# Jurisdictional Statement — Louisiana v. Hryhorchuk

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0981%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 1061

## Text

"Office - Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
82-6388 SEP 20 1982
No. ALEXANDER L. STEVAS.
CLERK
In The
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

STATE OF LOUISIANA
Defendant-Appellant,
VERSUS
Roy HRYHORCHUK
Plaintiff-Appellee.

On Appeal from the
Supreme Court of Louisiana

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

WILLIAM J. GUSTE, JR.
Attorney General

CHARLES L. PATIN, JR.
Assistant Attorney General
Chief, Civil Division
THOMAS S. HALLIGAN
Assistant Attorney General

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Post Office Box 44005

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804
Telephone (504) 342-7013

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the Louisiana District Court and reviewing
state appellate courts deprive defendant-appellant of
due process and equal protection of the law in this partic-
ular case by taking tentative, speculative, and merely-
possible factual findings articulated by an appellate court
on a previous appeal for the sole and limited purpose of
testing and overruling a previously granted motion by
defendant-appellant to dismiss at the close of plaintiff’s
evidence and misapplying such findings to the ultimate
merits of the case on remand as though they were final,
fully adjudicated findings, for the radically different
purpose of ultimately deciding the case, without a full
and fair review and analysis of all the evidence in light of
the properly applicable procedural and substantive law,
when such misapplication of such factual findings occurs
in no other like case in Louisiana?

2. Did the Louisiana Supreme Court, the Louisiana
Court of Appeal, and the Louisiana District Court de-
prive defendant-appellant of due process and equal pro-
tection of the law by relieving plaintiff-appellee of his
burden to prove the elements of his alleged cause of
action and placing upon defendant-appellant not merely
the burden of going forward with some evidence but
rather the entire ultimate burden of both proof and per-
suasion on the merits, when in all other like cases in
Louisiana such burden of proof and persuasion on the
merits is always plaintiff-appellee’s and never shifts
therefrom?

3. Did the Louisiana Supreme Court, the Louisiana
Court of Appeal, and the Louisiana District Court vio-

ii

late due process of law and equal protection of the laws
in arbitrarily holding that, of two persons in the exact
same factual circumstances—i.e., both present and
viewing, at the very same time, the very same accident
scene and the very same potential hazards thereof—one
was negligently liable in failing to foresee, and take steps
to prevent, the risk of harm to the other but the other
was not contributorily negligent in failing to foresee, and
take steps to prevent (e.g., merely walking a few paces
out of the foreseeable danger zone) the exact same risk
of harm to himself, especially when the substantive law
of Louisiana in all other cases at least requires the exact
same standards for both negligence liability and contrib-
utory negligence bar to recovery?

4. Did the Louisiana Supreme Court, the Louisiana
Court of Appeal, and the Louisiana District Court de-
prive defendant-appellant of due process and equal pro-
tection of the law by improperly holding defendant-
appellant liable, under the doctrine of respondeat
superior, for the actions of a person over whom
defendant-appeliant did not have any power of direction
and control nor any other real, factual connexity which
would permit a reasonable and non-arbitrary casting of
vicarious liability on a faultless defendant-appellant for
the fault of another, although such power of direction
and control and factual connexity is required for vicari-
ous liability under the doctrine of respondeat superior to
attach in all other like cases in Louisiana?

5. Did the Louisiana Supreme Court deny defen-
dant-appellant due process and equal protection of the
law by allowing judgment to be rendered against

defendant-appellant even though it was not truly a par-
ticipant nor adequately given notice of the suit at the
outset, though such rights are required to be given all
other defendants in all other like cases in Louisiana?

6. Did the Louisiana state courts, particularly the
appellate courts, deny defendant-appellant due process
and equal protection of the law in this particular case by
arbitrarily and capriciously casting civil liability on
defendant-appellant without a meaningful hearing in a
meaningful manner and/or a meaningful appeal, in hold-
ing defendant-appellant liable while refusing to acknowl-
edge and address at all several principal issues that were
properly raised by defendant-appellant and obviously
need to be resolved in order to find defendant-appellant
liable in this civil case, a case conceded by the state
judiciary to have warranted, under state practice, a
non-summarial, full-scope appellate treatment and opin-
ion by the appellate court, when all other defendant-
appellants in all other like cases in Louisiana are af-
forded such rights denied herein?

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceeding in the court whose
judgment is appealed from are as follows: Roy Hryhor-
chuk, plaintiff-appellee; Travelers Insurance Company,
defendant-appellee; Louisiana Department of Transpor-
tation and Development, defendant-appellee; State of
Louisiana, defendant-appellant; Roy M. Smith, defen-
dant (position taken on appeal unknown); State Farm
Automobile Insurance Company, defendant (position
taken on appeal unknown); William R. Clifton, defen-

iv
dant (position taken on appeal unknown); and Pennsyl-

vania General Insurance Company, defendant (position
taken on appeal unknown).

V

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
e er i
. ccc cakd ceadaceueeveas cidenccs iii
— ND 65 55. m ne vi
e 1
e 2
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved. 2
e 3
The Questions are Substantial .................. 21
eee 27
. eee 29

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Aetna Gas and Sur. Co. v. Flowers, 330 U.S. 464,

67 S.Ct. 798, 91 L.Ed. 1024 (1947)........... 27
Arceneaux v. Texaco, Inc., 623 F. 2d 924 (U.S.

rene eee eee 19
Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 85 S.Ct.

1187, 14 L.Ed 2d 62 (1986500))ß 7 24
Badeauz v. East Jefferson General Hospital,

364 So.2d 1348 (La. App. 4th Cir., 1978) ..... 19
Blanchard v. Ogima, 253 La. 34, 215 So.2d

SE Sn eee ese 18
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 91 S. Ct.

780, 28 L.Ed. 2d 113 (1971) .............+.-. 23-24
City of New Orleans v. Levy, 233 La. 844, 98 So.2d

Z 16
Crain v. State, 23 So. 2d 336 (La. App. Ist Cir.,

eee eee 7
Florence v. Clinique Laborutories, Inc., 347

So. 2d 1232 (La. App. Ist Cir., 1977) ......... 19
Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67, 92 S.Ct. 1983,

32 L.Ed. 2d 556 (1942)))0ꝝnꝝü 23
Greenup v. Barney, 315 So.2d 910 (La. App. 4th

Z 16
Gunter v. Plauche et al., 399 So. 2d 727 (La.

DIe 14
Hryhorchuk v. Smith, 412 So. 2d 197 (La. App.

„ BEE cbbdbveedepebasdccocccees passim

Keen v. Pel State Oil Co., Inc., 332 So. 2d 286
(La. App. 2nd Cir., 19760))))))) 19

vii

P
Laird v. Travelers Indemnity Co., 236 So.2d 561 =
(La. App. 4th Cir., 19700))O 15
Lewis v. State, 207 La. 194, 20 So.2d 917 (La.,
blen eee eee 7
Livingston Supply Co. v. Basso, 164 So. 2d 141
(La. App. Ist Cir., 1984))))))))))j)) 15

Mitchell v. Bertolla, 340 So.2d 287 (La., 1976) .... 14
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,
339 U.S. 306, 70 S.Ct. 652, 94 L.Ed. 865

99 ccthecbvdceéecavcdes 24
Ned v. Hertz Corp., 356 So.2d 1074 (La. App.

Gre. .es 15
Reynold v. Sims, 337 U.S. 533, 84 S.Ct. 1362,

III 24
Sansonni v. Jefferson Parish School Board, 344

So.2d 42 (La. App. 4th Cir., 1977) ........... 16

State v. Texas Co. et al., 199 La. 846, 7 So.2d 161
(1942) and, after remand, 205 La. 517, 17
rr „eee eee 7

Stewart v. Gibson Products Company of
Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana, Inc., 300

So.2d 870 (La. App. 3rd Cir., 1974) 20
Sullins v. City of Shreveport, 229 So.2d 390 (La.

III.. 15
Traders and General Ins. Co. v. Robison, 289

So.2d 178 (La. App. Ist Cir., 1973) .......... 19
U.S. v. Ballard, 322 U.S. 78, 64 S.Ct. 882, 88

X 27

Wallace v. Shreveport Rys Co., 175 So. 86 (La.
oe. eee ese eee 15

Welch v. Crown-Zellerbach Corp., 359 So.2d 154
ga. . . . „eee e 14

United States of America ............... passim

Louisiana Constitution Article V, 885,

eee ee passim
Louisiana Constitution Article 12, §10............ 7
Statutes:
rr e en 2
rere esse 7
eee eee eee sees 12
Goon ccccccedacccscccces passim
rene see eee 12
J a accbhcvctdivcccecceccsdoves 13
ls CEs Mey Ga ese de eee 7
Arne sees eee 22
rr eee 18
n EEE ob cnedocccconnhesondocacedosens 7
eee eee e eee eee 19
Others:

1
No.

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

STATE OF LOUISIANA
Defendant-Appellant,
VERSUS
Roy HRYHORCHUK
Plaintiff-Appellee.

On Appeal from the
Supreme Court of Louisiana

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Louisiana Supreme Court’s de-
nial of defendant-appellant’s application for writs of cer-
tiorari and review (dated June 21, 1982) is reported at
416 So.2d 117 (La., 1982) (App. A, infra). The decision of
the Louisiana Court of Appeal for the Third Circuit af-
firming the district court’s decision on remand is re-
ported at 412 So.2d 197 (La. App. 3rd Cir., 1982) (App.
B, infra). The judgment on remand and the reasons
therefor of the Fourteenth Judicial District Court for the
Parish of Caleasieu, dated June 12, 1981, are not offi-

cially reported (App. C, infra).

The previous opinion of the Louisiana Supreme
Court, affirming in part, reversing in part, and remand-
ing the case back to the district court is reported at 390
So.2d 497 (La., 1980) (App. D, infra). The previous deci-
sion by the Louisiana Court of Appeal for the Third Cir-
cuit affirming and amending the trial court’s judgment is
reported at 379 So.2d 281 (La. App. 3rd Cir., 1980)
(App. E, infra). The previous judgment and reasons
therefor of the Fourteenth Judicial District Court for the
Parish of Calcasieu, dated December 29, 1978, are not

officially reported (App. F, infra).

JURISDICTION

This is an appeal from the denial of a writ of cer-
tiorari and review by the Louisiana Supreme Court on
June 2, 1982. No application for rehearing is permitted
by Louisiana law. Appellant’s notice of appeal to the
United States Supreme Court was filed with the Louisi-
ana Supreme Court, the Louisiana Court of Appeal for
the Third Circuit, and the Fourteenth Judicial District
Court for the Parish of Calcasieu on September 16-17,
1982. This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§1257(2).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED
This appeal involves the constitutionality of the
manner in which the Louisiana state courts applied what
are otherwise facially-valid, general state constitutional,
statutory, and court rule provisions concerning the
courts’ jurisdiction and procedure and the substantive
law applicable to this case. It is the particular activity in
| ERRATUM:

——

On page 2, at the beginning

of the third line under
caption “JURISDICTION",
June 2, 1982" should

this case of these state courts acting under their gener-
ally granted constitutional and statutory powers, but not
those state constitutional and statutory provisions them-
selves on their face, that is alleged to violate the federal
constitution. Pertinent state constitutional and statutory
provisions that are involved in the context of this case
are set forth in Appendix “I” hereof. Their citations are
as follows: La. Constitution Article 4, §§5(A) and 8, Ar-
ticle 5, §$5, 10, 16, and Article 12, §10. Louisiana C.C.P.
Articles 1265, 1635, 1810(B), 2128, and 2129. La. R.C.C.
Articles 453, 2286, and 2320. Louisiana R.S. 13:5107 and
42:1.

Defendant-appellant contends that the actions of the
state courts in this case violate the due process and equal
protection clauses of Section 1 of the Fourteenth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States of
America, to wit:

“Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in
the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction
thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the
State wherein they reside. No State shall make or
enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or
immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall
any State deprive any person of life, liberty, prop-
erty, without due process of law; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of
the laws.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The overall inquiry presented on this appeal is
whether the Louisiana state judiciary, acting pursuant
to their judicial function and jurisdiction under the con-
stitution and laws of the state and rules of the state

4

court, violated the due process and equal protection
clauses by the manner in which the state’s courts cast
civil liability on defendant-appellant in this particular
personal injury case.

As a necessary reference to an understanding of the
context in which the issues on this appeal arose, an over-
view of the proceedings below is appropriate. This per-
sonal injury case proceeded to trial consolidated with a
related insurance coverage declaratory judgment action.
Defendant-appellant submits that it had not been prop-
erly served per se with notice of the lawsuit and was, for
all real, practical purposes, unrepresented by counsel at
that time. At the close of plaintiff’s presentation of evi-
dence and before any defendant was given the opportu-
nity to present evidence, several defendants (including
two agents of defendant-appellant) made and were
granted motions to dismiss at the close of plaintiff’s evi-
dence. The trial judge continued the trial as to other
defendants and found them liable to plaintiff in damages
for personal injuries. Plaintiff appealed the summary
dismissals (at the close of plaintiff’s evidence) as to those
defendants (including two agents of defendant-appellant)
who were granted such motions to dismiss at the close of
plaintiff's evidence, and the defendants who completed
their trials and were found liable to plaintiff appealed
their judgments. The Louisiana Court of Appeal for the
Third Circuit affirmed all judgments as to party liability
or non-liability but reduced the quantum of award to
plaintiff against those few defendants found liable. The
Louisiana Supreme Court granted writs, reinstated the
quantum as to those who had been found liable, reversed

5

the ruling on the motions to dismiss at the close of plain-
tiff’s evidence as to the two agents of defendant-
appellant, postulated that defendant-appellant would be
liable but in a manner wholly unrelated to and uncon-
nected with and not “through” defendant-appellant’s two
agents but also conflictingly opined that defendant-
appellant had always been a party because it was named
through these two agents, even though service of pro-
cess (notice of the lawsuit) was never properly served on
defendant-appellant itself as principal, but only on the
two agents, and defendant-appellant was not repre-
sented by any counsel attempting to defend defendant-
appellant itself. Rather, one of defendant-appellant’s
agents was represented by counsel for the agent’s in-
surer who took the position that defendant-appellant it-
self should be held liable directly rather than the insured
agency and its insurer. Only after such holding, then
informally informed of the Louisiana Supreme Court’s
opinion, did defendant-appellant’s counsel (the attorney
general) file an amicus brief on rehearing only. The
state’s high court denied rehearing. The case was then
remanded to complete the trial. Shortly prior to the then
remanded continuation of this trial previously begun,
piaintiff-appellee at last caused defendant-appellant to
be properly served with his petitions and notice of the
basis of his claims. Defendant-appellant participated
after remand; however, the trial continued from the
point of the previous ruling at the close of plaintiff’s
evidence, and plaintiff-appellee’s witnesses, other than
plaintiff himself, were not brought back to allow
defendant-appellant to cross-examine them. De-
fendant-appellant did, however, put on witnesses that

6

had not testified previously and brought out new testi-
mony and evidence that clearly showed key errors in the
previous evidence and in the previously postulated fac-
tual findings formulated from the plaintiff’s evidence
alone in the prior trial. However, the state trial and
appellate courts sitting below the Louisiana Supreme
Court took the factual findings of the state’s high court
from the prior appeal, which findings were only
postulated by the high court as tentative, speculative,
merely-possible facts findable only from evidence pre-
sented by and favorable to plaintiff for the limited pur-
pose of testing and overruling a motion to dismiss at the
close of plaintiff’s evidence, and considered them to be
some kind of already “determined facts” for purposes of
ultimately deciding the case on the merits from all the
evidence, refused even to consider and address necessar-
ily adjudicative issues properly raised by defendant-
appellant, and, though conceding that the case was one
in the class of cases requiring, under state practice,
non-summarial, full-scope treatment and opinion and
giving lip-service thereto, meaninglessly affirmed the
liability of defendant-appellant on the basis of the al-
ready “determined facts” from the previous (interlocu-
tory) appeal to the Louisiana Supreme Court (at a time in
which defendant-appellant, as explained above, was not
really itself a true participant). The Louisiana Supreme
Court easily avoided defendant-appellant’s issues by
simply denying defendant-appellant’s writ application
(though two of the seven justices voted to grant the
writ). From these rulings of the Louisiana state judi-
ciary, defendant-appellant takes this appeal to this Hon-
orable Supreme Court of the United States as the last

7

resort in the hope that this Honorable Court will order
the state’s judiciary to give a truly fair and meaningful
hearing to defendant-appellant in this case and on the
necessarily adjudicative issues defendant-appellant has
properly raised in same.

The importance of these events to this appes are
manifold. It must be clearly understood under Louisiana
law that sovereign immunity of the state, its separate
agencies, and its separate political subdivisions (includ-
ing parishes [counties] as bodies politic), is waived in
state court personal injury suits under a recognized rule
that the sued body politic or agency, having, for pur-
poses of such suits, the capacity of a private person per
Louisiana Revised Civil Code Art. 453 and other law,
must therefore be given the same rights, including on-
stitutional rights, as any other private party litigant (La.
Constitution Art. XII, Section 10; Lewis v. State, 207
La. 194, 20 So.2d 917 (La., 1945) and Crain v. State, 23
So.2d 336 (La. App. Ist Cir., 1945); that, therefore, in
such suits every procedure which violates due process
and/or equal protection is the same procedure as can be
used with respect to any and all other litigants and is a
universal violation of due process and/or equal protec-
tion; and that the relationship of state (body politic) and
state agency (department) is likened, for state lawsuit
purposes, to the relationship between principal-in-
interest and agent or mandatary, State v. Texas, Co. et
al., 199. La. 846, 7 So.2d 161 (1942) and, after remand,
205 La. 517, 17 So.2d 569 (1944). Citation and service of
process (notice of the lawsuit) upon the state (body poli-
tic) as the principal-in-interest is effected, under La.
R.S. 13:5107 and La. C.C.P. Art. 1265, only by service

8

upon the Governor, the chief executive officer of the
State (La. Constitution Art. IV, Section 5), or the At-
torney General, the chief legal officer and dejure “coun-
sel of record” in civil cases for the state (La. Constitution
Art. IV, Section 8). Although citations were addressed
to the “State through the Department of Public Safety”
and the “State through the Department of Highways,”
no service thereof was properly made upon the “State of
Louisiana” (body politic) as the principal, but only upon
such principal’s agents (the two departments). It is thus
contended that the principal itself lacked sufficient no-
tice to be cast in judgment, particularly on grounds
wholly unrelated te such principal’s relationships to the
two such agents served and that such lack of notice vio-
lated due process (and also equa! protection as no other
parties are to be treated thus under Louisiana practice).
In fact, the Department of Transportation and De-
velopment (Highways) sent in attorneys who purported
to represent their department only and set up a defense
aimed to show only that Constable Smith was not an
employee of the department alone, and the Department
of Public Safety, worse yet, was represented only by
counsel for Travelers (providing its insured with a de-
fense) who ultimately contended that the State Treasury
rather than Travelers was liable for damages (in other
words, a defense in direct opposition to the principal-in-
interest). The Louisiana Supreme Court, as it turns out,
virtually held, before the principal-in-interest as ever
served with citation or other notice of the lawsuit, that
the principal-in-interest was liable for Constable Smith
directly without regard to (and not “through”) the two
agencies and wholly unrelated to them.

9

Thus, without true participation by defendant-
appellant per se, which had not yet been served with
notice of the lawsuit, the plaintiff put on his presentation
of evidence in chief at trial. Following his presentation of
evidence, certain of the defendants, including the two
agents of defendant-appellant, moved the court to dis-
miss the plaintiff’s case against them pursuant to La.
Code of Civil Procedure (CC) Art. 1810(B). Article
1810(B) provides,

In an action tried by the Court without a jury,
after the plaintiff has completed the presentation of
his evidence, any party, without waiving his right to
offer evidence in the event the motion is not
granted, may move for a dismissal of the action as to
him on the ground that upon the facts and law, the
plaintiff has shown no right to relief. The court may
then determine the facts and render judgment
against the plaintiff and in favor of the moving party
or may decline to render any judgment until the
close of all the evidence.

These motions to dismiss at the close of plaintiff’s
evidence were granted as to those defendants who were
the alleged “masters” of Justice of the Peace’s Constable
Smith. The trial was continued as to the other defen-
dants, and they were found liable to plaintiff-appellee in
damages for personal injuries.

The state Court of Appeal, Third Circuit, affirmed
the CCP Art. 1810(B) dismissals and affirmed the liabil-
ity of the other defendants cast in final judgment but
reduced the quantum of award.

reversed the reduction in quantum of the award. The

10

state’s high court also affirmed the liability of those de-
fendants who had completed trials and been cast in
judgment. Then, in testing the propriety of the granting
of the CCP Art. 1810(B) motions, the state’s high court
(using the tests for CCP Art. 1810(B) motions—i.e., a
postulated set of merely-possible facts gleaned only from
plaintiffs’s presentation of evidence and only from evi-
dence, therefore, most favorable to plaintiff)—overruled
and reversed the granting of the CCP Art. 1810(B)
motions to the two agents of defendant-appellant, opin-
ing conflictingly that defendant-appellant was named in
the suit through its two so-named agents but also that
the postulated liability of defendant-appellant lay in its
relationship directly to the constable and not through the
only two so-named agents of defendant-appellant served
with notice of the lawsuit.

It was only after remand from this decision of the
Louisiana Supreme Court that defendant-appellant was
at last properly served with notice of the lawsuit. But
when counsel for defendant-appellant faced the proceed-
ings on remand, what counsel discovered was that trial
began where it had left off—at the close of plaintiff’s
evidence. Plaintiff-appellee’s witnesses were not
brought back for cross-examination. Moreover, the ac-
tual attitude of the courts was that the Louisiana Su-
preme Court, in overruling the CCP Art. 1810(B) mo-
tion, had expressed its final decision on the merits of this
trial (even before defendant-appellant was ever served
with notice of the lawsuit), and that the courts would go
through the motions of a trial and appeal procedurally
but, as for any practical substantive outcome, the out-

11

come on the merits expressed by the Louisiana Supreme
Court, even in merely overruling a CCP Art. 181008)
motion, would have to be fulfilled. Thus, in spite of the
fact that defendant-appellant put on witnesses that had
not yet testified and brought out new and different tes-
timony and evidence showing key errors in the previous
evidence and the prior misunderstandings of the true
factual situation and in spite of new issues which were
properly and timely raised by defendant-appellant and
which, under the law, need to be resolved in order to
cast liability on defendant-appellant, these courts,
though conceding that this case required non-summarial,
full-scope treatment and opinion (particularly on appeal)
and paying lip-service to same, simply refused to ac-
knowledge and address, much less attempt to resolve,
these issues and evidence and rendered judgment
against defendant-appellant in accordance with what
they felt to be the wishes of the Louisiana Supreme
Court as expressed on the prior appeal. In fact, the
Court of Appeal, Third Circuit, expressly relied on the
already “determined facts surrounding the accident” and
“the conclusions of law based upon those facts.”

Highlighting what is submitted to be the arbitrari-
ness of such a decision is the context of Louisiana law
concerning the circumstances and effect of the prior Lou-
isiana Supreme Court opinion before remand and its
supposed non-effect on defendant-appellant’s right to be
heard on subsequent issues and defenses.

First among the context of Louisiana law in this
regard are the issues which were properly and timely
raised, as the errors occurred, but which the state courts

12

refused to acknowledge and address. The Louisiana pro-
cedural law as to raising such issues is liberal. C.C.P.
Art. 1635 states:

Art. 1635. Exceptions unnecessary

Formal exceptions to rulings or orders of the
court are unnecessary. For all purposes it is suffi-
cient that a party, at the time the ruling or order of
the court is made or sought, makes known to the
court the action which he desires the court to take or
his objection to the action of the court and his
grounds therefor; and, if a party has no opportunity
to object to a ruling or order at the time it is made,
the absence of an objection does not thereafter prej-
udice him.

As to raising the issues on appeal, C.C.P. Arts. 2128 and
2129 state,

Art. 2128. Same; determination of content

The form and content of the record on appeal
ä — Ang sr
court, except as provided in the constitution. How-

ever, ‘within three days, exclusive of holidays, after

service of a copy of this designation on the other
party, that party may also designate in a writing
filed with the trial court such other portions of the
record as he considers necessary. In such cases the
clerk shall prepare the record on appeal as so di-
rected, but a party or the trial court may cause to be
filed thereafter any omitted portion of the record as
a supplemental record. When no designation is
made, the record shall be a transcript of all the pro-

13

ceedings as well as all documents filed in the trial
court.

Art. 2129. Assignment of errors unnecessary; ex-
ception

An assignment of errors is not necessary in any
appeal. Where the appellant designates only
portions of the record as the record on appeal, he
must serve with his designation a concise statement
of the points on which he intends to rely, and the
appeal shall be limited to those points.

As for this particular case, no particular parts of the
record were designated, and the appeal was heard on the

entire record. By rules, the Supreme Court of Louisiana,
for writ applications, and the Louisiana Courts of Ap-
peal, for appeals and rehearing applications, (the proce-
dures this case followed) has provided for defining as-
signments of error (forming the basic issues) in, respec-
tively, the writ application and appellate brief. De-
fendant-appellant has faithfully done so.

Secondly, these issues arose in connection with a
remand after the state’s high court postulated a theoret-
ical factual situation for the limited purpose of testing
and overruling a motion to dismiss at the close of plain-
tiff’s evidence under C.C.P. Art. 1810(B), supra. In
cases before a judge alone and not a jury, such as this
one, some distinctions have now recently been made in
the different state Court of Appeal circuits concerning
the evidenciary standard to be applied, although its ap-
pears that at the time of this case in the Third Circuit,
the view of the evidence in the light most favorable to
plaintiff, was the standard. Be that as it may, to deter-
mine ultimate facts as to liability against a defendant,

14

who has not yet even been given the opportunity to
present evidence, offends all notions of justice, even
under Louisiana law. Gunter v. Plauche et al., 399 So.2d
727 (La. App. ist Cir., 1981). Likewise, it is submitted
that it is arbitrary simply to rely on such postulated,
theoretical factual findings made from only plaintiff's
presentation of evidence for the ultimate decision on the
merits without giving either a meaningful acknowledg-
ment of or a meaningful analysis to the defendant’s evi-
dence, especially when that evidence is new and contains
some uncontroverted showings that some key errors in
the prior factual findings had been made.

Thirdly, it must be clearly understood that no kind
of collateral estoppel exists at all in Louisiana, and the
Civilian Law doctrine of “res judicata” under La. Re-
vised Civil Code Art. 2286 is extremely narrower than
the Common Law concept thereof. Welch v. Crown-
Zellerbach Corp., 359 So.2d 154 (La., 1978), preceded by
Mitchell v. B » lla, 240 So.2d 287 (La., 1976). Thus, no
findings in the first appeals in this case on the merits of
plaintiff-appellee’s action against other defendants can
affect at all plaintiff-appellee’s alleged action against
defendant-appellant, and issues and assignments of er-
rors (“grounds”) raised by defendant-appellant after re-
mand cannot be arbitrarily ignored or “estopped” by
anything that occurred on the previous appeals. Given
this context of Louisiana law, arbitrariness and capri-
ciousness is clearly inferred by a court’s refusal to ad-

judge such necessary issues and grounds.

In Louisiana, as in all other states, in an action for
personal injuries sustained as a result of the alleged neg-

15

ligence of a defendant, the burden is on the piaintiff to
prove all of the essential elements to establish negli-
gence on the part of the defendant. Sullins v. City of
Shreveport, 229 So.2d 390 (La. App. 2nd Cir., 1969). It is
elementary that the plaintiff must produce proof in sup-
port of each and every element of his claim. Livingston
Supply Co. v. Basso, 164 So.2d 141 (La. App. Ist Cir.,
1964). Since the plaintiff must prove every element of his
cause of action, the defendant needs only to defeat the
plaintiff on one element to win. Laird v. Travelers In-
demnity Co., 236 So.2d 561 (La. App. 4th Cir., 1970). In
a negligence action, such as the present case, the plain-
tiff has the burden of proof and ultimate persuasion
throughout, and the trial judge at the conclusion of the
trial weighs all the evidence offered and determines the
preponderance. Ned v. Hertz Corp., 356 So.2d 1974 (La.
App. 4th Cir., 1978).

As the Court in Wallace v. Shreveport Rys. Co., 175
So. 86 (La. App. 2nd Cir., 1973) stated,

“The onus of proof, after the prima facie show-
ing, strictly speaking, did not shift, but it did then
devolve upon defendant to adduce proof of lack of +
negligence of its part.

“Although it has sometimes been stated that
the burden of proof will shift to defendant on plain-
tiff making out a prima facie case, this statement is
inaccurate, and, where defendant sets up a plea or
answer denying its liability, the main burden of
proof does not shift, but is on plaintiff throughout
the case, even where a presumption of negligence
exists, although where plaintiff introduces evidence
sufficient to make out a prima facie case, it is then
incumbent on defendant in order to prevent a recov-

16

ery to introduce evidence sufficient to overcome

such showing by plaintiff. . . .”

The general rule is that the plaintiff, seeking to re-
cover on a theory of negligence, is required to establish a
prima facie case of negligence on the part of the defen-
dant, after which the burden is on the defendant to go
forward with evidence to rebut the inference of negli-
gence. Sansonni v. Jefferson Parish School Board, 344
So.2d 42 (La. App. 4th Cir., 1977). It is axiomatic that
the plaintiff must first establish this prima facie case
before the defendant is obliged to reout. Greenup v.
Barney, 315 So.2d 910 (La. App. 4th Cir., 1975). The
obligation to rebut plaintiff’s prima facie evidence is the
only “burden” to be placed on the defendant.

As explained by the Louisiana Supreme Court in
City of New Orleans v. Levy, 233 La. 844, 98 So.2d 210
(La., 1957),

“The burden of evidence... sometimes
termed the burden of producing, or going forward
with, the evidence, or the burden of procedure,
shifts, or may shift, from side to side during the
progress of the trial. . . This burden of evidence is
so continued until the party having the burden of
proof establishes a prima facie case; nothing less will
shift the burden of evidence. When such a prima
facie case is established, the burden of evidence is
shifted to the adverse party; the adverse party may,
by the production of evidence destroying the prima
facie case against him, satisfy the burden and re-

store it to the original party.”

Therefore, while the burden of evidence or the bur-
den of going forth with evidence may shift from party to
party, the burden of proof and ultimate persuasion never

17

shifts from the plaintiff. This distinction is made clear in
the Levy and Wallace cases, supra. The Louisiana Su-
preme Court, the Court of Appeal, and the district
court, in failing to note this distinction, placed an im-
proper burden of proof and ultimate persuasion on
defendant-appellant that is never placed on other liti-
gants in like circumstances and thereby violated due
process and equal protection.

The Louisiana courts below effected an illegal and
unconstitutional placing of the entire burde” of proof and
persuasion, which by law is placed on plaintiff, upon the
defendant State of Louisiana to show that a “change”
was warranted “in the court’s [already] determined facts
surrounding the accident” and “in the conclusions of law
based upon such facts.” Hryhorchuk v. Smith, 412 So.2d
197,200 (La. App. 3rd Cir., 1982). Thus, in this case, this
improper shifting of the burden of proof and persuasion
from the plaintiff (who would, in all other like cases,
retain this burden throughout the course of the litiga-
tion) to defendant-appellant, possibly by confusing the
burden of proof with the burden of evidence, is arbitrary
and invidious in effect and thus violative of the due pro-
cess and equal protection clauses of the Fourteenth
Amendment to the United States Constitution.

It is, likewise, submitted to be a violation of due
process and equal protection clauses of both the federal
and state constitutions for a state court to hold any per-
son liable for damages caused through no fault of his own
but only vicariously for an employee under the guise of
respondeat superior, when the situation does not have
the element of control expressed in Louisiana Civil Code
Article 2320, which states,

18

Art. 2320. Masters and employers are answer-
able for the damages occasioned by their servants
and overseers, in the exercise of the functions in
which there are employed.

Teachers and artisans are answerable for the
damage caused by their scholars or apprentices,
while under their superintendence.

In the above cases, responsibility only attaches,
when the masters or employers, teachers and arti-

sans, might have prevented the act which caused

the damage, and have not done it.

This is the same as the Common Law rule embedded
in stare decisis at the times of the adoption of the Consti-
tution of the United States and the Fourteenth Amend-
ment thereto. Therefore, to hold a person liable without
the element of control as expressed, for example, in the
last sentence of Article 2320, above, in essence, arbitrar-
ily casts liability on a faultless or innocent defendant for
the tort of another over whom he had no control nor
reasonable factual connection to warrant liability. One
might simply, arbitrarily choose the richest man in town
for liability.

The context of Louisiana law follows the general
rule: A master or employer is liable for the tortious con-
duct of a servant o employee which is within the scope
of employment, but a principal is not liable for the torts
of a non-servant agent. Restatement of the Law, Sec-
ond, Agency, § 250.

An agent’s negligence is not imputable to the princi-
pal and the principal is not liable for such negligence
unless a master-servant relationship exists between the
parties. Blanchard v. Ogima, 253 La. 34, 215 So.2d 902

19

(La., 1968); Traders and General Ins. Co. v. Robison,
289 So.2d 178 (La. App. Ist Cir., 1973); Badeaux v. East
Jefferson General Hospital, 364 So.2d 1348 (La. App.
4th Cir., 1978). Since liability should not be broadly or
liberally imposed on a master or employer for the torts of
his servant or employee where the master is not himself
at fault, masters are only held liable for the acts of ser-
vants over whom they have control, as opposed to agents
over whom they have little control. Keen v. Pel State Oil
Co., Inc., 332 So.2d 286 (La. App. 2nd Cir., 1976); Flor-
ence v. Clinique Laboratories, Inc., 347 So.2d 1232 (La.
App. Ist Cir., 1977). As the Fifth Circuit Court of Ap-
peals recently stated,

“A principal may be held liable for an agent’s
negligence if there is master-servant relationship.
The indicia of such a relationship are the right of the
principal to control the agent’s time and physical
activities and the existence of a close physical rela-
tionship between them.” Arceneaux v. Texaco,
Inc., F. 2d 924 (U.S. App. 5th Cir., 1980).
The mere fact that a constable is a public officer

does not automatically transform him into a state officer.
Under Louisiana law, R.S. 42:1 defines “public office” as
any state, district, parish or municipal office. An exami-
nation of the element of control leads to the inescapable
conclusion that a constable is a parochial office and not a
state office.

Thus, it is further submitted to be a violation of
equal protection for the state courts in this same case to
apply the “power of control” standard to the Calcasieu
Parish Sheriff's office and to the Calcasieu Parish Police
Jury (the legislative governing body of the body politic,

Caleasieu Parish, itself) in order to find non-liability,
while at the same time refusing to apply the same stan-
dard to defendant-appellant so that liability could be
arbitrarily cast on defendant-appellant without any ref-
erence or regard to the lack of such power to control the
manner of performing daily tasks and activities, etc.

Finally, the context of Louisiana law in which these
issues arose is also that the very same factors and stan-
dards are to be applied alike to determine negligence
liability and contributory negligence bar to recovery.
Stewart v. Gibson Products Company of Natchitoches
Parish, Louisiana, Inc., 300 So.2d 870 (La. App. 3rd
Cir., 1974). It is uncontroverted that Smith, defendant-
appellant’s alleged “servant,” and plaintiff-appellee were
both viewing the very same accident scene and the very
same hazards thereof for the very same appreciable
length of time before Clifton knocked Smith’s parked car
into plaintiff-appellee. In fact, plantiff-appellee was not
as busy as Smith, but sat on or stood near a bridge rail
near the side and rear of Smith’s car where he could
observe the previous eastbound vehicles coming up to
Smith’s car and being directed around the hazardous
area and where he could observe whatever foreseeable
risks of harm to himself there were right in plain view in
front of him. Yet the state’s courts ruled that Smith was
negligent in failing to foresee the risk of harm to
plaintiff-appellee and to take preventive steps not to
breach any duty with respect thereto but that plaintiff-
appellee was not contributorily negligent in also failing
to foresee the very same risk of harm and taking preven-
tive steps (merely walking a few paces out of the risk

21

area) to avoid same. It is submitted that such dichotomy
of treatment of the very same factual situation provides
the classic equal protection violation. In the manner
done herein to cast legal liability on one in a judicial
forum, it also violates due process.

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL

In the foregoing Statement of context in which the
questions presented on this appeal arose, the questions
presented hereinabove were defined both factually and
legally with respect to this particular case, and it should
be obvious that they provide a ratio decidendi to the
ultimate outcome on the merits of this case and to its
validity. For example, the generally classic federal equal
protection question as to the dichotomy of treatment
concerning negligence liability and contributory negli-
gence bar to recovery operating in the same identical
factual circumstances with respect to foreseeability of
risks, etc., is an issue which goes directly to the heart
and essence of whether ultimate liability can be validly
cast on defendant-appellant in this case under the appli-
cable state law which requires no overriding state inter-
est to the contrary but rather that the same factors and
standards be used. In conjunction with the questions
presented herein about the state courts’ failure to pro-
vide a meaningful hearing herein after proper notice of
the lawsuit was served, the state courts simply refused
to acknowledge and address, much less resolve, this
generally classic federal equal protection issue, nor the
other issues, properly raised by defendant-appellant.
Had they done so, a judgment worth $627,389.24 could
not and would not, it is submitted, have been cast. As it

stands now, such equal protection question presented
herein could and should, by itself alone or in cumulative
conjunction with the other questions presented herein,
turn the entire case and invalidate the judgment. Thus,
there can be no doubt about the substantiality of the
questions presented herein.

But the substantiality of the federal constitutional
questions presented on this appeal, defined and de-
scribed hereinabove, transcends the substantial value of
this case alone. These questions on appeal herein reach
to the heart of the very foundations of American society,
for the Louisiana courts below, particularly at the Court
of Appeal level, have, as explained hereinabove, con-
ceded that this case is one requiring non-summarial,
full-scope treatment and opinion. Contrary to any coun-
tervailing overriding state interest in such doctrines as
collateral estoppel and Common Law scope res judicata
for judicial economy, the Louisiana courts have long de-
clared, as explained in the Statement, supra, that
neither collateral estoppel nor Common Law scope res
judicata exists at all whatsoever in Louisiana, but rather
only the very narrow one-party-on-one-party, same
identical “grounds,” and same demand type of res
judicata peculiar to the Civilian-Law-based Louisiana
Revised Civil Code Art. 2286. Thus, the judicial, lack-
of-timely-notice (service of process) treatment given to
defendant-appellant in this case by the Louisiana judi-
ciary, as described and explained more fully in the
Statement hereinabove, is proclaimed by the state
courts to be the very same treatment and process that
can be imposed in Louisiana at the state court’s whim in
any given ordinary proceedings case, one-party-on-one-

party, from its outset. And it is submitted that such
treatment and lack of timely judicial process, described
and defined more fully in the Statement, supra, falls
woefully short of the fundamental notions required by
American society and its constitution.

As Mr. Justice Harlan explained in Boddie v. Con-
necticut, 401 U.S. 371, 91 S.Ct. 780, 28 L.Ed. 2d 113
(1971),

Perhaps no characteristic of an organized and
cohesive society is more fundamental than its eree
tion and enforcement of a system of rules defining
the various rights and duties of its members, en-
abling them to govern their affairs and definitely
settle their differences in an orderly, predictable
manner. Without such a “legal system,” social orga-
nization and cohesion are virtually impossible; with
the ability to seek regularized resolution of conflicts
individuals are capable of interdependent action
that enables them to strive for achievements with-
out the anxieties that would beset them in a disor-
ganized society. Put more succinctly, it is this injec-
tion of the rule of law that allows society to reap the
benefits of rejecting what political theorists call the
“state of nature.”

It is fundamentally unfair and, therefore, unconsti-
tutional to hold a defendant liable in damages without
addressing the defendant’s arguments in defense. Bod-
die v. Connecticut, supra; Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S.
67, 92 S.Ct 1983, 32 L.Ed. 2d 556 (1972). Due process
requires, at a minimum, that absent a countervailing
state interest of overriding significance, persons who
must settle their claims through litigation must be given
a meaningful opportunity to be heard, granted at a

24

meaningful time and in a meaningful manner and without
a shifting in burdens of proof or persuasion. Boddie,
supra; Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 85 S.Ct 1187,
14 L.Ed. 2d 62 (1965). Even though the formality and
procedural requisites for the hearing can vary depending
upon the importance of the interest involved and the
nature of the subsequent proceeding, the litigant must
be given the opportunity for a hearing before he is de-
prived of a property interest. Without this hearing in a
meaningful manner appropriate to the nature of the
case, the mandates of the Due Process Clause have not
been complied with. Boddie, supra, at 786-787; Mullane
v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306 at
313, 70 S.Ct 652 at 656, 94 L.Ed. 865 (1950). The Louisi-
ana courts below are merely sought herein to fulfill, in a
constitutionally valid manner, their basic duties under
the laws and rules by which they ordinarily operate; no
new duties for them are urged herein.

Closely allied to and somewhat overlapping these
due process requirements and certainly not mutually
exclusive from them, are the requirements of equal pro-
tection. The questions presented on this appeal drive to
the very axiomatic foundations of even the most minimal
notions of equal protection—that is, “equal protection of
the laws” means that no one shall be denied the same
protection of the laws enjoyed by or afforded to others in
like circumstances. See, for example, Reynolds v. Sims,
377 U.S. 533, 84 S.Ct. 1362, 12 L.Ed. 2d 506 (1964) and
other cases too numerous to cite. In this case on appeal,
the state courts not only failed to articulate any rational
basis or overriding state interests in treating defen-
dant-appellant differently and in failing to afford

defendant-appellant the same protection and defenses of
the laws afforded to other litigants (especially defen-
dants) in similar cases and circumstances, before casting
them in a substantial money judgment, but they,
moreover, made even no pretense whatsoever that there
were any rational classifications (nor any different clas-
sifications at all, rational or otherwise) into which defen-
dant-appellant might fall. They simply, arbitrarily de-
nied to defendant-appellant the same legal defenses,
procedures, and protections afforded to others under
state law, as more fully described and explained here-
inabove.

The question presented with respect to the state
courts’ thrusting on defendant-appellant in this case the
ultimate burdens of not only proof but also persuasion,
while in all other like cases such burdens are always on
plaintiffs and not defendants in similar circumstances, is
more than an incidental procedural question in this case.
The opinion of the Louisiana Court of Appeal, Third Cir-
cuit, in stating that defendant-appellant failed to carry
the burden of showing that a “change” was warranted in
the already “determined facts surrounding the accident
or in the conclusions of law based on such facts,”
explicitly relied on such thinking as the ratio decidendi of
its decision to affirm the judgment on the merits herein
against defendant-appellant. Since the Louisiana Su-
preme Court merely denied defendant-appellant’s writ
application, this question presented on appeal here
strikes at the only articulated reason for the judgment
appealed from.

The question concerning the same standards and
factors for negligence liability and contributory negli-

gence bar to recovery, too, follows the basic, axiomatic
equal protection meaning, for, contrary to purporting to
create a differentiating classification or a countervailing
state interest, the state law, as described in the State-
ment, supra, confirms that the same factors and stan-
dards are to be used. Thus, defendant-appellant’s posi-
tion is not that equal protection with respect to this issue
was violated in the face of having to balance a state law
interest to the contrary, but rather that both equal pro-
tection and state law were contravened by the judg-
ments in the state courts below. This state law issue was
never passed on, and no contrary state law interest
vis-a-vis the equal protection issue was ever articulated,
all because the state courts below arbitrarily in violation
of due process and equal protection refused to acknowl-
edge and address these issues (assignments of error),
even though they were properly and timely raised, as
explained in the Statement, supra.

The question presented regarding the casting of
vicarious liability on a faultless defendant for the fault
(tort) of another over whom he does not have the power
of control that is universally recognized as the primary
indicia of respondeat superior liability nor even from
whom he receives any real economic benefit, also entails
invidious wealth discrimination, as such arbitrary over-
reachings to cast liability on faultless defendants is, as
was the case herein, usually motivated by a desire to
catch someone (even only nominally connected with the
case) who has the potential or substantial ability to pay

large damage awards.

27

CONCLUSION

For any one or more of the foregoing reasons, prob-
able jurisdiction should be noted for this appeal.

As an equally viable alternative, however, at this
point, attention must be given to the fact that, as ex-
plained hereinabove, the state courts arbitrarily in viola-
tion of due process and equal protection ignored many
state law issues properly and timely raised by
defendant-appellant in this case. Some of these state law
issues, if they were faced and decided by the state courts
below, could have provided other dispositions of this
case which might have otherwise avoided the federal
constitutional questions raised, though, as the case
stands now with the state courts’ refusal to acknowledge
and address these other state issues, this case stands
ripe for the federal constitutional questions explained
herein. Thus, it is brought to this Honorable Court’s
attention that the most facile way of giving effect to the
constitutional protections which were violated in this
case, might be, at least at this stage of the case, to treat
this appeal perhaps as a writ application for the sole
purpose of reversing or merely vacating the judgment
appealed from herein and remanding to the Louisiana
Supreme Court for a decision on these other issues of
state law that remain as yet unresolved herein, similar
to what was done, for example, in U.S. v. Ballard, 332
U.S. 78, 64 S.Ct. 882, 88 L.Ed. 1148 (1943) and Aetna
Gas. and Sur. Co. v. Flowers, 330 U.S. 464, 67 S.Ct.
798, 91 L.Ed. 1024 (1946).

WILLIAM J. GUSTE, JR.
Attorney General

Assistant Attorney General

LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Post Office Box 44005

Capitol Station

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804

(504) 342-7013

Attorneys for State of Louisiana

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Thomas S. Halligan, one of the assistant attor-
neys general for the State of Louisiana, appellant herein,
and a member of the Bar of the Supreme Court of the
United States, hereby certify that on the seventeenth
day of September, 1982, I served copies of the foregoing
Jurisdictional Statement, by mailing copies thereof in
duly addressed envelopes, with first class postage pre-
paid, upon the following:

Fred H. Sievert, Jr.
Post Office Box 2900
Lake Charles, Louisiana 70602

Reid K. Hebert
Post Office Drawer 1705
Lake Charles, Louisiana 70602

William J. Doran, Jr., and
William R. Kivett

704 South Foster Drive
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806

John K. Van Norman, III
Post Office Box 1746

Lake Charles, Louisiana 70602
H. O. Lestage, III

Post Office Box 151

DeRidder, Louisiana 70634

Robert H. Marve and
Woodrow W. Wyatt

Post Office Box 44245, Capitol Station
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804

Edmund E. Woodley
Post Office Drawer EE
Lake Charles, Louisiana 70602

Robert W. Thomas
522 Clarence
Lake Charles, Louisiana 70601

Court of Appeal

Third Circuit

% Honorable Kenneth deBlanc, Cierk
State of Louisiana

Calcasieu Parish Courthouse Annex
Lake Charles, Louisiana 70601

Fourteenth Judicial District Court

Parish of Calcasieu

% Honorable Acton Hillebrandt

Clerk of Court

Post Office Box 1030

Lake Charles, Louisiana 70602

Supreme Court of Louisiana

% Honorable Frans J. Labranche, Jr.

Supreme Court Building

301 Loyola Avenue

New Orleans, Louisiana 70112

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, this seventeenth day of
September, 1982.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0981%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
