# Opposition — MICHAEL CLEMENTE v. UNITED STATES (Nos. 80-1972, 80-1800, 80-2098)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2152%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980

## Text

Offics-Suprem? wor
Ct LBD

| JUL10 1981

}

Nos. 80-1972 and 80-2098

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1980

MICHAEL CLEMENTE, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

VINCENT COLUCCI, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Acting Solicitor General

D. LOWELL JENSEN
Assistant Attorney General

JoeEL M. GERSHOWITZ
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the group of individuals associated in this
case to commit unlawful acts for profit constituted an
“enterprise” within the meaning of the Racketeer Influ-
enced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C.
1961 et seq. (both petitioners).

2. Whether the application of the RICO statute to
groups of individuals associated for illegal purposes, rend-
ers the statute unconstitutionally vague (petitioner
Clemente).

3. Whether the district court instructed the jury incor-
rectly onthe RICO conspiracy count (petitioner Clemente).

4. Whether an invalidation of the RICO counts would
require reversal of petitioner Clemente’s non-RICO
convictions.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

EEE Gece ccsccccdsecccecvcccscccceces
TEs rece ceedhbedbodeveccepvocecs

ELIT PETE TT CETTE TEE

ET OSCE ELE ELLE ELITE
ee ewes eeecccececes

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141 ..... yin gek
Dunn v. United States, 442 U.S. 100 .........
Henderson vy. Kibbe, 431 U.S. 145 ...........

Huddleston v. United States, 445 U.S. _
PPCUNRREMRGGS ROSSER ceccecccccdecccsoeces

United States v. Aleman, 609 F. 2d 298,
cert. denied, 445 U.S. 946 ......cceeeecvves

United States v. Campanale, 518 F. 2d 353,
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1050 ........eeeeees

United States v. Diecidue, 603 F. 2d 535,
IES O08, DOO coccceccceccccece

United States v. Hawes, 529 F. 2d 472 .......

United States v. Huber, 603 F. 2d 387,
EE yr

United States v. Parness, 503 F. 2d 430,
cort. Genied, 419 U.S. 1108 ...cccccccccccees

United States v. Swiderski, 593 F. 2d 1246,
cert. denied, 441 U.S. 933 ... cc cccceeeeeees

United States v. Turkette, No. 80-808
EEE

IV

Page
Statutes and rules:
Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. 1951 cc ccc eee cree renee 2
Labor-Management Relations Act,
Section 302(b), 29 U.S.C. 186(b) .......eeeeee 2

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations
Act, 18 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 1961 et seq. :

IBU.S.C. 196) wcccccvccvcccccvccccccccecs 5

18 U.S.C. (& Supp. IIT) 1961(1) «6.6... eee 6

18 U.S.C. 196104)... cccccccccccccccccvcece 6

18'U.S.C. 19626) .ncccccccccccccccccceces 2

18 U.S.C, 1962(d) ..cccscccccccccscccccces 2
BG U.S.C. TIDE wccccccccccccvccccscccsccccecs 2
26 U.S.C. 7206(1) ...ccceveccccccvecesveceenes 2
Fed. R. Crim. P. :

BRUD BD cc nccccdcccccccccccccconccccceces 8

Inu the Supreme Court of the Hnited States
OcTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 80-1972
MICHAEL CLEMENTE, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No, 80-2098
VINCENT COLUCCI, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-31a)! is
not yet reported.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
February 26, 1981. A petition for rehearing was denied on
April 14, 1981. The petition for a writ of certiorari in No.

Pet, App.” refers to the appendix to the petition in No, 80-2098,
l

2

80-1972 was filed on May 22, 1981, and the petition in No.
80-2098 was filed on June 11, 1981. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District Court for
the Southern District of New York, petitioner Clemente
was convicted on one count of participating in an enterprise
through a pattern of racketeering activity, in violation of
the RICO statute, 18 U.S.C. 1962(c) (Count 1); one count of
conspiring to commit that offense, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
1962(d) (Count 2); 35 counts of bribery, in violation of
Section 302(b) of the Labor-Management Relations Act
(“Taft-Hartley Act”), 29 U.S.C. 186(b) (Counts 49-83); 56
counts of extortion, in violation of the Hobbs Act, 18
U.S.C. 1951 (Counts 87-142); five counts of tax evasion, in
violation of 26 U.S.C. 7201 (Counts 200, 202, 204, 206, 208);
and five counts of filing false tax returns, in violation of 26
U.S.C. 7206(1) (Counts 201, 203, 205, 207, 209). Petitioner
Colucci was convicted on both RICO counts, 13 counts of
extortion (Counts 3-6, 13), four counts of bribery (Counts
8-11), and one count of filing a false tax return (Count 212).

Petitioner Clemente was sentenced to concurrent 20-year
terms of imprisonment on Counts | and 2; six months’
imprisonment on each of Counts 49 through 83, to be
served consecutively to each other but concurrently with the
sentences on Counts | and 2; 20 years’ imprisonment on
each of Counts 87 through 142, to be served concurrently
with each other and with the sentences on all other counts;
four years’ imprisonment on each of Counts 200, 202, 204,
206 and 208, to be served consecutively to each other but
concurrently with the sentences on all other counts; three
years’ imprisonment on each of Counts 201, 203, 205, 207
and 209, to be served consecutively to each other but con-
currently with the sentences on all other counts; and a total
fine of $50,000.

3

Petitioner Colucci was sentenced to concurrent five and
one-half year terms of imprisonment on Counts I, 2, 3-6,
and 13; one year’s imprisonment on each of Counts 8
through 11, to be served consecutively to each other but
concurrently with the sentences on all other counts; three
years’ imprisonment on Count 212, to be served concur-
rently with the sentences on all other counts; and a total fine
of $5,000. The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. la-3 la).

The evidence at trial is related in detail in the opinion of
the court of appeals (Pet. App. 3a-12a). Briefly, it estab-
lished the existence of an association of persons organized
for the purpose of controlling all aspects of the New York
and New Jersey waterfront business. Petitioner Clemente
was the ringleader of the enterprise and petitioner Colucci
was president of a New Jersey local of the International
Longshoremen’s Association (ILA), Other members of the
enterprise, who were co-defendants, at petitioners’ trial,
included Tino Fiumara, the New Jersey waterfront “boss”;
Carol Gardner, the president of another New Jersey local of
the ILA; Thomas Buzzanca, the president of two New York
ILA locals; and Gerald Swanton, a vice-president of a
shipping company in New York (id. at 3a).?

The foundation of the enterprise was its control of the
ILA in New York and New Jersey. By threatening work
stoppages, the enterprise was able to extort money from
shipping companies and to influence their decisions regard-
ing the allocation of ship-servicing contracts. Using its con-
trol over such contracts, the enterprise was likewise able to
extort money from the ship-servicing companies. Only
those shipping and ship-servicing companies that paid the

2The joint petition for a writ of certiorari of co-defendants Fiumara,
Buzzanca, and Michael Copolla, Fiumara’s assistant, is currently pend-
ing inthis Court, Fiumara v,. United States, No, 80-1800 (filed Apr. 27,
1981).

4

amounts demanded and otherwise cooperated with the
enterprise had their ships’ cargos loaded and unloaded
without interruption or obtained and retained contracts to
provide services (Pet. App. 3a-4a).

The proof against petitioners and their co-defendants
largely concerned their individual dealings with William
Montella, the principal government witness, who was
employed by several ship-servicing companies during the
period covered by the indictment (Pet. App. 4a-12a). Mon-
tella testified that from 1970 to 1972 he had made payoffs to
Swanton in order to retain certain ship-servicing contracts
with Netumar Steamship Line for Montella’s employer and
that Swanton had told him that he was associated with
petitioner Clemente, who would share in the payoffs (id. at
5a). From 1974 to 1976, according to Montella’s testimony,
Montella delivered $500 per month in cash to Clemente to
retain contracts for a new Montella employer (id. at 6a-7a).
In 1976, when Montella’s bid on behalf of his employer for
additional contract work had been rejected, he appealed to
Clemente, who advised him how to obtain the work and
who demanded an additional $500 per month in payments.
From January 1977 through December 1978, Montella tes-
tified, he made $1000 monthly payments to Clemente (id. at
7a). During the same period that Clemente received pay-
ments from Montella, he was collecting approximately $1
million from Netumar itself in return for his arranging to
achieve reductions in some gross overcharges by a stevedor-
ing company with which Netumar did business (id. at 7a).

As to petitioner Colucci, Montella testified that in 1975
he had agreed to pay a lump sum of $10,000 and monthly
payments of $2,000 to co-defendant Carol Gardner and to
petitioner Colucci in order to allow a company owned by
some friends of Montella’s to retain contracts with the
Concordia Line for work on the New Jersey waterfront
(Pet. App. 8a). When Montella thereafter began receiving
separate demands from Gardner and Colucci, Montella

5

complained to petitioner Clemente, who advised him that
he should have approached Clemente initially to avoid
having to deal with Gardner and Colucci (Pet. App. 9a).
Montella testified further that Clemente told him he should
live up to his “commitment,” but at Clemente’s suggestion
he consulted another of the co-defendants, Thomas Buz-
zanca, who arranged for Montella to make the Concordia
Line payments directly to him and who told Montella to
advise Colucci and Gardner to await further instructions
from Buzzanca (ibid.). After transmitting this message,
Montella was no longer approached by Gardner and
Colucci for Concordia Line payments. During this same
period, however, Montella had abandoned efforts to retain
a Chilean Line account because of pressure from Colucci and
Gardner for payments, which they demanded in the name of
their “boss,” who, according to Montella, was Tino Fium-
ara, another of petitioners’ co-defendants (id. at 10a-1 la).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners contend (Clemente Pet. 4-6; Colucci Pet.
6-9) that the conduct for which they were indicted and
convicted does not fall within the Racketeer Influenced and
Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C. 1961 et seq.
They argue that the RICO counts in this case were based on
an “enterprise” consisting of an association organized for
exclusively illegal ends, and that the RICO statute is appli-
cable only to legitimate enterprises that are subsequently
infiltrated by criminal elements. After the filing of the
instant petitions, however, this Court expressly held in
United States v. Turkette, No. 80-808 (June 17, 1981), that
the RICO statute applies to wholly illegitimate as well as to
legitimate enterprises. Accordingly, petitioners’ claim must
fail.

2. Petitioner Clemente contends (Pet. 6-8) that the
RICO statute, as employed in this case, is unconstitution-
ally vague. Specifically, he argues (Pet. 6) that applying the

6

RICO statute to an “association in fact formed for the very
purpose” of committing illegal acts “renders the enterprise
element indistinguishable from a single conspiracy to com-
mit the predicate crimes” and that this “in turn makes it
impossible to fathom the meaning of a conspiracy under 18
U.S.C, 1962(d) * * *.”

Petitioner’s argument misapprehends the meaning of the
“enterprise” element of a RICO offense. Under 18 U.S.C.
1961(4), an “enterprise” is an “entity,” including, as in this
case, a “group of individuals associated in fact.” See United
States v. Turkette, supra, slip op. 6. As such, it is not the
same thing as a conspiracy, which is an agreement to com-
mit particular unlawful acts. As the Fifth Circuit observed
in United States v. Diecidue, 603 F. 2d 535, 546 (Sth Cir.
1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 946 (1980), the mere fact
“[t]hat the formation of the enterprise and the conception of
the conspiracy [to commit unlawful acts in furtherance of
the enterprise] may have occurred simultaneously in no way
detracts from the Act’s applicability.” Indeed, every court
of appeals to have addressed the vagueness claim has
rejected it. See United States v. Aleman, 609 F. 2d 298, 305
(7th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 946 (1980); United
States v. Swiderski, 593 F. 2d 1246, 1249 (D.C. Cir. 1978),
cert. denied, 441 U.S. 933 (1979); United States v. Hawes,
529 F. 2d 472, 479 (Sth Cir. 1976); United States v. Cam-
panale, 518 F. 2d 352, 363-364 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied,
423 U.S. 1050 (1976); United States v. Parness, 503 F. 2d
430, 440-442 (2d Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1105
(1975). See also United States v. Huber, 603 F. 2d 387, 393
(2d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 927 (1980).

Furthermore, since petitioner Clemente’s act of conspir-
ing to commit the predicate acts of racketeering was itself
clearly illegal (see 18 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 1961(1)), he
unquestionably had “fair warning * * * as to what conduct
is criminal * * *” (Huddleston v. United States, 415 U.S.

7

814, 831 (1974)) and was not “forced to speculate * * *
whether his conduct [was] prohibited.” Dunn v. United
States, 442 U.S. 100, 112 (1979).

3. Ininstructing the jury onthe RICO conspiracy count,
the district court stated (Tr. 12614-12615) that “{iJn order to
find the defendant * * * guilty of the conspiracy charged in
the indictment, you must find beyond a reasonable doubt
that at least two connected violations of one or both of the
two statutes that I have just described to you in connection
with Counts 3 through 142 [the Hobbs Act and “Taft-
Hartley Act” counts], were objectives of the conspiracy.”
Petitioner Clemente contends (Pet. 8-10) that the instruc-
tion was incorrect because, under 18 U.S.C. 1962(d), a
defendant must be found to have “entered into an agree-
ment with the personal objective (i.e., specific intent) of
participating in the enterprise’s affairs through the commis-
sion of two or more predicate crimes constituting a pattern
of racketeering activity” (Pet. 10; emphasis petitioner’s).
Petitioner, however, failed to object to this portion of the
court’s charge (see Pet. App. 25a) and thereby waived his
right to challenge it now. Fed. R. Crim. P. 30; see, e.g.,
Henderson v. Kibbe, 431 U.S. 145, 154(1977). Moreover, a
reversal of petitioner Clemente’s conviction on the conspi-
racy count—for which he received a sentence of 20 years—
could not affect the length of his imprisonment or have
other significant collateral consequences, because he
received concurrent 20-year sentences on the RICO counts
and on each of the 56 extortion (Hobbs Act) counts (Pet.
App. 30a).

At all events, his claim is not persuasive. While it is true
that a defendant must have agreed personally to commit or
to aid and abet the commission of at least two predicate acts
of racketeering in order to be convicted of a RICO conspir-
acy, the above-quoted instruction can fairly be read to
state that requirement. This is especially true when the

8

instruction is viewed in the context of the court’s complete
charge to the jury. See Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141,
146-147 (1973). Thus, at the outset of the court’s RICO
conspiracy instruction (Tr. 12607), the jury was informed
that “Count 2 of the indictment charges that six of the
defendants [including petitioner] * * * and others known
and unknown, conspired to violate federal law by partici-
pating in the conduct of the affairs of the enterprise des-
cribed in Count I through a pattern of racketeering activ-
ity” (emphasis added). See also Tr. 12608 and 12614. In its
instructions on Count 1, the court made it clear that a
“pattern of racketeering activity” consists of “at least two of
the acts of racketeering activity alleged in the indictment”
(Tr. 12597). Read together, these instructions correctly and
clearly advised the jury that, in order to convict petitioner, it
must find that he agreed to participate in the enterprise
through the commission of at least two racketeering acts.’

4. Petitioner Clemente contends (Pet. 11-14) that if the
RICO counts were invalid, his non-RICO convictions also
must be reversed because of misjoinder under Fed. R. Crim.
P. 8 and because of evidentiary spillover from the RICO
counts. Since the Court’s decision in Turkette removes the
predicate for this contention, it plainly affords no basis for
further review.

3In any event, petitioner could not have been prejudiced by the
instruction even if it was defective. It is implicit in petitioner's joint
conviction with one or more of his co-defendants on 91 Hobbs Act and
“Taft-Hartley” counts that the jury believed that he had conspired
“personally” to commit two or more racketeering acts.

9
CONCLUSION

The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

LAWRENCE G, WALLACE
Acting Solicitor General

D. LOWELL JENSEN
Assistant Attorney General

Joe, M. GERSHOWITZ
Attorney

JuLy 1981

DOJ-1981-07

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2152%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
