# Motion to Dismiss or Affirm — Mason v. Abrams

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2156%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss or Affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 454 U.S. 806

## Text

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
JUL 18 1981

No. 80-1977 ALEXAND ® L. STEVAS,

CLERK

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1980

— *
A

Liypva F. Mason,
Appellant,
against

Rosert Asrams, Attorney General of the
State of New York,
Appellee.

Own APPEAL FROM THE CouRT or APPEALS
or THE State or New York

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

Rosert Asrams

Attorney General of the
State of New York

Attorney Pro Se

Office & P.O. Address

Two World Trade Center

New York, New York 10047

Tel. No. (212) 488-7407

Surecey Apevson Srecen
Solicitor General

Caries Bropy
Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ey Ge SONEIOND 5, 5 ob csc wlaicek's eee by ewer i

Motion To Dismiss Or, In The Alternative, Affirm 1

Gee 0H CD FCOOCOUINE co nkcccccncccnsduscceteace 1
PE EE DOU i spk asveassces stakvonecnereeas 2
Background and Pleadings ................0.0+5 2
The Good Cause Hearing ........ccccccccccees 4
Pornt I—The Federal Questions Is Insubstantial .... 8

Pornt II—In the Alternative, the order of the Court
of Appeals of the State of New York should be

PE Sabievseveckpsrieentacsacctustdrcenves 9
PU EE oak £6 0 0054s uve escesstereeeue 10
PUD Ss o-cess bdovccdcssnetenceuhiesbronpeue 10
DRL §114 is constitutional as applied to Ap-
EG os bcc co'sccecrecssccenveathevesvubnens 13
SOE 5-0 ia coc cedeacucwh esaysduversuelenneei 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ALMA Society, Inc. v. Mellon, 459 F. Supp. 912
(S.D.N.Y. 1978), aff’d, 601 F. 2d 1225 (2d Cir.)

cert, denied, 444 U.S. 995 (1979) ............. 8,11, 12
Application of Maples, 563 S.W. 2d 760 (Mo. 1978)
CON DUE) kee bu coded ndduseectseviersnipeens 9,10, 12

SUT) cevcsvevsvccccvcccrccvcescesovevceenace

Chattman v. Bennett, 57 A D 2d 618, 393 N Y S 2d 768
We IN 5 cide iiiivicsssseve en 13

ii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Department of Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352 (1976) 10
Eisenstadt y. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972) .......... 10
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) ...... 10
In re Adoption of Rand, 347 So. 2d 450 (Fla. Ct. App.
FEE ioe caste louves caved viscpuvixoessseess 9
In re Application of Anonymous, 89 Mise. 2d 132, 390
N Y S 2d 779 (Sur. Ct. Qns. Co. 1976) ......... 9,12
In re Application of Anonymous, 92 Mise. 2d 224, 399
N Y S 2d 857 (Sur. Ct. Qns. Co. 1977) .......... 12
In re C.A.B., 384 A. 2d 679 (D.C. Ct. App. 1978) .... 9
In re Linda F.M. (I), 92 Mise. 2d 828, 401 N Y S 2d
Fem Cs Ces Es GA, BO) ov ke csvvosesccsscess 3
In re Linda F.M. (II), 95 Mise. 2d 581, 409 N Y S 2d
638 (Sur. Ct. Bx. Co. 1978) ........ceceeeeeeees 12,13
In re Maxtone-Graham, 90 Mise. 2d 107, 393 N Y S 2d
Sew Ce AA, Fe GO SDFG) cscceccececccpeus> 9,12
In re Spinks, 232 S.E. 2d 479 (N.C. Ct. App. 1977) . 12
Isaac v. Town of ee 277 N.Y. 37, 12 N.E. 2d
gt. error res PP PPerr rr rer rer rrrrrrr 14
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) .......... 11,12
Mills v. Atlantic City Department of Vital Statistics,
372 A. 2d 646 (N.J. Ch. Div. 1977) ............ 9,12

People ex rel. Scarpetta v. Spence-Chapin Adoption
Service, 28 N Y 2d 185, 321 N Y S 2d 651 (1971) = 11

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) ........seeeeeeee 10
Smith v. Organization of Foster Families for Equality

and Reform, 431 U.S. 816 (1977) ........0000e: 13
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557, 564 (1969) ........ 10

Yesterday’s Children v, Kennedy, 569 F, 2d 431 (7th
Cir. 1977), reh. denied, cert. denied, 437 U.S. 904
TE st nuda Micdedhass Mabeereeesebuees eeees 9

No. 80-1977

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

’'
vv

Linpa F. Mason,

Appellant,
against

Rosert Asprams, Attorney General of the
State of New York,
Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE Court oF APPEALS
OF THE State oF New York

s.
~

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

Motion To Dismiss Or, In The Alternative, Affirm

Robert Abrams, Attorney General of the State of New
York, respectfully moves this Court to dismiss this appeal
or, in the alternative, to affirm the order of the Court of
Appeals of the State of New York.

Parties to the Proceeding

The parties to this proceeding are Linda F. Mason,
appellant, and Robert Abrams, Attorney General of the
State of New York, appellee.

2

Statement of Facts

Background and Pleadings

Appellant was born on July 19, 1940. She was adopted

on March 4, 1941 pursuant to an order of the Surrogate’s
Court of Bronx County of the State of New York. Ap-
pellant’s adoption records and original birth certificate
were sealed pursuant to Section 114 of the Domestic Rela-
tions Law (McKinney’s) (‘‘DRL’’) and to Section 567-2.0
of the New York City Administrative Code, respectively.*

* DRL § 114 provides, in pertinent part,

‘*{the adoption] order and all papers in the proceeding shall
be filed in the office of the court granting the adoption and
the order shall be entered in books which shall be kept under
seal and which shall be indexed by the name of the adoptive
parent and by the full original name of the child. Such
order, including orders heretofore entered, shall be subject to
inspection only as hereinafter provided.’’

NYC Administrative Code § 567-2.0 provides:

**§ 567-2.0 Supplemental birth records.
a. A new birth record shall be made whenever:
oo + co .

3. Notification is received by the department from the clerk
of a court of competent jurisdiction or proof is submitted of
a judgment, order or decree relating to the adoption of the
person. (Subd. as amended by L, 1950, ch, 415, July 1).

ec. When a new birth record is made the department shall
substitute such new record for the birth record then on file.
The department shall place the original birth record and the
proof, notification and papers pertaining to the new birth
record under seal. Seals shall not be broken except by order
of a court of competent jurisdiction. Thereafter when a
certified copy of the certificate of birth of such a person is
issued, it shall be a copy of the new certificate of birth, except
when an order of a court of competent jurisdiction shall re-
quire the issuance of a copy of the original certificate of
birth.’’

3

On June 3, 1977, appellant petitioned the Surrogate’s
Court of Bronx County to inspect her adoption records.
Her petition alleged various psychological and medical
reasons to justify her desire to review her records and
claimed that these reasons satisfied the ‘‘good cause’’ re-
quirement of DRL 4 114 necessary to unseal the records.”
Finally, the petition alleged that if appellant’s petition
were dismissed for failure to establish good cause, the
requirement of good cause was unconstitutional as applied
to appellant.

The Attorney General was cited pursuant to Section 71
of the Executive Law to appear in support of the con-
stitutionality of the statute. The Corporation Counsel of
New York City appeared as the legal representative of the
New York City Department of Health, which had posses-
sion of appellant’s sealed original birth certificate. The
Attorney General and the Corporation Counsel denied that
DRL § 114 was unconstitutional.

The trial court held that appellant’s natural parents
were necessary parties to the application. Jn re Linda
F.M., 92 Mise 2d 828, 829, 401 N Y S 2d 960, 962 (Sur. Ct.
Bx. Co. 1978) (‘‘In re Linda F.M. (I)’’). Rather than ap-
point a guardian ad litem to represent these parties, the

***No person shall be allowed access to such sealed records
and order and any index thereof except upon an order of a
judge or surrogate of the court in which the order was made
or of a justice of the supreme court. No order for disclosure
or access and inspection shall be granted except on good cause
shown and on due notice to the adoptive parents and to such
additional persons as the court may direct.’’

The petitioner further alleged that this requirement of the
statute did not apply to either a private adoption or an application
by an — adoptive. Appellant has since abandoned these issues
on appeal.

4

judge requested the Attorney General to participate in the
good cause hearing.*

The Good Cause Hearing

Five witnesses testified at the good cause hearing: Mrs.
Anne Mason, appellant’s adoptive mother; Ms. Mason, ap-
pellant; Dr. Gendel, a psychiatrist who specialized in
psychiatry and genetics; Rabbi Ebner, an orthodox Jewish
rabbi; and Dr. Reynolds, a psychologist.

Mrs. Mason testified that in 1971 when appellant was 31
years old, appellant was first told she was adopted.
(Tr. 16).°*

Appellant testified that in 1959, when she was 19, she
dropped out of college to get married. (Tr. 41). Less than
a year later, on September 13, 1960, appellant had a child.
Ibid. The next spring she transferred colleges and re-
entered school. In December of 1960 she divorced her
husband, after approximately two years of marriage. (Tr.
43). Appellant graduated from college two years later in
February of 1963 with a BA in Fine Arts. (Tr. 40-41).

Ms. Mason testified that she spent most of her time after
graduation at home caring for her son (Tr. 42), although
she did work part time, as a clerk. Jbid. In 1979, she
began working full time with a small typesetting firm and
now works in a law firm doing related work. (Tr. 42-43).

Ms. Mason remarried on November 2, 1971 (Tr. 50) but
the parties separated in January, 1974. (Tr. 28). Appel-

* Appellant challenged the participation of the Attorney Gen-
eral in the courts below. Appellant’s objection was based solely
on her claim that no other party was necessary for the hearing and
not that appellant was prejudiced in any way by the failure of
the trial court to appoint a guardian ad litem. In any event, this
issue has not been raised in this appeal.

** References to the transcript refer to the transcript of the good
cause hearing held on March 16, 1978, and are designated
sé (Tr. ).””

5

lant attributed the breakup of her marriage to the fact that
three years earlier she had learned of her adoption. On
cross-examination, she testified that during the marital
breakup she never sought help. (Tr. 28-29). Appellant
also testified to other causes for the dissolution of the mar-
riage. Her parents were opposed to the marriage because
her husband was younger than she and of a different
religion. (Tr. 22). In addition, her adoptive farther was
dying of cancer. (Tr. 22-23, 28).

Appellant testified that in 1974 she searched for records
dealing with her adoption, eventually finding a birth
certificate and her natural name. (Tr. 31). Her adoptive
mother then supplied her with her natural mother’s name
and address. (Tr. 32). There was no testimony of how
long the search took or its relevance to the instant pro-
ceeding.®

Ms. Mason testified that she had allergies which could
have been inherited by her son. (Tr. 21). However, she
admitted that her lack of knowledge of her natural parents
had not affected her son’s medical treatment. (Tr. 58).
There was no evidence that appellant or her son are under-
going, or had undergone, any medical treatment for which
genetic data was needed.**

Ms. Mason testified she could relate to people and to her
adoptive family. (Tr. 47). She testified that she had
consulted a psychiatrist in 1967 for about a year. (Tr. 45).
However, these consultations were not related to her
adoptive status. (Tr. 37). She saw Dr. Reynolds, a

* Apparently as a result of this investigation, appellant con-
cluded that the information in the sealed records was inaccurate.
Petition of Linda Mason verified May 24, 1977 at p. 5.

** Dr. Gendel is a psychiatrist specializing in psychiatry and
human genetics. (Tr. 60). He merely indicated that genetic his-
tory is useful in diagnosing certain ailments. There was no at-
tempt to relate his testimony to appellant’s claim, and he did not
discuss the only conditions appellant mentioned in her testimony :
hay fever, some allergies and asthma, (Tr. 21, 44-45).

6

psychologist, for a few times, but then terminated the
visits, (Tr. 36, 46).

Appellant testified that she wanted to inspect her records
because she was curious about what they contained,

When her counsel asked why she wanted to see the
records (which she concluded were inaccurate anyway)
Ms. Mason stated:

‘*Well, I don’t know if the documents are accurate as
to whatever names and addresses might be in them,
but if my mother’s signature is there, to just see some-
thing of hers and perhaps to be able to tell from how
she writes her name what level of education she had or
if it looks like forgery: would be very meanjngful to
me,’’ (Tr, 40).

Rabbi Ebner, a rabbi of the Orthodox Jewish faith, was
the next witness. There was no claim that appellant was,
or wanted to be, an Orthodox Jew. Therefore, his testi-
mony was excused as speculative.

The key witness in the good cause hearing was Dr.
Reynolds. Dr. Reynolds is a psychologist who has con-
ducted a study of adoptees. Ms. Mason first met Dr.
Reynolds when she responded to his advertisement for sub-
jects for his study. (Tr. 109). As part of the study, he
administered five written tests to her which were admitted
into evidence. (Tr. 145). The results were inconclusive.*

* Counsel for appellant sought Rabbi Ebner’s testimony to show
that Ms, Mason's son might want to marry an Orthodox Jewish
girl (Tr, 92) or might want to emigrate to Israel. (Tr, 96).

* Appellant scored in the middle range of a test measuring
self-reliance and in the middle range of a test measuring anxiety,
In two multi-phasic tests, Dr. Reynolds interpreted his scores as
indicating a high de of inquisitiveness, compulsivn, low trust
and emotional instability. In the last multi-phasic measuring some
fifteen different characteristics, appellant scored out of the normal
range on only one, which Dr, Reynolds described as self-image.
(Tr. 156-158).

7

(Tr. 158). Even the limited variations noted could have
been caused by events which were unrelated to her adop-
tion. (Tr. 156-158).

Dr. Reynolds testified that Ms. Mason subsequently came
to see him in February of 1977. Although he characterized
her condition as ‘‘quite disturbed’’ (Tr. 123), in a ‘‘fairly
large life crisis’? (Tr. 127) and ‘‘extremely disturbed’’
about discovering six years earlier that she was adopted
(Tr. 127), all of the courts that have reviewed this case
have rejected his conclusory testimony.

In February and March of 1977, Ms. Mason consulted
Dr. Reynolds for a very limited time, for three one-hour
sessions which consisted solely of interviews. (Tr. 144).
He saw her again one hour in September of 1977, three
months after appellant filed her petition. (Tr. 144). Dr.
Reynolds testified that he normally sees patients with
serious conditions for a year or more, (Tr. 146-147).
Furthermore, Dr. Reynolds stated that he was not treating
Ms. Mason, nor did he recommend that she receive any
treatment. (Tr. 140, 148). Dr. Reynolds admitted that in-
spection of the adoption records was not based on need,
but on his opinion that it would be beneficial to Ms, Mason
‘simply in terms of finding out about herself.’’ (Tr. 151).
He admitted that even this opinion as to a limited benefit
might be wrong because of his limited knowledge of her
background, (Tr. 136, 151-59).

The Surrogate held that appellant had not established
good cause and that the requirement of good cause was not
prohibited by the Constitution of the United States. Jn re
Linda F'.M., 95 Mise. 2d 581, 409 N Y 8 2d 638 (Sur. Ct.
Bx. Co. 1978) (hereinafter cited as ‘‘In re Linda F.M.
(11)’’). The Appellate Division unanimously affirmed on
the opinion below. The case was appealed to the Court of
Appeals, which unanimously affirmed without opinion the
decision of the trial court. See Jurisdictional Statement,
Appendix A.

8

POINT I
The Federal Question is Insubstantial.

New York’s requirement that adoptees must show good
cause before allowing inspection of adoption records was
held constitutional in ALMA Society, Inc. v, Mellon, 459 F.
Supp. 912 (8.D.N.Y. 1978), aff’d, 601 I, 2d 1225 (2d Cir.),
cert, denied, 444 U.S. 995 (1979). In ALMA, the Courts
rejected the same claims raised in this appeal. The District
Court held:

‘*It is the opinion of this Court that plaintiff’s rights
to privacy and to receive important information are
not constitutionally abridged by the New York statutes
but rather are permissibly limited in accordance with
a valid state interest to balance conflicting rights of
privacy and to protect the integrity of the adoption
process, which is likely to suffer if the assurances of
secrecy are not present. Constitutional principles of
equal protection do not require that all persons be
treated identically.

The state has more than a rational basis; it has a
compelling interest in regulating the access here.’’
459 I’, Supp. at 917.

This holding is clearly correct.

Of the 50 states, only six have adoption records access
to laws which are substantively different from the laws of
New York.* Every court that has considered the con-

*Only Alabama, Georgia, Kansas, Michigan, Montana and
Oklahoma open all adoption records to adult adoptees, 16 Ala.
Code § 26-104; Ga. Code § 74-417 (1981 stg an, Stat, § 65-
2423 (1979 Su P.) ; Mich, Stat. § 710.67 (1981 Supp.) ; Mont. Rev.
Codes Ann. ge 1-213, 69-4421; Okla. Stat. § 60.18 (1981 Supp.).
The District of Columbia, Montana and Pennsylvania allow adult
adoptees access to their original birth certificates, D.C. Code

16-314 (1979 Supp.) ; Mont. Rev. Codes Ann, § 69-4421; 1 Pa.

ons, Stat. § 507. lowa, South Dakota and Virginia allow adult
adoptees to inspect redacted adoption records. Iowa Code Nee ng
(1980 Supp.) ; 8. D. Compiled Laws Ann, § 625-6-15 (1972); Va.
Code § 63,1-236.

9

stitutionality of a statute restricting access to adoption
records has affirmed its constitutionality. Yesterday’s
Children v. Kennedy, 569 F. 2d 481 (7th Cir, 1977), reh.
denied, cert. denied, 437 U.S. 904 (1978); Application of
Maples, 563 8.W. 2d 760 (Mo. 1978) (en bane), The im-
portance of the state interest in preserving the con-
fidentiality of adoption records and the interest of the
natural parents in maintaining their privacy have been
universally recognized by the courts. ALMA Society, Ine.
v. Mellon, supra, 601 F. 2d 1225; In re Application of
Anonymous, 89 Mise. 2d 132, 134-35, 890 N Y S 2d 779, 782
(Sur. Ct. Qns. Co. 1976); In re Maxtone-Graham, 90 Mise.
2d 107, 109-10, 393 N Y S 2d 835, 836-37 (Sur, Ct, N.Y. Co.
1975). See also Application of Maples, supra; In re Adop-
tion of Rand, 347 So. 2d 450 (Fla. Ct. App. 1977); Mills v.
Atlantic City Department of Vital Statistics, 372 A. 2d
646, 655-56 (N.J. Ch. Div. 1977). Even courts in states
that provide for open access to adoption records by adult
adoptees have expressed concern for these competing in-
terests. In re C.A.B., 384 A. 2d 679 (D.C. Ct. App. 1978) ;
Chambers v. Parker, 349 So, 2d 424 (La. Ct. App. 1977).*

This consistent judicial recognition that there are im-
portant interests competing with appellant’s claimed right
to inspect adoption records established that there is no
substantial federal question involved in this appeal and
the appeal should be dismissed.

POINT Il

In the alternative, the order of the Court of Appeals
of the State of New York should be affirmed.

Appellant challenges the constitutionality of DRL $114
on the ground that it infringes upon her right of privacy

*For this reason, a number of states that once provided for
access by adult adoptees have imposed new restrictions. See 11
Ariz. Rev, Stat. § 36-326 (1981 Supp.); Conn. Gen, Stat. § 7-53
‘ 7 aan ); Pla. Stat. Ann. § 382.22 (1980) ; La. Rev. Stat. Ann,

10

and rights protected by the First Amendment. Every
court that has considered the question has rejected these
contentions without dissent.

First Amendment

Appellant misinterprets the First Amendment right to
receive information, which is the freedom to read and
listen to what we please without the State’s intrusion into
either our book or tape library. Stanley v. Georgia, 394
U.S. 557, 564 (1969) (App. br. 20, 21, 22). This is a far
ery from having a constitutional right to require an un-
willing speaker to speak or to receive information which
the State maintains as confidential, especially where there
are competing interests involved.

Privacy

Appellant alleges that DRL $114 interferes with a
fundamental constitutional ‘‘right of privacy’. Appellant
tries to transform a general right of privacy-a right to be
free from unwanted intrusion into her personal affairs-
into a quite different right, the right to foree government
to communicate with her about confidential information the
legislature has appropriately determined should be sealed
because it affects state interest and the privacy of other
individuals. This is the vital distinction between the lead-
ing privacy cases such as Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S.
479 (1965); Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973); Lisenstadt
v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972) and the case at bar.*

It is appellant who would invade the right of privacy
of others. This difference was recognized by the court in
Application of Maples, supra:

‘*Here, something quite different occurs; the natural
parents’ right of privacy is shielded by the statute but
appellant insists the state strip the anonymity they

* This distinction is also recognized in the Freedom of Informa-
tion Act cited by a ts (AP . br. 15). Department of Air
Force v. Rose, 425 U.S, 352 (1976).

11

believed was there and divulge the information re-
ceived under an additional cloak of confidentiality.
. . « There must be finality for the natural parents
and a new beginning; if there is a right of privacy not
to be lightly infringed, it would seem to be theirs.’’
563 S.W. 2d at 763.

Even if appellant’s privacy were in fact somehow in-
fringed by DRL § 114, the statute is still constitutional as
the scope of the general right to privacy is for the state
to define. Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 350-57
(1967). The New York legislature has balanced appel-
lant’s right to inspect her adoption records with valid, com-
peting state interests that the state has also recognized:
the state’s interest in promoting successful adoptions and
the right of privacy granted to the natural parents as past
of the adoption process.

New York has a strong public policy in favor of sealing
these records and in protecting the natural parents’ rights.
ALMA Society, Inc. vy. Mellon, supra; People ex rel.
Scarpetta v. Spence-Chapin Adoption Service, 28 N Y 2d
185, 321 N Y S 2d 651 (1971). DRL §114 is part of a
carefully considered and integrated statutory scheme. New
York’s scheme promotes the insulation of the adoptive
family from the natural parents. DRL §111-3. Con-
fidentiality also promotes the maximum candor of the
natural parents and the adoptive parents. The natural
parents must disclose intimate facts about themselves. An
extensive investigation is also made of prospective adopt-
ing parents. Clearly, confidentiality increases the likeli-
hood that such disclosure is freely given:

‘*Adoption is favored and encouraged as a matter of
public policy. To this end the natural parent or
parents must feel secure in the knowledge that their
identity usually will remain confidential. Certainly
the assurance of anonymity is an important considera-
tion in the parents’ decision to consent to the adoption

12

of their child.’’ In re Spinks, 232 8. 2d 479, 483
(N.C, Ct. App. 1977).

Accord, ALMA Society, Inc. v. Mellon, supra, 459 F. Supp.
at 916; Mills v. Atlantic City Department of Vital
Statistics, supra at 651, 653; In re Linda FM. (II); In re
Application of Anonymous, 89 Mise. 2d at 133-34, 390
N Y 8 2d at 780; Application of Maples, swpra at 763-65.

The State has reasonably provided the natural parents
with more than the expectation of privacy, to wit, with
statutory recognition of their rights, which are also pro-
tected by the Constitution. Katz v. United States, supra;
Roe v. Wade, supra at 152; Mills v. Atlantic City Depart-
ment of Vital Statistics, supra at 651.

Appellant’s claim that DRL § 114 impermissibly inter-
fers with an adoptee’s right to ‘‘identity’’ is fallacious.*
Any ‘‘identity crisis’’ is a result of adoption, a process
appellant is not challenging. It is the essence of adoption
that the natural family unit is severed and a new one
created. DRL $117; Application of Maples, supra; In re
Application of Anonymous, 89 Mise. 2d at 133, 390 N Y 8 2d
at 780. Proof that this creates severe psychological dis-
turbances at later times can constitute good cause entitling
the adoptee to access to her records. In re Application of
Anonymous, 92 Mise. 2d 224, 399 N Y 8 2d 857 (Sur. Ct.
Qns. Co. 1977); In re Maxtone-Graham, supra. However,
the mere fact that there is a ‘‘gap’’ in one’s life history is
not sufficient to establish good cause nor to establish a con-
stitutionally prohibited harm to an adoptee. ALMA
Society, Inc. v. Mellon, supra. As the trial court herein
held:

“It cannot be concluded that the constitution
envisaged rights such [as] ‘personality’ or an un-

* A few isolated studies are cited by appellant, some without
proper controls, (Tr. 110). As the Court of Appeals found, this
does not establish that adoptees per se have good cause to inspect
their records.

13

fettered right to receive any information one might
desire. Petitioner has neither shown a valid basis for
concluding from either the United States or New York
Constitutions that such rights exist or if they do exist
how they are violated by the statute at issue exceeding
the legitimate exercise by the state of its police powers.
In re Linda F.M. (II), 95 Mise. 2d at 591,409 NYS
2d at 643.

Similarly, if there is a need for genetic material, this can
also constitute good cause under the New York statute for
allowing access. Chattman v. Bennett, 57 A D 2d 618, 393
N Y 8S 2d 768 (2d Dept. 1977). The proof was simply in-
adequate here.

The issue before this Court is not whether New York’s
statutory scheme is the best possible but whether New
York could rationally conclude that maximum disclosure
during the adoption process (and successful placements)
is promoted by protecting the confidentiality of adoption
records. As this Court stated in Smith v. Organization of
Foster Families for Equality and Reform, 431 U.S. 816,
855-56 (1977),

‘We deal here with issues of unusual delicacy, in an
area where professional judgments regarding desire-
able procedures are constantly and rapidly changing.
In such a context, restraint is appropriate on the part
of courts called upon to adjudicate whether a par-
ticular procedural scheme is adequate under the Con-
stitution.’’

DRL § 114 is constitutional as applied to appellant

The trial court found that appellant had failed to estab-
lish good cause to view her adoption records. This was
unanimously affirmed by the Appellate Division and the
Court of Appeals. The trial court heard the witnesses and
could determine their credibility.

14

The Court should not overturn this determination. In
determining this appeal, evidence favorable to the prevail-
ing party should be construed as true and the prevailing
party should receive the benefit of every favorable in-
ference that can be drawn. Jsaac v. Town of Queensbury,
277 N.Y. 37, 12 N.E. 2d 785 (1938).

The record establishes that appellant proved no medical
need to inspect the record. Nor was there any attempt to
connect appellant’s lack of success in her second marriage
with the instant proceeding. The court was within its
rights to reject the conclusions of the psychologist, Dr.
Reynolds, because the facts did not support his conclusion.
Rather, Dr. Reynolds’ testimony was based on his belief
that any adoptee should be able to inspect her records;
this belief does not establish the unconstitutionality of DRL
§ 114.

The trial judge’s conclusion that no good cause was
shown was completely justified by the record and should be
affirmed by the Court.

CONCLUSION

Appeal should be dismissed, or, in the alternative,
the order of the Court of Appeals should be affirmed.

Dated: New York, New York
July 7, 1981

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert ABRAMS
Attorney General of the
State of New York
Attorney Pro Se
Sumwey Apetson Srecet
Solicitor General

Caries Bropy
Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2156%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
