# Record and brief — Hernandez v. City of Lafayette

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0436%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Record and brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 455 U.S. 901

## Text

81-6001 seas

NO.

Office - Supreme C

FILED

ourt

1981

U.S. |

3n the
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

JAMES E. HERNANDEZ, APPELLANT
V.

THE LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA AND
THE CITY COUNCIL OF LAFAYETTE,
LOUISIANA, APPELLEE.

ON APPEAL FROM THE THIRD CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEAL
IN AND FOR THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

ONEBANE, DONOHOE, BERNARD,
aa DIAZ, MCNAMARA &

JOSEPH ONEBANE
JOHN G. TORIAN, II
MICHAEL G. DURAND
P.O. DRAWER 3507
LAFAYETTE, LA. 70502

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY THE APPEAL

1.

MAY A MUNICIPALITY REPEATEDLY
REFUSE A REQUEST FOR A ZONING
CHANGE BASED ON ITS DESIRE TO
HOLD DOWN THE VALUE OF SUCH
PROPERTY IN ANTICIPATION OF A
FUTURE EXPROPRIATION PRO-
CEEDING WITHOUT VIOLATING THE
14TH AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED
STATES CONSITUTUION?

DOES THE ZONING ORDINANCE OF THE
CITY OF LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA, AS
APPLIED TO THE PROPERTY OF JAMES
E. HERNANDEZ DENY HIM A REASON-
ABLE RETURN OR REASONABLE USE OF
HIS PROPERTY, THEREBY DEPRIVING
HIM OF PROPERTY WITHOUT JUST COM-
PENSATION AND DUE PROCESS OF LAW
IN VIOLATION OF THE 5TH AND 14TH
AMENDMENTS TO THE UNITED STATES
CONSTITUTION?

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY

cia en dean ody shin sawanens i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.................. iii
ee ee 1

STATEMENT OF THE GROUNDS ON WHICH
THE JURISDICTION OF THIS COURT

Es b's 64 5.05.5 on awakes os aa ene hae 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTE
AND ORDINANCES INVOLVED.............. 4
STATEMENT OF THE CASE................. 5

THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS PRESENTED —_
re Lisa Saks hae a ae eRe > Ms 88

A. THE IMPLICIT LEGITIMATION OF
THE CITY’S CONDUCT BY THE
LOUISIANA APPELLATE COURT
JEOPARDIZES THE VERY SUR-
VIVAL OF THE PROTECTIONS AF-
FORDED TO CITIZENS BY THE 5TH
AND 14TH AMENDMENTS TO THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION ..... 14

B. THE APPLICATION OF THE R-1-A
CLASSIFICATION TO APPEL-
LANT’S PROPERTY LEAVES HIM
WITH NO ECONOMICALLY VIABLE
USE FOR THAT PROPERTY AND AS
SUCH VIOLATE APPELLANT'S
CON- STITUTIONAL RIGHTS
UNDER THE 5TH AND 14TH
AMENDMENTS TO THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION ......--.-.---- 22

I oe oho 56th 50s40 esObaccescess 28

APPENDIX

a)

b)

c)

e)

Judgment and Opinion of the Court of
Appeal, Third Cheait. for the State of

EN, caches cdk eee be eee caetes
Denial by Court of A Third Circuit
of Application for DR own bea 644

Denial by Louisiana Supreme Court of
Application for Certiorari, or Writ of
Review, to the Court of Appeal, Third

Circuit filed by James E. Hernandez.....

Judgment of the Fifteenth Judicial
Court in and for the Parish of Lafayette,

eS ace ee

Written reasons for ruling of the Fif-
teenth Judicial District Court in and for
the Parish of Lafayette, State of Loui-

Notice of Ap to the Supreme Court
of the Uni ta

Pertinent Text of Zoning Ordinance of

the City of Lafayette, Louisiana.........

eaeeeGeoeeaeeseceeseeeenedeeoeeoeeaeeeaensoaesde2d ©

hres s ones eeeuear as

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: PAGES
gins vs. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 225, 65 L.
Ed-2nd 106, 100 S.Ct. 2138 (1980).............. 4

Arastra Limited Partnershi Lue City of Palo Alto,

401 F. Supp. 962 (D.C., N.D.Cal. 1975)......... 20

Chicago B & Q Railroad vs. City of Chicago, 166 Y.S.

266, 41 L.Ed. 979, 17 S.Ct. 581 (1897).......... 16

Erzonoznik vs. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S.

205, 45 L.Ed.2d 125, 95 S.Ct. 2268 (1975)........ 4

Goldblatt vs. Town of Hempstead, 369 U.S.

590, 8 L.Ed.2d 130, 82 S.Ct. 987 (1962)...... 15, 23

In Re Primus, 436, U.S. 412, 56 L.Ed.2d 417,

ec ccc ec eeea gee se6auses 24

Nectow vs. City of Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183,

72 L.Ed. 842, 48 S.Ct. 447 (1928)........... 15, 23

Penn Central vs. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104,
57 L.Ed. 2nd, 631, 98 S.Ct. 2646 (1978). . ..4, 24, 25

Pennsylvania Coal Company vs. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393,
67 L.Ed. 322, 43 S.Ct 1! sans eeu vey's < 15

Pinheiro vs. County o ——— 60 Cal. App. 3rd
323, 327, 328, 131 Rptr. 633
EE Otis he dlih ken babes cob aneokus wee 21

Richmond Elks Hall Association vs. Richmond Re-
ome Agency, 561 F.2d, 1327 (9th a

Robertson vs. City of Salem, 191 F. Sup., 604
D.C., Ore. W961)... «6... eee, 16, 17, 18, 19

Vv

ety ee of Santa Cruz, 415 F.
1340 (N.D. f

Se CS ov uscccecsc¥ceuenueat
Toso vs. City of Santa Barbara, 10 Cal. App. 3rd,
934, 955, 162 Cal. Reptr. 210(1980)............ 21
Whitus vs. State of Georgia, 385 U.S. 545, 17
L.Ed.2d 599, 87 S.Ct. 643 (1967).............. 24

Village of Euclid vs. Ambler Realty Company,
272 U.S. 365, 71 L.Ed.2d 303, 47 S.Ct. 11

PEE Se ccvaucostuncaeesasueeedienneee 4,15
CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES:
KS 4, 15
U.S. CONST. amend. XIV................... 5, 16

1
THE OPINIONS BELOW

The Supreme Court of the State of Louisiana
denied Mr. Hernandez’s application for certiorari or
writ of review to the Court of Appeal, Third Circuit on
June 22, 1981, making the judgment of the Third Cir-
cuit Court of Appeal a final judgment or decree
rendered by the highest court of the State of Loui-
siana in which a decision could be had and therefore
appealable to the Supreme Court of the United States.
The written denial is noted at_____So. 2d___(La.
1981). The judgment of the Third Circuit Court of Ap-
peals for the State of Louisiana, which dismissed
James E. Hernandez’s suit against appellees seeking
declaratory and injunctive relief and reversed the
judgment of the 15th Judicial District Court in and
for the Parish of Lafayette, State of Louisiana, was
rendered on March 26, 1981 and is reported at 399 So.
2d 1179 (La. App., 1981). Appellant’s timely applica-
tion for a rehearing in the Third Circuit Court of Ap-
peal was filed on April 23, 1981 and denied on May 8,
1981.

The judgment of the 15th Judicial District
Court in and for the Parish of Lafayette, State of Loui-
siana, was rendered on June 25, 1980 and is

unreported.

A copy of the writ denial of the Supreme Court,
the opinion of Third Circuit Court of Appeal, and the
opinion of the 15th Judicial District Court is included
herein within the Appendix.

2

STATEMENT OF THE GROUNDS ON WHICH
JURISDICTION OF THIS COURT IS INVOKED

This is a suit for declaratory and injunctive
relief by a landowner who has attempted since 1975 to
have his undeveloped property zoned by the City of
Lafayette, Louisiana from a classification which
allows only limited residential development (R-1-A) to
either a multi-family residential classification (R-2), a
medical office classification (B-1-M) or a limited
business classification (B-1-0). Appellant contended
below that the refusal to rezone his property was
based on a scheme by city officials to freeze the
property value of his land so that the City of
Lafayette would have to pay less for the anticipated
expropriation of that property in conjunction with a
long planned capital improvement project. This pro-
ject involved the realignment of a major thoroughfare
in the City of Lafayette, Louisiana, West Bayou
Parkway, and Gerard Park Drive. Plans obtained
from the City of Lafayette clearly showed that the
configuration of the improvement project would re-
quire expropriation of segments of land belonging to
Mr. Hernandez. Appellant also contended below that
due to the physicial characteristics of the subject
property, the high intensity surrounding uses, the
high traffic volume at the intersection where the
property is located and the “spectre” of the an-
ticipated expropriation, the property was rendered
totally useless under its existing classification.

In spite of a last second attempt to salvage the
litigation by repealing the capital improvement

3

project in toto (a maneuver which testimony has clear-
ly shown was undertaken because the City had been
advised by its attorneys that it would lose the zoning
litigation if it did not do so), the District Court ruled in
favor of Appellant. The Court found that Appellant
had been deprived of all reasonable use of his property
by the refusal to rezone it and also that the City had
clearly violated Mr. Hernandez’s constitutional rights
under the 5th and 14th Amendments to the United
States Constitution by it’s scheme to use zoning as a
tool to keep down prices for the planned future ex-
propriation. Written reasons for the ruling were
assigned on June 9, 1980 and the judgment was
signed on June 25, 1980.

The City appealed this judgment to the Third
Circuit Court of Appeal for the State of Louisiana.
The Appellate Court reversed the opinion of the trial
court on March 26, 1981. A timely application for
rehearing asking the Court to specifically address the
Constitutional questions raised by the City’s conduct
regarding the scheme to freeze property values, filed
on April 23, 1981 was denied without written reasons
on May ®, 1981. Appellant’s application for writ of
certiorari or review was timely filed with the Loui-
siana Supreme Court on June 5, 1981 and denied
without written reasons on June 22, 1981. Appellant’s
Notice of Appeal to the United States Supreme Court
was filed with the Third Circuit Court of Appeal on
July 22, 1981.

This appeal is taken pursuant to the provisions
of 28 USCA Sec. 1257 (2). Cases supporting the exer-

4
cise of this Court’s jurisdiction are as follows:

Viliage of Euclid vs. Ambler Realty Company,
272 U.S. 3°, 71 L.Ed.2d 303, 47 S.Ct. 114 (1926)

Erzonoznik vs. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S.
205, 45 L.Ed.2d 125, 95 S.Ct. 2268 (1975)

Penn Central vs. City of New York, 438 U.S.
104, 57 L.Ed.2d 631, 98 S.Ct. 2646 (1978)

Agins vs. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 65
L.Ed.2d 106, 100 S.Ct. 2138 (1980)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES
AND ORDINANCES INVOLVED

T .e validity of the Zoning Ordinance of the City
of Lafayette, Louisiana, as applied to the property of
Appellant is here involved. The pertinent text of the
ordinance (Ordinance No. 0-191 of the City of
Lafayette, Louisiana) is included in the Appendix to
this Jurisdictional Statement.

The application of the ordinance is challenged
under the 5th and 14th Amendments to the Constitu-
tion of the United States. Their provisions are set
forth in full as follows:

AMENDMENT V: No person shall be held to
answer for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of
a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the

5

land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or public dange’ .
nor shall any person be subject for the same of-
fence to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb;
nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to be
a witness against himself, nor be deprived of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of
law; nor shall private property be taken for
public use, without: just compensation.

AMENDMENT XIV: Section 1. All persons
born or naturalized in the United States, and
subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens
of the United States and of the State wherein
they reside. No State shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the privileges or im-
munities of citizens of the United States; nor
shall any State deprive any person of life, liber-
ty, or property, without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves an attempt by a fifty (50)
year old music instructor with congenital cataracts
and polio to have his 16.7 acre undeveloped tract of
land zoned from single-family residential (R-1-A) to
some zoning classification which will allow him a
reasonable use of his property. Additionally, it in-
volves an attempt by the City of Lafayette, Louisiana
to use its power to zone as a tool to either freeze
property values on Appellant’s tract or to extract

6

from him cheer prices for the tract as a prelude to
an expropriation which would be required for the
City’s proposed capital improvement project aligning
two throughfares within the City of Lafayette, Loui-
siana.

Trial was held on January 3rd and 4th and
February 6th through 8th, 1980. Appellant’s various
petitions clearly alleged federal constitutional viola-
tions of his 5th and 14th Amendments rights by vir-
tue of the City’s attempt to utilize the zoning power to
extract from Appellant cheaper rights-of-way over his
property and additionally, by application of the or-
dinance to plaintiff's property depriving him of any
economically viable use of his land. The trial court
ruled in favor of plaintiff. The Court found that
maintenance of the R-1-A classification on the subject
property was arbitrary, capricious and unreasonable
leaving plaintiff with no economic use of his property.
Most significantly, the trial court found the concerted
actions of the defendants, which included admissions
by council members regarding the unconstitutional
purpose behind the refusal to rezone the property, and
the blatant attempt to defeat judicial review of their
actions by repealling the ordinance of necessity for the
realignment project so the project could be ‘re
evaluated’’ showed a scheme by which the City
planned to take Mr. Hernandez’s property through
zoning. Defendants own attorneys had advised them
that their actions were absolutely indefensible given
the presence of the realignment project. For no other
reason than to hurt Mr. Hernandez and to win a
lawsuit, the City repealed what was described by its
own officials as the most justified capital improve-

7

ment project in the history of the City of Lafayette. In
sum, the Mayor and the City of Lafayette ignored the
advise of its local zoning experts for five (5) long
years, refusing to rezone on the property in order to
make good the Mayor’s threat to Mr. Hernandez “J
am going to get you.”

Mr. Hernandez’s initial attempt to have his
property rezoned to medical offices (B-1-M) was
unanimously approved by the professionai staff of the
Planning Commission. (Tr. 1236-1238). Mr. Her-
nandez leter learned however, that the Planning Com-
mission itself would vote not to rezone the property
because the City would be putting a road through the
middle of his home and property. (Tr. 1383). The
Planning Commissioner Director at that time felt that
a B-1-M classification would be the best one for the
subject property. (Tr. 1240). In February of 1976, a
member of the Lafayette City Council, now Council
President Benny Ritchey, stated:

“If we change the zoning to another classifica-
tion, we are going to have to pay more money when we
create the right-of-way.” (Tr. 1174, 1201, 1202).

Plaintiff tried to have his property rezoned to
R-2 (multi-family) in August of 1977. Again, the City
and its Council expressed an interest in the viability of
the realignment project as it affected Mr.
Hernandez’s petition for rezoning. After many
delays, the Council upheld planning commission ac-
tion which deleted Mr. Hernandez’s second rezoning
request from a comprehensive public hearing sched-

8

uled in February of 1978 basing its action on its deci-
sion to postpone any final decision on the rezoning
classification until the City lad determined the route
of the proposed realignment project. (Tr. 1142).

At this point in time, Mr. Hernandez’s plight
has been characterized by the 5th Circuit of Appeal in
‘its opinion in conjunction with Appellant’s action for
damages filed in Federal Court:

After attempting to obtain a change in zoning
for two and Poe half years and believing no zon-
ing change would be meena See the City
had —- a right-of-way over his property at
either R-1-A prices or as a part of a concession
by him in return for the desired zoni
assification, the plaintiff, on February 3rd,
1978, filed suit in the State Court for a man-
datory injunction to compel the City to change
the R-1-A zoning classification on his property.
On nay ong 2ist, the City Council voted to
rezone the Hernandez property to R-2. The
Mayor, however, ve this measure and the
Council failed to override the Mayor's veto. In
January of 1979 the City attorney began
negotiations with the plaintiff to settle the
pending lawsuit in State , which was set for
trial on February 7, 1979. Hernandez vs. rnd
of Lafayette, et al, 643 F. 2nd 1188, 1191 (5t
ircuit 1981).

Those negotiations were begun by the City in
January of 1979. Counsel for the defendants at the
time, Mr. Ronald Judice, was instructed to secure
financial concessions from Mr. Hernandez prior to any
approval of asettlement agreement. Mr. Judice had

explained to the Commission, the Council and the
Mayor in correspondence dated February 5, 1979, the
factors which compelled him to recommend to the
Council that the litigation be concluded on amicable
basis. He advised the Council and the Mayor that in
light of all the facts and circumstances:

“It was (his) opinion that a lengthy and costly
trial of the zoning litigation would probably
have resulted in a decision adverse to tthe City
of Lafayette with respect to the p ~ “id of
continued R-1-A zoning. ac (Tr. 635 ¢ 63

The Mayor and the Council all signed a letter
giving their approval to the terms of the settlement
and authorized Mr. Judice to formalize the agreement.
(Exhibit P-22). Mr. Hernandez upset the imminent
trial date scheduled for February 7, 1979. On March
6, 1979 Mayor Bowen refused to sign the formal com-
promise which had been prepared.

Mr. Hernandez again went before the Council,
now seeking a B-1-0 classification. The Council
granted the application by a three-to-two vote. Mayor
Bowen again vetoed the ordinance and the Council
failed to override the veto.

With a new trial date set for January 3, 1980,
Counsel from Chicago, Illinois was retained.

On September 28, 1979 the Mayor asked the
City Council to repeal the ordinance declaring the
realignment project at public necessity. The Mayor
asked the Council to repeal the ordinance of necessity

10

for a public improvement project which only two mon-
ths before had been described by the capital im-
provements supervisor for the City as the most
justified project in the City of Lafayette’s history.
Although the May or stated publicly that there were
“new facts’’ which showed that the project was no
longer ‘‘a present necessity,’’ in response to the sub-
poena duces tecum to produce all written documenta-
tion which indicated such new facts, the only docu-
ment produced was a substantially blacked out letter
from a New Orleans land use planner retained by
counsel for the defendants, Dr. Ralph Thayer. (Ex-
hibit P-19). The unexpunged copy of the letter which
was later secured in no uncertain terms to!d the
defendants that if they did not cancel the realignment
project he, as an expert in land use, would not be able
to support the R-1-A classification:

At this time, I am at a crossroads on this issue.
I am quite sure this case is heavily politically
motivated and has much less to do with su

port of good planning. But the injection of the
realignment knocks that calculation into a
cocked hat for me. The two, as depicted, are not
compatible and I would be compelled to say this
if queried. (Though I would not volunteer it).
Given the circumstances, my decision to con-
tinue participation must, for personal and pro-
fessional reasons, be predicated on the will-
ingness of Mayor Bowen to publicly withdraw
or otherwise remove the alignment question
from the issue. He may be ee co so
but I fear -- and I will not discuss this beyond us
-that he is trying to hurt the Hernandez family
for whatever reason by giving a zoning
classification he feels inappropriate once the
road is in place. Since R-4 and B-1-0 would be

11

more appropriate for the two parcels after the

— I would only be willing to defend
R-1-A given no realignment. Absent that, I
simply cannot defend his action nor do, I

believe it either lanning or in Lafayettes
best interest. ( xhibt P19).

Council President Pat Calais testified that even
though the City’s prior experts felt that the project
was a necessity for the City, the Council would go
along with repealing the ordinance authorizing the
realignment due to the fact that their attorneys from
Chicago had advised that not to repeal the ordinance
could place the City of Lafayette in jeopardy with
regard to pending zoning litigation! (Exhibit P-18).
Councilman Ritchey voted to abandon the project
without any new planning advice! The proposal to
abandon the realignment came from Mr. Siemon, the
City’s attorney. (Tr. 1212). Councilman Ritchey
sought no documents or proposals concerniug the pro-
posal to abandon the realignment. (Tr. 1213). Mr. Rit-
chey was told that if the City stayed with the realign-
ment project they had a substantial chance of losing
the zoning litigation. (Tr. 1219).

When pieced together the puzzle becomes clear:
Mr. Hernandez was being blackmailed by the City to~
get his land at cheap prices.

The case was also considered by the learned
trial judge in a “‘pure’”’ zoning context. The Court
found the property to be part of Lafayette’s South
College Road neighborhood, an area which is un-
disputedly business in nature. It is noted that the
defendants also considered the property as part of the

12

South College Road area prior to the issue of
neighborhood becoming an important one in this
litigation (Exhibit P-8). The property has frontage on
West Bayou Parkway and also on South College
Road. The Court found that West Bayou Parkway
was an arterial thoroughfare. Before its becoming an
issue in the lawsuit, the City had also considered West
Bayou Parkway as an arterial. (Exhibit p.7). There is
property directly across West Bayou Parkway from
the property which is zoned R-2 and in fact apart-
ments are to be constructed on that site. (Tr.1111).
The subject property also is directly adjacent to the
access road of one of the largest sewerage treatment
plants in the City of Lafayette. (Tr.1111-1112). The
use of the sewerage treatment plant is clearly an in-
dustrial one. (Tr. 1608).

The east side of the property is bordered by
Coulee Mine. It is one of the major drainage canals in
the City of Lafayette and has a width of approximate-
ly fifty feet. Behind this natural buffer lies Bendel
Gardens, a residential subdivision on Beverly Drive.
All of the homes in Bendel Gardens face Beverly
Drive and not the Hernandez property nor the
sewerage treatment plant. (Tr. 1112, 1115-1116).

West Bayou Parkway carries in excess of
12,000 vehicles per day and South College Road, at
the particular section between West Bayou Parkway
and Pinhook is currently one of the heaviest travelled
roads in the entire city. There are in excess of 32,000
vehicles on South College Road at that point. (Tr.
1118-1119, Exhibit P-9).

13

B-1-M (medical offices) developments have been
constructed directly across from the property on
South College Drive. In the general vicinity of the
property, numerous large office buildings have been
constructed. (Tr. 1600-1612). At the trial level, one of
the City’s own local experts stated that the building
trend from the Hernandez property moving towards
Johnston Street would clearly be B-1-0. (Professional
Offices).

Mr. Cecil Trahan, the only expert qualified to
give opinions concerning sales of real estate in
Lafayette, Louisiana, testified without hesitation that
the property could only be “developed” in the sense
that buildings could be placed physically on the pror-
erty. It was his clear opinion that the property could
not be sold in the City of Lafayette, Louisiana as
R-1-A property. (Tr. 1440, 1441, 1464).

After a full trial on the merits, the trial judge
found that the constitutional challenges to both the
defendant’s conduct in attempting to expropriate
property through zoning and additionally in the ap-
plication of the ordinance to the subject property
should be sustained. On appeal, the Third Circuit
Court of Appeal reversed the determination of the
trial court. In its opinion, the Third Circuit failed to
address the issues critical to Mr. Hernandez’s case:
the abuse and misuse of the police power by the City
in an attempt to extract property from Mr. Hernandez
without the payment of just compensation. Addi-
tionally, the Third Circuit’s opinion ignored compe

14

tent testimony which clearly established at trial the
conclusion that application of the R-1-A classification
to the subject property deprived Mr. Hernandez of
any economically use of his property. Plaintiff's time-
ly application for a rehearing urging the Court to ad-
dress these critical issues was filed on April 23rd,
1981. The application was denied without written
reasons on May 8, 1981. Timely application for writs
of certiorari or review to the Louisiana Supreme Court
were also denied without written reasons on June 22,
1981. Appellant filed a Notice of Appeal to the United
States Supreme Court with the Third Circuit Court of
Appeal on July 22, 1981.

THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS PRESENTED
ARE SUBSTANTIAL

A. THE IMPLICIT LEGITIMATION OF THE
CITY’S CONDUCT BY THE LOUISIANA
APPELLATE COURT JEOPARDIZES THE
VERY SURVIVAL OF THE PROTECTIONS
AFFORDED TO CITIZENS BY THE 5TH
AND 14TH AMENDMENTS TO THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

The decision of the Third Circuit Court of Ap-
peal for the State of Louisiana in effect has told every
municipality in this State and even across the Nation
that it is not a violation of constitutional law for a city
to attempt to blackmail a landowner by utilizing its
zoning power as a sword in order to extract property

rights from that landowner without the payment of
just compensation. The Court failed to deal with the

15

constitutional challenges of Appellant and refused to
even discuss the blatant misuse of the massive police
power to strongarm this landowner into forfeiting his
rights to due process and just compensation. If this
decision is allowed to stand, it will be an invitation to
municipalities across the nation to save expropriation
dollars by threatening potential condemnees with bla-
tant abuse of their constitutional proctections.

It is unquestionable that a local government
has the power to regulate permissable land uses in
conformance with a comprehensive plan. Village of
Euclid vs. Amber Realty Company, 272 U.S. 365, 71
L.Ed. 303, 47S.Ct. 114 (1926). In order to be constitu-
tional, however, the regulation must be a reasonable
exercise of the police power. Pennsylvania Coal Com-
pany vs. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 67 L.Ed. 322, 43S.Ct.
158 (1922); Goldblatt vs. Town of Hempstead, 369
U.S. 590, 8 L.Ed. 2d 130, 82 S.Ct. 987 (1962). Due Pro-
cess of law requires that the regulation must rational-
ly promote a public objective and that, regardless of
the benefits to be derived by the public from the land
use regulation the property owner must not be denied
a reasonable return on the properties subject to the
regulation. Nectow vs. City of Cambridge, 277 U.S.
183, 72 L.Ed. 842, 48 S.Ct. 447 (1928). If the zoning
restriction fails these tests, there is an invalid exercise
of the police power, which deprives the landowner
without due process of law. Nectow vs. City of Cam-
birdge, supra; Goldblatt vs. Town of Hempstead,
supra.

The provisions of the 5th Amendment to the

16

U.S. Constitution are clearly made applicable to the
States by virtue of the 14th Amendment to the United
States Constitution. Chicago B & Q Railroad vs. City
of Chicago, 166 U.S. 266, 41 L.Ed. 979, 17 S.Ct. 581
(1897).

In Robertson vs. City of Salem, 191 F.Supp.,
604 (D.C., Ore. 1961), the plaintiff owned land lying
within the municipality of Salem. The City of Salem
passed a zoning ordinance applying to plaintiff's prop-
erty. The State legislature passed a resolution in-
dicating that the State wished to ultimately acquire
property within the district at sometime in the future.
The city ordinance passed by the government of
Salem prohibited commercial and business activity on
plaintiff's land.

Plaintiff's suit in the Robertson case contended
that the zoning ordinance was passed for the purpose
of preventing further economic development within
the district and to hold and freeze the area of the
district for future acquisition by expropriation by the
State of Oregon without present payment of just com-
pensation. An examination of the record in the ins-
tant case clearly shows that plaintiff's plea in the
Robertson case is exactly on point with the plea of Mr.
Hernandez herein.

The Robertson court noted that there were
properties directly across one of the main traffic
arteries which were zoned for and substantially
devoted to commercial and business uses. Directly
across South College Drive in the instant case stands

17

a medical office complex situated on property zoned
B-1-M. In the Robertson case it was noted that within
the same block as one of the parcels involved were pre-
existing and non-conforming commercial business
uses, much as the largest sewerage treatment plant in
the City of Lafayette abuts Mr. Hernandez’s property
in the instant case.

The Robertson court stated that there was no
evidence to show that removal of the restrictions
would adversely affect property in the area. The
record in the instant case clearly shows a great
volume of testimony, including testimony by defen-
dants on local experts, that a B-1-O development
would not adversely affect the surrounding
neighborhood in this case. Mr. Hernandez’s expert
real estate appraiser, Mr. Chappuis, testified that
B-1-O was the highest and best use of the property, in
addition to stating that such a use could enhance the
overall area value instead of harming it. (Tr. 1364).
Mr. Cecil Trahan, the only expert to testify in regard
to real estate sales, noted that the property under a
B-1-O classification would be a great benefit for the
area and have no adverse impact on the surrounding
neighborhood. (Tr. 1447). Dr. Dennis Ehrhardt,
former planning director for the City of Lafayette,
testified that B-1-O would be the best classification
for the subject property. (Tr. 1344, 1348). Mr. James
Broussard, the defendant’s expert architect, testified
that B-1-O classification was a restrictive one and that
he had previously worked on B-1-O developments
specifically designed to fit into residential
neighborhoods. (Tr. 1614, 1615). Mr. Broussard fur-

18

ther testified that the Hernandez B-1-O site plan
would not create any problems with the surrounding
neighborhood. (Tr. 1618-1619; Exhibit P-49, Exhibit
P-40).

After examining the facts of the case, the Court

in Robertson posed the question: '

_ “*What then is the reason or purpose underlying

and motivating the adoption of the ordinance and

resulting land use restrictions on the property?”
Rovertson, supra, at p.610.

The Court in the Robertson case proceeded to
answer its question:

It is conceded that the motive of a legislative
ep zoning authority such as .Salem’s
Council is not su — to judicial inquiry in ad-
judicating the validity of a zoning ordinance
a land uses.’ Annotation, 71 ALR
2nd 568 ( —- A. the other hand, is -_ im-
proper to judicially investigate ‘‘the rea -
pose, the object and the operative effect” of
such an ordinance when laboring to determine
its reasonableness. Robertson, supra, at p. 610.

The Robertson court noted that all the plajntiff
was asking for was that the city either expropriate his
property and pay him just compensation or allow him
to use his property as did his neighbor across the
street. Robertson, supra, at p. 611.

In addressing plaintiff's contention that the on-
ly purpose in establishing the district and imposing
the land use regulations was to depress land values

19

and present a higher and better economic use of the
property prior to some future eminent domain pro-
ceeding, the Court found that the evidence substan-
tiated that point and led one inescapably to agree with
the contention. The Court noted the letters and com-
munications of the planning commission and other
evidence which proved an indelible record of Oregon’s
“selfish intentions and desires for its future pocket-
book.”’

The Robertson court concluded by finding the
actions of the Salem Council as violating the provi-
sions of the 5th and 14th Amendments to the Con-
stitution of the United States:

This Court is of the opinion that Ordinance No.
4578 is arbitrary and discriminatory and that it
is, in effect, an attempt on the part of Salem to
use its police power to take Robertson’s proper-
ty without due process of law and without pay-
ment or just compensation for the taking, and
therefore violative of the guarantees of the Con-
stitution of the United States and the State of
Oregen and, hence, void as to Robertson.
Robertson, supra, at page 612.

The holding in Robertson mirrors the opinion of
the 15th Judicial District Court in the instant case:

The power of a municipality to expropriate and
the regula zoning ions performed by a
political subdivision are enti separate func-
tions and should be kept so. The evidence in
this case is clearly to the contrary.

Those principals of constitutional law were also

20

recognized by the United States District Court in and
for the Northern District of California in Arastra
Limited Partnership vs. City of Palo Alto, 401 F.
Supp. 962 (D.C., N.D. Cal. 1975). Under cir-
cumstances similar to the Robertson case, the Court
cautioned that ‘‘care must be taken, however, to
distinguish between the power of the community to
zone and the power to condemn.”’ Arastra, supra, at p.
977. In the case before the Arastra Court, it found
that if a local ordinance is not in factor a bona fide at-
tempt to impose limitations on the use of the property
of an individual, but rather the final step in a program
designed to acquire rights over the property for the
enjoyment and use of the public in general, the action
must be found to be invalid. Arastra, supra, pp. 978,
979.

The refusal of the Third Circuit Court of Appeal
for the State of Louisiana and the Louisiana Supreme
Court to even address such grave constitutional
challenges cries out for a review by appeal by this
Honorable Court. It is simply no longer acceptable
nor constitutional for a municipality to attempt to
hide behind a veil of ‘presumption of validity”’ while
utilizing that veil as a shield from constitutional
scrutiny. The State of California, a hotbed of zoning
litigation in recent years, has recognized the gravity
ef the problem and judicially provided for the ap-
propriate remedy. The California courts have carved
out a “notable exception’”’ to the general rule that the
motive of city officials is irrelevant to the inquiry of
the reasonableness of a zoning ordinance. California
courts may inquire into the motive oi local legislators

21

where there are precondemnation activities intended
to freeze or lower the value of property so that the
property can be bought at a reduced price. Pinheiro
vs. County of Marin, 60 Cal. App. 3rd 323, 327, 328,
131 Cal Rptr. 633 (1976); Toso us. City of Santa Bar
bara, 10 Cai. App. 3rd, 934, 955, 162 Cal. Rptr. 210
(1980).

Mr. Hernandez stands before this Court and im-
plores it not to declare open season on landowners
who face the threat of governmental manipulation
prior to anticipated exprupriation. If the position of
the Third Circuit Court of Appeal is left intact in this
case, executive branches of government may in-
discriminately use the police power as a sword upon
which to impale unsuspecting landowners with the
knowledge that in the event they are challenged, all
that will be necessary is to retain one or two ex post
facto “‘experts’’ who will state that in spite of
everything which has been said by local experts in the
past, a few more cars will appear on the road or
neighborhood integrity will be infringed upon. This
case will be a shining light for such violations of the
United States Constitution. As the trial court clearly
determined, the city’s own experts advised passage of
the requested zoning changes prior to the retention of
Mr. Wiles, a land use planner from Washington, D.C.
who spent seven days in the City of Lafayette, and
Mr. Gern, a traffic expert from Illinois, who spent on-
ly two days in the City of Lafayette. Prior to the im-
portation of these experts, each member of the
Lafayette City Council had indicated that a change in
zoning classification for the property was needed

22

either by his testimony or by his vote. The Planning
Commission's professional staff of experts for the Ci-
ty of Lafayette has recommended a change from the
R-1-A classification. Mr. Burt Landry, the city’s
Former Director of City Planning, has recommended
that the property should be rezoned from it’s R-1-A
classification. Mr. Gene Cope, the defendant's ap-
praiser testified that he believed the property should
be rezoned from its R-1-A classification. Dr. Dennis
Ehrhardt, formerly with the City of Lafayette, recom-
mended rezoning the prop-
erty from R-1-A.

The federal issues presented by Mr. Hernandez
on this appeal are substantial and deserve considera-
tion by this Court in full session in order to prevent
the travesty which has befallen this landowner from

ever occurring again.

B. THE APPLICATION OF THE R-1-A
CLASSIFICATION TO APPELLANT'S PRO-
PERTY LEAVES HIM WITH NO
ECONOMICALLY VIABLE USE FOR THAT
PROPERTY, AND SUCH VIOLATES AP-
PELLANT’S CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS
UNDER THE 5TH AND 14TH AMEND-
MENTS TO THE UNITED STATES CON-
STITUTION.

It is axiomatic that even if a zoning ordinance is
found to be a valid exercise of the police power it is un-
constitutional as applied to a particular landowner if
that application denies him a reasonable return on his

23

investment or a reasonable use of his property. Nec-
tow us. City of Cambridge, supra; Goldblatt vs. Town
of Hempstead, supra. The jurisprudence is clear that
there is no set formula to determine where regulation
ends and taking begins. Goldblatt vs. Town of Hemp-
stead, supra, at P. 594. It is clear, however, that it is
not necessary that property be absolutely taken in the
narrow sense of that word to come within the protec-
tion of the Constitution. It is sufficient if the action
by government involves a direct interference or
disturbance of property rights. The government need
not directly appropriate the title, possession or use of
the property. Richmond Elks Hall Association vs.
Richmond Redevelopment Agency, 561 F. 2d, 1327
(9th Circuit, 1977).

In San Fillippo vs. County of Santa Cruz 415 F.
Supp. 1340 (N.D.Cal. 1976), the Court rejected the ap-
plication of the “‘any reasonable basis”’ test and ap-
plied the ‘‘independent judgment test’”’ for evaluating
zoning regulations. The Court noted that:

“The Constitutional test in “taking” cases re-
s an independent judicial sis of the
acts of the case and not merely a that

the legislative body acted on substantial
evidence or was not unreasonable or arbitr

in enacting the ordinance in question.
course, the Court will give considerable weight
to the well-consid planning decisions of
State and local tive bodies, but this is on-
ya of several factors to be considered.’’ San

illippo, supra, at p. 1344.

It is, therefore, clear that the question of

24

whether or not there has been a taking through an ap-
plication of a zoning ordinance to a particular piece of
property depends upon an analysis of the facts of the
case as applied to the land in question. Among the
factors which must be considered are the extent to
which the regulations have interfered with the
distinct investment backed expectations of the lan-
downer, the character of the governmental action and
the economic impact of the regulation upon the lan-
downer. Penn Central vs. City of New York, 438 U.S.
104, 57 L.Ed. 2d 631, 98 S.Ct. 2646 (1978).

As this Court has many times stated, the duty
of the Supreme Court of the United States is not
limited to the elaboration of constitutional principal;
the Court must also in proper cases review the
evidence to make certain that those principals can be
constitutionally applied. Jn Re Primus, 436 U. S. 412,
56 L. Ed. 2d 417, 98 S. Ct. 1893 (1978). Even if there is
no controversy as to the constitutional principal in-
volved, when the question involved is in the applica-
tion of such principals to the facts disclosed ir a par-
ticular case, it is within the province of the Supreme
Court to analysis the facts in order that the ap-
propriate enforcement of the Federal right may be
assured. While conclusions reached by the highest
court of a state are entitled to great respect, it is the
solemn duty of the Supreme Court to make indepen-
dent inquiry and determination of the disputed facts.
Whitus vs. State of Georgia, 385 U. S. 545, 17 L.Ed.
2d 599, 87 S. Ct. 643 (1967).

This Court has frequently observed that

25

whether a particular restriction will be rendered in-
valid by the governments failure to pay for any looses
caused by it depends largely ‘‘upon the particular cir-
cumstances” in that case. Penn Central Transporta-
tion Company vs. City of New York, supra, p. 2659.
Appellant submits that a review of the record in this
case will clearly support the determination of the trial
judge that Mr. Hernandez has been deprived of all
reasonable use of his property by the application of
the existing ordinance.

A review of the opinion of Third Circuit Court of
Appeal will demonstrate that it based its determina-
tion that Mr. Hernandez was not deprived of all
resonable use of his property under a R-1-A classifica-
tion on an isolated estimate as to the value of the
property made by appellant’s zoning expert and on
the opinion of the defendants’ expert real estate ap-
praiser. The record clearly shows that the guess as to
value by defendant’s zoning expert was explicitly
qualified by his testimony to the effect that he was
not an expert in real estate appraisal and also that
hecould be substantially off in terms of the dollar
figure which he would put on the property. (Tr. 1350).
With regard to the opinion of the City’s expert real
estate appraiser, the Third Circuit failed to take
cognizance of the gross defect in his analysis which
rendered his results inapplicable to the subject proper-
ty. The property utilized in Mr. Cope’s methods of
analysis were clearly shown to be totally inap-
propriate in determining land values on the subject
property. The trial court clearly recognized Mr.
Cope’s approach as an “apples and oranges’’ affair.

The evidence in this case clearly points out that
Mr. Hernandez’s property is chained to disuse under
its present classification. Mr. Cecil Trahan, the only
expert in real estate sales who testified at trial, stated
without contradiction that Mr. Hernandez would not
be able to use his property under the R-1-A classifica-
tion:

“Q@. Have you an opinion as to whether the
property can be economically developed for
townhouses, the subject property.

MR. TORIAN: In what classification?
BY MR. SIEMON, CONTINUING.
Q. Under the R-1-A Classification.

A. They could be pote my no question. But
I don’t think could be sold, economically
feasible to be sold. You could give it away, you
know. (Tr. 1464).

Q. Mr. Trahan, do you believe this property is
suited to be sold in the market as R1A proper-
ty?

A. No, I donot. (Tr. 1440).

Q. Mr. Trahan, as a developer, do you have an
opinion as to whether it could be developed
whether it could be economically feasible to
develop it under the R-1-A zoning?

A. My opinion is that it could be developed,

but because of the facts brought up earlier

> agp = it would be economically feasible.
-144]1).

27

The testimony at trial noted that the combina-
tion of the irregular configuration of the property, the
various easements which traversed the property, the
promixity of the sewerage plant, and the high volume
of traffic in the area rendered this property completely
unsuitable for an R-1-A classification. Even the city’s
own land use planning experts admitted that given
the present configuration of the easements on the
property, it would not be possible to develop this
property under a R-1-A classification. (Tr. 1702).
However, this fact also was ignored in the opinion of
the Third Circuit Court of Appeal.

Finally, the testimony at trial clearly showed
that the treatment of this piece of property by the
City of Lafayette through the years, specifically the
nature of the city’s treatment of the realignment pro-
ject through the property, would stymie development
under a R-1-A classification and result in the property
being taken out of commerce for many years to come.
(Tr. 1441).

It is beyond the scope of this jurisdictional
statement to completely set forth all of the factual
testimony which dictates the conclusion that Mr. Her-
nandez has been deprived of all reasonable use of his
property. However, the physical facts which have
been herein related truly dictate Mr. Hernandez be
given the opportunity to demonstrate to this Court
the continuing violation of his constitutional rights by
the City of Lafayette, Louisiana.

28
CONCLUSION

This appeal raises issues of critical and fun-
damental importance to the future of landowners’
ability to invoke the protection of the Constitution of
the United States against the tremendous potential
for abuse of the police power by a municipality. Mr.
Hernandez appeals to this Court for protection for
himself and for countless future landowners who face
the threat of governmental manipulation through zon-
ing prior to anticipated expropriation. To condone
such conduct by a municipality will be to authorize
the use of the zoning power as a substitute for the
right to just compensation under the Constitution.
This case goes far beyond potentially legitimizing the
City of Lafayette’s political maneuvers in an attempt
to win a lawsuit from a single individual. As the
evidence clearly showed, the defendants, their plan to
expropriate Mr. Hernandez’s property through zoning
being uncovered, freely manipulated the ordinance of
necessity for the realigmnemt project in order to
create a condition at trial which they felt would be
most favorable to their litigation posture. The years
of delay experienced by Mr. Hernandez in attempting
to have the property rezoned was solely due to an at-
tempt to take his property through zoning. The City’s
own documents established that the only two persons
who were denied a change in zoning in the South Col-
lege Road area in the last few years are Mr. Thomas
Green and Mr. Hernandez, both of whom “happened”
to own property which would have to be expropriated
when the realignment project came to fruition. (Tr.
1786; Exhibit P-8). To dismiss such facts as coin-
cidence is to ignore the reality of the evidence.

We respectfully submit that the Federal ques-
tions presented in this appeal are substantial and
deserving of a review. To deny review in this case will
be to legitimize the gross abuse of the police power
and to ignore the shield of protection afforded by the
Constitution.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED:

JOSEPH ONEBANE

JOHN G. TORIAN, II

MICHAEL G. DURAND

30
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the above and
foregoing has been served upon Mr. Charles L. Siemon
of Ross, Hardies, O’Keefe, Babcock and Parsons, 1
IBM Plaza, Suite 3100, Chicago, Illinois 60611, by
placing same in the U.S. Mail, postage prepaid.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 19th day
September, 1981.

JOSEPH ONEBANE

APPENDIX

A-1
NUMBER 8098

JAMES HERNANDEZ
Plaintiff-Appellee

Versus

CITY OF LAFAYETTE,
CITY COUNCIL OF LAFAYETTE
Defendants-Appellants

On appeal from the Fifteenth Judicial District Court,
Parish of Lafayette, State of Louisiana; the Honorable
Bradford Ware, Judge, Presiding.

Before: GUIDRY, CUTRER and LABORDE, Judges.
LABORDE, Judge.

Appellants, the City of Lafayette and the City
Council of the City of Lafayette appeal an adverse
judgment of the district court in an action for
declaratory and injunctive relief filed by James E.
Hernandez, appellee, challenging the validity ofthe
zoning ordinance of the City of Lafayette as it applied
to land owned by Hernandez. The trial court rendered
judgment in favor of Hernandez and directed the City
of Lafayette to rezone plaintiff's property from R-1-A
to B-1-0.

The issue on appeal is the validity of the zoning
ordinance of the City of Lafayette as applied to the
Hernandez property. We reverse the decision of the

A-2

trial court. The presumption of validity which at-
taches to legislative enactments can be overcome or
defeated only by proof that no competent evidence
has been adduced to support the result of the
legislature’s action. We find that the zoning decision
of appellants as it applies to the Hernandez property
is supported by substantial and competent evidence
adduced in proceedings which were regular and order-
" THE FACTS

On three (3) separate occasions beginning on
August 12, 1975, Hernandez sought to have his
property rezoned from R-1-A residential (single family
detached and townhouse) to B-1-M (medical office),
R-2 (apartments) and B-1-O (professional office). All
three (3) legislative attempts failed to become law
under the provisions of the charter of the City of
Lafayette. In his petition, Hernandez alleged that the
City’s failure to rezone his property as requested
violated the Louisiana Municipal Zoning Regulations,
LSA-R.S. 33:4721 et seq' and the constitutions of the
State of Louisiana and the United States.

1. LSA-R.S. 33:4721 provides:

For the purpose of promoting health, safety, morals, or
the general welfare of the community, the governing
authority of all municipalities may regulate and restrict
the height, number of stories, and size of structures, the
percentage of lot that may be occupied, the size of yards,
courts, and other open spaces, the density of population,
and the location and use of the buildings, structures, and
land for trade, industry, residence, or other purposes; pro-
vided that zoning ordinances enacted by the governing
authority of municipalities or the acts of the zoning com-
mission, board of adjustment as herein provided for, or
zoning administrator shal] be subject to judicial review

A-3

The Hernandez property is a 16.7 acre higily ir-
regular tract of land located in the City of Lafayette
immediately south of the intersection of West Bayou
Parkway and South College Road. (See appendix ‘1”
attached hereto. The Hernandez property is shaded.)
The property located to the north, east, south, and
west of the Hernandez property is zoned R-1-A. To
the northwest, across West Bayou Parkway from the
narrow neck of the Hernandez property is a tract of
iand zoned R-2 which has been developed into
townhouses. A tract of land zoned B-1-M is located to
the northwest on the opposite side of South College
Road. To the east of the Hernandez tract is Coulee
Mine, a fifty foot drainage canal. To the south of the
Hernandez tract is the largest sewerage treatment
plant in the city of Lafayette. The sewer plant was
constructed prior to most of the development in the
neighborhood, including the Hernandez residence.
The property is traversed by a series of utility
easements. The property is currently improved with
two single-family detached residences, and has been
used for residential purposes for many years. The
Hernandez property is zoned R-1-A.

In his written reasons for judgment dated June
9, 1980, the trial judge concluded that:
“After reviewing the law and the evidence

Footnote 1 - Continued-

on the grounds of abuse of discretion unreasonable exer-
cise of the police powers, an excessive use of the power
herein granted, or the denial of the right of due process,
provided further, that the right of judicial review of a zon-
ing ordinance shall not be limited by the foregoing.”

to the promotion of the public health, safety,
ee se oe ee
City of Lafayet

On June 25, 1980, the trial court entered judg-
ment in favor of Hernandez and directed the City of
Lafayette to rezone the Hernandez property to B-1-O.

The appellants urge four (4) trial court errors:

“The trial court _ by exceeding the
er scope of judicial review by consi
evidence of motives of the city.

Tho total canst essed bey queending the p proper
scope of judicial review by substituting its
judgment ie that of the city’s.

The trial court erred by its findings of facts
which are so con to the manifest weight of
the evidence that t and the court’s ruling
are clearly erroneous.

4.
The trial court erred in excluding expert,
testimony based on hearsay during defendants’
case.’

Assignments of error 1 and 2 will be considered

A-5

and discussed together. In view of our decision we
pretermit discussion of errors 3 and 4 assigned by ap-
pellant.

The validity of the zoning ordinance of the City
of Lafayette as applied to the Hernandez property is
the issue on appeal. We have previously stated that
the presumption of validity which attaches to
legislative enactments can be overcome or defeated
only by proof that no competent evidence had been ad-
duced to support the results of the legislature's ac-
tion. Clearly, we will not exceed that scope of review.

THE PROPER JUDICIAL SCOPE OF REVIEW

The standards or principles by which zoning
regulations are tested by Louisiana courts are well-
established. See, e.g., Four States Realty Co., Inc. v
City of Baton Rouge, 309 So.2d 659 (La.1975); State
ex rel. Civello v. City of New Orleans, 154 La. 271, 97
So. 440 (1923); West v. City of Lake Charles, 375 So.2d
206 (La.App.3rd Cir. 1979) writ refused, 378 So.2d 435
(La.1979); Trustees Under the Will of Pomeroy uv.
Town of Westlake, 357 So.2d 1299 (La.App. 3rd Cir.
1978), writ denied, 359 So.2d 205 (La.1978).

“It is well settled in our jurisprudence that
A enacted zoning ordinances are presumed
valid (Emphasis added).

West v. City of Lake Charles, 375 So.2d at 209.

Zoning, as a legislative power, is presumed valid
and one challenging a zoning enactment bears an

A6

extrodinary burden to overcome the presumption of
validity. Village of Euclid vs. Ambler Realty Co., 272
J.S. 365 (1926); Four States Realty Co., Inc. vs City of
Baton Rouge, supra; and Henry vs. City of Monroe,
349 So.2d 1006 (La.App. 2nd Cir. 1977).

“The court will uphold the ordinance unless it is
clearly shown that the action of the governing
authority was arbitrary or unreasonable, or
that the action taken violated a provision of the
Constitution or of the enabling statutes.”’ Kirk
‘vs. Town of West Lake, 373 So.2d 601 at 602
(La.App. 3rd Cir. 1979), writ denied, 376 So.2d
1268 . 1979).

Doubtful cases will be resolved in favor of the
validity of the challenged zoning enactment. Four
States Realty Co., Inc. vs. City of Baton Rouge, supra;
and Kirk vs. Town of West Lake, supra.

And, in testing the validity of an ordinance, the
courts have nothing to do with the wisdom or good
policy of the ordinance. This judicial deference to
legislative discretion in the enactment of laws, zoning
or otherwise, is a cornerstone of the doctrine of separa-
tion of powers.

{ajlthough it has been indicated in some deci-
sions that a court may be given by statute
power to substitute its judgment for that of a
city government relative to zoning matters, a
statute so providing has been deemed un-
prea ssa a on 7 eee that the
legislative tions of adapting zoni

and laws may not be sestoatnadl ter the ji
department of government. Meyers vs. City of
Baton Rouge, 185 So.2d 278 (La.App. 1st Cir.

A-7
1966).

A challenge to a zoning decision in Louisiana is
not an appeal from the decision of a lower tribunal
wherein the Court scrutinizes the record below to test
the accuracy of the City’s decision; rather it is a de
novo proceeding which tests whether the result of the
City’s legislation (here the R-1-A classification) is ‘‘ar-
bitrary and therefore a taking of property without due
process of law.”” Westside Lumber & Supply v. Parish
of Jefferson, 357 So.2d 1384, 1385 (La. App. 4th Cir.
1978). In Meyers v. City of Baton Rouge, supra, the
First Circuit noted that even where no competent
evidence to support a zoning decision was adduced in
front of the governing body, the resulting legislation
will nevertheless be upheld if the result is supported
by evidence adduced at trial. The Meyers court ex-

plained:

“The initial action by appellants herein is not
an appeal but rather a suit attacking the validi-
ty of a duly adopted municipal
ordin-ance. . .” (at 281)

And

“that the hearings required are designed sole-
ly to afford interested parties an opportunity to
be heard before the governing authority makes
a decision under its police power. . . How,
when and where the local authorities gain
a of the subject matter is of no con-
cern to the courts. t is said at the required
public hearings is not necessarily the criteria of
reasonableness when an ordinance of such
nature is attacked as being arbitrary or
discriminatory. The test to be applied is

A-8

whether it is in fact arbitrary, unreasonable and
discriminatory in the light of all ettending cir
cums

tances.”
(at 282-83) (Emphasis added)

In Westside Lbr. & Supply v. Parish of Jeffer-
son, supra, the Fourth Circuit reversed a trial court’s
decision because it had applied the wrong test in
reviewing a local legislative zoning decision. The trial
court had ruled that the test was “simply to deter-
mine whether or not the board was acted arbitrary
.. and whether or not the decision of the board was
supported by substantial; and competent evidence ad-
duced in proceedings which were regular and orderly.”’
In reversing the trial court, the Fourth Circuit reaf-
firmed the distinction between review of adminis-
trative and legislative decisions of local government.
The proper test for legislative decisons is not whether
the board acted arbitrarily in light of the evidence it
had before it at the time of decision but whether the
resulting “legislation is so arbitrary and therefore a
taking of property without due process of law.”’

THE HERNANDEZ CHALLENGE TO THE
ZONING ORDINANCE

One challenging a zoning enactment has the dif-
ficult burden of proving to the Court that the existing
classification is unreasonable, that is, that it bears no
substantial relationship to the public health, safety,
morals or general welfare of the municipality. It is not
enough to show that the new zoning sought is
reasonable. West v. City of Lake Charles, supra. Nor
is it enough to show that reasonable men might reach
a different conclusion from that reached by the City,

A-9

Maher v. City of New Orleans, 516 F.2d 1051, 1061
(5th Cir. 1975), U.S. Cert denied 426 U.S. 905 because
courts do not substitute their judgment for that of the
legislative branch of government.

“But courts may not become virtual zoning
boards and it is not our function to judge the
zoning merits of the proposed c or the
wisdom of the Council in turning it down. We
may di with the a Director and
the Parish Council, and had we sitting on
the Par’sh Council we may have voted for the
change, but that is not to say that plaintiffs are

now as a matter of law enti to invalidate the
action taken by the Parish Council.”

Paternostro v. Parish of Jefferson, 289 So.2d 327, 331
(La. App. 4th Cir. 1973), writ refused, 293 So.2d 183
(La. 1974).

In our view the trial court failed to perform this
duty. The record contains substantial evidence to
support an objective determination that the property
should remain zoned R-1-A, residential, rather than be
rezoned under a commerical classification.

Evidence adduced at trial shows that rezoning
of the subject property from residential to commercial
could be incompatible with and have an adverse effect
on the surrounding areas. For one, the vast majority
of the developed land in the general vicinity of the
subject property is zoned residential. In fact, except
for the fifty-foot neck of plaintiff's property, the sub-
ject tract is surrounded by residentially zoned or
residentiaily used property. In this regard, there was

A-10

considerable testimony showing legitimate concern
that allowing a commercial intrusion into the residen-
tial neighborhood may initiate a chain of further com-
mercial rezonings thus destroying the neighborhood's
residential character. Plaintiff's own planning expert,
Dr. Dennis Ehrhardt, testified that such rezoning
would be likely to cause this so-called ‘domino
effect." His testimony was corroborrated by
testimony of Mr. Bert Landry, a former director of
city planning whose deposition was introduced into
evidence by plaintiff. Mr. Landry stated:

“The [city] would be hard pressed to deny
uses... it would the ultimate
ee of the area commercial.” (Tr. 1081)

Another adverse impact on the surrounding
area is the increased traffic congestion which would
result from a commercial rezoning of plaintiff's land.
The record in this regard shows that development of
the property for non-residential uses would produce
unsafe traffic conditions. For example, Mr. Richard
Gern, a traffic expert with 23 years of practical ex-
perience throughout the nation, testified regarding
the traffic impact of R-1-A, R-2, B-i-O and B-1-M zon-
ings of the subject property. Based on his analysis of
known trip generation rates adjusted to reflect local
traffic factors in Lafayette, Mr. Gern testified that un-
safe traffic conditions would result if the property
were developed as R-2, B-1-M or B-1-O. In contrast,
he testified that R-1-A would have no adverse impact
on adjacent roads because the traffic system had
available capacity for such uses. Mr. Gern further
testified that in crder to accommodate the traffic
generated by the more intense use classification,

A-1l1

substantial changes in the character of roads through
established neighborhoods would be required to the
substantial detriment of those neighborhoods. In
Gern’s opinion, such changes would have serious
adverse impacts upon the city as a whole. In addition,
any non-residential classification would substantially
decrease intersectional capacity and result in traffic
36% over design capacity which, according to Mr.
Gern, would undoubtedly lead to unsafe conditions.

Upon our review, we hold that the record in this
case does reveal a valid, objective basis upon which
the City of Lafayette could reasonably conclude that
retaining the R-1-A zoning classification of the sub-
ject property serves the public health, safety and
welfare.

Upon our finding that the City of Lafayette did
not act unreasonably in retaining the R-1-A zoning
classification, our inquiry continues. We now must
deterniine whether the City acted arbitrarily or in an
unconstitutional manner in refusing to reclassify
plaintiff's property.

That the City of Lafayette did not act arbitrari-
ly is evident from its zoning history, not only of the
area surrounding the subject property, but of other
areas throughout Lafayette as well.

The Director of Planning, the City’s Zoning Ad-
ministrator, an expert land use planner and a traffic
engineer testified in regard to the planning issues in-
volved in the R-1-A classification as applied to plain-

A-12

tiff’s property. According to the record the property
is located in a “planning” area circumscribed by
South College Road, Pinhook Road, the Vermilion
River, Brentwood Boulevard and Johnston Street.
Within that neighborhood are two high intensity use
corridors — one along Johnston Street and the other
along South College Road. The zoning history of the
vicinity of the subject property reveals that the
southern border of the high intensity zone along
South College - the boundary plaintiff asks the Court
to extend down West Bayou Parkway — has been in-
tact since 1963 and that the City has never waivered
in its treatment of the subject property.

Mr. W. Anthony Wiles, a land use planner with
18 years of experience in land planning and develop-
ment, after being qualified as an expert, described in
detail a series of zoning and planning analyses he con-
ducted. These analyses were based on an examination
of the zoning ordinances adopted by the City of
Lafayette, along with its zoning maps and all or-
dinances rezoning property since 1963. According to
Mr. Wiles this examination revealed several distinct
policies:

1. that the area of the subject property has
always been maintained as low density s
family residential with the South Collage of a high
intensity corridor along Sou

Johnston.

2. that the zoning actions of the City reflect a
very strong relationship between the arterial
network and major concentrations of commer-
cial development within the City.

very rarely been rezoned unless the action
would conform to the aforementioned policies.”
(Tr. 1652, 1654)

Appendix ‘‘2”’ graphically demonstrates that the Ci-
ty’s zoning decisions have been uniform in confining
commercial and business districts to frontage on the
City’s arterial road network.

Mr. Wiles’ study also showed that South Col-
lege has been designated for high intensity uses since
the area was annexed into the city. Moreover, the
natural boundary at the intersection of West Bayou
Parkway and South College between the high intensi-
ty corridor and the R-1-A district has not waivered in
17 years.

We find the City’s denial of rezoning in the in-
stant case to be consistent with its prior land use
policies. Hence, we hold that the City did not act ar-
bitrarily.

We next determine whether the City’s action
denies plaintiff due process by depriving him of all
beneficial use of his property.

Louisiana courts have held that a regulation
which deprives a landowner of all beneficial use of his

A-14

property deprives him of his property without due
process of law. Hardy v. Mayor and Board of
Aldermen et al, 348 So.2d 143 at 149 (La. App. 3rd Cir.
1977), writ refused, 350 So.2d 1212 (La. 1977); Dufau
uv. Parish of Jefferson, 200 So.2d 335, 337 (La. App.
4th Cir. 1967). However, the fact that a zoning or-
dinance does_not permit an owner the most advan-
tageous economic use of his land does not render the
ordinance invalid. West v. City of Lake Charles,
supra.

Applying the above principles to the instant
case, we hold that plaintiff failed to show that the sub-
ject property has no practical use under the present
R-1-A classification. In fact, plaintiff's own witnesses
established the utility and value of the property for
development under the R-1-A classification. For ex-
ample, Dr. Ehrhardt testified that, based on his
familiarity with the housing market in Lafayette and
his experience in real estate, the property is worth at
least $1,000,000. In addition, the City’s expert ap-
praiser, the only appraiser who testified as to land
values, stated that his analysis (based on two separate
appraisal approaches) indicated a value of $75,000 per
acre which equals approximately $1,180,000 for the
tract excluding the site of the Hernandez home.

In conclusion, our review of the record con-
vinces us that the plaintiff has failed to meet his
burden of proving that the City’s classification of the
property was unreasonable, arbitrary, or a denial of
due process. Further, we do not find that there has
been an abuse of discretion or excessive use of power

A-15

by the City in refusing to rezone the Hernandez
property.

For the foregoing reasons the judgment of the
district court is reversed and set aside.

It is now ordered adjudged and decreed that
plaintiff's suit against defendants be dismissed with
prejudice. All costs in the trial court as well as the
costs of this appeal are assessed against the plaintiff.

REVERSED AND RENDERED.

OFFICE OF CLERK
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
STATE OF LOUISIANA
P. O. Box 3000
Lake Charles, La. 70602 ¥

NOTICE OF JUDGMENT
Gentlemen:

Attached you will find a copy of the judgment
of this Court in a case in which you are an attorney of
record.

Your attention is invited to Rule XI of the
Uniform Rules of the Courts of Appeal, as amended,
effective January 1, 1978, regulating applications for
rehearing.

Notice especially that Section 1 provides the

A-16

delay for applying for a rehearing shall commence
with the mailing by the Court, rather than receipt by
counsel, of notice of judgment, and that the delay
shall be 30 days, rather than 14 days.

Also, please note that Article 2166 of the Code

* of Civil Procedure, as amended by Act 179 of 1977, ef-

fective January 1, 1978, provides that it is no longer

necessary to apply to the Court of Appeal for a rehear-

ing as a prerequisite to applying to the Supreme Court
for writs.

Cordially yours,

KENNETH J. deBLANC
Clerk of Court

CC: Suit Record
(NOTE: Office hours are 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. for filings).
March 26, 1981.

B-1

COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
State of Louisiana

JAMES HERNANDEZ

Vv. No. 8098
CITY OF LAFAYETTE

BEFORE: JUDGES Guidry-Cutrer-Laborde
ORDER

The Application for Reheering herein having
been duly considered:

IT IS ORDERED that a Rehearing be, and the
same is hereby, denied.

Lake Charles, Louisiana, this 8 day of May,
1981.

E.L.G., Jr.
C.C.C.
P.J.L., Jr.
Judges
/S/ Marie D. Hawkins
Clerk
Port No. 975
A TRUE COPY
Lake Charles, La.
Sept. 8, 1981

/S/ Kenneth J. deBlanc

Clerk, Court of Appeal,
Third Circuit

C-1
THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF LOUISIANA
JAMES HERNANDEZ
VERSUS No. 81-C-1471
CITY OF LAFAYETTE,

CITY COUNCIL OF LAFAYETTE

Re: James Hernandez, applying for
Certiorari, or writ of Review, to
the court of Appeal Third Cir-
cuit, Parish of Lafayette,

Number 8098.

June 22, 1981

Writ denied.
FAB
JAD
PFC
WFM
JLD
JCW

Su Court of Louisiana
June 22, 1981
/S/illegible
Clerk of Court

For the Court

D-1
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF LAFAYETTE
STATE OF LOUISIANA

JAMES HERNANDEZ
VERSUS
: DOCKET NUMBER: 78.0381-A
THE CITY COUNCIL OF LAFAYETTE
THE CITY OF LAFAYETTE,
ITS ELECTED OFFICIALS,
EMPLOYEES AND AGENTS

JUDGMENT

This cause having been duly heard and submit-
ted to the Court for adjudication, the Court, upon con-
sidering the law and evidence and finding same to be
in favor of plaintiff and against the defendants for the
reasons assigned in the written opinion of this Court
dated June 9, 1980;

IT IS ORDERED ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that there be judgment herein in favor of
plaintiff, James E. Hernandez and against defen-
dants, The City Council of Lafayette and the City of
Lafayette, Louisiana, and that a mandatory injunc-
tion be and is heveby issued as prayed for, directed to
the City of Lafayette, Louisiana, through its elected
officials, agents and employees to forthwith rezone
and reclassify the immovable property owned by
plaintiff from R-1-A (Single Family Residence) to

D-2

B-1-O (Office District Special); said property being
described as follows:

pee re on yo south TL: ores

mete the sooteriy by, Coulee Sewerage Treat
sou -
ment 4 and Andrus Investments and
westerly by West Bayou Parkway, said tract
containing 16.7 acres more or less

IT IS FURTHER capes. ADJUDGED
AND DECREED that wh. of Lafayette, Loui-
siana, through its Cit its elected officials,
ompreete and agents my Sey are hereby ordered

to adopt in a with the applicable rules and

- oi for the adoption of ordinances, an or-
Basnee which will the Comprehensive —_
Ordinance of the of Lafayette, aoe 5
dinance No. 0-191, pA the pro e Fam oO
E. Hernandez from Rin Sie (Single nly Residence
2B-1-0 (Office District Specialh” &
exactly track the of Ay pono ——
No. 1785 past by the a City Council on May 8,
1979. The ordinance s read as follows:

Ordinance No. : Ordinance amend-
ing the Comphrensive Zone Ordinance, or-
y Rong Pre mm No. 0-191, so as to

reclassify
~ the p y of James Hernandez, bounded by
South Road, Coulee Mine, West Bayou

Parkway and South Sewerage Treatment t
access road from R-1-A_ (Single Family
Residence) to B-1-O (Office District-Special).

BE IT ORDAINED by the City Council of
the City of Lafayette:

SECTION 1: Ordinance No. 0-191 is

D-3

hereby amended so as to reclassify the property
of James Hernandez bounded by South College
Road, Coulee Mine, West Bayou Parkway and
South Sewerage Treatment Plant access road.
(As shown on plat on file with the zoning com-
mission), from R-1-A (Single Family Residence),
to B-1-O (Office District-Special).

SECTION 2: This reclassification shall
become effective upon the submission by the
land owner to the zoning commission of a site
plan which meets all the pertinent requirements
of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance
relating to a B-1-O district.

SECTION 3: All ordinances or resolutions
or parts thereof in conflict herewith are hereby

repealed.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED
AND DECREED that upon passage of the aforemen-
tioned ordinance by the City Council, the Mayor of the
City of Lafayette shall take all necessary actions as re-
quired by law to insure timely and prompt inactment
of the amending ordinance.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED
AND DECREED that the City of Lafayette, Loui-
siana is assessed all taxable costs herein.

JUDGMENT READ, RENDERED AND
SIGNED in Open Court this 25th day of June, 1980,
at Lafayette, Louisiana.

SUBMITTED BY:

ONEBANE, DONOHOE,
BERNARD, TORIAN, DIAZ
McNAMARA & ABELL
(A Professional Law Corporation)

By:

JOHN G. TORIAN, II

By:

MICHAEL G. DURAND

APPROVED AS TO FORM ONLY
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED:

ROSS, HARDIES, O'KEEFE,
BABCOCK & PARSONS

By:

CHARLES SIEMON
(filed June 25, 1980)

Charles Siemon
John G. Torian, II

Michael G. Durand

E-1
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF LAFAYETTE
STATE OF LOUISIANA

JAMES E. HERNANDEZ

VERSUS NO.78,0381-A
THE CITY COUNCIL OF LAFAYETTE

THE CITY OF LAFAYETTE, ITS

ELECTED OFFICIALS, EMPLOYEES

AND AGENTS.

RULING

Trial of this matter was had on January 3 and 4,
1980 and February 5-8, 1980. After reviewing the law
and the evidence and hearing the arguments of
counsel, the Court finds the denial of the rezoning of
the Hernandez property to have been an arbitrary,
capricious, unreasonable and excess use of the police
power. In addition, this Court finds this denial of
rezoning bears no substantial relation to the promo-
tion of the public health, safety, morals or general
welfare of the citizens of the City of Lafayette.

The facts of this controversy commenced in
August of 1975 when Mr. James E. Hernandez first
requested that the City of Lafayette rezone his 16.7
acre parcel of land situated on the corner of South Col-
lege Drive and the intersection of West Bayou
Parkway from R1A “residential’’ to B1M “medical

office’.

E-2

Thereafter, the evidence indicates that the City began
to plan a realignment of South College Drive and
West Bayou Parkway which would necessitate the ex-
propriation of at least part of the subject Hernandez

property.

However, in November of 1975 the Mayor of the
City of Lafayette announced that the realignment
project was ‘‘abandoned’’. In December of 1975, the
City of Lafayette, through their Director of Public
Works, sought to negotiate with Mr. Hernandez for
the dedication of properties for alternative intersec-
tional changes rather than expropriation for the
“abandoned”’ realignment project. The ordinance to
rezone Mr. Hernandez’s property was then introduced
and discussion commenced. Numerous city officials
as well as Councilman Benny Ritchey stated that the
zoning request should be denied because to grant this
wou'd cause the City to pay more for the Hernandez
property when the right of way ‘the West Bayou
Parkway Realignment) was created. The Council
sometime thereafter denied the first request for rezon-

ing

On August 9, 1977 the plaintiff filed a second re-
quest for rezoning from R1A to an R2 classification.
The City Planning Commission recommended the
change to R2 be granted by the City Council.
Thereafter, the City Council appropriated funds for an
engineering feasibility study for the West Bayou
Parkway Realignment. The City Council then tabled
Mr. Hernandez’s second request for rezoning until the
City of Lafayette determined which route proposed
realignment would take.

E-3

The instant lawsuit was filed on February 3,
1978. The Council then voted to rezone Mr. Her-
nandez’s property to R2. The Mayor then vetoed the
vote of the City Council, and the Council failed to
override the Mayor’s veto. Some time later the City’s
attorney commenced negotiations with the Her-
nandezes for a settlement of the pending lawsuit. A
trial date of February 7, 1979 had been obtained. On
the same date a document comprising a settlement
agreement was signed by both the City Council and
the Mayor. The plaintiff then upset the trial date.
Less than one (1) month later the Mayor refused to
sign the formal compromise agreement which would
have terminated the pending lawsuit.

Mr. Hernandez then appeared before the
Lafayette City Council for his third request for rezon-
ing from R1A to B10 which would have been compati-
ble with the City’s pending realignment project. The
City Council again voted to rezone the plaintiff's
property and once again the Mayor successfully
vetoed their decision.

Thereafter, the City upon advice of its legal
counsel (as admitted by numerous City officials) that
it’ would in all probability lose the lawsuit unless the
realignment project were dropped, repealed Ordinance
No. 0-1759 which had declared the realignment
project a ‘‘necessity’’. Evidence abounds that the or-
dinance was repealed solely due to the pending lawsuit
instituted by Mr. Hernandez. Furthermore, no
substantive evidence was adduced at the trial to sup-
port the repeal of this ordinance other than the threat

E-4

of losing the plaintiff's suit against the City of
Lafayette. The City’s legal counsel repeatedly warned
the City, as admitted by several of the Council
members not to use their zoning powers as a leverage
device to obtain rights of way for City improvement
projects. Nonetheless, the City proceeded in its course
of action and repealed the ordinance of necessity in a
final attempt to win the lawsuit instituted by Mr. Her-
nandez.

This Court finds that the City acted
unreasonably, arbitrarily and capriciously and
thereby denied Mr. Hernandez due process for many
reasons. Firstly, the denial of rezoning of the Her-
nandez property was shown to be inconsistent with
the prior land use policies of the City of Lafayette.
Justice demands the uniform treatment of applica-
tions for zoning changes by any municipality granted
the authority to promulgate such regulations under
the auspices of LSA-R.S. 33:4721. The evidence in-
dicated that the only two persons who were denied
rezoning in the high intensity corridor in the South
College Drive neighborhood were Mr. Thomas Green
and Mr. James Hernandez. At least a part of both of
these men’s praqperty would be expropriated if the
West Bayou Parkway realignment project was ‘‘resur-
rected”. (This Court finds this project only dormant
and not dead at all!)

In addition, this Court found both West Bayou
Parkway and South College Road to be arterials.
Defendant's contention that West Bayou Parkway is
a collector was simply unsupported by the evidence.
Furthermore, the Court found the subject Hernandez

E-5

property to be part of the South College Drive
neighborhood even though only a small portion of the
property actually fronts on South College Drive. Prior
to the institution of the plaintiff's lawsuit all
documents and testimony establish that even the City
Planning Commission included the subject property
in the South College Drive neighborhood and
classified West Bayou Parkway as an arterial. Thus,
the rezoning of the Hernandez property to a commer-
cial classification would be perfectly compatible with
the surrounding property.

The City Council could not have justifiably
established that the rezoning of the Hernandez
property would have an adverse impact on the
neighborhood. A sewer plant which abuts the Her-
nandez property and which fronts entirely on West
Bayou Parkway must certainly be classified as a light
industrial use. A townhouse project zoned R2 is
across from the Hernandez property on the West
Bayou Parkway side and a B1M medical complex
faces the Hernandez property on South College Drive.
Defendant's argument that a domino-like effect would
occur if the Hernandez property were rezoned causing
an intrusion into residential areas is without merit. As
plaintiff pointed out, the Offshore Logistics Building
is a perfect example of an attractive office building
which is in harmony with the residential area in which
it i situated. The Surgery Cenier, the 515 Building
and numerous other large commercial establishments
form part of the high intensity corridor along South
College Drive. The construction of such large office
complexes indicate the great need in Lafayette for

E-6
commercial office space.

Thirdly, the plaintiff amply demonstrated that
no major adverse impact on traffic would occur if the
Hernandez property was rezoned. Much of the traffic
problem has been alleviated due to the intersectional
changes already accomplished at this crossroads and
no experts were able to determine exactly what the
impact of a residential development (R1A) would have
on the traffic problem. Most importantly, any kind of
development which the plaintiff would create will
have an effect on traffic. The City has alternative
methods of West Bayou Parkway rather than the
denial of rezoning the Hernandez property.

Lastly and most importantly, to deny the rezon-
ing of the Hernandez property is to deny Mr. Her-
nandez all practical use of his property besides that of
his own personal residence. No evidence indicated a
suitable plan for the development of this tract under
the existing R1A classification. This Court is well
aware that municiplities are not required to rezone
property to insure that its owner receives the max-
imum economic potential from its development.
However, to prevent the development of prime proper-
ty in Lafayette where land is at a premium does not
appear to have as its basis a valid legislative objec-
tive.

The plaintiff clearly showed that the plans for
development submitted by defendants were ludicrous
at best. Firstly, there are no R1A townhouse
developments in the City of Lafayette at this time.

E-7

Nor are there any exclusive residential developments
surrounded by berms. The development costs,
especially the removal of the existing easements,
make all but commercial development an impossibili-
ty. Additionally, defendant’s proposals for develop-
ment failed to meet the requirement for adequate in-
gress and egress for fire protection. Perhaps the
greatest drawback to R1/ development is the sewage
treatment plant. Certain frontage on an industrial
sewerage plant will be a gross detriment to the
development of an exclusive residential area. The
heavy traffic on South College Drive would be a fur-
ther deterrent to those persons desiring an exclusive
residential neighborhood. Defendant’s argument that
Bendel Gardens, an exclusive residential develop-
ment, faces the sewerage plant is without merit.
Bendel Gardens has always been identified as a
separate entity entirely from the South College Drive
neighborhood and/or the Greenbriar area. Thus, the
City’s refusal to rezone the plaintiff's property
amounts to a denial of all practical use of his property
for development.

Plaintiff has carried his burden of proof. Neither
party has established that the denial of rezoning of
the Hernandez property bears a substantial relation
to the promotion of the health, safety, morals or
general welfare of the City of Lafayette. The only
benefit shown was that of a lower price to be paid by
the City when the Hernandez property was ex-
propriated. We find the facts of this case substantial-
ly on point with the facts of Plebst v. Barnwell Drill-
ing Co., 243 La. 874, 148 So.2d 584. No one act by the

E-8

City Council or the Mayor would have been sufficient
to demonstrate a confiscatory scheme or an attempt
to win a lawsuit by political maneuvers. However, the
repeated denial of rezoning the Hernandez property,
combined with the City’s experts advising the
passage of the requested zoning change and the
statements made by the Council members themselves
clearly show a scheme by which Mr. Hernandez’s
rights were denied. The power of a municipality to ex-
propriate and the regulatory zoning functions per-
formed by a political subdivision are entirely separate
functions and should be kept so. The evidence in this
case is clearly to the contrary.

Therefore, the Court grants the relief requested
by the plaintiff and finds that the property should be
rezoned to B10.

All costs of these proceedings are to be borne by
defendants.

An appropriate judgment conforming hereto
will be signed upon presentation.

THUS DONE AND SIGNED in Chambers at
Crowley, Acadia Parish, Louisiana this 9th day of
June, 1980.

/S/ illegible
DISTRICT JUDGE

CERTIFICATE

I certify that a copy of the above and foregoing
has been mailed to each attorney of record on this

10th day of June, 1980.

Secretary

F-1
IN THE THIRD CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEAL
FOR THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

JAMES E. HERNANDEZ, Appellant

VERSUS NUMBER 8098
CITY OF LAFAYETTE, CITY

COUNCIL OF LAFAYETTE, Appellees

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Notice is hereby given that JAMES E. HER-
NANDEZ, the appellant aboved named, hereby ap-
peals to The Supreme Court of the United States from
the final judgment of the Third Circuit Court of Ap-
peals for the State of Louisiana, which judgment
dismissed appellant’s suit against appellees seeking
declaratory and injunctive relief from the
maintenance of a zoning ordinance affecting ap-
pellant’s property which deprived petitioner of his
rights to due process and just compensation
guaranteed him under the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the Constitution of the United
States. Said judgment reversed the judgment of the
Fifteenth Judicial District Court in and for the Parish
of Lafayette, State of Louisiana. Said judgment was
rendered by the Third Circuit Court of Appeal on
March 26, 1981. Appellant’s timely application for
rehearing in that Court was filed on April 23, 1981 and
denied on May 8, 1981. The judgment became a final
judgment or decree rendered by the highest court of
the State of Louisiana in which a decision could be had
and therefore appealable to The Supreme Court of the

F-2

United States on June 22, 1981 when the Louisiana
Supreme Court denied appellant’s timely Application
for Writs of Certiorari or Review filed on June 5, 1981.

This appeal is taken pursuant to the provisions
of 28 U.S.C. Section 1257(2).

ONEBANE, DONOHOE, BERNARD, TORIAN,
DIAZ, MCNAMARA & ABELL

(A Professional Law Corporation)

Fs :
JOHN G. TORIAN, II

By:

MICHAEL G. DURAND

P.O. Drawer 3507

Lafayette, La. 70502

(318) 237-2660

Attorneys for James E. Hernandez, Appellant

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE

BEFORE ME, the undersigned Notary, -
sonally came and ap MICHAEL G. DURAND,

who did declare and say that a copy of this Noticeof
Appeal to The Supreme Court of the United States
has been this date mailed to cpeseing counsel, Mr.
Charles K. Siemon, One IBM Plaza, Suite 3100,
Chicago, Illinois 60611 by depositing same in a United
States post office mailbox, first class postage prepaid.

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me,
Notary, this 22nd day of July, 1981.

/S/ illegible

NOTARY PUBLIC IN
AND FOR THE PARISH
OF LAFAYETTE, STATE
OF LOUISIANA

G-1

PERTINANT PORTIONS OF THE
ZONING ORDINANCE OF THE CITY
OF LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA

ORDINANCE 0-191

AN ORDINANCE to amend and re-enact Ordinance
927, Commission Form of Government Series, City of
Lafayette, Louisiana and all zoning ordinances
preceding same, as amended, entitled:

““AN ORDINANCE ZONING CERTAIN SEC-
TIONS OF THE CITY OF LAFAYATTE,
LOUISIANA, ESTABLISHING PENAL-
TIES FOR THE VIOLATION OF SAID OR-
DINANCE AND REPEALING ALL OR-
DINANCES IN CONFLICT THERE WITH:”

so as to change and amend the old regulations and
districts and define and set up new regulations and
districts in order to regulate and restrict the size of all
buildings and other structures, the percentage of lot
that may be occupied, the size of yards and other open
spaces, the density of population, the location and use
of buildings, structures and land for trade, industry,
residence, or other purposes and for) said purposes
divide the City into districts; to regulate and restrict
the erection, structural alterations or use of buildings
or land therein; to provide for the change of such
regulations, restrictions and boundaries of zones; to
provide for enforcement and penalties for the viola-
tion of its provisions; all in accordance with and under
the authority of the provisions of the Revised
Statutes of 1950, Title 33; Section 4721 through 4730.

G-2

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of Lafayette,
Louisiana, deems it necessary in order to lessen con-
gestion in the public streets, to secure safety from fire,
to promote health, safety and morals, and the general -
welfare, to provide adequate light and air; to avoid un-
due concentration of population; to facilitate adequate
transportation, water supply, sewerage, schools,
parks, and other public requirements; to conserve the
value of buildings and encourage the most ap-
propriate use of land throughout the City in accor-
dance with a comprehensive plan;

BE IT ORDAINED, by the City Council of the City of
Lafayette, Louisiana, in regular session convened,
that Ordinance 927, Commission Form of Gvernment
Series, City of Lafayette, Louisiana, and all zoning or-
dinances preceding same, as amended, be and the
same are hereby amended and re-enacted so that as
amended and re-enacted the same shall read as
follows, to wit:

ARTICLE I - SHORT TITLE

This Ordinance shall be known, referred to, and
recited as the 1971 Zoning Ordinance, as amended.

ARTICLE III - ESTABLISHMENT OF
DISTRICTS

SECTION 1- LIST OF DISTRICTS: For the purpose
of promoting the public health, safety, morals, and
general welfare of the community, the City of
Lafayette is hereby divided in the following districts:

G-3

R-1A - Single-Family Residence (8,500 square
feet per dwelling unit)

R-1B - Single-Family Residence (7,000 square
feet)

R-1C - Single and Two-Family Residence
(4,500 and 5,000 square feet respec

tively)

R-2 - Multi-Family Residence

R-3 - Mobile Home Park District

R-4 - Condominium and Town House District

R-1-M- Business District (Medical)

R-1-O- Business District (Office)

B-N - Neighborhood Business District

B-T - Transitional Business District

B-G - General Business District

C-B-D- Central Business District

I-1 ~- Light Industrial District

I-2 - Heavy Industry

SECTION 2 - SPECIAL DISTRICTS: The zoning
districts ap ing below are ial in that they are
created as needed by the amendment procedure as set
forth in this Ordinance and require approval by the
Commission.

B-1-O Office District - This type of district is
designated to allow property in trasitional
areas and other areas to be used for the provi-
sion of office space. For the purpose of this sec-
ion, a transition area is de as one which
lies between a district zoned for commercial use
and one zoned for residential use. A district of
this type is special in that it is to be created as
needed through the amendment procedure as
set forth in this ordinance upo: ition of the
property owner. A zoni ification of this
type shall not be granted unless the site plan
meets with the approval wh tenn Je mmr
Commission or its designated agent. Al

G-4

the use of the B-1-O Office District Classifica-
tion is not limited to transitional areas, its use
in those areas is inasmuch as to it
serves as an_ ideal _ buffer be-
tween the residential and commercial or
business classification.

a. Permitted Uses

1. Offices for the purpose of rendering -
fessional ‘and Semi-professiona] client
oriented services. 1 retail and whole
sale activities which require the receiv-
ing, stocking, storing, displaying, manu-
facturing, salien, or renting of merchan-
dise or 7 ipment is expressly pro-
hibited. services shall be rendered
within offices and use of any portion of
the outside area for the performence of
services shall be expressly prohibited.

b. Area and Yard Requirements
¥ Minimum Lot Area - none
2. Minimum Yard Requirements

a. Front Yard - 20 feet
b. Rear Yard - 20 feet
c. Side Yard - 20 feet

Said yard requirements shall be met with
the exception that where rear and side
yards of the property in question abut a
commercially zoned district the respec-
tive yard requirements of said commer-
cially zoned district may be used.

3. Open Space
a. n yard space must equal 20%

of the lot area with the remaining
80% reserved for building(s),
driveways, and parking with the
exception that 10 feet of the re-
quired front, side and/or rear
yards may be used for parking pro-

G-5

vided that a 10 foot planted green
area x. maintained peep the
property in question jacent
wagers. Re te pepeete otis
section, a area
be defined as one which is sodded
and planted with , shrubs, or
trees which shall be maintained in
a manner not obstructing sight
distance for vehicles entering or
leaving the parking area.
4. Parki -—
a. e king totaling
squate feet taal be provided for

every 200 square feet of building
area.

5. Signs

The building containing the offices may
be identified by no more than two signs.
Only one sign shall be displayed on any
given side of the building. Said signs
shall be displayed flat against the
building, s not be free standing and
neither sign shall exceed eight (8) square
feet in area. Self-illuminated signs are
expressly prohibited.

ARTICLE V - SCHEDULE OF ZONING DISTRICT
REGULATIONS

The Schedule of regulations and the notes appended
thereto, included herewith, appl ing to the uses of
land and building, the height of buildings, the
coverage of lots, the yards and other open spaces, and
all other open spaces to be provided contiguous to or
in connection with buildings, the area of lots, off-
street parking spaces, and all other matters contained
therein, as indicated for the various districts
established by this Ordinance, are hereby ted and
declared to be a part of this Ordinance ye a
amended in the same manner as any other part of this
Ordinance. The regulations listed for each district as

G-6

designated, reading from left to right across the
schedule, and in all notes a thereto, are
hereby adopted and prescribed for such district, sub-
ject to the provisions of Articles V and VI of this Or-
dinance, and unless otherwise indicated, shall be
deemed to be the minimum requirements in every in-
stance of their application.

ZONING DISTRICT: ;
R-1A Single-Family Residence

PERMITTED USES:

Acessory use, art gallery or museura, church
(including associated uses), condomin.um, day
nursery, dwelling (single-family), electric
substation, farming (on five acres or more), fire
station, gas regulator station, golf course (ex-
t dri range, pitch and pull or miniature
g cowed, home occupation, kindergarten,
brary or reading room, nur (horticulture),
parks and playgrounds, pipeline or electric
transmission line, railroad right-of-way, recrea-
tional facility (privately owned and operated in-
cluding individual and community swimming
pools, tennis clubs, non-commercial community
centers and similar uses), schools (elementary,
secondary, public, and private (including
associated uses and structures), sewer pumping
station, telephone exchange, town house, water

pumping station, water storage.

MINIMUM LOT AREA:
8,500 square feet per dwelling unit

MINIMUM YARD REQUIREMENTS:

Front - 20 feet
Side - 5 feet per side
Rear - 10 feet

mn -QOpen yard space must
an | fifty ag nt of lot area =
remaining fifty percent reserv
for buil s) and parking. Open
space s be at least partially

G-7
planted in grass or other plant-
ings.

ZONING DISTRICT:
R-2 Multi Family Residence

PERMITED USES:

Same as R-1C plus boarding house, club or
] (private), college or university dormitory,
dwelling (multi-family), fraternity or sorority
house, storage garage, and tourist home.

ae LOT my sarap P p ,
,500 square feet per dwelling for single-family
residences

5,000 square feet per dwelling for two-family

oy ulti-family dwellings, 4,000 f
or multi-family dwellings, 4, square feet

for first two — & plus 500 square feet for each

additional unit.

For condominiums and Townhouses, 3,000

square feet per dwelling unit.

MINIMUM YARD REQUIREMENTS:
Front - 20 feet
Side - 5 feet per side
Rear - 10 feet

equal thirty percent reserved for
building)s) and parking. For

dominiums, and town houses,
open yard, space must twen-
ty percent of lot area with remain-
ing eighty perceant reserved for
building(s) and ing. Open
shall be a least partially
ted in grass or other plant-
ings.

G-8

ZONING DISTRICT
B-1-M Business District (Medical) (Special)

PERMITTED USES:
Professional offices - dentists, physicians,
psychiatrist, physiotherapists, surgeons, or
ctitioners in related specialities, clinics-
ntal or optical; laboratories - dental, medical

or optical.
MINIMUM LOT AREA:
None
MINIMUM YARD REQUIREMENTS:
Front - 20 feet
Side - None
Rear - None i
Open - Open y space must
ee =
remaining y percent reserv-
ed for ing(s), and Open
ce shall at least ially
planted in qrane or other p tings.
ZONING DISTRICT:
B-1-O Office District (Special)
—
ces for of ren rofessio

retail or wholesale activities which require =
receiving, stocking, s , displaying, manufac-

ing, selling, or — of merchandise or co
ment is ——_e ited. All services
rendered within and use of any portion of the
outside area for the performance of services shall be
expressly prohibited.

MINIMUM LOT AREA:
None

MINIMUM YARD REQUIREMENTS:
Front - 20 feet

th the remaining ty percent
soomeved for building's iveways

and
ten eye nt, side
Dm pony for
ro that a ten foot
Planted ace is maintained between
in question and adjacent
property. For the purpooes of hs

green area shall

defined as one which is sodded and
planted with grass, shrubs, or trees
which shall be maintained in a man-

ARTICLE XI — AMENDMENTS AND
PETITIONS

SECTION 1 - INITIATION OF AMENDMENTS:
The City Council may, from time to time, amend, sup-
e=. or change the regulations, restrictions, or
daries herein or subsequently established. Such
amendment, supplement, or change may be initiated:

1. By action of the City Council itself by introduc-
tion of an ordinance or by adoption of a motion.

2. By recommendation of the Planning Commis-
sion.

3. By Petition of property owners.

Such amendments shall be effective onl a om
prescriptions as set forth herein are subscri

SECTION 2 - FINAL REPORT FROM ZONING COM-
MISSION REQUIRED: The City Council shall take no

G-10

men ee nor shall amendment to this
ordinance effective until City Council has
received the final report of the Zoning Commission.
Said report shall contain the recommendation of the
Commission relative to the amendment and its
reasons for making such a recommendation. The
report shall be filed with the Cit Coens Some See
five (45) days after the date of the public hearing held
to consider the amendment. Failure to do so shall con-
stitute cause for the City Council to take action on the
a independent of the receipt of the final
report.

SECTION 3 - PUBLIC HEARING REQUIRED:
The Zoning Commission shall not file a report recom-
mending amendments to this ordinance, nor shall the
City Council take amendatory action, nor shall any
amendment be effective unless the commission has
held a public hearing upon the proposed amendment
at which parties in interest have an ay to be
heard. Said hearing may be called by ing Com-
mission upon its own initiative; additionally it be
called upon direction of the City Council or upon
receipt of a petition from a property owner.

SECTION 4 - NOTIFICATION OF PUBLIC HEAR-
ING REQUIRED: No public hearing shail be held to
consider a proposed amendment to this ordinance
unless notification of said hearing is given in accor-
dance with the prescriptions set forth as follows:

A. Hearing to Consider Proposed Amendment In-
itiated by the City Council or the Zoning Com-
mission. Notice of the time and place of a hear-
ing called to consider a proposed amendment of
this ordinance initiated 4 a
sion or the City Council be pu once
a week in three different weeks in the official
journal of the City of Lafayette and at least fif-
teen (15) days shall —_ between the first
publication and date of hearing.

B. Hearing to Consider Proposed Amendment In-

G-11

itiated by Petition of a Property Owner.
Notification of a hearing to consider an amend-
ment to this ordinance by a property owner
must be given as follows:

%, Notice of the p change and of the
time and place of the hearing shall have
been published once a week in three dif
ferent weeks in the official journal of the
City of Lafayette. At least fifteen (15)
ows be elapse between the first

publication and the date of the hearing.

2. Notice of the proposed amendment and
the time and place of the hearing shall
dee felts i aaties tates orcas

s before public hearing to each
pny owner within five hundred feet
ft.) from the boundaries of the area

of the proposed change.

3. A sufficient number of printed notices in
bold a be posted for not less
than (15) days prior to the hearing
before the Commission, on signs not less
yn one foot nor ~~ than two

square feet in area on property
peepess for a change in Zoning
ssification. Said signs shall contain
an accurate statement of the proposed
change and also the time and place of the

public hearing.

Na a a a one FOR why pa ntraded §
: on by a owner for an

ment to this ordinance shall be fled with the City
Council through Zoning Commission. In filing
i seater paammeeamaa raat

A. Hearings on petitions for amendments to this
ordinance will be held at least three times
ly. Dates of said meetings will be at the
tion of the Lafayette City Zoning Commission.

G-12-

Action will be taken on petitions which; have
been filed at least sixty (60) days prior to the
date of a scheduled ing. (This ph
reads as amended, effective October 9, 1978).

No petition for an amendment to change a zon-
ing classification shall be filed unless such peti-
tion is duly signed and acknowledged by the
owner, or authorized agents of not less than fif-
ty (50) percent of the area of land for which a
p nen of classification is requested provided,
however, that where any lot located in the
aforesaid area is owned in division, all co
owners must sign the petition for that lot to be
included in the fifty (50) percent area provision.

Each petition for a change in the classification
of property shall be accompanied by six copies
of a map, drawn to an approximate scale of one
inch equals fifty feet, showing the dimensions
of each ownership within the area of the pro-
posed and within five hundred feet
radius of ey oposed change. There shall also
be submitted a st showing the name and ad-
dress of each poy owner within the area
shown on the map. Additionally, the petitioner
shall furnish a copy of subdivision covenants, if
any, affecting the property under consideration
. for reclassification and he shall certify that said
covenants are current and in effect at the time

of filing.

. Each petition shall be accompanied by a

deposit of twenty-five dollars for each text
—} in the ordinance not involving acreage
and five dollars for each acre of land and por-
tion thereof (maximum $250 - minimum $25) for
which a of classification is pro or
recommended. Under no conditions said
sum or any part thereof be refunded for failure
of said change to be adopted by the City Coun-
cil. The petitioner shall also pay the direct cost

sare, eipttehos nk te ort of tomnsnstet
pare to wri testimony given
at the public Si the Zoniny
mission.

E. waenee © giiien io Sat semis of
amendment to the ordinance, and said
has been finally acted upon by the City
or when said petition has received no eevee on
the part of the Cit ies bes ban ce
days, or when said petition has been o
advertised for public hearing but has md
quently been withdrawn either before or after
said hearing has been held, then the City Coun-
cil shall not consider a further petition re-

—_ . Un ae be = period of
ments for the same propert od o
two calendar years ‘hem ay within City
Council’s legal action on y+ a tition on or

from the expiration of the aforesaid inate day
iod in case action has not been taken by the
ai Council, or ine \~ date withdrawal of
— providing, however, that said peti-
tion been officially advertised. This provi-
sion shall not apply in cases where the City
Council wishes to consider a comprehensive
zoning revision of an area larger than twenty
acres.

SECTION 6 - AMENDATORY ACTION BY THE
CITY COUNCIL WITHIN NINETY. (90) DAYS
FROM RECEIPT OF FINAL REPORT: If the City
council decides to amend this ordinance it shall do so
within ninety (90) days from yt date upon which the
ome | Commission files the final report with said

-UONIsoddC

Office - Supreme Court, Us. |
oo FILED
IN THE OCT 24 198!
Supreme Court of the United Spares” a

Octoser Term, 1981

JAMES E. HERNANDEZ, APPELLANT
v.

THE CITY OF LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA AND
THE CITY COUNCIL OF LAFAYETTE,
LOUISIANA, APPELLEES.

ON APPEAL FROM THE THIRD CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEAL
IN AND FOR THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

CHARLES L. SIEMON
WENDY U. LARSEN
Ross, Harpies, O’Keere, BABCOCK
& PARSONS
One IBM Plaza, Suite 3100
Chicago, Illinois 60611
(312) 467-9300
Counsel for Appellees

Of Counsel
RICHARD F. BaBcock

October, 1981

Pandick Press Midwest, Inc., Chicago * 454-7600

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Ae Ge AT ee ED cccccccececssecseceszcevinisnssscveesesnsees
ADDITIONAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE...............
ARGUMENT
A. The Federal Questions Raised on Appeal Are
iinet icterestertntiicinamemadaaetialidaben
B. The City’s Conduct Did Not Deprive Appellant
of His Rights Under the Fifth and Fourteenth
I alisticcsisicnstiecscedtinnnceenennseaneuniabnenintets
C. The Preservation ‘of an Economically Viable
Use to Appellant Does Not Present a
Substantial Federal Question ....................:.000+
RIN cccccsccnscscecsseasevss Sosandetaditieabetionleiiebaghlieliceieetiaae

Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980) .......
Hernandez v. City of Lafayette, 399 So. 2d 1179
(La. App., 1981), writ denied, _. So. 2d

aun (8. 1968) -
Penn Central Transp. Corp. v. New York City, 438
ee EE TEI) sdtnnsihedhidhcneeniensenenteinesniinmniaineniiisensiits
Robertson v. City of Salem, 191 F. Supp. 604 (D.
I TUITUIIT Ih el laticeetitictlisbtceetitesiatadeapentiablisininiisieainbiidaten
San Diego Gas & Electric v. City of San Diego,
ee |) ee
Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim, _— U. S.
ee | ) een
Village of Euclid vy. Ambler Realty Corp., 272 U. S.
EEE Se a
Zucht v. King, 260 U.S. 174 (1922) ........cccccscceseeeees

Constitutional Provisions

Fifth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution “[N Jor shall private property be taken
for public use, without just compensation.” .........

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution “No State shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the privileges or immu-
nities of citizens of the United States; nor shall
any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law. . . .”’...........

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OctTosBer TERM, 1981

JAMES E. HERNANDEZ, APPELLANT
v.

THE CITY OF LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA AND
THE CITY COUNCIL OF LAFAYETTE,
LOUISIANA, APPELLEES.

ON APPEAL FROM THE THIRD CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEAL
IN AND FOR THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

Appellees, the City of Lafayette, Louisiana, and the City
Council of Lafayette, Louisiana, pursuant to Rule 16 of the
Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, move this
Court to dismiss the appeal herein and/or affirm the judgment
of the Third Circuit Court of Appeal of the State of Louisiana
on the ground that the questions presented are so unsubstantial
as to not warrant further argument.

ADDITIONAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Contrary to Appellant’s hyperbolic version of ime case
which is presented at pages 5-14 of his Jurisdict‘Jaal Statement.
this cause involves nothing more than a challenge to the validity
of the City of Lafayette’s zoning ordinance as applied to

2

Appeilant’s property. Appellant himself framed the issues in
his Complaint and alleged that the City’s failure to rezone his
property (the practical effect of which was to leave intact a
residential classification that permits up to 85 dwelling units on
his property) was unconstitutional. The Third Circuit Court of
Appeal for the State of Louisiana, however, found that under
established principles of zoning jurisprudence the record con-
tained evidence that the existing zoning classification did bear a
substantial relationship to the public health, safety and welfare
and preserved to Appeilant an economicaily beneficial use of
his property. Appellant petitioned the Third Circuit Court of
Appeal for a rehearing en banc, which was denied on May 8,
1981. Appellant’s application for writ of certiorari or review
was denied by the Supreme Court of Louisiana on June 22,
1981. Hernandez v. City of Lafayette, 399 So. 2d 1179 (La.
App. 1981), writ denied, ____ So. 2d —___ (La. 1981).

Appellant’s property is a 16.7 acre parcel of land located in
the City of Lafayette which is zoned R-1-A and has been so
zoned for 17 years. Property to the north, east, south, and west
of the subject property is also zoned R-1-A. To the northwest,
across West Bayou Parkway from the narrow fifty-foot neck of
the property is a parcel of land zoned R-2 which has been
developed into townhouses. The only non-residentially zoned
land in the immediate vicinity of Appellant’s property is located
on the opposite side of South College Road, a six-lane major
arterial road and is more than 500 feet from the usuable portion
of Appellant’s property. See Appendix | in Hernandez v. City
of Lafayette, 399 So. 2d at 1186, which graphically portrays the
zoning in the area.

Appellant’s property has an irregular configuration and is
bounded on its eastern edge by a fifty-foot wide body of water
named the Coulee Mine which serves as a backdrop for a series
of spacious single-family residences on lots immediately across
the coulee from the subject property. The narrow fifty-foot
wide neck of the property which abuts South College Road is

3

unusable under any zoning classification and the property has
no direct access to South College Road because of a bridge at
the property line. The subject property is currently improved
with two single family residences and has been used for
residential purposes for many years.

A municipal sewer plant is located on the parcel of land to
the south of the subject property but is visible from only a small
portion of the subject property. The sewer plant was construct-
ed prior to most of the development in the neighborhood,
including the Appellant’s residence. The property is traversed
by a series of utility easements that would have to be moved no
matter how the property is developed.

According to the evidence in the record, under the R-1-A
zoning classification the property has a value of at least
$1,000,000, exclusive of improvenients. The only expert real
estate appraiser who testified as to land value testified that the
property, excluding the two homes currently on the property,
has a value of $1,180,000 or in excess of $75,000 an acre.

4

ARGUMENT

A.

THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS RAISED
ON APPEAL ARE NOT SUBSTANTIAL

Appellant, of course, asserts that the federal questions
presented are substantial and urges plenary review by this
Court. Appellees respectfully disagree and pray this honorable
Court dismiss the appeal and affirm the judgment of the Third
Circuit Court of Appeal of the State of Louisiana. Appellees
submit that the questions presented are not substanval and do
not merit further review by this Court. Substantiality of a
federal question is a somewhat illusive concept that is not
amenable to general description; however, one pertinent indicia
of a federal question that is not substantial is that the question
of federal law involved is well-settled. See e.g., Zucht v. King,
260 U. S. 174 (1922). Appellees respectfully submit that the
jurisprudence of zoning is well-settled by the opinions of this
Court and that there is no substantial federal question present-
ed for review in this matter.

The constitutional law of police power regulation over the
use of land is well-established. In Village of Euclid v. Ambler
Realty Corp., 272 U.S. 359, 387-88 (1926) this Court set down
an enduring rule of law:

[Zoning regulations] must find their justification is some
aspect of the police power asserted for the public welfare.

al . 7 * . .

If the validity of the legislative classification be fairly
debatable, the legislative judgment must be allowed to
control.

See also, Penn Central Transp. Corp. v. New York City, 438
U. S. 114 (1978). In Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U. S. 255,
260 (1980) this Court rehearsed what are recognized as
accepted standards:

The application of a general zoning law to particular
property effects a taking if the ordinance does not substan-
tially advance legitimate state interests, see Nectow v. City
of Cambridge, 277, U. S. 183, 188 (1928) or denies an
owner economically viable use of his land, see Penn
Central Transp. Corp. v. New York City, 438, U. S. 104,
138, n. 36 (1978). ,

More recently in Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim, ——
U.S. ——, 101 S. Ct. 2176, 2182 (1981) this Court confirmed
the established character of the constitutional principles of
zoning law:

Where property interests are adversely affected by zoning

the courts generally have emphasized the breadth of

municipal power to control land use and have sustained
the regulations if it is rationally related to legitimate state

concerns and does not deprive the owner of economically
viable use of his property.

In each of the cases cited above the principles of con-
situtional law controlling the exercise of the zoning power are
clear, unambiguous and consistent. There is some question
about the nature of the appropriate remedy when a regulation
is declared to be overly restrictive, see e.g. San Diego Gas &
Electric v. City of San Diego U.S. —., 101 S. Ce. 1287
(1981) (Brennan, J., dissenting) but that question in no way
undoes the established character of the standards of judicial
review in zoning cases.

These established principles of law are the very same legal
principles that were applied to facts of this case by the Third
Circuit Court of Appeal of the State of Louisiana. Appellees
respectfully submit that Appellant’s Jurisdictional Statement

6

does nothing more than challenge the factual determinations
made below, and that fact and evidence questions are not
“substantial federal questions” under the appellate jurisdiction
of this Court.

In his Complaint, Appellant alleged that the repeated
refusal of the City of Lafayette to rezone his property in
accordance with his wishes did not bear any substantial
relationship to the public health, safety and welfare, and in the
alternative, deprived him of all beneficial use of his property.
Applying the evidence in the record to well-settled zoning
jurisprudence, the Third Circuit Court of Appeal for the State
of Louisiana held that the City’s regulations, as applied to
Appellant’s property, were valid. The court did not, as
Appellant glibly suggests, “declare open season on land-
owners.” To the contrary, the court found that the record
contained sufficient evidence to support a determination by the
City that the R-1-A zoning classification, as applied to Appel-
lant’s property, served the public health, safety and welfare and
that the R-1-A classification preserved to Appellant a practical,
beneficial use of his property. No matter how unhappy
Appellant is with the court’s decision and no matter how bitter
his language, his Jurisdictional Statement simply does not raise
any substantial question of federal law.

The Third Circuit Court of Appeal found that the record
contains “substantial evidence” that the property should remain
zoned R-1-A, residential, rather than be rezoned under a
commercial classification. The court noted that the evidence
adduced at trial showed that “rezoning the property to com-
mercial would be incompatible with and have an adverse effect
on the surrounding areas.” In addition, the court pointed out
evidence in the record that development of the property for
non-residential uses would produce “unsafe traffic conditions.”
In further support of its decision, the court cited the zoning
history of the vicinity as demonstrating that “since 1963... the
City has never waivered in its treatment of the subject proper-

7

ty.” The court also observed that the City’s zoning actions have
“been uniform in confining commercial and business districts to
frontage on the City’s arterial road network.” 399 So. 2d at
1183-84. The City’s denial of the requested rezonings were
therefore consistent with the City’s land use policies.

B.

THE CITY’S CONDUCT DID NOT DEPRIVE APPELLANT
OF HIS RIGHTS UNDER THE FIFTH AND
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS

Notwithstanding the validity of the R-1-A zoning classifi-
cation, Appellant argues that he is entitled to a judgment
rezoning his property, because the acts of the City of Lafayette
were designed to “save expropriation dollars by threatening
potential condemnees with blatant abuse of their constitutional
protections.” ( Jurisdictional Statement at page 15) The record
in this cause, however, is absolutely clear that:

1. No expropriation of any portion of appellant’s property
has taken place;

2. There are no current or future plans to expropriate any
portion of Appellant’s property; and

3. At all times pertinent, Appellant’s land, under the
existing R-1-A zoning classification, had a value of greater than
$1,000,000 (not including the two residences currently devel-
oped on the property).

The fact is that Appellant hoped to increase the value of
his property by getting his property rezoned, a hope that was
denied by the City in favor of the City’s perception of the public
health, safety and welfare of the citizens of the City of
Lafayette. The Court of Appeal of the State of Louisiana
sustained the City’s position in its opinion. The “record in this
case does reveal a valid, objective basis upon which the City of
Lafayette could reasonably conclude tha: retaining the R-1-A
zoning classification of the subject property serves the public
health, safety and welfare.” 399 So. 2d a: 1184.

Appellant’s protracted comparison of Robertson v. City of
Salem is, to quote Robertson itself, of no “solace.” 191 F. Supp.
604, 611 (D. Ore. 1961). In Robertson the City of Salem
rezoned the landowner’s property in order to facilitate its
acquisition of governmental buildings. The City defended its
action in “holding” the property for state acquisition through
“zoning” as serving a legitimate public purpose. In contrast,
the City of Lafayette refused to rezone Mr. Hernandez’s
property to the zoning classification of Ais choice. And more,
significantly, the City of Lafayette defended its zoning decision
not on the basis of saving expropriation dollars but on the basis
of proper planning considerations—neighborhood character-
istics, site characteristics, traffic and city-wide policies and
impacts, justifications the Third Circuit found to be reasonable
under estabiished jurisprudence.

Furthermore, the history of the City’s consideration of a
roadway improvement which would have gone through a
portion of the Appellant’s property if implemented is simply
irrelevant. Even under the allegations of the complaint, the
facts in this case do not rise to the stature of the pre-
condemnation proceedings considered and rejected by this
court in Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U. S. 255 (1980). In
Agins the City of Tiburon had actually commenced con-
demnation proceedings. In this case, formal proceedings were
never commenced, and Appellant himself testified at trial that
an alternative plan of street improvements was being imple-
mented by the City.

Even if the appellants’ ability to sell their property was
limited during the pendency of th

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0436%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
