# Opposition — Shell Oil Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2221%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 454 U.S. 830

## Text

OOOO TETLleee

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
No. 80-2044 AUG 4 1981
REERANCE. STEVAS,
CLERK
Iu the Supreme Court of the United States
OcTOBER TERM, 1980

SHELL OIL COMPANY AND HARBOR
TOWING CORPORATION, PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Acting Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

American Construction Co. v. Jacksonville Ry. 148
U.S. 372
Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen
v. Bangor & Aroostook R.R., 389 U.S. 327 ..........
Dickinson Vv. Petroleum Corp., 338 U.S. 507 ..........
Hamilton Shoe Co. v. Wolf Brothers, 240 U.S. 251..

Statutes:

Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C.
(& Supp. III) 1251 et seq.:

33 U.S.C. (& Supp. II) 13821 ........................
33 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 1321(c) (1) ............
33 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 1821(f) ..................

28 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 2415(b)

Miscellaneous:

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 91-940, 91st Cong., 2d Sess.
(1970) ‘

Page

owe w

Iu the Supreme Cont of the United Stairs

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 80-2044

SHELL OIL COMPANY AND HARBOR
TOWING CORPORATION, PETITIONERS

Vv,
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

Petitioners contend that the court of appeals, in
reversing the district court’s dismissal of the govern-
ment’s complaint, erred in holding that the govern-
ment’s suit to recover the costs of oil spilled by peti-
tioners into the navigable waters of the United
States was not time-barred.

1. This is an action by the government under the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. (&
Supp. III) 1321, to recover the costs of cleaning up an
oil spill. The government’s complaint alleged that
petitioners had spilled oil into the Patapsco River on
August 10, 1975, and that the government had ex-
pended nearly $500,000 in cleaning up this oil from

(1)

2

the waters and surrounding beaches, boats, and booms.
The government’s clean-up operations were completed
on September 12, 1975. This suit was filed on Sep-
tember 6, 1978.

The district court granted petitioners’ motion for
summary judgment and dismissed the complaint as
time-barred. The court held that the three-year limi-
tations period for actions founded upon a tort (28
U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 2415(b)) applies to suits by
the government to recover clean-up costs under the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act; that the govern-
ment’s cause of action arose on the date of the oil
spill; and therefore that the three-year period had ex-
pired before the government had filed its suit.

The court of appeals reversed and remanded for
further proceedings on the government’s complaint
(Pet. App. la-14a). Assuming arguendo that the
three-year limitations period of 28 U.S.C. (& Supp.
III) 2415(b) applied to this action, the court held
that the government’s cause of action under the Fed-
eral Water Pollution Control Act did not accrue until
its clean-up operations had been completed (Pet. App.
5a) and hence that the instant suit was timely filed
within three years of the “undisputed” completion
date of September 12, 1975 (id. at 7a).

2. Because the decision of the court of appeals is
interlocutory in nature, further review at this time
is unwarranted. The decision below merely places
petitioners in the same position they would have oc-
cupied if the district court had denied their motion
for summary judgment in the first instance, and it
is clear that such a denial would not have been sub-
ject to pretrial appeal. The same considerations that
counsel against an interlocutory appeal of the denial
of a summary-judgment motion militate against in-

3

terlocutory review of the present petition by this
Court. Following a final judgment in the district
court and completion of appellate review, petitioners
will be able to raise the statute-of-limitations issue,
together with any other issues concerning their lia-
bility under 33 U.S.C. (& Supp. ITI) 1321(f), in a
single petition for a writ of certiorari.’

3. In any event, the decision below is correct and
does not conflict with any decision of this Court or
of any other court of appeals. Accordingly, review
by this Court is not warranted.

The court of appeals held that the complaint in
this case was timely filed because “[t]he cause of
action [under the Federal Water Pollution Control
Act] for recouping expenses incurred by the govern-
ment does not fully accrue until the government has
completely exercised its option [whether to remove
the spilled oil] and completed the cleanup operation”
(Pet. App. 5a).? This holding is entirely consistent
with the text and operation of the Act.

1 This Court will “not issue a writ of certiorari to review a
decree of the * * * [c]ourt of [a]ppeals on appeal from an
interlocutory order, unless it is necessary to prevent extra-
ordinary inconvenience and embarassment in the conduct of
the cause.” American Construction Co. Vv. Jacksonville Ry.,
148 U.S. 872, 384 (1893). See also, e.g., Brotherhood of
Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen v. Bangor & Aroostook
R.R., 389 U.S. 327 (1967); Hamilton Shoe Co. v. Wolf
Brothers, 240 U.S. 251, 257-258 (1916). To grant review in
the circumstances of this case would entail “the inconvenience
and costs of piecemeal review * * *.” Dickinson v. Petrolewm
Corp., 388 U.S. 507, 511 (1950).

2 Contrary to petitioners’ suggestion (Pet. 5, 7), the court
of appeals did not hold that the three-year limitations period
for tort suits is applicable to actions to recover clean-up costs
under the Federal Water Pollution Control Act. Rather, the
court held only that this case was not time-barred even

4

Under the Federal Water Pollution Control Act,
“(t]he primary duty for cleaning [up] the oil spill,
was of course, upon the [c]ompanies” (Pet. App. 4a;
citations omitted).* In addition, however, the Act
also provides that “[w]henever any oil * * * is dis-
charged * * * into or upon the navigable waters of
the United States * * *, the President is authorized
to act to remove or arrange for the removal of such
oil * * * at any time, unless he determines such
removal will be done properly by the * * * [responsi-
ble private parties].” 33 U.S.C. (& Supp. III)
1321(c)(1) (emphasis added). Thus, the Act ives
“the Executive Branch an option” (Pet. App. 4a) by
authorizing the President, in his discretion, to under-
take to remove the oil “[i]n order to avoid the obvi-

assuming the applicability of the statute of limitations urged
by petitioners. Therefore. the court did not consider the gov-
ernment’s additional arguments that no statute of limitations
applies to this statutory action to recover clean-up costs and
that, if a limitations period is applicable, the action is quasi-
contractual in nature and thus subject to a six-year limit
(Pet. App. 4a).

3 Petitioners claim (Pet. 7-8 & n.6) that polluters are under
no obligation to clean up their oil spills and indeed are not
even permitted to do so in the absence of permission by the
President. In petitioners’ view, the Act imposes upon the
President the affirmative duty to clean up such spills. This
novel contention is inconsistent with the plain language of the
statute, which “authorize[s]” but nowhere requires the Presi-
dent to act. Moreover, the Conference Report, in the sentence
immediately following that quoted by petitioners (Pet. 8 n.6),
makes clear that the statute “is not to be construed to inhibit
or prevent any owner or operator from undertaking whatever
action is necessary to contain or remove an oil discharge.”
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 91-940, 91st Cong., 2d Sess, 38 (1970).

5

ous consequences of possible delay or ineffectiveness”
by the private parties (id. at 4a). In exercising this
option, “[t]he President may act or decline to act.
* * * [Moreover,] once a government cleanup is
started it can be delayed at the direction of the Presi-
dent. * * * [And g]lovernment action in appropriate
circumstances might be terminated prior to comple-
tion” (id. at 5a).

As a concomitant to this authority, the Act en-
titles the United States to recover actual costs of
removal up to (a) full costs in cases of willful negli-
gence or willful misconduct, or (b) costs within stat-
utory limits in all other cases. 33 U.S.C. (& Supp.
III) 1321(f). Since this cause of action to recover
clean-up costs is grounded on the government’s effort
to remove the oil spill, and since that effort is still in
progress and subject to modification prior to comple-
tion of the clean-up, the “injury” addressed by the
statute does not occur until the removal of the oil
has been finished. Accordingly, the court of appeals
correctly held, consistent with the general law on
statutes of limitations cited by petitioners, that the
government’s cause of action did not accrue until the
removal of the oil had been completed and the statu-
tory injury to the United States had become final.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the
petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Acting Solicitor General
AuGusT 1981

W ov. Ss. Government printing orrice; 1961 351724 574

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2221%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
