# Petition — Foundation for the Handicapped v. Department of Social & Health Services

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1085%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 1146

## Text

—

Offiee - Supreme Court US
82-742 FILED
OCT 27 1992

ALEXANDER
NO. “" lL. STEVAS,

CLERK

_——

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1982

FOUNDATION FOR THE HANDICAPPED
Petitioner,

Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES
OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

SWEET, DUSSAULT, NEFF &
GIBBS, P.S.

By: WILLIAM L. E. DUSSAULT
Counsel for Petitioner

Oftice and P.O. Address:
219 East Galer

Seattle, Washington 98102
(206) 324-4300

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the Supreme Court of Washing-
ton commit error by upholding the notice
and appeal provisions of RCW 72.33.670
(1981) as applied to mentally and physi-
cally handicapped residents of state
institutions wno, while not subject to a
judicial declaration of incompetency, by
statutory requirement and known disability,
are incapable of understanding or respond-
ing to notice in a manner which satisfies
the “notice and opportunity to be heard"
requirements of the due process clause of
the fourteenth amendment to the United
States Constitution?

2. Whether the Supreme Court of
Washington committed error in upholding the
disparate treatment of identically situated
residents of state schools under RCW
72.33.670 (1981) by collecting funds from

some residents subject to a guardian of the

ii

estate, but not from other similarly
situated residents, based solely on a
legislative drafting error and not upon a
rational relationship to a legitimate
governmental objective, as required by the
equal protection clause of the fourteenth
amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion?

3. By its ruling in Duffy v. Social

& Health Services, 90 Wn.2d 673, 583 P.2d

470 (1976), that RCW 72.33.670 (1981)
was unconstitutional as applied to one
segment of equally situated individuals and
the ruling in the present case that the
statute could be applied to another segment
of equally situated individuals without
constitutional violation, did the Washing-
ton Supreme Court violate the equal protec-
tion clause of the fourteenth amendment by
allowing discretionary differential appli-
cation of the statute without any rational

basis for doing so?

iii

4. If RCW 72.33.670 (1981) is
ruled partially inapplicable or unconstitu-
tional under either the due process clause
Or equal protection clause of the four-
teenth amendment, dwes the statute thus
violate RCW 49.60 (1981) by permitting
collection of funds based solely upon

perceived mental capacity?

iv

LIST OF PARTIES

FOUNDATION FOR THE HANDICAPPED, |

Petitioner,

Ve

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES
OF WASHINGTON STATE,
Respondent.

lime Foundation represents the following
individual petitioners: GERALD DUNN;
STEPHEN MADDOX, by and through his guardian
ad litem, THE FOUNDATION FOR THE HANDI-
CAPPED; PEGGY JEAN WIGINTON, by and through
her guardian ad litem, THE FOUNDATION FOR
THE HANDICAPPED; DONALD WOODWARD, by and
through his guardian ad litem, THE FOUNDA-
TION FOR THE HANDICAPPED; THEODORE BROWN,
by and through his guardian ad litem, THE
FOUNDATION FOR THE HANDICAPPED; LEONA
WAKEFIELD, by and through her guardian ad
litem, THE FOUNDATION FOR THE HANDICAPPED;
GARY JENKINS, by and through his guardian,
LINDA DUFFY; and JACK FURLAN, by and
through his guardian, ELSIE GRANATA.

In an order on June 12, 1980, the trial
court determined that the persons repre-
sented by the Founcation for the Handicap-
ped, for which it served as guardian or

Vv

limited guardian of the person and/or
estate, or representative payee for the
purpose of receipt of state or federal
benefits and the other named plaintiffs
“will fairly and adequately represent the
legal rights and best interests of all the
present and potential residents of the
state residential schools and institutions
concerned in this litigation." (R-125.)
The trial court certified this case as a
class action “insofar as those individuals
are concerned .. ." (R=-125).

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions Below ..+++++«¢seee8s 1

Jurisdiction . . . . . . >. >. . . . >.
Constitutional Provisions Involved. .

Statutory Provisions "nvolved....

I.

II.

Statement of the Case ..+.«.-s.

How Federal Questions Were
Raised . >. . — >. >. >. > . . . . ay

Re Tedekh Gomme « © ec eo eo ee o

2. The Supreme Court of
Washington ...++ e+ «#-s 10

Reasons for Granting the Writ... . 13

I.

II.

The Decision of the Supreme
Court of Washington Failed to
Recognize That By Statutory
Definition, the Mentally and
Physically Handicapped Resi-
dents of State Institutions Are
Individually Incapable of Re-
sponding to Notice in a Manner
Which Satisfies the Procedural
Due Process Requirements of the
Constitution ...+++«+«+«e-s 13

The Decision Below Incorrectly
Upholds a Distinction Between
Identically Situated Individuals In
the Face of Equal Protection Argu-
ments, With the Distinction Caused

By Legislative Drafting Error With-
out Any Rational Basis ..... 22

vii

Page

III. The Supreme Court of Washington

IV.

Validated an Impermissibly Vague
Statute Which Provides no Authority
or Guidance for a Method of Service
or Opportunity for Hearing for Resi-
dents Not Named in the Statutes, Thus
Allowing Collection From Such Resi-
dents Based Upon the Discretionary
Whim of State Officials. .... 28

If RCW 72.33.670 (1981) Is Invalid

On Either Due Process or Equal
Protection Grounds, the Statute
Violates RCW 49.60.030 (1981),

the Washington Anti-Discrimina-

tion Law.-«-sceeee eevee @ 32

Conclusion . . . . . . . . . . . . . 35

Appendices

Appendix A . a. te Se ¢ . . . * * . . A-1l

Appendix B ee we ee Om Ol Oe Oe Oe A-21

Appendix Cc ee ame Re De Ss oF ee Pe Ee Oo Be A-59

TABLES OF AUTHORITY

Table of Cases

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) 31

covey v. Town of Somers, 351 U.S.
) . . . . . . . . . 16, 17,18,21

Duffy v. Social & Health Services,
n. ’ .

(1978). .« « « « « « +6,10,21,24,25,passim

viii

Giaccio v. Penn, 382 U.S.

so osat v. Kelley, 397 U.S.

399 (1966).

>
Ww
~

254
al . . . . . 22

Lovell v. Griffin, 303 U.S. 444

06) ) ree

. . . . . . 30

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank &

Trust Co., U.s.

. . . . 15

. . . . . . 23

New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297

Staub v. Baxley, 355 U.S.

313 (1958). . 30

Constitutional Provisions

U.S. Const. amend. I...
U.S. Const. amend. XIV.

U.S. Const. amend. XIV, §

Statutes

RCW 11.88 (1981) ....
RCW 49.60 (1981) ....
RCW 49.60.030 (1981). . .
RCW 49.60.030(1) (1981)

RCW 49.60.030(2) (1981) .
RCW 72.33.020 (1981) ..

9,

te ee Re ser ig 29
a ee eS 8, 12

ae: re >
10,12,32,passim
» « « 33,34,35
, 6.6 oe @ oe
+ « « 3-4,16,18

ix
Page
RCW 72.33.650 (1981) ... + + « « « 23-24
RCW 72.33.670 (1981). . . .3,5,6,7,8,passim
28 U.S.C. § 1257(3) ~- - «© © we we we wo 2

Rules and Regulations

Wash. Admin. Code 275-20-080
(1980) ’._2.#2°¢ = & es eS eS 6S eS Ue me ~-7,9,27

NO.
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBEX TERM 1982

FOUNDATION FOR THE HANDICAPPED
Petitioner,

Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES
OF THE STATE UF WASHINGTON,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

The petitioner, Foundation for the
Handicapped, respectfully prays that a writ
of certiorari issue to review the judgment
and opinion of the Supreme Court of Wash-
ington entered in this proceeding on July
29, 1982.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of
Washington is reported in 97 Wn.2d 691, 648
P.2d 884 (1982), and appears in Appendix A.

2
The opinion of the Superior Court is

unreported and appears in Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The judgment ot the Supreme Court of
Washington affirming respondent's summary
judgment was filed on July 29, 1982. This
petition for certiorari was filed within 90
days of that date. This Court's jurisdic-
tion is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment
XIV, Section l:

All persons born or naturalized in
the United States, and subject to
the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of
the state wherein they reside. No
state shall make or enforce any law
which shall abridge the privileges
or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any state
deprive any person of life, liberty
Or property, without due process of
law; nor deny to any person within
its jurisdiction the equal protec-
tion of the laws.

3

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

RCW 72.33.670 (1981). The statute

appears in Appendix C.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. Facts

The individual named petitioners are
all class members who either currently
reside in one of the five state residen-
tial institutions for the retarded
("schools") in the state of Washington or
have resided in one of such “schools” for
some period of time since July 1, 1967.

To be admitted and remain as a resi-
dent, an individual must meet either the
mental or physical handicap definitions
contained in RCW 72.33.020 (1981):

Mental handicap is a state of
limited development in consequence
of which the individual affected is
mentally incapable of assuming those
responsibilities expected of a
socially adequate person such as

self-direction, self-support and
social participation.

4

Physical handicap is a state of
physical impairment in consequence
of which the individual affected is
physically incapable of assuming
those responsibilities expected of a
socially adequate person, such as
self-direction, self-support and
social participation.

While all residents must meet one of
the above-cited definitions in order to
gain admittance to one of the state resi-
dential schools, the residents have differ-
ing degrees of legal and actual capacity.
Washington State has four statutory types
and levels of incompetency, disability, and
guardianship. See RCW 11.88 (1981). Some
members of the petitioner class are subject
to a judicial determination of incompetency
or disability. Such a determination may
result in the appointment of a full or
total guardianship of person and/or
estate, or the appointment of a limited
guardian of persons and/or estate.

Other class members have previously

been determined incompetent or disabled by

5

a court, but have no current guardian as
their legal representative. Some have
actual physical or mental disabilities,
known to the state to be sufficient to
justify their residence in a state school
with their legal competency or disability
having not been determined by any court.

RCW 72.33.670 (1981) provides that
residents of all state “schools” are
required to pay the State of Washington
various charges for the cost of care
received as residents. The statute estab-
lishes the sole and exclusive mechanism for
collection. In brief, RCW 72.33.670
(1981) calls for collection from all
residents capable of paying all or a
portion of monthly charges. A Notice and
Finding of Financial Responsibility is
served on the guardian of the resident's
estate, or, if none has been appointed,
upon the spouse or parents or anyone else

acting in a representative capacity and

6
having possession of property belonging to
the resident. No provision is made for
service on the individual resident, nor for
service on any type of court-appointed
representative other than a guardian of the
estate.

An appeal from the determination of
financial responsibility may be made by the
guardian of the resident's estate. If no
guardian has been appointed, the appeal may
be made by certain individuals listed in
the statute (see App. C). If no appeal is
taken, the Notice and Finding of Financial
Responsibility becomes final. The statute
makes no provision for appeal by the resi-
dent nor for appeal by any court-appointed
personal representative, except for.the
guardian of the estate.

In Duffy v. Social & Heaith Services,

90 Wn.2d 673, 583 P.2d 470 (1978), the
Washington State Supreme Court found RCW

72.33.670 (1981) unconstitutional because

-
it did not provide service to adult resi-
dents not subject to legal declaration of
incompetency. As a result of the Supreme
Court decision, the Department of Social
and Health Services (DSHS) amended its
rules and adopted Wash. Admin. Code
275-20-080 (1980).

The regulation provided for personal
service upon adult residents who had not
been subject to a legal declaration of
incompetency. No mechanism for determining
actual competency for persons without
guardians of the estate has ever been
established by the state. RCW 72.33.670
(1981) remains unchanged.

The petitioners seek a refunding of
$683,000,000.00 collected from residents of

state schools since 1967 under the statute.

8

II. How Federal Questions Were Raised

1. Trial court

The petitioners filed a complaint in
the Superior Court of Washington for
Thurston County on March 5, 1979, alleging
that RCW 72.33.670 (1981) was subject to
constitutional deficiencies (R. at 4).
The complaint alleged that the statute
violated due process of law as guaranteed
by the fourteenth amendment of the United
States Constitution, by failure to provide
service on adult residents not subject to a
legal declaration of incompetency (R. at
15).

The petitioners also alleged in the
complaint that the equal protection clause
of the fourteenth amendment was violated,
as similarly situated residents were clas-
sified differently based upon a legislative
drafting error or omission and not upon a
rational relationship to a legitimate state

interest (R. at 16). The complaint also

9
stated that RCW 49.60.030 (1981) was
violated by permitting classification upon
the basis of mental competency (R. at 13,
14).

Mutual motions for summary judgment
were filed. The trial judge upheld the
respondent's summary judgment motion in a
memorandum opinion filed June 22, 1981 (see
App. B). The trial judge held that the
adoption of Wash. Admin. Code 275-20-080
(1980) had cured the due process defi-
ciencies in RCW 72.33.670 (1981), al-
though he also held that the statute was
unconstitutional as applied to adult
residents not subject to a legal declara-
tion of incompetency served prior to 1976
(R. at 306, 307, App. B, pp. 39, 40). He
ruled that the equal protection clause was
not violated, as the classification in-
volved was ability to pay, not legal
competency (R. at 311, 312, App. B, p.
A-52).

10
The trial court did not address the
question of violation of RCW 49.60.030
(1981). Judge Baker found equitable
grounds to deny recovery to residents who
were served improperly, as ruled in Duffy
(R. at 15, App. B, pp. 55-56).

2. The Supreme Court of Washington

The petitioners filed notice of appeal
to the Supreme Court of Washington on March
31, 1981 (R. at 318). The appeal alleged
error by the trial court in failing to
determine that RCW 72.33.670 (1981)
violated constitutional requirements under
the due process clause of the fourteenth
amendment (R. at 318). The petitioners
also alleged that the trial court erred in
ruling the statute constitutional as
applied to one group of individuals but not
another, based solely upon legislative
drafting error (R. at 319). Finally, the

petitioners alleged error by the trial

ll
court in permitting differential applica-
tion of the statute based upon differences
involving mental capacity in violation of
RCW 49.60 (1981).

The Suprene Court of Washington
accepted the appeal. Briefs were submitted
and oral argument was presented. The
Supreme Court of Washington affirmed the
summary judgment for the respondents. In a
written opinion, the court ruled that the
service provisions of RCW 72.33.670 (1981)
complied with procedural due process under
the Constitution:

DSHS personally served those
residents who are not subject to a
legal disability. In addition, it
serves those residents’ spouses,
parents or other persons acting in a
representative capacity and having
property in their possession belong-
ing to the residents, and the
superintendent of the schools. We
conclude that such notice meets the
requirements of due process as it is
reasonably calculated to apprise the
resident of the proceeding affecting
him.

(App. A, p- A-13).

12

The Supreme Court of Washington also
held that RCW 72.33.670 (1981) did not
violate equal protection of the laws under
the fourteenth amendment. The classifica-
tion in the statute was said to be between
adult residents who were legally competent
and more severely handicapped or juvenile
residents subject to legal incompetency.
The court held this classification to be
constitutionally permissible:

Thus, the distinction is premised
on the legal competency of the
individual and is rationally related
to the purpose of the statute, which
is to afford each resident with
meaningful notice. Such a distinc-
tion does not offend the principles
of equal protection.

(App. A, Pp- A-10).

The court rejected the petitioner's
contention that the statute violated RCW
49.60.030 (1981). In the court's view,.

the classification was based not upon

mental or physical handicap, but upon:

i3

{[TyJhe presence or absence of legal
incompetency. The incompetency can
be based on age, developmental dis-
ability, or severe mental defi-
ciency. RCW 11.88.010(1). There
has been no discrimination solely
“because of" a mental or physical
handicap.

(App. A, pp. 10-11).

Finally, the court affirmed the trial
court's ruling that funds collected under
improper service between 1967-1976 could be
retained by the state, due to principles of
unjust enrichment (App. A, p. 17).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Decision of the Supreme Court of
Washington Failed to Recognize That B
Statuto Definition ee Mentall —
Physically Handicapped Residents o
State Institutions Are Individually
Incapable of Responding to Notice ina
Wanner Which Betiefice the Procedural
Due Process Requirements of the
Constitution

The decision of the Supreme Court of
Washington blatantly violates the two most
basic principles of procedural due process
as continuously enunciated by the Supreme

Court of the United States. By validating

14

the procedure established in RCW 72.33.670
(1981), the court has approved a statutory
and regulatory system which provides
meaningless paper service and no real
opportunity for hearing for a signifi-
cant number of named petitioners whose
property has been taken by the state.

The Washington State Supreme Court
ruling allows for the service of a printed
form notice to a class of persons who the
state knows, by statutory definition, are
incapable of understanding such notice.
While all petitioners may not be fully
legally incompetent, no method is provided
for determining actual or legal competency.
Additional service is provided to other -
persons, but no legal relationship or
responsibility exists between such other
persons and the person whose property is
taken.

The decision makes a complete mockery

of the concept of meaningful notice and

15
opportunity for hearing. The Supreme Court
of the United States has never deviated
from the position that an individual must
be provided constitutionally valid proce-
dural due process of law before property
can be taken from him. Such due process
must include “notice reasonably calculated
under all the circumstances to apprise
intended parties of the pendency of the
action and afford them an opportunity to

present their objections." Mullane v.

Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.

306, 314 (1950).

The Supreme Court of the United States
has stressed the importance of fitting
notice to the “practicalities and peculi-
arities of the case... .," (id., at 314).
It is against the Mullane requirements that
the statutory notice provisions and the
Supreme Court of Washington's decision must

be judged.

16

The “practicalities and peculiarities”
of this case are the physical and mental
handicaps of the residents. The statutory
definitions of these terms contained in
RCW 72.33.020 (1981) focus on the inability
of the residents to assume “those responsi-
bilities expected of the socially adequate
person, such as self-direction, self-sup-
port and social participation .. ." This
language is the same in the statute for
both physically and mentally handicapped
residents. For notice to be meaningful for
such persons, their actual abilities must
be evaluated and considered.

The Supreme Court of the United States

in Covey v. Town of Somers, 351 U.S. 141

(1956), described the procedural due pro-
cess necessary in dealing with individuals
having questionable mental capacity such as
the petitioners. In Covey, the Town of
Somers attempted to foreclose a tax lien on

an individual known by the town to be an

17
incompetent, but not subject to a legal
declaration of incompetency. The town gave
notice by publication, posting and mail.
There was no question that the individual
had actually received notice.

The Supreme Court reversed lower court
decisions upholding the notice and subse-
quent tax lien foreclosures as p~oper under
the due process clause. The Court re-
flected that the town had known for “upward
of 15 years" that the petitioner was
actually incompetent and a person “without
mental capacity to handle her affairs or to
understand the meaning of any notice served
upon her." Covey, at 146. The Court held:

Notice to a person known to be
incompetent and without the protec-
tion of a guardian does not measure
up to this requirement .. . we must
hold that compliance with the
statute would not afford notice to
the incompetent and that a taking
under such circumstances would be

without due process of law.

(Covey, at 146-147).

18

Covey is the standard for judging
notice to the petitioners. Receipt
of a printed form entitled “Notice” is not
the same as receiving meaningful notice
satisfactory of due process requirements.
The Supreme Court of Washington's decision
focuses on Covey-like residents; actual but
undeclared incompetents. Yet, the Supreme
Court of Washington specifically ruled
Covey non-germane, although it is factually
indistinguishable. The court reasoned that
since some residents were only physically
but not mentally handicapped, “the state is
not put on notice that every resident is
unable to comprehend a notice .. .," (App.
A, pp. 12-13).

There are fundamental flaws in this
reasoning. First, attention must again be
called to RCW 72.33.020 (1981), which
contains the definition of capacity for
residents. Certainly, one of the responsi-

bilities of a socially adequate person,

19
whether mentally or physically handicapped,
is the ability to respond to notice. But,
by the statute's definition, all residents
are deemed socially inadequate. The state

is on notice by its own statute that

residents cannot respond.

Secondly, the petitioners have never
contended that all residents are totally
incompetent for the purposes of responding
to notice. But the state and the Supreme
Court of Washington cannot argue that this
fact excuses the statutory notice provision
at issue. The statute has no procedure for
establishing the competency or degree of
incompetency of residents to determine
those able to respond to notice. How can
the state contend residents are capable of
understanding and responding if, knowing of
the statutory definition, the state has no
procedure for determining actual compe-

tency?

20

The fact that some residents might be
able to respond to notice without aid is of
little soiace to residents unable to do so.
Certainly, for residents who are actual but
undeclared incompetents, the present
procedure violates due process. While the
state cannot presume the incompetency of
residents, in light of its own statutory
definition of the population involved, it

certainly cannot presume competency, as the

Supreme Court of Washington allows.

The Supreme Court of Washington also
erroneously held that service on residents’
spouses, parents or others acting in a
quasi-fiduciary capacity, as outlined in
RCW 72.33.670 (1981), coupled with service
on the residents, comported with due
process (App. A, p. A-13).

Presumably, the court felt that such
service was necessary because service on
the residents alone would not comply with

due process. Such other individuals have

21
no more legal right to act on behalf of
adult residents without the establishment
of a legal guardianship than a complete
stranger. As the court expressly held

in Duffy, supra, the property is under

the legal control of the resident only.

In Covey, the Supreme Court ordered a
two-step relief, which is also called for
in the present case. First, the property
that had been taken was to be returned, as
it had been taken without due process.
Second, the court implied that a guardian
must be appointed upon whom proper service
could be made. Covey dictates that the
money collected pursuant to constitu-
tionally deficient service from residents
who are known to be incompetent, even
though not subject to a legal declaration
of disability, must be returned.

Any further collection should occur
only after guardians ad litem have been

appointed for residents not subject to a

22

legal declaration of incompetency. If
residents are determined competent to
respond to notice, they can be served. If
a resident is determined incompetent to
respond to notice, a guardian must be
appointed to receive notice on his or her
behalf.

The above described procedure will not
be inexpensive. But financial cost is an
irrelevant consideration when dealing with
the remedy for a denial of due process of

law, as has occurred here. Goldberg v.

Kelley, 397 U.S. 254 (1970). The state has
denied due process and should not be heard
to plead that it cannot pay for its error.

II. The Decision Below Incorrectly Upholds
a Distinction Between Identicall
Jituated Individuals in the Face o
Equal Protection Arguments, With the
Distinction Caused By Legislative
Drafting Error Without Any Rational
Basis

The Supreme Court of Washington
erroneously concluded that allowing col-

lection under RCW 72.33.670 (1981) from

23
some identically situated residents, but
not others, dia not violate equal protec-
tion of the laws as guaranteed by the
fourteenth amendment. The “rational
relationship” test for egual protection
requires that a classification under a
statute “be rationally related to a legiti-

mate state interest." New Orleans v.

Dukes, 427 U.S. 297 (1976). The court
ignored the fact that the classification in
RCW 72.33.670 (1981) obviously occurred due
to a legislative drafting error, and then
compounded its mistake by inferring legis-
lative intent which clearly didn't exist.

The intent of the Washington Legisla-

ture was explicitly spelled out in RCW
72.33.650 (1981):

The purpose of RCW 72.33.670
through 72.33.700 is to place the
responsibility for cost of care,
support and treatment upon those
residents of state residential

24
schools who possess assets over and
above the minimal amount required to
be retained for personal use .. .
Clearly, the Legislature intended the
"class" under the statute to be all resi-

dents able to pay. However, through legis-

lative drafting error, the Legislature

failed to provide any notice or opportunity
for hearing to adult residents who did not
have guardians of their estates. The
Supreme Court of Washington correctly ruled

in Duffy v. Social & Health Services, 90

Wn.2d 673, 583 P.2d 470 (1978), that due
process required personal service on adult
residents not subject to a legal declara-
tion of disability, thus invalidating
collections from those individuals under
the deficient statute.

After Duffy, collection of funds from
any other residents, under RCW 72.33.670
(1981), while not collecting from the
persons protected by Duffy, violated equal

protection of the laws. Again, the class

25

intended by the hegislative scheme was all
residents financially able to pay for care.
Those properly served under the statute
had to continue paying. Those omitted
from service by the drafting error, al-
though also able to pay, were, after
Duffy, exempt from collection. Identically
situated residents were classified differ-
ently due to a legislative mistake, not a
“rational relation to a legitimate state
interest."

Incredibly, in this case, the Supreme
Court of Washington ignores its own holding
in Duffy by allowing continued collection,
regardless of judicially determined incom-
petency, under RCW 72.33.6700 (1981). The
court presumes that the Legislature in-
tended to classify residents based upon
legal competency (App. A, p. A-8). The

court reasoned that residents competent

26
to respond to notice should be personally
served. However, residents judged legally
incompetent shouid not be served, as they
could not respond to notice effectively
(App. A, p. A-=-9).

This is certainly a commendable goal.
Unfortunately for the court, the Washington
Legislature never stated, implied or
intended such a classification. The
statute is silent as to service on adult
residents who do not have a guardian of the
estate. The statute's silence concerning
service on such residents is explicitly the
basis used by the Washington State Supreme
Court in the Duffy case for declaring the
service provisions constitutionally defec-
tive for persons not declared incompetents
(and, presumptively, for all others not
having a guardianship of the estate).

The court's ruling in this case
upholds as constitutionally valid, service

on adult residents not subject to a legal

27

declaration of incompetency. This appar-
ently overcomes the Duffy determination
that the statutory method provided is
constitutionally defective. Yet, RCW
72.33.670 (1981) has not subsequently
been amended and remains silent as to the
“presumed legislative intent" that the
court's decision hinges upon.

Even if the statute was amended to
provide for personal service on adult
residents not subject to both a declaration
of incompetency and appointment of a
guardianship of the estate, Argument I of
this petition still demonstrates the
constitutional deficiencies of the present
notice procedures allowed by Wash. Admin.
Code 275-20-080 (1980). The statute
must fall on equal protection grounds, as

well as due process grounds.

28

III. The Supreme Court of Washington
Validated an Impermissibly Vague
Statute Which Provides no Socuoclee
Or Guidance for a Method of Service
Or Opportunity for Hearing for
Residents Not Named in the Statute,
Thus Allowing Collection From Such
Residents Based Upon the Discretion-
ary Whim of State Officials

The Supreme Court of Washington com-
pounded its error in its equal protection
analysis by refusing to strike down RCW
72.33.670 (1981) on grounds of vagueness
and/or impermissible discretion. The
statute speaks only to service upon resi-
dents with a guardian of the estate. It is
silent as to residents who have guardians
of the person, residents found legally
incompetent but without guardians of the
person and/or estate, residents declared
partially disabled and those residents not
subject to a legal declaration of incompe-
tency at all, all of whom are represented
by name as plaintiffs in this action.

Duffy and the opinion in this case deal

29
exclusively with residents not subject to a
legal declaration of incompetency, and the
manner of service on them.

The result is impermissible discretion
allowed to state officials in determining
whether to collect from and the manner of
service upon those residents not mentioned
in the statute. There is nothing in the
statute which can offer guidance. Collec-
tion from residents not mentioned in the
statute should occur under the clear
guidance of the Legislature, as evidenced
by its statutory command in RCW 72.33.670
(1981), not at the whim or desire of state
officials absent statutory methods.

To explain the: dangers inherent in the
present situation, an analogy can be drawn
to cases dealing with the right of freedom
of expression under the first amendment to
the Constitution. The Supreme Court of the
United States has consistently held sta-

tutes unconstitutional which permit public

30
officials to issue or withhold permits for
parades, refuse to permit leafleting, and
limit other forms of expression, based upon
the official's discretion, where no clear
guidelines exist in the statute. See

Lovell v. Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938);

Staub v. Baxley, 355 U.S. 313 (1958). The

court has recognized the dangers in making
the exercise of freedom of speech “contin-
gent upon the uncontrolled will of an
official." Staub, at 322.

In view of the importance of the right
involved here, the right to notice and
opportunity to be heard before deprivation
of property, the same reasoning is applic-
able. As me2ntioned above, there is no
guidance in the statute as to collection
from residents not expressly mentioned in
the statute. Collection from residents
with only a guardian of the person, or
residents who have actual but non-judici-

ally declared incompetency, is clearly

31

contingent upon the uncontrolled will of
the state officials. The possibility of
the arbitrary exercise of power must
be coupled with the inherent vagueness of
the statute to rule it inoperable as to
residents who are not designated to be
served notice by the statute.

In criminal law concepts, another
analogy is pertinent. It is a longstanding
principle of constitutional law that
criminal statutes which are facially vague,
such that adequate notice is not provided
“to a person of ordinary intelligence that
his contemplated conduct is illegal,”

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976), are

unconstitutional. The vagueness doctrine
has been extended beyond the area of
criminal law and a “state statute must meet
the challenge that it is inconstitutionally
vague whether it is labeled penal or not.”
Giaccio v. Penn, 382 U.S. 399 (1966).

32
RCW 72.33.670 (1981) goes beyond
mere vagueness. The statute makes no men-
tion of service upon residents with only
a guardian of the person or legally incom-
petent residents without guardians. There
is certainly no warning in the statute to
those residents of the state's procedures
against them, and the statute must be ruled
unconstitutional on grounds of vagueness.
IV. If RCW 72.33.670 (1981) Is Invalid on
Either Due Process or Equal Protection
Grounds, the Statute Violates RCW

49.60.030 (1981), the Washington
Anti-Discrimination Law

The Supreme Court of Washington
erroneously concluded that RCW 72.33.670
(1981) did not violate RCW 49.60.030
(1981), the Washington Anti-Discrimination
Law. If the statute is found unconstitu-
tional due to violation of either the due
process clause or equal protection clause,
allowing continued collection from some

residents, but not others solely based upon

33
mental incompetency, the result is discrim-
ination on the basis of mental handicap.
RCW 49.60.030(1) provides:

The right to be free from discrim-
ination because of race, creed,
color, national origin, sex, or the
presence of any sensory, mental or
physical handicap is recognized as
and declared to be a civil right.

The Washington Supreme Court concluded
that the classification resulting from its
decision “is based upon the presence or
absence of legal incompetency,” (App. A, p.
A-10). There is little difference between
a statute based upon legal incompetency or
mental handicap, which RCW 49.60.030(1)
(1981) prohibits. One simply results in
the other and, thus, the court's own
reasoning acknowledges that the statute
is based upon impermissible classification.

Since the Washington courts failed to
require conformance to constitutional

mandates, it falls to the Supreme Court of

the United States to do so. A ruling by

34

the Supreme Court of the United States that
RCW 72.33.670 (1981) is unconstitutional,
due to the improper service and appeal
provisions under the due process clause of
the fourteenth amendment, would mean that
no collection could occur from adult
residents not subject to a legal declara-
tion of disability. Collection from
residents who are subject to a legal
declaration of disability would constitute
collection based upon a mental or physical
handicap. This would violate RCW 49.60.-
030(1) (1981).

Alternatively, the court could rule
that RCW 72.33.670 (1981) is unconstitu-
tional under the equal protection clause,
because it permits collection from resi-
dents subject to a guardianship of the
estate while omitting, due to lack of
proper service, collection from similarly
situated residents, without such specific

guardianships. If so, this would mean

35
collection violated RCW 49.60.030(1)
(1981), as again, it would be based on
mental handicap.

In either case, RCW 49.60.030(1)
(1981) would be violated, as some residents
would be discriminated against. The
petitioners should then be allowed, under
RCW 49.60.030(2) (1981), to “recover the
actual damages sustained by him...
together with the costs of suit, including

reasonable attorneys’ fees...

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a Writ of Certior-
ari should issue to review the judgment and
opinion of the Supreme Court of Washington.

DATED this 25th day of October, 1982.

Respectfully submitted,

SWEET, DUSSAULT, NEFF &
GIBBS, P.S.

By: WILLIAM L. E. DUSSAULT
Attorneys for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1085%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
