# Petitioners Reply Brief — Frackelton v. Swanson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2195%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 454 U.S. 879

## Text

Office-Supreme Court, U.S,
a FILED
* SEP 8 1981
No. 80-2016 ALEXANDER 1. STEVAG,
In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

JAMES P. FRACKELTON,
Petitioner,
vs.

GUS SWANSON, VIRGINIA SWANSON,
SHIA SHAPIRO,

Respondents.

On Petirion ror A Writ or CERTIORARI TO THE
Onto Supreme Court

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

Donatp M. Rosiner, Counsel of Record
Pau. F. Levin
SCHWARZWALD, Rosinern, Wotr & Rock,
A Legal Professional Association

616 Bond Court

1300 East Ninth Street

Cleveland, Ohio 44114

216/566-1600

Counsel for Petitioner

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—TEL, (216) 621-5647

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ARGUMENT 1

The Constitutional Claims Presented Were Suf-
ficiently Raised In The State Courts, And Decided
There es 2

CONCLUSION 4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Braniff Airways v. Nebraska State Board, 347 U.S. 590
(1954) 2
Charleston Federal Savings v. Alderson, 324 U.S. 182
(1945) 3,4
Crowell v. Randell, 35 U.S. 365 (1836) .. 2
Konigsberg v. State Bar of California, 353 U.S. 252
(1956) 4
New York ex rel. Bryant v. Zimmerman, 278 U.S. 63
(1978) 2
Raley v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423 (1959) 4
Saltonstall v. Saltonstall, 276 U.S. 260 (1928) ................ 3
Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576 (1969) : 3
Thompson v. City of Louisville, 362 U.S. 199 (1960) ...... 4

Vachon v. New Hampshire, 414 U.S. 478 (1974), reh.
den., 415 U.S. 952 ....... - 4

No. 80-2016
In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

JAMES P. FRACKELTON,
Petitioner,
vs.

GUS SWANSON, VIRGINIA SWANSON,
SHIA SHAPIRO,

Respondents.

On PETITION FoR A Writ of CERTIORARI TO THE
Onto Supreme Court

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

ARGUMENT

Respondents contend that petitioner improperly in-
vokes the jurisdiction of this Court by having failed to
sufficiently and properly raise the federal question in
the state courts. Petitioner submits this reply brief in
support of his petition and in response to Respondents’
allegations.

THE CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIMS PRESENTED
WERE SUFFICIENTLY RAISED IN THE STATE
COURTS, AND DECIDED THERE.

Review of the briefs filed by petitioner in both the
trial court and the Ohio Court of Appeals reveals that
petitioner asserted that the practice of medicine is a pro-
tected property right under the Constitutions of the United
States and Ohio; and that interference with this property
right constitutes an unconstitutional deprivation of prop-
erty. (Page 11, Brief in Opposition to Motions to Dismiss;
and pages 19 and 20, Assignments of Error and Brief filed
in the Court of Appeals of Ohio, Eighth Appellate Dis-
trict, copies of which briefs have been lodged with the
Clerk of the Supreme Court by respondents). Respon-
dents concede that the constitutional issues were clearly
raised in the memorandum in support of jurisdiction filed
by petitioner in the Supreme Court of Ohio.

While respondents may question the precision with
which the constitutional issues were raised, it cannot be
denied that such issues were raised. This Court has stated
that in order to preserve a constitutional issue for review,
a party need not state the issue in totidem verbis, so
long as the issue is raised by a necessary inference from
the facts. Crowell v. Randell, 35 U.S. 365 (1836). Nor
need the specific federal right or constitutional provision
be set out in order to give this Court jurisdiction to review
a state court decision. If the record demonstrates that a
federal question has been brought to the attention of a
state court either expressly or by clear intendment, ju-
risdiction is preserved. New York ex rel. Bryant v. Zim-
merman, 278 U.S. 63 (1978). See also, Braniff Airways
v. Nebraska State Board, 347 U.S. 590 (1954).

3

Furthermore, even if there was some colorable lack
of precision in framing the constitutional question before
the courts below, the question was clearly placed before
the Ohio Supreme Court, and that Court ruled on the
issue. Reference to the Ohio Supreme Court’s order dis-
missing the appeal (Appendix A-2, to the petition for
writ of certiorari), reveals that the Supreme Court of
Ohio sua sponte dismissed petitioner’s appeal “for the rea-
son that no substantial constitutional question exists
herein”. In order to reach such a conclusion, the Ohio
Supreme Court must necessarily have considered the con-
stitutional issue. The only constitutional issue which was
presented before the Ohio Supreme Court is the precise
constitutional issue presented here, i.e. that dismissal of
the malicious prosecution action violated petitioner’s due
process and equal protection rights guaranteed by the
United States Constitution. The Ohio Supreme Court
could have considered and dismissed no other constitu-
tional question, for no other constitutional question was
raised. It is well established that even in face of a de-
ficiency in the particularity with which a federal issue
was framed below, that deficiency is cured if the highest
state court assumed that the federal question was prop-
erly before it and expressly considered and decided same.
Thereafter, this Court will not inquire into the framing
of the issue below. Saltonstall v. Saltonstall, 276 U.S, 260
(1928); ‘Charleston Federal Savings v. Alderson, 324 U.S.
182 (1945). Moreover, a state court’s refusal or failure
to articulate its denial of a federal claim is just as review-
able as an express decision. The question of whether the
issue was raised properly is itself a federal question, as to
which this Court is not bound by the state court decision.
Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576 (1969). After a state
supreme court has decided a constitutional issue, any in-
quiry as to how or when the issue was raised is considered

4

irrelevant by this Court, and an irrebuttable presumption
exists that the issue was properly raised below. Charles-
ton Federal Savings v. Alderson, supra, This is true
even if the issue was raised in the assignments of error
only. The lower court is still deemed to have considered
the question. Konigsberg v. State Bar of California, 353
U.S. 252 (1956).

Finally, even in the absence of a showing that a con-
stitutional issue was raised at the earliest possible time,
this Court has never precluded itself from considering
such constitutional issues. This Court has exercised re-
view with respect to plain errors of constitutional propor-
tions not raised below. Vachon v. New Hampshire, 414
U.S. 478 (1974), reh. den., 415 U.S. 952; Thompson v, City
of Louisville, 362 U.S. 199 (1960). If various rights, priv-
ileges and immunities are claimed, certiorari has been
granted to determine issues of great public importance.
Raley v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423 (1959).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons advanced in the petition for writ of
certiorari, and in this reply brief, the petition for writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ScCHWARZWALD, Ropiner, Wotr & Rock,
A Legal Professional Association

Donatp M. Rosiner, Counsel of Record
Pau. F. LEvIn

616 Bond Court

1300 East Ninth Street

Cleveland, Ohio 44114

216/566-1600

Attorneys for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2195%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
