# Petition — Gluesenkamp v. Florida

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1982%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 453 U.S. 924

## Text

fitiliy Su ome Pour,

80-1573 backs

No. WAR 26 VORP

7 : SER .. STEVA
CLER

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1980

DANIEL W. GLUESENKAMP,
Petitioner,
v.

STATE OF FLORIDA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

JAMES K. JENKINS
Counsel of Record

STROUP, GOLDSTEIN, JENKINS
& PRITZKER

900 Flat Iron Building

84 Peachtree St., N.W.

Atlanta, Ga. 30303

(404) 524-4343

J.M. RAFFAUF

900 Flat Iron Building
84 Peachtree St., N.W.
Atlanta, Ga. 30303

Altorneys for Petitioner

nd

THE CASILLAS PRESS, INC.-1717 K Street. N W.—Washington, 0. C.-223-1220

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. Whether the Fourth and Fourteenth
Amendments permit the arbitrary and un-
reasonable stopping of certain vehicles
that fit into a subjective profile that
government officials deem likely to contain
products subject to regulation by the Flor-
ida Department of Agriculture when there is
neither reasonable suspicion nor probable
cause to believe the vehicles contain any
proscribed products where the state's in-
terest in agricultural regulations does not
outweigh the resulting intrusion on the
privacy and security of the _ persons
detained.

2. Whether the court below erred in up-
holding the warrantless search and seizure
of a vehicle in the absence of probable

cause, exigent circumstances or articulable

ii
suspicion.

3. Whether he court below erred by
failing to base its decision on the Motion
to Suppress on facts contained in the
record.

4. Whether the state statute which al-
lows law officers to arbitrarily stop
certain vehicles violates the Fourth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution in that:

(a) the classification of regulated ve-
hicles is arbitrary and unrelated to the
purpose of the statute in vislation of the
Equal Protection clause;

(b) the statute violates the Privileges
and Immunities and Commerce Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment; and

(c) the statute is vague and overbroad
in that it leaves the enforcement of the
statute in the unbridled discretion of law
enforcement officers and fails to give per-
sons of ordinary intelligence fair notice

of the proscribed conduct.

iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED. .... .
TABLE OF CONTENTS. . .... «
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .... .
OPINIONS BELOW. . «4 « « « «
JURISDICTION . . . «© «© «© «© « «

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED... .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ... .
REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT.

27

I. THE DECISION BELOW IS CONTRARY
TO THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND
THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION IN
THAT IT UPHOLDS A_ SEIZURE AND
SEARCH BASED ON THE ARBITRARY AND
UNREASONABLE STOPPING OF
PETITIONER'S VEHICLE THAT FIT A
SUBJECTIVE PROFILE OF VEHICLES THE
GOVERNMENT DEEMED LIKELY TO CONTAIN
PRODUCTS SUBJECT TO REGULATION BY
THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE WHEN THERE WAS NEITHER
REASONABLE SUSPICION NOR PROBABLE
CAUSE TO BELIEVE THE VEHICLE
CONTAINED ANY PROSCRIBED PRODUCTS
WHERE THE STATE'S INTEREST IN
AGRICULTURAL REGULATIONS DID NOT
OUTWEIGH THE RESULTING INTRUSION
ON THE PRIVACY AND SECURITY OF
THE PERSONS DETAINED. .... .

ar

iv

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT
CERTIORARI TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS
WITH LOWER COURTS THAT CONTINUE
TO ERODE THE FOURTH AMENDMENT'S
PROSCRIPTION AGAINST WARRANTLESS
VEHICLE SEARCHES AND SEIZURES IN
ABSENCE OF EITHER PROBABLE CAUSE
OR EXIGENT CIRCUMSTANCES. ... . 37

III. THE DECISION BELOW IS CON-
TRARY TO THE DECISIONS OF THIS
COURT AND WELL FOUNDED PRINCIPLES
OF APPELLATE REVIEW IN THAT THE
EVIDENCE FAILS TO SUPPORT THE
OPINION OF THE FLORIDA SUPREME
COURT . 7 ° . . 7 . . e . . . ° . 43

IV. THE DECISION BELOW UPHOLDING
THE CONSTITUTIONAL VALIDITY OF THE
STATE STATUTE WHICH ALLOWS
ARBITRARY STOPS BY GOVERNMENT
OFFICIALS WITHOUT ARTICULABLE
SUSPICION OR PROBABLE CAUSE IS IN
CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS OF THIS
COURT AND THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT, AND CONTRARY TO THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION. . . . 48

CONCLUSION . . «© « «© © © © © © © © © (64

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases «+6 +e ee ee © © © © 0 8 ew POZOS

Alladin's Castle, Inc. v. City of
Mesquite, 630 F.2d 1029 (5th
Cir. 198

0) See wee een eee es ee

Almeida Sanchez v. United States,
413 U.S. 266 (1973) . « « « « «© « 90,31

Arkansas v. Sanders, we U.S.
753 (1979) . « « « Soe a ee ee

Brock v. Florida, So.2d.
Fla. S. Ct. # 57, 718
a ee er ee,

Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S. 433
(cg) eee ae ee ee ee ee

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387
Debs SS CLPOT) « «© 0 0 0 8 8 8 ot SMgae

Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S.
GZ UI97U) . « © © © © © « 036,42 ,45

Cline v. Frink Davis Co., 274
U.S. 445 (19Z5) . « « © © © © © © ot 062

Colonnade Catering Corporation
v. United States, hint U.S. 72
(1970) . . . . 7 . . . . . ae

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403
Mame GES GEOTE) « + cs eo 8 + + cee, 42,44

Connally v. General Construction
Company, 269 U.S. 385 (1926) . . . .64

vi

Cox v. Lousiana, 379 U.S.
536 (1965) . . . . . 7 . . . . . . . 60

crayp v. Board of Education ‘
. oo - . . . . . . . . 0

Davis v. Weir, 497 F.2d shi
(Sth Cir. 1974). . . . . . . . . . 49

Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648
(1979) . . . . . . . . . . . . 28,29 »30
32 990,09

Dorough v. Estelle, 457 F.2d
1007 (Sem Cir. 1974) . «2 so 0 0 © 86

Duke Power Company v. Carolina
‘Environmental Study Group, 438

of F 59 (1978) 7 7 . . . . . . . . . 47
Edwards v. California, 314 U.S.
460 C19G@1) «. « © ew wo o « s+ eee

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S.
DEES 3 6 6 6 4 8 te lt wk tw OO

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S.
PTE s 6 6 6% © 6 «© ee eo 0 0

M. Kraus and Brothers v. United
tates, oBe pagpioomnge oon: agro gli

Lanzetti v. New Jersey, 306 U.S.
8) . . . . . . . . . . . . . 61

Lo-Ji Sales, Inc. v. New York

S47 U.S. 319, S27 (1979). » 2 45

vii

Pages

Marshall v. Barlow's, 436 U.S.
oe Bhs 6 0 « « « 26,393,958
35

Mason v. Lister, 562 F.2d ~~
(sth Cir. I 578) . . . . . . . . . 56

Papachristou v. City of
Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156
. . . . . . . . . . . 7 . 59,62

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (1971) ... .49

Reid v. Georgia, U.S.__, +100
. Ge 1980) 7 . . - . . . o 36 Pe}

Roemer v. Board of Public Works
of Maryland, 426 U.S. 736 (1976). . .48

Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia, -
. . . . . . . . . . . 5

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618
(1 969) . "Ss: OF 6" 2 68 oe + Se e 2 56

Stephenson v. Department of
Agriculture and Consumer
Services, O.
a) ep, | ees: eT

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968) . . 32,36

United States v. Biswell,
U. . . . . . . . . . . 33

United States v. Cardiff, 344
Uebs 174 (1953). . . . . . . . . . ° 63

viii

United States v. Chadwick
433 U.S. 1, CI977) « 2 « «

United States Department of

Agriculture v. Moreno, 413
. . > . . . .

United States v. Garra
477 F.2d 1306 (5th Cir. 1973)

United States v. Harris,

United States v. L. Cohen
Grocery Co., 255 U.S. 18
United States v. Mersky,
Ue . . 7

United States v. National Dair
Products, 372 U.S. 29 (15633 :

United States v. Reese, 92 U.S.

2: See a

United States v. Shaefer, F.2d.

(3rd. Cir. 1980),
78 Cr.L.R. 2386 . . . o . .

United States v. United States

Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364 (1948)

Ward v. Maryland, 12 Wall 418
[eevee 6 6 eee leh le le ll lf

Pages

38

ix

United States Constitution:

First Amendment .....+.++ +++ 5

Fourth Amendment. ......+.++-- 5

Fourteenth Amendment. ....... . 6
Statutes:

Florida Statutes § 320.06... .. .53

Florida Statues § 570.15 ... . 6,8,9
16 ,25,37

42,49 54
61

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1980

No.

DANIEL W. GLUESENKAMP,

Petitioner

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE FLORIDA SUPREME COURT

Comes now Petitioner, Daniel W. Glue-
senkamp, and respectfully prays that a Writ
of Certiorari issue to review the judgment
and opinion of the Florida Supreme Court
entered on October 16, 1989, rehearing de-

nied on January 14, 1981.

x
OPINIONS BELOW

Petitioner was convicted and sentenced

on October 12, 1978 in the Circuit Court of
Hamilton County, Florida for possession of
cannabis in excess of 100 pounds. On Octo-
ber 16, 1980 the Supreme Court of Florida
affirmed the conviction and judgment of the
trial court. A copy of this opinion is at-
tached to the Appendix accompany‘tng this
Petition as Exhibit A. Rehearing was de-
nied on January 14, 1981. A copy of this
order is contained in the Appendix accom-

panying this Petition as Exhibit B.
JURISDICTION

In the case below Petitioner challenged
the legality of the search and the validity
of Florida Statute § 570.15. After pretri-
al motions raising these issues were de-
nied, pursuant to Florida Criminal Proce-

dure, Petitioner pled nolo contendere while

-3-
reserving his right of appeal on these
issues.

On February 8, 1978, a two-count infor-
mation was filed in the trial court charg-
ing Petitioner with possession of cannabis
in excess of 100 pounds with intent to
sell, and possession of cannabis in excess
of 5 grams (App. 43)*. Petitioner subse-
quently entered his written plea of not
guilty (Id.).

Thereafter, Petitioner filed a Motion to
Suppress Evidence, and a Motion to Dismiss
challenging the constitutionality of Flori-
da Statute § 570.15. On June 16, 1978, the
trial court denied the Motion to Suppress
(T-101), and on July 17, 1978, the trial
court entered a written Order denying the

Motic 1 to Dismiss (App. 41).

*"App. refers to the Appendix filed
contemporaneously with this Petition.
References to the Motions hearing in the
Petition are referred to herein as "T".

On July 25, 1978, Petitioner and his
counsel appeared before the Circuit Judge,
for the purpose of entering a plea of nolo

contendere to Counts I and II of the infor-

mation, expressly reserving and preserving
his right to appeal the trial court's de-
nial of the Motions to Dismiss’ and
Suppress.

On October 12, 1978, the trial court ad-
judicated Petitioner guilty as charged in
the information and imposed a "split" sen-
tence of five (5) years, consisting of
eighteen (18) months imprisonment, followed
by 3-1/2 years of probation, together with
a fine of $5,000.00 (App. 43). Petitioner
appealed and on October 16, 1980, the Flor-
ida Supreme Court denied Petitioner's ap-
peal (App. 1). A motion for rehearing was
denied on January 14, 1981 (App. 38).

Petitioner's Motion to Stay Mandate was de-
nied by the Florida Supreme Court on Janvu~-
ary 27, 1981 (App. 40), and Petitioner has
been incarcerated since February 2, 1981.
The Jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides:

Congress shall make no law respecting an
establishment of religion, or prohibiting
the free exercise thereof; or abridging the
freedom of speech, or of the press; or the
right of the people peaceably to assemble,
and to petition the Government for a re-
dress of grievances.

The Fourth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides:

The right of the people to be secure in
their persons, houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches and seizures,
shall not be violated, and no Warrants
shall issue, but upon probable cause, sup-
ported by Oath or affirmation, and particu-

larly describing the place to be searched,
and the persons or things to be seized.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides:

All persons born or naé*uralized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdic-
tion thereof, are citizens of the United
States and of the State wherein they re-
side. No State shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the privileges or
immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property, with-
out due process of law; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

Florida Statutes 570.15 provides:
Access to places of business and vehicles

(1)(a) The commissioner, assistant com-
missioner, directors, counsel, experts,
chemists, agents, inspectors, road-guard
inspection special officers, and other em-
ployees and officers of the department
shall have full access at all reasonable
hours to all:

1. Places of business;

2. Factories;

- Farm buildings;

Carriages;

- Railroad cars;

- Trucks;

- Motor vehicles, other than private
passenger automobiles with no trailer in

NADUL Ww

tow, or any vehicle bearing an RV license
tag;
Be Truck and motor vehicle trailers;

9. Vessels; and

10. All records pertaining thereto;
used in the production, manufacture, stor-
age, sale, or transportation within the
state of any food product; any agricul-
tural, horticultural, or livestock product;
or any article or product with respect to
which any authority is conferred by law on
the department.

(b) If such access be refused by the
owner, agent, or manager of such premises
or by the driver of such aforesaid vehicle,
the inspector or roadguard inspection spec-
ial officer may apply for and may execute a
search warrant, which shall be obtained as
provided by law for the obtaining of search
varrants in other cases, or may conduct a
search of any of the aforesaid vehicles
without a warrant pursuant to s.933.19.

(c) Such departmental officers, employ-
ees, and road-guard inspection special of-
ficers may examine and open any package or
container of any kind containing or be-
lieved to contain any article or product
which may be transported, manufactured,
sold, or exposed for sale in violation of
the provisions of this chapter, the rules
of the department or the laws which the de-
partment enforces anda may inspect the con-
tents. thereof and take therefrom samples
for analysis.

(2) It shall be unlawful for any truck
or any truck or motor vehicle trailer to
pass any official road guard inspection
station without first stopping for inspec-
tion. A violation of this subsection shall

constitute a misdemeanor of the second de-
gree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082
or s. 775.083.

(3) Every law enforcement officer is
authorized to assist employees of the de-
partment listed in subsection (1) in the
enforcement of subsection (2). Such offi-
cer is authorized to stop and detain any
vehicle and its driver who has failed to
comply with subsection (2) until an em-
ployee of the department arrives to conduct
the inspection required by law. Such law
enforcement officer or a road guard inspec-
tion special officer may require the driver
to return with his vehicle to the road
guard inspection station where the driver
failed to stop the vehicle for inspection.

(4) No civil or criminal liability
shall be imposed upon any person who is au-
thorized to enforce or assist in enforce-
ment of the previsions of this section and
who is lawfully engaged in such activity.
Amended by Laws 1975, c. 75-215, § 1, eff.
July 1, 1975; Laws 1978, c. 78-180, § 1
eff. June 8, 1978; Laws 1979, c. 79-371, §
1, eff. July 3, 1979.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Florida Statutes 570.15 (1977) (supp.
1978) allows the commissioner of the Flori-
da Agriculture Department and his employees

and agents "access at all reasonable hours"

to all trucks, truck and motor vehicle
trailers and motor vehicles, other than
private passenger automobiles with no trai-
ler in tow or any vehicles bearing an "RV"
license tag. Cars, recreational vehicles
and vans equipped as recreational vehicles
are exempt. All vehicles that fall within
the proscription of the statute must stop
at all Inspection Stations along Florida
highways (Fla. Statutes 570.15 and 933.19);
but absent probable cause and exigent cir-
cumstances the statute does not allow a

search. Giuesenkamp v. Florida, slip opin-

ion (App. 1).

Petitioner was a passenger in a 1975 GMC
van when he was stopped by an employee of
the. Florida Department of Agriculture
(T-29, 32, 79, 89). Florida Agriculture
Inspector Perry, as he saw the van drive

past the inspection station on Interstate

10

75 North, made a determination that the van
was not a car, recreational vehicle, nor a
van equipped as a _ recreational vehicle
(T-26, 27, 28, 29, 36). The van had an In-
diana tag where it was properly licensed
(T-79). To avoid having to stop at the
Florida Inspection Station would have ne-
cessitated that it have a Florida "RV" tag.
Vans can qualify for Florida "RV" tags.
Florida Statutes § 570.15 (App. 48, 50).

Inspector Perry testified that in a nor-
mal eight hour shift hundreds of vehicles
go by the station and do not stop as re-
quired by law (T-38). Perry said that
about half of all trucks and 85% of all
vans do not stop at the inspection station
(T-42); however, Perry testified that all
vehicles that violate the statute are not
stopped. "If I pursued every vehicle I

would probably be out there right now.

11

There is no way you could get every ve-

hicle." (T-39). Perry said the officers

are told to use their own judgement and ex-

perience in picking which vehicles to stop

(T-39). On cross examination he revealed

how he makes his decisions concerning which

vehicles to stop:

Q. [Mr. Jenkins] What goes into that
choice? How do you pick and choose out
of all those vehicles in violation of
the law, how do you pick and choose
which ones you are going to actually
chase down?

[Inspector Perry] It all depends on how
everything is situated there at the sta-
tion. If I'm not busy. If there's not
too many trucks on the ramp at the time.

If we have everything that we suppose to
do done. But everything was slow that
day.

But what I'm going at, Mr. Perry, when
you've got a bunch of vehicles to choose
from that are in violation of the law,
youve got to exercise some choice as to
certain vehicles, and what I want to
know is what in your mind goes into
choosing which vehicle to stop?

In my mind, is the ones like the panel
type vans, or the ones that you couldn't
see through. The ones that's got cur-

12
tains around it and sitting down pretty
low.

Q. Not being able to see in it and sit-
ting low are important factors?

A. Right. (T-39).

Perry said that even 60% of those ve-
hicles he does stop do not have proscribed
products in their van (T-44).

Cain, the driver of the van when stopped
by Inspector Perry, indicated she was not
aware that the type of vehicle they were
riding in, a GMC van, was required to stop
at the station (T-49, 50). This confusion
clearly had a rational basis as Perry tes-
tified the signs on Interstate 75 notifying
the public of the inspection requirements
were as follows:

A: [Inspector Perry] The first sign states
"Agricultural Inspection Station’ And
then the next sign states, ‘All trucks
and all trailers stop for inspection.'
Then the third sign says, ‘All trucks

and all trailers’ and ot an arrow
pointing at the exit (1-28)

a3

Perry admitted that the signs did not say
anything about "vans" (T-43). Yet when
Perry stopped Petitioner's vehicle, he de-
scribed his actions as follows:

A: [Inspector Perry] I asked her, I said
"Ma'am you failed to stop for the in-
spection station back there about two
miles. And all trucks and trailers and
vans, which are considered as trucks ,
are required to pull in for inspection
(T-29).

Inspector Perry, using an official Flor-
ida Department of Agriculture automobile
with flashing blue-light, had stopped the
vehicle approximately two (2) miles north
of the Inspection Station (T-28-29). At
the time, Inspector Perry was wearing his
official Florida Department of Agriculture
uniform with hat, badge and service revol-
ver (1-47-48). Cain had observed the
flashing blue-light mounted atop Inspector

Perry's vehicle, and immediately pulled

14

over to the right side of the highway and
stopped the vehicle (T-29).

Perry advised Cain that she had failed
to stop at the Inspection Station, and she
indicated that she was not aware that a van
had to stop at the Inspection Station
(T-50). Inspector Perry then asked Cain if
he could look in the back of the van to see
what she was hauling. Cain responded that
she was hauling plants. Perry then asked
her if she had the "papers on the plants"
(T-50).

Cain returned to the van and apparently
had a brief conversation with Petitioner.
She and Petitioner returned to Perry and
she advised Perry that the van was not
hauling plants. At that point, Petitioner
advised Perry that they were hauling pot-
ting soil (T-30). The paperwork apparently

was not produced. Perry again inquired if

15

he could look into the rear of the van, and
received a negative response from Peti-
tioner (T-31).

Perry then advised Cain and Petitioner
that they would have to return to the In-
spection Station with him for inspection
(T-31), a distance of approximately ten
(10) miles from the location where the van
was originally stopped (T-37).

In order to return to the Inspection
Station, it was necessary to proceed on the
northbound lane to the next exit. Cain
stopped the van at a store located at the
exit interchange and advised Inspector Per-
ry that she wanted to use the restroom.
Inspector Tom Delegal, the shift manager of
the Inspection Station who had responded to
a radio call from Perry for ‘'back-up"
assistance advised Cain that there were

facilities back at the Inspection Station

16

(T-31). Delegal then asked Petitioner if
he (Delegal) could take a look into the
rear of the van. Again, Petitioner re-
sponded in the negative (T-81).

After a brief delay, Petitioner, Cain
and the Inspectors returned to the Inspec-
tion Station. Again, Inspector Perry asked
if he could look into the rear of the van,
and again he received a negative response
(T-33).

Thereafter (approximately 35 minutes af-
ter stopping the van) the caravan arrived
at the southbound Inspection Station and
Inspector Perry placed Cain under arrest
for failure to stop for inspection, a vio-
lation of Florida Statutes § 570.15 (2)
(T-33, 59). Both Cain's and Petitioner's
drivers licenses were taken from them, and
they were placed in the Inspection Station

(T-84). Perry's actions effectively se-

17

cured the van, located some 50 yards away

(T-83), as Perry’ related oon _ cross

-examination:

Q: (Mr. Jenkins] So, with your consent, he
(Appellant) couldn't have gotten in that
van and driven off?

A. (Inspector Perry): That van couldn't go
no where.

Q. Why couldn't the van go any place?

A. Because I had to find out what was on it
before I even let it go (T-58).

After placing Cain under arrest and de-
taining Petitioner and the van, Perry con-
tacted his Supervisor, Garth Nobles, at his
home in Live Oak, Florida, some twenty (20)
miles from the Inspection Station (T-59).
In turn, the Hamilton County Sheriff's Of-
fice was contacted, and that office asked
Charles Tompkins, an Investigator with the
State Attorney's Office, to accompany Dep-
uty Sheriff Frank Copeland to the Inspec-

tion Station to assist in handling the sit-

18

uation (T-4). Tompkins then contacted Bob
Dekle, an Assistant State Attorney in Lake
City, Florida and requested that Dekle go
to the Inspection Station to advise the law
enforcement officers in their handling of
the situation, (T-11), and to help in ob-
taining a search warrant (T-31).

Approximately 45 minutes after Perry
contacted him, Nobles arrived at the In-
spection Station (T-50). Shortly there-
after, Tompkins arrived, and Dekle arrived
approximately 10 to 15 minutes’ later
(T-13).

When Tompkins arrived, he immediatley
approached the van and attempted to open it
(T-62-63). Finding the door locked, he at-
tempted to look into the van through the
window on the passenger's side of the van.
Because the glare from the sun on the win-

dow made it impossible, Tompkins could not

19

see inside the van. Therefore, he placed
his head against the window and shielded
his eyes with his hands in order to look
into the van (T-13-14).

Tompkins testified he was able to see
inside the van. Tompkins testified he saw
a blanket tied on a string behind the seats
(T-5), and according to his testimony, be-
cause the blanket had slipped away some

four or five inches from the passenger side

of the van, he was able to see burlap

-colored plastic bags in the rear of the
van (T-15). Although he could not see what
the opaque bags contained, based upon past
experiences, Tompkins stated he knew such
bags to contain marijuana (T-5). In addi-
tion, Tompkins testified he could smell the
odor of marijuana emanating from a closed
door of the van, by placing his nose up

against the door (T-5). He said that he

20

intentionally began sniffing for marijuana
and he smelled it when he came to the door
(T-16). Although Tompkins testified on the
Motion to Suppress hearing that he told the
other officers immediately that he smelled
marijuana, he admitted that on a previous
occasion he testified, under oath, that the
first time he told anyone about smelling
marijuana was some three (3) months after
the arrests (T-18). Moreover, Tompkins
testified that the entire case file of his
office (which contained his written report
from the day of the incident) had been
lost and that the copy of the statement
normally submitted to the State Attorney's
Office was likewise "missing" (T-18, 21).
Assistant State's Attorney Dekle testi-_
fied that when he arrived on the scene, he
approached the van and was told that he

would be able to see the bags by looking

21
through the passenger window. Because of
the glare from the sun, he could not see
into the van even with the aid of a coat he
held up to shield the sun's glare. Dekle,
the investigator, then moved to the wind-
shield of the van, and by having the coat
held over the passenger's window and plac-
ing his face against the windshield and us-
ing his hands as an additional shield,
Dekle testified he observed a drawn curtain
across the back of the van, behind the
seats, and a gap of 6 to 12 inches between

the curtain and the left, or driver's side

of the vehicle (T-74). Dekle testified he

could see through the gap and observed two
(2) bags, which he believed to contain mar-
ijuana (T-21).

Significantly, Inspector Perry, the of-
ficer who originally stopped and detained

the vehicle and its occupants, gave yet an-

22

other version of what could be seen or
smelled from outside the vehicle. Perry
testified that "the only way you could see
in it was from the front" (T-33-34). As to
the cargo area behind the curtain, Perry
stated:

A: [Inspector Perry] I couldn't see inside
the vehicle. As far as I could see was
where the passenger and the driver's
seat was. That's as far as I could see.
They had a curtain up to shield off the
rest of it (T-34).

Perry was likewise unable to perceive the

same smell of marijuana that Tompkins was

able to obtain, despite Perry being as
close as one or two feet from the van at
times (T-64). After failing to observe the
area behind the curtain, Perry was ordered
hy the other officers to return to the sta-
tion and complete his paper work (T-34,

64).

23

After Dekle, Tompkins, Deputy Copeland
and Nobles had been at the inspection Sta-
tion examining the vehicle for approximatly
30 to 45 minutes (T-62), Tompkins and Dekle
entered the Inspection Station and asked
Petitioner who owned the van. Petitioner
indicated that he was the owner (T-65).

Dekle then told Tompkins that he felt
there was probable cause to believe there
was marijuana in the van solely on the ba-
sis of seeing the burlap bags, and because
it was a vehicle, he did not think it would
be necessary to obtain a search warrant
(T-72). Dekle made it clear that any smell
of marijuana did not enter into his prob-
able cause determination (T-71-73).
Tompkins then asked the Petitioner for the
keys to the vehicle. Again, Petitioner
stated that he was not giving permission to

search the van (T-7). Tompkins told Peti-

24

tioner that his permission was not needed
because he (Tompkins) was going to search
the van even if he had to "pull the door
ose fe” (8-7, 73, 87). Tompkins then
assured Petitioner that the act of giving
him the keys would not be considered as a
consent to search the vehicle (Id.)
Petitioner gave the keys to Tompkins
(T-8), who proceeded back to the van, and
in the presence of Deputy Copeland, Inspec-
tor Perry and Dekle, opened the van, and
saw the bags in the rear of the van (T-8).
Marijuana wii not in plain sight and was
not seen until Tompkin opened, and looked
into one of the bags and saw what he
believed to be marijuana (T-8). Shortly
thereafter, Deputy Copeland arrested Cain
and the Petitioner, and transported them to

the Hamilton County Jail (T-8).

25

The trial court upheld the _ statute,
saying:

That section 570.15 of the Florida Sta-

tutes is constitutional and that said

statute does not generally or as applied
to the facts of this case, deprive peti-
tioner of due process or equal protec-
tion of the laws. (App.41).
The trial court found probable cause for
the search (T-100).

The Florida Supreme Court upheld the
validity of the statute applying the "'con-
ventional standard" since it found the sta-
tute "does not infringe upon any funda-
mental rights...but is a valid exercise of

the police power."' (App. 24). The court
rejected Petitioner's equal protection
arguments although admitting that only
"some vans'' fall within the statutory
definition of a truck and _ that_ the

distinction was clear and not vague for

indefiniteness (App. 13, 14):

26

Vans designed to carry cargo are trucks
and are required to stop at Agricultrual
Inspection Stations. Vans described as
passenger vehicles are not. (App. 16).

As to the search and seizure the Florida
Supreme Court found probable cause:

We believe, however, that the conduct
of Cain and Gluesenkamp in illegally
proceeding past the inspection station,
together with the contradictory state-
ments they made to the inspection offi-
cer regarding their cargo, provided
probable cause supporting the limited
intrusion by the law enforcement offi-
cers who subsequently arrived, looked in
the van's windows, and saw the bundles
which strongly suggested to them the
presence of contraband (App. 28).

The Court found that Petitioner had the
keys and could have driven away thereby af-
fording exigent circumstances (App. 30).
Smell was not a factor in its decision.

In ruling, the Florida Supreme Court
held the purpose of the statute was
investigatory, not regulatory: |

The reason for requiring certain vehic-

les to stop at the inspection stations
is to allow the inspectors a little time

27

in which to decide if there is probable
cause for searching. Once a determina-
tion is made, a search should either be
made or the driver should be allowed to
continue. The fourth amendment prohib-
its unreasonable seizures as well as un-
reasonable searches. Detaining a driver
and his vehicle for an inordinate amount
of time is an unreasonable seizure. If
the inspector is unsure of whether suf-
ficient probable cause exists, he may
detain the vehicle and seek assistance
as was done in this case.

The seizure in this case was not un-
reasonable. Although close to two hours
had passed from the time the vehicle was
stopped to the time it was_ searched,
there was no evidence of undue delay.
Most of the time was spent in contacting
and waiting for a deputy sheriff and an
assistant state attorney, men who were
more qualified to decide if sufficient
probable cause existed. (App. 31)
(Emphasis supplied).

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT

l. THE DECISION BELOW IS CONTRARY TO
THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND THE
_.UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION IN THAT IT.
UPHOLDS A SEIZURE AND SEARCH BASED ON
THE ARBITRARY AND UNREASONABLE STOPPING
OF PETITIONER'S VEHICLE THAT FIT A
SUBJECTIVE PROFILE OF VEHICLES’ THE
GOVERNMENT DEEMED LIKELY TO CONTAIN
PRODUCTS SUBJECT TO REGULATION BY THE
FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE WHEN

28

THERE WAS NEITHER REASONABLE SUSPICION
NOR PROBABLE CAUSE TO BELIEVE THE
VEHICLE CONTAINED ANY PROSCRIBED
PRODUCTS WHERE THE STATE'S INTEREST IN
AGRICULTURAL REGULATIONS DID NOT
OUTWEIGH THE RESULTING INTRUSION ON THE
PRIVACY AND SECURITY OF THE PERSONS
DETAINED.

Stopping a vehicle and detaining its oc-
cupants constitutes a seizure within the
meaning of the Fourth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments “even though the purpose of the stop

is limited and the resulting detention

quite brief". Delaware v. Prouse, 440

U.S. 648, 653 (1979). The essential pur-
pose of the proscription of the Fourth
Awendment is to impose a standard of rea-
sonableness upon the exercise of discretion
by government officials, in order "'to safe-
guard the privacy and security of individ-
uals against arbitrary invasions." Marsh-

all v. Barlow's, 436 U.S. 307, 312 (1978),

29
citing Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S.
523, 528 (1967).

Thus, the permissibility of a particular
law-enforcement practice is judged by
balancing its intrusion on the indivi-
duals' Fourth Amendment interests
against its promotion of legitimate gov-
ernmental interests. Implemented in
this manner, the reasonableness standard
usually requires, at a minimum, that the
facts upon which an intrusion is based
be capable of measurement against "an
objective standard,'' whether this be
probable cause or a less stringent test.
In those situations in which the balance
of .interests precludes insistence upon
"some ‘quantum of individualized suspi-
cion,'' other safeguards are generally
relied upon to assure that the individ-
uals reasonable expectation of privacy
is not "subject to the discretion of the
official in the b> agile , Deleware Vv.
Prouse, supra, at 654, quoting Camara v.
Municipa ourt, supra, 387 U.S. at

932.

The stop of Petitioner's vehicle in the
instant case was completely and totally ar-
bitrary. The use of the statute here was
not regulatory but investigatory (App. 31).
The inspector who stopped the vehicle said

that 85% of all vans do not stop at the

30
station but that the inspectors do not de-
tain every vehicle that does not stop. In-
stead they arbitrarily decide which vans to
stop looking for such factors as panels,
curtains, windows, ones that set down low
(T-39).

The holding in Delaware v. _ Prouse,

supra, at 661, is applicable here:

This kind of standardless and _ uncon-
strained discretion is the evil the
Court has discussed when in previous
cases it has insisted that the discre-
tion of the official in the field be
> acide at least to some extent.
I _

In Almeida Sanchez v. United States, 413

U.S. 266 (1973) this Court was faced with
the exact situation presented by Petitioner
herein--a statute authorizing the stopping
of vehicles that were within 100 miles of
the United States border without any show-
ing of probable cause. The instant case
involves a statute authorizing the stopping

of all vehicles except cars and recrea-

31
tional vehicles, again without regard to
the existence of probable cause. The pur-

pose of the statute in the Almeida Sanchez

case was to stop the flow of illegal
aliens. The purpose of the statute here is
to stop the flow of illegal agricultural

products. Stephenson v. Department of

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 329 So.

2d 373 (Fla. 1976). In Almeida-Sanchez,

this Court ruled that neither "a stop and
search of a moving automobile can be made
without a warrant", probable cause or con-
sent. Id., 413 U.S. at 269, going on to
state:

Since neither this Court's automobile
search decisions nor its administrative
inspection decisions provide any support
for the constitutionality of the stop
and search in the present case, we are
left simply with the statute that pur-
ports to authorize automobiles to be
stopped and searched, without a warrant
and within a reasonable distance from
any external boundary of the United
States. Id., at 272.

32

This Court went on to delineate the nar-

row circumstances under which vehicle stops

and searches might be permissible:

at

But those lawfully within the country,
entitled to use the public highways,
have a right to free passage without in-
terruption or search unless ‘there is
known to a competent official, author-
ized to search, probable cause for be-
lieveing that their vehicles are carry-
ing contraband or illegal merchandise.'
Id., at 274.

Here as in Delaware v. Prouse, supra,

661, the purported state interest in

regulation does not outweigh the constitu-

tional infringements resulting therefron,

this Court held:

To insist upon neither an appropriate
factual basis for suspicion directed at
a particular automobile nor upon some
other substantial and objective standard
or rule to govern the exercise of dis-
cretion "would invite intrusions upon
constitutionally guaranteed rights based
on nothing more substantial than inar-
ticulate hunches..." Id., quoting Terry
v. Ohio, supra, at 22.

33

These constitutional protections do not
disappear simply because a vehicle is sub-
ject to state regulations. Cady v. Dom-

browski, 413 U.S. 433, 441 (1973). "[I]f

the government intrudes...the privacy in-
terest suffers whether the government's mo-
tivation is to investigate violation of
criminal laws or breaches of other statu-

tory or regulatory standards."' Marshall v.

Barlow's, Inc., supra, 312, 313. There are

certain "relatively unique circumstances"
in which consent to regulatory restrictions
is presumptively concurrent with participa-
tion in the regulated enterprise. Id., at

313. See also, United States v. Biswell,

406 U.S. 311 (1972) (federal regulation of

firearms); Collande Catering Corp. v. Uni-

ted States, 397 U.S. 72 (1970) (federal re-

gulation of liquor). Otherwise, regulatory

inspections unaccompanied by any quantum of

34

individualized, articulable suspicion must
be undertaken pursuant to previously speci-

fied "neutral criteria." Marshall v.

Barlow's, Inc., id., at 313.

In fact the statute here is not regula-
tory but an excuse to allow law enforcement
officers to investigate suspect vehicles.
As the Florida Supreme Court said: "The
reason for requiring certain vehicles to
stop at the inspection stations is to allow
the inspectors a little time, in which to
decide if there is probable cause for
searching."" (App. 31). The agricultural
inspector who stopped the vehicle testified
his stop was of ar “investigatory nature"
(T-38-42). He stated he stopped the ve-
hicle because it fit a subjective profile
of vehicles likely to eouibe proscribed
products (T-38-40). Thus it was. not

35
stopped simply because it passed the in-
spection station in violation of the law.
The facts of this case are similar to

United States v. Shaefer, 28 Cr.L.R. 2386,

where a Pennsylvania statute authorized law
enforcement officials to require the driver
of any vehicle to stop and submit to
weighing in order’ to _ see whether it
exceeded weight limitations. In striking
down the stop and resultant search and
seizure under the statute the Court of
Appeals for the Thix~d Circuit found that a
general roadblock of all trucks had not

been set up and held, citing Delaware v.

Prouse, supra, Marshall v. Barlow's, supra,

and Camara v. Municipal Court, supra, that

",...the Courts will not countenance
pretextual use of a regulatory statute for

an investigatory purpose unrelated to the

36

statutory scheme." Shaefer, supra, 28

Cr.L. 2387.

This Court has upheld limited profile

searches "

++-Supported at least by a rea-
sonable and articulable suspicion that the
person seized is engaged in criminal activ-
ity."' Reid v. Georgia, U.S. ___, 100 S.

Ct. 2752, 2753 (1980). But here, as in

Reid, supra, the agent's belief that Peti-

tioner was violating agricultural laws was
no more than an "inchoate and unparticular-

ized suspicion". Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S.

1, 27 (1968). Here, as in Reid, the cir-
cumstances and actions leading to the stop
"...describe a very large category of pre-
sumably innocent travelers, who would be
subject to virtually random seizures were
the Court to conclude that as little foun-

dation as there was in this case could

37

justify a seizure.'"' Reid, supra, 100 S.
Ct. at 2754.

2. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI
TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS WITH LOWER COURTS
THAT CONTINUE TO ERODE THE FOURTH AMEND-
MENT'S PROSCRIPTION AGAINST WARRANTLESS
VEHICLE SEARCHES AND SEIZURES IN ABSENCE
OF EITHER PROBABLE CAUSE OR EXIGENT CIR-
CUMSTANCES.

Assuming, without admitting, the consti-
tutionality of the Florida Statutes Section

570.15, the warrantless search of the Peti-

tioner's van nearly two (2) hours after it

had been stopped by Agricultural Inspector
Perry, and after the van had been escorted
to the next exit and then back to the
southbound inspection station (a distance
of approximately ten miles) (T-37), and
held, along with Petitioner, for 60-90

minutes until other officers arrived and

decided to search the van without warrant,

was nonetheless clearly illegal.

38

A warrantless search is per se unreason-
able,and subject only to a few specifically

delineated exceptions. Coolidge v. New

Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971); Katz v.

United States, 389 U.S. 347, (1967); United

States v. Garay, 477 F.2d 1306 (Sth Cir.

1973). These exceptions include: (a) a
search incident to arrest; (b) the exis-
tence of probable cause coupled with exi-
gent circumstances; and (c) the plain view
doctrine. In Coolidge this Court said

these exceptions ".

-.are jealously and
carefully drawn..." id., at 455.

In Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42,

(1970), this Court restated the necessity
for probable cause in warrantless searches
of automobiles, and clearly defined the
circumstances under which a warrantless
search of an automobile is constitutionally

permissible.

39

Application of the foregoing authorities
to the facts of this case make it abun-
dantly clear that there were no exigent
circumstances which could conceivably jus-
tify a warrantless search of the Peti-
tioner's van.

First, Petitioner and Cain were detained
in the Inspection Station, under’ the
control of Inspector Perry and _ other
officers (T-57, 58). The van was located
some fifty (50) yards from the station (T-
83), after it had been stopped on the open
highway and escorted approximately’ ten
miles to the station (T-37). As Inspector
Perry testified neither the Petitioner nor
the van was going tc leave until he,
Inspector Perry, had found ou. what was in
the van (T-58).

Second, the record reflects that approx-

imately two (2) hours elapsed between the

time Petitioner was detained and the time

40

of the warrantless search of the vehicle (T
59-61, 66).

Third, the Inspection Station where Pe-
titioner and his vehicle were detained was
located twelve (12) miles from the City of
Jasper, the County Seat of Hamilton County,
Florida. Even assuming arguendo the exis-
tence of probable cause, any one of several
persons (i.e., Inspector Perry, Nobles,
Deputy Copeland, Investigator Tompkins, or,
especially, Assistant State's Attorney
Dekle) had ample opportunity to travel to
Jasper (or stop on the way to the scene) to
make application for a search warrant. In-
spector Perry testified that a Judge was
available in Hamilton County for obtaining
a search warrant, and that other judges
lived in Suwannee County, about eighteen
(18) miles away, and in Lake City, about
twenty (20) miles away (T-67, 68). Coinci-

41

dentally, Lake City is the same town which
Assistant State Attorney Dekle left to come
to the station to assist in the warrantless
search (T-70).

Finally, regardless of how the Court re-
solves the serious inconsistencies between
the various versions of seeing or not see-
ing burlap colored containers (T-15, 34,
71, 73), and smelling or not smelling the
odor of marijuana (T-5, 18, 64), it is un-
deniable from the testimony adduced that
the officer who originally seized Peti-
tioner and his vehicle, Inspector Perry,
held both on the basis of the fact that (1)
the van failed to stop at the inspection
station and (2) it "was kind of heavy"
(T-27). That officer saw no_ suspicious
packages (T-34) and smelled no odor of mar-
ijuana (T-64). Yet the van was held not for

the purpose of obtaining a search warrant

42
which is specifically mandated by the Sec-
tion 570.15(2), Florida Statutes, but for

the arrival of more experienced officers.
Assistant State's Attorney Dekle, who made
the decision to search made it solely on
the fact that he saw burlap bags when he
looked through the van's window (T-71-73).
Clearly, the warrantless search failed
to meet the requirements clearly set forth
by this Court in Coolidge, supra, and
Chambers, supra. The decision in
Petitioner's case is an important and
radical departure from this Court's long
line of decisions in this area, and is
already being applied by the appellate
Courts of Florida to uphold similar

searches. See, e.g., Gordon Corbett Brock

v. State of Florida, Supreme Court of

Florida Case No. 57,718 (March 5, 1981).

43

3. THE DECISION BELOW IS CONTRARY TO
THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND WELL
FOUNDED PRINCIPLES OF APPELLATE REVIEW
IN THAT THE EVIDENCE FAILS TO SUPPORT
THE OPINION OF THE FLORIDA SUPREME
COURT.

The decision of the Florida Supreme
Court upholding the search rests on factual
assumptions by the court unsupported by the
record. This factual assumption is criti-
cal to a correct application of Fourth
Amendment principles. In its opinion the
Florida Supreme Court stated:

The facts in this case are even more

compelling; Gluesenkamp, who owned the

van, was not the one who was arrested
for failing to stop at the inspection
station...Since he had the keys, he
could have attempted to drive away at

any time (App. 30).

But while Petitioner did, indeed, have the
keys initially, they were surrendered to
the deputy sheriff after being ordered to

do so when taken to the inspection station

44

(T-7, 73, 87). More importantly, Inspector
Perry testified Petitioner could not have
moved the van, saying "That van couldn't go
no place...(b)ecause I had to find out what
was in it before I even let it go.'(T-58).

The Florida Supreme Court also made a
factual determination that an Assistant
State Attorney was qualified to make a
probable cause determination and that the
detention of the van and the Petitioner un-
til he could come on the scene to assess
probable cause was legal (App. 31). Such a
holding is contrary to the clear holding of
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443

(1977) where the Supreme Court held that a
state's attorney or law enforcement offici-
als are™~ not qualified to make a probable
cause determination: "[P]rosecutors and
policemen simply cannot be asked to main-

tain the requisite neutrality with regard

45

to their own investigations - the 'competi-
tive enterprises' that must rightly engage
their single-minded attention." Id., at
450. Even a judicial officer, when he is
too close to the events, has been held not
to fulfill the role that the Constitution
reserves for a neutral and detached magis-
trate to review probable cause before any
intrusion into a protected space. See,
Lo-Ji Sales, Inc. v. New York, 447
U.S.319, 327 (1979).

In Petitioner's case the record clearly
demonstrates that the officer who original-
ly detained Petitioner's vehicle for fail-
ure to stop at the inspection. station
clearly did not have probable cause to
search at the roadside. Both Carroli,

supra, and Chambers, supra, at 399 rely

heavily on the concept of a car stopped “on

the highway" which is "movable" where "the

46
opportunity to search is fleeting..." Id.
Clearly, Petitioner's case does not present
an immediate, roadside search by an officer
who clearly possessed probable cause. Re-
gardless of any consideration as to prob-
able cause, the law absolutely requires a
search warrant as to an immobilized ve-
hicle, removed from the roadway and under
the exclusive control of law enforcement
authorities. The Supreme Court has clearly

held in United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S.

1 (1979) that where an object comes under
police control, exigency ceases to exist,
and the officers must get a search warrant.
A warrantless search--regardless of how
strong the probable cause, see Chadwick,
supra--is illegal. In reaffirming Chad-
wick's holding, the Supreme Court recently
emphasized in Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S.
753, (1979):

47

But as we noted in Chadwick, the exigen-
cy of mobility must be assessed at the
point immediately before the search--
-after the police have seized the object
to be searched and have it securely
within their control. Id., at 763.

This Court's decision in United States

v. United States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364

(1948) long ago established the ground
rules for appellate review of fact find-
ings: findings of fact will not be set
aside unless "clearly erroneous." "A find-
ing is ‘clearly erroneous’ where although
there is evidence to support it, the re-
viewing court on the entire evidence is
left with the definite and firm conviction
that a mistake has been committed."' Id. at
395. It follows that a "clearly erroneous"
ruling is demanded where there is a total

absence of evidence. See Duke Power

Company v. Carolina Environmental Study

Group, 438 U.S. 59 (1978).

48

Similarly, this Court stated in Roemer

v. Board of Public Works of Maryland, 426

U.S. 736 (1976) that "[i]Jt is not our
place, however, to reappraise the evidence,

unless it plainly fails to support the

findings of the trier of facts." Id. at
758. (Emphasis added).

The Court below violated well-founded
principles of appelate review by failing to
base its opinion on the record in the case
as to critical facts related to the search
and this Court should issue its writ to re-
affirm these principles.

4. THE DECISION BELOW UPHOLDING THE

CONSTITUTIONAL VALIDITY OF THE STATE

STATUTE WHICH ALLOWS ARBITRARY STOPS BY

GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS WITHOUT ARTICULABLE

SUSPICION OR PROBABLE CAUSE IS IN CON-

FLICT WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND

THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT, AND CONTRARY
TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

49

Under the Florida Statute § 570.15, as
interpreted by the Supreme Court of the
State of Florida, vehicles bearing "RV"
license plates were exempt from inspection,
while vehicles in precisely the same cir-
cumstances which do not display "RV" li-
cense plates were subject to inspection.
The equal protection clause of the Four-
teenth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution has long been held to prohibit
unequal treatment of persons similarly sit-

uated. In Davis v. Weir, 497 F.2d 139

(5th Cir. 1974) the Court of Appeals quotes
Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71, 75 (1971), no-

ting that this Court has consistently and
repeatedly explained that:

-++The Equal Protection Clause of that
amendment does, however, deny to States
the power to legislate that different
treatment be accorded to persons placed
by a statute into different classes on
the basis of criteria wholly unrealted
to the objective of that statute. A

50
classification ‘must be reasonable, not
arbitrary, and must rest upon some
ground of difference having a fair and
substantial relation to the object of
the legislation, so that all persons
similarly circumstanced shall be treated

alike.' Id., at 144.

Under traditional equal protection anal-
ysis, a legislative classification is per-
missible if it is rationally related to a

legitimate state interest, United States

Department of Agriculture v. Moreno, 413

U.S. 528, 533 (1973).

Thus, this Court has long held that a
law creating distinct classifications with-
out a fair and substantial rational rela-
tion to the purposes of the legislation re-
sults in a denial of constitutionally guar-
anteed equal protection of the laws. See
Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia, 253 U.S.
412 (1920):

But the classification must be
reasonable, not arbitrary, and not rest
upon some ground of difference having a

51
fair and substantial relation to the ob-
ject of the legislation, so that all
persons similarly situated shall be
treated alike. Id., at 415.

The purpose of § 570.15(1) was construed

in Stephenson v. Department of Agriculture

and Consumer Services, 329 So.2d 373,

(Fla. lst D.C.A. 1976), wherein that court
noted:

Appellee has full authority under the
police power of the State of Florida to
conduct agricultural inspections of the
vehicles mentioned in the above statutes
provided such inspections are made pur-
suant to the terms of said statutes.
The inspections are necessary in order
that Appellee may carry out its respon-
sibilities relating to disease control,
fruit and vegetable grading and other
similar matters required by law, Appel-
Tee's regulations and Federal marketing
orders. Id., at 3/6. (Emphasis
added).

The effect of the statute was to create
a legal distinction in the absence of a
significant and meaningful factual differ-

ence between those motor vehicles having

52

"RV" tags and those which do not bear such
tags. Assuming that the legislature had a
legitimate purpose for regulating’ the
transportation of agricultural products
within the State, it has exceeded the per-
missible limits of the equal protection
clause of the Constitution of the United
States by classifying those vehicles which
are subject to inspection solely upon the
basis of whether or not the vehicle bears
an "RV" license tag.

The differing treatment cf "RV" and non-
"RV" licensed vehicles bears no legitimate
relationship, rational or otherwise, to the
health purposes of the inspection statute.
Excluding vehicles registered as recrea-
tional vehicles from possible inspection by
state officials looking for illicit fruits
while subjecting others situated in pre-

cisely the same circumstances except for

53

the license plate on the vehicle, results
in a constitutionally deficient disparity
of treatment.

The totally unreasonable distinction be-
tween motor vehicles with "RV" tags and
those without such tags is further revealed

in Section 320.06(1)(a), (A) Florida Sta-

tutes, which provides in material part:

Registration license plates and certifi-
cates of registration shall be issued
to, and remain in the name of, the owner
of each vehicle registered and may be
transferred by the owner from the ve-
hicle for which the registration license
plate was issued to any vehicle which
the owner may acquire within the same
classification...

Thus, the owner of a_ fully-equipped
truck camper bearing an "RV" license tag
can sell his vehicle, purchase a Ford F-150
pick-up truck within the same weight class,
and lawfully transfer his "RV" license tag
to the truck. Thereafter, he can transport

agricultural produce or other cargo, all

54

without being subjected to an inspection by
Florida Department of Agricultural em-
ployees--simply because the pick-up truck
has an "RV" license tag.

It should be noted that § 570.15(1) and
§ 570.15(2) were not entirely consistent.
Subsection (1) granted access to, among
other things, "motor vehicles, other than
vehicles bearing an "RV" license tag".
Subsection (2) makes it a misdeameanor for
any truck to pass an official road guard
inspection station without first stopping
for inspection.

Due to the transferable nature of motor
vehicle license tags in Florida, the owner
of an "RV" license tag may affix the same
tag to his truck. If that vehicle passed
an inspection station without stopping the
truck for inspection, he has committed a

misdemeanor [i.e., violation of Florida

55

Statutes § 570.15(2)]; even though Section
570.15(1) expressly exempted the truck from
inspection solely because it bore an "RV"
license tag.

The question presented herein is whether
a state under the guise of it police power
may enact such legislation as will seri-
ously burden, hinder and impede the conm-
merce and trade agreement between the
states. The statute imposes a duty on ev-
ery driver, if not occupant, passing along
Florida Highways to determine for himself
whether it falls within the proscription of
the statute in order to escape criminal li-
ability. This the driver must do even
though he has no notice nor does the
statute define the types of trucks or vans
that might fit the proscription.

The right of a citizen to travel from

state to state uninhibited by _ statutes

56
which burden or unreasonably restrict such

movement is a fundamental right. Shapiro
v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618, 630 (1969). The

right to associate freely and "to go where
one pleases" are also fundmental rights
protected by the First and Fourteenth
Amendments. Alladin's Castle, Inc. Vv.

City of Mesquite, 630 F.2d 1029, 1041 (5th

Cir. 1980). Because of these fundamental
rights, strict scrutiny is called for and
the state must demonstrate a compelling
interest to justify the classification.
Mason v. Lister, 562 F.2d 343, 346 (Sth

Cir. 1978); Dorough v. Estelle, 457 F.2d
1007, 1010 (5th Cir. 1974).

This statutory classification fails to
satisfy even the ‘rational basis' test;
however, the constitutional infirmity of
the statute is even clearer when the

stricter test is applied. Not only is

57
there no substantial or rational basis for
the classification, but even if some ra-
tional basis were to be arguably present,
the requisite "compelling state interest"
could not be found.

The vehicle in the instant case was a
van without an "RV" license tag. The ve-
hicle was registered and properly licensed
“in the State of Indiana (T-79). Thus, the
statute's classification offends the Con-
stitution, as the effect of the application
fo the statute to Petitioner was to subject
him to inspection on the basis of his ve-
hicle license not being from Florida, or to
punish an interstate traveler for not
re-licensing his vehicle in the visited
- state.

The citizens of each state shall be en-
titled to all privileges and immunities of

the citizens in the several states, and of

58
the United States. Article IV, Section 2,
Fourteenth Amendment. As discussed infra,
freedom to move from state to state is a
fundamental liberty. Edwards v. Califor-
nia, 314 U.S. 160 (1941). In Ward v. Mar-
yland, 12 Wall 418, 430 (1870), the Court

concluded that the commerce clause "...

plainly and unmistakeably secures and pro-
tects the rights of a citizen of one State
to pass into any other State of the Union
for the purpose of engaging in lawful com-
merce, trade or business without
molestation."

The lack of a precise definition of rec-
reational vehicles in the statute leaves
the stopping of vans within the unbridled
discretion of the law enforcement officers.
Decisions on who to stop cannot be left in
the unfettered discretion of law enforce-

ment officials "because it encourages

59
arbitrary and erratic arrests and convic-
tions.'' Papa- christou v. City of Jackson-
ville, 405 U.S. 156, 162 (1972). This

practice of leaving who to stop in the
hands of law enforcement officials was con-
demned in Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648
(1979):

This kind of standardless and _ uncon-

strained discretion is the evil the

Court has ddiscussed when in previous

cases it has insisted that the discre-

tion of the officials in the field be
circumscribed at least to some extent.

Id., at 661.

In a vehicle of the type Petitioner was
driving due to the fact it was licensed by
another state, how could the state tell
whether it was a recreational vehicle or
cargo van unless the unwarranted intrusion
‘and stop was followed by an unwarranted
look inside the van?

The definition of a crime is the exclu-
sive function of the legislature and the

exercise of such unfettered and unqualified

60
discretion in construing statutes cannot be
left in the hands of law enforcement offi-
cers or jurors. Giaccio v. Pennsylvania,
382 U.S. 399 (1966).

It is well established that a law fails
to meet the requirements of Due Process
clause if it is so vague and standard-
less that it leaves the public uncertain
as tw the conduct it prohibits or leaves
judges and jurors free to decide, with-
out legally fixed standards, what is
prohibited and what is not in each par-
ticular case." Id.

The constitutional deficiency of the
statutes here is similar to the statutes
struck down by the Court in Cox v. Louisi-

ana, 379 U.S. 536, 579 (1965):

Such a statute does not provide for gov-

ernment by clearly defined laws, but ra-

ther for government by the moment to mo-

ment opinions of a policeman on his

beat.

Imperative to the proper construction of
the statute here is the Supreme Court's
holding in Cramp v. Board of Education, 368

U.S. 278, 287 (1961): "...the vice of un-

constitutional vagueness is further aggra-

61
vated where, as here, the stetute in ques-
tion operates to inhibit the exercise of
individual freedoms affirmatively protected
by the constitution."

The statute here "

.--fails to give a
person of ordinary intelligence fair notice
that his contemplated conduct is forbidden

the statute.'' United States v. Harris, 347

U.S. 612, 617 (1954). All persons "are en-
titled to be informed as to what the State

commands or forbids." Lanzetta v. New

Jersey, 306 U.S. 451, 453 (1938). As ar-
gued infra, a driver of a van does not know
he falls within the proscription of the
statute nor is he given notice that he must

stop at the inspection station.*

*Florida Statutes § 570.15 has’ been
amended since Petitioner's conviction, and
subsection 7 now reads: 'Motor vehicles,
except private passenger automobiles with
no trailer in tow, travel trailers, campin

trallers, and motor homes as defined in F
320.06(1) (b).

62
Lanzetta is but one of a long e2stab-
lished line of cases insisting that the law
give fair notice of the offending conduct.
See Cline v. Frink Davis Co., 274 U.S. 445

(1928); United States v. L. Cohen Grocery
Co., 255 U.S. 81 (1920).

The statute here is to be judged by the
principles set out in Papachristou v. City
of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156 (1972).

Here, as in Papchristou, the statute pro-

scribes activities which by prevalent stan-
dards is normally innocent. There, night
walking was proscribed. Here, driving a
cargo van without an "RV" tag past an in-
spection station is proscribed. Just as
"walkers and strollers and wanderers may be
going to or coming from a burglary" id.,
405 U.S. at 844, occupants of vans might be
carrying illegal fruit or other contraband,

but as the Court said in United States v.

Reese, 92 U.S. 214 (1871):

63

It would certainly be dangerous if the
legislature could set a net large enough
to catch all possible offenders, and
leave it to the courts to step inside
and say who could be rightfully de-
tained, and who should be set at
large."' Id., at 221.

"(C]riminal responsibility should not at-
tach where one could not reasonably under-
stand that his contemplated conduct is pro-
scribed."' United States v. National Dairy
Products, 372 U.S. 29, 32 (1963).

While the sign at the interstate said
"all trucks" must stop, the state concedes
passenger trucks and recreational vehicles
are not trucks within the meaning of the
Florida statute. "Words which are vague
and fluid...may be as much of a trap for
the innocent as the ancient laws of Caligu-

la."' United States v. Cardiff, 344 U.S.

174, 176 (1953). Florida authorities
stated that they have the most trouble with
getting vans to stop at inspection stations

(T-71-73). Numerous Supreme Court

64
decisions have struck down both criminal
and regulatory schemes upon a finding that
"men of common intelligence must necessar-
ily guess at is meaning and differ as to

its application." Connally v. General

Construction Company, 269 U.S. 385, 391,

(1926). See also, United States v. Mersky,
361 U.S. 431, (1960); M. Kraus and Brothers
v. United States, 327 U.S. 614, (1946).

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner
respectfully reuvests that this Court issue
a writ of certiorari to review the judgment
of the Florida Supreme Court.
Respectfully submitted,

James K. Jenkins

STROUP, GOLDSTEIN, JENKINS
& PRITZKER

900 Flat Iron Building

84 Peachtree St., N.W.

Atlanta, Ga. 30303

(404) 524-4343

J. M. Raffauf

900 Flat Iron Building
84 Peachtree St., N.W.
Atlanta, Ga. 30303
(404) 524-4343

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I have sent a copy
of the foregoing Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari to the Florida Supreme Court upon
the Florida State's Attorney, Jim Smith,
The Capitol, Tallahassee, Florida.

This /e““day of March, 1981.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1982%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
