# Petitioners Reply Brief — Army and Air Force Exchange Service v. Sheehan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1964%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 456 U.S. 728

## Text

Office - Supreme Co
* FILE aag
No. 80-1437 FEB il 1982
ALEXANDER lL. STEVAS
sé | . CLERK
In the Supreme Court of the Unite

Ocroser TERM, 1981

ARMY AND AIR FoRCE EXCHANGE SERVICE
PETITIONER

Vv.

ARTHUR EDWARD SHEEHAN

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Augusta Aviation, Inc. Vv. United States, 500
F.Supp. 785 7
Aycock-Lindsey Corp. Vv. United States, 171 F.2d
SOU saccioshdibisbadioacacsielalblsciindatpecaepacnidatas 6, 7
Bodek v. Department of the Treasury, 5382 F.2d
277 6
Escude Cruz v. Ortho Pharmaceutical Corp., 619
PN ccinssiciicnii ertuieiendabecdinintashianbaapeiaaemaidanade 3

Familia De Boom v. Arosa Mercantil, S.A., 629
F.2d 1134, cert. denied, No. 80-1322 (May 18,
1981)

Gibbs v. Buck, 307 U.S. 66

Hatzlachh Supply Co. v. United States, 444 USS.
460 4

Hopkins v. United States, 513 F.2d 1860 ................ 10

Land v. Dollar, 380 U.S. 731 3

McNutt v. General Motors Acceptance Corp., 298
U.S, 178 2,3

Schultz v. Cally, 528 F.2d 470 2

Tanzumore Vv. Bethlehem Stcel Corp., 457 F.2d
1320 3

3

Trager V. New Rochelle Hospital Medical Center,
458 F.Supp. 516 ........................-00

United States v. Hopkins, 427 U.S. 128 .............. 8-9, 10, 11
United States v. Mitchell, 445 U.S. 585 .............-...... 2
United States V. Testan, 424 U.S. 392 ...............-...--. 6,7,9
Vorachek v. United States, 337 F.2d 799 ................ 2
Wolak v. United States, 366 F.Supp. 1106 .............. 6
Statutes, regulation and rule:
Soil Conservation and Domestic Allotment Act, 16
U.S.C. 590a et seq. 6
88 U.S.C. 1651 et seq. 7
AR 60/20/AFR 147-14 00........-.ccccccccceeeeee 10
Fed, R. Civ. P. 8(a) 2
Miscellaneous:

2A Moore’s Federal Practice (2d ed. 1981) ............ 2

Iu the Supreme Cont of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1981

No. 80-1437

ARMY AND AIR FoRCE EXCHANGE SERVICE,
PETITIONER

Vv.
ARTHUR EDWARD SHEEHAN

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

Respondent does not take issue with our statement
of the general principles applicable to this case. The
AAFES is an instrumentality of the United States
and therefore shares the government’s sovereign
immunity. The doctrine of sovereign immunity bars
any suit against the government unless the govern-
ment has consented to be sued, and such consent may
not be implied but must be unequivocally expressed.
Accordingly, a suit against the government for money
damages may not be maintained unless founded upon
a constitutional provision, sta.ute, or regulation ex-
pressly conferring the right to recover such damages
from the United States or upon a lawful contract

(1)

2

obligating the government to pay money. See Pet.
Br. 7-8.

In our opening brief, we argued that respondent’s
action was not based upon any such constitutional
provision, statute, regulation, or contract and that his
suit had therefore been properly dismissed for lack of
subject matter jurisdiction. Respondent’s brief does
not contend that the requisite waiver of sovereign
immunity may be found in a constitutional provision,
statute, or regulation. Instead, he claims only that
his action was based upon an express or implied-in-
fact contract with the AAFES. Respondent’s argu-
ment, however, clearly lacks merit, not only because
it is apparent that no such contract was made, but
also because he failed to satisfy his burdes of plead-
ing and proving the existence of such a contract when
his case was in the district court.

1. Under Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a), every complaint
must contain “a short and plain statement of the
grounds upon which the court’s jurisdiction depends.”
This provision requires that the complaint allege all
facts necessary to show that jurisdiction exists. See,
e.g., McNutt v. General Motors Acceptance Corp., 298
U.S. 178, 189 (1936) ; Schultz v. Cally, 528 F.2d 470,
474 (3d Cir. 1975); 2A Moore’s Federal Practice
{ 8.07[1], at 8-48 & n.5 (2d ed. 1981). Since courts
lack jurisdiction to entertain a suit barred by sovereign
immunity (United States v. Mitchell, 445 U.S. 535,
538 (1980)), a complaint against the United States
or an agency or instrumentality that shares its sov-
ereign immunity must allege all facts necessary to
show a valid waiver of sovereign immunity. See
Vorachek v. United States, 387 F.2d 797, 799 (8th
Cir. 1964).

Not only must the plaintiff include such allegations
in his complaint but, more important, if jurisdic-

tion is challenged by the defendant or the court sua
sponte, the plaintiff bears the burden of proving that
jurisdiction exists. See, eg., McNutt v. General
Motors Acceptance Corp., supra, 298 U.S. at 189;
Familia De Boom vy. Arosa Mercantil, S.A., 629 F.2d
1134, 1138 (5th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, No. 80-1322
(May 18, 1981); Escude Cruz v. Ortho Pharmaceuti-
cal Corp., 619 F.2d 902, 904 (1st Cir. 1980). The
method or form of proof required is a matter within
the discretion of the district court. See, e.g., Gibbs
v. Buck, 307 U.S. 66, 71-72 (1939); Tanzymore v.
Bethlehem Steel Corp., 457 F.2d 1820, 1823-1324 (3d
Cir. 1972). The court need not conduct an evidentiary
hearing but “may inquire, by affidavits or otherwise,
into the facts as they exist.” Land v. Dollar, 330
U.S. 731, 785 n.4 (1947). See also, e.g., Tanzymore
v. Bethlehem Steel, supra, 457 F.2d at 1822-1324;
Trager v. New Rochelle Hospital Medical Center, 453
F.Supp. 516, 519 n.1 (S.D.N.Y. 1978).

In the present case, respondent utterly failed to dis-
charge his burden of pleading and proving jurisdic-
tion. His complaint made no reference whatsoever
to a contract with the AAFES (J.A. 3-10). Even after
the AAFES moved to dismiss his complaint for lack of
subject matter jurisdiction and noted that he had
been “an appointed (non-contract) employee,”’ re-
spondent did not seek to amend his complaint to allege
that he had been employed pursuant to contrac’. Nor
did he submit an affidavit or any other proof. He
merely submitted a memorandum of law in opposi-
tion to the motion to dismiss, and even there he failed
to mention any facts showing that he had been em-

1 Memorandum of Points and Authorities in Support of
Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss or in the Alternative for
Summary Judgment at 8.

ployed under contract.2 Indeed, his memorandum
stopped short of asserting that such a contract had
been made.’ After receiving respondent’s submission,
the district court dismissed his complaint.

The court of appeals attempted to rescue respond-
ent from his procedural default by holding that
“Tt}he allegation [in respondent’s complaint] that
[his] discharge violated controiling regulations was
* * * equivalent to an allegation of breach of an
implied-in-fact contract” (Pet. App. 9a). But since
there were no allegations or proof in the record con-
cerning such a “contract,” the court was forced to
infer its existence and terms solely from AAFES per-
sonnel regulations. The court concluded (id. at 8a;
emphasis in original) :

These latter regulations manifest the under-
standing of the parties concerning discharge
procedures while Sheehan continued in AAFES
employment. Accordingly, the regulations were
part of a collateral implied in-fact contract be-
tween Sheehan and the AAFES that the AAFES
would adhere to the regulations in its dealings
with him.

As we noted in our opening brief (Pet. Br. 24),
the court of appeals plainly confused a contract im-
plied in fact with a quasi-contract or contract im-
plied in law. And since the Tucker Act does not
furnish jurisdiction for claims founded upon quasi-
contracts or contracts implied in law (Hatzlachh Sup-
ply Co. v. United States, 444 U.S. 460, 465 n.5

2 See Memorandum of Authorities in Opposition to Defend-
ants’ Motion to Dismiss or in the Alternative, for Summary
Judgment.

5 See id, at 5-6,

(1980)), the “contract” found by the court of ap-
peals provided no basis for invoking the jurisdic-
tion of the federal courts.

Respondent contends (Resp. Br. 19) that the court
of appeals could not have made the elementary mis-
take of confusing a contract implied in law or a
quasi-contract with a contract implied in fact. But
the court of appeals relied solely upon provisions of
law—AAFES regulations—in concluding that the
AAFES had contracted with respondent. The court
made no reference to any facts bearing upon the
actual understanding of the parties. Accordingly, it
is abundantly clear that the “contract” identified by
the court could only be a contract implied in law or
a quasi-contract. See Pet. Br. 23-24. Moreover, be-
cause the record is devoid of allegations or proof con-
cerning the parties’ understanding or intent, there
was no rational basis for concluding that the parties
had entered into an actual agreement in the form of
an implied-in-fact contract. Indeed, as far as the
record reveals, both respondent and the AAFES
might have expressly acknowledged that respondent
was to be employed pursuant to appointment, rather
than contract.

The potential implications of the court of appeals’
erroneous decision are far-reaching. Because the
court relied solely upon AAFES personnel regulations
rather than any special facts concerning respondent’s
case, the court’s decision presumably means that all
AAFES employees work pursuant to contract. In
addition, the court’s reasoning provides no basis for
distinguishing the AAFES regulations at issue here
from other AAFES regulations affecting employees’
rights. Thus, if the former regulaticas “manifest the
understanding” of the AAFES and its employees

6

(Pet. App. 8a), the same is presumably true of the
latter. Furthermore, the logic of the court’s decision
would appear to extend beyond the AAFES and to
encompass virtually all federal employees and vir-
tually all federal regulations that bear upon their
rights. As a result, according to the court’s reason-
ing, sovereign immunity would not bar any suit
against the government for money damages brought
by an employee claiming a violation of any such reg-
ulations. In short, the court’s reasoning would lead to
the elimination of a large portion of the government’s
sovereign immunity.* Moreover, as noted in our open-

* Respondent relies (Resp. Br. 16-18, 20-22) upon four cases
to demonstrate the correctness of the decision below, but all
are readily distinguishable. In Bodek v. Department of the
Treasury, 582 F.2d 277, 279 n.7 (2d Cir. 1976), and Wolak v.
United States, 366 F.Supp. 1106 (D. Conn. 1973), the courts
stated that Treasury regulations governing the redemption
of United States Savings Bonds and the replacement of stolen
bonds form part of the express contract between bondholders
and the government. Since there was no express contract
between respondent and his employer, those cases have no
application here,

In Aycock-Lindsey Corp. Vv. United States, 171 F.2d 518
(5th Cir. 1948), a producer of naval stores brought suit
against the government for money allegedly due under the Soil
Conservation and Domestic Allotment Act, 16 U.S.C. 590a
et seq. Under that Act, subsidies are paid to eligible producers
who comply with certain requirements. The court held that
sovereign immunity did not bar the suit for two reasons.
First, the court held that since the action was based upon
federal statutes and regulations, the Tucker Act waived sov-
ereign immunity. That portion of the decision was overruled
by the holding in United States v. Testan, 424 U.S. 392, 398
(1976), that the Tucker Act does not waive sovereign im-
munity but merely furnishes jurisdiction for suits to which the
government has consented. The court in Aycock-Lindsey Corp.
also held that the government had entered into an implied

7

ing brief (Pet. Br. 21-22), that reasoning is funda-
mentally inconsistent with United States v. Testan,
424 U.S. 392 (1976).

contract with the producer because it had “published bulletins
and promulgated rules” expressly promising to pay eligible
producers who complied with certain requirements (171 F.2d
at 521). In the present case, by contrast, the AAFES did not
promise expressly or impliedly to pay damages to wrongfully
discharged employees. On the contrary, by excluding such em-
ployees from the coverage of the Back Pay Act, Congress ex-
pressly stated that no such payments would be made. In addi-
tion, Aycock-Lindsey Corp. did not involve the relationship
between the government or a governmental instrumentality
and its employees—an area in which appointment, rather than
contract, has been the traditional mode of employment (see
Pet. Br. 17). For that reason and because the nature of the
relationship between the government and its appointed em-
ployees has no analog in the government’s dealings with pri-
vate businesses, facts that might justify inferring a contrac-
tual relationship in the latter field may not suffice in the
former.

Augusta Aviation, Inc. v. United States, 500 F.Supp. 785
(S.D. Ga. 1980), involved statutes expressly granting educa-
tional benefits to eligible veterans enrolled in approved train-
ing. See 38 U.S.C. 1651 et seq. The Veterans’ Administration
first notified a schocl providing such training that a particular
veteran was entitled to substantial benefits but later, after
the training was completed, informed the school that the
veteran was actually entitled to much less. The school brought
suit, and the court held that the Veterans’ Administration
had impliedly agreed to pay the amount initially indicated.
Augusta Aviation is distinguishable from this case not only
because it arose outside the area of government employment
and concerned statutes expressly promising to pay money, but
also because it involved a communication that may be con-
strued as an express promise to pay a certain amount to the
veteran in question. Moreover, unlike respondent, the plain-
tiff there adduced substantial evidence to support its contract
claim.

2. Respondent contends (Resp. Br. 11-15, 19-23)
that even if the court of appeals’ reasoning is un-
sound, its decision nevertheless may be affirmed on
two other grounds. First, respondent urges (Resp.
Br. 14, 15, 16, 18-19) this Court ‘to find that he en-
tered into a contract with the AAFES when he was
accepted into the Executive Management Program.
However, as we pointed out in our opening brief
(Pet. Br. 18-19), it is apparent from the face of the
regulations concerning that program that partici-
pants are not employed under contract but are ap-
pointed like the vast majority of AAFES and federal
employees. Moreover, even if such a contract had
been made, respondent’s failure to mention it in
his district court filings was surely fatal. As noted,
respondent had the burden of pleading and proving
jurisdiction in the district court.

3. Finally, respondent maintains (Resp. Br. 11-
15) that the district court erred in dismissing his
complaint for lack of subject matter jurisdiction
without conducting an evidentiary hearing. As we
have noted, however (see page 3, supra), a district
court is not obligated to hold such a hearing but may
adjudicate the question of jurisdiction using any rea-
sonable method it chooses. In this case, where re-
spondent failed to plead or offer any evidence proving
necessary jurisdictional facts, there was plainly no
need for an evidentiary hearing. It makes no sense
to suggest that the district court was required to con-
duct such a hearing to determine whether respondent
had entered into a contract with his employer when
respondent did not even allege that such a contract
existed.

Respondent relies upon United States v. Hopkins,
427 U.S. 123 (1976), but his reliance is clearly mis-

placed. In Hopkins, a discharged AAF'ES employee
brought suit for money damages in the Court of

5 Respondent’s treatment of United States v. Testan, 424
U.S. 392 (1976), is equally unpersuasive. In our opening
brief, we contended (Pet. Br. 19-22) that the decision below
cannot be reconciled with Testan, in which claims brought
against the United States for money damages by federal em-
ployees were held to be barred by sovereign immunity. We
noted that the complaint in Testan, like that here, alleged
violations of provisions of law dealing with personnel mat-
ters and that neither complaint contained allegations concern-
ing a contract of employment. We reasoned that if an implied-
in-fact contract could be inferred in the present case, a similar
inference presumably should have been drawn in Testan.

In answer to our argument, respondent quotes (Resp. Br.
14) this Court’s statement in Testan that the plaintiffs “ [did]
not rest their claims upon a contract” (424 U.S. at 399) and
the statement that their action “is not one concerning a
wrongful discharge or a wrongful suspension” (id. at 402). He
then concludes (Resp. Br. 15):

[T]he implication is clear that a claim upon a contract
and a claim for wrongful discharge * * * are substantive
rights enforceable against the United States for mone-
tary damages under the Tucker Act.

In our view, half of respondent’s conclusion is illogical and
incorrect and the rest is beside the point. First, simply be-
cause the suit in Testan was not one for wrongful discharge
or suspension, it does not follow that the Tucker Act would
furnish jurisdiction for such a suit. On the contrary, the
teaching of Testan is that such a suit would be barred unless
predicated upon a provision of law containing an express
waiver of sovereign immunity. Second, while it is true that
sovereign immunity would not bar an action founded upon a
lawful contract obligating the United States to pay money,
that proposition neither answers our argument based upon
Testan nor disposes of this case. The issue presented by the
decision below is whether any such contract may be properly
“found based upon the record in this case, and in our opening
brief we maintained that inferring the existence of such of
contract based solely upon provisions of law concerning per-
sonnel matters was inconsistent with the result in Testan.

10

Claims and alleged that he had been employed pur-
suant to contract. Citing precedent holding that
AAFES employees are not federal employees (who
generally serve by appointment), Hopkins argued
that his relationship with the AAFES was therefore
contractual, just like the relationship between em-
ployers and employees in the private sector. The
Court of Claims accepted his argument (Hopkins v.
United States, 513 F.2d 1860 (1975), thus ob-
viating the need for him to submit any proof con-
cerning the nature of his employment relationship
with the AAFES. This Court reviewed the denial of
the AAFES’ pretrial motion to dismiss and rejected
the lower court’s reasoning. It concluded that most
AAFES employees, like most federal employees, are
appointed to their positions (427 U.S. at 127-128).
However, the Court noted that certain AAFES regu-
lations authorize a small category of employment
or “service contract[s]” for “services performed off a
military installation and ‘direct services such as jani-
torial and window cleaning service’” (id. at 129,
quoting AR 60-20/AFR 147-14, App. A, {| A-6e).
Holding that Hopkins’ “allegation that his discharge
constituted a breach of a contract of employment was
sufficient * * * to withstand the Government’s motion
to dismiss the complaint on the grounds of lack of
jurisdiction * * *” (427 U.S. at 130), the Court re-
manded the case to the Court of Claims with instruc-
tions that “the question of whether [Hopkins] was
employed by virtue of a contract or by appointment”
“depends upon an analysis of the statutes and reg-
ulations previously described in light of whatever
evidence is adduced on remand as to plaintiff’s par-
ticular status in this case” (ibid.).

Although respondent contends that this Court
should dispose of his case as it did Hopkins, there is

ll

no justification for similar treatment here. First,
whereas Hopkins’ complaint alleged that his dis-
charge constituted a breach of contract, respondent’s
complaint contains no such allegation. Second and
more important, Hopkins, unlike respondent, had not
failed to discharge his responsibility of proving
essential jurisdictional facts at the trial level. Be-
cause the Court of Claims accepted Hopkins erroneous
argument that he had been a contract employee sim-
ply because he had not been a federal employee, Hop-
kins had no occasion to offer whatever proof he might
have possessed showing that he was a contract em-
ployee in a more conventional sense. Conceivably
Hopkins might have possessed a written “service con-
tract” of the type described by this Court. However
unlikely it appeared that Hopkins could adduce such
proof, the Court obviously felt that it would be unfair
to require the dismissal of his suit without at least
affording him the opportunity to submit whatever
evidence he had.

Respondent, on the other hand, had a full oppor-
tunity to plead and prove essential jurisdictional facts
but failed to do so. Moreover, respondent had the
benefit of this Court’s decision in Hopkins explaining
the nature of employment by the AAFES and the
effect of the doctrine of sovereign immunity upon
suits such as his. There is consequently no justifica-
tion for giving respondent a second chance to do what
he should have done long ago. In addition, respond-
ent’s failure, even at this late date, to refer to any
facts substantiating the existence of his alleged con-
tract with the AAFES strongly suggests that he has
no such proof and that remanding this case for an
evidentiary hearing would be a pointless gesture.

12

For the reasons stated above and in our opening
brief, it is respectfully submitted that the judgment
of the court of appeals should be reversed and the
case should be remanded to that court with directions
to dismiss, for lack of jurisdiction, those portions of
the complaint seeking monetary relief.

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General

FEBRUARY 1982

WU. 8. CovennmanT Paintine orice, 1002 366000 700

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1964%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
