# Petitioners Brief — Solem v. Stumes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0045%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 465 U.S. 638

## Text

————

FILED |
NO. 81-2149 AUE 22 1983

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,
CLORK

{

—

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

HERMAN SOLEM, Warden
South Dakota State Penitentiary,

Petitioner,
Vv.
NORMAN STUMES,

Respondent,

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

MARK V. MEIERHENRY
ATTORNEY GENERAL

Richard Dale

Assistant Attorney General
State Capitol

Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5090
Telephone: (605) 773-3215

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whethe Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S.

477, 101 S.Ct. 1880, 68 L.Ed.2d 378 (1981),
which held that an in-custody suspect who
“asserts his right to counsel, is not subject
to further interrogation by the authorities
until counsel has been made available to
him, unless the accused himself initiates
further communication, exchanges or

conversations with the police, is to be

applied retroactively?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

STATEMENT CF THE CASE AND
PROCEDURAL HISTORY

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENTS AND AUTHORITIES

A. PARAMETERS OF CUSTODIAL INTER-
ROGATION UNDER THE FIFTH AMEND-
Pe ton fT > ee

B. RETROACTIVE APPLICATION OF A
NEW STANDARD OF CRIMINAL PRO-

CONCLUSION

(ii)

iii

15

15

31

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: PAGE

Brewer v. Williams, 43) U.S. 387, 97 S.Ct.
1232, 51 L.Bd.2d0 424 (1977) 16

Brown v. Louisana, 447 U.S. 323, 327, 328,
: .Ct. 2214, 65 L.Ed.2d 159
(1980) PASSIM

Chimel v. United States, 395 U.S. 752, 89
S.Ct. 2034, 23 L.Ed.2d 685 (1969) 44

Clewis v. Texas, 386 U.S. 707, 87 S.Ct.
1338, 18 L.£d.2d 423 (1967) 35

Davis v. North Carolina, 384 U.S. 737,
B6 S.ct. 1/761, 16 L.£d.2d 895 (1966) 35

Edwarus v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477, 483, 484,
101 S.Ct. 1880, 68 L.Ed.2d 378, 387 n. 9

(1981) PASSIM
Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478, 490,

note 14, 12 L.£d.2d 977, 986, 84 S.Ct.

1758 16

Fare v. Michael C., 442 U.S. 707, 725,
$9 §.Ct. 2560, 61 L.Ed.2d 197 (1979) 19

Hankerson v. North Carolina, 432 U.S. 233,
246, 97 S.Ct. 2339, SIL

; . , .Ed.2d 306
(1977) 34, 46
Jenkins v. Delaware, 395 U.S. 213, 89 S.Ct.
1677, 23 L.Ed. 253 (1969) 37
Johnson v. New Jersey, 384 U.S. 719, 731
(1966) 32, 35, 36
(iii)

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464,
$8 S.Ct. 1019, 82 L.Ed.2d 1461

(1938) 17, 18
Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618, 629,

85 §.Ct. 1731, 14 L.Ed.2d 601

(1965) 31, 48
Mackey v. United States, 401 U.S. 667,

675-702, 91 S.Ct. 11600, 28 L.Ed.2d 404

(1971) 37, 47

michagan + Vv. poste 423 U.S. 96, 102,
L.Ed.2d 313 (1975) 18, 19

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 475,
86 S.Ct. 1602, 16 L.Ed.2d 694, 726
(1966) PASSIM

North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369,

, Ct. ; L.Ed.2d 286
(1979) 20

Oregon v. Bradshaw, U.S. ,
Ths set 2850 ; , 2834, 2835,

L.Ed.2d = (1983) 23, 24
Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291, 300,

, . .Ct. 1682, 64 L.Ed.2d 297
(1980) 20, 21, 30

State v. McCloskey, 90 N.J. 18, 446 At.2d
1201 (1982) 37

State v. Shea, 421 So.2d 200 (La. 1982) 37
Stovall v. Denno, 388 U.S. 293, 297,
.Ed. 9, 87 S.Ct. 1967
(1967) 33, 37

(iv)

Stumes v. Solem, 671 F.2d 1150 (8th Cir.
~~ 1982) 25

Tague v. Louisiana, 444 U.S. 469, 100 S.Ct.
Ze5- 62 L.Ed.2a 622 (1980) 20

Tehan v. United States ex rel. short 382

, , . 453
(1966) 31
Williams v. United States. 401 U.S. 646,
653, 654, 91 S. Ct. 1148, 28 L.Ed.2d 388
(1971) 32, 44
Wyrick v. Fields, U.S. __, 103 §.Ct. 394,
- Ed. (1982) 23
OTHER REFERENCES:
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) 2
28 U.S.C. § 2254 10, 49

(v)

4
i ad
se

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circu.t appears in
the appendix attached to the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari.

The opinion of the United States
District Court for the District of South
Dakota appears in the Joint Appendix.

The opinion of the South Dakota Supreme
Court appears in the Joint Appendix and is
also reported with the following citation:
State v. Stumes, 90 S.D. 382, 241 N.W.2d 587
(1976).

(vi)

NO. 81-2149

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

HERMAN SOLEM, Warden
South Dakota State Penitentiary,

Petitioner,
Vv.
NORMAN STUMES,

Respondent,

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
The judgment of the Eighth Circuit
Court of Appeals was entered on March l,
1982. The Petition for Writ of Certior-
ari was applied for on April 30, 1982,
within the time set by Rule 20.2 of the

2
Rules of the Supreme Court. The Petition
for Writ of Certiorari was granted on
July 6, 1983. Taris Court's jurisdiction
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion of the United States provides as
follows:

No person shall be held to
answer for a capital, or other-
wise infamous crime, unless on a
presentment or indictment of a
Grand Jury, except in cases
arising in the land or naval
forces, or in the Militia, when
in actual service and time of
War or public danger; nor shall
any person be subject for the
same offense to twice be put in
jeopardy of life or limb; nor
shall be compelled in any crim-
inal case to be ae witness
against himself, nor be deprived
of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor
shall private property be taken
for public use, without just
compensation.

3
The Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States pro-
vides in Section 1 as follows:

All persons born or naturalized
in the United States and subject
*“o the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States
and of the State wherein they
reside. No State shall make or
enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immun-
ities of the citizens of the
United States; nor shall any
State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protec-
tion of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
On the afternoon of September 17,
1973, the body of Joyce Hoff was dis-
covered in the bedroom of her Sioux
Falls, South Dakota, apartment. Later
that day, the Minnehaha County Coroner
performed an autopsy on the body. The
Coroner concluded that Ms. Hoff had not

+

died a natural death, but had died from a
lack of oxygen, either anoxia or asphyxia-
tion. Trial Transcript at 566. jhe
Coroner's examination revealed that the
victim had a bruise on her right cheek
and cuts on the bridge of her nose and on
her lips. In addition, a spray can top
had been forced into the victim's vagina.
Trial Transcript at 573, 576.

On September 27, 1973, the Respon-
dent, Norman Stumes, was arrested in
Green Bay, Wisconsin, on charges unre-
lated to the Hoff homicide. Stumes was
advised of his constitutional rights
under Miranda and placed in the Brown
County, Wisconsin, jail.

On September 30, 1973, a group of
Sioux Falls police officers left for
Green Bay, Wisconsin, to return Stumes to

South Dakota. Detectives James Green and

5

Don Skadsen took a commercial flight to
Green Bay, while Deputy Headrick drove
the automobile to Wisconsin that would be
used to transport Stumes. The interest
in securing Stumes' return to South
Dakota was caused not only by the other
charges against him, but, because he had
become a suspect in the Hoff homicide.

Stumes' mother retained a Sioux
Falls attorney, Steve Jorgensen, to
represent the Respondent. That attorney
was notified when Stumes was arrested,
and actually received a telephone call
from Stumes while he was in custody. Mr.
Jorgensen advised Stumes that he should
not make any statement until he had been
returned to Sioux Falls and had consulted
with Jorgensen. Evidentiary Hearing,
October 6, 1977, at 8.

6

Stumes was first interviewed by the
Sioux Falls police officers on October l,
1973. Detective Green was alone with
Stumes that morning, and talked with the
Respondent for an hour and a half con-
cerning the Hoff killing. Detective
Green advised Stumes of his Miranda
rights before discussing the crime, and
Stumes indicated his willingness to talk.
Upon being asked whether he would submit
to a polygraph examination, Stumes
stated:

I'd rather not answer that
question until I talk to Steve.'

Trial Transcript 461.

Detective Green ceased questioning
Stumes at that point, approximately 11:45
a.m.

At approximately 4:30 p.m. on the
afternoon of October 1, Detective Green,

7
accompanied by Detective Skadsen, re-
turned to talk with Stumes. At this
session, Stumes was not given Lis Miranda
warnings. In response to the only ques-
tion Detective Green asked that afternoon,
Stumes said that Joyce Hoff's death was
accidental. Trial Transcript 35.

The following morning, October 2,
1973, Detectives Green and Skadsen, and
Deputy Headrick, returned to the Brown
County Jail to take Stumes back to South
Dakota. Shortly after beginning the
trip, Detective Green once again advised
the Respondent of his constitutional
rights. Stumes indicated that he under-
stood his rights and was willing to talk.

The trip was somewhat uneventful
until about 90 miles out of Sioux Falls,
South Dakota, when Stumes suffered “a

little conflict" with his emotions, and

8
stated that he "couldn't understand why
anybody would want to kill Joyce, and
that the taking of a human life is so
useless." Trial Transcript 625. There
was no interrogation occurring at that
time. In fact, there had been no conver-
sation for approximately fifteen minutes.
Trial Transcript 626. Detective Green
then advised Stumes that he would "feel
better after he got this off his chest."

Trial Transcript 42. Stumes then related

the story of how Joyce Hoff died. Id.

After Stumes had finished, Green asked
him if he would be willing to give a
statement when they arrived in Sioux
Falls. In the words of Detective Green:
I told him at that time that his
attorney would probably advise
him not to. He [Stumes] said he
didn't give a damn what his
attorney said; he could talk to
anybody he wanted to.

Trial Transcript 44.

9

Upon arrival in Sioux Falls, Stumes
was placed in the Minnehaha County Jail.
Shortly after admission to the jail,
Stumes indicated that he wanted to speak
to Detective Skadsen. According to
Detective Skadsen:

He ([(Stumes} was crying again,

and he put his head on my

shoulder, and he said, ‘Please

tell them that I didn't mean to

kill her, that it was an acci-

dent--that I am not a vicious

killer.'
Trial Transcript 547.

Prior to his trial for the murder of
Joyce Hoff, Stumes moved the court to
suppress the statements made to Green and
Skadsen. The motion was denied, the
detectives testified at his trial, Stumes
was convicted of first-degree manslaugh-
ter and sentenced to life imprisonment
at the South Dakota State Penitentiary.
On appeal to the South Dakota Supreme

Court, the case was remanded to the trial

10
court with instructions to enter Findings
of Fact and Conclusions of Law supporting
the court s denial of Stumes' motion to
suppress his admissions. 241 N.W.2d 587.

The trial court entered its Findings
and Conclusions, and Respondent's convic-
tion was thereby affirmed. Id.

Stumes filed his Petition for Habeas
Corpus relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 on
May 3, 1977, in the Southern Division of
the District Court for the District of
South Dakota. The district court held
evidentiary hearings om October 6, 1977,
and May 19, 1978. An additional hearing
was held on December 19, 1980, to receive
police reports in Stumes' possession
which had not been introduced at the
previous evidentiary hearings.

The district court, in its Memoran-
dum Decision of April 10, 1981, denied
Stumes' Application for Writ of Habeas

ll
Corpus. The court found that Stumes had
not suffered any deprivation of either
his Sixth Amendment or Fifth Amendment
rights.
Edwards v. Arizona was decided by

this Court on May 18, 1981. On May 31,
1981, Stumes filed his Notice of Appeal
of the district court's denial of habeas
corpus relief. The Appeals Court, in its
opinion of March 1, 1982, held that
Edwerds required reversal of the district
court's decision and ordered that court
to issue the writ discharging Stumes
unless the State began proceedings to
retry the Respondent. Petitioner Solem
then sought a writ of certiorari in this
Court, and, in the interim, moved the
district court to stay the execution of
the Court of Appeals' Order. The dis-
trict court granted the Petitioner's

12
Motion and this Court granted the writ of
certiorari on July 6, 1983.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Retroactive application of Edwards
v. Arizona is not mandated by the United

States Constitution. Edwards' emphasis

upon the initiation of further dialogue
with the suspect who has invoked his
right to counsel establishes a new consti-
tutional standard, not foreshadowed by
previous decisions of this Court, and
should only be applied prospectively.

The criteria for determining whether
a new constitutional rule should be
applied retroactively requires examina-
tion of the rule's purpose, the extent of
reliance by law enforcement authorities
on the old standards, and the effect on
the administration of justice of a retro-
active application of the new standards.

13

Brown v. Louisana, 447 U.S. 323, 328
(1980). A rule which corrects any aspect
of a criminal trial which impairs its
truth-finding function and raises ques-
tions about the accuracy of guilty
verdicts is to be given retroactive
effect. Id.

The Fifth Amendment right to counsel
is not primarily concerned with trial
truth determination or reliability of
verdict. The paramount purpose of the
right to counsel is to compel police to
conduct custodial interrogations within
constitutional dictates and to allow a
suspect in custody to exercise his consti-
tutional rights. Retroactive application
of Edwards would not further this dual
purpose. Retrial of Stumes and possible
acquittal of those convicted on trust-

worthy evidence pursuant to then existing

14

constitutional standards does not serve
the purpose of the rule announced in
Edwards. Law enforcement officials had
justifiably relied on pre-Edwards stan-
dards concerning custodial interrogation,
and retroactive application of Edwards
would result in retrial of those whose
justified convictions have long since
become final.

Assuming arguendo, that this Court
decides that Edwards does apply retroac-
tively, the State urges this Court to
find that the Respondent initiated fur-
ther conversation with the police, after
having requested counsel, and that,
viewed in the totality of circumstances,
Respondent voluntarily, knowingly, and
intelligently waived his right to coun-
sel, and that any statements and
admissions made by Respondent were pro-

perly admitted into evidence.

15
ARGUMENTS AND AUTHORITIES

Edwards v. Arizona, supra, which

held that an in-custedy suspect who
asserts his right to counsel is not
subject to further interrogation by the
authorities until counsel has been made
available to him, unless the accused
himself initiates further communication,
exchanges or conversations with police,
should not be applied retroactively.

A. PARAMETERS OF CUSTODIAL _INTERROGA-
TION UNDER THE FIFTH AMENDMENT.

This Court, in its landmark decision
of Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86
§.Ct. 1602, 16 L.Ed.2d 694 (1966), estab-

lished the procedural guidelines necessary
to ensure that criminal suspects subject
to custodial interrogation would have the
opportunity to exercise their privilege

against self-incrimination. The Court

16
was particularly concerned with the
pressures custodial questioning could
have on one not assisted by an attorney,
and sought to restrain police from using
overbearing interrogation practices:

If the interrogation continues
without the presence of an
attorney and a statement is
taken, a heavy burden rests 2n
the government to demonstrate
that the defendant knowingly and
intelligently waived his privi-
lege against self-incrimination
and his right to retained or
appointed counsel. Escobedo
v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 4

note 14, 12,L.Ed.2d 977, 986, 84
$.Ct. 1758.

Miranda, 384 U.S. 475.

1 Escobedo was concerned with the
Sixth Amendment right to counsel, in
addition to the Fifth Amendment. As the
Sixth Amendment right to counsel does aot
attach until “adversary judicial proceed-
ings" have begun, see Brewer v. Williams,
430 U.S. 387, 97 S.Ct. 1232, 51 L.Ed.2d
424 (1977), and such proceedings had not
been commenced in Stumes' case, the Sixth
Amendment is not involved.

17
While the Court in Miranda saw
custodial interrogation as ...erently
coercive, it did not exclude all state-
ments obtained in such a_e setting.
Statements volunteered by a suspect are

admissible. Miranda, supra, 726.

The Court, in deciding Miranda was
necessarily concerned with the issue of
when a suspect had waived his rights to
Silence and to counsel. "A waiver is
ordinarily an intentional relinquishment
or abandonment of a known right or privi-

lege." Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458,

464, 58 S.Ct. 1019, 82 L.Ed.2d 1461
(1938). "The determination of whether
there has been an intelligent waiver of
the right to counsel must depend, in each
case, upon the particular facts and
circumstances surrounding that’ case,

including the background, experience and

18
conduct of the accused." Id. Noting the
high standards of the past concerning
wa.ver of constitutional rights, see

Johnson v. Zerbst, supra, and yet deter-

mined to protect those subject’ to
custodial interrogation, the Court issued
its Miranda opinion, an opinion which has
been refined through the years.

In Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96,

96 S.Ct. 321, 46 L.Ed.2d 313 (1975), this
Court confronted the situation where an
in custody suspect had invoked his right
to silence, but had not requested an
attorney. After once again being advised
of his constitutional rights, the accused
was questioned and made several incrimi-
nating statements. The Court found no
violation of Miranda, noting that the
police are prohibited from interrogating
a suspect after a momentary cessation

when the accused invokes his right to

19

silence. Michigan v. Mosley, supra, 423

U.S. 102. However, the Court stopped

short of mandating a blanket prohibition

against the taking of further statements:
We therefore conclude that the
admissibility of statements
obtained after the person in
custody has decided to remain
Silent depends under Miranda on
whether his ‘right to cut-off

questioning’ was ‘scrupulously
honored.' [Footnote omitted. |]

Mosley, supra, Id.

In addition to the strictures of
Miranda and the need to "scrupulously
honor" the assertion of rights by the
accused, this Court has continued to
examine the totality of circumstances
surrounding an alleged waiver of consti-
tutional rights and the need to assertain
whether a waiver has been made knowingly

and voluntarily. Fare v. Michael C., 442

U.S. 707, 725, 99 S.Ct. 2560, 61 L.Ed.2d

197 (1979). At no time, however, has an

20
expressed written or oral statement of
Waiver been necessary to establish a
valid waiver of a suspect's Fifth Amend-

ment rights. North Carolina v. Butler,

441 U.S. 369, 373, 99 S.Ct. 1755, 60
L.Ed. 286 (1979). The State must present
evidence demonstrating that the Defendant
made a knowing and intelligent waiver.

Tague v. Louisiana, 444 U.S. 469, 100

$.Ct. 652, 62 L.Ed.2d 622 (1980).
In Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S.

291, 100 §.Ct. 1682, 64 L.Ed.2d 297
(1980), this Court encountered the diffi-
cult problem of determining what
constitutes an interrogation for the
purposes of triggering the applicability
of Miranda.

In Innis, a suspect had been twice
advised of his constitutional rights at

the scene of arrest and had requested an

21
attorney. The suspect was placed in the
police automobile for transportation to
the station. During the trip the accused
indicated that he would point out the
location of the murder weapon. Shortly
before the defendant's statement, how-
ever, the officers in the automobile had
expressed, to each other, their concern
that the gun might be discovered by a
young child. While acknowledging that
the Miranda safeguards are required when
a suspect in custody is subjected to

interrogation, Innis, supra, 446 U.S.

300, the Court held that no interrogation
had occurred. Innis, supra, 302. While
the accused may have been exposed to
"subtle compulsion,” that was insuffi-
cient to establish a violation of

Miranda. Innis, supra, 303.

22
Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477,

101 S.Ct. 1880, 68 L.Ed.2d 378 (1981),
reiterated the Court's adherence to the
Miranda standards. While once again
noting that the waivers of counsel must
be voluntary, knowing and intelligent,
Edwards, supra, 451 U.S. 483, this Court
set its standard for custodial interroga-
tion under the Fifth Amendment:

. »« we now hold that when an
accused has invoked his right to
have counsel present during cus-
todial interrogation, a valid
waiver of that right cannot be
established by showing only that
he responded to further police-
initiated custodial interroga-
tion even if he has been advised
ef his rights. We further
hold that an accused, such as
Edwards, having expressed his
desire to deal with the police
only through counsel, is not
subject to further interrogation
by the authorities until counsel
has been made available to him,
unless the accused himself
initiates further communication,
exchanges or conversations with
the police. [Footnote omitted. ]}

23
Edwards, supra at 484.

The court went on to state that the
"totality of the circumstances" must be
examined to determine if a valid waiver
had occurred and that the accused, not
the police, must have reopened dialogue
with the authorities. Edwards, supra at
387, n.9. Edwards, did not however,

establish a “per se” rule concerning the

waiver of right to counsel. Wyrick v.
Fields, __—CiU:«.S. , 103 $.Ct. 394, 74

L.Ed.2d 214 (1982).

Finally, in Oregon v. Bradshaw,

U.S. _, 163 $.Ct. 2630, £.86.2¢
_._-« (1983), the Court refined Edwards and
indicated how the state could meet its
“heavy burden” under Miranda of showing a
valid waiver of the right to counsel.
This Court clearly stated that the initia-

tion of a conversation with the police by

24
the accused did not amount to waiver,

Bradshaw, supra, 103 S.Ct. at 2834. The

two-step analysis set out by the plur-
ality indicated that once an accused,
having indicated his desire to have
counsel, “initiates” a conversation with
police, the court must determine whether
a vaiid waiver took place by examining
the totality of the circumstances. In
other words, initiation of a conversation
is not sufficient in itself to constitute
a waiver.

Whether conversation has been ini-
tiated, thereby allowing further
interrogation, depends upon whether the
accused sought to open up “a more gen-
eralized discussion relating directly or
indirectly to the investigation."
Bradshaw, supra at 2835. Statements by
the accused “relating to routine inci-

dents of the custodial relationship, will

25
not generally ‘initiate’ a conversation
in the sense in which that word was used
in Edwards." Id.

In its opinion reversing the
district court's denial of Stumes' appli-
cation for habeas corpus relief, the
Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals was
particularly concerned with his admis-
sions of October 2, 1973. The fact that
Stumes told the detectives at the end of
the day on October 1, 1973, that he
didn't want to talk about Joyce Hoff's
death until he spoke with his attorney
indicated, at least to the appeals court,
that Stumes should not have been inter-
rogated further until counsel was
provided. Stumes v. Solem, 671 F.2d 1150
(8th Cir. 1982). The court held that
Stumes' rights had been violated on the

following day, om the trip back to Siovx

26
Falls, South Dakota, when the detectives
spoke to him concerning the Hoff homi-
cide. Id.

The Eighth Circuit has misconstrued
the Edwards decision. Edwards did not
establish a “per se" rule prohibiting
interrogation once a suspect has invoked
his right to counsel. Whether an accused
may be later interrogated depends upon
whether he has initiated a further ex-
change with the police, a fact to be
determined by viewing all of the relevant
circumstances.

Stumes, on October 2, 1973, was
again advised of his constitutional
rights before the journey from Green Bay,
Wisconsin, to Sioux Falls, South Dakota,
had barely begun. As the district court
pointed out, Stumes was not a novice in
dealing with law enforcement. 511
F.Supp. at 1324. He was aware of the

27
consequences of any comments he might
make.

Stumes himself testified at his
trial that direct interrogation did not
take place during the _ trip, (Trial
Transcript 624) and that “general conver-
sation” engaged the travelers. Trial
Transcript 625. When Stumes suffered the
"little conflict" with his emotions later
on in the afternoon of October 2, 1973,
and stated that he “couldn't understand
how anybody would want to kill Joyce,"
and that "the taking of a human life is
so useless," he was not being coerced in
any manner. There had been no interroga-
tion at that time. In fact, as Stumes
testified:

I don't think there was any

conversation in the car for

maybe ten or fifteen minutes.

[before he made his statement].

Trial Transcript 626.

28

Stumes had clearly, within’ the
teachings of Edwards, ‘initiated’ further
dialogue with the p:lice. Stumes then
related how Joyce Hoff had died on
September 17, 1973. Trial Transcript
42-43. Detective Green then admonished
Stumes that his attorney would not want
him to make a statement to the police,
but Stumes indicated his willingness to
ignore his counsel's advice and talk to
anyone he pleased. Trial Transcript 44.

Viewed within the totality ot cir-
cumstances, Stumes waived his right to
counsel. He had been given his Miranda
warnings, not only on October 2, but the
day before, and on September 27, 1973,
when he was arrested. Trial Transcript
665. He was experienced in dea’ing with
law enforcement and the courts and, at

the time he made his statements and

29

admissions, there had been no conversa-
tions within the automobile for approxi-
mately fifteen minutes. In addition, as
the district court found, Stumes previous
request to terminate questioning were
"scrupulously honored" and he was free to
make the same request during the trip to
Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Finally,
Stumes' statement that he would talk to
anyone he wanted, indicated his willing-
ness to discuss the homicide with the
police.

After Stumes had been placed in the
Minnehaha County Jail in Sioux Fails,
South Dakota, on the evening of Octo-
ber 2, 1973, he made statements that
Joyce Hoff's death had been accidental
and that he was not a vicious killer.
Trial Transcript 46. These statements

were made only after Stumes had requested

30

that Detective Skadsen come to his cell.
Id. These statements were not the result
of any questioning by police. Clearly,
Stumes had initiated a new dialogue with
the police. Viewed in the totality of
the circumstances, i.e., an experienced
criminal who had been previously given
Miranda warnings and told that he was a
suspect in the Hoff homicide, (Trial
Transcript 619) and that he was not
subject to any coercion at the time he
spoke to Detective Skadsen, there can be
no doubt that Stumes waived his right to
Silence and to counsel.

While the give and take of conversa-
tion during the trip to Sioux Falls may
have exerted a “subtle compulsion," see

Rhode Island v. Innis, supra, upon the

Respondent, such influences we.e not

31

sufficient to induce Stumes to involun-
tarily incriminate himself. Even a
retroactive application of Edwards justi-
fies the denial of habeas corpus relief
to the Respondent.
B. eee APPLICATION OF A_ NEW

fe) CRIMIN OC S

U BY UNI Ss Ss
CONS ON.

It is clear that the Constitution
neither prohibits nor requires retrospec-
tive effect of a constitutional rule of

criminal procedure. Linkletter v. Walker,

a. «(6UVLS. «6G, 49. @B 8.6 1783. B84
L.Ed.2d 601 (1965); Tehan v. United

States ex rel. Shott, 382 U.S. 406, 86

S.Ct. 459, 15 L.Ed.2d 453 (1966); Brown
v. Louisana, 447 U.S. 323, 100 S.Ct.

2214, 65 L.Ed.2d 159 (1980). The ques-
tion of retroactivity is not determined
by the particular provision of the

Constitution on which the new rule is

32

based. Brown v. Louisana, supra, 447 U.S.

327. The court may make a rule prospec-
tive when the exigencies of the situation

so require. Johnson v. New Jersey, 384

U.S. 719 (1966).

Where the major purpose of new
constitutional doctrine is to
overcome the aspect of the
criminal trial that substan-
tially impairs the truth-finding
function and so raises serious
questions about the accuracy of
guilty verdicts in past trials,
the new rule has been given
complete retroactive effect.

Williams v. United States, 401 U.S. 646,

653, 91 S.Ct. 1148, 28 L.Ed.2d 388 (1971)
(plurality opinion of White, J.). How-
ever, when the purpose of the new rule is
not to avoid inaccurate guilty verdicts,
but other reasons exist for its establish-
ment, then retroactive effect is not

prescribed. Id.

33
This Court has set out its test for
determining when retrospective applica-
tion of a new standard is applopriate:

« test consistently
applied by the court to decide
whether a new constitutional
doctrine should be applied
retroactively contemplates the
consideration of three criteria:

(a) the purpose to be
served by the new
standards, (b) the
extent of the reliance
on law enforcement
authorities on the old
standards, and (c) the
effect on the adminis-
tration of justice of
a retrospective appli-
cation of the new
standards. Stovall v.

Denno, 388 .

297, 18 L.Ed. 24 1199,

87 S.Ct. 1967 (1967).

Brown v. Loulsana, supra, 447 U.S. 328.

The purpose of the new rule is the
most important of the above criteria.
Id. It is a matter of degree concerning

the extent to which the purpose of a new

34
rule requires retroactive application.
Id. A rule which prevents unfairness at
trial is not automatically to be applied
retroactively. Id. at 329. "In short,
'[t]he extent to which a condemned prac-
tice infects the integrity of the
truth-determining process at trial is a
question of probabilities." [citations
omitted]. "And only when an assessment
of those probabilities indicates the
condemned practice casts doubt upon the
reliabilty of the determinations of guilt
in past criminal cases must a new pro-
cedural rule be applied retroactively."

Id. See also, Hankerson _ v. North

Carolina, 432 U.S. 233, 97 S.Ct. 2339, 53

L.Ed.2d 306 (1977).

While the above discussion sets out
this Court's general principals concern-
ing retroactive application of a new

constitutional rule, there have been many

35

cases dealing with the issue of retro-
activity of particular constitutional
guarantees. Among these decisions are
those involving the Fifth Amendment's
right to counsel.

This Court has held on many occa-
sions that the Miranda decision is not

required to be applied retroactively.

Johnson v. New Jersey, supra; Davis v.

North Carolina, 384 U.S. 737, 86 S.Ct.

1761, 16 L.Ed.2d 895 (1966); Clewis v.

Texas, 386 U.S. 707, 87 S.Ct. 1338, 18
L.Ed.2d 423 (1967).

In Johnson v. New Jersey, supra, the

petitioner asserted the retroactivity of

Escobedo. Miranda having been decided

one week before the Court's opinion in
Johnson was also discussed. This Court
was concerned with the availability of

other safeguards to protect the integrity

36
of the truth-determining process at
trial, but concluded that neither

Escobedo nor Miranda should be retro-

actively applied. This Court recognized
the retroactive application would not
have the “justifiable effect of curing
error committed in disregard of constitu-
tional rulings already clearly fore-

shadowed." Johnson, supra, 384 U.S. 731.

In addition, the Court realized that the
Py ws 6 retroactive application of

Escobedo and Miranda would seriously

disrupt the administration of our crim-
inal laws. It would require the retrial
or release of numerous prisoners found
guilty by trustworthy evidence in con-
formity with previously announced
constitutional standards." Id.

The Miranda rules have also been

held unapplicable to a retrial of a case

37
Originally tried before the Miranda

decision was rendered. Jenkins v.

Delaware, 395 U.S. 213, 89 S.Ct. 1677, 23

L.Ed.2d 253 (1969). This Court's reti-
cence to impart retroactive effect to its
decisions has extended to other constitu-
tional guarantees. See, for example,

Stovall v. Denno, supra, (rule requiring

counsel at identification proceedings

prospective only); Mackey v. United

States, 401 U.S. 667, 91 S.Ct. 1160, 28
L.Ed.2d 404 (1971) (privilege against
self-incrimination valid defense to
charge of failure to register as gambler
and pay wagering excise taxes held not

retroactive) .*

2 Two state courts agree that Edwards
should not be applied retroactively. See

State v. McCloskey, 90 N.J. 18, 446 At.2d
1201 (1982), and State v. Shea, 421 So.2d

200 (La. 1982).

38

Applying the principles contained in
the foregoing discussion clearly mili-
tates against the retroactive appli::ation
of underlying Edwards. The Edwards
decision does not represent only an
amplification of Miranda. In Edwards,
this Court focvsed on the "“initiation"
aspect of custodial interrogation. The
emphasis on who initiated further dia-
logue with the accused had not been the
most significant consideration in the
cases prior to Edwards. That decision,
however, brought the initiation issue to
the forefront. Police, in addition to
the guidelines stated in Miranda, must
now be careful not to initiate a conver-
sation with a suspect who has invoked his
right to counsel. Before Edwards, a
Simple inquiry as to whether an accused

had changed his mind and wished to speak

39

to the police in the absence of counsel,
would likely not have implicated the
suspect's constitutional rights. A
similar inquiry, under Edwards, incurs
the risk of being characterized as
police-initiated interrogation by a
reviewing court, and any statements made
by the accused liable to suppression.
The initiation issue was simply not
foreshadowed by other decisions of this
Court, and the prohibition on statements
made after counsel has been requested
represents new constitutional doctrine.

In applying the criteria utilized to
determine whether a rule is to be applied
retroactively, it is important to note
that preservation of the truthfinding
process at trial remains a paramount con-
Sideration. The purpose of a new rule

should be viewed in that context.

40

The purpose of the constitutional
doctrine established in Edwards is not
solely connected with ensuring reliable
results at trial. Rather, the prohibi-
tion against using confessions obtained
in the absence of counsel can serve
multiple ends. For example, one purpose
served by the Fifth Amendment's right to
counsel is that of deterring police
misconduct in the custodial setting. The
police, under Miranda, know that an
illegally obtained confession is subject
to exclusion. In this manner, the
Mira:.tja and Edwards decisions served to
motivate police to conform their behavior
to constitutional dictates. Related to
this consideration is the extremely
important end of ensuring that the puta-
tive defendant will have the opportunity

to exercise his right to counsel. The

41

concerns above--deterring police miscon-
duct and ensuring that the suspect may
exercise his constitutional rights--do
not directly implicate truthfinding at
trial. If, for example, a justly accused
individual whose confession would provide
the police with perhaps their only evi-
dence of his involvement in a crime,
exercises his right to counsel and to
remain silent, and does not give his
would-be interrogators a statement, he
may well be acquitted if tried. In
addition, a guilty individual whose
custodial confessions, taken in violation
of his rights, were suppressed and ex-
cluded from evidence might also be
acquitted, if no other available evidence
of his guilt were available.

The above examples illustrate that
the ensuring of reliable verdicts at

trial is subordinated, under the Fifth

42

Amendment, to the concerns of conforming
police conduct to constitutional require-
ments and guaranteeing that suspects may
exercise their constitutional rights. If
securing the truth at trial was the sole
purpose of the Fifth Amendment, then
truthful confessions, even if obtained in
violation of a defendant's constitutional
rights, would always be admitted into
evidence. The purpose of the Edwards
rule is to exclude confessions, even if
truthful, obtained outside of constitu-
tional dictates. The rule in Edwards,
not being directed to repairing any part
of the criminal trial which impairs the
ascertaining of truth and not concerned
with reliability of verdicts, should not
be applied retroactively.

As to the second part of the retro-

activity test, law enforcement authorities

43

have relied quite heavily upon the pre-
Edwards standards. Those standards
clearly established the consequences of
obtaining a custodial confession from a
suspect who had requested counsel. Those
cases did not, however, place such an
emphasis upon the initiation of further
dialogue with an accused. Nor did they
place the police at such constitutional
peril for simply inquiring whether a
suspect, previously unwilling, had
changed his mind and wanted to talk to
the police. Edwards created such uncer-
tainty and narrowed the area of accept-
able police conduct during custodial
interrogation. This Court's decision in
Edwards was not foreshadowed by previous
cases and upset reliance on what was
thought to be clear precedent.

The final consideration regarding

retroactivity is that of the effect the

“tot
retrospective application of the new rule
will have on the administration of jus-

tice. This Court, in Williams v. United

States, 401 U.S. 646 (1971), refused to
apply Chimel v. United States, 395 U.S.

752, 89 S.Ct. 2034, 23 L.Ed.2d 685 (1969)
retroactively reasoning that:

. . ordering new trials.
would have involved not only
expense and effort but the
inevitable risk of unavailable
witnesses and faulty memories:
the authorities might not have
had the evidence they once had
and might have been foreclosed
from obtaining other evidence
that might have secured had they
known the evidence they were
using was constitutionally
suspect.

Williams, 401 U.S. 654.

The above is particularly pertinent
to this appeal. The victim in this case
was killed ten years ago. If the state
has to retry Stumes it will have to

attempt to locate witnesses, and those

45

witnesses will have to try to recollect
the events of a decade ago. Other types
of evidence, such as hair samples taken
from the Respondent and the victim, will
have to be located, if they still exist.
Obtaining an evidentiary substitute for
Stumes' confession will be a difficult,
if not impossible, task. The cost of
retrying criminals, whose convictions law
enforcement officials had long considered
final, may well include allowing guilty
individuals to walk free.

The evidence in this case does not
indicate that the jury reached an unre-
liable verdict. For example, Stumes
testified at trial that he went to Joyce
Hoff's apartment in the late night hours
of September 16, 1973, had sexual inter-
course with her and remained in the
apartment until the following morning.

Trial Transcript 604-614. Her body was

46
discovered on the afternoon of Septem-
ber 17, 1973. Hair found on the victim's
body was identified as metching hairs
taken from Stumes. Trial Transcript
354-356. These items of evidence, among
others, in combination with his confes-
sion, indicate that Stumes was guilty of
killing Joyce Hoff.

Also, time for direct review of
Stumes' conviction has long since passed
and in this case represents a collateral
attack by way of habeas corpus, on his
conviction. An approach to the retroac-
tivity issue which is fair to both the
individual who seeks review of his con-
viction and the prosecution is noted by
Justice Powell in his concurring opinion

in Hankerson v. North Carolina, 432 U.S.

248. That approach would have courts

apply a new rule retroactively in cases

47
pending on direct review, while cases on
collateral review would be judged by the
rule existing when conviction became
final.?

Finally, the retroactive application
of Edwards is not mandated by the lack of
safeguards to protect the rights of
criminal suspects. The Miranda standards
are still intact and serve to adequately
protect those subject to custodial inter-
rogation. For example, an individual who
has made statements allegedly induced by
unconstitutional police conduct is free
to raise his contentions in a pretrial

motion to suppress. A finding that the

3 Justice Harlan had first suggested

such an approach in Mackey v. United
States, supra, 401 U.S. 675-702. He,
however, saw an exception to this
approach for cases such as Miranda.

48

statements were not made _ knowingly,
intelligently, and voluntarily will
result in their suppression. In sum, the
continued application of Miranda and its
pre-Edwards progeny militate against the
retroactive application of Edwards.

| CONCLUSION

Within the perameters of Brown v.

Louisana, supra, and Linkletter v. Walker,

supra, retroactive application of Edwards
is clearly improper and not mandated by
the Constitution.

Therefore, the State of South Dakota
respectfully requests that this Court
reverse the Judgment of the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals and find that

49
Respondent was not entitled to habeas

corpus relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

LEA are

Assistant Attorney General
State Capitol

Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5090
Telephone (605) 773-3215

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_0045%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
