# Amicus Brief — Washington v. Chrisman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1954%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 455 U.S. 1

## Text

Office Supreme Court, U.S

FILED

SEP 4 198!

No. 8@- 1349 ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,
IN THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term 1980

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON,
Petitioner,
Vv.
NEIL CHRISMAN,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION OF WASHINGTON

Timothy K. Ford
2101 Smith Tower
Seattle, Washington 98104
(206) 624 2180

ABCD AT CRAFTSMAN PRESS, SEATTLE

QUESTION PRESENTED

This amicus believes that the only
question properly presented is whether
Respondent's joint tenant voluntarily
consented to return to his room with the
arresting officer after having been placed

under arrest.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATEMENT OF THE INTEREST OF
AMICUS CURIAE . * ° o ° * . ° . . . o

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..+ ++ +e

I. THE SOLE ISSUE IN THIS CASE IS
WHETHER OVERDAHL VALIDLY CONSENTED
TO OPEN HIS ROOM TO OFFICER
DAUGHERTY'S ENTRY AND VIEW. .. .

II. THE PACTS AND PETITION HERE DO
NOT PROPERLY RAISE ANY QUESTION
OF "EXIGENT CIRCUMSTANCES" OR
"GOOD PAITH. ™ . ° . Sd . . . . . °

CONCLUS ION * . ° eo . s . * . . ° ° ° °

5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Statutes and Court Rules Page

Supreme Court Rule 36.2 ...4++s++«e-s.
Supreme Court Rule 21.1(a), (h) ... -~
Washington Rule of Appellate Procedure

Tee 6 6 Ale fe yo. 6 6 ab 0 ep
Cases

Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89 (1964) . 2...

Bumper v. North Carolina,
U.S. 3 ) eo o * — eo e* — es .

Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752

( 9 . e s ° ° . ° ° o ° ° s 7 ° °

Giacalone v. Lucas, 445 F.2d 1238
(6th Cir. Bale ah eee, | 6. ee Ae

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218

(19 “ee ee? * # # #® # @# # # @

Shapoey v. California, 395 U.S. 818
State v. Chrisman, 94 Wn.2d 711,
P. 1 1980) ° 7 @ eo 7] so s o .

State v. Chrisman, 24 Wn.App. 385,
; P. (1980) «ee * « e ° *

State v. Hehman, 90 Wn.2d 45,
Pe (1979) oe * J * s . 7 — o

United States v. United States District
Court, U.S. ’ ta Sa

United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411

6) ° ° . o ° ° e@ e ° . ° . ° e so

Williams v. United States, 622 F.2d 830,
t f. » cert. denied,
Sr ee. OP OeMET 5 6 6 ete eee 9

Other Authorities

2 LaPAVE, SEARCH AND SEIZURE 421-2 (1978) 6

ajo

STATEMENT OF THE INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The American Civil Liberties Union of
Washington is a statewide, non-partisan
organization dedicated to defending the
liberties guaranteed by the Bill of Rights.
A principal concern of the ACLU-W has
always been the security of Washington
citizens against invasions of their homes,
"the chief evil against which the wording
of the Fourth Amendment is directed."

United States v. Wnited States District

Court, 407 U.S. 297, 313 (1972).

Out of this concern, the ACLU-W has
argued. major Fourth Amendment issues here
and in the lower courts, and has responded
to countless citizen complaints about
police actions similar to this one. Our
interest here is to answer the sweeping
Claims of state power made by Petitioner
and its supporting amici, and to focus the
narrow Fourth Amendment issue we believe
this case presents. The parties have

consented to our appearance. Rule 36.2.

@30

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arose from a warrantless entry
and search of Respondent Neil Chrisman's
college dormitory room, which resulted from
the arrest of his roommate, James Overdahl,
for possession of alcohol. ! The facts
the Supreme Court of Washington held
controlling are relatively straight-
forward. . Those facts involve the _ two
critical incidents here: the arresting
officer's decision to go to Overdahl's and
Chrisman's room, and his actions once
there. The testimony on both these points

was clear and undisputed.

1 Respondent and Overdahl were jointly
charged, and jointly represented in the
courts below, until Overdahl's dismissal
while the case was pending in the state
supreme court. Up to that time, the focus
of the case was on the relation between the
statements Overdahl made at the time of his
arrest, without Miranda warnings, and the
search that followed them. See State v.
Chrisman, 24 Wn. App. 385, 388-9, 600 P.2d

80). Overdahl's removal from the
case after briefing was completed (see
Washington Rule of Appellate Procedure 13.7
(a)) may have resulted in some confusion in
the arguments below.

=3-

Officer Daughtery testified that, after
he arrested Overdahl (RP 5),

I then asked the subject for his
identification. He stated that he did
not have any. He then asked me to hold
the bottle while he returned to his dorm
room to obtain the proper identification.
I stated at that time it was not our
policy to subsequently let an individual
leave from an area at that particular
point without, it just was not the way
that we handled the situation....

I stated to him that he could not go
alone because we just don't release
people from custody....
I stated that he could not go back to his
room, and that we could both go up which
he stated to me okay. We then entered
back into Orton Hall ....
RP 5-6. A witness to this conversation,
Lisa Anthony, testified the officer's terms
were somewhat more forceful:
9. And, when Carl said it was up in his,
his identification was up in his room,
what did the officer say in response to
that?

A. He says where do you live, and Carl
told him 1141.

Q. And, then what did the officer say?
A. He said let's go to 1141.
RP 83.

-4-

Officer Daugherty testified that, as the
two were approaching the room,
I observed the door to be open
approximately 3 to 4 inches. As we got
to the room Mr. Overdahl pushed the door
open and entered the room. I stood in
the doorway without entering, actually
physically entering the room.
RP 7. From that vantage point the Officer
observed a marijuana pipe and seeds. 2
That observation led the Officer to go
farther into the the room, where he placed
Respondent under arrest and obtained
consent for the more thorough search of the
room in which he found the drugs Resvondent
was convicted of possessing. RP 21-28.
We believe these facts, and these facts

alone, control this case. The only issue

2 RP 18. The confusion as to whether the
Officer was inside or outside the room
apparent in Petitioner's Brief (at 5-7) is,
as the court below said, a confusion over
legal “niceties”. State v. Chrisman, 94

Wn.2d 711, 716, 619 P.2d 971 (1980).There
was no confusion in the officer's
testimony:

Q. Okay. Were you in the hallway or were

you in the doorway?

A. I was standing against the doorjamb.
RP 9.

-S-

presented by the petition here is, as the
state supreme court framed it, “whether
{the officer] had a right to be" “in the
room when he observed the seeds and pipe."

State v. Chrisman, supra, 94 Wn.2d at 716.

If he did, the search was proper. If he
did not, the lower court held the
illegality of that observation “tainted”
all his subsequent actions (94 Wn.2d at 717
-18)--and that holding has _ not_ been
challenged in this petition. In either
case, there is no reason to reach the
sweeping and novel Fourth Amendment issues
Petitioner and its supporting amici seek to
raise here.

I. THE SOLE ISSUE IN THIS CASE IS WHETHER
OVERDAHL VALIDLY CONSENTED TO OPEN HIS ROOM
TO OFFICER DAUGHERTY'S ENTRY AND VIEW.

Officer Daugherty's “right to be" where

he was when he saw the marijuana pipe and
seeds from the doorjamb of the room depends
we submit, wholly on the legal significance
of the conversation with Overdahl which

brought him there.

-6-

Clearly, Overdahl's arrest alone gave
the Officer no power to direct Overdahl to
the room he shared with Respondent or to

enter or examine that room, Chimel v.

California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969); Shipley v.

California, 395 U.S. 818 (1969). If the

Officer had that power, he could obtain it
only through Overdahl's consent. 3 See

Giacalone v. Lucas, 445 F.2d 1238, 1247,

1256-8 (6th Cir. 1971); 2 LaFAVE, SEARCH
AND SEIZURE 421-2 (1978). If that consent
was obtained through "“colorable lawful

coercion," it was invalid, Bumper v. North

Carolina, 391 U.S. 543, 549-50 (1968), and
can justify neither the opening of the dorm
room door nor the entry into it. See

Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S.10 (1948).

3 rf the officer's power to enter the
room derived from the arrest alone, the
issue here would be controlled by
Washington law, which more strictly limits
the powers of an officer making an arrest
for a petty offense than does the federal
constitution. See State v. Hehman, 90
Wn.2d 45, 578 P.2d 527 (1979).

-Jo

If Overdahl had consented voluntarily to
have the Officer go to the room with him,
the authority he so conferred would not
have ended at the doorjamb where the
Officer first stopped.

Although the Washington Supreme Court's
decision was not clearly based on this
rationale, its reading of the record
establishes the absence of voluntary
consent. Overdahl went to his room only in
response to the Officer's demand for
identification, which Overdahl had by then
admitted would not prove that he was
lawfully in possession of the alcohol. RP
7. Overdahl initially asked to go to his
room alone. RP 5. The Officer either
suggested (RP 5-6) or demanded (RP 83) to
go to the room with him. Overdahl was a
young man under arrest (RP 37), and was not
advised he had any right to refuse. The
totality of circumstances here did not

demonstrate voluntary consent. Compare

United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411
(1976); Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.
218 (1973).

We submit that is all this Court need

decide in this case. Arrest simpliciter

cannot justify a c¢esidential search; but
valid third-party consent can. This case
begins and ends with the validity of
Overdahl's consent.

II. THE FACTS AND PETITION HERE DO NOT
PROPERLY RAISE ANY QUESTION OF “EXIGENT
CIRCUMSTANCES” OR “GOOD FAITH."

Petitioner and its supporting amici have
gone far beyond the facts and the petition
here in their requests that this Court
create “exigent circumstances” and "good
faith" exceptions to the Fourth Amendment
and the exclusionary rule. Neither of
these issues is necessarily or properly
raised by this case.

The "good faith" argument barely
mentioned by Petitioner (Pet. Br. 69), but

more strenuously urged by its amici, was

-9-

raised neither in the courts below nor the
Petition here. This Court has always said
the Fourth Amendment's protection cannot
turn on “subjective good faith alone." Beck
v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 97 (1964). Though
that dictum has recently been questioned in
a context very different from that here,

Williams v. United States, 622 F.2d 830,

(Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 101 S.Ct.

946 (1981), its continued validity is not
properly at issue in this case. Rule
21.1(a), (h).

Petitioner's "exigent circumstances"
argument (Pet.Br. 19-52) was made below and
is properly raised here, but need not be
reached. As we argued above, if Officer
Daugherty had the right to have the room
opened for his observation, he obtained the
right to enter it not from any “exigent
circumstances," but from the same
source--Overdahl's consent. If the room

was opened to him by invalid consent, the

-10-

“exigencies” that then arose--solely as a
result of his unnecessary demand _ for
incriminating information--cannot change
that fact or separately justify his later
actions.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the Supreme Court of

Washington should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Timothy K. Ford
ACLU of Washington
2101 Smith Tower
Seattle, WA 98104
(206) 624-2180

September 1, 1981

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1954%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
