# Opposition — Scrimgeour v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2141%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 454 U.S. 878

## Text

F

No, 80-1957

Office - me oak US.

AUG 18 198!

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,

| CLER

|

On the Supreme Court of the Hnited Sitntos

OcTOBER TERM, 1980

WILLIAM C., SCRIMGEOUR, PETITIONER
VY

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General

WILLIAM F. BAXTER
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN J. Powers, Ill
Altorney

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether petitioner’s admission that his previous grand
jury testimony was false barred his prosecution for false
statements under the recantation provision of 18 U.S.C.
1623(d).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SD EIDE: VadccanoaesVeaeWhs Kocctduetecsnes l
PRED ac Ghb edi dine shedodvaeds Steweccatodecee l
POTN akc Fcddecdeesbwscdvceeddovek¥scecoee l
PRE oc vc icctnvesvebvescces ne oeecveseccscccoes 4
COIS dvcecrcbccdinvctcverccadeccakeoocies 10
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Association of Bitumirous Contractors v.
Andrus, 581 F.2d 853 ....ccceeeeeeseeeeeens C
Barrett v. United States, 423 U.S. 212 .......... 7

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen
v. Bangor & Aroostook R.R., 389 U.S. 327 .... 5

De Sylva v. Ballentine, 351 U.S. 570 ........... 7

Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. FTC,
106 F. 2d 667, cert. denied, 308 U.S. 625 .... 7-8

People v. Ezaugi, 2 N.Y.2d 439, 141

A & F MR A A Sb errr 6,9
Union Insurance Co. v. United States,
FE Ee POE FED eRe aka chUKaSCawoccence 7

United States vy. An Article of Drug. . . “Bentex
Ulcerine,” 469 F. 2d 875, cert. denied,
DER PED wou deiele oF dG d4eH) 6 Whe knsces cece 8

United States v. Crandall, 363 F. Supp. 648,
aff'd without opinion, 493 F. 2d 1401,
495 F. 2d 1369, cert. denied, 419 U.S.
DPR exeibiwh owes cochpegeddeddcvavierccepes 9

IV

Page
Cases—(Continued):
United States v. Culbert, 435 U.S. 371 ......5.5: 7
United States v. Earth Sciences, Inc.,

POEs GE ON ccedvvsdedicesecccecsocsecese 7
United States v. Fisk, 70 U.S. (3 Wall.) 445 ..... 7
United States v. Moore, 613 F. 2d 1029,

cert. denied, 446 U.S. 954 .......... 4, 5, 6-7, 10
United States v. Scharton, 285 U.S. 518 ........ 7
United States v. Standard Oil Co.,

PE MIME ceded vb sevetndstoccecredeceese 7

Constitution, statutes and rule:
United States Constitution, Fifth

POE © oc dive vcescvicnccccecivcccesces 3
SD a EE Ad ccdecca canst tcscunesvens 1,4,5
SP is BOM) cc decdevevccvcccaveccovcese 7
OB Cin HOD b-o'c bec be secvésovcoes 2, 4, 5, 7,8
Be MPs, DODO 2 Sh.b ect Cdbboccceducececcoese 6
N.Y. Penal Law § 210.25 (McKinney 1965) ...... 6
SE ERY GU MEOD oclcccnccvecdedboacces 2-3,9

Miscellaneous:

H.R. Rep. No. 91-1549, 91st Cong., 2d Sess.
CRRFEP pens eaveccestecerecvasadveccccerces 6

S. Rep. No. 91-617, 91st Cong., Ist Sess.
(TROP) co cpcsoneetevecscoeveccenetocstcveces 6

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 80-1957
WILLIAM C., SCRIMGEOUR, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATESAN OPPOSITION
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-21) is
reported at 636 F. 2d 1019.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
February 12, 1981 (Pet. App. 1), and a petition for rehear-
ing was denied on March 16, 1981 (Pet. App. 24-25). The
petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on May 12, 1981.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATEMENT
On January 11, 1979, petitioner was indicted in the Uni-
ted States District Court for the Southern District of Flor-
ida on five counts of knowingly making false material dec-
larations before a grand jury, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1623.
On petitioner’s motion, the district court dismissed the

2

indictment, holding that prosecution was barred by the
recantation provision of the statute, 18 U.S.C. 1623(d),
which provides that a person who admits that he has made
false declarations will not be prosecuted for those declara-
tions “if, at the time the admission is made, the declaration
has not substantially affected the proceeding, or it has not
become manifest that such falsity has been or will be expo-
sed.” The court of appeals reversed and remanded for trial
(Pet. App. 4-5, 21).

1. The factual context of petitioner’s indictment is de-
scribed in the opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
4-7). Briefly, a grand jury in the Southern District of Flor-
ida was convened in 1976 to investigate price fixing in the
southern Florida bond paper market (id. at 5). Petitioner,
the general manager of Southern Paper Company, first
testified before the grand jury on June 16, 1977 (ibid.). Prior
to petitioner's initial grand jury appearance, David Boyn-
ton, the division manager of Virginia Paper Company, had
revealed to government attorneys that petitioner had
attended price fixing meetings (ibid.). However, petitioner
testified before the grand jury that no one had discussed
prices at the meetings described, and he refused to change
his testimony even after he hac! twice been warned of the
penalty for perjury (ibid.).'

On July 27, 1977, Michael Nachwalter, who was then the
attorney for petitioner and Southern Paper Company, con-
tacted a government attorney concerning petitioner's pos-
sible perjury and requested a copy of his grand jury testi-
mony (Pet. App. 5). This request was refused on the ground
that grand jury proceedings are secret under Fed. R.

'Prior to his testimony, petitioner was advised of his rights (R. 26-28).
He stated that he was represented by counsel for Southern Paper
Company, but further stated that he had not informed counsel that he
had been subpoened (R. 27).

3

Crim. P. 6(e) (Pet. App. 5). A written request for a copy of
the transcript was later denied by government counsel on
August 17, 1977, on the ground that disclosure was prohi-
bited absent a court order (id. at 5-6).

In the meantime, the grand jury investigation made no
progress until September 15, 1977, when Joe Lincks, the
branch manager of MAC Papers, Inc., appeared before the
grand jury. Lincks testified, in contradiction to earlier tes-
timony that he had given in March 1977, that petitioner had
attended price fixing meetings (Pet. App. 6). A few hours
after Lincks had testified, petitioner’s counsel called a
government attorney and stated that he knew that Lincks
had been a “songbird” (ibid.).

In October 1977, petitioner’s new attorney, James
Hogan, stated to government counsel “that Scrimgeour had
lied” and that he “wanted him to go back to the grand jury
and straighten it out” (Pet. App. 6). After the government
again refused petitioner's request for a copy of the grand
jury transcript without a court order, Hogan moved to
compel disclosure of the transcript (ibid.). After a hearing
on the motion, disclosure was granted on November 7,
1977. Hogan conceded at the hearing that “even if we
appear and recant under 1623 the Government can still
indict [Scrimgeour] for perjury under 1621 and 1623 if they
so wish * * *”"(ibid.). On the same day, petitioner appeared
again before the grand jury and read a prepared statement,
in which he admitted that his prior statements were false
and corrected his former testimony (ibid.).?

In December 1977, the month following petitioner's
recantation, the grand jury expired without returning an
indictment for price fixing (Pet. App. 6). In September

2When petitioner was questioned at the conclusion of his prepared
statement, he invoked his Fifth Amendment privilege against self-
incrimination (R. 109-110).

4

1978, a second grand jury returned price fixing indictments,
to which petitioner and other defendants pleaded nolo con-
tendere (ibid.). On January 11, 1979, the second grand jury
also returned the present indictment charging petitioner
with knowingly making false material declarations in viola-
tion of 18 U.S.C. 1623.

2. The district court dismissed the indictment. The court
first concluded (Pet. App. 7) that a witness successfully
recants prior false testimony if he satisfies either of the two
conditions specified in 18 U.S.C. 1623(d). Turning to the
particular facts of this case, the district court then con-
cluded that petitioner had satisfied both conditions (Pet.
App. 7).3

The court of appeals reversed. Relying on the District of
Columbia Circuit’s analysis of the legislative history of 18
U.S.C. 1623(d) in United States v. Moore, 613 F. 2d 1029,
1039-1045 (1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 954 (1980), the
court of appeals concluded (Pet. App. 14) that a witness
may not successfully recant prior false testimony unless he
satisfies both statutory conditions. The court of appeals
held (id. at 15-16) that petitioner had not successfully
recanted his testimony within the meaning of the statute
because he had failed to satisfy the requirement that recan-
tation occur before it becomes manifest that the prior false
testimony “has been or will be exposed.” Thus, petitioner’s
prosecution for making false statements was not barred by
the recantation provision of 18 U.S.C. 1623(d).

ARGUMENT

Petitioner contends (Pet. 4-7) that the court of appeals
erred in holding that both statutory preconditions, that the

The district court also suggested that dismissal of the indictment was
warranted on due process grounds because the government allowed
petitioner to recant his testimony without warning him that a perjury
indictment would be sought. The court of appeals rejected this finding
(Pet. App. 20-21), and petitioner has not raised this issue in his petition.

5

false testimony has not substantially affected the proceed-
ing and that it has not become manifest that the falsity of the
statement has been or would be exposed, must be satisfied
before a witness can invoke the recantation provision as a
bar to prosecution under 18 U.S.C. 1623. This claim was
properly rejected by the court below. Moreover, this Court
has only recently declined to review this question in United
States v. Moore, 613 F. 2d 1029 (D.C. Cir. 1979), cert.
denied, 446 U.S. 954 (1980). There is no conflict among the
circuits, and further review is therefore unwarranted.

1. We note at the outset that the decision of the court of
appeals places petitioner in the same position that he would
have been in if the district court had denied his motion to
dismiss, in which case petitioner would have had no right to
an interlocutory appeal. Review by this Court is unneces-
sary at the present juncture because petitioner has not yet
been tried. In the event that he is acquitted, the issue that he
secks to raise here will be moot. On the other hand, if he is
convicted and his conviction is affirmed, he will again be
able to seek review in this Court with respect to this and any
other issue that he might have. See Brotherhood of Loco-
motive Firemen & Enginemen v. Bangor & Aroostook
R.R., 389 U.S. 327, 328 (1967).

2. At all events, the court below correctly held that a
witness must meet both conditions set forth in Section
1623(d) if he is to benefit from the bar to prosecution
established in this section. Although the statute uses the
word “or” to connect the two preconditions, the court of
appeals properly determined that the clear legislative intent
of the section requires that the two preconditions be read in
the conjunctive.

Section 1623 was enacted to encourage witnesses to tes-
tify truthfully before courts and grand juries. To accom-
plish this purpose, Congress facilitated perjury prosecutions
by eliminating rigid common-law requirements such as the
two-witness and direct-evidence rules, thereby lowering the

6

government's burden of proof. See 18 U.S.C. 1623(e); S.
Rep. No. 91-617, 91st Cong., Ist Sess. 57-59 (1969).4 At the
same time, Congress saw fit to include as part of the statu-
tory scheme a limited right to retract prior false testimony.
H.R. Rep. No. 91-1549, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 47-48 (1970).
This provision, permitting recantation, was based on New
York law (N.Y. Penal Law § 210.25 (McKinney 1965)),
which allows recantation only if it occurs before the false-
hood substantially affects the proceeding and before it
becomes manifest that the falsity will be exposed. See Peo-
ple v. Ezaugi,2 N.Y.2d 439, 141 N.E.2d 580, 161 N.Y.S.2d
75 (1957). Despite Congress’ avowed intention to follow the
New York statute (see S. Rep. No. 91-617, supra, at 150;
H.R. Rep. No. 91-1549, supra, at 47-48), it nevertheless
placed the word “or” between the two preconditional
clauses, rather than the word “and” used in the New York
law. However, as the District of Columbia Circuit recog-
nized in United States v. Moore, supra, 613 F. 2d at 1042-
1043, this unexplained change was clearly not intended to
work the dramatic departure from New York law that
petitioner suggests (see Pet. 4-7). In Moore, the court noted
(613 F. 2d at 1042-1043; footnotes omitted):

Had so drastic a departure from the New York sta-
tute as a switch from combinational to alternative
satisfaction of its carefully developed preconditions
been really intended, we believe Congress would have
said so. Had Congress actually intended a nearly com-
plete overruling, in the practical sense, of the Supreme
Court’s longstanding pronouncement on the serious
drawbacks of recantation in the quest for truth, we

‘The Senate Report states (S. Rep. No. 91-617, supra, at 58, quotinga
1967 report of the President's Crime Commission) that“ ‘[lJessening of
rigid proof requirements in perjury prosecutions would strengthen the
deterrent value of perjury laws and present a greater incentive for
truthful testimony.’ ”

7

would expect a much fuller explanation. Had Con-
gress, after making crystal clear its purpose to promote
truthtelling to the hilt, intended the almost wide-open
door to prevarication that disinjunctive construction
of the statutory preconditions would furnish, it hardly
would have failed to elucidate its logic.

Congress certainly did not intend to foster a situation in
which a perjurer could effectively bar his prosecution once
his false testimony had been discovered merely by admitting
to the falsity of that which the government already knew to
be false. Yet this would be the result of a disjunctive reading
of the statute. In these circumstances, the court below was
correct in reading the statute in light of its legislative history
and commonsense meaning. See United States v. Culbert,
435 U.S. 371,379 (1978); Barrett v. United States, 423 U.S.
212, 218 (1976); United States v. Standard Oil Co., 384
U.S. 224, 225 (1966); see also De Sylva v. Ballentine, 351
U.S. 570, 573 (1956) (“or” read as “and”); United States v.
Earth Sciences, Inc., 599 F. 2d 368, 375-376 (10th Cir. 1979)
(same); Association of Bituminous Contractors v. Andrus,
581 F. 2d 853, 862(D.C. Cir. 1978) (same); Union Insurance
Co. v. United States, 73 U.S. (6 Wall.) 759, 764 (1867)
(same); United States v. Fisk, 70 U.S. (3 Wall.) 445, 447
(1865) (same). The conjunctive reading of “or” is both
grammatically permissible and reasonable in Section
1623(d)’s context of defining an exception to the offense.‘
The court’s reading of the statute also comports with the
maxim that exceptions to statutes should be construed
narrowly. United States v. Scharton, 285 U.S. 518, 521-522

5The question presented concerns the construction of a section carv-
ing out an exception to a substantive offense, not the section stating the
substantive offense. Thus, there can be no argument here that 18 U.S.C.
1623(d) must be given the interpretation petitioner urges, despite the
compelling indications of congressional intent to the contrary, in order
to avoid the possibility of punishing someone who did know what the
os proscribed. Here, petitioner's testimony clearly violated 18 U.S.C.
1623(a).

(1932); Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. FTC, 106 F.2d
667, 674 (3d Cir. 1939), cert. denied, 308 U.S. 625 (1940); see
also United States v. An Article of Drug ... “Bentex
Ulcerine,” 469 F. 2d 875, 878 (Sth Cir. 1972), cert. denied,
412 U.S. 938 (1973).

3. It is also clear, as a matter of fact, that petitioner did
not satisfy either precondition to invoking the protection
afforded by 18 U.S.C. 1623(d). As the court of appeals
found, it had become manifest to the petitioner prior to his
attempted recantation that his testimony before the grand
jury was known to be false and would be exposed (Pet. App.
16-18).6 During the June 16, 1977, grand jury proceeding in
which petitioner testified falsely, he was twice warned about
the severe penalties for perjury, and he was given an oppor-
tunity to change his testimony (id. at 5). Petitioner's attor-
ney mentioned his possible perjury in a conversation with
government counsel in July 1977 (ibid.), and petitioner's
attorney told government counsel in September 1977 that
petitioner knew that Lincks had been a “songbird” (id. at
15). At the hearing on the motion to disclose the grand jury
transcript, petitioner’s new attorney noted the possibility of
a perjury indictment when he remarked that even if peti-
tioner reappeared and recanted before the grand jury, “the
Government can still indict him for perjury under 1621 and
1623 if they so wish * * *” (id. at 6). At the same hearing,
government counsel stated that petitioner was a target of
the grand jury’s investigation (id. at 16). Petitioner was
therefore aware that the government had evidence that
directly contradicted his false testimony, and the statements
made by petitioner's attorney, concerning a possible perjury
indictment, confirmed that it had become manifest that
petitioner's falsity had been exposed (ibid.).

‘Petitioner does not seek review of the finding of the court of appeals
that it had become manifest that the falsity of his testimony had been
exposed.

9

Petitioner's false testimony also substantially affected the
grand jury investigation. Five months elapsed between peti-
tioner’s false testimony and his admission that this testi-
mony was false (Pet. App. 5-6). When petitioner reappeared
before the grand jury, only one month remained in the term
of the grand jury. The lapse of time is a critical element in
estimating the “substantial affect” of a false declaration.
United States v. Crandall, 363 F. Supp. 648, 654-655
(W.D. Pa. 1973), aff'd without opinion, 493 F. 2d 1401, 495
F. 2d 1369 (3c Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 852 (1974)
(attempted recantation untimely because of two-month
delay); see also People v. Ezaugi, supra, 2 N.Y.2d at 443,
141 N.E.2d at 583, 161 N.Y.S. 2d at 78 (court emphasized
the importance of a prompt recantation). The lengthy delay
in this case was clearly sufficient to affect the proceedings
substantially. See United States v. Crandall, supra, 363 F.
Supp. at 654-655.’ Moreover, petitioner's original testi-
mony, if it had been truthful, would have helped to narrow
the focus of the investigation, even if it had not resulted in
an immediate indictment. Instead, his false testimony con-
tradicted Boynton’s testimony, the only testimony then
available concerning price fixing. As a result, the govern-
ment was required to prolong the investigation in an
attempt to resolve the conflict in testimony. Thus, petition-
er’s false testimony contributed directly to the need for a
second grand jury. To hold a that deliberate misleading of a
grand jury that is not corrected until five months later does
not produce a substantial affect would frustrate the purpose

’Furthermore, petitioner did not request a court order to obtain
access to the transcript until five months after his false testimony,
although the government correctly refused to disclose the transcript
without such an order, and petitioner's counsel understood that he
could move the district court to order the government to disclose the
transcript (GX | at 2). See Fed. R. Crim. P. 6(e).

10

of the statute to encourage truthful testimony at all times by
every witness. United States v. Moore, supra, 613 F. 2d at
1043.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General

WILLIAM F. BAXTER
Assistant Attorney General

Joun J. Powers, Ill
Alttorney

AuGust 1981

DOJ-1981-08

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_2141%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
