# Petitioners Reply Brief — Francis Oil & Gas, Inc. v. Exxon Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0796%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 1010

## Text

fF FILED.
OCT 28 1982

82-453 ALEXANDER L. e

——

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Runited States

October Term, 1982

FRANCIS OIL & GAS, INC., CURTIS S. GREEN,
DAVE R. SYLVAN, GEORGE D. DALY, GEORGE B.
KAISER and DON H. NELSON, individually and on
behalf of all other persons similariiy situated, collectively
and as a class,

Petitioners,
V.

EXXON CORPORATION and MARATHON OIL
COMPANY, individually and on behalf of all other
persons similarly situated, collectively and as a class,

Respondents.

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS IN SUPPORT OF A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE TEMPORARY
EMERGENCY COURT OF APPEALS OF THE
UNITED STATES

Frederic Dorwart*
J. Michael Medina
Suite 700
10 E. 3rd Street
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103
(918) 584-1471

Counsel for Petitioners
OF COUNSEL:

HOLLIMAN, LANGHOLZ, RUNNELS & DORWART
Suite 700, 10 E. 3rd St.

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103
October 29, 1982

*Counsel of Record

A 2
DI CESARE - Printing — 8314161 — Washington, D.C. 20006

The Decision of TECA Creates a Conflict

Among the Circuits Concerning the
Jurisdictional Parameters of TECA. This

Court Should Grant Certiorari to Establish

The Parameters of TECA’s Jurisdiction ....... 2

TECA has Decided a Question of Substantial
Federal Importance that this Court has not
Previously Considered. This Court Should

Grant Certiorari to Consider this Issue of
Substantial Federal Importance .............. 6

D eee 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
A. Cases

Atlantic Richfield Company v. Department of
Energy, 655 F.2d 227 (TECA 1981) ............. 3

Bernhardt v. Polygraphic Co. of America,
nne cocecesccdvce 5

Bray v. United States, 423 U.S. 73 (1973) .......... 2

Citronelle-Mobile Gathering, Inc. v. Gulf
Oil Corp., 591 F.2d 711 (TECA 1979),
cert. denied 444 U.S. 8%0ꝶ ũ ũ ww 6

Coastal States Marketing, Inc. v. New
England Petroleum Corp., 604 F.2d 179
ieee éebvedcesedocecosscsecese 2

Gardner v. New Jersey, 329 U.S. 565 (1947) ....... 5

Mountain Fuel Supply Co. v. Johnson, 586 F.2d
1375 (10th Cir. 1978), cert. denied

„eee 6
Texaco, Inc. v. Department of Energy,
616 F.24 1193 (TECA 1979) ....ccccccccccccces 6

United Siates v. Uni Oil Co., 646 F.2d 946
(Sth Cir. 1981), cert. denied 102
DAA: BESO Scccdecovccccccecsedcccccccccccsees 2

B. Statutes

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act,
irres e eee 3. 6

82-453

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1982

FRANCIS OIL & GAS, INC., CURTIS S. GREEN,
DAVE R. SYLVAN, GEORGE D. DALY, GEORGE B.
KAISER and DON H. NELSON, individually and on
behalf of all other persons similarily situated, collectively
and as a class,

Petitioners,

v.
EXXON CORPORATION and MARATHON OIL

COMPANY, individually and on behalf of all other
persons similarly situated, collectively and as a class,

Respondents.

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS IN SUPPORT OF A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE TEMPORARY
EMERGENCY COURT OF APPEALS OF THE
UNITED STATES

This Reply Brief is filed in support of the Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari to the Temporary Emergency Court of
Appeals filed by petitioners in this Court on September 15,
1982. Petitioners pray that a Writ of Certiorari be issued to
review the judgment of the Temporary Emergency Court of
Appeals of the United States entered on August 16, 1982 in
this case.

INTRODUCTION

The Brief in Opposition filed by the respondents is a
carefully constructed but ultimately unpersuasive attempt

to convince this Court that the Temporary Emergency
Court of Appeals (“TECA”) did nothing out of the

Certiorari, taken in the context of the District Court and
TECA opinions appended thereto, clearly indicate,
however, that a Writ of Certiorari should issue to TECA
and that this Court should place this case down for full
briefing and argument this term.

The bottom line is this: under state law, the petitioners
clearly prevail. Under TECA’s interpretation of the federal
regulations, the respondents prevail. TECA’s interpretation
must therefore be erroneous, since neutral regulations, by
definition, cannot change the outcome.

ARGUMENT
I. THE DECISION OF TECA CREATES A CON-
FLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS CONCERN-
ING THE JURISDICTIONAL PARAME-
TERS OF TECA. THIS COURT SHOULD
GRANT CERTIORARI TO ESTABLISH THE
PARAMETERS OF TECA’S JURISDICTION.

The decision of TECA creates a conflict among the
circuits concerning the jurisdictional parameters of TECA.
This court should grant certiorari to establish the
parameters of TECA’s jurisdiction. When read carefully,
the Brief in Opposition documents that the position taken
by TECA in the instant case was the identical position
rejected by this Court in Bray v. United States, 423 U.S. 73
(1975), rejected by the Second Circuit in Coastal States
Marketing, Inc. v. New England Petroleum Corp., 604 F. 2d
179 (2d Cir. 1979), rejected by the Fifth Circuit in United

States v. Uni Oil Co., 646 F.2d 946 (Sth Cir. 1981), cert.
denied, 102 S.Ct. 1254 and rejected by TECA itself in
Atlantic Richfield Company v. Department of Energy, 655
F.2d 227 (TECA 1981). These courts have all limited TECA
to jurisdiction over cases where an Emergency Petroleum
Allocation Act (“EPAA”) issue has been adjudicated. The
respondents’ position is that the mere presence of EPAA
involvement, however tangential to the issues actually
adjudicated, gives TECA sufficient jurisdiction to resolve
any and all issues raised on appeal.

Respondents’ position is revealed, perhaps
unintentionally, in their selection of quotations from briefs
filed by petitioners below. Respondents obtain solace from
petitioners’ statement in their Brief in Support of Named
Plaintiffs’ Motion for Class Action Certification that:

IIe Yates Field Unit, ... although governed by
private contract, is subject to a supervening
federal standard of a set amount of stripper well
pricing benefits to be dispersed to the entire unit.”
(emphasis in the Brief in Opposition, quoted at
pp. 6-7 therein).

Careful examination of this statement reveals that
petitioners were simply stating a fact not in dispute: the
amount of stripper well pricing benefits to be dispersed
throughout the entire unit is fixed by federal law. There is
no dispute as to how much stripper well pricing benefits are
available o the Yates Field Unit. The only question in the
litigation is the proper method of apportionment of that
fixed amount of stripper well pricing benefits. By the misuse
of this statement, respondents have taken the position that
simply because the EPAA lurks somewhere in the factual
context, TECA has jurisdiction.

Similarly, respondents also quote from a later brief filed
by petitioners to the effect that:

“[their] claim to ‘stripper well pricing benefits is
totally dependent on individual tracts qualifying
for stripper well pricing prior to unitization.’ ”
(Brief in Opposition at page 7, quoting from
Reply Brief in Support of Named Plaintiff's
Motion for Summary Judgment and Answer
Brief in Opposition to Named Defendants’
Counter Motion for Summary Judgment, at page
12, R. 2433.)

The quoted passage appears grossly out of context. The
entire relevant passage is as follows:

“To the extent relevant, the federal energy
regulations overwhelmingly support the plaintiffs’
Motion for Summary Judgment.

Throughout Exxon’s 23-page excursus on
federal regulatory law, Exxon consistently
ignores the fundamental premise of the imputed
stripper rule. 10 C. F. R. § 212.75(b)ii). Whatever
claim, however specious it may be, the Yates Field
Unit participants have to stripper well benefits is
totally dependent on individual tracts qualifying
for stripper well pricing prior to unitization.
(emphasis in original)

Read in context, several things become apparent. First of
all, the petitioners were not asserting that federal law
governs the issues resolved by the District Court. To the
contrary, the petitioners’ consistent position has been and
continues to be that state law governs, and that federal law
is not relevant. Federal law was only discussed because of
the respondents’ insistence on attempting to convert this

case into a federal energy dispute.' Secondly, the context
reveals that “participants” included any or all the unit
participants as a group and not the petitioners. The
insertion of the word “their” by respondents is flagrantly
misleading. Petitioners claim that their rights to stripper
well pricing benefits arise from state law, pursuant to settled
interpretations of the Federal Energy Administration and
the Department of Energy.

A fair reading of the District Court opinion can only lead
to the conclusion that the District Court’s review of the
federal energy regulations was done only for the limited
purpose of determining whether the federal regulations
changed the outcome otherwise dictated by state law. Asa
matter of state law, the District Court had determined that
the unit agreements did not, and were not intended to,
allocate the proceeds of sale of crude oil. An examination of
federal regulations led the District Court to the obvious
conclusion that the regulations did not change what state
law would otherwise hold: the petitioners retained the
exclusive right to market the crude oil allocated to their
tracts.*

The TECA decision in the current case stands alone in its
expansion of TECA’s jurisdictional parameters. Standing
alone it creates a conflict with other courts of appeal, the
resolution of such conflict being imperative in view of the

‘In the Reply Brief wherein the material is quoted, the argument
immediately preceding the quoted material clearly argues that the right
of the petitioners to charge stripper well prices for their oil is a private
contractual right to be settled by Texas state law. See Reply Brief, at pp.
7-11, R. 2428-2432.

The cavalier treatment by TECA of the District Court's expert
opinion of state law violated the settled principle that a district court's
interpretion of state law is entitled to great weight. See, e.g., Bernhardt
v. Polygraphic Co. of America, 350 U.S. 198 (1956); Gardner v. New
Jersey, 329 U.S. 565 (1947).

large economic consequences to the oil and gas industry.
See infra, at page 8.

Il. TECA HAS DECIDED A QUESTION OF
SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL IMPORTANCE
THAT THIS COURT HAS NOT PREVIOUS-
LY CONSIDERED. THIS COURT SHOULD
GRANT CERTIORARI TO CONSIDER THIS
ISSUE OF SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL
IMPORTANCE.

TECA has decided a question of substantial federal
importance that this court has not previously considered.
This court should grant certiorari to consider this issue of
substantial federal importance.

In stating that TECA had decided an issue of federal
importance, the petitioners did not suggest that TECA had
jurisdiction to decide this issue. Rather, TECA took it upon
itself to decide the case on appeal in such a manner to both
create and resolve a substantial federal issue: the
interpretation of several regulations under the federal

The cases of Citronelle-Mobile Gathering, Inc. v. Gulf Oil Corp.
591 F.2d 711 (TECA 1979), cert. denied 444 U.S. 879 and Mountain
Fuel Supply Co. v. R. Johnson, et al, $86 F.2d 1375 (10th Cir. 1978),
cert. denied 444 U.S. 952, are not to the contrary. In both cases the
plaintiff sued under breach of contract and the defendant purchaser
defended on the basis of illegality under the EPAA. TECA had
jurisdiction because

“the resolution of the litigation in its entirety requires

application and interpretation of the EPAA...” Citronelle,
supra, 591 F.2d at 716.

A decision by TECA on the EPAA issue would thus resolve the entire
litigation. In the present case, the dispositive issue is not an EPAA issue
but an issue of state law. TECA cannot resolve the entire litigation. See,
Texaco, Inc. v. Department of Energy, 616 F. 2d 1193, 117 n. 2(TECA
1979).

energy regulatory scheme. The fact that TECA took it upon
itself to decide this issue is not an indication that this issue
was properly presented in the case before TECA.

In any event, assuming that TECA had jurisdiction to
resolve these issues, IECA's interpretation of the federal
energy regulations is clearly erroneous and must be reversed
by this Court. The Brief in Opposition has unsuccessfully
attempted to disguise what TECA has done. Quite simply,
TECA has turned the federal regulatory scheme on its head.
While paying homage to the concept of neutrality, TECA
has really enviscerated the concept of neutrality and state
law determination. According to the dictates of the TECA
decision, state law will not govern the allocation of imputed
stripper oil. A rebuttable presumption, created by federal
law, will govern the allocation of imputed stripper oil. For
the stripper tract owner to retain his imputed stripper oil
upon unitization, the unitization agreement would have to
have a specific and unequivocal reservation of rights ir 1e
stripper tract owner. Without this clear and unequivocal
statement, federal law will presume that the imputed
stripper oil is to be allocated to all the participants in the
unit, no matter what the supposedly governing state law
would otherwise hold. This result cannot be what the FEA
(later DOE) had in mind. The agency on several occasions
specifically noted that state law would govern.

The District Court, quite unlike TECA, carefully heeded
the principles set forth by the Federal Energy
Administration and the Depariment of Energy. The
District Court examined state law to determine the effect of
state law on the allocation of imputed stripper oil. After
determining that state law would leave those benefits in the
stripper tract owner absent a prior unequivocal contractual
provision to the contrary, the District Court then examined

the federal regulations for the limited purpose of
determining whether those regulations overruled state law.
Obviously, the federal regulations could not overrule state
law since the federal regulations themselves are to be
construed in a neutral fashion, with no bias towards either
the stripper tract owner or the unit participants.

Again, the bottom line is this: under state law, the
petitioners clearly prevail. Under TECA’s interpretation of
the federal regulations, the respondents prevail. TECA’s
interpretation must therefore be erroneous, since neutral
regulations, by definition, cannot change the outcome.

The significance of the TECA decision in the oil and gas
industry is perhaps best summarized by a concise analysis of
the decision fund in the Executive Report of the
Independent troleum Association of America, a
prominent trade organization of independent producers.“
In its September, 1982 edition, the report discussed the
effect of the TECA decision and its possible consequences
and requested that this court review the TECA decision:

“Will a unitized stripper lease owner be able to
claim independent stripper well exemptions? and
will TECA claim exclusive jurisdiction to hear
appeal of tax cases involving windfall profit tax
application of DOE regulations?

In summary, TECA held that under the imputed
stripper well rule ‘that a property qualified as a

‘The Independent Petroleum Association of America was founded in
1929 and has a membership of 5700, composed principally of
independent oil and gas operators, land and royalty owners and others
interested in the production of crude oil and natural gas. One of its most
important functions is to represent the interest of small oil and natural
gas producers in legislative and regulatory areas at the federal level. Its
executive offices are located at 1101 16 St., N.W., Washington, D.C.

‘stripper well lease’ prior to unitization would
cease to qualify as separate property, with a
separate exemption, upon unitization; . . . The
court also held that.. the previous qualified
stripper well leases retain significance only for
purposes of calculating the quantity of imputed
stripper oil these leases contributed to the unit.”
And “...more important, the (operators) lost the

_ ability to claim, unilaterally, a stripper well crude
oil exemption when their preunitization
property“ became part of the unit.”

The TECA decision should be appealed to the
U.S. Supreme Court. (Executive Report at p. 2)
(emphasis in the original).

Quite clearly, TECA has decided an important issue of
federal law. This court should take the opportunity
presented by the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari and
definitively resolve the issue that TECA has decided.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari should be granted and the case set for briefing
and argument this term.

Respectfully submitted,

Frederic Dorwart

J. Michael Medina
Suite 700, 10 E. 3rd St.
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

Attorneys for the Petitioners
OF COUNSEL:

HOLLIMAN, LANGHOLZ, RUNNELS
& DORWART

10 E. 3rd St. Suite 700

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

I. J. Michael Medina, certify that on this 28th day of
October, 1982 placed in the United States mail at
Washington, D.C., three true and correct copies of the
above and foregoing Reply Brief of Petitioners in Support
of a Writ of Certiorari, with co. ect postage prepaid
thereon, addressed to:

James R. Stevens, Jr. David J. Beck
Exxon Corporation Ronald Secrest

P.O. Box 2180 Fulbright & Jaworski
Houston, Texas 77001 800 Bank of the Southwest
Building

Houston, Texas 77002

Attorneys for the Respondent
Exxon Corporation

Robert J. Pickens William B. Browder, Jr.
Marathon Oil Company Stubbeman, McRae, Sealy
P.O. Box 3128 Laughlin & Browder
Houston, Texas 7701! P.O. Box 1540
Midland, Texas
Attorneys for the Respondent
Marathon Oil Company

J. Michael Medina
Attorney for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0796%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
