# Amicus Brief — Marsh v. Chambers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0365%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 463 U.S. 783

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United R L. STEVAS.

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

>

FRANK MARSH, STATE TREASURER, et al.,
Petitioners,

—V.—

ERNEST CHAMBERS,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF ANTI-DEFAMATION
LEAGUE OF B’NAI BRITH IN SUPPORT
OF RESPONDENT

er —_——— —_ — —
= —— ——_ —

DAVID J. EISEMAN
Golenbock, Eiseman & Assor
300 East 42nd Street
Of Counsel: New York, New York 10017

NATHAN E. ASSOR
Golenbock, Eiseman & Assor
300 East 42nd Street
New York, New York 10017

JUSTIN J. FINGER

JEFFREY P. SINENSKY

LESLIE K. SHEDLIN
Anti-Defamation League of B’nai Brith
823 United Nations Plaza
New York, New York 10017

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the Amicus Curiae... .........ccccccccees

ees GF GS Ge 0 occ decndsecusnsiséinnaene

SD GE AGREES. 5 oc ccvcccvaseteusssebeedesse
GSES Sc vicececiccvcecacesccesdseanGeaneel

THE NEBRASKA LEGISLATURE’S CHAP-
LAINCY PRACTICE VIOLATES THE FIRST
ARTGIEIGE ccccccccvcvcecceccescosesoccs

Il. NEBRASKA'S CHAPLAINCY PRACTICE
INVOLVES RELIGIOUS ACTIVITY .......

Il. NEBRASKA’S CHAPLAINCY PRACTICE
IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL UNDER THIS
COURT’S RULING IN LARSON V. VA-

A. Nebraska’s Chaplaincy Practice Is Subject

To Strict Scrutiny Under Larson ........

The Chaplaincy Practice Does Not Serve
A Compelling Governmental Interest And,
In Any Event, Is Not Closely Fitted To
Furthering Any Such Interest ...........

Ill. NEBRASKA’S CHAPLAINCY PRACTICE
IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL UNDER LEM-
GIN K RURRTEMAN . oc ccccccccvvesvecess

A.

Nebraska’s Practice Has The Direct Effect
Of Advancing Religion Because It Involves
Governmental Financial Support Of Reli-
CD GRD. «00 + 0c cbnenedédeues sekee

Nebraska’s Chaplaincy Practice Has The
Prohibited Effect Of Advancing Religion
Both In The Legislature And In Society As
WEE s ccc vccosddanccatuteeheacevas

10

14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE
Board of Education v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (1968)... .2, 6, 12
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940) ......... 6
Chambers v. Marsh, 504 F. Supp. 585 (D. Neb. 1980).. 3,7
Chambers v. Marsh, 675 F.2d 228 (8th Cir. 1982)...... 3
Committee for Public Education v. Nyquist, 413 U.S.
DE 66¢60e6u6Geboceccescceccocécecoecs 12, 13, 15
Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962) .... 6.666660 cee 7,14
Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. | (1947)..... 12
Karen B. v. Treen, 653 F.2d 897 (Sth Cir. 1981), aff'd
without opinion, 102 S. Ct. 1267 (1982)............ 8
Larson v. Valente, 102 S. Ct. 1673 (1982).......... 5, 6, 8, 9
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971)...... 2, 5, 6, 11, 15
Lemon v. Sloan, 413 U.S. 825 (1973) .........005000: 2
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961).......... 13, 18
Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975)... 2... ee eee ee 2, 6
School District of Abington Township, Pennsylvania v.
Schempp, 374 U.S. 203 (1963) ............ 2, 8, 14, 15, 19
Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 399 (1963) ..........055. 2
Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980) ..... 06.6665 005s 8, 11
Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971)..........5. 12
Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison, 432 U.S. 63
MM dtteedtiends ceeudesseteeovesceseeéooceses 2

Waiz v. State Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664 (1970) ... 6, 7,
11, 18

PAGE
West Virginia Board of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S.
Pc cacdstacseshosteebddedese es socconéts 15
Wolman v. Walter, 433 U.S. 229 (1977)... 2... 6.66005 2
Constitution, Statutes and Rules
United States Constitution
Pele CEES sc coves cccccceccccsccssosons passim
Nebraska Revised Statutes
SU CUE ocd 6cvecccoctorncoaseoncss 3
PD POPES oxbdccceshocscconscsoesee
Rules of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature
ee GB Biicccctesccecocegtbestiececsces 3
BD FE, DEED BERD oc ceccccedcctvicccoscccs 3,4

Rate 1A, Gectiem 28... ccccvcccccccscscccccces 4

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982
No. 82-23

>
FRANK MARSH, STATE TREASURER, et al.,
Petitioners,

—_f ==

ERNEST CHAMBERS,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

>

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF ANTI-DEFAMATION
LEAGUE OF B'NAI BRITH IN SUPPORT
OF RESPONDENT

Amicus supports the position of respondent and respectfully
submits that the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in the above-captioned case
should be affirmed.'

Interest of the Amicus Curiae

The Anti-Defamation League of B’nai Brith was organized
in 1913 as a section of B’nai Brith, the oldest civic service

I Amicus has filed with the Clerk of the Court letters, from counsel
for all parties, consenting to the filing of this brief.

2

organization of American Jews, to advance good will and
mutual understanding among Americans of all creeds and
races, and to combat racial and religious prejudice in the
United States.

The Anti-Defamation League has always adhered to the
principle, as an important priority, that the above goals and the
general stability of our democracy are best served through the
separation of church and state and the right to free exercise of
religion.

In support of this principle, the Anti-Defamation League
has previously filed amicus briefs before this Court in such
cases as School District of Abington Township, Pennsylvania
v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203 (1963), Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S.
399 (1963), Board of Education v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (1968),
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971), Lemon v. Sloan,
413 U.S. 825 (1973), Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975),
Trans World Airlines v. Hardison, 432 U.S. 63 (1977), and
Wolman v. Walter, 433 U.S. 229 (1977). The League is able to
bring to the issues raised on this appeal the perspective of a
national organization dedicated to safeguarding all persons’
religious freedoms.

In this case, the Court is asked to decide whether the
chaplaincy practice of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature
violates the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment.
Amicus believes that Nebraska’s retention of a chaplain of one
denomination for an extended period of time, and its expendi-
ture of funds during that time to support the daily recitation of
prayers, grant a denominational preference and constitute the
type of governmental support for religion prohibited by the
Establishment Clause. Accordingly, amicus urges the Court to
affirm the Eighth Circuit’s holding that Nebraska may not

continue its present chaplaincy practice.

3
Statement of the Case

At the beginning of cach session of Nebraska’s Unicameral
Legislature, the Executive Board of the Legislative Council of
the Legislature recommends the selection of a chaplain. Cham-
bers v. Marsh, 504 F. Supp. 585, 586 (D. Neb. 1980). Expressly
authorized by statute until 1973, the procedure has since taken
place pursuant to internal leglislative rules promulgated under
a statute authorizing the selection of legislative officers. Ru/es
of the Nebraska Unicameral Legisiature, Rule 1, Section 2
(“Nebraska Rules”); Nebraska Revised Statutes § 50-111
(1978). The procedure has resulted in the selection of Robert
Palmer, a Presbyterian clergyman, as the Legislature’s sole
chaplain since 1965. 504 F. Supp. at 586.

Mr. Palmer’s duties, set by the Nebraska Rules, include
opening every session of the Legislature with a prayer. Ne-
braska Rules, Rule 7(a), Section 1(b). The Legislature compen-
sates the chaplain for his services out of public funds pursuant
to statutory authorization. Nebraska Revised Statutes § 50-112
(1978). Compensation is paid at the rate of $320 per month for
every month the Legislature is in session. Chambers v. Marsh,
675 F.2d 228, 230 (8th Cir. 1982).

On three occasions during Mr. Palmer’s 16-year tenure,
prayer books containing compilations of his opening prayers
have been published and made available for public distribu-
tion. Financing for this also came from state funds, the
expenditure of which was approved by vote of the Legislature.
504 F. Supp. at 586.

A sampling of Mr. Palmer’s published opening prayers,
which is included in the record before this Court, reveals that
the prayers which Mr. Palmer has used to open the legislative
sessions are both religious and denominational.’ All of them

2 Charles Stephen, Jr., a clergyman who testified at the tria! of this
case as an expert witness, observed:
“Roughly half the prayers that | have seen in those booklets . . .
had Christian terminology, such as Jesus Christ or Our Lord or
terminology such as that. . . .” Joint Appendix, 36 (“J.A.”)

4

contain a theistic message and many contain references to basic
tenets of the Christian faith. Indeed, Mr. Palmer himself
characterized the prayers as Christian, although in his view
they nevertheless remained non-sectarian since most Americans
are Christian.’

The prayer practice is an integral part of the Nebraska
Legislature’s daily routine whenever it is in session. The Rules
mandate that the chaplain “shall open with prayer each day’s
sitting of the Legislature.” Nebraska Rules, Rule 1A, Section
21. And the prayer is part of the official proceedings; under
the Rules, the chaplain’s prayer is the first item in the “order
of business.” Nebraska Rules, Rule 7(a), Section 1(b).

This case presents a challenge to this particular chaplaincy
practice—involving the retention of a chaplain c* one denomi-
nation for an extended length of time and payment of state
funds to compensate the chaplain for reciting prayers which
are religious and emphasize the precepts of one denomination.
This case does not involve a challenge to legislative chaplaincy
practices in general.

3 At his deposition, Mr. Palmer testified as follows about prayers he
had offered in the Legislature:

“Q. The last sentence, what does the last sentence say? A. In
the name of Christ Our Lord.

Q. You'd agree, | assume, that— A. It's a Christian—

Q. Narrows it down to a Christian prayer? A. I wouldn't say
sectarian, but I'd say Christian.” (J.A. 76)

“Q. The flavor. Would you say that they're Christian prayers, at
least in the sense that you use the word ‘Jesus’ and ‘Christ’? Would
that be fair to say? A. No, that wouldn't be fair to say atall. . .
The majority of the prayers reflect more of what I don’t like to use
as a phrase, but | will, to clarify things, just civil religion in
America. The kind of religious expressions that are common to the
vast majority of most all Americans. (J.A. 83)

Summary of Argument

The Nebraska Legislature’s chaplaincy practice grants a
denominational preference and involves governmental finan-
cial support of religious activity. These two factors void the
chaplaincy practice under the principles developed by this
Court.

The chaplaincy practice here involves religious activity—the
daily recitation of prayers which are religious in nature and the
periodic publication of those prayers. By appointing a chaplain
of one denomination to perform this religious activity for 16
straight years, Nebraska’s Legislature has effectively granted a
denominational preference. Under the Court’s recent ruling in
Larson v. Valente, 102 S. Ct. 1673 (1982), such a preference
calls for strict scrutiny of the challenged practice. Nebraska’s
chaplaincy practice cannot withstand that analysis.

Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice also cannot survive under the
traditional three tests enumerated in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403
U.S. 602 (1971). Compensating the chaplain for offering pray-
ers which are both religious and denominational has the direct
effect of advancing religion in general and his religion in
particular. In addition, church and state in Nebraska have
become excessively entangled by virtue of the close and long-
standing relationship between the Legislature and its chaplain
and the potential that exists for political divisiveness.

Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice cannot be upheld on the
basis of legislative history which shows that the First Congress
of the United States had chaplains, and compensated them, at
the time that same Congress approved the language and con-
tent of the First Amendment. The First Congress’ own nascent
chaplaincy practice is the only one which that Congress can be
deemed to have approved. That practice cannot be equated
with the one challenged here.

ARGUMENT

THE NEBRASKA LEGISLATURE’S CHAPLAINCY
PRACTICE VIOLATES THE FIRST AMENDMENT

A state practice cannot be sanctioned if it violates the First
Amendment’s prohibition against “establishment of religion.”
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940). To come within
the ambit of the Establishment Clause, a practice must relate in
some way to religion or religious activity.

The three tests articulated in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S.
602 (1971), have served most often as this Court’s tool for
analyzing whether a practice which does involve religious
activity conflicts with the Establishment Clause.

“First, the statute must have a secular legislative purpose;
second, its principal or primary effect must be one that
neither advances nor inhibits religion, Board of Education
v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236, 243 (1968); finally, the statute
must not foster ‘an excessive governmental entanglement
with religion.’ Walz [v. State Tax Commission, 397 U.S.
664, 674 (1970)}. . . .” 403 U.S. at 612-613.

In addition, the Court has given special consideration to
certain factors, because their presence serves to “identify
instances in which the objectives of the Establishment Clause
have been impaired.” Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349, 358-59
(1975). These factors weight analysis heavily toward a finding
of unconstitutionality. Thus, in Larson v. Valente, 102 S. Ct.
1673 (1982), the Court recently held that the presence of one
such factor—that the practice effectively grants a denomina-
tional preference—requires that the law involved must be
treated as suspect and its constitutionality adjudged under a
strict scrutiny standard. Government financial support of reli-
gious activity is another factor which arouses heightened con-
cern. Like denominational preference, it touches a central
nerve of the Establishment Clause; indeed, the Court has

;

termed it one of the three dangers the Framers meant to guard
against with the Establishment Clause. Walz v. State Tax
Commission, 397 U.S. 664, 668 (1970).

As we show below, Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice does
involve religious activity and must accordingly be analyzed for
infirmity under the Establishment Clause. And whether consid-
ered under the standard developed in Larson or that set forth
in Lemon, the practice’s grant of a denominational preference
and the use of state funds in support of religious activity makes
Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice violative of the Establishment
Clause.

NEBRASKA’S CHAPLAINCY PRACTICE INVOLVES
RELIGIOUS ACTIVITY

The morning prayers recited by Nebraska’s chaplain are
religious in nature. As the district court found in this case: “To
say that the prayers have no religious purpose would reach
incredibility; they do indeed have a religious purpose for the
chaplain and for those who choose to listen for spiritual
reasons.” 504 F. Supp. at 589.

It could not be otherwise, given the numerous references to
God, Christ and precepts of Christianity. Indeed, the prayers
here have far more religious content than the twenty-two word
prayer whose recitation in New York schools was struck down
in Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962), of which the Court
said: “There can, of course, be no doubt that [it] . . . is a
religious activity.” /d. at 424.

That there is also a secular objective for offering the pray-
ers—“bringing the legislators to order by means of a brief,
solemn and thoughtful act in a traditional manner,” 504 F.
Supp. at 589—does not change its inherently religious charac-
ter. This Court has repeatedly refused to overlook the religious
nature of practices involving the use of religious text, even

where the stated objective of the practice is wholly secular. In
School District of Abington Township, Pennsylvania v.
Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 224 (1963), for example, the Court
rejected the state’s argument that the purposes of bible reading
exercises were wholly secular, stating: “[s]urely the place of the
Bible as an instrument of religion cannot be gainsaid.” Simi-
larly, in Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39, 41 (1980), the Court
rejected arguments that the Ten Commandments were being
used in a classroom in a wholly secular way: “The Ten
Commandments is undeniably a religious text in the Jewish
and Christian faiths, and no legislative recitation of a supposed
secular purpose can blind us to that fact.” See also Karen B. v.
Treen, 653 F.2d 897, 901 (Sth Cir. 1981), aff'd without opinion,
102 S. Ct. 1267 (1982) (“That [prayer] may contemplate some
wholly secular objective cannot alter the inherently religious
character of the exercise”).

Given the inherently religious character of the prayers—
which the chaplain recites daily in the Legislature when it is in
session and which have been published periodically, pursuant
to the Legislature’s authorization—Nebraska’s chaplaincy
practice must be subjected to examination to determine
whether it “establishes” religion in contravention of the First
Amendment.

NEBRASKA’S CHAPLAINCY PRACTICE IS UNCON-
STITUTIONAL UNDER THIS COURT’S RULING IN
LARSON \. VALENTE

A. Nebraska’s Chaplaincy Practice Is Subject To Strict
Scrutiny Under Larson

In Larson v. Valente, 102 S. Ct. 1673 (1982), the Court held
that strict scrutiny is required of a statute which grants a
denominational preference, because prevention of governmen-
tal preference of one religion over another is at the very heart
of the Establishment Clause. “The clearest command of the

9

Establishment Clause is that one religious denomination can-
not be officially preferred over another.” /d. at 1683.

The challenge in Larson was to a statute which exempted
religious organizations from registration and disclosure re-
quirements applicable to charitable organizations. The statute
contained a “fifty percent rule,” providing that the exemption
was available only to those religious organizations that re-
ceived more than half their total contributions from members
or affiliated organizations. This, the Court found, “effectively
distinguishes” between well-established churches and churches
which are either new, lacking in members or favor public
solicitation as a matter of policy. /d. at 1684 n. 23.

Applying the strict scrutiny test, the Court agreed that the
statute did have a valid secular purpose: protecting citizens
from abusive practices in solicitation of funds for charitable
purposes. /d. at 1685. But, it held, even assuming arguendo
that this could satisfy the requirement of a “compelling”
governmental interest, the fifty percent rule was nevertheless
constitutionally infirm because it was not “closely fitted” to
furthering that interest: there was nothing in the record before
the Court showing that the fifty percent rule was necessary to
protect citizens from abusive practices, or that it was even
logically related to the promotion of that interest. /d. at
1685-87.

Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice poses the same danger—
denominational preference—as the statute struck down in
Larson. Retaining a chaplain of one denomination to perform
a religious function over an extended period of time gives the
unmistakable impression that the particular religion is pre-
ferred by those doing the choosing—in this case, the Legisla-
ture. The practice, accordingly, should be subjected to the
same strict scrutiny.’

4 Unlike the situation in Larson, denominational preference is not
evident on the face of Nebraska's rule or statute. This difference,
however, does not alter the need for strict scrutiny here. It is the
Legislature’s practice that is being challenged, not its statute or rule.

[footnote continued]

10

B. The Chaplaincy Practice Does Not Serve A Compelling
Governmental Interest And, In Any Event, Is Not Closely
Fitted To Furthering Any Such Interest

Although the chaplaincy practice unquestionably serves a
valid secular interest, in addition to a religious purpose, this
secular interest—bringing the legislators to order in a solemn
and thoughtful manner—cannot fairly be characterized as
compelling. It is at most only tangentially related to the real
governmental interest implicated here: the legislative function.
Bringing the legislators to order is preliminary. The calling-to-
order by means of a ceremony is, in fact, probably not
necessary at all, for the sound of a gavel can do that. And
while the prayer may serve to create a sense of solemnity,
ceremony or history, these are only matters of atmosphere.
They do not have any significant relationship to the essence of
lawmaking—dissemination of information and debate.

Even if the interest served were deemed to be compelling, the
practice is not “closely fitted” to it. The religious nature of the
invocations is unrelated to the secular objective of calling the
legislators to order in a solemn, thoughtful manner. There are
numerous invocations without religious overtones which would
create an atmosphere of order and solemnity. Similarly, re-
stricting the chaplaincy to a representative of only one religion
for an extended length of time has no relationship to this
secular objective.

Nor is there the required close fit between the secular
objective here and Nebraska’s practice of compensating the
chaplain with taxpayer funds. There is nothing to suggest that
it is the use of taxpayers’ funds, rather than funds from some
other source, that enables the Legislature to secure chaplain
services. In any event, using funds from some other source

[footnote continued]

That practice violates the “clearest command of the Fstablishment
Clause” no less than the statute in Larson. The facial neutrality of
Nebraska’s statute and rule cannot save the practice, any more than an
unconstitutional act of the executive branch can be validated by the
soundness of the underlying statute which cloaks it with authority.

would not cure the problem. The state may not provide
funds—directly or indirectly—for use in connection with an
activity which is religious in character. See discussion at 11-14

infra.

Because Nebraska’s Legislature, through its chaplaincy prac-
tice, has granted a denominational preference, and because
that practice neither furthers a compelling governmental in-
terest nor is closely fitted to furthering any valid secular
interest, the practice cannot be sanctioned.

NEBRASKA’S CHAPLAINCY PRACTICE IS UNCON-
STITUTIONAL UNDER LEMON k KURTZMAN

Even if Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice could survive strict
scrutiny, it could not pass muster under the standard of Lemon
v. Kurzman, supra. A practice must satisfy all three of the tests
in Lemon in order to avoid the prohibition of the Establish-
ment Clause. Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39, 40 (1980).
Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice fails two of those tests. It has
the direct effect of advancing religion and it fosters an exces-
sive government entanglement with religion.

A. Nebraska’s Practice Has The Direct Effect Of Advancing
Religion Because It Involves Governmental Financial
Support Of Religious Activity

The Establishment Clause was designed to guard against
governmental financial support of religious activity. Walz v.
State Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664, 668 (1970). This Court,
accordingly, has closely scrutinized schemes that funnel funds
to religious institutions or otherwise subsidize or aid religious
practices. Indeed, the proscription against providing financial
support to religion is so central to the Establishment Clause,
the Court has held that the mere possibility that government
funds might be used in connection with religious activity is
enough to void a practice under that Clause.

12

In Committee for Public Education v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756
(1973), the Court struck down a financial aid program which
gave money grants to non-public schools for maintenance and
repair because nothing in the statute barred use of the funds to
pay salaries of employees who maintained the school chapel,
or the cost of renovating, heating or lighting classrooms in
which religion was taught. /d. at 774. To pass muster, the
Court said, there must be “an effective means of guaranteeing
that the state aid derived from public funds will be used
exclusively for secular, neutral and nonideological purposes.”
Id. at 780. See also Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971)
(voiding that part of a statute which entitled the government to
recover construction grants to sectarian colleges if the money
was used to promote religious interests, but which provided for
expiration of that condition after twenty years).

The Court has upheld state aid only where it is for use solely
in connection with a wholly secular function. In such in-
stances, the mere fact that aid goes to a religious institution
does not invalidate the practice, since the aid to the institution
is only incidental to the provision of support for the secular
activity. See Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1 (1947)
(reimbursement for public transportation); Board of Educa-
tion v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (1968) (provision of secular text-
books). But supported activities must be “ ‘so separate and so
indisputably marked off from the religious function,’ . . . that
they may be fairly viewed as reflections of a neutral posture
toward [religion]. . . .” Committee for Public Education v.
Nyquist, supra, 413 U.S. at 782, quoting Everson v. Board of
Education, 330 U.S. 1, 18 (1947).

Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice does not fit within that
limited category of practices which are “so separate and
indisputably marked off from the religious function,” and it
does not provide the necessary “guarantee” that state funds
will be used only for secular functions. The prayer practice
serves both religious and secular functions. The functions are
intertwined and cannot be separated from each other. Expendi-
ture of state funds in connection with the practice thus inevi-

13

tably involves financial support of religious activity. That
invalidates the practice. Expenditures for the purpose of pub-
lishing the prayers are impermissible for the same reasons.

It makes no difference that the payments go to the chaplain
individually, rather than to his church. It is not the identity of
the recipient that matters; it is the nature of the activity for
which the state is providing support. If the activity is religious
in nature—even if it also has aspects which are secular—the
government cannot support it financially. The Court made this
clear in Nyquist, invalidating a tuition reimbursement program
which provided payments directly to low income parents who
sent their children to non-public schools.

The presence of both secular and religious components in
Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice distinguishes this case from
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961), where the Court
rejected a challenge to Sunday Closing Laws. The holding
there rested on the Court’s finding that the Closing Laws had
shed their religious character over time. Tracing the develop-
ment of Sunday iegislation over the years, the Court concluded
that the Laws had “undergone extensive changes from its
earliest forms, id. at 431; that over time Sunday had been
transformed into a day of “recreation, cheerfulness, repose
and enjoyment,” id. at 448; and that legislation prohibiting
certain activities on Sunday could no longer be characterized as
religious in character, as evidenced by exemptions given to
various activities, such as sale of alcoholic beverages and
operation of beaches and amusement parks, id. On the basis of
these findings, the Court held that any benefit to religion, such
as facilitating church attendance, was incidental and not suffi-
cient to invalidate the laws as “respecting an establishment of
religion.”

Unlike the Sunday closing practice at issue in McGowan, the
purpose and character of Nebraska's chaplaincy practice re-
main religious to this day. And because Nebraska’s chaplaincy
practice involves religious activity, under the principles es-
tablished by this Court in Nyquist and the other financial

14

support cases, the use of state funds in connection with that
activity has the proscribed effect of advancing religion, both
directly and immediately.

B. Nebraska's Chaplaincy Practice Has The Prohibited Ef-

fect Of Advancing Religion Both In The Legislature And
In Society As A Whole

It is amicus’ contention that Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice
has the prohibited effect of advancing religion even though the
prayers are directed at the legislative membership, not at the
public at large, and even though the members of the Legisla-
ture are apparently free to absent themselves during the morn-
ing prayer.

There is no state function more public than the making of
laws. The sessions of the Legislature, at which this function
takes place, are the subject of the attention of a broad
spectrum of the citizenry, from politically minded adults to
impressionable school children who study it in civics. The
chaplaincy practice is part and parcel of those legislative
sessions. Regardless of whom the chaplaincy practice was
intended to benefit, its effects carry beyond the legislative
chamber; indeed it is difficult to imagine a forum that would
serve more effectively to convey a message to all Nebraskans.

Since the effects of the chaplaincy practice are not confined
to the Legislature, the legislators’ freedom to waix out during
the prayer ceremony is of no significance. In any event, the
Court has consistently held that the Establishment Clause
cannot be circumvented by making a practice voluntary:

“Neither the fact that the prayer may be denominationally
neutral nor the fact that its observance on the part of

* students is voluntary can serve to free it from the limita-
tions of the Establishment Clause. . . .”

Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421, 430 (1962). See also School
District of Abington Township, Pennsylvania v. Schempp,
supra, 374 U.S. at 224-25.

15

Nor does it matter that, apart from the challenge respondent
has mounted in this case, there has apparently been little
concern voiced by either the Legislature or citizens over Ne-
braska’s chaplaincy practice. It is enough that respondent
objects. Whether a practice is or is not constitutional has no
relationship to the number of people who agree with it. School
District of Abington Township, Pennsylvania v. Schempp,
supra, 374 U.S. at 226. In fact, the very purpose of the Bill of
Rights was to take certain matters away from “the vicissitudes
of political controversy.” West Virginia Board of Education v.
Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 638 (1943). “One’s rights to. . .
freedom of worship . . . may not be submitted to vote; they
depend on the outcome of no elections.” /d.

The Court has always shown great sensitivity to practices
that threaten to impinge on the First Amendment. Even a
minor encroachment is enough to warrant invalidating a prac-
tice. As the Court said in Schempp:

“[(I}t is no defense to urge that the religious practice here
may be a relatively minor encroachment on the First
Amendment. The breach of neutrality that is today a
trickling stream may all too soon become a raging tor-
rent. . . .” 374 U.S. at 225.

Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice has an effect that advances
religion. It is not necessary to determine the extent to which
religion is advanced. The fact that there is an effect, and that it
is direct and immediate, makes it inconsistent with the First
Amendment.

C. Nebraska’s Practice Fosters An Excessive Entanglement
With Religion

The “entanglement” component of the Lemon tests guards

against “the intrusion of either [church or state] into the

precincts of the other,” Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 614

(1971), and the potential for political divisiveness along reli-

gious lines, Committee for Public Education v. Nyquist, supra.

16

The same aspects of Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice which
trigger strict scrutiny under Larson and directly advance reli-
gion also give rise to an excessive entanglement of church and
state. The extended tenure of the chaplain and the use of state
funds to pay his salary and publish his prayers result in so close
a relationship between the chaplain and the Legislature that
they have “invaded each other’s precincts.”

Additionally, the chaplaincy practice here has the potential
for political divisiveness. The respondent in this case testified
at trial that the prayer practice, and his response to it, create
political divisiveness between him and the other legislators.
(J.A., 24-25) And the longer the legislature’s employment of a
chaplain of one denomination goes on—foreclosing the chap-
laincy from others—the greater the likelihood that legislators
and their constituents with a different religious orientation will
balk at the seeming preference of another religion and press to
have someone of their own religion occupy the post.

In short, Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice cannot survive the
“effect” or “entanglement” tests of Lemon. As reflected in the
application of those tests, Nebraska’s practice entails a rela-
tionship between religion and the Legislature which does not
comport with the constitutional principle of separation of
church and state.

IV.

NEITHER THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF THE
FIRST AMENDMENT NOR HISTORICAL ACCEPT-
ANCE OF CHAPLAINCIES SAVES NEBRASKA’S CHA-
PLAINCY PRACTICE FROM UNCONSTITUTIONALITY

Petitioners, and the United States in its amicus brief, point
out that members of the First Congress appointed and voted to
compensate chaplains about the time that the First Amend-
ment was ratified. On the basis of this legislative history, they
argue that the Framers did not mean to disallow chaplaincies
and Nebraska’s present chaplaincy practice must therefore be
held constitutional.

17

The argument proves too much. The existence of paid
Congressional chaplaincies at the time the language of the First
Amendment was accepted shows only that chaplaincies were
not viewed as necessarily inconsistent with the First Amend-
ment. But it does not follow, and there is nothing in the
legislative history to suggest, that the First Congress gave, or
intended to give, blanket and prospective approval to any and
all chaplaincy practices.

The chaplaincy practice challenged in this case is different
than the practice in Congress at the time it approved the
content of the First Amendment. The practice at issue here
involves a Legislature with but one House and the retention
and compensation of a chaplain of one denomination for 16
consecutive years. These factors were not present in the chap-
laincy practice the First Congress had. At the time Congress
reached final agreement on the wording and content of the Bill
of Rights, the Senate and House chaplaincies had been in
effect only five months; and legislation to compensate the
chaplains was only three days old. Brief for the United States
as Amicus Curiae, at 11. Furthermore, the practice approved
by Congress specifically provided for the hiring of two chap-
lains—one in each House, to be interchanged weekly—each of
different faith. Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae,
at 10-11.° The use of two chaplains, and the practice of
rotating them between Houses, is, of course, not even possible
in Nebraska, which has only one House.

In light of these differences, it cannot reasonably be con-
cluded that the implicit approval the First Congress gave to its
own practice extends to the Nebraska practice at issue here.

5 The United States points out that this rotation practice was discon-
tinued in 1856, although as it happens, both Houses have always had
chaplains of different denominations. Brief for the United States as
Amicus Curiae, at 13. The fact that the rotation practice was discon-
tinued is not relevant to the intent of the First Congress, which
approved the language of the First Amendment some seventy years
earlier.

Nor does the use of legislative chaplaincies over the years by
Congress and the States serve to validate the chaplaincy prac-
tice challenged here. The mere fact of long use cannot validate
an otherwise unconstitutional practice.

“It is obviously correct that no one acquires a vested or
protected right in violation of the Constitution by long
use, even when that span of time covers our entire
national existence and indeed predates it.” Walz v. State
Tax Commission, supra, 397 U.S. at 678.

Although the Court did review the history of challenged
practices in both Walz and McGowan v. Maryland, supra,
these historical overviews were provided because they illumi-
nated aspects of the practices which negated any finding of
unconstitutional effect. In Walz, the Court looked at history in
explaining that tax exemptions for religious institutions were a
response to earlier use of the tax to oppress religion as well as
the product of a desire to minimize government involvement in
religious affairs. 397 U.S. at 675. And in McGowan v. Mary-
land, supra, the passage of time was significant because during
it, the practice of Sunday closing had shed its religious charac-
ter.

Unlike the tax exemption upheld in Wa/z, Nebraska’s chap-
laincy practice does not derive from considerations underlying
the Establishment Clause or any other constitutional source.
And in contrast to the Sunday Closing Laws, Nebraska’s
chaplaincy has not shed its religious character.

The appropriate method for resolving the constitutionality
of Nebraska’s practice is by applying the principles the Court
has developed in the context of Establishment Clause adjudica-
tion. Applying those principles here compels the conclusion
that Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice is unconstitutional.

19

Conclusion

“In the relationship between man and religion, the State is
firmly committed to a position of neutrality.” School District
of Abington Township, Pennsylvania v. Schempp, supra, 314
U.S. at 203. Through its chaplaincy practice, the State of
Nebraska has deviated from that position by granting a
denominational preference and using state funds to advance
religion.

Amicus urges the Court to restore the constitutionally man-
dated neutrality by voiding Nebraska’s chaplaincy practice.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID J. EISEMAN
Golenbock, Eiseman & Assor
300 East 42nd Street
New York, New York 10017

Of Counsel:

NATHAN E. ASSOR
Golenbock, Eiseman & Assor
300 East 42nd Street
New York, New York 10017

JUSTIN J. FINGER

JEFFREY P. SINENSKY

LESLIE K. SHEDLIN
Anti-Defamation League of B'nai Brith
823 United Nations Plaza
New York, New York 10017

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0365%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
