# Record and brief — United States v. Marquez-Amaya

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0311%3A0

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Record and brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 458 U.S. 1118

## Text

8 a iges Supreme Court, |
1-471 giv
| 1 L 2

* SEPA 1981

— — — » 21
inne 2183

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

Ca

——Uä ——— ——

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
V.

JOSE ENRIQUE MARQUEZ-AMAYA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
NINTH CIRCUIT

REX E. LEE
Solicitor General

D. LOWELL JENSEN
Assistant Attorney General

CARTER G. PHILLIPS
Assistant to the Solicitor General

CAROLYN L. GAINES
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the government violates a defendant’s
right to due process or compulsory process by deport-
ing illegal aliens found near the scene of an offense
after officials of the government have interviewed the
aliens and concluded that they can provide no evi-
dence material to the case.

2. Whether a defendant should be required to show
that he made reasonable efforts to procure the at-
tendance of the missing witnesses at trial or other-
wise make their testimony available as a condition to
dismissal of the indictment on account of the deporta-
tion of the witnesses.

3. Whether, assuming that the conduct of the gov-
ernment violated the defendant’s rights, dismissal of
the indictment prior to trial is the appropriate rem-
edy when the defendant cannot demonstrate actual
prejudice caused by the absence of the witnesses.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion below a a i ae
r
Constitutional provisions involvenn
Statement
Reasons for granting the petition
Conclusion
Appendix A
I
Appendix C
Appendix D
Appendix E

—U—⸗ enseneeee

— e ꝶ ꝶ kk «k 33

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719
California v. Green, 399 U.S. 14222
nn cecctcccccccescnccccescctncncosinnse
Roviaro v. United States, 353 U.S. 5383
United States v. Arredondo-Morales, 624 F.2d

FF
United States v. Avila-Dominguez, 610 F. 2d 1266.
United States v Blue, 384 U.S. 25111
United States v. Calzada, 579 F.2d 1358, cert.

e eeieenessionmen
United States v. Henao, No. 80-5145 (5th Cir.

r ERR RR eee eae
United States v. Martinez-Morales, 632 F.2d 112....
United States v. Morrison, No. 79-395 (Jan. 13,

1981) ...... 8
United States v. Neustice, 452 F.2d 123
United States v. Posey, 501 F.2d 9999

em

aon do — —

13

8 F 7

Cases—Continued Page

United States v. Valdez, 594 F.2d 725 8
United States ex rel. Lucas v. Regan, 503 F.2d 1.... 9

Constitution and statutes:

United States Constitution:

Fifth Amendment
Sixth Amendment

1. —U—ü— —
9100
21 U.S.C. 841 (b)
21 U.S. C. 846

do do do do NW

Miscellaneous:

1 E. Devitt & C. Blackmar, Federal Jury Practice
and Instructions (1977) 10
Westen, Compulsory Process II, 74 Mich. L. Rev.
1— — ———— 9

In the Supreme Cuurt of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.
JOSE ENRIQUE MARQUEZ-AMAYA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
NINTH CIRCUIT

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United
States, petitions for a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINION BELOW
The memorandum of the court of appeals (App. A,
infra, 1a-2a) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App. B,
infra, 3a) was entered on March 19, 1981. A petition
for rehearing was denied (App. C, infra, 4a) on
June 16, 1981. On August 5, 1981, Justice Rehnquist
extended the time within which to file a petition for a
writ of certiorari to and including September 8, 1981.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

1)

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution provides
in pertinent part:

No person shall be * * * deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of
law * * 9.

The Sixth Amendment to the Constitution provides
in pertinent part:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall
enjoy the right * * * to have compulsory process
for obtaining witnesses in his favor * * *.

STATEMENT

Respondent was indicted with co-defendant Salcedo-
Ceniceros for distributing heroin, in violation of 21
U.S.C. 841(a)(1) and (b) and 18 U.S.C. 2 (Count
1), and for conspiring to distribute heroin, in viola-
tion of 21 U.S.C. 846 (Count 2). The district court
dismissed both counts of the indictment against re-
spondent (App. D, infra, 5a), and the court of ap-
peals affirmed (App. A, infra, la-2a).*

1. At 7:00 p.m. on March 31, 1980, an informant
for the Drug Enforcement Administration called
DEA Agent Rocco J. Andresano, Jr. and told him that
two individuals at the informant’s place of business
had a pound of heroin they wanted to sell (Tr. 25).?

1The district court denied Salcedo-Ceniceros’ motion to
dismiss his indictment. He was tried and convicted on both
counts, and his conviction was affirmed on appeal (App. A,
infra, la-2a).

2 Tr.“ denotes the transcript of proceedings held on June 2,
6, 9 and 18, 1980. Actual hearings were held only with regard
to Salcedo-Ceniceros’ motion. The district court dismissed re-
spondent’s indictment without hearing any testimony (Tr.
23). “App. Rec.” denotes the excerpt of record filed with the
court of appeals in this case.

3

The informant later identified the two individuals as
respondent and his co-defendant (Tr. 25-26).

Agent Andresano negotiated the sale of the heroin
through the informant. Andresano told the informant
what he wanted, and the informant conveyed the mes-
sage in English to Salcedo-Ceniceros, who translated
it to respondent in Spanish (Tr. 27-28). Through this
process Andresano agreed to purchase the whole
pound of heroin. He also agreed to meet first at the
informant’s place of business to show his money
(Tr. 29), and to make the actual purchase later at
a trailer in Yuma, Arizona (Tr. 27). Andresano was
told that there were two women in the trailer, but
that they knew nothing about “what was going on”
(ibid.).

Andresano then went to the Yuma Narcotics Task
Force Office, picked up $29,000 “for show,” and made
arrangements to be followed by other agents while he
made the purchase (Tr. 28-29). He then met the
informant and Salcedo-Ceniceros, showed them his
money, and negotiated the price for the heroin (Tr.
29).

Agent Andresano then drove Salcedo-Ceniceros to
a trailer located on a public street in Yuma (Tr. 31)
and parked his car about 30 feet from the trailer
(Tr. 33). Respondent came out of the trailer, walked
up to Salcedo-Ceniceros, and asked in Spanish if
everything was all right (Tr. 31-32). When Salcedo-
Ceniceros said “okay,” respondent went back to the
trailer and returned with a paper bag, which he
handed into the car (Tr. 32). Inside the bag were
four aluminum packages that contained 16 ounces
of heroin (ibid.). When Andresano saw the heroin,
he signaled the other agents, who came and helped
with the arrests.

4

During the time agent Andresano was in his car,
he frequently glanced at the trailer to make sure
that no one from there attacked him. He saw no one
look out of the trailer window (Tr. 33). When the
agents entered the trailer after the arrest, they found
a woman and her 14-year-old daughter (Tr. 34).

The agents interviewed the two women, both of
whom said that they knew nothing about a crime and
that they had seen nothing going on (Tr. 15). Satis-
fied that neither woman could supply any evidence
and believing them both to be illegal aliens, the agents
turned them over to the United States Border Patrol.
They were released back to Mexico the same day.

2. Prior to trial respondent filed a motion to dis-
miss the indictment on the ground that the deporta-
tion of the two women in the trailer denied him his
rights to due process and compulsory process. In
the papers supporting his motion, respondent asserted
that the two witnesses might have been able to supply
evidence relevant to his intent (App. Rec. 12). He
suggested that they could have testified “as to
whether * * * [respondent] was aware of the con-
tents of the brown paper bag” (ibid.). In addition,
they could have testified that one of the women was
respondent’s girl friend and that he was at the trailer
visiting her. Finally, they could have testified gen-
erally about respondent’s behavior prior to the sale
and perhaps have shown that respondent’s “activity
was not consistent with one waiting to sell a large
quantity of heroin” (id. at 12-13). Based on these
assertions, respondent concluded that he could con-
ceivably have benefited from the witnesses’ testimony,
and therefore their deportation prior to trial violated
his constitutional rights.

5

With regard to the availability of the two missing
witnesses, the government told the court that respond-
ent’s father had an address for them in Mexico (Tr.
5). Respondent offered no explanation as to why they
would not return to exculpate him, but stated that
respondent’s father “said those witnesses are not
going to be available” (Tr. 6).

The district court did not respond to the govern-
ment’s request to require respondent to testify to
explain exactly what evidence the deported aliens
might offer (Tr. 15). Instead, it simply asked the
government to argue its position orally. During the
argument, the government suggested as an alternative
to the dismissal of the indictment that the court sup-
press all evidence relating to respondent’s presence
at the trailer and require the prosecution to rely
solely upon the informant’s testimony (Tr. 19). Re-
spondent objected that this did not remove the dis-
ability to his case because the missing aliens could
conceivably offer evidence relevant to his general
intent and knowledge that would exculpate him (Tr.
20-21).

At the conclusion of the argument, the district
court dismissed both the substantive count and the
conspiracy count against respondent (Tr. 23). The
court of appeals affirmed, stating simply that it had
“reviewed the record and conclude[d] that the dis-
missal was proper“ (App. A, infra, 2a).“

It is noteworthy that by the time of the appeal, respondent
was able to conceive of additional testimony from the deported
aliens that might benefit him. He claimed that there was “the
distinct possibility that one of the missing witnesses could
have directed [respondent] to take the unopened sack out to
the car. In other words, * * * one of the missing witnesses
could have been the co-defendant’s accomplice * * *” (Br. of
Appellee 9). Since respondent would have been a witness to
any such events, it is difficult o understand why this should
have been a matter for supposition by counsel.

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case presents important questions similar to
those presented in our petition for a writ of certiorari
in United States v. Valenzuela-Bernal, No. 81-450
(filed Sept. 3, 1981),* concerning the application of
the Due Process and Compulsory Process Clauses to
the situation in which illegal aliens, who are present
at the scene of a crime, are returned to their own
country prior to trial.

1. In our petition in Valenzuela-Bernal, we argue
that the “conceivable benefit” test applied by the
Ninth Circuit, while consistent with the approach in
the Seventh Circuit,’ conflicts with decisions of the
Fifth Circuit because in essence it requires virtually
automatic dismissal of charges whenever a potential
witness is deported, whereas the Fifth Circuit re-
quires a concrete showing of likely prejudice.“

That the Ninth Circuit’s approach is fairly char-
acterized as an “automatic dismissal” rule is well
illustrated by this case. The deported aliens plainly
did not witness the actual heroin transaction. The
most that was suggested to the district court was
that they might testify as to the conduct of respond-
ent prior to the heroin sale. There is no evidence

*A copy of our petition in United States v. Valenzuela-
Bernal has been sent to respondent.

5 United States v. Calzada, 579 F.2d 1358 (7th Cir.), cert.
dismissed, 439 U.S. 920 (1978) (no showing of prejudice
required).

®* United States v. Avila-Dominguez, 610 F.2d 1266 (5th
Cir. 1980) (a showing of real prejudice required before dis-
missal of indictment is appropriate). See also United States
v. Henao, No. 80-5145 (5th Cir. Aug. 7, 1981), slip op. 10081;
United States v. Arredondo-Morales, 624 F.2d 681 (5th Cir.
1980).

7

in this record, however, to suggest either what those
witnesses might say or how any statements from
them actually could benefit respondent. All that ap-
pears in the record is the product of the vivid
imagination of the respondent’s counsel as to pos-
sible, but entirely remote, scenarios. Thus, the Ninth
Cireuit's approach invites and rewards respondent
for suggesting at trial that his girl friend could testify
that his behavior was inconsistent with knowledge
about the heroin he delivered to a DEA agent and on
appeal that his girl friend may have been the real
criminal who duped him into making the delivery. If
unsubstantiated assertions such as those in this case
are all that is required for the dismissal of an indict-
ment, then the conclusion seems inescapable that, con-
trary to the express holdings of the Fifth Circuit, no
real prejudice need be demonstrated in the Ninth
Circuit for dismissal of the indictment when an alien
witness has been deported.’

2. This case presents the additional question, not
involved in Valenzuela-Bernal, whether the remedy of
dismissal (assuming it is otherwise appropriate)
should be conditioned upon a satisfactory showing
by the defendant that diligent efforts to locate the
deported witnesses and secure their testimony have

7 For reasons that are more fully developed in our petition
in Valenzuela-Bernal, the approach of the Ninth Circuit in
these cases is inconsistent with principles announced in this
Court’s decision in Roviaro v. United States, 353 U.S. 53
(1957). The analysis employed in Roviaro suggests that the
present, analogous issue should be decided on the basis of a
careful balancing of the defendant’s need for the information
against the government’s interests in not having to sustain
(and impose upon large numbers of apprehended aliens) the
ever-increasing burden of confining for extended periods of
time witnesses who have been charged with no crime,

been unsuccessful.* The record of this case reflects
that respondent apparently was well acquainted with
the women in the trailer, one of whom he described
as his girl friend. In addition, he knew their address
in Mexico, but he did no more to secure their
presence than state to the court that they would
be unavailable. Obviously, dismissal would be com-
pletely unwarranted if the deported witness is willing
to return for the trial and testify. See United States
v. Valdez, 594 F.2d 725 (9th Cir. 1979); United
States v. Neustice, 452 F.2d 123 (9th Cir. 1971).
And even if a witness whose whereabouts are known
is unwilling to return, the defendant should be re-
quired to produce an affidavit or other evidence of the
testimony the witness would give, or a satisfactory ex-
planation for his inability to do so. The court could
then assess whether the testimony, had it been avail-
able, might raise a reasonable doubt regarding the
defendant’s guilt. Other options for mitigating any
loss due to the witness’s deportation, such as a de-
position of the witness or a stipulation by the prosecu-
tion, could also be explored.

By imposing no requirement of this nature as a
precondition to dismissal of an indictment, the Ninth
Circuit’s decisions actually discourage defendants
from locating witnesses and encourage them to at-
tempt to dissuade potential witnesses from returning.
Particularly in a case such as this, where the de-
fendant and the witnesses are not strangers, the
orderly administration of justice dictates that the de-
fendant be required, before being relieved of prosecu-
tion for a serious offense, to make some showing as
to what measures he has taken to obtain the testi-

®In Valenzuela-Bernal, both sides had been unsuccessful in
their efforts to locate the miss ii g potential witnesses.

mony of the deported witnesses, what in concrete
terms that testimony would be, and why the wit-
nesses cannot be produced for the trial.

Similar requirements are imposed in other, related
areas of the law. For instance, when a defendant re-
quests a continuance because a witness is unavailable,
courts routinely require the defendant to make a
clear showing of a good faith effort to locate the
witness. See, e.g., United States ex rel. Lucas v.
Regan, 503 F.2d 1, 3 (2d Cir. 1974); United States
v. Posey, 501 F.2d 998, 1000-1001 (6th Cir. 1974).
See generally, Westen, Compulsory Process II, 74
Mich. L. Rev. 191, 242 (1975).

Similarly, in cases involving the Confrontation
Clause, the government may not simply decline to
produce a witness even if substitute testimony might
be otherwise admissible. Instead, the government
must bear the burden of showing why the witness is
unavailable and demonstrate that its efforts to locate
the witness have been made in “good faith.” See Ohio
v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 65 (1980); California v.
Green, 399 U.S. 149, 161-162 (1970); Barber v.
Page, 390 U.S. 719, 724-725 (1968). Since the Ninth
Circuit presently requires dismissal of the indictment
as the appropriate remedy in these deportatio cases,
a defendant ought to be required to show at least a
“good faith” effort to obtain the testimony of the
witness before the government’s right to prosecute is
terminated.

3. Even assuming that respondent’s rights have
been violated in this case, the decision of the court
of appeals upholding dismissal of the indictment
against respondent is inconsistent with principles an-
nounced by this Court in prior cases. Just this past
Term the Court held in a right to counsel case that

10

“absent demonstrable prejudice, or substantial threat
thereof, dismissa! of the indictment is plainly inap-
propriate, even though the violation may have been
deliberate.” United States v. Morrison, No. 79-395
(Jan. 13, 1981), slip op. 4. The Court announced
that the appropriate “approach” is “to identify and
then neutralize the taint by tailoring suitable relief
appropriate in the circumstances to assure * * * a
fair trial.” Ibid.

The remedy in this case can hardly be described
as “tailored.” The court dismissed both the sub-
stantive count and the conspiracy count. It totally
disregarded the government’s more reasonable solu-
tion, which was to suppress all evidence relating to
respondent's presence at the trailer and his participa-
tion in the actual transfer of heroin (Tr. 19)—the
only matters the deported women could have wit-
nessed. Under this proposal, the government would
have had to forego the testimony of the DEA agent
and rely solely on the informant’s testimony as to re-
spondent’s participation in the overall transaction.
This would seem to be ample relief for the “viola-
tion” alleged (in our view, indeed, far more than re-
spondent was reasonably entitled to)“ Instead, the
court adopted, without any showing that it was nec-

By dismissing prior to tria!, the court also pretermitted
consideration of additional measures that would have pro-
tected respondent without eliminating the prosecution. Thus,
respondent might have been able to take advantage at trial
of an “absent witness” instruction. Assuming that respondent
chose to bring up the issue of the potential witnesses and that
he had satisfactorily demonstrated that he could not procure
the witnesses’ attendance at trial, he could ask the finder of
fact to draw an adverse inference from the fact that the gov-
ernment had made the witnesses unavailable. See 1 E. Devitt
& C. Blackmar, Federal Jury Practice and Instructions § 17.19
(1977).

11

essary to avoid any danger of an unjust conviction,
the most drastic sanction available, thereby increas-
ing “to an intolerable degree interference with the
public interest in having the guilty brought to book.”
United States v. Blue, 384 U.S. 251, 255 (1966).

4. In our petition in Valenzuela-Bernal, we dis-
cussed the substantial burden on government re-
sources, as well as unfairness to incarcerated aliens,
created by the Ninth Circuit’s approach to cases in-
volving the deportation of potential witnesses. The
United States simply cannot keep every illegal alien
in prison for substantial periods of time on the
hypothesis that they may provide some “conceivable
benefit” to some defendant.

The difficulty the Ninth Circuit’s rule imposes on
the government is best illustrated by comparing this
case to Valenzuela-Bernal. That case represents the
archetypal situation, i. e., illegal aliens being trans-
ported unlawfully by the defendant. In that context,
the status of the aliens as potential witnesses is at
least clear. In this case, by contrast, there was very
little to indicate that the illegal aliens had any con-
nection to the criminal activity. The fact that they
knew a defendant and happened to be in the general
vicinity of the crime hardly constituted strong reason
for detaining them after they were interviewed by
government officials who concluded that they had no
information. Respondent has not even attempted to
show that that conclusion was unreasonable or moti-
vated by bad faith.“

We are not suggesting that the court of appeals
would require every illegal alien who is captured in

10 It should be recalled in this connection that the agents
had already been told that the two women in the trailer knew
nothing about the drug transactio (Tr. 27).

12

this country to be detained for some period of time
because of the mere possibility that he may have wit-
nessed a crime. Obviously, when no connection be-
tween an arrested alien and some criminal conduct
could be discovered by government officials through
any reasonable means, release of the witness could
not under any theory violate the defendant’s rights.
See United States v. Martinez-Morales, 632 F.2d
112, 116 (9th Cir. 1980). But the instant case still
poses unique problems because of the relief granted
on the basis of the very slight indication that the de-
ported aliens may have had some relationship with
the respondent.

Under the Ninth Circuit’s “conceivable benefit”
test, it is now hazardous for the government, if it
wants to protect its ability to prosecute, to deport
a single illegal alien who has even the remotest con-
nection to a criminal defendant. The government
is placed in the intolerable situation of either filling
its jails with non-criminal alien witnesses or for-
going prosecutions against plainly guilty defendants.
Relief from this dilemma is available only from this
Court.“

Although this case presents questions that overlap sub-
stantially with those presented in our previous petition in
Valenzuela-Bernal, it also raises additional issues and presents
an alternative factual context for evaluating the general prob-
lem. If the Court grants our petition in Valenzuela-Bernal,
it might wish to grant this petition also and set them for
argument together in order to consider simultaneously the
range of related issues pres anted by the two cases.

13

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted.

REX E. LEE
Solicitor General

D. LOWELL JENSEN
Assistant Attorney General

CARTER G. PHILLIPS
Assistant to the Solicitor General

CAROLYN L. GAINES
Attorney
SEPTEMBER 1981

—

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 80-1503
DC CR 80-70WPC

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE
V.

FRANCISCO SALCEDO-CENICEROS,
DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

No. 80-1575
DC # CR 80-70-2

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT
V.
ENRIQUE MARQUEZ-AMAYA, DEFENDANT-APPELLEE

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Arizona
William P. Copple, District Judge, Presiding
Argued and Submitted March 11, 1981

[Filed Mar. 19, 1981]

2a

MEMORANDUM

Before: KILKENNY and SNEED, Circuit Judges, and
GRANT *, District Judge

Appellant Salcedo-Ceniceros was found guilty of
aiding and abetting the distribution of heroin, 21
U.S.C. § 841(a)(1) and (b), and conspiring to dis-
tribute heroin, 21 U.S.C. § 846(2). Appellant Salcedo-
Ceniceros was sentenced to concurrent eight year
prison terms with a special parole term of five years.

His appeal asserts that he was denied his right to
call witnesses in his defense. We have reviewed the
record and conclude that the convictions should be
affirmed. The district court’s refusal to permit the
witness Barrett to be called as a witness deprived
appellant Salcedo-Ceniceros of no constitutional right
and did not constitute an abuse of discretion on the
part of the district court.

The district court dismissed the indictment charg-
ing Marquez-Amaya with distributing heroin, 21
U.S.C. § 841(a)(1) and (b), and conspiring to dis-
tribute heroin, 21 U.S.C. § 846. The district court
acted on the basis of our decision in United States
v. Mendiz-Rodriguez, 450 F.2d 1 (9th Cir. 1971).
We have reviewed the record and conclude that the
dismissal was proper.

Affirmed.

* Honorable Robert A. Grant, Senior United States District
Judge for the District of Indiana, sitting by designation.

3a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 80-1575
DC CR 80-0070-02 WPC
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF/APPELLANT
vs.

JOSE ENRIQUE MARQUEZ-AMAYA,
DEFENDANT/APPELLEE

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Arizona (Phoenix)

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the Tran-
script of the Record from the United States District
Court for the District of Arizona (Phoenix) and
was duly submitted.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now
here ordered and adjudged by this Court, that the
judgment of the said District Court in this Cause be,
and hereby is affirmed.

A TRUE Copy
ATTEST

RICHARD H. DEANE
Clerk of Court

by: /s/ Oscar Tagle
Deputy Clerk

Filed and entered March 19, 1981

4a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATFS COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 80-1575

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT
V.
ENRIQUE MARQUEZ-AMAYA, DEFENDANT-APPELLEE

[Jun. 16, 1982]
ORDER

Before: KILKENNY and SNEED, Circuit Judges, and
GRANT *, District Judge

The panel as constituted in the above case has voted
to deny the petition for rehearing and to reject the
suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion
for en banc rehearing, and no judge of the court
has requested a vote on the suggestion. Fed. R. App.
P. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied and the sug-
gestion for a rehearing en banc is rejected.

* Honorable Robert A. Grant, Senior United States District
Judge for the District of ndiana, sitting by designation.

5a
APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

No. CR-80-070-PHX-WPC

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF
—58—
JOSE ENRIQUE MARQUEZ-AMAYA, DEFENDANT

[Filed June 6, 1980]

ORDER
Upon motion of the defendant, Jose Enrique
Marquez-Amaya, and good cause appearing therefor,
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the indictment is
dismissed as to defendant Marquez-Amaya;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that bond, if any, is
exonerated; and

FURTHER ORDERED releasing defendant Mar-
quez-Amaya from custody.

Done in open Court this 6th day of June, 1980.

/s/ Wm. P. Copple
United States District Judge
District of Arizona

6a
APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

No. CR-80-70 Phx. WPC

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF
v8.
JOSE ENRIQUE MARQUEZ-AMAYA, ET AL., DEFENDANT

July 21, 1980

IT IS ORDERED:

The government’s motion for reconsideration of
the order dismissing the indictment as to defendant
Marquez-Amaya is denied.

/s/ Wm. P. Copple
Ww. P. CoPpPLE
United States District Judge

Mailed this 21st day of July, 1980, to:

W ov. S. GOV! eNMENT PRINTING OFFicE; 1961 353360 604

81-471

ii dn us

FILED
IN THE NOV 30 1981

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES Ae L srevas,

OCTOBER TERM 1980
NUMBER

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner
v.

JOSE ENRIQUEZ MARQUEZ-AMAYA,

Respondent.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS

Respondent, JOSE ENRIQUEZ MARQUEZ-AMAYA, pursuant to
Rule 53, Supreme Court Rules and Title 18, United States Code,
§3006A(d) (6), respectively, moves this Honorable Court for leave
to file the attached response to the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit without prepayment of costs and to proceed in forma
pauperis. Further, Respondent requests, pursuant to Rule 53,
Supreme Court Rules, that the undersigned attorney be appointed
to represent him in further proceedings before this Court for the
reason that the Respondent is financially unable to obtain adequate
representation and to meet the necessary expenses in this Court of
filing this Response.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this Laa of November, 1981.

GAMA AND GUERRERO

By 22 e
PETER A. GUE

Attorney for Respondent

AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF ARIZONA )
) ss.
County of Maricopa )

PETER A. GUERRERO, being first duly sworn upon his oath,
deposes and says:

1. This Affidavit is made pursuant to Rule 46 of the
Supreme Court Rules;

2. That he is the attorney for the Respondent and has
represented the Respondent throughout all the proceedings in this
matter;

3. That immediately after the case was dismissed in the
District Court below, the Respondent returned to Mexico where he
is a citizen;

4. That the undersigned has had no further contact with
the Respondent, is unable to contact him and has not been paid for
any of the representations afforded the Respondent before the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals and this Court;

5. That because of the foregoing the undersigned requests

that he be appointed to represent the Respondent and that this

6—
28 1
PETER A. GUERRERO

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this 27th day of November,

matter proceed in forma pauperis.

1981.

Nor PUBLIC
My Commission Expires:

January 16, 1982

i(a)

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1980
NUMBER

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
v.
JOSE ENRIQUEZ MARQUEZ-AMAYA,

Respondent.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

NINTH CIRCUIT

JOSE ENRIQUEZ MARQUEZ-AMAYA

Respondent

ii

Opinion Below. ooo
Jurisdic tion
Question Presentelltll
Constitutional Provision Involved .
Statement of the case

I * . . . . . * . . * . .

Reason for Denying the Petition
Comelusion « «e+ ces „

Affidavit of Service

United States vs. Gonzales
F. ., 19000.

United States vs. Mendez-Rodriguez
750 F.2d I (Sth Cir., 1971)...
United States vs. Sheiner

* upp.
Affirmed 410 F.2d 377
Certiorari denied 90 S.Ct. 68

396 U.S. 825
24 L.Ed.2d 76 * * * . * * * * . * *

United States vs. Tsutagawa

F. c C Tee 4) * .
Rashi give vs. Texas

Ue >. * * * * * * „ *

Title 18, United States Code
§3006A(d) (6) * . * * . * * * * . *

Title 18, United States Code

§2 * * * * 7. * * . . * * . * * . *

Title 18, United States Code
§3149 * * * * * „ * * * * * * * * „

Title 21, United States Code
5841 (a) (1) d) * * * * * * * * * * *

Title 21, United States Code
§846 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Title 28, United States Code
§1254(1) * * . * * . * . * * * . *

. 1
* 1
. 2
. 2
* 2
. 3
. 4
* 6
13
. 14
8,12
7
6,7, 8,
* 9
. 11
7,10
* 6
* 1
. 2
. 12
. 2
. 2
. 1

AMENDMENT

Fifth Amendment
Constitution of the United States

Sixth Amendment
Constitution of the United States

Rule 53, Supreme Court Rules

Rule 24(1), Revised Rules of the Supreme Court

iv

. 2
» 2,9,12
* 1
. 1

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES >

OCTOBER TERM 1980 ari
NUMBER

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Petitioner,
V.

JOSE ENRIQUEZ MARQUEZ-AMAYA, Respondent.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JOSE ENRIQUEZ MARQUEZ-AMAYA, by and through his attorney
undersigned, respond to the government's petition for writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINION BELOW
The Memorandum of the Court of Appeals (Exhibit "A" attached)

is unreported.

JURISDICTION
The jurisdiction of this court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1). This response is filed pursuant to Rule 24(1) of the
Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States.

QUESTION PRESENTED
Is dismissal proper when the Government unilaterally
places a material witness beyond the subpoena power of a Defendant
when the Defendant could conceivably benefit from the missing

witnesses testimony?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution
provides, in pertinent part:
"No person shall be. . deprived of
life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law...
The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution
provides, in pertinent part:
In all criminal prosecutions the accused
shall enjoy the right .. . to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses in his
favor...
STATEMENT
Respondent was indicted with a co-defendant for distributing
heroin in violation of 21 U.S.C. 841 (a) (I) (d) and 18 U.S.C. 2, and
for conspiring to distribute heroin in violation of 21 U.S.C. 5846.
The indictment was filed on or about April 16, 1980 and, on May 22,
1980, the Respondent filed his Motion to Dismiss the Indictment
alleging that the Government had unilaterally placed two (2) material
witnesses beyond the subpoena power of the Respondent by returning
them to Mexico thereby denying the Respondent his constitutional
rights to due process and compulsory process. (E.R. 4) The
Government filed its Response to Defendant's Motion to Dismiss
Indictment (E.R. 15) but reguested no evidentiary hearing.
On June 6, 1980, the United States District Court below

granted Respondent's iotion to Dismiss the Indictment. (E.R. 18)

<

*

1. At approximately 7:00 o'clock p.m. on March 31,

1980, DEA Agent Rocco J. Andresano, Jr., had a telephone
conversation with a confidential informant. (T.R. 56) The
informant advised Agent Andresano that two (2) individuals were
present with the informant and wanted to sell a pound of heroin.
Agent Andresano told the informant that he wanted to buy the
heroin and would meet these individuals at a specific location
in approxin tely an hour". (T. R. 58)

There was no testimony as to the then identity of the
two (2) individuals. At the co-defendant's trial Agent Andresano
testified as to a hearsay conversation which he allegedly heard
between the ö informant, a Mexican individual who spoke
English and a Mexican individual who spoke Spanish. (R.T. 57, 58)
According to Agent Andresano even though he did not hear all of the
conversation (T.R. 77, 78), he was able to determine over the
telephone that the “non-English-speaking individual” was to take
four (4) ounces and go back to a trailer where the heroin transaction
was to take place and the confidential informant and the "English-
speaking individual" were to meet with Agent Andresano. (R.T. 58)
Again, there was no identity at this point in time of either of the
two (2) individuals involved.

Agent Andresano then proceeded to gather $29,000.00 from the
Yuma Task Force Office and then, under surveillance, drove to a
pre-arranged location where he was introduced to the co-defendant
Salcedo by the confidential informant. (T.R. 59) From there
Mr. Salcedo and Agent Andresano drove to the location in Yuma,
Arizona, where the trailer was located. On the way to the trailer
co-defendant Salcedo told Agent Andresano that he (Salcedo) could
supply him with a pound of heroin every ten (10) days. (T.R. 61)
Salcedo also said he could supply the same amounts of cocaine.

When they arrived at the trailer Agent Andresano was told
to park in a parking space and wait. After a few moments an
individual identified by Agent Andresano as the Respondent exited
the trailer came through the gate and walked to the passenger side

and asked in Spanish of Mr. S&lcedo "if everything was alright".

2

Mr. Salcedo indicated yes“ in Spanish. (T. R. 63).

The Respondent allegedly then left the passenger side and
proceeded back to the trailer. A few moments later he came back
out and handed a brown paper sack to co-Jefendant Salcedo who,
in turn, handed it to Agent Andresano. (R.T. 63).

At the time of the transfer of the “paper sack“ it was
closed. (Preliminary Hearing Transcript, p.20) Agent Andresano
never saw the Respondent until he arrived at the trailer.
(Preliminary Hearing Transcript, p.8) He never had any negotiations
with the Respondent whatsoever. (Preliminary Hearing Transcript,
p.8) Prior to the day in question Agent Andresano had never had
any previous contact with the Respondent. (Preliminary Hearing
Transcript, p.8).

Contrary to the statement in the Petition for Writ of
Certicrari there was no testimony as to interviews of the two (2)
women who were found in the trailer. They were not taken into
custody, however, but were turned over to the United States Border
Patrol and released back to Mexico the same day.

2. After Repsondent's counsel determined that the material
witnesses found in the trailer were returned to Mexico and were,
in fact, beyond his subpoena power and that they were returned to
Mexico by the unilateral action of the Government he filed a Motion
to Dismiss the Indictment on the grounds that the deportation of the
two (2) women denied him his rights to due process and compulsory
process. (D.R. 4) The Respondent requested oral argument on his
Motion. The Government filed its Response to the Motion but did
not request an evidentiary hearing. (E.R. 15).

In his Motion Respondent alleged that he was denied the
opportunity to interview the two (2) alien witnesses by the
unilateral action of the Government and, as the result, he was
denied his right to compulsory process for obtaining witnesses

on his behalf to testify at trial.

At oral argument on Respondent's Motion the Government
took the position that the burden was upon the Respondent to show
the Court what benefit the Respondent would have derived from the
interview and/or testimony of the two (2) material witnesses.
(R.T. 17-20) Respondent countered the Government's argument by
advising the Court that the law placed upon him no burden to
“speculate” as to how the missing material witnesses would have
aided his defense. The only requirement of the Respondent to sustain
his Motion to Dismiss was to show the Court a “material relationship"
between the Defendant and the alleged criminal activity and the
unavailable witnesses and that, as the result of this material
relationship the Respondent “could conceivably” benefit from the
testimony of said missing alien witnesses. (R.T. 20). The Court
agreed with Respondents’ position as to what transpired between
Marquez and the two (2) alien witnesses while inside the trailer“.
(R.T. 20)

The Government then ingeniously attempted to convince the
Court below that all evidence relating to the Respondent's presence
at the trailer should be suppressed and the substantive count
dismissed. The conspiracy count against the Respondent would
stand however because the confidential informant could testify
as to the Respondent's involvement in the negotiations between
the confidential informant and Agent Andresano during their phone
conversation. When the Court was reminded that intent is an essential
element of a conspiracy charge and that the material witnesses
"could conceivably” give some evidence as to the intent and/or
knowledge of Marquez-Amaya and his involvement at the trailer and
that this evidence would relate back to the initial negotiations
the District Court agreed and granted the Motion to Dismiss.

(R.T. 22, 23)

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

This case simply follows the well reasoned and consti-
tutionally supported doctrine issued by the Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals in the case of United States vs. Mendez-Rodriguez,

450 F.2d 1 (9th Cir., 1971). There is nothing unique about this
case except that the Government is unable to understand that the
Sixth Amendment right to compulsory process applies to all crim-
inal activity and not only to “alien smuggling cases". Quite
simply, the Government's position is that the Sixth Amendment
right to compulsory process should be conditioned upon u showing
by a Defendant in a criminal prosecution that the unavailable
witness would positively have offered testimony crucial to the
defense proposed by a criminal defendant. Of course, the Govern-
ment can offer no explanation as to how a Defendant might meet
this affirmative burden if, in fact, the witness has been made
unavailable by the unilateral action of the Government.

l. In United States vs. Mendez-Rodriguez (supra), the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals quoted the case of Washington vs.

Texas, 388 U.S. 14 (1967) as follows:

“The right to offer the testimony of witnesses,
and to compel their attendance, if necessary,

is in plain terms the right to present a defense,
the right to present the Defendant's version

of the facts as well as the prosecution to the
jury o that it may decide where the truth lies.
Just as an accused has a right to confront the
prosecution witnesses for the purpose of
challenging their testimony, he has the right
to present his own witnesses to establish a
defense. This right is a fundamental right of
due process of law." (450 F.2d at 4)

Therefore, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, in Mendez-
Rodriguez (supra), held that the Government's unilateral action
in deporting six witnesses to the alleged criminal activity
before the Defendant had an opportunity to interview them vio-

lated due process and compulsory process requirements.

Further, the Ninth Circuit declined to require a showing
by the Defendant that the witnesses would have offered favorable
testimony or even speculate as to whether an interview would
have proven fruitful. The Court recognized that this burden
might well be impossible to meet since the witnesses were
“unavailable”:

“Appellant concedes that he is unable to

show that the witnesses in question would
have offered testimony favorable to the
defense. Such statement is understandable in
view of the fact that Appellant was, by the

Government's action, deprived of the opportunity
to interview said witnesses." (450 F.2d at 5)

Later, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals held in
United States vs. Tsutagawa, 500 F.2d 420 (9th Cir. 1974) that the

Defendant was not required to show prejudice resulting from the
unavailability of the deported witnesses. In that case the

Ninth Circuit stated as follows:

“Mendez-Rodriguez, prevents the Government

from 3 who will be a helpful witness

for the accused. The accused (or here, prospective
accused) has the right to make that decision for
himself, either by interviewing potential alien
witnesses or by waiving the right to do so. The
thrust of Mendez-Rodriguez is to prevent the basic
unfairness of allowing the Government to determine
which witnesses will not help either side and then
to release those witnesses, for all practical
purposes, beyondthe reach of the Defendant. (Cita-
tion ommitted) The vise lies in the unfettered
ability of the Government to make the decision
unilaterally. The Sixth Amendment guarantees the
Defendant the right to subpoena favorable witnesses.
(Citation ommitted) Here, the Government placed
witnesses, who may have been favorable to the
Appellee, outside the power of the Court to require
attendance. In Mendez” Roce igquer we held that this
same act denied t accus ue process because it
interferred with his ability to defend himself with
criminal charges. (Citation ommitted) A defendant
has the right to formulate his defense unhibited by
Government conduct that, in affect, prevents him
from interviewing witnesses who may be involved

and from determining whether he will subpoena and
call them in his defense.” (500 F.2d at 423)

Still later the Ninth Circuit qualified the above general

rule even further in the case of United States vs. Gonzales,

617 F.2d 1358 (9th Cir. 1980) wherein they stated that a Defendant
must show that he “could conceivably" benefit from the missing

-7-

witnesses testimony.
It is the contention of the Government in its Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari that the Fifth Circuit decision of

United States vs. Avila-Domiguez, 610 F.2d 1266 (Sth Cir., 1980),

requires a showing of “real prejudice” before a dismissal of the
indictment is warranted. That is not the holding of that case.

United States vs. Avila-Domiguez, (supra) states as follows:

„. „ „ We are in general accord with the
proposition set forth in Mendez-Rodriguez

and Calzada that to obtain relief in a case

of this kind, the Defendant need not show
prejudice arising from the violation with

any degree of assuredness". (Citation ommitted)
But we agree with the dissents in both of those
cases that reversal is not warranted where the
record is completely devoid of anything which
would suggest that the testimony of any one or
more of the deported persons would have been
helpful to the Defendant. (Citation ommitted)
And that it does not seem too much to require
that they offer at least a plausible theory of
how the testimony of the witnesses would be
helpful to the defense. (610 F.2d at 1269 and
1270).

Therefore, what the Government, in its Petition for Writ of
Certiorari smugly dismisses as “the vivid imagination of the
Respondent's counsel as to possible, but entirely remote, scenarios“
is exactly what the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in U.S. vs.

Avila-Domiguez, (supra) required when they spoke of “at least a

plausible theory”.

Obviously, unlike counsel for the Government, the trial
judge, experienced in the many nuances and theories of criminal
litigation, had no problem in recognizing the "conceivable benefit”
the missing witnesses could offer to the defense of the Respondent.
In response to a question from the attorney for the co-defendant as
to why the Motion for Dismissal filed by the Respondent was granted

on Mendez-Rodriguez grounds and that of his co-defendant denied tie

District Court Judge answered as follows:

»The same material facts didn't operate
because the co-defendant was inside there
to make a delivery, he could have very well
said something to the woman--I've just come
across here to carry a bag” or something
and there was a strong possibility that we
could have had exculpatory evidence for

Marquez-Amaya but none for Salcedo and that
in that l. lar case the Government vas

derelict in not holding onto those

until after counsel had a chance to

discuss them, but you simply don't have

that in your case“ (T. R. 44)
It is clear, therefore, that this case is not unique and/or
confusing with relation to Mendez-Rodriguez and its progeny
and/or the guarantees of the Sixth Amendment to the United States
Constitution.

2. Secondly, in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

the Government raises a red herring. At page 8 of the Writ the
Government states as follows:

"In addition, he knew their address

in Mexico, but he did no more to secure

their presence than state to the Court

that they would be unavailable."
In fact, the father of the Respondent attempted to locate the
two (2) missing alien witnesses so that Respondent's counsel
could interview them. Also, when the Drug Enforcement
Administration agent attempted to locate the missing alien
witnesses, the Respondent's father furnished them with a previous
address for “this woman and her daughter”. (T.R. 5) When he
attempted to locate them the Respondent's father was told by
relatives of the missing woman“ that she had fled to the interior
of Mexico because she feared Drug Enforcement Administration
Agents. Although these representations as to the fear of the
“woman” are not referred to in the official record the Court was made
aware of this. In fact it was the Assistant United States Attorney
who refers, in the record, to the fact that the Respondent's father
was assisting the Drug Enforcement Administration in their efforts
to locate the two (2) women. The unsuccessful efforts of the
Respondent's father in locating the witnesses on behalf of Responcent's
counsel was the support and basis for counsel's statement to the

Court that “those witnesses are not going to be available”. D. R. 6)

However, even assuming that Respondent made no effort to
locate the missing alien witnesses dismissal of the Indictment was
Still warranted. The Government proposes that this Court place
upon a Defendant the requirement that he produce an affidavit or
other evidence of the testimony the witness would give, or a
satisfactory explanation for his inability to do so". Further the
Government states that, by imposing this requirement as a precondition
to dismissal, this Court would encourage a Defendant's diligence
in attempting to locate the missing witnesses. In effect the
Government would shift the burden of proof from the Government to the
Defendant. This is, of course, contrary to Constitutional |
mandate. In fact, by not imposing this requirement this
Court is discouraging Government law enforcement officials from
unilaterally placing potential witnesses beyond the subpoena power
of the Court and depriving a Defendant of his constitutionally
guaranteed right to “formulate his defense" and determining, for
himself, which witnesses would aid in his defense. U.S. vs.
Tsutagawa, (supra). The adoption of the standard proposed by the
Government could actually encourage law enforcement officers to
deprive defendants of exculpatory evidence and thereby subvert the
orderly administration of justice. It is not inconceivable that this

standard would result in the innocent being “brought to book”.

3. In the Petition for Writ of certiorar i the Government
next discusses alternatives which were available to the Court other
than dismissal of the Indictment against the Respondent. The same
argument was presented to the Court below and summarily dismissed
as it should have been. At oral argument on the Motion to Dismiss
filed by the Respondent the Government suggested that the Court
could, in the alternative to dismissal, “suppress all evidence
relating to the Respondent's presence at the trailer and his

participation in the actual transfer of heroin." (T.R. 19)

-10-

In other words the Government would have the trial Court supress
all evidence relating to the substantive acts.

Under this proposal the Government could proceed against the
Respondent on the conspiracy count contained in the Indictment. This
suggestion was hardly a “reasonable solution" as suggested by the
Government. This suggested alternative plus the suggested alternat
of the “absent witness instruction” again shows nothing more than
a basic lack of trial expertise and an attempt to shift the burden
of proof from the Government to the Defendant.

It is fundamental that criminal intent and guilty knowledge

are essential elements to a conspiracy conviction. U.S. vs. Sheiner,

273 F.Supp. 977, Affirmed 410 F.2d 337, certiorari denied 90 S.Ct. 68,
396 U.S. 825, 24 L.Ed.2d 76. Any evidence the missing witnesses
“could conceivably” have provided the Respondent as to his knowledge
and intent with relation to the substantive acts would (or could)

also necessarily be relevant to the intent and knowledge elements

of the conspiracy count. The trial court judge realized this fact and,
as a result, refused to accept the Government's offer of a “reasonable
solution”. Likewise, hollow and fundamentally unfair is the
Government's proposal that the Respondent be allowed the “absent
witness instruction". Substituting an instruction for live
exculpatory testimony may seem a panacea on a theortical level but,

in actuality, it is a terribly ineffectual barter.

4. In its final argument the Government seems to propose
that the result in this case requires (1) the Government jail all
potential illegal alien witnesses “for substantial periods of
time and (2) “plainly guilty defendants” have a lesser right to
Constitutional guarantees than do other defendants.

The dilemma of “missing alien witnesses" is not a new or
vexing problem as is suggested by the Government. Its origin is
rooted in the rapid growth of alien smuggling cases in the early
seventies. The manifest injustice of placing innocent witnesses
in custody while releasing on bail their smugglers was obvious to all.
Federal authorities seemingly had no other choice if they were to

-ll-

both prosecute the smugglers (the witnesses had to testify at
trial as to certain elements necessary to conviction) and protect
the Sixth Amendment rights of the Defendant. One proposed
solution to this problem is found in 18 U.S.C.A. §3149. This
section provides for the deposition of material witnesses and
their subsequent release. In fact this measure is effectively being
used in the District of Arizona and has been so used since the early
seventies.
The advantage in the Government availing itself of

18 U.S.C.A. §3149 is twofold. First it releases innocent witnesses
at a relatively early date and eliminates the need for the Goveranant
to fill “its jails with non-criminal alien witnesses." It also
allows for successful prosecution. Secondly it allows a defendant
to have an opportunity to interview the witnesses and object to
their release if he decides they are needed to prepare and/or present
his defense. That would be sufficient to protect his Sixth Amendment
rights. That is currently all the law requires of the prosecution and
law enforcement officers:

"Since we believe, however, that the

better procedure for protecting the

Constitutional rights here involved

would be for the Government to give

notice of prospective deportation and

a reasonable opportunity to interview

the witnesses. .." U.S. vs. Avila-Dominguez
(supra) at 1269

Admittedly depositions of material witnesses which are later
used at trial may present problems in relation to the confrontation
clause of the Constitution. But that is not the issue in the instant
case. If it were, then review by this Court might be appropriate.

Finally the “plainly guilty” argument of the Government is
not worthy of response. Although this proposition, unfortunately,
may today be politically popular and even accepted and pro, ied by
some of those in political power, it has no support in our system of

justice. Hopefully it never will.

-12-

CONCLUSION

The issue raised by the Government is illusory only
and the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this 27th day of November, 1981.
GAMA AND GUERRERO

By Zhe, G 8

1150 First Interstate Bank
100 West Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85003
Attorney for Respondent

1

IN THE
SUPREME CQURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1980
NUMBER

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
vs.

JOSE ENRIQUEZ MARQUEZ-AMAYA,
Respondent.

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE

PETER A. GUERRERO, being first duly sworn, deposes
and says:

That in accordance with Rule 33(2) (a), Supreme
Court Rules, he has served a copy of Respondent's Response
on the United States Attorney for the District of Arizona,
Tucson, Arizona, and has forwarded by mail a copy of the
following documents to the Solicitor General, Department of
Justice, Washington, D.C., on this 27th day of November, 1981.

1. Motion for Leave to Proceed in
Forma Pauperis;

2. Response to Petition for Writ of
Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit;

3. Affidavit of Service.

GAMA AND GUERRERO

oy Le le
PETER A. GUERRE

Attorney for Respondent
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this 27th day of
November, 1981.

My Commission Expires:

January 16, 1982

-14-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385008_0311%3A0. Public record. Not legal advice.
