# Amicus Brief — Cabell v. Chavez-Salido

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1922%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1982
- **Citation:** 454 U.S. 432

## Text

NO. 80-990 AUG ‘@ (981

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS, |
IN THE rangebied

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

CLARENCE E. CABELL, in his official capa-
city as Acting Chief Probation Officer
of Los Angeles County; JACQUALINE HASEN-
STAB, in her official capacity as Person-
nel Officer of the Los Angeles County
Probation Department; GORDON T. NESVIG,
in his official capacity as Chief Person-
nel Officer of the County of Los Angeles;
and the COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES, a body po-

’ litic; |

Appellants,
vs.

JOSE CHAVEZ-SALIDO, RICARDO BOHORQUEZ, and
PEDRO LUIS YBARRA,

Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District
Court for the Central District of
California

Amicus Curiae Brief
in Support of Respcndents

Cd a

NO. 80-990
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

CLARENCE E. CABELL, in his official capa-
city as Acting Chief Probation Officer
of Los Angeles County; JACQUALINE HASEN-
STAB, in her official capacity as Person-
nel Officer of the Los Angeles County
Probation Department; GORDON T. NESVIG,
in his official capacity as Chief Person-
nel Officer of the County of Los Angeles;
— the COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES, a body po-
litic;

Appellants,
vs.

JOSE CHAVEZ-SALIDO, RICARDO BOHORQUEZ, and
PEDRO LUIS YBARRA,

Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District
Court for the Central District of
California

Amicus Curiae Brief
in Support of Respondents

i

PETER A. SCHEY*

TIMOTHY S. BARKER

CARLOS HOLGUIN

NATIONAL CENTER FOR IMMIGRANTS' RIGHTS
1550 West 8th Street

Los Angeles, California 90017
Telephone: (213) 487-2531

AMIT PANDYA

NATIONAL CENTER FOR IMMIGRANTS' RIGHTS
1511 K Street, N.W., Suite 931
Washington, D.C. 20005

Telephone: (202) 737-1444

FRED OKRAND

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION OF
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

633 S. Shatto Place

Los Angeles, California 90005
Telephone: (213) 487-1720

ANTONIO RODRIGUEZ

LOS ANGELES CENTER FOR LAW AND JUSTICE
2111 1/2 Brooklyn Avenue

Los Angeles, California 90033
Telephone: (213) 266-2690

MARY K. GILLESPIE

CALIFORNIA RURAL LEGAL ASSISTANCE
2111 Mission Street, Suite 401
San Francisco, California 94110
Telephone: (415) 864-3405

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

*Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table OF QGUGROELEICSN « « es we wee ees

I.
II.
IIl.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE.. .

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..... .«

ARGUMENT *e . . . . * . . . . .

(1)

(2)

(a)

(b)

The District Court
Judgment Should Be
Vacated and Remanded.. .
The Challenged Califor-
nia Statutory Scheme
Sweeps Too Broadly... .
History of California
Discrimination Against
Immigrant Communities. .
The District Court
Properly Considered
Appellees Challenge to
Government Code Section
1031, As Applied to All

"Peace officers" ....

ll

12

16

Table of Contents (Cont.)

IV.

PAGE
(i) Scope of Review of
the Challenged
Statute. . . « © « «© « « 16
(ii) The Challenged Statute
Unjustifiably Precludes
Non-Citizens Employment
in Many Job Classi-
fications. . .. +++. 22
(iii) The Challenged Statute
as Applied to Deputy
Probation Officers . .. 30
CONCLUSION . . « «© © © © © ec © © 34

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page

Ambach v. Norwick, 441 U.S. 68 (1979)...passim

Aptheker v. Secretary of State,

eecocevecvecssive deecesae

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) .....-«+++18

Barrows v. Jackson, 346 U.S. 249 (1953)..20,21

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601
(1973) CCheceeoebeocececsecceceoseseeeconl eae

Chavez-Salido v. Cabell, 427 F.Supp. 158
. . a . evcccveccceccececeoesgeeae

Chavez-Salido v. Cabell, Case No. 76-541l-
. . al. June 4, 1980) TETTrreriie tl.

coopers and Lybrand v. Livesay, 437 U.S.
) ceeCCN Ce Cee el 6b 00 6b 6 ebee es bees

Czaplicki the Hoegh Silvercloud, 351 U.S.
(1956) $0066 abe 0s 6086 08 bebe eee eck

Foley v. Connelie, 435 U.S. 291 (1978)..passim

Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365 (1971)...34

Henry v. Mississippi, 379 U.S. 443 (1964)...11
In re Griffiths, 413 U.S. 717 (1973) ......29

Lin Sing v. Washburn, 20 Cal. 534 (1862) ...13

Mayer v. City of Chicago, 404 U.S. 189
(L971) nieteocebcatatbeees ’eee shen eee eee

People v. Hall, 4 Cal. 399 (1885) ..........15

eiii-

People v. Hutson, 221 Cal.App.2d 751
(1963) een kes 66660 oe bos wh Eh 06.6 64 be eee

People v. Journey, 129 Cal. Rptr. 478
(1976) Ee eR es yy ee ee re ee en ee er |

Protective Committee for Independent
Stockholders of T.M.T. Trailer Ferry,
Inc. v. Anderson, 390 U.S. 414 (1968) ...11

Sugarman v. Dougall, 413 U.S. 634
(1973) ececavecwesecesbaeaneaeeatiaeenreae

Takahashi v. Fish and Game Commission,
334 U.S. 410 (1948) boss 6408's ol ee oe eee

Truit Payne Co., Inc., v. Chrysler Motors
Corp., U.S. , 49 U.S.L.W. 4516
(May 18, 1981). eee bs 6 2 eee bsO0 eee ee eee

United States v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17
(1960) 6:00 6666665 0000066 de 06 rb eke 6a ee see

Whitcombe v. Yolo County, 141 Cal.Rptr.
L89 (1977) cw 606 Se 5666-0 bee eee Lae

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886) ...14

CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES

Constitution of the United States,
Article ak i ca elae 06.6 66 646 Serene eee

California Constitution, Article XIX
Section 2 (1879) bevvecscecesb ter cheeamaan

California Fish and Game Code, Section
990 (1945) re ae ee hee eae Ne ree

California Government Code, Section
1031 (a) ccc rc cccccccccv cv ccesececen sPasSimM

California Penal Code, Section 179 (1880)..13
California Penal Code, Section 830 ........26
California Penal Code, Section 1203 ....30,31
California Penal Code, Section 1203.10 ....31l
California Statutes 1945, c.181 ...........14

Law of April 26, 1862 (California) ........13

OTHER SOURCES

Annual Report of the Immigration and
Naturalization Service (1979) ....ceeeeeee ef

California State Personnel Board,
Specification, Toll Sergeant, Schematic
ar C540, Revised January 9, 1959 .....24

California State Personel Board,

Classification, Schematic Code VJ25,
PeVaGeG MeEOn 26, ABTS cesccccsccsecsedOsal

California State Personnel Board,
Specification, Schematic Code Vwl0,
Revised December 7, 1972 ..eseeeveeee2d,260

Correctional System Study of Board of
Corrections: Probation, California
Board of Corrections (July 1971) .....32,33

Los Angeles County Probation Department
Union Fact Sheet (June 1981) ........e.. 32

Maloney and Raymond, "A Standardized
Pre-sentence Report", Fed.Prob. 41:2
(June 1977) PIES SOK EE RR Eee |

Wright, Miller and Cooper, Federal
Practice and Procedure: Jurisdiction
Section 3531 Cea edheleroscceevaKbecessaetens

-V-

I.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE2/

Amicus curiae have obtained the con-

sent of the appellants and appellees for

the filing of this brief. Amicus curiae

the League of United Latin American Citi-
zens (LULAC) is the largest and oldest His-
panic civil rights organization in the
United States. LULAC has chapters and mem-
bers located throughout the United States,
including California. Many members of
LULAC are lawful permanent immigrants re-
siding in California who will be immediate-
ly affected by the outcome of this case.

Amicus curiae the Farm Labor Organizing

Committee (FLOC) will be affected by the

1/ Pursuant to Rule 36.5, Rules of
the Supreme Court of the United States,

amicus curiae will only set forth the in-

terest of amici, summary of the argument,

the argument and a conclusion.

by the outcome of this case. Amicus cur-

iae the Farm Labor Organizing Committee
(FLOC) is a farm-worker union which orga-
nizes workers regardless of their alienage
or immigration status. Members of FLOC
will be affected by the outcome of this

case. Amicus curiae the Social Justice

Commission (Archdiocese of San Francisco)
provides services and assistance to law-
ful permanent resident immigrants who will
be immediately affected by the outcome of

this case. Amicus curiae the National Cen-

ter for Immigrants’ Rights (NCIR), is a na-
tional resource center on immigration mat-
ters representing hundreds of organizations
which have members or assist clients who
will be directly impacted by the disposi-
tion of this case.

II.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

(1) The alienage-employment restric-

tion cases decided by this Court before

Foley v. Connelie, 435 U.S. 291, 98 S.Ct.

(1065 (1978) and Ambach v. Norwick, 441 U.S.

68, 995 S.Ct. 1589 (1979), did not entail
the exhaustive factual examinations found
in the latter two cases into the precise
responsibilities possessed by persons occu-
pying the job categories in question. A
new analytic framework was developed in
Foley and Ambach wherein the Court first
examined the nature of the job classifica-
tion, and then determined the appropriate
level of scrutiny to be applied. The trial
in this case, held before issuance of the
Foley and Ambach decisions, took only one
laay, Chavez-Salido v. Cabell, 427 F.Supp.

158, 161 (C.D.Cal. 1977) (Three Judge Court),
and was "tried on stipulated facts." Chavez-

Salido v. Cabell, Case No. 76-541-IH (C.D.

cal. June 4, 1980) (Civil Minutes at 73).

Upon rehearing following vacation and remand
by this Court, the trial court denied plain-
tiffs' “request for further discovery on the

‘issue of the duties and responsibilities of

o Je

Deputy County Probation officers. . ."
Ibid.

In light of the searching factual in-
quiries conducted in Foley and Ambach, it
was error to deny further discovery in this
case. At this point in the litigation,
only evidence extrinsic to the record can
establish the precise nature of the jobs in
question here. The present record is total-
ly inadequate for purposes of reaching a
reasoned decision in this case, the dispo-
sition of which will substantially impact
tens of thousands of immigrant workers and
their families. The appropriateness of
California's laws, which seek to exclude law-
ful permanent resident immigrants from many
job categories, cannot be carefully evalu-
ated in light of Foley and Ambach because
the record contains only the parties' con-
flicting assertions on the nature of the
job categories in question.

The record in this case does not sup-

port plenary review at this time. Given
the far-reaching consequences that would
accompany a disposition on the merits,

amicus curiae urges that the judgment of

the district court be vacated and the mat-
ter remanded for further factual develop-
ment.

(2) A State may not exclude non-
citizens from public employment by way of
a statute which sweeps indiscriminately,
without regard for the differences in the
job classifications involved. The Califor-
nia statutes at issue here exclude non-
citizens from a wide variety of jobs, many
of which do not involve the performance of
Significant governmental functions and are
not within the concept of a political com-
munity which can be legitimately restrict-
ed to citizens.

IIt.
ARGUMENT

(1) The District Court Judgment

Should be vacated and Remanded

There are avproximately 1,300,00 law-
ful permanent resident immigrants residing

in California. 1979 Annual Report of the

Immigration & Naturalization Service, Table

4, p. 19. Disposition of this case will
have a substantial impact on the ability of
permanent resident immigrants in California
and ultimately throughout the country to
obtain employment. Despite the profound im-
portance of this case, it comes to this
Court in a factual vaccum. Amici believe
that the paucity of the record makes mean-
ingful review of the challenged statutes
difficult, if not impossible. The district
court judgment should be vacated and re-

manded for further factual inquiry.
This Court made clear for the first

time in Foley and Ambach that the thres-

hold examination in state-imposed citizen-
ship public-employment restrictions wouid
focus on whether excluded job classifica-

tions involve significant governmental

-6-

functions. Foley v. Connelie, supra, at

1074; Ambach v. Norwich, supra, at 1596.

The outcome of this initial analysis in
turn would determine the appropriate level
of scrutiny to be applied. Ibid.

In Ambach, which held that school
teachers are within the political commu-
nity, the Court appeared to rest its
analysis upon the important policy and
governmental functions which public school
teachers perform. The Court reviewed the
precise functions of public school teachers,
including the promotion of civil virtues,
their serving as role models, and their in-
fluence over students' attitudes towards
government and the political process. 441
U.S. at 78-80. In Foley the Court specifi-
cally expressed its obligation to "examine
each [job classification] in question to
determine whether it involves discretionary
decision-making, or execution of policy,

which substantially affects members of the

political community." 435 U.S. at 296.
The Court reviewed and discussed the "va-
riety of discretionary powers" held by New
York State Troopers. 435 U.S. at 297.

In contrast, the record in this case
is remarkably barren in terms of the pre-
cise nature of the job classifications
which preclude non-citizen public employ-
ment under California Government Code Sec-
tion 103l(a). The trial in this matter

lasted only one day. Chavez-Salido v. Ca-

bell, supra, 427 F.Supp. at 161. The case

was tried on "Stipulated facts" which vir-
tually ignored the nature of the many job
classifications involved in this litigation.

Chavez-Salido v. Cabell, supra, Civil Min-

utes (July 6, 1978) at 73. While the case
may have been tried on a summary record of
"stipulated facts", the parties now offer
widely divergent views on the actual role
of probation officers in the criminal jus-

tice system, and have virtually nothing to

o§-

offer concerning the nature of the many
other job classifications included in the
challenged statute. Upon rehearing follow-
ing vacation and remand of the district
court judgment, that court denied plain-
tiffs' request "for further discovery on
the issue of the duties and responsibili-
ties of Deputy County Probation officers

- » «" Ibid.; Joint Appendix ("J.A.") at
73.

At this point in the litigation, only
evidence extrinsic to the record can es-
tablish the precise nature of the job
classifications in question here. In short,
this Court would have to reach beyond the

record in order to make the initial deter-

mination of whether the job categories at
issue here fall within the political commu-

nity. Foley v. Connelie, supra, 435 U.S.

at 296-97. In turn, this factual examina-
tion is critical to a determination of
what standard of scrutiny will apply. Id.,

435 U.S. at 295-96; Ambach v. Norwich,

95 S.Ct. at 1596.

This Court frequently vacates and re-
mands cases in which the factual record is
inadequate for a reasoned disposition. See,

e.g., Truit Payne Co., Inc., v. Chrysler

Motors Corp., U.S. , 49 U.S.L.W. 4516,

4519 (May 18, 1981) ("the proper course is
to remand the case so that the Court of Ap-
peals may pass upon respondents' contention
that the evidence adduced at trial was in-
sufficient to support a finding of violation
of the Robinson-Patman Act. . .") Amicus
curiae believe that "a remand for further

factual development" is required in this
case. Coopers and Lybrand v. Livesay, et

al., 437 U.S. 463, 473 (1978). The Court
cannot reasonably decide the legal questions
involved here because the record contains
“only the parties' conflicting assertions"
concerning the precise parameters of a pro-

bation officer's job. Mayer v. City of

Chicago, 404 U.S. 189, 199 (1971) (case va-

-10-

cated and remanded). This record is "de-
void of facts which would have permitted

a reasoned judgment. .. [A] remand is ne
cessary to permit further hearings to be ,

held." Protective Committee for Indepen-

dent Stockholders of TMT Trailer Ferry,

Inc. v. Anderson, 390 U.S. 414, 440-41

(1968). At this point "[(o]nly evidence
extrinsic to the record" can establish the
justification for the challenged statutory

scheme. Henry v. Mississippi, 379 U.S.

443, 452 (1964). The plaintiffs' request

to pursue and present additional facts
should have been granted. Czaplicki The

Hoegh Silvercloud, et al., 351 U.S. 525,

534 (1956).
(2) The Challenged California Sta-

tutory Scheme Sweeps Too Broadly

Footnote 5 of the Foley opinion, 435
U.S. at 296, reaffirms the continued valid-
ity of the overbreadth criterion announced

earlier in Sugarman v. Dougall, 413 U.S.

634, 643 (1973):

This is not to say, of course,

that a State may accomplish

this end with a citizenship

restriction that “sweeps in-

discriminately", [citing

Sugarman] without regard for

the differences in the posi-

tions involved.
The challenged statutory scheme sweeps in-
discriminately against lawful permanent re-
sidents and results from a long California
history of discrimination against non-citi-

zens.

(a) History of California Dis-

crimination Against Immi-

grant Communities

As early as 1879 the Constitution of
California provided that no corporation
formed under the laws of the State shall
in any capacity employ any Chinese or Mon-

gOlian. (Art. XIX, § 2, Constitution of

1879.) In 1880 the State Legislature pass-
ed an ordinance making it a criminal of-
fense for a corporation to hire Chinese or
Mongolian employees. California Penal Code
§ 179 (1880). The California Constitution
further provided that "no Chinese shall be
employed in any State, county, municipal,
or other public work, except in punishment
for crime." California Constitution, Art.
XIX, § 2 (1879). It was not until 1952 that
the people of California repealed Article
XIX of their Constitution.

Prior to that the California Legisla-
ture had already passed "an act to protect

free white labor, and discourage the immi-

gration of the Chinese into the State of
California." Law of April 26, 1862 (em-
phasis added). This legislation placed a
special "Chinese Police Tax" on those em-
ploying Chinese and Mongolian nationals.

Lin Sing v. Washburn, 20 Cal. 534 (1862).

In 1945 the California Legislature

a2 Be

amended the commercial fishing license sta-
tute to the effect that persons ineligible
for United States citizenship could not ob-
tain commercial fishing licenses. Cal.
Stats. 1945, c.181; Fish & Game Code § 990
(1945). This legislation was held uncon-

stitutional in Takahashi v. Fish & Game

Commission 334 U.S. 410, 68 S.Ct. 731 (1948);

see also, Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356,

6 S.Ct. 1064 (1886).

Bigotry against non-citizens extended
to the highest levels of the California ju-
diciary:

The anomalous spectacle of a dis-

tinct people living in our commu-

nity, recognizing no laws of this

State except through necessity,

bringing with them their prejudi-

ces and national feuds, in which

they indulge in open violation of

law, whose mendacity is proverbial;

a race of people whom nature has

marked as inferior, and who are

incapable of progress
ole

or intellectual development be-
yond a certain point, as their
history has shown, differing in
language, Opinions, color and
physical conformation; between
whom and ourselves nature has
placed an impassable difference,
is now presented, and for them
is claimed, not only the right
to swear away the life of a ci-
tizen, but the further privilege
of participating with us in ad-
ministering the affairs of our
Government.

People v. Hall, 4 Cal. 399, 404 (1885).

California's history of discrimination
against non-citizens again surfaced in 1961,
when, "in one fell swoop, the legislature
passed Government Code Section 1031 which
applied the mandatory citizenship require-
ment" to a wide list of job categories. J.A.

79-80.

oe) 5=

(b) The District Court Properly

Considered Appellees Chal-

lenge to Government Code

Section 1031, As Applied to

All "Peace Officers"

Appellants’ Opening Brief ("App. Bf.")
argues that because appellees were appli-
cants for only one class of position, deputy
probation officer, they "lacked standing to
assert that Section 103la was overbroad be-
cause it might include some [job] categor-
ies. . .{which] may be found not to justify
a citizenship restriction." App. Bf. 29.

(i) Scope of Review of the

Challenged Statute

In Sugarman this Court examined the full
reach of the citizenship restriction enacted
by New York and struck down the entire statu-
tory scheme. 413 U.S. at 639. The Court did
not limit its inquiry to the particular job
sought by the plaintiffs in that case. Ibid.

In Foley the Court made clear that a State

=i6<

may not accomplish a citizenship restric-
tion with a statutory scheme which sweeps
indiscriminately "without regard for the
differences in the positions involved."
435 U.S. at 296.

Petitioners rely upon United States

v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17 (1960) and Broad-

rick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973) in

support of their argument that the plain-
tiffs/appellees lacked standing to chal-
lenge the full scope of Section 1031. App.
Bf. 25.

First it should be noted that Sugar-
man was decided on the same day as Broad~
rick and more than ten years after Raines.

Clearly, neither Broadrick nor Raines li-

mited this Court to an examination of only
the particular jobs sought by the Sugarman
plaintiffs. As noted above, the Court in

Sugarman analyzed the entire statutory

scheme without regard to the particular

jobs sought by the plaintiffs in that

Sh

2/

case .-

The plaintiffs in Broadrick challenged

a statute on First Amendment vagueness and
overbreadth grounds. The challenged statute
was concededly constitutional as applied to
their conduct and the Court held that they
could not challenge the statute on the
grounds that it may conceivably be applied
in an unconstitutional manner in other situ-
ations not before the Court. Here the
plaintiffs/appellees challenge California
Government Code Section 1031(a) which re-
quires that numerous job categories only be
filled by United States citizens. Clearly
they have "standing" under Article III of
the Constitution of the United States.

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962).

2/
~ The majority in Sugarman considered

the constitutionality of the challenged New
York statute in its entirety, despite the
urgings of Justice Rehnguist in dissent that

the examination should be confined to the

The question is not one of standing, but
rather whether "good judicial policy” al-
lows plaintiffs to show the full reach of
Section 1031(a) as applied to all covered
job classifications. Wright, Miller and

Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure: Jur-

isdiction, § 3531, p. 205. Should this

Court reject amici's suggestion that this
case be remanded, sound judicial policy
would mitigate in favor of examining the
total reach of the challenged statute. Sec-
tion 1031(a) is one statute, clearly written,
and applies to a wide variety of job classi-
fications. The Court should not attempt to
artificially divide the statute into compo-
nent parts in order to save it from a Con-
stitutional challenge.

The prudential requirement that a sta-

2/ Continued: particular jobs sought

by the plaintiffs. Sugarman, supra, 413

U.S. at 662 (Rehnquist J. dissenting).

=19<

tute be construed so as to avoid deciding
constitutional issues, explicated by Jus-
tice Brennan in Raines, has no application
in this case. Further, the principle that
statutes should be construed in favor of

constitutionality where possible cannot be
applied in this case because Section 1031
(a) is clear on its face and thus leaves

no room for a limiting construction. This

case is similar to Aptheker v. Secretary of

State, 378 U.S. 500 (1964), which involved
a statute clear on its face and thus not
subject to a saving construction absent a
wholesale rewriting of the statute, 378 U.S.
at 515-16, a task more appropriately left to
the legislature.

The limitation on review suggested by
Justice Brennan in Raines was recognized as
a court rule and not a constitutional re-

quirement. United States v. Raines, supra,

362 U.S. at 21-22. In fact, in Barrows v.

Jackson, 346 U.S. 249 (1953), the case re-

=20<

lied upon by Justice Brennan in Raines, the
Court entertained a constitutional attack
on a judgment enforcing a racially restric-
tive covenant, over the dissent of the then
Chief Justice and despite the fact that the
challenge was brought by white persons in
behalf of black persons not before the
Court. The Court justified its actions

in approving such third party stand-

ing, a departure from what it referred to
as “only a rule of practice", as required
by the “need to protect the fundamental
rights which would be denied" if the Court
refused to act. 346 U.S. at 257. Thus,

neither Raines nor Barrows precludes re-

view of Section 103l(a) on its face.

eae
hi Se

21a

(ii) The Challenged Statute Unjus-

tifiably Precludes Non-Citizens

Employment in Many Job Classi-

fications

Appellees and the district court have
already pointed out the numerous job clas-
sifications included within the reach of
Section 103l(a). Appellees' Brief

at 35-42; Chavez-Salido v. Cabell, supra

at 80 (June 4, 1980). Amici will briefly
examine some of these job classifications
to show that they do not involve important
governmental functions and are not support-
ed »y a compelling state interest.

"[T]oll service employees" must be
United States citizens under the challenged

statute. Chavez-Salido v. Cabell, supra,

at 80 (June 4, 1980). The California

State Personnel Board describes the typ-

ical tasks of a toll sergeant as follows:
Acts as desk sergeant on an

assigned shift or is respon-

Pa, Ly

Sible for a special phase of
the toll collection activities;
assists in determining the
number of toll stations required
to handle traffic effectively
during an assigned shift and
in directing the opening and
closing of stations as needed;
assigns Toll Collectors to
their stations and directs the
taking of relief periods; may
assist with collections in
emergency situations; intructs
new collectors in duties and
works with an intructs them at
their stations; takes charge
in difficult situations and
adjusts complaints; makes
refunds on commute tickets,
accepts checks or makes

change on unusually large

amounts; issue commute books

«23-

to collectors and keeps records
on special permits; checks on
the speed and accuracy of Toll
Collectors; reviews Toll Collec-
tor's reports; sees that toll
stations are neat and orderly
and equipment in proper condi-
tion; acts as a peace officer

as Occasion requires; makes
reports.

California State Personnel Board, Specifi-

cation, Toll Sergeant, Schematic Code
C540, Revised January 9, 1959. A toll
sergeant, in other words, functions as
a supervisor of toll collection activi-
ties on state-operated toll bridges.

Inspectors for the California Home
Furnishings Bureau are also granted the
powers of a peace officer in Section
19206 of the Business and Professions
Code:

No person shall interefere with,

~24<

obstruct or otherwise hinder

any inspector of the bureau

or the department's Division

of Investigation in the

performance of his duties. The

chief, his duties, assistants

and all inspectors in perfor-

mance of their official duties,

shall have the same powers, as

are possessed by peace officers

in this state.
The task of a Home Furnishings Bureau
inspector involves inspecting upholstered
furniture to insure compliance with
California consumer laws. These inspec-
tors conduct "interviews and consult
with licenses to determine causes of
violations and to encourage compliance

- « -" California State Personnel

Board, Specification, Schematic Code

VWw10, revised December 7, 1972. They

make inspections at “retailers of

~25=

upholstered furniture or bedding or those
items containing concealed filling materi-
als. . ." Ibid. They also take "samples
[from upholstered furniture in] barber
shops and schools. . . cosmetology shops»
and schools. . . dry cleaning shops and
plants. . . [and] fur hat renovators. . ."
Ibid.

Also included in the scope of Section
1031(a)'s sweep are various “investigators”
designated as "peace officers." California
Penal Code Section 830. These include
investigators for the Department of
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, the Board
of Medical Quality Assurance, the State
Division of Forestry, and the California
Horse Racing Board. Ibid. These investi-
gators are classified into three categories:
(1) Investigator assistant; (2) investiga-
tor trainee; (3) special investigator.

California State Personnel Board, Clas-

sification, Schematic Code VJ25, Revised

-26-

March 26, 1975. The “Investigator Assis-
tant", who under Section 1031(a) must be

a United States citizen, works "[u]nder
close supervision as a learner and worker,
to assist with the more routine phases

of licensing and enforcement investigations
- « »" Ibid. They "assist in determining
the character of applicants for specialized
licenses by means of interviews. . . [and]
inspect premises where licenses are to be
located." Ibid.

Public school teachers, who this Court
held in Ambach could be required to seek
United States citizenship, fulfill
"perhaps the most important function of
state and local governments. .. [Educa-
tion] is required in the performance of our
most basic public responsibilities. . ."

Ambach v. Norwick, supra, 441 U.S. at 78.

They are responsible for "inculcating
fundamental values necessary to the

maintenance of a democratic political

o2%e

system. . ." Id., 441 U.S. at 77.

State troopers also perform a funda-
mental government function--enforcement
of the criminal justice system. Their
duties include "the apprehension of
suspected criminals, investigations of
Suspect conduct, execution of warrants
and [they] have powers of search, [and]
seizure and arrest without a formal warrant

under limited circumstances." Foley v.

Connelie, supra, 435 U.S. at 293. This

country "entrusts many of its most impor-
tant policy responsibilities to these
officers, the discretionary exercise of
which can often more immediately affect
the lives of citizens than even the ballot
of a voter or the choice of a legislator.”
Id., 435 U.S. at 297.

In contrast, the job classifications
covered by the challenged statute involve
very limited and basically ministerial

duties. The population they serve is

-28-

miniscule compared with teachers or State
troopers. And, they are not important
symbolic figures. If Leeveis; ho serve
as officers of this nations's courts, may

be non-citizens, In Re Griffitns, 413 U.S.

717 (1973), then certainly toll-bridge
collectors, furniture inspectors, etc.,
cannot be required to acquire citizenship
as a prerequisite to job eligibility.
These positions clearly do not fall within
"the basic conception of a political commu-

nity." Sugarman v. Dougall, 413 U.S. 634,

642 (1973). Section 1031(a) is not "pre-
cisely drawn in light of [its] acknowledg-
ed purpose." Id., 413 U.S. at 642-43.
Foley and Ambach clearly provide that
heightened judicial scrutiny will be
applied to a state statute which excludes
non-citizens from employment in job clas-
sifications which do not fall within the

political community. Foley v. Connelie,

supra, 435 U.S. at 295-96; Ambach v.

py

Norwick, supra, 441 U.S. at 74. California

has shown no compelling, let alone a ratio-
nal, justification for excluding non-cit-
izens from such public employment positions
as furniture inspectors and toll collectors.
App.Bf. 9-23. Appellants address their
arguments exclusively to the constitution-
ality of excluding non-citizens from the
position of deputy probation officer.

Ibid.

(iii) The Challenged Statute as

Applied to Deputy Probation

Officers

One of the probation officer's primary
duties is to submit a pre-sentencing report
to the court for each probationer assigned
to the officer. The report must include
an evaluation of the case history of the
offender, the exact contents of which are
dictated by statute. California Penal
Code § 1203.10. The report also contains

a recommendation for or against probation.

=30-

Offenses which preclude an offender from
receiving probation are clearly delineated
by statute. Id., § 1203. Likewise, juve-
niles not eligible for probation are de-
cribed by statute. California Welfare and
Institutions Code § 628. Because the con-
tents of the report are largely statutory,
probation departments increasingly use
standardized forms for pre-sentencing

reports. Maloney and Raymond, A Standard-

izei Pre-sentence Report, Fed. Prob. 41:2

(June 1977).
A court is not bound in any way by

the probation officer's report. Whitcombe

v. Yolo County, 141 Cal.Rptr. 189 (1977).

California courts refer to use of the
report as "informal and optional",

People v. Hutson, 221 Cal.App.2d 751, 756

(1963), and failure to consider the report
does not deprive the defendant of any

substantial right. People v. Journey, 129

Cal.Rptr. 478 (1976).

ce ie |

A probation officer's opportunity for
shaping a probationer's attitude toward our
nation's institutions is extremely limited.
A State study indicated that a California
probation officer spends, on an average,
less than thirty minutes per month with each
probationer. California Board of Correc-

tions, Correctional System Study of Board

of Corrections: Probation, at 31 (July

1971). More recent figures indicate that a
more accurate assessment is that probation
officers spend approximately eleven (11)
minutes per month in direct contact with

their probationers. Los Angeles County

Probation Department Union Fact Sheet, at

1 (June 1981). The 1971 California study
was forced to conclude that the minimal
amount of time spent in direct contact
between the probation officer and the
probationer resulted in the probationer's
family and job having a much greater

influence on rehabilitation than was

=32<

attributable to the probation officer.

Correctional System Study, supra, at 27.

And, that the probation officer in the end
plays a "rather insignificant role” in
the rehabilitation process. Ibid.

Thus, the position of deputy probation
officer for which the plaintiffs/appellees
applied is not one which carries with it
“broad power over people generally. . ."

Foley v. Connelie, supra, 435 U.S. at 298.

The population they serve is relatively
small, and their personal contact with this
population is minimal. Unlike teachers,
they do not spend enormous amounts of time
molding the attitudes of their probationers.
The vast majority of the probation officer's
time is spent compiling recommendations for
the California courts. And they do not
serve as important symbols or models with
regards the formation of attitudes toward
our democratic institutions.

Deputy probation officers do not fall

«330

within the "political community" as that
concept is conceived in Foley and Ambach.
The challenged statute, Section 1031(a),
therefore should be subjected to strict
judicial scrutiny. Appellants have not
shown that the challenged statutory scheme
is supported by a compelling state interest.

Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365, 376

(1971). They have not even attempted such
a showing given their belief that the stat-
ute need only be defended as having a
rational basis. App.Bf. 9-22. In short,
appellants have not show sufficient justi-
fication for the sweeping restriction
found in California Government Code Section
1031(a).

IV.

CONCLUSION

Amici first urge that this case be
remanded for a further factual inquiry into
the precise nature of the job classifica-

tions involved in this litigation. In the

=34-

alternative, amici believes that appellants
have failed to carry their burden of
showing that Section 103l(a) is supported
by a compelling governmental interest in
recuiring that all “peace officers" be
United States citizens. The term "peace
‘officer" does not mean "police" officer

or state trooper. In California furniture
inspectors and toll-bridge collectors are
defined as "peace officers." Without a
compelling justification for Section 1031
(a)'s broad citizenship requirement, the
statute should be found to violate the
Fourteenth Amendment equal protection
rights of lawful permanent resident
immigrants.

Respectfully Submitted,

PETER A. SCHEY

TIMOTHY S. BARKER

CARLOS HOLGUIN

NATIONAL CENTER FOR IMMIGRANTS" RIGHTS
1550 West 8th Street

Los Angeles, California 90017

=3S—

AMIT PANDYA

NATIONAL CENTER FOR IMMIGRANTS' RIGHTS
25il K Street, N.W. Suite 931
Washington, D.C. 20005

Telephone: (202) 737-1444

FRED OKRAND

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION OF
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

633 S. Shatto Place

Los Angeles, California 90005

Telephone: (213) 487-1720

ANTONIO RODRIGUEZ

LOS ANGELES CENTER FOR LAW AND JUSTICE
2111 1/2 Brooklyn Avenue

Los Angeles, California 90033
Telephone: (213) 266-2690

MARY K. GILLESPIE

CALIFORNIA RURAL LEGAL ASSISTANCE
2111 Mission Street, Suite 401
San Francisco, California 94110
Telephone: (415) 864-3405
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

* Counsel of Record

“PL,

Dated:

“Peter A. Schey \
Counsel for AML OG"

Curiae

=36-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1922%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
