# Record and brief — Palm v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_2074%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Record and brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 824

## Text

Supreme Court of the U

Ocroser Tro, 1981

PHILIP PALM,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Rosert J. Weser

221 N. LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(312) 782-1983

Samus. V. P. Banxs
221 N. LASalle Street
Chicago, IIlinois 60601
(312) 782-1983

Counsel for Petitioner,
Pamir Punx

Keenan Printing Company 312-648-0050 ses

81-2008 [ree

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the seizure by government agents of the
petitioner’s briefcase, and its subsequent search after
petitioner had been released and when there was no ex-
pectation of the presence of contraband, is an unlawful
border seizure as contemplated in 19 U.S.C. § 482?

Whether the admission of lay opinion regarding the
chemical composition of an unknown substance is an im-
proper application of Fed. R. Evid. 701?

iii.

INDEX TO PETITION
Pace
ED . bhes C4 ban hhennwe iii
r ẽ ß oa. 2
, • . 2
, AA.... +6 bebhs Oesane 2
. Ro rege Py ort 2
e ñ ũͤN Rd! — 4
Reasons for Granting the Writ 9
D A barcenedediwe savas 14
renne eee ee eee Al
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Pace
Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 (1975) 12
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979) .......... 12

Henderson v. United States, 390 F. 2d 805 (9th Cir.
%%% ̃ m! ᷑̃7¾ bee sada di ehoareeeest 9

Ker v. California, 374 U.S. 23, 83 S. Ct. 1623 (1963) .. 9
Maquire v. United States, 396 F. 2d 327 (9th Cir. 1968) 12

United States v. 12 200 Reels of Film, 413 U.S. 123,
EE DYE TTT es coe aes 11

United States v. Brodzik, 366 F. Supp. 295, 297 (W. D.
, AA 0 00 ˙˙—— 12

United States v. Haro-Espinosa, 619 F. 2d 789 (9th Cir.
e BO A, C ( 13

United States v. Hill, 430 F. 2d 129, 130 (Sth Cir. 1970) 9

iv.

Cases Pace
United States v. Luschen, 614 F. 2d 1164 (8th Cir.
1980), cert. den. 100 S. Ot. 216111. 13

United States v. Place, 660 F. 2d 44, 50 (2nd Cir. 1981) 12
United States v. Ramsey, 431 U.S. 606, 616-9 (1976) ... 10
United States v. Schoor, 597 F. 2d 1303, 1306 (9th Cir.

PCPÄL cya FES eNE Cs BEER ba cbc Mee ddities 11, 12
United States v. Thirty Seven Photographs, 402 U.S.
Se TEE Web ̃ —[ñV B dane 11

Constitutional Amendments

// / e 2-3
Statutes
, e 3,9
, V 2
Rules

rene. 3, 13

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1981

PHILIP PALM,

Petitioner,
vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Philip Palm, respectfully prays that writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit,
entered in this proceeding on January 18, 1982. Petitioner’s
request in the court below for rehearing was denied Feb-
ruary 26, 1982.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at
F. 2d „ (9th Cir. 1982) and appears as Appendix A hereto.

PARTIES BELOW

The names of all parties to this proceeding in the court
of appeals appear in the caption of the case.

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
January 18, 1982. On February 1, 1982, petitioner sought a
rehearing. On February 26, 1982, the court of appeals
denied rehearing. This petition for certiorari was timely
filed within 60 days after the denial of the petition for
rehearing pursuant to Rule 20 of the Rules of the Supreme
Court. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND STATUTE INVOLVED

Fourth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States;

“The right of the people to be secure in their per-

sons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated; and no
Warrants shall issue but upon probable cause, sup-
ported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized.’’

19 U.S.C. § 482:

Any of the officers or persons authorized to board
or search vessels may stop, search, and examine as
well without as within their respective districts, any
vehicle, beast, or person, on which or whom he or they
shall suspect there is merchandise which is subject to
duty, or shall have been introduced into the United
States in any manner contrary to law, whether by the
person in possession or charge, or by, in, or upon such
vehicle or beast, or otherwise, and to search any trunk
or envelope, wherever found, in which he may have a
reasonable cause to suspect there is merchandise which
was imported contrary to law; and if any such officer
or other person so authorized shall find any merchan-
dise on or about any such vehicle, beast, or person, or
in any such trunk or envelope, which he shall have
reasonable cause to believe is subject to duty, or to
have been unlawfully introduced into the United States,
whether by the person in possession or charge, or by,
in, or upon such vehicle, beast, or otherwise, he shall
seize and secure the same for trial.’’

Fed. R. Evid 701:

Ik the witness is not testifying as an expert, his
testimony in the form of opinions or inferences is
limited to those opinions or inferences which are (a)
rationally based on the perception of the witness and
(b) helpful to a clear understanding of his testimony
or the determination of a fact in issue.’’

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Seizure and Search of the Briefcase

On July 30, 1980, Dennis T. Pielage (‘‘Pielage’’) was
arrested in Honolulu, Hawaii, as he attempted to smuggle
heroin into the United States from Fiji. During a routine
border search, an inspector detected heroin sewn under the
inside lining of Pielage’s briefcase. During the subsequent
interrogation of Pielage, investigators found a piece of
paper on which was written the name of Philip Palm
(Palm“ or ‘‘the Petitioner’’). Further investigation dis-
closed that Palm was due to arrive in Honolulu from Fiji
on August 1, 1980.

On August 1, 1980, when Palm arrived in Honolulu, on
a flight from Nandi, Fiji, he went through the preliminary
customs check, afterwhich he was directed to the secondary
station. There, inspectors searched his person, and a cus-
toms inspector and DEA agent took Mr. Palm’s briefcase
to another room where it was drilled, a technique used to
locate substences hidden under linings. The agents found
no contraband in the briefcase; however, they did observe
about 200 pieces of paper.

After the drilling, Palm and the agents walked to the
DEA office where a DEA agent questioned Palm about
Pielage. Initially, Palm denied knowing Pielage; however,
when told that Pielage said he knew Palm, the defendant
admitted he knew Pielage and said he denied knowledge
because he was afraid Pielage was in trouble.

The customs inspector completed his examination of Mr.
Palm and told him that he was free to leave. The DEA
agent then said that they were going to keep Palm’s brief-
case, whereupon the customs inspector concurred because
he felt that retaining the briefcase would assist in the case
against Pielage.

An agent escorted Palm through the airport to the gate
from which he would board his flight to Los Angeles. Upon
returning to the DEA office, the agent began to examine
the contents of Palm’s briefcase and came across a bluish,
clear plastic folder. The agent testified that he noticed a
white powdery residue on both the outer and inner covers
of the folder, that he scraped this off with a knife and
requested a police officer to obtain a Marquis reagent to
test for heroin.

The police officer returned with a cobalt thiocyanate
cocaine tester, into which the agent deposited the contents
from his knife. He testified that he then noted blue specks
in the test kit which to him indicated the presence of co-
caine. In conducting this test, the DEA agent used all of the
white powder.

In addition, during his search of the briefcase, the DEA
agent found Palm’s travel itinerary. Using that itinerary,
the agent told the jury that Palm had traveled through
Bangkok, Thailand, which the agent characterized as a
“source city’’ for the purchase of drugs.

Prior to trial, Petitioner moved to suppress the use of
any items or information obtained from his briefcase. The
trial court denied that motion.

Opinion Testimony—DEA Agent

A DEA agent testified that, on August 1, 1980, while
searching the contents of Palm’s briefcase, he observed a
white powdery residue on the cover of a plastic folder;
that he scraped off all of the residue with a knife; that he
and others processed it through a cobalt thiocyanate cocaine
tester; that he observed little blue specks in the test kit;
and that he did not send any of this substance to a chemist.
In concluding this testimony the agent said that the ap-

pearance of blue specks means the presence of cocaine. On
cross-examination, the agent contradicted himself and said
that he did not testify that the substance tested for cocaine.
The cross-examination proceeded as follows:

„. (Mr. Banks) But you said it tested for cocaine.
A. (Agent Snyder) No. I just said it gave a blue
response.
Indicating it could have been cocaine.
Or heroin.
Or heroin. You don’t know which.
I don’t know which.
So what you’re saying is you don’t know what it
was but you think it was one or the other.
A. That's correct.“
In short, Agent Snyder was not sure what the substance
was.

The procedure followed by Agent Snyder with regard
to the residue found in the defendant's briefcase is to be
contrasted with his actions regarding the substance pre-
viously found in Pielage’s briefcase and with the proce-
dures followed by the DEA Chemist, Look. Fist, when the
substance was found in Pielage’s briefcase, it was se-
cured, identified and sent to the chemist.

When the DEA Chemist received the substance, he un-
dertook a procedure to identify it and determine its quality.
After weighing the substance, he ran tests to determine
whether it was cocaine or heroin. In other words, the
chemist could not make that determination with certainty
from observation. To be sure that the substance was in
fact heroin, he ran both a micro-chemical and an infra-
red spectrophotometric test. Then, after determining that
the substance was heroin, he ran a general gas chromo-

6

SFO

7

tography test to determine quality. Based upon these tests,
he reported his conclusions to the DEA office in Hono-
lulu.

On cross-examination, the chemist testified that, upon
receiving the substance, he cut out four samples and ran
tests on each. He further testified that an examination by
way of a microscope can be conducted on very minute
amounts of a substance and a determination could be
made as to whether or not the substance is heroin or
cocaine.

Opinion Testimony — Pielage

Related to the error in permitting the DEA agent to
speculate regarding the nature of the powdery residue is
the testimony of Pielage regarding a substance he smuggled
into the United States in 1975. In an effort to show prior,
similar misconduct by the petitioner, the government of-
fered the totally uncorroborated testimony of Pielage
that, in 1975, he smuggled cocaine into the United States
and delivered it to Palm. The evidence that the substance
was, in fact, cocaine consisted of the following:

„. (U.S. Attorney) What was in that package?
A. (Mr. Pielage) Cocaine.
Q. How do you know that?
A. Because I saw it unpacked.

MR. BANKS: I object to that, your Honor.
If the Court please, I ask that that be stricken.
That’s a conclusion of the witness as to what
it is.

THE COURT: Well, I think that’s probably
true unless he knows it when he sees it. That
would be true. Sustained. It may be stricken
unless there is a foundation laid,

Q. Mr. Pielage, have you ever taken cocaine?
A. I have tried it.

Q. Are you able to recognize it?

MR. BANKS: Object. Your Honor, this is a
scientific test involved to determine these types
of substances.

THE COURT: It goes to the weight, not to
the admissibility. The objection is overruled.

* * 2
Q. The question is, the first question I asked you
was whether or not you have taken cocaine.
A. Yes, I have tried it.
Q. And you have had a reaction from it?

A. Yes, I have a sinus condition which is, when
taking cocaine, I have an allergic reaction to.

Q. But you have seen it on many occasions?

A. Yes, I have.

Q. All right. And so this incident in 1975 when
you saw the cocaine, did it appear to be cocaine to
you?

A. Yes, sir.

MR. BANKS: I object to that, Judge.
THE COURT: I think he can testify that it
appeared to be cocaine. Objection is overruled.
After having permitted Mr. Pielage speculate regarding
the cocaine, the court appeared to retrench when the matter
again came up in Mr. Pielage’s testimony. The following
occurred:

Q. (Mr. Weatherwax) Did you in fact bring the
box into the United States?

A. (Mr. Pielage) Yes, I did.

Q. What did you do with that box?

9

A. (Mr. Pielage) I went through Los Angeles and
checked into the Marriott Hotel and waited for Mr.
Palm to contact me.

Q. (Mr. Weatherwax) All right. And then what
happened?

A. And then he came to my room and immediately
opened the box and took a little bit of the coke out.

MR. BANKS: I object to the conclusion.

THE COURT: Well, at any rate, he took a
little bit of something out.

THE WITNESS: Right.”

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE DECISION BELOW SANCTIONS UNINTENDED
AND UNCONSTITUTIONAL EXTENSION OF THE
GOVERNMENT'S POWER TO SEARCH AND SEIZE
LUGGAGE AT A BORDER WHERE THE AGENTS
A "RIEFCASE AFTER THEY EXHAUSTED
ALL EXPZCTATIONS OF FINDING CONTRABAND
AND WHERE THEY INTENDED TO CONDUCT A
GENERAL SEARCH OF THE PAPERS CONTAINED
IN THE BRIEFCASE.

A search or a seizure must be reasonable under the
Fourth Amendment. Ker v. California, 374 U.S. 23, 83 S.
Ct. 1623 (1963). Absent the normal requirements of a
search warrant or the existence of probable cause, border
searches still must be reasonable under the Fourth Amend-
ment. United States v. Hill, 430 F. 2d 129, 130 (5th Cir.
1970) ; Henderson v. United States, 390 F. 2d 805 (9th Cir.
1967). 19 U.S.C. § 482 provides in part:

“Any of the officers or persons authorized to board
or search vessels may . . . search any trunk or enve-
lope, wherever found, in which he may have a reason-

10

able cause to suspect there is merchandise which was
imported contrary to law; and if any such officer or
other person. . shall find any merchandise on or
about any such. . trunk or envelope, which he shall
have reasonable cause to believe . . to have been un-
lawfully introduced into the United States, . . he shall
seize and secure the same for trial.” (Emphasis sup-
plied)

The history of this statute is succinctly set out in United

States v. Ramsey, 431 U.S. 606, 616-9 (1976), where this

Court concludes:

„This long-standing recognition that searches at our
borders without probable cause and without a war-
rant are nonetheless ‘reasonable’ has a history as old
as the Fourth Amendment itself.’’

However, in Ramsey, supra. p. 618, fn. 13, this Court also
noted that it was not deciding whether, and under what
circumstances, a border search might be deemed unreason-
able because of the particularly offensive manner in which
it was carried out.

Petitioner has consistently argued that the government
agents exceeded the authority given them under 18 U.S.C.
§ 482. Specifically, the agents seized petitioner’s briefcase
and its contents-—being his personal papers—after two
searches failed to uncover any contraband. This is a direct
violation of the dictates of 18 U.S.C. § 482 which conditions
seizure of a trunk or ‘‘envelope’’ upon the finding of
contraband. In this case, the alleged traces of an undefined
controlled substance were found after the seizure of the
briefcase.

Secondly, the final search of the briefcase was a viola-
tion of 18 U.S.C. § 482 in that the object was not contra-
band, but evidence. The government’s right to search and
seize at the border without a warrant is limited to the

11

prevention of smuggling. United States v. Thirty Seven
Photographs, 402 U.S. 363, 376 (1971); United States v.
12 200-Ft. Reels of Film, 413 U.S. 123, 125 (1973). In this
case, it is clear that at the time of the final search, the
agents had determined that petitioner did not possess con-
traband, and they undertook an inspection of Palm’s pri-
vate papers which were in the seized briefcase. It must be
recalled that the agents had inspected the inside of the
briefcase twice including a perusal of the contents, before
the final search of the papers. One of the prior searches
included a drilling to determine if any substance was con-
cealed under the linings.

It must also be recalled that Palm was released by the
agents—though his briefcase was retained—to catch a
flight from Hawaii to California. Therefore, the agent must
have felt that they did not have probable cause to arrest
him.

Finally, it must be recalled that this last search was a
reading of the private papers contained in the briefcase.
Because this final search was general and investigative, it
does not fall within the purview of 18 U.S.C. § 482, or any
other inherent powers that the government may have to
protect its borders and, therefore, the agents should have
obtained a warrant.

The opinion of the court below fails to discuss these
issues, and for that reason alone, this petition should be
allowed. The court below first discusses the issue of the
involvement of the DEA agent, with the Customs inspector
and resolves it by citing United States v. Schoor, 597 F. 2d
1303, 1306 (9th Cir. 1979). However, the identity and or-
ganization of the agents was not the issue raised by the
appeal. The issue, which remains unanswered, is the focus

12

of the search which had shifted from a search for contra-
band, to a search of private papers for evidence.

Petitioner is aware of the few cases where the issue of
contraband vis a vis evidence is discussed. Maquire v. United
States, 396 F. 2d 327 (9th Cir. 1968); United States v.
Schoor, 597 F 2d 1303 (9th Cir. 1979). However, in each
of these, contr«band was the object of the questioned search
which uncovered evidence of other crimes. In this case,
contraband was no longer the object of the questioned
search.

The court below next discusses the question of the bi-
furcation of the search, and resolves the matter by holding
that ‘‘the second’’ search was a continuing border search.
The court below undertakes a time and distance analysis
which completely misses the point.

As noted above, the real issues are:

1. Was the seizure without haviag found contraband
valid?

2. By reason of the shifting of the object of the search
from contraband to evidence of criminal involve-
ment, must a warrant be obtained?

In this regard, petitioner would analogize his position at
the time that he was released to that of the traveler in an
airport who has been subjected to an investigative stop.
In those instances, seizures—whether of persons, Dunaway
v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979); Brown v. Illinois, 422
U.S. 590 (1975) ;—or of objects, United States v. Place,
660 F. 2d 44, 50 (2nd Cir. 1981), for investigative purposes
have been declared unconstitutional. See also: United
States v. Brodzik, 366 F. Supp. 295, 297 (W. D. N.Y. 1973).

These issues have not, as yet, been addressed by this
Court and are properly presented within the context of this

13

case. Furthermore, the court below has failed to address
these questions and, therefore, review by this Court is

necessary.
11.

THE DECISION BELOW IMPROPERLY SANCTIONS
THE ADMISSION OF LAY OPINION TESTIMONY
REGARDING THE CHEMICAL COMPOSITION OF
AN UNKNOWN SUBSTANCE AND THEREBY DAN
GEROUSLY BROADENS THE SCOPE OF FED. R.
EVID. 701 IN NARCOTIC PROSECUTIONS.

Opinion Testimony-Pielage and DEA Agent

As noted above, the trial court permitted both Pielage
and a DEA agent to testify to opinions that a white,
powdery substance was either cocaine or heroin. The court
below held that such opinion testimony was properly ad-
mitted into evidence under Fed. R. Evid. 701.

Fed. K. Evid. 701 provides for the admission of lay
opinions if the opinions are rationally based upon the per-
ception of the witnesses. Fed. R. Evid. 702 provides for
the admission of expert testimony when the witness has
been qualified. Opinions regarding the nature of a ques-
tioned substance are limited to qualified experts. United
States v. Haro-Espinso, 619 F. 2d 789 (9th Cir. 1979);
United States v. Luschen, 614 F. 2d 1164 (8th Cir. 1980);
cert. den. 100 S. Ct. 2161. To permit an agent to testify to
an opinion which cannot be impeached because the ques-
tioned substance has been used, or to permit a smuggler
to render a lay opinion under Fed. R. Evid. 701 unneces-
sarily and dangerously broadens the scope of that rule.

14
CONCLUSION

For these reasons a writ of certiorari should issue to
review the judgment and opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert J. Wann
Sanuk. V. P. Banks
221 N. LaSalle Street
Suite 3800

Chicago, IL 60601
(312) 782-1983

Counsel for Petitioner, Philip Palm
April, 1982

~ yIpuaday

Al
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )
Plaintiff-Appellee, No. 81-1225

v. > D.C. No. 80-01159
PHILIP PALM, MEMORANDUM

Defendant-Appellant. |

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Hawaii

Samuel King, District Judge, Presiding
Argued and submitted October 21, 1981

Before: ALARCON, POOLE and FERGUSON, Circuit
Judges

Philip Palm appeals his conviction of distributing heroin
in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 959 and of causing another indi-
vidual to import heroin in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 952(a),
§ 960(a)(1), and 18 U.S.C. § 2(b). We affirm.

Palm first contends that the seizure and search of his
briefcase was not a lawful border search because it was con-
ducted by a Drug Enforcement Agency agent. We do not
agree. The search was conducted by customs officials with
DEA agents assisting them. A border search under the
aegis of a customs official is not invalidated by the presence
of DEA agents. See United States v. Schoor, 597 F. 2d
1303, 1306 (9th Cir. 1979), United States v. Carter, 592 F.
2d 402, 405 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 908 (1979).

A2

Palm alsc argues that the second search of his briefcase
was not a border search and therefore required a war-
rant. This argument is also without merit. The entire
search and questioning of Palm was completed within
seventy minutes. During this time, customs officials never
relinquished the briefease to Palm. The second search
conducted at the airport was a continuing border search
and therefore did not require a search warrant. See United
States v. Ramsey, 431 U.S. 606, 616-20 (1977), United States
v. Rodriguez, 592 F. 2d 553, 556 (9th Cir. 1979). Customs
officials may allow a suspect to leave and subsequently
conduct a valid border search. See e.g., United States v.
Espericueta-Reyes, 631 F. 2d 616, 619 (9th Cir. 1980);
United States v. Smith, 629 F. 2d 1301 (9th Cir. 1980).

Palm next argues that the trial judge improperly ad-
mitted certain testimony. Agent Snyder’s testimony re-
garding the substance found in Palm’s briefcase and
Dennis Pielage’s testimony regarding the substance
allegedly smuggled into the country in 1975 were both
lay opinion testimony founded on personal knowledge and
observation, and were properly admitted into evidence
under Fed. R. Evid. 701.

Palm contends that Pielage’s testimony regarding the
courier from South America was inadmissible hearsay.
Assuming that admission of this testimony was error, it
was harmless. Customs officials found heroin in Pielage’s
briefcase. At trial, Pielage gave extensive and detailed
testimony concerning the agreement between Palm and
Pielage to smuggle the heroin from Fiji. For the jury
to have convicted Palm they must have believed Pielage’s
testimony regarding the present smuggling agreement.
Pielage’s testimony concerning a prior smuggling trans-

A3

action probably did not add to his credibility and there-
fore did not contribute to the conviction.

Palm’s final contention is that the evidence against him
was insufficient to support his conviction. As noted above,
customs officials found heroin in Pielage’s suitcase. Pielage
gave extensive and detailed testimony regarding the plan-
ning and effectuation of their smuggling scheme. The
eveidence in the record, when taken in the light most favor-
able to the prosecution, supports the conviction. See Jack-
son v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 318-19 (1979), United States
v. Witt, 648 F. 2d 608, 611 (9th Cir. 1981).

AFFIRMED.

1— CLERK
a

n tte Supreme Court of the Gnited States

PHILLIP PALM, PETITIONER
* iW
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
‘THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

be Rex E. Lee .
15 Solicitor General

* D. LOWELL JENSEN

ry. ‘Assistant Attorney General

I; JOHN F. Dx Pur

5 Attorney |

2 of Justice

1 5

Be : |

“ws

55 1

3 1 s
3 K N

8

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a search of petitioner’s briefcase con-
ducted by a Customs officer, assisted by a DEA agent,
upon petitioner’s arrival in the United States on an
international flight constituted a legitimate customs
inspection.

2. Whether the district court properly admitted in
evidence opinion testimony that an otherwise unidenti-
fied substance was a narcotic.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
e 1
/ bc dcUvbs eves betes 1
// POM aie deKe ⁰ 05% 0 1
/ ᷣͤͤ—qX] 7... 5
— œ Q ⁵¼—ß'»ß . 12
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590........... 7
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 ..... 7
Government of Canal Zone v. Eulberg, 581
r ö 6, 7
Maguire v. United States, 396 F. 2d 327,
cert. denied, 398 U.S. 1099. 9
United States v. Atkins, 473 F. 2d 308, cert.
denied, 412 U.S. 98111 11, 12
United States v. Bermudez, 526 F.2d 89,
cert. denied, 425 U.S. 970 .............. 10
United States v. Burchinal, 657 F.2d 985,
cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1086 ............. 12
United States v. Flores, 594 F.2d 438 6,7
United States v. Grayson, 597 F.2d 1225,
cert. denied, 444 U.S. 875 .............. 9
United States v. Hampton, 507 F.2d 832,
rn ee eee 10-11
United States v. Haro-Espinosa, 619 F. 2d
„ cbnhe tbody ince cess 10
United States v. Lam Lek Chong, 544 F.2d
58, cert. denied sub nom. Liganoza v.
United States, 429 U.S. 1101 ........... 11

III

Page
Cases—Continued:
United States v. Lawson, 507 F. 2d 433,
cert. denied, 420 U.S. 1004 ............. 12

United States v. Ramsey, 431 U.S. 606.... 7
United States v. Schoor, 597 F. 2d 1308 .... 9
United States v. Warner, 441 F. 2d 821,

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 829 .............. 6
Statutes and rules
ein oh a 0p) Seivesees i vvebsenwee 2
neee 5, 6, 7
nee.. 2
ne «605006 avn eubnd dhescsees 1-2
eee 2
Fed. R. Evid.:
rann 5, 11, 12

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1982

No. 81-2004
PHILIP PALM, PETITIONER

U.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The memorandum opinion of the court of appeals
(Pet. App. Al-A3) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
January 18, 1982. A petition for rehearing was denied
on February 26, 1982. The petition for a writ of certio-
rari was filed on April 27, 1982. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Following denial of his pretrial motion to suppress
evidence, petitioner was convicted by a jury sitting in
the United States District Court for the District of
Hawaii of distribution of heroin intended for unlawful
importation into the United States, in violation of 21

1

2

U.S.C. 959; and of causing an accomplice to distribute
unlawfully imported heroin and to possess a controlled
substance, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 952(a) and 960(a)(1)

sion hearing and at trial established that in May 1980

United States by concealing them in the lining of a
briefease.1 They agreed to meet in Fiji, where they
would exchange matching briefcases. Pielage would
then bring the briefcase given to him by petitioner into
the United States, and the two would mee. in Los An-
geles, California, where petitioner would receive the
briefease and pay Pielage $7,000 for his services (Tr.
64-69). To effectuate the scheme, petitioner gave
Pielage expense money to purchase airline tickets and a
briefcase. Pielage then flew to Fiji where on July 29,
1980 he met petitioner in his hotel room and they ex-
changed briefcases (Tr. 67-68, 72-73, 78-87). The fol-
lowing day, Pielage arrived at the Honolulu
International Airport with the briefcase that petitioner
had given him. During a customs inspection, a Customs
officer discovered a quantity of heroin secreted in the
lining of the bottom of the briefcase (Tr. 90-91), and a
piece of paper bearing petitioner’s name and the tele-
phone number of a female acquaintance (H. Tr. 8-9).
Customs officials telephoned the woman and checked
the passenger manifest of incoming flights, learning
that petitioner would be arriving later that night Uh.
Tr. 10).

1 Pielage, who entered a plea of guilty to attempted importa-
tion of drugs, was the government’s principal witness at trial.

2 References to “Tr.” denote the trial transcript; H. Tr.” de-
notes the suppression hearing transcript.

3

As expected, petitioner, carrying a black briefcase
identical to Pielage’s, arrived on a flight from Fiji
shortly after midnight and was met by a Customs offi-
cer who escorted him to a “primary” customs area. Af-
ter a Treasury Enforcement Communications Systems
(TECS) computer check registered a “hit”, which indi-
cated petitioner’s prior involvement in criminal activity,
he was taken to a “secondary” customs area, where the
Customs officer, assisted by a DEA agent, inspected
the briefcase and observed that its corner had been
pulled apart and reglued. However, when the officers
punctured the lining of the bag with a drill they did not
detect the presence of drugs (H. Tr. 12-13, 15-16, 26).

Petitioner was then taken to a DEA office, where he
initially denied but later admitted knowing Pielage* (H.
Tr. 16-17, 28). Acting on the suggestion of the DEA
agent, the Customs officer decided to retain petitioner’s
briefcase but to permit petitioner, who by then had
been detained approximately one hour, to catch a con-
necting flight to Los Angeles (H. Tr. 15, 17-18, 29).
The Customs officer explained at the suppression hear-
ing that this was necessary because he “wasn’t finished
examining it” (H. Tr. 29), and because it was of appar-
ent evidentiary value in a drug importation case involv-
ing both petitioner and Pielage (H. Tr. 19-20).

Following petitioner’s departure, the Customs officer
and the DEA agent renewed their inspection of the
briefcase. While searching its contents, the DEA agent
observed a white powder residue on a blue plastic fold-
er (H. Tr. 13-14). The agent scraped the residue off the
folder and, by conducting a field test for drugs, deter-
mined that it was cocaine or heroin (H. Tr. 13-14, Tr.

* Petitioner explained that his initial denial was prompted by
his fear that Pielage was in trouble and his desire not to become
involved (H. Tr. 17).

1

156-157). The inspection of the briefcase and the folder
also revealed the presence of a passport and a trip itin-
erary prepared by a travel agency (Tr. 155).

Following denial of petitioner’s motion to suppress
the contents of the briefcase (H. Tr. 46), the district
court admitted into evidence testimony concerning both
the narcotic residue found on the folder and the travel
documents found in the briefcase (Tr. 155-156).

2. The district court denied petitioner’s motion to
suppress the contents of the briefcase concluding that,
notwithstanding the pause in the search and the
participation of a DEA agent assisting the Customs in-
spector, the second phase of the search of petitioner’s
briefcase constituted a permissible warrantless border
search conducted for the specific purpose of interdicting
unlawful importation of contraband rather than for gen-
eral law enforcement purposes (H. Tr. 40—43).* At trial
the court permitted testimony concerning both the nar-
cotics residue found on the folder and the travel docu-
ments found in the briefcase (Tr. 155-156).

On appeal petitioner argued that the second phase of
the search of his briefcase was impermissible because
the border search had ended when nothing was found in
drilling into the lining and he was permitted to go on
his way, and because of the participation of a DEA
agent. Petitioner also asserted several errors in the ad-
mission of evidence, most importantly the admission of
the DEA agent’s testimony, based upon the field test
he had administered, that the substance found on the
folder recovered from petitioner’s briefcase was either
cocaine or heroin. Finally, petitioner asserted that the
evidence was insufficient to support his conviction.

* The court concluded in the alternative that the second phase

5

The court of appeals affirmed. The court held that a
“border search under the aegis of a customs official is
not invalidated by the presence of DEA agents” (Pet.
App. Al) and that the second search conducted at
the airport was a continuing border search and there-
ore did not require a search warrant” (id. at A2; em-
phasis in original).5 The DEA agents’ testimony and
other challenged testimony were both properly admit-
ted into evidence pursuant to Fed. R. Evid. 701 as lay
opinion testimony founded upon personal knowledge
and observation, the court held (Pet. App. A2).®
Finally, the court held that petitioner’s conviction was
amply supported by the evidence, which included
Pielage’s testimony implicating petitioner in the at-
tempted importation of the heroin found in Pielage’s
briefcase (id. at Ag).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 9-12) that the trial judge
was required to grant his motion to suppress evidence
found in his briefcase because Customs officers ex-
ceeded their statutory authority by detaining the brief-
case for further examination while allowing his depar-
ture from the airport and by thereafter renewing a
search of its contents. More specifically, he argues that
19 U.S.C. 482 authorizes the seizure of containers by
Customs officers only following the discovery of contra-
band; thus, the detention of his briefcase for further ex-
amination following the initial inspection, which failed

5 The court noted (Pet. App. A2) that At he entire search and
questioning of Palm was completed within seventy minutes.
During this time customs officials never relinquished the brief-
case to Palm.”

The court also held (Pet. App. A2-A3) that admission of
Pielage’s testimony to the effect that petitioner had sent a cou-
rier who had supplied him with cocaine which he had delivered
to Palm on an earlier occasion was harmiess error, if error at
all.

6

to reveal the presence of contraband, is alleged to have
constituted an unlawful seizure. This claim was proper-
ly rejected by the court below.

a. 19 U.S.C. 482 authorizes a Customs officer to

search any trunk or envelope, wherever
found, in which he may have a reasonable
cause to suspect there is merchandise which
was imported contrary to law; and if any such
officer * * * shall find any merchandise on or
about any such * * * trunk or envelope, which
he shall have reasonable cause to believe * * *
to have been unlawfully introduced into the
United States Ito] seize and secure the
same for trial.

It is settled law in the courts of appeals that the failure
of Customs officers, acting within the purview of this
statute, initially to detect the presence of contraband in
personal belongings does not preclude them from con-
ducting a second search of the property while it is with-
in the immediate vicinity of the border crossing point.
See, e.g., United States v. Flores, 594 F.2d 438, 439
(5th Cir. 1979); Government of Canal Zone v. Eulberg,
581 F.2d 1216, 1218 (5th Cir. 1978) (collecting cases).
As the court explained in Eulberg, quoting United
States v. Warner, 441 F.2d 821, 832-833 (5th Cir.),
cert. denied, 404 U.S. 829 (1971), “a person [and his be-
longings are] not immune from further examination by
Customs agentS‘merely because he may momentarily
escape detection and pass safely through the first Cus-
toms check.’” It is fully permissible for Customs offi-
cials to maintain custody over personal belongings long
enough to enable them to conduct secondary examina-
tions for contraband that they may have overlooked
during their initial inspection. By contrast with the sei-
zure for trial or forfeiture proceedings of property
found to contain contraband, referred to in Section 482,
such temporary detentions for investigative purposes

7

are simply an incident of the authority to enforce the
customs laws by conducting inspections at international
points of entry. See, e.g., United States v. Flores, su-
pra, 594 F.2d at 439 (warrantless secondary search of
automobile by Customs officers for drugs 10 days after
initial customs search, which revealed a quantity of her-
oin, was a valid customs search); Government of Canal
Zone v. Eulberg, supra, 581 F.2d at 1218 (customs
search of van more than a week following its initial
search and detention by Customs officers was a valid
border search under 19 U.S.C. 482).7 Here, as the Cus-
toms officer who conducted the second search explained
during the suppression hearing (H. Tr. 29), petitioner’s
briefease was retained simply because the officer

7 Disposition of this petition need not await this Court’s deci-
sion in United States v. Place, cert. granted, No. 81-1617
(June 7, 1982). The question presented in Place—whether the
police may detain luggage for exposure to a drug detecting dog
where there is suspicion not amounting to probable cause that it
contains narcotics—does not involve a detention of luggage inci-
dent to a customs search. Petitioner’s reliance upon Dunaway
v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979); and Brown v. Illinois, 422
U.S. 590 (1975), is misplaced for the same reason. Both cases in-
volve investigative detentions of persons on the basis of suspi-
cion not amounting to probable cause; neither concerned the de-
tention of luggage at an international border for the purpose of
continuing a customs search.

Petitioner’s suggestion (Pet. 11) that by permitting him to go
on his way the Customs inspector revealed his view that prob-
able cause to arrest was lacking is both unfounded and irrele-
vant. First, the existence of probable cause to arrest petitioner
is not in issue. Second, probable cause is not required for a bor-
der search. United States v. Ramsey, 431 U.S. 606, 619 (1977).
Finally, there can be no requirement that law enforcement
agents exercise at all times the maximum legally justifiable re-
straint upon persons suspected of involvement in crime. That
petitioner was not held is no indication at all that he could not
have been detained for a reasonable time pending completion of
the border search.

“wasn’t finished examining it * *.“ Because the ensu-
ing search conducted at the airport was a continuing
border search, the incidental detention was proper.

b. Nor do the facts support petitioner’s related argu-
ment (Pet. 4, 10-12) that the examination of his brief-
case, which revealed traces of narcotics, was in excess
of the Customs officer’s authority to conduct border
searches because its objective was the discovery of ad-
ditional evidence against Pielage rather than discovery
of contraband imported in violation of the customs laws.
In view of the appearance of the briefcase—its similari-
ty to Pielage’s briefcase and its reglued cover, as well
as petitioner’s false statement that he did not know
Pielage, the Customs officers and DEA agents and am-
ple reason to suspect that it contained narcotics which
they had overlooked. The Customs officer who author-
ized the detention and supervised the second search of
the briefcase stated that he took these measures to
“help prove that * * * Pielage and [petitioner] were in-
volved in illegal importation f controlled sub-
stance({s]” (H. Tr. 20). He made no suggestion, howev-
er, that the inspection would not embrace a search for
controlled substances themselves. Instead he explained
that, in light of the events that followed the initial drill
search, he concluded that the first examination was too
cursory and that a more complete customs search was
required (H. Tr. 29).®

e. Finally, there is no merit to petitioner’s contention
(Pet. 11) that the search of his briefease was unreason-
ably intensive because it embraced a reading of his per-
sonal papers. First, this argument was raised neither in

* Petitioner errs in stating (Pet. 11) that, prior to the second
search, Customs officials had concluded that he did not possess
contraband. The clear implication of the Customs officer’s testi-
mony is that the continued search was to locate drugs that may
have been missed during the initial inspection.

that resulted in the discovery of petitioner’s passport
and trip itinerary, that the documents were simply ob-
served at some point during the inspection of its con-
tents.? “[Wjhere customs officers are authorized to
search for material introduced illegally into the
United States and they discover the instrumentalities
or evidence of crimes, they may seize the same.”
United States v. Schoor, 597 F.2d 1303, 1306 (9th Cir.
1979) (footnote omitted), citing Maguire v. United
States, 396 F. 2d 327, 330 (9th Cir. 1968), cert. denied,
393 U.S. 1099 (1969). In any event, where, as here,
there is reason for Customs officials to suspect that pa-
pers in the possession of a person whose belongings are
subject to inspection relate to the smuggling of contra-
band, they may examine the documents. See United
States v. Grayson, 597 F. 2d 1225, 1228-1229 (9th Cir.),
cert. denied, 444 U.S. 875 (1979). 10

During the pretrial suppression hearing no testimony was
developed as the extent to which petitioner’s personal papers
were examined or as to how or when the passport and itinerary
were discovered. Indeed, petitioner never specifically ad-
dressed the suppression of the documents. At trial, during cross
examination, the DEA agent testified that he “went through”
the papers in petitioner's briefcase during the customs search of
its contents (Tr. 166). Nothing in the record supports petition-
er’s claim that the inspection involved a systematic “reading of
the private papers contained in the briefcase” (Pet. 11).

1° Documents in Pielage’s briefcase linked him with petition-
er. It would be logical for Customs officials to suspect that pa-
pers in petitioner’s briefcase might connect him with Pielage
and corroborate his involvement in the drug smuggling oper-

|

10

2. Petitioner also claims (Pet. 13-14) that the trial
judge erred in permitting non-expert opinion testimony
that certain chemical substances were cocaine or
heroin.

a. At trial, the DEA agent who discovered the white
powder residue on the plastic folder in petitioner’s
briefcase testified that, after scraping the substance off
with a knife, he exposed it to a reagent from a cobalt
thiocyante cocaine tester kit. The agent observed a blue
crystalline reaction which, he stated, indicated the
presence of cocaine or heroin. The agent’s testimony es-
tablishes that he had received special training at the
Treasury Department Law Enforcement School in the
field testing of unknown substances for the presence of
narcotics and had additional on-the-job experience (Tr.
156-159, 168). 11

There is no merit to petitioner’s claim (Pet. 13) that,
because the DEA agent was not a trained chemist, the
trial judge improperly admitted his conclusion that the
powdery residue taken from the packet was a narcot-
ic. 12 Where, as here, a DEA agent’s opinion testimony
concerning the presence of an unlawful drug is based
upon his professional education and his on-the-job expe-
rience in analyzing drug samples, it is not an abuse of
discretion to admit such testimony. See United States
v. Haro-Espinosa, 619 F.2d 789, 795 (9th Cir. 1979);
United States v. Bermudez, 526 F.2d 89, 97-98 (2d
Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 970 (1976); United

11 The agent also testified that, following the field test, no
residue was left for further analysis at a laboratory (Tr. 156).

12 The DEA agent’s inability to testify definitively that the
white powder found in petitioner’s briefcase was cocaine rather
that heroin was the result of the inability of the test that he per-
formed to discriminate between the two substances, not his lack
of training (see Tr. 168). As petitioner was not charged with
possession of the drug in his briefcase, the agent’s inability to
distinguish between the two substances was inconsequential.

11

States v. Hampton, 507 F. 2d 832, 836 (8th Cir. 1974),
affd, 425 U.S. 484 (1976); see also, United States v.
Lam Lek Chong, 544 F.2d 58, 71 (2d Cir. 1976), cert.
denied sub nom. Liganoza v. United States, 429 U.S.
1101 (1977). Admission of the agent’s testimony was
accordingly proper either under Fed. R. Evid. 702, or,
as the court of appeals concluded, under Fed. R. Evid.
701.

b. At petitioner’s trial Pielage, who appeared as a
government witness, testified that during 1975 petition-
er had sent him as a courier to Tahiti to receive a quan-
tity of cocaine and import it into the United States.
Pielage explained that he had used cocaine on occasion.
Based upon his familiarity with the drug, Pielage was
allowed to testify that the substance which he conveyed
for petitioner appeared to be cocaine (Tr. 93-95). The
trial judge did not err in admitting this testimony. Un-
der Fed. R. Evid. 702 a witness qualified as an expert
by knowledge or personal experience may present per-
tinent opinion testimony, and it is within a trial judge’s
dis*retion under this rule to admit the testimony of an
experienced drug user or courier that a particular sub-
stance is, in fact, contrabend. See United States v.
Atkins, 473 F.2d 308, 313-314 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,
412 U.S. 931 (1973) (collecting cases). In any event, the

13 We note that the DEA agent technically did not testify to
his opinion as to the identity of the substance removed from the
blue folder on direct examination. Instead, he simply reported
his observation of the results of the field test he had con-
ducted—a blue crystalline reaction (Tr. 159). He had previously
testified, in general terms, that such a reaction was indicative of
the presence of cocaine. Petitioner’s counsel had objected
earlier, when the agent was initially asked the result of the field
test (Tr. 157). After a foundation for the agent’s testimony was
laid (Tr. 157-159), however, the agent reported his observation
without any further objection. The agent stated a direct conclu-
sion respecting the identity of the contraband only upon cross-
examination by petitioner’s counsel (Tr. 167-168).

12

court of appeals’ conclusion that Pielage’s testimony
was properly admitted as lay opinion testimony under
Fed. R. Evid. 701 is plainly correct. Here, Pielage, who
had explained that he had used cocaine and had seen it
on other occasions, was properly permitted to testify
that the substance that he had smuggled on petitioner’s
behalf in 1975 had the appearance of cocaine (Tr. 95).

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General

D. LOWELL JENSEN
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN F. De PUE
Attorney

AUGUST 1982

14 This testimony was not introduced to establish criminal lia-
bility for petitioner’s role in the 1975 transaction, for which he
was not charged. Rather, it was intended to help establish peti-
tioner’s intent and knowledge by cementing the links between
petitioner, Pielage, and unlawful drug trafficking. Where evi-
dence of uncharged crimes is introduced for such purposes, it is
unnecessary to establish commission of the unlawful act beyond
a reasonable doubt; it is sufficient that evidence of the un-

crimes be clear and conwincing. See United States v.
Burchinal, 657 F. 2d 985, 993 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S.
1086 (1981) (collecting cases). In view of Pielage’s testimony
that the substance he transported for petitioner had the physi-
cal appearance of cocaine and the circumstances under which he
received it, the clear and convincing evidence standard was
satisfied here. See United States v. Atkins, supra, 473 F. ad at
314 (character of illegal substance may be proven by circum-
stances of its sale and disposition); accord, United States v.
Lawson, 507 F.2d 433, 439 (7th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420
U.S. 1004 (1975).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_2074%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
