# Opposition — Carolina Casualty Insurance v. Transport Indemnity Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0052%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 829

## Text

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

CAROLINA CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY,
Petitioner,

versus

TRANSPORT INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Respondent.

BRIEF Cz RSSPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETIYION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Keating L. Simons, III
Wade H. Logan, III
HOLMES, THOMSON, LOGAN
& CANTRELL
100 Broad Street
P.O. Box 1090
Charleston, S.C. 29402
(803) 722-1634
Attorneys for Respondent.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

This is a coverage dispute between insurers for a truck
owner and an I.C.C. motor carrier who entered into a

truck leasing arrangement regulated by the I.C.C. In
this context the following questions are presented:

(Il) Pursuant to I.C.C. regulations, a certificated
motor carrier inust obtain and file proof of surety con-
ditioned to pay any final judgment against the motor
carrier. Do these regulations require that a lessee motor
carrier obtain insurance to provide coverage and a
defense to owners and drivers of leased vehicles?

(II) Does the Interstate Commerce Act or related
regulations require that the insurer for the lessee always
assume primary responsibility for claims arising out of
the use of a leased vehicle, regardless of the terms of the
lessee’s policy or the presence of a second insurer
specifically insuring the vehicle, its owner and the driver
whose negligence gave rise to the claims?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented for Review.................000- i
EE i code len accuwndbbécocceosccedes iii
TE otha os diboetéuneeé aces ééccus
Di Midinhs webksabdetbsddedvbeostedetesasend 2
I, CUS dik ona dake ek nue dhandeamatetd 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Carolina Casualty Insurance Company v. Trans-
port Indemnity Company, 488 F.2d 790 (10th

Eis MOVED dacvdcccteocesscccdsccccoceseccocs

Jenkins v. Southern Railway Company, 130 S.C.

180, 125 S.B. 912 (1924)... ncccccccccccces

Kansas City Fire and Marine Insurance Com-
_ pany v. The Hartford Insurance Group, 368

N.Y.S.2d 791, 82 Misc.2d 109 (1975) ..........

Lankford v. Ryder Truck Systems, Inc., 41

PRD. GODS... ISBT)... cccccccccccsece

National Mutual Insurance Company v. Liberty
Mutual Insurance Company, 196 F.2d 597

Leh | PPPPTTTT TCT TTT TT TTT eee

Providence Washington Insurance Company of
Alaska v. Alaska Pacific Assurance Company,

603 P.2d 899 (Alas. 1979) ...... 2. ccc ecceeeees

Seaboard Air Line Railroad Company v. Coastal
Distributing Company, 273 F.Supp. 343

Gees MS esha sdicccsecccccscccececes

Transamerican Freight Lines, Inc. v. Brada
Miller Freight Systems, Inc., 423 U.S. 28

GIPUEE dd enseccevvoccccvsccscosceccesccetoe

Transport Indemnity Company v. Teter, 575

DoW cee POD GEDs BOFED ccc cccccccccccccecece

OTHER AUTHORITIES

ES ER aes ea eee
A I EE I a
TE aD

No.
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1982

CAROLINA CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY,
Petitioner,

TRANSPORT INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

REPORTS OF OPINIONS

The order of the District Court has been submitted for
publication, but no citation is yet available. The opinion
of the Court of Appeals has not been reported.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Petitioner points to conflicting decisions of federal and
state courts to justify a grant of certiorari in this case.
Although a conflict exists, this is not the case in which to
attempt a resolution.

2 CAROLINA CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, PETITIONER, VERSUS

In various cases and contexts courts have examined the
impact of the Interstate Commerce Act and associated
regulations on coverage disputes arising between insurance
carriers for I.C.C. certificated carrier lessees and
owner/operator lessors. As Petitioner points out in its
argument, there are two lines of decisions reaching op-
posite conclusions on the question of whether the Act and
regulations require that the insurance carrier for the
1.C.C. certificated lessee always assume primary respon-

sibility for claims arising from operation of the leased
unit.

In the cases cited by Petitioner as being in conflict, two
or more insurance companies had overlapping coverage.
In this case, however, the courts below held that Respon-
deat, unlike Petitioner, had no coverage as to the personal
liability of the active tortfeasor driver, and on that basis
granted judgment to Respondent.

The dispositive holding below was that Respondent’s in-
surance policy did not expressly provide coverage to the
driver and that neither the Interstate Commerce Act nor
associated regulations required such coverage. This was
the central issue in the case and the decision on this point is
not in conflict with any decision of any ourt.

ARGUMENT AND REASONS FOR
DENYING THE WRIT

There are no special or important reasons for granting
the Petition herein. The decision rendered below is not in
conflict with decisions of other courts, state or federal, on
the dispositive issue presented. On the contrary, the result
in the instant case is consistent with the reasoning of all
other courts which have had occasion to address the ques-
tion. Furthermore, the result in this case, to the extent it

TRANSPORT INDEMNITY COMPANY. RESPONDENT 3

involves a question of federal law, is consistent with the
analysis applied by this Court in a prior case, and no im-
portant question of federal law is raised in this Petition
which requires the attention of this Court at this time.

This case arises in the context of a trip lease under which
the owner leased a vehicle, together with a driver, to a
motor carrier holding an Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion certificate. The owner of the vehicle in this case had
obtained insurance from Petitioner Carolina and the
I.C.C. certificated motor carrier had obtained insurance
from Respondent Transport. An accident occurred while
the vehicle was being operated under the trip lease and the
question arose whether Carolina or Transport would be
required to assume primary responsibility to pay claims
arising out of the negligence of the driver of the leased
vehicle.

In order to receive a certificate from the Interstate Com-
merce Commission a motor carrier must establish to that
body’s satisfaction its ability to pay any final judgment
rendered against it for injuries arising out of a unit
operating under its certificate. 49 U.S.C. §315; 49 C.F.R.
§1043.1(a). Additional regulations provide that a cer-
tificated carrier may lease units but in doing so must main-
tain responsibility and control over the operation of such
leased units. 49 C.F.R. §1057.12(d). Insurance carriers for
owners and/or operators, such as Petitioner herein, have
argued that a lessee’s insurance coverage is primary as a
matter of law by virtue of these control and responsibility
regulations and/or the financial responsibility regulations.

As Carolina points out in its argument, and as Judge
Hawkins noted in his opinion below, decisions in this area
have gone both ways. Carolina has accurately listed the

4 Carouima CASUALTY InsURANCE ComPany, PeTrrioner, VERSUS

key cases in conflict and it would unduly prolong the
length of this Brief to repeat that analysis. In rendering
judgment for Transport, however, the district court in this
case was not called upon to simply make a choice between

In all of the decisions cited by Carolina as being in con-
flict, courts were asked to decide which of two or more in-

and for that reason Transport has offered its alternative.
The Transport policy has no omnibus clause, or any

TRANSPORT INDEMNITY COMPANY. RESPONDENT b

Transport extend coverage to the owner or driver. Thus,
any payment made by Transport would have been on
behalf of its named insured, the lessee motor carrier,
which would have had a common law indemnity action
available to it against its statutory employee, the negligent
driver. Seaboard Air Line Railroad Co. v. Coastal
Distributing Co., 273 F.Supp. 343 (D.S.C. 1967);
Lankford v. Ryder Truck Systems, Inc., 41 F.R.D. 430,
431-432 (D.S.C. 1967); Jenkins v. Southern Railway Co.,
130 S.C. 180,189,125 S.E. 912 (1924). Since Transport
would be subrogated to its insured’s indemnity right
against the negligent driver, in order to avoid circuity of
action, Carolina, having specifically insured the owner,
driver, and the vehicle involved, was held to have the
primary obligation to defend and pay claims arising out of
the negligence of the driver.

The conflicting decisions cited by Petitioner were
reviewed by the district court solely to determine whether
the Interstate Commerce Act, associated regulations, or
public policy considerations read into the Transport policy
an implied omnibus clause extending coverage to the per-
sonal liability of a driver of a vehicle leased to an I1.C.C.
carrier.

Upon reviewing applicable statutes, regulations, and
decisions, Judge Hawkins held that the public policy in-
volved was the protection of innocent members of the
public from financially irresponsible truckers. He further
held that public policy to be fully served by requiring the
1.C.C. certificated carrier to obtain insurance against its
own liability and that public policy did not require an
I.C.C. carrier to obtain insurance to satisfy the personal
liability of owners or operators of leased vehicles.

This result is consistent with decisions of various state

6 Camouima CASUALTY INSURANCE ComPany, PETTTIONER. VERSUS

courts in analogous situations. Transport Indemnity Com-
pany v. Teter, 575 S.W.2d 780 (Mo. 1978); Providence
Washington Insurance Company of Alaska v. Alaska
Pacific Assurance Company, 603 P.2d 899 (Alas. 1979);
Kansas City Fire and Marine Insurance Company v. The
Hartford Insurance Group, 368 N.Y .S.2d 791, 82 Misc.2d
109 (1975); See also: National Mutual Insurance Company
v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, 196 F.2d 597
(D.C. Cir. 1952).

The conclusion reached below on this issue is not only
consistent with the above-cited authorities, it also is not
known to conflict with any reported decisions, state or
federal. At the very least, it can safely be said that neither
Petitioner, Respondent, or the courts below have located
any conflicting authority. Further, it is interesting to note
the apparent view of the Tenth Circuit on this question. Of
course, as noted in Carolina’s Petition, among the federal
circuit courts the Tenth stands as the sole support for the
proposition that the lessee’s insurance coverage is always
primary. And even that court has refused to hold, in the
face of an apparent opportunity to do so, that federal law
requires that the driver be insured under the lessee’s
policy. Carvilina Casualty Insurance Company v.
Transport Indemnity Company, 488 F.2d 790 (10th Cir.
1973). There the Transport policy contained no omnibus
coverage clause and the court noted that the driver was in-
sured only under Carolina’s policy. 488 F.2d at 794.

Finally, the result below is entirely consistent with the
analysis employed by this Court in 7ransamerican Freight
Lines, Inc., v. Brada Miller Freight Systems, Inc., 423
U.S. 28 (1975). Although Brada Miller is not directly ap-
plicable on its facts, both the result and analytical ap-
proach strongly support the conclusion that neither the In-
terstate Commerce Act, nor regulations issued thereunder,

TRANSPORT INDEMNITY COMPANY, RESPONDENT 7

nor implied notions of public policy require that the lessee
obtain coverage protecting the driver or owner of a leased
vehicle.

At issue in Brada Miller was a iease agreement which
contained an indemnification clause whereby the lessor
agreed to indemnify the lessee for claims arising out of the
negligence of the lessor or its employees. When the lessee
attempted to enforce the clause following its settlement of
a claim, the lessor argued that the clause was unen-
forceable as against public policy because the control and
responsibility regulations placed full responsibility on the
lessee. This, of course, is strikingly similar to Carolina’s
arguments in this case that because of those same regula-
tions the lessee’s insurance carrier is always primary as a
matter of law.

This Court reviewed the background of the rulemaking
proceeding which resulted in the issuance of the control
and responsibility regulations and noted that the Interstate
Commerce Commission was concerned “‘...with that
ultimate control in the lessee that makes and keeps it
responsible to the public, the shipper, and the Commis-
sion.”’ 423 U.S. at 39. The I.C.C. has not proscribed an
arrangement which places ultimate responsibility on the
party responsible in fact, ‘‘...so long as the lessee does not
absolve itself from the duties to the public and to shippers
imposed upon it by the Commission’s regulations.’’ /d. at
40. The Court concluded this phase of its opinion with the
observation that ‘‘[a]lthough one party is required by law
to have control and responsibility for conditions of the
vehicle, and to bear the consequences of any negligence,
the party responsible in law to the injured or damaged per-
son may seek indemnity from the party responsible in
fact.”” Id. at 40.

L) Carouma CASUALTY INSURANCE ComPany, PETITIONER. VERSUS

If the position of Carolina is accepted, that the lessee
and its insurance carrier are always primarily responsible,
then the lessee or its insurance carrier could not seek in-
demnity from the party responsible in fact. Such a result is
clearly inconsistent with the views of this Court as ex-
pressed in Brada Miller.

Of even more significance is the analysis employed in
portion B of the opinion.

If Carolina’s position is accepted, then the owner would
know that so long as his equipment is leased to an I.C.C.
carrier neither he nor his insurance company need respond
to a claim for damages arising out of his or his employee’s
negligence. Can public policy or safety be promoted by a
rule of law under which an owner/lessor would have no in-
centive to properly inspect or maintain his equipment, or
to properly qualify and train his drivers? In light of these
considerations, the so-called public policy arguments
advanced by Carolina are somewhat less than compelling.

CONCLUSION

While there are certainly divergent decisions under
myriad circumstances in this area of insurance law, this is
not the case in which to attempt a resolution of all the
various questions involved. In this case a federal court has
for only the first time addressed the question of whether
federal law requires an I.C.C. motor carrier to buy in-

TANSPORT INDEMNITY COMPANY, RESPONDENT 4

surance which provides coverage as to the personal liabili-
ty of owners and operators of units leased to the I.C.C.
carrier. The result below is consistent with all the reported
decisions on this point and an appropriate course would be
to deny certiorari. This would provide an opportunity for
the doctrines expressed below to develop and withstand
the tests of time and further scrutiny.

We be oO

HOLMES, THOMSON, LOGAN
& CANTRELL

100 Broad Street

Charleston, S.C. 29402

(803) 722-1634

Counsel for Respondent

10 CAROLINA CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, PETITIONER, VERSUS

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I am this date serving three (3) true
and correct copies of Brief for Respondent in Opposition
to Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, upon the persons
and in the manner indicated below, said persons being
counsel for all parties required to be served.

Addressed as Follows:

Stephen E. Darling
SINKLER, GIBBS & SIMONS
160 East Bay Street

Post Office Box 340
Charleston, South Carolina 29402
(803) 722-3366

Counsel for Petitioner

Dated this 422:day of June, 1982.
7

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0052%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
