# Petition — Taylor v. Howard

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1200%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 1147

## Text

f on upreme
82-858 FILED

NOV 2m ed?

ALEXANDER 8 STEVAS,

Jute Supreme Court of the United States

OctosBer TERM, 1982

WAYNE N. HCWARD and MICHAEL E. TRAUSCHT,
Petitioners and Cross-Respondents,

V.

WALTER ROBERT TAYLOR,
Respondent and Cross-Petitioner.

CROSS-PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

JOHN C. McMURRY

625 N. W. 13th Street
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73103
(405) 528-3008

Counsel for Respondent and Cross-
Petitioner, Walter Robert Taylor

November, 1982

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Is the “color cf state law” requirement of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 satisfied by the “state action” of a state court’s or-
dering violation of a citizen’s First and Fourteenth Amend-
ment rights?

2. In ascertaining what is and is not “state action”,
is state court action enforcing racially restrictive covenants
distinguishable from state court action committing an adult
citizen to the custody of another to be “counseled”, “ex-
amined” and “treated” and his will?

3. Dees the history of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 indicate that
it should be applied to prevent the use of state courts to
injure citizens and that it should be applied to enforce pro-
visions of the Constitution against all state action, whether
legislative, executive or judicial?

4. Is the action cf ccnspirators in using a state court
“temporary guardianship” order to take and retain custody
of an adult citizen to abuse him mentally and to force him
to change his religion and lifestyle, “misuse of power, pcs-
sessed by virtue of state law and made possible only be-
cause the wrongdoer is clothed with authority of the state”?

5. Is the power and authority stated in and exercised
under a state court “temporary guardianship” order pro-
viding for confinement, “counseling”, “examination” and
“treatment” of an adult citizen, “power possessed by vir-
tue of state law and made possible only” as a result of
“being clothed with authority of the state”?

6. Is such action (Questions 4 and 5) merely the
action of private individuals akin to filing a complaint,
testifying at trial and being on the winning side of a law-

33

suit, or is it the exercise of apparent authority and power
of the state in the form of the “temporary guardianship”
order?

7. Do private citizens have the apparent authority to
confine, “counsel”, “examine” and “treat” another adult
citizen against his will, or is such apparent authority only
exercisable through color of law?

8. Is the action of private persons in confining, “coun-
seling”, “examining” and “treating” another citizen against
his will pursuant to a court order so impregnated with
governmental character as to become subject to the con-
stitutional limitations placed upon state action?

9. If a state court proceeding is a nullity, is there
“color of law” under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 when conspirators
misuse the state judicial process with the specific intent
of depriving a citizen of his liberty without due process,
equal protection of the laws and other rights guaranteed
by the Constitution?

The parties in the United States Court of Appeals for
the Tenth Circuit were: Walter Robert Taylor, appellant,
and Kevin M. Gilmartin, Michael E. Trauscht, Wayne N.
Howard, The Freedom of Thought Foundation, Inc., Jo-
seph Alexander, Esther Alexander and Gary Scharff, ap-
pellees. It is urged by Petitioners that all of these parties
have an interest in the filing of their petition.

*
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

PARTIES _. —

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
OPINIONS BELOW W

JURISDICTION
STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 0.

I. The Court of Appeals decision, while correctly
holding that there was “state action” in the dep-
rivation of rights secured by the First and Four-
teenth Amendments to the Constitution, conflicts
with applicable decisions of this Court in finding
that the “state action” was not taken under “color
of state law” 1

II. The decision of the Court of r conflicts
with applicable decisions of this Court because it
incorrectly found an absence of “color of law”,
notwithstanding a misuse of power possessed by
virtue of state law and made possible only be-
cause the wrongdoer was clothed with the au-
e

III. The decision of the Court of Appeals that Defen-
dants did not act under color of state law” con-
flicts with applicable decisions of this Court be-
cause the involuntary “counseling”, “examining”
and “treating” of an adult is so impregnated with

PAGE

9 m

10

13

TABLE OF CONTENTS CONTINUED

IV.

—1v—

governmental character as to be subject to consti-
tutional limitations

The Court of Appeals holding that Defendants
did not act “under color of state law” where
otherwise private individuals misused a state ju-

dicial proceeding which was a nullity for the.

purpose of effecting constitutional deprivations is
incorrect and involves an important question of
federal law which has not been, but should be,
3 —

CONCLUSION —ů —

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE follows Cross-Petition.

APPENDIX — District Court’s July 8, 1980 order

PAGE(S)

15

16

18

la

-—V—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE(S)
Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (197999 16
Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970) 10
Bottone v. Lindsley, 170 F 2d 705 (10th Cir. 1948),
cert, denied, 336 U.S. 944 (1949) ß 16
Evans v. Newton, 382 U.S. 296 (19660 15
Flagg Bros., Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149 (1973) 10, 15
Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. 251 (1972) ...._ 14
Jackson v. er Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345
(1974) 8 =

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 102 S.Ct. 2744 (1982) 10, 12
McIntosh v. Dill, 86 Okl. 1, 205 P. 917, cert. denied,

260 U.S. 721 (1922) = „„
Monroe v. Pape, 365 US. 167 ( 1961) — 13
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 399

I. .. 17
Pennoyer v. Neff, 95 U.S. 714 (18793) — 17
Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (1949 11
Supreme Court of Virginia v. Consumers Union, 446

.. ͥ e
United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299 (19417775 13
Virginia, Ex Parte, 100 U.S. 339 (18800 12

Constitutional Provisions
United States Constitution:
fl ES
Fourteenth Amendment i,

Statutes
Pia) ))
28 U.S.C. 5 1331

AUTHORITIES CONTINUED
28 U.S.C. § 1332

i

28 U.S.C. § 1343(1)
28 U.S.C. § 1343(3)

42 U.S.C. § 1983 i, ii, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 18
42 U.S.C. § 1985 eee FE
Rules
Sup. Ct. R. 19.5 — 2

1

In the
Supreme Court of the United States
Octoper Term, 1982

WAYNE N. HOWARD and MICHAEL E. TRAUSCHT,
Petitioners and Cross-Respondents,

V.

WALTER ROBERT TAYLOR,
Respondent and Cross-Petitioner.

CROSS-PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Walter Rebert Taylor, Respondent and Cross-Peti-
tioner, prays that, in the event a writ of certiorari should
issue to the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit to review that part of its July 30, 1982 judgment
which reversed the Trial Court's December 30, 1978 and
December 29, 1979 orders granting partial summary judg-
ment against Respondent and Cross-Petitioner and dismis-
sing his claim based upon 42 U.S.C. § 1985, then in such
event Respondent and Cross-Petitioner prays that a writ
of certiorari issue to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit to review that part of its July 30,
1982 judgment which affirmed the Trial Court’s December
30, 1978 and July 8, 1980 orders granting partial summary
judgment against Respondent and Cross-Petitioner and dis-
missing his claim based upon 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

*

The December 30, 1978 order of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Western District cf Oklahoma which
granted partial summary judgment against Respondent and
Cross-Petitioner dismissing his claim based upon 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 is reproduced in the Appendix to Petition for Writ
of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Tenth Circuit (“Appendix to Petition”) filed by Petitioners
and Cross-Respondents Wayne N. Howard and Michael E.
Trauscht. The July 8, 1980 order of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Western District of Oklahoma granting
partial summary judgment against Respondent and Cross-
Petitioner dismissing his claim based upon 42 U.S.C. § 1983
is reproduced in the Appendix to this Cross-Petition for
Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit. The opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit which affirmed
those orders granting partial summary judgment against
Respondent and Cross-Petitioner on his 42 U.S.C. § 1983
claim is reproduced in the Appendix to the Petition filed
by Petitioners and Cross-Respondents. It has not yet been

reported in the official reporter.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit sought to be reviewed is dated and
was entered July 30, 1982. Respondent and Cross-Petitioner
relies upon Sup. Ct. R. 19.5. Petitioners’ petition for cer-
tiorari was received by counsel for Respondent and Cross-
Petitioner October 21, 1982. The statutory provision be-
lieved to confer on this Court jurisdiction to review the

judgment in question is 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

*

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Code, Title 42

Section 1983:

“Every person who, under color of any statute, ordi-
nance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any S ate or
Territory, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any
citizen of the United States or other person within
the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any
rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Con-
stitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured
in an action of law, suit in equity, or other proper
proceeding for redress.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Plaintiff and Cross-Petitioner here is a monk who re-
sides at an Old Catholic Monastery in a suburb of Okla-
homa City. He was taken against his will from his mona-
stery by Oklahoma County Sheriff's Deputies to a hearing
before the District Court of Oklahoma County, State of
Oklahoma, for a “temporary guardianship” hearing July
15, 1976. At the time he was 21 years old. Defendants
sought Plaintiff's removal from his monastery in order that
he could be “deprogrammed”, a process which involves use
of “confrontative” techniques of “counseling” with the goal
of the “deprogrammee’s” renunciation of his religious be-
liefs.

On July 14, 1976, lawyers for the applicant in the
“temporary guardianship” proceeding conferred with the
Associate District Judge to whom the application was even-
tually presented, Judge John A. “Tony” Benson, who then
contacted the Probate Judge and requested that he be al-
lowed to hear the matter. The “temporary guardianship”

—

proceeding was then filed. Judge Benson then conducted
a hearing July 15, 1976, without notice to Plaintiff, and
wholly in Plaintiff's absence which culminated in Judge
Benson’s ordering the Plaintiff taken into custody. Judge
Benson had decided to order that a temporary guardian
of Plaintiff's person be appointed so that it could be de-
termined if Plaintiff were under the influence of telig-
ious cult. Judge Benson stated that he wanted the Plain-
tiff taken into custody “so that [Plaintiff] could be given
notice of a [permanent] guardianship hearing.

Upon Plaintiff's being taken to the Oklahoma Court,
his counsel of choice was excluded from the hearing, and
at the close of the “temporary guardianship” hearing, the
same day Plaintiff was picked up by sheriff's deputies,
Judge Benson, though finding that Plaintiff appeared “nor-
mal in every respect”, formally entered an “Order Ap-
pointing Temporary Guardianship of the Person” because,
according to Judge Benson:

* the right of [Plaintiff's] father and . . family
to know [Plaintiff] decided . . . to spend the rest of
[his] life away frcm them secluded in a monastery
. . . probably overrides any individual right [Plain-
tiff} might possibly have on a temporary basis
to be free from . . . custody.”

The July 15, 1976 order provided:

“1. Notice of the time and place of hearing is not
required.

2. Dr. Walter Taylor is appointed the temporary
Guardian of the Person of Petitioner's child, to-wit:
Walter Robert Taylor and that temporary Letters cf
Guardianship issue.

*

3. The Temporary Guardian of the person shall have
power to: (a) take said prcposed ward into Peti-
tioner’s perscnal custody to have proposed ward coun-
selled, examined, and treated by persons including,
but nct limited to physicians, psychiatrists, psycholo-
gists, social workers and lay persons; (b) to keep
said ward in Petitioner’s custody, even in the event
said ward wishes to leave said custody; and (c) such
further powers as are necessary to exercise those
above granted.

4, Further hearing in this matter will be held at
August 13, 1976 at 3:00 P.M. at which time the ward
is directed to show cause if any the ward has, why
the Petitioner, Dr. Walter Taylor should not be ap-
pointed permanent Guardian of the ward's person.

On authority of Judge Benson's “temporary guardian-
ship” order (hereafter “Judge Benson's Order”), Plaintiff
was taken that same day, July 15, 1976, from Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma, to Akron, Ohio. He was held for approxi-
mately one week in Akron where he was kept at a motel
under constant guard. There he underwent “deprogram-
ming”: (1) “deprogrammers” yelled at him constantly;
(2) they kept fresh “deprogrammers” yelling at him by
switching off in crews; (3) they said they would have him
tracked down by the state patrol if he escaped, and that
they would have him thrown in jail and “deprogrammed”
in jail; (4) the “deprogrammers” threatened to have the
police close down Plaintiff's monastery, to have the “temp-
orary guardianship” made permanent and have the “de-
programming” continue indefinitely, to have Plaintiff com-
mitted to a mental institution and to beat him; (5) he was
deprived cf sleep and by innuendo he was told that he

atten

would be subjected to shock treatment; (6) he suffered
severe gastritis, diarrhea and abdominal cramping, and
when he complained, the “deprogramming” seemed to in-
tensify; (7) they threw cold water on him, shined a light
in his eyes, tore his monastic clothes off him, and cut his
hair and beard; (8) they told him they called friends and
religious leaders from a list Plaintiff had given them of
people who would vouch for him, and they stated that the
friends reported his religion was not legitimate. The “de-
programmers” indicated the pressure would cease if Plain-
tiff would renounce his religion.

July 22, 1976, the District Court of Oklahoma County,
acting through a different judge than Judge Benson, en-
tered an order declaring Judge Benson's Order void ab
initio which commanded Plaintiff's return to Oklahoma
City. July 23 or July 24, 1976, Plaintiff was taken from
Akron to Phoenix, Arizona, where he was held, still under
guard, for the “rehabilitation” phase of the “deprogram-
ming”. He escaped July 31, 1976, and returned to Okla-
homa City.

Plaintiff brought the instant action against the “de-
programmers”, his parents and brother seeking $300,000.00
compensatory and $3,000,000.00 punitive damages. Juris-
diction was based upon 28 U.S.C. § 1331 (federal question),
28 U.S.C. § 1332 (diversity of citizenship), 28 U.S.C. § 1343
(3) and 28 U.S.C. § 1343 (1) (civil rights). Pursuant to
agreement Plaintiff’s parents and brother were dismissed
prior to trial. Plaintiff sought relief on the basis of a civil
conspiracy and specific legal theories which included vicla-
tion of civil rights under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1983 and 1985(3),
obstruction of justice under 42 U.S.C. § 1985(2), intentional

2

infliction of emotional distress, false imprisonment and as-
sault and battery. He stated in his Complaint that “De-
fendants conspired to and did, under colcr of law deprive
Plaintiff of liberty . . . to ccercively induce an alteration
in Plaintiff’s religious beliefs and practices”, and that De-
fendants acted “under color of law through use of the ju-
dicial system, court orders and actions of the Sheriff's off-
ice... .” Plaintiff did not allege that either Judge Benson
or the Sheriff’s deputies who arrested him were co-con-
spirators of Defendants.

The Trial Court granted partial summary judgment
against Plaintiff dismissing his 42 U.S.C. § 1983 count on
the basis that the requisite color of state law was not pres-
ent. It granted partial summary judgment against Plaintiff
dismissing the 42 U.S.C. § 1985 (3) count because it con-
cluded that Plaintiff’s action did not allege deprivations
which would give rise to Congressional authority to reach
private ccnspiracies. It granted partial summary judgment
against Plaintiff dismissing his 42 U.S.C. § 1985(2) count
on the basis that a source of Congressional power to reach
the private conspiracy alleged could not be identified.

Trial of the action was to a jury. At the close of the
evidence the court directed a verdict against Plaintiff on
his false imprisonment claim on the basis that Judge Ben-
son’s Order was a “proper” order. The court also directed
a verdict against Plaintiff on the intentional infliction of
emotional distress claim, holding that the court was re-
quired in the first instance to determine whether Defen-
dants’ conduct was so “extreme” and “outrageous” as to
permit recovery, and in the instant action, reasonable minds

*

could not differ: Defendants’ conduct was not so ex-
treme” and “outrageous” as to permit the question to be
submitted to a jury. The case then went to the jury solely
on the theory of conspiracy to assault and batter. The
jury returned a verdict in favor of the Defendants and
against Plaintiff, and the court entered judgment on the
verdict.

Plaintiff perfected an appeal to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit which, by opinion dated
July 30, 1982, reversed the Trial Court’s grant of summary
judgment and the Trial Court’s directed verdicts and judg-
ment on jury verdict, except the Trial Court’s dismissal
of Plaintiff's claim based upon 42 U.S.C. § 1983. The Tenth
Circuit held that “The order dismissing the § 1983 claim
must be affirmed.” While holding that Plaintiff's Complaint
alleged a conspiracy to induce the State to violate his First
and Fourteenth Amendment rights, the Court of Appeals
concluded that there was no action taken under color of
state law because the State of Oklahoma had merely fur-
nished a forum to private litigants. Defendants then sought
review by this Court of the Tenth Circuit’s reversal of the
Trial Court’s grant of summary judgment dismissing Plain-
tiff's 42 U.S.C. § 1985 claims.

a

This Cross-Petition should be granted because the
United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit has
decided a federal question in a way which conflicts with
applicable decisions of this Court and because the Court of
Appeals has decided an important question of federal law
which has not been, but should be, settled by this Court.
The Court of Appeals’ decision, while correctly holding that
there was “state action” in the deprivation of rights se-
cured by the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the Con-
stitution, conflicts with applicable decisions of this Court
in finding that the “state action” was not taken under
“color of state law”. The decision of the Court of Appeals
conflicts with applicable decisions of this Court because it
incorrectly found an absence of “color of state law”, not-
withstanding a misuse of power possessed by virtue of
state law and made possible only because the wrongdoer
was clothed with the authcrity of the State. The decision
of the Court of Appeals that Defendants did not act under
“color of state law” conflicts with applicable decisions of
this Court because the involuntary “counseling”, “exam-
ining” and “treating” of an adult is so impregnated with
governmental character as to be subject to constitutional
limitations. The Court of Appeals holding that Defendants
did not act under “color of state law” where otherwise pri-
vate inaividuals misused a state judicial proceeding which
was a nullity for the purpose of effecting constitutional
deprivations is incorrect and involves an important ques-
tion of federal law which has not been, but should be,
settled by this Court.

*

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION, WHILE COR-
RECTLY HOLDING THAT THERE WAS “STATE AC-
TION” IN THE DEPRIVATION OF RIGHTS SECURED
BY THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS
TO THE CONSTITUTION, CONFLICTS WITH APPLI-
CABLE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT IN FINDING
THAT THE “STATE ACTION” WAS NOT TAKEN UN-
DER “COLOR OF STATE LAW”.

Although finding that Plaintiff properly alleged that
his First and Fourteenth Amendment rights were violated
through “state action”, the Circuit Court held that the
“state action” was not taken under “color of law”. Slip
Opinion at 18-19, 26-32. That holding conflicts with ap-
plicable decisions of this Court.

A 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claim embodies at least two ele-
ments: (1) deprivation of a right secured by the Consti-
tution and laws of the United States; (2) “under color of
law”. Flagg Bros., Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149, 155 (1978),
Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 150 (1970). Al-
though this Court held in Flagg Bros., Inc. v. Brooks, 436
U.S. at 156-57, that action taken under color of state law”
does not entail deprivation of a right secured by the Con-
stitution and laws of the United States when there is no
state action, this Court has never found absence of “color
of state law” where there was “state action” in the form of
governmental deprivation of a First or Fourteenth Amend-
ment right. On the contrary, “. . . conduct satisfying the
state action requirement of the Fourteenth Amendment
satisfies the statutory requirement of action under color
of state law. Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 102 S.Ct.
2744, 2753, n. 18 (1982).

*

Although holding that there was no color of law”,
the Circuit Court held:

„. . . [A]lthough . . [Plaintiff] dces nct claim that
the state conspired to deprive him of his constitu-
tional right, he does claim that the state unwittingly
deprived him of those rights when the Sheriff’s depu-
ties forced Taylor to appear before Judge Benson
under no apparent statutory authority and when the
state court appointed his father temporary guardian
without any jurisdiction, whereby he was illegally
delivered over to the defendants and was deprived
of his freedom of association and his freedom to pur-
sue his religious beliefs. We must hold that a private
conspiracy, if this be such, motivated by a class-based,
invidiously discriminatory animus, to induce the state
to violate one’s first and fourteenth amendment rights
is remedied by §§ 1985 (2) and (3).”

Emphasis supplied. Slip Opinion at 31-32.

The Tenth Circuit’s analysis below that there was
“state action” is consistent with this Court’s conclusion
that judicial enforcement of racially restrictive covenants
constitutes Fourteenth Amendment “state action”:

“The difference between judicial enforcement and non-
enforcement is the difference between being denied
rights . . . and being accorded full enjoyment of those
rights on an equal footing.”

Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, 19 (1948).

Plaintiff's deprivation of liberty, freedom of associa-
tion and freedom of religion were caused by the exercise
of a putative state right or conduct imposed by the State
in the form of Judge Benson’s order. Defendants and
Plaintiff’s “temporary guardian” »s authorized by, and act-

23

ing in accordance with, Judge Benson's order acted with
state officials — Judge Benson and Oklahoma County Sher-
iff’s deputies — or obtained significant aid from them. In
conspiring with Plaintiff's “temporary guardian”, Defen-
dants were thus “state actors”. See Lugar v. Edmondson
Oil Co., 102 S.Ct. at 2754.

The Court of Appeals’ conclusion that there was no
action taken under “color of state law” because the State
merely furnished a forum or allowed itself to be used by
the conspirators conflicts with applicable decisions of this
Court and is inconsistent with the legislative history of
42 U.S.C. § 1983. The Civil Rights Act of 1871 does not
provide an exemption or “safe harbour” for state action
through judicial process. To the contrary, all state action,
whether executive, legislative or judicial, may be reached
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Supreme Court of Virginia v. Con-
sumers Union, 446 U.S. 719, 735, n. 14 (1980), citing Ex
Parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339, 346 (1880). One of the evils
which was to have been addressed by 42 U.S.C. § 1983
was the use of state courts to harass and injure citizens.
Id. 42 U.S.C. § 1983 dees not require that a judge be a
conspirator as a prerequisite to relief for First and Four-
teenth Amendment violations perpetrated under authority
of a state court. Such a requirement would thwart the
remedial purpose of the statute. That is the effect of the
judgment of the Court of Appeals. Though finding “state
action”, it held that there was no “color of law” contrary
to this Court’s decision in Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co.,
supra.

The Tenth Circuit’s response to the pronouncements of
this Court in Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co. is that Lugar is

—13—

distinguishable because Plaintiff does not contend that the
Oklahoma guardianship statute is constitutionally defective.
Slip Opinion at 19-20 n. 3. That factual analysis is correct,
but it does not effectively distinguish the rationale of Lugar
because Defendants acted under putative state authority in
the form of Judge Benson’s order which clearly authorized
the constitutional violations. Plaintiff has specifically chal-
lenged the constitutionality of Judge Benson’s order which
facially provided state authorization for Defendants to “de-
program” Plaintiff thereby violating his First and Four-
teenth Amendment rights.

II. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS CON-
FLICTS WITH APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF THIS
COURT BECAUSE IT INCORRECTLY FOUND AN AB-
SENCE OF “COLOR OF LAW”, NOTWITHSTANDING
A MISUSE OF POWER POSSESSED BY VIRTUE OF
STATE LAW AND MADE POSSIBLE ONLY BECAUSE
THE WRONGDOER WAS CLOTHED WITH THE AU-
THORITY OF THE STATE.

Action taken under “color of law” as prescribed by
42 U.S.C. § 1983 is defined as

“Misuse of power, possessed by virtue of state law and
made possible only because the wrongdoer is clothed
with the authority of the state.

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 184 (1961), United States v.
Classic, 313 U.S. 299, 326 (1941).

Defendants took and retained custody of Plaintiff under
Judge Benson’s order for the purpose of forcing him to
change his religion by means of mental abuse. The Dis-
trict Court of Oklahoma County contemplated “deprogram-

*

ming” Plaintiff. As the Trial Judge observed: Judge
Benson] knew what this was about, knew what was going
to happen, had this presented to him, as it's in the record
and his order says as much.” When Defendants took Plain-
tiff for “deprogramming”, they misused power, “possessed
by virtue of state law and made possible only” through
the cloak of state authority in the form of Judge Benson’s
order. The power and authority which Defendants exer-
cised under Judge Berson’s order for confinement, “coun-
seling“, “examination” and “treatment” of Plaintiff was
“power possessed by virtue of state Jaw and made possible
only” as a result of Plaintiff's father and guardian, De-
fendants’ co-conspirator, “being clothed with authority of
the state.”

Plaintiff's temporary guardian”, Defendants’ co-con-
spirator, possessed power by virtue of state law in the
form of Judge Benson’s order. Guardianship powers are
so identified with the State that since feudal times they
have been viewed as an incident of sovereignty. Guardian-
ship powers stem from the “royal prerogative” because the
King as “father of the country” functioned as guardian
of all persons under a legal or mental disability. “In the
United States, the ‘royal prerogative’ and the ‘parens pat-
riae’ function of the King passed to the states.” Hawaii v.
Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. 251, 257 (1972); See McIntosh v.
Dill, 86 Okl. 1, 205 P. 917, cert. denied, 260 U.S. 721 (1922).

Defendants did not merely resort to the courts for the
adjudication of a claim and win their case. They assumed
the apparent power of the State in the form of Judge
Benson’s order to force Plaintiff to change his religion.
Private citizens do not have the apparent authority to con-

— =

fine, “counsel”, “examine” and “treat” another adult citizen
against his will. Such apparent authority is only exer-
cisable through color of law.

III. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS THAT
DEFENDANTS DID NOT ACT UNDER “COLOR OF
STATE LAW” CONFLICTS WITH APPLICABLE DE-
CISIONS OF THIS COURT BECAUSE THE INVOLUN-
TARY “COUNSELING”, “EXAMINING” AND “TREAT-
ING” OF AN ADULT IS SO IMPREGNATED WITH
GOVERNMENTAL CHARACTER AS TO BE SUBJECT
TO CONSTITUTIONAL LIMITATIONS.

The action of private persons in confining, “counsel-
ing”, “examining” and “treating” another adult citizen
against his will pursuant to a court order is “so impreg-
nated with governmental character as to become subject
to constitutional limitations placed upon state action.” Cf.
Evans v. Newton, 382 U.S. 296, 299 (1966) (private devise
of realty in trust to a city for a “public” park for white
people only). In order for nominally private action to be
deemed a governmental function the nominally private
conduct must fulfill a function “exclusively reserved to the
state.” Flagg Bros., Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. at 157-58, quot-
ing Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345, 352
(1974). Because Plaintiff's father was to perform a func-
tion unlike an ordinary guardian, the governmental func-
tion test was met.

To restate the obvious, only the State can involun-
tarily confine and “treat” an adult. The only way for an
adult to be confined and “treated” is for the entity con-
fining and “treating” to act as the government acts. Un-
like the Flagg Brothers situation, there is not a variety of

—16—

ways to involuntarily confine and “treat” an adult. The
function of involuntary confinement and treatment is that
of the State. See Addington . Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 426
(1979). It is, and must be, exclusively the function of the
state.

IV.

THE COURT OF APPEALS HOLDING THAT DEFEN-
DANTS DID NOT ACT “UNDER COLOR OF STATE
LAW” WHERE OTHERWISE PRIVATE INDIVIDUALS
MISUSED A STATE JUDICIAL PROCEEDING WHICH
WAS A NULLITY FOR THE PURPOSE OF EFFECT-
ING CONSTITUTIONAL DEPRIVATIONS is INCOR-
RECT AND INVOLVES AN IMPORTANT QUESTION
OF FEDERAL LAW WHICH HAS NOT BEEN, BUT
SHOULD BE, SETTLED BY THIS COURT.

In examining whether misuse of the judicial process

could ever be action under “color of law”, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, speaking
through the late Judge Murrah, stated in dictum:

“It is conceivable that persons, either individually or
acting in concert might so use the state judicial pro-
cess as to deprive a person of his property without
due process of law, or of equal protection of the laws,
yet we are certain that to make out a cause of action
under the Civil Rights Statutes, the State Court pro-
ceedings must have been a complete nullity, with a
purpose to deprive a person of his property without
due process of law.”

Bottone v. Lindsley, 170 F.2d 705, 707 (10th Cir. 1948),
cert. denied, 336 U.S. 944 (1949). Obviously, the statement
would apply with equal force to deprivations of liberty,
free exercise of religion and freedcm of association. The
question is one of first impression.

2 *

When nominally private parties are allowed to so mis-
use the judicial process, they are exercising power that
ordinary private litigants do not possess. In such a case
the state does more than merely furnish a forum to them.
Where the state acts in the absence of all jurisdiction in
complicity with nominally private litigants’ purpose of de-
priving a citizen of constitutionally protected liberties and
does order such deprivation, the state is no longer disin-
terested. In such a case the state has become inextricably
entangled in the nominally private defendants’ actions so
as to transform them into state actors.

As the Trial Court found: “Judge Benson knew what
this was about, knew what was going to happen, had this
presented to him, and it’s in the record and his order says
as much.” The Trial Court further observed Judge Ben-
sons]! . order was to separate. . [Plaintiff] from the
sect, not let him communicate with the sect. That’s what
the Judge intended and that’s what the order says.” When
the State of Oklahoma took such action without any juris-
diction [see Slip Opinion at 8-11, 13; see also Mullane v.
Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 399 U.S. 306 (1950),
Pennoyer v. Neff, 95 U.S. 714, 752 (1878)], it did not treat
the proceeding as just another lawsuit where it merely
furnished a forum. It became “interested” as a result of
Judge Benson and Defendants’ radical departure from the
ordinary judicial process in ordering Plaintiff's “depro-
gramming”. The State of Oklahoma clothed Plaintiff's
father and Defendants with its authority in a way that
ordinary citizens never are. The fact that Judge Benson’s
role may have been that of an ignorant participant in De-

fendants’ scheme, as opposed to a purposeful participant

*

in the conspiratorial sense, does not disentangle the state's
involvement.

For these reasons Walter Robert Taylor, Respondent
and Cross-Petitioner, prays that, in the event a writ of cer-
tiorari should issue to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit to review that part of its July 30,
1982 judgment which reversed the Trial Court’s December
30, 1978 and December 29, 1979 orders granting partial
summary judgment against Respondent and Cross-Peti-
tioner and dismissing his claim based upon 42 U.S.C. § 1985,
then in such event Respondent and Cross-Petitioner prays
that a writ of certiorari issue to the United States Court
cf Appeals for the Tenth Circuit to review that part of its
July 30, 1982 judgment which affirmed the Trial Court’s
December 30, 1978 and July 8, 1980 orders granting par-
tial summary judgment against Respondent and Cross-
Petitioner and dismissing his claim based upon 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN C. McMURRY

625 N. W. 13th Street
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73103
(405) 528-3008

Counsel for Respondent and Cross-
Petitioner, Walter Robert Taylor

November, 1982

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned John C. McMurry, a member of the
Bar of this Court and counsel of rec ord for Walter Robert
Taylor, Respondent and Cross-Petitioner herein, hereby
certifies that on the 19th day of November, 1982, he caused
to be served the foregoing Cross-Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari on all parties by mailing three copies thereof by
First Class mail, postage prepaid, to each of their counsel
of record, addressed as follows:

Albert R. Vermeire

Monbleau, Vermeire & Turley, P. C.
1510 Financial Center

3443 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, Arizona 85012

John B. Hayes

Looney, Nichols, Johnson & Hayes
P. O. Box 468

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73101

William A. Johnson

Sanders, Boone & Johnson

2200 Classen Boulevard, 4th Floor
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73106

John C. McMurry

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1200%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
