# Amicus Brief — Carpenters v. Scott

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0829%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 463 U.S. 825

## Text

No. 82-486 Man 16 1963

IN THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Unite

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS
OF AMERICA, LOCAL 610 (AFL-CIO), et al.,
. Petitioners,

PAUL E. Scott, et al.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
OF THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

ROBERT T. THOMPSON

MELVIN R. HUTSON

GEORGE R. SALEM
THOMPSON, MANN & HUTSON
1730 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Suite 1000
Washington, D.C. 20006
202-783-1900
Of Counsel: Attorneys for the
STEPHEN A. BOKAT Chamber of Commerce
NATIONAL CHAMBER of the United States,
LITIGATION CENTER as Amicus Curiae
1616 H Street, N. W.
Washington, D. C. 20006
202-463-5337
March 18, 1983

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. 8

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ................

I.

II.

III.

RESPONDENTS’ CLAIMS ARE PROPERLY
COGNIZABLE UNDER SECTION 1985 (3)

A. The Decision of the Court Below Is Consist-
ent With the Holding of This Court in
Griffin v. Breckenridge

THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF SECTION
1985(3) SUPPORTS COGNIZANCE OF RE-
SPONDENTS’ CLAIMS. Ss

A. The Ku Klux Klan in 1871 Was A Political

B. The Legislative History Evinces Congres-
sional Concern For Persons Victimized Due
To Their Political Beliefs and Associations,
and Due to the Regional Animus Which
Motivated the K&K ann

THE REQUISITE CLASS-BASED, INVIDI-
OUSLY DISCRIMINATORY ANIMUS IS
— —— —-—-—„— — —

A. Discrimination Against Nonunion Employ-
ees and Their Employer Is Class-Based, In-
vidiously Discriminatory Animus Proscribed
by Section 1985(3), Where the Animus Is
Regional As Well As Ideological, and Mani-
fests Itself Through Violence ee

7sil apsiomemnbanl

12

15

15

17

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page

C. Lower Court Decisions, All Progeny of Grif-
fin v. Breckenridge, Accord Broad Breadth
to the Scope of Class-Based Conspiracies
Which Fall Within the Purview of Section
. 20

IV. RESPONDENTS’ CLAIMS UNDER SECTION
1985(3) SEEK PROTECTION OF RIGHTS
CLEARLY WITHIN THE AMBIT OF THE
STATUTE AND WITHIN CONGRESS’S
eK ee

Z

g

1

3
SERS

C. The Employer Is An Appropriate Plaintiff.
e AN a Se aa 28

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209
ͤ—y—-—— . . ‚ —⏑ 24
Action v. Gannon, 450 F.2d 1227 (8th Cir. 1971)
// 21
Anglo-Chilean Nitrate Sales Corp. v. Alabama, 288
I c 28

Baer v. Baer, 450 F. Supp. 481 (N. D. Cal. 1978) 21
Beamon v. W. B. Saunders Co., 413 F. Supp. 1167

rr. e ee Lee 21
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Virginia,
re / x 24

Browder v. Tipton, 650 F. 2d 1149 (6th Cir. 1980) 18, 19
Brown v. Villanova University, 378 F. Supp. 342

IIc 20
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (19760 28
Cameron v. Brock, 473 F. 2d 608 (6th Cir. 1973) 20
Collins v. Hardyman, 341 U.S. 651 (1950) 6, 21
Crutcher v. Commonwealth of Kentucky, 141 U.S.

90 25, 28
Curran v. Portland Superintending School Com-

mittee, 435 F. Supp. 1063 (D. Me. 1977) ............. 21

Daniel Construction Company, et al. v. Baltimore
Building and Construction Trades Council, et al.,

No. R-81-1074 (D. Md. filed April, 19817 16
Des Vergnes v. Seekonk Water District, 601 F.2d
ID . 27

District 1199 National Union of Hospital and
Health Care Employees (Frances Scherver
Home and Hospital), 345 N. L. R. B. 105 (1979) 18

Dombrowski v. Dowling, 459 F.2d 190 (7th Cir.

t? t nr᷑ʃn)ir nn 8 18, 19
First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435

. 28
Franceschina v. Morgan, 346 F. Supp. 833 (S. D.

rr 21

Fulton Market Cold Storage Company v. Cullerton,
582 F. 2d 1071 (7th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439
ee 27

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Glasson v. City of Louisville, 518 F.2d 899 (6th
Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 9830 20
Great American Federal Savings & Loan Ass'n v.
Novotny, 442 U.S. 366 (19799 17, 19
Griffin v. Breckenridge, 408 U.S. 88 (19717 passim
Heart of Atlanta Motel, Inc. v. United States, 379
U.S. 241 (1964) „„
Heyman v. Hays, 236 US. 178 (1916) — — 28
Hodgin v. Jefferson, 447 F. Supp. 804 (D. Md.
r 21
International Union, United Automobile, Aero-
space and Agricultural Implement Workers, et
al. v. National Right to Work Legal Defense and
Educational Foundation, Inc., 590 F.2d 1139
r .... —%—᷑⁸ꝭ1 f cc ae 28
Katzenbach v. McClung, 379 U.S. 294 (1964) 25, 26
Kimble v. D.J. McDuffy, Inc., 648 F.2d 340 (5th
r 21
Local 1 (ACA) Broadcast Employees v. Interna-
tional Brotherhood of Teamsters, 419 F. Supp.
263 (E.D. Pa. 1976) aff'd in part and rev'd in
part on other grounds, 614 F.2d 846 (3d Cir.
Pe eee 20
Marlowe v. Fisher Body, 489 F.2d 1057 (6th Cir.
EE 21
McLellan v. Mississippi Power & Light Co., 545
F.2d 919 (5th Cir. 1977) (en banc) 8,9
Means v. Wilson, 522 F.2d 833 (8th Cir. 1975),
cert. denied, 424 U.S. 958 (1976) ........................ 20
Mother Goose Nursery Schools, Inc. v. Sendak, 502
F. Supp. 1319 (N.D. Ind. 1980))ÿ 27
NAACP v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449 (1958) ............ 28
N.L.R.B. v. Denver Building and Construction
Trades Council, 341 U.S. 675 (19817 5, 15
N.L.R.B. v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp., 301 U.S.
„ 26

Oklahoma v. Kansas Nat. Gas. Co., 221 U.S. 229
(1911) 28

*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Philadelphia Yearly Meeting of the Religious Soci-
ety of Friends v. Tate, 519 F.2d 1335 (3d Cir.
—A 8 20
Puentes v. Sullivan, 425 F. Supp. 249 (W. D. Tex.
— . ——— 20

Rankin v. Howard, 457 F. Supp. 70 (D. Ariz.
1978), rev'd on other grounds, 633 F.2d 844 (9th
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 101 S.Ct. 2020 21
Reichardt v. Payne, 396 F. Supp. 1010 (N.D. Cal.
1975), aff'd sub nom. Life Insurance Co. of
North America v. Reichardt, 591 F.2d 499 (9th
Xx ͤ—ꝗ— 21
Sawmill Products, Inc. v. Town of Cicero, Cook
County, Illinois, 477 F. Supp. 636 (D. III. 1979) 27
Scott v. Moore, 680 F.2d 979 (5th Cir. 1982) (en

ee passim
Selzer v. Berkowitz, 459 F. Supp. 347 (E. D. N. v.
＋— . 20

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 637 F. 2d 743 (10th
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, —— US. ——, 102

I een ä 18. 19
Smith v. Cherry, 489 F.2d 1098 (7th Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 417 U.S. 910 (1974) 20
Thomas v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516 (1945) 24
Union de Tronquistas Local 901 (Lock Joint Pipe

& Co.), 202 N.L.R.B. 399 (1973) 18
United States v. Enmons, 410 U.S. 396 (19733 2
United States v. Harris, 106 U.S. 629 (1882) 7

Ward v. Connor, 657 F.2d 45 (4th Cir. 1981),
cert. denied, —— US. ——, 102 S.Ct. 1253

— en eT 21
Constitutional Provisions:
NN ayy passim
U.S. Const. amend. I ...... passim
ES 25

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Statutes: Page

Civil Rights Act of 1871 §1, 42 U.S.C. § 1983
Sf een 27

Civil Rights Act of 1871 nds 42 U.S.C. § 1985(3)
Fo passim

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S. C. f 704 (a)
RS Seer ee 17, 26
Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951 (1976) — „% 2

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 141-
eC 1

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organization
Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-1968 (1976 & Supp. III

1717777 2
The Travel Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1952 (197055 2
Miscellaneous :
Avins, The Reconstruction Amendments Debates,
ES ne 10
Cong. Globe, 42d Cong., Ist Sess. (187177) passim
H.R. Rep. No. 1, 42d Cong., Ist Sess. XXX-XXXI
——— K . 0 10

Proposed Amendments to NLRA, Hearings on
S. 294, Before the Subcommittee on Labor, 95th
Cong., Ist Sess. 45 (1977) — 15, 16

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

No. 82-486

UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS
or AMERICA, LOCAL 610 (AFL-CIO), et al.,
4 Petitioners,

Paul E. Scorr, et al.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Cireuit

BRIEF OF THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
OF THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

Incidents of violence against nonunion employees are a
serious and recurring problem. Nonunion workers in in-
dustries from construction to coal mining have been sub-
jected to violent attacks based upon their decision and
efforts to perform their contractual obligations on a non-
union basis. Nonunion employers have been repeatedly
subjected to attacks upon their property by individuals
and groups protesting a nonunion construction project or
the opening of a nonunion mine.

Labor relations and, in particular, violence have been
traditional concerns of the government of the United
States and of the Federal Courts. Local courts and law
enforcement agencies are willing and able to use their

powers to protect life and property in most potentially
violent situations. However, there are far too many in-

1 See, National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 141-187 (1976).

2

stances in which the strength of local sentiment prevents
these agencies from properly protecting nonunion em-
ployers and workers from violence, or from providing
them with adequate remedies for injuries sustained.“
Such situations are particularly difficult where the non-
union group is regarded as a class of “outsiders” as op-
posed to “local people” who feel that they have some right
to the jobs being performed on a nonunion basis. The
instant case presents such a situation. In its en banc
opinion below the Fifth Circuit properly applies existing
law, 42 U.S.C. 8 1985 (3), to give an adequate fed-
eral remedy to a group of employers and employees in-
jured by acts of violence inflicted upon them because of
their nonunion status. The Chamber is strongly of the
opinion that violence, intentional torts against person and
property, and other coercive tactics have no place in the
labor relations context, and are contrary to the public
interest.

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States
(“Chamber”) is the largest federation of business organ-
izations and individuals in the United States. Its total
membership exceeds 235,000, including over 230,000 cor-
porations, partnerships and individuals, as well as over
4,000 state and local chambers of commerce and profes-

sional organizations. The Chamber regularly presents its

2 As the Fifth Circuit noted in its en banc opinion below:

It should be observed that the National Labor Relations Board
has a long-established policy against awarding monetary dam-
ages for physical injury and property damage caused by strike
or picket line violence for which the union is held respon-
sible... .

Scott v. Moore, 680 F.2d 979, 996 n.13 (5th Cir. 1982) (en banc)
(citations and parentheticals omitted).

Other statutory schemes are equally ineffective. See, e.g., Racketeer
Influenced and Corrupt Organization Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-1968
(1976 & Supp. III 1979); The Travel Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1952 (1976);
Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951 (1976) and United States v. Enmons,
410 U.S. 396 (1973).

members’ views to this Court and lower federal courts on
issues of major concern to the business community.’
Many Chamber members are employers and individuals
who have been or may be subjected to acts of violence.
Many Chamber members occasionally do business in areas
where there is some hostility toward the employment of
“outsiders.” Therefore, Chamber members are vitally in-
terested in the protection of those who have suffered from
violence directed at them because they are part of a group
that is not affiliated with locally established labor organ-
izations. Thus, with the consent of the parties,“ the
Chamber is appearing as Amicus Curiae to urge on be-
half of its members that the en banc decision of the Court
of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit be affirmed.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

L

The principal issue on appeal is whether Section
1985(3) provides a remedy for injuries sustained by
Respondents in an episode of mob violence resulting from
a private conspiracy motivated by pervasive regional
hostility and ideological animus qualifying as “class-based
invidiously discriminatory animus” against nonunion em-
ployees and their employer attempting to perform their
contractual obligations in “union country” on a nonunion
basis. Proper resolution of this issue requires careful
analysis of the factors which led the Court to its decision
in Griffin v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88 (19%), that “all
indicators—text, companion provisions, asd legislative
history—point unwaveringly to § 1985(3)’s coverage of
private conspiracies.” Id. at 101. Analysis of these fac-

See, e.g., Marshall v. Barlow's, Inc., 436 U.S. 307 (1978); Whirl-
pool Corporation v. Marshall, 445 U.S. 1 (1980); Associated Gen-
eral Contractors of California, Inc. v. California State Council of
Carpenters 46, et al., 51 U.S.L.W. 4139 (U.S. Feb. 22, 1983).

* This brief is filed with the written consent of all parties pur-
suant to Supreme Court Rule 36.2. Letters signifying consent have
been separately filed with the Court.

4

tors leads inescapably to the conclusion that the court
below was correct in finding that the Griffin requirements
had been met and that Respondents stated a claim for
relief under Section 1985 (3).

IL.

Analysis of the legislative history of the Congressional
debates surrounding the Ku Klux Klan Act, of which
Section 1985(3) is a part, compels the conclusion that
nonunion employees and their employer, as victims of the
sort of class-based, invidiously discriminatory ani ‘o
which Respondents herein were subjected, constitu’ §
class within the purview of Sectior 1985(3) as envisio:
by the Forty-Second Congress. The Republican Party
was in the majority in the Forty-Second Congress which
enacted the Ku Klux Klan Act in 1871. The Ku Klux
Klan in 1871 was a political organization which used
violence as a means of combatting Northern businessmen,
“carpetbaggers,” Blacks, Northern laborers and Republi-
cans. The political motivations and pervasive regional
hostilities of the Klan point unwaveringly to inclusion,
under the facts in the case at bar, of the class of non-
union “outsider” employees and their “outsider” employer
within the remedial scope of Section 1985(3). Indeed, the
class-based, invidiously discriminatory animus of Peti-
tioners herein was precisely of the sort which Section
1985(3) was designed to remedy. See Cong. Globe, 42d
Cong., 1st Sess. (1871). Regional animus involving vio-
lent means to achieve political ends was of particular
concern to Republicans in the Forty-Second Congress, be-
cause Klan violence was often aimed at coercing Republi-
cans in the Democrat-controlled South to leave that re-
gion.

The legislative history also evinces Congressional con-
cern for persons victimized due to their political beliefs
and associations and the kind of regional animus which
motivated the Klan. Thus, concern for people discrimi-
nated against because of their politicai associations, cou-

5

pled with concern for the precarious status of Republi-
cans in the South due to pervasive regional hostility, led
to enactment of Section 1985(3). In enacting the Ku
Klux Klan Act the Forty-Second Congress intended to
protect people victimized because of pervasive regional
hostility and their economic and political beliefs and as-
sociations. The class of nonunion employees and their
employer manifestly qualifies as a class whose members
are victimized for these same reasons, and who are thus
within the statute’s remedial scope.

III.

The requisite class-based, invidiously discriminatory
animus required by Griffin is also present. Discrimination
against nonunion employees and their nonunion employer
is class-based, invidiously discriminatory animus pro-
scribed by Section 1985(3) where the animus is re-
gional as well as ideological, and manifests itself through
violence. The facts presented typify the hatred of
craftsmen in the construction industry who choose to as-
sociate with and work for nonunion employers on jobs
that a union and its members historically regard as
theirs. This Court has long recognized the long-standing
animus of unionized workers toward nonunion craftsmen
in the construction industry. As Justice Douglas noted
in his dissenting opinion in NLRB v. Denver Building
and Construction Trades Council, 341 U.S. 675, 692
(1951), “The employment of union and nonunion men
on the same job is a basic protest in trade union history.”
Recognition of the realities of the workplace in the labor
relations context unquestionably supports the holding of
the court below that Respondents stated a claim for relief
under Section 1985 (3).

Each of the cases relied upon by Petitioners is distin-
guishable from the case at bar. None of those cases in-
volved either the regional animus or the violence which
are present in this case. Where the animus involves geo-
graphical or cultural phenomena akin to the “pervasive
regional hostility” present in this case, and when this

6

animus manifests itself through violent intentional torts
such as assaults, batteries and destruction of property,
then this qualifies as 2lass-based discriminatory animus
proscribed by Section 1985 (3).

Lower court decisions, all progeny of Griffin, supra,
accord broad breadth to the scope of class-based conspir-
acies which fall within the purview of Section 1985(3).
The “evolution of the decisional law” post-Griffin should
be evaluated in the same light as the Court evaluated the
trend of cases subsequent to Collins v. Hardyman, 341
U.S. 651 (1950). Evaluation of the decisional law post-
Griffin leads to the inescapable conclusion that the court
below was correct in finding that the class of Respond-
ents falls within the remedial scope of Section 1985(3).

IV.

Respondents’ claims under Section 1985(3) seek pro-
tection of rights clearly within the ambit of the statute
and within the power of Congress to protect. The object
of Petitioners’ conspiracy was to deprive Respondents of
their First Amendment associational rights and rights to
engage in interstate commerce, thereby depriving them of
equal protection within the meaning of Section 1985(3).
The legislative history and evolution of decisional law
clearly supports this conclusion. The source of Congres-
sional power to reach the conspiracy of Petitioners herein
is conferred by the Commerce Clause, Article I, Section 8
of the Constitution.

ARGUMENT

I. RESPONDENTS’ CLAIMS ARE PROPERLY COG-
NIZABLE UNDER SECTION 1985(3)

A. The Decision of the Court Below is Consistent with
the Holding of This Court in Griffin v. Breckenridge

An analysis of any claim pursuant to 42 U.S.C.
§ 1985(3)* must naturally begin with this Court’s de-
cision in Griffin v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88 (1971).

5 42 U.S.C. § 1985 (3) (Supp. III 1979).

7

In that case, the Court, relying upon the language of the
statute itself, the statute’s legislative history and the
meaning attributed by Congress and the courts to analo-
gous statutes, held that Section 1985(3) provides a civil
remedy for damages arising from wholly private con-
spiracies aimed at depriving equal enjoyment of rights
secured by the law for all. Jd. at 102. Petitioners’
concern that the court below interpreted Section 1985 (3)
in a manner which creates a general federal tort law is
unfounded given this Court’s admonition in Griffin:

The constitutional shoals that would lie in the path
of interpreting § 1985(3) as a general federal tort
law can be avoided by giving full effect to the con-
gressional purpose—by requiring, as an element of
the cause of action, the kind of invidiously discrimi-
natory motivation stressed by the sponsors of the
limiting amendments. The language requiring intent
to deprive of equal protection, or equal privileges
and immunities, means that there must be some
racial, or perhaps otherwise class-based, invidiously
discriminatory animus behind the conspirators’ ac-
tion. The conspiracy, in other words, must aim at a
deprivation of the equal enjoyment of rights secured
by the law to all.
Griffin v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88, 101-102 (1971)
(footnotes and citations omitted). As discussed more
fully infra, in keeping with this admonition, the court
below correctly found class-based, invidiously discrimina-
tory animus from the actions of Petitioners herein.

Petitioners’ principal argument is that Section 1985 (3)
requires some sort of state action as contemplated by the
Fourteenth Amendment. In so arguing, Petitioners would
have the Court ignore the dictates articulated in Griffin
that:

[There is nothing inherent in § 1985(3) that re-
quires the action working deprivation to come from
the State. See, e.g., United States v. Harris, 106 U.S.
629, 643. Indeed, the failure to mention any such
requisite can be viewed as an important indication

of congressional intent to speak in § 1985(3) of all
deprivation of “equal protection of the laws” and
“equal privileges and immunities under the laws,”
whatever their source.

Id. at 97.

In reaching the conclusion that Section 1985(3) pre-
vides a civil remedy for damages arising from wholly pri-
vate infringements of constitutional rights “whatever
their source,” the Court articulated the following four
elements as necessary to state a cause of action under
Section 1985 (3):

. . . IA complaint must allege that the defendant
did:] (1) “conspire or go in disguise on the highway
or on the premises of another” (2) “for the purpose
of depriving, either directly or indirectly, any person
or class of persons of the equal protection of the laws,
or of equal privileges and immunities under the
laws.” It must then assert that one or more of the
conspirators (3) did, or caused to be done, “any act
in furtherance of the object of [the] conspiracy,”
whereby another was (4a) “injured in his person or
property” or (4b) “deprived of having and exercis-
ing any right or privilege of a citizen of the United
States.”

Id. at 102-103. Under the facts herein presented, the

court below found that Petitioners’ actions satisfied each

of these four elements articulated in Griffin:

Griffin’s principles indicate the plaintiffs here have
made out a cause of action under § 1985(3). The
facts of this case clearly embody four of the five ele-
ments essential to a successful 1985(3) claim. First,
the evidence is sufficient to establish a conspiracy
among some of the Council’s constituent unions and
individual defendants. Second, proof that plaintiffs
were assaulted, beaten, and threatened and that
property was destroyed establishes the requisite “act
in furtherance” of the conspiracy. Third, these acts
are indisputably illegal apart from § 1985(3) as
required by McLellan [McLellan v. Mississippi Power

& Light Co., 545 F.2d 919 (5th Cir. 1977) (en
banc)]. Fourth, there is evidence of personal in-
juries, property damage. and economic loss. The only
element requiring analysis is the requirement that
the conspiracy be for the purpose of depriving a per-
son of the equal protection of the laws or equal privi-
leges and immunities under the laws. This require-
ment, in turn, has two components: (1) the violation
of some protected right and (2) a class-based invidi-
ously discriminatory animus motivating the violation.
Scott v. Moore, 680 F.2d 979, 988 (5th Cir. 1981) (en
banc).

The court below correctly found that the Griffin re-
quirements had been met. Amicus will first present an
analysis of the relevant legislative history to place the
Griffin requirements in the proper historical perspective.

II. THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF SECTION 1985(3)
SUPPORTS COGNIZANCE OF RESPONDENTS’
CLAIMS

After extensive analysis of the legislative history of the
Ku Klux Klan Act, of which Section 1985(3) is a part,
this Court in Griffin stated, “It is thus evident that all
indicators—text, companion provisions, and legislative his-
tory—point unwaveringly to § 1985(3)’s coverage of pri-
vate conspiracies.” Id. at 101. Further analysis of the
legislative history leads inescapably to the conclusion that
nonunion employees and their employer, as victims of the
sort of class-based, invidiously discriminatory animus to
which Respondents herein were subjected, constitute a
class within the purview of Section 1985(3) as envisioned
by the Forty-Second Congress.

A. The Ku Klux Klan in 1871 Was A Political Organi-
zation

The Ku Klux Klan in 1871 was a political organization
which used violence as a means of combatting Northern

businessmen, “carpetbaggers”, Blacks, Northern laborers
and Republicans. The political motivations and regional

10

hostilities of the Klan are especially relevant for deter-
mining whether the class of nonunion “outsider” employ-
ees and their “outsider” employer are encompassed within
the remedial scope of Section 1985(3).

Republicans in the Forty-Second Congress were espe-
cially concerned about the political motivations for Klan
violence, because Republicans were in the majority in that
Congress and Klan violence was often aimed at coercing
Republicans in the Democrat-controlled South to leave
that region. These concerns prompted the Forty-Second
Congress to establish a joint committee to investigate the
Klan. The Majority Report of the Senate Select Commit-
tee to Investigate Alleged Outrages in the Southern States
reported :

It is clearly established . . . [t]hat the Ku-Klux or-
ganization does exist, has a political purpose, is com-
posed of members of the democratic or conservative
party, [and] has sought to carry out its purposes by
murders, whippings, intimidations, and violence.“

The political nature of the problem was repeatedly and
vociferously asserted in debates concerning the Ku Klux
Klan Act.“ Republican Congressmen spoke at length re-
garding the political nature of the Klan. Congressman
Stoughton (R-Mich.) described the Klan as having a “po-
litical purpose . . comprised of members of the Demo-
cratic or Conservative party,” and as achieving its ends
through “violence against its opponents.” Cong. Globe,
42d Cong., Ist Sess. 320 (1971). Congressman Hoar
(R.-Mass.) described the Klan as a “secret political con-
spiracy.” Id. at 333. Congressman Elliott (R.-S.C.)
stated, “the design of the Ku Klux Klan is political.” Jd.
at 391. Congressman Roberts (R.-N.Y.) described the
Klan as an organization. .. political in its origins and
aims .... [T]he victims whose property is destroyed,

* H.R. Rep. No. 1, 42d Cong., Ist Sess. XXX-XXXI (1871).

7 See Cong. Globe, 42d Cong., Ist Sess. (1871); See also Avins,
The Reconstruction Amendments Debates, 484-570 (1967).

11

whose persons are mutilated, whose lives are sacrificed,
are always Republicans.” Id. at 412-13. Congressman
Burchard (R-Ill.) stated: “through their agency the lives
and persons of political opponents are doomed to violence
and outrage.” Jd. at 312. The record in the House of
the Ku Klux Klan debate is thus replete with references
to the political motivations for the violent actions of Klan
members.*

The debate on the Ku Klux Klan Act in the Senate was
substantially similar. Republican Senators echoed the
sentiments of their House brethren in imputing political
designs to Klan violence. Senator Pratt (R-Ind.) re-
marked that the leading purpose of the Klan “is to punish
men for their political opinions.” Id. at 504. Senator
Edmunds (R-Vt.) asserted that the “systematic plan [of
the Klan] is not to leave in any of [the Southern] States
a brave white man who dares to be a Republican or a
colored man who dares to be a voter.” Id. at 702. Senator
Pool (R-N.C.) described the Klan as “a Democratic or-
ganization, in the interests of the Democratic Party.”
Id. at 108. Senator Morton (R-Ind.) described the Klan’s
purposes in a manner which is peculiarly applicable to
the facts of the case at bar: “The purpose [of the Klan]
is by these innumerable and nameless crimes to drive
those who are supporting the Republican party to aban-
don their political faith and to flee from the State.” Id.
at 252.

8 See, e.g., remarks of Congressman McKee (R-Miss.), id. at 426
(“The dead and the wounded, the maimed and the scourged, are
all, all Republicans.“ ]; Cobb (R-N. C.), id. at 437 (“every victim of
Ku Klux outrage has been a Republican”); Butler (R-Mass.), id.
at 443 (Klan is a “political engine in the hands of the [ Democratic
Party]“; Coburn (R-Ind.), id. at 457 (Klan is “political in its
nature”); Lansing (R-N.Y.), id. at 488 (“the Ku Klux in their
crimes are inspired by political zeal”); Blair (R-Mich.), id. app.,
at 72 (“they murder for a difference in political opinions”); Perry
(R-Ohio), id. app. at 78 (Klans are “organizations in aid of the
Democratic party“); Snyder (R-Ark.), id. app. at 196 (the “object
{of the Klan is] the defeat of Republicanism”).

12

As the foregoing historical analysis reveals, regional
animus involving violent means to achieve political ends
was of particular concern to the Republican majority
in the Forty-Second Congress when it enacted the Ku
Klux Klan Act, including Section 198503). These de-
bates evince a remarkable similarity between the motiva-
tions of the Klan and those of a mob of union members
engaged in violent mass picketing against an out-of-state
nonunion contractor and its out-of-state nonunion employ-
ees. The designs of both are political and regional. The
Klan attempted to force Republicans out of the South—
the area which they controlled through the conservative
Democratic party. Likewise, union members in the Port
Arthur area, all members of the constituent local unions
of the Sabine Area Building and Construction Trades
Council, were endeavoring to force Cross Construction
Company and its nonunion employees out of the area—
an area which they and their unions controlled. The
means by which each attempted to achieve their ends
were the same violence.

B. The Legislative History Evinces Congressional
Concern For Persons Victimized Due to Their
Political Beliefs and Associations, and Due to the
Regional Animus Which Motivated the Klan

A manifestation of the political motivations of the Klan
was the regional animus or hostility of Klansmen to-
werd “carpetbaggers,” Northern businessmen, Blacks,
out-of-town workers and the like. This regional animus
is exactly the sort of animus harbored by union workers
in a primarily unionized area toward out-of-town, non-
union contractors and their nonunion employees.

These carpetbaggers, Northern businessmen and work-
ers were primarily Republicans who had emigrated South
in an attempt to improve their economic circumstances
after the Civil War. These Northern emigres often allied
themselves with the newly emancipated Black population,
which was also a Republican stronghold in the post-Civil
War South. They were thus among the classes which the

13

Forty-Second Congress sought to protect when it enacted
the Ku Klux Klan Act.

The concern for these classes and acknowledgement of
the regional hostility which existed is evidenced by the
statements of several members of Congress. Senator Ed-
monds (R.-Vt.) chaired the Senate Judiciary Committee
at the time, was Senate Manager of the bill, and was thus
eminently familiar with its provisions. He explained the
bill as follows:

We do not undertake in this bill to interfere with
what might be called a private conspiracy growing
out of a neighborhood feud of one man or set of men
against another to prevent one getting an indictment
in the State courts against men for burning down
his barn; but, if in a case like this, it should appear
that this conspiracy was formed against this man
because he was a Democrat, if you please, or because
he was a Catholic, or because he was a Methodist, or
because he was a Vermonter, (which is a pretty
painful instance that I have in my mind in the State
of Florida within a few days where a man lost his
life for that reason) then this section could reach it.

Cong. Globe, 42d Cong., Ist Sess. 567 (1871).

As this passage indicates, “the congressional debates
evince a hearty regard for persons who are victimized
because of their political beliefs and associations.” Scott
v. Moore, supra at 992. This ‘hearty regard’ is evidenced
repeatedly throughout the debates. Senator Osborne
(R-Fla.) reiterated the necessity to protect “men who
have gone to the South from the other states in the
lawfu! and harmless pursuit of their proper vocations.”
Cong. Globe, 42d Cong. Ist Sess. 653 (1971). This con-
cern specifically encompassed workers and craftsmen.
Senator Freylinghausen (R-N.J.) stated:

The journeyman cobbler of New England may wrap
his awl and wax and lash on his leather apron and
stand in Charleston, or New Orleans, or Savannah,
and say “here I will settle in despite of the Constitu-

14

tion and of the laws of these States; and I have a
right to invoke the power of the nation here to pro-
tect me”. The mason or the carpenter of New Jersey
may put his chisels or his trowels in his carpetbag,
and go to any part of the land, and say, ‘Here I will
stay in despite of the holy horror of those who cry
out, ‘Adventurer!, ‘Scalawag’, ‘Carpetbagger’.

Id. at 498. Thus, Northern workers who had moved

South in search of economic opportunity were contem-

plated by the framers of Section 1985 (3).

Although the Ku Klux Klan today proclaims itself to
be a racial organization, it was principally political in
nature in 1871. These political motives and the violent
means employed by the Klan to achieve their political
ends concerned Republicans in the Forty-Second Congress.
These violent attacks on Republicans prompted Congres-
sional concern because they were viewed as manifesta-
tions of a pervasive campaign to prevent Republicans
from establishing the policies of Reconstruction in the
South. Thus, concern for people discriminated against
because of their political associations, coupled with the
concern for the precarious status of Republicans in the
South due to pervasive regional hostility, led the Forty-
Second Congress to enact Section 1985(3).

Therefore, in enacting the Ku Klux Klan Act, the
Forty-Second Congress intended to protect classes of peo-
ple victimized because of pervasive regional hostility, and
their economic and political beliefs and associations. The
class of nonunion employees and their employer mani-
festly qualifies as a class whose members are victimized
for these same reasons. Although the “labor union move-
ment in America was yet to be born when the 42d Con-
gress was in session,” Scott v. Moore, supra at 992, in-
clusion of the class of nonunion employees and their em-
ployer who are discriminated against because of their
nonunion and out-of-town status is entirely consistent
with the original intent of the framers of Section
1985 (3). :

15

III. THE REQUISITE CLASS-BASED, INVIDIOUSLY
DISCRIMINATORY ANIMUS IS PRESENT

A. Discrimination Against Nonunion Employees and
Their Employer Is Class-Based, Invidiously Dis-
criminatory Animus Proscribed by Section 1985(3),
Where the Animus is Regional As Well As Ideologi-
cal, and Manifests Itself Through Violence

The case law which has developed since this Court’s
decision in Griffin v. Breckenridge, supra, reveais the in-
defensible nature of Petitioners’ claim that Respondents
have failed to identify a “class” which is protected by
Section 1985 (3). In Griffin, the Court stated only “that
there must be some racial, or perhaps otherwise class-based,
invidiously discriminatory animus behind the conspirators’
actions” in order for there to be a cause of action under
Section 1985(3). Id. at 102. Since the discrimination in
Griffin was racially motivated, the Court did not decide
“whether a conspiracy motivated by invidiously discrimi-
natory intent other than racial basis would be actionable
under Section 1985(3).” Id. at 102, n.9. In the years
since Griffin, the federal courts have addressed the ques-
tion of what types of nonracial classes are protected by
Section 1985 (3).

The facts in this case typify the hatred of nonunion
craftsmen which historically has existed in the construc-
tion industry. At least as early as the decision in NLRB
v. Denver Building and Construction Trades Council, 341
U.S. 675 (1951), the courts began to recognize the long-
standing animus of unionized building and construction
trades members toward nonunion craftsmen in the con-
struction industry. As Justice Douglas said in his dis-
senting opinion, “The employment of union and nonunion
men on the same job is a basic protest in trade union
history.” Id. at 692.°

o The animus that Justice Douglas perceived has been repeatedly
recognized the context of a long series of congressional debates
on “common situs picketing” legislation and the equally long history
of litigation on the same subject. See, e.g., Proposed Amendments to

16

Counsel for the Amicus Curiae know of only four sit-
uations other than the present case where Section 1985 (3)
has been relied upon as a remedy in such situations. Two
cases involved industrial] construction and construction
workers, one coal mine construction, and one immigrant
fishermen. In only one instance has the lower court issued
a written opinion, and in that case the opinion concerns
the denial of the defendants’ motion to dismiss.“ A copy
of the Memorandum Opinion in that case is attached
hereto as an Appendix. There, the animus was directed
against a nonunion out-of-state contractor and its non-
union out-of-state employees who were performing work
under a contract to maintain power plants in Balti-
more, Maryland which had previously been maintained by
Maryland union contractors and union members, most of
whom were residents of Baltimore, Maryland. In that
case, the class-based discriminatory animus of the Mary-
land unions and their members against the out-of-state
contractor and its employees was alleged to have trans-
lated into violent episodes which resulted in personal in-
juries and property damage—much like the damages suf-
fered by Respondents in the case at bar.

The court below properly recognized the realities of the
work place in the labor relations context, and the long-
standing animus of union members toward nonunion
craftsmen in the construction industry. Recognition of
these realities and an understanding of the remedial
scope of Section 1985(3) properly led the majority of the
Fifth Circuit to hold that Section 1985(3) encompasses
a private conspiracy involving regional animus against
nonunion employees and their employer.

NLRA, Hearings on S-294, Before the Subcommittee on Labor, 95th
Cong., Ist Sess. 45 (1977) (Statement of AFL-CIO official Robert
A. Georgine: “In the Denver case, the dissenting Justices correctly
observed that: ‘The employment of union and non-union men on the
same job is a basic protest in trade union history.“

10 Daniel Construction Company, et al. v. Baltimore Building and
Construction Trades Council, et al., No. R-81-1074 (D. Md. filed
April, 1981).

17

The court below was carefully precise in its holding:

Our decision does not hold or imply that every union-
nonunion controversy can create a section 1985(3)
cause of action. Neither does it hold or imply that
every instance of violence arising in the context of a
dispute about employment will necessarily do so.
Neither unionism nor nonunionism suffices to create
a covered class. But where, as here, there is no cam-
paign to organize employees and force or violence is
used to stake out one group’s territorial claim and to
deprive other workers and their employer of the
right to freely associate with one another, a section
1985(3) action will lie.

Scott v. Moore, supra at 995-996. The persuasive reason-
ing of the court below and the precise nature of its hold-
ing renders the attempts of Petitioners to discredit it
spurious.

B. Cases Relied Upon By Petitioners Are Distinguishable

Petitioners quote liberally from Great American Fed-
eral Savings & Loan Ass’n v. Novotny, 442 U.S. 366
(1979), for the proposition that Section 1985(3) cannot
encompass a statutorily created right. The court in
Novotny held that a right created by Title VII could not
be asserted under Section 1985(3). To hold otherwise
in that case would have allowed the plaintiff to bypass
the statutory plan and administrative mechanism created
by Congress. Id. at 375-76. However, as the court below
stated in this case, “Because the litigants here have not
attempted to assert a right created by the Nationa] Labor
Relations Act, the concerns expressed in Novotny are
inapposite to this case.” Scott v. Moore, supra at 996,
n.12.

Thus, Novotny is distinguishable because plaintiff
therein asserted a statutory claim, and a statutory, ad-
ministrative scheme exists under Title VII for cognizance
and relief of a litigant’s claims. No such scheme exists
in the case at bar. Nor is a statutory right asserted by
Respondents herein.

18

The National Labor Relations Board has a long-
established policy against awarding monetary damages
for physical injury and property damage caused by strike
or picket line violence for which a union is responsible.
See, e.g., Union de Tronquistas Local 901 (Lock Joint
Pipe & Co.), 202 N.L.R.B. 399 (1973) ; District 1199 Na-
tionial Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees
(Frances Scherver Home and Hospital), 345 N.L.R.B.
105 (1979). As further discussed infra, the rights as-
serted by Respondents herein are associational freedoms
derived from the First Amendment and rights derived
from the Commerce Clause.

Petitioners also place heavy reliance upon Silkwood v.
Kerr-McGee Corp., 637 F.2d 743 (10th Cir. 1980) cert.
denied, —— U.S. ——, 102 S.Ct. 132, Browder v. Tipton,
650 F.2d 1149 (6th Cir. 1980), and Dombrowski v.
Dowling, 459 F.2d 190 (7th Cir. 1972). Each is dis-
tinguishable from the case at bar, because none of these
three cases involved violence or regional animus of the
sort involved herein.

The Complaint in Kerr-McGee alleged that defendants
had formed a conspiracy to prevent Silkwood and other
employees from organizing a labor union. Silkwood v.
Kerr-McGee, supra at 745. No allegations of intentional
torts or property damage, violence or any discriminatory
animus involving regional hostilities appear in the Com-
plaint. Nor were these factors evaluated in that court’s
decision. Therefore, despite its initial appearance of ap-
plicability, Kerr-McGee has no real relevance to the case
at bar. Under the historical analysis presented supra,
violence must be a manifestation of the animus in order
for it to qualify for coverage under Section 1985(3).
The legislative history is replete with references to vio-
lence and intentional torts involving assaults, batteries
and property damage. Violence of the sort contemplated
by the Forty-Second Congress was present in the case at
bar, which renders Kerr-McGee distinguishable and argu-
ably irrelevant for purposes of this case.

19

The facts in Dombrowski involved arbitrary business
discrimination by a corporate landlord and its agents
against lawyers engaged in the practice of criminal law.
Essentially, the defendants in that case refused to rent
office space to Plaintiff because a substantial number of
Plaintiff’s clients were Black or of Hispanic origin. In
addition to finding that the requirement of Section
1985 (3) that “two or more persons. . . conspire or go
in disguise on the highway” had not been met, the
Seventh Circuit held that arbitrary business discrimina-
tion against lawyers engaged in the practice of criminal
law did not deprive the plaintiffs of “equal protection”
under Section 1985 (3) absent state involvement. Id. at
196. No intentional torts, assaults, batteries, property
damage, or violence of any kind were present in Dombrow-
ski. Nor is there any discriminatory animus involving
regional hostility such as that presented in the case at
bar.

Likewise, Browder is distinguishable due to the lack of
violence. The issue in that case was “whether causing
the false arrest of an adversary in a labor dispute vio-
lates the provisions of . . . § 1985(3).” In Browder,
there was no violence, property damage, nor the sort of
regional hostility which is present in this case. Although
there was no “political or sectional animus” present in
Browder, supra, the court below in this case was con-
fronted with facts involving mobs of union members en-
gaging in assaults, batteries and property damage, and
“pervasive regional hostility toward nonunicn employees”
performing construction work in “union country.” The
facts of Browder involved neither the regional animus
nor the violent manifestations of the class-based, discrim-
inatory animus present in this case.

For these reasons, the Novotny, Kerr-McGee, Dombrow-
ski and Browder cases, upon which Petitioners place
heavy reliance, are distinguishable. It is the position of
Amicus that where the animus involves geographical or
cultural phenomena akin to the “pervasive regional hos-

tility” present in the case at bar, and when this animus
manifests itself through violent, intentional torts such as
assaults, batteries and property damage, then this mani-
festly qualifies as class-based, discriminatory animus pro-
scribed by Section 1985 (3).

C. Lower Court Decisions, All Progeny of Griffin v.
Breckenridge, Accord Broad Breadth to the Scope
of Class-Based Conspiracies Which Fall Within the
Purview of Section 1985(3)

Petitioners assert that the class-based, invidiously dis-
criminatory animus required by Griffin is not present in
the instant case. Petitioners would have the Court ig-
nore the growing and well-reasoned body of case law, all
progeny of Griffin, according protection under Section
1985 (3) to classes whose members ave discriminated
against because of regional animus or their political be-
liefs or associations. As discussed supra, inclusion of
these claims within the scope of Section 1985(3) is con-
sistent with the original intent of the framers of the
Ku Klux Klan Act.

Classes which have been held to be protected by Section
1985(3) include the following: professors who talk to or
associate with the CIA, Selzer v. Berkowitz, 459 F. Supp.
347 (E.D.N.Y. 1978); local unions, Local 1 (ACA)
Broadcast Employees v. International Brotherhood of
Teamsters, 419 F. Supp. 263 (E.D. Pa. 1976) affd in
part and rev'd in part on other grounds, 614 F.2d 846
(3d Cir. 1980); demonstrators, Philadelphia Yearly
Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends v. Tate,
519 F.2d 1335 (3d Cir. 1975), Glasson v. City of Louis-
ville, 518 F.2d 899 (6th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423
U.S. 930, Brown v. Villanova University, 378 F. Supp.
342 (E.D. Pa. 1974) ; supporters of a political candidate,
Cameron v. Brock, 473 F.2d 608 (6th Cir. 1973),
Puentes v. Sullivan, 425 F. Supp. 249 (W.D. Tex. 1977),
Means v. Wilson, 522 F.2d 833 (8th Cir. 1975), cert.
denied, 424 U.S. 958 (1976), persons voting for a
sham candidate, Smith v. Cherry, 489 F.2d 1098 (7th
Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 910 (1974); wor-

21

shippers at a predominantly white Catholic Church dis-
rupted by human rights demonstrators, Action v. Gannon,
450 F.2d 1227 (8th Cir. 1971) (en banc); persons at-
tempting to furnish advice, information, services to mi-
grant workers in agricultural labor camps, Franceschina
v. Morgan, 346 F. Supp. 833 (S.D. Ind. 1972); victims
of sex discrimination, Hodgin v. Jefferson, 447 F. Supp.
804 (D. Md. 1978), Curran v. Portland Superintending
School Committee, 435 F. Supp. 1063 (D. Me. 1977),
Beamon v. W.B. Saunders Co., 413 F. Supp. 1167 (E.D.
Pa. 1976), Reichardt v. Payne, 396 F. Supp. 1010 (N.D.
Cal. 1975), aff'd sub nom. Life Insurance Co. of North
America v. Reichardt, 591 F.2d 499 (9th Cir. 1979);
and victims of religious discrimination, Marlowe v.
Fisher Body, 489 F.2d 1057 (6th Cir. 1973), Action v.
Gannon, supra; Rankin v. Howard, 457 F. Supp. 70 (D.
Ariz. 1978), rev’d on other grounds, 633 F.2d 844 (9th
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 101 S.Ct. 2020; Baer v. Baer,
450 F. Supp. 481 (N.D. Cal. 1978) ; Ward v. Connor, 657
F.2d 45 (4th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, — U.S. ——,
102 S.Ct. 1253 (1982) .™

As the Court in Griffin noted with respect to Collins v.
Hardyman, 341 U.S. 651 (1950) :

it is clear, in light of the decisional law in the years
that have passed since that case was decided, that
many of the constitutional problems there perceived
simply do not exist. Little reason remains, therefore,
not to accord to the words of the statute their appar-
ent meaning. That meaning is confirmed by judicial
construction of related laws, by the structural setting
of § 1985(3) itself, and by its legislative history.

11 The court below noted that it found two types of classes within
the protection of § 1985(3): (1) classes “having common charac-
teristics of an inherent nature”—i.e., those classes afforded special
protection under the equal protection clause; and (2) classes whose
members are discriminated against because of their political beliefs
or associations. See, Kimble v. D. J. McDuffy, Inc., 648 F.2d 340
(5th Cir. 1981) (en banc); Scott v. Moore, supra at 991-992. The
Fifth Circuit placed Respondents herein in the second category.
Id. at 992.

Griffin v. Breckenridge, supra at 95-96. The ‘evolution
of the decisional law’ post-Griffin should be evaluated in
the same light as the Court evaluated the trend of cases
post-Collins. This evaluation will lead the Court to affirm
the decision of the court below.

The foregoing line of cases, all progeny of this Court’s
decision in Griffin v. Breckenridge, supra, support the
decision of the Fifth Circuit that the class of nonunion
employees and their employer fall within the scope of
Section 1985(3), where regional union animus qualifying
as class-based discriminatory animus exists and violence
is employed to force the nonunion employer and its non-
union employees to leave the area.

IV. RESPONDENTS’ CLAIMS UNDER SECTION 1985(3)
SEEK PROTECTION OY RIGHTS CLEARLY
WITHIN THE AMBIT OF THE STATUTE AND
WITHIN CONGRESS’S POWER TO PROTECT

The second element of the Griffin test, the requirement
that the conspiracy be for the purpose of depriving Plain-
tiffs of the equal protection of the laws or equal privileges
and immunities under the laws, is the only element seri-
ously contested by Petitioners. This element requires con-
sideration of two lines of inquiry: (1) whether plaintiffs
have alleged violation of a protected right, and (2)
whether the requisite class-based, invidiously discrimina-
tory animus is present. Griffin v. Breckenridge, supra
at 102. Amicus has presented its analysis of the class-
based animus requirement. Amicus will now show the
Court that Respondents herein have alleged violation of
protected rights.

The resolution of this line of inquiry involves two con-
comitant legal questions: (A) whether the right affected
by an unlawful conspiracy is one Congress purported to
reach under Section 1985 (3); and (B) assuming the an-
swer to this question is in the affirmative, whether Con-
gress constitutionally has the power to reach and provide
a means of redress for such a right. See Griffin v.
Breckenridge, supra at 104.

The Complaint herein clearly avers a conspiracy to vio-
late fundamental freedoms Congress intended to reach in
Section 1985(3) and rights constitutionally within Con-
gress’ power to protect.

A. The Protected Rights

In Griffin, the Court stated that a Section 1985(3)
conspiracy “must aim at a deprivation of the equal en-
joyment of rights secured by the law to all.” 403 U.S.
at 102. Respondents herein successfully contended be-
low that the object of the conspiracy of Petitioners was
to deprive them of First Amendment associational rights,
and that deprivation of these associational rights de-
prived them of equal protection within the meaning of
Section 1985(3) as interpreted by the Court in Griffin.

In upholding Respondents’ claims of violation of First
Amendment rights the court below stated, “so long as
Griffin remains viable, we are bound by its determination
that section 1985(3) reaches all deprivations of equal
protection, whatever their source.” Scott v. Moore, supra
at 990. This is a correct interpretation of the law.

Although the right of association was not specifically
discussed in the debates surrounding passage of the Ku
Klux Klan Act, two types of associational rights are fre-
quently mentioned: political associational activities and
commercial association. As delineated supra in the sec-
tion which discusses legislative history, the debates are
replete with references to the Klan as a political organ-
ization and the rights of persons to engage in political
association. Similarly, the concern of the Forty-Second
Congress with economic association was manifest through
the repeated references to carpetbaggers, northern work-
ers and businessmen who had moved South in an effort to
improve their economic circumstances. Thus, economic
and political association were concerns of the Forty-
Second Congress when its members drafted Section
1985 (3).

The Court has repeatedly recognized that association
for the purpose of advancing economic, as well as politi-

24

cal and religious, interests falls within the protection of
the First Amendment. See Brotherhood of Railroad
Trainmen v. Virginia, 377 U.S. 1, 8 (1964); Thomas v.
Collins, 323 U.S. 516, 531 (1945); Abood v. Detroit
Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209 (1977) (where the
Court recognized that the corollary of the First Amend-
ment’s right to associate to advance economic interests is
the right not to associate). As the court below correctly
noted:

The conspiracy in the case at bar sought to deny
completely the plaintiff employees’ right not to asso-
ciate. The district court found that several truck-
loads of men assaulted the plaintiffs and “threatened
to continue violent actions if the nonunion workers
did not leave the area or concede to union policies and
principles.” The conspiracy was intended to deny the
nonunion employees their right not to associate either
by driving them out of the county or coercing them
to unionism through violence. The defendants sought
not merely to force plaintiffs to give financial sup-
port to a union (an act which Abood recognized
could interfere with a person’s freedom not to asso-
ciate), but also to force Cross’s employees to become
union members or leave an area which had been
staked out as “union country.” The purpose of the
conspiracy was to deprive the plaintiffs of a protected
right.
Scott v. Moore, supra at 990-991. (footnotes omitted).
The Fifth Circuit correctly identified the rights protected
as those deriving from the First Amendment—the right
to associate with other nonunion employees. The rights
of Cross Construction Company, as employer-plaintiff,
are discussed infra.
B. The Source of Congressional Power
In Griffin the Complaint alleged violation of several
enumerated rights, including rights to freedom of speech,
movement, association and assembly; right to petition the
government for redress of grievances; rights to be secure
in person and home; and right not to be enslaved nor de-

25

prived of life and liberty without due process. 403 U.S.
at 90. The Court found the Thirteenth Amendment and
the constitutional right to interstate travel authorized
Congress’s reach of the private conspiracy in that case.
However, the Griffin Court cautioned, “In identifying
these two constitutional sources of Congressional power,
we do not imply the absence of any other.” Id. at 107.
The court below rejected the Thirteenth Amendment and
the right to interstate travel! as the bases for Respond-
ents’ Section 1985(3) action, and upheld the action based
upon the Commerce Clause, Article I, Section 8 of the
Constitution. Id. at 997.

It has long been recognized that citizens of the United
States have a constitutional right to engage in interstate
commerce. Thus, in Crutcher v. Commonwealth of Ken-
tucky, 141 U.S. 47, 57 (1891), the Supreme Court rec-
ognized :

To carry on interstate commerce is not a franchise
or a privilege granted by the states; it is a right
which every citizen of the United States is entitled to
exercise under the Constitution and laws of the
United States.

Moreover, the law is well established that the Com-
merce Clause, Article 1, Section 8, Clause 3 of the Con-
stitution, empowers Congress to enact legislation regulat-
ing purely private conduct, including activity of labor
groups, affecting interstate commerce. See, e.g., Katzen-
bach v. McClung, 379 U.S. 294 (1964); Heart of At-
lanta Motel, Inc. v. United States, 379 U.S. 241, 258

12 It is the position of Amicus that the right of interstate travel
could, under the facts presented, serve as a proper basis for the
Section 1985(3) action in the case at bar. However, the Fifth
Circuit’s finding that the Commerce Clause adequately supports
the claims of Respondents is sufficient for purposes of Amicus’ argu-
ments herein. Amicus states that both the right to interstate travel
as well as the right to engage in interstate commerce serve as ade-
quate bases for the Section 1985(3) claims of Respondents herein.

(1964) ; and National Labor Relations Board v. Jones &
Laughlin Steel Corporation, 301 U.S. 1, 43 (1937).

Petitioners do not contest that Respondents were en-
gaged in interstate commerce. Contentions in their brief
are that the Commerce Clause is an inappropriate basis
for a Section 1985(3) action.

As the Court held in Griffin, the Forty-Second Congress
intended to protect the rights to travel and freedom of
association against violent, private infringements. As dis-
cussed supra, classes which the Forty-Second Congress
envisioned included carpetbaggers, Northern businessmen,
and the like who were engaging in interstate commerce.
Thus, the Congressional concern entailed the protection of
citizens from private infringements upon their rights to
engage in interstate commerce.

The Commerce Clause has served as the basis for en-
forcing the Civil Rights Act of 1964 against private con-
spiracies. See, e.g., Heart of Atlanta Motel v. United
States, supra; Katzenbach v. McClung, supra. As the
majority below eloquently reasoned :

It cannot be denied that the aim of protecting inter-
state commerce from undue burdens is a legitimate
end. Congress could reasonably have determined that
violent attacks and vandalism perpetrated on the
workers of a construction firm engaged in interstate
commerce would have a disruptive effect on the flow
of products and services among the states. It is also
beyond dispute that the aim of protecting interstate
workers in the exercise of their First Amendment
associational freedoms is a legitimate end. The means
adopted for the accomplishment of these ends, a pri-
vate civil remedy for damages, is plainly reasonable
and appropriate. Section 1985(3) as applied to the
facts before us is not prohibited by the Constitution
and is compatible with both its letter and its spirit.
Whether section 1985(3) can constitutionally be ap-
plied to other kinds of wholly private conspiracies

27

to deprive persons of their civil rights is a question
for another day.

Scott v. Moore, supra at 998.

Similarly, the standing of Cross Construction Company
to sue under Section 1985(3) is supported by these au-
thorities.

C. The Employer is an Appropriate Plaintiff

Petitioners’ contention that Cross Construction Com-
pany lacks standing under Section 1985(3) ignores a
well-settled body of case law recognizing the right of cor-
porations to seek protection afforded by the Civil Rights
Acts. See, e.g., Des Vergnes v. Seekonk Water District,
601 F.2d 9, 16 (1st Cir. 1979) (“It does not matter that
Heritage is not an individual. Corporations are persons
whose rights are protected by 42 U.S.C. § 1983, ....
[citation omitted]. They are also persons who, under the
Fourteenth Amendment, have a constitutional right to
the equal protection of the laws.”) ; Fulton Market Cold
Storage Company v. Cullerton, 582 F.2d 1071, 1079 (7th
Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1121 (“It should be
noted that the fact that the plaintiff in this suit [claim
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983] is a corporation is of no legal
significance. . a corporation is a ‘person’ within the
meaning of the equal protection and due process of law
clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment.” [citations omit-
ted); Sawmill Products, Inc. v. Town of Cicero, Cook
County, Illinois, 477 F. Supp. 636, 638 (D. III. 1979)
(Sawmill Products Corporation is a person for purposes
of equal protection and due process clauses of the Four-
teenth Amendment and, therefore, held to have standing
under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1983 and 1985(3)); Mother Goose
Nursery Schools, Inc. v. Sendak, 502 F. Supp. 1319, 1324
(N.D. Ind. 1980) (In action brought by corporation un-
der 42 U.S.C. § 1983, the Court stated: “[A]s a corpora-
tion, the plaintiff has all the rights and privileges af-
forded a person and can sue for deprivation of rights
secured by the Constitution and laws.” [citations omit-
ted).

Among the rights deprived by Petitioners’ unlawful
conduct were the associational freedoms of Cross Con-
struction and its employees. The authorities quite clearly
establish that a corporation enjoys the Constitutional
guarantees provided in the First Amendment, First Na-
tional Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 820
(1978), and that a corporation is entitled to seek judicial
relief on its own behalf as well as on behalf of its em-
ployees, to protect the latter’s Constitutional rights in-
cluding their freedom of association. See, NAACP v.
Alabama, 357 U.S. 449 (1958); Buckley v. Valeo, 424
U.S. 1 (1976); and International Union, United Auto-
mobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers,
et al. v. National Right to Work Legal Defense and Edu-
cational Foundation, Inc., 590 F.2d 1139, 1152 (D.C.
Cir. 1978).

In addition to the associational freedoms enjoyed by
corporations, Petitioners interfered with Cross Construc-
tion’s right to engage in interstate commerce. Since
Crutcher v. Kentucky, supra, the Court has repeatedly
recognized and upheld the right of a corporation to en-
gage in interstate commerce. See, e.g., Oklahoma v.
Kansas Nat. Gas Co., 221 U.S. 229, 235 (1911) (“The
right of a citizen of the United States to carry on inter-
state commerce is a privilege guaranteed by the Federal
Constitution, and is enjoyed without distinction by cor-
porations engaged in interstate commerce as well as in-
dividuals . . . [citations omitted].” Heyman v. Hays,
236 U.S. 178 (1915); and Anglo-Chilean Nitrate Sales
Corp. v. Alabama, 288 U.S. 218 (1933). Thus, Cross
Construction Company’s right to engage in interstate
commerce unquestionably exists and clearly suffices to
support a claim under Section 1985 (3).

CONCLUSION
As discussed herein, the experience of Cross Construc-
tion and other nonunion employers and employees is a
recurring problem of serious proportions. Respondents
herein were subjected to pervasive regional hostility and

ideological animus which manifested itself through vio-
lent means, including intentional torts such as assaults,
batteries, and property damage. The mechanism recog-
nized by the court below is an appropriate means for
providing redress for personal injuries and property dam-
ages resulting from violence. It was the intention of the
Forty-Second Congress to protect Northern carpetbaggers
and businessmen emigrating to the South in search of eco-
nomic opportunities. Similarly, nonunion contractors and
their nonunion employees seeking to work in primarily
unionized areas are equally entitled to protection of their
rights against violence, which has a disruptive effect upon
and unduly burdens interstate commerce.

For the foregoing reasons and those stated in Respond-
ents’ Brief, the Chamber respectfully urges that the
judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
sitting en banc be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT T. THOMPSON

MELVIN R. HUTSON

GEORGE R. SALEM
THOMPSON, MANN & HUTSON
1730 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Suite 1000
Washington, D.C. 20006
202-783-1900
Attorneys for the
Chamber of Commerce
of the United States,
as Amicus Curiae
Of Counsel:
STEPHEN A. BOKAT
NATIONAL CHAMBER
LITIGATION CENTER
1615 H Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
202-463-5337

March 18, 1983

la
APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

Civil Action No. R-81-1074

DANIEL CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, a Division of Daniel
International Corporation, DouGLAs L. MANTURANO,
CLYDE MASSEY, JIMMY M. MASSEY, ROBERT GENE
SPENCER, ERNEST JOHNSON,

Plaintiffs
V.

BALTIMORE BUILDING & CONSTRUCTION
TRADES COUNCIL, et al.
Defendants

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Daniel Construction Co., a South Carolina corporation
authorized to do construction contracting in Maryland,
and five employees of Daniel, all residents of South Caro-
lina, sue the Baltimore Building and Construction Trades
Council (Trades Council), three of its constituent labor
organizations (Local 438, Local 16 and Local 37), the
business agents of Local 438 and Local 16, and various
unidentified individuals and labor organizations for al-
leged interference with a contract entered into by Daniel
on February 1, 1981, to perform maintenance services
and other work for Baltimore Gas and Electric Company
(BG&E) at various facilities in the Baltimore area.
Daniel claims that defendants opposed the contract from
its outset because (1) Daniel employees are not repre-
sented by any labor union and (2) Daniel is an out-
of-state contractor with many employees who are not resi-
dents of Maryland.

Specifically, plaintiffs allege that on the morning of
April 16, 1981, defendants, and others acting pursuant

2a

to defendants’ directions, picketed the entrances of the
BG&E plants at Riverside and Wagner in order to pre-
vent Daniel and its employees from performing the work
which they had contracted to do. On the morning of
April 16, 1981, defendants allegedly assaulted and bat-
tered plaintiffs C. Massey, J. Massey, Spencer and John-
son at the Wagner plant and forced them to leave the
state. On May 16, 1981, defendants and their repre-
sentatives allegedly assaulted and battered plaintiff
Manturano while he was working at the North Cliff fa-
cility of BG&E. Additionally, defendants have allegedly
caused “thousands” of their agents and others to throw
rocks at Daniel vehicles and employees, block roads lead-
ing to the construction sites at Wagner Station, Riverside
and Notch Cliff, and built rock walls preventing ingress
to and egress from the BG&E facilities. Because of the
massive nature of the demonstration against Daniel and
its employees, State and County Police were allegedly
unable to protect plaintiffs.

Plaintiffs’ amended complaint states nine claims for
relief :

Count 1 asserts that, in violation of the Civil Rights
Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C. § 1985(3), defendants conspired
to deprive Daniel and its employees of equal protection of
the laws and privileges and immunities guaranteed under
the Constitution. Specifically, defendants allegedly inter-
fered with plaintiffs’ right to engage in interstate com-
merce, right to travel and right to freely associate with
fellow non-union employees.

Count 2 alleges that defendants failed to prevent the
unlawful conduct complained of in Count 1, in violation
of 42 U.S.C. § 1986.

Counts 3 and 4 are pendent state claims for inten-
tional interference with contractual relations and inter-
ference with plaintiffs’ right to pursue a lawful business.

Counts 5 through 9 are claims by individual plaintiffs
for assault and battery.

8a

Jurisdiction of this Court allegedly exists under 42
U.S.C. § 1985(3), 28 U.S.C. 1343 (1), (2), and (3) and
under 28 U.S.C. 1332, based on diversity of citizenship
of the parties.

Plaintiffs request an injunction against further inter-
ference with their constitutional rights by defendants and
an injunction restraining defendants from further picket-
ing. They also request compensatory and punitive dam-
ages.

Presently before the Court is defendants’ motion to
dismiss. The motion has been extensively briefed by both
parties and the Court heard oral argument by counsel on
January 20, 1982. For the reasons stated below, defend-
ents’ motion will be denied.

Class-Based Animus

Section 1985(3), under which plaintiffs’ bring their
constitutional claims, imposes civil liability on persons
conspiring to deprive another person or class of persons
of “the equal protection of the laws, or of equal privileges
and immunities under the law.”' In 1971, the Supreme
Court broadened the applicability of the statute by re-
moving the judicially imposed prerequisite that the al-
leged deprivation involved state action. A civil remedy
was thus provided for damages against wholly private

Section 1985(3) reads, in relevant part:

If two or more persons in any State or Territory conspire .. .
for the purpose of depriving, either directly or indirectly, any
person or class of persons of the equal protection of the laws
in any case of conspiracy set forth in this section, if one or
more persons engaged therein do, or cause to be done, any act
in furtherance of the object of such conspiracy whereby another
is injured in his person or property, or deprived of having and
exercising any right or privilege of a citizen of the United
States, the party so injured or deprived may have an action for
the recovery of damages, occasioned by such injury or depriva-
tion, against any one or more of the conspirators.

4a

infringements of constitutionally protected rights. Griffin
v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88 (1971). The Court in
Griffin noted, however, that Section 1985(3) was not
meant to cover all tortious, conspiratorial interferences
with the rights of others, but requires “that there must
be some racial or perhaps otherwise class-based, invidi-
ously discriminatory animus behind the conspirators’ ac-
tion. The conspiracy, in other words, must aim at a
deprivation of the equal enjoyment of rights secured by
the law to all.“ Jd. at 102. The Court then delineated
the four elements which a plaintiff must establish in a
Section 1985 (e) action:

To come within the legislation a complaint must al-
lege that the defendants did (1) “conspire...” (2)
“for the purpose depriving, either directly or indi-
rectly, any person or class of persons of the equal
protection of the laws, or of equal privileges and
immunities under the laws.” It must then assert
that one or more of the conspirators (3) did, or
caused to be done, “any act in furtherance of the
object of [the] conspiracy,” whereby another was
(4a) “injured in his person or property” or (4b)
“deprived of having and exercising any right or
privilege of a citizen of the United States.”

Id. at 102-103.

Having reviewed the facts alleged here, the Court finds
that of the four elements required under Griffin, three
are clearly met and only the requirement that the con-
spiracy be for the purpose of depriving a person of the
equal protection of the laws or equal privileges and im-
munities under the laws requires analysis. This require-
ment has two components: (1) a class-based, indiviously
discriminatory animus motivating (2) conduct which vio-
lates some protected right. Defendants argue that plain-
tiffs’ action must be dismissed because discrimination based
on the non-union status of employees does not constitute
the “class-based invidiously discriminatory animus” re-

5a

quired as a motivating factor for conspiratorial acts in
violation of § 1985 (3). Griffin v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S.
88 (1971) ; Silkwood v. Kerr-Magee Corp., 460 F. Supp.
399 (W.D. Okl. 1978), aff'd, 637 F.2d 743 (10th Cir.
1980), cert. denied, 102 S.Ct. 132 (1981) ; Murphy v. Mt.
Carmel High School, 543 F.2d 1189, 1192 n.1 (7th Cir.
1976) ; Western Telecasters, Inc. v. California Federation
of Labor, AFL-CIO, 415 F. Supp. 30 (S.D. Cal. 1976).
Defendants argue tnat labor union controversies tradi-
tionally have not been considered a proper area for fed-
eral intervention and that applying Section 1985(3) in
this case opens the door to broad expansion of the classes
cognizable under the statute without establishing proper
limits. They would construe Section 1985(3) to cover
only those classes contemplated as beneficiaries of the Act
at its inception, that is classes based on race, religion,
political affiliation or beliefs, and, perhaps, gender.

The Supreme Court in Griffin specifically refrained
from deciding whether a conspiracy motivated by in-
vidiously discriminatory intent other than racial bias
would be actionable under Section 1985(3). 403 U.S. at
102, n.9. This question has been addressed by lower
courts during the ensuing decade. The trend within this
circuit appears to be toward expanding the scope of
class-based conspiracies which fall within the purview of
Section 1985(3). Ward v. Connor, 657 F.2d 45 (4th
Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 50 U.S.L.W. 3570 (Jan. 18,
1982) ; Hodgin v. Jefferson, 447 F. Supp. 804, 808 (D.
Md. 1978) (Northrop, J.)

2 Preliminarily defendants assert that the amended complaint
fails to allege facts sufficient for a finding that the individually
named plaintiffs are members of a class of non-union employees.
Plaintiffs respond that the allegations in the amended complaint
clearly state that “Daniel employees are not and historically never
have been, represented by any labor union or unincorporated asso-
ciation.” The Court finds these allegations sufficient under Rule
8(a), Fed.R.Civ.P.

6a

The fifth circuit, in a case similar to the one at bar,
considered Section 1985(3) claims by a construction com-
pany and two of its employees against defendants who
allegedly attacked plaintiff’s construction site because
plaintiffs were not union affiliated. Scott v. Moore, 640
F.2d 708 (5th Cir. 1981), aff'g, 461 F. Supp. 224 (E. D.
Tex. 1978), rehearing en bane granted, 656 F.2d 108
(Aug. 31, 1981). There, in an opinion which this Court
finds pursuasive, Judge Clark noted that no post Griffin
decision by a circuit court had limited the scope of the
statute to racially motivate conspiracies. The court found
inclusion of suits brought under Section 1985(3), based
on discrimination against. a “non-union class” to be con-
sistent with the language of the statute and with its leg-
islative history.* Id. at 718-20. See Local No. 1 (ACA),
Broadcast Employees of International Brotherhood of
Teamsters, etc. v. International Brotherhood of Team-
sters, etc., 419 F. Supp. 263, 275-77 (E.D. Pa. 1976),
aff'd in part and rev'd in part on other grounds, 614 F.2d
846 (3d Cir. 1980). This Court finds the decision in
Western Telecasters, Inc. v. California Federation of La-
bor, AFL-CIO, 415 F. Supp. 30 (S. D. Cal. 1976), holding
that the animus behind the conspirator’s action in a Sec-
tion 1985(3) action must be akin to racial bias, not con-
trolling in the instant action. Silkwood v. Kerr-Magee

The remarks of Senator Edmunds, made during the debate pre-
ceding the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1871 are widely
quoted by courts attempting to delineate the scope of the Act:

We do not undertake in this bill to interfere with what might
be called a private conspiracy growing out of a neighborhood
feud of one man or set of men against another to prevent one
[from] getting indictment in the State courts against men for
burning down his bar; but, if in a case like this, it should
appear that this conspiracy was formed against this man be-
cause he was a Catholic, or because he was a Methodist, or be-
cause he was a Vermonter .. then this section could reach it.

Cong. Globe, 42nd Cong., Ist Sess. 567 (1871). See Griffin, 403

U.S. at 102, n.9; Ward, supra, 657 F.2d at 47; Scott, supra, 640
F. ad at 720.

7a

Corp., 460 F. Supp. 399 (W. D. Okl. 1978), aff'd, 637
F.2d 743 (10th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 102 S. Ct. 132
(1981), ean be distinguished in that there the court found
the motivating animus was directed against Karen Silk-
wood personally rather than against plaintiffs as mem-
bers of a particular class.

The plaintiffs here, non-union employees and their em-
ployer constitute a clearly cognizable and easily identifi-
able group. The class is not so large and amorphous that
its members are indistinguishable from the public at
large and its members share a common characteristic be-
yond simply being victims of the defendants’ conspira-
torial conduct. See Scott, supra, 640 F.2d at 720. In
light of the numerous cases recently applying Section
1985(3) beyond race-based animus to classes character-
ized by gender, religion, occupation and political affilia-
tion, the Court finds no rational grounds for denying ap-
plication of the statute to the clearly definable, histori-
cally recognized, political affiliation of non-union laborers
and employers.* Thus, the Court holds that claimed dis-
crimination against non-union laborers and their employ-
ers alleges sufficient class-based animus for the purposes
of stating a claim under Section 1985 (3).

Recent cases ir cluded Glasson v. Louisville, 518 F.2d 899 (6th
Cir.), cert. deniea, 492 U.S. 930 (1975) (supporters of political
candidate protected); Siatth v. Cherry, 489 F.2d 1098 (7th Cir.
1973), cert denied, 417 U.S. 910 (1974) (losing political candidate
and his supporters); Marlowe v. Ficking Body, 489 F.2d 1057 (6th
Cir. 1973) (victims of religious 2iscrin:ination) ; Cameron v. Brock,
473 F.2d 608 (6th Cir. 1573) (supporters uf nolitical candidate);
Selzer v. Berkowitz, 459 F. Supp. 347 (E.D.N.Y. 1978) (professors
who cooperated with the CIA); Curran v. Portland Superintending
School Committee, 435 F. Supp. 1063 (D. Me. 1977) (victims of sex
discrimination); Frenceschina v. Morgan, 346 F. Supp. 833 (S.D.
Ind. 1972) (persons attempting to furnish advice and assistance to
migrant workers).

8a

Protected Right
Having found the requisite class-based animus for an

action under Section 1985(3), the Court must identify a
source of congressional power by which to reach the al-
leged conspiracy.

In Griffin, swpra, the Supreme Court, having found
class-based animus motivated by racial bias, set out two
constitutional sources of power through which § 1985(3)
could reach such a purely private conspiracy; (1) the
13th amendment and (2) Congress’ power to protect by
appropriate legislation the right of interstate travel.

The complaint in this case clearly charges that a pur-
pose of the conspiracy was to prevent the defendants from
traveling from state to state. That this allegation is suffi-
cient to support the plaintiffs’ cause of action is clear in
light of the Fourth Circuit’s opinion in Ward v. Connor,
657 F.2d 45, 48 (4th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 50 U.S.L.W.
3570 (Jan. 18, 1982). Defendants assert that the right
to travel as protected by Section 1985(3) under Griffin
extends only te blacks who are denied the right because
of racial bias. This Court rejects defendant’s attempts
to impose a racial-bias restriction under this aspect of
the Griffin analysis. In Ward, the Fourth Circuit had no
difficulty in finding that a non-Negro right to travel was
protected under Section 1985 (3). Id. at 48. Likewise,
this Court finds that the individually named defendants
have properly asserted a Section 1985(3) violation of
their right to travel.

5 Having found congressional authority to reach the conspiracy
under plaintiffs’ right to interstate travel, the Court need not con-
sider “the troublesome questions of congressional power under
Section 5 of the 14th Amendment” which arises as to plaintiffs’ Ist
Amendment associational rights claim. Ward, supra, 657 F.2d at
48, n.5. Nor will the Court address plaintiffs’ asserted rights to
gainful employment. See Murphy v. Mt. Carmel High School, 543
F.2d 1189 (7th Cir. 1976); Bellamy v. Mason’s Stores, Inc., 500
F.2d 504 (4th Cir. 1974).

9a

An additional source of Congressional authority to
reach the conduct complained of here can be found in the
Commerce Clause, Art. 1, § 8, and in the Congressional
power, conferred by clause 18 of that article, to make all
laws necessary and proper for carrying out the regula-
tion of commerce among the several states. As set forth
in the amended complaint, Daniel is a corporation or-
ganized under and by virtue of the laws of South Caro-
lina and is engaged in interstate commerce. Pursaunt to
its BG&E contract, valued by plaintiff at approximately
$1,000,000, Daniel transports men and goods in interstate
commerce from South Carolina to Maryland.

There is no question that the commerce clause author-
izes Congress to reach and regulate this type of interstate
commerce. The Supreme Court has stated that “the
power of Congress to promote interstate commerce also
includes the power to regular the local incidents thereof,
including local activities in both the State of origin and
destination, which might have a substantial and harmful
effect upon that commerce.” Heart of Atlanta Motel,
Inc. v. United States, 379 U.S. 241, 258 (1964) ; National
Labor Board v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corporation, 301
U.S. 1, 13 (1957). It is equally clear that a corporation
may assert a violation of its rights under the commerce
clause. See, e.g., Anglo-Chilean Nitrate Sales Corp. v.
Oklahoma, 288 U.S. 218 (1933); West v. Kansas Nat-
ural Gas Co., 221 U.S. 229, 235 (1911); Crutcher v.
Kentucky, 141 U.S. 47 (1891). In light of the analysis
above, the Court concludes that all the plaintiffs herein
have asserted a claim under Section 1985(3) which is
legally and factually sufficient to overcome defendants’
motion to dismiss.“

* Having found an actionable claim under Section 1985 (3), the
Court need not consider defendants’ argument that no Section 1986
claim for relief will lie if the claim under Section 1985 is not valid.
Nor need the Court consider the argument that jurisdiction over
the pendent state claims may not be exercised if the federal claims
are dismissed.

10a

There is no merit to defendants’ claim that the amended
complaint makes only conclusory and general allegations
and should therefore be dismissed. To the contrary, the
complaint specifies the injuries alleged by plaintiffs and
provides the date on which the injuries occurred. The
complaint clearly satisfies both the requirements of Rule
8, Fed.R.Civ.P., and the judicial standards of specificity
established for actions alleging a conspiracy to violate
civil rights. See, e.g., Ostrer v. R. Aronwald, 567 F.2d
551 (2d Cir. 1977); Rende v. Rizzo, 418 F. Supp. 96
(E.D. Pa. 1976).

Defendants argue that plaintiffs’ request for injunctive
relief is barred under 29 U.S.C. § 105, which prevents
courts of the United States from issuing injunctions in cer-
tain cases involving labor disputes. 29 U.S.C. § 107(a),
however, specifically permits a federal court to issue in-
junctive relief where it finds “that unlawful acts have
been threatened and will be committed unless restrained.”
Here, acts of violence are clearly alleged. Additionally,
an injunction by a federal court is prohibited under Sec-
tion 105 only in the case of a conspiracy to commit acts
enumerated in Section 104, none of which is clearly
shown to exist here.

Finally, defendants’ argument that the National Labor
Relations Act preempts plaintiffs’ claims under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1985(3) is without merit because that Act is concerned
with preemption of state law rather that preemption of
alternative bases for relief under federal law and is,
therefore, inapplicable to plaintiffs’ civil rights claim.
See, Sears, Roebuck & Company v. San Diego County
District Council of Carpenters, 486 U.S. 180 (1979);
Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners
of America, Local 25, 430 U.S. 290, 298 (1977) ; Paca v.
Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967).

For the reasons stated herein, it is this Ist day of
April, 1982, by the United States District Court for the
District of Maryland,

lla

ORDERED:

1. That the motion by defendants to dismiss is
DENIED; and

2. That the Clerk will mail copies of this Memo-
randum and Order to all counsel of record.

/3/ Norman P. Ramsey
NORMAN P. RAMSEY
United States District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0829%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
