# Appendix — Railway Labor Executives' Ass'n v. Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1054%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 1087

## Text

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

APPENDIX A Decision by S Court, Regional Rail
neon = anon la
APPENDIX B Order by Special Court ............... l6a

Appenb!x C Portions of Brief of Plaintiff Railway
—_ Executives’ Association in Special i
MND ec cdcobctebepadebsdec cedecéceece a

APPENDIX D Rail wry ger Service Act, § 508 reeni 20a

la

APPENDIX A

SPECIAL COURT
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

§ 1152 Panel
C.A. No. 82-18

RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
Piaintiff,
\.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY,
Defendant,

and

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION, and AMTRAK
COMMUTER SERVICES CORPORATION d/b/a COMMUTER
SERVICES CORPORATION,
Rule 19 Parties.

FILED
SEP 28 1982 p.m.
JAMES F. DAVEY, Clerk

Before GascuH, Presiding Judge, and BRYANT and WEINER,
Judges.

Clinton J. Miller, III, Esq. and John J. Sullivan, Esq. (High-
saw & Mahoney, P.C., Washington, D.C.), for Plaintiff Rail-
way Labor Executives’ Association

Lewis H. Van Dusen, Jr., Esq. and Robert H. Young, Jr.,
Esq. (Drinker Biddle & Reath, Philadelphia, PA), for Defend-
ant Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority

Harry A. Rissetto, Esq. and John A. Fraser, III, Esq. (Mor-
gan Lewis & Bockius, Washington, D.C.), and Hermon M.
Wells, Esq. (Consolidated Rail Corporation, Philadelphia,
PA), for Rule 19 Party Consolidated Rail Corporation

Seymour Kurland, Esq. and Mark L. Alderman, Esq. (Wolf,

Block, Schou, & Solis-Cohen, Philadelphia, PA), for Rule 19
Party Amtrak Commuter Services Corporation

WEINER, Judge:
I.

This is the fourth in a series of cases involving application of
§§ 508 and 510 of the Rail Passenger Service Act (RPSA)
added by § 1145 of the Northeast Rail Service Act of 1981
(NRSA) to actions taken or proposed to be taken by Southeast-
ern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA) con-
cerning commuter rail service in the southeastern Pennsylva-
nia region. That commuter rail service is currently being sup-
plied to SEPTA by Consolidated Rai! Corporation (Conrail) on
a contractual basis pursuant to § 304 of the Regional Rail
Reorganization Act of 1973 (RRRA). The three previous cases
are Railway Labor Executives’ Association v. Southeastern
Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA 1), 534 F.
Supp. 832 (Jan. 27, 1982), cert. denied, __ U.S. —__.,, 102
S.Ct. 2271, 73 L. Ed. 2d 1285 (May 24, 1982), Railway Labor
Executives’ Association v. Southeastern Pennsylvania
Transportation Authority (SEPTA II), 534 F. Supp. 852
(March 11, 1982), and International Brotherhood of Teamsters
v. Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority
(SEPTA III), 539 F. Supp. 1222 (May 21, 1982). Since we must
apply those precedents to the case now before us, familiarity
with those opinions is necessary and will be assumed.

The identity of plaintiff Railway Labor Executives’ Associa-
tion (RLEA), defendants SEPTA and Conrail and the rela-
tions between them have been fully described in Presiding
Judge Friendly’s opinion in SEPTA I, supra, 534 F. Supp. at
834-35. A new party, Amtrak Commuter Services Corpora-
tion, (Commuter) which does business as Commuter Services
Corporation has been named as a Rule 19 party in the
complaint.' Commuter was established by § 501 of RPSA, as

‘Rule 19 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides for
“joinder of persons needed for just adjudication.”

3a

added by § 1137 of NRSA, to operate commuter service on
behalf of those commuter authorities which contract with it to
provide such service. Commuter’s involvement in this action
stems from SEPTA’s March 29, 1982, notification to Commu-
ter and Conrail that pursuant to § 506(a) of RPSA, as added by
§ 1137 of NRSA, it intends to contract with Commuter for the
operation of commuter rail service in the southeastern Penn-

sylvania region.’

In this case, as in each of the tnree previous cases, the
complaint alleges that SEPTA’s acts or proposed acts violate
§§ 508 and 510 and wili result in irreparable loss of the rights of
Conrail employees under NRSA. The particular act which
plaintiff complains of is SEPTA’s announced intention to
assume performing through a contractor the ticket selling
functions currently being provided by Conrail and Conrail
employees represented by the Brotherhood of Railway, Air-
line and Steamship Clerks, a constituent member of RLEA.*

* By letter of David F. Girard-diCarlo, Chairman of The Board of
SEPTA, to David W. Marston, President and Chairman of the Board
of Amtrak Commuter Services Corporation, dated March 29, 1982,
SEPTA served notice on Commuter that SEPTA intends to contract
with Commuter for the operation of commuter rail services in accord-
ance with § 506(a) of RPSA.

*In his letter of April 12, 1982, David L. Gunn, Chief Operations
Officer/General Manager of SEPTA advised Conrail that effective
August 1, 1982, SEPTA intended to begin performing by contractor
ticket sales functions currently provided by Conrai! and Conrail
employees. Exhibit B to the complaint. The August 1, 1982, date ‘or
takeover of the ticket selling function was subsequently changed. A
letter from David L. Gunn to R. P. Huffman, Conrail’s Regional
Manager Passenger Services for the SEPTA Region, dated July 19,
1982, requested that Conrail continue its ticket selling activities until
September 1, 1982. In a letter of August 24, 1982, John A. Fraser,
counsel for Conrail, informed the Court that takeover of the ticket
selling function by SEPTA had been further delayed to October 1,
1982.

4a

The complaint further alleges that the selling of tickets
constitutes “commuter service” as defined in § 1135(a)(4) of
NRSA. The relief prayed for is a declaration that SEPTA or
Commuter pursuant to § 508 must negotiate and arbitrate, if
necessary, an implementing agreement with Conrail and the
labor organizations representing the employees performing
the ticket selling function prior to SEPTA’s or Commuter’s
operation of “commuter service” and a similar declaration with
respect to the § 510 collective bargaining negotiations along
with injunctive relief prohibiting SEPTA from contracting out
the ticket selling function without first complying with §§ 508
and 510.‘

*The full text of $§ 508 and 510 is as follows:
SEC. 508. TRANSFER OF EMPLOYEES.

(a) Not later than May 1, 1982, Conrail, commuter author-
ities that intend to operate commuter service, and representa-
tives of the various crafts or classes of of Conrail to be

(b) Wet later than Bay 2. 1982, Conrail, Amtrak Co:amuter,
and of the various crafts or classes of _—
of Conrail to be transferred to Amtrak Commuter
into for an ae ny ++
with (c) of this section.

(ec) Such negotiations shall—
(1) determine the number of employees to be transferred to
Amtrak Commuter or a commuter authority;

(2) iden the specific employees of Conrail to whom
y Bey Bad Re Th

ment;
(3) determine the procedure by such employees may elect to
employment

accept with Amtrak Commuter or a commuter
authority;

(4) determine the for acceptance of such employ-
ces into employment wit Amtrak Commuter oF commuter

(5) determine the mete tee ee be
such employees in

y no later than January 1,

are transferred to Amtrak

(6) ensure that all such
A at pa ney

SEPTA’s answer asserts that its assumption of the ticket
selling function falls within the exceptions outlined in SEPTA

II and SEPTA III, and further, that it is not governed by

HIRT) FM JHE THE
A fH int
TEC
Le
i At
Bite Wal: uit anit es #8

6a

$§ 508 and 510 because it has served notice that it intends to
contract with Commuter for the operation of its commuter rail
lines and it is not a commuter authority that intends to operate

ies to a commuter authority under section 506 of this
title, Amtrak Commuter, the commuter authority, and
es of the various crafts or classes of employees to

ee under section 701 of the i Rail i
lye pyr y py
remained in the employ of

representatives of the various classes or crafts of employees to
be transferred to such commuter authorities under agreements

(2) Not later than September 1, 1982, Amtrak Commuter
and the representatives of the various classes or crafts of em-

|

(b) Ifthe bares) petaSenagpemment ty Godse

specified in (a) of this section, any party to
or the Governor of any State through which the service that is

7a

commuter service within the meaning of that term in §§ 508(a)
and 510(a)(1).

Procedurally this matter is before us on RLEA’s motion fora
preliminary injunction which was filed on June 15, 1982. That
motion requested that the Court establish a schedule for filing
of a stipulation of facts and briefs and for hearing oral argu-
ment. We did so in an order dated June 17, 1982. The parties
filed their stipulation of fact« on June 28, 1982.° All pertinent

an eg tp tye pe

on the at which each provide

ny ny within 30 ce thetenedinceation,
on the dispute.

oy If no settlement in the dispute is reached within 10 days
Seen he patie to he Ee Oem such board shall re-

to submit, within 5 days, final
ed mynd faa of the dispute. “a

— Within 15 days after the submission of final offers, the
Re See OAS ae CURE CaS
forth its selection of the most reasonable offer

(f) yam ape ene pee pte aeneneny api
carrier and the se ve AY

(h) The provisions set forth in this section shall be the ex-

So Ee En ay Cape Nas eae >

Commuter or a commuter y, as the case may be, and
or of employees to

be transferred to Amtrak Commuter or such commuter au-
‘The stipulation of facts prepared for this case has been sup-
plemented by incorporation of the Stipulation of Facts, Appendix to
Stipulation of Facts and Supplemental Stipulation filed in SEPTA I,
and the Stipulation of Facts filed in SEPTA III.

8a

facts were not agreed to, however, and Conrail requested that
the Court schedule an evidentiary hearing before the writer.
That hearing was held on July 1, 1982. SEPTA and Conrail
have also filed certain affidavits to complete the evidentiary
record. At oral argument on July 16, 1982, the Court informed
the parties that in accordance with Rule 65(a)(1) F.R.Civ.P.,
trial on the merits would be advanced and consolidated with
the hearing on the motion for preliminary injunction.

The background of Conrail’s operation of commuter service
for SEPTA has been set forth in the Court’s opinions in SEP-
TA I, 534 F. Supp. 834-35, and SEPTA II, 534 F. Supp. at
853-54. The factual background giving rise to this action began
when SEPTA identified certain areas it wished to remove from
subsidy operation by Conrail; among those areas was the
elimination of ticket selling by Conrail. At the evidentiary
hearing David L. Gunn, Chief Operations Officer and General
Manager of SEPTA, testified that in November, 1980 he met
with Richard Sullivan, Conrail’s Vice-President of Passenger
Service, and discussed ways for SEPTA to cut costs and there-
by reduce its subsidy to Conrail. Included in those discussions
was a general reference to SEPTA’s assuming responsibility
or subcontracting for the performance of various functions. On
January 30, 1981, another meeting was held between
representatives of Conrail and SEPTA to discuss means by
which SEPTA could reduce costs. Mr. Gunn’s notes of that
meeting list five functions which he mentioned to Conrail that
SEPTA could take over. These functions were: station clean-
ing, car cleaning, ticket selling, security, and operation of the
Newtown-Fox Chase line. A Conrail witness at the hearing,
Donald A. Brinkworth, did not dispute that these functions
were discussed, but he maintained that the discussions were
very general and Conrail had not agreed at those meetings toa
takeover of the ticket selling function by SEPTA. On June 3,
1981, another meeting was held to find ways to reduce costs. At
that meeting Conrail proposed that $1.5 million could be saved
by a major elimination of ticket selling.

9a

Sometime during June, George W. Miller, Treasurer of
SEPTA, directed a member of his staff, Barbara Titus, to
begin developing plans for the contracting out of the ticket
selling functions. A draft request for proposal for the services
of a consultant was prepared on June 15, 1981. Subsequently
Mrs. Titus spoke to Conrail representatives and requested
information regarding ticket selling in the Reading Division.°
At about the same time SEPTA began plans to assume operat-
ing responsibility for the Reading Vivision. That opertion was
scheduled to commence on January 1, 1982.’ Conrail in-
terpreted Mrs. Titus’ requests for information as relating to
the larger takeover of rail operations on the Reading Division
rather than relating to a more limited takeover of ticket sales.

In any event, SEPTA continued its efforts to prepare for the
contracting out of ticket sales. In December, 1981 SEITTA
advertised a notice for a request for proposal by contractors.
Since February, 1982 SEPTA has engaged in negotiations
with one contractor, Blue Ribbon Services, Inc., which has
submitted a proposal. This preparation led to SEPTA’s April
12, 1982 notification to Conrail that it intended to perform the
ticket sales function on the Reading Division on August 1,
1982, and to assume responsibility for the balance of the ticket
sales at a later date.

If SEPTA proceeds with this plan, Conrail will abolish 56
positions on the Reading Division and 76 positions on the
former Penn Central lines. In all 139 Conrail employees will be
effected and 132 positions will be eliminated.

* Conrail’s commuter operations in Philadelphia were divided into
the Reading Division for lines running out of Reading Terminal which
were formerly operated by the Reading Railroad and the Philadel-
phia Division for lines formerly operated by Penn Central.

7 Letter of David L. Gunn to Richard C. Sullivan dated August 11,
1981. Conrail Exhibit 4 attached to the transcript of the July 1, 1982

evidentiary hearing.

10a

We must now decide whether this case should be governed
by the holding in SEPTA I or whether it fits within the excep-
tions outlined in the decisions in SEPTA II and SEPTA III.
After an exhaustive examination of the RPSA amendments
and their legislative history, Judge Friendly held in SEPTA I
that SEPTA could not lawfully assume operation of commuter
service on a line previously operated by Conrail without
complying with the procedures of §§ 508 and 510.

When presented with SEPTA’s attempt to subcontract for
the station cleaning function in SEPTA //, the Court framed
the issue as

whether §§ 508 and 510 of RPSA are applicable in a situa-
tion where a commuter authority seeks to complete the
lage or ptm ape ae justment in the manner

which commuter service is provided when substantial

steps towards ing this adjustment had been taken
prior to the effective date of NRSA. 534 F. Supp. at 855.

In deciding that issue the Court looked to the purposes
underlying NRSA’s labor transfer amendments to RPSA.
Judge Friendly found “(tJhe labor transfer provisions were an
attempt to deal with the disruptions thought likely to accom-
pany the large scale transfer of commuter services from Con-
rail to other entities”. 534 F. Supp. at 856. The disruptive
effect on Conrail of SEPTA’s contracting out of the perform-
ance of janitorial and grass-cutting services was considered
minimal.*

The Court considered at some iength and gave weight to
steps taken prior to the passage of NRSA by SEPTA and
Conrail. These pre-NRSA preparations indicated that SEP-
TA’s decision to subcontract for the performance of janitorial

’ Thirty-two full time Conrail employees were affected by SEPTA
actions in SEPTA I]. Affidavit of Richard Sullivan { 5, filed in
SEPTA II.

lla

and grass cutting services “was merely one of the routine
changes in the manner in which commuter service is provided
to Philadelphia of the type those entities frequently had
made.” 534 F. Supp. at 857. The pre-NRSA discussions and
preparations were important for two reasons. “First, they
bear on whether SEPTA’s conduct is within the range of ac-
tions by commuter authorities that § 508 was intended to reg-
ulate.” Jd. Second, the pre-NRSA actions of SEPTA and Con-
rail bear on the question of whether SEPTA intends to operate
commuter service, either itself or through a subcontractor.
Application of the $§ 508 and 510 provisions is predicated on
such an intent to operate commuter service. In SEPTA I// the
Court found the pre-NRSA preparations suggested that SEP-
TA was not seeking to circumvent the statute by accomplish-
ing by degrees what the decisions in SEPTA I prohibited it
from doing all at once. The Court did not decide what factual
showing by a commuter authority would satisfy the SEPTA I]
exception. It did, however, state “[w]Je will decide subcontract
cases lacking evidence of pre-N RSA preparations and consent
by Conrail or involving more substantial portions of Conrail’s
commuter operations . . . when and if they arise”. Jd. Such
questions have come before the Court in SEPTA II] and nowin
this action.

The Court found SEPTA III “exceedingly close to SEPTA
II“, 589 F. Supp. 1224. Although SEPTA’s pre-NRSA
preparations for performing security service with its own em-
ployees were not as substantial as those demonstrated in SE P-
TA Il, the Court found that they did satisfy the standards
articulated in the prior case. Taken together with the small
number of employees involved*® the pre-NRSA preparations
indicated to the Court that SEPTA’s proposed “change was
merely part of the ‘historic pattern of making minor adjust-

*The positions of fourteen Conrail policemen were at stake in
SEPTA III. SEPTA III, Stipulation of facts, 44 15-16.

12a

ments in the way commuter service is provided in Philadel-
phia’, 534 F. Supp. at 857, which we do not think Congress
meant to prohibit when it enacted NRSA.” 537 F. Supp. at
1225.

From the brief factual recital in part II of this opinion, it is
apparent that the facts of this case are not as close to SEPTA II
as Judge Friendly found the facts of SEPTA III to be. Both
sides ask us to evaluate the pre-NRSA discussions and
preparations in the light of the standards developed in SEPTA
II. Conrail asserts, and RLEA agrees, that those standards
have not been met because the pre-N RSA discussions were too
general and tentative to demonstrate that Conrail did approve
an assumption by SEPTA of the ticket selling function prior to
the effective date of NRSA. SEPTA asserts that such approval
should be inferred from the varius meetings where the sub-
ject of reduction of costs through the elimination of Conrail’s
performance of various functions was discussed. From the
evidence presented and testimony heard it does not appear to
us that the evidence supports a finding that Conrail approved
SEPTA’s takeover of the ticket selling function. What is clear
to us is that SEPTA formed an intent in January, 1981 to
assume the ticket selling function at some future date, and it
appears that Conrail first fully appreciated SEPTA’s intention
to take over the ticket selling function in the summer of 1981,
when the disucssions were being held regarding SEPTA’s
takeover of the operation of the entire Reading Division.

Weare not convinced, however, that approval by Conrail is a
prerequisite for application of the SEPTA II standards. The
consent of Conrail to SEPTA’s takeover of the station cleaning
and security service in SEPTA II and SEPTA III, merely
buttressed the otherwise available evidence that such changes
in service were those contemplated and permitted by para-
graph 2(f) of the May 23, 1981 agreement between SEPTA and

13a

Conrail." SEPTA’s making any change permitted by 4 2(f) is
not contingent on approval by Conrail. Prior to August 13,
1981, the effective date of NRSA, the relations between SEP-
TA and Conrail were governed solely by § 304 of RRRA and
the various agreements between them.

We must now face the question of whether the pre-NRSA
discussions and preparations are sufficient to meet the test
articulated in SEPTA II. We find that they are. The evidence
presented to us indicates that the pre-NRSA discussions be-
tween SEPTA and Conrail were no more or no less concrete
with regard to the ticket selling function than those same
discussions were with regard to the janitorial and grass-
cutting and security functions. The uncontroverted evidence
shows that these three functions along with car cleaning and
operation of the Newtown-Fox Chase Line were generally

” Paragraph 2(f) provides as follows:

(f) Conrail grants SEPTA the right to approve all cost and
budgetary assumptions, including manpower levels, used in the
budgeting process, except labor costs governed by safety con-
siderations, statutes, agency rules or regulations, work rules
and labor contracts. The ing sentence is intended to in-
crease and not to reduce SEPTA’s control over the costs of the
Service, and shall not be construed as a limitation upon any

trol such costs. In the event that, the negotia-
tion Focal ete vary + ob wafer pee Panny pene
sang. men Net vi olved viding the
ora i type of activity involved in providi
Survien, or to the event tat is unable to provide any
such work activity at a level to SEPTA with respect
to cost and/or staffing , SEPTA shall be entitled to ex-

levels
ercise, without limitation, the rights which it has under the

ties, and shall a ee he
claims arising out of any agreements executed by SEPTA.

l4a

discussed in both January and June of 1981. These discussions
along with the pre-NRSA preparations by SEPTA were held
sufficient in SEPTA II and SEPTA III and we think they are
sufficient here as well. SEPTA’s pre-NRSA preparations,
while not very extensive, do demonstrate that the ground
work had begun to contract out the ticket selling function in
June and July of 1981. They also demonstrate that SEPTA’s
intent was to change its relationship with Conrail in a manner
which it thought consistent with the May 28, 1981 Agreement
between it and Conrail. We find no evidence to suggest that
SEPTA’s takeover of responsibility for ticket selling through a
subcontractor would have been contrary to { 2(f) of the agree-
ment.

That does not, however, end our inquiry. In both SEPTA II
and SEPTA III the Court characterized the change sought by
SEPTA as fitting into the “historic pattern of making minor
adjustments in the way commuter service is provided in Phila-_ .
delphia.” 534 F. Supp. at 857. We must address the question of
the magnitude of the change sought by SEPTA. If SEPTA
completes its proposal to take over the ticket selling function,
132 positions will be abolished by Conrail. These 132 positions
are approximately eight percent of a total work force of 1709
employed by Conrail for its SEPTA operations, as contrasted
with the comparatively small number of Conrail positions elim-
inated after SEPTA’s changes permitted by the decisions in
SEPTA II (32), and SEPTA III (14). While the number of
employees adversely affected alone should not be determina-
tive, the disruptive effect on Conrail’s operatrions in some
ways is proportional to the number of employees displaced.
The impact on Conrail’s remaining workforce and its labor
protection obligations imposed by Title VII of RRRA are
dependent on the number o employees displaced. We never-
theless find that SEPTA’s proposed takeover is merely one of
the small scale adjustments made in the way commuter service
is historically provided for Philadelphia. The transfer of the
ticket selling functions from Conrail to SEPTA may be charac-
terized as routine and minor, and although involving a larger

l5a

number of positions, is not substantially dissimilar to the
changes approved in SEPTA II and SEPTA III. The magni-
tude of this proposed action by SEPTA is not so great that it
stretches SEPTA II beyond its permissable limits and invokes
the prohibition of SEPTA J."

As in SEPTA III we need not decide the question whether
SEPTA retains any obligation to negotiate under § 508(a) or to
bargain under § 510(a)(1) in view of its March 29, 1982, notice
to Commuter since we consider SEPTA II to be dispositive of
this case.

Judgment will be entered denying the motion for a prelimi-
nary — and dismissing the complaint on the merits.

/s/ Oliver Gasch
Presiding Judge
OLIVER GASCH

/s/ William B. Bryant
Judge
WILLiAM B. BRYANT

/s/ Charles R. Weiner
Judge
CHARLES R. WEINER

DATED: September 23, 1982

"With regard to the particular ai. distinct aspect of its opera-
tions, SEPTA seeks to do no more than was attempted in the actions
which precipitated SEPTA I] and SEPTA III. The common element
in each instance is the relative insignificance of the proposed change
when viewed against the background of SEPTA’s overall commuter
service operation. When seen in that context it becomes evident that
the way in which commuter service is provided in Philadelphia will
not be altered to any appreciable degree by this change in the ticket
selling functions.

l6a

APPENDIX B

SPECIAL COURT
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

§ 1152 Panel
C.A. No. 82-18

RaILway LAaBor EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
Plaintiff,
Vv.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY,
Defendant,

and

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION, and AMTRAK
COMMUTER SERVICES CORPORATION d/b/a COMMUTER
SERVICES CORPORATION,
Rule 19 Parties.

FILED
SEP 28 1982 p.m.
JAMES F. DAVY, Clerk

JUDGMENT

This action having come on for hearing before the § 1152
Panel of the Court, and the issues having been duly heard, and
the Court’s opinion having been filed on September 23, 1982.

It Is ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that plaintiff's
motion for a preliminary injunction is denied and that the
complaint is dismissed on its merits.

/s/ James F. Davey

JAMES F. Davey
Clerk

September 28, 1982

17a

APPENDIX C
Portions Of Brief Of Plaintiff Railway Labor Executives’

82-18 (SEPTA IV).

SPECIAL COURT
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

Civil Action No. 82-18

RaILway LABorR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
Plaintiff,
v.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY,
Defendant,

and
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,
and
AMTRAK COMMUTER SERVICES CORPORATION

d/b/a COMMUTER SERVICES CORPORATION,
Rule 19 Parties.

BRIEF OF PLAINTIFF
RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION

WILuiiaM G. MaHoney, Esquire
Cuinton J. Mitier, III, Esquire
JouHN J. SULLIVAN, ESQUIRE

Hicusaw & Manoney, P.C.
Suite 210

1050 - 17th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036

(202) 296-8500

Attorneys for Rail..ay Labor
Executives’ Assoc ..cion

Date: July 12, 1982

18a

ARGUMENT

1. The Selling Of Commutation Tickets Constitutes “Com-
muter Service” As Defined In Section 1135(b)(1) Of NER-
SA, And Therefore Said Ticket Selling May Not Be
Assumed By Either Commuter Or SEPTA Without Com-
pliance With The Labor Transfer Provisions Contained In
Section 1145 Of NERSA.

Section 1135(b)(1) of NERSA defines “commuter service”
and states in pertinent part:

‘Commuter service’ means short-haul rail passenger serv-

ice operated in metropolitan and suburban areas .. .

characterized by reduced fare, multiple-ride and

commutation tickets, and by ma fy evening peak

ees for SEPTA on the effective date of NERSA (August 13,
1981).* Because ticket selling was being performed by Conrail

‘This Court in SEPTA / left no doubt that if an authority operated

19a

employees under an operating agreement existing pursuant to
Section 304 of the 3R Act on the effective date of NERSA, and

because ticket selling clearly is within the plain meaning of the
statutory definition of commuter service, it necessarily follows
that prior to the performance of any such service by Commuter
or SEPTA, an implementing agreement must be reached or
arbitrated within the statutorily defined period in the manner
described in Section 508 of the RPSA Amendments (contained
in Section 1145 of NERSA) and the parties must negotiate
toward a collective-bargaining agreement in accordance with
Section 510 of the RPSA.

20a

APPENDIX D

Rail Passenger Service Act § 508, As Added By the Northeast
Rail Service Act Of 1981, Subtitle E Of The Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act Of 1981, Pub. L. 97-35, § 1145, 95 Stat. 669

“(a) Not later than May 1, 1982, Conrail, commuter
authorities intend to operate

to Commuter or a commuter authority;
“(2) identify the specific employees of Conrail to whom
Amtrak Commuter or a commuter em-
“(3) determine the by which such -
ees may elect to accept with Amtrak
muter or a commuter ;
“(4) determine the procedure for of such
employees employment with Commuter or
a commuter authority;

“(5) Sitecmine the peccoiane for

clases in Amtrak Commuter oF with 4 con ter a
‘ e

their prior seniority rights;

ensure the retention of seniority on Conrail
Jutta

2la

commuter authority and determine the extent and man-
ner in which such employees shall be permitted to ex-
epcien euch contentey te ender to (A) peovide emalayess
transferred to Amtrak Commuter or a commuter au-
thority at least one y every six-month period
to exercise previous t seniority rights, (B) maxi-

opport
lough, (C) maintain the ability to recall experienced
— ae (D) ensure that under
seniority rights exercised in any manner which results
in any ption of service or a position being filled
which would otherwise not be under the terms of
any crew consist, fireman manning, or other similar
agreement, and (E) ensure that Conrail has the right to
furlough one employee in the same craft or class for each
who returns from Amtrak Commuter or a
commuter authority by exercising seniority.

“(d)1) If ts with respect to the matters
being t to this section are not reached
within'an additi 1982, the partes to the negotiations shal,

fix and pay the compensation of such referees.
ain ‘Mickninnanattilileamiion

ferred, the shall be resolved by a neutral referee in
accordance subsection (d) of section.

“(f) Any yee of Conrail who is not offered em-
—- with Amtrak Commuter or a commuter author-

yn epennenamens into under this section shall
be provided employee protection under section 701 of the
Regional Rail ization Act of 1973 to the same
extent as if such employee had remained in the employ of

23a

APPENDIX E

Regional Rail Reorganization Act Of 1973 § 102(4), As Added
By Subtitle E Of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act Of
1981, Pub. L. 97-35, § 1135, 95 Stat. 646

“(4) ‘Commuter service’ means short-haul rail passen-
ger service operated in metropolitan and suburban areas,
whether within or across the boundaries of a
State, usually characterized by reduced fare, multiple-
ride, and commutation tickets, and by morning and even-
ing peak period operations”;

24a

APPENDIX F

Northeast Rail Service Act Of 1981 § 1152, Subtitle E Of The
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act Of 1981, Pub. L. 97-35, 95
Stat. 676

Sec. 1152. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of |
law, the special court shall have oviginal and exclusive
jurisdiction over 2ny civil action—

(1} for injunctive, declaratory, or other relief relating
to the enforcement, operation, execution, or interpreta-
tion of any provision of or amendment made by this
subtitle, or administrative action taken thereunder to
the extent such action is subject to judicial review;

(2) challenging the constitutionality of any provision
of or amendment made by this subtitle;

(3) toobtain, inspect, copy, or review any document in
the possession or control of the Secretary, Conrail, the
United States Railway Association, or Amtrak that
would be discoverable in litigation under any prc ~ ‘on
of or amendment made by this substitle; or

(4) seeking judgment upon any claim against the
United States founded 0 n the Constitution and
resulting from the operation of any provision of or
amendment made by this subtitle.

(b) A judgment of the special court in any action refer-
red to in this section shall be reviewable only upon petition
for a writ of certiorari to the Supreme Court of the United
States, except that any order or judgment enjoining the
enforcement, or declaring or determining the unconstitu-
tionality or invalidity, of any provision of this subtitle shall
be reviewable by direct appeal to the Supreme Court of
the United States. Such review is exclusive and any peti-
tion or appeal shall be filed not more than 20 days after
entry of such order or judgment.

(ec) Administrative action under the provisions of or
amendments made by this subtitle which is subject to
review shall be upheld unless such action is found to be
unlawful under standards established for review of in-
formal agency action under hs (2)(A), (B), (C),
and (D) of section 706, title 5, United States Code. The
requirements of this subtitle shall constitute the exclusive

25a
eee required by law for such administrative ac-

(d) Ifthe volume of civil actions under subsection (a) of
this section so requires, the United States Railwa
Association shall y to the judicial 1 on multi-
district litigation authorized by section 1407 of title 28,
United States Code, for the oompynent of additional
ae gt et ty court. Within 30 days after the date of
such application, the panel shall assign to the special court
such additional judges as may be to exercise the
jurisdiction described in subsection (a) of this section.

26a
APPENDIX G

Rule 4, Revised Rules Of The Special Court Under § 209 Of
The Regional Rail Reorganization Act Of 1973, As Amended

May 20, 1982
Rule 4
PANELS OF THE COURT

A. Two Panels. The Court shall consist of two panels
of three judges to be known as the General Panel and the
§ 1152 Panel. The General Panel consists of tne judges
cpoceees from time to time by the Judicial Panel on

ultidistrict Litigation under § 209%b) of the Regional
Rail Reorganization Act of 1973 (the Act). The § 1152
Panel consists of the judges inted from time to time
by the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation under
ae of the Northeast Rail Service Act of 1981

B. Presiding Judges. ag shall appoint one of
its members as its iding Judge. The Presiding J
of the General Panel shall be the Presiding Judge of

C. The General Panel. The General Panel shall have
exclusive jurisdiction over all actions described in
§ 20%(e), over proceedings under §§ 303 and 306(c)(4), and
oy semanas transactions proposed under § 305 of

ct.

D. The § 1152 Panel. The § 1152 Panel shall have
grok! ae for all actions arising under
1152(a) of NRSA. If the Presiding Judge of the § 1152
Panel so requests, one or more of the judges of the General
Panel sep tht cial net bo seantved talGiin & aastionter
action under § 1152(a) of NRSA in the place and stead of
the same number of judges of the §°1152 Panel. Any such
shall be made to the Presiding Judge of the Gener-

al 1 or, in the event of his unavailability, to on of the
other judges of the General Panel in order of precedence.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_1054%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
