# Record and brief — Kalmanovitz v. Gutting

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0688%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Record and brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 454 U.S. 1125

## Text

> e » .
61-869

FI

NOV

Office - Supreme ho

!

g

IN THE
Ys ;
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITE STATES

» |
198)

¢
° —

ee

PAUL KALMANOVITZ,
Petitioner,
vs

FERDINAND J. GUTTING, JAMES

C. McCLELLAN, ALVIN GRIESEDIECK,
JR., JOSEPH GRIESEDIECK: EDWARD

J. GRIESEDIECK, JR.; WILLIAM S.

LOWE; MONTE E. SHOMAKER; and

J. HOWARD WEMHOENER,

Respondents.

ae ae ae ae Se Se Se Se See Se See See Se See See Se See

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

THEODORE F. SCHWARTZ

7701 Forsyth, Suite 560
Clayton, Missouri 63105

(314) 863-4654

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I.

WHAT IS THE CORRECT METHOD OF
DETERMINING THE VALUE OF STOCK
PURCHASED BY A DEFRAUDED BUYER
UNDER RULE 10b-5?

Il.

DOES RULE 10b-5 PROVIDE A
DEFRAUDED PURCHASER THE RIGHT
TO RECOVER CONSEQUENTIAL
DAMAGES?

INDEX

Questions Presented for Review
Statutes Involved

Parties to the Proceedings
In the Court Below

Table of Authorities

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Statement of the Case

Reasons for Granting the Writ
What is the Correct Method
of Determining The Value
of Stock Purchased By A
Defrauded Buyer Under
Rule 10b-5?
Does Rule 10b-5 Provide A
Defrauded Purchaser The
Right to Recover
Consequential Damages?

Conclusion

ii

10

16

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

15 U.S.C. §784(b)

Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. §240.10b-5

PARTIES TO PROCEEDINGS

The caption of this case contains
the names of all parties to the
proceeding herein. The other original
defendants listed in the caption of the
District Court's opinion either settled
their cases or were dismissed. The
parties reflected in the caption were the
only parties interested in the appeal
before the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit and the proceeding

before this Court.

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Adickes v. Kress & Co., 398

Affiliated Ute Citizens v.
United States, 406 U.S. 128

uu!

Blackie v. Barrick, 524 F. 2d

891, 909 (th. Ctr. 1975),

cert. den. 429 U.S. 816 (1976).

DePinto v. Providence Securit
Life Ins. Co., 274 F. 2d 50,

th. r. 1967) cert. den.
389 U.S. 822 (1968).

Ehrler v. Kellwood Co., 391 F.

upp. ~C. Mo. 1975)
aff'd. 521 F. 2d 1347
(8th. Cir. 1975).

Estate Counseling Services, Inc.

v. Merrill Lynch Pierce Fenner
& Smit h, 303 Fo 7g-S77

(10th. Cir. 1962).

Foster v. Financial Technolo
Inc., 517 F. 2d 1068 (Sth.
Cir. 1975).

Garnatz v. Stifel Nicolaus &
Co., inc. 559 F.
th. Cir. 1977).

Green v. Occidental Petroleum
Corp., 2341 F.
TWth. Cir. 1976)

iv

10,13

10,13

14

Kohler v. Kohler, 208 F. Supp.
‘ s. 1962) aff'd.

319 F. 2d 334 (7th. Cir. 1963).

Madigan, Inc. v. Goodwin, 498
F. 2d 233 (7th. Cir. 1974).

Nickels v. Koehler Management
Corp., 541 F. 2d 611
tothe Cir. 1976).

Sacket v. Beaman, 399 F. 2d

884, BSI (th. Cir. 1968).
Stgatus v. Porter, 179 U.S.
> .

Wolf v. Frank, 477 F. 2d 467

(th. Cir. t973) cert. den.

414 U.S. 975, reh. den.
414 U.S. 1104 (1974).

Zeller v. Bogue Electric Mfg.
Corp., 476 F 2d 795 (2nd.
Cir.

1973).

STATUTES

10,11,12

14

6,7

10

1,5

Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. §240.10b-5 1,5

OTHER AUTHORITIES
Measuring Buyers Damages in
- ases usiness Lawyer

Georgetown Law Journal, 1093

(1977)

Restatment of Torts (Second)
549 (1) (bd).

vi

ll

11

OPINIONS BELOW

The District Court's opinion and the
opinion of the Ninth Circuit are
reproduced in full in the appendix filed

herein.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
was entered on June 10, 1981. The Court
of Appeals denied a Petition for
Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc on August
5, 1981.

The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 .S.C. §1251(1).

vii

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

PAUL KALMANOVITZ,
Petitioner,
vs

FERDINAND J. GUTTING, JAMES

C. McCLELLAN, ALVIN GRIESEDIECK,
JR., JOSEPH GRIESEDIECK: EDWARD
J. GRIESEDIECK, JR.; WILLIAM S.
LOWE; MONTE E. SHOMAKER; and

J. HOWARD WEMHOENER,

Respondents.

NN SSeS Se

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Plaintiff below, Paul Kalmanovitz,
hereinafter "Kalmanovitz" filed a
complaint in the United States District
Court for the Northern District of
California against the former officers
and directors of Falstaff Brewing
Corporation and others. The suit
asserted a cause of action for common law
fraud and for violation of Section 10(b)
of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934,
15 U.S.C. §78j(b) and Rule 10b-5, 17
C.F.R. §240.10b-5. The basic allegations
contained in the Complaint were that
Kalmanovitz was defrauded in connection
with his purchase of 100,000 shares of
Falstaff Brewing Company stock.

The complaint alleged a conspiracy
between the various lending institutions

(the banks and insurance companies),

accountants and former directors and
officers of Falstaff. The object of the
conspiracy was to obtain a substantial
equity investor in Falstaff Brewing
Corporation who would contribute enough
capital to keep the corporation out of
bankruptcy until the lending
institutions’ security interest became
perfected. The Complaint further alleged
that as a result of the aforementioned
conspiracy, Kalmanovitz was fraudulently
induced to to invest Ten Million Dollars
in Falstaff by purchasing 100,000 shares
of preferred Falstaff stock and further
was induced to guarantee up to Ten
Million Dollars of Falstaff's accounts
payable.

In his Complaint, Kalmanovitz
alleged that as a result of the
misrepresentations and schemes

perpetrated by the defendants and others,

ofa

Kalmanovitz “was damaged thereby in that
at the time of his purchase, the
consideration he received was
substantially less than that which he
gave .. .". The Complaint then set
forth eleven areas in which the damages
were specified. Kalmanovitz then prayed
for compensatory damages, “in a sum
calculated based on the difference
between the consideration given by
plaintiff and that which he received
which he believes to be in excess of Five
Million Dollars, for interest on said sum
at the rate of seven percent per annum,
commencing April, 1975, through the
present. . .".

The record in the case revealed that
Kalmanovitz purchased the Falstaff stock
at a price of $100.00 per share in April,
1975. In March of 1975, Kalmanovitz
advanced Three Million Dollars of the

agreed price and thereafter paid the
remaining Seven Million Dollars on April
28, 1975. The final payment consisted in
part of a Five Million Dollar loan which
Kalmanovitz had procurred from City
National Bank in Beverly Hills,
California. The defendants thereafter
filed a motion for summary judgment
contending that the record showed that
Kalmanovitz bought the stock for $100.00
per share and that within a few months
thereafter, he sold it to the second
purchasers at the same price. They
argued that this showed that there were
no damages suffered by Kalmanovitz and
that they were entitled to judgment as a
matter of law. The Court thereafter
granted the motion for summary judgment
on the sole ground that plaintiff
suffered no damages. The Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals without elaboration

-4-

followed the District Court's finding
that there were no damages suffered by

plaintif€é.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

WHAT IS THE CORKECT METHOD

OF DETERMINING THE VALUE

OF STOCK PURCHASED BY A

DEFRAUDED BUYER UNDER

RULE 10b-5?

There is very little question today
that the prevailing measure of damages in
the federai courts under Section 10b of
the Securities Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C.
§78(j)(b) and Rule 10b-5, is the

difference between the purchase price and

oS

the value of the stock at the date of

purchase. Green v. Occidental Petroleum

Corp., 541 F. 2d 1335, 1344 (9th. Cir.
1976), concurring opinion; Blackie v.
Barrick, 524 F. 2d 891, 909 (9th. Cir.
1975) cert. den. 429 U.S. 816 (1976);
Sacket v. Beaman, 399 F. 2d 884, 891
(9th. Cir. 1968).

Cases from other circuits have
applied the identical rule. Wolf v.
Frank, 477 F. 2d 467 (Sth. Cir. 1973)

cert. den. 414 U.S. 975, rehearing den.
414 U.S. 1104 (1974); Kohler v. Kohler,
208 F. Supp. 808 (D.C. Wis. 1962), aff'd.
319 F. 2d 334 (7th. Cir. 1963); Ehrler v.

Kellwood Co., 391 F. Supp. 927 (D.C. Mo.
1975), aff'd. 521 F. 2d 1347 (8th. Cir.

1975). See also, Measuring Buyers

Damages in 10b-5 Cases, 31 Business
Lawyer 1839 (1976).
This remedy has provided that

a§e

“damages under what may be called an out
of pocket rule, and namely the difference
between the real value of the property
purchased at the date of its sale and the
price paid for it, together with interest
and associated outlays by the purchaser".
Sacket, supra at 891.

This remedy and measure of damages
was borrowed from the early case of

Sigafus v. Porter, 179 U.S. 116 125

(1900) and has consistently been applied
toward damages to a defrauded purchaser
of securities coming within the coverage
of Section 10b and Rule 10b-5.

In the case below, the only evidence
of the value of the Falstaff securities
purchased by Kalmanovitz on the date of
sale was the reasoning of the Court,
without factual support, that a later
sale as a matter of law fixed the value

of stock as of the date of purchase.

Fe

There was not anything in the record to
support this and it clearly was a
misapplication of the law. For the court
to have declared as a matter of law that
the value of the stock on the date of
purchase was to be determined by the sale
price some months later denied
Kalmanovitz his right to a trial. The
fair market value of the stock as of the
date of purchase is perhaps the most
classic example of a legal fact which can
only be subjectively determined.
Subjective determination like opinions
cannot be shown to be true as a matter

of law and thus cannot sustain motions to
dismiss or motions for summary judgment.
Depinto v. Providence Security Life Ins.
Co., 274 F. 2d 50, 55 (9th. Cir. 1967)
cert. den. 389 U.S. 822 (1968). In this

instance, it is clear that summary

judgment was not properly granted since

alin

there was a material fact issue in
dispute and the court was not able to
grant judgment as a matter of law upon
the record before it. Adickes v. Kress &

Co., 398 U.S. 144, 157 (1970).

Under no circumstances has any court
ever abandoned the "out of pocket" or
“date of sale" rule to defeat the claim
of a defendant for damages. For the
district court below and the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals to do this
results in a clear violation of the
teachings of this Court as well as the
dictates of Congress. This Court in
Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States,
406 U.S. 128 (1972), stated,

"[C]ongress intended securities
legislation enacted for the
purpose of avoiding frauds to be
construed not technically and
restrictively but flexibly to
effectuate its remedial purpose."

For the courts below to ignore the "out
of pocket" measure of damages and apply a
measure of damages that denies plaintiff
relief is both contrary to the law of the
many courts of appeals that have decided
the question and contrary to the
legislative interest embodied in the
securities laws. This Court should issue
its Writ of Certiorari to the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals to review the
issues contained in this matter to
examine the application of the law by the
Ninth Circuit as it relates to the
interpretation of the Congressional

intent embodied in the securities law.

Il.

DOES RULE 10b-5 PROVIDE A
DEFRAUDED PURCHASER THE RIGHT
TO RECOVER CONSEQUENTIAL
DAMAGES?

-10-

In addition to out of pocket damages
the law is well established that the
defrauded buyer is entitled to recover

“consequential damages". Foster v.

Financial Technology, Inc., 517 F. 2d

1068 (9th. Cir. 1975); Madigan, Inc. v.
Goodwin, 498 F. 2d 233 (7th. Cir. 1974);

Zeller v. Bogue Electric Mfg. Corp., 476
F. 2d 795 (2nd. Cir. 1973); cert. den.

414 U.S. 908 (1973); Estate Counseling

Service, Inc. v. Merrill Lynch Pierce

Fenner & Smith, Inc., 303 F. 2d 527

(10th. Cir. 1962); Accord Restatement of
Torts (Second) 549 (1)(b).

In fact, several circuits have

allowed the award of consequential
damages even if the plaintiff can show no
general damages. Madigan, supra, at 236;
Zeller, supra at 803. See also, Rule

10b-5 Damages, 65 Georgetown Law Journal,

1093, 1144 (1977). In the instant case,

elle

the district court denied any recovery to
Kalmanovitz and granted summary judgment
thereby dismissing the whole case. It
was clear that under the law then
prevailing, Kalmanovitz was entitled to
recover consequential damages even if, as
the Court found, he suffered no actual
damages. The law in the various circuits
supports this right of recovery; however,
it was ignored by the Ninth Circuit Court
of Appeals. The decision by the Ninth
Circuit is directly contrary to the
decision of the Seventh Circuit in

Madigan, Inc. v. Goodman, 498 F. 2d 233

(7th. Cir. 1974). In that case the court
stated that if plaintiff could show that
but for the fraud perpetrated he would
not have expended the money but would
have placed the purchase price in a
savings account, he was entitled to

recover the loss of interest. The

ole

decision of the Ninth Circuit below is

also in conflict with the case of Foster
v. Financial Technology, Inc., 517 F. 2d
1068 (9th. Cir. 1975). In that case the

Ninth Circuit reversed the district
court's summary judgment for defendants.
The Ninth Circuit remanded the cause to
allow for determination of the extent, if
any, of plaintiff's consequential damages
incurred. The Foster case makes specific
reference to the determination of the
“opportunity lost"' damages. These
“opportunity lost" damages are those
which are incurred where because of the
10b-5 violation, the plaintiff has "lost
the extra profits it would have earned
had it reinvested its excess funds in its
own operation instead of using them to
purchase securities from the defendant."
Foster, supra, at 72.

The Tenth Circuit in Estate

o] 3

Counseling Services, Inc., supra,

provided for the recovery of such
consequential damages as the loss of
interest and any other outlay
legitimately attributable to the
defendant's fraudulent conduct. Supra at
533. These decisions are consistent with
the decisions in the other circuits. See
Garnatz v. Stifel Nicolaus & Co., Inc.,
559 F. 2d 1357, 1360 (8th. Cir. 1977).

Nickels v. Koehler Management Corp., 541
F. 2d 611 (6th. Cir. 1976).

In the instant case, the Ninth
Circuit's decision had the effect of
denying Kalmanovitz his entire remedy as
provided by the cases interpreting Rule
10b-5. The Ninth Circuit in affirming
the granting of summary judgment has in
effect stripped Kalmanovitz of his right
to recover for his losses incurred due to

the fraud of the defendants in violation

afte

of Rule 10b-5. As the district court
found, Kalmanovitz expended in excess of
$100,600.00 in interest on a loan which
he incurred as a part of the purchase
price. But for the fraud of the
defendants, Kalmanovitz would not have
incurred this expenditure and as such, he
should have been allowed to seek its
recovery in a court of law.

Additionally, the court foreclosed
Kalmanovitz from recovering the loss of
extra profits he could have earned had he
reinvested the funds used in the purchase
in his own operation instead of using
them to purchase the securities from the
defendants.

It is disturbing to note that the
Ninth Circuit has ignored the case law
emanating out of the other circuits and
has foreclosed a plaintiff from recovery

in circumstances where it is clear he has

=1$-

suffered a
defendants
This Court
Certiorari
Appeals to

below. It

loss due to the fraud of

in violation of Rule 10b-5.
should issue its Writ of

to the Ninth Circuit Court of
examine the decision rendered

is clear that the decision

rendered by the Ninth Circuit conflicts

with the decisions emanating out of the

courts of appeals of other circuits and

as such, this is the proper vehicle for

the court to examine the type of damages

recoverable under Rule 10b-5.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above and the

authorities cited therein, this Court

should issue its Writ of Certiorari to

the Ninth Circuit to review the decision

rendered therein. The decision not only

conflicts with the case law of other

-16-

circuits but concerns an item of
importance, to-wit: the recovery of

damages for the violation of Rule 10b-5.
Respectfully Submitted,

THEODORE F. SCHWARTZ
7701 Forsyth, Suite 560

Clayton, Missouri 63105
(314) 863-4654

Attorney for Petitioner

Sts

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that two
complete copies of petitioner's Petition
for Writ of Certiorari and Appendix
thereto was served on the attorneys of
record for respondents by placing same in
the United States Mail with first class
postage thereon fully prepaid at Clayton,
Missouri, on the 3rd day of November,

1981, addressed as follows:

Messrs. Robert E. Gooding, Jr.
and Jay M. Spears

Howard, Prim, Rice,

Nemerovski, Canady and Pollak

650 California Street, Suite 2900

San Francisco, California 94108

oe
Th 3 lyf,

81-869

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE uvureD STATES

“> +

PAUL KALMANOVITZ,
Petitioner,

vs

FERDINAND J. GUTTING, JAMES

C. McCLELLAN, ALVIN GRIESEDIECK,
JR., JOSEPH GRIESEDIECK: EDWARD

J. GRIESEDIECK, JR.; WILLIAM S.

LOWE; MONTE E. SHOMAKER; and

J. HOWARD WEMHOENER,

Respondents.

ae Ne See See Se See Sel et Sattl Stll Sl tl Sal atl all al ~

APPENDIX TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

THEODORE F. SCHWARTZ
7701 Forsyth, Suite 560
Clayton, Missouri 63105
(314) 863-4654

Attorney for Petitioner

INDEX

Order - 8/5/81
Memorandum - 6/10/81
Order Granting Defendants'

Motion for Summary Judgment
2/21/80

Ww Ww - -

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PAUL KALMANOVITZ,
No. 804106
Plaintiff-Appellant,

vs
ORDER
FERDINAND J. GUTTING,
et. al.,

Defendant-Appellee

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

Before: PREGERSON, NELSON, and
REINHARDT, Circuit Judges

The panel as constituted above has
voted to deny the petition for rehearing
and to reject the suggestions for

rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of
the suggestion for rehearing en banc, and
no ‘udge of the court has requested a
vote on the suggestion for rehearing en
banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35 (b).

The petition for rehearing is denied
and the suggestion for rehearing en banc

is rejected.

Dat2d: August 5, 1981]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PAUL KALMANOVITZ, )
) No. 804106
Plaintiff-Appellant, )
) D.C. Nos.
vs ) 76-0106-CFP
) 77-0611-CFP
FERDINAND J. GUTTING, )
et. al., MEMORANDUM
De fendant-Appellee

Appeal from the United States District
Court for the Northern District of
California, Cecil F. Poole, District
Judge, Presiding, Argued and Submitted
on June 1, 1981

Before: PREGERSON, NELSON, and
REINHARDT, Circuit Judges

In this 10b-5 action, the district

court correctly concluded that a genuine

issue of material fact did not exist as
to the value of the stock on the date
appellant purchased it. The court did
not err in ruling, as a matter of law,
that appellant suffeced no damages since
he bought the stock and arranged to sell
it two months after the purchase at the
same price --$100.00 per share. See

Blackie v. Barrack, 524 F. 2d 891, 909

(9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S.
816 (1976); Arrington v. Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner and Smith, Inc., No.
77-3911, slip op. 809, 815 (9th. Cir.
Nov. 3, 1980).

Therefore, we AFFIRM.
June 10, 1981

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

PAUL KALMANOVITZ,
Plaintiff,
vs

NEW YORK LIFE

INSURANCE COMPANY,

a New York Corporation,
THE MUTUAL LIFE INS-
URANCE COMPANY OF

NEW YORK, a New York
Corporation; HASKINS

& SELLS, a Partnership,
FERDINAND J. GUTTING,

aka FERD GUTTING;

HARVEY A.A. BEFFA, SR.;
JAMES C. McCLELLAN, Esq.;
ALVIN GRIESEDIECK, JR.;
JOSEPH GRIESEDIECK;

EDWARD J. GRIESEDIECK, JR.;
HARVEY A.A. BEFFA, JR.;
WILLIAM S. LOWE; MONTE

E. SHOMAKER; J. HOWARD
WEMHOENER; WILLIAM J.
HEALY; and JOHN C. CALHOUN,

Defendents.

in

ee ee ee ee ee a ee ee ee ee a

C 76-106
CFP

{Formerly
MDL No.
263 No.
77-611C
(2)]

SUMMARY
JUDGMENT

Plaintiff brings this suit
asserting causes of action for common
law fraud and for violation of §10(b)
of the Securities and Exchange Act of
1934, 15 U.S.C. §78j(b) and Rule 10b-5
17 C.F.R. §240.10b-5. He alleges that
he was defrauded in connection with his
purchase of 100,000 shares of Falstaff
Brewing Company. The only defendants
remaining in the case, former officers
and directors of Falstaff, have moved

for summary judgment, inter alia, on

the ground that plaintiff suffered no
damage as a result of the alleged
fraud.

BACKGROUND OF THIS MOTION

On or about March 10, 1975,
plaintiff Kalmanovitz and Falstaff
negotiated a written agreement under
which Falstaff was to issue 100,000

shares of a new class of preferred

stock for which plaintiff agreed to pay
$10 million. The transaction was
subject to ratification by Falstaff's
shareholders at their annual meeting on
April 28. On March 20, plaintiff
advanced $3 million of the agreed
price; he paid the remaining $7 million
on April 28 after the shareholders had
voted to ratify. t The final

payment consisted in part of a $5
million loan which plaintiff had
procured from City National Bank in
Beverly Hills, California.

I These transactions and others forming
the basis of this extended Litigation
have been the subject of numerous court
decisions and orders. See, for example,
the Court's Memorandum and Order in this
action, dated February 3, 1977, granting

and denying summary judgment, and the
Court's Opinion in Falstaff “Brewing Co.

v. New York Life Insurance Co., et. al.,
No. C 76-1560, March 3, 1978, granting
summary judgment.

The record in this case revealed
that plaintiff purchased the Falstaff
stock at a price of $100 per share in
April of 1975. A few months later, he
sold the stock at the same price per
share to two companies which he
controlled, General Brewing Corporation
(General) and S & P Corporation (S &
P). The transaction was not
accomplished instantaneously, but each
company eventually received 50,000
shares in return for a total investment
of $5 million.

Plaintiff's theory during the
course of this litigation had been that
in April 1975, Falstaff's assets were
over-valued by $5 million, and that the
preferred shares consequently were
worth something less than their stated
value when he bought them. By the time

he sold the shares to General and S & P

he asserts his personal efforts to
rescue Falstaff from its financial
doldrums had effected marked
improvement in that company's financial
condition and, as a result, the value
of the shares had increased. Thus, the
theory continued, the shares were
indeed actually worth the full $100
when plaintiff sold them to General and
S & P, but the crucial issue was their
true value at the time he purchased
them ‘from Falstaff. 2

Defendants, on the other hand,

contend that this effort to explain the

lack of any change in valuation of the

2 The record furnishes no support for

the position that the shares appreciated
in value during this period. It is

precisely this void which triggered
laintiff's change of position
ereinafter set forth.

stock is sheer speculation. Their
position is that since plaintiff got
the full amount of his purchase price,
and since he, himself, valued the
shares at $100 each within a few months
of his purchase, he suffered no damages
and thus has no cause of action.

A hearing on defendants’ motion
for summary judgment was held on August
24, 1979. The moving and responding
papers failed to set forth sufficient
details of the transactions between
plaintiff and his two companies whereby
the shares were transferred to them.
The record at the hearing disclosed
little more than that the first payment
on the loan at City National Bank was
made July 2, 1975, and that the shares
were formally transferred to General
and S & P in November, 1976. The facts

were unclear as to when and how, and by

-10-

what method of valuation, the resale
had been accomplished.

Plaintiff's counsel, Mr. Switzer,
argued that the mere evidence that the
price of the shares at the time
plaintiff purchased them was the same
as when he sold them to his two
corporations did not prove their value
at the first sale and, further, that
the lack of evidence as to the
circumstances surrounding the second
sale made the posture of the case not
ripe for summary judgment:

"Mr. Switzer: There is absolutely
no evidence before this court,

for purposes of this motion, as

to what date the stock was valued

by Mr. Kalmanovitz or anyone else

with respect to its ultimate sale
to General Brewing or S & P Corp-
oration.

"The evidence that the defendants

have presented by way of affidavit

simply shows that, in July of 1975

a series of financial transactions

commenced in connection with Paul
Kalmanovitz borrowing some $5

-ll-

million for the purchase of the
stock; that ultimately, over a
period of time, culminating in
about November of 1976, it
resulted in the sale of stock to
S & P Corporation and General
Brewing."

"The Court: When did the sale
take place?"

"Mr. Switzer: There is no
evidence."

(Hearing Transcript at 17).

Presented with this situation, the
Court ordered discovery reopened "for
the limited issue of what the
circumstances were and when that stock
was sold by Mr. Kalmanovitz" to his two
companies. (Hearing Transcript at 35).
Pursuant to theCourt's order,
plaintiff's deposition was taken on
October 4, 1979. Under oath, and for
the first time in this litigation,
plaintiff Kalmanovitz claimed that in

buying the Falstaff Shares, he had not

12-

actually purchased for his own account,
but rather as an agent for Ceneral and
S & P pursuant to a "plenary" authority
vested in him by these controlled
entities.

Defendants have renewed their
motion for summary judgment, contending
that the record, and the only record,
is that Kalmanovitz bought the stock
for $100 per share; that within a few
months he sold it to the second
purchasers at the same price; that
nothing shows any fluctuation during
the interim; and that the
uncontradicted inference from this is
that the value which plaintiff himself
placed upon the stock was exactly that
which he had originally paid for it.
They urge the Court to disregard
plaintiff's reversal of his new
litigation position, and to ignore his

most recent testimony, because it

at%e

contradicts earlier sworn statements by
him and because it is unsupported by
any available documentation. In
response, plaintiff reiterates that
genuine issues of material fact remain
to be tried. Plaintiff's position
seems to be that the conflict within
his own testimony precludes summary
judgment.

THE TRANSFER OF FALSTAFF SHARES

The "conflict" in the evidence in
this case is self-generated, arising
out of plaintiff's various versions of
the transactions. However, some facts
of the transactions are documented and
are undisputed.

The contracts embodying the
details of the issuance of Falstaff
preferred shares, dated March 10, 1975,
and April 28, 1975, were signed solely

othe

by officers of Falstaff and plaintiff.
Plaintiff negotiated and contracted
only for himself, as a principal, not
as an agent. No mention of General or
S & P either direct or indirect,
appears in either contract.

On April 14, 1975, City National
Bank issued a $6 million demand note to
plaintiff. The note contains no
reference to General or S & P;
plaintiff's is the only signature. The
$5 million actually borrowed on the
note to be used in the Falstaff
purchase was deposited into plaintiff's
checking account. While stock holdings
of General and S & P, companies
dominated by plaintiff, were used as
collateral for the loan, nothing in the
record indicates that plaintiff acted

as agent or surrogate for the two

«tS.

companies in borrowing the money, or
that the companies were ultimately
liable for payments on the loan. The
loan was never listed as a liability in
the financial statements or on the
books of either coupany.

The 1975 financial statements of S
& P and General reflect gradually
increasing interests in Falstaff,
listed under "assets". General's
financial statement for March of that
year valued the "Falstaff Account" at
$1.5 million. The account increased to
$2.6 million in April, and to $4.897
million in November. In S & P's
financial statements, an asset labeled
"Falstaff Brewing Co."' was valued at $1
million in March 1975, and $2.1 million
in May 1975.

The ownership of record of the

«IG-

Falstaff preferred shares is indicated
in a document prepared and signed by
the secretary of Falstaff on October 4,
1979. Initial issue was to plaintiff
on April 28, 1975. On December 28,
1976, all 100,000 shares were trans-
ferred 3,200 shares back to Falstaff.
PLAINTIFF'S TESTIMONY

In his November 1, 1977,
deposition, plaintiff characterized his
share of the $10 million purchase price
as “temporary advance money," but
stated that the funds used for the
purchase were his, and that General and
S & P eventually paid him back in full.
Although he originally intended to
retain twenty percent of the shares, he
subsequently changed his mind and
transferred all the shares to his two
companies, fifty percent to each.

On April 3, 1978, plaintiff

017.

testified in deposition that he
borrowed the $5 million from City
National Bank on his own initiative,
and that he neither obtained nor
required authorization from General.

At his April 14, 1978 deposition,
plaintiff was even more emphatic: "Just
to keep the record straight, I borrowed
the money and I paid interest, not
General Brewing Company." (Plaintiff's
Deposition, 4/4/78, p. 301).

At his deposition on October 4,
1979, however, plaintiff cast his
activities in a new light. He stated
that although he signed for the loan
from City National, he did not consider
the loan a personal obligation. He
further testified that the obligation
belonged to General and S & P, but

admitted that the loan, therefore,

si Be

should have appeared as a liability on
the books of the two companies.
Contrary to his testimony of November
1, 1977, he stated in 1979 that he had
never had any intention of retaining
ownership of a portion of the Falstaff
shares. When made aware of this dis-
crepancy, he explained by saying that
he might hae been upset at the earlier
deposition.

Perhaps the clearest example of
the conflict in plaintiff's accounts of
his role in the purchase of Falstaff
stock is the contradiction in two
affidavits in opposition to summary
judgment submitted by him to this Court
for the August 24, 1979, and December
14, 1979, hearings.

The affidavit filed on July 30,
1979:

"14. Because of the financial
turn-around of Falstaff during

-19-

the period from the spring of
1975 until the summer of Fo

in November of 1976 when the

sale of my Falstaff preferred
stock ce Tesora: srewss Corpor-
ation and 5 & P Usesorat on was
effected, such shares had a value
substantially —. than a
value at the time I purchased them
on = 28, 1975."" (Emphas{s
added

The suggestion made at that time was
that plaintiff's efforts had accom-
plished an appreciation in the worth of
the acquired shares.

But on December 3, 1979, plaintiff
filed an affidavit swearing as
follows:

"S. After the initial acquisi-
tion of the stock, I continued
to hold it in my individual name
until such time as the two
companies were in a position to
have the stock transferred into
their respective company names.

"6. At no time did I have any
personal ownership rights in said
stock. My involvement was for
the sole purpose of facilitating

transfer of the stock pursuant
to the above mentioned agree-
ments."

CONCLUSION

Throughout this litigation, plai-
ntiff had consistently taken the posi-
tion that he sold his Falstaff shares
to General and S & P. He did not
institute this lawsuit on behalf of
these companies, nor does his
complaint, filed three years ago, make
any reference whatever to General or S
& P. Not a single document or
representation presented to this Court
until recently suggested that plaintiff
was acting on behalf of the two
companies, or other than on his own
account, in making the purchase of
Falstaff shares. Nevertheless, he now
contends that he was acting as an agent

all along and that no second "sale"

o21-

ever occurred, because he was merely
turning the stock over to the "true"
owners. As a consequence, plaintiff
asserts, it is immaterial whether the
listed value of the shares when
transferred to General and S & P was
the same as when purchased from Fal-
staf£; triable issues of fact remain as
to what was the true value of the
shares at the time of the original
purchase.

Thus, this Court is presented with
a situation in which a party attempts
to manipulate the judicial process for
his own self-interest by shifting his
position in mid-litigation when it
becomes apparent that some aspect of
that position may jeopardize his case.
A court has inherent authority to
prevent suh abuse of the process.

"Under the doctrine of judicial

-2?7-

estoppel a party and his privies who
have knowingly and deliberately assumed
a particular position are estopped from
assuming an inconsistent position to
the prejudice of the adverse party."

In re Johnson, 518 F. 2d 246, 254
(10th. Cir. 1975), cert. den. 423 U.S.
893 (1975). Accord, Scarano v. Central

Railroad Co. of New Jersey, 203 F. 2d
510, 513 (3rd Cir. 1953). More

important than reliance by defendants
herein on plaintiff's previous
characterizations of his transactions
is the necessity of protecting the
integrity of judicial proceedings.
"[Judicial estoppel] is, more properly,
a rule which estops a party from
‘'playing fast and loose’ with the
courts."" Selected Risks Insurance Co.
v. Kobelinski, 421 F. Supp. 431, 434
(E.D. Pa. 1976).

Nor does plaintiff's contention

that triable and disputed issues of
=23-

fact remain preclude judgment against
him. This Court looks to the example
of the Ninth Circuit in Radobenko v.

Automated Equipment Corp., 521 F. 2d

540 (9th. Cir. 1975), where summary
judgment for defendant was affirmed
despite unresolved questions as to
factual matters:

"Thus, we are presented with

the question of whether contra-
dictory testimony of a plaintiff
alone can be used by him to
defeat a defendant's summary
judgment motion where the only
issue of fact results from the
necessity of choosing between the
plaintiff's two conflicting
versions." Id. at 544. Accord,

Perma Research and Development
Co. v. Singer Co., 410 F. 2d 572
n 7 re .

In the instant case, plaintiff's

conflicting descriptions of his role in
the purchase and transfer of the
Falstaff shares do not present genuine

issues of fact. Until the question of

o2b-

the absence of loss or damage became
prominent at the August 24, 1979
hearing, plaintiff had consistently
maintained during three years of
litigation that he purchased the
shares from Falstaff and later resold
them to his two companies. A party
will be bound by the case he has sought
to make; he will not be permitted
loosely to abuse the judicial process
he has invoked by shift of position
when his strategical advantage appears
better served thereby. To sanction
such contrivance would invite
deliberate fraud on the judicial forum.
The Court simply will not hear a party
who seeks thus to delay and divert.
Therefore, the Court deems the
evidence to establish, without a
countervailing genuine issue of

material fact, that plaintiff purchased

the Falstaff shares for $100 per share,
at a total cost of $10 million, and
subsequently sold them to General and S
& P for the identical amount, and that
the value of the shares was at all
times the same. Plaintiff thus
suffered no loss, damage or economic
injury in fact and has no cause of
action, either for common law fraud,
Vasquez v. Superior Court, 4 Cal. 3d
800, 94 Cal. Rptr. 796 (1971), or for a

private suit under Section 10b of the

1934 Act. See Frigitemp Corporation v.
Financial Dynamics Fund, 524 F. 2d 275,
281 (2d Cir. 1975); Herpich v. Wallace,
430 F. 2d 792, 810 (Sth. Cir. 1970).
Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED that

defendants’ motion for summary judgment
be, and the same hereby is, granted.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that
plaintiff take nothing and that
defendants recover their costs in this

~26-

action.

DATED: February 21, 1980.

CECIL F. POOLE

-2?7-

15 U.S.C.

STATUTES

§78J(b)

It shall be unlawful for any person,

directly
means or
commerce
facility
Exchange

(b)
with the

or indirectly, by the use of any
instrumentality of interstate

or of the mails, or of any

of any National Securities

to use or employ, in connection

purchase or sale of any security

registered on the National Securities

Exchange

or any security not so

registered, any manipulative or deceptive

device or contrivance in contravention of

such rules and regulations as the

Commission may prescribe as necessary or

appropriate in the public interest of for

the protection of investors.

-28-

17 C.F.R. 240.10b-5(b)

It shall be unlawful for any person,
directly or indirectly, by the use of any
means or instrumentality of interstate
commerce or of the mails or of any
facility of any National Securities
Exchange.

(a) to employ any device, scheme, or
artifice to defraud,

(b) to make any untrue statement of
a material fact or to omit to state a
material fact necessary in order to make
the statements made, in light of the
circumstances under which they were made
not misleading, or

(c) to engage in any act, practice
or course of business which operates or
would operate as a fraud or deceit upon
any person in connection with the

purchase or sale of any security.

February 21, 1980

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0688%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
