# Petition — Snowden v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1212%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 1108

## Text

-Supreme Court, U.S.
van 1L ED
82 Ee 24 98
IN THE ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1982
No.
ROBERT A. SNOWDEN, IR.,
SAMUEL SYLVESTER SNOWDEN,
STEPHEN JAMES ISRAEL,
DOUGLAS F. TEMPLES,
HAROLD DEAN JACKSON,
LYNN H. JOHNSON,
Petitioners,
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

Mark J. Kapisu
Nod A. BROFMAN
KADISH, DAVIS X BROFMAN, P.C.

Suite 700, The Grant Building
44 Broad Street, N.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

(404) 688-2000
Attorneys for Petitioners

QUESTION PRESENTED

WHETHER THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD BE
BARRED FROM REPROSECUTING PETITION-
ERS, WHERE THE FACTS AT TRIAL SHOW
THAT THE PETITIONERS’ MOTION FOR MIS-
TRIAL WAS GRANTED AS A DIRECT RESULT OF
THE PROSECUTION’S GROSS NEGLIGENCE AND
LACK OF PREPARATION.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
D ͥ ͥ Q decades eh i
SN ¢ Sinnvcncdocnscotgumdtdss ceseeueste 1
, ̃ !Kn chudeedes 2
ee eee eee 2
Reasons for Granting the Wr it. 9
r déqeed cabanas euerdeetiuls 17
e cog cs cess Cabin 00 0keesen ees 18
r ˙²˙r eee ene. la
TABLE OF CASES
Bonner v. City of Pritchard, 661 F. 2d 1206
IG WED ug Gaack oath nese T 13
Crist v. Bretz, 437 U.S. 28 (1978 )ů ⸗ ee. 11
Downum v. United States, 372 U.S. 734. 10, 11
Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184 (1958)......... 11
United States v. Davis, 589 F. 2d 904 (1978) 13
United States v. Dinitz, 424 U.S. 600
%%% 8, 11, 12, 13
United States v. Gaultney, 606 F. 2d 540
,, ‚l—:!&—ꝛT—Ä— oh 9606 ess 13
United States v. Kessler, 530 F.2d 1246
D ip nn ddeaghe¥s océabhWev'ed 13, 16
Constitutional Provisions
Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution 9, 10
Other Authority
. cele chee 1

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1982

ROBERT A. SNOWDEN, IR.,
SAMUEL SYLVESTER SNOWDEN,
STEPHEN JAMES ISRAEL,
DOUGLAS F. TEMPLES,
HAROLD DEAN JACKSON,
LYNN H. JOHNSON,
Petitioners,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, ROBERT A. SNOWDEN, JR., SAMUEL
SYLVESTER SNOWDEN, STEPHEN JAMES
ISRAEL, DOUGLAS F. TEMPLES, HAROLD DEAN
JACKSON and LYNN H. JOHNSON, petition for a
Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit in this
case.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals was entered on
September 21, 1982. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

1

2

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. A, infra,
la-3a) was unpublished.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On June 25, 1980, Petitioner ROBERT SNOWDEN
was indicted on charges of (1) conspiracy to possess mari-
juana, (2) attempted bribery, and (3) importation of
marijuana. All of the Petitioners were indicted on charges
of (1) conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute
marijuana, and (2) possession with intent to distribute
marijuana.

On October 7, 1980, the government brought a super-
seding indictment charging Petitioners with conspiracy
to possess with intent to distribute marijuana, possession
with intent to distribute marijuana, and charging Robert
Snowden, Jr. with attempted bribery.

On November 3, 1980, the case was called to trial and

during the second day of trial, the Court granted the
Petitioners’ verbal motions for mistrial.

On December 29, 1980, the Petitioners filed a motion to
dismiss the indictment based on statutory and constitu-
tional deficiencies in the grand jury selection and impanel-
ment process and on December 31, 1980, Petitioners filed
a motion to dismiss the indictment on double jeopardy
grounds and to bar retrial.

On January 5, 1981, United States District Court
Judge William C. Keady consolidated Defendants’ grand
jury motion with others in the Nerthern District of
Georgia and on March 17, 1981, Judge Keady granted
devendants’ motion to dismiss the indictment due to
grand jury infirmities.

3

On August 3, 1981, the Petitioners were reindicted on
charges of conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute
marijuana and possession with intent to distribute mari-
juana. Robert Snowden, Jr. was also charged with at-
tempted bribery.

On November 6, 1981, the trial court reviewed and
denied Petitioners’ motion to dismiss the indictment on
double jeopardy grounds and to bar retrial, which
stemmed from the mistrial granted November 4, 1980.

The trial court entered a written order denying Peti-
tioners’ motion and they took an interlocutory appeal to
the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals which was denied.

This case first came to trial on September 8, 1980. As-
sistant United States Attorney (AUSA) Dorothy Kirkley
was government counsel at that time. (V. 5:2-36) After
the case was called, but before the jury was impaneled,
defense counsel were given copies of the grand jury pro-
ceedings in the case. Upon review of these proceedings,
defense counsel raised certain problems concerning pos-
sible grand jury abuse and government misconduct
surrounding the return of the indictment. Defendant
Johnson was not mentioned at all during the presentation
of the case to the grand jury other than in the actual
reading of the indictment, although a Mr. Harrison
(Johnson’s middle name) was mentioned. (V. 3:13). The
trial was continued until the November term, in order to
give defense counsel an opportunity to brief the grand
jury abuse issues raised. (V. 5:2-3)

On October 6, 1980, AUSA Kirkley announced at an
in-chamber’s meeting with the district court judge and
defense counsel present, that the government would re-

4

indict the case by bringing a superseding indictment and
that AUSA Sutton would be handling the case. (V. 3:5)
AUSA Kirkley also argued that the superseding indict-
ment would render the grand jury abuse issues moot.
(V. 3:3-5)

On October 7, 1980, the defendants were reindicted
and on November 3, 1980, the case was again called to
trial. The Petitioners argued for a severance of Count
Three of the indictment which charged defendant Robert
Snowden, Jr. with bribery (V. 7:3) and for a James
hearing. (V. 7:17-18) The court ordered a severance of
Count Three and ordered the government to reorder its
proof so that before statements by alleged co-conspirator,
Robert Snowden, Jr. were introduced, the court would be
able to determine whether or not the statements would
be admissible against other defendants by substantial
independent evidence and whether or not there was evi-
dence to indicate that they were members of a con-
spiracy. (V. 751)

After ruling on these matters the jury was sworn
(V. 7:650) and the government began its opening state-
ment. (V. 7:73) During opening, AUSA Sutton stated:

.. with regard to Court Two of the indictment, it
e

seled by one another, did possess a q on ta
cocaine with the intent to distribute. 75)

(Emphasis added)
An objection and motion for mistrial was made by de-
fense counsel on the ground that the case had nothing
whatsoever to do with cocaine. (V. 7:76) The court

It should also be noted that ing trial, there was often confu-
sion by AUSA Sutton as to what A Kirkley’s position had been
on discovery matters. (V. 7:58; V. 7:110; V. 7:131; V. 7:142; V.
818, V 8399; V. 8:525).

5

denied the motion for mistrial and gave a cautionary

instruction:
All right, ladies and gentlemen of the jury, the
Assistant United States Attorney in his i
statement made an incorrect statement and i
to caution you and admonish you to diregard the
statement he had made just before you were sent out
of the room. He made reference to Count Three of
the indictment and what it alleged and he stated an
incorrect substance . . (V. 7:79)

Also during opening statements the court warned AUSA
Sutton “to be cautious of anything [statements] that is
covered by Miranda. (V. 7:88) Two defense counsel
gave opening statements, while others reserved the right
to open. (V. 793-7)

The government began its case in chief. (V. 7:97)
Several objections were made by defense counsel to co-
conspirator hearsay on the basis that there had been no
showing of a conspiracy by independent evidence and
that each defendant was a member of the conspiracy.
(V. 7:00; 7:162; 7:181) The court finally ruled:

At this point, we will go ahead with the jury on the
representation you AUA Sutton] are going back to
the airport and not to any conversation between the
sheriff and Mr. Robert Snowden. (V. 7:182) (Em-
phasis added)
Nevertheless, with the very next question, AUSA Sutton
brought out objectionable co-conspirator hearsay (V.
7:186; 7:187) and the district judge made the decision
that a James hearing would be necessary. (V. 7:192) A
James hearing was conducted outside the jury’s presence
(V. 7:183-298); V. 8:299-624) At the close of the James
hearing, the court found that under all the circumstances,
there was a conspiracy and there was some substantial

evidence that each of the defendants was a participant in
the conspiracy. (V. 8:624) The jury trial then continued.
(V. 8:624)

One government witness, Sheriff Hartsel Moove, testi-
fied on direct examination as follows:

Q:

> © > © >

Now, Sheriff, in that conversation, you mentioned
a DC-6 at the early part of the conversation. What
in that regard sir, were you making reference to?

Previous we talked about a DC-6 that was at Ashe
County, North Carolina.

: And what, sir, had Mr. Snowden asked you to do

with regard to the DC-6?

: Check on when it would be auctioned off, if there

was any way I could help get it back.

: All right, sir, did you do anything like that for

Robert Snowden?

: No, I did not. (V. 8:645-6) (Emphasis added)

Then, during the direct testimony of Case Agent John
Landrum, the following occurred:

Q:

Agent Landrum, before Government Exhibit No.
21, I believe was damaged — if you would, describe
Government’s Exhibit 20. Describe the nature of

the damage to the exhibit, please.

: The nature is that the tape jumped off of the

track and got all fouled up, irreparably so.

It was being played at the time Hy AUSA Dorothy
Kirkley to iff Hartsel in my presence.

7

Q: When was Government Exhibit 27 made, before
or after Government’s Exhibit 20 was damaged?

A: It was made before, just prior to grand jury indict-
ment on the first indi . 8:69) (Emphasis
added)

At this time, Petitioner Temple’s counsel made a
motion for mistrial on the ground that the reference to a
“prior indictment” and other trial date” inferred other
misconduct by Petitioners. (V. 8:657)

Petitioner Snowden’s counsel also made a motion for
mistrial based on Sheriff Moore’s testimony concerning
the confiscated DC-6, which Mr. Snowden wanted to get
back. He argued that this, too, directed itself to the
existence of a prior crime. (V. 8:652)

Counsel also argued that the statement about the
repurchase of the DC-6 and the statement about the
prior indictment, coupled together, were the basis for
mistrial. (V. 8:653) All Petitioner's joined in this motion.
(V. 8:653)

The court ruled:

The DC-6 would not cause me any [concern]. I
listened to it and it did not cause me any great con-
cern. To me, I got the reaction they were trying to
buy an airplane and these people were not connected
with it but then with the first indictment reference,

it could easily be connected 4} suggesting that Mr.
Snowden was the one invol in a previous indict-
ment involving a DC-6.

There was no excuse for the reference to a first
indictment or a prior trial, either one. I am to
t the motion. I think it was error. I think it was
innocent error and innocent mistake but it should
not have been done. I am going to grant the motion.

All right, maybe the government can get their act

t pasta ne meg pointer 5 ing to
15 re —
2
e
1981. However, on December 29, 1980, the defendants
filed a motion to dismiss the indietment based on statu-
tory and constitutional deficiencies in the grand jury
selection and impanelment process. (V. 12:1017) Also filed
was the defendants’ motion to dismiss the indictment on
double jeopardy grounds and to bar retrial. (V. 12:1025)

On August 4, 1981, defendants were again reindicted
by a superseding indictment. (V. 12:1284) The defendants
adopted all prior motions and the magistrate adopted all
prior orders and denied the defendants’ motion to bar
retrial on the grounds of double jeopardy which had been
filed on December 28, 1980.

In his report, recommendation and order, the magis-
trate found that the facts before him would not bar
reprosecution of the defendants. As his ground for finding
that reprosecution might occur without constitutional
error, the magistrate cited the general rule that a mistrial
on a defendant’s own motion would not violate the double
jeopardy clause, citing United States v. Dinitz, 424 US.
600, 607-608. The magistrate noted the bad faith” ex-
ception to that general rule, but found that defendants
allegations of actions constituting prosecutorial mis-
conduct were insufficient to reach the level of bad faith,
harassment or prejudice required to fall into the excep-
tion.

The Petitioners filed their objections to the magistrate’s
report, recommendation and order. Included was an
objection to the magistrate’s ruling on his Motion to
Dismiss the Indictment on Double Jeopardy Grounds and

to Bar Retrial“. (V. 12:1326)

On Monday, November 2, 1981, the trial court held a
hearing on the defendants’ objection to the magistrate’s
report, recommendation and order. (V. 6) During oral
argument, the defendants reviewed the incidents which
led to their motion for a mistrial. (V. 6:14-24) Included in
their argument was that AUSA Sutton was ill-prepared
to try the case (V. 6: 14-24); that he had to call the prose-
cutor who began the case to determine what her position
had been on several matters (V. 6:14-24); that he men-
tioned “cocaine” in his opening statement when only
crimes associated with marijuana were charged (V.
6:14-24); that an airplane in another case was mentioned
by a witness (V. 6:14-24); and that Case Agent Landrum,
improperly answered a question by disclosing the prior
indictment and trial date in the case. (V. 6:14-24)

The trial judge denied defendants’ motion to dismiss
on the basis of double jeopardy (V. 6:38), but permitted
the defendants to appeal his ruling to the Eleventh Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals. (V. 6:39) All defendants, except
for defendant Mock, joined in the appeal, which was
denied on September 21, 1982.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents a due process question of exceptional
importance warranting review by this Court. The issue
arises from the Court of Appeals’ holding that the trial
court did not err when it denied Petitioners’ motion to
dismiss the indictment on double jeopardy grounds and
to bar retrial. The conclusion of the Eleventh Circuit is
contrary to the established principles of the Fifth Amend-
ment and due process clause. Where the facts at trial
show that mistrial was granted as a direct result of the

10

prosecution’s gross negligence, and lack of preparation,
the government should not be permitted to retry Peti-
tioners. The ban against double jeopardy must be scruti-
nized in light of government misconduct which, may not
be intentional, but which is grossly negligent. No case in
this Court has specifically addressed the question of what
conduct would constitute gross negligence and thus, the
issue raised here is one of first impression. This Court
needs to set forth guidelines which will define that con-
duct which does rise to the level of gross negligence.

WHETHER THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD BE
BARRED FROM REPROSECUTING PETITION-
ERS, WHERE THE FACTS AT TRIAL SHOW THAT
THE PETITIONERS’ MOTION FOR MISTRIAL
WAS GRANTED AS A DIRECT RESULT OF THE
PROSECUTION’S GROSS NEGLIGENCE AND
LACK OF PREPARATION.

United States Constitution, Amendment V, provides

in part:
nor shall any person be subject for the same offense
to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb.

This Court has explained that the double jeopardy
clause protects two important interests of the criminal
defendant: (1) the right to have guilt or innocence deter-
mined by the particular jury then impaneled, and (2) the
right to be free from harassing multipie prosecutions for
the same offense:

The underlying idea, one that is deeply ingrained in
at least the Anglo-American system of 4
is that the State with all its resources and power
should not be allowed to make repeated attempts to
convict an individual for an alleged offense, thereby
subjecting him to embarrassment, expense and
ordeal and compelling him to live in a continuing

11

state of anxiety and insecurity, as well as enhancing
the possibility that even though innocent he may
be found guilty.

Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184, 187-188 (1958).

In Crist v. Bretz, 437 U.S. 28 (1978), the Court set out
the stage in a jury trial that jeopardy attaches:

... The precise point at which jeopardy does attach
in a jury trial might have been open to argument
before this Court’s decision in Downum v. United
States, 372 U.S. 734 . . The Court held that the
Double Jeopardy Clause prevented a second prose-
cution of a defendant whose first trial had ended first
after the jury had been sworn and before any testi-
mony had been taken. The court necessarily pin-
pointed the stage in a jury trial that jeopardy at-
teaches, and the Downum case has since been under-
stood as explicit authority for the proposition that
jeopardy attaches when the jury is empaneled and
sworn .. . (at 689).

The applicable law which governs this petition is set out
in United States v. Dinitz, 424 U.S. 600 (1976).

In Dinitz, the defendant was charged with conspiracy
to distribute L. S. D. During the defense’s opening state-
ment, lead defense counsel was reprimanded by the judge
for making what the judge considered impermissible
remarks. After a number of reprimands, the judge barred
lead defense counsel from continuing with the trial and
directed him to leave the courthouse. When the assisting
defense counsel informed the court that the defendant
wanted lead counsel to try the case, the judge set forth
three (3) alternatives: (1) a stay or recess pending appli-
cation to the Court of Appeals to review the propriety
of expelling counsel; (2) a continuation of the trial with
assisting defense counsel; or (3) a declaration of mistrial

12

that would permit the defendant to obtain other counsel.
The assisting defense counsel moved for mistrial. Follow-
ing mistrial, defendant was retried on the same charge.
His motion objecting to the retrial on double jeopardy
grounds was denied, and he was convicted by asecond
jury. A divided Court of Appeals (8-7 en banc) subse-
quently held that the reprosecution was barred by double
jeopardy. The court concluded that the request for a
mistrial had not constituted a waiver and that the mani-
fest necessity standard applied. Thus, the discharge of
counsel, which gave rise to the mistrial, was not justified
by manifest necessity in light of the other alternatives
available to the trial judge.

This Court reversed the Court of Appeals and reasoned
that the defendant, when moving for mistrial, generally
faces a Hobson's choice“ between giving up his first jury
and continuing a trial tainted by prejudicial, judicial or
prosecutorial error. The Court stated that the important
consideration for purposes of the Double Jeopardy Clause
is that the defendant retains primary control over the
course to be followed in the event of such error. Since the
defendant in Dinitz retained primary control, the court
held that the Court of Appeals erred in finding that the
retrial violated the defendant’s constitutional right not
to be twice put in jeopardy.

The Court did set out when double jeopardy does
attach:

The Double Jeopardy e does protect a defen-
dant against governmental actions intended to pro-
voke mistrial requests and thereby to subject defen-
dants to the substantial burdens imposed by multiple
rosecutions. Jt bars retrials where ‘bad-faith conduct
judge or prosecutor’ [cite omitted] threatens the
‘harassment of an accused by successive prosecutions

13
or declaration of a mistrial so as to afford the prosecu-
tion a more favorable opportunity to convict’ the defen-
dant. 47 L.Ed.2d at 276. (Emphasis added)

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has consistently
interpreted the bad faith“ standard as requiring a find-
ing of gross negligence or intentional misconduct on the
part of the Government which has seriously prejudiced
the defendant. United States v. Gaultney, 606 F.2d 540,
547 (5th Cir. 1979), modified on other grounds, 615 F. 2d
642 (1980); United States v. Davis, 589 F.2d 904, 906
(1978); United States v. Kessler, 530 F.2d 1246 (Sth Cir.
1976). The totality of the circumstances prior to the
mistrial must be analyzed in order to determine the
existence of bad faith (i.e. gross negligence or intentional
misconduct) on the part of the government. United States
v. Gaultney, supra; United States v. Kessler, 530 F.2d 1246
(5th Cir. 1976).

The instant case first came to trial on September 8,
1980. AUSA Dorothy Kirkley was government counsel at
that time. The trial, however, was postponed due to
alleged grand jury abuse and the government reindicted
the case by superseding indictment rather than face the
issue.

The case again came to trial on Monday, November 3,
1980. AUSA William Sutton was government counsel at
this time. The change of government counsel was due to
caseload and administrative problems besetting AUSA
Kirkley. (V. 3:5)

As a result of the substitution of government counsel
in the case, AUSA Sutton was rushed to prepare for trial.

In Bonner v. City of Pritchard, 661 F.2d 1206 (11th Cir. 1981),
the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals adopted Fifth Circuit case
law as precedent.

14

The manner in which the entire case was presented illus-
trates that AUSA Sutton did not have adequate time to
get ready for trial.

The trial record bears out the problems of AUSA
Sutton’s unfamiliarity with AUSA Kirkley’s representa-
tions relating to discovery and other matters. Defense
counsel made a significant number of objections to AUSA
Sutton’s unfamiliarity with matters which defense counsel
understood to have already been decided. (V. 7:58;
V. 7:110, V. 7:131; V. 7:142; V. 8:342; V. 8:399; V. 8:525)
It was even necessary for AU SA Sutton to call AUSA
Kirkley to determine what her position was on certain
matters because of his unfamiliarity with her decisions.
(V. 8.461)

Additionally, during opening statement, AUSA Sutton
incorrectly told the jurors that Count Two of the indict-
ment charged the Defendants with possession of a quan-
tity of cocaine with intent to distribute. (V. 7:75) Al-
though the court gave a cautionary instruction and told
the jury that the government attorney had made an in-
correct statement, the misstatement is a further example
of the prosecution’s inadequate case preparation.

Furthermore, the court ordered the government to re-
order its proof so that co-conspirator hearsay would not
be heard by jurors prior to the court’s determination of
whether or not the statements would be admissible.
Nevertheless, with the very next question, AUSA Sutton
brought out objectionable co-conspirator hearsay and
the Court determined that a James hearing would be

necessary. (V. 7:186-7; 192)

Finally, the inadequate time for preparation was fur-
ther exemplified by the manner in which the mistrial

15

occurred. Sheriff Moore, testified at trial that a DC-6
airplane had been seized and that Petitioner Robert
Snowden, Jr. wanted the Sheriff to buy it back for him.
This suggested to the jury that another airplane at
another time had been seized in a drug operation and
that Snowden was trying to get it back. AUSA Sutton
pursued his questions concerning the DC-6 airplane.
(V. 8:645-6)

Then, during the testimony of Case Agent John Land-
rum, he made a statement concerning a prior indictment
and previous trial date. This reference to the first indict-
ment indicated that there had been prior misconduct and
that the prior indictment concerning the airplane that
Snowden was allegedly attempting to purchase (and
possibly the cocaine referred to in the prosecutor’s
opening statement).

In this case, a retrial of Petitioners should be barred
because the U.S. Attorney’s unfamiliarity of the case,
and the case agent’s prejudicial comments which were a
result of lack of preparation and unfamiliarity of the
case, rose to the level of gross negligence. The govern-
ment should not have additional time and a second bite
at the apple to get its case together and to prepare for
trial. The government should not receive the benefit of
additional time to prepare and strengthen its case since
the Petitioners had no choice but to move for mistrial
when the blatantly prejudicial statements came into
evidence.

As the trial judge stated: There was no excuse for the
reference to a first indictment or a prior trial, either one.“
(V.8:658) Case Agent Landrum should have known better
than to give testimony concerning a prior indictment and
prior trial date, especially in light of his many years of

16

training and courtroom experience. Nevertheless, even in
this posture, it is apparent that the main case agent was
inadequately prepared by AUSA Sutton when he took
the stand. The case agent is an agent of the U.S. Attor-
ney’s Office and his actions and conduct are attributable
to the government.

These incidents show that the U.S. Attorney who
handled the case was virtually unfamiliar with it. The
direct result was the government’s gross negligence
which compelled Petitioners to move for a mistrial in
this case.

After granting the mistrial, the district court judge
stated: All right, maybe the government can get their
act together a little better.“ (V. 8:658) It was apparent to
the trial judge tiiat the government did not have its act
together. Certainly, the government should not be af-
forded another opportunity to convict the Petitioners
since the mistrial arose out of the government’s gross
negligence and unpreparedness in the first instance. This
is the very kind of situation which the Due Process and
the Double Jeopardy Ciause should seek to eliminate.

The Petitioners contend that the gross negligence
alleged here, is no less than the gross negligence set out
in United States v. Kessler, supra. Thus, retrial here
should also be barred.

17

CONCLUSION

For all of the above reasons, Petitioners would request
this Honorable Court to grant certiorari and reverse the
Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals opinion.

Respectfully submitted,

KADISH, DAVIS & BROFMAN, P.C.

By: js Mark J. Kapisu
Mark J. KapisH

Attorneys for Petitioners

Suite 700, The Grant Building
44 Broad Street, N.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

688-2000

18
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that a copy of the Petition For Writ
of Certiorari to the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals
filed by Petitioner has been served upon:

Solicitor General of the United States
Room 5614
Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

via first class mail, postage prepaid.
This the — day of November, 1982.

Mark J. Kabisn

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1212%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
