# Record and brief — California v. Winson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0579%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Record and brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 455 U.S. 975

## Text

UOnNad

81-749

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNIT FORRTRTER, dr 3
October Term, 1981 irn

i SEP 21 19st

ALEXANDER L STEVasS.
—

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,
V.
RICHARD SHIRES WINSON, IR.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT

GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN,

Attorney General
ROBERT H. PHILIBOSIAN,

Chief Assistant Attorney

General--Criminal Division
DANIEL J. KREMER,

Assistant Attorney General
JAY M. BLOOM,

Deputy Attorney General
STEVEN H. ZEIGEN,

Deputy Attorney General

110 West "A" Street, Suite 700
San Diego, California 92101
Telephone: (714) 237-7679

Attorneys for Petitioner

i.

IONS PRESENTED

Whether the Sixth Amendment
guarantee of confrontation is denied when
the preliminary hearing testimony of an
absent witness was introduced during pro-
bation revocation proceedings, despite
the trial court's finding the witness was
not legally unavailable for purposes of
introducing that testimony at the sub-

stantive criminal trial.

ii.

TOPICAL INDEX

OPINION BELOW
JURISDICTION
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. History of the Case

B. Statement of Facts
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
ARGUMENT

THE TRIAL COURT PROPERLY
ADMITTED THE PRELIMINARY
HEARING TRANSCRIPT OF THE
ABSENT WITNESS AT THE
PROBATION REVOCATION
HEARING, EVEN THOUGH THAT
WITNESS WAS NOT FOUND
LEGALLY UNAVAILABLE FOR
PURPOSES OF INTRODUCING
HIS TESTIMONY AT SUBSTAN-
TIVE CRIMINAL TRIAL

CONC IS ION

Pages

13-31
32

A.

iii.

TOPICAL INDEX
(Continued)

APPENDIX

California Supreme Court
Opinion

Evidence Code sections 1291
and 240

5 Wigmore, Evidence (3d ed.
1940) sections 1395, 1396

iv.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Barber v. Page (1968)
390 U.S. 719

California v. Green (1970)
399 U.S. 149

Commonwealth v. Quinlan.
(1977) 380 A. 2d 854

Gagnon v. Scarpelli (1973)
411 U.S. 778

Mancusi v. Stubbs (1972)
408 U.S. 204

Morrissey v. Brewer (1972)
408 U.S. 471

Ohio v. Roberts (1980)
448 U.S. 56

People v. Cambitsis (1980)
101 Cal.App.3d 141

People v. Vickers (1972)
8 Cal. 3d 451

People v. Winson (1981)
29 Cal.3d 711

STATUTES
Evidence Code
Ss 240
1291

Pages

22
21,22,23,

24

18

15,17,20,29

22

15,16,17,20
28, 29,30

21,22,23,24
26

19,20,30

17

26

22-25
22-23

ve

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(Continued)

Pages
TEXT
5 Wigmore, Evidence

(3d ed. 1940)
§§ 1395, 1396 19

oie

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1981

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Petitioner,

v.
RICHARD SHIRES WINSON, IR., |
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT

Petitioner, the People of the
State of California respectfully requests
a writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment of the California Supreme Court,
which was entered on July 23, 1981, and
became final on August 23, 1981. (Cal.
Rules of Court, Rule 24a.)

22

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the California
Supreme Court may be found at 29 Cal.3d
711, Cal. tr. A copy of the
opinion appears as Appendix A to this
petition.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the California
Supreme Court became final on August 23,
1981. This petition for writ of certio-
rari was filed within 60 days of that
date. This Court's jurisdiction is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. section 1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Constitution,

Amendment VI:

"In all criminal prosecu-
tions, the accused shall enjoy
the right to a speedy and pub-
lic trial, by an impartial jury
of the state and district
wherein the crime shall have

— 7

been committed, which district
shall have been previously
ascertained by law, and to be
informed of the nature and
cause of the accusation; to be
confronted with the witnesses
against him; to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses
in his favor, and to have the
assistance of counsel for his
defense."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. History of the Case

A two-count information filed
by the District Attorney of San Diego
County on March 2, 1978, charged respon-
dent Richard Shires Winson, Jr. with
attempted armed robbery during which a
weapon was used (Pen. Code, 5 211,
12022(b)), and with assault with a deadly
weapon. (Pen. Code, § 245(a).) It was
additionally alleged great bodily injury

42035

was inflicted upon the victim. (Pen.
Code, § 12022.7.) (CT 1.)1/

On April 26, 1978, respohdent
pled guilty to count II pursuant to a
plea bargain whereby the district attor-
ney dismissed the other count. (CT 2-3.)
On May 26, 1978, respondent was placed on
probation for three years on the con-
dition he serve 365 days in the county
jail. (CT 4.)

After being released from
custody on discharge on November 29,
1978, respondent was arrested on
December 20, 1978, on charges of
attempted robbery and assault. (CT 7-8.)
On January 9, 1979, the preliminary

hearing in the later offense was held.

1. CT refers to the clerk's
transcript of the proceedings in the
superior court.

-5-

Pre-trial motions on the subse-
quent case were argued on March 15 and
16. The trial court, after noting the
victim of the later assault was absent,
found that the prosecution had not used
due diligence in attempting to locate
him, and ruled the preliminary hearing
testimony of the witness could not be
‘admitted at trial. (CT 22-23.) On March
19, 1979, a motion to dismiss these
charges was granted. (CT 24.)

Respondents probation revo-
cation hearing began April 13, 1979. (CT
21.) On April 23, 1979, the trial court
ruled the absent witness' preliminary
hearing testimony would be admitted in
the probation revocation hearing.
Thereafter, appellant's probation was
revoked. (CT 22, 10.) Respondent was
then sentenced to the upper term of four
years. (CT 10-11.) Respondent filed a

timely notice of appeal from the revoca-
tion of his probation. (CT 12-13.)

On July 23, 1981, the
California Supreme Court reversed the
revocation of respondent's probation on
the ground he was denied his Sixth
Amendment right to confrontation.
(Appendix A.)

B. Statement of Facts

At approximately 5:00 p.m. on
December 19, 1978, Gerald Winther, the
victim, ate dinner at the Cafe Maya
Restaurant. Inside the establishment
were both respondent and Mike May. He
had known the latter approximately six
months and said to hin, "How's it going?"
When he had finished his dinner, Winther

oJ

went outside and walked down an alley
near Georgia Street. (PHT 27-31.)2/
Shortly after hearing
footsteps, Winther was pushed against a
wall by May, who said, "Up your money."
At this time, respondent pulled a knife
on Winther and put it to his jaw, cutting
him on the right side. Both May and
respondent repeated, "Up your money."
May then pulled Winther down and respon-
dent stabbed the victim in the back of
the head and hit him with a hard object,
possibly the blunt end of the knife.
Winther yelled for help and for someone
to call the police. The two assailants
then left the area. (PHT 32-39.)
Corrinne Pike lived in an apartment whose

bedroom window opened onto the alley.

2. PHT refers to the preliminary
hearing transcript of the proceedings in
the municipal court which were introduced
during the hearing on revocation of
respondent's probation.

Between 5:00 and 5:30 p.m. on December
19, 1978, she heard scuffling noises in
the alley and heard a voice identified as
Mr. May's say “shut up." She then heard
someone yell for help and to call the
police. In response to these pleas, Ms.
Pike did call the police. (PPT 9-12.)
Officer Copher of the San Diego
Police Department contacted the victim on
the sidewalk near the alley. The victim
gave the officer descriptions of the two
assailants. One was described as being
Mexican-looking, standing about five feet
ten inches, weighing approximately 165
pounds, and having teardrop tatoos by his
eye. Three days after tlie incident, the
victim immediately identified respon-
dent's picture from a photographic lineup

saying as he made his selection, "He's
the one with the knife." (RTM 64-75.)3/

Appellant was arrested during
the early morning hours of December 20,
1980. At the time of his arrest, he was
in the company of Mike May. Both men
were carrying knives. (RTM 78; PHT 65-
69.)

Defense testimony at the pro-
bation hearing produced Lisa A. Wennstrom
who said in talking to the victim immedi-
ately after the assault, she had supplied
respondent's name and had asked the vic-
tim if the assailant had teardrop tatoos.
(RIM 89-90.)

Respondent testified he had run
into May in the restaurant by accident,

and had left before May. After leaving

3. RT@™ refers to reporter's trans-
cript of the various motions made during
proceedings in the superior court.

2 19 <

the restaurant, appellant: went to his
apartment and fell asleep about 5:30 p.m.
May later entered respondent's apartment
through a window, and began watching TV
while respondent slept. Some time be-
tween 12:00 and 1:00 a.m., a Richard
Atteberry stopped by saying he had some
work for respondent. Respondent was on
his way to Atteberry's when arrested.
(RTM 93-96.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents a funda-
mental question regarding the extent of
the constitutional guarantee of
confrontation, particularly as it
applies to probation revocation
proceedings: whether the constitutional
guarantee of confrontation is denied when
the preliminary hearing testimony of an
absent witness is introduced at probation

revocation proceedings, despite the trial

° il -

court's finding the witness was not
legally unavailable for purposes of
introducing that testimony at trial.

In rendering its decision in
People v. Winson (1981) 29 Cal.3d 711,
the California Supreme Court held the use
of an absent witness' preliminary hearing
testimony violated the federal
Constitution's due process requirements
for probation revocation hearings under
Morrissey v. Brewer (1972) 408 U.S. 471,
and Gagnon v. Scarpelli (1973) 411 U.S. |
778, where there has been no showing the
witness was unavailable.

The State of California
believes that while confrontation is
guaranteed to probationers during revoca-
tion hearings, that right has been pro-
tected when the probationer, during a
preliminary hearing on the substantive

underlying criminal charge, has had ample

o 19 «

opportunity to cross-examine his accuser.
When that witness is later absent at the
time of the criminal trial the previously
recorded testimony should be admissible
in probation revocation hearings without
requiring the prosecution make the same
showing of legal unavailability as is
required to warrant the introduction of
this testimony at the criminal trial.

It has been long held that
while the right to confrontation does
attach to probation revocation hearings,
hearsay evidence may be introduced even
though such evidence would be inad-
missible at a criminal trial. If the
confrontation applicable in probation
revocation hearings acquires the presence
of the victim, unless the prosecution can
make the same legally unavailable showing
necessary for purposes of introducing

that testimony at trial, the efficient

oD we

operation of the probation revocation
system will be severely impaired. This
case, therefore, is of extreme importance
in California, and has ramifications
nationwide.
ARGUMENT

THE TRIAL COURT PROPERLY ADMITTED

THE PRELIMINARY HEARING TRANSCRIPT

OF THE ABSENT WITNESS AT THE

PROBATION REVOCATION HEARING, EVEN

THOUGH THAT WITNESS WAS NOT FOUND

LEGALLY UNAVAILABLE FOR PURPOSES

OF INTRODUCING HIS TESTIMONY AT

SUBSTANTIVE CRIMINAL TRIAL
Petitioner, the People of the

State of California, respectfully
requests this Court grant this petition
for writ of certiorari to consider the
fundamental question of whether an absent
witrees' preliminary hearing transcript
is properly admissible for purposes of a
probation revocation hearing, even though
that witness has not been found legally

‘navailable for purposes of introducing

o 34 @

the same testimony at the underlying cri-
minal trial.

Obviously, this issue brings
into play the extent to which the right
to confrontation, guaranteed by the Sixth
Amendment, is applicable to probation
revocation proceedings. An analysis of
this question, in turn, brings two addi-
tional areas of inquiry into focus;
First, the degree of the due process
necessary to ensure a fair revocation
proceeding; and second, the circumstances
in which an absent witness' testimony may
be introduced at a judicial proceeding.
Synthesizing the issue even further, this
Court is being asked to decide whether
the due diligence which must be exercised
before an absent witness’ testimony may
be introduced at a criminal trial is
equally applicable at a probation revoca-

tion setting.

= $5 @

The genesis of any analysis
into the due process requirements of a
probation (or parole) revocation hearing
is this Court's opinions in Morrissey v.
Brewer (1972) 408 U.S. 471, and Gagnon v.
Scarpelli (1973) 411 U.S. 778. In
Morrissey, this Court for the first time
concluded the federal Constitution man-
dated certain minimum due process safe-
guards apply in the parole revocation
setting. Among these safeguards was the
right to confront and cross-examine
adverse witnesses. This finding was
required to protect the interests of both
the parolee and the State. Recognizing
that the revocation process was not part
of the criminal prosecution, however,
this Court concluded,
»The full panoply of
rights due a defendant in such
a proceeding does not apply to

parole revocation." (408 U.S.
at 480. )

« 16 «

In discussing what was called
flexible due process, this Court never
failed to recognize the difference be-
tween the criminal trial and revocation.

"Given the previous con-

viction and the proper imposi-
tion of conditions, the State
has an overwhelming interest in
being able to return the indi-
vidual to imprisonment without
the burden of a new adversary
criminal trial if in fact he
has failed to abide by the con-
ditions of his parole." (408
U.S. at 483.)

Thus, the court sought to
establish through an informal hearing a
procedure which afforded the trier of
fact an opportunity to exercise an
informed discretion based on verified
facts and an accurate knowledge of the
parolee's behavior. (408 U.S. at 484.)
At no time, however, was a revocation
hearing equated with a criminal prosecu-
tion. To the contrary, this Court

allowed the process to be flexible enough

« 19 «

to consider “letters, affidavits and
other material that would not be
admissible in an adversary criminal
trial.“ (408 U.S. at 489.)

In Gagnon v. Scarpelli, supra,
decided by this Court the year after
Morrissey, supra, this Court extended the
minimum due process requirements appli-
cable to parole revocation hearings to
probation revocation proceedings as well.
(411 U.S. at 785.)

California adopted the

Morrissey -- Gagnon standards through the

decision rendered in People v. Vickers
(1972) 8 Cal.3d 451. Since that time, a
number of cases have reexamined the extent
of the due process afforded an individual
at revocation proceedings. Very few
cases, however, have considered the

application of the right to confrontation

= 18 -

applicable in such hearings when dealing
with an absent witness.

In Commonwealth v. Quinlan
(1977) 380 A. 2d 854, the victim of an
alleged rape did not testify at the revo-
cation hearing. Rather, the probation
officer and the two police officers who
investigated the crime testified to the
circumstances of the alleged sexual
assault. The judge hearing the matter,
however, found good cause to excuse the
victim from testifying, finding that
requiring her to testify would have sub-
jected her to unnecessary embarrassment
and harassment. In addition, it was
noted the victim had been cross-examined
at great length by counsel at the preli-
minary hearing. (380 A.2d at 857.)

A case directly in point, yet

one which the California Supreme Court

2 19 «-

chose to distinguish, is People v.
Cambitsis (1980) 101 Cal.App.3d 141. In
Cambitsis, an absent witness‘ preliminary
hearing testimony was introduced at the
probation revocation hearing without any
showing of unavailability. In so ruling,
the Cambitsis court declared the require-
ment of unavailability loosened in the
setting of probation revocation hearings.
(101 Cal.App.3d at 146.) This loosening
was not done in the context of the court
having an opportunity to observe a

witness' demeanor. In fact, Cambitsis

noted such observations were, secondary
and dispensable. (101 Cal.App.3d at
145; 5 Wigmore, Evidence (3d ed. 1940) §
1395, 1396; see Appen. C for full text of
statute.) Nor did it do so because there
was another witness who personally testi-

fied at the probation revocation hearing.

« =

Rather, it did so on the
grounds the absent witness had been
cross-examined at the preliminary hearing

and,

"It is doubtful that
cross-examination at the proba-
tion revocation hearings would
have been any more extensive or
thorough than it was at tue
preliminary hearing." (101
Cal. App. zd at 145.)

In fact, the court concluded the
loosening of the requirement of unavail-
ability was mandated:

"So long as the defendant
in the formal proceeding was
afforded the right, and had a
similar motive to cross-examine
the witness, and the record of
the cross-examination is pro-
vided to the court in the pro-
bation revocation hearing, it
would appear that ‘substantial
compliance with the purposes“
of the rule adequately provides
the defendant in a probation
revocation hearing the right to
confront and cross-examine wit-
nesses guaranteed by Morrisse
and Gagnon.” (101 Cal. .
at 146.

o Te

Thus, the issue has been synthe-
sized to its core. 10 what extent, if any,
does due process require unavailability be
shown before an absent witness’ testimony
can be properly at a probation revocation
hearing?

This Court, through its deci-
sions in California v. Green (1970) 399
U.S. 149, and Ohio v. Roberts (1980) 448
U.S. 56, has made it clear that under
certain circumstances he pre-recorded
testimony of an absent witness may be
introduced even in the arena of a crimi-
nal trial which, as noted, does invoke the
full panoply of rights guaranteed by the
Constitution,

Succinctly stated, the circum-
stances warranting the introduction of
such testimony are: (1) the witness
whose testimony is sought to be intro-

duced, is unavailable; that is, despite a

- 22 -

good faith effort by the prosecution the
witness’ attendance was not procured.

(Ohio v. Roberts, supra, 448 U.S. at 74;
Barber v. Page (1968) 390 U.S. 719, 724-
725); and, (2) the evidence to be intro-
duced must have sufficient indicia of re-
liability to afford the trier of fact a
satisfactory basis for evaluating the truth
of the prior statement. (Ohio v. Roberts,
supra, 448 U. 8s. at 65, citing Mancusi v.
Stubbs (1972) 408 U.S. 204, 213; California
v. Green, supra, 99 U.S. at 161.4/

4. The introduction of former
testimony in California is governed by
Evidence Code sections 1291 and 240.

Section 1291 provides:

(a)] Evidence of former
testimony is not made inadmis-
sible by the hearsay rule if the
declarant is unavailable as a
witness and:

"(1) The former testimony
is offered against a person who
offered it in evidence in his own

*

As concerns the opporturity to

cross-examine both Roberts and Green held

Footnote 4 continued:

behalf on the former occasion
or against the successor in
interest of such person; or

"(2) The party against
whom the former testimony is
offered was a party to the
action or proceeding in which
the testimony was c ven and had
the right and opportunity to
cross-examine the declarant with
an interest and motive similar
to that which he has at the
hearing." (See Appen. B for
full text of statute.)

Section 240 provides:

(a)] Except as otherwise
provided in subdivision (b),
‘unavailable as a witness’ means
that the declarant is:

"(1) Exempted or precluded
on the ground of privilege from
testifying concerning the matter
to which his statement is rele-
vant;

"(2) Disqualified from
testifying to the matter;

» 36

the cross-examination which occurred at

the preliminary hearing afforded “ sub-
stantial compliance with the purposes be-
hind the confrontation requirement’ ...
no less so than classic cross-examination."
(Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. at 68-69;
California v. Green, 399 U.S. at 166.)

The very “accounterments of the prelimi-
nary hearing” guaranteed the trustworthi-

ness of the evidence. (448 U.S. at 73.)

Footnote 4 continued:

"(3) Dead or unable to
attend or to testify at the
hearing because of then exist-
ing physical or mental illness
or infirmity;

"(4) Absent from the hear-
ing and the court is unable to
compel his attendance by its
process; or

"(5) Absent from the hear-
ing and the proponent of his
statement has exercised reason-
able diligence but has been
unable to procure his attendance
by the court's process.

- 25 -

In the instant matter, it is
irrefutable the second factor authorizing
introduction was met. The victim of the
assault was present at the preliminary
hearing, and was subjected to cross-
examination by counsel. Moreover, a
transcript of that examination was sub-
mitted to the trial court prior to the
taking of additional live testimony at
the revocation hearing.

What is missing is the finding
by the trial court the witness was
legally unavailable. Rather, the court,
in “an awful close" decision ruled the
prosecution had failed to exercise reason-
able diligence in procuring the witness'
attendance at trial, thereby refusing to

Footnote 4 continued:

(See Appen. B for full text of
statute.)

o % «

allow the preliminary hearing testimony
to be admitted at trial.5/ Without
further hearing, however, the trial court
ruled the testimony admissible for pur-
poses of a revocation hearing.6/

This Court should affirm the
trial court's decision. It must be
remembered the full panoply of rights
attendant to the criminal trial are not
present in revocation hearings. While
one of the minimum due process require-
ments applicable in revocation pro-

ceedings is the right to confront and

5. Although petitioner cannot now
argue the wisdom of this aspect of the
trial court's decision, a far greater
showing was made of the effort to locate
the witness than was made in Ohio v.
Roberts, supra.

6. The California Supreme Court
decision (People v. Winson (1981) 29 Cal.
3d 711, 71 Makes reference to the deputy
district attorney informing the trial court
he could produce the witness at the revo-
cation hearing. Petitioner has been unable
to substantiate this reference in the record,

= 29 «

cross-examine adverse witnesses, the fact
remains confrontation was “substantially”
afforded when respondent was able to
cross-examine the victim at the prelimi-
nary hearing.

Moreover, as revocation hear-
ings were never thought to be equated
with criminal trials there appears to be
no constitutional mandate to strictly
apply the unavailability requirement.
Respondent has already been validly found
guilty of the crime for which he was ori-
ginally placed on probation. While peti-
tioner does not suggest this Court give
blanket approval to every failure of the
prosecution to obtain the personal atten-
dance of a witness, where the prosecution
has exercised good faith, albeit not
perhaps due diligence, in obtaining that

witness, no good reason emerges for

- 28 -

allowing the probationer to escape with
impunity.

In the instant case, there was
no question the prosecution had made a
good faith attempt to obtain the witness.
What the prosecution failed to do, in the
eyes of the trial court, was exercise
reasonable diligence; in other words, the
search for the witness began too close to
the actual time of trial. This failure,
however, in no way impeded the trial
court from exercising an informed dis-
cretion, based upon verified facts, in
concluding respondent had violated pro-
bation. (See Morrissey v. Brewer, supra,
408 U.S. at 484.) Indeed, every essence
of fair play was present in the
revocation. Respondent's claim he was
denied confrontation was not based on a
failure to have cross-examined the

victim, but rather on the legal“ finding

= 29 «

the witness was not unavailable. Had the
trial court ruled the witness was
unavailable, not only would the prelimi-
nary hearing transcript have been
admitted at trial, there would be no
question as to its admissibility at the
revocation hearing as well.

Morrissey and Gagnon sought to
ensure conditional liberties of parolees
and probationers could not arbitrarily be
snatched away. To prevent this a system
of initial preliminary hearings and sub-
sequent revocation hearings were said to
be constitutionally mandated. Within
this mandate was encompassed a con-
ditional right to an attorney, as well
as, inter alia, notification of the
charges against the individual and a
right to confront and cross-examine

adverse witnesses. Where a probationer

=

has cross-examined a witness at a pre-
liminary hearing this right to confron-
tation has been satisfied.

If this Court concludes the
prosecution has to sustain the same
strict standard of exercising reasonable
diligence in procuring the personal
attendance of witnesses at revocation
proceedings the revocation process will
evolve into a traditional adversary sys-
tem. No longer will hearsay evidence be
admissible. (Morrissey v. Brewer, supra,
408 U.S. at 489.) Such an evolution will
have a drastic effect on the efficient
operation of the revocation process.

In order to avoid this conse-
quence, this Court should adopt the
reasoning of the California Court of
Appeal in People v. Cambitsis, surpa,
wherein the requirements of unavail-

ability, given the cross-examination of

» 1 @

the absent witness which occurred at the
preliminary hearing, was “loosened” in
the revocation setting. This loosening
of the first prong to the introduction of
an absent witness’ testimony will permit
the revocation process to continue

to operate smoothly, while at the same
time ensuring that the minimum due pro-
cess requirements necessary to protect a
parolee or probationer's interests are

not diminished.

» 92 «

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it
is respectfully submitted the petition
for writ of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN,
Attorney General

ROBERT H. PHILIBOSIAN,
Chief Assistant Attorney
General--Criminal Division

DANIEL J. KREMER,
Assistant Attorney General

_ JAY M. BLOOM,
Deputy Attorney General

STEVEN H. ZEIGEN,
Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Petitioner

Appendix A

[Filed July 23, 1981]
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE
OF CALIFORNIA
CRIM. NO. 21675
(Sup. ct. No. CR-42770)

THE PEOPLE,
Plaintiff and Respondent,
v.
RICHARD SHIRES WINSON, IR.,
Defendant and Appellant.

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee —

A preliminary hearing
transcript of a witness’ testimony in a
defendant's related criminal case is not
a proper substitute for the live testi-
mony of the witness at defendant's proba-
tion revocation hearing in the absence
of the declarant's unavailability or
other good cause.

We have reached the foregoing

conclusion in reviewing the revocation of

2 2

defendant's probation imposed following
his 1978 conviction of assault with a
deadly weapon. Defendant was placed on
formal probation for three years, the
conditions of which included one year's
confinement in the county jail and
compliance with all state laws. Three
weeks after his release from county jail,
he was arrested and charged with two
offenses, an attempted robbery and an
assault with a deadly weapon against
Winther (victim).

— SEE CONCURRING OPINION --

At defendant's preliminary
hearing on the new charges the victim
testified that on December 19, 1978, he
saw defendant and codefendant Mike May in
a San Diego restaurant. He exchanged
greetings with May, ate dinner, and left

the restaurant. As the victim walked

282

through an adjacent alley, May grabbed
him from behind, shoved him against a
wall, and demanded money. According to
the victim, defendant then drew a knife,
placing it against the victim's jaw. In
an ensuing struggle, defendant cut the
victim along the jaw and stabbed him in
the back of the head.

Residents from a nearby apart-
ment house, including Lisa Wennstrom, an
acquaintance of defendant and May,
responded to the victim's cries. Lisa
had seen neither the confrontation nor
the assailants, but the victim told her
he was attacked by "Mike," a blond stocky
man, and a tall, dark, “male Mexican."
Wennstrom supplied Mike's last name, and
after inquiring whether the other man had
a mustache and teardrop tattoos on his
face, told the victim that the man was
probably Richard.“

o and o

Shortly thereafter, defendant
was arrested in the company of May and a
third man at which time both defendant
and May were carrying knives. The victim
identified May from a photographic lineup
supplied by police on the night of the
attack. Three days later he similarly
identified defendant from a second photo-
graphic lineup.

On February 27, 1979, defendant
was given notice to show cause why his
probation should not be revoked. On
March 16, 1979, and after the victim had
left the state, an evidentiary hearing
was held on the prosecution's request to
utilize the transcript of defendant's
preliminary hearing at the forthcoming
criminal trial. Concluding that the pro-
secution had not exercised due diligence
in attempting tc locate and maintain con-

tact with the victim, the court denied

= Bn @

use of the transcript, and thereafter
dismissed the criminal charges arising
from the assault.

Subsequent proceedings then
focused on defendant's probation revo-
cation hearing. He objected to use of
the transcript of the victim's prelimin-
ary hearing of its proposed intended use,
hearsay, and a denial of the rights to
confrontation, cross-examination, and due
process. Although no further infocmation
regarding the victim's availability was
offered, the prosecutor stated that the
victim could be found and produced at the
hearing. Without explanation the court
rejected defendant's objections, ruled
that the transcript could be used, and it
was thereafter read at the revocation
hearing. The court also heard additional
testimony from Wennstrom and two investi-

gating police officers. The victim was

@ Enf o

not produced, although the prosecutor
again repeated his belief that the victim
might be available. Rejecting defendant's
alibi, the court thereupon found that he
had violated his probation and sentenced
him to four years in state prison on the
original offense. He appeals.

Defendant contends that the
trial court erred in admitting and con-
sidering the preliminary hearing tran-
script as evidence at his probation revo-
cation proceeding. Pointing to the
court's earlier ruling that the prose-
cution had not exercised due diligence in
maintaining contact with the victim,
defendant argues that use of the tran-
script denied him his due process rights
to confront and cross-examine adverse
witnesses. We consider whether the court
may, at the probation revocation hearing

and without a further showing or explicit

© p=

finding of good cause, use the prelimi-
nary hearing transcript over defense
objections.

It is fundamental that both
the People and the probationer or parolee
have a continued post-conviction interest
in accurate fact-finding and the informed
use of discretion by the trial court.

The probationer or parolee's concern is
"to insure that his liberty is not
unjustifiably taken away and the
State['s] to make certain that it is
neither unnecessarily interrupting a2 suc-
cessful effort at rehabilitation nor
imprudently prejudicing the safety of the
community." (Gagnon v. Scarpelli (1973)
411 U.S. 778, 785; People v. Coleman
(1975) 13 Cal.3d 867, 873-874.)

The People, relying on People
v. Cambitsis (1980) 101 Cal.App.3d 141,
defend the trial court's admission and

—— 2

use of the transcript. They stress that
defendant at the preliminary hearing had
an adequate opportunity to cross-examine
the witness, and that the use of hearsay
evidence at such hearings has been judi-
cially approved.

While the People's argument has
a surface appeal, we are unable to
reconcile it with the minimum due process
standards on parole revocation hearings
as defined by the United States Supreme
Court. In Morrissey v. Brewer (1972) 408
U.S. 471, the court observed that “We
begin with the proposition that the revo-
cation of parole is not part of a crimi-
nal prosecution and thus the full panoply
of rights due a defendant in such a pro-
ceeding does not apply to parole
revocations." (408 U.S. at p. 480.) The
high court distinguished criminal and

parole revocation proceedings. Referring

to the latter, it observed that “the pro-
cess should be flexible enough to con-
sider evidence including letters,
affidavits, and other material that would
not be admissible in an adversary crimi-
nal trial." (P. 489.) The court
nonetheless insisted that among the
minimum parole revocation procedures
required by due process is “the right to

confront and cross-examine adverse wit-

nesses (unless the hearing officer
specifically finds good cause for not

allowing confrontation); . .." (Ibid,
italics added.)

Thereafter in Gagnon v.
Scarpelli, supra, 411 U.S. at page 782,
the high tribunal extended the Morrissey
protections to probationers. Answering
the contention that interstate probation
violations would cause “difficulty and

expense [in] procuring witnesses," the

- A-10 -

court “emphasize[d] that we did not in
Morrissey intend to prohibit use where
appropriate of the conventional substi-
tutes for live testimony, including
affidavits, depositions, and documentary
evidence." (411 U.S. at pp. 782-783,

fn. 5; italics added.) We faithfully
applied the Morrissey/Gagnon requirements
to state probationers in People v.
Vickers (1972) 8 Cal. 3d 451.

In criminal trials, the right
to confront and cross-examine adverse
witnesses, constitutionally protected by
the confrontation clause of the Sixth
Amendment to the federal Constitution, is
strongly preferred although not absolute.
Recently, the high tribunal in examining
the interaction of the confrontation
Clause and the hearsay rule, observed

»The Court has emphasized that the

- 11

Confrontation Clause reflects a pre-
ference for face-to-face confrontation
at trial, and that ‘a primary interest
secured by [the provision] is the right
of cross-examination." (Ohio v. Roberts
(1980) 448 U.S. 56, 63, fn. omitted.) The
court cautioned that the rule is not
absolute and restricts rather than bars
all hearsay, noting, however, that "In
the usual case (including cases where
prior cross-examination has occurred),

the prosecution must either produce, or

demonstrate the unavailability of, the
declarant whose statement it wishes to
use against the defendant." (Id, at p.
65, italics added.) If a witness is
unavailable, the “statement is admissible
only if it bears adequate ‘indicia of
reliability. (Id., at p. 66.)

The Cambitsis court char ac-

terized the opportunity to cross-examine

- A-12 -

an adverse witness as the “main and
essential" purpose of the right of
con-frontation, while describing as
"secondary and dispensable" the oppor-
tunity for the tribunal to observe the
witness’ demeanor. (101 cal. App. zd at
145.) The Supreme Court, however, has
given equal weight to the latter purpose.
Last year in Ohio v. Roberts, supra, the
high tribunal, quoting from its holding
in Mattox v. United States (1895) 156
U.S. 237, 242-243, noted that the con-
frontation clause “envisions ‘a personal
examination and cross-examination of the
witness in which the accused has an
opportunity, not only of testing the
recollection and sifting the conscience
of the witness, but of compelling him to
stand face to face with the jury in order
that they may look at him, and judge by
his demeanor upon the stand and the

- A-13 -

manner in which he gives his testimony
whether he is worthy of belief.'
{Citation.]" (448 U.S. at pp. 63-64.)
So important are these interests “that
the absence of proper confrontation at
trial ‘calls into question the ultimate
"integrity of the fact-finding process.
{[(Citation.]" (Ibid.) Thus the court has
indicated that both interests -- cross-
examination and the opportunity to
observe the demeanor of the witness —
are not lightly to be disposed of in the
criminal, fact-finding process. (See
People v. Green (1969) 70 Cal.2d 654, 661
["“cross-examination neither may be nunc
pro tunc nor may it be tung pro nung.“ 1.)
Our conclusion that a finding
of good cause is required before the pre-
liminary hearing transcript may be used
at a revocation hearing is thus compelled

by the high court's precise enunciation

- A-14 -

of minimum due process requirements in
such proceedings. It also is compelled
by the emphasis of the Supreme Court on
the equal value of cross-examination and
the opportunity for observation of the
witness' demeanor.

In addition, and within
differ-ent contexts, our own prior
interpretations of the enunciated
Morrissey standards presage the result
here. For example, in People v. Vickers
we characterized the Morrissey require-
ments as follows: "Adverse witnesses are
to be made available for questioning by
the parolee except when the hearing
officer determines that an informant
would be subject to risk of harm if his
identity were disclosed." (8 cal. zd at
p. 457.) Similarly, in In re Bye (1974)
12 Cal. 3d 96, in discussing the rights of
those outpatients who are in civil addict

- A-15 -

programs but threatened with revocation
of their outpatient status, we affirmed
that before termination of such status

they are entitled to Morrissey protec-

tions including the right to cross-
examine adverse witnesses.

In In re Coughlin (1976) 16
Cal.3d 52, in like fashion, we examined
procedures for revocation of probation
following acquittal on criminal charges.
Rejecting petitioner's claim that the
probation revocation hearing subjected
him to double jeopardy, we stated "The
proceeding took the form of a trial, with
the presence of witnesses and the intro-
duction of evidence, only because due
process principles required such a
hearing for petitioner's own protection."
(16 Cal. zd at p. 61, italics added.)

Finally, in People v. Ramirez
(1979) 25 Cal. 3d 260, we held that a

- A-16 -

California Rehabilitation Center (CRC)
inpatient is entitled to a hearing before
exclusion from CRC. Analyzing the due
process rights to be afforded such
inmates, we concluded that because the
decision is “evaluative” in nature and
based on “specialized subjective judgment
+ « « Father than on the existence of
particular and contestable facts" (25
Cal. zd at p. 275), confrontation and
cross-examination need not be afforded
the patient. We distinguished the
inpatient's interests from those of an
outpatient on the basis of lack of a
liberty interest in the latter. (In re
Bye, supra, 12 Cal. zd at p. 96.) We
therefore held the formal Morrissey pro-
cedures were not entirely applicable.

We cannot accept the People's
suggestion that if the same evidence

which was contained in the transcript had

- A-17 -

been summarized in the probation
officer's report it would have been suf-
ficient to revoke defendant's probation.
Only a summary revocation of probation to
preserve jurisdiction may be based upon a
parole or probation officer's report.
(People v. Vickers, supra, 8 Cal. zd at
pp. 460-461; Pen. Code, § 1203.2.) In
such cases the parolee or probationer
must thereafter be given a Morrissey
hearing with its attendant due process
protections “to afford the defendant

an opportunity to require the Authority
to establish that the alleged violations
did in fact occur and justified the
revocation." (Vickers, at p. 460.)

We emphasize that within this
context the right of confrontation is not
absolute. Confrontation may be denied
if the trier-of-fact finds and expresses
good cause for doing so. Thus, the risk

- A-18 -

of harm to an informant may suffice to
deny a parolee the right to confrontation
(Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, 408 U.S. at
p. 487; People v. Vickers, supra, 8 Cal.3d
at p. 457.) Generally, if the witness is
legally unavailable, the former testimony
may be admitted. Similarly, where
appropriate, witnesses may give evi-
dence by document, affidavit or deposi-
tion (Gagnon, 411 U.S. at p. 782, fn. 5;
Morrissey, supra, at p. 487 [the parolee
"may bring letters, documents, or
individuals who can give relevant infor-
mation to the hearing officer“ ]; In re
Bye, supra, 12 Cal. zd, at p. 110, fn. 15.)
In California, the Evidence Code specifi-
cally authorizes the use in later pro-
ceedings of previous testimony of a
witness currently “unavailable"® as that
term is statutorily defined. (§§ 240 and
1290 et seq.)

- A-19 -

The issue of whether former
testimony may be utilized in lieu of a
witness’ personal appearance is best
resolved on a case-by-case basis. (See
Note, The Impossible Dream?: Due Process
Guarantees for California Parolees and
Probationers (1974) 25 Hastings L.J. 602,
611-612.) In the case before us the
following circumstances, in combination,
persuade us that the preliminary hearing
transcript was improperly admitted into
evidence: the testimony at issue was
that of the sole percipient witness to
the alleged parole violation, a finding
of no legal unavailability was made in
the underlying proceedings in which the
charges were then dismissed, no addi-
tional evidence was introduced which
established the witness’ unavailability,
and the court made no specific finding of

good cause for denying the right to

confront and cross-examine.

The judgment is reversed and
the cause is remanded to the trial court
for further proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

RICHARDSON, J.
WE CONCUR:

Bird, C.J.
Tobriner, J.
Mosk, J.
*Kingsley, J.
*Klein, J.

* Assigned by the Chairperson of the
Judicial Council.

- A-21 -

PEOPLE V. WINSON
Crim. 21675

CONCURRING OPINION BY NEWMAN, J.

I concur, but would have based
the opinion on the California rather than
the federal constitution.

NEWMAN, J.

- A-22 -

PEOPLE V. WINSON
Crim. 21675

COUNSEL FOR PARTIES:

For Respondent: Steven H. Zeigen, Deputy
Office of the Attorney
General
110 West A Street
San Diego, CA 92101
714-237-7679

For Appellant: Andrew Freeman, Deputy
Office of the State
Public Defender
110 West c Street
San Diego, CA 92101
714-237-7794

San Diego County No. 42720
Hon. G. D. Adams

- A-23 -

Appendix B
Section 1291 of the California Evidence

Code, states:

(a) Evidence of former
testimony is not made inadmis-
siable by the hearsay rule if
the declarant is unavailable as
a witness and:

(1) The former testimony
is offered against a person who
offered it in evidence in his
own behalf on the former occa-
sion or against the successor
in interest of such person; or

"(2) The party against
whom the former testimony is
offered was a party to the ac-
tion or proceeding in which the
testimony was given and had the
right and opportunity to cross-

examine the declarant with an

- A-24 -

interest and motive similar to
that hic be has at the hear-
ing.

bb) The admissibility of
former testimony under this
section is subject to the same
limitations and objections as
though the declarant were
testifying at the hearing,
except that former testimony
offered under this section is
not subject to:

"(1) Objections to the
form of the question which were
not made at the time the former
testimony was given.

"(2) Objections based on
competency or privilege which
did not exist at the time the

former testimony was given."

- A-25 -

Section 240, California Evidence
Code, states:

(a) Except as other-
wise provided in sub-
division (b), ‘unavailable
as a witness’ means that
the declarant is:

"(1) Exempted or pre-
cluded on the ground of
privilege from testifying
concerning the matter to
which his statement is
relevant;

"(2) Disqualified
from testifying to the
matter;

"(3) Dead or unable
to attend or to testify
at the hearing because of

then existing physical or

- A-26 -

mental illness or infir-
mity;

"(4) Absent from the
hearing and the court is
unable to compel his
attendance by its process;
or

"(5) Absent from the
hearing and the proponent
of his statement has exer-
cised reasonable diligence
but has been unable to
procure his attendance by
the court's process.

b) A declarant is
not unavailable as a wit-
ness if the exemption,
preclusion, disqualifica-
tion, death, inability,
or absence of the declar-

ant was brought about by

- A-27 -

the procurement or wrong-
doing of the proponent of
his statement for the pur-
pose of preventing the
declarant from attending

or testifying."

- A-28 -

Appendix C
5 Wigmore, Evidence (3d ed. 1940) section

1395 provides:

»In the period when the
hearsay rule was being
established, and ex parte
depositions were still used
against an accused person
(§ 1364 supra), we find him
frequently protesting that the
witness should be ‘brought face
to face, or that he should be
confronted“ with the witnesses
against him. The final esta-
blishment of the hearsay rule
in the early 1700s meant that
this protest was sanctioned as
a just one -- in other words,
that confrontation was required.
What was, in principle, the
meaning and purpose of this

- A-29 -

confrontation? So far as there
is a rule of confrontation,
what is the process that satis-
fies this rule?

"It is generally agreed
that the process of confron-
tation has two purposes, a main
and essential one, and a secon-
dary and dispensable one:

"(1) The main and
essential purpose of confron-
tation is to secure for the

opponent the opportunity of

cross-examination. The oppo-

nent demands confrontation,
not for the idle purpose of
gazing upon the witness, or of
being gazed upon by him, but
for the purpose of cross-
examination, which cannot be

had except by the direct and

- A-30 -

personal putting of questions
and obtaining immediate answers.

"That this is the true and
essential significance of con-
frontation is clear, from the
language of counsel and judges
from the beginning of the hear-
say rule to the present day:
Thus the main idea in the pro-
cess of confrontation is that
of the opponent's opportunity
of cross-examination; the
former is merely the dramatic
feature, the preliminary
measure, appurtenant to the
latter.

»The following historical
incident is a telling illustra-
tion of the value of confron-

tation as an expedient for

- A-31 -

subjecting witnesses to cross-

examinations:

"(2) There is, however,
a secondary advantage to be
obtained by the personal appear-
ance of the witness; the judge
and the jury are enabled to
obtain the elusive and incom-
municable evidence of a witness’
deportment while testifying,
and a certain subjective moral
effect is produced upon the
witness. This subordinate
advantage has been expounded
in the following passages:

"This secondary advantage,
however, does not arise from
the confrontation of the oppo-

nent and the witness; it is

- A-32 -

not the consequence of those two
being brought face to face. It is
the witness’ presence before the
tribunal that secures this secon-
dary advantage--which might equally
be obtained whether the opponent
was or was not allowed to cross-
examine. In other words, this
secondary advantage is a result
accidentally associated with the
process of confrontation, whose
original and fundamental object is

the opponent's cross-exaninat ion.“

- A-33 -

5 Wigmore, Evidence (3d ed. 1940) section
1396 provides:

»The question, then,
whether there is a right to be
confronted with opposing wit-
nesses is essentially a ques-
tion whether there is a right
to cross-examine. If there has
been a cross-examination, there
has been a confrontation. The
satisfaction of the right of
cross-examination (under the
rules examined §§ 1371-1393
supra) disposes of any objec-
tion based on the so-called
right of confrontation.

"Nevertheless, the secon-

dary advantage, incidentally
obtained for the tribunal by
the witness' presence before

it--the demeanor-evidence--is

- A-34 -

an advantage to be insisted
upon whenever it can be had. |
No one has doubted that it is
highly desirable, if only it is
available. But it is merely
desirable. Where it cannot be
obtained, the requirement ceases.
It is no essential part
of the notion of confrontation;
it stands on no better footing
than other evidence to which
special value is attached; and
just as the original of a
document (§ 1192 supra) or a
preferred witness (§ 1308
supra), may be dispensed with
in case of unavailability, so
demeanor-evidence may be dis-

pensed with, in necessity.
Accordingly, supposing that the

indispensable requirement of

- A-35 -

cross-examination has been
satisfied, the only remaining
inquiry is whether the deameanor-
evidence, to be obtained by the
witness* production before the
tribunal, is available.

"This inquiry--the condi-
tions of unavailability of

demeanor-evidence, by reason

of death, illness, and the like

--remains now to be made.
"But first the effect must
be considered of the constitu-

tional sanction, in the United
States, of the principle of
confrontation; for this has
sometimes erroneously affected
the judicial attitude towards
demeanor-evidence." (Fn.

omitted.)

STATE OF CALIFORNIA }

‘S$. AFFIQAVIT OF SERVICE BY MAIL
COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO ) ;

- a „de ing duly sworn, deposes
says: ant is over the age of 18 years. and not a party to the
within action; that affiant's/place of employment and busifess address is
110 West “A” Street, Suite 700, San Diego, California. 92101; that on the
2 day of September „ 19 , affiant enclosed
one true copy of the within
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT

in an envelope for each of the persons named below, addressed to each of
them at tne address set out immediately below each respective name, sealed
said envelope, and deposited the same in the United States Mail at the City
of San Diego, County of San Diego, State of California, with postage thereon fully
prepaid; that there is delivery service by United States Mail at each of the
places so addressed, or there is regular communication by mail between the said
place of mailing and each of the places so addressed.

That all parties required to be served have been served as shown below:

Andrew Freemen, Deputy

Office of the State Public Defender
110 West c“ Street, Suite 2101

San Diego, California 92101

Clerk of the Court

California Supreme Court

3580 Wilshire Boulevard, Room 213
Los Angeles, California 90010

Robert D. Zumwalt, Clerk

San Diego Superior Court

220 West Broadway

San Diego, California 92101

FOR DELIVERY TO THE HONORABLE
G. DENNIS ADAMS, JUDGE

Honorable Edwin Miller

San Diego District Attorney
220 West Broadway, Room 7062 |
San Diego, California 92101

Robert L. Ford, Clerk
Court of Appeal, Fourth

Appellate District, Division One y
1350 Front Street, Room 6010 ay)
= )

San Diego, California 92101 8 ‘ /
FOR DELIVERY TO THE HONORABLE _ 7 — 2 <P Agee

GERALD BROWN, PRESIDING JusticeE——C<—~—

7
1 / Wag, — to de fore ne N } /
eae 0 Spun ber 5

Diego, State of California. ere COUNTY OF SAN Ox
— ee 03, 1%.

. — ＋
— 2 —

Med for the County of @ KARIN K. 4. |
9 .

SD CL-3 (11/78)

ono

2 RECEIVED

No. 81-749 JAN 7 4982
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STA Sick OF THE CLERK
SUPREME COURT, U.S.

October Term, 1981

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
Petitioner,

‘ve

RICHARD SHIRES WINSON, JR.,

Respondent.

— — — ee awe H— cee —

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the California Supreme Court

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION AND

MOTION TC PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS

QUIN DENVIR

State Public Defender

ELAINE A. ALEXANDER

Chief Assistant State Public Defender

ANDREW FREEMAN
Panel Attorney

110 West C Street

Suite 2102

San Diego, — 92 01
17141 237-7794

Attorneys for Respondent

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

II. REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

III. CONCLUSION
MOTION TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS

AFFIDAVIT IN SUPPORT OF MOTION TO PROCEED IN
FORMA PAUPERIS

MOTION FOR APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL ON APPEAL BY DEFENDANT 12
(Certified Copy of Original on File in San Diego County

Superior Court).

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Barber v. Page (1968) 390 U.S. 719
120 L. Ed. 2d 255; 88 S.Ct. 1318)

Gagnon v. Scarpelli (1973) 411 U.S. 778
136 L.Ed.2d 656; 93 S.Ct. 1756)

In re Bye (1974) 12 Cal.3d 96

Morrissey v. Brewer (1972) 408 U.S. 471
133 L. Ed. 2d 484; 92 S.Ct. 2593)

Ohio v. Roberts (1980) 448 U.S. 56
165 L. Ed. 2d 597; 100 S.Ct. 2531)

People v. Cambitsis (1580) 101 Cal.App.3d 141
People v. Vickers (1972) 8 Cal. 3d 451
People v. Winson (1981) 29 Cal. 3d 711
Statutes
California Evidence Code
section 240
sections 1290 et seq.
California Penal Code
section 211

section 245

13

No. 81-749

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1981

THE PBOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,

J
)
U
1
v. J
U
RICHARD SHIRES MIN SON, IR., )
1

Respondent. U

J

— —— — — — — —— — — —

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the California Supreme Court

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent Richard Shires Winson, Jr., respectfully
requests that this Court deny the petition for writ of certiorari

to the California Supreme Court in this case.

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY
On May 26, 1978, respondent Richard Shires Winson,
Jr., was placed on probation after pleading guilty to a charge
of assault with a deadly weapon (Cal. Penal Code § 245). He
was arrested on December 20, 1978, on new charges of attempted
robbery (Cal. Penal code § 211) and assault with a deadly
weapon against one Gerald Winther. Winther testified at the
January 9, 1979, prelivinary hearing on the new charges but
could not be located on March 16, at the time of the trial

on those charges and the hearing to revoke respondent's probation

oj<-

on the original conviction. The trial court ruled that the
prosecution had not used Gue diligence in keeping track of
Winther. It dismissed the new charges, but at the probation
revocation hearing the court, over respondent's objection, ad-
mitted into evidence the transcript of Winther's testimony at
the preliminary hearing. Respondent's probation was revoked
primarily on the basis of this evidence, and he was sentenced
to four years in state prison.

On appeal respondent argued that the use of the
preliminary hearing transcript denied him the constitutional
right to confront adverse witnesses at his probation revocation
hearing. The California Supreme Court agreed and reversed
the order revoking probation in an opinion entered July 13,

1981, People v. Winson, 29 Cal.3d 711 (Pet. for Cert., Appendix).

The California Attorney General's application for stay of
execution and enforcement of the judgment of the California
Supreme Court was denied by Justice William H. Rehnquist on

October 2, 1981.

11. REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied
because the decision of the California Supreme Court in this
case accurately interprets this Court's decisions concerning
the requirements of due process in probation revocation hearings
and the meaning of the right to confrontation.

This Court has held that principles of due process
guarantee the right to confront and cross-examine adverse
witnesses at a probation revocation hearing unless the trial
court specifically finds good cause for not allowing confronta-

tion. Morrissey v. Brewer (1972) 408 U.S. 471, 489 [33 L.Ed.2d

484; 92 S.Ct. 2593); Gagnon ». Scarpelli (1973) 411 U.S.

778, 782 136 L.Ed.2d 656; 93 S.Ct. 1756). This Court has

also held that the guerantee of confrontation includes, not

ae

only the right to cross-examine, but also the right to require
adverse witnesses to appear personally and face the trier
of fact, so that the trier may judge their credibility by

their demeanor. Barber v. Page (1968) 390 U.S. U.S. 719,

721 (20 L.Ed.2d 255; 88 S.Ct. 1318]; Ohio v. Roberts (1980)
448 U.S. 56, 63 [65 L. Ed. 2d 597; 100 S.Ct. 2531).

Applying these principles, the California Supreme
Court in this case held, in a virtually unanimous decision’,
that the recorded testimony of Gerald Winther was improperly
admitted into evidence. Winther was the victim and sole
percipient witness to the alleged probation violation, and
therefore the need for live confrontation and an opportunity
to test his credibility before the trier of fact, in person,
was especially acute. Further, Winther's unavailability
was due to the lack of due diligence on the part of the prosecution,
not to “good cause” as required by this Court. Under these
circumstances, the California court held, respondent was
Genied due process at his probation revocation hearing.

The California Supreme Court's decision was a correct,
reasonable, and carefully limited application of principles
already announced in this Court's decisions. It was hardly
revolutionary; petitioner points to not a single case in
direct conflict with it and to only one--a readily distinguishable
decision of the California intermediate Court of Appeal--which
even contains language in possible conflict with it. Despite
petitioner's fear that requiring prosecutors to use reasonable
diligence in procuring the attendance of key witnesses at

probation revocation hearings will cause an “evolution” that

1/ Justice Newnan concurred but would have based the opinion on

the California Constitution. (Pet. for Cert., Appendix, A-21.)

will ultimately have a “arastic effect" on the revocation
process (Pet. for Cert., p. 30), that speculation is as far-
fetched as it sounds and is unsupported by any showing that
the efficiency of the process depends on denying confrontation
in cases such as this.

Petitioner, in short, has given this Court no good
reasons for granting certiorari. Tile petition should be

denied.

In establishing minimal due process standards for
parole and probation revocation proceedings, this Court has
included “the right to confront and cross-examine adverse

witnesses.” Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, 40% U.S. 471, 489;

Gagnon v. Scarpelli, supra, 411 U.S. 778, 782; see also

People v. Vickers (1972) 6 Cal.3d 451, 457-458. The richt

to confrontation and cross-examination is expressly guaranteed
under these decisions, even though in general revocation
proceedings are not to be equated with adversary criminal

trials and some evidence inadmissible at trial, such as letters,
affidavits, and reports, may be considered. Morrissey vs

Brewer; supra, 308 U. S. at 489.

Although confrontation may be denied upon a finding

of gaod cause (Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, 408 U.S. at 489),

there was no valid reason for the trial court to consider
the preliminary hearing testimony of the absent witness at
respondent's probation revocation hearing. The prosecutor
did not attempt to claim or prove “good cause” in this case.
The only reason he could offer for asking Winther's recorded

testimony be received in evidence was that Winther's whereabouts

"were no longer known by that time. However, the trial court
found that the prosecution had failed to exercise due diligence
in securing Winther's presence. For that reason, Winther's
unavailability did not amount to good cause for disallowing
confrontation. The suggestion by petitioner that there is

a new standard to be considered--"where the prosecution has
exercised good faith, albeit not perhaps due diligence, in ob-
taining the witness” (Pet. for Cert., p. 27)--is unfounded

both in fact and in law.

Morrissey and Gagnon spoke of the right to “confront
and cross-examine" witnesses. (Emphasis added). The chance
to have the trier of fact observe the witness is a vital aspect
of confrontation. As this Court observed in Ohio v. Roberts,
supra, 448 U.S. 56, 63: “(T]he Confrontation Clause reflects
a preference for the fact-to-face confrontation...." This
Court further explained in Barber v. Page, supra, 390 U.S.

719, 721:

“Many years ago this Court stated
that ‘(t]he primary object of the
[Confrontation Clause of the Sixth
Amendment]...was to prevent depo-
Sitions or ex parte affidavits...
being used against the prisoner in
lieu of a personal examination and
cross-examination of the witness in
which the accused has an opportunity,
not only of testing the recollection
and sifting the conscience of the
witness, but of compelling him to
stand face to face with the jury in
order that they may look at him,
and judge by his demeanor upon the
stand and the manner in which he
gives his testimony whether he is
worthy of belief.‘ Mattox v. United
States, 156 US 237, 242-243, 39 L. Ed.
409, 411, 15 8. Ct. 337 (1985)."
(Emphasis added).

This aspect of the right to confrontation thus serves a con-
stitutionally significant function, and it may not be denied,
as petitioner would seem to allow, without good reason. The
a’sence of a witness because of the People's negligence is

not a good reason for denying this right.

Generally, if the witness is legally unavailable,
the former testimony may be admitted. Similarly, where “appro-
priate,” witnesses may give evidence by document, affidavit,

or deposition. (Gagnon v. Scarpelli, supra, 411 U.S. at

782, fn. 5; Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, 408 U.S. at 487
[the parolee “may bring letters, documents, or individuals
who can give relevant information to the hearing officer");
In re Bye (1974) 12 Cal.3d 96, 110, fn. 15). In California,
the Evidence Code specifically authorizes the use in later
proceedings of previous testimony cf a witness currently
“unavailable” as that term is statutorily defined, ( Sections
240 and 1290 et seq.).
The issue of whether former testimony may be utilized
in lieu of a Witness’ personal appearance is best resolved
on a case-by-case basis.
As the California Supreme Court said in this case:
"We emphasize that. . . the right of
confrontation is not absolute.
Confrontation may be denied if the
trier-of-fact finds and expresses

good cause for doing so.”
(Pet. for Cert., Appendix, A-17).

The right to test the witness in all available
ways was particularly important in this case. The missing
witness was the key to the prosecution's case--the victim,
the only eyewitness, and the sole source of information con-

cerning the facts of the crime and the identity of the

6

perpetrators. Winther's credibility was very uch in issue,
and his demeanor on the stand could have been a critical
factor.

In these respects this case is quite different

factvally and legally from People v. Cambitsis (1980) 101

Cal.App.3d 141, on which petitioner relies heavily. (Pet.
for Cert., pp. 19-20, 30-31). In Cambitsis, the witness
whose recorded testimony was read gave evidence that was
only cumulative and indirectly incriminating. Whatever the
possible tolerance of the Due Process Clause for denial of
personal confrontation under those circumstances might be,
it hardly extends to a case such as the present one, where
the missing witness was the key to the entire case.

The California Supreme Court's decision does not
change the existing procedure for probation revocations,
as suggested by petitioner. All it does is require that
the prosecution do what it always has been required to do
at probation revocations. Unless good cause is shown (as
extensively defined by California and federal law), the pro-
secution must on request produce its witnesses, who will then
be subject to confrontation and cross-examination. If good
cause is shown, the prosecution will be permitted to use
alternative methods of proof, such as using an absent witness’
preliminary hearing testimony.

The California court's decision is a reasonable
and correct application of existing principles as enunciated
by this Court. It does not effect a significant change in
the present law or practice. Petitioner has stated no sub-
stantial] grounds which would warrant this Court's exercising

its certiorari jurisdiction. The petition should be denied.

111. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully submitted

that the petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Dated this 2 day of January, 1962, at San

Diego, California.
Respectfully submitted,

QUIN DENVIR
State Public Defender

“as hia 2
ELAINE A. ALEXANDER *
Chief Assistant State Public Defender

ANDREW FREEMAN
Panel Attorney

Attorneys for Respondent

EAA: AF;11
1/4/82

No. 81-749

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1981

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,

RICHARD SHIRES WINSON, JR.,

1

]

1

1

v. U
)

)

J

Respondent. )

J

— ee — ——

on Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the California Supreme Court
MOTION TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS

Respondent, Richard Shires Winson, Jr., by his
undersigned counsel, asks leave to file the attached Brief
in Opposition without prepayment of costs and to proceed in
forma pauperis pursuant to rule 46.

Respondent has been represented by appointed counsel

at trial, on appeal, and in these post-appeal proceedings.

ELAINE A. ALEXANDER
Chief Assistant State Public Defender

Attorney for Respondent

i
AFFIDAVIT IN SUPPORT OF MOTION 70
PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS

I, Elaine A. Alexander, being duly sworn, depose
and say in support of the motion to proceed in forma pauperis:

I am a member of the bar of the United States Supreme
Court.

I hold the position of Chief Assistant State Public
Defender and throughout the appeal of this case have represented
Richard Shires Winson, Jr., respondent herein.

I have had no contact with Mr. Winson since the
fall of 1980. In August of 1981, I spoke on the telephone
with Mr. Richard McCoy, an attorney from Souix City, Iowa,
who stated that he was representing Mr. Winson in a criminal
matter in that state. When I called Mr. McCoy in September
of 1981, in an effort to find Mr. Winson, however, he informed
me that he did not know his then-current whereabouts and
to his belief Mr. Winson had been returned to California
authorities. Since then I have tried but been unable
to locate Mr. Winson through the California state prison
information system, through his probation officer, and through
local addresses and contacts we had during the early stages
of the appeal. For these reasons, I have been unable to obtein
Mr. Winson's affidavit in support of this motion.

However, I have substantial reason to believe that
itr. Winson is entitled to proceed in forma pauperis. Throug’ it
the proceedings in this appeal, Mr. Winson has been found by
the California courts to be indigent. A copy of Mr. Winson's
declaration of indigency, as originally sulmitted to the
San Diego County Superior Court and acted upon by both the
California Court of Appeal and the California Supreme Court,
is attached to this motion and affidavit. In view of his
recent record of incarceration and his apparent instability
in terms of residence, I have reason to believe that Mr. Winson's

condition of indigency has not changed.

-10-

Therefore, as attorney for respondent, I ask that
respondent be given leave to proceed in forma pauperis, without
prepayment of costs or fees.

7 -
Jah fF 2. ,

, .
Ke i L L .
—

ELAINE A. ALEXANDER
Chief Assistant State Public Defender

TO 1946 Ce .@ Te;

Attorney for Respondent

, Cag rire €
(Individual) Gis wis
STATE OF CALIFORNIA ancos Company
county or SAN DIEGO } *
on January 6, 1982 before me, the undersigned, a Notary Public in and for said

g * . known to me
to be the person whose name 18 subscribed
to the within instrument and acknowledged that she
executed the same.

WITNESS my hand and official seal

*

—— reer

Slate, personally appeared Elaine A. Alexander

„„ ————cͤõ 2ũ2mã 2
OFFICIAL SEAL

N AVIS JULIA KELSO

wd”) NOTARY PUSLIC CALIFORNIA

3 PRATPAL OFFICE IN

$AN DIEGO COUNTY

My Commisnon Eapwes September 19 1983
———K˖ 2 9 7

——

Dre

11

oon ow f® 8 ND —

— — — ow
Soe 3 SF ＋ 5 N EH S

3

Robert A. Mulvaney, Esq.
600 “B“ Street, Suite 1800
San Diego, Calife nia 92101
Telephone: 238-1010

Attorney for Defendant
Richard S. Winson

1

Tut PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF

ö FOR THE COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO

| SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

)
CALIFORNIA, ) No. CR 42770
) i
Plaintiff, MOTION FOR APPOINTMENT OF
‘i ) COUNSEL ON APPEAL hy
. ) DEFENDANT
‘RICHARD S. WINSON, )
)
| Defendant. )
= SS — — — = — —
0 I, RICHARD S. WINSON, defendant and appellant in the
0 f
above-entitled proceeding, now pending in the Court of Appen of

tate of California, Fourth Appellate District, Division On

hereby request the Court to appoint an attorney to represent

lin this proceeding.

In support of this request, I declare that I have no mean:

f retaining an attorney to represent me, and that I have no

nome or assets.

rue and correct.

pated: 2 — 16

Defendant 2

-]2-

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foreco

Weed Wes.

Appellant

Defendant requests that his counsel in the Superic:
hot be appointed. Counsel does not consent to the appointrw:

— (

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I am a member of the Bar
of the Supreme Court of the United States and that I served
a copy of Respondent's Brief in Opposition and Motion to
Proceed in Forma Pauperis on petitioner by depositing a copy
in the United States mail, first class mail, postage prepaid,

addressed as follows:

George Deukmejian

Attorney General

110 West A Street, Suite 700
San Diego, California 92101

Clerk

California Supreme Court

4250 State Building

350 McAllister Street

San Franciseo, California 94102

All parties required to be served have been served.

/
Done this „ day of January, 1982.

ELAINE A. ALEXANDER

Chief Assistant State Public Defender
Office of the State Public Defender
110 West C Street, Suite 2102

San Diego, Celifornia 92101

Attorney for Kespondent.

-13-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0579%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
