# Amicus Brief — Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Assn. of United States, Inc. v. State Farm Mut. Automobile Ins. Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0696%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 463 U.S. 29

## Text

Nos. 82-354, 82-355 and 82-398

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

Motor VEHICLE MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
OF THE UNITED States, INC., Fr AL.
and
CONSUMER ALERT AND Paciric LEGAL FouNDATION
and
UNITED STaTES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, ET Al.,
Petitioners,
v.
StaTE FarM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE
COMPANY, Er AL.,
and
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT INSURERS, FT AL.,

CIRCUIT

Of Counsel:
Tuomas C. McGratu, JR. Phu R. CoLiins*
110 South Kenyon Avenue 1026 Sixteenth Street, N. W.
Margate City, New Jersey 08402 Washington, D.C. 20036
(609) 823-1511 (202) 347-8899

*Counsel of Record
October 8, 1982

SS)
PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS PRINTING, nec. WASHINGTON, D.C.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

Nos. 82-354, 82-355 and 82-398

Morok VEHICLE MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION

OF THE UNITED StaTEs, INC., ET AL.
and
CONSUMER ALERT AND PaciFic LEGAL FOUNDATION
and
UNITED STaTES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
v.

STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE
COMPANY, ET AL.,
and
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT INSURERS, ET AL.,
Respondents.

MOTION OF THE AUTOMOTIVE OCCUPANT
PROTECTION ASSOCIATION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
A BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

Pursuant to Rule 36 of the Rules of this Court, the Automo-
tive Occupant Protection Association hereby moves for leave
to file the attached brief amicus curiae in support of Respon-
dents. In support of this motion, the Automotive Occupant
Protection Association states:

1. The movant is a trade association representing manufac-
turers of passive automotive occupant protection systems or
their component parts and assemblies. In its endeavor to pro-

ii

mote the reduction of injuries and deaths from automobile
accidents, it compiles and disseminates scientific data and reli-
able information about the value and capability of passive
restraint systems, and proposes, studies and evaluates design
and performance standards for passive motor vehicle occupant
protection systems developed by its members, automobile
manufacturers, independent testing groups, etc. It keeps
abreast of the state of the art in passive automotive occupant
protection systems.

2. Because of the interest of the Automotive Occupant
Protection Association and its members in motor vehicle safety
and the need of passive automotive occupant protection sys-
tems to insure motor vehicle safety, it participated in the
proceedings before the National Highway Transportation
Safety Administration, an agency of the Petitioner, the United
States Department of Transportation, involving Federal
Motor Vehicle Standard Number 208, Occupant Crash Protec-
tion (National Highway Transportation Safety Administration
Docket Number 74-14, Notice Number 25), which was the
subject of the Order, which was rescinded by the United States
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in its
Opinions and Orders respectively of June 1, 1982 and August
4, 1982 (Pet. App. la-82a). The agency Decision [issued Octo-
ber 23, 1981, 46 Fed. Reg. 53419; Pet. App. 88a-129a] directly
and immediately affected this Association and its members
manufacturing passive automotive occupant protection sys-
tems or their component parts and assemblies. The Associa-
tion and its members, in support of the position of the Respon-
dents herein (Petitioners in the Court of Appeals), urged res-
cission of the Order of the agency in the United States Court of
Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit as amicus curiae
by leave of that appellate court, and in its brief furnished the
Court, inter alia, with the benefit of the technical expertise of
its members concerning the state of the art of air bags as a
passive automotive occupant protection system.

3. The Association represents to the Court, pursuant to
the provisions of Rule 36 of the Rules of this Court, that it has

iii

followed the Court Rules in the preparation of this Motion and
has attached hereto its brief as amicus curiae in opposition to
the petitions for certiorari of the Petitioners herein.

For these reasons the Association requests the permission of
the Court to file the attached brief which sets forth more fully
its views in opposition to the petitions for certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: PHILIP R. CoLLINs

Tuomas C. McGrath, JR. 1026 Sixteenth Street, N.W.
110 South Kenyon Avenue Washington, D.C. 20036
Margate City, New Jersey 08402 (202) 347-8899

(609) 823-1511 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Automotive Occupant
Protection Association

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
DD A 2
D . ̃ —² 3. 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS IN VOLLbyp̃ b 2
e =¶= 3
r ¼ ¼———T—T—T—T—V—T—————— eeieweee 3
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION .............--- 3
PT W ¹ꝛ· 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S.
„„•„% : —

Federal Power Commission v. Idaho Power Company,
rere es esel

Ford Motor Company v. National Labor Relations
Board, 305 U.S. 364 (1938·ui 9, 10

Igonia v. Califano, 568 F.2d 1383 (D.C. Cir. 1977) . 10

Mobil Oil C ration v. Federal Power Commission,
417 U.S. FF aetenhenes

Pacific Legal Foundation v. Department of Transpor-
tation, et al., 593 F.2d 1338 (D.C. Cir. 1979), cert. _

ee eee 3, 5, 6
Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corporation v.
NRDC, 435 U.S. 519 (197 8))))j :12eö- 4. 6. 7

Zambrana v. Califano, 651 F.2d 842 (2d Cir. 1981) . 10

STATUTES AND MEGULATIONS:

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 USC § 706 ....... 2
National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1966,
Title I, as amended, 15 USC §§ 1381 et seg. 2

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208 (46 Fed.
r ²˙ü—A Kern 2

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

Nos. 82-354, 82-355 and 82-398

Motor VEHICLE MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION

OF THE UNITED SrarEs, INC., ET AL.
and
CONSUMER ALERT AND PaciFic LEGAL FOUNDATION
and
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
.

STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE
COMPANY, ET AL.,
and
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT INSURERS, ET AL.,
Respondents.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE AUTOMOTIVE
OCCUPANT PROTECTION ASSOCIATION IN
OPPOSITION TO THE PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
CIRCUIT

This brief is filed on behalf of the Automotive Occupant
Protective Association contingent upon the Court’s granting
the Motion for Leave to File a Brief Amicus Curiae to which
this brief is attached.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The June 1, 1982 opinion of the Court of Appeals (Pet. App.
la-78a)' is reported at 680 F.2d 207. The August 4, 1982 sup-
plemental order and memorandum of the Court of Appeals
(Pet. App. 79a-82a) are not reported. The decision of the Ad-
ministrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Adminis-
tration rescinding the passive restraint requirements of
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208 (Pet. App. 88a-
129a) is published at 46 Fed. Reg. 53419.

JURISDICTION

The petition of the Petitioner, United States Department of
Transportation, sets forth the bases for jurisdiction of the
United States Court of Appeals and this Court. On September
14, 1982, this Court issued an order extending time for filing
responses to the petitions by the Respondents to no later than
October 8, 1982, thirty days after the filing of the last petition
in this matter. Since the Automotive Occupant Protection
Association, the movant for leave to file this brief amicus
curiae, supports the positions of the Respondents in opposition
to the petitions for certiorari, it is timely filing this Motion and
Brief Amicus Curiae, pursuant to the aforesaid permission for
responses in opposition granted to the Respondents.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of the Administrative Procedure
Act, 5 U.S.C. § 706 and of the National Traffic and Motor
Vehicle Safety Act of 1966, Title 1, as amended, 15 U.S.C.
§§ 1381 et seq. are reproduced in the Petitioner’s Appendices
to Petition for Certiorari, Appendix I, pp. 162a-171a.

Pet. App.” refers to the appendix to the petition for a writ of
certiorari filed in Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Association of the
United States, Inc. v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance
Company, No. 82-354, which seeks review of the decision and sup-
plemental order of the Court of Appeals in this case.

3

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The interest of the Automotive Occupant Protection
Association is set forth in its Motion for Leave to File a Brief
Amicus Curiae. The Automotive Occupant Protection Associa-
tion refers this Court to the motion.

STATEMENT

This amicus adopts the Statement to be found in the Brief of
Respondents, National Association of Independent Insurers,
et al., but incorporates by reference herein as important back-
ground information the statement of the case and the passive
restraint history to that date (circa 1978-1979) as found in the
opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia Circuit in Pacific Legal Foundation v. Department
of Transportation, et al., 593 F. 2d 1338, 1340-1343 (D.C. Cir.
1979), cert. den., 444 U.S. 830 (1979).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

The several Petitioners have proffered a variety of reasons
wny this Court should grant a Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.
The respective Respondents will undoubtedly respond to these
multifarious and alleged reasons point by point. This amicus
shall, on the other hand, respond to selective reasons and
arguments raised principally in the petitions of the United
States Department of Transportation and the Motor Vehicle
Manufacturers Association of the United States.

1. In the first two Questions Presented by the United
States Department of Transportation, reliance is placed on
“changed circumstances” as the keystone for the National
Highway Transportation Safety Administration’s (hereinafter
referred to as NHTSA or NHTSA’s) rescission of the passive
restraint requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standard 208. This amicus submits that in the main the
changed circumstances consist of (a) the refusal of the auto-
mobile manufacturers to meet the “air bag” standard by in-

4

stalling automatic air bags; (b) the acceptance by NHTSA of
the announced intentions of the industry being regulated to
install a safety device (an easily detachable seat belt) which
openly and defiantly thwarts the agency’s safety rule and (c)
the circumstance, ancillary to the safety issue, that the auto-
mobile industry is in economic doldrums.

If “changed circumstances” of this nature allow an adminis-
trative agency to reverse course 180 degrees on a safety issue
most paramount to the American people, then there would
appear to be no limit to administrative backing and filling to
accommodate the wishes of the industry being regulated. This
seems especially true where the original course set by NHTSA
was not only upheld by the courts but withstood congressional
assault.

2. The concern is raised by the Petitioner that “the decision
below will serve as precedent in the District of Columbia
Circuit, where the vast majority of petitions for review of
administrative decisions are filed,” substantially impeding
“the ability of the agencies to revise their existing policies” and
“chilling the agencies in their development of new policies for
fear of judicial obstacles to subsequent modification.” Petition
of the Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Association of the United
States, p. 16. This petition endeavors to have the court view
the decision as having far-reaching effect on all future rule-
making petitions for review in the District of Columbia Circuit
in line with this Court’s opinion in Vermont Yankee Nuclear
Power, where this Court was concerned with (and granted
certiorari because of) the “additional procedural require-
ments” which the Court of Appeals proposed therein to “im-
pose . on agency action.” Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power
v. NRDC, 435 U.S. 519, 535-537, n.14 (1978). To the contrary,
here the Court of Appeals was not dealing with procedure or
additional procedural requirements but with a substantive
matter, the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208. This
Court of Appeals was uniquely cognizant of this standard,
since it had previously upheld it in a very thorough opinion in

5

Pacific Legal Foundation v. Department of Transportation, et
al., 593 F.2d 1338, 1340-1343 (D.C. Cir. 1979), cert. den., 444
U.S. 830 (1979).

The decision of the Court of Appeals in the present case was
only reached after a thorough and careful consideration of all
the relevant factors and after a searching and careful inquiry,
which led to the conclusion that there was a clear error of
judgment on the part of the agency in placing the interests of
the automobile industry over the safety of the American
motorist. There was clear support in the court’s opinion for the
conclusion that the choice of the agency was arbitrary, capri-
cious, an abuse of discretion and not in accordance with law.
Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 416
(1971).

Again, this Court has well said that the responsibility of
assessing a record to determine whether the position taken by
an agency is correct “is not ours” but “primarily that of the
Court of Appeals.” This Court further stated that “it will
intervene only in what ought to be the rare instance where the
standard appears to have been misapprehended or grossly
misapplied.” Mobil Oil Corporation v. Federal Power Com-
mission, 417 U.S. 283, 310 (1974). (Emphasis supplied.) This
situation does not here exist and we respectfully suggest that
this matter be left to the Court of Appeals.

3. Though “to some FMVSS [Federal Motor Vehicle Safe-
ty Standard] 208 was always intended to be an air bag stand-
ard” (Pet. App. 63a) and it was suggested that the standard
should “more descrip:iveiy [be called] the air-bag standard”
(Ibid.), the agency did not consider airbags in its analysis
supporting rescission. As the Court of Appeals indicated, the
agency did not deal with airbags as an obvious alternative in its
analysis because “domestic manufacturers have decided to
use” easily detachable seat belts rather than airbags to comply
with the standard. The agency also indicated that “although
benefits would be greater if [larger cars were equipped with
airbags] it does not appear that this will happen.” Ide.

6

In this Wilsonian-like approach,’ the agency has placed the
financial health of the domestic automobile industry over the
safety of the American motorist. To it and its supporters, the
phrase, salus populi est suprema lex, has little meaning, other
than the mouthing of an ancient Roman. Such an arbitrary and
capricious approach, alone, would require, or perhaps demand,
that this Court of Appeals, steeped in the history of this Stand-
ard 208 from previous litigation on its docket, exercise its
necessarily narrow jurisdiction as a reviewing court and res-
cind the action of the agency. See Pacific Legal Foundation v.
Department of Transportation, et al., supra.

The clear and palpable turnabout.by the agency after years
of endeavoring to secure the safety of the driver and the car
passengers by passive restraints represents an abnegation of
responsibility by the agency, requiring the reviewing court to
halt the arbitrary and capricious activities of the agency, as the
latter completely ignored the intent of the safety statute.

The Petitioners here both urge that the Court of Appeals’
approach as to alternatives, including airbags, was in-
consistent with this Court’s decision in Vermont Yankee Nu-
clear Power Corporation, supra. There is, however, a clear
distinction between the action of the Court of Appeals in this
ease and this Court’s teaching in Vermont Yankee Nuclear
Power Corporation. This Court granted certiorari in the latter
case, as we have previously shown, because questions of “sig-
nificance” were raised by the Court of Appeals’ view there that
it could “impose additional procedural requirements on agency
action. . . .” [bid., at page 537, fn.14. (Emphasis supplied.) It
is interesting to note that in endeavoring to stretch Vermont
Yankee Nuclear Power to meet the facts of this case the
Department of Transportation states that the Court of
Appeals herein “should not have mandated a different proce-

Charles E. Wilson, sometime Secretary of Defense: What's good
for General Motors is good for the country!”

7

dure by insisting that the alternative it preferred be con-
sidered as a condition precedent to rescission . . Petition of
Department of Transportation, p. 26.

As we have previously indicated, the fact of the matter is
that the Court of Appeals herein was talking of a substantive
matter, a standard, and had nothing to do with “additions to
procedure” to obtain “a more adequate record,” which the
Court of Appeals had apparently sought in Vermont Yankee
Nuclear Power. Supra, at p. 547. In a word, Vermont Yankee
Nuclear Power has no applicability to the suggestion in this
case by the Court of Appeals that the agency consider alterna-
tives, including airbags.

4. The Petitioner, United States Department of Transpor-
tation, argues, as one of its main reasons for the granting of its
petition that the Court of Appeals “exceeded the proper limits
on judicial review” and/or “impermissibly preempted the agen-
ey’s primary jurisdiction to make the further determination
required by the Court’s opinion,” when on August 4, 1982 it
ordered that “the compliance date of Federal Motor Vehicle
Safety Standard 208, the passive restraint standard, are
stayed until September 1, 1983 . . .” with the agency having
the right to advise the Court by October 1, 1982 “whether such
a compliance date is achievable, or whether a longer period is
required, setting forth adequate reasons therefor.” Brief of
Petitioner, United States Department of Transportation,
Question 3, p. (I) and pp. 26-28.

Both petitioners quote in some detail from the Court of
Appeals’ opinion of June 1, 1982 to show that the Court stated
to the agency, inter alia, that (a) its decision does not foreclose
rescission; (b) its remand to the agency was for the resolution of
certain questions raised in the opinion and (c) that the agency
recommend a timetable to the Court for agency analysis of the
issues raised in the Court’s Opinion.

There is not highlighted to this Court by the Petitioners,
however, the concern of the Court of Appeals about foot-
dragging on the agency’s part when the matter was remanded

8

to it. In the same and successive paragraphs, in which is found
the oft-quoted phrase, “our decision does not foreclose rescis-
sion,” there also appear two stern warnings to the agency from
the Court of Appeals: Firstly, the agency is warned that alt
the same time we should not simply remand this petition to the
agency so that recalcitrance might succeed where rational

decisionmaking might not.” Pet. App. 72a. Secondly, in the
succeeding paragraph, the Court of Appeals enunciates its
bottom line as to its view of the failure of the agency properly to
act when it forthrightly states that “[b]y rescinding the passive
restraint standard without legal justification NHTSA’s
arbitrary action presents a paradigm of ineffective regula-
tion.” (Emphasis supplied.) It continues as follows:

. . Notice 25 has wasted administrative and judicial re-
sources, and has ibly delayed without justification.a
safety standard that may be, “from an economic point of
view, as important as any environmental, health, or safety
rule now on the books.” [Fn.: Comment of William D.
Nordhaus, John Musser Professor of Economics at Yale
University, May 26, 1981, J. A. 511, 514.] At present
rates, 1 in every 60 children born today is expected to die
in an — accident, and 2 out of every 3 will suffer
injuries in a crash. See 126 Cong. Rec. S 13,503 (daily ed.
Sept. 25, 1980) (Senator Warner). These figures may be
low, for NHTSA concedes that the problem at which the
passive restraint standard was aimed has become more
urgent in recent years. See p. 15 supra. But the agency
concludes Notice 25 by observing:

After 12 years of rulemaking NHTSA has not yet suc-
ceeded in its original intent, the widespread offering of
— crash protection that will produce substantial
benefits.

46 Fed. Reg. at 53,426. NHTSA may yet conduct the
reasoned decisionmaking that can support the rescission
of the passive restraint standard, but it — L. reject
twelve years of preparation for such a s until it
does so. The agency’s action here thus represents “an
expensive example of ineffective regulation” of the worst
kind. [Pet. App. 73a.]

9

These warnings, however, failed, On July 1, 1982, the agen-
cy filed with the Court of Appeals a Notice of Proposed Rule-
Making Procedure in “seeking the comments” within 30 days of
the publication of the notice “of all interested parties on ques-
tions raised by the Court’s opinion.” The agency would propose
after receiving and considering these comments to “issue any
supplemental decision . . . within 45 days after the close of the
comment period.” Pet. App. 133a. The agency specifically
proposed to request comments and suggestions on predicted
use of automatic restrai_ it systems in general, “on how studies
to obtain reliable and statistically significant empirical evi-
dence on usage may be feasibly undertaken in a reasonable
period of time and at a reasonable cost,” possible study formats
involving the equipping of various numbers of private cars,
fleet cars, etc. (to select but a few of the areas of information on
which the agency proposed to invite comments and sugges-
tions, if allowed to do so by the Court of Appeals). /bid., 135a.
In spite of the admittedly “voluminous record of proceedings
on this issue” which would undoubtedly result, the agency
proposed that it would only require 75 days of delay to obtain,
receive and evaluate the comments. /dem., 133a.

Ina word, the agency did not heed the warnings of the Court
of Appeals in the June 1, 1982 Opinion of the court! The agency
proposed to delay and delay, it proposed to recommence the
rule-making or as the phrase goes, to “start all over again.”

The remonstrances of the petitioner to the contrary, the
Court of Appeals did not have to stand still or sit mute as the
agency attempted to thwart its will.

As this Court has well said over four decades ago with
language still pertinent to this day, a United States Court of
Appeals is a court “with equity powers, and while the court
must act within the bounds of the statute and without intrud-
ing upon the administrative province, it may adjust its relief to
the exigencies of the case in accordance with the equitable
principles governing judicial action.” (Emphasis supplied.)
Ford Motor Company v. National Labor Relations Board, 305

10

U.S. 364, 373 (1938). See also Zambrana v. Califano, 651 F.2d
842, 844 (2d Cir. 1981), citing Jgonia v. Califano, 568 F.2d
1383, 1389(D.C. Cir. 1977), and Federal Power Commission v.
Idaho Power Company, 344 U.S. 17 (1952). Under the instrue-
tions of this Court in Ford, supra, it is clear that the Court of
Appeals here acted properly, when its “comment” period had
finally closed with a response or rebuttal from the agency, and
when it directed the agency to discard the comment period
(suggested by the agency) and based on its twelve years of
preparation for such a [passive restraint] standard promptly
make its response with the submission of “a schedule for
resolving the questions raised in . . . [its] opinion, leading
either to the rescission or suspension of the standard or to a
judicially approved schedule for the effective implementation
of that standard or an amended standard.” Pet. App. 74a.

CONCLUSION
The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel: Puitip R. Coins
Tuomas C. McGrath, Jr. 1026 Sixteenth Street, N.W.
110 South Kenyon Avenue Washington, D.C. 20036
Margate City, New Jersey 08402 (202) 347-8899
(609) 823-1511 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Automotive Occupant
Protection Association

October 8, 1982

(THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0696%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
