# Record and brief — Harrison v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0703%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Record and brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 454 U.S. 1126

## Text

= Se

~o

89

Supreme Court of the United State”

October Term — 1981

JIM T. HARRISON, JR.,
Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
(NOW THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT)

HYLTON B. DUPREE, JR.
Counsel of Record
MARK A. JOHNSON
DUPREE & STAPLES
49 Green Street
P.O. Box 525
Marietta, Georgia 30061
(404) 424-7171

Counsel for Petitioner

Copy Center Law Printers, Atlanta, Ga. Phone 261-5273

i
Questions Presented

1. Did the Trial Court err by failing to dismiss the indict-
ment because it did not charge an offense within the terms of
21 U.S.C.A. Section 841(a)(1)?

2. Did the Trial Court erroneously take judicial notice of
schedules of controlled substances without proof of those
schedules at the date of the alleged offenses?

Parties to the Proceedings in the Court of Appeals

The only individuals who may be deemed to be parties to the
proceedings in the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, Unit
B (now the Eleventh Circuit) are the following counsel for the
Government:

William L. Harper
United States Attorney

James’ E. Baker
United States Attorney

Jake Arbes
Assistant United States Attorney

Janet F. King

Assistant United States Attorney
1800 United States Courthouse
75 Spring Street, S.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30335

Mervyn Hamburg
Criminal Division
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
eae chee hed neaweeas i
Parties to the Proceedings in the Court of Appeals. ..... i
ee OIE GIN TIN eo 5 cc ccc ccccesccvcscsecss 2
NS cc ond odds pee ad os 0bidons sbeeceeneersers 2
IEE RP EP ee TT ee 2
TE. cccesescbeeuceseseeseceses 4
IIIS oc ccc bcuee cenesdedesecdces 6
Reasons for Granting the Writ....................... 7

I

The Court of Appeals Should be Reversed for Failing
to Delineate Between the Indictable Offenses of
**Dispensing’’ and ‘*Distributing’’ Controlled Sub-
PveeGhiieeareeedsreinaubeandenees Coane 7

The Supreme Court Should Exercise Its Discretionary
Powers to Review to Examine the Arbitrary Exercise
of Judicial Notice Which Allows the State the Per-
quisite of Not Proving Material Elements of Its

Dre tate CE Eg ee 8 oe 12
i ge aes eae 15
APPENDIX A. Order-Rehearing Denied September

re ere ares 16
APPENDIX B. Decision Entered of Sth Cir.
nt cc eeceseens 17

APPENDIX C. Decision Entered of Sth Cir.
DL kan ebedetacecstnbane 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

U.S. v. Atwell, 71 F.R.D. 357 (D.Del 1976)........ 13
U.S. v. Bartee, 479 F.2d 484, (10th Cir. 1973). ...8, 10
U.S. v. Dunbar, 614 F.2d 39 (Sth Cir. 1980)....... 18
U.S. v. Greenfield, 574 F.2d 305 (Sth Cir.)........ 18
U.S. v. Harrison, 651 F.2d 353 (Sth Cir. 1981).....

desk sts skbewadnssebedan thes seehiene 2, 5,9, 10
U.S. v. Harrison, 628 F.2d 929 (Sth Cir. 1981). 2, 5, 20
U.S. v. Leigh, 487 F.2d 206 (Sth Cir. 1973)........

Lee vensdenawd 4, 5,7, 8,9, 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, 19, 20
U.S. v. McDaniel, 428 F. SUPP. 1226 (d.c. Okl

DERE DALEAGL oo deed eda ce oecuedaunneacks 6
U.S. v. Moore, 423 U.S. 122, 96 S.Ct. 335

Op Ee sé cco sancceessenns 4,7, 18
U.S. v. Rosen, 582 F.2d 1032 (Sth Cir. 1978)....... 21
U.S. v. Thompson 624 F.2d 740 (Sth Cir. 1980). ...

PO eee Fn Fer Renny rer Ey rey 5, 9, 10, 18

Miscellaneous

29 Am. Jur.2d Evidence Section 27............ 13, 14
BF Feds PU TOs 6.0.6 06 0o6scccnevcesces 13
1 Underhill’s Criminal Evidence, Section 88 (6th Ed.

REA Spe prs eee rns eee eIPereg 15

Statutes

ee i, CN I ns cs gw eb o-0 50 00eesseses 21
United States Code, Title 18, Sec. 2.............. 7
United States Code, Title 21, Sec. 802(10), (11).....

wo Wb8 54566 0466 SES EEEOS a»&%& 788 8. 0
United States Code, Title 21, Sec. 812. .3, 5, 12, 14, 21
United States Code, Title 21, Sec. 841............

Jedcdviaesueonsennee 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 17, 18, 20
United States Code, Title 44, Sec. 1507.......... 4, 13
United States Code, Title 44, Sec. 1510.......... 3, 13

No.
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term — 1981

JIM T. HARRISON, JR.,
Petitioner,

vs.

United States of America,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari
issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in this
proceeding.

fies

Opinions and Order Below

The order of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals denying
the petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en
banc is printed as Appendix A.

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals of Oc-
tober 24, 1980, is printed as Appendix B and is reported as
United States v. Harrison, 628 F.2d 929.

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals of July
20, 1981, is printed as Appendix C and is reported as United
States v. Harrison, 651 F.2d 353.

Jurisdiction

The order of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Unit B
(now the Eleventh Circuit) in denying a petition for rehearing
and petition for rehearing en banc was entered on September
11, 1981.

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, in
reversing its previous ruling, was entered on July 20, 1981;
the Fifth Circuit’s previous opinion, in reversing the Trial
Court, was entered on October 24, 1980.

Jurisdiction in this Court is invoked pursuant to Rule 17.1
of this Court.

Statutes Involved
1. 21 U.S.C.A. Sections 802(10) and 802(11), which
provide:

**(10) The term ‘‘dispense’’ means to deliver a con-
trolled substance to an ultimate user or research sub-
ject by, or pursuant to the lawful order of a practi-
tioner, including the prescribing and administering of
a controlled substance and the packaging, labeling, or
compounding necessary to prepare the substance for
such delivery. The term ‘‘dispenser’’ means a practi-
tioner who so delivers a controlled substance to an
ultimate user or research subject.”’

a

**(11) The term ‘‘distribute’’ means to deliver (other
than by administering or dispensing) a controlled
substance. The term ‘‘distributor’’ means a person
who so delivers a controlled substance.”’

21 U.S.C.A. Section 841(a), which provides:

**(a) Except as authorized by this sub-chapter, it
shall be unlawful for any person knowingly or inten-
tionally—

(1) to manufacture, distribute, or dispense, or
possess with intent to manufacture, distribute, or
dispense, a controlled substance; or

(2) to create, distribute, or dispense, or possess with
intent to distribute or dispense, a counterfeit
substance.”’

21 U.S.C.A. Section 812(a), which provides:

**(a) There are established five schedules of con-
trolled substances, to be known as Schedules I, II, III,
IV, and V. Such schedules shall initially consist of the
substances listed in this section. The schedules
established by this section shall be updated and
republished on a semiannual basis during the two-year
period beginning one year after October 27, 1970 and
shall be updated and republished on an annual basis
thereafter.”’

21 U.S.C.A. Section 812(c), which provides:

**(c) Schedules I, II, III, 1V, and V shall, unless and
until amended pursuant to Section 811 of this title,
consist of the following drugs or other substances, by
whatever official name, common or usual name,
chemical name, or brand name designated..."

44 U.S.C.A. Section 1510(e), which provides:

**(e) The codified documents of the several agencies
published in the supplemental edition of the Federal
Register under this Section, as amended by documents
subsequently filed with the Office and published in the

_ wa

daily issues of the Federal Register, shall be prima facie
evidence of the text of the documents and of the fact
that they are in effect on and after the date of publica-
tion.”’

6. 440U.S.C.A. Section 1507, which provides:

**... The contents of the Federal Register shall be
judicially noticed and without prejudice to any other
mode of citation, may be cited by volume and page
number.”*

Statement of the Case

Petitioner Harrison was indicated for unlawful distribution
of controlled substances by writing prescriptions. Section
841(a)(1) of Title 21, U.S.C., provides that a physician may be
indicted for distributing or dispensing controlled substances.
A physician ‘‘dispenses’’ when he prescribes or administers
controlled substances. 21 U.S.C. 802(10). The term ‘‘distrib-
ute’’ means to deliver, other than by administering or dispens-
ing, a controlled substance. 21 U.S.C. 802(11).

The Fifth Circuit has previously held in U.S. v. Leigh, 487
F.2d 206 (Sth Cir. 1973), that Congress clearly established
two separate offenses; ‘‘dispensing’’ and ‘‘distributing’’ con-
trolled substances are mutually exclusive transgressions of the
Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of
1970. This Court, in U.S. v. Moore, 423 U.S. 122, 96 S.Ct.
335, 46 L.Ed.2d 222 (1975) has held the provisions of 21
U.S.C. Sections 842 and 843 (which apply specifically to per-
sons registered under 21 U.S.C. Section 822 and assess re-
duced penalties for those registered) do not purport to exempt
physicians and other registrants from the strictures of 21
U.S.C. Section 841. This Court did not rule, however, on the
propriety of indicting a physician for ‘‘dispensing’’ or
‘*distributing’’ controlled substances through the conduit of
written prescription.

tlfion

Petitioner was convicted in April 1980, in the United States
Court for the Northern District of Georgia. The Fifth Circuit
Court of Appeals reversed Petitioner’s conviction in its opin-
ion of October 24, 1980, at U.S. v. Harrison, 628 F.2d 929 (Sth
Cir. 1980). The Court found U.S. v. Leigh, supra, to be con-
trolling, and directed the dismissal of the indictment. The
Court recited its recent reaffirmation of Leigh, supra, in U.S.
v. Thompson, 624 F.2d 740, 742 (Sth Cir. 1980) ‘‘(affirming
physician’s conviction for ‘dispensing’ controlled substances):
‘precedent in this Circuit establishes that, under Title 21 of the
Code, a doctor who administers or prescribes a controlled
substance in an unlawful manner is to be indicted for dispens-
ing it rather than distributing it. U.S. v. Leigh.’ ”’

Upon the grant of the Government’s motion for rehearing,
the Fifth Circuit withdrew its original reversal of the convic-
tion and issued an affirmance of petitioner’s conviction. U.S.
v. Harrison, 651 F.2d 353 (Sth Cir. 1981). The Court found
the inclusion in the indictment of ‘‘unlawful’’ distribution
‘*for other than a legitimate medical prupose and not in the
usual course of medical practice’ to be dispositive and upheld
the indictment in the instant case. The Court’s opinion
vitiated totally the statutory distinction between ‘‘dispensing’’
and ‘‘distributing’’ controlled substances, found at 21 U.S.C.
802 (10) and (11) respectively, and instead invoked the pro-
secutor’s panacea of dubbing an action ‘‘unlawful’’ and ‘‘not
legitimate medical practice’’ as justifying affirmance of con-
viction.

The Court of Appeals also affirmed the trial court’s taking
of judicial notice of effective dates of inclusion of controlled
substances in the federal schedules at 21 U.S.C. 812 and 21
C.F.R. 1308, over counsel for petitioner’s objection that a
vestige of substantiation must be present before the Court can
exercise the fiat of judicial notice. In the instant case, the trial
judge took judicial notice of the inclusion of pharmaceuticals
in the schedules of controlled substances in the United States
Code and the Code of Federal Regulations as of 1980, and not

-_

of the date of alleged offenses (1976 to 1977). At trial, the
Government was unable to verify that the subject phar-
maceuticals were controlled substances as of the time of al-
leged infraction; petitioner submits the lack of a foundational
modicum precluded the trial court from exercising judicial
notice. As it stands, the State failed to establish a matérial ele-
ment of each count of the indictment and invoked the
strawman of judicial notice tu resurrect its case against peti-
tioner.

Trial Court Jurisdiction
The basis of trial court justidiction in the Federal District

Court rests upon 21 U.S.C. Section 841. (See also, U.S. v.
McDaniel), 428 F.Supp. 1226 (D.C. Okl. 1977).

=“ =

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

The Court of Appeals Should Be Reversed for Failing to
Delineate Between the Indictable Offenses of ‘‘ Dispensing’’
and ‘‘Distributing’’ Controlled Substances.

Supreme Court Rule 17.1(c) envisions the grant of the writ
of certiorari where a Federal Court of Appeals has decided an
important question of federal law which has not been, but
should be, settled by this Court. As previously noted, this
Court, in delineating the indictable offenses of registrants
under the Controlled Substances Act in U.S. v. Moore, supra,
did not dispose of the gravamen of this petition for certiorari.
The ruling in petitioner’s case before the Fifth Circuit effec-
tively eviscerates the distinctions of the legislatively-
formulated offenses of ‘‘distributing’’ and ‘‘dispensing”’
under 21 U.S.C. Section 841(a)(1) and 21 U.S.C. Section
802(10) and (11).

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion, in overruling its earlier reversal
of petitioner’s conviction, distinguished the acknowledged
controlling authority in the Fifth Circuit of U.S. v. Leigh,
supra.

In Leigh, the defendant physician was charged in multiple
counts of ‘‘knowingly and intentionally distributing con-
trolled substances, 21 U.S.C. Section 841(a)(1), and for caus-
ing the same to be distributed, 18 U.S.C. Section 2(b).’’ Leigh,
supra, at 207. Each of the counts described the defendant as a
medical doctor and charged that he ‘* ‘did knowingly and in-
tentionally distribute and cause to be distributed (the par-
ticular prohibited substance) by means of a prescription
signed by defendant.’ Jn essence, the defendant was charged
with the basic offense of unlawfully distributing controlled
substances, 21 U.S.C. Section 841(a)(1).’’ Ibid, (emphasis
added). The factual parallels to the instant case are thus with-
out variance. The charged offense was ‘‘distribution’’ under
21 U.S.C. Section 841(a)(1), and, by the Leigh court's specific
assertion, the distribution was ‘‘unlawful.”’

The Leigh court then affirmed the dismissal of the indict-
ment fo: failure to state an offense, by relying on U.S. v.
Bartee, 479 F.2d 484, 487 (10th Cir. 1973): ‘‘It has been de-
cided that a doctor can be indicted, tried, and convicted for
the unlawful dispensing of a controlled substance, if his
prescription is not for a legitimate medical purpose in the
usual course of his professionai practice. The appellee,
however, has not been indicted for unlawful dispensing. The
charge is unlawful ‘distribution.’ ’’ (Emphasis added). Again,
the deliberations of the Leigh court specifically address the
identical facts and issues of the instant case. Leigh stands as a
paradigm of the instant case, incapable of distinction.

The Leigh court then cited Justice Marshall’s uncon-
troverted maxim that the indictment must specify the crime
which is to be proved, that the conduct alleged must be an
offense against the law, and that one may not be charged with
one crime and convicted of another. The Leigh court then
methodically dissected 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1), noting four
separate and mutually-exclusive offenses were created by
Congress, to encompass situations where any person know-
ingly or intentionally 1) manufactures, 2) distributes,
3) dispenses, or 4) possesses with intent to manufacture,
distribute, or dispense, a controlled substance. These separate
acts were deemed to constitute unlawful offenses. Leigh,
supra, p. 208.

Examined next by the Leigh court was Section 802(10) of 21
U.S.C., which defines ‘‘dispense’’ as follows:

**The term ‘dispense’ means to deliver a controlled
substance to an ultimate user or research subject by, or
pursuant to the lawful order of, a practitioner, including
the prescribing and administering of a controlled sub-
stance, and the packaging, labeling, or compounding
necessary to prepare the substance for such delivery. The
term ‘‘dispenser’’ means a practitioner who so delivers a
controlled substance to an ultimate user or research sub-
ject.””

eliun

The Leigh court then noted:

** This clearly means that a doctor who administers or
prescribes a controlled substance is, for the purposes of
the statute, dispensing it, although as Bartee, supra,
points out, if he performs that function in an unlawful
manner he may be indicted, tried and convicted for it.

This view is buttressed by the provisions of 21 U.S.C.
Section 802(11), defining ‘distribute’: The term ‘distrib-
ute’ means to deliver (other than by administering or
dispensing) a controlled substance. The term ‘distributor’
means a person who so delivers a controlled substance.
Obviously, the specific language ‘other than by adminis-
tering or dispensing’ is not to be ignored.

The conclusion is inescapable, we believe, that the in-
dictment as drawn fails to charge an offense within the
terms of the applicable statutes.’’ Ibid.

Without question, Leigh is controlling in the case sub judice
and is indistinguishable. The panel of the United States Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals, upon its opinion rendered sub-
sequeni to its grant of rehearing, found dispositive the
Government’s argument in its petition for rehearing that ‘‘this
case must be distinguished from Leigh. There the charge was
only knowing and intentional distribution. Here the indict-
ment charged distribution that was ‘unlawful’ and ‘for other
than a legitimate medical purpose and not in the usual course
of medical practice.’ This states an offense.”’ U.S. v. Har-
rison, 651 F.2d 353 (Sth Cir. 1981).

As justification for its rationale, the panel proffered a foot-
note, which reads as follows:

**In U.S. v. Thompson, 625 F.2d 740 (Sth Cir. 1980)

the physician was charged with ‘unlawfully dispensing a
controlled substance, not in the usual course of profes-
sional practice for a legitimate medical purpose.’ He
asserted, relying on Leigh, that the indictment was defec-

tive because he could be indicted for only distributing

_——

(and that only an unregistered physician could be indicted
for dispensing unlawfully). We rejected this argument,
and relying on Leigh, stated that ‘a doctor who ad-
ministers or prescribes an unlawful substance in an
unlawful manner is to be indicted for dispensing it rather
than distributing it.” We do not take this statement to
mean that a doctor acting unlawfully and for other thana
legitimate medical purpose and not in the usual course of
medical practice can only be indicted for dispensing. The
indictment in Leigh did not charge unlawful administer-
ing or prescribing but merely distribution, and we held
this was not enough.’’ /bid.

Petitioner submits the panel’s reliance on U.S. v. Thomp-
son, supra, is simply inappropriate. The status of the instant
case renders it a ‘‘mirror image’’ of Leigh, and the instant
case is indistinguishable. The panel has, by proxy, emascu-
lated the holding and precedent of Leigh. Noted the Leigh
court, ‘‘this clearly means that a doctor who administers or
prescribes a controlled substance is, for the purposes of the
statute, dispensing it. although as Bartee, supra, points out,
if he performs that function in an unlawful manner he may be
indicted, tried, and convicted for it.’’ Leigh, supra, p. 208.
The court then reiterated the clear congressional intent, that
‘to distribute’ means to deliver (other than by administering
or dispensing). . .Obviously, the specific language ‘other than
by administering or dispensing’ is not to be ignored.’’ Leigh,
Ibid.

The panel’s distinguishing, in all due respect, is sophistical.
The panel cites the fact the instant case’s indictment charged
distribution that was ‘‘unlawful’’ and ‘“‘for other than a
legitimate medical purpose and not in the usual course of
medical practice.’’ Harrison, supra, p. 354. These adden-
dums stand as nothing more then surplusage, failing to
address the critical distinction between ‘‘distribution’’ and
“‘dispensing’’ promulgated by the Leigh court. *‘*Distrib-
uting’’ and ‘‘dispensing’’ are mutually exclusive offenses by

virtue of the clear intent of Congress inherent in 21 U.S.C.
Sections 802(10) and 802(11). As in Leigh, the indictment
fails to charge an offense within the terms of the applicable
Statutes.

As its rationale, the panel cited the addition of the terms
‘*‘unlawful’’ and ‘‘for other than a legitimate medical purpose
and not in the usual course of medical practice’ as saving the
indictment from adjudged insufficiency. Petitioner submits
these addendums are little more than embellishments, which
fail to ameliorate the clear distinctions between ‘‘distribu-
tion’’ and ‘‘dispensing.’’ As noted previously, the Leigh
court specifically addressed the question of ‘‘unlawful’’
distribution and found such to be less than persuasive. ‘‘In
essence, the Defendant was charged with the basic offense of
unlawfully distributing controlled substances, 21 U.S.C. Sec-
tion 841(a)(1).”’ Leigh, supra, p. 207. The nomen of
‘‘unlawful’’ did not prevent the Leigh court from mandating
**distributing,’’ and rightfully so. ‘‘Unlawfulness”’ is nothing
short of conclusory, and of no possible assistance to one
indicted in the preparation of his defense (other than alerting
the individual to the obvious fact he is not being commended
by the Government). The addendum of ‘‘for other than a
legitimate medical purpose and not in the usual course of
medical practice’’ to the indictment in the instant case is
likewise inconsequential. The Leigh court noted expressly
that terminology had been deliberated by the 10th Circuit in
Bartee; yet the Leigh court chose to unequivocally base its
decision on the fact that indictment charged ‘‘distributing”’
rather than ‘‘dispensing.’’ Leigh, supra, p. 207. The panel in
the case sub judice, then, has distinguished this case based on
two specific criteria addressed by, and found wanting by, the
Leigh court.

Petitioner respectfully notes that the inclusion of
‘‘unlawfully”’ in the indictment does not render the indict-
ment’s statutory infirmities vitiated. Such an inclusion is not

oa

the panacea the panel suggests, and is little more than con-
clusory surplusage. Additionally, the sound precedent
established by this Circuit in Leigh, supra, should not be
undermined for any reason. The panel obscures the distinc-
tions between ‘‘distributing’’ and ‘‘dispensing,’’ in direct
contravention to the express intent of Congress. And what is
to be garnered by such a ‘“‘distributing-dispensing’’ hybrid?
Shall this herald the inclusion of ‘‘manufacturing’’ and
**possessing’’ under 21 U.S.C. Section 841(a)(1) with the
hybrid, rendering 21 U.S.C. Section 841(a1) amorphous?
Will the Government be afforded the perquisite of drafting
‘“*blanket”’ indictments in the future as they have in the
instant case? Will this not result in ‘‘fishing expeditions’’ for
the Government?

Petitioner submits this Court should follow the express
design of Congress, rather than opting for prosecutorial
expediency.

The Supreme Court Should Exercise Its Discretionary Powers
of Review to Examine the Arbitary Exercise of Judicial
Notice Which Allows the State the Perquisite of Not Prov-
ing Material Elements of Its Case.

Petition was indicted for distribution of four drugs: Didrex
(Benzphetamine hydrochloride), Melfiat (Phendimetrazine
tartrate), Capital (Acetaminiphen with codeine), and Fastin
(Phentermine).

The prescriptions which were introduced into evidence at
trial used only brand nares of these drugs. The Government
sought to establish two facts with respect to these names: that
each brand name had a certain equivalent generic name, and
that generic names were listed on the federal schedule of con-
trolled substances, 21 U.S.C. Section 812 and 21 C.F.R. 1308.

To this end the Government elicited the testimony of one
Special Agent Starling. Agent Starling first described the
generic equivalents of the brand names in question. He next

=— =

gave his opinion over the objection of petitioner’s counsel that
all four drugs named in the prescription were Schedule III or
Schedule IV controlled substances.

This opinion was based solely on the current edition of the
Code of Federal Regulations. Agent Starling did not know
when these substances were placed on the schedules.

After the Government offered the schedules of controlled
substances listed at 21 C.F.R. Section 1308, the trial court
took judicial notice of the fact that the generic names in ques-
tion were listed in Schedules III and IV.

At that time, petitioner objected that the Government had
introduced evidence of the schedules as they were at the time
of the trial but not as they were as of the period of the alleged
offenses, which was 1976-1977. His motion was overruled.

Petitioner posits the trial court was in error when it took
judicial notice of the Code of Federal Regulations schedules
without any proof of the schedules as they were in 1976 and
1977.

All courts take judicial notice of the statutes of the United
States. 29 Am. Jur.2d Evidence Section 27 (1967). ‘‘Moreover,
the courts will take judicial notice of the effective date of a
statute, and whether it existed as law at any particular time.’’
Id. Section 28.

The contents of the Federal Register are required to be
judicially noticed, 44 U.S.C. Section 1507 (1967), and the con-
tents of the Code of Federal Regulations are prima facie
evidence of agency documents, text and effective dates, 44
U.S.C. Section 1510(e) (1969).

A trial judge has wide latitude in taking judicial notice of
statutes and regulations. He ‘‘may examine decisions and
books containing statutes printed by the official printer of the
jurisdiction.’’ Annot. 35 A.L.R.Fed. 440 (1977); see United
States v. Atwell, 71 F.R.D. 357 (D.Del. 1976).

However, where there is any doubt as to the verifiable cer-
tainty of the text of a statute or a regulation, the trial court

a

should not take judicial notice, but instead should require
additional evidence. 29 Am. Jur.2d, supra Sections 24-25.

Before applying the facts of appellant’s case to these prin-
ciples of judicial notice some aspects of the statutes and
regulations under which appellant was indicted must be con-
sidered.

21 U.S.C. Section 812 (amended 1978) established the
schedules of controlled substances within the Comprehensive
Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970, Publ. L.
91-513, Title II, Section 101, 84 Stat. 1242. The schedules
became effective October 27, 1970, /d. Section 704. 28 Section
812(c) provides that the schedules ‘‘shall, unless and until
amended. . . consist of the (drugs listed therein).’’ Further, the
schedules must be updated and republished annually. 21
U.S.C. Section 812(a) (1970).

It is true that the drugs in question are listed in the 1980 edi-
tion of the Code of Federal Regulations. 21 C.F.R. Section
1308.13(b)(2) (benzphetamine), Section 1308.13(b)(6) (phen-
dimetrazine), Section 1308.13(e)(2) (codeine not more than
1.8 grams, in preparation with nonnarcotic), Section
1308.14(e)(2) (phentermine). However, this is the sole source
the trial judge relied on in taking judicial notice.

There is no indication that the court considered the list in
the 1970 statute. Even if it had, only one of the four drugs is
listed there: codeine, 1.8 grams or less mixed with a non-
narcotic substance. 21 U.S.C. 812(c), Schedule III(d)(2).
Therefore, the other three were added sometime in the sub-
sequent period before 1980.

The court never confronted this problem. When it took
judicial notice of the schedules it simply assumed that the
1976-1977 versions were identical to 1980’s, in the face of
appellant’s vigorous objection. This assumption was totally
unjustified. The court should have ordered the Government to
produce additional evidence on the point, but it did not. 29
Am.Jur.2d, supra.

_= =

The Government’s proof should have shown that appel-
lant’s acts took place after the effective date of the offenses.
1 Underhill’s Criminal Evidence Section 88 (6th Ed. 1973).

The Government failed to offer any proof at all on this
point, and thus failed to establish a material element of each
count of the indictment. Therefore, the verdict should be
reversed.

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, petitioner respectfully sub-
mits that a writ of certiorari should issue to review the judg-
ment and opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, Unit
B (now the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals).

Respectfully submitted,

HYLTON B. DUPREE, JR.
Counsel of Record

MARK A. JOHNSON
DUPREE & STAPLES

49 Green Street

P.O. Box 525

Marietta, Georgia 30061
Counsel for Petitioner

November 5, 1981

= =

APPENDIX A
Order.

United States Court of Appeals, for the Fifth Circuit, Unit B.

United States of America, Appellee, vs. Jim T. Harrison,
Appellant. No. 80-7416.

Filed September 11, 1981.

Before GODBOLD, Chief Judge, and KRAVITCH and
HATCHETT, Circuit Judges.

The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and no member of
this panel nor Judge of this Administrative Unit in regular
active service having requested that the Court be polled on
rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Pro-
cedure; Local Fifth Circuit Rule 16; Fifth Circuit Judicial
Council Resolution of January 14, 1981), the suggestion for
Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

= =

APPENDIX B

United States of America, Plaintiff/Appellee, vs. Jim T.
Harrison, Jr., Defendant/Appellant. No. 80-7416.

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, Unit B.
Decided October 24, 1980.

Before GODBOLD, KRAVITCH and HATCHETT, Cir-
cuit Judges.

GODBOLD, Circuit Judge:

Appellant is a doctor of osteopathics, authorized under
Georgia law to perform the same services as a medical doctor.
He was indicted on 37 counts of distributing controlled
substances in violation of 21 U.S.C. Section 841(a)(1) and 21
C.F.R. Section 1306.' He appeals from his conviction by a
jury of 33 of the 37 counts. We agree with appellant that this
case is controlled by U.S. v. Leigh, 487 F.2d 206 (Sth Cir.
1973), and we accordingly reverse the directions to dismiss the
indictment.

Section 841(a)(1) of 21 U.S.C. makes it unlawful ‘‘to
manufacture, distribute, or dispense, or possess with intent to
manufacture, distribute, or dispense a controlled substance.”’
In Leigh, this Court held that, under the definitions of the
terms ‘‘dispense’’ and ‘‘distribute’’ in 21 U.S.C. Section
803(10) and (11), ‘ta doctor who administers or prescribes a
controlled substance is, for the purpose of the statute, dis-
pensing it, ‘‘Leigh, 487 F.2d at 208 (emphasis added), and af-
firmed the dismissal of an indictment charging a doctor with
‘‘distributing rather than ‘‘dispensing’’ a controlled
substance.

‘Count I is representative of the other counts of the indictment:

On or about the 22nd day of March, 1977, within the North-
ern District of Georgia, the defendant JIM T. HARRISON,
JR., did unlawfully and knowingly distribute and cause to be
distributed a Schedule III controlled substance, that is Didrex
(Benzphetamine hydrochloride) pursuant to a prescription
numbered 156753, for other than a legitimate medical purpose
and not in the usual course of professional practice, in viola-
tion of Title 21, United States Code, Section 841(a)(1) and
Title 21, C.F.R. Section 1306. (Emphasis added).

The government argues that ‘‘decisions subsequent to Leigh
have rendered Leigh of dubious precedential value,”’ citing
U.S. v. Moore, 423 U.S. 122, 96 S. Ct. 335, 46 L.Ed.2d 333
(1975); U.S. v. Dunbar, 614 F.2d 39 (Sth Cir. 1980); and U.S.
v. Greenfield, 574 F.2d 305 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S.
860, 99 S.Ct. 178, 58 L.Ed.2d 168 (1978). We must disagree.
In Moore, the Supreme Court held that the provisions of 21
U.S.C. Sections 842 and 843, which apply specifica'ly to per-
sons registered under 21 U.S.C. Section 822, and which pro-
vide lesser penalties than does Section 841, do not imply an
exemption from Section 841 for physicians and other
registrants. Although the government relies on the Supreme
Court’s statement of the issue as ‘‘whether persons who are
registered under the Controlled Substances Act. . .can be pro-
secuted under Section 841 for dispensing or distributing con-
trolled substances,’’ Moore, 423 U.S. at 124, 96S. Ct. at 337,
46 L.Ed.2d at 337, that case did not address the question
whether a physician is properly charged with ‘‘dispensing’’ or
‘*distributing.’’ Similarly, although both Dundar and Green-
field upheld convictions of physicians for ‘‘distributing’’ con-
trolled substances, neither case considered the issue presented
here. Moreover, this Court only recently reaffirmed the
holding of Leigh in dictum in U.S. v. Thompson, 624 F.2d
740, 742 (Sth Cir. 1980) (affirming physician’s conviction for
**dispensing’’ controlled substances): ‘‘Precedent in this cir-
cuit establishes that, under Title 21 of the Code, a doctor who
administers or prescribes a controlled substance in an

unlawful manner is to be indicted for dispensing it rather than
distributing it. U.S. v. Leigh.”’

Appellant also challenges the procedure by which the trial
judge took judicial notice of the schedules of controlled
substances listed in 21 C.F.R. Section 1306 and the sufficiency
of the evidence to support his conviction on counts 15 through
27. Because of our disposition of appellant’s challenge to the
indictment, we need not consider these objections.

—20—

APPENDIX C

United States of America, Plaintiff/Appellee, vs. Jim T.
Harrison, Jr., Defendant/ Appellant. No.80-7416.

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Decided July 20, 1981.

Before GODBOLD, Chief Judge, and KRAVITCH and
HATCHETT, Circuit Judges.

On Petition for Rehearing and Petition for Rehearing En
Banc.

GODBOLD, Chief Judge:

Appellant, an osteopathic doctor, was charged with
‘‘unlawfully and knowingly distributing and causing to be
distributed a controlled substance...for other than a
legitimate medical purpose and not in the usual course of pro-
fessional practice,”’’ in violation of 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1). This
section makes it unlawful ‘‘to manufacture, distribute, or
dispense. ..a controlled substance.’ We held, U.S. v. Har-
rison 628 F.2d 92° (Sth Cir. 1980) that the indictment must be
dismissed, relying on U.S. v. Leigh, 487 F.2d 206 (Sth Cir.
1973) in which we dismissed an indictment that charged the
defendant, a medical doctor ‘‘did knowingly and intentionally
distribute. ..a controlled substance in violation of Section
841(a)(1).”’

(1) We agree with the government’s argument in its peti-
tion for rehearing that this case be distinguished from Leigh.
There the charge was only knowing and intentional distribu-
tion. Here the indictment charged distribution that was
‘‘unlawful’’ and ‘‘for other than a legitimate medical purpose
and not in the usual course of medical practice.’’ This states an
offense.'

‘In U.S. v. Thompson, 624 F.2d 740 (Sth Cir. 1980) the physician was
charged with “‘unlawfully dispensing a controlled substance, not in the
usual course of professional practice for a legitimate medical purpose.’’ He

—2)|—

The allegations present in this case protect the doctor from
exposure to criminal prosecution for errors of judgment as to
the amount of prescribed and as to the necessity for the
prescription.

(2) We consider two other points that were pretermitted
in our original opinion. The court took judicial notice that the
generic names of the four drugs that appellant was indicted for
distributing were listed in the federal schedule of controlled
substances, 21 U.S.C. Section 812, 21 C.F.R. 1308. Appellant
insists that the court was required to take testimony to show
that the C.F.R. schedules showed as of the dates of the
offenses charged, 1976 and 1977. The argument misconceives
the nature of judicial notice, which dispenses with the neces-
sity of proof. The Federal Register specifies the effective date
of each regulation, and this is required to be judicially noticed
along with the content of the regulation. Both the 1976 and
1977 editions of the C.F.R. list as controlled substances the
drugs appellant was convicted of distributing. This is all that is
required.

(3) There was sufficient evidence to permit submission to
the jury of counts 15 through 27. Appellant urges that it was
not shown that the prescriptions charged in these counts were
written for other than legitimate medical purposes. The con-
tention is based upon two incorrect hypotheses. U.S. v.
Rosen, 582 F.2d 1032 (Sth Cir. 1978) is not an exclusive and
exhaustive list of the types of conduct by which a physician
can breach the limits of legitimate medical practice nor does it

asserted, relying on Leigh, that the indictment was defective because he
could be indicted for only distributing (and that only an unregistered physi-
cian could be indicted for dispensing unlawfully). We rejected this argu-
ment, and, relying on Leigh, stated that ‘‘a doctor who administers or
prescribes an unlawful substance is an unlawful manner is to indicted for
dispensing it rather than distributing it." We do not take this statement to
mean that a doctor acting unlawfully and for other than a legitimate medical
purpose and not in the usual course of medical practice can only be indicted
for dispensing. The indictment in Leigh did not charge unlawful administer-
ing or prescribing but merely distribution, and we held this was not enough.

=<

establish some minimum number of types of conduct that
must be present to permit submission to the jury of the
legitimate medical practice issue. The fallacy of appellant's
mechanistic approach is demonstrated by the presence in this
case of testimony that appellant would make up fictitious
names for prescriptions, or ask the ‘‘patient’’ to supply him
with names to be used, and even alluded to the difficulties he
might encounter by having no files on the confected names.
Nor was the jury, in considering the issue of exceeding the
legitimate bounds of medical practice, limited to considering
only prescriptions charged in counts 11 through 27. Prescrip-
tions issued at other times were admissible as evidence of plan,
design or scheme.

The petition for rehearing of GRANTED and the convic-
tion of appeilant is AFFIRMED. No member of this panel or
judge in regular active service on the court has requested that
the court be polled on rehearing en banc, FRAP Rule 35, Fifth
Circuit Local Rule 16, theref6re, the petition for rehearing en
banc is DENIED.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0703%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
