# Reply Brief — Public Service Co. v. Thompson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1560%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 973

## Text

is) FIL

No. 90-1173 NOV 8

E D
1931

Lee RL RL CLERK

{

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF COLORADO
and R. M. RICHARDS,
i. Petitioners,

WILLARD A. THOMPSON,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of the State of Colorado

REPLY TO THE BRIEF FOR THE
UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

DAVID W. KERBER *
KEVIN W. HECHT
KELLY, STANSFIELD & O’DONNELL
550 15th Street, Suite 900
Denver, Colorado 80202
(303) 825-3534

JAMES R. MCCOTTER
General Counsel
PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF

COLORADO

550 15th Street, Suite 890
Denver, Colorado 80202
(303) 571-7161

Attorneys for Petitioners,

Public Service Company of
* Counsel of Record Colorado and R. M. Richards

SS a I REE AE I OTTERS ED
WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co.. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

(¥

Supreme Court, U.S. |

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ee chlepaisobanacniins 1
DISCUSSION ............... AO Ie EO OO tee aE OT 2

I. CONTRARY TO THE CONTENTION OF THE
AMICUS, THE DISCIPLINARY NOTICES
AT ISSUE HERE WERE REQUIRED BY
THE COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREE-
gp ASR resi "NY a oR oR nd ea 2

Il. THE CONFLICT OF AUTHORITY THROUGH-
OUT THE LOWER COURTS REQUIRES

GUIDANCE FROM THIS COURT ......0000000.... 4d
IY, chia cpt ai. Solsee csines cadomnnnnsiteintoniintenbivensbabieiaibonion 7
APPENDIX A

Excerpt From Record Below .................0.00000.....20022.. la

li
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469
CDIFGIED . sanstccinsssicesnsensisctatestitaiputnimeliiiaatiasiimaaiammemnn na,
Hasten v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 640 F.2d 274
e663 Sener enn Fe
Int'l. Bhd. of Elec. Workers, Local 1228 v. WNEV-
TV, 778 F.2d 46 (1st Cir. 1985) 000.
Johnson v. Anheuser Busch, Inc., 876 F.2d 620
So tere ne es NE
Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S.
399 (1988) ...... ne MME SR NM NRE NEE RES BBTE A oe CO
Shane v. Greyhound Lines, Inc., 868 F.2d 1057
? 3 eateries)

Strathmore Paper Co. v. United Paperworkers
Int'l. Union, Local 197, 900 F.2d 423 (1st Cir.

Textile Workers v. Linceln Mills of Alabama, 353
ik 0 Bs ; Ber arte aio Acer Me ea
United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Naviga-
tion Co., 368 U.S. 574 (1960) ...............................

Other:

Elkouri and Elkouri, How Arbitration Works, 437
i ih RRM nUKOee Moore ol cl

Page

5, 6

4

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991
No. 90-1173

FUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF COLORADO
and R. M. RICHARDS,
Petitioners,
vs

WILLARD A. THOMPSON,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of the State of Colorado

REPLY TO THE BRIEF FOR THE
UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

INTRODUCTION

On April 22, 1991, the Court invited the Solicitor Gen-
eral to file a brief expressing the views of the United
States in this case. On October 23, 1991, the Solicitor
General filed his brief for the United States as Amicus
Curiae (Amicus), recommending that the Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari be denied. Due to a critical error in
fact which forms the principal basis of the- Amicus’ posi-
tion, this Reply is necessary.

2

DISCUSSION

I. CONTRARY TO THE CONTENTION OF THE
AMICUS, THE DISCIPLINARY NOTICES AT IS-
SUE HERE WERE REQUIRED BY THE COLLEC-
TIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT.

The Amicus relies upon a fact assumed by it that the
disciplinary notices at issue here were not required by
the-Collective Bargaining Agreement between the parties.
(Amicus Brief at pp. 2, 3, 5 n.1, 7, 7 n.3, 8, 11 n.9, 18,
17). This single misapprehension of fact is the essential
factor that drives the Amicus’ position. This mistake is
based upon an erroneous comment contained in the deci-
sion of the Colorado Court of Appeals that there was no
evidence in the record that the Collective Bargaining
Agreement required written notification. (Pet. App.
26a).?

From a review of the Colorado Court of Appeals’ deci-
sion, it is clear that whether the disciplinary notices were
required by the Collective Bargaining Agreement or not
was irrelevant to that court’s decision. (Pet. App. 26a).
The Court of Appeals determined that even in the case
where notices were not required by the Collective Bar-
gaining Agreement, an absolute privilege still would be
applied. (Jd.) As such, the statement of the Court of
Appeals that there is no evidence in the record that writ-
ten notices were required by the Collective Bargaining
Agreement is not a finding of fact, as the Amicus con-
tends, but merely dicta.

Indeed, the Colorado Supreme Court was willing to as-
sume, for purposes of its opinion, that the notices were
required by the Collective Bargaining Agreement. (Ami-

1 Nevertheless, Amicus admits that at one point the Colorado
Supreme Court was willing to assume, for the purposes of its
analysis, that the statements were made in a grievance or dis-
ciplinary proceeding under a collective bargaining agreement.
(Amicus Brief at p. 5.1).

3

cus Brief at p. 5 n.1). The reason that the Colorado
Supreme Court was willing to consider such a fact is that
the record before the Colorado Court of Appeals as well
as the Colorado Supreme Court did contain unrebutted
evidence that there was a requirement to provide written
disciplinary notices to the Union pursuant to the Collec-
tive Bargaining Agreement. In an affidavit submitted in
support of Public Service Company’s Motion for Sum-
mary Judgment in the trial court and contained in the
record before the Court at R. 36, { 4, Gary Goodwin, Peti-
tioner’s Director of Labor Relations, stated:

Public Service has a long standing policy of issuing
written letters of reprimand and letters of suspen-
sion. There has also been a long standing practice
and policy relating to bargaining unit employees,
such as Plaintiff, that a copy of any discipline be
sent to the Union. This practice is so well estab-
lished as to constitute a post [sic] practice under
the Collective Bargaining Agreement (Article 30).
Failure to provide the Union with a copy of the
written letter of suspension and the written letter of
reprimand would have constituted a violation of the
Collective Bargaining Agreement.

(Appendix A at p. 2a, attached hereto). There is no
evidence in the record which challenges this conclusion.

It is an elementary principle of labor law that in addi-
tion to the written provisions of a collective bargaining

2 This excerpt from the record will be part of the record before
this Court should the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari be granted.
Petitioners invite the Court, pursuant to Supreme Ct. Rule 12.5,
to have the record transmitted at this juncture. Alternatively, this
Court could grant the Petition’ subject to confirmation of the affi-
davit’s inclusion. Should the mandatory effect of past practice be-
tween Petitioner and I.B.E.W. Local 111 as to the requirement that
disciplinary notices be in writing not be borne out by the record,
this Court could dismiss the Writ as improvidently granted. The
Court should not deny this Petition for Writ of Certiorari based
upon an erroneous understanding as to the facts involved in this
case. This is particularly true when this fact plays such a dominen:
role in the Amicus’ Brief.

4

agreement, past practices established by the parties’ con-
duct may raise those practices to such a significance that
they are incorporated in the collective bargaining agree-
ment even though not specifically mentioned. United Steel-
workers v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574,
581-582 (1960); Strathmore Paper Co. v. United Paper-
workers Int'l. Union, Local 197, 900 F.2d 423, 428 (1st
Cir. 1990); Int’l. Bhd. of Elec. Workers, Local 1228 v.
WNEV-TV, 778 F.2d 46, 48-49 (1st Cir. 1985) (quoting
Warrior & Gulf, 363 U.S. at 581-82, “industrial common
law—the practices of the industry and the shop—is
equally a part of the collective bargaining agreement al-
though not expressed in it.”), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1182
(1986). See also, Elkouri and Elkouri, How Arbitration
Works, (4th ed. 1985). Since the record in the court
below shows that the disciplinary notices were required
by the Collective Bargaining Agreement through the doc-
trine of past practice, the major reason for the Amicus’
recommendation not to grant the Writ of Certiorari is no
longer present.

II. THE CONFLICT OF AUTHORITY THROUGHOUT
THE LOWER COURTS REQUIRES GUIDANCE
FROM THIS COURT.

Absent the factual error relied upon by the Amicus, it
appears that the Amicus would favor review of this issue *
The Amicus states:

We recognize that some confusion exists in lower
court decisions concerning the source and scope of
privileges applicable to statements made during
grievance hearings, arbitration, and other procedures
pursuant to collective bargaining agreements. Greater

3 The Amicus states that “we also do not believe that the judg-
ment of the Colorado Supreme Court is in conflict with the judg-
ment of any other court.” (Amicus Brief at p. 14). As stated
above, this conclusion is based solely upon an assumption by the
Amicus that the disciplinary letters were not required to be in
written fomn by the terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement.
(Id. at p. 17).

5

clarity in this broad area is plainly desirable. (Em-
phasis added.)

(Amicus Brief at p. 8).

We believe that the confusion that exists in the lower
courts is indeed greater than “some confusion,” as evi-
denced by the long recitation of conflicting authorities
by Petitioners in their Petition at pp. 13-16 and the
Amicus in its Brief at pp. 12-13, 14-17 and the accum-
panying footnotes. However, while there may be a slight
disagreement as to the extent of the confusion that exists
in the lower courts, we do agree completely with the
Amicus that “greater clarity in this broad area is plainly
desirable.” (Amicus Brief at p. 8).

Textile Workers v. Lincoln Mills of Alabama, 353
U.S. 448 (1957), authorizes federal courts to fashion
a body of federal common law involving federal labor
policy to be applicable throughout the country. This is
clearly necessary in this particular area, where courts
over the years have been struggling with the issue of
the privilege to be accorded disciplinary notices and state-
ments made during grievance proceedings.‘

The attempts of the Amicus to distinguish certain cases
are not persuasive. The suggestion that the Johnson v.
Anheuser Busch, Inc., 876 F.2d 620 (8th Cir. 1989), and
Shane v. Greyhound Lines, Inc., 868 F.2d 1057 (9th Cir.
1989), were wrongly decided is not helpful, in that these
cases definitely suggest that the Eighth and Ninth Cir-
cuits apply Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc.,
486 U.S. 399 (1988), in a manner inconsistent with
Amicus’ views as to what the law should be. This under-
scores the need for this Court to take and consider this
matter, rather than letting this confusion continue. Also,
it is quite clear that the Colorado Supreme Court decision

* Indeed, the six months that the Amicus required to develop its
position in this case is a reflec¢ion of the difficulty and the con-
fusion that exist throughout the country at large.

6

here is directly contrary to Hasten v. Phillips Petroleum
Co., 640 F.2d 274 (10th Cir. 1981). It is intolerable to
reasoned jurisprudence that within the same state the out-
come of a case applying federal labor law may depend
merely on whether a party can obtain jurisdiction in
the federal courts rather than the state courts.

The determination of what type of privilege, whether
absolute or qualified, exists in the context of grievance
and arbitration proceedings is one for the Supreme Court.
The Amicus offers its opinion that a qualified privilege
should be applied nationwide. The Amicus states that, “in
our view, there is no basis for petitioners’ assertion that
absolute protection for disciplinary statements in the
workplace is necessary for grievance and arbitration
mechanisms to work effectively.” (Emphasis added.)
(Amicus Brief at p. 14). On the other hand, Petition-
ers believe, and common sense dictates, that only an
absolute privilege can effectively safeguard the free and
open communication of parties to a collective bargain
ing agreement in matters of discipline. Nevertheless,
this difference of opinion is not a reason for denying
this Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Only after a fuil
articulation of the views of the parties and any amici
who may participate should this Court decide, pursuant
to Textile Workers v. Lincoln Mills, the law to be appli-
cable throughout the country in an area which has,
based upon the cases cited by both Petitioners and the
Amicus, confounded uniform application.®

5 The Amicus admits that there is no jurisdictional obstacle to
review of this decision. (Amicus Brief, p. 17 n.17). Nevertheless,
the Amicus contends that this matter could be reviewed after a full
trial and presumably subsequent appeals through the Colorado Court
of Appeals and the Colorado Supreme Court. (/Jd.) The Colorado
‘Supreme Court’s judgment is plainly final on this federal issue and
is not subject to further review in the state courts. While Peti-
tioners here ma’ very well prevail at trial on the non-federal
grounds, if the Colorado Supreme Court improperly applied the is-

sue of privilege, there should be no trial at all. Moreover, if Peti-

tioners do prevail at trial and make unnecessary further considera-

7

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a Writ of Certiorari should
issue to review the judgment and opinion of the Supreme
Court of the State of Colorado.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID W. KERBER *

KEVIN W. HECHT
KELLY, STANSFIELD & O’DONNELL
550 15th Street, Suite 900
Denver, Colorado 80202
(303) 825-3534

JAMES R. MCCOTTER
General Counsel
PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF
COLORADO
550 15th Street, Suite 890
Denver, Colorado 80202
(303) 571-7161

Attorneys for Petitioners,
Public Service Company of
* Counsel of Record Colorado and R. M. Richards

tion of this question, there would remain in effect the unreviewed
decision of the State Supreme Court that disciplinary notices and
statements made during grievance proceedings are only entitled to
a qualified privilege rather than an absolute privilege. See Cor
Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 485 (1975).

APPENDICES

bite Ball gl a
ld rains

e
aie
sie tie te
, vs

la
APPENDIX A

DISTRICT COURT
CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER
STATE OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 84 CV 12173
Courtroom 2

WILLARD A. THOMPSON,

ie Plaintiff,

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF COLORADO,
a Colorado corporation, and
R.M. RICHARDS a/k/a R. MARK RICHARDS,
Defendants.

STATE OF COLORADO )
) ss.
CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER __)

AFFIDAVIT OF GARY GOODWIN

I, Gary Goodwin, being first duly sworn state as
follows:

1. My name is Gary Goodwin. I am the Director of
Labor Relations for Public Service Company of Colorado.
I have responsibility for administration of all Collective
Bargaining Agreements and advising authority in the
imposition of discipline on all employee’s bargaining units
or otherwise. Unless otherwise indicated, I have personal
knowledge of all of the following facts.

2. Public Service Company of Colorado has a Collective
Bargaining Agreement with the International Brother-

2a

hood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local Union No.
111 which covers operating, production and maintenance
employees of the Company. Plaintiff is a member of that
bargaining unit and is covered by the Collective Bargain-
ing Agreement.

3. The Collective Bargaining Agreement gives Public
Service the right to discipline employees for proper cause
(Article 2, Section 1) subject to review in the grievance
and arbitration procedures (Articles 27 and 28). The
December 6, 1983 suspension and the June 29, 1984
written reprimand were subject to review in the grievance
and arbitration procedure.

4. Public Service has a long standing policy of issuing
written letters of reprimand and letters of suspension.
There has also been a long standing practice and policy
relating to bargaining unit employees, such as Plaintiff,
that a copy of any discipline be sent to the Union. This
practice is so well established as to constitute a post
practice under the Collective Bargaining Agreement
(Article 30). Failure to provide the Union with a copy of
the written letter of suspension and the written letter
of reprimand would have constituted a violation of the
Collective Bargaining Agreement.

5. It is the usual policy of Public Service Company
of Colorado’s Supervisors when documenting any disci-
pline, to send copies of such documentation to the dis-
ciplined employee’s upper level supervisors, and to the
Public Service Company’s Labor Relations Department.

6. It is the policy of Public Service Company, which
policy is in compliance with federal labor law, that when-
ever a bargaining unit employee is questioned and that
questioning may lead to discipline, that a union steward
be provided to represent the employee.

DATED this 13th day of October, 1986.

3a

/s/ Gary Goodwin
GARY GOODWIN

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 13th day of
October, 1986, by Gary Goodwin.

WITNESS MY HAND AND OFFICIAL SEAL.

/s/ Karen L. Harr
Notary Public

My commission expires: June 6, 1988.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1560%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
