# Amicus Curiae Brief — R. R. Donnelley & Sons Co. v. Prevost

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1629%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 947

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

No. 90-1249 MAR 11 199]
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

R. R. DONNELLEY & SONS COMPANY,
Petitioner,
Vv.

JUDY PREVOST et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MANUFACTURERS
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Jan S. Amundson
General Counsel
*Quentin Riegel
Deputy General Counsel
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
MANUFACTURERS
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20004-1703
(202) 637-3058
* Counsel of Record

March 11, 1991

TABLE OF CONTENTS

pp a. a err il
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ............. 2
SUREMEAS Cl ARUIUMIIINE 2. wc te ees 3
PEE 6 Nae he ka 5 We ee Ae O28 ee 4

I. The Second Circuit Decision Is At Odds
With This Court’s Decision in Shaw. ...... 4

II. The Connecticut Statute Exemplifies Only a
Portion of the Broad Exception Created by
eee tet 5 lak he ee) 6

III. There Will Be Pressure for Other States to
Bupgen ERISA PROMS 2. ww tt tt es 7

IV. Statutes Like Connecticut’s Create Intolerable
Administrative Problems.............. 8

V. The Connecticut Law Subjects Employers
Op TE GS kg ee ek eee es 10

ee eee ee eee eee eee ee ee ears 11

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504

908 oe SSS eee ee 9
FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 111 S. Ct. 403 (1990)... 8
Forkas v. International Silver Co., 100 Conn.

es eee 10
Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. |

NE ka es ke oe Re ea 8,9
Greenwood v. Luby, 105 Conn. 398 (1926)... . . 10
Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts,

eee ee 7 ee eee 8

Northern Group Services, Inc. v. Auto Owners Ins.
Co., 833 F.2d 85 (6th Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 486 U.S. 1017 (1988)........... 8
Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41

CORE & aye ecko aes ee aes 8
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85

CRUE a uae oe ae ee ee eee a 5,6,7,8

R.R. Donnelley & Sons Co. v. Prevost,
915 F.26 767 Ge Ce. TD) . wc es 5

STATUTES

Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code § 2627 (West 1986) ..... 7

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 31-284b(a)
re Oe ee ae wa 4,6

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 31-307 (West 1987) ... 10

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 31-308(a) & (d)
I. SC el 10

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
Pub. L. 98-369, § 4(b)(3), codified at 29

Ee pe lk 5,6
Haw. Rev. Stat. § 392-21 (1985)............ 7
N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 43:21-29 & 43:21-37 (West

a 7
N.Y. Work. Comp. Law § 204 (McKinney 1965 &

TEE a 7

OTHER AUTHORITIES

J. Asselin, The Connecticut Workers’ Compensation
ae ge), Tee 10

No. 90-1249

IN THE
Siuprenwe Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1990

R. R. DONNELLEY & SONS COMPANY,
Petitioner,
Vv.

JUDY PREVOST et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MANUFACTURERS
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

The National Association of Manufacturers of the United
States of America ("NAM"), with the consent of the parties, ;
files this brief as amicus curiae in support of the petitioner.’

‘Letters of consent are on file with the Clerk. Counsel for

Respondents indicated receipt of the corrected version of the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari on February 7, 1991. This brief is timely if filed on
or before March 11, 1991, under Rule 15.2.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

NAM is a non-profit voluntary business association of
approximately 12,500 manufacturing and related business
concerns. Its members employ approximately 85 percent of
all workers in the nation’s manufacturing sector and produce
more than 80 percent of the nation’s manufactured goods.
As employers, NAM’s members provide a wide range of
employee benefits under benefit plans that are regulated by
the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
("ERISA"), and each company is directly affected by state
laws that interfere with those plans and the ability of the
company to offer them to employees.

NAM believes that private employee benefit plans with
their inherent flexibility to adapt to the almost infinite variety
of requirements of different employees and employers should
be encouraged to grow and prosper by favorable government
policies and practices. State laws and regulations, if not
properly constrained, can curtail the significant contribution
that such plans make to both individual economic security
and the entire economy, and can substantially interfere with
the competitive position of a company both in selling its
products and in attracting a quality work force.

This case involves whether Connecticut can require
employers that provide benefits under ERISA benefit plans to
make those benefits available to former employees long after
those employees have left the company. Employers without
employee benefit plans are under no similar compulsion.
Thus, if not reversed the ruling of the court below will not
only compound the financial and administrative burdens on
companies that provide ERISA benefit plans, but also will
touch off a flurry of activity in legislatures around the
country to dramatically expand eligibility for ERISA plans

- that are currently in effect.

NAM believes that this brief will offer the Court a
unique perspective that underscores the need for a review of
the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Connecticut statute being challenged in this case
requires employers who sponsor employee welfare benefit
pians to provide "equivalent" coverage to all employees,
including former employees, who are eligible for or are
receiving workers’ compensation in Connecticut. This
mandate under Connecticut law can continue for the life of
the employee. The statute requires that employee welfare
benefits be provided to a larger eligible group and for a
longer period of time than the employer envisioned when it
established the plans, and gives a free ride to residents of
Connecticut who happen to work for companies that provide
employee welfare benefits through ERISA plans.

This free ride can have a significant effect on the internal
costs faced by a company, thus affecting the competitiveness
of the company, the viability of the employer’s welfare
benefit plans, and the variety and amount of benefits offered
to employees around the country. The Connecticut law
bootstraps a larger population into coverage under an
employer’s ERISA plan, forcing companies to consider
reining in company-wide ERISA benefits to satisfy the
supplementary requirements of Connecticut law. Congress
adopted the broadly-worded ERISA preemption provision to
prevent this kind of back-door mandated benefits tactic.

This issue is Of paramount importance for several

4

reasons. In itself, this case involves substantial company
liability under Connecticut law. The Second Circuit’s
epinion, if unchecked, could expose all employer-provided
ERISA plans to substantial supplementary eligibility
requirements under state laws around the country. The
opinion misreads the limited exception of this Court’s Shaw
decision, and threatens to allow states to require free rides on
all sorts of benefit plans under the guise of state workers’
compensation, unemployment compensation and disability
insurance law. ERISA benefits of many kinds that are
routinely provided by employers, such as life insurance,
health insurance and pensions will be affected by the
approach taken by Connecticut’s legislature.

ARGUMENT

I. THE SECOND CIRCUIT DECISION IS AT ODDS
WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN SHAW

The State of Connecticut adopted the workers’ compen-
sation statute being challenged in this case to ensure that
employees injured on the job continue to receive accident and
health insurance or life insurance benefits they were receiving
while working. The law requires employers that sponsor
employee welfare benefit plans to provide “equivalent”
coverage to all employees who are eligible to receive or are
receiving workers’ compensation benefits in Connecticut.’

The Second Circuit held that such a law relates to
ERISA plans and is preempted unless the law is saved from

*CONN. GEN. STAT. ANN. § 31-284b(a) (West 1987).

5

preemption by 29 U.S.C. § 1003(b)(3).° That court also
held, purportedly in accordance with this Court’s ruling in
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983), that the
Connecticut law is saved from premption because a Connec-
ticut employer could create a separate injured employee’s
plan as an "extension" of its ERISA plan designed solely for
the purpose of complying with the Connecticut law.*

The Shaw case involved a state requirement that
employers pay specified disability benefits, i.e., $95 per week
or one-half of the employee’s weekly wages, to cligible
employees. This mandated benefit was imposed regardless of
whether the employer had an ERISA plan. This Court ruled
that since the state could mandate this specific benefit to be
provided separately from the employer’s ERISA plan, the
employer could, at its own option, just as well incorporate
the benefit into its ERISA plan.’

However, in the instant case, Connecticut is not mandat-
ing a specified benefit; rather, it demands that benefits under
existing employee benefit plans, if any, be made available to
"employees" as they are defined under Connecticut workers’
compensation law. These benefits could range from complete
health care and life insurance coverage all the way down to
nothing. Thus, Connecticut does not specify an across-the-
board benefit that is independent of benefits available under
the employer’s ERISA plan. The Second Circuit misread
Shaw to allow states to mandate the extension of ERISA
benefits to unemployed workers. In reality, Shaw allows

915 F.2d 787, 791-92, Pet. App. at A9-10.

‘Id. at 793, Pet. App. at A13.

“Id.

6

ERISA plans to incorporate otherwise legitimate state-
mandated benefits into them, thus easing the administration
of mandated benefits by employers. The Second Circuit’s
interpretation of Shaw is clearly at odds with that opinion and
should be reviewed.

Il. THE CONNECTICUT STATUTE EXEMPLIFIES
ONLY A PORTION OF THE BROAD EXCEPTION
CREATED BY THE SECOND CIRCUIT

ERISA benefits that are routinely provided by employ-
ers and that are expressly drawn into the state’s workers’
compensation requirement include accident, health and life
insurance.° Connecticut, or any other state, might also
mandate that other ERISA benefits, such as pension benefits,
be continued for all persons eligible for workers’ compensa-
tion. Thus, even though Connecticut is concerned only with
health, accident and life insurance, a state law could attach
itself to all kinds of ERISA benefits.

In addition, although the Connecticut statute under
review only involves benefits under a workers’ compensation
law, the language of Section 4(b)(3) of ERISA exempting
certain benefit plans encompasses plans maintained solely to
comply with unemployment compensation or disability
insurance laws as well. Thus, the Second Circuit’s ruling
could allow a state to require companies to provide similar
benefits to unemployed workers without running afoul of
ERISA. Similarly, in those states where disability insurance

“CONN. GEN. STAT. ANN. § 31-284b(a) (West 1987).

J

laws provide benefits,’ employers could face similar obliga-
tions to provide ERISA benefits to eligible residents.
Whether Congress intended for states to be able to free-ride
on ERISA plans for these purposes is a fundamental issue in
benefits law, and this case presents a proper vehicle for
further resolution of how such laws should be interpreted.

lil, THERE WILL BE PRESSURE FOR OTHER
STATES TO BURDEN ERISA PLANS

The Second Circuit’s ruling may encourage expansive
legislative activity in other states. It can certainly be
expected that other states will feel considerable pressure to
keep the burden of dramatically increasing health-care costs
on employer-funded plans. They will also feel an obligation
from constituents to provide benefits comparable to those of
other states. Thus, because Connecticut’s statute has been
validated by a United States court of appeals, other states are
likely to move ahead in this area. Legal challenges to these
new statutes can be expected to take the time and resources
of all affected, and this Court’s intervention at this point
would be quite positive in defining the limits on this activity.

The Shaw case itself involved benefits for disabilities arising from
nonoccupational injuries and illnesses, rather than workers’ compensation
benefits. See 463 U.S. 85, 89 (1983). Several states currently have
similar disability benefits laws that might be amended to provide benefits
based on ERISA plans. See, e.g., CAL. UNEMP. INS. CODE § 2627
(West 1986); Haw. REv. STAT. § 392-21 (1985); N.J. STAT. ANN.
§§ 43:21-29 & 43:21-37 (West 1962 & Supp. 1990); N.Y. Work.
Comp. LAW § 204 (McKinney 1965 & Supp. 1991).

8

IV. STATUTES LIKE CONNECTICUT’S CREATE
INTOLERABLE ADMINISTRATIVE PROBLEMS

As this Court recognized in Shaw, "[o]bligating the
employer to satisfy the varied and perhaps conflicting re-
quirements of particular state fair employment laws . . .
would make administration of a nationwide plan more dif-
ficult."" This in turn would produce "considerable ineffi-
ciencies in benefit program operation, which might lead those
employers with existing plans to reduce benefits, and those
without such plans to refrain from adopting them.’

Congress adopted the ERISA preemption provision to
prevent this kind of back-door attempt to regulate core
ERISA concerns.” Because congressional intent is
fundamental in any analysis of preemption,’ the Second
Circuit should have considered the clear purpose of the
conspicuously broad preemption provision as reflected in fhe
legislative history.'° This Court has regularly repeated Con-
gress’s intent to establish a uniform administrative scheme for
employee benefit plans, and it looks askance at any law that

"463 U.S. at 105 n.25.
*Fort Halifax Packing Co. v Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 11 (1987).

See Northern Group Services, Inc. v. Auto Owners Ins. Co., 833
F.2d 85, 91-95 (6th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1017 (1988). Cf.
Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1987) ("the express
preemption provisions of ERISA are deliberately expansive, and designed
to ‘establish pension plan regulation as exclusively a federal concern.’”)

'' Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 747
(1985).

'2See FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 111 $. Ct. 403, 407 (1990).

9

requires a plan to keep certain records in some states but not
in others, to make certain benefits available in some states
but not in others, or to process claims in a certain way in
some states but not in others."

This Court rejected a state law that prohibited offsetting
worker compensation payments against pension benefits
because the law would require the employer to devise and
operate a system for processing claims and paying benefits
with different formulae in different states." The case at bar
involves a state requirement for maintaining benefits and
processing claims with the same resulting interstate inconsis-
_tencies.

Many employers offer a variety of health benefit
options, such as a selection of health maintenance organiza-
tions (HMOs) or other group insurance plans, each with
different costs, benefits and requirements. In order for a
company to comply with Connecticut’s law by establishing "a
separately administered plan,” it would have to look not to
specific benefits mandated by Connecticut law, but rather to
the terms of its own plan or plans. Any change in an
existing ERISA plan would trigger an obligation to amend a
separate plan to provide “equivalent” benefits. For example,
if an employer lowered the deductible amount in an ERISA
plan one year, the change could lead to liability if the
employer does not provide equivalent coverage in its separate
plan. In another year, if the employer changed the per-
centage of the premium paid by the employees, a similar
change must be made in its separate plan. If the company

"Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. i, 9 (1987).

'4Id. at 10 (discussing Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S.
504 (1981)).

10

should then alter a plan’s requirement relating to second
medical opinions for surgery, it must then make sure that
every separately administered plan established under state law
requirements provide equivalent benefits.

Litigation over whether changes in benefits were provid-
ed, whether changes were made, and whether they were in
fact "equivalent" will mean that a separate plan is not in fact
practical. This problem is compounded by the possibility that
fifty states could adopt comparable statutes, and "equivalent"
plans set up in each state would all have to be modified
whenever there is a change in an employer's ERISA plan.
This is exactly the result Congress intended to prevent.

V. THE CONNECTICUT LAW SUBJECTS EMPLOY-
ERS TO SUBSTANTIAL COSTS

If this decision is a proper reading of the exception to
the general rule that state laws relating to ERISA plans are
preempted, it will have a substantial impact both in Connec-
ticut and around the country. In Connecticut, workers are
eligible to receive certain workers’ compensation benefits for
life.’ Thus, an employer has to provide its regular ERISA
plan benefits to workers that may have long since left the
workforce. This requirement will clearly have a significant
impact on all companies, both large and small.

'S Conn. GEN. STAT. ANN. §§ 31-308(a), (d) & 31-307 (West 1987)
(eligibility for partial incapacity for up to 780 weeks; eligibility for total
incapacity limited only to the period of incapacity); J. Asselin, The
Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Practice Manual 126 (1985). See
Forkas y. International Silver Co., 100 Conn. 417 (1924); Greenwood
v. Luby, 105 Conn. 398, 400 (1926).

This statute can have a significant effect on the internal
costs faced by a company, thus affecting the competitiveness
of the company, the viability of the employer’s welfare
benefit plans, and the company’s willingness to bear the
added risk arising out of the presence of a workforce in
Connecticut. The Connecticut law bootstraps a larger popula-
tion into coverage under an employer’s ERISA plan for a
longer period of time, forcing companies to consider reining
in company-wide ERISA benefits to satisfy the supplementary
requirements of Connecticut law. Moreover, because costs
per worker are increased, companies may be forced to reduce
these costs by laying workers off, or not hiring new workers,
or by reducing other benefits. Therefore, these benefits will
not necessarily raise the welfare of workers as a whole, but
may even have the opposite effect.

The statute also gives a free ride to residents of Con-
necticut who happen to work for companies that provide
employee welfare benefits through ERISA plans. This free
ride occurs when state residents benefit from eligibility
criteria, mandated by the state government, that take ad-
vantage of contributions made to the plan either by employees
outside the state or by the company as a whole.

In short, the Second Circuit’s ruling will legitimize the
power of a state to require that ERISA plan benefits be made
available to an extent far exceeding the expectations of plan
sponsors, trustees or beneficiaries.

CONCLUSION
The Supreme Court should take this opportunity to

provide states, employers and employees with a decision that
clearly limits the extent to which ERISA plan benefits may be

12

expanded by state law. If states are allowed to freely roam
among ERISA-governed employee benefits programs under
the guise of workers’ compensation law, an important
national policy promoting the development of wide-ranging
benefits packages will be seriously distorted and undermined.
This could cause a retrenchment in the breadth and level of
employee benefits at a time when international and domestic
competition, recessionary pressures and the impact of health
care costs are so strong.

We urge that the petition for a writ of certiorari be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Jan S. Amundson

General Counsel
*Quentin Riegel

Deputy General Counsel

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
MANUFACTURERS

1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20004-1703
(202) 637-3058

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1629%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
