# motion to dismiss — Goode v. Ohio

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1817%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** motion to dismiss
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 450 U.S. 903

## Text

e—. ..--8
: i) RECEIVED

JAN 8 4991

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED SSPARRSCOURT, U.S.

BS

DECEMBER TERM, 1980

No. 80-5920

VICTOR E. GOODE,
APPELLANT
-vs-
STATE OF OHIO,

APPELLEE

AN APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

MOTION IN THE ALTERNATIVE TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

William F. Schenck, Zsa.
Greene County Prosecutor
Greene County Court House
Xenia, Ohio 45385
Telephone (513) 376-5250

Counsel for Appellee

Steven D. Rowe, Esa.

Kemp, Schaeffer & Rowe Co., LPA
45 North Wilson Road .
Columbus, Ohio 43204

Telephone (614) 276-2678

Counsel for Appellant

“*

“se

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Motion in the Alternative to Dismiss or Affirm.........

Brief in Support of Motion in the Alternative to
Dismiss or Pg dh hx ue winds bak o0e bebe s co baebckee

OPAMOON TRO ahs 06s 6066s 0090055 hab dhe cb0e0ssecioscaac’
i eee Tee ee Tree ee rey Pry errr ey re
Constitutional ané@ Statutory Provisions.........eeceees
Statement Of the Case. cccccccccoccccccsccccccccccscccccs
AEQUMONE cocccccccccscecceccccscaccceesecccccccsceeeere
CRRCLELSORG OF OOCCLeR ec vicecocsvivcccvecosedcecsésesecepos
ee ee ar ene een ny ee tena ee

(Appellee's Memorandum Contra to a Motion for
Reconsideration, filed July 17, 1979)

2. Ww Bee ee

ae

CASES

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Paqe
Pointer v.. Texas, 360 O18. 400 (1964) wecccacees 3
State v. Cox, 42 Ohio St.2d 200 (1975)......... 3

State Vv. White, 35 Ohio St.2d 146 C1966) -ccccss 3,4,5

State v. Goode, slip opinion, Case No. CA 1025,
Greene County Ct. App. (April 24, 1979)........ 3

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974).....e60505 3,4,5

Britt v. North Carolina, 404 U.S. 226 (1971)... 5

State v. Gardner, 59 Ohio St.2d 14 (1979)......

6
People v. McKenna, 585 P.2d 275 (Col. 1978).... 6
6

State v. Blue, 225 Kan. 576, 592 P.2d 897 (1979)

United States v. Kasto, 584 F.2d 268 (8th Cir.
1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 930 (1979) .ccccce 6,7

State v. Mastropetre, 400 A.2d 276, 281 (Conn.

eeeeoeneeveeeoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeee 7

People v. Thompson, 76 Mich. App. 705, 257 N.W.2d

ue App. | Are a ee eer re eee eee ee yi
Rozell v. Estelle, 554 F.2d 229 (Sth Cir. 1977),
Ceres Genser, G28 U8. 942 CIDTT ).c.. 0c ccvvecéecoe 7

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution, Sixth Amendment.... 2,6

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment 3

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

RULES

Ohio Revised Code, Section 2907.02(D)..csceeeuee 5,657

Ohio Juvenile Rule op | Re ee ee ee oe eee 3,38
Ohio Criminal Rule of Procedure 16(B)(1)(q).... 3,4,5

Federal Rule of Evidence 412. ....c.cccccccccceces 6

SECONDARY AUTHORITIES

Tanford and Bocchino, Rape Victim Shield Laws
and The Sixth Amendment, 125 U. Pa. L. Rev. 544,

ba ae hi eoeeeeuvueneneeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 6

Rape Reform Leaislation: Is it the Solution?,
Be GhOTEs Ces ee CEs CSE LESTE ch icnéonscareas 6

oiio

-e

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
DECEMBER TERM, 1980
No. 80-5920
VICTOR E. GOODE,
APPELLANT
-vs-
STATE OF OHIO,
APPELLEE

MOTION IN THE ALTERNATIVE TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

May it please the Court:
Appellee moves that the appeal herein taken be dismissed on
the ground that said appeal does not present a substantial federal

question.

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF MOTION IN THE ALTERNATIVE TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

OPINION BELOW

This is an appeal from a decision of tiie Supreme Court of
Ohio, which dismissed an appeal by the Appellant, thereby leaving
the Second District Court of Appeals decision intact. The final
Court of Appeals decision, rendered on April 15, 1980, was the
second decision by that Court. It followed a limited reversal and
remand to the trial court for the purpose of an in camera hearina
to determine whether the Appellant's constitutional rights had been
violated due to the inaccessibility to the Appellant of prior tes-
timony taken in a juvenile case.

The second appeal to the Second District Appellate Court
resulted in an affirmation of the Greene County Common Pleas
Court's decision, upholding Appellant's conviction. Thereafter,
the Ohio Supreme Court ruled that the appeal raised no substantial
constitutional questions and sua sponte dismissed the appeal in an
unreported decision. All relevant decisions of the state courts
were filed by Appellant in his Appendix to his Jurisdictional

Statement.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdictional requisites are adequately set forth in

the Appellant's jurisdictional statement.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Pertinent Constitutional and Statutory provisions are set

forth in the Appellant's jurisdictional statement.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Appellee does not take issue with the statement of the case
as set forth in the Appellant's jurisdictional statement except in
one aspect.

In Appellee's Memorandum Contra to a Motion for Reconsider-
ation filed on July 17, 1979, which concerned the question of
whether discrepancies existed between the testimony of the prosecu-
trix at trial and a ,cior juvenile trial, the prosecution did not
admit "that there was at least one discrepancy.” [Appellant's
Jurisdictional Statement, at 10]. The statement which was made by
the State was: "The State of Ohio conceded that the fourth alleaed
discrepancy may be viewed as a minor inconsistency, but certainly
not of the magnitude to constitute prejudicial error." [Appendix,
Memorandum Contra to a Motion for Reconsideration, at 3]. Although
Appellant has consistently stated that the Appellee agrees that
there are inconsistencies, the State of Ohio has stated that there
are none, and that if, arguendo, they were found to exist, they are

minor.

ARGUMENT
The basis of Appellant's two-pronged claim is that he was
denied his constitutional rights to confront and cross-examine wit-

nesses. Appellee readily acknowledges that those Sixth Amendment

Dia tte cate ae waaae . " anil sain sei r si white

ae

rights apply to the states through the Fourteenth Amendment.

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1964).

First, the Appellant asserts that he was denied his Sixth
Amendment riqhts when he was not given a transcript of the juvenile
proceeding of a co-defendant. The Appellee contends that, due to
the limited reversal and subsequent in camera inspection of the
juvenile trial, the Appellant's constitutional rights have been
addressed. There is, therefore, no further remedy necessary.

Initially, the trial court determined that Ohio's Juvenile
Rule 37(B) would bar the Appellant from obtaining a copy of the
testimony of two of the State's witnesses in a prior juvenile pro-

ceeding. Pursuant to State v. Cox, 42 Ohio St.2d 200 (1975), and

State v. White, 15 Ohio St.2d 146 (1968), the Second District Court

of Appeals held that the trial court had erred in not qranting an
in camera inspection of the juvenile record to determine whether
inconsistencies existed. It reversed and remanded to the trial
court, with instructions to order a new trial if the trial court
found that there were inconsistencies, and that those discrepancies
prevented the defendant from receiving a fair trial. State v.
Goode, slip opinion, Case No. CA 1025, Greene County Ct. App.
(April 24, 1979).

The law in Ohio is therefore consistent with the quidelines

set forth in Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974). Constitutional

rights of the criminal defendant cannot be submerged because of a

juvenile shield statute. State v. Cox, 42 Ohio St.2d 200 (1975).

In this case, Appellant is not claiming, however, that the
juvenile rule itself denied him the right of confrontation.
Rather, he is insisting that his remedy was unacceptable. Pointing
at a discovery rule, Ohio Criminal Rule of Procedure 16(B)(1)(q),
Appellant claims that he was entitled to the transcript if any

inconsistencies existed, reqardless of whether they were minor.

ae

Appellee submits that the Appellant's riqht to the use of a
prior juvenile trial transcript is not absolute. Procedurally,
Appellant is entitled to an in camera inspection and a hearing on
the evidence and alleged discrepancies. Such a procedure is man-

dated by State v. White, supra, and is not siaqnificantly altered by

the criminal rules. Here, the trial court specifically found that
the testimony in both transcripts was identical as to the elements
of the crime and factual description of the evening. Prior to the
triqgering of Criminal Rule 16(B)(1)(q), the Court must determine
that inconsistencies do exist.

Appellant's argument that the remedy granted by the appel-
late court was ineffective is unconvincing. There were no incon-
sistencies in the testimony. Most of the alleged discrepancies
were the result of out-of-context phrases lifted by the Defendant.
Assuming, arquendo, that there were any actual discrepancies, they
were so minor that the use of them could not possibly affect the
credibility of the prosecuting witness.

The situation in this case is not the one addressed in Davis

v. Alaska, supra, where the juvenile record itself would reveal

bias. Davis did not encounter a request for a juvenile transcript.
Here, the appellate court determined that Appellant's Sixth Amend-
ment rights would be adequately protected by the remand, and
Appellee submits that they were. Had discrepancies been found,
Appellant would have been qiven a new trial. It is apparent from
the appellate decision that, if such a situation were to arise in
the future, the trial judge must permit an in camera examination of
the juvenile transcript upon request of the defendant, and furnish
the defendant with the inconsistent testimony if any should exist.
Thus, the standard is set for the future, and it has not been
demonstrated that the Appellant has suffered any harm by the

remedial measure used.

“@

Appellant's reference to Britt v. North Carolina, 404 U.S.

226 (1971), is inappropriate in this case. Britt involved the

right of a criminal defendant to obtain a copy of his earlier trial
in order to prepare for a later one. While the Appellee will aaqree
with that right, it does not follow that a criminal defendant auto-
matically "needs" or is entitled to a transcript of a juvenile co-

defendant's trial. Davis v. Alaska, supra, suggests a balancing

test, and recognizes therein that a state does have a legitimate
interest in protecting the anonymity of juvenile records. The con-
stitutional rights of the defendant and the state's interests can
both be adequately protected by the prcceieres established by State

v. White, supra, and by the appellate court in this case.

Finally, the Appellee submits that the Ohio Supreme Court,
which established the Criminal Rules of Procedure, did not sub-
scribe to the Appellant's contention that Criminal Rule 16(B)(1)(q)

expanded the decision in State v. White, supra. Because there is

no attack on the constitutionality of Juvenile Rule 37, or Criminal
Rule of Procedure 16(B)(1)(q), and the Appellant's constitutional
rights were addressed in this case, there is no federal question
involved in this prong of the appeal.

Turning, then, to Appellant's second argument, Appellee will
further demonstrate that there is no reason for this Court to
accept jurisdiction over this case. Ohio's rape shield statute,
Ohio Revised Code, Section 2907.02(D), has been attacked by Appel-
lant as unconstitutional. Appellant attempted to introduce evi-
dence that the victim of the rape had been living with a man, that
she had intercourse with him five or six times a week, and that she
had previously had an abortion. The trial court would not permit
such evidence, relying upon the rape shield statute to exclude it.

Ohio's rape shield statute, as drawn and construed, requires

a balancing test to determine admissibility of sexual evidence,

ae

i.e., probative value versus prejudicial effect. O.R.C.

§2907.02(D); State v. Gardner, 59 Ohio St.2d 14 (1979). Te is, ts

essence, an evidentiary tool, and is similar to many state statutes
and Federal Rule of Evidence 412. See Tanford and Bocchino, Rape

Victim Shield Laws and The Sixth Amendment, 128 U. Pa. L. Rev. 544,

591-602 (1980). Such rules and statutes were enacted to protect
the victim from being senselessly subjected to examination concern-
ing irrelevant sexual history, and to aid the states and federal
government in prosecuting what has traditionally been the most

underreported crime---that of rape. State v. Gardner, supra. See

also, Note, Rape Reform Legislation: _Is It the Solution?, 24

Cleve. St. L. Rev. 463 (1975).

Obviously, there are times when the defendant's constitu-
tional rights will outweigh the inflammatory or prejudicial effect
of testimony. However, the Ohio statute is not inflexible: it
allows for a hearing on the proposed evidence.

It is not, and never has been, the right of any participant
in a trial to introduce irrelevant and highly emotional evidence.

People v. McKenna, 585 P.2d 275 (Col. 1978). The Sixth Amendment

right to confrontation does not encompass a right to introduce

irrelevant material. State v. Blue, 225 Kan. 576, 592 P.2d 897

(1979). As to the issue of consent, evidence of a victim's prior
unchastity is generally not probative, absent circumstances which

enhance its probative value. United States v. Kasto, 584 F.2d 268

(8th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 930 (1979). In this case,

the jury was made aware of the fact that the victim had been fiaght-
ing with her boyfriend, and that she was very distraught. There
was evidence that she was upset and that she wanted to get back to
him badly enough that she was willina to hitchhike from Columbus to
Oxford. Therefore, the jury knew what her mental state was on the

night of the rapes. Contrary to what the Appellant has claimed,

ae

evidence that the victim Sherlock had lived with her boyfriend,
that she had had intercourse with him with frequency, and that she
had had an abortion was irrelevant as to any of the issues in this
case, and would have been introduced only to inflame the jury
against the rape victim.

Under the facts of this case, the Appellant's constitutional
right to confrontation was not infringed upon by the application of
the statute in question. "The defendant's right to confront
witnesses against im is not absolute, but must bow to ‘other leq-

itimate interests in the criminal trial process. Chambers v.

Mississippi, 410 U.S. [284 at 295].'" State v. Mastropetre, 400

A.2d 276, 281 (Conn. 1978). Accord, People v. Thompson, 76 Mich.

App. 705, 257 N.W.2d 268 (Ct. App. 1977); United States v. Kasto,
Supra. See also Rozell v. Estelle, 554 F.2d 229 (Sth Cir. 1977),

cert. denied, 434 U.S. 942 (1977). Where, as here, other means are

available to impeach the witness, and are in fact used, exclusion
of the inflammatory evidence is not an infringement of the rights
of the defendant. It is no more relevant to inquire as to prior
sexual history of the rape victim in most cases than it is to
inquire about a robbery victim's prior donations to a family member
or friend.

As has been amply shown by this brief supportina a Motion in
the Alternative to Dismiss or Affirm, there is no reason for this ,
Honorable Court to proceed further with this case. The Supreme
Court of the State of Ohio did not err in dismissing the appeal,
because neither issue herein addressed by the Appellant raises a
substantial federal question. Clearly, no constitutional violation
has occurred, and the rape shield statute, Ohio Revised Code, Sec-
tion 2907.02(D), is not unconstitutional on its face or as applied.
Therefore, Appellee's motion to dismiss should be sustained.

Respectfully submitted,

a RAISIN - “eos nns.)
William F. Schenck

Counsel for Appellee

Greene County Court House —_
Xenia, Ohio 45385

Telephone: (513) 376-5250

~Ja

aoe

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foreqoing Motion in the
Alternative to Dismiss or Affirm has been forwarded, bv reqular
U.S. mail, to Steven D. Rowe, Counsel for Appellant, at Kemp,
Schaeffer & Rowe Co., LPA, 45 North Wilson Road, Columbus, Ohio
43204, on this Fin 8 day of January, 1981.

—

'i.MAEL DEwiIne
+ £CUTING ATTORNEY
*MEENE CovnTY
CounTwoues
“te, Or® eesee
575700

57-5290

IN THE COMMON | PLEAS -COURT »OF GROENE COUNTY, OHIO |
“ 7 ee i 4

ae |

STATE OF OHIO b
Case No. 77 CR 186
Plaintiff : !
VICTOR E. GOODE $ MEMORANDUM CONTRA TO A
MOTION FO RECONSIDERATION :
Defendant

2 SSA ORS O88 AOS OER TOE 0 Se ee bee ee

This case comes before this Court on remand by the Court |
of Appeals, Second Appellate Distzwict for review of the transcript
of testimony of Karen Sherlock, the primary prosecution witness
for the State of Ohio in the case of State v. Goode, 77 CR 186 and
State v. Mayes, 10109, Juvenile Division of the Common Pleas Court.
The purpose of this review is to determine whether or not certain
inconsistencies exist in the testimony of Karen Sherlock that
resulted in actual prejudice to the Defendant~Appellant denying

him a fair trial and due process of law. ;

The State of Ohio-.wil’ demonstrate that each and every
alleged “discrepency" or "inconsistency" in the testimony of
Karen Sherlock was taken out of context from the record as a whole.
In order of the Defendant's allegations, the first alleged in-
consistency is that Karen Sherlock cestified that the trial of
Victor Goode, that Victor Goode and Richard Mayes did not say
whether they would take her all the way to Oxford, Ohio. Defendant
contends that da page 5 of the transcript of the juvenile hearing
of Richard Mayes, Ms. Sherlock testified that they would take her
all the way to Oxford. On page 292-393 of the transcript of the

proceedings of Victor Goode, the following testimony was recorded:

BY MR. DEWINE:

Q. What conversaticn, if any, did you initally have
with them when you got into the car?

A. I told them I was goiny to Oxford and asked them
if they could take me part or all of the way.

APPENDIX ~ PAGE Y

“ICHAEL DEeWINE
+ SUTING ATTORNEY
“EaNE COUNTY
COURrMoues
tema, Ome aeze8
#795700
36-5290

Q. Did they respond in any way?
A. They said shey would.

Comparing the absve testimony with that on Page 5 of the
transcript of the juvenile hearing, it is clear that no discrepency
exists. At the trial of Victor Goude, Ms. Sherlock merely recanted
that Victor Goode and Richard Mayes agreed to give her a ride.
Karen Sherlock's testimony at the trial of Victor Goode was, at
best, a mere general affirmation ar.d lacked the specificity that |
exists on page 5 of the Zuvenile hearing transcript, but it

certainly cannot be viewed as an inconsistency.

The second alleged inconsistency pertains to Ms. Sherlock's
knowledge of the co-defendant's name. On page 6 of the juvenile
court transcript, Karen Sherlock testified that she learned the’
names while they were at Richard Mayes' house in Columbus.

BY MR. HALLER:

Q. Did you knew his name at this time?

A. Well, when he had gone into the house, the
other man in the car introduced himself and
then Richard Mayes. ie introduced both of
them. That was when I first learned their
names.
At page 405 of the transcript of the trial of Victor Goo
Karen Sherlock testified consistentiy with the Statements made i
juvenile court hearing; that is that Victor Goode introduced the

selves at the home of Richare Mayes in Columbus. Karen did test

at Goode's trial that she learned their first names, but at May:

hearing she did not state whether the Defendant gave both their

first and last names. This, again, cannot be viewed as an incon-

sistency because of the lack of preciseness in the juvenile hearing
The third discrepency the Defendant cites concerns the

nature of the conversations that took place on the way toward Xenia

On page 8 of the juvenile court trar.script, and page 399 of the

trial court proceeding, Karen specifically stated the same pieces

“ICHAEL DEeWINE
OSECUTING ATTORNEY
-naane County
coustwouss
+EMIA, ONO onsen
#79..\700
3%6-5230

= os

of information concerning Xenia. [In both transcripts it is
evident that the parties talked abcut the tornado and Karen's
past connection with the City of Xenia. No discrepency can be
said to exist pertaining to the nature of that conversation.

The State of Ohio concedes that the fourth alleged dis-
crepency may be viewed as a minor inconsistency, but certainly
not of the magnitude to constitute prejudicial error. Defendant
states on page 5 of his Memorandum in Support of Reconsideration
that Karen Sherlock testified at the juvenile hearing that she had
been sitting on the passenger side of the vehicle until they
reached McDonalds in Xen. However, Karen testified at the trial
of Mr. Goode that she sat between the co-defendants earlier that
morning when they stopped to Ppurcnase beverages. A careful review
of page 9 of the juvenile court transcript in conjunction with page
395 of the trial testimony will reveal no substantial difference
to constitute prejudicial error. The State of Ohio contends such
a discrepency is harmless error. Criminal Rule 52(A). In
determining whether it was harmless error, a reviewing court must
read the entire record, disregarding the objectional material. If
the error alleged is constitutional in nature and if the Court
finds that there is overwhelming evidence of the Defendant~Appellant
guilty, aside from the disputed material, then it must hold that
the error is not prejudicial but harmess beyond a reasonable doubt

and affirm the judgment of the trial court. Harrington v. Californi

395 U.S. 250 (1969); Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967). In

the case of non-constitutional error, the reviewing court must read
the record, disregarding the objectional material and then determina
whether or not this was "substantial" evidence of the Appellant's

guilt before it affirms or reverses the judgment of the trial Court.

State v. Davis, 44 Ohio App. 2d 335, 338 N.E. 2d 793 (1975). In the
case before this Court the Defendant Claims a constitutional error,

ot "Rh

MICHAEL DeWINE
nOSECUTING ATTORNEY
@nsena CounTy
CounTmouse
REMIA. OO 40300
79-5700
nes290

however, this one minor inconsistency does not withstand a test
for reversal or a new trial when examined against the multitude of
much more significant statements. ‘he Defendant-Appellant incurred
no prejudice from this one minor instance.

The fifth alleged discrepency concerns a statement hy
Victor Goode. On page 13 of the juvenile court transcript the
following colloquy took place:

BY MR. HALLER:

Q. So what happened then?

A. So, he continued on in this way, "Isn't there
something you could do? Just turn one of us
on and we will go on our way.”

Q. Who was saying this?

A. Victor Goode said that. He said, "Just turn
Rich on."

Q. Indicating who?
A. Richard Mayes. . .

When comparing the above testimony with page 406 of the
trial court transcript it is clear chat Karen Sherlock accurately
and consistently repeated the statements made by Victor Goode. As
a result no discrepency can be discerned from the testimony.

The sixth discrepency citec by the Defendant-Appellant,
concerning the motive of dressing in the rear of the vehicle,
presents a mystery to the prosecution. The State fails to under-
stand what the alleged conflicts said to exist between page 14
of the juvenile court trial transcript and the adult trial,
specifically, pages 408-410. Examination of these pages reveals
the identical revelation of events at both hearings.

| The seventh alleyed discrepency in the testimony of Karen
Sherlock, concerning Mr. Goode's request that Karen assist him in
obtaining an erection, is insignificant at best. See pages 410

through 415 of State v. Goode, and page 15 of State v. Mayes.

“ MAEL DEeWINE
ISECUTING ATTORNEY
Ontane counry
COURTHOVeS
*e 'A, OFFO 40808
57%5700
176-5290

Regardless of when the request for assistance came, whether it be
the first or second time Victor Goode was in the back seat with 7
Karen, it cannot be said to be of any great significance. The fact
of the matter is that Karen accurately revealed the events as they
took place. The shock and humiliation of being raped by the two

men is more than sufficient basis for allowing Karen to testify

as to what happened to the best of her recollection. The law is not:
so rigid as to require Karen to pinpoint the exact time this state- |

ment was made.

Finally, on page 29 of the juvenile court transcript,

© ee wee wae.

Defendant contends that Karen's testimony that Victor Goode made

no specific threats of force against Karen negates that element
of the crime charged. Karen Sherlock testified that she could not

specifically remember the threats of Victor Goode, however, the

purposeful compelling of Karen Sherlock to submit to sexual inter-

course with two men was the result of the fear of physical harm.

D+ Orce-ers anew ~<s -<-

The record reveals on pages 13-17, and 33 of the juvenile court

transcript and pages 408-412 of the adult trial the fear of

a

physical harm that Karen experienced. For example, Richard Mayes

said he would hurt her, kill her even, and force her to make a

decision by the time he finished his cigarette. Victor Goode
* '

tugged on Karen's injured ankle in nis attempts to get her in the

back seat. Both men instructed her to keep quiet and called her "ai.
bitch" while raping her. All of these instances viewed as a whole
indicate the fear that Karen experienced. She pleaded with them
to leave her alone but chose to submit-in an effort to save her
life.

As a result, viewing the record as a whole, both transcript

it is clear that the alleged inconsistencies are non-existent.

The Supreme Court found in State v. White, 27 Ohio st. 24 73, (1971)!

the record does not reveal that the inconsistencies or variations |

«M9/a jh
AkeVoline

(OUTING ATTORNEY
“LENE COUNTY
cOURTHOVeE
MIA, OWN® s0ne0
679.5700
176-3290

between the statements and evidence jenied the Appeallant a fair
trial. Applied to the case at bar, she record in this case does
not reveal that any inconsistency he:ween the testimony of Karen
Sherlock at Victor Goode's trial and at Richard Mayes’ hearing
constituted any prejudicial error. ‘what may be viewed as an
inconsistent statement is nothing move than harmless error. No
substantial rights of the Defendant were affected, nor was there
prejudice demonstrated.

For the above reasons the Stute of Ohio respectfully
requests this Court to affirm the co:viction and deny the
Defendant's request for a new trial.

Respectfully submitted,

re y ere ae

Michael DeWine
Prosecuting Attorney

Assistant Prosecuting Attorney

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing has been
forwarded to Mr. Steven Rowe, Attorney for Defendant, 45 North
Wilson Road, Columbus, Ohio 43204 this YI'* day of July, 1979

by regular U.S. Mail.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1817%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
