# Amicus Brief — Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0054%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 464 U.S. 238

## Text

No. 81-2159

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1982

BILL M. SILKWOOD, Administrator of the
Estate of KAREN G. SILKWOOD, Deceased,
Appellant,

Vv.

KERR-MCGEE CORPORATION and KERR-McGEE
NUCLEAR CORPORATION,
Appellee.

ON APPEAL FRO: THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
AND
_ BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL WOMEN'S
HEALTH NETWORK AS AMICUS CURIAE

ANTHONY Z. ROISMAN

Trial Lawyers for
Public Justice

2000 P Street, N. u.

Suite 611

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 463-8600

Attorney for
Amicus Curiae

April 27, 1983

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the federal Atomic Energy
Act preempts the application of a state
punitive damages law, which punishes
people who recklessly inflict injury on
others, where the injury was caused by
the release of plutonium from a federally

regulated nuclear facility.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED .....0se0-e-seeeeee ood
TABLE OF AUTHORITIEᷣVti . Iv

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF
AMICUS CURIAE rere TTT TT TTTTiTTTT Te

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURA E. ꝝ.. viii

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE TOoTeTTTTTTTrTrre, |

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE E.. 1

STATEMENT OF THE ass. 82
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ......-ee+ee02009
ARGUMENT ee eee een eee once

THE OKLAHOMA PUNITIVE DAMAGES

STATUTE NEITHER CONFLICTS WITH

THE ATOMIC ENERGY ACT NOR HAS

CONGRESS EXPRESSED AN INTENT

THAT IT BE PREEMPTED BY THE ACT .....8

A. Zhe Oklahoma Punitive

— i, ere T TT TT

(ii)

B. The Oklahoma Punitive
Damages Statute Does
Not Satisfy The Pre-

requisites For preempt ton
Based On This Court
Preemption Analysis ere

CONCLUSION eee eee ee eee e eee see eee

(iii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Cox v. Theus, 569 P.2d 447 (Okla.
N 266040006 eee

Dayton Hudson Corp. v. Amer. Mutual
Liab. Ins. Co., 621 P.
TOkla. 1980) OTT eee eee eee eee e een

Duke Power v. Carolina Environmental
Study Group, 438 U.S. 59 (1978) ....21

Fidelity Federal Sav. & Loan Ass'n.
v. De La Cuesta, 102 S.Ct.
eee eee eee eee

Florida Lime and Avocado Growers v.
Paul, 373 U.S. 132 (1963) 9 0 0 0 000, 0

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52
(1941) LOTT PF rr TTT Tr TTT TT

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S.
519 (1977) NOO66 66606 60606600000000808R

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and

755 nc. V.
eee eee eee eee eee ee eee eee een

r Co. v.
’ . 3 (8th Cir.
*d mem., 405 U.S. 1035

(1972) bO666666 66+ 000000000000000000088
24887 Hicks, 441 b. 24 356 (Okla.
)

666666666666 b00000 00000 eee eee

(iv)

Pacific Gas and Elec. v. Ener Res.
Comm NR., No. 81-1945, slip op. (April
20, 1983) . 14,18,19, 22,24, 25

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331
U.S. 218 (1947) ee ee eee eee eee ee eee

San 6 719 Unions v. Garmon, 359 U.S.

( „ h „ „ „„ „ „ *eree „ „ „ „ 56060
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee, 485 F.Supp.

W. D. Okla. 1979) „ „ „ „„ „„ eee 2,3

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee, 667 F.2d 908
(10th Cir. 1981) 5 6 00 0% %% 0000000090

Walton v. Bennett, 376 P. 2d 240
(Okla. 1962) Sees eee eee

Statutes:

Atomic Energy Act:
U.S.C. § 2013(b) 9 6 % % % %jãũẽ• eee eee
42 U.S.C. 8 2021 (0) eee Fs
U.S.C. 8 2021 (K) e eee eee ee eee
42 98. 8 2210 6 6 6 0 0% % %% %%% %%% %%%
42 U.S.C. § 2282 very rrTrTTrTrTTTTr..
Clean Water Act Amendments of 1977:
42 U.S.C. § 7422 (Supp. III 1979)...24
Oklahoma Statute:

23 Okla. Stat. § 9 (19717 4

(v)

Other:
10 c. r. R. § 20 (1962²ꝗ7ĩ 2 ũꝗ/: 4

H.R. Rep. No. 2043, 89th Cong., 2d Sess.
ll (1966) eeeeveeaeres ee eee . „ „„ „„ „„ „ „„ „„ 21

S. Rep. No. 870, 86th Cong., Ist
Sess. 12 (1959) eee e eee

(vi)

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1982

No. 81-2159
BILL M. SILKWOOD, Administrator of the

Estate of KAREN G. SILKWOOD, Deceased,
Appellant,

Vv.

KERR-MCGEE CORPORATION and KERR-McGEE
NUCLEAR CORPORATION,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

. MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL WOMEN'S
HEALTH NETWORK AS AMICUS CURIAE

The National Women's Health Network
hereby moves this Court for leave to file

the accompanying brief amicus curiae

urging the Court to reverse the decision

below. It is the position of amicus that

(vii)

the Oklahoma punitive damages law seeks
to deter tortious conduct committed with
malice, oppression or fraud and is thus
not preempted by the Atomic Energy Act,
which regulates the use of nuclear
materials unrelated to tortious conduct
or the state of mind of the regulated

user.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The National Women's Health Network
(NWHN ) is a non-profit organization,
formed in 1975, and serves as the only
national public interest organization
devoted exclusively to women and health.
Its objectives include changing the
structure and character of our health
care system to better meet the needs of
consumers and health care workers, and

addressing the abuses and inadequacies of

(viii)

the present system. NWHN's 12,000
individual and 300 group members repre-
sent a constituency of almost half a
million people.

NWHN is a broad-based women's health
care organization whose interests will be
affected by the disposition of the
present proceeding. NWHN has a signifi-
cant interest in ensuring that its
members and the society at large are not
harmed intentionally, maliciously or with
reckless disregard for their well being
by anyone, whether that person is
fedérally regulated or not.

Nunn, in its attempt to effectuate
its goala, finds it desirable, and often
necessary, to take positions on either
legislation or judicial decisions that
have a significant effect on women's
health. WWHN believes thet the Court of

(ix)

Appeals decision below, Silkwood v.

Kerr-McGee, 667 F.2d 908 (10th Cir. 1981)

has such an effect on women's health by
preventing a state from punishing those
whose harmful acts are committed with
malice or reckless disregard for the
safety of others and thus eliminating an
important deterrent to malicious or
reckless conduct. The mere existence of
federal regulation of an industry should
not by implication preempt state laws
which punish all persons, including a
regulated industry, where its reckless
actions cause significant harm.

NAWN supports Appellant's position
that the Atomic Energy Act does not
preempt the Oklahoma punitive damages
statute. The two laws were not intended
to control the seme activity, and do not
conflict in their aprlication. NHW urges

this Court to reverse the Court of
Appeals decision and reinstate the
punitive damages awarded by the jury and
approved by the District Court.

NWHN has sought the consent of the
parties to the filing of this brief, but
was only able to secure permission of
Appellant.

Respectfully submitted,

ANTHONY Z. ROISMAN

Trial Lawyers for
Public Justice

2000 P Street, N.W.

Suite 611

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 463-8600

Attorney for
Amicus Curiae

April 27, 1983

(xi )

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1982

No. 81-2159
BILL M. SILKWOOD, Administrator of the

Estate of KAREN G. SILKWOOD, Deceased,
Appellant,

Vv.

KERR-MCGEE CORPORATION and KERR-McCGEE
NUCLEAR CORPORATION,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL WOMEN'S
HEALTH NETWORK AS AMICUS CURIAE

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
The interest of amicus is set out in
the accompanying motion for leave to file

this brief amicus curiee.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The representative of the estate of
Karen Silkwood brought this tort action
for injury suffered by Karen Silkwood, a
worker at defendant's federally-regulated
nuclear facility. as a result of her
exposure to radiation from plutonium
found in her apartment. The jury in this
diversity suit found defendant's conduct
reckless, and awarded in addition to
$505 thousand actual damages for personal
and property injuries, $10 million in
punitive damages. The District Court

upheld the actual and punitive damages

1 fhe word *reckless" as used throughout
this brief encompasses the concepts of
wanton disregard of another's rights or
such gross negligence that malice or evil
intent will be inferred, as provided by
jury instruction No. 19 at trial.

80 7 Ob Toe, at F.Supp. 566,

3

awards. Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 485

F. Supp. at 590-91. Chief Judge Theis
rejected the claim that the federal
preemption doctrine precluded award of
common law tort remedies for injuries
caused by exposure to radiation.
Defendant appealed, claiming inter
alia, that the Federal Atomic Energy Act,
which established a federal mechanism for
developing, utilizing and controlling
atomic energy, preempts the Oklahoma
punitive damages statute. The District
Court decision was reversed in part by
the Tenth Circuit, with Judge Doyle dis-

senting.2 Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee, 667

2 The Court of Appeals also struck down the
$500 thousand personal injury award
holding that Karen Silkwood's injuries
were job related, thus invoking the sole

of worker's compensation.
. Kerr-McGee, 667 F.2d at 1

4
F.2d 908, 922-23 (10th Cir. 1981).
Rehearing, and rehearing en banc were
denied on February 19, 1982. Appellant's
Jurisdictional Statement was filed on May
20, 1982.

The Oklahoma statute allows punitive
damages “for the breach of an obligation
not arising from contract, where the
defendant has been guilty of oppression,
fraud or malice, actual or presu ned.
23 Okla. Stat. § 9 (1971).

The Atomic Energy Act regulates the
use of nuclear power by issuance of
licenses and permits, subject to parti-
cular regulations. The regulation of
relevance here controls the quantity of
plutonium which can be released from a
nuclear facility. 10 C. r. R. § 20 (1982).
The Atomic Energy Act also establishes a

5

system of federal insurance to provide
funds to persons who are injured as the
result of the operation of nuclear
facilities and who recover judgments
under state tort law. (Price-Anderson

Act (42 U.S.C. § 2210)).

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Since 1954 when Congress enacted the
Atomic Energy Act, it has had occasion to
amend the statute and related statutes
several times. In the original Act, and
through many of these amendments,
Congress has re-emphasized that states
retain important rights even though the
exercise of these rights may “impact upon
the development of nuclear power. Only
recently, this court held that the
Congressional decision to preempt state

6

law expressed in the Atomic Energy Act
should be narrowly limited to those state
laws which have nuclear safety as their
purpose. In 1957, when Congress adopted
a federal system to provide insurance to
cover claims arising from public exposure
to radiation, it went out of its way to
preserve state common law and statutory
tort liability. Even when the courts
held that states could not directly and
more stringently regulate air emission of
radiation from nuclear plants, Congress
quickly amended the law to restore the
state's right.

It is against this strong history of
protecting traditional state interests
that this Court should now examine the
decision of the court below. That court

held that the Oklahoma statute allowing

7

punitive damages is preempted by the
Atomic Eneray Act. In effect, the court
concluded that a company which is
regulated by the Nuclear Regulatory
Commission, and which commits a tort in
such a manner that it constitutes
reckless disregard of the welfare of
others, is immune from imposition of
punitive damages for its conduct if it
happens to commit the tort by exposing
the plaintiff to radiation.

It is apparent that because the
Oklahoma law seeks to punish and deter a
tortfeasor's particular state of mind,
and the Atomic Energy Act seeks to
regulate the use of nuclear material to
protect the public health and safety,
that the two laws regulate entirely

different conduct, and do not conflict or

even compete with each other. For these
reasons, preemption is totally inappro-

priate.

ARGUMENT

THE OKLAHOMA PIJNITIVE DAMAGES
STATUTE NEITHER CONFLICTS WITH
THE ATOMIC ENERGY ACT NOR HAS
CONGRESS EXPRESSED AN INTENT
THAT IT BE PREEMPTED BY THE ACT.

A. The Oklahoma Punitive

Damages Statute And The
itoate Ener Act Do Not
Regulate The Same Conduct
A us reempt ion
Issue Is Not Presented.”

Preemption analysis is not appli-
cable in this case. As a matter of
common sense, there is not a basis for
_ embarking upon a preemption analysis
unless there are two laws, one federal
and one state, which regulate the same

conduct. Here, that is not the case.

9

In this case, the only federal law
at issue involves the regulation of the
emissior of plutonium from defendant's
nuclear power plant. The Nuclear
Regulatory Commission has adopted
regulations establishing the limits for
releases of plutonium by defendant and
others, and imposes punishment on those
who violate the regulation. The Oklahoma
statute punishes a defendant for commit-
ting a tort (irrespective of whether the
action does or does not comply with
federal regulations) with the state of
mind characterized as “oppressive,
fraudulent or malicious." In short, the

matter on which [Oklahoma] asserts the

‘

10
right to act" is not in any way regu-
lated by the federal government." Rice v.

Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 313 U.S. 218,

236 (1947).

An examination of the purposes of
the two statutes will further illustrate
the distinction between the activities
which the statutes regulate.

The regulatory purpose of the Atomic
Energy Act is to assure that nuclear
power is developed “to the maximum extent
consistent with the common defense and
security and with the health and safety
of the public.” 42 U.S.C. § 2013(b).

The purpose of the Oklahoma statute
is to punish, and -hereby deter, tort-
feasors for the reckless manner in which

they inflict harm on innocent people.

Dayton Hudson Corp. v. Amer. Mutual Liab.

Ins. Co., 621 P.2d 1155, 1158 (Okla.

1980); see also Oller v. Hicks, 441 P.2d

356, 360 (Okla. 1967); Cox v. Theus, 569
P. 2d 447 (Okla. 1977); Walton v. Bennett,
376 P. 2d 240, 243 (Okla. 1962). It is
the improper state of mind in the
commission of a tort which controls the

award of punitive damages. Dayton Hudson

Corp. v. Amer. Mutual Liab. Ins. Co., 621

P.2d at 1158-59.

In addition, the elements recuired
to establish a violation of the federal
and state statutes are quite different.

Under the federal statute, if a
licensee fails to comply with the NRC
regulations it is liable, regardless of
negligence or the licensee's state of
mind. 42 U.S.C. § 2282. In contrast,

under the Oklahoma statute, there is a

12
two step process. First, the court
determines whether defendant has wronged
plaintiff, and second, the court evalu-
ates whether punitive damages are
appropriate by examining the state of
mind of the defendant when committing the
tort. Cox v. Theus, 569 P.2d at 449-50.
In this case, not only did the jury have
to decide whether plutonium was an
ultrahazardous substance, whether it
originated in the Kerr-McGee facility,
and whether Karen Silkwood's property or
person were injured by it away from the
worksite (all of which were required to
establish that an actionable tort had
been committed), but in addition, the
jury had to decide whether Kerr-McGee's
conduct was oppressive, fraudulent or

malicious.

13

Because the federal and state
statutes regulate different conduct, as
evidenced by their entirely different
purposes and the different elements
required to establish a violation,

preemption is inappropriate in this case.

B. The Oklahoma Punitive
Dam 22 Does

Not Satis re-
r otettes Por * tion
Based On This a

Preemption Analysis.

Fundamental to preemption analysis
is an effort by courts to discern the
intent of Congress in enacting the
federal statute at issue. Because that
is often a difficult task, this Court has

taken great strides to avoid preemption

14

of state law whenever possible 3 In its
most recent decisions on preemption, this
Court emphasized the intent and purpose
of Congress in enacting federal legisla-
tion, and established minimum points of
contact between federal and state
Statutes which must exist before a
question of possible preemption arises.

Pacific Gas and Elec. v. Energy Res.

Comm'n., No. 81-1945, slip op. at 11
(April 20, 1983); Pidelity Federal Sav. “

Loan Ass'n. v. De La Cuesta, 102 S.Ct.

3014 (1982). In the present case, these

threshold points of contact do not exist.

; *

3 See Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner **
Smith, Inc. v. Ware, 414 J. F. 117, 127
(1973); Florida Lime and Avocado Grovers
v. Paul, "

Diego ‘go Unions v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 238.

—

15

The most obvious contact point, and
the one where this Court has had no
problem finding preemption, is where the
intent of Congress, as expressed in the
language of the federal statute, forbids
state regulation of a certain type, or
expressly requires that federal regula-
tion be exclusive and the state statute
in fact attempts the prohibited regula-

tion. Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430

U.S. 519, 525 (1977). It is clear that
| such express preemptive language is not
present in this case.

A second contact point exists when
the relationship between a federal and
state statute is such that compliance
with both is a physical impossibility.

Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v.
Paul, 373 U.S. at 142-43. This contact

16

point does not exist between the federal
and state statutes at issue, because
Kerr-McGee can comply with federal
regulatory standards, and also avoid
reckless conduct.

A third contact point is present
when the state law “stands as an obstacle
to the accomplishment and execution of
the full purposes and objectives of

Congress." Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S.

52, 67 (1941). This contact point is
missing in this case, because there is no
federal objective that the Oklahoma law
frustrates. As already noted, the
federal law establishes a program to
develop nuclear power consistent with the
defense of this country and the health
and safety of its citizens. The Oklahoma

law punishes those whose tortious conduct

17

may impact on the health and safety of
others, but only if those tortfeasors
have an improper state of mind.

The Court of Appeals, in a strained
attempt to apply this third contact point
to this case, asserted that the Oklahoma
law stands as an obstacle to the "full
purposes and objectives” of Congress in
the Atomic Energy Act. That alleged
obstacle does not exist.

First, the lower court created a new
test for preemption -- i.e. that federal
and state law “compete substantially”
and found such improper competition
between the laws at issue here. Even
assuming that “competing substantially”
was a proper preemption test, the
statutes at issue here do not meet it.

As previously stated, the two statutes

18
regulate totally different conduct, and

thus do not compete. The lower court's
analysis was in error.

Second, the lower court found that a
primary purpose of the Atomic Energy Act
was the promotion of nuclear power, and
thus any state statute which would tend
to hinder that purpose should be pre-
empted. In a recent decision, however,
this Court held that the Congressional
interest in promoting nuclear power is
neither single-minded nor sufficient in

itself to preempt state law. Pacific Gas

and Elec. v. Energy Res. Comm'n., No.

81-1945, slip op. (April 20, 1983). In
fact, unlike the present case, in Pacific

Gas and Elec., the California statute

directly halted all further nuclear power

development in California, and yet this

19
Court concluded “Congress has left
sufficient authority in the states to
allow the development of nuclear power to
be slowed or even stopped for economic

reasons." Pacific Gas and Elec. v.

Energy Res. Comm'n., No. 81-1945, slip

op. at 30 (April 20, 1983). Surely
Congress has left sufficient authority in
the states to punish those whose tortious
conduct is committed with reckless
disregard, and who happen to commit their
tort by the use of radiation.

The fourth contact point which, if
present, warrants a preemption analysis
is where "(t]he scheme of federal
regulation may be so pervasive as to make
reasonable the inference that Congress
left no room for the States to supplement

it,” or where Congress touched a field in

20
which the “federal interest is so
dominant that the federal system will be
assumed to preclude enforcement of state
laws on the same subject...." Rice v.

Sante Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. at 230.

This contact point is lacking as
well in this case, because the statute is
far from a comprehensive federal regula-
tion of, and does not reflect a dominant
federal interest in, all aspects of
nuclear power. Quite the contrary.
Congress specifically preserved tradi-
tional state functions in a number of
areas.

(1) Congress left state common law

tort liability intact when it adopted the

21
Price-Anderson Act.4 42 U.S.C. § 2210,
which requires nuclear facilities to
carry insurance to pay damages for tort
liabilities arising under state law.

(2) The Act preserves all state laws
which regulate activity of nuclear
facilities “for purposes other than
protection against radiation hazards.”
42 U.S.C. § 2021(k). This Court made

this point clear in a recent decision

4 For torts such as the one involved here,
Congress intended that the tort should
"remain subject to the traditional rules
of tort law", H.R. Rep. No. 2043, 89th
Cong., 2d Sess. 11 (1966) -- i.e. to the
rules of tort that prevailed before
adoption of the Price-Anderson Act. In
Duke Power v. Carolina Environmental
Study Group, 438 0.8. 59 (1978) this
Court recognized that prior to enactment
of that Act, persons claiming radiation
injuries retained the right to
utilize their existing common law and
state law remedies to vindicate any
particular harm visited upon them from
whatever sources." Id. at 88-89 n.33.

22

which held that a state law which
regulates nuclear power plants for
economic reasons, a purpose “other than
protection against radiation hazards” is

not preempted. Pacific Gas and Elec. Co.

v. Energy Res. Comm'n.. No. 81-1945, slip

op. at 6-7.

(3) The legislative history of the
Act indicates that the Atomic Energy Act
was interim legislation, the first step
in the process of turning over extensive

regulatory responsibility to the states.°

5 The Senate Report accompanying the bill
contains a section-by-section analysis
that even gives an estimate as to how
long section 2021 should remain in effect
before new legislation would be needed.
The report explained:

The purpose ... also provides
for coordination of the
development of radiation
standards for the guidance of
Federal agencies and cooper-
ation with states, and recog-

23
8. Rep. No. 870, 86th Cong., lst Sess. 12
(1959).

(4) Congress created a scheme
whereby states could be delegated certain
regulatory functions of the Nuclear
Regulatory Commission when the governor
"certifies that the state has a program
for the control of radiation hazards" and
when the Commission finds “that the State
Program ie compatible with the Commis-
sion’s program for the regulation of such
materials.” 42 U.S.C. § 202100).

nizes that this is interim
legislation in that, as the
d Improve their capabil-
ities, additional legislation
may be needed, rhaps in

approximatel years.
asis .

8. Rep. No. 870, 86th Cong., lst Sess. 12
(1959).

24

(5) Congress empowered states to
impose regulations more stringent than
NRC regulations with respect to air
emissions of radioactivity in the Clean
Air Act Amendments of 1977. 42 U.S.C.
§ 7422 (Supp. III 1979). It is important
to note that in the only instance in
which a court in a final order ruled that
the Atomic Energy Act preempts a state
regulation controlling the level of

releases from a nuclear facility,®

6 wNorthern States Power Co. v. Winnesota,
" r. 1 , a .
mem., 405 U.S. 1035 (1972). Because this
Court merely affirmed without opinion the
Eighth Circuit's decision, it has not
endorsed the reasoning of the Court and
the decision has less precedential weight
than when this Court accords a full
review. Pacific Gas and Elec. v. frends
Res. Comm Nee No. 81-1945, slip op. a
N. *

2s
Congress explicitly overruled that
decision.
As this Court recently held in

Pacific Gas and Elec. Co. v. Energy Res.

Comm'n., No. 81-1945, slip op. (April 20,
1983), the scope of preemption under the
Atomic Energy Act is narrowly circunm-
scribed and does not sweep away great
areas of traditional state authority,
e.g., economic regulation of nuclear
utilities. The Atomic Energy Act does
not preempt any traditional state
functions absent explicit preemptive
language, even where the state functions
directly impact on nuclear facilities and
spring from a consideration of factors

uniquely nuclear.

26

Thus, when the facts of this case
are analyzed in light of the traditional
starting points for preemption analysis
established by this Court, no point of
contact is found between the Atomic
Energy Act and the Oklahoma punitive
damages statute. It was inappropriate
for the Court of Appeals to find pre-

emption.

CONCLUSION

Oklahoma, like many states, protects
its citizens from reckless infliction of
harm by the imposition of punitive
damages when such conduct causes injury.
Preventing harm through the application
of common law principles, including
punitive damages, is an important part of

what a state does. To deprive the state

27

of the availability of such vital
protection for the health and safety of
its citizens by operation of the pre-
emption doctrine, requires clear and
explicit legislative language or intent.
Neither are present here.

Nothing in the Oklahoma law does or
can interfere with the lawful and proper
regulation of the production and use of
nuclear material. The Court of Appeals
decision that this Oklahoma law is
impliedly preempted by federal statute
should be overruled.

April 27, 1983

28
Respectfully submitted,

ANTHONY Z. ROISMAN

Trial Lawyers for
P..blic Justice

2000 P Street, N.W.

Suite 611

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 463-8600

Attorney for Amicus Curiae
National Women's Health
Network

(THIS PAGE [NTENTIONALLY LEFT BLAS)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0054%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
