# Amicus Brief — American Paper Institute, Inc. v. American Elec. Power Service Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0376%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 461 U.S. 402

## Text

No. 82-226
No. 82-34

In the Supreme

United States
Ocroser Tax, 1982

FeperaL Enercy Recutatory Commission,
Petitioner,
vs.
Auna Execrnic Power Service Coar., et al.,
Respondents.

Amenican Paper Inetrrvte Inc.,
Petitioner,
vs.
Amenicay Evectraic Power Szrvice Corp., et al.,

Respondents.

On Writs of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
For the District of Columbia

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL, INC.
NATIONAL AUDUBON SOCIETY
THE SOLAR LOBBY
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Au S. Mun Gaecory A. Tuomas
Natural Resources Defense Natural Resources Defense
Council, Inc. Council, Inc.
1725 I Street, N. W., 25 Kearny Street
Suite 600 San Francisco, CA 94108

Washington, D.C. 20006 Telephone: (415) 421-6561
Telephone: (202) 223-8219 Counsel of Record for
Wuuuo A. Buri Amici
National Audubon Society
645 Pennsylvania Avenue, S. E.
Washington, D. C. 20003
Telephone: (202) 547-9009
Of Counsel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the amici curiae
Summary of argument
Argument
I
II

The full avoided cost rule is flexible, operating only
where market forces do not

A. The avoided cost rule fosters private bargaining
on purchase rates

B. The full avoided cost rule induces competition in
the generation of electricity

III

The full avoided cost rule is mandated by the obliga-
gation to encourage QF’s without subjecting them to
plenary regulatory scrutiny
A. Full avoided costs are necessary for optimal de-
ployment of QF’s .

B. Alternatives — by the court of —
entail impermissible regulatory scrutiny ..............

IV
The full avoided cost rule, by moderating electric rates,
is just and reasonable to ratepayers
A. The full avoided cost rate induces maximal dis.

placement of high cost electric generation
B. The full avoided cost rate induces utility cost re-
ductions through more efficient use of resources

om nl

nw

7

10

18

ii

TaB_e or ConTENTS

Page
V
The full avoided cost rule is in the public interest .......... 22
A. The full avoided cost rate produces important
environmental benefits 22
B. The full avoided cost rate enhances energy secu-
rity 23
VI
The full avoided cost rule, as a rate innovation, war-
rants greater than ordinary judicial deferene 25
A. The avoided cost rule is valid under the special
deference due ratemaking 26
B. Judicial deference is also appropriate here in
view of the congressional command for a novel
and unprecedented regulatory initiative 28
Conclusion 30

Appendix: Description of amici A-l

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED
Cases

American Public Gas Ass’n. v. FPC, 567 F.2d 1016
(D.C. Cire.), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 907 (1977) .......... 25, 29

Associated Industries of New York v. Dept. of Labor,

OU 25
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. v. Wichita Bd. of

? 26
Ayrshire Collierres Corp. v. United States, 335 U.S.

573 (1949) 27
Board of Trade of Kansas City v. United States, 314

I .—ääKK—H21K2—2łfVu T 26
Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S.

— — 25
E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. Train, 430 U.S. 112

8 —.—.ñ᷑ 30

EPA v. National Crushed Stone, 449 U.S. 64 (1980) — 27
FERC v. Mississippi. U.S. , 102 S.Ct. 2126

77 ²˙ se RS ie NN Eee 3,4
FPO v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591 (1944) — 27
Illinois v. Gorsuch, 530 F.Supp. 340 (D. D. C. 1981) 29
Kennecott Copper v. EPA, 462 F. 2d 846 (D.C. Cir.
1972) — 29
Manufacturers R. Co. v. United States, 246 U.S. 457
9 —————————95ĩ 26
Mobil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 417 U.S. 283 (1974) 27

Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747 (1968) 27

San Antonio, Texas ex rel. City Public Service Board v.
United States, 631 F.2d 831 (D.C. Cir. 1980) 26

iv

Takt or Autuorities CrTep

Cases

Page

Shell Oil Co. v. FPC, 520 F.2d 1061 (5th Cir. 1975)

cert. denied sub nom. California Co. v. FPC, 426 U.S.
941 (1976) ...... , 29

Train v. Natural Resources Defense Council, 421 U.S.
60 (1975) .................... — 30

Weyerhauser Co. v. Costle, 590 F.2d 1011 (D.C. Cir.
1978) = 30

Statutes

Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978, Pub. L.
No. 95-617, 92 Stat. 3117 (1977 passim
Section 201, 16 U.S.C. 796 (17) (Supp. IV, 1980) ........ 1
Section 210, 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3 (Supp. ITI, 1979) ..passim

Regulations
18 C. F. R. $§ 292.201-292.207 (1980) 1
18 C. F. R. 6 292.301 (b) (1) (19800) ————.———— 9
e 8
e . 7, 9
16 C.F.B. § BBB.408 (106600 ———7—7—j———j7v—7Nꝙ«⁶ 7
44 Fed. Reg. 38863, 38865 (July 3, 19797 8
Miscellaneous

Cal. P. U. C., Dec. No. 82-01-103, OIR2 (Jan. 21, 1982) ... 18
123 Cong. Rec. 23848 (daily ed. Aug. 1, 19777 28
123 Cong. Rec. 32403 (Oct. 5,1977 28
124 Cong. Rec. 817528, (daily ed. Oct. 7, 1978 s

Congressional Budget Office, The World Oil Market in
the 1980's: Implications for the United States (1980) 24

Vv

TaxLx or AutTHorities Crrep
MISCELLANEOUS

Deese and Nye, Energy and Security (Ballinger 1981)

—

R. Deb and J. Mulvaney, “Economie and Engineer-
ing Factors Affecting Generating Unit Size,” IEEE
Trans. on Power Apparatus and Systems, V. PAS-
101, No. 10 (October, 1982) —— 21

DOE, Energy Information Administration, 1981
Annual Report to Congress, DOE/EIA-0173 (81)/3
OF ee 12

3 DOE Industrial Potential Cogeneration Source Book,
Geographical/Industrial Sector Profile, “Targeting
Opportunities at the Plant Site (TOPS)” (1982) ...... 11

DOE, Monthly Energy Review (July 1982) ...................... 11
DOE, Monthly Energy Review (Sept. 1982) .................... 4

FERC, Draft Environmental Impact Statement, “Rule-
making for Small Power Production and Cogenera-
tion Facilities—Qualifying Status/Rates and Ex-
emption,” Docket No. RM-79-54, RM-55 (June 1980)

TOTES 12, 22, 23
H. Rep. No. 543, 95th Cong., 2nd Sess. (1978) .................. 22
H. Conf. Rep. No. 1750, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. reprinted

in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 7832 ................ 5, 8, 15

Iowa State Commerce Commission, In re Iowa Illinois
Gas and Electric Company, RPLI-81-5 (May 18,
1982) 21

Lock, Encouraging Decentralized Generation of Elec-
tricity: Implementation of the New Statutory
Scheme, 2 Solar L. Rep. 705, 717 (1980) 9

Lock, Statewide Purchase Rates Under Section 210 of
PURPA, 3 Solar L. Rep. 419 (1981) 8

vi

Tas_e or AutnHorities Crrep
MIscELLANEOUS

V. Loose and T. Flaim, Economies of Seale and Relia-
bility : The Economics of Large vs. Small Generating
Units,” 4 Energy Systems and Policy, Nos. 1 and 2
x= „%

E. Meyer, “New Directions of Utility Resource and Fi-
nancial Planning,” Energy Efficiency and the Utili-
ties, California Public Utilities Commission Sympo-

21

sium Proceedings (July, 1980 —— 18, 19

Missouri Publie Service Commission, Re Kansas City
Power and Light Co., Case No. ER-80-48, 38 PUR
.— — —

National Economie Research Associates, Inc., An Eco-
nomic Evaluation of the Marble Hill Nuclear Proj-

ect, Indiana Public Service Commission Cause No.
eee

Nichols, WPPSS—A Postcript, Pub. Util. Fort. (June
5 ener

North Dakota Public Service Commission, Re Otter
Tail Power Co., Docket No. 10,124, 44 PUR 4th
(July 20, 1981) ........................

Ohio Public Utilities Commission, Re Dayton Power
and Light Co., Case No. 81-#L-AIR, 45 PUR 4th
eee

Pacific Gas and Electric Company, Statement of Key
Corporate Goals and Direction, Long Term Planning
Results 1982-2000 (June, 1982)

Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act Amendments:
Hearings on Amendment No. 1452 to S. 1885 Before
the Subcommittee on Energy Regulation of the Sen-
ate Comm. on Energy and Natural Resources, Part 2,
?

21

19

19

21

21

19

vii

Tal or AutTHorities Crrep
MISCELLANEOUS
Page
Resource Planning Associates, Inc., The Potential for
Cogeneration Development in Six Major Industries
by 1985, U.S. Department of Energy Contract No.

CR-04-60172-00, December 1977 13
Ross, Energy Consumption by Industry, 6 Ann. Rev.

. 11
Statistical Abstract of the United States (19817 14

R. Stobaugh and D. Yergin, Energy Future: Report of
the Energy Project at the Harvard Business School
(Ballantine ed. 1980) 4

Testimony of William A. Hawkins of Consolidated
Edison Company of New York before the New York
Public Service Commission in Case 27574 (1980) 20

R. Williams, Industrial re 3 Ann. Rev. En-
GHEE TED 00 23

No. 82-226
No. 82-34

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

Ocroser Term, 1982

FeperaL Enercy Recuiatory Commission,
Petitioner,

VS.

American ELxC TRIO Power Service Con. , et al.,
Respondents.

American Paper Institute Ixc.,
Petitioner,

VS.

American ELxC TRI Power Service Corp., et al.,
Respondents.

On Writs of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
For the District of Columbia

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL, INC.
NATIONAL AUDUBON SOCIETY
THE SOLAR LOBBY
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

This brief in support of petitioners is submitted with the
written consent of counsel to all parties filed with the Clerk
of Court.

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

This brief is submitted by three national environmental
organizations dedicated to protection of the environment,
to prudent use and responsible management of natural
resources, and to the economic, esthetic, and social advan-
tages that flow from decreased dependence on nonrenew-
able sources of energy. These organizations have a com-
bined membership of over 550,000 contributors. A more de-
tailed description of each amicus appears in the Appendix
to this brief.

Amici have an interest in this case because both section
210 of PURPA and the Federal Energy Regulatory Com-
mission’s implementing rules are important steps toward
amici’s goals of creating more equitable utility rate struc-
tures and reducing the nation’s dependence upon nonrenew-
able energy sources. In particular, the rules challenged in
this case promote the deployment of renewable energy tech-
nologies which are environmentally benign compared to
the conventional electrical energy generators which they
displace. The amici consider vindication of the FERC rules
to be crucial to a sound energy future for the nation.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In order to tap the vast reservoir of electric power po-
tentially available from wasted heat and renewable energy
sources (denominated “qualifying facilities” or “QF’s”),*
Congress commanded the Federal Energy Regulatory Com-

This term, as used herein, means “qualifying small power pro-
duction facilities” and “qualifying cogeneration facilities” as de-
fined by section 201 of the Public Utilities Regulatory Policies
Act of 1978 (PURPA), 16 U.S.C. 796 (17) (Supp. IV 1980) and
under 18 C.F.R. 56 292.201-292.207 (1980).

2

mission (“FERC”) to establish an incentive purchase rate
in section 210 of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act
of 1978 (“PURPA”).

The full avoided cost rule operates only where markets
do not. It is not a universal rule; it applies only in the
absence of an agreement between a QF and a purchasing
utility and only in the absence of a determination by a state
regulatory commission that a lower rate provides a suf-
ficient incentive.

The full avoided cost rule permits market mechanisms,
where they exist, to establish prices for QF power. Where
market forces are sufficient to make the full avoided cost
tariff unnecessary, the states are free to prescribe another
rate. Where the purchase of power from QF results in no
cost advantage to the utility, it is not obliged to pay for
the unneeded capacity. QF power elicited under the rule
actually fosters competition with the purchasing utility that
would not otherwise exist. The rule merely establishes an
equitable bargaining framework under which negotiations
between buyer and seller can proceed.

Nothing less than full avoided cost rates maximize cost-
effective power production by QF’s without raising elec-
tric rates. QF’s can potentially provide the equivalent of
twenty-five percent of current electrical consumption. Any
lower purchase rates will retard development of these
resources.

Full avoided cost rates are “just and reasonable to con-
sumers” because they will moderate electricity prices. The
resulting power from QF’s will displace the most costly
generators, induce utility cost reductions through competi-
tion, and reduce the costs of utility reserve margins through
dispersed siting of QF’s.

The rule also provides important benefits to the general
public by substituting environmentally preferable power
generation technologies and by decreasing the nation’s reli-
ance on foreign sources of oil.

3

The Court of Appeals erred in declining to accord sub-
stantial deference to the judgment of the expert agency on
these points. Special deference was in order because the
rule is a rate established by the agency under a novel
congressional mandate and within strict limitations of time.

ARGUMENT

I
BACKGROUND

The full avoided cost rule is based on important prin-
ciples of consumer equity and the public interest. This
amicus brief is confined to that issue.

PURPA was a product of a widely-perceived national
energy crisis.* The exigencies of the time were appreciated
by this Court in upholding the constitutionality of PURPA
last term in FERC v. Mississippi. U. S. , 102 S. Ct.
2126 (June 1, 1982):

At the time [PURPA was enacted] it was said that the
generation of electricity consumed more than 25% of
all energy resources used in the United States. S. Rep.
No. 95-442, p. 7 (1977). Approximately one-third of
the electricity in this country was generated through
use of oil and natural gas, and electricity generation
was one of the fastest growing segments of the Na-
tion's economy. S. Rep. No. 95-361, p. 32 (1977). In
part because of their reliance on oil and gas, electricity
utilities were plagued with increasing costs and de-
creasing efficiency in the use of their generating capac-
ities; each of these factors had an adverse effect on
rates to consumers and on the economy as a whole.

“PURPA is one of five parts of a National Energy Act enacted
by the Ninety-Fifth Congress as a top domestic priority of the
Carter Administration. The cornerstone of the President's “National
Energy Plan” was the maximum cost-effective conservation of
energy in the economy, as reflected in the purposes of each of the
five Energy Act components.

4

S. Rep. No. 95-442, at 9. Congress accordingly deter-
mined that conservation by electricity utilities of oil
and natural gas was essential to the success of any
effort to lessen the country’s dependence on foreign
oil, to avoid a repetition of the shortage of natural gas
that had been experienced in 1977, and to control con-
sumer costs.

Id. at 2130. The nation’s energy supply picture has not
brightened appreciably during the intervening years.“

In partial response, Congress enacted section 210 of
PURPA to unlock the tremendous reservoir of untapped
domestic energy that is potentially available from waste
heat from industrial processes (cogeneration) and renew-
able energy sources.* Section 210 commanded the FERC
to prescribe “such rules as it determines necessary to en-
courage cogeneration and small power production,” includ-
ing incentive rates governing the purchase of this power
by electrical utilities. Section 210 and its legislative history
prescribe four rate design parameters. The rates must:

1. Be just and reasonable to the electric consumers
of the utility (§ 210(b)(1));

2. Be in the public interest (Id.);

3. Not discriminate against qualifying facilities
(§¢ 210(b) (2)) ; and

See DOE, Monthly Energy Review, at 8, 27 (Sept. 1982); R.
Stobaugh and D. Yergin, Energy Future: Report of the Energy
Project at the Harvard Business School ( Ballantine ed. 1980).

‘See FERC v. Mississippi, supra at 2136, where this Court
focussed specifically upon section 210:

Congress also determined that the development of cogener-
ation and small power production facilities would conserve
energy. The evidence before Congress showed the potential
contribution of these sources of energy: it was estimated that
if proper incentives were provided, industrial cogeneration
alone could account for seven to ten percent of the Nation’s
electrical generating capacity by 1987. Sen. Rep. No. 95-442
at 21, 23.

5

4. Be predicated upon an examination of the costs
of generation experienced by the utility rather than
those of the qualifying facility.’

Within these parameters, the Congress left to the FERC
the design of appropriate rates, subject only to the fur-
ther limitation that the rate not “exceed the incremental

The fourth critical parameter is derived from the Conference
Report which elaborates on the “just and reasonable” standard. It
evinces a congressional intent that the rate governing purchases of
power from QF’s not burden the OFs with the type of detailed
examination of the costs of generating power that is typically ap-
plied to regulated utilities. The Conferees explain that:

It is not the intention of the conferees that cogenerators and
small power producers become subject, by virtue of this lan-
guage, and the rules promulgated under this section, to the type
of examination that is traditionally given to electric utility rate
applications to determine what is the just and reasonable rate
that they should receive for their electric power. The conferees
recognize that cogenerators and small power producers are dif-
ferent from electric utilities, not being guaranteed a rate of re-
turn on their activities generally or on the activities vis-a-vis
the sale of power to the utility and whose risk in proceeding
forward in the cogeneration of small power production enter-
prise is not guaranteed to be recoverable.
The conferees wish to make clear that cogeneration is to be
under this section and therefore the examination
of the level of rates which should apply to the purchase by the
utility of the cogenerators or small power producers power
Ü — cy ge pg et —U—
but rather in a less burdensome manner. The
—— — ones thane eonld ent
as a significant disincentive to firms interested in cogeneration
and small power production.
H. Conf. Rep. No. 1750, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 97-98 (1978), re.
printed in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 7831-7832.

cost to the electric utility of alternative electric energy.”
(§ 210(b)).°

No dispute exists that the full avoided cost formula pro-
vides an ample incentive to qualifying facilities and prop-
erly avoids subjecting them to utility-type regulatory seru-
tiny. The Court of Appeals vacated the rule because it was
not satisfied that the standard was just and reasonable to
electric consumers and in the public interest.’ The essence
of the court’s reasoning was:

By ordering that the purchase rate be equal to the
full avoided cost in every case, FERC has, without con-
vineing explanation, simply adopted as a uniform rule
the maximum purchase rate specified in the statute.
Congress made a clear distinction between a ‘just and
reasonable rate’ and a rate based on the full avoided
cost though the two may coincide. It has long been
held that the essence of the just and reasonable stand-
ard is a balancing of the interests of the affected par-
ties. Although FERC was not to subject cogenerators
to complex, traditional utility-type regulation, it was
compelled to consider the hard questions which the
standard necessarily raises.

B-10 (footnotes omitted, emphasis added).

The “incremental cost of alternative electric energy” is defined to
mean “the cost to the electric utility of the electric energy which,
but for the purchase from such cogenerator or small power pro-
ducer, such utility would generate or purchase from another source.”
(§210(d)). This “incremental cost” is equivalent to the “full
avoided cost” in the FERC rule.

All citations herein to the opinion and order of the Court of
Appeals will be made to Petitioner's Appendix B. (E.g. B-1.) The
court’s opinion is reported at 675 F.2d 1226 (D.C. Cir. 1982). Cita-
tions to the Commission record which was before the Court of Ap-

peals will be preceded by the letter K-.

7

The Court of Appeals acknowledged that the Com-
mission may be right in its conclusion, but it needs to make
its reasoning and findings explicit.” B-11. Yet the court
summarily dismissed the very “reasoning and findings” re-
cited by the agency, not because they were without support
in the record, but because of the court’s factual and
ideological prejudices concerning rate structure and utility
economics.

On remand, the court asked the FERC to take competi-
tive forces into account “in determining the degree and
type of regulation necessary.” B-15. This statement is
astonishing because the full avoided cost rate does exactly
that.

THE FULL AVOIDED COST RULE IS FLEXIBLE,
OPERATING ONLY WHERE MARKET FORCES DO
NOT
The Court of Appeals misread the full avoided cost rule

in concluding that it is a “uniform rule” which applies “in

every case.” Indeed, it operates more as a guarantee, ap-
plying only in those cases where a state regulatory author-
ity or self-regulating utility does not determine that some
other rate is sufficient to encourage small power produc-
tion.* Moreover, section 210 places no obligation on a utility
to buy unusable capacity. Capacity payments are required

*Rates at less than full avoided cost are authorized for purchases
of electric energy “if the state regulatory authority . . or the non-
regulated electric utility determines that a lower rate is consistent
with [the statutory criteria for establishing purchase rates], and
is sufficient to encourage cogeneration and small power produc-
tion.” 18 C.F.R. § 292.304(b)(3) (1980) B-111. Other provisions
permit state regulatory authorities or non-regulated electric utilities
to apply for a waiver from any of the FERC rules under section
210 by showing that compliance is not necessary to encourage co-

and small power production and is not otherwise re-
quired under section 210 of PURPA. See 18 C.F.R. § 292.403 ( 1980)
B-118.

only when a utility “avoids costs” by virtue of the QF’s
capacity. The rules impose no requirement on the purchas-
ing utility to deliver unusable energy or capacity to another
utility for subsequent sale. See Section-By-Section Analy-
sis accompanying 18 C. F. R. § 292.303 (1980), B-53.

In these respects, the FERC rule is more a guideline
than a specific rate. Congress explicitly left a role for the
states in defining and implementing the FERC rules, re-
jecting a more intrusive House bill. See 124 Cong. Ree.
817528 (daily ed. Oct. 7, 1978) (remarks of Sen. Jackson).
The Conference Report refers repeatedly to action by “the
Commission and the States.” H. Conf. Rep. No. 1750, 95th
Cong., 2d Sess. 98, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.
News 7832. States were given substantial discretion to de-
fine and calculate avoided costs; the regulations refer to the
need for “flexibility for experimentation and accommoda-
tion of special circumstances . . .” “Staff Discussion Paper,”
44 Fed. Reg. 38863, 38865 (July 3, 1979). This discretion
has in fact resulted in widespread variation in choices of
methodology and, ultimately, in rates—variations much
greater than would result from reducing avoided cost pay-
ments by five or ten percent. See Lock, Statewide Purchase
Rates Under Section 210 of PURPA, 3 Solar L. Rep. 419
(1981).

Where the market pricing system is functioning to pro-
vide reasonable prices of QF’s, the full avoided cost tariff
becomes unnecessary and may be disregarded by the states.
It must be noted, however, that section 210 was enacted in
response to the perception that utilities were refusing to
bargain reasonably with QF’s for interconnection and the
purchase of power; it is thus predicated upon a congres-
sional assumption that market forces alone were not

enough.

A. The Avoided Cost Rule Fosters Private Bargaining On
Purchase Rates

The Court of Appeals overlooked the fact that full
avoided cost rates do not prevent but in fact facilitate pri-
vate transactions between the QF and the utility. Under 18
C.F.R. § 292.304 (1980), the full avoided cost rate is elec-
tive; the QF can either elect to receive payment based on
the utility’s avoided cost at the time of delivery or pursu-
ant to an enforceable contract.’ Section 292.301(b)(1) of
the rule specifically contemplates that private bargaining
will occur between qualifying facilities and electric utili-
ties. The tariff merely establishes a framework within
which bargaining can take place.

In fact, QF’s have a strong incentive to negotiate agree-
ments. Decentralized producers often lack the technical
and administrative expertise that the utilities can furnish.
Moreover, agreements that assure a long-term revenue flow
are often indispensible to the QF in procuring financing.
The avoided cost tariff guarantees a certain level of reve-
nue for only a limited time, until the cost incidence of the
utility changes. It is therefore in the interest of small

The effect of PURPA is simply to improve the bargaining posi-
tion of QF’s relative to the monopsony power of utilities. Section
210 shifts the burden of non-agreement from the QF to the utility,
providing the QF a tariff rate to which it can resort if it believes the
utility is not negotiating reasonably. See Lock, Encouraging Decen-
tralized Generation of Electricity: Implementation of the New Stat-
utory Scheme, 2 Solar L. Rep. 705, 717 (1980).

Small power producers testified in the rulemaking record that the
monopsony power of the utilities and the lack of bargaining power
possessed by developers discouraged small power production.
R 2443, 2843-44, Vol. 1, 38Col. R 1186-87, 1523, Vol. 1, 186DC1,
219DCl1. FERC expressly took this into account in the rules: “the
ability of a qualifying cogeneration or small power producer to ne-
gotiate with an electric utility is buttressed by the existence of
rights and protection of these rules.” B-49.

10

power developers to trade away some percentage of the
guaranteed tariff for a longer term commitment from the
utility to purchase at an agreed rate.“

The full avoided cost rate provides a firm and reason-
able starting point for these negotiations. Any lesser rate
would simply erode the basis of the negotiations and pro-
duce a rate less optimal for QF development.

B. The Full Avoided Cost Rule Induces Competition in
the Generation of Electricity

The full avoided cost rule not only allows market forces
to function where they exist, it also creates a market which
would not exist otherwise. Utilities traditionally have been
the sole source of power for their customers. The full
avoided cost rule changes this situation by encouraging
alternative, private sources.

The FERC regulations explicitly recognize that the debt serv-
ice obligations of qualifying facilities may require the latitude
of contractual arrangements in lieu of tariff- like mechanisms.

A facility which enters into a long-term contract to provide
energy or capacity to a utility may wish to receive a greater
percentage of the total purchase price during the beginning
of the obligation. For example, a level payment schedule from
the utility to the qualifying facility may be used to match more
closely the structure of debt service of the facility. So long as
the total payment over the duration of the contract term does
not exceed the estimated avoided costs, nothing in these rules
would prohibit a state regulatory authority or non-regulated
electric utility from approving such an arrangement.
B-73.

In recent Senate hearings on section 210 of PURPA, Dr. Glenn
J. Bjorklund, the Vice-President of Southern California Edison Com-
pany stated that his company has signed 60 contracts with QF’s
since the beginning of 1981, “nearly all of which have been nego-
tiated at a rate below full avoided cost.” Public Utility Regulatory
Policies Act Amendments: Hearings on Amendment No. 1452 to
S. 1885 Before the Subcommittee on Energy Regulation of the Sen-
ate Comm. on Energy and Natural Resources, Part 2, 97th Cong.,
2d Sess. 110, 114, 131 (1982) (Statement of Dr. Glenn J. Bjorklund).

11

In effect, qualifying facilities compete with the purchas-
ing utility itself as a source of power. To the extent that a
utility can lower its own costs of generating power at the
margin, it is obliged to pay qualifying facilities that much
less under the “avoided cost” formula. If the utility can
lower its marginal costs below a QF’s costs of generating
power, it can recapture that share of the marginal market
for itself. If the purchase rate is established below the full
avoided cost level, however, the utility is not subject to the
same competitive pressure. The full avoided cost rule, in
this way, unleashes the very market forces which the Court
of Appeals feared were being fettered.

THE FULL AVOIDED COST RULE IS MANDATED
BY THE OBLIGATION TO ENCOURAGE CF’s WITH-
OUT SUBJECTING THEM TO PLENARY REGULA-
TORY SCRUTINY

A. Full Avoided Costs Are Necessary for Optimal De-

ployment of QF’s
With the rapid rise in electricity costs during the last
decade,“ the potential for cost-effective cogeneration in
industry has become very large.“ The potential for indus-
trial cogeneration at existing plants exceeds twenty-five
percent of electrical demand in the United States—equiva-
lent to 93 large (1,000 MW) coal or nuclear power plants.”

Despite the slowdown in general inflation, electricity prices are
still rising at an eleven percent annual rate. DOE, Monthly Energy
Review, July 1982.

“This is particularly true in the petroleum, chemical, paper,
food, and steel industries. See 3 DOE Industrial Potential Cogen-
eration Source Book, Geographical/Industrial Sector Profile, “Tar-
geting Opportunities at the Plant Site (TOPS)” (1982).

See Ross, Energy Consumption by Industry, 6 Ann. Rev. Energy
409 (1981).

12

The Department of Energy (DOE) projects the additional
potential for cogeneration in future industrial facilities at
6, 11 and 14 percent of the total United States electricity
consumption for the years 2000, 2010 and 2020 respec-
tively.“

The potential contribution of small-scale renewable en-
ergy systems is also impressive. Several forms, including
hydropower, wind electric systems, and municipal waste
combusters are now technically and economically mature.
Several other technologies including generators using bio-
mass fuels, photovoltaic cells, and solar thermal devices
show great promise for the future.“

The amount of power from QF’s that will be produced
for external consumption at any time is directly a function
of the price for which it can be sold to the connecting
utility. As the price offered the QF is decreased from full
avoided costs, the rate of return diminishes disproportion-
ately, since the rate of return depends on the difference
between revenue and cost.“ Since the last few percentage

"See DOE, Energy Information Administration, 1981 Annual
Report to Congress, DOE/EIA-0173 (81)/3 at 174, 177 (1981).

The Draft Environmental Impact Statement for the rulemaking
process projects the following levels of small power production
nationwide by 1995: Wind generation, 1900 MW; Municipal waste
electricity generation, 360 MW, and Small scale hydropower gen-
eration, 3500 MW. FERC, Draft Environmental Impact Statement,
“Rulemaking for Small Power Production and Cogeneration Facil-
ities—Qualifying Status/Rates and Exemption,” Docket No. RM-
79-54, RM-55, at VII-12 (June 1980) (“DEIS”).

That full avoided cost rates provide the necessary investment
certainly was made apparent to the FERC in the rulemaking pro-
ceedings. See R 1291, 2423, Vol. 1, 213 DCI, 57-58DC4. Potential
investors and lenders are reluctant to commit funds unless a project
demonstrates financial viability. (R 1311, 2882, Vol. 1, 86SF.) The
more innovative the technology, the greater the risks to the devel-
oper. (R Vol. 1, 134Col.) If innovative projects are to be under-
taken, some reward must be provided for the risk takers. (R 1309-
II. Vol. 1, 181-82DCl, 185DCl. See, e.g., Comments of the Ha-
waiian Sugar Planters Association, “the avoided costs’ pricing stan-
dard . . . will constitute a necessary incentive for the production of

i3

points of profit over operating costs will determine whether
a facility is constructed and operated, a purchase rate
below the utility’s full avoided costs will discourage QF’s
that are only marginally profitable at the full avoided cost
rate.

FERC’s finding on this point was amply justified and
clearly articulated:

. in most instances, if part of the savings from
cogeneration and small power production were allo-
cated among the utilities’ ratepayers, any rate reduc-
tions will be insignificant for any individual customer.
On the other hand, if these savings are allocated to the
relatively small class of qualifying cogenerators and
small power producers, they may provide a significant
incentive for a higher growth rate of these technologies.

B-65.

Any “savings” to ratepayers must come out of a QF’s
revenues at the margin, directly and profoundly affecting
the rate of return on investment. For example, if FERC
were to adopt a purchase rate at 80 percent of avoided
costs (one of the alternatives suggested by the Court of
Appeals), the rate of return on a cogenerator’s investment
would fall 40 percent for an 80 MW facility, according to
a Department of Energy study.“ This decrease in return on
investment would cause an estimated reduction in cogener-
ation development of 50-70%, compared to the level antici-
pated under a purchase rate based on full avoided costs.“

additional biomass power by Hawaiian sugar factories.” (R 1334);
testimony of the American Wind Energy Association, “payment of
full avoided costs could be necessary to bring any significant
amount of generation stock on line soon.” (R Vol. 1, 134Col.)

**Resource Planning Associates, Inc., The Potential for Cogener-
ation Development in Six Major Industries by 1985, U.S. Depart-
ment of Energy Contract No. CR-04-60172-00, December 1977 at
Exhibit Lr.

Id. at Exhibit Lj.

14

Thus, a relatively small adjustment in the price QF’s
receive produces disproportionately large changes in the
deployment of such facilities. On the other hand, the sav-
ings experienced by the utility in purchasing QF power
at less than full avoided cost must be spread among so
many electrical consumers that it will become virtually un-
detectable.** And, because the benefits of QF power to rate-
payers will be partially foregone, any savings to them in
the short run will prove wholly illusory.”

*The triviality of any saving to ratepayers can be illustrated by
a simple hypothetical. Assume that the average price paid to Fs
is 5¢/kWh, and that this reflects only 80% of the full avoided cost.
Under the circumstances ratepayers would save 1.25¢/kWh. Assume
FERC’s estimate of 14 * 10° kWh purchased from QF’s in 1985.
See DEIS, supra note 14 at VII-17, Table VII-6. The total ratepayer
savings nationwide of $175 million are approximately 0.2 percent
of the 1980 electric utility revenues of $91.6 billion. (Statistical Ab-
stract of the United States, 1981, Table 1018.) The total number of
customers was 91.7 million in 1980. (Id.) Therefore the average
savings per customer would be less than $2.00 per year. This esti-
mated savings will result in a 50%-70% reduction in QF deploy-
ment. See text accompanying notes 16 and 17 supra.

The Court of Appeals rejected FERC’s reasoning on this point
on the ground that “if cogeneration becomes substantial, a rate
uniformly set at the statutory ceiling may be quite costly to con-
sumers” (B-11) and that “a rate which is below full avoided cost,
but still above the cogenerator's cost, could suffice to induce co-
generation... (B-14.) The court is so obviously wrong on these
assertions that the agency could not be expected to provide elab-
orate demonstrations in anticipation of them. First, the court simply
misread the rules in believing them to be uniform. (See note 8
supra and accompanying text.) Second, since avoided cost rates re-
flect the purchasi..g utility’s cost savings in purchasing power from
Fs they necessarily cannot cause costs to consumers to rise. Third,
rates set at below full avoided costs will fail to induce QF’s whose
cost is above such rates to generate.

15

B. Alternatives Suggested By the Court of Appeals
Entail Impermissible Regulatory Scrutiny
A unique merit of full avoided cost rates is that they
eliminate entirely the need to scrutinize the QF’s costs of
generation because the full avoided ecsts is based wholly
on the costs of the purchasing utility (which is already sub-
ject to regulation).

Congress viewed the prospect of utility-type regulation
as a major disincentive to QF’s. It therefore instructed the
FERC to design an incentive rate which does not entail
detailed examination of the QF’s costs. Congress observed
that, unlike electric utilities, qualifying facilities are not
protected by a regulatory blanket from business risks and
must therefore be assured a profit commensurate with
those risks. See H. Conf. Rep. No. 1750, 95th Cong. 2d
Sess. 97 (1978).

The Court of Appeals held that the FERC had correctly
rejected a “split-the-savings approach” as excessively bur-
densome on QF’s, but the court failed to rec nize that a
percentage of avoided cost approach suffers from the same
problem.” The court apparently envisioned that FERC,

20 The Court of Appeals charged FERC on remand to
allocate the benefits more evenly between the cogenerators
and the utilities if the utilities can demonstrate that under a
percentage of avoided cost approach, an allocation less heavily
favoring the cogenerators is in the public interest and the in-
terest of the utilities’ electric consumers and will not dispio-
portionately discourage cogeneration.
B-12. The utilities had the opportunity to make such a demonstra-
tion in the rulemaking proceeding. Instead they generally embraced
the full avoided cost principle and contented themselves with urg-
ing technical ana mechanical refinements:
Con Edison and Boston Edison Company are particularly
pleased that the final rules recognize that, although cogener-
ation and small power production is intended to be encouraged
under Section 210 of PURPA, that encouragement is not to be

provided at the expense of the other ratepayers of utilities, or

16

Solomon-style, would choose some percentage of avoided
costs as the basis for a rate that allocates some of the cost
savings to the utility and some to the QF. Whether the sav-
ings are to be split 50-50 (which the court correctly re-
jected) or according to some other ratio, the need to in-
quire into the qualifying facility’s costs is inescapable. The
percentage of full avoided costs that “appropriately” allo-
cates the benefits cannot be determined without knowing
how much it will cost to generate the alternative power.
Only then can FERC calculate a sufficient profit margin or
determine how much cogeneration and small power any
given percentage of full avoided cost will induce.”

Under the court’s rationale, FERC must not only seru-
tinize the mode and costs of operation of QF’s, it appar-
ently must do so separately for each technology and, per-
haps, for each individual facility. This result follows from
the fact that the costs of generation will vary widely among

through the uneconomic encouragement of investment in un-
needed generating. The final rules properly provided that util-
ities are not required to pay more than their avoided cost for
purchases for qualifying facilities (§ 292.304(a)(2), 45 Fed.
Reg. 12235) and that, where a utility has sufficient capacity to
meet its demands, and purchases from qualifying facilities will
not enable it to avuid any capacity costs, capacity credits for
purchases from qualifying facilities are not required. (5 292.304
(e)(3), 45 Fed. Reg. 12236).
Petition for Rehearing and Reconsideration on Behalf of Consoli-
dated Edison Company of New York, Inc. and Boston Edison Com-
pany, p. 686 of the Joint Appendix and p. 3750 of the record.
1L_ikewise, the lower court’s concern that FERC take into ac-
count differential pollution control standards and taxation rates
between utilities and cogeneration invites just the sort of regula-
tory scrutiny which the Congress wanted to avoid. A thorough in-
quiry into the external benefits and disbenefits of small power pro-
ductioa compared to conventional generation would lead to the
conclusion that full avoided costs rates are overly conservative in
view of the significant environmental and national security benefits
of small power, as discussed at length infra. Such was the conclu-
sion of the California Public Utilities Commision in its order im-
plementing section 210 of PURPA. See note 22, infra.

17

technologies and facilities. A different percentage, there-
fore, would presumably be appropriate for each. Indeed, no
approach other than a full avoided cost rate can be caleu-
lated wholly on the basis of the utilities’ costs, without
reference to the costs of the QF. Certainly the Court of
Appeals was not successful in its efforts to suggest one.

IV

THE FULL AVOIDED COST RULE, BY MODERATING
ELECTRIC RATES, IS JUST AND REASONABLE
TO RATEPAYERS

In holding that the four parameters established for Con-
gress for purchase rates require a “balancing of the inter-
ests of the affected parties,” B-10, the lower court invoked
an inapt metaphor which suggests that FERC should have
refereed a compromise among the stakeholders—ratepay-
ers, qualifying facilities and the general public—in order to
strike a sort of equipoise. A more ideal view, however, is
that PURPA envisions a rate which optimizes net benefits
and provides maximum rewards to all stakeholders.” This
optimization is most likely to be achieved by avoided cost
rates.

22Indeed, the California Public Utilities Commision in its Order
implementing Section 210 of PURPA is strongly of the view that
full avoided cost rates are the minimum necessary to effectuate the
purpose of the law:
Some argue that ratepayers are disadvantaged when avoided
costs are paid to qualifying facilities, because in some cases
these facilities can produce electricity at less than the avoided
cost price. While it may be true that some QFs could be
brought on line at a purchase price below avoided cost, such
a price would not be sufficient to bring in other QFs capable
of producing power at prices up to the avoided cost price. The
point of permitting avoided cost pricing is to encourage the
fullest possible efficient development of QF resources that can
effectively and economically compete with utility resources.
By opening this market, the supply of electricity is increased,
which should lower customers’ rates over time. Heavy utility
reliance on oil and gas fuels to generate electricity has caused

18

A. The Full Avoided Cost Rate Induces Maximal Dis-
placement of High Cost Electric Generation

Over the long run, avoided cost rates for alternative
energy are likely to be more effective in reducing or moder-
ating electrical rates than any lower rates. A utility seeks
to minimize its costs of generating power by operating or
building the most expensive plants last. Thus, the new
power purchased from QF’s will ordinarily displace the
most costly source of generation or purchased power in the
utility’s supply mix. Least-cost dispatch assumes that the
first energy source to be replaced by a QF is high-priced
imported oil, just as PURPA intended. For utilities that
are experiencing significant demand growth, the alternative
power will eventually displace new power plants that would
otherwise have to be built.** Such facilities are almost uni-
versally higher in cost than existing facilities.“

rates in California to skyrocket. Avoided cost pricing is in-
tended to stimulate development of substantial generating ca-
pacity that will reduce utility oil and gas consumption. In ad-
dition, system reliability is increased by the presence of larger
numbers of smaller facilities.
If anything, this Commission believes that the avoided cost
signal to QFs is a conservative one, as it does not include the
tangible but hard to quantify “social costs” that are associated
with new utility supplies and which are avoided through the
purchase of QF power. These “social costs” include the risks
associated with imported energy supplies and environmental
degradation related to conventional generation.
Cal. P.U.C., Dec. No. 82-01-103, OIR2, at 25 (Jan. 21, 1982).
In the unusual case where economics of scale cause the system-
wide costs of generation to decline as new conventional capacity is
added, the utility will not “avoid” capacity costs by purchasing QF
power. In these cases, the full avoided cost rate will pay Fs only
the value of the utility’s fuel savings unless the utility chooses to
wheel the power to another utility. A QF will have little incentive
to locate in the service area of such a utility or to size the facility
to generate power for external consumption. These cases are anal-
ogous to the overcapacity cases discussed at note 26 infra and ac-
companying text.
New power plants require enormous outlays of capital which
the utilities are finding increasingly difficult to raise. E Meyer,

19

To the extent that QF’s substitute for expensive fuels
and the construction of new power plants, the costs of gen-
erating power are reduced. Since these marginal sources
define the utility’s “avoided cost,” a growth in the con-
tribution of alternative energy will over time lower or
moderate the avoided or marginal costs of providing elee-
trical power, which should translate into lower rates for
consumers.“

Admittedly, the situation is different for some utilities
that already have more generating capacity than they need

“New Directions for Utility Resource and Financial Planning,” En-
ergy Efficiency and the Utilities, California Public Utilities Com-
mission Symposium Proceedings 139-144 (July, 1980). Because the

risk that the projects may prove unnecessary or obsolete. This oc-
curred with the Washington Public Power Supply System. Declin-
ing forecasts of the need for power, coupled with cost overruns,
forced the cancellation of two nuclear units on which $2.25 billion
Ar Nichols, WPPSS—A Postscript, Pub. Util.
ort. (June 24, 1982) at 54. Thus, the full avoided cost rate will

pany, Statement of Key Corporate Goals and Direction, Long Term
Planning Results 1982-2000, (June, 1982). Purchasing power under
PURPA is an element of this strategy. The economic benefit to elec-
tricity consumers of lower cost of debt and equity is significant. See
National Economic Research Associates, Inc., An Economic Eval-
uation of the Marble Hill Nuclear Project, Indiana Public Service
Commission Cause No. 36818 at IV-17, 18 (October 4, 1982).
The restraining effect on utility rates was apparently in mind
as FERC developed the full avoided cost rule:
Under the principles of economic dispatch, utilities gen-
erally turn on last and turn off first their generating units with

to meet demand in the present or near future. This situa-

tion gives rise to the theoretical problem which vexed the

Court of Appeals:
If a utility has excess capacity the additional cogen-
eration encouraged by full avoided cost payments will
result in higher costs for all remaining customers of
the utility because that cogeneration will reduce the
number of customer-purchased kilowatt hours over
which the utility can spread a share of the fixed costs
of that extra capacity.

B-13. But this hypothetical misconstrues the application
of the full avoided cost principle. If the avoided capacity
costs on a system are small or nonexistent, so will be the
incentive to QF’s. Cogenerators, for instance, will either
locate in a more conducive utility service area or size their
facilities to serve only their own internal needs, rather
than to sell power to the interconnecting utility because the
incremental cost of additional generation will not be jus-
tified by the low rates predicated upon the utility’s cost

saving.”

B. The Full Avoided Cost Rate Induces Utility Cost Re-
ductions Through More Efficient Use of Resources

We have noted above that the full avoided cost formula

stimulates competition between utilities and QF’s as to

the highest running cost. At any given time, an economically
dispatched utility can avoid operating its highest-cost units as
a result of making a purchase from a qualifying facility.
[Power from a QF can] permit the purchasing electric utility
to avoid the need to construct a generating unit, to build a
smaller, less expensive plant, or to reduce firm power pur-
chases from another utility, [and] the rates for such a purchase
will be based on the avoided capacity and energy costs.

B-44.

**See, e.g., Testimony of William A. Hawkins of Consolidated
Edison Company of New York before the New York Public Service
Commission in Case 27574 at 4 ( 1980).

21

the marginal supply of power. This competition exercises a
restraint on utilities’ resource expansion plans. The present
and prospective availability of qualifying small power
makes expensive new capital projects harder to justify
without risking excess capacity.” This salutory competition,
operating outside the usual regulatory constraints, will
lead to more efficient use of resources by utilities and lower
rates for consumers.

Small-scale dispersed generators also promote greater
system reliability, decreasing a utility’s need for reserves.
The chances of an aggregate of 1,000 MW of small gener-
ators going off line unexpectedly are negligible compared
to the chances of an unplanned outage of a single 1,000 MW
central generating station. This decreased need for stand-
by capacity translates into cost savings to z utility.”

All of these benefits to ratepayers—decreased cost of
capacity additions, greater resource efficiency through com-
petition, and decreased need for reserve capacity due to
greater reliability—are directly correlated to the degree
of penetration of cogeneration and small power production
in the nation’s electricity markets. Full avoided cost rates
provide the maximum financial incentive for the construc-

Regulatory commissions have shown an increasing propensity to
penalize utilities for unused capacity resulting from imprudent ex-
pansion decisions. See, e.g., lowa State Commerce Commission, In
re Iowa Illinois Gas and Electric Company, RPLI-81-5, May 18,
1982; Ohio Public Utilities Commission, Re Dayton Power and
Light Co., Case No. 81-#L-AIR, 45 PUR 4th (Feb. 3, 1982); North
Dakota Public Service Commission, Re Otter Tail Power Co.,
Docket No. 10,124, 44 PUR 4th (July 20, 1981); Missouri Public
Service Commission, Re Kansas City Power and Light Co., Case
No. ER-80-48, 38 PUR 4th (June 19, 1980).

R. Deb and J. Mulvaney, “Economic and Engineering Factors
Affecting Unit Size,” IEEE Trans. on Power Apparatus
and Systems, V. PAS-101, No. 10 (October, 1982) 3907-3918. V.
Loose and T. Flaim, “Economics of Scale and Reliability: The
Economics of Large vs. Small Generating Units,” 4 Energy Systems
and Policy, Nos. I and 2 at 37-55 (1980).

tion and operation of such facilities without increasing
costs to electrical consumers. Any lower rate, whether based
upon a percentage of full avoided cost or some other for-
mula, would discourage some substantial percentage of such
facilities.”
V
THE FULL AVOIDED COST RULE IS IN THE PUBLIC
INTEREST

The Court of Appeals was unconvinced that the full
avoided cost rule meets the requirement that purchase rates
be “in the public interest.” (B-9.) To be non-redundant, this
standard must comprehend public benefits beyond the rate
benefits to particular customers. Many public interests may
be affected by the emergence of alternative energy systems,
but two benefits are particularly noteworthy because they
were much on the minds of the members of Congress in
enacting PURPA. These involve environmental quality and
energy security.”

A. The Full Avoided Cost Rate Produces Important En-
vironmental Benefits

The beneficial environmental impacts of cogeneration
and small power production were discussed by the agency
in the environmental impact statement on the proposed
rules.“ The impact statement found that [olne of the
major environmental benefits brought about by the opera-
tion of facilities indueed by PURPA will be to reduce
effects that otherwise would have occurred through con-

See, e.g., H. Rep. No. 543, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 5 (1978):

The fundamental problem for the U.S. energy policy is the
insecurity of its oil supply. . Our reliance on imported oil
is expected to increase dramatically if present practices and
policies are coritinued. .. Such an increase in our reliance on
oil imports would greatly constrain our foreign policy and
could do considerable damage to our economy.

“DEIS, note 14 supra.

ventional utility power generation.” DEIS at VI-30.“ This
statement projects that between 1980 and 1995, the full
avoided cost rule will defer 5400 MW of coal-fired genera-
ation, 1200 MW of nuclear power, 3300 MW of oil and gas-
fired generation, and 290 MW of large-scale hydropower.
Id. at VI-18. Each of these generating technologies imposes
substantial and controversial environmental costs at each
step of its fuel cycle, from fuel extraction through combus-
tion and waste disposal. The DEIS shows that for each new
1000 MW coal plant, 200,000-300,000 pounds per day of air
pollution will be produced, depending upon the region in
which it is located. Jd. at VII-32, Table VII-13. Again, de-
pending on the regiom, such a plant will produce between
1000 and 3700 tons of solid waste per day. Jd. at VII-33,
Table VII.

These substantial) environmental costs detract from
human health and quality of life. Small power production
avoids or greatly reduces these costs“ creating public ben-
efits that militate strongly in favor of maximum stimula-
tion of QF development.

B. The Full Avoided Cost Rate Enhances Energy

Security
The other public benefit foremost in the minds of the
Congress in enacting PURPA was the effect upon the

The advantages of cogeneration include the enhanced efficiency
with which it uses fuel reserves compared to conventional genera-
tion. Cogeneration requires but one-half as much fuel to produce
the same electricity as is required in a single purpose electricity
generating station R. Williams, Industrial Cogeneration, 3 Ann.
Rev. Energy 313 (1978).

To be sure, small power produces some untoward environ-
mental effects as well. Cogenerators, for instance, cause a certain
amount of air pollution. However, these effects were judged by the
Commission to be sufficiently small compared to the important en-
vironmental |benefits of small power to lead the Commission to con-
clude that “(tle overall development of QFs will not have a sig-
nificant effect on the of the human environment within the
meaning of Section 102 of NEPA.” DEIS at I- G.

24

nation’s vulnerability to supply interruptions and price
escalations from foreign sources of energy. As PURPA
was being debated, the nation was importing 8.5 million
barrels of oil per day—nearly half our needs—at fifteen
times the price charged only a few years before, and domes-
tic oil production was in decline.* The vulnerability asso-
ciated with this extermal dependence can be measured by
assessing the consequemces to the national economy should
the supply be preemptorily terminated. The Congressional
Budget Office estimates that the loss of oil from one foreign
supplier alone, Saudi Arabia, would cost the United States
$272 billion, increase the unemployment rate by two per-
cent, and boost the inflation rate by twenty percentage
points.” The disruption of America’s chief military allies
would be even greater. This concern has given rise to open
discussion of war to secure oil routes out of the Persian
Gulf. President Carter called the situation “a clear and
present danger to our national security.”

While we do not maintain that PURPA, however vigor-
ously implemented, can eliminate oil imports alone or im-
mediately, the public benefit of enhanced energy security is
furthered in direct proportion to the rate of deployment
of qualifying facilities. The maximum finaneial incentive
permitted under PURPA—full avoided cost—is the rate
that best satisfies the “public interest” design parameter.
This conclusion is too apparent to require extensive analy-
sis in the decision-making record or explicit discussion in
the Section-by-Section Analysis of the rules. It would be
absurd to remand this case to the agency for it to state
what no one ean credibly dispute.

“See Deese and Nye, Energy and Security 3 (Ballinger 1981).
**Congressional Budget Office, The World Oil Market in the
1980's: Implications for the United States (1980).

VI

THE FULL AVOIDED COST RULE, AS A RATE IN-
NOVATION, WARRANTS GREATER THAN OR-
DINARY JUDICIAL DEFERENCE”

In a typical case of judicial review of agency rule-
making, a “thorough, probing, in-depth review” is proper
under the instructions set forth by this Court in Citizens
to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 415
(1971).“ In conducting such a review, the Court of Appeals
failed to appreciate the unique features of this case. Judi-
cial review of rate cases proceeds subject to a rule of spe-
cial deference to the expert judgment of the decision-

Much debate has been joined in this litigation over the proper
standard of review. See FERC Petition for Cert. at 22; American
Paper Institute Petition for Cert. at 4, 16-20; Opposition to Petition
for Cert. at 9-12. No real difference exists between the “substantial
evidence standard and the arbitrary and capricious standard” in
practice, especially in regard to informal rulemaking, as both the
District of Columbia Circuit and the Second Circuit have recog-
nized. See American Public Gas Association v. Federal Power Com-
mission, 567 F.2d 1016, 1026-29 (D.C.Cir.) cert. denied, 435 U.S.
907 (1977); Associated Industries of New York v. Dept. of Labor,
487 F.2d 342, 348-350 (2d Cir. 1973).

“Overton Park, supra, established a three-part test. First, the
court is “required to decide whether the Secretary acted within the
scope of his authority.” Id. at 415. Involved in this inquiry is “a
determination of whether the Secretary's decision can reasonably
be said to be within that range set forth by Congress.” Id. Section
210 of PURPA established a range within which the rate for pur-
chases of power is to be set, namely that it shall not “exceed the in-
cremental cost to the electric utility of alternative energy.” Clearly,
the awoided cost rule does not exceed this point.

Secondly, a finding must be made that “the actual choice made
was mot ‘arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or ctherwise
not in accordance with law. Id. at 417. An examination of the over
4,000 pages of the record below amply illustrates that the decision
was “based on relevant factors” and that “there has been [no] clear
error of judgment.” Id. The Court of Appeals could only conclude
that the legislation “could” fail to induce additional cogeneration
and “might” leave customers worse off. At the same time, the Court

making agency. This principle applies a fortiori where, as
here, the rate is developed in response to a novel and ex-
perimental congressional mandate and subjected to tight
and strict time constraints.

A. The Avoided Cost Rule is Valid Under the Special
Deference Due Ratemaking

The instant case is steeped in the economics of rate-
setting. This Court and many others have recognized that
FERC’s regulation of rates under the “just and reason-
able” standard is due considerable deference. See Atchison,
Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. v. Wichita Bd. of Trade, 412 US.
800, 806 (1973) (quoting Manufacturers R. Co. v. United
States, 246 U.S. 457, 481 (1918) and Board of Trade of
Kansas City v. United States, 314 U.S. 534, 546 (1942)).
See also San Antonio, Texas ex rel. City Public Service
Board v. United States, 631 F.2d 831, 836 (D.C. Cir. 1980).

Justice Douglas recognized the special status of rate-
making, from the standpoint of judicial review, in a case
involving an order setting rates on coal:

Rate structures are not designed merely to favor the
revenues of producers and carriers. The Commission
has the consumer interest to safeguard as well. And
when it undertakes to rationalize the interests of the
three, great complexities are often encountered. The
economics of the bituminous coal industry have baffled
even experts. We would depart from our competence
and our limited function in this field if we undertook to
accommodate the factors of transportation conditions,
distance and competition differently than the Commis-
sion has done in this case. That is a task peculiarly
for it. In fashioning what the Commission called a dif-

admitted that the Commission “may be right in its conclusion.
B-38, B-11.

Third, “the final inquiry is whether the Secretary's action fol-

lowed the necessary procedural requirements.” Whether the proper

were followed is not at issue in this case which inval-

idated the avoided cost rule on substantive, not procedural, grounds.

27

ferentially related and finely balanced rate structure
for this coal, there is no place fur dogma or rigid
formulae. The problem calls for an expert, informed
judgment on a multitude of facts. The result is that
the administrative rate-maker is left with broad dis-
cretion as long as no statutory requirement is over-
looked. Yet that is, of course, precisely the nature of
the administrative process in this field.

Ayrshire Collierres Corp. v. United States, 335 U.S. 573,
592-93 (1949).

More recently, in Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390
U.S. 747 (1968), this Court had occasion to discuss in detail
the scope of judicial review of rates set by the Federal
Power Commission, the predecessor agency to the Federal
Energy Regulatory Commission. The Court quoted the
following passage from Permian Basin in Mobil Oil Corp.
v. FPC, 417 U.S. 283, 307-308 (1974) as the “criteria gov-
erning the scope of judicial review“:

The court's responsibility is not to supplant the Com-
mission’s balance of these interests with one more
nearly to its liking, but instead to assure itself that the
Commission has given reasoned consideration to each
of the pertinent factors.

Id. at 283, quoting Permian Basin, supra at 791-92 (empha-
sis in original).

The rule set forth by this Court is that a reviewing court
is “not obliged to examine each detail of the Commission’s
decision: if the ‘total effect of the rate order cannot be said
to be unjust and unreasonable, judicial inquiry under the
Act is at an end.’” Permian Basin, supra at 767, quoting
FPC v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591, 602 (1944).
See also Mobil Oil, supra at 307. The Court has recognized
that where Congress has invested an agency with general
responsibility for administration of a complex regulatory
scheme, the agency’s interpretation of its statutory charter
is entitled to special deference. EPA v. National Crushed
Stone, 449 U.S. 64, 83 (1980).

It is clear on the face of the Court of Appeals’ opinion
that its real quarrel was not with the methods the Commis-
sion used but rather the “balance of interests” it struck.
The above discussion illustrates that the Court of Appeals
was simply mistaken on the facts and the record. Its con-
trary view was an improper substitution of its judgment
for that of the Commission.

B. Judicial Deference is Also Appropriate Here in View
of the Congressional Command for a Novel and Un-
precedented Regulatory Initiative

FERC’s decision warrants deference for another reason.

PURPA marks a substantial departure from the traditional
utility monopoly over generation of electricity. See, e.g., 123
Cong. Rec. 23848 (daily ed. Aug. 1, 1977) (remarks of Sen.
Percy) ; 123 Cong. Ree. at 32403 (Oct. 5, 1977) (remarks of
Sen. Dunkin) ; id. at 32437, (remarks of Sen. Haskell) ; id.
at 32419 (remarks of Sen. Hart). It calls for a fundamental
reordering of the traditional regulatory scheme. Uniquely,
it gives FERC authority over retail sales of power
(from utilities to qualifying facilities as back-up power).
Uniquely, it also gives states regulatory authority over
sales for resale (power sales from QF’s to utilities).
Uniquely, it requires customers (utilities) to buy power
from any QF. Incentive rates to encourage certain modes
of power consumption are familiar, (e.g., peak load pric-
ing), but here FERC is required to prescribe rates which
encourage certain types of generation. While the establish-
ment of rates for electricity on the basis of the seller's
cost is familiar regulatory terrain, Congress’ desire to have
rates based on a buyer’s avoided costs is new ground.

Congress mandated these radical departures because of
the substantial benefits of privately-financed cogeneration
and small power producers. Yet, because of the pressing
energy problems facing the country, Congress wanted the
section 210 program implemented very quickly ; FERC was
given only twelve months to promulgate regulations. See

§ 210(a). Given the scope and complexity of the issues
raised and the limited time in which to consider them,
FERC could hardly be expected to make all its determina-
tions with algebraic precision. See Illinois v. Gorsuch, 530
F.Supp. 340 (D. D.C. 1981) (Short time frame is evidence
that “Congress did not expect the agency to resolve every
conceivable problem.”).

Courts have accorded an even greater degree of judicial
deference, “[{w]hen regulation features novelty, in subject,
technique, or both,” as another panel of the Court of
Appeals for the District of Columbia stated in American
Public Gas Ass’n v. FPC, 567 F.2d 1016, 1031 (D.C. Cir.),
cert. denied, 435 U.S. 907 (1977). See also Shell Oil Co. v.
FPC, 520 F.2d 1061, 1071 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied sub
nom. California Co. v. FPC, 426 U.S. 941 (1976) (“kid
glove” review appropriate because of “experimental nature
of regulation”); Kennecott Copper v. EPA, 462 F.2d 846
(D.C. Cir. 1972).

Because of the novelty of this exercise, history provides
few guideposts. The amount of power that will be pro-
duced or withheld at any specific rate is a matter for edu-
cated conjecture. The effects on ratepayers of various levels
of QF penetration is necessarily speculative.“ Informed
parties may earnestly disagree concerning the point of
exact equilibrium among competing interests.

The FERC has emerged from this regulatory minefield
with a formula which is logical, workable and within the
range of options established by Congress. The full avoided
cost role is the product of extensive and well-reasoned
staff discussion papers, a formal environmental impact
review, voluminous public comments garnered in two com-
ment periods and 8 public hearings in 5 locales. All of this

The FERC was aware that, because of the time constraint and
because of the novelty of the program, the rules would of necessity
be experimental and require review and revision as data from ac-
tual experience became available. See, e.g., R 1249, 1312, 2477, 2786,
Vol. 1, 146-47 DC4.

30

was accomplished within the tight time constraint of one
year from enactment of PURPA, as required under sec-
tion 210.”

Yet the Court of Appeals was not satisfied. In demanding
absolute precision and quantification for the full avoided
cost rule, the court applied a standard which no agency
could hope to meet under comparable circumstances. Had
the FERC adopted a “percentage of avoided cost” rule,
the apparent preference of the Court of Appeals, it would
manifest the same infirmities, as would any other formula.
The only likely result of such a standard of review is reg-
ulatory paralysis and the practical demise of an important
national energy program. PURPA is a novel and experi-
mental program entrusted to FERC, and is thus entitled to
more deference than a routine delegation of rulemaking
power.

CONCLUSION

The order of the Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia should be reversed on the full avoided cost issue.

Respectfully submitted,
Awan S. Mun Grecory A. THomas
Natural Resources Defense Natural Resources Defense
Council, Ine. Council, Ine.
Ww * Counsel of Record for
Amici

National Audubon Society
Of Counsel
Davin J. SHAFFER
Stanford Law School
Of Assistance on the Brief

(Appendix Follows)

„Courts also recognize a special deference to agency decisions
when they must be made within a short time frame. See, e.g., E. I.
du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. Train, 430 U.S. 112, 134-135 (1976);
Train v. Natural Resources Defense Council, 421 U.S. 60, 87 (1975);
Weyerhauser Co. v. Costle, 590 F.2d 1011 (D.C. Cir. 1978).

A-l

APPENDIX

DESCRIPTION OF AMICI

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., a national en-
vironmental organization with more than 44,000 members
residing in all states and territories, as well as abroad,
has as one of its principal goals the preservation and wise
use of the natural resources of the earth, including those
resources such as clean air and clean water held in com-
mon by all people. NRDC has sought, through the advocacy
of effective federal, state and local laws, to assure that
those commonly held resources are protected.

The National Audubon Society is one of the oldest, larg-
est and most experienced national conservation organiza-
tions. It is devoted to conservation and protection of the
natural environment which supports both humankind and
wildlife. The National Audubon Society’s 470,000 members
in 425 chapters are backed by a full-time staff of 200 work-
ing in ten regional offices. The staff includes scientists and
other professionals specialized in energy policy. In April,
1981, the Society published the Audubon Energy Plan in
which cogeneration and small-scale power production are
key elements in furthering the Society’s purpose of pro-
moting wise end efficient use of energy resources.

Solar Lobby is a not-for-profit organization with more
than 40,000 members across the United States, in the
US. verritories, and in other countries. Solar Lobby's pur-
pose is to take nationally focused political action to achieve
the rapid, substantial, and widespread use of solar energy
in an energy-efficient, environmentally sound, and equitable
society. The staff of the Solar Lobby works nationally and
through affiliate groups around the United States to en-
sure a rapid transition to a society based on renewable
energy resources and energy efficiency with an emphasis on
decentralized approaches to solving our energy needs. This
organization envisions a society that obtains twenty-five
percent of its total energy needs from renewable resources
by the year 2000. Solar Lobby’s national office is located in
Washington, D.C. The organization’s Media Project is lo-
cated in Los Angeles, California.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0376%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
