# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Boatner v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1570%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 1091

## Text

90-1189,

Number

IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 19 _

NATHAN BOATNER
Petitioner
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
FREDERICK C NIELSEN, ROSEMARY BOWEN, AND
DOES ONE THROUGH TWENTY FIVE INCLUSIVE

Respondents

On A Writ Of Certiorairi
To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

Petition For Certiorari--Civil Rights

Nathan Boatner, Attorney
445 South Figueroa Street, 26th Floor
Los Angeles, California, 90071
(213) 489-6871
Pro Se

i
Preliminary Matter
Questions presented

1) Should a party be pemitted to
file an amended complaint when no
responsive pleading was filed in the
District Court and the party alleges that
there is a factual basis for a claim for
which relief can be granted.

The District Court ruled No. This is
affirmed by the Court Of Appeals. All
case law, however, holds this to be
error. Nolen v Fitzharris 450 F.2d 958
(CA9, 1971)

2) Does an IRS agent have unlimited,
unchecked, absolute power over the
economic affairs of a taxpayer so that a
United States taxpayer has no legal
defense to any act of an agent of the IRS

however, egregious.

ii

The District Court ruled yes.
Affirmed by the Court Of Appeals. The
Supreme Court has not specifically
answered this guestion in its decisions.
Bothke v Flour 713 F.2d 1405 (CA9, 1983)
the opinion of which was summarily
vacated without explanation at 468 U.S.
1201, 104 S.Ct. 3566, 82 L.Ed.2d 867.

3) Is there a basis for an attorney
at law to recover attorney's fees as
costs from the sovereign if a suit
against the sovereign is successful even
if the suit is based on alleged wrongful
acts of an agent of the IRS.

The Courts have not clearly answered

this question.

a. ee ee he ee

iii
Parties
The parties to this petition are

listed in the caption of this case.

Contents
Questions Presented . ‘ i
Parties . ° iii
Contents . . iii
Authorities : . vi

Petition For Certiorari--

Civil Rights A ‘ l
Decisions Below . : 2
Jurisdiction ° . 2

Constitutional Provision And

Statutes Involved ° ° 2
Statement ° ° 3
Reasons For Granting The Writ . 9
Summary Of The Argument ‘ 12
Argument ° . 14

te, A RR, a

iv
Point 1
A Party Should Be Able To
File An Amended Complaint As A
Matter Of Right If No Responsive
Pleading Has Been Filed 13
Point 2
A Claim For Relief Based
On Bad Faith Can Be Stated
Against The United States
Pursuant To 26 U.S.C. 7433
Or In The Alternative 42 U.S.C.
1983 When The Bad Faith Rises
To The Level Of Constitutional
Denial Of Due Process 24
Point 3
A Party Should Be Able
To Recover Reasonable Attorney;s
Fees From The United States
If Successful In A Suit Against
An IRS Agent Or Based On Actions
Of An IRS Agent ° 34

Conclusion . . 24

Appendix

Court Of Appeals Decision

United States Constitution

Amendment V

26 U.S.C.
26 U.S.C.
26 U.S.C.
26 U.S.C.
28 U.S.C.

42 U.8.c.

6532
7422
7430
7433
2412

1983

Vv

APPENDIX

vi
AUTHORITIES Page
Cases:

Bothke v Flour
713 F.2d 1405 (1983) ii,10,11

Butz v Economou
438 U.S. 478 (1978) > 20

GM Leasing v United States
429 U.S. 338 (1977) . 21

Life Science v IRS
525 F.Supp. 399 (a981) ° 20

Nolen v Fitzharris
450 F.2d 958 (1971) » bedeae

Orloaff v Cleveland
708 F.2d 372 (1983) . 17

Parratt v Taylor
451 U.S. 527 . 17

Starbuck v City and County
556 F.2d 450 (1977) - 19,20

United States v McPherson
840 F.2d 244 (1988) ‘ 23

Statutes, Rules:

26 U.S.C. 7430 . 23
26 U.S-C. 7433 15,22
28 U.S.C. 1254(1) . 2
28 U.S.C. 1257(3) - (10,11
42 U.S.C. 1983 - 15,22

Rule 12, F.R.Civ.P. : 3

vii
Rule 10, Supreme Court 12
/

a < F é ; . —

e ROCKS ERS 8 a
ae ef pasty | omg Tue BY atus |

-
c?
ba
~
¢
-
a
pa wt
&
4
é

IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 19 _

NATHAN BOATNER
Petitioner
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
FREDERICK C NIELSEN, ROSEMARY BOWEN, AND
DOES ONE THROUGH TWENTY FIVE INCLUSIVE

Respondents

Petition For Certiorari--Civil Rights

Nathan Boatner, Attorney
445 South Figueroa Street, 26th Floor
Los Angeles, California, 90071
(213) 489-6871
Pro Se

1

Decisions Below

On September 25, 1989, the District
Court for the Central District Of
California dismissed the complaint in
this case with prejudice in a decision
that was not reported. (R 147) The
judgment of the Court Of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit was filed and entered
September 6, 1999, and is not reported.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit was made and
entered on September 6, 1990 and a copy
thereof is appended to this petition in
the Appendix. Rehearing was not sought.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1)

Constitutional Provision And

Statutes Involved

1) The Fifth Amendment to the United

States Constitution and

f
2

2) The following statutes 26 U.S.C.
Sec. 6532; 26 U.S.C. Sec. 7422; 26 U.S.C.
Sec. 7430; 26 U.S.C. Sec. 7433; 28 U.S.C.
Sec. 2412; and 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983.

All of the above are included
verbatim in the appendix to this
petition.

Statement

On May 15, 1989, your plaintiff
filed a complaint against the United
States and two employees of the Internal
Revenue Service. (R 14) On July 10, 1989,
the defendants filed a notice of motion
and memorandum for dismissal of the
complaint pursuant to Rule 12(b)(1), Rule
12(b) (2), and Rule 12 (b) (6) of the
F.R.Civ.P. (R 81) Your plaintiff filed a
memorandum in oppositon to the motion for
dismissal on August 23, 1989. (R 110)
Defendants filed reply papers on
September 6, 1989. (R 133) After hearing

on September 11, 1989, the Court

dismissed the complaint with prejudice
and an order was filed September 26,
1989. (R 142) A notice of appeal was
timely filed on October 6, 1989. (R 145)

After appeal to the Circuit Court
the decision of the trial Court was in
all respects, affirmed in a Memorandum
Decision. A copy of the decision is
appended hereto.

The complaint alleges that District
Director Frederick Nielsen has contrived
an artifice or scheme to obtain payment
of additional taxes from United States
citizens without regard for whether the
taxpayer actually owes any additional
taxes or not. (R 19)

This artifice or scheme involves (1)
establishing of a quota of at least
$2,500 additional taxes per audit for
each IRS agent (R 19); making such
burdensome, oppressive, and costly
demands on the taxpayer without any

4

Substantial justification so that the
taxpayer would gladly pay the IRS
additional taxes just to avoid the
burdensome and oppressive demands of the
IRS agent (R 19 te 20); and to otherwise
harass the taxpayer so that additional
taxes could be collected whether actually
owed the United States or not. (R19,
et esq)

In furtherance of the artifice or
scheme of the District Director agent
Rosemary Bowen (1) disallowed substantial
expenses of your plaintiff without any
known reason or explanation; (2) the
Subsequent protest to the IRS and the
internal appeal at the IRS was totally
ignored by the IRS; (3 sent a 90 day
letter claiming unpaid taxes that
automatically would go to a lien against
your plaintiff; and (4) noticed another
audit for another two years under the
same conditions with considerably more

5

oppressive and burdensome demands for
evidence production to your plaintiff so
as to result in the total financial ruin
of your plaintiff without any factual or
any legal basis, and without any
explanation to your plaintiff. (R 23 to
24)

In the memorandum in oppostion to
the motion to dismiss the complaint, your
plaintiff admits that the complaint is
not well pleaded and that the complaint
is largely based on an error of law as to
running of the statute of limitations on
the claim’ of the IRS. (R110) However,
your plaintiff asked the Court for leave
to amend (R 110, et seq)

In the opposition memorandum it was
set forth in detail that agent Rosemary
Bowen is making a clearly false and
fraudulent claim against your plaintiff
for the 1985 tax year (R116) For one
thing she claims the tax return was not

6

timely filed but the tax return for 1985
(Exhibit 11, R 125) was filed timely
pursuant to an automatic extension of
time to file (R 123) (Exhibit 10) (R 118)
This caused your plaintiff to have to pay
the IRS $8,939 on or about August 17,
1989 (R118) (Exhibit 15)

It is further explained that the IRS
representatives have yet to even offer to
explain to your plaintiff why all of this
is being done by the IRS and why your
plaintiff is forced to pay at least
$8,939 to the IRS none of which is
actually owed. (R116) And that this is
just the tip of the iceberg of what the
IRS is doing to myself, your plaintiff.
(R 116 to 117) At the hearing on the
motion to dismiss your plaintiff argued
to the Court that it is the policy in the
9th Circuit that when the Court dismisses
a complaint pursuant to Rule 12,
F.R.Civ.P. the dismissal should be

7

2 Marie omnes

without prejudice. (R 8) Your plaintiff
argued that the United States has all
along acted in the most abject bad faith
(R 10) the IRS agent totally fabricated
the iain for taxes due for 1985 (R10),
and clearly the complaint can be amended
to state a cause of action against the
defendants (Rll).

The attorney for the United States
argued that the complaint should be
dismissed with prejudice and that
sanctions should be imposed on your
Plaintiff for filing the suit. (R10 to
11)

The principal argument of the
defendants seems to be that an agent of
the IRS should be permitted to do
anything necessary to force a taxpayer
such as your plaintiff to pay large
additional amounts to the IRS dependant
only on the amount demanded by the IRS
agent, regardless of the facts and

8

applicable law; and that your plaintiff
should be denied access to the District
Court and should be denied any
explanation whatsoever by the IRS and the
United States. And that your plaintiff
should be sanctioned for believing that
there is anything wrong with being
defrauded by the agent with the
fraudulent claim for at least $8,939 in
unpaid taxes; and that the agent or
someone should at least give your
plaintiff an explanation of the basis of
the agent's claim; and certainly your
plaintiff is not entitled to any
meaningful hearing on the claim for
relief (R11 to 12)

Reasons For Granting The Writ

1) In Nolen v Fitzharris 450 F.2d
958 (CA9, 1971) the Circuit Court held.
that a party may amend a pleading as a
matter of right at any time before a
responsive pleading is served and a

9

nes bien bd Pettit

9h eae oh Bled

atest its itn hts Lele

motion to dismiss is not a_ responsive
pleading within the meaning of the
Federal Rules Of Civil Procedure. In the
present case the District Court dismissed
the couplaint without leave to amend
prior to a responsive pleading being
filed at complete variance with all known
case law. There is no known Supreme
Court case on this issue, so that the
Court may grant the writ to review this
matter pursuant to Supreme Court Rule
10(1) (a) or pursuant to the provisions of
28 U.S.C. 1257(3).

2) The Supreme Court has not decided
what legal rights, defenses, or the like,
if any, can be invoked by an aggrieved
taxpayer in defense to alleged egregious,
perphaps completely uncivilized behavior
of an IRS agent. In Bothke v Flour 713
F.2d1405 (CA9, 1983) the Circuit Court
For The Ninth Circuit set forth
guidelines for behavior of any government

10

agent, even an agent of the IRS, and the
Supreme Court summarily vacated the
decision in Bothke at 468 U.S. 1201, 104
S.Ct. 3566, 82 L.Ed.2d 867 so there are
no legal guidelines for using the legal
system to derend against completely
uncivilized behavior of an IRS agent.
This may be an important question of
federal law that the Supreme Court could
clarify for the taxpayers of the United
States at this time pursuant to Rule
10(1) (c) of the Supreme Court and 28
U.S.C. 1257(3)

3) The conditions under which a
party may, if at all, recover reasonable
attorney's fees if successful in
litigation with the United States
involving behavior of an IRS agent is not
clear in that no one really knows’ what
legal defense, if any, is available
against uncivilized behavior of an_ IRS
agent, so it is not possible to determine

ll

ini tse ne hes

what law is applicable to this question
Or issue so the Court may grant the writ
on this issue again pursuant to the
provisions of Rule 10(1)(c) and 28 U.S.C.
1257(3)
Summary Of The Argument

If the dictionary definition of a
slave being that a slave is one
completely under the dominance of another
is true then all of the taxpayers of the
United States are slaves of each and
every agent of the IRS at the present
time because of congressional fiat and
lack of any case authority to the
contrary. Since the most uncivilized
behavior of an IRS agent is also the
most cost effective behavior assuming
that the taxpayer does not do anything
to defend against the uncivilized
behavior of an IRS agent, the present
well known trend for IRS agents to behave
in a more and more uncivilized manner can
only be expected to continue, even

12

accelerate unless this Court at least
theoretically prohibits certain specific
uncivilized behavior of IRS agents.

The facts of this case present to
the Court proof of all the well known
political maxims such as “you cannot
legislate morality" and “absolute power
corrupts absolutely" and the like.

The behavior of the [IRS agent in
the present case is so uncivilized and
egregious that the agent is. practically
begging this Court to proscribe such
behavior in order to promote the concept
that our society is at least civilized.

In the present matter this Court is
being asked to rule at least that an IRS
agent mus t at the very least
explain the factual basis and the
applicable legal basis for depriving a
taxpayer of his or her property in order
to comply with Constitutional due process
and good faith requirements. This might
seem to be an illusory request in that a

13

ee a ee eee

false claim for additional taxes could
eaSily be based on a false premise.
However, the alternative is to give
absolute dominion and power to an _ IRS
agent over the economic affairs of every
United States taxpayer, and it is
submitted that this would be indeed a
dangerous precedent for this Court to set.

It is submitted that we cannot live
in a civilized country where one class of
persons such as IRS agents have absolute
dominion and power over another class of
persons, the taxpayers of the Untied
States.

Argument
Point 1
A Party Should Be Able To File An

Amended Complaint As A Matter Of Right
If No Responsive Pleading Has Been Filed

There is no known Supreme Court case
dealing with this issue, but in Nolen v
Pitzharris 450 F2d. 958 (CA9, 1971) it

14

was held that a party does indeed have a
right to amend the complaint once prior
to a responsive pleading being filed.
This appears to be good law but in the
present case the District Court dismissed
the complaint without leave to amend
prior to any responsive pleading being
filed. Perphaps the Supreme Court will
rule on this issue.
Point 2
A Claim For Relief Based On
Bad Faith Can Be Stated Against

The United States Pursuant To 26 U.S.C. 74

Or In The Alternative 42 U.S.C. 1983

When The Bad Faith Rises To The Level
Of Constitutional Denial Of Due Process

New 26 USC 7433 states in pertinent

part:

If, in connection with any
collection of Federal tax with
respect to a taxpayer, any officer
Or employee of the Internal Revenue

15

133

Service recklessly or intentionally
disregards any provision of this
title, or any regulation promulgated
under this title, such taxpayer may
bring a civil action for damages
against the United States in a
district court of the United States.
As an issue of first impression your
plaintiff submits that any employee of
the Internal Revenue Service who
violates fundamental principles of due
process of law in the assessment and
collection of taxes by such conduct comes
within the meaning of this statute which
proscribes actions that "recklessly Or
intentionally disregard the law”. It is
further submitted that so called actions
in bad faith could well be actions that
deprive the taxpayer of any semblance of
due process of law within the meaning of
26 U.S.C. 7433. Using California
Insurance Code Section 790.03(h) as a

16

- a

guide your plaintiff submits that a cause
of action may be stated pursuant to 26.
USC 7433 for any or the following acts:

Failure of an employee of the IRS
to provide promptly a reasonable
explanation of the basis relied on, in
relation to the facts or applicable law,
for a claim for tax deficiency.

It is well known that after an audit
the agent may assess a tax deficiency
which automatically becomes a lien.
Unless the agent will at least explain
the basis’ for the assessment the
taxpayer has no meaningful opportunity to
be heard before the property of that
taxpayer has been taken away by the
sovereign. This has repeatedly been held
to deprive a person of due process of
law. Parratt v Taylor 451 U.S. 527, 101
S.Ct. 1908, 68 L.Ed.2d 420.

In Orloff v Cleveland 708 F.2d 372
(CA9, 1983) the court held that due
17

ee — — ee

lh eee One oe & we Ree a,

process is a flexible concept and its
procedural requirements vary depending on
the paticular deprivation. Thus, there is
no reason why certain actions held to be
bad faith cannot also be actions that
deprive one of due process of law under
the circumstances.

Because every section of the
Internal Revenue Code is subsidiary to
the provisions of the United States
Constitution and to requirements of due
process of law, your platintiff submits
that if an agent willfully refuses to
explain the basis for a claim for a tax
deficiency before the claim becomes an
automatic lien this gives rise to a claim
for bad faith based on due _ process
considerations. Clearly if, as is
alleged to have occurred in this case,
the agent makes a claim for a tax
deficiency then refuses to discuss the
claim or explain the basis, if any, for

18

the claim against the taxpayer, then the
taxpayer has no opportunity to correct
the situation or possibly compromise the
claim with the agent. Clearly this
deprives the taxpayer of any hearing on
the matter before the property of the
taxpayer is taken away, and deprives the
person of due process.

In Starbuck v City and County of San
Framcisco 556 F.2d 450 (CA9, ND CA,
1977) the Court held that an employee of
the sovereign loses any qualified
immunity from suit when the employee
substantially departs from authority
conferred upon the employee by law.

In the present case it is alleged
agent Rosemary Bowen made a completely
false and fraudulent claim for unpaid
taxes against your plaintiff for the tax
year 1985. Clearly this means she can be
sued as an individual for this claim. To
be sure, it may later be found that the

19

Pe

tenes BS ERC ees OI RRS TSAI te APT Rte of aE ean eS,

2a a ata Mah aah RIE Ot

3 a ONO elem "ots Lice meen tk

agent acted within the scope of her
employment and would at least have
qualified immunity from suit, but that is
not presently the issue. The only issue
is iether a complaint can be filed
against the agent for fraud and other
civil torts based on conduct not
authorized by statute. According to
Starbuck this would be perfectly proper.

In Life Science v IRS 525 F.Supp.
399 (ND CA, 1981) it was held that if IRS
agents act in violation of their
Statutorily defined duties, not pursuant
to them, a suit against the agent is not
barred by the doctrine of soverign
immunity.

In Butz v Economou 438 U.S.. 478,
57 L.Ed.2d 895, 98 S.Ct. 2894 (1978) this
Court held that federal officials have no
Greater immunity from suit than _ state
officialy under 42 U.S.C. 1983. The
Court held that government officials may

20

be entitled to qualified immunity fron
suit, but not absolute immunity unless
absolute immunity is essential tc
performance of the official's duties.

In GM Leasing v United States 42°
U.S. 338, 50 L.Ed.2d 530, 97 S.Ct. 61%
(1977) this Court held that even IRS
agents must act with some modicum of good
faith, but specific behavior was not set
forth in this case illustrative of good
or bad faith.

Uncivilized behavior takes many
shapes and forms, but to take away the
property of a person without at the least
any explanation is clearly not civilized
behavior even if the person taking away
the property of another acts under color
of sovereign authority. Clearly if <«&
taxpayer can be legally deprived of his
or her property by an IRS agent without
being informed of the applicable factual!
reason for the deprivation and the lega!

21

basis for the deprivation the taxpayer is
de facto absolutely under the dominion
and power of the IRS agent and
according to the dictionary is de facto
the slave of the agent.

Thus this Court is being asked to
decide that if an agent of the IRS does
not give a taxpayer a factual reason for
depriving the taxpayer of his or her
property and does not explain the
applicable law to the taxpayer, then the
taxpayer is denied Constitutional due
process of law and may maintain a_ legal
action against the IRS agent as an
individual pursuant to either 26 U.S.C.
7433 or 42 U.S.C. 1983. It is not
possible to imagine a more basic issue or
how less than this can be even a modicum
of good faith and even a modicum of due

process.

Point 3
A Party Should Be Able To Recover
Reasonable Attorney's Fees From The
United States If Successful In A Suit
Against An IRS Agent Or Based On
Actions Of An IRS Agent

26 U.S.C. 7430 authorizes recovery
of attorney's fees from the prevailing
party if successful ina suit against the
IRS. However, there are cases such as
United States v McPherson 840 F.2d 244,
245, (CA4, 1988) that hold that a party
who prosecutes an action pro se cannot
recover reasonable attorney's fees. This
seems to be bad law in that usually at
least 50% of an attorney's fees are
ordinarily paid out by the attorney as
expenses. Denial of the recovery of
attorney's fees, then to an attorney
prosecuting an action pro se is to in
effect sanction the attorney for trying
to set a desirable precedent in our

23

hatte

ere Aba ty Natasa

oe eee ee

society and to set up legal defenses to
demonstrated wrongful behavior. 5 oe
submitted that if a party, even the
sovereign, behaves wrongfully and does
not prevail in the matter in Court ctnen
the party should have to pay reasonable
attorney's fees to the prevailing party
even if that party is also an attorney on
the ground that the wrongful behavior
damaged the prevailing party for costs of
legal services and for loss of time that
could be spent on business of a client.
To rule otherwise would be to permit the
sovereign to benefit from its own wrong.
Conclusion

Premises considered it is_ prayed
that the Court will grant this petition
for certiorari on the ground that the
time has come for this Court to decide
whether the Fifth Amendment is applicable
to uncivilized actions of an IRS agent
and to define for us at least one or more

24

such uncivilized actions that the United
States taxpayers have Fifth Amendment
protection from, and to decide how a
taxpayer may procedurally file a claim
for relief based on allegations of
uncivilized actions of an agent of the
IRS.

Respectfully submitted.

DATED: JAN 18 1991

Nathan Boatner, Pro Se
445 S Figueroa St, #2600
Los Angeles, CA, 90071
(213) 489-6871

25

' IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 19 __

NATHAN BOATNER
Petitioner
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
FREDERICK C NIELSEN, ROSEMARY BOWEN, AND
DOES ONE THROUGH TWENTY FIVE INCLUSIVE

Respondents

Appendix

Nathan Boatner, Attorney
445 South Figueroa Street, 26th Floor
Los Angeles, California, 90071
(213) 489-6871
Pro Se

26

.
—
’

* Tv bf
£3 ~ <= ") ‘
eee a ie wa ser nse ee a ——— gin = at ie —

c a a I _— —— — a — ons s ~ o - wee
- : on 7 icdtmaagloes Sx SE _ ed atta clans eamanest agile Yasah er apat deeded idles itinaale aaa aa aaa ee
Mare a ie LE LENS Ene Rs eee Cee ee ea ae aoe Fee Le

Pe

NOT FOR PUBLICATION
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

NATHAN BOATNER FILED
SEP 6 1990
Plaintiff-
Appellant, No. 89-56172

D.C.No.
CV~-89-2900-DT

vs.

UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA, et al., MEMORANDUM*
Defendants-
Appellees.

eee eee ee ee ee ee

Appeal From The United States
District Court For The Central
District Of California Dickran
Tevrizian, District Judge, Presiding
Submitted August 20, 1990**

Before: TANG, ALARCON, and WIGGINS,
Circuit Judges

* This disposition is not appropriate for
publication and may not be cited to or by
the courts of this circuit except as
provided by 9th Cir. R. 36-3.

** The panel unanimously finds this case
Suitable for disposition without oral
argument. Therefore Boatner's request for
Oral argument is denied. Fed. R. App. P.
34(a); 9th Cir. R. 34-4

27

Nathan Boatner appeals pro se the
district court's order dismissing his
action for lack of subject matter
jurisdiction, personal juciaéicrios, and
failure to state a claim upon which
relief can be granted. 4 The district
court Found that Boatner failed to
exhaust his administrative remedies prior
to filing his complaint, and that it was
deprived of jurisdiction by sovereign
immunity which also made it impossible
for Boatner to state a claim upon which
relief courld be granted. Boatner
contends that the court erred in denying
him leave to amend his complaint. we
have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
Sec. 1291. We affirm.

We review de novo the dismissal of a
complaint for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction under Fed. R. Civ. P.

Although Boatner appeals pro se, he is a
licensed, practicing attorney.

28

——

SA a I ale le le cer el wer

ee eee es

re. nett

12(b) (1), for failure to state a claim
pursuant to F. R. Civ. P. 12(b) (6), Kruso
v. International Tel. & Tel. Co., 872
F.2d 1416, 1421 (9th Cir. 1989), cert.
denied 110 S. Ct. 3217 (1990), or for
lack of personal jurisdiction under Fed.
R. Civ. P. 12(b) (2) Brainerd v Governors
of the Univ. of Alberta, 873 F.2d 1257,
1258 (9th Cir. 1989). The district
court's factual findings on
jurisdictional issues must be accepted
unless clearly erroneous. Stock West,
Inc. v. Confederated Tribes of the
Colville Reservation, 873 F.2d 1221, i225
(9th Cir. 1989)

We review the district court's
refusal to allow Boatner to amend his
complaint under the abuse of discretion
standard. See Thomas-Larear v FBI, 851
F.2d 1202, 1206 (9th Cir. 1988).

Dismissal with prejudice is
warranted where the pleadings before the

29

court demonstrate that a plaintiff would
not be entitled to relief under any set
of facts. Rutman Wine Co v E. & J. Gallo
Wimery, 829 F.2d 729, 732 (9th Cir. 1987)

In May, 1989, Boatner filed suit
against the United States, IRS agent
Rosemary Bowen, IRS district director
Frederick Neilson, and DOES 1-25.
Boatner alleged that the IRS has
established a scheme to obtain additional
taxes whereby each agent fulfills a quota
by assessing a deficiency of $3,500 per
audited account, regardless of whether
that amount is actually owed by the
taxpayer. Boatner asserts that in
furtherance of this scheme, the IRS
audited hin, disallowed substantial
expenses, and ignored his subsequent
protest and appeal. Boatner concedes
that his existing claim against the IRS
is barred by the doctrine of sovereign
immunity, but asserts that he will state

30

a proper cause of action under 26 U.S.C.
Sec 7433 if permitted to amend his
complaint.
A. Sovereign Immunity

It is settled law that the United
States, as a sovereign entity, may not be
sued without its consent, and that the
terms of that consent define the courts'
jurisdiction. Lehman v Nakshian, 453
U.S. 156, 160 (1981); Hutchinson v United
States, 677 F.2d 1322, 1327 (9th Cir.
1982). The Federal Tort Claims Act
(FTCA), provides a limited waiver of
sovereign immunity and permits’ recovery
against the United States for tertious
conduct by federal employees that occurs
within the scope of their employment.
See generally 28 U.S.C. Sec. 2671-80.
Prior to commencing an FTCA action in
federal court a plaintiff must present a
claim to the appropriate agency. Id. at
Sec. 2675(a). If the agency denies or

31

fails to decide the claim within six
months, the plaintiff is free to file a
federal action. Id. Boatner filed a FTCA
Claim with the IRS which was rejected by
the agency on the ground that the FTCA
does not waive sovereign immunity for
claims arising out of the assessment or
collection of taxes. See 28. U.S.C. Sec.
2680(c) see also Hutchinson 677 F.2d at
1327. The district court correctly
determined that because Boatner's claims
arose out of the assessment and
collection of taxes, sovereign immunity
was not waived and therefore it lacked
subject matter jurisdiction over his FTCA
claim. See 28 U.S.C. Sec 2680(c).

The district court was also correct
in holding that it lacked jurisdiction
over the two individual IRS agents. The
bar of sovereign immunity extends to
agents and officers of the United States
where they are sued in their official

32

capacities for actions within the scope
of their employment. Hawaii v Gordon 373
U.S. 57, 58 (1963); Hutchinson, 677 F.2d
at 1327. Boatner specifically stated in
his complain that the defendants were
the agents and employees of their
codefendants and acting within the course
and scope of their employment.
Therefore, they were protected by
sovereign immunity, and dismissal as to
them was proper. See id.
B. Lack of Personal Jurisdiction and
Failure to State a Claim

Because the district court properly
dismissed this action for lack of subject
matter jurisdiction, there is no
authority to decide the other issues. a

Dismissal was proper because the
district court lacked subject matter
jurisdiction over Boatner's action.

AFFIRMED.

33

fl

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
AMENDMENT V

No person shall be held to answer
for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless On a presentment Or
indictment or a Grand Jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval
forces, Or in the Militia, when in actual
service in time of War or public danger;
nor shall any person be subject for the
same offence to be twice put in jeopardy —
of life or limb; nor shall be compelled
in any criminal case to be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process
of law; nor shall private property be
taken for public use, without just

compensation.

34

26 U.S.C. Sec. 6532

(a) Suits by Taxpayers for
Refund--

(1) General rule.--No suit or
eroceeding under Section 7422(a) for the
recovery of any internal revenue tax,
penalty, or other sum, shall be begun
before the expiration of 6 months’ from
the date of filing the claim required
under such section unless the Secretary
renders a decision thereon within that
time, nor after the expiration of 2 years
from the date of mailing by certified
mail or registered mail by the Secretary
to the taxpayer of a notice of the
disallowance of the part of the claim to
which the suit or proceeding relates.

(2) Extension of time.--The 2-
year period prescribed in paragraph (1)
shall be extended for such period as may
be agreed upon in writing ‘between the
taxpayer and the Secretary.

35

—-— aa

(3) Waiver of notice of
disallowance--If any person files a
written waiver of the requirement that he
be mailed a notice of disallowance, the
2-year period prescribed in paragraph (1)

shall begin on the date such waiver is

filed.

(4) Reconsideration after mailing
of notice--any consideration,
reconsideration Or action by the

Secretary with respect to such claim
following the mailing of a notice by
certified mail or registered mail of
disallowance shall not operate to extend
the period within which suit may be

begun.

36

26 U.S.C. Sec. 7422

(a) No suit prior to filing claim
for refund.--No suit or proceeding shall
be maintained in any court for the
recovery of any internal revenue tax
alleged to have been- erroneously
Or illegally assessed or collected, or of
any penalty claimed to have been
collectéd without authority, or of any
sum alleged to have been excessive or in
any manner wrongfully collected, until a
claim for refund or credit has been duly
filed with the Secretary, according to
the provisions of law in that regard, and
the regulations of the Secretary
established in pursuance ckeceee,”

(b) Protest or duress--Such suit
Or proceeding may be maintained whether
Or not such tax, penalty, or sum has been
paid under protest or duress.

(c) Suits against collection
officer a bar--A suit against any officer
Or employee of the United States (or

37

former officer or employee) or his
personal representative for the recovery
of any internal revenue tax alleged to
have been erroneously or illegally
assessed or collected, or of any penalty

Claimed to have been collected without

authority, or of any sum alleged to have
| been excessive or in any manner
| wrongfully collected shall be treated as
if the United States had been a party to
such suit in applying the doctrine or res
judicata in all suits in respect of any
internal revenue tax, and in all
proceedings in the Tax Court and on
review of decisions of the Tax Court.
(d) Credit treated as payment--
The credit of an overpayment of any tax
in satisfaction of any tax liability
siall, for the purpose of any suit for
refund of such tax liability so
satisfied, be deeded to be a payment in
respect of such tax liability at the time
38

\ oh j

such credit is allowed.

(e) Stay of proceedings--If the
Secretary prior to the hearing of a suit
brought by a taxpayer ina district court
or the United States Claims Court for the
recovery of any income tax, estate tax,
gift tax, or tax imposed by chapter 41,
42, 43, or 44 (or any penalty relating to
such taxes) mails to the taxpayer a
notice that a deficiency has been
determined in respect of the tax which is
the subject matter of taxpayer's suit,
the proceedings in taxpayer's suit shall
be stayed during the period of time in
which the taxpayer files a petition with
the Tax Court for a redetermination of
the asserted definiency, and for 60 days
thereafter. If the taxpayer files a
peitiion with the Tax Court, the district
court or the United States Claims Court,
as the case may be, shall lose
jurisdiciton of taxpayer's suit to

39

whatever extent jurisdiction is acquired
by the Tax Court of the subject matter of
taxpayer's suit for refund. If the
taxpayer does not file a petition with
the Tax Court for a redetermination of
the asserted deficiency, the United
States may counterclaim in the taxpayer's
Suit, or intervene in the event of a srvit
as described in subsection (¢c) (relating
to suits against officers or employees of
the United States), within the period of
the stay of proceedings notwithstanding
that the time for such pleading may have
otherwise expired. The taxpayer shall
have the burden of proof with respect to
the issued raised by such counterclaim or
intervention of the United States except
as to the issue of whether the taxpayer
has been guilty of fraud with intent to
evade tax. This subsection shall not
apply to a suit by a taxpayer which,
prior to the date of enactment of this

40

title, is commenced, instituted, or
pending in a district court or the United
States Claims Court for the recovery of
any income tax, estate tax, or gift tax
for any penalty relating to such taxes.)

(£) Limitation on right of action
for refund--

(1) General Rule--A_ suit or
proceeding referred to in subsection (a)
may be maintained only against the United
States and not against any officer or
employee of the United States (or former
officer or employee) or his personal
representative. Such suit or proceeding
may be maintained against the United
States notwithstanding the provisions of
section 2502 of title 28 of the united
States Code (relating to aliens'
privilege to sue) and notwithstanding the
provisions of section 1502 of such title
28 (relating to certian treaty cases).

(2) Misjoinder and change of venue--
If a suit or proceeding brought in a
41

United States district court against an
officer or employee of the United States
(or former officer or employee) or his
personal representative is improperly
brought solely by virtue of paragraph
(1), the court shall order, upon such
terms as are just, that the pleadings be
amended to substitute the United States
as a party for such officer or employee
as of the time such action commenced,
upon proper service of process on the
united States. Such suit or proceeaing
shall upon request by the United States
be transferred to the district Or
division where it should have been
brought if such action initially had been

brought against the Untied States.

42

26 U.S.C. Sec 7430

(a) In General-- In any
administrative or court proceeding which
is brought by or against the United
States in connection with the
determination, collection, or refund of
any tax, interest, or penalty under this
title, the prevailing party may be
awarded a judgment or a settlement for --

(1) reasonable administrative costs
incurred in connection with such
administrative proceeding within the
Internal Revenue Service, and

(2) reasonable litigation costs
incurred in connection’ with such
proceeding.

(b) Limitations--

(1) Requirement that administrative
remedies be exhausted--A judgment for
reasonable litigation costs shall not be
awarded under subsection (a) in any court
proceeding unless the court determines

43

that the prevailing party has exhausted
the administrative remedies available to
such party within the internal Revenue
Service.

(2) Only costs allocable to the
Untied States--An award under subsection
(a) shall be made only for reasonable
litigation and administrative costs which
are allocable to the United States and
not to any other party.

(3) Exclusion of declaratory
Judgment proceedings--

(A) In general--No award for
reasonable litigation costs may be made
under subsection (a) with respect to any
declaratory judgment proceeding.

(B} Exception for section 501(c) (3)
determination revocation proceedings--
Subparagraph (a) shall not apply to any
proceeding which involves the revocation
of a determination that the organization

is described in section 501l(c) (3).

44

(4) Costs denied where party
prevailing protracts proceedings--No
award for reasonable litigation and
administrative costs may be made under
subsectiuon (a) with respect to any
portion of the administrative or court
proceeding during which the prevailing
Party has unreasonably protracted such
proceeding.

(c) Definitions--For purposes of
this section--

)1) Reasonable litigation costs.--
The term "reasonable litigation costs”
includes--

(A) reasonable court costs. and

(b) based upon prevailing market
rates for the kind or quality of services
furnished--

(i) the reasonable expenses of
expert witnesses inconnection with a
court proceeding, except that no expert

witness shall be compensated at a rate in

45

‘

excess or the highest rate of
compensation for expert witnesses paid by
the United States,

(ii) the reasonable cost of any
Study, analysis, engineering report,
test, or project which is found by the
court to be necessary for the preparation
of the party's case, and

(iii) reasonable fees paid or
incurred for the services of attorneys in
connection with the civil proceeding,
except that such fees shall not be in
excess of $75 per hour unless the court
determines that an increase in the cost
of living or a special factor, such as
the limited availability of qualified
attorneys for such proceeding, justifies
a higher rate.

(2) Reasonable administrative
costs--The : term "reasonable
administrative costs” means--

/
46

iss acnenceaiininenneianinteaineeamnimnnat

(A) any administrative fees or
Similar charges imposed by the _ Internal
Revenue Service, and

(B) expenses, costs, and fees
described in paragraph (1)(B), except
that any determination made by the ocurt
under clause (ii) and (iii) thereof shall
be made by the Internal Revenue Service
in cases where the determination under
paragraph (4)(B) of the awarding of
reasonable administrative costs is made
by the Internal Revenue Service.

Such term shall only include costs
incurred on or after the earlier of (i)
the date of the receipt by the taxpayer
of the notice of the decision of the
Internal Revenue service Office of
Appeals or (ii) the date of the notice of
deficiency.

(3) Attorney's fees--For purposes of
paragraphs (1) and (2), fees for the
services of an individual (whether or not

47

an attorney) who is authorized to
practice before the Tax Court or before
the Internal Revenue Service shall be
treated as fees for the services of an
attorney.

(4) Prevailing party--

(A) In general--The term "prevailing
party” means any party in any proceeding
to which subsection (a) applies (other
than the United States or any creditor of
the taxpayer involved)--

(i) which establishes that the
position of the United States in the
civil proceeding was not substantially
justified,

(ii) which--

(I) has substantially prevailel with
respect to the amount in controversy, or

(II) has substantially prevailed
with respect to the most significant
issue or set of issues presented, and

/
48

(iii) which meets the requirements
of the lst sentence of section
2412(d)(1)(B) of title 28 United States
Code (as in effect on October 22, 1986)
except to the extent differing procedures
are established by rule of court and
meets the requirements of section
2421(d) (2) (B) of such title 28 (as so in
effect)

(B) Determination as to prevailing
party--

Any determination under subparagraph
(A) as to whether a party is a prevailing
party shall be made by agreement of the
parties or--

(i) in the case where the final
determination with respect to the tax,
interest, or penalty is made at the
administrative lever, by the Internal
Revenue Service, or

(ii) in the case where such final
determination is made by a court, the

7
S9

court.

(5) Administrative proceedings--The
term “administrative proceeding” means
any procedure or other action before the
Internal Revenue Service.

(6) Court proceedings--The term
"court proceeding” means any civil action
brought ina court of the United States
(including the Tax Court and the United
States Claims Court).

(7) Position of United States--The
term “position of the united States"
me ans--

(A) the position taken by the United
States in a judicial proceeding to which
subsection (a) applies, and

(B) the position taken in an
administrative proceeding to which
subsection (a) applies as the earlier of

(i) the date of the receipt by the
taxpayer of the notice of the decision of
the Internal Revenue Service Office of

50

Appeals, or

(ii) the date of the notice of
deficiency.

(d) Special Rules for Payment of
Costs--

(1) Reasonable administrative
costs--An award for reasonable
administrative costs shall be payable out
of funds appropriated under section 1304
of title 31, United States Code.

(2) Reasonable litigation costs--an
award for reasonable litigation costs
shall be payable in the case of the Tax
Court in the same manner as such an award
by a district court.

(d) Multiple Actions--For purposes
of this section, in the case of--

(1) multiple actions which could
have been joined or consolidated, or

(2) a case or cases involving a
return or returns of the same taxpayer
(including joint returns of married

51

individuals) which could have been joined
in a single proceeding in the same court,

Such actions or cases shall be
treated as 1 court proceeding regardless
of whether such joinder or consolidation
actually occurs, unless the court in
which such action is brought determines,
in its discretion, that it would be
inappropriate to treat such actions or
cases as joined or consolidated.

(£) Right of appeal--

(1) Court proceedings--an order
granting or denying an award for
reasonable litigation costs under
subsection (a), in whole or in part,
shall be incorporated as a part of the
decision or judgment inthe case and
shall be subject to appeal in the same
manner as the decision or judgment.

(2) Administrative proceedings--A
decision granting or denying (in whole or
in part) an award for reasonable

52

administrative costs under subsection (a)
by the Internal Revenue Service shall be
subject to appeal to the Tax Court under
rules similar to the rules under section
7463 (without regard to the amount in

dispute).

53

26 U.S.C. Sec. 7433

(a) In General--If, in connection
with any collection of Federal tax with
respect to a taxpayer, any officer or
employee of the Internal Revenye Service
recklessly or intentionally disregards
any provision of this title, or any
regulation promulgated under this title,
such taxpayer may bring a civil action
for damages against the United States in
a district court of the United States.
Except as provided in section 7432, such
civil action shall be the exclusive
remedy for recovering damages resulting
from such actions.

(b) Damages~-In any action brought
under subsection (a), upon a finding of
liability on the part of the defendant,
the defendant shall be liable to the
Plaintiff in an amount equal to the
lesser of $100,000 or the sum cf--

/
54

(1) actual, direct economic damages
Sustained by the plaintiff as a proximate
result of the reckless or intentional
actions of the officer or employee, and

(2) the costs of the action.

(c) Payment Authority--Claims
pursuant to this section shall be payable
out of funds appropriated under section
1304 of title 3l, United States Code.

(d) Limitations--

(1) Requirement that administrative
remedies be exhausted--A judgment for
damages shall not be awarded under
subsection (b) unless the court
determines that the plaintiff has
exhausted the administrative remedies
available to such plaintiff within the
Internal Revenue Service.

(2) Mitigation of damages--The
amount of damages awarded under
subsection (b) (1) shall be reduced by the
amount of such damages which could have

55

reasonably been mitigated by the
plaintiff.

(3) Period for bringing action--
Notwithstanding any other provision of
law, an action to enforce liability
created under this section to enforce
liability created under this section may
be brought without regard to the amount
in controversy and may be brought only
within 2 years after the date the right

of action accrues.

56

28 U.S.C. Sec. 2412

(a) Except as otherwise specifically
provided by statute, a judgment for costs
aS enumerated in section 1920 of this
title, but not including the fees and
expenses of attorneys, may be awarded to
the prevailing party in any civil action
brought by or against the United States
Or any agency or any official of the
united States acting in his or her
official capacity in any court having
jurisdiction of such action. A judgment
for costs when taxed against the Untied
States shall, in an amount established by
statute, court rule, or order, be limited
to reimbursing in whole or in part the
prevailing party for the costs’ incurred
by such party in the litigation.

(b) Unless expressly prohibited by
Statute, a court may award reasonable
fees and expenses of attorneys, in
addition to the costs which may be

57

awarded pursuant to subsection (a), to
the prevailing party in any civil action
brought by or against the United States
Or any agency or any official of the
united States acting in his or her
official capacity in any court having
jurisdiction of such actin. The United
States shall be liable for such fees and
expenses to the same extent ie any
other party would be liable under the
common law or under the terms of any
Statute which specifically provided for
such an award.
: * * * * * * ® *
(e) The provisons of this section
shall not apply to any costs, fees, and
other expenses in connection with any
proceeding to which sectio 7430 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954 applies
(determined without regard to subsections
(b) and (£) of such section). Nothing in

the preceeding sentence shall prevent the

58

awarding under subsection (a) of section
2412 of title 28, United States Code, of
costs enumerated in section 1920 of such

title (as in effect on October 1, 1981).

59

42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983

Every person who, under color of any
Statute,. ordinance, regulation, custom,
or usage, of any State or Territory or
the District Of Columbia, subjects, or
causes to be subjected, any citizen of
the United States or other person within
the jurisdiction thereof to the
deprivation of any rights, privileges, or
immunities secured by the Constitution
and laws, shall be liable to the party
injured in anaction at law, suit in
equity, or other proper proceeding for
redress. For the purposes of this
section, any act of Congress applicable
exclusively to the District Of Columbia
shall be considered to be a Statute of

the District of Columbia.

60

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Nathan Boatner, am petitioner
herein, appearing pro se. I hereby
certify that on this day of mn
I deposited in the United States Mail at
Los Angeles, California, with first class
postage prepaid, copies of the foregoing
Petition For Certiorari--Civil Rights

addressed as follows:

l copy to: Solicitor General, Department
Of Justice, Washington, DC, 20530

l copy to: Gary A. Feess, Esq, United
States Attorney, 300 N Los Angeles St, Rm
2315, Los Angeles, CA, 90012

4 copies to: Shirley D Peterson, Esq,
Assistant AG, Tax Division, Department of
Justice, PO Box 502, Washington, DC, 20044
I have read the foregoing and
declare under penalty of perjury of the
laws of the United States that the
foregoing certificate is true and correct.

DATED: JAN 1 8 199 tpl

Nathan Boatner, Pro Se

445 S Figueroa St, 26th Floor
Los Angeles, CA, 90071

(213) 489-6871

61

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING
I, Nathan Boatner, pro se, hereby
certify that on this day of JAN YR 199)
I deposited 40 copies of the foregoing
Petition For Certiorari--Civil Rights
in the United States Mail with first
class postage fully prepaid addressed to:

Clerk, United States Supreme Court, 1
First Street, N.E., Washington, DC, 20543.

I hereby declare under penalty of
perjury of the laws of the United States

that the foregoing is true and correct.

DATED: JAW18 199]

Nathan Bodtner, Pro Se

445 S Figueroa St, 26th Floor
Los Angeles, CA, 90071

(213) 489-6871

62

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1570%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
