# Opposition Brief — Kelly v. Harper

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1527%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 943

## Text

ORIGINAL OPH bs

No. 90-1130

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

WALTER R. KELLY, Superintendent,
Attica Correctional Facility,

Petitioner,
-V.-

ELMER HARPER, JR.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

DAVID L. LEWIS
THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY

FEDERAL DEFENDER SERVICES

52 Duane Street
10th Floor

New York, New York 10007
Tel. No.: (212) 285-2842

Attorney for Respondent

HARPER.

—-

199]

ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF CASES AND STATUTUES) ...c cece cceescrccvecesvese i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..ncccccccccccssesccccsesecscevesere 1
OPINIONS BELOW .nccccccccvcccvvcccevccccececsccvccecese 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .nccccccescvcsescesvcesevesesccebe 2
-; EM BCC RPPPEEEEORETE CTT TE eT CeCe Te ae ee eS 3
Lester’s Failure to Identify Harper as the Robber ..... 4
The Photographic Display and Lineup ......cwceeeeeseees 5
The Cross Examination of Small at Trial .........2eeee- 6
THO SGUMMMACLONS 2c cccreceecsrdseecrevcdesereress esos baw 7
Charge, Deliberations, Verdict, and Sentence .......... 8
The State Appeals and the Habeas Petition ..........2.0-. 9
The Court OF Appeals OPINION ascssevsesrnseseesacessaces 10
ptt) eee eee eee eee eee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee Pe a a a ee 2 12
ee ow A oe ee eee ee ee er ee ee ee es ee 21

TABLE OF CASES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974) wncccvescvcccccceces 13
Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. at 679 .....ceeees 11, 14, 16, 20
Dickerson v. Fogg, 526 F. Supp. 1299 (S.D.N.Y.

1901), e£k°@, 692 F.2d 238 (26 Cie. 1962) ..scavess 13
Hall v. Wainwright, 805 F.2d 945 (lith Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 905 (1967) ...ccocses 21
Hanrahan v. Greer, 896 F.2d 241 (7th Cir. 1990) ........ 21
Holland v. Attorney General, 777 F.2d 150 (3d

COE se EPSS) cabo ees nee cee ree e the CenseeNeeens eK aes € 4 21

Larson v. Tansy, 911 F.2d 392 (10th Cir. 1990) ......... 21

Manson v. Brathwaite, 432 U.S. 98 (1977) ....eeeeeenvees 13
Maryland v. Craig, 110 S. Ct. 3157 (1990) ......-..-40.-, 10
McKenzie v. Risley, 842 F.2d 1525 (9th Cir.) (en banc),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 901 (1988) .....---eeeeeeeee 21
Olden v. Kentucky, 109 S. Ct. 480 (1988) .....ceccceveee ivy 18, av
People v. Harper, 123 A.D.2d 528 (lst Dept. 1986) ...... a
People v. Harper, 68 N.Y.2d 1001 (1986) .......-.+5255.- a, 3
Rushen v. Spain, 464 U.S. 114 (1983) .....-- ee ewer ennees 20
United States v. Owens, 108 S. Ct. 838 (1988) .......... 13
United States v. Smith, 563 F.2d 1361 (9th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1021 (1978) ......... 13

il

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether preclusion of cross-examination of the prose-
cution’s crucial eyewitness concerning his mental and emo-
tional state during a thirty-second gunpoint robbery -- an

issue directly relevant to the reliability of his eyewitness

identification testimony -- violated the Confrontation
Clause?
2. Whether the preclusion of cross-examination of the

crucial witness in the case on a matter relevant to the
crucial issue in the case was harmless where the prosecu-
tion’s case was based entirely on eyewitness identification
testimony, where the victims lacked substantial opportunity
to view the robber, where one victim initially failed to
identify Harper as the robber because Harper "looked differ-
ent" than the robber did, and where the first jury to hear
the case deadlocked eleven-to-one for acquittal?

3. Whether the court of appeals violated Rule 52(a) of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure where it "set aside" no
factual finding of the district court, and whether this Court

should grant certiorari on this issue, which petitioner did

not raise in the court of appeals?

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

WALTER R. KELLY, Superintendent,
Attica Correctional Facility,

Petitioner,
—-V.-

ELMER HARPER, JR.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-7a) 1s
published at 916 F.2d 54. The opinion of the district court
(Pet. App. 8a-17a) is reported at 704 F. Supp. 375. On
Harper’s direct appeal in state court, the New York State
Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Department, affirmed
his conviction without opinion in a disposition reported at
123 A.D.2d 528 (lst Dept. 1986). The New York State Court of

Appeals denied his application for leave to appeal at 68

N.Y¥.2d 1001 (1986).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Elmer Harper, Jr., was indicted in Bronx County, New
York, by indictment number 2873/84, and charged with the
gunpoint robbery of Jack Small, which took place on May 9,
1984. Harper was tried twice for this crime. The principal,
indeed the only, issue at both trials was whether Harper was
accurately identified as the robber. The first trial lasted
one lay. The jury deliberated for a day and a half, but a
mistrial was declared with the jury hung eleven to one for
acquittal. Pet. App. at 10a. At the second trial, before
the Hon. George D. Covington and a jury, the testimony took
but a morning, and the jury deliberated nearly until midnight
before being sequestered. The next day it deliberated into
the afternoon before finding petitioner guilty of one count
of robbery in the first degree.

The Crime

At about 8:00 p.m. on May 9, 1984, Jack Small, the
service manager of a Sears Auto Center in the Bronx, put the
day’s cash receipts in his vest and carried them across a
parking iot to the main Sears store. He was accompanied by
security supervisor Frank Lester. It was dusk, and the
lights in the parking lot were not yet on. As Small and
Lester crossed the lot, a man wearing sunglasses, a black

rain hat pulied down over his hair and black clothing, came

from behind a van. The man put a gun in Small’s waist and

demanded the money. Lester told Small not to give it up, but
the man threatened to "blow [Small’s] fuckin’ head off" and
Small gave him the vest containing $4000. 28-30, 65, 78-
79.* The whole incident lasted only about 30 seconds, and
Small acknowledged that during this brief period had been
looking at the gun the man was holding as well as at the man
himself.

No one was identified or apprehended as a suspect in
this crime until long after it occurred.

Lester’s Failure to Identify Harper as the Robber

Three weeks after the crime, Harper was arrested for
shoplifting by Mr. Ducaran, a Sears employee, just outside
the Sears store. Lester, who was Sears’s security supervi-
sor, went out and assisted with the arrest. He and Ducaran
escorted Harper to the Sears security office where Lester
spent the next hour with Harper, while Ducaran photographed
him and completed paperwork. Lester did not identify Harper
as the man who had robbed him three weeks before.

At trial, Lester said he did not recognize Harper as the
robber because he "looked different" (82), and he explained:

I didn’t know I was going to apprehend
him with Mr. Ducaran. Looking at him the
way he looked then and looking at him
when he robbed us he looked different.

Nothing crossed my mind, sir whether that
was him or not, whether it was the robber

Numerical citations are to the trial transcript.

2

or not.
92. Initially, however, at the Wade hearing in the case,
Lester had said he did not recognize Harper at the time of
the shoplifting arrest because "[a]t the time that he was
arrested we didn’t know who -- we didn’t know he was that
person." Transcript of Wade hearing at 52.

The Photographic Display and Lineup

Lester apparently first came to "know [Harper] was that
person" as the result of a photographic identification held
on June 7, 1984, about a week after he had met Harper at the
shoplifting episode. Officer James Sullivan showed him and
Small an array of photographs. Neither Lester nor Small
could remember what photographs they had been shown, except
those of Harper. Officer Sullivan produced at the Wade
hearing six photographs he had shown the two men. Of these
Six, two were of Harper. In one of these two, Harper was
wearing sunglasses, as had the robber, and in the other he
was without glasses. The remaining four photographs were of
other men not wearing sunglasses. This selection of six
photographs by itself was clearly highly suggestive, tor
Harper was represented twice and was wearing garb like that
of the robber in one photograph.

Officer Sullivan testified, however, that, in addition
to the six photographs he was able to produce, he had shown

Small and Lester four other photographs and that these four

happened to have been two additional pairs of photographs of
men with and without sunglasses. Sullivan claimed that these
two additional pairs had been kept in the same file with the
other six pictures, but had disappeared. He could not ex-
plain what had happened to them. It was from this array of
ten, rather than six, photographs, Sullivan testified, that
Small and Lester picked Harper’s picture. Even the ten-
photograph array tended to suggest, however, that the police
suspected one of the three men, including Harper, who were
pictured in sunglasses.

Nearly three months after the crime, on July 31, 1984,
Small and Lester identified Harper in a police lineup as the
robber.

The Cross Examination of Small at Trial

On cross-examination at trial, defense counsel sought to
elicit information from Small about his mental and emotional
state during the crime. He asked several questions along
this line, all of which were thwarted by objections from the
prosecutor that were sustained by the court:

Q. So, the very first time you had an
idea there was going to be any kind of a
problem here was when somebody bumps into
you and telis you to give him the vest,

is that correct.

A. Yes, sir.

Q. How did you feel when those words
were said?

[Prosecutor]: Objection.
THE COURT: Objection sustained.

Q. Did you have a reaction when those
words were said to you?

[Prosecutor]: Objection.
THE COURT: Objection sus-
tained.

Q. Were you scared?

{Prosecutor}: Objection.
THE COURT: Objection sus-
tained.

Q. Had you ever been the victim of a
robbery before?

[Prosecutor]: Objection.

THE COURT: Objection sus-

tained.

[Defense counsel]: May I ap-

proach?

THE COURT: No, you may not.

[Defense counsel]: May I ap-

proach?

THE COURT: No, you may not.
46-47. The trial court then instructed the jury that its
rulings were on issues of law, and were not the jury’s con-
cern, and directed counsel to proceed. Defense counsel was
allowed no other cross-examination of Small concerning his
emotions or mental state while he was being robbed, a gun was

pointed at him, and his life was threatened.

The Summations

Defense counsel argued in summation that both Small and

Lester were "honestly mistaken" in their identifications of

Harper as the robber. Counsel noted that neither man got a

good look at the perpetrator and argued that Lester’s lack of
recogition of Harper just three weeks after the crime showed
that the identifications were unreliable. Counsel argued in
addition that "I’m sure that both Mr. Lester and Mr. Small
were very much afraid as any person would be with a gun stuck
in your stomach, especially, I’m sure, one that must appear
to be twelve feet long." 158-59.

In the course of the summations, the judge instructed
the jury that "[w]hat Counsel on either side of this case
says is not evidence," but only “argument." 172.

Charge, Deliberations, Verdict, and Sentence

The court submitted only one count to the jury, robbery

in the first degree, and instructed the jury, inter alia,

that the People had to prove Harper’s identity as the perpe-
trator beyond a reasonable doubt. In the course of its
charge, the court noted that in assessing the identification
testimony, the jury could consider "[w]hat was the mental and
emotional state of the witness. 204. And the court further
charged that the "jury’s sworn duty" was to decide the case
"solely on the evidence admitted during the trial." 182-83.
The jury commenced its deliberations at noon on Septem-
ber 11, 1985. It deliberated all the rest of that day and
into the night, until, at 11:00 p.m., it was sequestered.

The following morning, September 12, 1985, the jury asked for

and received a reading of the direct testimony of Small and

Lester, and re-instruction on the criteria to use in deciding
whether to accept a witness’s testimony. The jury returned
with its verdict that afternoon, finding Harper guilty of
robbery in the first degree.

On October 4, 1985, Harper was sentenced as a second
violent felony offender to ten to twenty years in prison.

The State Appeals and the Habeas Petition

Harper appealed his conviction claiming that the trial
court’s restrictions on his cross-examination of Small had
violated his rights to confront the witnesses against him.

Cn September 30, 1986, the New York State Supreme Court,
Appellate Division, First Department, affirmed his conviction

without opinion. People v. Harper, 123 A.D.2d 528 (lst Dept.

1986). On November 24, 1986, the New York State Court of
Appeals denied his application for leave to appeal. People

v. Harper, 68 N.Y.2d 1001 (1986).

Harper filed a petition for a writ of habeas corpus
again raising his confrontation claim. The district court
correctly characterized Harper’s argument as being that the
"right to confront witnesses gives a defendant a right to
cross examine an identification witness on the circumstances
under which he or she saw the perpetrator," Pet. App. at
14a, and the court noted that Harper cited cases indicating
that "the emotional reaction of a robbery victim can have a

bearing upon his or her identification." Pet. App. at 14a.

Althought the court stated that these principles were "not
applicable" in Harper’s case, it did not reach the consitu-
tional issue but instead determined that any error committed
was harmless. Pet. App. at i4a. This was so, the court
held, because Harper had been able to cross-examine Small and
Lester on other subjects, because Lester’s testimony, al]-
though weak, corroborated Small’s, because defense counsel
hypothesized in summation that Small and Lester had been
afraid, and because the trial court had instructed that jury
that it could consider "the mental and emotional state of the
witness." Pet. App. at 15a.

The Court of Appeals Opinion

The court of appeals held that the preclusion of all
inquiry into the victim’s emotional state during his observa-
tion of the robber, which formed the basis for identification
of the defendant, violated the defendant’s Sixth Amendment
right to confront his accusers and was not harmless in this
case. Pet. App. at la-2a. The court noted that the "central
concern" of the Confrontation Clause was to "ensure the
reliability of the evidence against a criminal defendant by
subjecting it to rigorous testing in the context of an adver-
sary proceeding before the trier of fact." Pet. App. at 4a,

citing Maryland v. Craig, 110 S. Ct. 3157, 3163 (1990), a

concern that was "especially critical when the only evidence

against an accused is eyewitness identification." Pet. App.

» 36 «

at 5a. In such cases, "the defendant must be afforded a
meaningful opportunity to probe the reliability of that
testimony," and "one of the most significant means to probe
such testimony can be to question the witness about his
thoughts and fears at the time of the crime." Pet. App. at
5a. Because the trial court had denied the defendant a
"meaningful opportunity" to impeach the witness on this
basis, the court held that Harper’s rights under the Confron-
tation Clause had been violated. Pet. App. at 6a.

The court of appeals also held that the error was not
harmless under the standard set out by this Court in Delaware

v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. at 684. The court noted that the

case was "based solely on eyewitness identification" and that
Small’s testimony was the "key (and perhaps the only) evi-
dence that the jury considered in convicting Harper." The
court found that, because Lester had initially not identified
Harper as the gunman, his testimony could not have carried
much weight with the jury, and Small’s testimony, which had
not been subject to full cross-examination, was crucial.

Pet. App. at 7a. The court rejected the state’s claim that
the error was harmless because Harper was allowed to argue
that fear might have affected Small’s perceptions on the
basis that "as juries are admonished during every trial,
counsel’s arguments cannot substitute for actual evidence."

Pet. App. at 7a.

ARGUMENT

Petitioner contends that the court of appeals erred in
finding a violation of the Confrontation Clause of the Sixth
Amendment in a case where the state trial court precluded all
cross-examination into the mental and emotional state of the
crucial identification witness at the time he observed the
perpetrator of the crime. Petitioner also contends that if
there was a violation of the Confrontation Clause, it was
harmless and that the court of appeals erred in "setijting]
a ide" factual findings of the district court concerning
harmless error that were not "clearly erroneous.” Rule
52(a), Fed. R. Civ. Pro. The court of appeals, applying
well-settled principles of constitutional law, correctly
found a violation of the Confrontation Clause in this case,
however, and also correctly found that that violation was not
harmless. Petitioner’s argument that the court of appeals
violated Rule 52(a) was not presented below, and, in any
event, petitioner does not identify any factual findings of
the district court that the court of appeals actually ‘set
aside" in this case. This case presents no issue upon which
certiorari should be granted.

Petitioner first suggests that defense counsel’s inqui-
ries into the feelings and reactions of the witness at the
time of the crime were “irrelevant" or were not "germane" to

the case, see Pet. App. at 12-13, and were thus not proper

5 + a

subjects of cross-examination. But, as the court of appeals
recognized, such inquiries, which implicate the witness’s
ability to perceive and remember, are plainly proper. Pet.
App. at 5a ("the most significant means to probe [identifica-
tion] testimony can be to question the witness about his
thoughts and fears at the time of the crime"). Indeed,
petitioner’s argument is foreclosed by the state trial
court’s charge in this very case, for the trial court in-
structed the jury as a matter of New York law that the "men-
tal and emotional state of the witness" was relevant to their

decision.’

*“ This Court and others have also recognized the rele-
vance of emotional factors in assessing the reliability of an
identification. See, e.g., Manson v. Brathwaite, 432 U.S.
98, 111-12 (1977) (because of the "circumstances of emergency
or emotional stress" involved in a witness’s encounter with a
Criminal, "{t]jhe witness’ recollection of the stranger can be
distorted easily"); United States v. Smith, 563 F.2d 1361,
1363 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1021 (1978)
(emotions such as fright "might lessen the value of [the
witness’s] later selection of the accused"); Dickerson v.
Fogg, 526 F. Supp. 1299, 1307 (S.D.N.Y. 1981), aff'd 692
F.2d 238 (2d Cir. 1982) (that witness was "extremely shaken"
might have lowered degree of attention to robber’s face).

The inquiry into the witness’s mental or emotional state is,
indeed, no more than an inquiry into the witness’s ability to
perceive and to remember, and as such it is without doubt a
proper subject of cross-examination. See United States v.
Owens, 108 S. Ct. 838, 842 (1988) ("“attentiveness," "eye-
sight" and "memory" permissible subjects of cross-examina-
tion); Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308, 316 (1974) (cross-
examiner may "test the witness’ perceptions and memory").

=:

Petitioner further argues, however, that "the Confronta-
tion Clause does not prevent @2 trial judge from imposing
reasonable limits on cross-examination." Pet. at 10. This
principle is clearly true, of course, and the court of ap-
peals explicitly recognized it, stating that "trial judges
retain wide latitude, insofar as the Confrontation Clause is

concerned to impose reasonable limits on ... cross-examina-

uw

tion." Pet. App. at 6a, quoting Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 47
U.S. at 679. But the court of appeals correctly found that
the trial court’s rulings amounted to the “total preclusion

of cross-examination”" on an issue of "vital importance’ in

167)
t
oOo
~
(D

the case, Pet. App. at 6a, and thus exceeded the permis

“reasonable limits" on cross-examination.

ae)
9)
ct
he:
ct
2
O
a
1.)
|
47)
ie)
|
Q
c
3
@
pen
ct
ct
O
ct
=
0)
2)
O
os
t
a |
0)
ry
<
147)
Uv
0)
49)
1)
ct
at
ct
r
t
t

13, that the preclusion of cross-examination was justified,

is frivolous. Petitioner argues that because defense coun-

sel’s questions were "vague," "potentially confusing’ or ‘'su-
perfluous,”" the trial court could properly preclude all of
them. Pet. at 12-13. Counsel’s questions were neither

"vague" nor "potentially confusing," however, but inquired
directly of the witness what his feelings were as he learned
he was being robbed, how he reacted to the demand for money,
whether he was scared, and whether he had previously been the

victim of a robbery. These were simple questions susceptible

U

of simple answers. Nor were these questions “superfluous.

in ©

That Small had admitted that he was surprised by the appear-
ance of a man before the robbery began did not make superflu-
ous further inquiry to determine what his subsequent emotions
or fears were as he first learned he was being robbed and as
the robber then threatened to "blow [his] fuckin’ head off."
The court of appeals was correct in finding that there was
"no evidentiary basis to completely preclude this line of
inquiry." Pet. App. at 6a.

Petitioner claims, however, that the Court cf Appeal’s
"ruling stands in opposition to every decision of this Court
on the subject of the Confrontation Clause and on the extent
of federal intervention on collateral review, and similarly
is in conflict with the other circuit courts." Pet. at 9
(emphasis supplied). But petitioner does not identify a
Single case decided by this Court with which the decision
below is in conflict. Nor does petitioner show the decision
below to be in conflict with the decision of any other cir-
cuit court of appeals. None of the cases cited by petition-
er, Pet. at 1l, n.4, involves limitations on cross-examina-
tion of the crucial eyewitness in a case resting solely on
eyewitness identification, and none of them conflicts with
the decision of the court of appeals below.

- Petitioner argues in the alternative that even if the
trial court’s rulings violated the Confrontation Clause, the

violation was harmless error. The court of appeals consid-

a 2 es

ered this question and correctly set out the legal standard
for determining whether such a confrontation violation is
harmless. Pet. App. at 6a-7a. To make such a determination,
a court must consider many factors, including:

the importance of the witness’ testimony
in the prosecution’s case, whether the
testimony was cumulative, the presence or
absence of evidence corroborating or
contradicting the testimony of the wit-
ness on material points, the extent of
cross-examination otherwise permitted,
and, of course, the overall strength of
the prosecution’s case.

Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. at 684. Upon consideration

of the relevant factors among these, the court can find an
error harmless only if, “assuming that the damaging potential
of the cross-examination were fully realized, a reviewing
court might nonetheless say that the error was harmless
beyond a reasonable doubt." Id.

Here the error was plainly not harmless beyond a reason-
able doubt based upon the crucial importance of Small’s
identification, the absence of any real corroboretion for
Small’s identification, the overall weakness of the prosecu-
tion’s case, and the hung jury at Harper’s prior trial. As
the court of appeals noted, the case was one based solely on
eyewitness testimony, and Small gave the "key (and perhaps
the only) evidence that the jury considered in convicting
Harper." Pet. App. at 7a. Although Lester’s testimony

purported to corroborate that of Small’s, the jury would not

“oa

have been likely to rely on it, because Lester failed to
identify Harper as the gunman when given an admirab’e chance
to do so just three weeks after the crime. Pet. App. at 7a;

see Olden v. Kentucky, 109 S. Ct. at 484 (corroborating

testimony of witness Russell did not render error harmless
because it was "derivative" and had been "somewhat im-
pugned"). Thus, the prohibited cross-examination would have
attacked the crucial witness in the case concerning the cru-
cial, indeed the only, issue in the case -- the identifica-
tion of Harper as the robber -- an issue on which there was
but weak corroboration for the witness.

In addition, of course, the state’s case was "far from

overwhelming." Olden v. Kentucky, 109 S. Ct. 480, 484
(1988). Small’s identification had been made on the basis of
a thirty-second observation at dusk of a black man wearing
black clothing, sunglasses, and a black hat pulled down over
his hair. The lack of a substantial opportunity to observe
the criminal might alone have been grounds for finding rea-
sonable doubts of Harper’s guilt. In addition, however, when
Lester was by chance presented with a sterling opportunity
(untainted by any police identification procedures) to iden-
tify Harper as the man who robbed Small, he failed even to
suspect that Harper was the man. His explanation, that
Harper "looked different" than the robber, is perhaps the

best evidence that Harper was indeed innocent of this crime.

a SP ie

The weakness of the prosecution’s case is underlined by
the hung jury at Harper’s first trial. Not only was the jury
at that trial divided in its views, but it was divided eleven
to one in favor of acquitting Harper. Pet. App. at 10a. The
real doubts of real jurors who heard the case are a signifi-
cant factor in showing that a confrontation error was not

harmless. Cf. Olden v. Kentucky, 109 S. Ct. at 482, 484

(inconsistent jury verdicts show prosecution’s case was "far
from overwhelming").

Given the "crucial" nature of Small’s testimony on the
crucial issue in the case, the weakness of the corroboration
for his testimony, Lester’s testimony that when he first
viewed Harper, Harper "looked different" than the robber,
Small’s poor opportunity to view the robber, and the overall
weakness of the prosecution’s case, the error here was plain-

ly not harmless. See Olden v. Kentucky, 109 S. Ct. at 484

(on essentially these factors, confrontation error not harm-
less).

It does not alter this conclusion that defense counsel
stated in his summation that he was "sure" that Small was
"very much afraid" at the time of the crime. The trial court
explicitly instructed the jury that such arguments were not
evidence and that it was the jury’s sworn duty to decide the
case solely on the evidence admitted during the trial. As

the court of appeals noted, counsel’s argument did not render

« 28 «

the error harmless, for "as juries are admonished during
every trial, counsel’s arguments cannot substitute for actual
evidence." Pet. App. at 7a.

Petitioner argues, in addition, that the court of ap-
peals erred in failing to apply to the district court’s
factual findings concerning harmless error the clearly erro-
neous test of Rule 52(a), Fed. R. Civ. Pro. Petitioner did
not make this argument in the court below, and for this
reason alone, certiorari should be denied. Moreover, peti-
tioner has not shown that the court of appeals actually "set
aside" any "[f]Jactual finding" made by the district court.
Rule 52(a), Fed. R. Civ. Pro. Although petitioner lists a
number of what it characterizes as factual findings made by
the district court, see Pet. at 14, the court of appeals "set
aside" none of these. The court of appeals agreed with the
district court, for example, that defense counsel had been
allowed to argue to the jury that Small’s fear might have
affected his identification. It also agreed that the trial
court charged the jury to consider "the mental and emotional
state of the witness." Pet. App. at 7a. It nowhere disputed
the district court‘’s conclusions that Small had seen the
robber a moment before the robbery began or that Harper had
been allowed other cross-examination of Small. And it did
not deny that Lester corroborated Small; indeed it acknowl-

edged that like Small, Lester identified Harper as the rob-

ee

ber. Pet. App. at 7a. Because petitioner failed to raise
this issue below and has not shown that the court of appeals
"set aside" any factual finding of the district court, this
issue does not warrant the grant of a writ of certiorari.’

The court of appeals was not required to accord the same
significance to these undisputed facts that the district
court did, nor was it precluded from considering other facts
the district court ignored‘ or reaching a different legal
conclusion from that reached by the district court. The
ultimate decision whether a constitutional error is harmless
is not a question of fact, but "is one of federal law."

Rushen v. Spain, 464 U.S. 114, 120 (1983). Accordingly, the

> For these reasons, the court should deny certiorari
notwithstanding that this issue is before the Court in McCle-
skey v. Kemp, No. 89-7024. Petitioner has not shown that he
would be entitled to relief even if the outcome of McCleskey
were to be favorable to him.

* The district court’s analysis, upon which petitioner
essentially relies, was flawed primarily by its failure to
consider the most important factors relevant to harmless
error in this case. The district court gave no consideration
at all to the fundamental weakness of the prosecution’s case,
the crucial nature of Small’s identification testimony, the
vital importance of exploring the bases for Small’s identifi-
cation, Lester’s testimony that just three weeks after the
crime Harper did not look like the robber, or the prior hung
jury in the case. See Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. at
684 (factors to consider include "the importance of the
witness’ testimony in the prosecution’s case ... and, of
course, the overall strength of the prosecution’s case"); see
also Olden v. Kentucky, 109 S. Ct. at 484 (error not harmless
because witness’s testimony "crucial," corroboration for it
was weak, it was contradicted by other witnesses, and state’s
case was "far from overwhelming").

=

circuit courts of appeal that have considered the question

have quite uniformly determined that the question is entitled

to de novo review on appeal. Larson v. Tansy, 911 F.2d 392,
394 (10th Cir. 1990); Hall v. Wainwright, 805 F.2d 945, 947

(llth Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 905 (1987); McKenzie

v. Risley, 842 F.2d 1525, 1531 (9th Cir.) (en banc), cert.
denied, 488 U.S. 901 (1988); Holland v. Attorney General, 777

F.2d 150, 156 (3d Cir. 1985); see also Hanrahan v. Greer, 896
F.2d 241, 244 (7th Cir. 1990) (question of correct standard
of review open). On the facts found by the district court,
the Court of Appeals correctly concluded that the error here
was not harmless.
CONCLUSION
The petitition for a writ of certiorari should be de-
nied.
Dated: New York, New York
February 26, 1991
Respectfully submitted,
DAVID A. LEWIS
THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY
FEDERAL DEFENDER SERVICES UNIT
52 Duane Street, 10th Floor
New York, New York 10007
Tel. No.: (212) 285-2842

Attorney for Respondent HARPER.

— =

THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY

CRIMINAL APPEALS BUREAU e FEDERAL DEFENDER SERVICES UNIT
52 Duane Street - 10th Floor, New York, N.Y. 10007 (212) 285-2842

February 26, 1991

"FRA rMIIeER |

*% & \ ‘ ww
The Honorable William K. Suter 97 399)
Clerk FEB 27 199 |
Supreme Court of the United States (
Supreme Court Building SUPREME ( \

Washington, DC 20543

Re: KELLEY v. HARPER, 90-1130
Dear Mr. Suter:

Enclosed are ten copies of a brief in opposition to the
grant of a writ of certiorari on behalf of respondent Elmer
Harper, Jr., an application for leave to proceed in forma
pauperis, and a certificate of service.

Three copies of the brief in opposition and one of the
application for in forma pauperis relief have been served by
first-class mail on ROBERT T. JOHNSON, Discrict Attorney of
Bronx County, Counsel of Record for petitioner.

Very truly yours,

/

s—"
DAVID A. LEWIS
Associate Appellate Counsel

DAL/hcs

Encl.

cc: Robert T. Johnson
District Attorney
Bronx County

No. 90-1130

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-1130

WALTER R. KELLY, Superintendent,
Attica Correctional Facility,

Petitioner,
Ve

ELMER HARPER, JR.,

Respondent.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Counsel hereby certifies that three copies of the within
brief in opposition and one copy of the application for leave

to proceed in forma pauperis have been served by first class

mail on Robert T. Johnson, District Attorney, Bronx County,
Counsel of Record for petitioner.

Dated: New York, New York f
February 26, 1991

eee, eo ”

DAVID A. LEWIS

Pe
i-

THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY

FEDERAL DEFENDER SERVICES UNIT
52 Duane Street, 10th Floor
New York, New York 10007

Tel. No.: (212) 285-2842

Attorney for Petitioner Harper.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1527%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
