# Jurisdictional Statement — Griffin v. Sims

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0420%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 802

## Text

No.
In the Supreme Court of the United f

October Term, 1982

WILLIAM N. GRIFFIN, B & B BEVERAGE CO., CLASSIC

CITY BEVERAGES, INC., GEORGIA CROWN DISTRIB-

UTING CO., NORTHEAST SALES DISTRIBUTING, INC.,

PREMIUM DISTRIBUTING CO., INC., GEORGIA BEER

WHOLESALERS ASSOCIATION, INC., TOWN OF

BALDWIN, GEORGIA, and TOWN OF MOUNT AIRY,
GEORGIA, Appellants,

vs.

BURNES E. SIMS, JAMES HOLCOMB, CHARLES

ENGLISH, FRED HOLBROOKS, MARTHA SIKES,

Individually and as Members of the BOARD OF

EDUCATION OF HABERSHAM COUNTY, GEORGIA,

and THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF HABERSHAM,
COUNTY, GEORGIA, Appellees.

On AppeaAL From THE SuprREME Court
OF GEORGIA

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Hersert H. Gray, III
(Counsel of Record)
K. Morcan Varner, III
VARNER, STEPHENS, WINGFIELD, McINTYRE
& HUMPHRIES
1000 Grant Building
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
404/522-2020
Attorneys for Appellants, William
N. Griffin, B & B Beverage Co.,
Classic City Beverages, Inc., Geor-
gia Crown Distributing Co., North-
east Sales Distributing, Inc. Pre-
mium Distributing Co., Inc, and
Georgia Beer Wholesalers Associa-
tion, Inc.
(Other Counsel on Inside Cover)

E. L. Mewnomwnat, Iwc., 996 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 44106, (816) 421-3080

Epwarp E. Srrai, III
Dennis T. CATHEY
Catuey & STRAIN
P. O. Box 689
Corneiia, Georgia 30531
404/778-2601
Attorneys for Appellants, Town of
Baldwin and Town of Mount Airy

QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY THE APPEAL

1. Whether the decision of the Supreme Court of Georgia
that a territorial classification does not require a rational
basis violates the equal protection guarantee of the Four-
teenth Amendment?

2. Whether equal protection under the Fourteenth
Amendment is denied by an amendment to the Georgia
Constitution which creates a territorial classification which
has been determined to have no rational basis in fact?

3. Whether the classification of one county in a State
separate and apart from all other counties in that State
must have a rational basis in order not to violate the
equal protection clause of the Four‘eenth Amendment?

4. Whether equal protection of the law is violated by an
amendment to the Georgia Constitution which taxes only
citizens of certain municipal corporations within a County
while allowing residents of the County outside those mu-
nicipalities to receive benefits but not pay the same tax?

PARTIES

There are two separate cases involved in this Appeal
from a single decision of the Supreme Court of Georgia.’
Because of the identity of issues between the two cases, a
single Jurisdictional Statement is being filed pursuant to
Rule 10.6 of this Court.

1. Sims et al. v. Griffin et al. Se SES, Se ae
21, 1982; Sims et al. v. Town of Baldwin et al., Case No.
dec. April 21, 1982.

Il

The first case appealed is that which was styled Sims
et al. v. Griffin et al., Case Number 38360, decided on

April 21, 1982 by the Georgia Supreme Court. The cap-
tion of this case contains the names of all parties to that

case in the Supreme Court of Georgia.

The second case appealed is that which was styled
Sims et al. v. Town of Baldwin et al., Case Number 38359,
also decided on April 21, 1982 by the Georgia Supreme
Court. There were several parties to that case who have

not joined in bringing this Appeal.’

Except for B & B Beverage Co., none of the corpora-
tions which are parties hereto have any parent, subsidiary
or affiliated companies other than wholly-owned sub-
sidiaries.*

This proceeding draws into question the constitution-
ality of a provision of the Georgia Constitution of 1976,
as amended. Neither the State of Georgia, nor any agency,
officer or employee thereof is or has been a party to this
proceeding at any stage of the litigation. Thus 28 U.S.C.
§2403(b) may be applicable to this action, and a copy of
this Jurisdictional Statement is being served upon the
Honorable Michael Bowers, Attorney General of Georgia.

Bobby Joe Caudell, Mrs. N: Elsner, J. D. Loudermilk,
nee l O. Loudermilk. and J.P. Keller ha have not appealed that

3. e Co. has been purchased by Northeast Seles Distributing
Beverage Co. has been by Northeast Sales Distributing,
Inc., another Appellant Griffin action.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented by the Appeal .........................

Statutes and Constitutional Provisions Involved ..........
Statement of the Case

(a) Parties be

(b) Georgia Constitutional Amendment Procedure

(c) The Proposed Constitutional Amendment:
Georgia Laws 1980, pp. 2280 et seq. .................... 4

(d) Allegations of Appellants’ Complaints in the
Superior Court of Habersham County, Georgia 6

mawewewne.t Bw m=

(e) Proceedings Below .... 6
Reasons the Questions Presented Are Substantial So
As to Require Plenary Consideration 9

(a) The Decision of the Georgia Supreme Court
That a Territorial Classification Does Not
Need a Rational Basis to Withstand Constitu-
tional Scrutiny Is Contrary to the Principles
of Constitutional Requirements for Territorial
Classifications Indirectly Recognized by This
Court in Other Decisions ..0000..0.0.0........cccccccoe 10

(b) The Decision of the Georgia Supreme Court
Directly Conflicts With the Decisions of Other
Courts Which Have Addressed This Issue ........ 13

(c) The Proposed Amendment Violates the Equal
Protection Clause by Taxing Residents of Cer-

Iv

tain Municipalities Only While Enabling Those
Residing Outside Those Municipalities to Re-

ceive the Benefit of the Tax ...0.....................00. 16
Conclusion =
Appendix A—Opinion of the Supreme Court of Georgia

(April 21, 1982) Al

Appendix B—Unreported Opinion of the Superior
Court of Habersham County, Georgia, Mountain

Judicial Circuit (August 7, 1981) ... All
Appendix C—Judgment on Remittitur A27
Appendix D—Notice of Appeal—Sims v. Griffin ............ A29
Appendix E—Notice of Appeal—Sims v. Town of

SEED cennanritlinenenaninsntiaenstiianihiiapnisnasiniamptininiene A31
Appendix F—Ga. Laws 1980, pp. 2280 et seq. ................ A33

Table of Authorities

CasEs

Caldwell v. Mann, 157 Fla. 633, 26 So.2d 788 (1946) ... 14
Gordon v. Lance, 403 U.S. 1, 91 S. Ct. 1889, 29 L. Ed.2d

273 (1970) 12
Harper v. Galloway, 58 Fla. 255, 51 So. 226 (1910) ........ 15
Lewis v. State, 110 Ark. 204, 161 S.W. 154 (1913) ...15, 16

Manes v. Goldin, 400 F. Supp. 23 (S.D. N.Y. 1974) aff’d
423 U.S. 1068, 96 S. Ct. 851, 47 L. Ed.2d 80 ........12, 15, 16
Matter of Rosenthal v. Hartnett, 36 N.Y.2d 269, 367
N.Y.S.2d 247, 326 N.E.2d 811 (1975) 15
Moseley v. Welch, 218 S.C. 242, 62 S.E.2d 313 (1950) ... 16
Opinion of the Justices to the Senate and House of Rep-
resentatives, 341 Mass. 760, 168 N.E.2d 858 (1960) ... 16
Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533, 84 S. Ct. 1362, 12 L. Ed.
2d 506 (1964) 12

v

Richards v. Townsend, 303 F. Supp. 793 (1969) mod.

9th Cir. 444 F.2d 528 16
Richmond County v. Richmond County Business Asso-

ciation, 228 Ga. 281, 185 S.E.2d 399 (1971) —............. 18
Salsburg v. Maryland, 346 U.S. 545, 74 S. Ct. 280, 98

L. Ed. 281 (1954) 15
State ex rel. Clarkson v. Philips, 70 Fla. 340, 70 So. 367

(1918) 15
State v. Hill, 98 Miss. 142, 53 So. 411 (1910) ............ 15
Strube v. Sumner, 385 N.E.2d 948 (Ind. App. 1978)

app. dismissed 444 U.S. 1063, 100 S. Ct. 1002, 62

L. Ed.2d 745 16
Supermarkets General Corp. v. State, 286 Md. 611, 409

A.2d 250 (1979) app. dismissed 449 U.S. 801, 101

S. Ct. 45, 66 L. Ed.2d 5 16
Walker v. Board of Supervisors, 224 Miss. 801, 81 So.2d

225 (1955) cert. denied 350 U.S. 887, 76 S. Ct. 142,

100 L. Ed. 782 10, 11, 13, 14
Weissman v. Evans, 82 A.D.2d 441, 442 N.Y.S.2d 80

(1981) 15, 16

STATUTES
CC EE 20
Ga. Code §5A-4302 .. in 17
Ga. Laws 1980, pp. 2280 et 86q. eee eceeceeceeeevenveed passim
Ga. Laws 1981, p. 2174 ................... 5
28 US.C. §1257(2) ....................... Ss eS 2
28 U.S.C. §2403(b) ....... 1
RULES AND REGULATIONS

Supreme Court Rule 10.6 22ers 1

No.
In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1982

WILLIAM N. GRIFFIN, B & B BEVERAGE CO., CLASSIC
CITY BEVERAGES, INC., GEORGIA CROWN DISTRIB-
UTING CO., NORTHEAST SALES DISTRIBUTING, INC.,
PREMIUM DISTRIBUTING CO., INC., GEORGIA BEER
WHOLESALERS ASSOCIATION, INC. TOWN OF
BALDWIN, GEORGIA, and TOWN OF MOUNT AIRY,

GEORGIA, Appellants,

BURNES E. SIMS, JAMES HOLCOMB, CHARLES
ENGLISH, FRED HOLBROOKS, MARTHA SIKES,
Individually and as Members of the BOARD OF
EDUCATION OF HABERSHAM COUNTY, GEORGIA,
and THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF HABERSHAM,

COUNTY, GEORGIA, Appellees.

On Appear From tHe Supreme Court
or GEORGIA

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

William N. Griffin, B & B Beverage Co., Classic City
Beverages, Inc., Georgia Crown Distributing Co., North-
east Sales Distributing, Inc., Premium Distributing Co.,
Inc., Georgia Beer Wholesalers Association, Inc., Town of
Baldwin, Georgia and Towpr of Mount Airy, Georgia (Ap-
pellants) respectfully request that this Court note juris-
diction of this Appeal from the Supreme Court of Georgia.

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Georgia, attached
as Appendix A, is reported at 249 Ga. 293, 290 S.E.2d 433
(1982). The unreported Findings of Fact, Conclusions of
Law, and Order of the Superior Court of Habersham
County, Georgia, Mountain Judicial Circuit, which were
entered on August 7, 1981, are attached to this Jurisdic-
tional Statement as Appendix B. The unreported Judg-
ment on Remittitur entered in the Superior Court of Haber-
sham County on May 14, 1982 is attached hereto as Ap-
pendix C.

This Appeal is taken from a single decision of the Su-
preme Court of Georgia which was entered in two com-
panion cases on April 21, 1982.‘ That decision reversed the
Trial Court and upheld the constitutionality of Ga. Laws
1980, pp. 2280 et seq. against a challenge by Appellants.*
The Notice of Appeal in Sims et al. v. Griffin et al. was
timely filed on June 7, 1982 in the Supreme Court of Georgia
and is attached hereto as Appendix D. The Notice of Ap-
peal in Sims et al. v. Town of Baldwin et al. was timely
filed on June 18, 1982 in the Supreme Court of Georgia, and
is attached hereto as Appendix E. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1257(2) (1976).

4 249 Ga. 293, 290 S.E.2d 433 (1982).
5. Appendix A at p. Alw.

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Georgia Laws 1980, pp. 2280 et seq. are set forth in
Appendix F.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution provides in relevant part as follows:

No state shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person
of life, liberty or property, without due process of
law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

(a) Parties

Appellant William N. Griffin is an individual resident
of DeKalb County, Georgia.* Appellants B & B Beverage
Co., Classic City Beverages, Inc., Georgia Crown Distrib-
uting Co., Northeast Sales Distributing, Inc., and Premium
Distributing Co., Inc., are wholesalers of malt beverages
licensed under Georgia law to sell malt beverages in Haber-
sham County, Georgia.” Appellant Georgia Beer Whole-
salers Association, Inc. is a Georgia not-for-profit corpora-
tion whose members are malt beverage wholesalers in
Georgia.* Appellants Town of Baldwin and Town of Mount
Airy are municipalities located within Habersham County,

6. Appendix B at p. Al5.
7. Appendix B at p. Alé.
8. Appendix B at p. Al’.

4

Georgia in which the sale of alcoholic beverages is autho-
rized under Georgia law.*

The Appellees herein are members of The Board of
Education of Habersham County, Georgia named in their
individual capacities as well as jointly as the Board of
Education. The Board of Education itself is also named

as an Appellee in this Appeal.

(b) Georgia Constitutional Amendment Procedure

Under the Georgia Constitution of 1976 as amended,
there exist two types of constitutional amendments.” The
first is the “general” amendment which has effect through-
out the State." The second is the “local” amendment
which has effect in a limited geographical area, usually
within one or two political subdivisions.”

The ratification procedure for “local” amendments is
different from that for “general” amendments.” General
amendments must be ratified by the statewide electorate,
while local amendments need only be ratified in the polit-
ical subdivision directly affected by the proposed amend-

At its 1980 session, the Georgia General Assembly
passed a resolution which placed upon the General Election

9. Appendix B at p. Al5.

10. Artich XII, Section I, Paragraph I (Ga. Code Ann.
§2-6901).

11.
12.
13.
14.

FERRE

5

ballot of Habersham County in November, 1980, a proposed
local constitutional amendment (the “Proposed Amend-
ment”) which, if ratified, purportedly authorized the Board
of Education of Habersham County to direct the Haber-
sham County Commission to levy and collect excise taxes
at varying rates on all alcoholic beverages sold within
Habersham County, Georgia.” These taxes were to be
levied in addition to all excise taxes already imposed on
the sale of alcoholic beverages statewide,"* and were to
be levied in no other county in Georgia except Habersham
County.”

The Proposed Amendment was submitted to the elec-
torate of Habersham County, Georgia.“ No voters in
Georgia, other than those residing in Habersham County,
were permitted to vote on the Proposed Amendment.”*

At the November, 1980, General Election, the Proposed
Amendment was ratified by the voters of Habersham
County and purportedly became part of the Georgia Con-
stitution.” On February 9, 1981, the Habersham County
Board of Education met, and upon resolution, directed the
County to levy and begin collecting the additional excise
taxes.“ On March 2, 1981, the Habersham County Com-
mission met, and upon resolution, voted to impose the
taxes effective April 1, 1981.”

15. A at p. Al, Appendix B at p. Al2, Appendix
F at pp. -A35.

16. Appendix B at p. Al2, Ald.
17. Appendix B at p. Al7.
18. Appendix B at p. Ald.
19. Appendix B at p. Ald.

Ann $2-000 Ge Lowe eee ete 6, Se Ge

21. Appendix A at p. A2, Appendix B at p. Al3.
22. Appendix A at p. A2, Appendix B at p. Al3.

(d) Allegations of Appellants’ Complaints in the
Superior Court of Habersham County, Georgia

Appellants originally brought two separate but similar
actions in the Superior Court of Habersham County,
Georgia against Appellees and others for a declaratory
judgment and preliminary and permanent injunctive relief
seeking, inter alia, to have Ga. Laws 1980 pp. 2280 et seq.,
declared violative of the equal protection clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution,
and to prevent the imposition and collection of the tax
purportedly authorized by said Amendment.”

In their Complaints, Appellants alleged that the Pro-
posed Amendment created a classification (purchasers and

sellers of malt and other alcoholic beverages in Habersham
County, Georgia) which had no rational basis.*

Because the territorial classification lacked any such
basis, Appellants asked the Court to declare the Proposed
Amendment and all resolutions enacted pursuant to it void
and without effect because they were in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment.” Appellants alleged that they
would suffer irreparable injury because of the equal pro-
tection violation.”

(e) Proceedings Below

In the Superior Court of Habersham County, the sep-
arate actions filed by Appellants were consolidated, and a

Appendix A at Griffin Complaint, ad damnum
canner Sonn af Rutiuin Commlnind. od > ay

gg OLS SOROS EGR N ON

are See, 66 Cannan cau, Senn of Eulbyin
oushna tan

a” Griffin Complaint 115-22, Town of Baldwin Complaint

7

plenary trial on the merits of the issue of the constitu-
tionality of the Proposed Amendment and the subsequent
resolutions was conducted.” After receiving evidence, the
Superior Court of Habersham County, Gunter, J., presiding,
agreed with Appellants that in fact the challenged terri-
torial classification had no rational basis; thus the Proposed
Amendment making the classification should be struck
down as violating the equal protection clause of the Four-
teenth Amendment.”

Judge Gunter’s Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law
and Order point out at length the constitutional deficiencies
in the Proposed Amendment.” Judge Gunter found as a
matter of fact that the Proposed Amendment classifies
sellers and purchasers of alcoholic beverages into two cate-
gories and thereby creates a territorial classification which
differentiates between sellers and purchasers of alcoholic
beverages in Habersham County and sellers and purchasers
of alcoholic beverages in all other counties in the State.”
The Court also found as a matter of fact that since the
Proposed Amendment applies only to Habersham County,
no other county or counties of this State can come within
the class consisting of Habersham County alone, regardless
of whether or not other such counties have the same needs
or face the same problems which were supposedly dealt
with by the Proposed Amendment." The Trial Court
further found as a matter of fact that “the Proposed
Amendment would impose a burden upon those who sell
and purchase alcoholic beverages in Habersham County
which is not imposed on such purchasers ‘and sellers in

Appendix B, p. Al2.
Appendix B, pp. Al2-A26.
Id.
Appendix B, pp. Al7-A18.
Appendix B, p. Als.

SSsSs 5

other counties; to purchasers, in the form of additional
tax; to sellers in the form of increased administrative and
operational costs and sales losses. This burden would
apply nowhere else in this State (Georgia)”.* Turning
from the classification created by the Proposed Amend-
ment, the Trial Court then analyzed the question of
whether the classification was supported by a rational basis.

After a review of all possible justifications and bases
for and in support of the classification, the Trial Court
finally found, as a matter of fact:

there is no factual support or factual basis for classi-
fying purchasers and sellers of alcoholic beverages in
Habersham County separate and apart from all other
purchasers and sellers in this State.”

Applying the law of equal protection to these facts
established by the Plaintiffs’ evidence, the Court struck

down the Proposed Amendment,™ and permanently en-
joined the collection of the excise taxes.”

Appellees in this Court filed a Notice of Appeal of
the Superior Court’s Order and pursued an Appeal to the
Supreme Court of Georgia.”

In an Order dated April 21, 1982, the Supreme Court
of Georgia reversed the order and judgment of the Trial
Court by holding that Ga. Laws 1980, pp. 2280 et seq.
did not violate the equal protection clause of the Four-
teenth Amendment.”

Appendix B, p. Alé.
Appendix B, p. A18.
Appendix B, pp. A22-A23.
Appendix B, pp. A25-A26.
Appendix A, p. A2.
Appendix A, p. A5.

SSSS88

Appellees argued to that Court that sufficient basis
existed to support the classification. Without reversing
the Trial Court’s factual determination that there was no
rational basis to support the classification, the Georgia
Supreme Court nevertheless reversed the Trial Court’s
holding that the classification violated the equal protection
clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.” The Georgia Su-
preme Court reasoned that since the Proposed Amendment
treated alike all persons similarly situated within the area
covered by the Amendment (Habersham County), then it
did not matter whether the classification of Habersham
County apart aud by itself had any rational basis or not.”
The Supreme Court of Georgia held that the Proposed
Amendment could not, by creating a classification con-
sisting of one county alone, violate the equal protection
clause of the Fourteenth Amendment unless those persons
within the County itself were not treated equally by the
Amendment.’ The Georgia Supreme Court thus in effect
placed local constitutional amendment procedures under
the Georgia Constitution beyond the reach of the Four-
teenth Amendment by holding that a classification of a
county or counties made by the Georgia General Assembly
needs no rational basis to support it.

REASONS THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE
SUBSTANTIAL SO AS TO REQUIRE PLENARY
CONSIDERATION

The decision of the Georgia Supreme Court holds
that a local amendment to the Georgia Constitution which

38. Appendix A, p. Aé.
39. Appendix A, p. A5.
40. Appendix A, p. Aé.
41. Appendix A, p. Aé.

10

creates a territorial classification having no rational basis
in fact does not violate the equal protection guarantee
of the Fourteenth Amendment.“ Such holding is in direct
conflict with decisions of a number of state courts and
at least one United States District Court which have held
that territorial classifications, just as all other classifica-
tions by legislative act, must be founded upon a rational
basis in order to be valid.“ Although this Court has never
specifically made such a determination, it has indirectly
recognized the principle that territorial classifications are
no different from any other type of classification with
regard to constitutional requirements.“ This case pro-
vides the Court with the opportunity to recognize explic-
itly the above principle, and thereby to make a much
needed correction to the decision of the Georgia Supreme
Court.

(a) The Decision of the Georgia Supreme Court
That a Territorial Classification Does Not
Need a Rational Basis to Withstand Constitu-
tional Scrutiny Is Contrary to the Principles
of Constitutional Requirements for Territorial
Classifications Indirectly Recognized by This
Court in Other Decisions.

The Georgia Supreme Court held that as long as all
persons within the territory classified were treated equally,
then there can be no denial of equal protection resulting
from the classification of the territory itself“ It cer-

43. Walker v. Board of Supervisors, 224 Miss. 801,
a Sa @ ) cert. denied 350 U.S. 887, 76 S. Ct. 142, 1

45. Appendix A at p. Aé.

11

tainly cannot be denied that a classification of a territory
which results in persons within the territory classified
being treated unequally would be unconstitutional unless
there was a rational basis for such unequal treatment.
It is equally true, however, that the territorial classifica-
tion itself must have a rational basis. That is to say
that there must exist a rational basis for classifying one
county, such as Habersham County, apart from the re-
maining 158 counties in Georgia. If there is no rational
basis for the classification of a county apart from the
others, then the classification is not valid.

Therefore, the primary issue presented to this Court
is fundamental and straightforward: Must a territorial
classification created by an amendment to a state consti-
tution have a rational basis in order to withstand scrutiny
under the equal protection clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment? Although not specifically articulated, past
decisions of this Court indicate that a territorial classifica-
tion, just as any other classification, must have a rational
basis to be valid under the Fourteenth Amendment.

In Walker v. Board of Supervisors,“ the Supreme
Court of Mississippi held that territorial classifications
must be properly based on differences between the areas
and peoples within the classification and those without
the classification in order to be valid. A petition for
certiorari seeking to have this decision reversed was
denied by this Court.“

Similarly, in a case involving the validity of a terri-
torial classification the U.S. District Court for the South-
ern District of New York recently held that:

46. 224 Miss. 801, 81 So.2d 225 (1955) cert. denied 350 U.S.
887, 76 S. Ct. 142, 100 L. Ed. 782.

47. 350 U.S. 887, 76 S. Ct. 142, 100 L. Ed. 782.

12

A territorial distinction which has no rational basis
will not support a state statute. See Reynolds v.
Sims, 377 U.S. 533, 84 S. Ct. 1362, 12 L. Ed.2d 506
(1964); Gordon v. Lance, 403 U.S. 1, 4, 91 S. Ct. 1889,
1891, 29 L. Ed.2d 273 (1970).

This Court affirmed the holding without opinion.”

A critical fact of the case sub judice which was deter-
mined by the Trial Court based upon the evidence sub-
mitted to it was that there was no rational basis to sup-
port the classification of Habersham County separate and
apart from the remaining 158 counties in Georgia.” The
Georgia Supreine Court apparently felt this fact was
irrelevant if the population of Habersham County were
all treated equally.

Left uncorrected, therefore, the decision of the Geor-
gia Supreme Court will result in the law in Georgia being
that territorial classifications established by local amend-
ment to the Georgia Constitution do not need a rational ~
basis. Such a rule would clearly be contrary to the equal
protection requirements for territorial classifications which
this Court has implicitly recognized. This Court should,
therefore, note jurisdiction of this case and explicitly set
forth the Constitutional requirements for territorial classi-
fications.

48. Manes v. Goldin, 400 Z, Cae. © 8 2 Cee. 1974)
aff'd 423 US. 1068, 96 S’ Ct. 85i, 4 Ed.2d 80
49. Id.

50. Appendix B, pp. Al7-A19.

13

(b) The Decision of the Georgia Supreme Court
Directly Conflicts With the Decisions of Other
Courts Which Have Addressed This Issue.

As indicated above, the question of whether a terri-
torial classification must be rationally based has been
addressed by numerous other courts, both State and
Federal. The Courts have uniformly held that terri-
torial classifications must be rationally based in order
to be valid. The opinion of the Supreme Court of Georgia
in the case sub judice is the only opinion which holds
otherwise.

In Walker v. Board of Supervisors, the Supreme Court
of Mississippi struck down a territorial classification as
not being properly based.” The factual circumstances in
Walker were almost identical t» those of the case sub
judice. The Mississippi legislature had enected a law
which levied an additional gasoline tax in one county
only.” After a thorough analysis of the question of why
that particular county was singled out, it became apparent
to the Supreme Court of Mississippi that, in fact, there
was no reason for the county to have been so classified.™
Since the additional tax imposed a burden upon those
purchasing gasoline in the county which was not imposed
elsewhere in the State, and since there was no reason
or basis for this burden to be suffered in that particular
county, the Court struck down the tax as unconstitu-
tional.”

51. P. 10, supra.

81 So.2d 225 at 231-234.

81 So.2d at 228, 229, 232-233.
81 So.2d at 232-233.

81 So.2d at 234.

SS 25

14

The parallels between Walker and this case are ob-
vious. The only true difference between the cases is
that in Walker the tax was on gasoline, and in the case
at bar, the tax is on alcoholic beverages. Appellants
maintain that the overpowering logic of the well-reasoned
Mississippi decision is a correct analysis of the issue pre-
sented by this case. Thus this Court should note juris-

diction and reverse the opinion of the Georgia Supreme
Court which holds to the contrary.

While Walker presents a practically identical fact
situation, it is certainly not the only case in which a terri-
torial classification without a rational basis has been struck
down. In Caldwell v. Mann,™ the Florida Supreme Court
reached the same result.

Caldwell involved a challenge to an enactment which
prohibited the possession, purchase, sale or offer for sale
of certain fish and fish products between December 1 and
January 20 of the succeeding year.” The purpose of this
legislation had been to protect the fish population of the
State.”

After the passage of the initial Act, however, several
particular counties were removed from its coverage.” Suit
was then brought to have the Act declared unconstitutional
as creating a territorial classification lacking in rational
basis.” In holding that the classification did in fact not
have a rational basis and therefore did violate the equal
protection guarantee, the Florida Supreme Court wrote:

157 Fla. 633, 26 So.2d 788 (1946).
26 So.2d at 789.
26 So.2d at 791.
26 So.2d at 789.
26 So.2d at 789.

15

Classifications by counties or otherwise for the purpose
of prescribing regulations or exactions that in effect
impose burdens on some citizens of the state that in
kind or extent are not imposed upon other citizens
of the state under practically similar conditions, with
no conceivably just basis for the classifications or
discriminations, constitute a denial to those injuriously
affected of the equal protection of the laws in violation
of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Federal Consti-
tution. Harper v. Galloway, 58 Fla. 255, 51 So. 226,
26 L.R.A., N.S., 794, 19 Ann. Cas. 225; State ex rel.
Clarkson v. Philips, 70 Fla. 340, 70 So. 367, Ann. Cas.
1918A, 138; Lewis v. State, 110 Ark. 204, 161 S.W.
154; State v. Hill, 98 Miss. 142, 53 So. 411, 31 L.RA.,
N.S., 490; 27 C.J. $47; 12 R.C.L. 694."

Two other recent cases reaching conclusions on this

issue contrary to that reached by the Georgia Supreme
Court are Manes v. Goldin,” and Weissman v. Evans.“
Manes has been discussed above“ In Weissman, the
Appellate Division of the New York Supreme Court held

exactly as the Georgia Supreme Court should have held
in this case:

It has been stated that equal protection does not re-
quire territorial uniformity of law within a State
(See Matter of Rosenthal v. Hartnett, 36 N.Y.2d 269,
367 N.Y.S.2d 247, 326 N.E.2d 811; see, also, Salsburg v.
Maryland, 346 U.S. 545, 74 S. Ct. 280, 98 L. Ed. 281).
However, a territorial distinction, without any ra-

61. 26 So.2d at 791.
400 F Te, 2 Sort. 1974) aff'd 423 US. 1068,

62. A
96 S. Ct. 851, 47 L.

63. 82 A.D.2d 441, 442 N.Y.S.2d 80 (1981).
64. Pp. 11, 12, supra.

16

tional basis, cannot withstand constitutional scrutiny
(see Manes v. Goldin, 400 F. Supp. 23, 29, aff'd 423
U.S. 1068, 96 S. Ct. 851, 47 L. Ed.2d 80; Richards v.
Townsend, 303 F. Supp. 793, mod. 9th Cir. 444 F.2d
528.% [Emphasis added. ]

The same result has been reached by Courts in Mary-
land,” Arkansas,” Indiana,“ South Carolina® and Massa-
chusetts.”° The opinion of the Supreme Court of Georgia
is an aberration.

This Court should note jurisdiction of this case and
correct the reasoning of the Georgia Court. The inter-
pretation of the equal protection guarantee of the Federal
Constitution should be universally the same, and not dif-
ferent in Georgia than in the remaining states.

(c) The Proposed Amendmest Violates the Equal
Protection Clause by Taxing Residents of Cer-
tain Municipalities Only While Enabling Those
Residing Outside Those Municipalities to Re-
ceive the Benefit of the Tax.

As to the citizens of the Town of Baldwin and the
citizens of the Town of Mt. Airy, the Proposed Amend-
ment violates the equal protection clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment for an additional reason. For the first time a
county in the State of Georgia, which does not allow the

“ 442 N.Y.S.2d at 82.
2d’ 280 (78) app. diomissed 448 US 801 801, iol 01S. a Ct ab, 66

ry EE EN 154 (1913).

68. Strube 985 N.E.2d 1978
Gemined 400 U5. 1008 100 © Ch ieee, aL I _—

69. Moseley v. Welch, 218 S.C. 242, 62 S.E.2d 313 (1950)

of the Justices to the Senate and the House of
aun ob 341 Mass. 760, 168 N.E.2d 858 (1960).

17

sale of alcoholic beverages, voted to impose a tax upon
certain specified municipalities which do allow the sale of
alcoholic beverages." The undisputed evidence at trial
showed that the voters in all of Habersham County voted
to impose a tax which would be collected only within the
corporate limits of Baldwin and Mt. Airy.” No tax could
be collected within the unincorporated areas of Habersham
County nor within the other municipalities which do not
permit the sale of alcoholic beverages.”

The constitutional evil in this type of voting pro-
cedure is both inherent and obvious. When tie municipal
voter in Baldwin or Mt. Airy stepped into the voting booth
and cast his vote he voted, in essence, to impose or not to
impose a tax which would apply to the political subdivision
in which he resided. The reverse was true of tne voters
who resided either in the unincorporated areas of Haber-
sham County or in the dry municipalities. These voters
voted to impose a tax upon other political subdivisions in
which they did not reside and of which they were not a

.
|

would be used to benefit those who did not pay the tax.”

71. Appendix B at pp. Al5, A24-A25.
72. Id

73. Id

74. Appendix F at pp. A33-A34.
75. Ga. Code §5A-4302.

76. Appendix F at p. Al5.

77. Appendix B at pp. A24-A25.

the State of Georgia in that Habersham County is singled

78. Appendix B at pp. A24-A25.
79. Appendix B at pp. Al7-Ai8.

80. See Richmond v. Richmond
Association, 228 Ga. ey A 399 (1971).

19

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth in this Jurisdictional State-
ment, jurisdiction of this appeal should be noted, and the
decision of the Georgia Supreme Court reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
Hersert H. Gray, III
(Counsel of Record)
K. Morcan Varner, III
VaRNER, STEPHENS, WINGFIELD, MCINTYRE
& HUMPHRIES
1000 Grant Building
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
404/522-2020

Attorneys for Appellants, Town of
Baldwin and Town of Mount Airy

Al

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA
38359

BURNES E. SIMS et al.
Vv.
THE TOWN OF BALDWIN et al.

At its 1980 session the General Assembly passed a

1gL CHIEN
fai
ie Ht if
it iit
peisllepiet

aH

A2

were adopted by a majority of voters in Habersham
County. Code Ann. § 2-6901; Ga. Laws 1981, p. 2174.

Following certification of the election results, the
Board of Education of Habersham County adopted a reso-
lution directing the Board of Commissioners to impose
the excise taxes on alcoholic beverages as authorized by
the local amendment. Ga. Laws 1980, pp. 2280. The
Board of Commissioners adopted a resolution making the
excise taxes effective April 1, 1981. Prior to the effective
date of the taxes, appellees filed separate suits in superior
court, seeking to have this local amendment declared un-
constitutional under the due process and equal protection
clauses of the 14th Amendment. The cases were consol-
idated for trial. The trial court determined that the
local amendment violated the 14th Amendment to the
U. S. Constitution and permanently enjoined the collection
of the taxes. This appeal followed.

(1) The procedure for amending the Georgia Con-
stitution, either by general or by local amendment, is set
out in Article XII, Section I, Paragraph I of the Georgia
Constitution; Code Ann. § 2-6901. The Georgia Constitu-
tion requires the General Assembly to approve a resolu-
tion to propose an amendment to the Constitution by the
votes of two-thirds of the elected members of each branch.
Then the “Governor, the Attorney General, and the Secre-
tary of State shall meet and determine whether a proposed
amendment is general, and if not general, shall determine
what political subdivision or subdivisions are directly af-
fected by such proposed amendment.” If the proposed
amendment is general, it must be published in one news-
paper of general circulation in each Congressional District
in the state once weekly for three consecutive weeks pre-
ceding the election at which it is to be submitted. If the
proposed amendment is local, it need only be published
for three consecutive weeks “in the newspapers of general

A3

circulation in each county in which the directly affected
political subdivision or subdivisions are located.” A gen-
eral amendment must be submitted “to the people of the
entire State,” while a local amendment “shall only be
submitted to the people of the political subdivision or
subdivisions directly affected.” In either case the pro-
posed amendment must be ratified by a majority of the
electors before it becomes a part of the Constitution.

The tendency to amend the Georgia Constitution by
amendments which apply solely to an isolated political
subdivision of the State has met considerable criticism.
It has been calculated that between 1947 and 1967, the

See Ga. Laws 1981, pp. 2155-2187. In Roberts v. Suttles,
212 Ga. 138, 141-2 (91 SE2d 32) (1956), this court cau-
tioned “that [the local amendment] is a very dangerous
way in which to deal with the fundamental law of our
state, and that the Constitution is rapidly becoming a

A4

(2) (a) Im an order making lengthy findings of fact,
the trial court determined that, if imposed, the excise
tax would raise the malt beverage tax in Habersham
County to the highest such tax in the United States; that
only three municipalities in Habersham County authorize
the sale of alcoholic beverages; that the unincorporated
areas of Habersham County do not authorize the sale of
alcoholic beverages; that sales of alcoholic beverages in
Habersham County will decline “50-55%” if the tax is
imposed; and that ail residents of Georgia will be “irrep-
arably damaged” by being required to pay a higher tax
on alcohol when purchased in Habersham County than
when purchased in any other county in the state. The
trial court also found that the local amendment classifies
Habersham County in a manner different from all other
counties in the state, and imposes a burden on those who
sell and purchase alcoholic beverages in Habersham
County which is not imposed on similarly situated sellers
and purchasers located elsewhere in the state. The trial
court determined that “since the Defendants [appellants]
have pointed out no unique need or other characteristic
possessed by Habersham County which distinguishes the
County from other counties of the State and justifies
special classification . . . the additional excise tax on alco-
holic beverages levied pursuant to the Proposed Amend-
ment denies equal protection of the laws under the United
States Constitution.”

(b) We note at the outset that the trial court erred
in placing the burden of showing the reasonableness of
the local amendment on the appellants. “[I]n taxation,
even more than in other fields, legislatures possess the
greatest freedom in classification... There is a presump-
tion of constitutionality which can be overcome ‘only by
the most explicit demonstration that a classification is a

A5

hostile and oppressive discrimination against particular
persons and classes’... The burden is on the one attack-
ing the legislative arrangement to negative every con-
ceivable basis which might support it.” Lehnhausen v.
Lake Shore Auto Parts Co., 410 U. S. 356, 364 (93 SC
1001, 35 LE2d 351) (1972), rehearing denied 411 U. S.
910 (1972); Madden v. Kentucky, 309 U. S. 83 (60 SC 406,
84 LE 590) (1940). Thus, while it was not the legislature,
but the electors of Habersham County who classified the
county in a manner different from other counties in the
state, the burden at trial was on appellees to “negative every
conceivable basis which might support” the local amend-
ment. Lehnhausen, supra, at 364.

(c) At trial appellants maintained that in proposing
the local amendment the legislature intended to insure
that revenues generated from the excise taxes on alcoholic
beverages would offset the deficit created in ad valorem
school taxes by the simultaneously proposed homestead
exemption. Therefore, appellants urged, the classifica-
tions created by the local amendment authorizing an excise
tax on alcohol were “founded on material differences and
substantial distinctions which bear a proper relation to
the matters . . . dealt with by the [amendment] and to the
purpose sought to be accomplished.” Richmond County
v. Richmond County Business Association, 228 Ga. 281,
283 (185 SE2d 399) (1971). Appellants argue that the

A6

subdivision of the State. Code Ann. § 2-6901. Each time
the electors of a county vote to adopt a local amendment
directly affecting that county, they classify their county
in a manner different from other counties in the State.
The fact that the Georgia Constitution is different in
Habersham County than it is in any other county in the
State is inescapable.* The Constitution provider that a
local amendment shall apply only to the political sub-
division “directly affected” by the amendment. Ga. Const.
Art. XII, Sec. I, Para. I; Code Ann. § 2-6901. Conversely,
counties or other politica] subdivisions outside the terri-
torial application of the amendment are not “directly af-
fected” by the amendment. If a local amendment is other-
wise valid under Code Ann. § 2-6901, there can be no
claim that the amendment violates equal protection of
the laws because it classifies a county in a manner dif-
ferent from other counties in the state. By local ordi-
nances or pursuant to the authority of the County Home
Rule Amendment, a county may classify itself in a manner
different from all other counties in the state. The fact
that County A authorizes the sale of liquor while County
B does not does not mean that County B has been denied

Al

by the amendment in an arbitrary manner. Thus we
hold the trial court erred in concluding that the local
amendment classifies Habersham County in a manner
violative of the equal protection clause.

(d) Appellees also argue that the local amendment
creates an impermissible classification by placing a higher
tax on liquor sold in that portion of the City of Baldwin
located in Habersham County than that portion of the
City of Baldwin located in Banks County. “It has been

of the class which includes all persons and property sim-
ilarly situated, it is not subject to any objection that it
is special or class legislation.” McLennan v, Aldredge,
223 Ga. 879, 886 (156 SE2d 682) (1967). The “class”
to which the local amendment applies in this case, as
found above, is Habersham County. Clearly the local
amendment applies only within Habersham County’s terri-
torial limits. Appellees concede that all liquor sold within
Habersham County is uniformly subject to the excise taxes
authorized by the local amendment. Thus, while the
effect of the excise taxes may be to raise the price of
liquor in Habersham County higher than in other counties,
all similarly situated persons and property within the
county are treated equally. We find no violation of equal
protection.

(3) While appellees urge that the local amendment
violates the due process clause of the 14th Amendment,
they have articulated no rationale under which the due
process clause is applicable. Therefore, we do not reach
this argument. e, Ingalls Iron Works Co. v. Chilivis,
237 Ga. 479 (228 SE2d 866) (1976).

(4) The trial court determined that the challenged
local amendment “affects all citizens of this State” and,

A8

as such, was a general rather than local amendment. The
trial court concluded that since the amendment was not
advertised throughout the state nor voted on by the entire
state it was not lawfully ratified as required by Code Ann.
§ 2-6901. We do not agree. While it is true that persons
residing outside Habersham County may purchase alco-
holic beverages there and thus be subject to a higher tax
than elsewhere in the state, it is clear that the proposed
amendment is a local amendment within the meaning of
Code Ann. § 2-6901. Habersham County is the political
subdivision “directly affected,” and the amendment was
properly submitted to Habersham County voters alone.
Thus the trial court erred in determining that because
the amendment was not submitted to the entire state, it
was not properly ratified.

(5) The only alcoholic beverages sold in Habersham
County are sold in the towns of Baldwin, Mt. Airy and
Clarkesville. The trial court found that “the amendment
taxes only the citizens of Baldwin, Mt. Airy and Clarkes-
ville while allowing the residents of the other areas of
the county to receive the same benefits as those within
these municipalities but not pay the same tax.” Relying
on City of Lithonia v. DeKalb County Board of Education,
231 Ga. 150 (200 SE2d 698) (1973), the trial court deter-
mined that allowing the residents of the unincorporated
areas of the county to vote to impose a tax on the residents
of the municipalities violates equal protection of the laws.
The trial court’s reliance on this case is misplaced. In
City of Lithonia, alcoholic beverages were sold both in
the municipalities of DeKalb County and in unincorpo-
rated DeKalb County. Lithonia challenged the propriety
of the ratification of a local amendment authorizing the
imposition of an excise tax on the sale of alcoholic bev-
erages throughout the county. The local amendment pro-

A9

vided that half of the revenues generated from this tax
were to be used to “provide local education.” 231 Ga.
at 151. Lithonia contended that the amendment could
not be validly ratified without the approval of the majority
of voters in each municipality in DeKalb County. We
rejected this argument, finding “(t]he proposed amend-
ment could not have been properly submitted [to the
voters} in this manner. It would have permitted the
municipalities situated in the school districts to reject
it, while permitting the licenses and taxes to be levied
in the unincorporated areas of DeKalb County. Such a
result would be a patent violation of the due process and

Al0

holic beverages. Allied Stores of Ohio v. Bowers, 358 U. S.
522, 526 (79 SC 437, 3 LE2d 480) (1958); Carmichael v.
Southern Coal &c., 301 U. S. 495 (57 SC 868, 81 LE 1245)
(1937); Ingalls Iron Works v. Chilivis, 237 Ga. 479 (228
SE2d 866) (1976).

(6) Because of the result we reach in this opinion,
we do not reach appellants’ remaining enumeration of
error.

Judgment reversed. All the Justices concur.
April 21, 1982

All

IN THE
SUPERIOR COURT OF HABERSHAM COUNTY
STATE OF GEORGIA

CIVIL ACTION FILE NO. 107-81
WILLIAM N. GRIFFIN, et al.,

DAVID BURRELL, et al.,
Defendants.

FINDINGS OF FACT
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
ORDER

The above-styled cases were filed in this Court seek-

Al2

and the Habersham County Commission. As the actions
involved common questions of law and fact, and as all
parties through their counsel of record consented to the
consolidation of these two cases, they were consolidated
and were heard by this Court on April 27, 1981. For
the reasons that follow, the Court holds that the Proposed
Amendment found at Georgia Laws 1986, pp. 2280 is in-
deed unconstitutional, violative of the Due Process and
Equal Protection clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment of
the United States Constitution, as well as Article I, Sec-
tion I, Paragraph I (Code §2-101) and Article I, Section II,
Paragraph III (Code §2-203) of the Georgia Constitution.
The Proposed Amendment was improperly ratified and
thus did not become part of the Constitution of the State.
The Court thus permanently enjoins the collection of any
tax purportedly authorized to be levied thereunder.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based upon the evidence presented to this Court, it
finds the following matters to be true as facts:

Background Facts

(1) The Georgia General Assembly in its 1980 ses-
sion passed a resolution proposing a local constitutional
amendment authorizing the levying of an additional ex-
cise tax on ail alcoholic beverages sold within Habersham
County, Georgia Laws 1980, pp. 2280; (the “Proposed
Amendment”).

(2) The Proposed Amendment authorized the Haber-
sham County Board of Education (“Board of Education”)
to direct by resolution the Habersham County Commission
(“Commission”) to levy additional taxes upon alcoholic
beverages sold in Habersham County at the following
rates:

Al3

(a) Five cents per 12 ounces and a proportionate
tax at like rate on bottles, cans, and containers of
various sizes on the sale of malt beverages within
Habersham County. A tax on tap or draft beer sold
within Habersham County at a rate of $6.00 for each
barrel or bulk container containing 15 1/2 gallons, and
a proportionate tax at like rate for containers of vari-
ous sizes.

(b) Twenty-five cents per gallon, and a pro-
portionate tax at like rate on fractional parts of a gal-
lon, on the sale within Habersham County of wines,
whether produced from fruits or berries grown within
or without the State, having an alcoholic content of 14
percent or more by volume.

(c) Eighty cents per gallon, and a proportionate
tax at like rate on fractional parts of a gallon, on the
sale within Habersham County of distilled spirits or
spiritous liquors. ~

(3) The revenue raised by the imposition of these
taxes was to be paid to the County which would then re-
mit it to the Board of Education to be used for school

purposes.

(4) On February 9, 1981, the Board of Education met
and adopted a resolution directing the Commission to im-
pose the additional alcoholic beverage excise taxes pur-
portedly authorized by the Proposed Amendment.

(5) On March 2, 1981, the Commission adopted a
resolution levying the additional taxes effective April 1,
1981.

(6) The Proposed Amendment and the resolutions
enacted pursuant thereto proposed to levy a tax on all in-

Al4

dividuals legally able to purchase alcoholic beverages in
Habersham County at the following rates:

(a) Five cents per 12 ounces and a proportionate
tax at like rate on bottles, cans, and containers of
various sizes on the sale of malt beverages within
Habersham County. A tax on tap or draft beer sold
within Habersham County at a rate of $6.00 for each
barrel or bulk container containing 15 1/2 gallons, and
a proportionate tax at like rate for containers of various
sizes.

(b) Twenty-five cents per gallon, and a propor-
tionate tax at like rate on fractional parts of a gal-
lon, on the sale within Habersham County of wines,
whether produced from fruits or berries grown within
or without the State, having an alcoholic content of 14
percent or more by volume.

(c) Eighty cents per gallon, and a proportionate
tax at like rate on fractional parts of a gallon, on the
sale within Habersham County of distilled spirits or
spiritous liquors.

(7) Alcoholic beverages sold within Habersham
County are subject to normal state and local taxes in ac-
cordance with Title 58 of the Georgia Code, and after July
1, 1981 in accordance with Title 5A of the Georgia Code.

(8) The State of Georgia currently has the highest
tax rate on malt beverages of any state in the United
States.

(9) The additional malt beverage tax which would
be imposed pursuant to the Proposed Amendment would
raise the malt beverage tax in Habersham County to the
highest rate in the United States.

Al5

(10) Habersham County is a “dry” county in which
alcoholic beverages may not be legally sold.
(11) Habersham County contains three (3) “wet”

municipalities in which some or all alcoholic beverages may
be sold, Baldwin, Mt. Airy and Clarkesville.

(12) The Town of Baldwin, Georgia, lies both in
Habersham County and Banks County.

(13) The governing officials of Habersham County
have refused to issue alcoholic beverage licenses in unin-
corporated Habersham County.

(14) The governing officials of Habersham County
presently show no inclination to issue alcoholic beverage
licenses in unincorporated Habersham County in tue future.

(15) The ordinance of the Town of Baldwin per-
mitting the sale of alcoholic beverages within the municipal
limits of Baldwin requires that the licensee reside in
Baldwin.

(16) The ordinance of the Town of Mt. Airy per-
mitting the sale of alcoholic beverages within the munic-
ipal limits of Mt. Airy requires that the license reside in
Mt. Airy.

(17) Approximately forty (40) cents per case would
be added to the price of malt beverages sold in Habersham
County by the retailers in the three towns where malt

beverages may legally be sold.

Facts Dealing With Parties and Damage Which Would Be
Suffered

(18) Plaintiff William N. Griffin (“Griffin”) is a
resident of DeKalb County, Georgia and is at least nineteen
years of age.

Al6

(19) Griffin is not a habitual drunkard.

(20) Griffin does not labor under any disability
which would prevent him from purchasing alcoholic bev-
erages.

(21) The residents of Georgia purchasing alcoholic
beverages in Habersham County, including Griffin, will be
irreparably damaged by the levying of the additional al-

coholic beverage excise tax due to their being required to
pay an increased price caused by such tax.

(22) The Wholesaler Plaintiffs in this action are all
lawfully licensed to sell and do sell malt beverages within
Habersham County.

(23) If the additional tax on malt beverages is im-
posed, Wholesaler Plaintiffs will incur increased admin-
istrative and operational costs.

(24) If the additional excise taxes were levied, sales
of malt beverages in Habersham County would drop 50-55
percent.

(25) If sales of malt beverages decrease in Haber-
sham County, wholesalers selling to retailers in Habersham
County will experience a net loss of sales revenue which
will not be compensated for by increased sales in surround-
ing counties.

(26) The excise tax on malt beverages sold in South
Carolina is approximately 50 percent of what the tax would
be in Habersham County if the additional tax were levied.

(27) If the additional malt beverage tax is imposed,
a portion of malt beverages currently purchased in Haber-
sham County will be purchased in South Carolina, and boot-
legged into Georgia for resale and consumption, because of
the lower price in South Carolina.

Al?

(28) The additional excise tax will cause the Whole-
saler Plaintiffs to lose sales which they cannot recoup else-
where, as well as increasing their operational and admin-
istrative expenses, and thus the Wholesaler Plaintiffs will
be irreparably and permanently damaged by the imposi-
tion of such additional excise tax.

(29) Georgia Beer Wholesalers Association, Inc.
(“GBWA”) is a Georgia not-for-profit corporation which
receives its revenues from its members, licensed beer
wholesalers in Georgia. Dues of members in GBWA are
based in part upon the sales of member wholesalers.

(30) If wholesalers of malt beverages in Habersham
County lose sales, the revenue of the Plaintiff GBWA will
decrease.

(31) If revenue of GBWA decreases there will be no
corresponding reduction in costs incurred by GBWA.

(32) GBWA would thus be forced to curtail a por-
tion of its activities which affect not only Wholesaler
Plaintiffs, but all member wholesalers, including those not
selling in Habersham County.

(33) GBWA will thus be irreparably and perma-
nently damaged by the imposition of the additional malt
beverage excise tax.

Facts Pertinent to Equal Protection Issue

(34) The Proposed Amendment applies only to Hab-
ersham County.

(35) The Proposed Amendment classifies sellers and
purchasers of alcoholic beverages in Georgia into two
categories and thereby creates a territorial classification
which differentiates between sellers and purchasers of
alcoholic beverages in Habersham County and sellers and

Als

purchasers of alcoholic beverages in all other counties in
this State.

(36) Since the Proposed Amendment applies only
to Habersham County, no other county or counties of this
State can come within the class consisting of Habersham
County alone, regardless of whether or not other such
counties have the same needs or face the same problems.

(37) The Proposed Amendment would impose a bur-
den upon those who sell and purchase alcoholic beverages
in Habersham County which is not imposed on such pur-
chasers and sellers in other counties; to purchasers, in the
form of additional tax; to sellers, in the form of increased
administrative and operational costs and sales losses. This
burden would apply nowhere else in this State.

(38) There is no factual support or factual basis for
classifying purchasers and sellers of alcoholic beverages
in Habersham County separate and apart from all other
such purchasers and sellers in this State.

(39) Habersham County possesses no unique need
for educational funds which distinguishes it from all other
counties in Georgia.

(40) Habersham County ranks economically in the
top 29 percent of the counties in the State of Georgia
according to the master economic rank of the State Rev-
enue Commissioner (State Revenue Commissioner’s 1980
Statistical Report).

(41) Proposed local amendments increasing prop-
erty tax exemptions were proposed in 63 municipalities
and counties at the 1980 General Election, and were rat-
ified in 58.

(42) None of said 63 municipalities and counties
are able to generate additional revenue through the im-

Al9

position of the malt beverage excise tax proposed by
the Proposed Amendment since said Amendment applies
only to Habersham County.

(43) The Proposed Amendment contains no sever-
ability clause.

Facts Pertinent to Adoption and Ratification Issue

(44) On November 4, 1980 the Proposed Amendment
was presented to the electorate of Habersham County
for its approval.

{45) On November 4, 1980, at the general election
for the State of Georgia, the above referenced amendment
was submitted to the voters of Habersham County. In
said election votes were cast by voters both within and
without the municipalities located within Habersham
County. The votes were tabulated according to voting
districts which were not coterminous with the boundaries
of the municipalities so that it is impossible to determine
whether a majority of the voters in any municipality
voted in favor of said amendment. A majority of the
voters in Habersham County voted for the amendment.

(46) The Proposed Amendment was approved by
the electorate of Habersham County.

(47) The Proposed Amendment was not submitted
to the statewide electorate nor was it advertised in the
manner required of general constitutional amendments.
The Proposed Amendment affects the residents of the
entire State, and not the residents of Habersham County
only, because it requires all residents of Georgia, including
Griffin, who would purchase malt beverages in Haber-
sham County, to pay $1.60 more per case for malt bever-
ages purchased in Habersham County.

A20

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
Equal Protection

(1) Equal protection of the law requires that the
law operate alike on all persons or property similarly
situated. McLennan vs. Aldredge, 223 Ga. 879 (5) (1979),
Blackmon vs. Monroe, 233 Ga. 656, 659 (1975).

This basic tenet of constitutional law does not mean,
of course, that the Georgia General Assembly cannot
create classifications for tax purposes and impose different
tax rates on different classes. Furthermore, classifications
for tax purposes may be made by territory (e.g. by county
or other political subdivision), and where no specific fed-
eral right apart from equal protection is imperiled, the
States have a large amount of discretion in making classi-
fications and drawing lines in producing what they view
as a reasonable system of taxation. Ingalls Ironworks Co.
vs. Chilivis, 237 Ga. 469 (1976), Great Northern Nekoosa
Corp. vs. Board of Tax Assessors of Early County, Georgia,
244 Ga. 624 (2) (1976), Lehnhausen vs. Lakeshore Auto
Parts Co., 410 U.S. 356, 359 (2), 93 S.Ct. 1001 (1974).

(2) As held by the Supreme Court of Georgia, how-
ever, in order to be constitutional and non-violative of the
Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,
classifications must be “founded on material differences
and substantial distinctions which bear a proper relation
to the matters or persons dealt with by the legislation and
to the purpose sought to be accomplished”” Richmond
County vs. Richmond County Business Association, 228 Ga.
281, 283; 185 S.E. 2d 399, 401.

The Supreme Court of Mississippi also voiced the above

principle more directly concerning the classification of one
county separate and apart from all other counties of the

State when it stated that,

A21

. . » [T]he classification must be based on some rea-
sonable ground which distinguishes the county or
counties to which it is intended to apply from other
counties in the state; that is to say, it must bear some
reasonable relation to the problem involved to dis-
tinguish the county for special classification. Walker
vs. Board of Supervisors, 81 So. 2d 225 at 234.

See also McCarthy vs. Jones, 449 F. Supp. 480 (1978).
(State statute providing for taxation of property in the
same class at different ratios in different counties on a
purely arbitrary basis held to violate the Equal Protection
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States
Constitution).

The Proposed Amendment singles out Habersham
County for unique treatment. It creates a class consist-
ing of Habersham County alone. [See Findings of Fact
No. 34 and 35]. Furthermore, the class is closed; no other
county may ever become a member of that class regardless
of whether or not such other county might have the same
characteristics as does Habersham County. [See Findings
of Fact No. 36]. Thus another county of the State which
might be similarly situated as Habersham County will not
receive the same treatment under the law as will Haber-
sham County.

The critical question for this case becomes, then,
whether or not the territorial classification of Habersham
County separate and apart from all other counties in the
State is “founded on material differences and substantial
distinctions which bear a proper relation to the matters
or persons dealt with by the legislation and to the purposes
sought to be accomplished.” Or, using the language of the
Supreme Court of Mississippi, is the classification of Haber-
sham County based on some reasonable ground which dis-

A22

tinguishes it from the other counties of the State, and does
the basis for the classification bear some reasonable rela-
tion to the problem involved so as to distinguish the
county for special classification?

cerning the economic status of Habersham County indi-
cated that Habersham ranks economically within the top

29 percent of counties in Georgia. [See Findings of Fact

t
{
i
il

ft
:
(
|
g

i
3g
af
:
:
i

r
i
i
i
if

;

Hi
f
7
[
i

A23

Habersham County which distinguishes the County from
other counties of the State and justifies special classifi-
cation, and since the Court has been unable to find such a
distinguishing characteristic, the Court is compelled to hold
that the classification of Habersham County separate and
apart from all other counties of the State is not founded
on material differences and substantial distinctions which
bear a proper relation to the additional taxation of malt
beverages in said County or to the generation of revenue
for the County’s educational system. There is nothing
which distinguishes Habersham County’s need for educa-
tional funds from the similar need of other counties in the
State. Habersham County has no need or characteristic
which justifies special classification. Therefore this Court
holds that the additional excise tax on alcohclic beverages
levied pursuant to the Proposed Amendment denies equal
protection of the laws under the United States Constitu-
tion.

Adoption and Ratification

(4) The Georgia Constitution provides that general
proposed constitutional amendments should be approved
by the voters of the entire State in a general election in
order to become part of the Constitution. Ga. Code Ann.
§2-6901.

(5) Proposed amendments which are not general
need only be approved by the voters of the “political sub-
division or subdivisions directly affected.” Ga. Code Ann.
§2-6901.

(6) Similarly, while general proposed amendments
must be advertised throughout the State, nongeneral pro-
posed amendments must be advertised only in the “di-
rectly affected political subdivision or subdivisions.” Ga.
Code Ann. §2-6901.

A24

(7) Therefore, whether a proposed constitutional
amendment is or is not general would appear to hinge on
whether the proposed constitutional amendment directly
affects citizens of the State as a whole or merely affects
citizens of one or more political subdivisions within the
State. The Proposed Amendment impacted the population
of the entire State. [See Findings of Fact No. 46).

(8) Constitutional provisions regarding amendment
procedures must be followed to the letter for the Proposed
Amendment to be valid. McCullers vs. Williamson, 221
Ga. 356; 144 S.E. 2d 911, 915 (1965); Seago vs. Richmond
County, 218 Ga. 151, 154; 126 S.E. 2d 657 (1962). The Pro-
posed Amendment in the case at bar was not voted upon
by the population of the State, and was not submitted and
advertised as required by law. [See Findings of Fact No.
46).

(9) Since the Proposed Amendment in this action
affects all citizens of this State, but since it was submitted
only to the electorate of Habersham County, and since it
was not properly advertised in each congressional district
as required for general constitutional amendments by the
State Constitution, it was improperly ratified. The en-
forcement of taxation legislation passed pursuant to a
state constitutional amendment not ratified by the “directly
affected area” would violate the Due Process and Equal
Protection clauses of the Georgia and United States Con-
stitutions. City of Lithonia vs. DeKalb County Board of
Education, 231 Ga. 150; 200 S.E. 2d 698 (1973).

(10) The manner in which the amendment levying
the tax upon alcoholic beverages was voted upon violated
the Due Process and Equal Protection clauses of the State
and Federal Constitutions. The amendment taxes only the
citizens of the Towns of Baldwin, Mt. Airy and Clarkes-
ville while allowing the residents of the other areas of

A25

the County to receive the same benefits as those within
these municipalities but not pay the same tax. City of
Lithonia vs. DeKalb County Board of Education, 231 Ga.
151; 200 S.E. 2d 698 (1973).

(11) Thus said amendment is without effect, and the
taxes purportedly levied by the resolutions of the County
Commission and Board of Education enacted pursuant
thereto are ultra vires and are without authority. DeKalb
County vs. Brown Builders Co., 227 Ga. 777, 183 S.E. 2d 367
(1977), Commissioners of Chatham County vs. Savannah
Elec. etc. Co., 215 Ga. 636, 637; 112 S.E. 2d 655, 657 (1960).
Even if it is later held that the proposed amendment was
properly adopted and thus not subject to state constitu-
tional attack, Hammond vs. Clark, 136 Ga. 313 (10), 71
S.E. 479 (1911). State vs. Ashmore, 236 Ga. 401, 404, 224
S.E. 2d 334 (1976), the amendment could still be attacked
as in violation of the United States Constitution. A state
constitutional amendment can violate the United States
Constitution even if it is not held to violate the state’s
constitution. 16 Am. Jur. 2d §32, Constitutional Law, p.
346. Pope vs. City of Atlanta, 240 Ga. 177, 178, n.1 (1),
240 S.E. 2d 241 (1977).

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED
that the Proposed Amendment found at Georgia Laws 1980,
pp. 2280 and any taxes purportedly ievied pursuant thereto
by the resolutions of the Board of Education and Commis-
sion be and hereby are declared unconstitutional, violative
of the Due Process and Equal Protection clauses of the
Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution
as well as Article I, Section I, Paragraph I (Code §2-101)
and Article I, Section II, Paragraph III (Code §2-203) of
the Georgia Constitution. The Proposed Amendment au-

thorizing the imposition of said taxes was improperly rati-
fied and consequently is not part of the Constitution of
the State. Thus the resolutions and taxes are ultra vires
and void.

The Habersham County Commission is, therefore,
permanently enjoined from collecting said taxes and from
attempting to reimplement said taxes. The Habersham
County Board of Education is also permanently enjoined
from attempting to reimplement said taxes.

SO ORDERED this 7th day of August, 1981.

/s/ Jack N. Gunter
Jack N. Gunter, Judge
Mountain Judicial Circuit
Superior Courts

OF HABERSHAM
STATE OF GEORGIA

CIVIL ACTION FILE NO. 107-81
WILLIAM N. GRIFFIN, B & B BEVERAGE Co., BILL

NORTHEAST SALES DISTRIBUTING, INC., PREMIUM
DISTRIBUTING CO., INC., AND GEORGIA BEER
WHOLESALERS ASSOCIATION, INC.,
Plaintiffs,

vs.

DAVID BURRELL, FRANK FERGUSON, JAY McNABB,
Individually and as Members of the HABERSHAM
COUNTY COMMISSION, HOYT F. ADAIR, Individually,
and as the TAX COMMISSIONER OF HABERSHAM

JUDGMENT ON REMITTITUR

of Georgia, at the March Term, 1982, having reversed
the decision of this Court and having declared the Local
Amendment to the Constitution of Georgia authorizing
the levy of an excise tax on alcoholic beverages sold in

A28

Habersham County, with such taxes to be used for educa-
tional purposes, to be valid and not in violation of the
Constitution of Georgia or the Constitution of the United
States.

Upon motion for Counsel for Defendants, IT IS HERE-
BY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the
judgment of the Supreme Court of Georgia is hereby
made the judgment of this Court and judgmer.t is hereby
entered in favor of defendants on all issues in regard to
said Constitutional Amendment.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DE-
CREED that the defendant members of the Board of
Education of Habersham County do have and recover
from the Plaintiffs in the above styled case the sum of
ONE HUNDRED THIRTY-SIX AND NO/100 ($136.00)
DOLLARS, costs, expended in the defense of the above
styled case and in prosecution of their appeal to the Su-
preme Court of Georgia.

Entered this 13th day of May, 1982.

/s/ Jack N. Gunter
JUDGE, Superior Court of Hab-
ersham County, Georgia

A29

APPENDIX D

(Filed June 7, 1982)
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA
CASE NO. 38360

BURNES SIMS, et al.,
Appellants,

WILLIAM N. GRIFFIN, et al.,
Appellees.

NOTICE OF APPEAL

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that William N. Griffin,
B & B Beverage Co., Classic City Beverages, Inc., Georgia
Crown Distributing Co., Northeast Sales Distributing, Inc.,
Premium Distributing Co., Inc. and Georgia Beer Whole-
salers Association, Inc. hereby appeal to the Supreme
Court of the Untied States that Judgment, Order and
Decision of the Supreme Court of Georgia entered April
21, 1982 in the above-styled case which Judgment, Order
and Decision reversed the Superior Court of Habersham
County, Georgia and upheld, inter alia, the validity of Ga.
Laws 1980, pp. 2280 et seq. as not being violative of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

This Appeal is being taken to the Supreme Court of
the United States under 28 U.S.C. §1257(2).

A30

This 4th day of June, 1982.

/s/ Herbert H. Gray, III
Herbert H. Gray, III
/s/ K. Morgan Varner, III
K. Morgan Varner, III
Attorneys for Appellees
OF COUNSEL:
Varner, Stephens, Wingfield,
McIntyre & Humphries
1000 Grant Building
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
404/522-2020

A31
APPENDIX E

(Filed June 18, 1982)

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF GEORGIA

CASE NO. 38359

BURNES SIMS, et al
Appellants

TOWN OF BALDWIN, et al
Appellees

NOTICE OF APPEAL

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that THE TOWN OF
MT. AIRY, GEORGIA, and THE TOWN OF BALDWIN,
GEORGIA, hereby appeal to the Supreme Court of the
United States that Judgment, Order and Decision of the
Supreme Court of Georgia entered April 21, 1982, in the
above styled case which Judgment, Order and Decision
reversed the Superior Court of Habersham County,
Georgia, and upheld, inter alia, the validity of Ga. Laws
1980, pp. 2280 et seq. as not being violative of the Four-
teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

This Appeal is being taken to the Supreme Court of
the United States under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2).

A32

This 16th day of June, 1982.

/s/ Dennis T. Cathey
Dennis T. Cathey
Attorney for Appellee
Town of Mt. Airy, Georgia
/s/ Edward E. Strain, III
Edward E. Strain, III
Attorney for Appellee
Town of Baldwin, Georgia
CATHEY & STRAIN
P.O. Box 689

Cornelia, Georgia 30531
(404) 778-2601

A33
APPENDIX F

HABERSHAM COUNTY—TAXES FOR EDUCATIONAL
PURPOSES.

Proposed Amendment to the Constitution.
No. 248 (House Resolution No. 754-1776).
A RESOLUTION

Proposing an amendment to the Constitution so as to
aut).viize the Board of Education of Habersham County to
direct the governing authority of Habersham County to
impose throughout the entire county certain excise taxes
on alcoholic beverages sold within Habersham County and
to authorize said Board to receive funds derived from such
taxes and expend same for educational purposes within
the Habersham County school district; to provide for the
submission of this amendment for ratification or rejection;
and for other purposes.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
GEORGIA:

Section 1. Article [X, Section V, Paragraph II of the
Constitution is hereby amended by adding at the end
thereof the following:

“The Board of Education of Habersham County, upon
the adoption of a resolution by said Board for such pur-
pose, is hereby authorized to direct the governing au-
thority of Habersham County to impose, on behalf of said
Board of Education, any one or more of the following taxes:

(1) An excise tax not exceeding five cents per
12 ounces, or a proportionate tax at like rate on bottles,
cans, and containers of various sizes, on the sale of
malt beverages within Habersham County. Such tax
may also be imposed on tap or draft beer sold within

A34

Habersham County at a rate not exceeding $6.00 for
each barrel or bulk container containing 15 1/2 gallons,
or a proportionate tax at like rate for containers of
various sizes.

(2) An excise tax not exceeding 25 cents per
gallon, or a proportionate tax at like rate on fractional

grown within or without the state, having an alcoholic
content of 14 percent or more by volume.

A35

this Constitution, and receiving such funds shall not modify,
restrict, limit or supersede the authority of said Board of
Education to cause the levy of ad valorem taxes for edu-
cational purposes as provided by law and this Constitu-
tion. The governing authority of Habersham County shall
be authorized to deduct from the proceeds of any tax im-
posed hereunder a reasonable amount, not to exceed five
percent of such proceeds, for administrative expenses in-
curred by the county in imposing and collecting any such
tax on behalf of the Board of Education. Any tax au-
thorized hereunder may be imposed and collected at either
the wholesale or retail level, but such tax may not be im-
posed at both the wholesale and retail level on the same
alcoholic beverages. Any tax authorized hereunder shall
be imposed throughout the territorial limits of Habersham
County, both within and without any incorporated areas
in the county, and shall be in addition to any such tax
heretofore or hereafter imposed or authorized to be im-
posed by the state or by counties and municipalities.

Any action taken by the Board of Education of Haber-
sham County and the governing authority of said county
to carry out and implement the powers hereinabove granted
shall not be repealed, modified or superseded by any gen-
eral or local law, whether presently existing or hereafter
enacted. Such powers may be exercised by said Board of
Education and county governing authority from time to
time, and any tax imposed within Habersham County pur-
suant to such powers may be repealed, modified or super-
seded by subsequent action of said Board of Education and
county governing authority.”

Section 2. The above proposed amendment to the
Constitution shall be published and submitted as provided
in Article XII, Section I, Paragraph ' of the Constitution.

A36

The ballot submitting the above proposed amendment
shall have written or printed thereon the following:

“{ ] YES Shall the Constitution be amended so as
authorize the Board of Education of Haber-
{ ] NO sham County to direct the governing au-
thority of Habersham County to impose
certain excise taxes on alcoholic beverages
sold within all parts of Habersham County
and to authorize said Board to receive
funds derived from such taxes and ex-
pend same for educational purposes within
the Habersham County school district?”

All persons desiring to vote in favor of ratifying the
proposed amendment shall vote “Yes.” All persons de-
siring to vote against ratifying the proposed amendment
shall vote “No.”

If such amendment shall be ratified as provided in said
Paragraph of the Constitution, it shall become a part of the
Constitution of this state.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0420%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
