN MET.

-ii-

QUESTIONS PRESENTED... ....seeeecees
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ... 1. cece ecucs

JURISDICTIONAL REASONS FOR DENIAL
OF 0} ee re fe fee ee © © re ee fe ff © ©

STATEMENT OF THE CASE... ...eeeeeees

I. THE SALE BY SHERIFF OF
PETITIONER'S HALF INTEREST
IN HER FORMER MARITAL
RESIDENCE WAS CONDUCTED
PURSUANT TO A CONSTITU-
TIONAL STATE STATUTE AND
DID NOT DENY HER SUBSTAN-
TIVE NOR PROCEDURAL DUE
PROCESS . wc cccccccccccesesess

Il. THE PETITIONER WAS NOT
PRECLUDED FROM MAKING A
BID ON HER FORMER MARITAL
RESIDENCE AND WAS NOT
DENIED SUBSTANTIVE NOR
PROCEDURAL OUE PROCESS
WHEN SHE WAS NOT ALLOWED
AN OPPORTUNITY TO REDEEM
PRIOR TO FINAL DEPRIVATION
OF HER PROPERTY. ..«.. «0005

III. THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT
ERR IN DISMISSING WITH
PREJUDICE AND GRANTING
RESPONDENT'S MOTION FOR
SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON
PETITIONER'S CLAIMS PREDI-
CATED UPON ALLEGATIONS OF
UNLAWFUL ARREST AND EXCES-
SIVE USE OF FORCE.......««««:

-iii-

IV.

CONCLUSION

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT
ERR WHEN IT HELD THAT
PETITIONER FAILED TO
ADEQUATELY PLEAD OR PROVE
A CONSPIRACY BECAUSE THE
"UNDER COLOR OF STATE LAW"
REQUIREMENT OF U.S.C. 1983

HAD NOT BEEN MET.....++++++-s

-iv-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES PAGE
Adickes v. S. H. Kress &
Company, 398 U.S. 27 144,
(1970) -cccceccs i - A A & referees © 54
, 603 F.2d 503
(5th cir. 1979) ecccccccecces rf © © 26
, 758 F.2d 1486
(1ith cir. 1965S) ~cccccces ere feeeee 29
Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247 (1986).. 49
, 190 So.2d 575
(Fla. 1966) neff © © Se eee ee eee eee 6 SS 21
, 84 F.R.D.
(N. PA. 1979) wccceces pe oe Cee @ & & & @& & 55
, 433
F.Supp. 1 (N.D. Ala. 1976)...... 34
661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (llth
Cir. 19B1) cccccccccccccccccccess 26
848 F.2d 1534, 1537 (lith Cir.
19GB) wccccccccccccccceeecceeeess 49
608 F.Supp. 232 (D.C. Nev.
(1988S) cccccccccccccccesessessesy 31
, 783 F.2d 1002,
. iit y oe - eee 47

-V=

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES PAGE
430 U.S
Rg POPS eee 9, 39
» 2 Fla. 171 (Pia.
BBES) cccccccccccccccccceceececes 21
» 477
U.S. 317, 323 1986) .cccccccccces 48
» 386 So.2d 292
(Fla. 2d DCA 1960) ccccccces reff © 39
Cotton States Mutual Insurance
Company v. Anderson, 749 F.2d
663 (llth Cir. 1984)... ceennes 33
, 449 U.S. 24,
27-29 (1980) wccccececcces ee * © 54, $7
‘orp. vy. Uhiig,
652 F.Supp. 1409 (S.D. Fla.
19B7) wc ccccccesesececs eee eeeee 38
» 786
F.2d. 1465, 1488-98 (11th
cir. 1986) ~cccccccceccecs se eeeee © 60

First Alabama Bank of Montgomery.
NA. vy, Parsons Steel, Inc.,
747 F.2d 1367 (llth Cir. 1984).. 30
, 482 So.2d
400 (Fla. 2d DCA 1986).......+.+. 38
U.S. BB (1971) .ccccccccccccccess 42

-vi-

» 461 F.Supp.
654 (M.D. Fla. 1978)......665. 32, 33

507 F.Supp. 814, 818, (E.D.
PRG Mncabtetaveodsceoedces 55

» 5325 F.2d 130

nes 31
420 So.2d 1082 (Fla. 1982)..... 9, 39
» 440 So.2d
58 (Fla. 4th DCA 1983).......... 9
: ° » 409 So.2d
487 (Pla. 4th DCA 1982)......... 38

¥. Cavendes, 591 F.Supp. 362

Se Ms Sn nc ccnntéséocece 30
, 695 F.2d $21
- 2 <3 ET aS 33
» 403 So.2d
563 (Fla. 3rd DCA 1981)......... 22
Nationwide Financial Corp. of

, 400
So.2d 559 (Fla. ist DCA 1981)... 40

Ohio Realty Investment Corp, v.

Southern Bank of West Pale Beach
300 So.2d 679 (Fla. 1974)....... 19
-vii-

CASES PAGE

’
725 F.2d 627 (llth Cir. 1984),
reh. den. 731 F.2d 891 .......29, 30

Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527

(19681) wccccccccccccccces eee fe ee © 23
, 746 F.2d.
782, 785 (llth Cir. 1984)....... 56
» 531 So.2d
946 (Fla. 1988)... ce enecncccccucs 40

, 349 U.S. 70,
75 S.Ct. 614 (1955). cceeeeeeees ill

Robinson v. McCorkle, 462 F.2d.
111, 113 (3rd. Cir.) cert.
denied, 409 U.S. 1042 (1972).... 43

’

514 F.Supp. 907 (D.C. Nev.
1981) rocccccccccccsccesccececocs 32

vy. McNair,162 So 483 (Fla.
1935) eccccccccccccsccesecececece 23

, 837 F.2d.
1016, 1018 (llth Cir. 1988)..... 57

Sloan, 194 So. 128 (Fla. 1938).. 19

-viii-

689
F.2d 759 (8th Cir. 1982) cert.
denied, 103 S.Ct. 1427, 460
U.S. 1037, 75 L.Ed.2d 788.......

Florida Constitution, Article X...

Florida Constitution, Article x,
Section Beccccccccccccccceal,y 36,

Florida Constitution, Article x,
Section | STvrrrrererrrrrrfrerereee.

STATUTES
28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).........

42 U.S.C. Section 1983....6, 9, 23,
37, 42, 44, 54, 55, 56, 60, 61,

42 U.S.C. Section B9SScccccececece

42 U.S.C. Section 1985(3).....7, 8,
39, 41, 42,

Florida Statutes, Section
30.15 (2) cccccccccccccccccccccese

Florida Statutes, Section 30.30...

Florida Statutes, Section
ES. OSLecccccccccccccccccccceceaDy,

~ix-

30

40

41

38

Florida Statutes, Section
SE. BBZcccccccccccconOs 19, 25, 26, 36

Florida Statutes, Chapter 222..... 23

RULES
Supreme Court Rule 10....+seeeeees 1
Supreme Court Rule 10.1.(&)......- i, 2
Supreme Court Rule 10.1.(DB)....«.«- 2

Supreme Court Rule 10.1.(C)..«««+-+- 2

Supreme Court Rule 14....«+«s+«+. ee 1
Supreme Court Rule 14.1.(})..«.«««+-«- 2
-xX=

JURISDICTIONAL REASONS FOR DENIAL OF WRIT

Petitioner has provided no jurisdic-
tional basis for the Supreme Court to
accept certiorari. Rule 14 of the Su-
preme Court Rules provides that a peti-
tion for writ of certiorari shall contain

-1.(j) A direct and concise
statement amplifying the rea-
sons relied on for the allow-
ance of the writ. See Rule 10.

Supreme Court Rule 10 provides that a
petition for a writ of certiorari will be
granted “only when there are special and
important reasons therefor." Rule 10
further delineates the character of
reasons that will be considered, includ-

ing the following:

~-1.(a) When a United States
court of appeals has rendered a
decision in conflict with the
decision of another United
States Court of appeals on the
same matter; or has decided a
federal question in a way in
conflict with the state court
of last record; or has so far
departed from the accepted and
usual course of judicial pro-
ceedings, or sanctioned such a

departure by a lower court, as
to call for an exercise of this
Court's power of supervision.

(b) When a state court of last
resort has decided a federal
question in a way that con-
flicts with the decision of
another state court of last
resort or of a United States
court of appeals.

(c) When a state court or

United States court of appeals

has decided an important ques-

tion of federal law which has

not been, but should be, set-~-

tled by this Court, or has

decided a federal question in a

way that conflicts with ap-

plicable decisions of this

Court.

Clearly, Petitioner has failed to
comply with either Supreme Court Rule
ents respectfully submit that Petition-
er's lack of compliance with these rules
stems from Petitioner's total inability
to provide a reasonable basis for this
Court to accept certiorari in this
matter. The Petitioner has provided this
Court with none of the above basis for

granting the writ of certiorari. Fur-

-2-

ther, the only basis for jurisdiction the
Petitioner has alleged in her brief is
Title 28, United States Code §1254(1).
Page 3 of Petition. Said provision is
merely the general jurisdictional state-
ment which indicates that cases in the
Court of Appeals may be reviewed by the
Supreme Court by writ of certiorari.
There is nothing new before this
Honorable Court that was not presented
both to the lith Circuit Court of Appeals
and the Middle District (trial) Court,
Orlando, Florida. In essence, Petitioner
reargues the entire case as presented at
the trial court and 1ith Circuit levels.
Petitioner does not allege any recogniza-
ble error in either court's decision.
Clearly, Petitioner just does not like
what the trial court and lith Circuit
decided. There are no reviewable or
reversible questions from either the

trial court's decision or the lith Cir-

cuit's per curiap affirmance of the same.
The decision at the trial court level
turned on its own facts affecting no
others than the litigants participating
in the matter. The trial court's order,
granting various motions to dismiss and
summary judgment, dated July 10, 1989,
was 27 pages in length. It addressed the
record evidence in combination with the
applicable law on each issue presented.
The clear conclusion of the trial court
was that Petitioner had not presented any
record evidence to support her claim and
summary judgment was entered accordingly.
Perhaps the most telling remark of the
trial court appears at page 5 of its
order where it was stated as follows:
This complaint is essentially a
complaint about the decisions
of state court judges under the
guise of a Section 1983 action.
Pederal courts, however, are
not a forum for appealing state

court decisions. (Citations
omitted).

Petitioner's first issue - whether
she was denied substantive and procedural
due process of law when she was not
allowed to make a bid on homestead
property and was not allowed an opportu-
nity to redeem - was fully addressed by
the trial court at pages 4-5 of its
order. The trial court specifically
pointed out that

«++ @ll of plaintiff's allega-
tions which rely on the status
of a judge to satisfy the
‘under color of state law'
requirement depend solely on
conclusory statements that
there was a conspiracy. The
law in the Eleventh Circuit is
that '[(t)he naked assertion of
a conspiracy between a state
judge and private defendants
without supporting operative
facts provides an insufficient
state action nexus for a Sec~-
tion 1983 action.’

(Citations omitted).
Further on page 6, the court stated,

The third amended complaint
therefore is devoid of
allegations of fact showing an
agreement and concerted action
among the Defendants and the
judges named in the Complaint.

-5-

There are simply no operative
facts, merely a naked assertion
by the Plaintiff in her plead-
ing, that a conspiracy
existed. ...

The trial court noted this continued lack

of evidence from Petitioner even though

Petitioner had gufficient opportunity to

gather evidentiary support for her
Claims. (Emphasis added). And finally
as to the §1983 matters, the court stat-
ed,

- « « Defendants have carried
their burden of demonstrating
that there are no genuine
issues of material fact that
necessitate a trial, and plain-
tiff has failed to offer any
proof of a conspiracy involving
a judge. Having failed to
provide an essential element of
her case, summary judgment is
appropriate on plaintiff's
Claim of a conspiracy involving
state court judges in violation
of 42 USC §1983. (Order at

page 8).

As to the actual notice of sale, the
trial court specifically found the pub-
lished notice was not inadequate. The

trial court recognized that Petitioner

a

was active in attempting to stop the sale
on her behalf and in fact attended the
sale. Order at p. 12.

Petitioner also claims she was denied
equal protection under the law by not
being allowed to claim homestead exemp-
tion on her property interest in the
former marital residence of the parties.
The Petitioner claims that Respondents
operated together to defeat and deprive
the Petitioner of her homestead in viola-
tion of 42 U.S.C. §1985(3). To put it
simply, the trial court found that

Not only does Plaintiff's

Complaint fail to plead facts

to support a conspiracy in

violation of 42 U.S.C.

§1985(3), making a motion to

dismiss appropriate, but also

there are no evidentiary facts

of record to support such

contention. (Order at page

16).

The court noted that the defendants were
merely participating in a sheriff sale
that was

the result of a lien placed on

aJeo

Plaintiff's interest in realty

by Tanya Plaut and an order of

a state trial court for

foreclosure of such lien.

There is no evidence of a plot

to initiate and consummate the

sale in an improper manner,

unauthorized by law, to deprive

Plaintiff of her property.

Participation in a public sale

does not constitute evidence of

a conspiracy in violation of 42

U.S.C. §1985(3). (Order at

page 17).
Further, the trial court found that
Petitioner did not state an independent
Claim for denial of equal protection
under 42 U.S.C. §1985(3) and summary
judgment for Respondents was entered on
Petitioner's claim that Respondents had
denied her constitutional right to own
and hold homestead property. Order at
pp. 18 and 19. The trial court pointed
out that the Florida Homestead provision
on which the plaintiff relied prior to
the date of sale of the property only
applied to property “owned by the head of
a family." The trial court noted that

such a provision did not discriminate on

———

| een eee

the basis of gender. (Order at page 18).

Citing Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S.

199 (1977) and Holden v. State of Gard-
ner, 420 So.2d 1082 (Fla. 1982). The

court pointed out that Petitioner did not
allege or contend that she was ever
responsible for the welfare of another
while she resided on the subject proper-
ty.

The court also fully dealt with
Petitioner's claim that she was denied
her right to substantive due process when
excessive force was allegedly used
against her in the execution of a state
and enforceable writs ordered. In par-
ticular, the court stated that there was
no evidence that the defendants Young or
Giles, Hedrick, Robinson conspired with
the sheriff's deputies to deprive her of
rights secured under 42 U.S.C. §1983.
The court indicated that plaintiff was

merely relying on conclusory allegations

i

in the third amended complaint. Order at
p- 9 and 10. Clearly, Petitioner is
attempting to rehash before this Court
matters originally decided in divorce
proceedings between Petitioner and Re-
spondent, Donald Simpson. The state
appellate process was available to Peti-
tioner to question any decision of the
state court. However, Petitioner chose
to file a suit in Federal Court, Middle
District, Orlando, making various unsup-
ported claims against professional de-
fendants. The trial court, giving Peti-
tioner every benefit of the doubt, found
that Petitioner's claims were unsupported
by the record evidence. That decision
was affirmed per curiam by the l1ith
Circuit Court of Appeals. Petitioner has
no basis for seeking a writ of certiorari
to this Court. Premised on the jurisdic-
tional requirements alone, Respondents

respectfully submit that Petitioner's

writ of certiorari should be denied.

Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Ceme-

tery, 349 U.S. 70, 75 S.Ct. 614 (1955).
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondents respectfully disagree
with the Statement of the Case as stated
by Petitioner and, in clarification,
states as follows:

The parties herein will be referred
to as they appear before this Court, i.e.
Petitioner, Respondent, Respondents or by
their respective names.

The Petitioner, Eleanor S. Simpson,
and Respondent, Donald Simpson, were
divorced on May 24, 1983 in the Circuit
Court, in and for Orange County, Florida.
(R5-162). Petitioner had numerous attor-
neys during the course of the divorce
proceedings. Mr. Simpson's attorney was
Respondent, Terry Young.

The Final Judgment (of Dissolution of
Marriage) was entered by Judge William c.

Gridley and provided, inter alia, that

Mr. Simpson receive certain personal
effects and that the marital home be
partitioned equally. (R5-162). Peti-
tioner appealed the Final Judgment, but
the Fifth District Court of Appeal per
curiam affirmed the Final Judgment on
January 31, 1984, and denied rehearing on
May 29, 1984. (R5-162).

Petitioner failed to comply with the
partition of personal property as stated
in the Final Judgment, whereupon on or
about August 19, 1983, upon motion of
Respondent, Donald Simpson, Judge Gridley
entered an Order of Division of Personal
Property authorizing the Clerk to issue a
Writ of Attachment for the personal
property of Mr. Simpson. (R5-162).
Subsequently, Mr. Simpson moved the Court
to permit the Sheriff's Forcible Entry
During Recovery of Personal Property.

(R5-162). The Court entered an Order

-12-

Granting Permission for Sheriff's Forci-
ble Entry During Recovery of Personal
Property on October 4, 1983, after a
hearing duly noticed. (R5-162). Simpson
interfered with the Respondent, Lawson
Lamar's (Sheriff's) execution of said
Order and was arrested on or about Octo-
ber 6, 1983.

Respondent Tanya Plaut was one of the
attorneys who had represented Petitioner
in her dissolution proceedings. Subse-
quent to the dissolution of marriage,
Tanya Plaut filed an action against
Eleanor S. Simpson for unpaid attorney's
fees. After trial of the issue at which
the Petitioner was represented by coun-
sel, a judgment for the fees was entered
in the case of Plaut v. Simpson, CI-83-
4444, Circuit Court in and for Orange
County, Florida. That judgment went
unpaid and subsequently, Respondent Plaut

executed and levied on Mrs. Simpson's

one-half interest in the marital home to
satisfy said judgment. (R5-162). Upon a
duly noticed Sheriff's Sale, Mrs. Simp-
son's one-half interest in the marital
home was purchased by Respondent, Donald
Simpson. Despite Mrs. Simpson's knowl-
edge of the impending sale, she neglected
to timely appear at the Sheriff's Sale to
protect her interest. Petitioner admit-
ted she received previous notice of the
scheduled Sheriff's Sale of her one-half
interest in her marital home. (R5-162;
R4-102). In fact, Petitioner prior to
the sale sought to prevent the sale by
emergency motion, which motion was de-
nied. (R4-102). Petitioner's testimony
establishes that she knew that sale was
to take place between the hours of 11:00
&.8. and 2:00 p.m., but operated under
her own conclusion that the sale “could-
n't go through because the court's ruling
was incorrect." (R5-162). Respondent,

Donald Simpson did appear and purchased
Mrs. Simpson's one-half interest in the
marital residence for the amount of
Respondent Plaut's judgment, approximate-
ly $8,013.87.

Subsequent to the purchase by Re-
spondent Donald Simpson the property was
listed with a realtor, Respondent Minnie
Bridges, and sold.

Petitioner filed an action in federal
court in April of 1985. As noted in the
order of July 10, 1989 of the United
States District Court, Middle District of
Florida, dismissing Petitioner's Third
Amended Complaint and granting summary
judgment in favor of Respondents Terry
Young, Giles, Hedrick & Robinson, P.A. in
total and Respondents Simpson and Lawson
Lamar in part, Petitioner had ample
opportunity to pursue her action in the
lower court through discovery, which was

extended on numerous times. (R6-194-7).

As further noted by the Middle District
Court in its order, Petitioner’ entire
action was based on the conclusory state-

ments of Petitioner Simpson.

I.

THE SALE BY SHERIFF OF PETITIONER'S HALF
INTEREST IN HER FORMER MARITAL RESIDENCE
WAS CONDUCTED PURSUANT TO A CONSTITUTION-
AL STATE STATUTE AND DID NOT DENY HER
SUBSTANTIVE NOR PROCEDURAL DUE PROCESS.

In her complaint Petitioner asserted
that the state statute pursuant to which
the forced sale of her half-interest in
the marital home was conducted, Florida
Statute 56.22 (1983), is unconstitution-
al. (R4-102) She complains that the
operation of that statute unconstitution-
ally deprived her of her right to proce-
dural due process. She claims that the
statute is void for vagueness due to its
provision that the “sale shall take place
between the hours of 11:00 A.M. and 2:00
P.M." Petitioner suggests that the

statute did not give her notice of the

exact time of the sale, and therefore the
statute is unconstitutional. Petitioner
does not claims that she did not receive
notice of the sale or that the sale
occurred outside the times specified.
Rather, she simply alleges that the
statute is unconstitutional and the sale
void because she was not given a particu-
larized time between the hours of 11:00
A.M. and 2:00 P.M. for the sale.

As the trial court correctly noted in
the Order of July 10, 1989, (R6-194) the
unrefuted facts of the record show that
the sale was conducted pursuant to a lien
placed on Petitioner's half-interest in
the marital home by her former attorney,
Defendant Plaut. Respondent Donald
Simpson took advantage of the procedure
provided by law and appeared at the
designated time and place set forth in
the Notice of Sheriff's Sale to bid on

the property. Petitioner had the same

-l7?-

opportunity to appear at the designated
time to bid on the property. Petitioner
admitted that she failed to be timely
present at the sale of the home as had
been scheduled by the Notice of Sheriff's
Sale “due to a misunderstanding" and
because she was stuck on the telephone.
(First Amended Complaint, par. 11(I).)
(Deposition of Petitioner 11/24/86,
pages. 98-101)

Prior to the date of sale Petitioner
was aware of the fact that a Notice of
Sheriff's Sale had been published in the
newspaper which announced that the sale
would take place between the hours of
11:00 A.M. and 2:00 P.M. on a particular
day. (Deposition of Petitioner 1/15/87,
Pg- 108) In fact, Petitioner had been
active, albeit unsuccessfully, in at-
tempting to stop the sale of her one-half
interest in the realty. (Deposition of
Petitioner 1/15/87, pg. 107).

-18-

The fact that Florida Statute 56.22
gives some latitude as to the specific
timing of the sale does not make the
statute unconstitutionally vague. See
Qhio Realty Investment Corp, v. Southern
Bank of West Palm Beach, 300 So.2d 679 at
n. 1 (Fla. 1974); State, Ex Rel. Rauler-

son v. Sloan, 194 So. 128 (Fla. 1938).
Nowhere in the Third Amended Complaint is

it alleged that the Sheriff's sale con-
ducted on April 30, 1984, did not comport
with Florida Statute 56.22.

As a basis for Petitioner's
contention that Florida Statute 56.22 is
unconstitutional, she compares its con-
tents to Florida Statute 45.031. Those
two statutes deal with different types of
sales -- one deals with judicial sales
while the other deals with execution
sales. In fact, subsection (8) of Flori-
da Statute 45.031 specifically states

that the statute does not apply to

-19-

property sold under executions. Further
the requirement in 45.031 that the notice
of a judicial sale contain “the time and
place of sale” is not inconsistent with a
notice which states that the sale shall
take place “between the hours of 11:00
A.M. and 2:00 P.M." The constitutional
validity of one statute is not to be
determined by the contents of another
statute.

In selling Petitioner's interest in
the property, the Sheriff was simply
enforcing a judgment and Writ of
Execution issued thereon by a circuit
court judge. In making the sale, the
Office of Lawson Lamar acted in an admin-
isterial capacity. Florida Statute 30.30
expressly provides that a sheriff is not
to be held liable for wrongful levy when
it is made as required by statute or
pursuant to the specific order of a court

of competent jurisdiction. A sheriff is

required by statute to execute all writs
directed to him to be executed in his
county. Florida Statute 30.15(2). He is
justified in the execution of a writ
regular on its face and issued by compe-
tent authority. Camp v. Mosely, 2 Fla.
171 (Pla. 1848).

In her Third Amended Complaint
Petitioner has not suggested that the
judgment nor Writ of Execution issued
thereon appeared invalid or irregular on
their face. With respect to the conduct
of a sale, a presumption exists that the
sheriff complied with the requirements of
the law and that the sale was regular in
all respects. The burden is on the
Petitioner to demonstrate otherwise.
Arlt v. Buchanan, 190 So.2d 575 (Fla.
1966). In this case Petitioner has
presented no facts indicating that the
sale was conducted in an irregular fash-

ion and not in accordance with Florida

Statutes.

Petitioner suggests that an
inadequate purchase price received for
her half-interest in the marital home
provides a sufficient basis for setting
aside the sale. First, it should be
pointed out that monies received from the
sale are not clearly inadequate given
that what was being purchased was a
half-interest in a home. Second, case
law is clear that an inadequate purchase
price alone is insufficient basis for
setting aside a sheriff's sale. McAlice
v. Anderson, 403 So.2d 563 (Fla. 3rd DCA
1981). Finally, Petitioner's suggestion
that the sale should be set aside as the
result of an inadequate purchase price
having been received from the sale raises
no federal constitutional issues which
would justify the exercise of jurisdic-
tion over Petitioner's claims.

As a general rule, relief against

-22-

mere irregularities in an execution (if,
in fact, they did exist) must be sought
in the original cause, and not in a new
and independent proceeding. Ryan's
Furniture Exchange, Inc. v. McNair, 162
So. 483 (Fla. 1935). The State of Flori-
da itself provides procedures through
which a “homestead owner" can prevent a
forced sale and further provides an
adequate remedy to “homestead owners" who
have lost their home through a forced
sale. See Florida Statute Chapter 222.
Although the statutes in Chapter 222 may
not provided Petitioner with all the
relief which may be available to her
under 42 U.S.C. 1983, they could have
fully compensated her for the property
loss allegedly sustained. Said available
remedies are sufficient to satisfy the
requirements of due process. Pparratt v.
Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981).

Petitioner alleges that Sgt. Tranium

-23-

of the Office of the Orange County
Sheriff denied her a constitutionally
required opportunity to redeem her
property subsequent to the Sheriff's
sale. Petitioner fails to cite to any
particular source of this alleged right.
In truth, there exists no legal right
(constitutionally or otherwise) to redeem
property following such a sale.

It would appear that the Petitioner
has confused a Sheriff's sale with a
mortgage foreclosure wherein under cer-
tain circumstances there does exist an
opportunity to redeem one's interest in
property which has been foreclosed upon.
Petitioner's Third Amended Complaint
fails to demonstrate how any denial of a
right to redemption following a Sheriff's
sale constitutes a violation of Petition-
er's constitutional rights to procedural

due process or equal protection as Peti-

tioner seems to be asserting in paragraph

44 of the Third Amended Complaint. In a
lower court Order dated October 25, 1985,
the court, on page 8, paragraph 1, re-
jected Petitioner's contention that she
was constitutionally required an opportu-
nity to redeem the property pursuant to
the issuance of a deed by the Sheriff.
The court ordered that paragraph 13 of
the original Complaint alleging the
existence of such a constitutional right
be stricken. Unfortunately in her Second
and Third Amended Complaints Petitioner
merely moved the allegations of former
par. 13 to other numbered paragraphs.

It should not be overlooked that
Petitioner did not assert the
unconstitutionality of Florida Statute
56.22 at any time in the state court
dissolution of marriage proceedings where
Petitioner sought to prevent the sale

from taking place and later sought to

have the sale set aside. In those pro-

ceedings Petitioner advanced other argu-
ments as to why the sale should not have
taken place. In Almon v. Sandlin, 603
F.2d 503 (5th Cir. 1979), the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals held that if a
Petitioner does not assert the unconsti-
tutionality of a state statute in the
state proceedings, he has waived his
unconstitutionality claim.? Respondents
therefore assert that this Court may not
now properly consider whether Florida
Statute 56.22 is unconstitutional as
asserted by Petitioner.

Respondents further assert that
Petitioner's claims attacking the
constitutionality of Florida constitu-
tional provisions and statutes are barred

by the doctrines of res judicata and/or

1. In Bonner v. City of Prichard,
661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (llth Cir. 1981) the
Eleventh Circuit adopted as binding
precedent all decisions of the Fifth
Circuit rendered prior to 10/1/81.

-26-

ee

collateral estoppel. Petitioner submits
that the Sheriff's sale of April 30,
1984, should be set aside as the Notice
of Sheriff's Sale is unconstitutionally
vague and because the homestead exemption
provision of Article X, Section 4 of
Florida's Constitution (which was in
effect at the time of the sale) unconsti-
tutionally discriminated against single
women who were not the head of a family.
In several prior judicial proceedings in
Florida state courts Petitioner sought to
have the Sheriff's sale of April 30,
1984, set aside. After having received
notice of the sale, but prior to it
taking place, Petitioner filed an emer-
gency motion in the Circuit Court in and
for Orange County, Florida, (Case No.
CI-83-4144) seeking to prevent the sched-
uled sale from taking place. (Par.
41(L), Third Amended Complaint (R4-102)
and Exhibit "D" attached thereto.) Saia

-27-

motion was denied on April 26, 1984.
(Exhibit "BB" of Third Amended Cos-
plaint.) Subsequent to the sale Peti-
tioner filed a notice to vacate the
Sheriff's sale of April 30, 1984. (Pars.
41(N), 57 and 58 and Exhibit "II" of
Third Amended Complaint.) Petitioner's
motion to vacate the sale was denied on
June 13, 1984. (Exhibit "JJ" to Third
Amended Complaint.)

Following the denial of her motion to
vacate the Sheriff's sale, Petitioner
filed appellate proceedings in the Fifth
District Court of Appeal, State of Flori-
da (Case No. 84-959) where she again
attacked the validity of this sale and
sought to have it set aside. The Fifth
District Court of Appeal for the State of
Florida dismissed Petitioner's appeal.
(See Count V of Petitioner's original
Complaint filed in this action.) Thus it

is clear that Petitioner, in several

previous court proceedings, unsuccessful-
ly attempted to have the Sheriff's sale
declared invalid and set aside. Peti-
tioner is therefore barred by the doc-
trines of res judicata and/or collateral
estoppel to now present such claims
attacking the validity of the sale.
Generally the doctrine of res judica-
ta bars subsequent litigation where there
is an identity of the things sued for, an
identity of action, identity of persons
and parties to the action, and an identi-
fy of the quality or capacity of the
person for or against whom the claim is
made. Amey, Inc. v. Gulf Abstract &

Title. Inc., 758 F.2d 1486 (lith Cir.
1985). However, the bar of res judicata

extends not only to the precise legal
theory presented in the previous litiga-
tion, but rather to all legal theories
and claims arising out of the same opera-
tive nucleus of facts. Olmsted v. Aamco

-29-

Qil Company, 725 F.2d 627 (llth Cir.
1984), yeh. den. 731 F.2d 891; First
Alabama Bank of Montgomery, N.A. v.
Parsons Steel, Inc., 747 F.2d 1367 (llth
Cir. 1984). The principle of res judica-
ta bars relitigation of the same claim
even where a new theory is advanced as

the basis for relief in a second suit.

United States v. Stewart, 689 F.2d 759

(8th Cir. 1982), cert. den. 103 S.Ct.
1427, 460 U.S. 1037, 75 L.Ed.2d 788. A

second action advancing a different legal
theory than was presented in the first
action, but which is based upon the same
events and injuries is barred by a final
decision in the first action where that
theory could have been argued as an
alternative or an additional ground for
recovery. Bushman v. Safeway Stores,
Inc., 608 F.Supp. 232 (D.C. Nev. 1985);
John Alden Life Insurance Company v.
Cavendes, 591 F.Supp. 362 (S.D. Fla.

-30-

1984). A plaintiff must take advantage
of an opportunity to assert all theories
against a defendant upon which she might
recover; a plaintiff should not be al-
lowed to litigate in a subsequent action
that which could have been advanced
previously. Bushman v. Safeway Stores,
Inc., supra. A final judgment is conclu-
sive not only as to the claims adjudicat-
ed, but also as to claims which could
have been adjudicated. Hence, where a
judgment on the merits is rendered in
favor of a defendant the piaintiff may
not bring a second suit based on the same

cause of action but seeking recovery on a

different theory. Herendeen v. Champion
International Corp., 525 F.2¢c 130 (2nd
Cir. 1975). A comparison of Petitioner's

attack on the validity and constitution-
ality of the Sheriff's sale made in the
Federal District Court with the above-

described previous state court proceed-

ings leaves no doubt that the Petition-
er's state court allegations and the
federal case were predicated upon the
same occurrences, events and set of
facts. Though it is true that the Third
Amended Complaint filed by Petitioner
describes the facts surrounding the
Sheriff's sale in greater detail than
would appear in the previous state court
proceedings, this does not avoid the
proper application of the doctrine of res
judicata to bar Petitioner's present
pursuit seeking to have the sale set
aside. Rosenthal v. State of Nevada, 514
F.Supp. 907 (D.C. Nev. 1981).

The lower court rejected the mutuali-
ty of parties requirement as an essential
element for the application of collateral
estovpel. Hann v. Carson, 461 F.Supp.
854 (M.D. Fla. 1978). The elimination of
the mutuality requirement for collateral

estoppel is based upon the view that once

-32-

et

a party has had a full and fair opportu-
nity to litigate a question, he ought not
to be permitted a second opportunity to
litigate the same question in the later
case simply because he has a different
adversary. Hann v. Carson, supra. Other
federal courts have also stated that a
litigant may assert collateral estoppel
even though he was not a party to a prior
suit. Cotton States Mutual Insurance
Company v. Anderson, 749 F.2d 663 (11th

Cir. 1984); Matter of Raiford, 695 F.2d
521 (llth Cir. 1983).

Though, as indicated above, a mutuaél-
ity of parties is no longer a requirement
for the application of the doctrine of
collateral estoppel, here we really are
dealing with a mutuality of parties even
though the Sheriff, Lawson Lamar, was not
named as a defendant in the prior state
court proceedings. The described state

court proceedings sought to prevent a

=-33-

sale by the Sheriff from taking place and
further sought to vacate a sale conducted
by the Sheriff and the issuance of a
Sheriff's Deed to Mrs. Simpson's half-
interest in certain real property.
Though perhaps not named as a defendant,
the Sheriff is a “silent” party and
perhaps may even be described as a real
party in interest in proceedings attack-
ing the validity of a Sheriff's sale.
All of the "identities" needed for the
application of the doctrines of res
judicata and/or collateral estoppel are
present in this case. Petitioner should
not be allowed to relitigate a claim
which was previously considered and
resolved by Florida State Courts.

In the case of Billingsley v. Sei-
bels, 433 F.Supp. 1 (N.D. Ala. 1976),
plaintiffs attacked the validity of a
deed which conveyed real property that

was foreclosed at a public improvement

-34-

sale. Claims were made in the State
court that the real estate transfer was
void under 42 U.S.C. 1983 and the due
process clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. The Alabama Supreme Court deter-
mined that the deed was valid. The
plaintiffs then filed another civil
rights action in which they sought to
have the deed declared invalid in the
Federal court. The Federal court action
involved the same real estate and many of
the same parties, though not all of the
same parties. The Federal court found
that the judgment entered in the Alabama
court barred relitigation between the
original parties of the matter adjudicat-
ed therein. However, the court went on
to find that the doctrine of collateral
estoppel could properly be asserted by
other defendants named in the Federal
court action even though they were not

parties to the State court action.

-35-

In this case, even though Sheriff
Lawson Lamar was not specifically named
as a party to the State court proceed-
ings, he may properly invoke the doctrine
of collateral estoppel and/or res judica-
ta which would prevent a relitigation of
Claims that Florida Statute 56.22 and
Article X, Section 4 of the Florida
Constitution of the State of Florida are

unconstitutional.

II.
THE PETITIONER WAS NOT PRECLUDED FROM
MAKING A BID ON HER FORMER MARITAL RESI-
DENCE AND WAS NOT DENIED SUBSTANTIVE DUE
PROCESS WHEN SHE WAS NOT ALLOWED AN
OPPORTUNITY TO REDEEM PRIOR TO FINAL
DEPRIVATION OF HER PROPERTY.

Question To is merely a reargument
of the same question presented to the
Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals. No
new authority is cited by Petitioner.

The trial court did not err in ruling
that Petitioner failed to state a cause

of action for denial of equal protection

-36-

based upon Petitioner's claim for home-
stead exemption of her half-interest in a
former marital residence.

In Count V of the Third Amended
Complaint, Petitioner sued Respondents
SIMPSON, YOUNG, GILES, HEDRICK & ROBIN-
SON, P.A., PLAUT and LAMAR, and alleged
that she had been denied her constitu-
tional right to own and hold homestead
property because "the Florida constitu-
tional provision in effect at the time of
the forced sale of her homestead disal-
lowed the forced sale of homestead of
married or single persons, but not for
single women who were heads of their own
household..." (R4-102-39).

Petitioner alleged that she had been
denied equal protection of the laws
guaranteed to her by Title 42, U.S.C.
Section 1983 and, further, had been
discriminated against on the basis of her

sex and on the basis of her being a

-37<

single head of her own family unit, in
violation of 42, U.S.C. Section 1985(3).
(R-102-39).

Article X, Section 4A of the Florida
Constitution, in effect in April of 1984,
provided that the Florida homestead
provision applied to property “owned by
the head of a family". “Head of a fami-
ly" is defined as applying to those who
are responsible, either legally or moral-
ly, for the welfare of someone else and
is based upon being able to establish
“support obligations". Edward Leasing
Corp. v. Uhlig, 652 F.Supp. 1409 (S.D.

Fla. 1987); In Re: Shorr's Estate, 409
So.2d 487 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982); Flannery

Vv. Green, 482 So.2d 400 (Fla. 2d DCA
1986).

In the trial court ruling, the court
found that the Florida homestead provi-
sion did not discriminate on the basis of

gender, which might have stated a claim

-38-

under 42 U.S.C. Section 1985(3) (R6-

194), citing Califano v. Goldfarb, supra

and Holden v. Estate of Gardner, 420
So.2d 1082 (Fla. 1982)). In Holden,

supra, the court specifically found that
the presumption that a husband is the
head of family was abrogated by the 1971
amendment to Section 61.09, Florida
Statutes. Section 61.09 of the Florida
Statutes placed a duty of support on both
spouses and has been construed as abro-
gating the presumption that the husband
is the head of family, citing Cory v.
Parks, 386 So.2d 292 (Fla. 2d DCA 1980).
Id. at 1085. Holden, supra, concluded
that the head of the family may be either
the husband or the wife.

Additionally, Florida law has held
that there can be only one head of family
and no presumption of headship goes to

the husband. In Re: Estate of Melisi,
440 So.2d 584 (Fla. 4th DCA 1983); see

also Nationwide Financia] Corp. of Colo-
rado v. Thompson, 400 So.2d 559 (Fla. ist
DCA 1981).

Petitioner argues that the November
1984 amendment to Article X of the Flori-
da Constitution has some bearing on this
case. The amendment of Article X of the
Florida Constitution had nothing to do
with correcting any class-based discrimi-
nation. The 1984 amendment changed the
term “head of family" to “a natural
person".

The amendment thus expanded the
Class of persons who can take ~
advantage of the homestead
provision and its protec-
tions.... As representative
Hawkins, who sponsored the
amendment in the House of
Representatives, explained, the
purpose of the revision was 'to
give protection against forced
sale for the homestead of a
single person, a divorced
person, any person who has a
homestead, rather than just a
head of a family.' House
Judiciary Full Committee Meet-
ing, March 29, 1983. Public

Health Trust of Dade County v.
Lopez, 531 So0.2d 946 (Fla.
1988).

-40-

The Third Amended Complaint clearly
attempted to state a cause of action for
discrimination based on sex. Under no
stretch of the facts or the law, would
the application of Article X, Section 4
result in sexual discrimination.

Petitioner states that she has shown
sufficient facts to demonstrate the
motivation from which a jury could rea-
sonable infer the existence of a conspir-
acy in violation of Title 42, U.S.C.
§1985(3).

In order to recover under 42
U.S.C. 1985(3) the Petitioner must prove:
(1) a conspiracy, (2) to deprive,
directly or indirectly, any person or
Class of persons of equal protection or a
privilege of immunity protected by law;
(3) that the conspirators committed some
act in furtherance of the conspiracy; and
(4) that the Petitioner was “injured in

his person or his property" or was

-4l-

“deprived of having and exercising any
right or privilege of a citizen of the
United States." Griffin v. Breckenridge,
403 U.S. 88, 103-104 (1971).

Thus, under either Section 1983 or
Section 1985(3) it is essential to
Petitioner's claim that she be able to
plead and prove a conspiracy between the
Respondents. The District Court has
ruled that Petitioner has done neither.
Petitioner's allegations of conspiracy
are conclusory and are not supported by
any evidence.

Count VII essentially is a restate-
ment of the allegations of Count II
regarding the sale of the Petitioner's
one-half interest in the former marital
residence. This time, instead of being
brought under Title 42 U.S.C. Section
1983, the allegations are made under 42
U.S.C. Section 1985. Again, broad alle-

gations of conspiracy are made against

Respondents. It is Petitioner's
contention that Respondents owed the
Petitioner various duties, none of which
are supported by the facts or the law.
Obviously, the interests of Respondents
Terry Young and Donald Simpson were
completely adverse to those of Petition-
er. Further, the District Court's grant-
ing summary judgment was correct given
the absence of any genuine issue of
material fact that the Respondents were,
at all times, acting in accordance with
and pursuant to valid legal process.

In order to withstand a Motion to
Dismiss, the Petitioner must assert at
least minimum support for the existence
of a conspiracy. Robinson v. McCorkle,
Supra. It is necessary that the conm-
plaint state more than allegations of
deprivation of constitutional rights.
Id. at 113. Petitioner is not entitled

to pursue an action merely because she

-43-

believes, without factual support, that a
conspiracy existed.

The District Court properly found
that Petitioner did not state a cause of
action for denial of equal protection
under either 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 or 42
U.S.C. Section 1985(3) and further prop-
erly granted the motions for summary
judgment as to Count V of the Third
Amended Complaint.

Iil.

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR IN DISMISSING
WITH PREJUDICE AND GRANTING RESPONDENT'S
MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON PETITION-
ER'S CLAIMS PREDICATED UPON ALLEGATIONS
OF UNLAWFUL ARREST AND EXCESSIVE USE OF
FORCE.

A. RESPONDENT LAMAR WAS PROPERLY
GRANTED A SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON PETITION-
ER'S 1983 AND 1985 CLAIMS OF UNLAWFUL
ARREST AS P TITIONER CONCEDED SHE HAD NO
EVIDENCE TO ESTABLISH THAT THE ALLEGED
EXCESSIVE USE OF FORCE WAS THE RESULT OF
AN OFFICIAL POLICY, STATUTE, ORDINANCE,
REGULATION OR CUSTOM OF THE SHERIFF.

In Counts IV and V of her Third
Amended Complaint (R4-102) Petitioner

incorporates by reference Count I which

includes the allegation that a deputy
sheriff used excessive force in arresting
Petitioner during a court-ordered forci-
ble entry of the Simpsons' house. The
deputy sheriff who effected the arrest of
Petitioner was Edward J. Noyes. Peti-
tioner has not sued Deputy Noyes. She
did, however, include as a defendant in
her lawsuit the Sheriff of Orange County,
Florida, Lawson Lamar. Sheriff Lamar is
sued in his official capacity. No alle-
gation is made that Respondent Lamar was
present at the time of Petitioner's
arrest; neither is there any allegation
of Lamar having personally participated

in the arrest.* As the trial court judge

2. Petitioner states at pages 52-53
of her brief that only one deputy sheriff
was present at the time of her arrest and
that such constitutes a violation of a
policy of the Orange County Sheriff's
Office which requires using two deputies

correctly pointed out to Petitioner in
her Order of July 10, 1989, Petitioner
must demonstrate that the constitution-
al deprivation was the result of a gov-
ernmental custom, policy, ordinance,
regulation or decision officially adopted
or promulgated by the Office of the
Sheriff if she is to recover against
Lamar for the actions of Deputy Noyes.
(R 6-194; Id.. at 690-691). In order to
prevail upon her claims of unlawful
arrest and the use of excessive force
during that arrest Petitioner would have
to demonstrate a causal link between an

official policy, ordinance, practice or

---Continued---

for domestic disputes. No citation to
the record on appeal in support of such
statement is made. Respondent Lamar
respectfully submits that these facts and
the policies of the Office of the Sheriff
as described by Petitioner are incorrect.

-46-

a

custom and her injuries. Byrd v. Clark,
783 F.2d 1002, 1008 (llth Cir. 1986).

In Lamar's supplement to his Motion
For Summary Judgment (R7-201) the Sheriff
sought summary judgment on Counts IV and
V of Petitioner's Third Amended Con-
plaint. Lamar asserted that summary
judgment was warranted as the affidavits
submitted in support of his supplément
indicate that the deputy sheriff who
arrested Petitioner during the forcible
entry of the Simpson house did not use
excessive force and that any alleged use
of excessive force during the arrest was
not pursuant to a custom, policy, ordi-
nance or decision adopted and promulgated
by the Office of the Sheriff. A response
filed by Petitioner attached an affidavit
of a person who was allegedly present
during the arrest, Mary Pruitt. (R7-208)
In that affidavit Ms. Pruitt suggests

that excessive force was used upon Peti-

-47-

tioner by the arresting officer. Simpson
asserted to the trial court judge that
the affidavit of Pruitt presents con-
flicting evidence during the deputy
sheriff's behavior which creates a genu-
ine issue of material fact sufficient to
withstand the Motion For Summary Judgment
filed by Defendant Lamar. However, in
her response to Lamar's supplement to his
Motion For Summary Judgment Petitioner
"concedes that she has no evidence that
{the deputy sheriff's alleged use of
excessive force] resulted from a policy
of the Sheriff of Orange County..."
(R7-208).

In Celotex Corp v. Catrett, 477 U.S.
317, 323 (1986) the United States Supreme
Court determined that summary judgment is
appropriate against a party who fails to
make a showing sufficient to establish
the existence of an element essential to

the party's case and on which that party

-48-

will bear the burden of proof at trial.
The court has further explained “that the
mere existence of some alleged factual
dispute between the parties will not
defeat an otherwise properly supported
Motion For Summary Judgment; the require-
ment is that there be no genuine issue of
material fact." Anderson v. Liberty
Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247 (1986)

(emphasis in original). The lower court
judge correctly found that though there
may be a dispute over whether- excessive
force was used, this is not sufficient to
withstand a Motion For Summary Judgment
when there is no evidence to establish
the existence of an element essential to
her case, i.e., that the alleged exces-
sive use of force was the result of an
official policy, statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom or usage. See Brown

v. City of Clewiston, 848 F.2d 1534, 1537

-49-

(llth Cir. 1988).3

B. RESPONDENTS WERE PROPERLY GRANTED
A SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON PETITIONER'S PEND-
ENT STATE LAW CLAIM OF FALSE ARREST AS
THE UNDISPUTED EVIDENCE DEMONSTRATED THAT
THERE WAS PROBABLE AND LAWFUL CAUSE FOR
THE ARREST.

In Count VIII of her Third Amended
Complaint Petitioner sued Respondents

Donald Simpson, Terry Young, Giles,

3 Affidavits of the arresting
officer, Edward J. Noyes, and of Defend-
ant Lawson Lamar were attached to Defend-
ant Lawson Lamar's Supplement To Motion
For Summary Judgment. (R7-201) Both of
those affidavits reflected that the
Office of the Orange County Sheriff did
not have a policy, procedure, practice or
custom (official or unofficial) which
permitted employees or appointees of the
Sheriff to use excessive, unreasonable or
unnecessary force in the arrest and/or
detention of persons. The Sheriff's
policies, customs, rules and regulations
prohibited a deputy from using excessive,
unnecessary or unreasonable force when
arresting or detaining a person. The
affidavits further reflect that all
deputy sheriffs such as Deputy Noyes had
received instruction on the policies of
the Office of the Sheriff. Deputies
further received from the Office of the
Sheriff instructions on the protection of
an arrestee's constitutional and civil
rights.

-50-

Hedrick & Robinson, P.A. and Lawson Lamar
for the allegedly false arrest of her on
or about October 6, 1983. Petitioner
sought to have the lower court exercise
its pendent jurisdiction over’. such
Claim. The trial court exercised its
discretionary jurisdiction over Petition-
er's false arrest claim. In her order of
July 10, 1989, United States District
Court Judge Patricia C. Fawsett concluded
that the Respondents were entitled to the
entry of a summary judgment in their
favor on Count VIII of the Third Amended
Complaint. This ruling of the trial
court judge was correct.

The unrefuted facts of record show
that the Sheriff's Office in entering
Petitioner's home acted pursuant to a
State Court Order which granted permis-
sion for forcible entry of the home
during Respondent Donald Simpson's recov-

ery of his personal property kept there.

-§l-

_

(Deposition of Petitioner 9/29/86, pg.
74; 5/2/86, pg- 102) The State Court
Order was granted after a hearing which
Petitioner attended. The Court Order
also specifically gave the Sheriff au-
thority to arrest any person who inter-
fered with the execution of the Order.
(Deposition of Petitioner 5/2/86, pg.
103). In her Third Amended Complaint
Petitioner acknowledges that she protest-
ed the taking of some items of personal
property prior to her being arrested.
She has stated that she objected to the
seizure of the items during the entry.
(Deposition of Petitioner 9/29/86, pg.
87). Petitioner further admitted during
a deposition that she had resisted ar-
rest. (Deposition of Petitioner 9/29/86,
pg. 104).

There can be no doubt but that there
was probable cause for the deputy sheriff

to arrest Petitioner. The trial court

judge properly found that there was no
evidence of record to show that Petition-
er had been falsely arrested. The Sher-
iff's deputy was executing a State Court
Order when he went to the house and
ultimately arrested Petitioner. Respond-
ents Donald Simpson and Terry Young of
Giles, Hedrick & Robinson, P.A. were
merely pursuing legal means as adver-
saries to Petitioner in a legal proceed-
ing to recover Donald Simpson's property.
The trial court judge correctly observed
that:

In essence, plaintiff is
complaining about state court
orders which divided the marital
estate and gave Defendant
[Donald) Simpson the right and
means to recover his property.
Based on the unrefuted facts of
record, summary judgment as to

Count VIII is granted in favor
of Defendants.

Iv.

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR WHEN IT HELD
THAT PETITIONER FAILED TO ADEQUATELY
PLEAD OR PROVE A CONSPIRACY BECAUSE THE
"UNDER COLOR OF STATE LAW" REQUIREMENT OF
U.S.C. §1983 HAD NOT BEEN MET.

Petitioner seeks recovery under 42
U.S.C. Section 1983. In order to recover
under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983, Petitioner
must first prove that Respondents have
deprived her of rights secured under the
constitution and laws of the United
States. Secondly, she must show that the
Respondents acted “under color of law."
Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Company, 398
U.S. 144, (1970). This requires Peti-
tioner to demonstrate that there was a
state actor or that those Respondents who
are private individuals conspired with a
state actor. See Dennis v. Sparks, 449
U.S. 24, 27-29 (1980). Private citizens
cannot be liable under Section 1983

unless they and a public official “acted

with a common understanding" or “meeting

-54-

of the minds" to deprive the Petitioner
of her constitutionally protected rights.

Hassel] _v. City of Philadelphia, 507

F.Supp. 814, 818, (E.D. PA 1981) quoting,

Augenti_ v. Cappellini, 84 F.R.D. 73, 77

(N.D. PA. 1979).

Thus, under Section 1983 it is essen-
tial to Petitioner's claim that she be
able to plead and prove a conspiracy
between the Respondents. The District
Court has ruled that Petitioner has done
neither. Petitioner's allegations of
conspiracy are conclusory and are not
supported by any evidence.

Petitioner's Third Amended Complaint
is replete with allegations of conspiracy
between Respondents and various state
court judges. The Petitioner is relying
on such allegations to provide the "under
color of state law" connection necessary
for an action under 42 U.S.C. Section

1983. All of Petitioner's allegations in

-55-

that recard depend solely on conclusory
statements that there was a conspiracy.
This does not comport-with the require-
ments for stating a cause of action under
42 U.S.C. Section 1983. "The naked
assertion of a conspiracy between a state
judge and private defendants without
supporting operative facts provides an
insufficient state action nexus for a
Section 1983 action." Phillips v. Mash-
burn, 746 F.2d. 782, 785 (1ith Cir.
1984).

A review of the Third Amended Conm-
plaint and its voluminous attachments
makes it clear that the Petitioner has
been afforded ample opportunity to seek
redress of her grievances. The instant
action which seeks to state a claim under
the Civil Rights Act is an obvious at-
tempt to use the Feder:3l Court system to
obtain a more favorable result than that

obtained in state court. In tact, Ms.

-56-

Simpson now seeks collateral review of
the state court proceedings. In short,
this proceeding is nothing more than a
complaint about the decision of state
court judges under the guise of a Section
1983 action. Federal Courts, however,
are not a forum for appealing state court
decisions. Staley v. Ledbetter, 837
F.2d. 1016, 1018 (1lith Cir. 1988).
Petitioner cannot establish a prima
facia case to support her allegations.
She is unhappy with the result of her
dissolution of marriage action and has
worked backwards from that result to spin
a web of allegations supported by nothing
more than innuendo, conjecture, and
assumptions. As the Supreme Court ob-
served in Dennis v. Sparks, supra:
"Merely resorting to the courts and being
on the winning side of a lawsuit does not
make a party a co-conspirator with the

judge."

-57<

Paragraph 12, of Count I of
Petitioner's Third Amended Complaint
alleges that Petitioner's federal
constitutional right to be heard by an
impartial judge was deprived by
“obtaining the recusal of the original
circuit judge, Richard B. Cooper, and the
reassignment of the ocriginal divorce
action to William Cc. Gridley." This
allegation suggests that Petitioner
desired to have her dissolution
proceeding resolved by a judge who was
unbiased. In fact, what Petitioner is
upset about is losing a judge she felt
was biased in favor of women. At page
122 of her April 29, 1986, deposition
(R-5-153), Mrs. Simpson testified that
she has been told “Judge Cooper was
compassionate towards women because he
had lost two wives to cancer and that
Judge Gridley was a male chauvinist.."

Thus, the only apparent basis for making

-58-

an issue of the change in judges is that
Petitioner liked Judge Cooper better than
Judge Gridley.

Petitioner's testimony on this
subject fails to reveal any basis to
support any allegation of improper
conduct on the part of Respondents
regarding the service of Judge Cooper in
the original dissolution action. At page
9 of this deposition which was taken on
April 30, 1986, Respondent Young was
asked: |

Q: Do you recall if you filed a
Motion to recuse Judge Cooper?

A: Absolutely not. There was no
grounds for that.

Q: Was that a sua sponte order?

A: If you mean that he did it on his
own motion or for some reason
that I don't know about, that is
correct. (R5-153).

Petitioner contends that she has

-59-

tried to obtain a remedy from the state
courts but has been unsuccessful in
obtaining the relief requested because of
misrepresentations made by Respondents
before the courts. Accepting this alle-
gation as true, Petitioner's Complaint
becomes one of misuse or abuse of legal
process which is not a basis for a claim
under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983. See E. G.
McDougald v. Jenson, 786 F.2d. 1465,

1488-98 (llth Cir. 1986), cert. denied,
479 U.S. 860 (1986) which cites the

general rule in the Eleventh Circuit that
a private individual does not act under
color of state law by engaging in litiga-
tion, even in bad faith, unless that
individual is compelled by state law to
bring suit or is acting under the author-
ity or pretense of authority of the
state.

Count II of Petitioner's Third Amend-

ed Complaint seeks relief under 42 U.S.C.

-60-

Section 1983 and focuses on a series of
events which led to Donald Simpson pur-
chasing the Petitioner's one-half inter-
est in the marital residence. Paragraph
40 of Count II alleges that Respondents
"did act in collaboration or jointly and
under color of law of the State of Flori-
da to deprive the Petitioner of her
rights, privileges and immunities secured
to her under the United States Constitu-
tion and its laws ..." These allegations
are of the broadest nature and are unsup-
ported by the evidence.

The truth of the matter is that it
was Petitioner's own actions and
omissions which led to her husband,
Donald Simpson, being in a position to
purchase the marital residence. During
her deposition of April 30, 1986, (R5-
153), Petitioner was asked:

Q: You will agree with me, that

you were fully aware that there

-61-

was going to be a sale between
11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. on the
30th of April of that house?

A: Yes.

Again at page 45 of her deposition taken
on May 2, 1986, (R5-153), Mrs. Simpson
was asked:

Q: Before the Sheriff's sale you
knew that the sale was going to
take place between the hours of
11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

A: Uh-umn.

Q: Did you not?

A: Yes.

There is no credible testimony to
implicate Respondents in wrongdoing re-
garding Donald Simpson's purchase of
Petitioner's one-half interest in the
house. Petitioner's misapprehension of
the terms cf the Sheriff's sale is not
Respondents' fault. It is evident that

Petitioner does not understand what a

-62-

conspiracy is and has no facts to back up
her allegations. Terry Young only found
out about the Sheriff's Sale by coinci-
dence when his secretary saw the notice
in the paper. (R5-153) Deposition
testimony reveals that Mr. Young did not
participate in the sale.

In short, Petitioner is not entitled
to pursue an action merely because she
believes, without factual support, that a
conspiracy existed. Therefore the Dis-
trict Court correctly dismissed and
granted summary judgment of Petitioner's

Claims under 42 USC §1983.

-63-

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the Peti-
tion for Writ of Certiorari should be

denied.

Respectfully submitted,

William G. Osborne, Esquire Tanya M. Plaut, Esquire
538 East Washington Street 506 Mariposa Street

Orlando, Florida 32801 Orlando, Florida 32801

(407) 843-5211 (407) 425-6610

Attorney for Respondent, Attorney for Respondent,
Donald Simpson Tanya Plaut

Lavinia Dierking, Esquire Jeffrey M. Fleming, Esquire

1l East Pine Street Post Office Box 3427

Orlando, Florida 32801 Orlando, Florida 32802

(407) 425-1802 (407) 849-6459

Attorneys for Respondents, Terry C. Young
and Giles, Hedrick & Robinson, P.A.

Jeffrey G. Slater, Esquire James W. Glatt, Esquire

605 East Robinson Street 111 North Orange Avenue
Orlando, Florida 32801 Suite 2000
(407) 425-4251 Orlando, Florida 32801
Attorney for Respondent, (407) 841-7000

Lawson Lamar, Sheriff Attorney for Respondent,

of Orange County, Florida Minnie Bridges

-64-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1712%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
