# Opposition — Cougar Business Owners Ass'n v. Washington

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0745%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 971

## Text

*

NO. 82-403

SUPREME COURT

OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

COUGAR BUSINESS OWNERS ASSOCIATION,
et al.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

STATE OF WASHINGTON; DIXIE LEE RAY,
Governor; JOHN DOE ONE anu JOHN DOE TWO,

Respondents.

On Certiorari from the Supreme Court

of the State of Washington

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

KENNETH O. EIKENBERRY
Attorney General

Scott C. Neilson

Assistant Attorney General
Temple of Justice

Olympia, WA 98504
Telept-ae: (206) 459-6600

Attorneys for Respondents

.. 2 eee
or
;

1.

11.

111.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

FACTS AND PRIOR PROCEEDINGS....

SUMMARY OF PETITIONER'S
Wund

ARGUMENTS AGAINST GRANTING
RTI I

A. The state court's decision
did not address heretofore
undecided issues of federal
law and was not in conflict
with applicable decisions
Of other COUTTS. ..csssveses

B. Petitioners’ due process
rights have not been
violated by the Governor's
restricting public access
to the town of cougar

C. Petitioners have net been
denied their righte to
procedural due process

Gaar... . „ 0 „ „ „ 0 0 0 0 0

12

14
16

vit Lala be” *

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Table of Cases

ae v. Commonwealth, 215 S.E.2d
a. see eeeneeeeeeeeeeneeeee 10, ll
ar Business Owners
(1962).....sc0%. 2, 14, 18

Ass'n v.

Euclid v. Ambler Realty, 272

* * „e eee 13

688 8905 v. N 369

5 > eee eeneeeneneeeneeneteneeeee 13
Hodel v. Virginia Surface Minin
A 2 has’, O87 UE

7 e*eeereeeeeeeneeeeeeeeee 13
Moyer v. Peabody, 212 U.S. 78,
eeneneeneeneeeeneeneeeeeneeeneeeeee 9
Shell V. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1

eeeeweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenee 16

578 139 v. Constantin, 287 U.S.
* ore —— „4 Bie 8, 9
Valdez v. Black, 446 F.2d 1071,
TO76-1077 (l0th cir. 19717. 4

ii

of
„ 64 Mich. L. Rev. 290

PV ²˙ Ae Pe 10

„ J. 41st Legis. Wash.

— „60 15

NO. 82-403
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term 1982

COUGAR BUSINESS OWNERS ASSOCIATION,
et al.,

Petitioners,
V.

STATE OF WASHINGTON; DIXIE LEE RAY,
Governor; JOHN DOE ONE and JOHN DOE TWO,

Respondents.

On Certiorari from the Supreme Court

of the State of Washington

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

I. FACTS AND PRIOR PROCEEDINGS

Petitioners, property owners in the
town of Cougar, Washington, seek damages

for economic losses suffered to their

-l-

8 e Nr ‘ole
Se ONT * 9 » — 1
* ‘a

7
r

businesses after former Governor Dixy

Lee Ray included their town in a
restricted zone around Mt. St. Helens
during its eruptive activity between
April-October, 1980.

A summary of the sequence of events
which are subject matter of this law
suit appears in the Washington State
Supreme Court's opinion in this case.
Cougar Business Owners Ass'n v. State,

97 un. 2d 466, 5p. 24 (1982), 822

Petition for Certiorari, Appendix A. At
the time of the challenged decisions the
nature and extent of the threat posed by
Mt. St. Helens was largely unknown. Id.
97 Wn.2d at 469-471; Petition. Appendix
at A-4--A-5.

Petitioners brought suit for money
damages against the State of Washington,

Governor Ray and two unnamed individuals»

¢

after the restrictions had been li.ted.
The Washington Supreme Court upheld a
summary judgment granted in favor of
defendants. The court held that the
Governor's actions were authorized by
Statute, entirely discretionary and
therefore, immune from suit. The court
also ruled that the Governor's actions
failed to constitute a taking of
property without compensation and that
no liability for her actions could be

established under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

II. SUMMARY OF PETITIONERS’ ARGUMENTS
Arguments for granting certiorari
rests heavily upon claims that the
Washington court has erroneously
interpreted State law. Petitioners
claim that state statutes restrict the

exercise of the Governor's emergency

-3-

*
>>

F r e
0 i : 2 1 1 — « ~ .

powers to situations where events of a
specified nature have actually resulted
in some property damage or loss of life.
They further claim the statutes reguire
an end to emergency measures sooner than
it occurred in the case.

The state court refused to accept
this narrow view of when emergency
powers may be exercised, pointing out
that under this interpretation:

The Governor would have had no

power to act before the actual

eruption to save lives or
property. In other words,
nothing of a preventive nature

could have been done. Such a

contention is contrary to the

legislative intent of the
statutes on which the

Governor's actions were based.

97 Wn.2d at 475; Petition, Appendix at
A-17 .

“etitioners claim this is wrong and
has resulted in a denial of their rights

to due process guaranteed by the federal

-4-

~

Pe er , ae eS Re ee ee. OP eee, ee Be OE A OP Ny ee Fe. oF
2 - 1

Constitution. This interpretation is

said to permit arbitrary actions by the

Governor with no recourse for persons.

damaged thereby. The state court noted
that an action in mandamus would be
available to challenge unlawful exercise
of executive emergency powers, but the
Cougar Business Owners failed to make
use of the remedy. Petitioners now
claim it would have been futile to bring
such an action, and argue they have been
effectively denied their right to have
the Governor's actions reviewed.
Petition at 19.

III. ARGUMENTS AGAINST

GRANTING CERTIORARI

A. The state court's decision did not
address heretofore undecided issues of

federal 1 and was not in conflict with
applicable decisions of other courts.

Petitioners seek discretionary

review of the denial of their right to

-5-

recover damages for Governor Ray's

actions. U.S. Sup. Ct. R. 17 provides:

1. A review on writ of
certiorari is not a matter of
right, but of judicial
Giscretion, and will be
granted caly when there are
special and important reasous

therefore. The following,
while neither controlling nor
fully measuring the Court's
discretion, indicate the
character of reasons that will
be considered.

(b) When a state court of
last resort has decided a
federal question in a way
‘in conflict with a
decision of another state
court of last result or of
a federal court of

appeals.

(c) When a state court or

a federal court of appeals

has decided an important

guestion of federal law

which has not been, but

should be, settled by this

Court or has decided a

federal question in a way

in conflict with |
applicable decisions of

this Court.

The United States Supreme Court has
long recognized the broad authority of a
chief executive to take necessary
measures in times of emergency. Because
the precise nature of én impending
emergency cannot be predicted in advance
and because effective response must
depend upon quick action with less than
complete information, the Washington
court was correct in refusing to define
the executive emergency powers narrowly.
This decision was wholly in keeping with
existing Supreme Court authority.

As stated in Sterling

v. Constantin, 287 U.S. 378, 399-400
(1932):

By virtue of his duty to
"cause the laws to de
faithfully executed," the
Executive is appropriately

.
*
.

vested with the discretion to
determine whether an exigency
requiring military aid for
that purpose has arisen. His
decision to that effect is
conclusive. That
construction, this Court has
said, in tn of the power
constitutionally conferred by
the Congress upon the
President to call the militia
to actual service,
"necessarily results in the
nature of the power itself,
and from the manifest object
contemplated." The power "is
to be exercised upon sudden
emergencies, upon great
occasions of state, and under
circumstances which may be
vital to the existence of the
Union." (Citing authority.)
Similar effect, for

the Governor of a state of his
discretion in calling out its
* tary forces to suppress
insurrection an sorder.

ting authorities.) The
nature of the power also
necessarily implies that there
is permitted range of honest
judgment as to the measures to
be taken in meeting force with
force, in suppressing violence
and restoring order, for
without such liberty to make
immediate decisions. the power
itself would be useless. Such

1

measures, conceived in good
faith, in the face of the
emergency and directly related
to the quelling of the
Gisorder or prevention of its
continuance, fall within the
discretion of the Executive in
the exercise of his authority
to maintain peace. [Emphasis
supplied.)

See also Moyer v. Peabody, 212

U.S. 78, 85 (1909). Moyer and Sterling
continue to be viable authority for the
exercise of a Governor's emergency
powers. See Valdez v. Black, 446 F.2d
1071, 1076-1077 (10th Cir. 1971).

Petitioners have cited no cases in
which the position of another state
court of last resort or a federal court
of appeals is in conflict with the
Washington decision. Rather, courts and
legislatures have generally recognized
the need to provide for a chief
executive's prompt, effective response

to emergencies of all kinds:

In times of natural
catastrophy or civil disorder,
immediate and decisive action
by some component of state
government is essential. The
legislative police power can
of course be exercised to deal
with crises affecting the
public health, safety, and
welfare. In practice,
however, the ravages of nature
and exigencies of rioting,
labor strife, and civil rights
emergencies usually
necessitate prompt
governmental zesponse. Since
the executive is inherently
better able than the
legislature to provide this
immediate response, the state
chief executives have
frequently been given
substantial discretionary
authority in the form of
emergency powers to deal with
anticipated crises.
Consequently, when public
emergencies arise, the center
of governmental response is
usually the Governor's office.

Comment, Constitutional and Statutory
Bases of Governor's Emergency Powers, 64
Mich. L. Rev. 290 (1956).

For example, in Boy

*

1 ait » ss... 4 2 eee 7 Yr u. £44, 4
x 1 e e 2 **
. te ; re 2
Sad , . ‘

;
.

.

¥._ Commonwealth, 215 8.8.2 915
(Va. 1975), the court was unwilling to
restrictively interpret a similar state
lew. In Boyd, as in this case, the
disaster was not a single incident but
rather a temporary condition which
existed over a period of time.

The United States Supreme Court
should not take on the task of defining
or limiting a state chief executive's
emergency powers and circumstances
justifying use of these powers. There
is no indication of substantial
controversy among jurisdictions on these
issues. Nor is there any indication
that the various state statutes have yet
been subject to judicial interpretation
in the applicable state courts. Absent
this showing, especially since no

important issues of federal law are

1 rn 2 ¥

2

4

J
f
f

presented, certiorari should not

granted.

ore

Sic access t6 the tovr

The Petition for Certiorari 2
at page 15: |

The governor's action,
however. was an improper
exercise of police power and .
violated Petition rs’ due
process rights protected by
federal and state
constitutions.

It is not altogether clear whether
petitioners are cléiming that their
rights to “procedural” or “substantive* ;
due process are infringed. Although the

*
Constitution protects individuals right ;

to own, use, and enjoy property, the
Supreme Court has long recognized that :
government can regulate or restrict the
use of private property in its —
of its police power without requiring -

ee

payment of compensation. The analysis
applied is whether the exercise of

police power is “reasonable”. Hodel

Reclamation Ass'n, 452 U.S. 264, 300

(1981); Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369
U.S. 590 (1962); Euclid v. Ambler

Realty, 272 U.S. 365 (1926).

In the instant case, petitioners’
economic interest in keeping their
businesses open to the public must give
way to the important interest of the
government in emergency regulation to
protect sge int loss of life and
property in a potential disaster

itu tion. In view of the fact the
Governor exercised her best judgnent
after consultation with experts and that
no one could predict when or what

Mt. St. Helens would do, the Governor's

„ RIL Se ea a AD A a ‘ie. |
va
|

actions were reasonable. Cougar

Business Owners Ass'n v. State, 97 Wn.2d

at 469-470; Petition, Appendix at

|
A-4--A-6. Furthermore, the Governor's

affidavit describing the acii‘ns taken
ad the reasons therefore was
uncontroverted by petitioners.
Petitioners have not, and cannot,
make the requisite showing that the
Washington court's decision is in
conflict with other authorities.

C. Petitioners have not been denied
their rights to procedural due process.

Petitioners claim that the
Washington court's decision leaves
persons aggrieved by a Governor's

exercise of emergency powers without

remedy. The legislative history of the
Emergency Powers Act makes clear that

the remedy for citizens aggrieved by a

Governor's declaration of an emergency

*

we : a te n * f ol ie 9 . ä

is an action in the State Supreme Court
for a writ of mandamus of prohibition.
1969 Sen. J. ist Legis. Wash. at )066.

Petitioners never attempted to have
any of the Governor's decisions
concerning Cougar reviewed under this
ar Business Owners Ages'n

procedure. Cou

v. State, 97 Wn.2d at 471; Petition,

Appendix at A-6. They argue instead
that such action would have been futile
because the Governor's decision to call
out the state militia is dy statute,
"final, incontrovertible and
unimpeachable." in fact, there is no
reason to believe the Washington Court
would consider itself powerless to
prevent truly arbitrary and unreasonable
actions of a chief executive.

The United States Supreme Court

should not pass upon whether a remedy

-15-

Ce ² : ²˙ r
* „ * — * q
> *

would or would not have been effective
when the remedy was never used by
petitioners and, in fact, petitioners
have left unchallenged the Governor's
affidavit establishing the necessity and
reasonableness of her acts.

Review of the appended decision
will reveal that petitioners failed to
raise federal Constitutional issues for
the state court concerning the adequacy
of the mandamus remedy. Thus, this
issue should not be addressed by this
Court. Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1

(1948).

IV. SUMMARY
The Petition for Certiorari should
be denied. Petitioners are seeking
review of issues of state law touching

important powers of the state chief

ay

5

executive. There has been no showing
that the Washington court's decision is
in conflict with Supreme Court or other
authority. It is not violative of due
process to take reasonable steps to
protect life and property threatened by
a natural disaster. The reasonableness
of measures prescribed by Governor Ray
was established in her affidavit and was
unchallenged by petitioners.

Federal law does not entitle
petitioner to money damages under the
facts of this case when the highest
state court has eld no such remedy
available under state law. This does
not mean persons are left with no
recourse against future arbitrary and
unreasonable exercise of emergency
powers. Rights to procedural due

process are protected by the

ite

3 3
«f o

prohibition in the courts, o ces

. never pursued by petitioners in| ;
N case. eo: x
N

DATED this 0 h 9

September , 1982. 7
a Respectfully submitted,

; KENNETH O. “IKENBERRY
5 Attorney General

. SCOTT c. NEILSON |
4 Assistant Attorney Genera
| Attorneys for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0745%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
