# Petitioners Reply Brief — Army and Air Force Exchange Service v. Sheehan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1964%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 456 U.S. 728

## Text

Office Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
No. 80-1437 JUL 80 1981
ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,
- } ——

Inu the Supreme Court of the United States

OctTosper TERM, 1980

ARMY AND AIR FoRCE EXCHANGE SERVICE, PETITIONER
Vv.

ARTHUR EDWARD SHEEHAN

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

REPLY MEMORANDUM FOR THE PETITIONER

LAWRENCE G, WALLACE
Acting Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Richardson v. United States, 214 Ct. Cl. 757 .... 3
Spooner v. United States, 211 Ct. Cl. 312 ....... 3
United States v. Hopkins, 427 U.S. 123... 1, 2,3,4
United States v. Testan, 424 U.S. 392 ...... 1,2,4
Statute and regulations:
Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. 1346(a)(2) «1... cece seen l
AR 60-20 / AFR 147-14 (Mar. 21, 1974) ...+++> 2

AR 60-21 / AFR 147-15 (Nov. 12, 1974) ...... 2,3

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM 1980

No. 80-1437
ARMY AND AIR ForCE EXCHANGE SERVICE, PETITIONER
Vv.

ARTHUR EDWARD SHEEHAN

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIO.”-ARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

REPLY MEMORANDUM FOR THE PETITIONER

The narrow question presented by this case and its com-
panion, Army and Air Force Exchange Service v. Gorman,
No. 80-1435 (filed Feb. 23, 1981), is whether an appointed
employee of a military exchange who has been discharged
may file a civil action for monetary damages against the
United States under the Tucker Act (28 U.S.C. 1346(a)(2))
predicated upon an implied-in-fact contract. As we demon-
strated in our petition in this case (at 4-14), the court of
appeals’ holding that Tucker Act jurisdiction may be
invoked in such a situation is inconsistent with the Court's
decisions in United States v. Hopkins, 427 U.S. 123 (1976),
and United States v. Testan, 424 U.S. 392 (1976).

1. Respondent's contention (Br. in Opp. 9-12) that the
decision in Hopkins supports the court of appeals’ decision
in this case is mistaken. In Hopkins, this Court held that the
Court of Claims had erred in concluding “that AAFES

2

employees could never serve by appointment.” 427 U.S. at
130 (emphasis in original). The Court noted (id. at 127-128)
that Congress recognized that exchange service employees
may be appointed to their positions, and that under one set
of AAFES regulations (AR ¢\)-21/ AFR 147-15 (Nov. 12,
1974)) “ordinary” employees hold their positions by appoint-
ment. In addition, the Court pointed to a different set of
AAFES regulations (AR 60-20 / AFR 147-14 (Mar. 21,
1974)) that govern the employment of persons under service
contracts to perform “direct service,” including “janitorial
and window cleaning service,” and it noted that exchange
service employees are specifically prohibited from receiving
service contracts. 427 U.S. at 128-129. The Court in Hop-
kins concluded that resolution of the question whether
Hopkins was employed pursuant to a contract “depends
upon an analysis of the statutes and regulations” governing
the employment of AAFES personnel in light of the evi-
dence to be adduced on remand concerning Hopkins’ par-
ticular status. /d. at 130. Because the regulations cited by
this Court in Hopkins as applying to appointed employees
are the same regulations that govern respondent's employ-
ment with the AAFES (see Pet. App. 7a-8a & n.8), it is clear
that respondent was employed pursuant to “appointment.”
Under Hopkins, therefore, the district court lacked iurisdic-
tion over respondent's claims for monetary relief.

2. Respondent attempts to avoid the implications of the
decisions in Hopkins and in United States v. Testan, supra,
by asserting (Br. in Opp. 6, 12, 13) that, unlike the
employees in those cases, he was employed by contract as
the result of his participation in the AAFES’ Executive
Management Program (“EMP”). This claim is without
merit.

In the first place, the complaint nowhere alleges that
respondent was employed pursuant to a contract with the
AAFES or that “his discharge constituted a breach of a
contract of employment.” United States v. Hopkins, supra,

3

427 U.S. at 130.' To be sure, the complaint states that “[a]s
an EMPemployee, [respondent] had certain special obliga-
tions and special benefits different from other AAFES
employees.” Complaint, para. 5. But the special obligations
and benefits applicable to AAFES employees who are
designated to EMP status are set forth in the regulations
governing appointed AAFES employees (AR 60-21/ AFR
147-151, Chapter 5, Section II (Nov. 12, 1974)) and are
insufficient to convert the status of a government employee
from that of serving pursuant to appointment to that of
serving pursuant to a contract. If the law were otherwise,
the distinction between appointed and contract employees
would disappear, since all government employees, regard-
less of whether they are appointed or are employed by
contract, incur certain obligations and receive certain
benefits in connection with their employment.

Indeed, the court of appeals expressly noted (Pet. App.
8a) that respondent's complaint did not refer to an employ-
ment contract, and the court assumed that the pertinent
AAFES regulations “label the commencement of [respond-
ent’s] employment as pursuant to ‘appointment’ ” (ibid.;
emphasis in original). Thus, the theory of the court below
was not that the AAFES’ regulations governing EMP
employees established a contractual relationship, but that
the regulations concerning discharge procedures “were part
of a collateral implied in-fact contract between [respond-
ent] and the AAFES that the AAFES would adhere to the

'As we noted in the petition (at 9 n.8), subsequent to the decision in
Hopkins, the Court of Claims has, on two occasions, dismissed suits for
back pay brought by discharged exchange service employees under the
Tucker Act on the ground that the complaints failed to allege facts
establishing a contract relationship and that therefore the court was
without subject matter jurisdiction over the action. See Spooner v.
United States, 211 Ct. Cl. 312 (1976); Richardson v. United States, 2\4
Ct. Cl. 757 (1977).

4

regulations in its dealings with him” (ibid.). If the court of
appeals had accepted respondent’s contention that
respondent had entered into an employment contract by
virtue of his status as an EMP employee, it would have been
unnecessary for that court to have resorted to the fiction of
an implied-in-fact contract, a fiction that, as we have dem-
onstrated in the petition, is not tenable in light of Hopkins
and Testan.

For the foregoing reasons and for the reasons stated in
the petition, the petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted, the judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed, and the case should be remanded to that court
with directions to dismiss, for iack of jurisdiction, those
portions of the complaint seeking monetary relief.

Respectfully submitted.

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Acting Solicitor General

JuLy 1981

DOJ-1981.07

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1964%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
