# Amicus Brief — Enmund v. Florida

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_1753%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 458 U.S. 782

## Text

J..

11.5

IAN 26 1982
No. 81-5321
sev.
CLERK
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1981
EARL ENMUND,
.. Petitioner,
STATE OF FLORIDA,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Florida

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
THE WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION

DANIEL J. POPEO
PAUL D. KAMENAR
NICHOLAS E. CALIO
1812 K Street, N.W.
Suite 502
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 857-0240
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
Washington Legal Foundation
January 25, 1982

o>
WILSON - Eres Printinc Co. Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments
allow a criminal to avoid a capital sentence imposed under
constitutionally valid State laws when he has planned
and participated in a violent crime, supplied at least one
of the deadly weapons used to execute the crime, and
disposed of the weapons in an attempt to avoid detection
after two brutal murders occurred as the natural and
probable consequence of his criminal plan?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTEDPEBE.
TABLE OF AUTHORI TIE

INTERESTS OF AMICUS CURA

STATEMENT OF CASE —————.——u

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...0

„

I. A CAPITAL SENTENCE MAY BE PROP-
ERLY IMPOSED FOR FELONY MURDER
UNDER THE EIGHTH AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS WITHOUT BEING DISPRO-
PORTIONATE OR EXCESSIVE |... 0...

A. Reading A Specific Intent Requirement Into
The Eighth Amendment Is Inconsistent With
Previous Decisions Of This Court

B. Accepting Petitioner’s Characterization Of
His Conduct And The Kerseys’ Murders Re-
quires The Nullification Of Common Law
Principles Of Criminal Responsibility De-
veloped Over Hundreds Of Years ................

C. Petitioner’s Sentence Accords With Societal
Standards Of Decency —........0.000000000.....

1. The phrase “evolving standards of de-
cency” does not automatically imply a de-
parture from imposing capital sentences..

2. Objective indicia indicate that society ac-
cepts capital punishment for felony mur-
der in appropriate cases

(iii)

Page

5

14

16

17

17

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page

3. Legal authority relied upon by Petitioner
buttresses the conclusion that his sentence
is constitutionally valid aaa le 20

D. Deterrence And Retributive Justice Are
Measurably Served By The Imposition Of
Capital Punishment For Felony Murders 24

1. Imposing capital punishment for felony
murders will have a deterrent effect on
the commission of both felonies and

1E 24
2. Retributive justice is served by punishing
Petitioner’s felony-murder with death 27

II. RECOGNITION OF THIS COURT’S PROPER
ROLE AND A RESPECT FOR THE VALUE
OF HUMAN LIFE DICTATES THAT PETI-
TIONER’S SENTENCE BE AFFIRMED ... .. 29

CONCLUSI ON 8 —ͤ—̃ä X— 30

*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977) 7, 13, 15, 16, 17
Eddings v. Oklahoma, No. 80-5727, slip op. (U.S.
I acne 7, 9, 29
En mund v. Florida, 399 So. 2d 1362 (Fla. 1981)... 3. 9
Fritz v. State, 8 Okla. Cr. 342, 128 Pac. 170 (1917) 23, 24

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S, 238 (1972277 18, 22
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976) —................ 7,16
Hutto v. Davis, No. 81-23, slip op. (U.S. Sup. Ct.
r. 9
Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1979) passim
Powell v. Texas, 392 U.S. 514 (1968) 8, 11
Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 424 (1976) 13
Roberts v. Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633 (197777 13
State v. Hall, 176 Neb. 295, 125 N.W.2d 918
% ———T—T—T—T—T—T—T——————— 23
Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (195) 16
Wesley v. State, 112 Neb. 360, 199 N.W. 719
e en ES aE ET pel Se 23
Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968 16

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280 (1976). 13

Constitutional Provisions:

UNITED STATES CONST. amend. VIII. ...passim
UNITED SrarESs Const. amend. XV passim
Statutes:
Se PO 8 5,9
Miscellaneous:
ALI, Mopet PENAL CobR § 210.2 (Official Draft
and Revised Comments 19800) 20, 21, 22
ALI, MopeEL PENAL CobR § 210.6 (Official Draft
and Revised Comments 1980) 20, 21, 22
Brudner, Retributivism and the Death Penalty, 30
U. TORONTO L. J. 337 (1980) 28

Cavanaugh, The Justification for Punishment, 16
ALBERTA L. REV. 48 (1978) 27

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Erlich, The Deterrent Effect of Capital Punish-
ment: A Question of Life and Death, 65 AMERI-
CAN ECONOMIC REV. 397 (1975) ........................

Erskine, The Polls: Capital Punishment, 34 Public
Opinion Quarterly 290 (1970) .............. RSE:

Field Newspaper Syndicate, “The Gallup Poll:
Support For Death Penalty Greatest In 28
err, soscccetsneenicotsnstuiduleciemncesinsiedditiae

National Law Journal, “Death Row Census Grow-
ing As Legal Challenges Continue,” January 18,
r Reena ae

North and Miller, THE ECONOMICS OF PUBLIC
r REE SECIS S BNC s Toe SATB

Time, June 1, 1981 at 13, col. ................................

U.S. Dept. OF JUSTICE, BUREAU OF JUSTICE STA-
TISTICS, SOURCEBOOK OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE Sta-
TISTICS (1980)

U.S. DEPT. OF JUSTICE, UNIFORM CRIME
REPORTS: CRIME IN THE UNITED
STATES~1980 (1981 ⸗;);)

-

Page

26

19

20

18

25
19, 20

. 19,06

26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981
No. 81-5321

EARL ENMUND,
7 Petitioner,

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Florida

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
THE WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION

INTERESTS OF AMICUS CURIAE
WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION

The Washington Legal Foundation (WLF or Founda-
tion) is a non-profit corporation organized and existing
under the laws of the District of Columbia for the pur-
pose of engaging in matters affecting the broad public
interest. WLF has more than 80,000 members and sup-
porters throughout the United States whose interests the
Foundation represents.

WLF participates and devotes a substantial portion of
its resources to matters raising criminal justice and re-
lated constitutional issues. The Foundation’s concern for

2

the physical, psychological, and financial impact crime has
on its victims, their families, and society has led to the
establishment of a Crime Victims Program. This pro-
gram is designed to advance the rights of crime victims
and to help reduce the alarming crime rate in America.
Among other activities, WLF provides educational ma-
terials, legal guidance, and assistance to the victims of
violent crime, participates in rulemaking proceedings be-
fore such agencies as the United States Parole Commis-
sion, and monitors criminal cases in which the courts
have been too lenient in sentencing violent criminals or
otherwise exhibited an insensitivity to the rights of vic-
tims and the general public.

In the instant case, the Washington Legal Foundation
seeks to advance the interests of its members and the
public by urging this Court to consider the right and the
need of the States and their elected representatives to
protect law-abiding citizens from murders and other acts
of violence which often lead to murder. The States have
a paramount right to determine their individual criminal
justice needs and how to best meet those needs without
undue interference from Federal Courts.

The Washington Legal Foundation has appeared before
this Court as amicus curiae on numerous occasions. Briefs
amicus curiae have been filed with and accepted by the
Supreme Court in the following recent cases: Zant v.
Stephens, No. 81-89 (brief filed November 19, 1981);
Murphy v. Hunt, No. 80-2165 (brief filed November 19,
1981) ; General Bldg. Contractors Assn. v. Commonwealth
of Pennsylvania, No. 81-280, 330-33 (brief filed December
3, 1981; Eddings v. Oklahoma, No. 80-5727 (brief filed
August 12, 1981) ; Edwards v. United States, No. 81-5017
(brief filed September 2, 1981); Williams v. Zbharaz, 448
U.S. 358 (1980); Consolidated Edison Co. of New York
v. Public Service Commission of the State of New York,
447 U.S. 530 (1980); United Steel Workers v. Weber,

3

443 U.S. 193 (1979); Carbon Fuels Company v. United
Mine Workers, 442 U.S. 939 (1979) ; Personnel Adminis-
trator of Mass. v. Feeney, 442 U.S. 322 (1979) ; Parklane
Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 323 (1979) ; Federal Trade
Commission v. Standard Oil Co. of California, 449 U.S.
232 (1980); San Diego Gas and Electric Co. v. City of
San Diego, —— U.S. ——, 101 S.Ct. 1287 (1981); Rost-
ker v. Goldberg, —— U.S. ——, 101 S.Ct. 2646 (1981);
Moody v. Forresster, —— U.S. ——, 101 S.Ct. 1733
(1981) ; First National Maintenance Corp v. NLRB, ——
U.S. ——, 101 S.Ct. 1510 (1981).

The Washington Legal Foundation can bring a per-
spective to this case which will assist the Court in ob-
taining full consideration of the public interest issues.
WLF seeks to insure that the arguments in favor of
capital punishment—which we submit more accurately
reflect the real public interest since they consider the
rights of all citizens, not just criminals—are advanced
before this Court. Such a function is particularly im-
portant when, as here, a criminal who was a prime mover
in a violent crime which foreseeably resulted in a brutal
double murder seeks to avoid moral culpability and crim-
inal responsibility. Petitioner asks this Court to override
the authority of the State to determine the appropriate
punishment for his crime as well as to substitute its
personal judgment on factual matters for that of the
courts and jury below. Such interference will only serve
to undermine the rightful authority of the States and the
confidence of the public in the criminal justice system.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In the interests of judicial economy, amicus curiae,
Washington Legal Foundation, adopts for the inost part
the recitation of facts in the Florida Supreme Court’s
decision in Enmund v. Florida, 399 So.2d 1362, 1363-67
(1981). However, it is useful to briefly recount the facts

4

which are particularly material to the substantive issue
at bar.

On the morning of April 1, 1975, the bullet-riddled
bodies of Thomas and Eunice Kersey were found on the
floor of their Florida home by their daughter. Mr. Kersey
had been shot twice, while Mrs. Kersey had been shot
six times.

A chain of evidence linked Petitioner, Earl Enmund,
his common law wife, his son-in-law and his daughter-in-
law to the crime. The evidence indicated that shortly be-
fore the murders, Petitioner and a friend bought a calf
from Mr. Kersey who indiscriminately showed his wallet
to Earl Enmund. According to testimony by Petitioner’s
wife, Enmund decided to plan to rob Mr. Kersey after
seeing his money.

Further evidence adduced at trial demonstrated that a
careful ruse for gaining access to the Kerseys’ home was
devised. It included the use of two deadly firearms. While
the trial court found that it was reasonable to conclude
that Enmund had fired into the bodies of the Kerseys, the
Supreme Court of Florida ruled that no direct evidence
was introduced at trial to show that Enmund had done so.

After the murders, Enmund instructed his wife to re-
move a .22 caliber pistol from a hiding place in their
house. The pistol had formerly been in the glove com-
partment of the car identified as that driven to the rob-
bery by Petitioner. Petitioner and his son-in-law in-
structed Enmund’s wife to get rid of the guns since they
had been used to kill Mr. and Mrs. Kersey.

At trial, Petitioner claimed he was innocent of robbing
and murdering the Kerseys. Nonetheless, he and his son-
in-law were tried and convicted of first degree murder
and robbery. Pursuant to Florida law, evidence was heard
on the sentencing issue and a sentence of death was rec-
ommended. The trial court specifically considered seven

5

mitigating circumstances, including Petitioner’s degree of
participation in the crime, and concluded they were out-
weighed by the aggravating circumstances present in the
case.

The Florida Supreme Court reviewed a variety of claims
advanced by Petitioner on appeal. The court concluded
after independently examining all of the evidence that
Petitioner’s participation in the crime was “major” and
that his conviction and sentence were correct under well-
established Florida law.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Petitioner’s capital sentence is neither excessive nor
disproportionate under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments. Nothing in this Court’s prior jurisprudence sup-
ports Petitioner’s argument that a death sentence may
not be constitutionally imposed in any felony murder case
absent a finding of specific intent to kill. Since the jury
and courts below considered all of the circumstances of
the homicidal act and of Enmund’s role in the felony in
making their sentencing decision, Petitioner was treated
as a unique individual in accordance with this Court’s
prior mandates. Thus, Petitioner’s sentence must be af-
firmed even if individual members of this Court disagree
with the assessment of the evidence reached below.

Petitioner would have this Court believe that an affirm-
ance of the Florida court’s decision would automatically
mean that all participants in a felony murder, regardless
of their intent or role in the crime, would receive capital
punishment. The fact is that the Florida law expressly
allows as a mitigating factor for capital punishment an
accomplice’s “relatively minor” participation in the felony.
Fla. Stat. Ann. § 921.141(6) (d).

Petitioner, however, played a major role in the deaths
of the Kerseys. His attorneys’ characterization of his

6

conduct (“unintentional” and “lacking moral culpabil-
ity”) and the Kerseys’ deaths (“spontaneous” and “for-
tuitous”) are merely false premises for a syllogism de-
signed to remove Petitioner’s sentence from the bounds of
constitutionality. No doubt, the squeezing of a trigger
and the resulting high velocity of the bullet takes only a
fraction of a second. But to so characterize the physics
of a shooting as “spontaneous”—a characterization upon
which so much of Petitioner’s argument hinges—would be
to remove all killings by guns and other highly efficient
weapons which produce spontaneous deaths from the im-
position of capital punishment for any felony murder. It
would also ignore the underlying calculations made by
Enmund and other such participants which clearly evi-
dence an intent to allow a killing to occur or to facili-
tate such a foreseeable outcome. In essence, acceptance
of Petitioner’s argument requires a_ nullification of
common law principles of criminal] responsibility devel-
oped over hundreds of years and forces this Court to don
the mantle of both legislature and jury in reaching that
decision.

Moreover, Petitioner’s sentence accords with present
societal standards of decency. “Decency” is not synon-
omous with leniency and the imposition of a capital sen-
tence is not an indication of societal deterioration. All
objective indicia demonstrate that society accepts the im-
position of capital punishment in appropriate cases of
felony murder. Even the legal authority relied upon by
Petitioner indicates that his sentence is constitutionally
valid. In addition, imposition of capital punishment in
appropriate felony murder cases serves both a deterrent
and retributive function.

Accordingly, Petitioner’s arguments must be rejected.

7
ARGUMENT

I. A CAPITAL SENTENCE MAY BE PROPERLY
IMPOSED FOR FELONY MURDER UNDER THE
EIGHTH AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS
WITHOUT BEING DISPROPORTIONATE OR
EXCESSIVE.

Petitioner’s elaborately constructed argument for avoid-
ing his properly imposed capital sentence lacks merit.
Under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments, “a pun-
ishment is ‘excessive’ and unconstitutional if it (1) makes
no measurable contribution to acceptable goals of punish-
ment and hence is nothing more than the purposeless and
needless imposition of pain and suffering, or (2) is grossly
out of proportion to the severity of the crime.” Coker v.
Georgia, 433 U.S. 584, 592 (1977). Accord, Gregg v.
Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 173 (1976). The essence of Peti-
tioner’s argument is that a capital sentence is unconstitu-
tionally excessive and disproportionate for any felony
murder conviction absent a finding of specific intent (in
the literal sense) to kill. He further contends that he
bears no greater moral culpability for his crime in which
two deaths occurred than does any other violent criminal
in a case in which no death occurred. Petitioner’s argu-
ment does not withstand analysis.

Nothing in this Court’s prior jurisprudence supports
reading a specific intent requirement into the Eighth
Amendment. The jury and courts below considered all
of the evidence of the circumstances of the homicidal act
and of Petitioner’s character in making their sentencing
decision. Therefore, Petitioner was treated as a “unique”
individual in accordance with the principles previously
announced by this Court. See Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S.
586 (1978); Eddings v. Oklahoma, No. 80-5727, slip op.,
(U.S. Sup. Ct. Jan. 19, 1982). Petitioner’s characteriza-
tion of his conduct and the Kerseys’ murders are merely
premises for a syllogism designed to remove this case
from the ambit of principles previously announced by this

8

Court. Petitioner had a guiding hand in the murder of
Thomas and Eunice Kersey. Accordingly, he bears moral
and legal responsibility for his criminal actions. His sen-
tence is neither disproportionate nor excessive; it accords
with societal standards of decency and serves acceptable
criminal punishment goals of society. Hence, the sentence
imposed upon Earl Enmund by the Florida jury and courts
must be affirmed.

A. Reading A Specific Intent Requirement Into The
Eighth Amendment Is Inconsistent With Prevoius
Decisions Of This Court.

The State of Florida’s felony murder-capital punish-
ment statutory scheme is constitutional as applied to Peti-
tioner, Earl Enmund. His argument—that a capital sen-
tence is always unconstitutionally disproportionate to a
felony murder conviction, absent a finding of active pre-
meditated specific intent to kill—is not supportable.
Rather, an examination of the pertinent decisions demon-
strates that the Florida sentencing procedure, which pro-
vided for particularized consideration of the circumstances
of the homicidal act and the character of the accused,
comported with all of the requirements for imposing a
valid capital sentence mandated by this Court.

This Court has recognized that it “has never articu-
lated a general constitutional doctrine of mens rea.”
Powell v. Texas, 392 U.S. 514, 535 (1968). Rather, it has
relied upon “[t]raditional common-law concepts of per-
sonal accountability . . .” on the grounds that “[wle
cannot, cast aside the centuries-long evolution of the col-
lection of interlocking and overlapping concepts which the
common law has utilized to assess the moral accountabil-
ity of an individual for his anti-social deeds.” [footnote
omitted] Jd. at 535-36.

In Lockett v. Ohio, supra, this Court considered the
validity of a capital sentence for an accomplice in an
armed robbery which resulted in a death. Without reach-
ing the question presently at bar, a plurality of this Court
held that:

9

[T]he Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments require
that the sentencer . . . not be precluded from con-
sidering, as a mitigating factor, any aspect of a
defendant’s character or record and any circum-
stances of the offense that the defendant proffers as
a basis for a sentence less than death.

438 U.S. at 604 (emphasis in original).

Since the Ohio statute under review permitted considera-
tion of only three mitigating circumstances, the statute
was unconstitutional. Significantly, the Ohio statute, un-
like the Florida statute here, did not permit considera-
tion of individualized circumstances such as the defend-
ant’s minor or major role in the offense or age. Id. at
606-608. Consideration of those and other mitigating
factors are mandated in Florida, see Fla. Stat. Ann.
§ 921.141(6) (a)-(g), and were in fact considered in the
instant case. Enmund v. Florida, supra, 399 So.2d at
1372-73.

The result is that Petitioner’s sentence is not flawed by
any of the “constitutional infirmities” found to exist in
the sentences in Lockett, 438 U.S. at 606-07, or in Eddings
v. Oklahoma, No. 80-5727, supra, slip op. at 8-10. The
Florida sentencing authority fully explored the record and
weighed any mitigating circumstances. That individual
members of this Court might disagree with the weight
given the evidence by the courts below does not justify
overturning a valid sentence. As Chief Justice Burger
recently stated:

[T]he Constitution does not authorize us to determine
whether sentences imposed by state courts are sen-
tences we consider “appropriate”; our only authority
is to decide whether they are constitutional under
the Eighth Amendment.

Eddings, supra, slip op. at 9 (Burger, C.J., dissenting).
See Hutto v. Davis, No. 81-23 (U.S. Sup. Ct. Jan. 11,
1982).

Justice White filed a separate opinion in Lockett in
which he urged “that it violates the Eighth Amendment
to impose the penalty of death without a finding that the

10

defendant possessed a purpose to cause the death of the
victim.” 438 U.S. at 624 (White, J., concurring in part,
concurring in judgment, dissenting in part). While the
opinion of the plurality in Lockett did not find it neces-
sary to reach that question, id. at 609 n.16, both Justice
Rehnquist and Justice Blackmun addressed the same issue
and rejected the proposition advanced by Justice White
and by Petitioner here.

Justice Rehnquist stated that:

I finally reject the proposition urged by my Brother
White in his separate opinion, which the plurality
finds it unnecessary to reach. That claim is that the
death penalty, as applied to one who participated in
this murder as Lockett did, is “disproportionate” and
therefore violative of the Eighth and Fourteenth
Amendments. I know of no principle embodied in
those Amendments, other than perhaps one’s personal
notion of what is a fitting punishment for a crime,
which would allow this Court to hold the death pen-
alty imposed upon her unconstitutional because under
the judge’s charge to the jury the latter were not re-
quired to find that she intended to cause the death
of her victim. As my Brother White needes, ap-
proximately half of the States “have not iegislatively
foreclosed the possibility of imposing the death pen-
alty upon those who do not intend to cause death.”
Ante, at 625, 57 L.Ed.2d, at 1002. Centuries of com-
mon law dectrine establishing the felony-murder doc-
trine, dealing with the relationship between aiders
and abettors and principals, would have to be re-
jected to adopt this view. Just as surely as many
thoughtful moralists and penologists would reject the
Biblical notion of “an eye for an eye, a tooth for a
tooth,” as a guide for minimum sentencing, there is
nothing in the prohibition against cruel and unusual
punishments contained in the Eighth Amendment
which sets that injunction as a limitation on the
maximum sentence which society may impose.

Id. at 635-36 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

Similarly, Justice Blackmun, concurring in part and in
the judgment, refused to embrace in Lockett the “bright

11

line” argument now urged by Petitioner. Rather, in terms
which are consistent with Powell, supra, and instructive
here, Justice Blackmun rejected the proposition that capi-
tal punishment may never be imposed for felony murder
after examining the jurisprudential and practical diffi-
culties of such a rule:

I do not find entirely convincing the disproportion-
ality rule embraced by my Brother White. The rule
that a defendant must have had actual intent to kill,
in order to be capitally sentenced, does not explain
why such intent is the sole criterion of culpability
for Eighth Amendment purposes. What if a defend-
ant personally commits the act proximately causing
death by pointing a loaded gun at the robbery vic-
tim, verbally threatens to use fatal force, admittedly
does not intend to cause a death, yet knowingly cre-
ates a high probability that the gun will discharge
accidentally? What if a robbery participant, in order
to avoid capture or even for wanton sport, personally
and deliberately uses grave physical force with con-
scious intent to inflict serious bodily harm, but not to
kill, and a death results? May we as judges say that
for Eighth Amendment purposes the absence of a
“conscious purpose of producing death” [citation
omitted] transforms the culpability of those defend-
ants’ actions?

Applying a requirement of actual intent to kill to
defendants not immediately involved in the physical
act causing death, moreover, would run aground on
intricate definitional problems attending a felony
murder. What intention may a State attribute to a
robbery participant who sits in the getaway car,
knows that a loaded gun will be brandished by his
companion in the robbery inside the store, is willing
to have the gun fired if necessary to make an escape
but not to accomplish the robbery, when the victim
is shot by the companion even though not necessary
for escape? What if the unarmed participant stands
immediately inside the store as a lookout, intends
that a loaded gun merely be brandished, but never
bothered to discuss with the triggerman what lim-

12

itations were appropriate for the firing of the gun?
What if the same lookout personally intended that
the gun never be fired, but, after his companion fires
a fatal shot to prevent the victim from sounding an
alarm, approves and takes off?

The requirement of the actual intent to kill in
order to inflict the death penalty would require this
Court to impose upon the States an elaborate “con-
stitutionalized” definition of the requisite mens rea,
involving myriad problems of line drawing that nor-
mally are left to jury discretion but that, in dis-
proportionality analysis, have to be decided as issues
of law, and interfering with the substantive cate-
gories of the States’ criminal law. And such a rule,
even if workable, is an incomplete method of ascer-
taining culpability for Eighth Amendment purposes,
which necessarily is a more subtle mixture of action,
inaction, and degrees of mens rea.

438 U.S. at 614-15 n.2 (Blackmun, J., concurring in part
and concurring in judgment) (emphasis added).

Justice Blackmun’s assessment of the difficulties of a
bright line rule requiring specific intent led him to the
conclusion, also reached implicitly by the plurality, that:

The more manageable alternative, in my view, is
to follow a proceduralist tack, and require, as Ohio
does not, in the case of a nontrigger man such as
Lockett, that the sentencing authority have discre-
tion to consider the degree of the defendant’s partici-
pation in the acts leading to the homicide and the
character of the defendant’s mens rea. That ap-
proach does not interfere with the State’s individual
statutory categories for assessing legal liability but
merely requires that the sentencing authority be per-
mitted to weigh any available evidence, adduced at
trial or at the sentencing hearing, concerning the de-
fendant’s degree of participation in the homicide and
the nature of his mens rea in regard to the commis-
sion of the homicidal act. A defendant would be per-
mitted to adduce evidence, if any be available, that
he had little or no reason to anticipate that a gun
would be fired, or that he played only a minor part

13

in the course of events leading to the use of fatal
force.

438 U.S. at 615-16 (emphasis added).

Thus, it is implicit in the various opinions in Lockett
that a capital sentence is constitutionally valid in felony
murder cases as long as any mitigating factors related to
the crime itself or the individual defendant may be ad-
mitted for consideration of the appropriate sentence. Such
a conclusion comports with this Court’s Eighth Amend-
ment jurisprudence which has consistently focused upon
individual culpability as demonstrated by the character-
istics of the particular offense and the particular offender.
See e.g., Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280 (1976) ;
Roberts (Harry) v. Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633 (1977);
Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977).

Florida’s felony murder-capital punishment statutory
scheme fits within this constitutional framework. As
stated by the Lockett Court:

That states have authority to make aiders and abet-
tors equally responsible, as a matter of law, with
principals, or to enact felony murder statutes is be-
yond constitutional challenge.

438 U.S. at 602.

Moreover the constitutional validity of Florida’s proce-
dure for imposing capital punishment was approved in
Proffit v. Florida, 428 U.S. 424 (1976). In the context
of the case at bar, the procedure employed in sen-
tencing Petitioner passes constitutional muster since it
provides for particularized consideration of the homicidal
act and of Earl Enmund’s character. Both channels of
inquiry were explored below thereby assuring that Peti-
tioner’s sentence was not arbitrarily or harshly imposed.
Petitioner’s sentence is constitutionally valid notwith-
standing his attempt to read a specific intent require-
ment into the Eighth Amendment. Any other conclusion
intimates a rejection of the capital sentencing principles
previously laid down by this Court.

14

B. Accepting Petitioner's Characterization Of His
Conduct And The Kerseys’ Murders Requires The
Nullification Of Common Law Principles Of Crim-
inal Responsibility Developed Over Hundreds Of
Years.

Acceptance of Petitioner’s claims would not only require
another reinterpretation or rejection of the principles
previously announced by this Court in death penalty cases,
but the nullification of common law principles of criminal
responsibility developed over hundreds of years. Since
such a decision would place this Court in the position of
both a super-legislature and a super-jury as well as deny
the States the practical ability to decide criminal matters
of State concern, the public interest demands that Peti-
tioner’s attempts to avoid his sentence be rejected.

Petitioner’s characterization of the Kerseys’ murders
and his role in them has a surreal quality. Throughout
his brief, Petitioner repeatedly denies “individual and
personal culpability” for the deaths of the Kerseys which
are characterized as a mere “spontaneous” “fortuity”.
Brief of Pet. at 9, 14, 37.' Petitioner argues that “he
did not . . . intend to take life, or contemplate that it
would be taken by another.” Hence, his guilt is “techni-
cal” and he cannot be subject to a capital sentence.

The Washington Legal Foundation submits that Peti-
tioner’s contentions have no merit and only serve to high-
light the moral frame of reference he brings to this case.
To say that one may conspire with others to rob an elderly
couple, go about the commission of thai robbery armed
with deadly weapons, and yet escape liability for any

1 Note that Petitioner does reluctantly admit at one point in his
comparison of the enormity of his crime to that of Ehrlich Coker’s
that:

Coker and petitioner both committed serious felonies that do
not contemplate the taking of human life. Both thereby cre-
ated a risk ... that by setting in train a series of events, the
death of another person might result. Fortunately, in Coker’s
case the risk did not materialize. In petitioner’s case it did.

Brief of Pet. at 17 (emphasis added).

15

ensuing deaths is to view the victims as mere “objects to
be toyed with and discarded.” Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S.
at 616 (Burger, C.J., dissenting).

Our system of justice has always been grounded in in-
dividual responsibility. Responsibility and moral culpa-
bility extend to situations in which an individual has
played an integral role in creating a situation in which
violence may occur, supplied the means for the violence
to occur, and then enjoyed the illegal fruits of the violence
once it has occurred. In brief, one is presumed to intend
the natural, reasonable, and probable consequences of his
voluntary acts including a criminal] enterprise in which
he is the guiding hand.

To claim, then, as Petitioner does, that such an indi-
vidual bears no moral culpability for the foreseeable re-
sult of his conduct turns our traditional concepts of crim-
inal responsibility on their head. Petitioner fails to dif-
ferentiate legal intent and legal causation from their
literal and physical meanings.

Even a superficial examination of his arguments dem-
onstrates that they are merely the necessary premises for
a syllogism designed to bring his case within the consti-
tutional ambit of Coker v. Georgia, supra. In essence,
Petitioner is stating: “Since I did not physically cause
death, I cannot be sentenced to death myself.” However,
Petitioner ignores the fundamental difference between his
case and Coker’s; death occurred here. That it does not
always occur when a risk is created is not constitutionally
significant in cases in which it does.

Enmund’s repeated reference to the murders of Thomas
and Eunice Kersey as a mere “fortuity” is a ghoulish
insult to their memory. The murders of Mr. and Mrs.
Kersey were no “fortuity”; they were the direct and fore-
seeable result of a plan to commit robbery with loaded
firearms. Petitioner decided to rob Mr. Kersey at the time
he purchased the calf from him. All he needed was help
in carrying out his plan. Earl Enmund wanted Tom
Kersey’s money and was prepared to get it at any cost.

16

Any cost, that is, short of bearing legal responsibility for
his illegal conduct.

The fact of the matter is that the Kerseys are dead.
The State of Florida may therefore sentence Petitioner to
death since it complied with the guidelines set forth by
this Court in its previous capital decisions. That the State
has discretion to include capital punishment as a potential
penalty for felony murder should be beyond question. If
the question is open at all, it is only open to the legisla-
tures of the various States as this Court has repeatedly
recognized. A bright line distinction to the contrary by
this Court will deny the States their rightful authority
and ability to protect their citizens.

C. Petitioner’s Sentence Accords With Societal Stand-
ards Of Decency.

Petitioner’s sentence accords with “the evolving stand-
ards of decency which mark the progress of a maturing
society.” Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 190 (1976);
quoting Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510 n.15 (1968),
and Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 101 (1958) ; Coker, supra,
433 U.S. at 603 (Powell, J., concurring). As an initial
matter, it must be noted that invocation of the phrase
“evolving standards of decency” does not automatically
imply a departure from utilizing capital punishment. An
examination of a number of relevant factors indicates that
societal standards comprehend the imposition of capital
punishment for felony murder. Capital punishment has
been traditionally available in all appropriate cases in-
cluding felony murder cases. Surprisingly, the authority
cited by Petitioner to support his case buttresses the con-
clusion that his sentence is constitutionally valid. Hence,
prohibiting capital punishment in all felony murder cases
does not accord with society’s evolving standards of de-
cency.

17

1. The phrase “evolving standards of decency”
does not automatically imply a departure from
imposing capital sentences.

It is important to state at the outset, however obvious
the proposition may seem, that invocation of the concept
of “evolving standards of decency” does not automatically
imply a departure from imposing capital sentences. De-
cency” is not synonomous with leniency and an increased
use of capital sentences is not synonomous with societal
deterioration. In fact, the Washington Legal Foundation
submits the opposite is true.

In his brief, Petitioner adopts a tone of moral superi-
ority that admits no doubt that the standards of our
mature society have evolved such that the only “decent”
course available is to prohibit capital sentences for crimi-
nals like Enmund. WLF is not surprised that Petitioner
strikes this false note of “victimization,” but this Court
should reject that notion. It has become increasingly
common in our society for criminals to reverse the roles
and claim themselves the “victim” and society the “crimi-
nal” responsible for their illegal acts. That Petitioner can
make such a claim at all with a reasonable hope that it
will be favorably received by this or any other court
demonstrates the extent to which the focus of the crimi-
nal justice system has been distorted. WLF submits that
while our society may not believe that all major felonies,
standing alone, justify a capital sentence, it is not true
that our society will become “more decent” if this Court
abolishes the potential for a death sentence in all cases in
which a felony results in death.

2. Objective indicia indicate that society accepts
capital punishment for felony murder in appro-
priate cases.

Objective indicia of societal standards do not reveal a
rejection of capital sentences for all cases of felony mur-
der. Rather, they indicate that a large segment of society
has concluded that capital punishment is necessary under
certain circumstances.

18

Amicus submits that contemporary attitudes toward
capital punishment clearly support the affirmance of Peti-
tioner’s sentence. Thirty-seven (37) State legislatures, the
bodies “constituted to respond to the will and consequently
the moral values of the people,” have enacted capital pun-
ishment statutes since this Court’s decision in Furman v.
Georgia, 408 U.S. 238, 383 (Burger, C.J., dissenting)
(1972). See National Law Journal, “Death Row Census
Growing as Legal Challenges Continue,” January 18, 1982
at 4, col. 2. While Petitioner contends that only eight
(8) jurisdictions join Florida in expressly permitting a
capital sentence in cases such as the instant one, Justices
White, Blackmun, and Rehnquist all noted in Lockett,
supra, that “approximately half of the States ‘have not
legislatively foreclosed the possibility of imposing the
death penalty upon one who did not intend to cause
death.’” 438 U.S. at 635. Yet, there are indications that
twenty-six (26) States by actual count allow a capital
sentence for an aider and abettor without proof of specific
intent to cause the murder. See Brief of Respondent at
——. Thus, contemporary legislative judgments do not
demonstrate the type of mass rejection of capital punish-
ment for felony murder which would justify this Court’s
interference.

Similarly, Petitioner’s reliance on a variety of statistics
relating to jury determinations is sorely misplaced. The
statistics submitted by Petitioner bring to mind a state-
ment attributed to Benjamin Disraeli: “There are three
kinds of lies in this world: lies, damned lies and statis-
ties.“

Like Justice Blackmun in Lockett, supra, Amicus

must question the data relied upon by my Brother
White [and offered again in the instant case, as it
was in Lockett, by Counsel for Petitioner, Pet. Brief
at 33-34] that only extremely rare[ly] has the death
penalty been used when a defendant did not spe-
cifically intend the death of the victim. The repre-
sentation made by petitioner Lockett, even if accept-

19

ed uncritically, was merely that of 363 reported cases
involving executions from 1954 to 1976, in 347 the
defendant “personally committed a homicidal as-
— that the defendant had actual intention
to kill.

438 U.S. at 615 n.2

Other statisties relied upon by Petitioner are also sus-
pect. His accounting of the statistics available for the
criminals on death row as of October 21, 1980 can be read
to support the arguments of Respondent as well. Brief of
Pet. at 35. For example, Petitioner states that “[o]f the
739 for whom sufficient data are available. . only 41
did not personally participate in the fatal assault upon
the victim.” Jd. In the first instance, the statistics seem
to represent a rejection of capital punishment for those
who do not actually pull the trigger. But yet they can
also be read to represent society’s willingness, when cir-
cumstances warrant, to impose capital punishment in a
substantial number of cases on criminals who did not
“pull the trigger,” but who are nonetheless responsible
for the deaths which result from their illegal acts.

WLF reads those statistics in the latter fashion and
finds support for its conclusion in public opinion surveys.
Public opinion polls not only demonstrate that a broad
segment of our society supports capital punishment for
murder, but for various other crimes as well. A 1966 poll
found that 42 percent of those polled favored capital pun-
ishment while 11 percent had no opinion and 47 percent
opposed it. A 1969 poll, however, indicated 51 percent in
favor, 9 percent with no opinion, and 40 percent opposed.
Erskine, The Polls: Capital Punishment, 34 Public Opin-
ion Quarterly 290 (1970). By 1973, 59 percent favored
the death penalty with 31 percent opposed, while by 1977,
67 percent were in favor and only 25 percent opposed.
U.S. DEPT. OF JUSTICE, BUREAU OF JUSTICE STATISTICS,
SOURCEBOOK OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE STATISTICS at 199
(1980).

More importantly for present purposes, a 1981 survey
conducted by Time magazine indicates that 73 percent of

20

the American public “approve the wider use of the death
penalty for such crimes as hijacking or killing a police
officer.” Time, June 1, 1981 at 13, col. 3 (emphasis
added). It is particularly telling that approval was voiced
for employing capital punishment as a possible penalty
for hijacking, a crime which does not usually result in
any one’s death or injury. See also, Field Newspaper
Syndicate, “The Gallup Poll: Support for Death Penalty
Greatest In 28 Years,” (March 1, 1981).

WLF believes that the poll reflects society’s recognition
of the high degree of risk created by some crimes in
which death does not always result and the concomitant
need to have severe penalties available for them. Thus,
objective evidence demonstrates that our mature society
believes that capital punishment should at least be avail-
able as a sanction in felony murder cases.

3. Legal authority relied upon by Petitioner but-
resses the conclusion that his sentence is consti-
tutionally valid.

An objective examination of the legal authority relied
upon by Petitioner supports the conclusion that Earl En-
mund’s sentence is constitutionally valid. In arguing that
society rejects capital punishment for felony murder, Pe-
titioner relies in part on the American Law Institute’s
Model Penal Code (MPC) and a number of State cases.
However, Petitioner’s sentence weuld be affirmed under
the reasoning of the MPC or the State cases.

Petitioner’s brief is peppered with references to the
1980 Official Draft and Revised Comments of the MPC,
particularly the “murder” provision, § 210. His argu-
ments would lead this Court to believe that the drafters
of the Model Penal Code have rejected capital punishment
for felony murder. Such a belief would be mistaken.

In laboring to adapt the traditional common law doc-
trine of felony-murder to the realities of contemporary
American society, the drafters of the MPC attempted to
advance a “new approach” to the problem of homicide

21

occurring in the course of a felony. They formulated the
following language to prevent an accomplice to a crime of
the kind usually included in first degree felony-murder
from escaping a murder conviction:

(1) Except as provided in Section 210.3 (1) (b),
criminal homicide constitutes murder when:
(a) it is committed purposely or knowingly; or
(b) it is committed recklessly under circum-
stances manifesting extreme indifference to the
value of human life. Such recklessness and in-
difference are presumed if the actor is engaged
or is an accomplice in the commission of, or an
attempt to commit, or flight after committing or
attempting to commit robbery, rape or deviate
sexual intercourse by force or threat of force,
arson, burglary, kidnapping or felonious escape.
(2) Murder is a felony of the first degree [but a
person convicted of murder may be sentenced to
death, as provided in Section 210.6].
ALI, MODEL PENAL Cope, § 210.2.
In the drafters’ own words:

Subsection (1) (b) creates a presumption of the re-
quired recklessness [which will constitute murder]
. . if a homicide occurs during the commission or
attempted commission of robbery, . ... The pre-
sumption also arises .. . if he is an accomplice to the
commission of one of the specified crimes when the
killing takes place.

ALI, MoDEL PENAL CODE, § 210.2, Comments, at 29-30

(1980) (emphasis added).

The effect of the MPC, therefore, is to abandon felony
murder as a separate basis for establishing liability for
homicide and to retain the presumption described above
as a means of facilitating proof.

The drafters conclude that under the felony murder
doctrine:
. it remains indefensible in principle to use the

sanctions that the law employs to deal with murder
unless there is at least a finding that the actor’s con-

22

duct manifested an extreme indifference to the value
of human life. [Nevertheless] [t]he fact that the
actor was engaged in a crime of the kind that is
included in the usual first-degree felony-murder
enumeration, will frequently justify such a finding.
The result may not differ often under such a formu-
lation from that which would be reached under some
form of the felony-murder rule.

ALI, MopEL PENAL CODE, § 210.2, Comments, at 38-39

(1980) (emphasis added).

Assuming, arguendo, that the MPC had been in place
in lieu of the Florida statutory scheme under which En-
mund was sentenced, there is no reason to believe that
Petitioner would not have been guilty of first degree mur-
der. On the contrary, given the jury’s findings as well
as those of the Florida Supreme Court that Petitioner’s
participation in the crime was “major,” the conclusion is
equally inescapable that the jury would also have found
that Enmund perceived and consciously disregarded the
risk of death of the Kerseys and was “reckless” within
the meaning of 210.2(1)(b). A finding of murder in the
first degree would therefore not be anomalous under the
MPC.

Similarly, Petitioner could be sentenced to death under
the MPC, § 210.2(2), as long as the requirements of
§ 210.6 of the MPC were satisfied. A comparison of § 210.6
with the procedures employed in the Florida court reveal
that they are nearly identical; a separate proceeding was
conducted and both mitigating and aggravating circum-
stances were examined.

The State court decisions cited by Petitioner also dem-
onstrate that his sentence should be affirmed. For exam-
ple, he relies upon three cases drawn from “jurisdic-
tions .. . with well-established pre-Furman traditions of
appellate review of capital sentences” for the proposition
that even these courts recognized that “death sentences
should be reduced in cases in which (i) there was not a
strong showing of premeditation, or (ii) the offender was
not the actual perpetrator of the homicide.” Brief of Pet.

23

at 24 n.37, citing, Staie v. Hall, 176 Neb. 295, 125 N.W.
2d 918 (1964) ; Wesley v. State, 112 Neb. 360, 199 N. W.
719 (1924) ; Fritz v. State, 8 Okla. Cir. 342, 128 Pac. 170
(1917). See also, cases cited in Brief of Pet. at 36-37
n.55. Even a cursory reading of these cases reveals that
they do not support the broad proposition advanced.
While space considerations prohibit a case-by-case ac-
counting of all these decisions, it is instructive to examine
a few. In State v. Hall, supra, the court reduced a capital
sentence based upon:
Consideration of all of the circumstances, that is, the
age of the defendant, that he is a feebleminded per-
son, a low-grade moron or a high-grade imbecile,
passive in nature, possessed of a disposition to follow
the lead of others, and who previously had no offense
charged against him
125 N.W.2d at 927.

Similarly, the court in Wesley v. State, supra, found that
the defendant was younger than his co-felons, had pre-
viously been a law-abiding citizen, and the robbery had
been the suggestion of another.

The instant case is entirely different. The idea to rob
the Kerseys was Earl Enmund’s. He was the prime mover
in the conspiracy that carried out that idea. At 44 years
of age, Petitioner was older than his co-felons. He had
a prior record of violent crime. A reasonable inference
may be drawn from the record that he supplied at least
one of the murder weapons and it was proven that he
ordered the disposal of the weapons to avoid detection.

In short, the Florida courts, like the courts in the cases
cited by Petitioner, considered a wide range of circum-
stances which are unique to Petitioner’s case and charac-
ter. Nonetheless, they concluded that in Petitioner’s case
a capital sentence was warranted. This Court can only
overturn that judgment by substituting its personal view
of the facts for the factual determination of the jury
and lower courts.

Finally, it is worth noting that in Fritz v. State, supra,
the court reduced the sentence to life at hard labor. The

24

court’s statement in reaching that decision is even more
noteworthy, however:

[We do not wish to be understood as being in favor
of abolishing capital punishment as a penalty for
murder. We think that capital punishment, at the
discretion of the jury, as the penalty of murder, is
essential, to the security of society, and we have no
sympathy with that sentimental humanitarianism
which in the exercise of a mawkish sympathy for a
heartless, unfeeling felonious assassin forgets and
wholly ignores the innocent murdered victim and the
necessary safeguards of society. If capital punish-
ment should be abolished without some limitation of
the pardoning power in convictions of murder and
manslaughter, and the indiscriminate exercise of the
pardoning power in this character of conviction
should continue, it cannot be doubted that convictions
of murder and manslaughter in this state would
then in many cases be but a mere mockery of law
and justice.

128 Pac. at 171.
Amen!

D. Deterrence And Retributive Justice Are Measurably
Served By The Imposition Of Capital Punishment
For Felony Murders.

Petitioner also argues that capital punishment does not
serve the well-recognized social goals of deterrence and
retribution. Brief of Pet. at 38-45. Amicus strongly re-
jects that argument and submits that deterrence and
retributive justice are advanced by the imposition of capi-
tal punishment on felony murderers.

1. Imposing capital punishment for felony murders
will have a deterrent effect on the commission
of both felonies and murder.

Amicus submits that the imposition of the death penalty
will actually have a deterrent effect on the commission of
future felonies and hence, felony murders, and thus re-
sult in a saving of innocent lives. Because of the break-
down of our current criminal] justice system, a reasonable

25

perception exists that the costs of engaging in criminal
conduct is low when compared to the benefits derived from
the criminal activity. When the benefits outweigh the
costs, or even appear to, one can fairly predict a rise in
criminal conduct. In short, crime does pay. See North &
Miller, THE ECONOMICS OF PUBLIC IssUES 163 (1980).

However, calculating criminals like Enmund would
think twice about aiding or abetting the commission of a
felony if this Court were to uphold the death penalty for
cases such as this. They would know that if one of their
group were to kill the victim in the commission of the
crime, all could suffer the dire consequences of their col-
lective action, even if a specific intent to kill were not
actually formulated. Consequently, there would be a
marked decrease in the commission of all underlying
felonies since a felony murder situation usually contem-
plates the participation of two or more persons for the
successful completion of the underlying felony (e.9., a
person to serve as a lookout, get-away driver, etc.). With-
out the necessary participants in the felony, the original
organizer is likely to abandon his plans.* Thus, not only
will the commission of all such felonies decrease, but also

2 Felony murder is also possible where a felon, acting alone,
accidentally kills someone during the course of the felony. Even if
he did not specifically intend to kill, capital punishment would no
doubt deter criminals from carrying lethal weapons during the
commission of a felony or from committing the felony at all.

If two or more persons are contemplated for the commission
of a felony, the organizer of a felony may try to convince his
co-conspirators to help him carry out his felonious plans by not
using lethal weapons, thereby offering his accomplice or accomplices
some assurance that a felony murder will not occur. In such a case,
society benefits because less victims will be killed. If the organizer
fails to convince his potential abettors to help him commit the
felony, and if he decides instead to “go it alone” or with a reduced
number of accomplices, the likelihood of detection and apprehension
by law inforcement authorities increases because of the missing
“lookout” accomplice or other person vital to the felonious plan.
Again, society benefits from the deterrent effect of the threat of
capital punishment.

26

there will be a net saving of innocent lives in those per-
centage of felonies where someone is killed.* For an ex-
cellent analysis of the deterrent effect of capital punish-
ment on murder and felony murder, see Isaac Ehrlich,
The Deterrent Effect of Capital Punishment: A Question
of Life and Death, 65 AMERICAN ECONOMIC REVIEW 397,
400 (1975).

Amicus also takes exception to Petitioner’s argument
that only a small percentage (approximately . ö percent)
of all felonies actually result in murder. Pet. Brief at
40-41, n.G0. Petitioner’s statistics are wocfully outdated
and undervalued by 3-5,000 percent. The percentage of
murders committed during the course of a felony for 1980
was 17.7 percent of the 21,860 total murders committed;
16.9 percent of 20,591 murders in 1979; 16.7 percent of
18,714 in 1978; 16.7 percent of 18,033 in 1977; and 17.7
percent of 16,605 in 1976. U.S. Dept. or JUSTICE, UNIFORM
CRIME REPORTS: CRIME IN THE UNITED STATES-.
1980 at 13 (1981). Ik you add to that percentage
‘the additional 6 or 7 percent of murders committed in the
course of a suspected felony, the result is that approxi-
mately 25 percent of all murders ure felony murders. Id.

Even if one were to use the conservative 17 percent
figure, we are still talking about over 3,000 felony mur-
ders annually. How many of those 3,000 lives would be
saved if capital punishment for felony murders was not
only authorized, but carried out, is hard to say. But the
Washington Legal Foundation believes that the deterrent
effect argument is a valid one and, indeed, a humanitarian
one because its purpose is to save lives. If capital punish-
ment has no deterrent effect, it would be interesting to
see what the felony murder rate would be if the punish-
ment were reduced to a fine or brief incarceration.

It must be remembered that these felony murder type situa-
tions are not sponteneous “crimes of passion” where one might
question the deterrent value of the death penalty.

27

2. Retributive justice is served by punishing peti-
tioner’s felony murder with death.

Petitioner Enmund’s participation in the brutal killing
and robbery of Mr. and Mrs. Kersey was major. Enmund
planned the crime, was aware that dangerous weapons
would be used in its commission, drove the get-away vehi-
cle immediately following the murders, and directed the
attempt to avoid detection by disposing of the murder
weapons. To argue, therefore, that the death sentence
imposed upon him by the Florida jury lacks any “retribu-
tive justification” wilfully misconceives both the nature
of retribution and Petitioner’s own high degree of moral
culpability in the murders.

Petitioner is correct when he cites several authorities
for the proposition that: “[t]he retributive theory pre-
supposes moral guilt”, and “rests on the idea that
because man is responsible for his acts, he ought to receive
his just deserts.” Brief of Pet. at 42. Rather than develop
these vague generalities, however, Petitioner is content
to leave the Court with an incomplete understanding of
what the purpose of retributive justice is in a case such
as the one at bar. Instead, he immediately shifts his
focus to a discussion of mens rea and tells us his precise
subjective state of mind at the time of the slayings. Re-
tribution, however, entails much more in addition to one’s
moral culpability or lack thereof.

The retributive theory of justice is unquestionably the
view most prevalently adhered to by the general public
and its representatives. “To say that support for this
view of punishment is widespread among leaders in the
judiciary and in government is almost an understate-
ment.” B. Cavanaugh, “The Justification for Punish-
ment,” 16 Alberta Law Review 43 (1978).

Retribution is properly described as punishment in its
purest form: “[t]he principal end of punishment in a
retributionary scheme is to annul wrong and thereby vin-
dicate right . . . The injury to be annulled by punish-
ment is not the determinate injury done to the victim but

28

the noumenal injury done to the moral order. Hence the
measure of punishment is properly derived not from the
qualitative or quantitative aspects of the crime (as in
revenge) but from its moral significance” with “the
severity of punishment . . . depend[ing] upon the per-
ceived magnitude of the threat that the crime poses to the
reality of human dignity.” A. Brudner, “Retributivism
and the Death Penalty,” 30 UNIV. Toronto L. J. 337, 350,
354 (1980). In the present instance, the wrong sought to
be annulled through the imposition of the death sentence
is obvious. Enmund is being punished for having planned
and participated in the robbery of vo elderly people
whom he had reason to believe might resist and as to
whose anticipated resistance he made allowance by having
his co-conspirators come armed with deadly weapons.

Let us be clear on this point: Enmund planned the
violent robbery of the Kerseys and thereby created the
situation which led to their deaths. To argue, therefore,
that Petitioner had no intent to kil] because he was the
driver of the get-away car flies in the face of the uncon-
troverted facts and is an insult to this Court. Determin-
ing the state of mind of any individual is always difficult.
To do so, one cannot rely merely upon a defendant’s after-
the-fact statements. The jury, of course, considers those
statements as they did in the instant case. More im-
portantly, however, the jury views the facts and what one
may be presumed to intend given the probable conse-
quence of one’s voluntary acts. In this case, the intent to
kill was found not merely through a “strict liability”
application of the Florida felony murder statute as Peti-
tioner would have this Court believe, but from the fact
that the killing was a natural and probable consequence
of the conspiratorial acts which Enmund initiated and
orchestrated.

Retribution is indeed that which is deserved. It led the
Florida jury to the inexorable conclusion that the funda-
mental respect for human dignity, the dignity of the Ker-
seys as well as Petitioner, must lead to the death of the
man who pulled the strings of the criminals who killed
them.

29

II. RECOGNITION OF THIS COURT’S PROPER ROLE
AND A RESPECT FOR THE VALUE OF HUMAN
LIFE DICTATE THAT PETITIONER’S SENTENCE
BE AFFIRMED.

Throughout its brief, amicus curiae Washington Legal
Foundation has addressed the subject of this Court’s
proper role in death penalty cases and the dignity of
human life. Nonetheless, the history of death penalty
jurisprudence, including very recent history, suggests
that further discussion is in order.

The Court’s acknowledgements that capital punishment
is constitutional and that its imposition is a factual mat-
ter properly left to legislatures and juries are too numer-
ous to require repetitive citation here. Mere repetition of
a principle cannot endow it with substance when its prac-
tical application is not forthcoming. While this Court
continues to voice a recognition of its proper role in capi-
tal cases in print, it continues to carve out exceptions to
imposing death sentences in practice.

Amicus suggests that in doing so, this Court is too
often merely substituting its judgment for that of a legis-
lature, a jury, or both. For example, the statement of
the majority in Eddings v. Oklahoma, supra, slip op. at
12, that “We do not weigh the evidence for [the state
courts]” is belied by the lengthy proceeding evaluation
of the evidence which leaves little doubt as to the manner
in which the Court expects the case to be decided on
remand. This Court should not follow a similar course
in the case at bar.

Even aside from the obvious impact that such judicial
action has on public confidence in this Court and the
criminal justice system, another more important effect
must be considered. The acceptance of heinous violent
crime by social authority anesthetizes all of society to its
brutality. As social authority becomes less willing to pass
any irrevocable judgment in cases in which the lives of
law-abiding citizens are taken, respect for the value of
human life itself is diminished. In essence, life becomes

30

less valuable as authority becomes less willing to severely
sanction criminal conduct.

This Court bears an obvious and heavy responsibility in
capital cases. Yet it is society that suffers the conse-
quences of the failure to meet that responsibility. The
Washington Legal Foundation submits that the respect
for human dignity so often referred to by this Court
should be extended to the victims of crime and the law-
abiding public.

CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons stated above, the Washington
Legal Foundation submits that Petitioner’s sentence is
constitutional and must be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

DANIEL J. POPEO
General Counsel

PAUL D. KAMENAR
Director of Litigation

NICHOLAS E. CALIO
Litigation Counsel
WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION *
1612 K Street, N.W.
Suite 502
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 857-0240

January 25, 1982

* Amicus wishes to express its appreciation to Michael P. Mc-
Donald, legal intern, for his valuable assistance in the preparation
of this brief.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_1753%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
