# Record and brief — Torres v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_1319%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Record and brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 456 U.S. 973

## Text

Office - Supreme Court, US.
ry BILED

81-1586 FEB 23 1982

ALEXANDS

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Tecm, i298.

MANUEL MENDOZA TORRES, MAX CANDIDO GRIEGO
SARAR GONOY, and SUSAN SMITH SPIEGEL,

Petitionercs

UNITED STATES OF AMEFICA,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO TRE UNITED STATES COCRT OF APFEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Yince D'Angeic

D'Angelo, MeCacty & Vigil
Attocneys at Law

335 Jetfersca, S.F., Suite 3
Albuquergue, New Mexico 67108
{305) 262-244¢

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

i. WHETHER, BECAUSE GOVERNMENT AGENTS DID
NOT HAVE PROBABLE CAUSE TO STOP THE DEFEN-
DANTS, THE SUBSEQUENT DETENTION AND ARREST
ARE ILLEGAL, AND EVIDENCE OBTAINED DURING AND
AS A RESULT OF THE ORIGINAL ILLEGAL DETENTION
IS TAINTED AND MUST BE SUPPRESSED.

2. WHETHER, BECAUSE THE GOVERNMENT AGENTS
HELD THE DEFENDANTS FOR A SIX=-DAY PERIOD
BEFORE CHARGING THEM WITH ANY CRIME, EVIDENCE
GAINED DURING AND AS A RESULT OF THE EXPLOI-
TATION OF THIS PERIOD OF ILLEGAL DETENTION

SHOULD BE SUPPRESSED.

3. WHETHER THE SCOPE OF THE CONSENT TO
SEARCH WAS VIOLATED AND THE EVIDENCE OBTAINED
AS A RESULT OF SUCH A SEARCH SHOULD BE

SUPPRESSED.

INDEX

Questions Presented for Review .
Table of Authorities ..... .
Opinions Below . ...+-+-e«e-e.
Jurisdiction . ....«. -«
Statutes and Rules Invoived

Statement of the Case ...

Basis for Federal Jurisdiction

Argument ..«+«-++se«e¢-e«ee
Conclusion « © © «© eeee

Appendix A: Opinion of the Tenth
Circuit Court of

Appeals of November 5,

i981 (Nos. 81-1192,

81-1103, 81-1104, and

81-1105) ‘4.34 8

Appendix B: Judgment of the
United States Dis-
trict Court for the

District of New Mexico

of January 20, 1981
(CR 80-183) . oe we

ii

Page

43

80

Page

Appendix C: Tenth Circuit Court
Of Appeals Denial of
Petition for Recon-
sideration, of Decem-
ber 4, 1981 (No.
81-1102); of December
28, 1981 (Nos. 8l-
1103, 81-1104, and
81-1105) = = wa oe. I a 96

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

Anderson v. United States
mF ene 6 6 6 «

Brown v. Illinois
422 U.S. 590 (1975) «© ew «

eae v. United States

Colorado v. Bannister

449 U.S. I (1980) .....

Dunaway v. New York
U.S. ( . . * @«

Gambino v. United States
275 U.S. 310 (1927) « © © «

Gerstein v. Pug
U.S. -, > eee

Mailory v. United States
354 U.s. 449 (1957)... .

McNabb v. United States
U.S. ( - «+ # @

Terry v. Ohio
er wae Eee) 6 3 ce 8

iv

CASES

Page

31,35=-37

28,29

38

21,22

14-16,18-

20,28,29

32

24

25,34

27

15,i8

United States v. Brignoli-Ponce

Wong Sun v. United States
. —_ ( > > . — 7. i

CIRCUIT COURT CASES:

neqwekey v. United States
. 6 D. . oA 1 46) *
Cnannel v. United States

: i? (9th Cir. 1960) .

Lucero v. Donavan
° th Cir. 1965). .

United States v. Bracer
(2nd Cir. 1965),
cert. ‘Genied, 362 U.8. 954 «. «

United States v. Chadwick
° th ce 1969)

United States v. Chamberlain
e Ce ) -

United States vs Pornbiut
58),
cert. "denied, 360 U. .. 912 ..

Page

14

28

25,26

38

39

39

24

17-20

38

Page

United States v. Page
306 F.2d 81 (9th Cir. 1962) «2... 38

United States v. Perez-Esparza
" th Cir. CLE
reh. denied (1980) .. +... -« « « 15,16,30

United States v. Sear
S86 F.2d 11i? (6th cir. 1978) ... 32

CONSTITUTIONS:

United States Constitution 19,22,24,

Pourth Amendment se @¢ 6 Oe 2 « - 28-30,34,
38,39,42

United States Constitution

Pourteenth Amendment ...+++«-s. 19,34

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Federal Rules of Criminai

Procedure, 5(a) oS -_ i a i a ae. a oo 23-25,31

§31-1-5(B), N.M.S.A. (1978) Sa 23

vi

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1981

No.

MANUEL MENDOZA TORRES, MAX CANDIDO GRIEGO,
SARAH GODOY, and SUSAN SMITH SPIEGEL,

Petitioners,
Vv

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

~~PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE TENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and As-
sociate Justices of the Supreme Court of the
United States:

Manuel Mendoza Torres, Max Candido
Griego, Sarah Godoy, and Susan Smith Spiegel,
the Petitioners herein, pray that a Writ cf
Certiorari issue to review the judgment of
the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals entered in

the above-entitled cause on November 5, 1981.

ole

OPINIONS BELOW

The November 5, 1981 opinion of the
Tenth Circuit Couct of Appeais, whose judg-
ment is herein sought to be reviewed, is
scheduled to be published and is reprinted in
Appendix A hereto, infra, page 43. The
January 20, 1981 judgments of the District
Court of the District of New Mexico are unre-
ported and are reprinted in Appendix B
hereto, infra, page 80. The December 28,
198i order of the Tenth Circuit Court of
Appeais, denying a rehearing is reprinted in
Appendix C hereto, infra, page 97.

JURISDICTION

The case to be reviewed is a criminai
case in which Petitioners were convicted of
violations of 18 U.S.C. §§ 2, 371, 2ii3(a),

-2-

21i3(b), 18 App.U.S.C. §1202(a)(i). The
judgment of the Tenth Circuit Court of
Appeais was entered On November 5, i981. A
timely Petition for Rehearing was denied on
December 28, 1981. The jurisdiction of the
Supreme Court of the United States is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

This case involves the Fourth Amendment of
the Constitution of the United States, which
provides as follows:

The right of the people
to be secure in their
persons, houses, papers,
and effects, against un-
reasonabie searches and
seizures, shail not be
violated, and no warrants
shali issue, but upon
probable cause, supported
by oath oc affirmation,
and pacticularly describing
the place to be searched,
and the persons or things
to be seized.

-3-<

This case also involves the Fourteenth
Amendment of the Constitution of the United

States which provides, inter alia, as

follows:

An officer making an arrest
under a warrant issued upon
a complaint or any person
making an arrest without a
Warrant shall take the ar-
rested person without unne-
Ccessary deiay before the
nearest available federal
magistrate or, in the event
that a federai magistrate is
not reasonably available,
before a’state or local
judical officer authorized
by 18 U.S.C. §304i.

This case further involves Rule 5(a) of
the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure,

which provides, inter alia, as foilows:

No State shall make or
enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or
immunities of citizens of
the United States; nor

shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or
property, without due pro-
cess Of law; nor deny to
any person within its juris-
diction the equal protection
of the laws.

~~

Finaily, this case involves §31-1-5(B),
N.M.S.A. (1978), which provides as follows:

Every accused shall be
brought before a court
having jurisdiction to
release the accused with-
Out unnecessary delay.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Nature of the Proceedings

Manuel Mendoza Torres, Max Candido
Griego, Sarah Godoy, and Susan Smith Spiegel,
Petitioners herein, were indicted on October
22, 1980, in Criminal No. 80-183, in the
United States District Court for the District

of New Mexico, at Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Count I charged the Petitioners with
conspiracy, in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§37i,
2113(a) and (b). Count II charged
Petitioners with bank robbery, in violation
of 18 U.S.C. §2113(a) and (b), and of 18
U.S.C. §2. Counts III and IV charged Sarah
Godoy and Max Candido Griego, respectively,
with possession of a firearm by a felon, in
violation of 18 App.U.S.C. §1202(A)(1).-

A jury trial was had before Honorable
Santiago E. Campos, United States District
Judge, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, on Décemberc
15, 17, 18, 19, 1980. The jury returned ver-
dicts of guilty on Counts I, II, and III, on
December 19, 1980. Max Candido Griego was
acquitted of Count IV on the same day.

Petitioner Torres was sentenced to serve

a term of 25 years, to run consecutively

with an additional five years. Petitioner
Godoy was sentenced to serve a term of 27
years, to run concurrentiy with an additionai
5 years. Petitioner Griego was sentenced to
serve a term of 25 years, to run concurrentiy
with an additional five years. Petitioner
Spiegei was sentenced to serve a term of 25
years to run concurrentiy with an additionai
5 years.

The sentences were appealed to the Tenth
Circuit Court of Appeais; Notice of Appeal
was filed on January 23, i98il. The Tenth
Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the
convictions on November 5, 1981 and denied
Petitioners’ Motion for Reconsideration on

December 28, i981.

Facts
Las Vegas police learned that the First
National Bank in Las Vegas, New Mexico, was
-7<-

robbed on Friday, September 26, 1980, at
approximately 1:00 in the afternoon. Local
police immediately notified the FBI of the
bank robbery and began an immediate inves-
tigation.

Shortly thereafter, Las Vegas police
discovered an abandoned Ford pickup, matching
the description of a truck seen leaving the
bank. Two bystanders noticed the investiga-
tion and told the police that they had seen a
gold Pontiac with four or five people inside
about two biocks from where the pickup was
found abandoned. The police immediately put
out a calli on the gold Pontiac.

A shoct time later, the same bystanders
saw a gold Pontiac parked at a liquor store
and notified the police. Captain Tapia of
the Las Vegas Police Department drove toward

the liguor store, but, before he arrived, he

Saw a goid Pontiac at a service station.
The driver, a talii Spanish maie wearing a
trenchcoat, was seen outside the vehicie
taiking to a shorter Spanish male who was the
driver of a tan van. A Spanisn femaie and an
Anglo female were inside the Pontiac, and a
young boy was inside the van.

Tapia detained the two men and two women
for about twenty minutes before other of-
ficers arrived to question them. The driver
of the Pontiac was Petitioner Torres. The
two women passengers were his sister, Peti-
tioner Godoy, and Petitioner Spiegel. The
Griver of the van was Petitioner Griego.

Torres was asked for the registration to
the Pontiac. It was registered to Max
Griego; however, Torres said that he had pur-
chased it from Griego, and Griego affirmed
this. During this period of detention, the

police had not yet received descriptions of
the bank robbers.

When other officers arrived on the
scene, they discovered that Torres and Griego
were armed. They also discovered a smail
caliber weapon inside the Pontiac. The
police ran a check on the car, and, twenty
minutes later, they “officially” placed
Petitioners under arrest. This occurred
between 2:30 and 3:30 in the afternoon.

Although there are two magistrate judges
and two district court judges in the City of
Las Vegas, with office hours until 5:00 p.m.
and iocated no more than one mile from the
Piace of arrest, the Petitioners were not
brought before a judge for an initial pre-
sentment or arraignment. They were taken
instead to the Las Vegas Police Department

and questioned.

-l10-

Las Vegas police, at the behest of FBI
Agent Jochum, obtained a consent to search
from Torres on September 26, 1981. Later
that day, Torres told FBI Agent Jochum that
the consent to search that he gave to the Las
Vegas police was meant only to give them per-
mission to look through his car, not to take
it apart. This information and revocation or
modification to the consent was apparently
never relayed to the FBI. Lieutenant Sena,
who was in charge of the investigation for
the Las Vegas Police Department, felt that,
because this was a bank robbery, jurisdiction
was with the FBI, and he testified that he
worked under their direction.

The gold Pontiac was impounded and taken
to a storage yard when the Petitioners were
arrested. The car was searched at the scene

and later that evening. On September 29,

-ll-e

three days later, Detective Vaidez of the
Las Vegas Police Department again searched
the car. On a final search, the Las Vegas
police discovered $87,000.00 behind a panei
in the back of the car.

Petitioners were arrcested on Friday but
were not brought before a magistrate or
charged with any crime until the following

Thursday.

Reasons for Plenary Consideration

Because the triai court misconstrued the
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure and the
Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals misconstrued
the cases upon which it relied for its affir-
mance, because the Court of Appeais did not
adequately discuss the issues of Fourth and
Fourteenth Amendment violations, and because

these Constitutional rights are fundamental

Ones and the Federal Rules of Criminal Pro-
cedure are fundamental guidelines which need
to be construed narrowly and carefully, the
Petitioners believe that the questions
Presented are so substantial as to require

Plenary consideration.

BASIS FOR FEDERAL JURISDICTION

Tnis case was properly brought in
federal court pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §3231.
Petitioners were charged with violations of
18 U.S.C. §§ 2, 371, 2113(a), 2i13(b), 18
App.U.S.C. §1202{a) (1).

-l13-

ARGUMENT

Probable Cause

This Court has consistently ruled that
nothing less than probable cause will support

an arrest. See Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S.

200 (1979). While subsequent investigations
developed evidence linking Petitioners to a
bank robbery, at the time the Petitioners’
freedom of movement was restricted by the
police, probable cause for an arrest did not
exist.

In United States v. Brigqnoli-Ponce, 422

U.S. 873 (1975), this Court ruled that any-
thing more than a brief stop "for a minute or
two" must be supported by probable cause. It
is clear that Petitioners in this case were
under arrest when Captain Tapia refused to

let them leave the service station. However,

-14-

at that time, the only connection between
the gold Pontiac and the bank robbery was the
fact that a car of that description
containing four or five people had been seen
two blocks away from where a pick-up,
matching a description of the getaway
vehicle, was abandoned. Petitioners were
stopped by the police, not because there
was probable cause for arrest, but because
police wanted to investigate the crime.

In Dunaway, this Court stated that
Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968) does not

authorize the police to detain someone for an
extended period of time in order to investi-
gate a crime. Here, however, Petitioners
were detained by Captain Tapia so that other
police officers could conduct a custodial
interrogation upon their arrival. In United
States v. Perez-Esparza, 609 F.2d i284 (9th

-15-

Cir. 1979), rceh. denied (1980), the court

ruled that this type of custodial interroga-
tion was precisely the type of action
condemned by the United State Supreme Court
in Dunaway.

Pre-arrest evidence showed only that the
bank robbing trio consisted of one femaie and
two males; that the getaway truck was a Ford
pickup, that a gold Firebird or Trans-Am left
the area in which a Ford pickup was found;
that the gold Firebird or Trans-Am was occu-
pied by several people; and that one of the
bank robbers wore a rain coat. Though iater
evidence filled in many of the gaps, the
government agents knew oniy the above-stated
facts just prior to the Petitioners' arrest.

Of these facts, the only one which might
even possibly give rise to probable cause was

the fact that a Firebird or Trans-Am was seen

leaving the area in which a pickup truck was
abandoned. Because a gold-colored Firebird
with Arizona plates was uncc#mon in the Las
Vegas area, it was more likely to be noticed
that other cars. However, it is probable
that many other vehicles were also “leaving”
that area, and there was not evidence to
establish the fact that the Trans-Am was the
Only cac leaving that area. Thus it was not
established that government agents had prob-
able cause to stop that car as opposed to any
other car.

In a recent case, United States v.

Chamberlain, 644 F.2d 1262 (9tn Cir. 1980),

an officer observed two men in what he con-
sidered to be suspicious circumstances. When
the two men started running away from him,
the officer gave chase and was successful in

catching the defendant, Chamberiain. The

officer asked Chamberlain two questions, the
answers to which increased the officer's
suspicions, and he made Chamberlain get into
the back of the patrol car, intending to
detain him for further investigation while
the officer attempted to iocate the second
suspect. Subsequent investigation over the
next twenty minutes turned up incriminating
evidence, and Chamberlain was officially
arrested. The Ninth Circuit determined that,

under Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968), the

officer was justified in making the ini-

tial investigatory stop. United States v.

Chamberlain, 644 F.2d at 1265. The court

heid, however, that circumstances did not
justify the 20-minute detention and that the
statements made by Chamberlain during this
period, as well as subsequentiy-obtained evi-
dence, were inadmissible in light of Dunaway.

-18-

Reiterating the Supreme Court principle
that restraint of freedom is a seizure,
whether official or not, the Ninth Circuit
went on to discuss the requirements of prob-
able cause necessary to justify the more
extensive detention. The court noted that
the 20-minute detention was undoubtediy the
result of police work done in good faith, but
the court denied the government's contention
that such a detention was justified by the
necessity of the circumstances or by bona
fides. This was the very balancing approach
which the Supreme Court rejected in Dunaway.
The Ninth Circuit found that, even though the
case then before it invoived a iesserc intru-
sion on Chamberlain's liberty than was
imposed on the defendant in Dunaway, the
20-minute detention violated both the Fourth

and Fourteenth Amendment rights.

-1|9-

The case at bar falls in between Dunaway
and Chamberlain as far as the degree of

intrusion upon the Petitioners’ liberty. In
Dunaway, the police went out without probable
cause to pick up the accused, and, when they
found him, took him to the police station.

In Chamberlain, the police encountered the

accused in suspicious circumstances and
Placed him in the back of the patrol car for
twenty minutes. In our case, the police did
not specifically go out to pick up the Peti-
tioners, but neither did they encounter them
in suspicious circumstances, as the Peti-
tioners were at that time gassing up their
Car. Also in the case before us, the Peti-
tioners were detained for a period of time
and were then taken to the police station, at
which time they were arrested and given thetic

rights.

Finally, in Colorado v. Bannister, 449

U.S. 1 (1980), this Court held that there was
Probable cause to arrest the occupants of a
vehicle which had been stopped by a police
officer for speeding. Because the police
officer had heard a radio dispatch reporting
the theft of motor vehicle parts, and because
the police officec was able to see the
Suspected stolen parts in plain view in the
vehicle which he had stopped for a speeding
violation, this Court felt that the arrest
and seizure did not violate the Fourth
Amendment.

The Tenth Circuit cited Bannister as

support for affirming the Petitioners’ con-

victions; however, the facts in Bannister are

distinguishable from the facts in our case.
For one thing, the Las Vegas Police did not

stop the Petitioners for traffic violations;

@2le-

they stopped them because of a radio report
which stated that a gold car was spotted
leaving the scene of an abandoned vehicle
which was possibly used in a bank robbery.
It is Petitioners’ contention that this radio
description alone did not provide probabie
cause to detain them. And, as noted in

Bannister, "[(t]here can be no question in

that the stopping of a vehicie and the
detention cf its occupants constitute a
‘seizure’ within the meaning of the Fourth
Amendment." 449 U.S. at 4,n.3.

There is little doubt but that the
detention by the police in our case wouid
constitute such a seizure. The question is
whether or not there was probable cause. The
Tenth Circuit in its slip opinion stated that
the police had descriptions of the robbers

and of the guns used at the time the Peti-

tioners were detained. Actually, however,
the police did not have any descriptions of
the bank robbers or of the weapons used at
the time of the detention, and the only in-
formation which the police officers did have
at that time was alone insufficient to give
rise to probable cause for a twenty-minute

detention.

Delay in Indictment

Petitioners' detention was iilegal not
only because the police had no probable cause
to effect such a detention, but also because,
after Petitioners’ arrest, they were not
brought before a magistrate without unneces-
sary delay.

§31-1-5(B), N.M.S.A. (1978) says “every
accused shall be brought before a court hav-
ing jurisdiction to release the accused

without unnecessary delay.” Rule 5(a) of the

Pederal Rules of Criminal Procedure makes a
similar requirement. The purposes of requir-
ing an arraignment without unnecessary delay
are to prevent a detention being used to
obtain a confession and also to advise the
Gefendant of his rights by a judicial
officer. United States v. Cnadwick, 415 F.2d

167 (10th Cir. 1969).

This Court has noted, in addition, that
a "detached judgment of a neutral magistrate
is essential if the Fourth Amendment is to
furnish meaningful protection from unfounded

interference with libery." Gerstein v. Pugh,

420 U.S. 103 (1975). As asserted earlier in
this Petition, "the Fourth Amendment requires
a judicial determination of probable cause as
@ prerequisite to extended restraint of

liberty following an arrest.” Id.

In Mallory v. United States, 354 U.S.

449 (1957), the defendant was arrested in the
afternoon and detained in the vicinity of
several magistrates. Late that evening, he
confessed. He was arraigned in the morning.
This Court held that detention to be a viola-
tion of Rule 5(a). It noted that the Rule
was not to be applied automatically or mecha-
nically, and admitted that circumstances may
justify a brief delay if, for example, a
defendant's story may be quickly verified.
"But the delay must not be of a nature to
give an extraction of a confession." 354
U.S. at 455.

Similiarly, in Akowskey v. United

States, 158 F.2d 649 (N.C.C.A. 1946), the
defendant was arrested in the afternoon with-
out a warrant and was not arraigned, but was

taken to the police station. He made a con-

fession seven hours iater after continuous
questioning. The court held that the confes-
sion was inadmissible and that the conviction
be overturned, noting in dictum that "while
we recognize that in manv cases circumstances
may dictate that some delay ensues between
arrest and commitment amounting to one, two,
Or many hours, such is not the case here."
158 F.2d at 650. The unreasonableness of a
delay is not determined merely in terms of
hours oc days, but aiso in terms of the pres-
ence Or absence of mitigating circumstances,
such as tinaccessibiiity of magistrates,
pressing duties of the arresting officers, or
condition of the arrested person. Id.

The delay between arrest and arraignment
Cannot be explained by inaccessibility of
magistrates in our case, as four magistrates

were within five minutes of the arrest scene.

@2360

Neither can the delay be explained by the
pressing duties of the arresting officer or
detaining officers, or by the physical or
mental condition of the Petitioners.

If an accused is not arraigned without
unnecessary delay, then his detention is
illegal. The showing of a legal cause for
detention is a safeguard, the purpose of
which is to prevent secret interrogation.
When & confession is made, or evidence is
obtained, during an illegal detention, then
such confession or evidence is aiso illegal.

McNabb v. United States, 318 U.S. 332 (1943).

Thus, it would seem clear that a six-day,
unwarranted delay between arrest and arraign-
ment is unreasonable, unnecessary, and there-
fore illegal.

If an arrest is uniawful, evidence

recovered as a resuit thereof is tainted and

must be suppressed. Tne exclusion of the
fruits of an unlawful arrest will occur any-
time the fruits are a result of the exploita-

tion of the illegality. Wong Sun v. United

States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963). The mere giving
of Miranda warnings does not necessarily save
the evidence, and the government must show
that the evidence should be admitted. Brown
v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 (1975). As dis-

cussed previously, this Court in Dunaway v.

New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979) held that a

Getention for custodial interrogation intru-
ded so seriously upon Fourth Amendment rights
as to trigger traditional safeguards against
illegal arrest. Even “voluntary” confessions
with Miranda warnings just meet the thresh-
hold requirement for Fourth Amendment analy-

sis. 422 U.S. at 217.

Citing Brown v. Illinois, this Court

identified severai factors to be considered
in determining whether a confession obtained
as the result of exploitation of an illegai
invasion should be admitted. Tne factors
include (1) the temporal proximity of the
arrest and confession, (2) the presence of
intervening circumstances, and (3) the pur-
pose and flagrancy of the official miscon-
duct. Dunaway, 442 UsS. at 218.

In Dunaway, it was also noted that an
illegal detention does not depend upon
whether a defendant is technically arrested
Or not, for the detention still requires
probable cause. Evidence taken during an
investigatory stage where detention was in
violation of the Fourth Amendment was

excluded.

One of the more recent cases on this

subject is United States v. Perez-Esparza,

609 F.2d 1284 (9th Cir. 1979), ren. denied

(1980), in which the Court of Appeais heid
that an informant's tip was insufficient to
provide probabie cause for an arrest, deten-
tion, and custodial interrogation of a motor-
ist who had been legaily stopped. The court
further held that, when voluntary consent was
finally given after the motorist nad been
illegaily detained for three hours, and where
there had been no intervening circumstances,
the consent was insufficient to avoid exclu-
sion of contraband subsequently discovered.
Detention of the Defendants for custodial
interrogation intruded seriously upon theic
Fourth Amendment rights and triggered the
traditional safeguards. Through the uncon-

stitutional police conduct, and as the result

of an illegal detention, incriminating
information was obtained. There was a iack
of attenuation and intervening circumstances;
thus, the consent was insufficient to avoid
exclusion of the contraband subsequently
discovered.

Although Federal Ruies of Criminal
Procedure Rule 5(a) applies oniy to federai
officials, there was clear evidence of a
"working arrangement" between the FRI and the
Las Vegas Police, not just a bare suspicioun
of such an arrangement. The presence of such
a close working relationship would require
adherence to Rule 5(a) by local authorities
during the period of Petitioners’ detention.

Anderson v. United States, 318 U.S. 350

(1942). No one can reasonably or in good
faith assert the existence of anything but a

joint operation between state and federai

-3l-

» in our case, and the fact that this
was a simultaneous undertaking did not affect
federal agents' duty to comply with federai

standards. See Gambino v. United States, 275

U.S. 310 (1927); United States v. Searp, 586

F.2d 1117 (6th Cir. 1978).

Because the crime being investigated,
and with which the Petitioners were later
charged, was federal bank robbery, the Las
Vegas police correctly assumed that the FBI
would take jurisdiction over the case.
Lieutenant Sena of the Las Vegas Police, in
response to a qgitestion at triai as to who was
really running the investigation, answered,
"as fac as I was concecned, it was the FBI.
The bank robbery are federal charges [sic]
and I felt that the FBI snould controi juris-
Giction."” FRI agents were present during the

questioning, and it was at the behest of FBI

-32-

agents that the Las Vegas police obtained
consents to search. Due to the intermingling
of the PBI and the Las Vegas police, it was
difficult if not impossible, for the Peti-
tioners to make the distinction between the
governmental agencies involved.

Even the investigating officers were
confused as to the interrelationship between
the Las Vegas Police and the FBI. Lieutenant
Sena admitted disctssing the case with the
FBI agents and looking to them for advice and
direction. This does not amount to a mere
suspicion of a working arrangement between
the Las Vegas Police and tne FBI. It is a
very clear indication of such a working
arrangement. There was some question as to
who was in charge of the investigation, but
there is no doubt that there was a working

relationship.

-33-

Pailure to allow a defendant the benefit
of the detached judgment of a neutral magis-
trate is violative of Fourth and Fourteenth
Amendment rights.

Although there are circumstances which
may justify a brief delay, “the delay must
not be of a nature to give an opportunity for

an extraction of a confession." Mallory v.

United States, 354 U.S. 449, 455 (1957).

The period of detention itself did not
become illegal on the second day or the third
day or the fourth day or the fifth day of the
detention; it became illegal when it became
unnecessary and in violation of Constitu-
tional rights. Therefore, there is no issue
here as to whether subsequent illegality
alters the admissibility of evidence properly
obtained. The evidence was not properiy

Obtained in our case for it was obtained as a

-34-

direct result of the iilegai detention by the
government officers. It is not required that
Petitioners show that government officials
actificially contrived the delay. Ail that
is required is to show that an unnecessary
delay occurred, and that, during the illegai
detention, evidence was obtained.

The FBI were notified and became invol-
ved as soon as the bank robbery occurred.
They were alerted to the apprehenstion of the
suspected bank robbers and that very day were
at the local police station questioning the

Petitioners. As in Anderson v. United

States, 318 U.S. 350 (1942), the original
arrests were made by state officials, and the
defendants were kept in the sheriff's faciii-
ties for a nunber of days. Uniike the situa-

tion in Anderson, both the local police and

the FBI in our case were involved in the

questioning, but, as in Anderson, the FBI

made the formal arrest after six days and at
that point brought the Petitioners before a
magistrate.

The Tenth Circuit distinguished Anderson

by noting that the crime in Anderson involved

the crime of destruction of TVA property and
so was “peculiarly federal from the start."
A bank robbery is also pecuiifarly federai,
for, even if the state might have concurrent
jurisdiction to bring charges, federal bank
robberies are traditionally considered to be
within the domain of federal agencies. It
was undoubtedly for this reason that the
lieutenant of the Las Vegas Police stated "as
far as I was concerned, it was the FBI [who
was running the investigation]."

This Court in Anderson held that, though

the “federal officers themselves were not

@36-

formally guilty of illegal conduct [this]
does not affect the admissibility of the
evidence which they secured improperly
through the collaboration with state
officers." 318 U.S. at 346. In our case,
there was federal custody and involvement,
constructive and actual, existing from the
26th of October, even though federal charges

were not filed until November l.

Scope of the Consent to Search

Above and beyond the failure to estab-
lish probable cause and to bring Petitioners
before a magistrate for arraignment, there
are other reasons to suppress the statements
of Petitioner Torres and the evidence ob-
tained from his car.

Not only did the law enforcement

officers exploit the period of illegai deten-

-37-

tion to obtain statements, but they exploited
it in order to obtain consents to search the
vehicle involved as weil. It is a welil-
established principle that a person may waive
his Fourth Amendment right by consenting to a

search without a warrant. Bumper v. United

States, 391 U.S. 543 (1968). Tnis waiver,
however, is subject to a few conditions. The
consent, of course, must be voluntary,

(United States v. Page, 306 F.2d 8i (9th Cir.

1962)), clear, and unambigous. An apparent
consent or a consent whicn is actually a
bluff designed to convince a police officer
that he won't find anything, is not a valid

consent. Channel v. United States, 285 F.2d

217 (9th Cir. 1960); United States v.

Dornblut, 261 F.2d 949 (2nd Cir. 1958), cert.

denied, 360 U.S. 912.

-38-

Purthermore, consent to search may be
revoked before the search is even completed.
In this case, any evidence obtained after the
consent was withdrawn should have been inad-

missible. Lucero v. Donavan, 354 F.2d i6

(9th Cir. 1965); United States v. Bracer, 342

F.2d 522 (2nd Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 382

U.S. 954.

The Pourth Amendment right against un-
reasonable search and seizure may be waived
in part or in whole. If the person wishes to
restrict the scope of the search, either as
to the area to be searched or to the metho-
dology to be used in the search, this is part
of his Constitutional right. Because his
right is absolute, there is no requirement
that he waive it. A person's desire to
retain even part of this right must be res-

pected. In our case, Petitioner Torres

-39-

obliging consented to allow police officers
to search his car. However, as he subse-
quently stated to FBI Officer Jocnum, he con-
sented only to letting the police iook
through his car, not to their taking it
apart. ‘Tne limitation on his consent was
Clear and unambiguous. If the government's
contention is that partial consents are
invalid, then the government should be
prohibited from any kind of search at ali, as
Mr. Torres’ consent as tO a complete and
unqualified search was not voluntary, clear,
Or valid. Once the scope of search has been
validly limited, any evidence which is
obtained as a result of procedures outside of
the scope of search should be inadmissible on
Fourth Amendment grounds.

Apart from the issue of whether the FBI

agent had the duty to or did in fact report

-40-

the consent limitation to the Las Vegas
Police, ‘there is a real question as to
whether the consent iimitation should be
effective to protect Petitioner Torres’
rights. As noted earlier, the distinction
between the FBI and the Las Vegas Police was
unclear during this investigation, not only
to Petitioners but also to the officers in-
volved themselves. The confusion created was
not in any way a result of Petitioners’
actions, and the government should not be
allowed to rely upon a technicality in order
to effect its search. This is especiaily
true when Constitutional rcights have been
violated. Because of the importance of voi-
untary and knowledgeable consent, courts have
faiied to uphold a consent which is given as
a result of a mistake on the part of a defen-

dant. Analogously, a limitation to consent,

ago

reasonably but erroneously given to an
improper agent of the government, should be
upheld to protect the accused's Fourth Amend-
ment right. This Court should err, if at
all, on behalf of the accused when fundamen-
tal rights are at issue. Alternatively, if
the Court finds that the limitation to the
consent was invalid because not tendered to a
proper government agent, then the consent as
a whole cannot be considered voluntary,
Clear, or valid. Although it might have been
so at the time it was given, the consent to
search may be withdrawn at any time before
the search is completed, just as waivers of

Other rights may be withdrawn.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari should be granted.
~42<

~~
a

ese so

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee
vs. Nos. 81-ii02
MANUEL MENDOZA TORRES, MAX 1104
CANDIDO GRIEGO, SARAH GODOY 1105

)
)
)
)
)
) 1103
)
and SUSAN SMITH SPIEGEL, )
)
)

De fendants-Appellants

Appeal from the United States District Court
For the District of New Mexico
Criminal No. 80-183

APPENDIX A

-43-

Wayne G. Chew, Assistant U. S. Attorney,
Albuquerque, New Mexico (R. E. Thompson,
United States Attorney, Albuquerque, New
Mexico, with him on the 0Oobrief), for
Plaintiff-Appellee

Vince D'Angelo, D'Angelo, McCarty & Vigii,
Albugquercue, New Mexico, for Defendants-
Appellants

Before BARRETT, DOYLE and LOGAN, Circuit
Judges

DOYLE, Circuit Judge

=640

The above named defendants-appeliants
seek reversal of convictions based on charges
having to do with conspiring to rob a
federally insured national bank with the use
of dangerous weapons contrary to 18 U.S.C. §
371 and 18 U.S.C. § 2113(a)(d). Aliso charged
in the indictment against all four defendants
was the substantive crime of actual robbery
of the bank, together with aiding and
abetting that crime under 18 U.S.C. § 2. In
addition, Sarah Sotello Godoy and Max Candido
Griego were charged with possession of a
firearm by a former felon in violation of i8
U.S.C. App. § i202(a). A jury trial was had
and all defendants were found guilty on ail
counts, except that Griego was found innocent
of the possession charge.

The incident occurred on September 26,

i980. The Las Vegas police received a report

-45-

that a brown pick-up truck may have been
involved. This truck was readily found
abandoned located in a place close to the
bank. A public service employee notified the
police that a goid-colored Firebird with
Acizona license plates containing severai
individuals had departed the area where the
brown truck had been found. The police
obtained a description of the robbers from
victims at the bank. This included their
approximate height, body type, race, sex and
clothing, together with a deeeription of the
guns which had been carried. A further con-
necting link was the mentioned goid Firebird
with Arizona license plates. It was seen by
the police at a service station in Las Vegas.
The four defendants were found at the station
in the car and in a van which was parked
beside it. The defendants were questioned by
the police, and defendant Torres gave the
-46-

police consent to search the Firebird. A
small caliber weapon was found in the door
pouch; weapons were found on the persons of
both Torres and Griego, and were confiscated.
The defendants and the weapons which were
found conformed to the description that the
police had obtained. All of the defendants
were arrested. They were taken to the Las
Vegas police station for processing. The
F.B.I. was immediately notified of the
robbery of the bank and of the apprehension
of the defendants. On that day both the
local police and the F.B.I. questioned the
defendants. This was carried out approxi-
mately two hours after the capture. The
defendants were given Miranda warnings and
tney signed waiver forms. They did not
request counsel. But the statements made
were not inculipatory. Th<se were deniais and
were an avoidance.

The police sought a search warrant for
the impounded Firebird but the district
attorney directed the police to first try to
obtain the defendants' consent to the search
of the car. Defendant Torres, the apparent
owner of the Firebird, signed a consent
permitting the police to make a “complete”
search, and authorized the taking of
"letters, papers, narcotic drugs, other
drugs, material or other property." This aii
occurred on the very first day, that is, Sep-
tember 26th, including the original search,
which was not a thorough one. In connection
with that, the Las Vegas police found a
wallet that had been identified by one of the
victims of the robbery. Torres was con-
fronted by an F.B.I [sic] agent with this
wallet. He told the F.B.I. man that he did
not mind the police looking through his car,
but he had not intended it to be torn apart.

-48-

This statement apparently was not relayed to
the Las Vegas police.

Subsequently, the police did a further
search of the Firebird, and in pulling out an
ashtray in the side of the door, they were
able to see some money in the well of the
ashtray. They then removed the air-vent
cover in the side of the door, because the
vent was connected to the ashtray well.
Thece they found a bag of money which con-
tained marked bills, later identified as
having come from the First National Bank.

On September 30, following consultation
with the local district attorney, the United
States decided to prosecute the defendants on
federal bank robbery charges. No state
Charges of armed robbery were ever filed by
New Mexico. The following day, October l,
the United States filed the charges, and on
the 2nd the defendants were arraigned for the

~49-

first time before a United States Magistrate,

in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

. * * + *

Tne four points or contentions advanced
on behalf of the appellants are:

1. That defendants were unlawfuily
arrested at the Las Vegas service station,
because the police lacked probabie cause to
make the arrests.

2. That the defendants were not brought
before a magistrate for six days from the
time of the arrest, and therefore, there was
unnecessary delay, violative of the Federal
Rules of Criminal Procedure 5(a).

3. That the money found in the Firebird
was obtained uniawfully, because defendant
Torres had retracted his consent to the

search of the vehicle.

-50-

4. That the prosecution did not ade-
quately prove that Sarah Godoy was a con-
victed felon whereby she could be convicted
of possession of a firearm under 18 U.S.C.

App. § 1202(a).

I.
were the defendants unlawfully arrested at
the Las vegas service station very soon after
commission the offense, whereby there was
a lack of probable cause?

Our examination of the facts convinces
us that there was adequate evidence t@ con-
stitute probable cause justifying the arrest.
The officers received information concerning
the robbery at once. Much of this came in
radio communications. They had the descrip-
tions of the robbers, the guns used, informa-
tion regarding the brown pick-up truck and
the gqgoid Firebird with Arionza iicense
plates. Also relayed over the radio was
information that the bank had been robbed by

@Sle

a tall, slim male who was wearing a trench
coat, a short, stocky male, and a woman
(Godoy), all of Spanish descent, together
with an Anglo woman (Spiegel). There were
descriptions of two guns, one silver and one
dark, square-barrelled revolver. The police
were notified, also, that a goid Trans-Am
Firebird was seen at Olilie'’s Lounge. After
hearing this on the radio, Captain Tapia, of
the Las Vegas Police Department, drove toward
Ollie's Lounge, and saw a goid-coliored
Pontiac, with Arizona License plates at a
service station. The driver was a tail,
Spanish male, wearing a trench coat. He was
outside the car, talking to ae shorter,
Spanish male, whose appearance coincided with
the description which the police had been
given. He was driving a tan van. Defendant
Torres was the driver of the Pentiac; Defen-
dant Griego was the driver of the tan van;

-52-

the two women passengers of the Pontiac were
defendants Gody and Spiegel. Tapia detained
all four defendants for approximately twenty
minutes, until other police authorities
arrived. Following the stop, the poiice
sought and received permission from Torres to
search the goid Pontiac. In the door poucn
of the car, the police found ae small,
twenty-two caliber weapon; also found in the
car later was a black leather wallet. The
large square-barrelied revoiver was dis-
covered on Torres. The defendants were then
Placed under arrest. It was after the arrest
that a silver automatic handgun was found on
the person of defendant Griego, and another
weapon, a forty-five caliber handgun, was
descovered [sic] on the person of Torres.
After that the defendants were taken to the
police station and following warnings and
waivers, they were questioned. It is very

a$30

Clear that this was a hot pursuit situation,
although the defendants may have thought that
they would mislead the police by not racing
out of town and being on the scene. However,
the circumstances discovered coincided in
every detail with the facts reported, so that
the conclusion was very apparent.

There was a right in the first instance
to conduct a preliminary Terry-type investi-
gation. Having done that, the facts which
were learned from this constituted ampie evi-
dence showing probable cause, justifying
arrest. We must reject the argument regard-
ing invalidity or insufficiency of evidence
to justify the arrest.

It is noteworthy that three days after
the original arrest, the police learned that
the gold Pontiac was a stolen car. Also to
be noted is that $87,700 in cash which was
identified as money taken in the robbery was

-54-

found behind a panel in the back of the car.
Finally, it should be pointed out that evi-
dence sufficient to establish guilt beyond
reasonable doubt is not necessary in order to
justify the action which was taken by the
officers. The arresting officers were able
to rely on information supplied by felilow
officers through radio communications. When
the actual facts coincided with the original
information,*® probable cause existed. Holt v.
United States, 404 F.2d 914, 918 (10th Cir.
1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 1086 (1969).

The officers at this point of the arrest had
reasonably trustworthy i-formation adequate
to support their belief that the law had been
violated. Brinegar v. United States, 388
U.S. 160, 175-176 (1949); United States v.
Matthews, 615 F.2d 1279 (10th Cir. i980);
United States v. James, 496 F.Supp. 284 (W.D.
Okla. 1977).
a$Z$e

Following on the initial stop for ques-
tioning, the handguns were found on Torres
and Griego. This fact, together with the
descriptive information obtained shows that
probable cause did exist at the moment of
arrest as required under the provisions of
the Fourth Amendment. See United States v.
Smaidone, 485 F.2d 1333, 1350 (10tn Cir.
1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 936 (1974).

Inasmuch as probable cause existed the
Warrantless arrest was propec under the
Fourth Amendment. Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89
(1964). It was said, in Beck at p. 91, that
the ruie of probable cause is a practical
non- technical conception; that requiring
more would unduly hamper law enforcement.

In a relatively recent decision,
Colorado v. Bannister, 101 S.Ct. 42 (1980),
an officer saw occupants of a vehicle and
Other corraborating [sic] evidence which

matched the description from a crime scene in
a police radio dispatch. The Court said that
there was probable cause to arrest under

those circumstances.

II.
Was the delay in bringing the defendants

Before a magistrate a violation of the
McNabb-Mallory doctrine which renders the

evidence illegal and hence inadmissible?

The defendants rely on McNabb v. United
States, 318 U.S. 332 (1943), and Mallory v.
United States, 354 U.S. 449 (1957). These
cases hold that federal courts in their
ca power Over the administration of
justice in the federal arena must exclude
confessions obtained during a period of undue
delay in bringing the defendants before a
magistrate. The rationale for this ruling is
found in preventing the police from obtaining
confessions during the period of delay so as
to avoid the giving of notice to the accused

=8Jo

that he has certain rights, including the
right to counsel, and the right to remain
silent. It can be said that is for the
purpose of protecting the accused against the
illegal obtaining of evidence. The McNabb-
Mallory rule has been codified in Rule 5(a)
of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure,
which reads as follows:

Rule 5. Initial Appearance Before the
Magistrate.

(a) In General. An officer making an
arrest under a warrant issued upon a
complaint or any person making an
arrest without a warrant shall take
the arrested person without unneces-
sary delay before the nearest
availiable federal magistrate or, in
the event that a federal magistrate is
not reasonably availabie, before a
state or locai judicial officer
authorized by 18 U.S.C. § 3041. If a
Person arrested without a warrant is
brought before a magistrate, a
complaint shall be filed forthwith
which shali comply with the
requirements Of Rule 4(a) with respect
to the showing of probable cause.

When a person, arrested with or
without a warrant or given a summons,
appears initially before the

-58-

magistrate, the magistrate shaii
proceed in accordance with the
applicabie subdivisions of this
rule.

The essence of the rule is to prevent
invalidly obtained confessions and perhaps
Other evidence prior to allowing the accused |
to have access to the court. Whether there
was Original probable cause and whether the
time period was reasonable is to he
determined in light of all the facts and
circumstances of the case. See Waiton v.

United States, 334.F.2d 343, 346 (i0tn Cir.
1964), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 991 (19675);

Advisory Committee Note to Fed. Crim. P.R.
5(a);

Ruie 5(a) become applicabie once the
accused is taken into federai custody. Hayes
ve. United States, 419 F.2d 1364 (10th Cir.
1969); cert. denied, 398 U.S. 941 (1070);

Daro v. United States, 380 F.2d 23 (10th Cir.
1967). In this case it was not until
-59-

September 30tn that the United States
determined that it would prosecute; on
October list the federal charges were filed,
and the next day the defendants were taken
bfore [sic] the magistrate. They contend
that the period of custody to be considered
started on September 26tn, the date that the
Las Vagas police arrested the defendants,
because, they say, there was "a working
agreement between the F.B.I. and the local
police.” This arrangement, appellants
contend, should make all state custody into
federal custody for the purposes of Rule
5(a)-.

Knowing the practicalities of this kind
of situation, including the fact that various
Clearances and determinations have to be
made, it is not possible to presume, as the
defendants would have it, that the delay was
pursuant to a working arrangement or that it

-60-

was not otherwise carried out in good faith.
There is no evidence to support the sugges-
tions of defendants.

An example of a so-called "working
arrangement" is found in the Supreme Court's
decision in Anderson v. United States, 318
U.S. 350 (1942). In that case, the original
arrests were made by state officials and the
Gefendants were kept in the sheriff's
facility for six days. The F.B.I. did ali
the questioning; and when the defendants —
confessed on the sixth day, the F.B.I.
acrested them and had them brought before a
magistrate. The crime was peculiarly federai
from the start; it invoived the destruction
of the Tennessee Valley Authority property,
and it was clear that the state was only
interested in helping the F.B.I. make a
federal arrest. The Court found that a
working arrangement existed between federal

a=£l<

and state officials during these six days of
confinement. It was held that thought the
"federal officers themselves were not
formally guiity of illegal conduct [this]
does not affect the admissibility of the
evidence which they secured improerly through
collaboration with state officers." 318 U.S.
at 346.

Examination of the cases shows that
there are few instances in which a woking
arrangement has been found to exist. In the
case of United States v. Broadhead, 413 F.2d
1351 (7th Circ. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S.

1017 (1970), the Court found a working
arrangement where, at the behest of the
F.B.I., the police set up a roadblock and
arrested the defendant. Tne city jail was
used by the F.B.I. as a temporatry detention
site, and a line-up was conducted to identify
the defendant Cf. United States v. Nygard,

~6§2-

324 F. Supp. 863 (W.D. Mo. 1971).

In the case at bar, it was incumbent
upon the appellants to show that state
custody was used in order to circumvent Rule
S(a4), supra. United States v. Rose, 415 F.2d
742 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 971i

(1969); Barrett v. United States, 384 F.2d
848 (5th Cir. 1967). More than a “bare
suspicion" of a working arrangement is
required to show constructive federal custody
as having occurred at the moment of state
arrest. United States v. Gaines, 555 F.2d
618 (7th Circ. i977); Butterwood v_ [sic]
United States, 365 F.2d 380 (10th Cir. 1966),
cert. denied, 386 U.S. 937 (1967); Young v.

United States, 344 F.2d i006, 1010 (8th
Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 867 (1965).

The defendants at bar have not shown
through competent evidence that a coilusive
working agreement was utilized in order to

illegaily postpone the appearance before the
magistrate. The Las Vegas police took charge
of the investigation at the outset. The bulk
of the evidence was obtained the very first
day. It was substantial and probably
adequate to submit the case to a jury. The
Las Vegas police initially investigated the
bank's call for help after the robbery. They
made the acrest and transported the
appellants. Due to concurrent jurisdiction
in the relationship with a national bank, the
F.B.I. was notified about the apprehension of
these individuais. There was apparently some
evidence given at the suppression hearing and
at the trial indicating that there was some
confusion as to which authority would take
charge. However, there was neither testimony
from the F.B.I. nor from the Las Vegas police
that the F.B.I. was in charge. This was
testimony that the state was proceeding on

afGea

the possibility that the state charges of
armed robbery might be filed, even though
federal charges were also filed. Lt. Sena of
the police did say that he felt that he
should take orders from the F.B.I. and that
jurisdiction lay in their hands. This,
however, was a subjective viewpoint. It is
not unusual, nor is it suspicious or
irregular, for both state and federal
offici-ls to investigate the same suspect,
and to cooperate in the solution of the
crime. This does not make one the agent of

the other. See Butterwood, supra, at 385.

State charges were not filed against these
appellants, but this is of no significance.
The important point is that evidence is
lacking which shows that the delay was part
of an effort to avoid taking the defendants
before the magistrate. There was no effort
following the first statements that were made
-65-

to persuade them to make confessions. So,
therefore, we fail to see a diabolic motive.
Thus, the surrounding facts refute the
contention.

The working relationship contention has
not been successful in most instances. It
has been unsuccessful in most instances, and
the facts in this case are not unlike the
facts in other cases which have been decided.
See United states v. Lepinski, 460 F.2d 234
(10th Cir. 1972); United States v. Fallon,
457 F.2d 15 (10th Cir. 1972); Hayes v. United
States, 419 F.2d 1364 (10th Cir. 1969), cert.
denied, 398 U.S. 941 (1970); United States v.
Rose, 415 F.2d 742 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

396 U.S. 971 (1969); Butterwood v. United
States, 365 F.2d 380 (10th Cir. 1966), cert.
denied, 386 U.S. 937 (1967); United States v.
Coppola, 381 F.2d 340 (2nd Cir. 1960) (en

@66-

banc), affirmed per curiam, 365 U.S. 762

(1961).

Quite apart from the question as to
whether there was unlawful collaboration
between the state and the federal government,
_ we’ note also an alternative ground for
upholding the action that was taken. This is
the lack of causation between any delay and
the evidence obtained. The statements, the
fingerprints, the consent to search and the
physical evidence were not the fruits of any
illegal acitivity [sic] on the part of the
police or the F.B.I. United States v.
Mitchell, 322 U.S. 65 (1944). One require-

ment of the McNabb-Mallory supervisory ruie

is that the delay must contribute to or
induce the allegediy tainted evidence. See
United States v. Montes-Zarate, 552 F.2d 1330
(9tn Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 947

(1978); United States v. Fallone, 457 F.2d i5
af7=

(10th Cir. 1972); Chapman v. United States,
397 F.2d 24 (10th Cir. 1968) [sic]

The statements that were taken from the
defendants were obtained when they were first
brought to the Las Vegas police station
(these were not inculpatory in nature).
Fingerprints and other physical evidence were
obtained on the same day, and the written
consent for the search of the gold Firebird
was also obtained shortiy after their arrivai
at the police station. The finding of the
wallet pursuant to the initial search
occurred on the 26tn, as weil. So, there was
no delay any of [sic] in obtaining this
evidence, except for the money. The search
for the money related back to the consent
given on the first day. Thus, there is
little that can be said by the defendants as
to the injury or prejudice suffered as a
result of the failure to take them before the

~68-

magistrate immediately. The testimony

of the police demonstrates that the money was
recovered from the Firebird on the 29th of
September, and that this evidence was
obtained pursuant to the consent that was
given on the 26th. It is possible that the
defendant did not expect that the search
would produce the money, but we cannot agree
with the defendants that the consent to
search thoroughly was revoked when one of the
- @efendants was confronted with the billfold
of a victim and the statement made that
consent had not been given to tear the car
apart. This expresses dissatisfaction with
the way the search was being conducted, or

the efficiency and the depth of it, but it

1. However, this delay surely should not
be practiced by the F.B.I. or the
police because it could, in different
circumstances, cause the evidence to be
excluded.

does not constitute a revocation of the
consent.

It is further argued that the money
should have been suppressed as evidence
because it was not found in the car until the
29th of September. This was the resuit of a
voluntary consent given on the 26th of
September, immediately after the arrest.
Thus, it was attenuated from any illegality.
Cf [sic] Smith v. United States, 324 F.2d 879
(D.C. Cir. 1963); cert. denied [sic] 377 US.

954 (1964).

Tne authorities deaiing with this
general subject are usualiy concerned with
confessions. Indeed, in Mallory, Justice
Frankfurter's concern was to prevent the
police from spiriting away a defendant and
then giving him the “third degree" until he
confesses. 354 U.S. at 354-55 [sic] There
are, however, some decisions which give the

=

doctrine a broader effect - applicable to ail
evidence. See Watson v. United States, 249
P.2d 106 (D.C. Cir. 1957); United States v.
Klapholz, 230 F.2d 494, 498 (2nd Cir.), cert.
denied, 351 U.S. 924 (1956).

The Watson case holds that it is
governed by Mallory because the facts are
similar to that case. Watson had been
apprehended at 6:40 p.m., upon returning to
his home from his place of employment.
Thereafter, he was not that day arraigned.
During the evening and part of the night he
Was questioned and he denied all guilt until
about 3:15 a.m., when he made the first oral,
inculpatory disclosures. They were repeated
to various officers the next morning before
9:00 a.m., when the courts in the district
were opened. Many judges were available, but
Watson was not presented to them. After 9:00
in the morning, still without arraignment and

aTl«

lacking judicial warning, he réenacted the
crime, and went to his apartment, where the
police obtained the articies of clothing
which were offered in evidence against him.
The police spent an entire day searching the
apartment. It was oniy some hours after this
that he was arraigned. And so it was held
that his admissions, his reenactment of the
Crime and his consent to the visit to his
apartment, and his turning over the ciothing
were all incuipatory admissions. His
reenactment of the crime, his consent to the
visit to his apartment and his turning over
the clothing were all under warrant, and the
evidence had been so developed during the
period following by many hours his arrest the
previous evening. The Second Circuit heid
that he was not arraigned until all the
evidence had been obtained; the conviction
was reversed. Tne case is plainiy distin-

=72<

guishable from this one. Considered from a
factual comparison the arrest here was made
aimost immediately after the crime was
committed, and most of the evidence was
obtained on that occasion and at that time.
The situation is somewhat similar in

United States v. Klapholz. Klapholz turned

On whether the evidence other than the
confession was to be suppressed under the
McNabb rule. Judge Weinfeld had ruled that
all evidence detived as a resuit of the
government agent going to the defendant's
apartment was to be suppressed. The Circuit
stated that Judge Weinfeld was right in
refusing to suppress evidence obtained prior
to that date and hour. There is no informa-
tion to the contrary in the former opinion.
But as to evidence obtained in defendant's
home after that time, it was held that the
suppression of all such evidence was

appropriate, since the McNabb rule was not

limited to the suppression of confessions.

IIrI.
Was the consent to search the Firebird valid?

The waiver was obtained immediately
after arrest. It is true that the person who
Claimed to be the owner of the car later said
that the waiver was no longer in force,
simply because, as he told the P.B.I.
officer, who did not communicate it further,
he did not expect the officers to tear the
car apart when he consented to having it
searched. But he did agree to a thorough
Search, and as it was said above, we do not
regard this statement made to the F.B.I.
agent as a statement which voided the consent
which had previously been given. Unquestion-
ably Torres gave his voluntarily consent when
he signed the form which was provided him.

-74-

This explained that a complete search was to
be made, and thus, of course, it logically
follows permission to search contemplates a
thorough search. If not thorough it tis of
little value. See United States v.
Milhollan, 599 F.2d 518, 527 (3rd Cir. 1979),
cert. denied, 100 S.Ct. 221 (1980). A

complete search was authorized, and it shouid
have been anticipated that it would be a
careful one, although the defendant may have
thought that the officers mignt overiook that
money. We are not saying that a waiver under
the Fourth Amendment may not be withdrawn.
The question as to whether it was is, though,
a factual one for the trial court and it
should not be over-turned unless there exists
a good reason and basis. United States v.
Bracer, 342 F.2d 552 (2nd Cir.), cert.
denied, 382 U.S. 954 (1965). The consent
must be judged, in terms of the limitations
=75=

upon it, by the clearly erroneous standard of
review. Villano v. United States, 310 F.2d
680, 684 (10tn Cir. 1962). After full
consideration it is our determination that
tne search that turned up the bank's money
was reasonable and within the bounds of the
actual consent given. United States v.
Dichiarinte, 445 F.2d 126, 129 (7th Cir.
1971); Honig v. United States, 208 F.2d 9:6,
919 (8th Cir. 1953). As we said above, we
remain unconvinced tnat there was any
revocation of the authority given to search

the vehicle.

Iv.
Was the evidence insufficient to identify the
appellant Godoy?

Godoy maintains that her conviction as
a former felon for possession of a firearm,
pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 1202(a)(1) ought to
be reversed. She asserts that the government

a%6e

did not meet its burden in proving that she
is a convicted felon. The elements of this
offense are the (1) knowing and willing (2)
possession of a firearm, (3) by a previously
convicted felon. United States v. Cable, 446
F.2d 1007 (8th Cir. 1971). It is this
question of her being a felon that is
challenged.

The record discioses that an Arizona
fingerprint card and an Arizona certificate
of conviction and sentence on a voiuntary
manslaughter charge was introduced as
evidence in this case. She was convicted in
February Of 1976 of this crime. Fingerprints
were taken of the appellant and were intro-
duced into evidence here. The parties
stipulated that the prints taken in Arizona
on a bank robbery charge belonged to the
defendant Sarah Sotelllo Godoy. Thus, it was
a question for the jury to decide whether

@F7~=

appellant Godoy was beyond reasonable doubt
convicted of a felony. They so found. The
evidence as to her identity “must be viewed
in the light most favorable to the government
to determine whether there is sufficient,
substantial proof direct and circumstantial,
together with inferences reasonably to be
drawn, on which the defendant might be found
guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.” United
States v. Swallow, Sill F.2d 514 (10th Cir.
1975); [sic] cert. denied, 423 U.S. 845. The

Arizona documents provide the same three
names, the same social security number and
birthdate, and a similar physical description
as that of the appellant in this case.
Moreover, it is about the only way that proof
can ve made, through fingerprints and
photographs at the institution. That
approach was taken here, and we hoid that it
was adequate.

=e

The judgment and convictions as -to ail

four defendants are affirmed.

=79=

DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA vs.

DEFENDANT (MANUEL MENDOZA TORRES
True Name: LIBRADO GONZALES
SOTELLO

Docket No. 80-183
JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER

In the presence of the

attorney for the government

the defendant appeared in

person on this date --------- January 20, 1981

COUNSEL [Donald D. Vigil Retained

With Counsel

{[GUILTY, and the court being
eatisfied that there is a
factual basis for the plea,

PLEA

— enw ee eee

{There being a verdict of
GUILTY

~— i

APPENDIX B
-80-

FINDING
&
JUDGMENT

SENTENCE
OR

PROBATION

ORDER

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

i

[Defendant has been convicted
as charged of the offenses of
Conspiracy, in violation of
18 USC 371, as charged in
Count I of Indictment filed
October 22, 1980; and Bank
Robbery, in violation of i8
USC 2113(a) and (d), as
charged in Count II of
Indictment filed October 22
1980.

[The court asked whether
defendant had anything to say
why judgment should not be
pronounced. Because no
sufficient cause to the
contrary was shown, or
appeared to the court, the
court adjudged the defendant
guilty as charged and
convicted and ordered that:
The defendant is hereby
committed to the custody of
the Attorney General or his
authorized representative for
imprisonment for a period of

FIVE (5) YEARS as to Count I.
TWENTY-FIVE (25) YEARS as to
Count II.

IT IF FURTHER ORDERED that the
sentence in Count II is to run
consecutive to the sentence in
Count I.

-8l-

SPECIAL
CONDITIONS
OF
PROBATION

ee ee ee es ee

ADDITIONAL)
CONDITTONS)
OF )
PROBATION

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

[In addition to the special
conditions of probation
imposed above, it is hereby
ordered that the generai
conditions of probation set
out on the ceverse side of
tnis judgment be imposed. Tne
Court may change the
conditions of probation,
reduce or extend the period of
probation, and at any time
during the probation period of
within a maximum probation
period of five years permitted
by law, may issue a warrant
and revoke probation for a
violation occurring during the
probation period.

)
)
COMMITMENT)
RECOMMEN- )
DATION )

The court orders commitment to
tne custody of the Attorney
General and recommends,

-82-

SIGNED BY

}It is ordered that the |
|\Clerk deliver a certified |
lcopy of this judgment and |
|commitment to the U.S. |
{Marshal or other qualified|
lofficer.

s ]
A A E. CAMPOS
U.S. District Judge

Date 1/20/81 ]

=83<

DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA vs.

DEFENDANT [SARAH GODOY

Docket No. 80-183
JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER

In the presence of the

attorney for the government

the defendant appeared in

person on this date --------- January 20, i981

COUNSEL [David D. Vigil [sic] Retained

With Counsel

PLEA (GUILTY, and the court being
satisfied that there is a

factual basis for the plea,

ee ee ee

[There being a verdict of
GUILTY

— —

APPENDIX B

FINDING
&
JUDGMENT

ee ee ee

SENTENCE
OR
PROBATION
ORDER

i i ed ee a

[Defendant has been convicted
as charged of the offenses of
Conspiracy, in violation of
18 USC 371; Bank Robbery, in
violation of 18 USC 2113(a)
and (dad); and Possession of a
Firearm by a Felon, in
violation of 18 APPN UNC
1202(a), as charged in Counts
I, II, and III of Indictment
filed October 22, 1980.

{The court asked whether
defendant had anything to say
why judgment should not be
Pronounced. Because no
sufficient cause to the
contrary was shown, or
appeared to the court, the
court adjudged the defendant
guiity as charged and
convicted and ordered that:
The defendant is hereby
committed to the custody of
the Attorney General or his
authorized representative for
imprisonment for a period of

FIVE (5) YEARS as to Count I.
TWENTY-FIVE (25) YEARS as to
Count II.

TWO (2) YEARS as to Count III.

IT IF FURTHER ORDERED that the
sentences in Count II and III

shall run concurrent with the

the sentence imposed in Count

I.

-85-

SPECIAL
CONDITIONS
OF
PROBATION

ee ee ee ee

a ee eet ee ee ee

ADDITIONAL)
CONDITIONS)
OF

PROBATION

ad

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

[In addition to the special
conditions of probation
imposed above, it is hereby
ordered that the generai
conditions of probation set
out on the reverse side of
this judgment be imposed. The
Court may change the
conditions of probation,
reduce or extend the period of
probation, and at any time
during the probation period of
within a maximum probation
period of five years permitted
by law, may issue a warrant
and revoke probation for a
violation occurring during the
probation period.

.

)
)
COMMITMENT)
RECOMMEN- )
DATION )

The court orders commitment to
the custody of the Attorney
General and recommends,

-86-

SIGNED BY

|\Tt is ordered that the |
|\Clerk deliver a certified |
lcopy of this judgment and |
|commitment to the U.S. |
iMarshal or other qualified!
lofficer. |

s )
3 E. PO
U.S. District Judge

Date 1/20/81_ _}

@87J~=

DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA vs.
DEFENDANT [MAX CANDIDO GRIEGO

Docket No. 80-183
JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER

In the presence of the

attorney for the government

the defendant appeared in

person on this date --------- January 20, i981

COUNSEL {David D. Vigil [sic] Retained

With Counsel

PLEA {[GUILTY, and the court being
satisfied that there is a

factual basis for the plea,

ee ee ee

{There being a verdict of
GUILTY

~~ es

APPENDIX B
-~88-

FINDING
&
JUDGMENT

ee et ee ee ee

SENTENCE
OR
PROBATION
ORDER

i i i i i ee i i

[Defendant has been convicted
as charged of the offenses of
Conspiracy, in violation of

18 USC 371; and Bank Robbery,
in violation of 18 USC 2113(a)
and (d), as charged in Counts
I and II of Indictment filed
October 22, i980.

(The court asked whether
defendant had anything to say
why judgment should not be
pronounced. Because no
sufficient cause to the
contrary was shown, Or
appeared to the court, the
court adjudged the defendant
guilty as charged and
convicted and ordered that:
The defendant is hereby
committed to the custody of
the Attorney General or his
authorized representative for
imprisonment for a period of

FIVE (5) YEARS as to Ccunt I.
TWENTY-FIVE (25) YEARS as to
Count ITI.

IT IF PURTHER ORDERED that the
sentence imposed in Count II
is to cun concurrent with the
sentence imposed in Count I.

-89-

SPECIAL

ee ee ee ee ee

CONDITIONS
OF
PROBATION
)
) [In addition to the speciai
) conditions of probation
) imposed above, it is hereby
) ordered that the general
) conditions of probation set
ADDITIONAL) out on the reverse side of
CONDITIONS) tnis judgment be imposed. The
OF ) Court may change the
PROBATION ) conditions of probation,
) reduce or extend the period of
) probation, and at any time
) during the probation period of
) within a maximum probation
) period of five years permitted
) by law, may issue a warrant
) and revoke probation for a
) violation occurring during the
) probation period.
) The court orders commitment to
) the custody of the Attorney
COMMITMENT) General and recommends,
RECOMMEN- )
DATION )

-90-

SIGNED BY

{It is ordered that the
|Clerk deliver a certified |
lcopy of this judgment and |
jcommitment to the U.S. |
|Marshal or other qualified/
lofficer. |

s }
ANTIA E. CAM
U.S. District Judge

Date 1/20/81 }

DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA vs.
DEFENDANT [SUSAN SMITH SPIEGEL

Docket No. 80-183
JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER

In the presence of the

attorney for the government

the defendant appeared in

Person on this date --------- January 20, 1981

)

COUNSEL ) [David D. Vigil [sic] Retained
)
) With Counsel

PLEA {GUILTY, and the court being

satisfied that there is a
factual basis for the plea,

ed

{There being a verdict of
GUILTY

— es

APPENDIX B

FINDING
&
JUDGMENT

SENTENCE
OR

PROBATION

ORDER

eee

tl i ee

[Defendant has been convicted
as charged of the offenses of
Conspiracy, in violation of
178 USC 371; and Bank Robbery,
in violation of 18 USC 21i3(a)
and (d), as charged in Counts
I and II of Indictment filed
October 22, i980.

[The court asked whether
defendant had anything to say
why judgment should not be
Pronounced. Because no
sufficient cause to the
contrary was shown, orc
appeared to the court, the
court adjudged the defendant
guilty as charged and
convicted and ordered that:
The defendant is hereby
committed to the custody of
the Attorney Generai or his
authorized representative for
imprisonment for a period of

FIVE (5) YEARS as to Count I.
TWENTY-FIVE (25) YEARS as to
Count II.

IT IF FURTHER ORDERED that the
sentence imposed in Count II
is to cun concurrent with the
sentence imposed in Count I.

-93-

SPECIAL

ae ee ee ee ee

CONDITIONS
OF
PROBATION
)
) [In addition to the special
) conditions of probation
) imposed above, it is hereby
) ordered that the general
) conditions of probation set
ADDITIONAL) out on the reverse side of
CONDITIONS) this judgment be imposed. The
OF ) Court may change the
PROBATION ) conditions of probation,
) reduce or extend the period of
° ) probation, and at any time
) during the probation period of
) within a maximum probation
) period of five years permitted
) by law, may issue a warrant
) and revoke probation for a
) violation occurring during the
) probation period.
) The court orders commitment to
) the custody of the Attorney
COMMITMENT) General and recommends,
RECOMMEN- )
DATION )

SIGNED RY

lIt is ordered tnat the |
|\Clerk deliver a certified |
lcopy of this judgment and |
jcommitment to the U.S. |
|Marshal or other qualified|
lofficer. i

s/ }
SANTIAGO E. CAMPOS
U.S. District Judge

Date 1/20/81 ]

NOVEMBER TERM = December 4, 1981

Before Honorable James E. Barrett, Honorable
William E. Doyle and Honorable James Kk.
Logan, Circuit Judges.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

)
)
)
)
Ve ) No. 81-1102
)
MANUEL MENDOZA TORRES, )

)

)

De fendant-Appellant.

This matter comes on for consideration
of appellant's petition for rehearing filed
in the captioned cause.

Upon consideration whereof, the petition

for rehearing is denied.

° L ’ erk

APPENDIX C
-96-

NOVEMBER TERM - December 28, 1981

Before Honorable James EF. Barrett, Honorable
William E. Doyle and Honorable James K.
Logan, Circuit Judges.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,
Ve Nos. 81-1103
MAX CANDIDO GRIEGO, and
SARAH GODOY and SUSAN 81-1105

)
)
)
)
)
) 81-1104
)
SMITH SPIEGEL, )
)
)

De fendants-Appellants.

This matter comes on for consideration
of appellants’ petitions for rehearing filed
in the captioned appeals.

Upon consideration whereof, the peti-

tions for rehearing are denied.

s
HOWA « PHILLIPS, Cierk

APPENDIX C

FILE

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.

D

No. 81-1586 APR 27 1982

CLERK

[. STEVAS.

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

MANUEL MENDOZA TORRES, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

REx E. LEE
Solicitor General

D. LOWELL JENSEN
Assistant Attorney General
PATTY MERKAMP STEMLER
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

—

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioners were unlawfully arrested.
2. Whether evidence seized from a stolen getaway
car should have been suppressed at trial.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinion below 1
IIIT stictinctesssindeetintinieenicininat ttamcendnagititninnimnnnedtanenntaiat 1
Statement 2
Argument 6
Conclusion 14
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Adams Y. Williams, 407 U.S. 148 -..........----------.-.-.-+-- 7
Berenyi V. Immigration Director, 385 U.S. 630........ 12
Brown V. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 ..................-..-ccc0---0000 11
Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 -.................... 13
Chambers V. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42 ie 13
Colorado V. Bannister, 449 U.S. 1 -2..22.22222..2..200-000-- 13
Dunaway V. New York, 442 U.S. 200 -...................... 8
Mallory Vv. United States, 354 U.S. 449 -............... 9
McNabb v. United States, 318 U.S. 332 -................... 9,10
Rakas V. Illinois, 489 U.S. 128 = 9
Rawlings Vv. Kentucky, 448 U.S. 98 ite 11
South Dakota Vv. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364 ................ 13
Terry V. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 ...........-----.--.-- 6,7
gS een 13
United States v. Ceccolini, 435 U.S. 268 -............... 11

United States v. Chamberlin, 644 F.2d 1262, cert.
denied, No. 80-1112 (June 29, 1981) ................... 8
United States v. Cortez, 449 U.S. 411 ..................... 6
United States v. McCambridge, 551 F.2d 865 ....... 9
United States v. Perez-Esparza, 609 F.2d 12864 ...... 8

United States v. Reliable Transfer Co., 421 U.S.
RE Tas en ee ee 12

United States v. Skelley, 501 F.2d 447, cert. denied,
RE Ee er eam ee 9
Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 -............... 8,11

(111)

IV

Constitution, statutes and rules:

United States Constitution, Fourth Amendment...
I A
ff 8 ea
EERE Rene ae Sea
18 U.S.C. 2113(d) elie laden die
N.M. Stat. Ann. — wntted si adel
Fed, R. Crim. P. 5(a) . OO an
Sup. Ct. R. 20.1 sinipeieanainineanindinbdiatini

Miscellaneous:

3 W. LaFave, Search and Seizure (1978) ................
R. Stern & E. Gressman, Supreme Court Practice
Sy Ue SEI cccestnlinieitieitiueninpnsiemdssadeastagvetninniatinihen

— A
NOSCSNNNDND &

o

©

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1981

No. 81-1586

MANUEL MENDOZA TORRES, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 43-
79) is reported at 663 F.2d 1019.

JURISDICTION

The judgments of the court of appeals were entered
on November 5, 1981 (Pet. 3). A petition for rehear-
ing filed on behalf of petitioner Torres was denied
on December 4, 1981 (Pet. App. 96), and petitions

(1)

for rehearing filed on behalf of the three other peti-
tioners were denied on December 28, 1981 (Pet. App.
97). The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on
February 23, 1982.' The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of New Mexico, petition-
ers were convicted of armed bank robbery, in viola-
tion of 18 U.S.C. 2113(a) and (d), and conspiracy,
in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371. Petitioner Godoy was
also convicted of possession of a firearm by a previ-
ously convicted felon, in violation of 18 U.S.C. App.
1202(a). Each petitioner was sentenced to five years’

1 The petition for a writ of certiorari is out of time as to
petitioner Torres. Rule 20.1 of the Rules of this Court
provide that a petition for a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment of a federal court of appeals in a criminal
case must be filed within 60 days after the entry of such
judgment. Timely filing of a petition for rehearing, however,
tolls the running of the 60-day period. In such a case, the
60 days within which a certiorari petition may be filed are
calculated from the date on which the petition for rehearing
was denied. See R. Stern & E. Gressman, Supreme Court
Practice 398-399 (5th ed. 1978). Here, petitioner Torres’
petition for rehearing by the court of appeals was denied on
December 4, 1981 (Pet. App. 96). Accordingly, the petition
for a writ of certiorari, which was filed on February 23,
1982, was out of time as to him. At least in the circumstances
of this case, where the court of appeals entered a separate
judgment of affirmance as to each defendant, the fact that
his co-defendants’ rehearing petitions were not denied until
December 28, 1981 (Pet. App. 97), is of no avail to peti-
tioner Torres. We are attaching a copy of the separate judg-
ment of affirmance that was entered as to petitioner Torres
(App., infra, la-2a).

3

imprisonment on the conspiracy count and 25 years’
imprisonment on the bank robbery count. In addition,
Godoy received a two-year sentence on the firearm
count. All sentences were imposed concurrently, ex-
cept for petitioner Torres’ sentences, which were to
be served consecutively (Pet. App. 80-95). The court
of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. 43-79).

1. On September 26, 1980, at approximately 1:00
p.m., a federally insured bank in Las Vegas, New
Mexico, was robbed of $87,700. Within 10 minutes,
a description of the robbers and their getaway truck
was transmitted over the police radio. The robbers
were two hispanic men and one hispanic woman. One
of the men was 5’ 11” and slim while the other was
described as short and stocky. The slim man was
wearing a trench coat. The trio carried a silver gun
and a square barrelled dark revolver and had fled
the scene in a brown Ford pickup truck. Shortly
after the robbery, the truck was found abandoned
two and one half blocks from the bank, its engine
still warm. Two bystanders reported seeing a gold
Firebird with Arizona license plates leave the area
where the truck was found, carrying four or five
passengers. The Firebird was then spotted at Ollie’s
Lounge in Las Vegas (Pet. App. 45-46, 51-52; I Tr.
32-35, 64-71, 87, 90, 106, 156-157; III Tr. 488-489,
512-514, 525-526; IV Tr. 640-641, 746).*

After hearing this latest information on the police
radio, Las Vegas police captain Pat Tapia saw the
Firebird at a service station located within two or
three blocks of Ollie’s Lounge. Captain Tapia ap-
proached the car and found petitioners Torres, Spiegel

21 Tr. refers to the transcript of the suppression hearing.
III Tr. and IV Tr. refer to the trial transcript. V Tr. refers
to the sentencing proceedings.

4

and Godoy in the Firebird and petitioner Griego in
a van parked next to the car. After additional offi-
cers arrived at the service station, petitioners were
frisked for weapons. The officers found a .357
Magnum on petitioner Torres and a chrome-plated
revolver on petitioner Griego. A check run on the
Magnum revealed that it was stolen. With Torres’
consent, the officers searched the Firebird and found
a .22 caliber weapon in the door pouch. Petitioners
were arrested and taken to the local police station
(Pet. App. 46-47, 52-53; I Tr. 72, 102-117, 159-162;
III Tr. 488-489, 491-494, 505-506, 510, 514-521, 527-
529, 543; IV Tr. 630-631, 635).*

The FBI was notified of the arrests, and both
federal agents and local police officers questioned
petitioners while they were in state custody. Peti-
tioners were given Miranda warnings and spoke to
the law enforcement officers, but they made no in-
culpatory statements, nor did they request counsel.
On the same day as the arrest, petitioner Torres con-
sented in writing to a further search of the Fire-
bird. He authorized the police to make a “complete”
search of the car and to seize “letters, papers, nar-
cotic drugs, other drugs, material or other property.”
During this search, the officers found a wallet be-
longing to one of the victims of the robbery on the
floor of the car. When shown the wallet, Torres com-
plained to one of the federal agents that he had not
intended for the officers to tear the car apart (Pet.
App. 47-48, 58; I Tr..43-44, 62-63, 73-74, 81, 84-86,
94-95, 148-150, 161-162; IV Tr. 614-615, 658, 659-

% Another weapon was found on petitioner Torres while he
was being transported from the service station to the police
station (III Tr. 507-508).

5

671, 680-689, 699-700, 704-705, 708, 711-717, 719-
720, 872-876).

Three days later, the officers learned that the
Firebird was stolen. They then conducted an inven-
tory search of the car and found a bag of money
from the bank robbery in the air vent in the car
door. On October 1, 1980, the United States filed
federal bank robbery charges against petitioners, and
they were arraigned the following day (Pet. App. 49-
50; I Tr. 162-167; III Tr. 546-566; IV Tr. 644-647,
680).

2. Prior to trial, petitioners moved to suppress all
the evidence gathered and statements made after
Captain Tapia stopped them. The district court found
that the officers’ detention of petitioners was sup-
ported by probable cause and that the guns were
properly seized at that time. The court also found
that Torres voluntarily consented to the second search
of the Firebird, which yielded the wallet, and that
that consent extended to the third search, which
resulted in the discovery of the stolen money (I Tr.
202-206; Ili Tr. 398-399; V Tr. 886-889).

The court of appeals affirmed the district court’s
findings of probable cause and consent (Pet. App.
51-56, 69-70). It also held that none of the evidence
was the fruit of an illegal delay between arrest and
arraignment (id. at 67-68). Further, noting that
petitioners were initially arrested by state officers
and maintained in state custody, the court of appeals
held that the FBI was under no obligation to bring
petitioners before a federal judicial officer until fed-
eral charges were filed. Hence, the court ruled (id.
at 57-66), Fed. R. Crim. P. 5(a) had not been
violated.

6

ARGUMENT

1. Both courts below correctly found that the de-
tention and arrest of petitioners fully comported
with the requirements of the Fourth Amendment.
At the time petitioners were stopped, less than an
hour after the bank robbery (I Tr. 14, 28), the
officers had descriptions of the three robbers and
the getaway vehicles. Two of the officers had found
the truck abandoned only a few blocks from the bank.
The officers also had the accounts of two eyewitnesses,
who saw four or five people leave the abandoned
truck in a gold Firebird with out-of-state license
plates. As petitioners acknowledge (Pet. 17), “a
gold-colored Firebird with Arizona plates was un-
common in the Las Vegas area * * *.” The officers
then spotted the Firebird, and its occupants fit the
description of the fleeing robbers. Torres, a tall, slim
man, and Griego, a short, stocky man, were accom-
panied by two women. This corroborated information
received from the robbery victims that one of the
robbers was a woman. Both courts below found these
facts sufficient to establish probable cause for the
arrests, and this fact-specific question does not war-
rant further review.

In any event, the totality of the circumstances un-
questionably met the reasonable suspicion standard
and warranted an investigatory stop. See United
States v. Cortez, 449 U.S. 411, 417 (1981); Terry
v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 22-23 (1968). Once petitioners

*Contrary to petitioners’ suggestions (Pet. 9-10, 15, 23;
but see Pet. 16), Captain Tapia, who made the initial stop
(I Tr. 72, 107), testified (I Tr. 105, 113-114; III Tr. 488-
489) that prior to the stop he had received descriptions of
the bank robbery suspects and the vehicle in which they were
traveling.

7

were stopped, the frisk for weapons was necessary
to ensure the safety of the officers, particularly since
the officers had information that the bank robbers
were armed. Adams v. Williams, 407 U.S. 143, 146
(1972) ; Terry v. Ohio, supra, 392 U.S. at 23-24, 30.
When the officers came upon two guns, at least one
of which matched the description of a gui used in
the bank robbery,° petitioners’ further detention and
subsequent arrest unquestionably were supported by
probable cause.° Hence, the arrests created no

5It is not disputed that at least the .357 Magnum, which
was found on petitioner Torres, was seen, if not seized, by
the officers prior to his formal arrest (Pet. App. 53). The
Magnum matched the description of the square-barrelled, dark
revolver that was used in the bank robbery (ibid.). Pursuant
to petitioner Torres’ oral consent, the officers also discovered
the .22 caliber handgun in the door pouch of the Firebird
prior to the arrests.

*There is no evidence to support the court of appeals’
statement (Pet. App. 53), relied on by petitioners (Pet. 9),
that “[Captain] Tapia detained all four defendants for ap-
proximately twenty minutes, until other police authorities
arrived.” The district court made no such finding and, indeed,
the uncontradicted testimony of the police officers was that
the time interval between Tapia’s initial stop of petitioners
and the arrival of additional officers (at which time the
weapons, which unequivocally established probable cause,
were found) was very brief (I Tr. 109, 159; III Tr. 460-461,
514-515). Accordingly, the court of appeals must have con-
fused the time between the initial stop of petitioners and the
arrival of the additional officers with the time between the
initial stop and petitioners’ arrest, which, the police officers
estimated, was 20 minutes (I Tr. 109, 176; III Tr. 501-503)
(by contrast, petitioners Spiegel, Griego and Torres estimated
the time between the initial stop and their arrest at approxi-
mately one hour; I Tr. 127, 136, 141). Clearly, the fact that

8

“poisonous tree” on which to predicate the suppres-
sion of any evidence. Compare Wong Sun v. United
States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963).

2. Petitioners also urge suppression of the items
seized from the car on the grounds that (1) they
were detained for several days without being brought
before a judicial officer (Pet. 23-27); and (2)
Torres’ consent to the searches was not valid (Pet.
37-42). As we show below (see pages 9-13, infra),
neither of these claims has merit. Moreover, regard-
less of the outcome of either of the arguments
posited by petitioners, they are not entitled to sup-
pression because the searches, which were supported

petitioners were not formally placed under arrest until 20
minutes after they were stopped does not foreclose the exist-
ence of probable cause to arrest them prior to that time.

Accordingly, the cases on which petitioners rely are inap-
posite, since in each of them the defendant was detained for
20 minutes or more, during no part of which probable cause
existed. Moreover, the defendants in those cases were sub-
jected to more than simple detention at the location at which
they were found. See Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200
(1979) (without his consent, the defendant was transported
from a neighbor’s house to the police station, where he was
questioned in an interrogation room for an hour, at which
point he confessed to the crime) ; United States v. Chamber-
lin, 644 F.2d 1262, 1267 (9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, No. 80-
1112 (June 29, 1981) (holding that a defendant’s 20-minute
detention was unreasonable in the absence of probable cause,
specifically noting that the defendant “was not questioned
briefly where he was found. He was placed in the back seat
of a police car for twenty minutes’) ; United States v. Perez-
Esparza, 609 F.2d 1284 (9th Cir. 1979) (defendant removed
from his car and taken to a Border Patrol office, where he
was detained for three hours in an interrogation room pend-
ing the arrival of DEA agents).

by probable cause, were permitted by the automobile
exception to the warrant requirement.’

a. Petitioners first contend (Pet. 23-37) that the
seized items shou'd have been suppressed because
petitioners were not arraigned until several days
after their arrests. They rely on the supervisory rule
announced in McNabb v. United States, 318 U.S. 332
(1943), and Mallory v. United States, 354 U.S. 449
(1957), which requires the exclusion of evidence
seized as a result of “unnecessary delay” in bringing

py accused before a magistrate following his federal
arrest.

As an initial matter, petitioners’ McNabb-Mallory
claim fails because all of the evidence they seek to
suppress was seized before petitioners were charged
by federal authorities. See, e.g., United States v.
Skelley, 501 F.2d 447, 450 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,
419 U.S. 1051 (1974). The search for the bank rob-
bers was conducted solely by the local police. Peti-

7 It is also doubtful that any of the petitioners has “stand-
ing” to challenge the searches of the Firebird, a stolen car.
Generally, the fact that a vehicle is stolen precludes a legiti-
mate expectation of privacy in it (see Rakas v. Illinois, 439
U.S. 128, 143-144 n.12 (1978); United States v. McCam-
bridge, 551 F.2d 865, 870 n.2 (1st Cir. 1977); 3 W. LaFave,
Search and Seizure § 11.3, at 573-574 (1978)). That would
not necessarily be the result here if it were established that
petitioners did not know that the Firebird was stolen, None-
theless, it is clear that neither Griego, who was not even in
the Firebird at the time of the stop, nor Spiegel or Godoy,
who were merely passengers, has standing to challenge the
searches. See Rakas Vv. Illinois, supra, 489 U.S. at 148-149.
Accordingly, petitioner Torres, who drove the Firebird, is
the only petitioner who arguably has standing to challenge
the search of it. As we noted above (note 1, supra), however,
the petition for a writ of certiorari is out of time as to him.

10

tioners were arrested by and taken into the custody
of the local authorities, where they remained from
September 26 until October 3, 1980 (I Tr. 124). All
three searches of the Firebird were conducted by
local police officers. Although the FBI was notified
of the arrests and questioned petitioners at the police
station, the federal government did not bring charges
against petitioners until the bag of money was dis-
covered. As the court of appeals found (Pet. App.
65), the delay in bringing charges was not part of
any effort to circumvent the requirement of Fed..R.
Crim. P. 5(a). Since petitioners were arraigned
promptly upon the filing of federal charges against
them, there was no McNabb-Mallory violation here.*

Moreover, McNabb-Mallory only requires the ex-
clusion of evidence that is “secured through” unnec-
essary delay between arrest and arraignment.
McNabb v. United States, supra, 318 U.S. at 345.
The aim of the rule is “to avoid all the evil implica-
tions of secret interrogation of persons accused of
crime.” McNabb v. United States, 318 U.S. at 344.
Its purpose is to limit the opportunity for the police
to conduct intensive interrogation before the accused
is advised of his rights by a magistrate. Here, as

8 Petitioners’ factual contention (Pet. 31-33, 35-37) that,
notwithstanding the fact that federal charges were not filed
until October 1, 1980, there was a “working agreement”
between the FBI and the local police that warrants suppres-
sion was properly rejected by the court of appeals (Pet. App.
60-67).

We acknowledge that New Mexico law (N.M.Stat.Ann.,
§ 31-1-5(B) (1978)) required the State officers to bring peti-
tioners before a local magistrate or judge following their ap-
prehension “without unnecessary delay.” Their failure to do
so, however, does not render any of the seizures unconstitu-
tional.

ll

the court of appeals found (Pet. App. 67-68), none
of the evidence seized was the fruit of unnecessary
delay between arrest and arraignment.

The guns were seized contemporaneously with the
arrests, “[t]he statements that were taken from
[petitioners] were obtained when they were first
brought to the Las Vegas police station * * * and
the written consent for the search of the gold Fire-
bird [carried out later that same day] was also ob-
tained shortly after their arrival at the police sta-
tion” (Pet. App. 68). The court of appeals further
found that the search for the stolen money, which oc-
curred three days later, “related back to the consent
given on the first day” (ibid.). Even assuming that
Torres’ written consent did not extend to the subse-
quent search, however, that search was not the fruit
of petitioners’ detention, but rather was an inventory
search conducted by the local officers as a result of
their determination—from their independent investi-
gation of the vehicles, not from any admissions by
petitioners—that the Firebird was stolen (see page
13, infra).*

* Prior decisions of this Court foreclose petitioners from
arguing that the seizure of the money during the final, Sep-
tember 29 search was a fruit of their prior detention on the
ground that, “but for” that detention, the Firebird would
not have been in police custody and thus subject to the investi-
gation (i.e., the removal of a false registration plate from the
outside of the car) that resulted in the discovery that it was
stolen and the concomitant inventory search. See Rawlings Vv.
Kentucky, 448 U.S. 98, 106 (1980); United States v. Cecco-
lini, 485 U.S. 268, 276 (1978); Brown Vv. Illinois, 422 U.S.
590, 603 (1975); Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471,
487-488 (1963). Rather, the proper fruits analysis is that,
since the fact that the Firebird was stolen was discoverable

12

b. Petitioners do not seriously challenge the valid-
ity of petitioner Torres’ consent to search the Fire-
bird except with respect to the final, September 29
search of the vehicle, which resulted in the discovery
of the stolen money (Pet. 37-42). Although peti-
tioners assert (Pet. 38) that Torres’ consent was in-
valid because it was a consent “designed to convince
a police officer that he won’t find anything,” the
record does not show that Torres hesitated in giving
the consent or qualified his consent in any manner.
If Torres hoped that the police would not act on his
grant of permission, he assumed the risk that his
bluff would fail. Both courts below correctly found
that the consent was freely given, and further review
of this factual determination is not warranted.
United States v. Reliable Transfer Co., 421 U.S. 397,
401 n.2 (1975); Berenyi v. Immigration Director,
385 U.S. 630, 635 (1967).

Petitioners contend (Pet. 39-42) that the search
of the Firebird that yielded the stolen money ex-
ceeded the scope of the consent to search that Torres
had given the officers. Prior to the second search of
the Firebird, which produced the wallet of one of the
victims of the bank robbery, Torres had consented in
writing to a “complete” search of the car. The writ-
ten consent contained no limitations on the scope of
the search. After the officers discovered the wallet,
Torres complained that he had not intended for the
police officers to tear the car apart. That Torres

immediately upon the initial stop of the vehicle—that is, the
officers’ ability to discover that information was not en-
hanced by petitioners’ allegedly unlawful detention—the in-
ventory search that followed from that information was not
a product of the challenged detention.

13

hoped that the officers’ search would be superficial
and unproductive, however, is insufficient to limit his
unambiguous consent to a “complete” search. Peti-
tioners further contend that this complaint itself con-
stituted a retraction or at least a limitation of
Torres’ consent and that therefore the third search
was invalid. Whatever the merit of this claim, how-
ever, the third search was not conducted pursuant to
Torres’ consent, but rather was an inventory search
conducted by the officers after they had independently
discovered that the Firebird was stolen. See South
Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364 (1976). The
police clearly did not require any consent to conduct
an inventory search of the stolen car. See South Da-
kota v. Opperman, supra, 428 U.S. at 376 n.10.

c. In any event, all three searches were lawful
because, at the time the officers conducted each search,
they had probable cause to believe that the Firebird
contained evidence of the bank robbery, in particular,
the stolen cash. Under the automobile exception to
the warrant requirement, law enforcement officers may
conduct an on-the-scene search of a car if they have
probable cause to believe it contains evidence of a
crime, or they may delay the search until the car
has been removed from the scene. Colorado v. Ban-
nister, 449 U.S. 1, 3 (1980); Texas v. White, 423
U.S. 67, 68 (1975) ; Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S.
42, 52 (1970) ; Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132
(1925). In this case, a cursory search of the car for
weapons was conducted at the scene of the arrest
and more thorough searches were subsequently con-
ducted at the place of impoundment. The circum-
stances establishing probable cause to arrest peti-
tioners also established probable cause to search the
car.

14

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

REx E. LEE
Solicitor General

D. LOWELL JENSEN
Assistant Attorney General

PATTY MERKAMP STEMLER
Attorney

APRIL 1982

—

A pe get ly ee a i ll i, i SO aE i ll lin til

la
APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM—November 5, 1981

Before Honorable James E. Barrett, Honorable Wil-
liam E. Doyle, and Honorable James K. Logan, Cir-

cuit Judges
No. 81-1102

(D.C. No. CR 80-183-1)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE
Vv.

MANUEL MENDOZA TORRES, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record on
appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of New Mexico and was argued by counsel.

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the
judgment of that court is affirmed. It is the further
order of this court that Manuel Mendoza Torres,
appellant, shall, within ten (10) days from and after
the date of the filing of the mandate of this court in
the district court, surrender himself to the custody
of the United States Marshal for the District of
New Mexico in execution of the judgment and sen-
tence imposed upon him.

2a

The District Court may, in its discretion, permit
the appellant to surrender directly to the designated
Bureau of Prisons institution for service of sentence.

/s/ Howard K. Phillips
HOWARD K. PHILLIPS
Clerk

A true copy
Teste

HOWARD K. PHILLIPS
Clerk

U.S. Court of Appeals
Tenth Circuit

By /s/ Opal A. Carter
Depuiy Clerk

W ov. 8. coveenment paintine orrice; 1962 872608 676

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_1319%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
