# Opposition — Brownell v. Illinois

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1745%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 811

## Text

CURTIS BROWNELL,

vs.

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

IN THE be:
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES sep 4 180,

OCTOBER TERM, 1980 OFFucé OF THE CLERK
NO. 80-5122

Petitioner,

Respondent.

Sree Oe Se

RECEIVED |

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TYRONE C. FAHNER
Attorney General
State of Illinois

MELBOURNE A. NOEL, JR.,

CAROLYN B. NOTKOFF,
Assistant Attorneys General
188 W. Randolph Street (Suite 2200)
Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 793-2570

Counsel for Respondent

INDEX

JURISDICTION (absence thereof).......................
SY ED RN al ee

ie

py

IIL.

IV.

CONCLUSION...

THE DECISION OF THE ILLINOIS SUPREME
COURT REFLECTS THAT PETITIONER WAS NOT
INTERROGATED ON APRIL 2, 1978 IN
VIOLATION OF RHODE ISLAND V. INNIS
AND MICHIGAN V.

THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT CORRECTLY
DECIDED THAT PETITIONER'S RIGHT TO
COUNSEL WAS PROPERLY OBSERVED..........

Petitioner Effectively Waived
Mae MAGnt To Commeel. oii ciiicenccce.

The Allegedly Conflicting Decisions
Cited By Petitioner Are Distinguishable
ee ORM MMOS 6 SUG Ss AWE bs 0s cvs veces

NO PRINCIPLE OF LAW REQUIRES THE

. PRECLUSION OF A DEATH PENALTY

SENTENCING HEARING MERELY BECAUSE
PETITIONER CONFESSED AFTER REJECTING
“toy. Povactnyey yo te Se rr

THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT CORRECTLY
DECIDED THAT THE ILLINOIS DEATH
PENALTY STATUTE IS CONSTITUTIONAL......

The Statutory Mitigating Factor
Of "Extreme Mental Or Emotional
Disturbance" Is Not Unconstitu-
SSS RS a ee

The Illinois Death Penalty Statute
Is Valid As A Matter Of Federal
Constitutional Law And Conforms With
ead Decisions Of The Supreme

seorptig RS AOU, FOE OEE PEE, oI > aan

10

ll

12

13

15

19

CITATIONS

CASES : . PAGE
Berman v. United States, 302 U.S. 211 (1973)........ 1

Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. 742 (1970)......... S,; 12
Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975).......... 7

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972).............. 15, 16
Godfrey v. Georgia, U3: , 100 §.Ct, 1759,

es ie ah OR esa teh ae 14

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)............... 13-17
Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938).............. 7,
pune wa mmmem G20 U.S, 262 (1976).i sos coe c cdc vercccn 15
Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978)............005. 14, 15
Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96 Gh 1) . Lethe aie a S, i Se
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 CRIS 4 xe» BES 0 oes -0 5, 7-9
North Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25 (1970)........ 12

People v. Brownell, 79 I11.2d 508, 404 N.E.2d

TBI (eS etry SEE IAS SARIS ADR aD ACS it >, 9. 36,58
People ex rel. Carey v. Cousins, 77 I1l.2d SRA <

357 N.E.2d 809 C1375} Ray WA Aina nage @ ob oe kb 15, 18

People ex rel. Hanrahan v. 1965 Oldsmobile, 52

, ; + @ , rev'd on
other grounds, 409 U.S. 38 (1973)............ee.e. 17
Rhode Island v. Innis, U.S. _, 100 S.Ct.
. . Ed, Ph Se 64s eb umes hea) 2, 5, 7-9
Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 257 SOFA) Ook 6X twas os

United States v. Henry, U.S.___, 100 S.Ct.
__. 65 L.Ed.2Zd Ii SRUOUE Sc oN vi «eh ce OEMESs < sae cus 11

United States v. Morrison, 602 F.2d 529 (3d Cir.

» cert. granted, 27 Cr. L. Rptr. 4122
(No. 79-395, = ER i a ll
STATUTES
Ga. Code Ann. §§ 27-2503, 27-2534.1(b) (Supp.
TTP EEE Gee RMN Uys » OEE Phe oscla Canoe rece. one 13
Tll. Rev. Stat., ch. 38, § 9-1 (1977) a 6Vb una wu bowen 12-16, 18

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1980
NO. 80-5122

CURTIS BROWNELL,
Petitioner,
vs.
THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent, the State of Illinois, respectfully
requests that this Court deny the petition for writ of certiorari,
seeking review of the Illinois Supreme Court's opinion in
this case. That opinion is reported at 79 I11.2d 508, 404
N.E.2d 181.

JURISDICTION
(absence thereof)

Petitioner has invoked the jurisdiction of this

Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3). Respondent submits that the
decision of the court below is not ripe for review by this
Court. The final judgment in a criminal case is the sentence.

Berman v. United States, 302 U.S. 211, 212 (1937). The Illinois

Supreme Court has vacated petitioner's sentence of death,
remanding the case for resentencing, and thus there has been
no final determination of the merits of the case. Since
litigation between the parties has not yet been terminated,
review by this Court at this stage of the proceedings would

be premature. Id. at 213.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the decision of the Illinois Supreme Court
that petitioner was not interrogated accords with the

decisions in Rhode Island v. Innis and Michigan v. Mosley?

Whether the Illinois Supreme Court correctly
concluded that petitioner had effectively waived his right
to counsel, where petitioner met extensively with his counsel
but later, knowingly waived counsel's presence?

Whether petitioner can be sentenced to death
after confessing where there was no outstanding offer of
leniency and petitioner also rejected such an offer?

Whether the mitigating factor listed in the Illinois
death penalty statute as "extreme mental or emotional dis-
turbance" adequately guides the sentencing authority where
the statute further describes this factor as “not such as
to constitute a defense to Prosecution" and allows the
introduction into evidence of any other relevant mitigating
factors?

Whether the Illinois Supreme Court correctly
concluded that a prosecutor's discretion to request a death
sentencing hearing does not violate the eighth amendment
where the prosecutor's discretion is guided by the statute

and by the strength of his case?

satin

, . oN eS I See ee tee ETN ee Sg me eR Cy ue eos

SlALEMENL OF LHE CASE

Respondent wishes to add the following facts
omitted by petitioner:

On the evening of April 1, 1978, at approxi-
mately 10:00 p.m., petitioner's counsel indicated that he
wished to open negotiations with prosecutors regarding the
death penalty and whether it would be sought in the case.
(A. 108-109) At about 10:30 p.m. it was agreed among the
parties that the following deal would be struck: if petitioner
would give the police a complete, written statement concerning
his role in the victim's death, the State would not seek the
death penalty at his trial. (A. 122) Significantly, this
offer was not open-ended; rather, the Prosecutors expressly
limited the offer so that petitioner would be required to
give his statement "at that time, right now." (A. 122)

One of petitioner's attorneys then met with him alone
for about fifteen minutes. (A. 109) A police detective
was then summoned and informed, by petitioner and his counsel,
that petitioner had declined the offer. (A. 109, 137)
Petitioner's attorney later repeated to both the police
(A. 109) and the prosecuting authorities (C. 276, 323) his

client's refusal to accept the offered deal. After once
again ascertaining that petitioner would refuse to speak to
anyone but his lawyers, (A. 137) the parties left for the
evening between midnight and 1:00 a.m. (A. 110-111)
Approximately one hour later, petitioner summoned
the detectives assigned to this case. (A. 100) Once they had
arrived at his cell, petitioner stated that he wished to give
them a statement. When asked if his lawyers should be present,
petitioner stated they should not be summoned. because they f
would not "let me tell you everything I want to tell you."
(A. 123) The police next asked petitioner why he had refused

to confess earlier in the evening, when he could have bargained

his way out of e possible death penalty. Petitioner said he
rejected that "deal" because he wanted “to burn". (A. 1ll,
123, 143) Thereupon, after being fully admonished as to his
fifth and sixth amendment rights, petitioner confessed to

. murder. (A. 111) After confessing, he inquired if he had

told the police "enough so that he could burn." (A. 112)

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

(In Addition To Lack Of Ripeness Mentioned
In "Jurisdiction" Section, Supra.)

~

a

THE DECISION OF THE ILLINOIS SUPREME
COURT REFLECTS THAT PETITIONER WAS NOT
INTERROGATED ON APRIL 2, 1978, IN
VIOLATION OF RHODE ISLAND Vv. INNIS

and MICHIGAN V. MOSLEY.

Prior to this Court's decision in Rhode Island v.
Innis, __U.S.___, 100 S.Ct. 1682, 64 L.Ed.2d 297 (1980),

the Illinois Supreme Court held that petitioner's right to
remain silent and right to counsel were properly observed and
rejected his argument that his waiver of these rights "was
defective due to the ‘affirmative, repeated efforts' of the
detectives to obtain a confession." People v. Brownell, 79

T1l.2d 508, 521, 404 N.E.2d 181, 188 (1980). The court

found that "the detectives did not coerce or threaten the
(petitioner] into speaking with them" and that "most of the
attempts they made to persuade the [petitioner] to confess
were made in the presence of counsel." Id., 404 N.E.2d

at 188. Respondent submits this decision is consistent with
the principles set forth in Innis as well as those in Michigan
v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96 (1975), two cases delineating the rights
previously established in Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436
(1966).

In Innis, this Court concluded "that the Miranda
safeguards come into play whenever a person in custody is
subject either to express qeustioning or its functional
equivalent." Innis, __-U.S. at __. 100 S.Ct. at 1689, 64 L.Ed.2d
at 307-8. The definition of interrogation extends "only to
words or actions on the part of police officers that they

should have known were reasonably likely to elicit an in-

criminating response." Id. at, 100 S.Ct. at 1690,

64 L.Ed.2d at 308 (emphasis in original). The admissibility

of statements obtained after the person in custody has chosen

to remain silent “depends under Miranda whether his ‘right

to cut off questioning' was ‘scrupulously honored. '" Mosley,
423 U.S. at 104. Nothing in Mosley suggests that all statements

yr ~ ON nn enter terpemenn rrr nt Ror tree set trent et ne nf) meee ents ey ee

AE TS TR FL TD IS OR TT aur" i che peeeeaemk n aor y , » ng i oes

Oe x % ‘ , tl POE
.

made subsequent to a decision to remain silent are to be

excluded. Id. at 102-3. Rather, the decision makes clear

that there are no per se proscriptions of infinite duration

upon further questioning. Id.

The facts of the instant case belie petitioner's

assertion that law enforcement officials did not scrupulously

honor his rights, but affirmatively acted to obtain a con-

fession and circumvent his right to counsel. With the

exception of the showing of the photograph of the victim,

Louise Betts, to petitioner after he requested counsel, no

other police activity in any manner violated his constitutional

rights. The trial court suppressed all testimony concerning

the showing of the photograph to petitioner (A. 9) and that

issue is not before this Court. That incident however took

place at 2:15 p.m. on March 31, 1978, some thirty-six hours

prior to petitioner's confession. During that thirty-six

hour period, petitioner was represented by counsel and given

numerous opportunities to discuss with counsel and others what

actions to take. In fact, at no time during that thirty-six

hour period was petitioner specifically questioned about the

Betts’ murder by any law enforcement authorities. (A. 140)

Even though an initial violation of petitioner's rights had

occurred, the effect of this violation was fully dissipated by

lapse of time, repeated admonitions, and consultations with

counsel so as to render the statement of April 2, 1978 a |

voluntary statement. Thus petitioner's right to cut off

questioning was not violated. Mosley, 423 U.S. at 101 n. 8,
102-3.

The record is clear that the questioning of March 31,

1978 ended immediately upon petitioner's request for counsel.

At 6:15 that evening, petitioner accompanied by counsel
appeared in a line-up. (A. 134) While Detective Arbisi did
advise petitioner that he had a right to talk to detectives
either with or without his attorney (A. 135) this statement
cannot logically be considered interrogation or an attempt to
coerce petitioner into making a statement. Indeed, Detective
Arbisi correctly advised petitioner that he could waive his

attorney's presence and advise and speak with police officers

TF

——s

——__————-- - —— ears ue oor o iT; CBM Lh
> aad 0 ok { 4! Aeon

if he so desired. See Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938).

Rights enumerated under the sixth amendment are rights personal
to the accused and not to counsel. Faretta v. California, 422

U.S. 806 (1975).

The record supports the Illinois Supreme Court's
holding that petitioner's rights to remain silent and to
counsel were not encroached upon. Prior to and after the line-up
on March 31, petitioner spoke with counsel for as long as
he wished. (A. 140) He further acknowledged that from that
evening until the next no one attempted to talk to him about
the instant’ case. (A. 140) Petitioner spoke with counsel
on several occasions on the evening of April 1 and indicated
that these interviews lasted as long as he wished. (C. 383-4;
A. 136, 140).

Finally, petitioner's own testimony clearly indicates
that his decision to make a statement was made with knowledge
that his attorney could be present and with a desire on his
part to proceed without counsel:

Q. When Detective Arbisi and Sergeant
Packard came to the jail area that
morning around two or two-thirty
that morning on April 2nd, isn't
it true that one of the first things

they said to you was to ask if you
wanted them to call your attorney?

Yes.

Q. And isn't it true that you said no,
you didn't want them to call him because
he would keep you from saying what you
wanted to say?

A. Yes.

>

(C. 389) Defendant also acknowledged that his Miranda rights
were read to him before he gave a statement and that he
understood these rights. (A. 142)

Petitioner claims that certain "tactics engaged in
by the State" amounted to interrogation. Petition at 14.
The People respond that these actions do not violate the
precepts in Innis and thus review by this Court is unnecessary.
For example, the placement of petitioner in "isolation" or
"I-block" (A. 186) was not to elicit an incriminating response
but to prevent petitioner from committing suicide. (A. 139)

The police officers reasonably believed that a comment

«Pe x

petitioner had made referred to a possible suicide attempt.

(A. 186) Informing petitioner that he could talk to the police

with or without counsel present :was correct advise (see p. 6-7,

supra) given in the presence of his attorney, (A. 110, 131,

135, 141) certainly not a situation likely to evoke a confession.
Although petitioner complains that the State

arranged for him to meet with his wife before allowing him

to see his lawyer, this did not actually transpire. Rather,

petitioner met with his wife after he conferred with his
lawyer. (A. 136)

While it is true that the State offered to forego
the death penalty if petitioner would give a statement, this
was not an open-ended offer but limited to "that time, right
now." (A. 122) Furthermore, petitioner refused the offer (A.
109, 123, 143) and when he later confessed, he himself in-
dicated he was not doing so within the context of the offer.
(A. 143) Petitioner had unlimited opportunity to assess
with counsel the advantages and disadvantages of the State's
offer and any possible coercive impact of this offer of
leniency was dissipated by the advise of counsel. See Brady
v. United States, 397 U.S. 742, 754 (1970). Not only was the

State's offer not inherently unconstitutional, see id. at 755,
no agreement was ever reached between the parties.

Thus, respondent submits that review by this Court

is unwarranted as none of the State's actions amounted to

interrogation. Furthermore, petitioner misconstrues this

Court's holding in Innis. Innis not only addressed the meaning

of "interrogation" under Miranda, it clarified when the

Miranda safeguards are required:

It is clear therefore that the

special procedural safeguards outlined in
Miranda are required not where a suspect
is simply taken into custody, but rather
where a suspect in custody is subjected
to interrogation. ‘Interrogation,’ as
conceptualized in the Miranda opinion,
must reflect a measure of compulsion
above and beyond that inherent in

custody itself. [Footnote omitted]

We conclude that the Miranda safeguards
come into ne whenever a person in
custody is subjected to either express
questioning or its functional equivalent.

-8-

otallamenan re -

ne ne i shi a OTT er reer al

Innis, __U.S. at __, 100 S.Ct. at 1689, 64 L.Ed.2d at

307-8. Petitioner in this case was made completely aware of his
Miranda rights by police and was advised by counsel throughout

the period in question. His rights under Miranda, Mosley, and

Innis were never infringed upon during the taking of his

confession, thus obviating further review by this Court.

a:
THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT CORRECLTY
DECIDED THAT PETITIONER'S RIGHT TO
COUNSEL WAS PROPERLY OBSERVED.

A.
Petitioner Effectively Waived His
Right To Counsel.

Petitioner urges this Court to consider whether an
accused is cloaked with a sixth amendment right to counsel
when, “during its interrogationl of the accused, the State
offers" not to seek the death penalty in exchange for the
accused's confession. Petition at 16. However, this is not
the issue here, for it is clear from the record and opinion
below that petitioner was afforded his right to counsel but
later effectively waived s;,

Petitioner cites no authority, for there is none,
that prohibits one charged with acrime from voluntarily giving
a statement to law enforcement authorities after he has been
advised of his constitutional rights. Here petitioner
was not only warned, but, other than an initial Mosley violation,
see Brownell, 79 I11.2d at 519, 404 N.E.2d at 187, petitioner's
request for counsel was honored and there was no interrogation.
Petitioner met extensively with counsel (A. 136, 140) and
nothing in the record supports his allegations that he was
unaware of the consequences of his confession and the intricacies

of the law.

1. Respondent submits, as previously discussed
in Argument I of this brief, that petitioner was not "interro-

gated." See pp. 6-7 , supra.

_., ta. 8 eee oP oe

= _—

Petitioner initiated the proceedings leading up
to the confession (A. 142) and the statement was taken only
after he expressed a desire to give it without the presence
of counsel. (A. 143) Furthermore, petitioner explicitly
refused the State's offer of leniency prior to confessing.
(A. 143)

Respondent contends that the court below2 correctly
determined that petitioner waived his right to counsel in
a knowing, intelligent, and voluntary manner. See Johnson
v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464-5 (1938). The facts and cir-
cumstances of this case, as discussed previously and as set
forth in the Illinois Supreme Court's opinion, Brownell, 79
I11.2d at 517-9, 404 N.E.2d at 186-7, demonstrate that
petitioner requested, and consulted exensively with, counsel
but later competently waived counsel's presence. Prior to
recording petitioner's confession, Detective Arbisi asked
petitioner whether he wished to have his attorney present
(A. 111) and apprised him of his Miranda rights. (A. 112)

Petitioner's earlier meetings with counsel as well as these

warnings by the detective dispel any notion that petitioner's
waiver of his right to counsel was not competent. Petitioner

was well aware of his rights and had previously exercised

them. Nothing prohibits him from later intentionally abandoning

these rights. Therefore, since no violation has occurred,

this Court should deny the petition for certiorari.

B.
The Allegedly Conflicting Decisions Cited

By Petitioner Are Distinguishable On
Their Facts.

Petitioner submits that the decision of the Illinois

2. The trial court's finding that petitioner's con-
fession was voluntary (A. 148, 211-2) encompasses an implied
finding tha petitioner was afforded counsel but later waived
counsel's presence. (A. 211)

-10-

SG er ee ee

EO Ee SS EY

ss ee aie
~The 7 ad

Saale Supreme Court in this case that petitioner's right to counsel

was not violated conflicts with the recent decision of
United States v. Henry, U.S. , 100 S.Ct. ——, 65 L.Ed.2d
115 (1980) and United States v. Morrison, 602 F.2d 529 (3d
Cir. 1979), cert. granted, 27 Cr. L. Rptr. 4122 (No. 79-395,

June 30, 1980). However, both these cases are easily dis-
tinguishable on their facts.

In Henry, the accused, while in custody and after
indictment, made incriminating statements to his cellmate,
an undisclosed government informant. This Court found the
admission of these statements at trial violated Henry's sixth
amendment right to assistance of counsel. The fact situation
in the instant case, wherein petitioner consulted extensively
with counsel and later made a confession to known law enforcement
officers, is entirely different than that in Henry where the

accused made incriminating statements to an undisclosed govern-

ment informant. Thus, petitioner's reliance on Henry is
misplaced.
: The facts in Morrison make it inapplicable to the
case at bar. Morrison involved repeated forceful and wilful
intrusions by government agents into a defendant's home. These
intrusions occurred outside the presence of defendant's
counsel and were designed to destroy her confidence in her
attorney. Again, the facts in the case now before the Court
clearly do not amount to a similarly egregious situation.

The decisionsof the court below does not conflict
with the decisions in Henry and Morrison, those decisions being
distinguishable on their facts. Therefore, granting certiorari

in this case would be inappropriate.

Ill.
NO PRINCIPLE OF LAW REQUIRES THE PRE-
CLUSION OF A DEATH PENALTY SENTENCING HEARING
MERELY BECAUSE PETITIONER CONFESSED AFTER
REJECTING AN OFFER OF LENIENCY.
Petitioner asserts that due process and the

attendant concept of fundamental fairness preclude capital

punishment in his case. In so arguing, he places great
emphasis on Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 257 (1971).

Santobello bears little, if any, application to this case.

There, the defendant "'bargained' and negotiated" for a guilty
plea to a lesser-included offense; the prosecution promised
not to recommend a sentence. Id. at 262. An agreement

was in fact reached between the parties. Because no such
agreement was ever settled upon here, there is no agreement

which could be breached or enforced, and Santobello is thus

inapposite. The prosecutor here was never committed to a
particular course of conduct.

A guilty plea is not rendered invalid because it
resulted from a defendant's desire to avoid the possibility
of the death penalty. North Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S.
25 (1970); Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. 742 (1970).

Surely, there is nothing inherently unconstitutional about
negotiations between the State and the accused wherein a
defendant agrees to waive his constutitional rights in return
for a promise by the prosecution not to seek the death
penalty. But once again, since no agreement was ever reached
between the parties in this case and the offer of leniency
was not outstanding, petitioner's rights were not violated
by the prosecutor's decision to request a special sentencing
hearing.

The facts of this case as discussed throughout
respondent's brief reveal that no trickery was employed by
law enforcement officials to induce petitioner to forfeit
his rights in the absence of counsel. The Prosecutor and
the police officers were straightforward at all times and
petitioner apparently did not want the benefits of the State's
offer. (A. 111, 123, 143) Therefore, review by this’ Court

is not necessary.

IV.

THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT CORRECTLY

DECIDED THAT THE ILLINOIS DEATH PENALTY

STATUTE IS CONSTITUTIONAL.

Petitioner contends that two provisions of the

Illinois death penalty statute, Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 38,
§§ 9-1(c)(2), (d) (1977), are unconstitutional. Respondent
submits that the decision below, upholding the challenged

~12-

— —s POTIONS Of Che statute, does not merit review by this Court.

A.
The Statutory Mitigating Factor Of "Extreme
Or Emotional Disturbance" Is Not Un-
Constitutionally Vague.
The Illinois statute on murder and the death

penalty provides, in part, as follows:

(c) . . . Mitigating factors may in-
clude but need not be limited to the
following:

k*kK*

2. the murder was committed while the

defendant was under the influence of

extreme mental or emotional disturbance,

although not such as to constitute a

defense to prosecution . ‘
Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 38, § 9-1(c)(2) (1977). Petitioner
challenges this listed mitigating factor as unconstitutionally
vague and claims that the phrase "extreme mental or emo-
tional disturbance" does not sufficiently guide the sentencing
authority. Respondent maintains that this factor does not
violate any constitutional precepts.

The factor of extreme mental or emotional disturbance
is one of five mitigating factors enumerated in the statute.
Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 38, § 9-l(c) (1) - (5) (1977). However,
mitigating evidence is specifically not limited to these
factors. Id.

The principles enunciated in this Court's decision

in Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976), make clear that this

section of the Illinois statute here challenged by petitioner
is constitutional. The Georgia statute required the sentencing
authority, either judge or jury, after finding a statutory
aggravating factor existed, to "hear additional evidence in
extenuation, mitigation, and aggravation of punishment... ."
at the presentence hearing. Ga. Code Ann. § 27-2503

(Supp. 1975). Another section of the law required the
sentence to consider "any mitigating circumstances or aggra-
vating circumstances otherwise authorized by law... ."

Ga. Code Ann. § 27-2534.1(b) (Supp. 1975). The scope of the
mitigating circumstances was not delineated in the statute.

Yet this Court rejected the petitioner's objection to the

o3$. 3 : ee
0 eee

~~"""""broad scope of evidence and argument permitted at the

presentence hearing: 3
We think that the Georgia court wisely
has chosen not to impose unnecessary
restrictions on the evidence that can be
offered at such a hearing and to approve
open and far-ranging argument. [Citation
omitted.] So long as the evidence intro-
duced and tne arguments made at the
presentence hearing do not prejudice a
defendant, it is preferable not to impose
restrictions. We think it is desirable
for the jury to have as much information
before it as possible when it makes the
sentencing decision. [Citations omitted. ]

Grege, 428 U.S. at 203-4.

Respondent submits that the enumerated factor challenged
here is clear on its face and can be easily applied to the
evidence in a particular case. The factor of "extreme
mental or emotional distuhance" is adequately limited by the
language additionally describing it -- "although not such
as to constitute a defense to prosecution." Further definition
of this factor would impose unnecessary restrictions on

‘the evidence.

If a statutory scheme’ that does not delineate
mitigating factors is not found to be unconstitutional,
then one which specifies certain factors, without limiting
other mitigating evidence, is surely also not unconstitutional.

Petitioner's reliance on Godfrey v. Georgia, U.S. Z

100 S.Ct. 1759, 64 L.Ed.2d 398 (1980), is misplaced. The

death sentence was reversed there because the court below
did not apply a constitutional construction of an aggravating
factor to the particular facts of the case. Nothing in Godfrey
mandates that mitigating factors be as strictly defined.

Nor does the Illinois mitigating factor of "extreme
mental or emotional disturbance" conflict with the decision

in Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978). Ohio's death

penalty statute was struck down because it unduly limited
the consideration of mitigating factors. The listing of
“extreme mental or emotional disturbance" as a mitigating
factor does not preclude the sentencing authority from
considering any other relevant mitigating evidence. When
read as a whole, § 9-l(c) of the Illinois statute permits
“the type of individualized consideration of mitigating

: oe EI ET ST TT
. faccors . . . [held] to be required by the Eighth and

SP

Fourteenth Amendments.in captial cases." Id. at 606. There-

fore, review by this Court is unwarranted.

B.
The Illinois Death Penalty Statute Is
Valid As A Matter Of Federal Consti-
tutional Law And Conforms With Prior
Decision Of The Supreme Court.
Section 9-1 of the Illinois Criminal Code, Ill.
Rev. Stat., ch. 38, § 9-1 (1977), establishes a separate
sentencing procedure which must be employed before a death
sentence is imposed. This additional hearing is conducted
only "where requested by the State." I11. Rev. Stat., ch. 38,
§ 9-1(d)(1977). Petitione attacks § 9-1(d), claiming that a
prosecutor has "unlimited" and "absolute" discretion to
request a hearing and that such discretion violates the
eighth amendment. Respondent submits that the decision |
below, rejecting this argument, is correct. That decision
'. relied on the prior Illinois Supreme Court decision of People
ex rel. Carey v. Cousins, 77 Il1l.2d 531, 540-3, 397 N.E.2d 809,

814-5, (1979).
The substance of petitioner's constitutional claim

was rejected by this Court in Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153

(1976). Gregg involved an attack on the Georgia death penalty
Statute on the grounds that the Georgia procedures left to

the "unfettered authority" of the prosecutor the decision as

to which accused murders should be considered for capital
punishment. This Court, in upholding the power of a local
prosecutor to show mercy on a convicted murderer by not
exposing him to a death penalty hearing, characterized this
attack on prosecutorial discretion as being the product of a

misinterpretation of Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972).

Gregg, 428 U.S. at 199. See also Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S.
262, 274 (1976); Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 254 (1976).

As the Court noted, there is nothing unconstitutional about
a capital punishment statute which grants a prosecutor dis-
cretion to show mercy to an individual convicted of murder.
Gregg, 428 U.S. at 199.

oL$-

"zt is true that the opinion rendered in Furmar = =—7= —

refers to a need for standards so that the sentencing authority
may focus on the particularized circumstances of the crime and
of the defendant. See Gregg, 428 U.S. at 189. That need is
satisfied by the Illinois statute which dictates that the
judge or jury which sets the sentence must first consider
a list of specific factors in aggravation and then a broad,
open-ended list of factors in mitigation before finally
determining punishment for the offender. I11. Rev. Stat.,
ch. 38, §§ 9-1(b), (c) (1977). These factors provide specific,
uniform standards to govern the imposition of captial punish-
ment. But it is indisputable that a State's Attorney in
Illinois, by charging the crime of murder and requesting the
death penalty upon conviction, does not become a part of
“the sentencing authority". That role is filled, under the
Statute, by either a judge or the jury.
This Court has, however, directly addressed the
role that a prosecutor plays as an “actor” within the
criminal justice system in seeking the imposition of capital
punishment, by stating that:
[t]he existence of these discretionary
Stages is not determinative of the issues
before us. At each of these stages an
actor in the criminal justice system makes
a decision which may remove a defendant
from consideration as a candidate for the
death penalty. Furman, in contrast, dealt
with the decision to impose the death
sentence on a specific individual who had
been convicted of a capital offense.
Nothing in any of our cases suggests that
the decision to afford an individual
defendant mercy violates the Constitution.
Furman held only, that in order to minimize
the risk that the death penalty would be
imposed on a ae ay: se pet selected group
of offenders, the decision to impose it had
to be ded by standards so that the
setencing authority would focus on the
particularized circumstances of the crime
and the defendant.

Gregg, 428 U.S. at 199.

Petitioner expresses a concern that the discretion
which the statute grants to the State to request a special
hearing will lead to arbitrary and capricious applications
of the death penalty. He claims that "[{i]let is inevitable

that the personal beliefs or office policies of the 102

-16-

between some of those on whom the death penalty is imposed
and others who are passed over." Petition at 39. This attack
_ on the integrity of the various State's Attorneys in Illinois
is a misstatement of the law. The correct rule of law in
Illinois is that it must be assumed that State's Attorneys
will perform their duties in good faith and in accordance
with the law. People ex rel. Hanrahan v. 1965 Oldsmobile,

52 I11.2d 37, 284 N.E.2d 645 (1972), rev'd on other grounds,
409 U.S. 38 (1973).

Similarly, as a matter of federal constitutional
law, the concurring opinion of Mr. Justices White, Burger
and Rehnquist in Gregg, 328 U.S. at 224-25, specifically
rejected as "untenable" the argument that prosecutors may

utilize the death penalty to act out personal prejudice:

Absent facts to the contrary it cannot
be assumed that prosecutors will be
motivated in their charging decision
by factors other than the Strength of
their case and the likelihood that a jury
would impose the death penalty if it convicts.
Unless prosecutors are incompetent in
their judgments the standards by which they
decide wheter to charge a capital felony
will be the same as those by which the jury
will decide the questions of guilt and
sentence. Thus defendants will escape
the death penalty through prosecutorial
charging decisions only because the offense
is not sufficiently serious; or because the
proof is insufficiently peng This
does not cause the system to be standardless
any more than the jury's decision to impose
life imprisonment on a defedant whose crime
is deemed insufficiently serious or its
decision to acquit someone who is robably
owes 4 but whose guilt is not established
eyond a reasonable doubt. Thus the prose-
cutor'’s charging decision are unlikely to
have removed from the sample of cases
considered by the Georgia Supreme Court
any which are truly ‘similar.’ If the
cases really were 'similar' in relevant
respects it is unlikely that prosecutors
would fail to prosecute them as capital
cases; and I am unwilling to assume the
contrary.

Likewise, an Illinois Prosecutor, in requesting a death penalty
hearing, will be motivated by the strength of his case. In
Illinois there is only one offense of murder and "no distinction

is made between capital and non-capital murder." People
v. Brownell, 79 I11.2d 508, 528, 404 N.E.2d 181, 189 (1980).

-17-—

re eee steele

wo Tilinois prosecutors will be the only basis of distinction

a S| ee me Ne FR a

ER OT oer or POST
a.
.
‘ .

The fact that a prosecutor uses discretion at both stages
of the bifurcated process, in deciding what offense to charge
and whether to request a special hearing, does not render the
process unconstitutional. The Illinois prosecutor's decision
to request a death penalty hearing is similar to a Georgia's
prosecutor's decisionto charge a capital offense.
Furthermore, it is inaccurate to say that a pro-
secutor has no standards to rely upon in deciding when to
request the death penalty procedure. In interpreting the
statute, the Illinois Supreme Court has stated that "Tujnless
the State's Attorney believes that there will be testimony
which will persuade the jury that the requisite elements for
a death sentence exist, he is unlikely to request a hearing."

People ex rel. Carey v. Cousins, 77 I11.2d 531, 543, 397

N.E.2d 809, 815 (1979). The statute lists seven separate
factors in aggravation, at least one of which must be proven

beyond a reasonable doubt before the penalty could be imposed.

Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 38, § 9-1(b) (1977). Thus the prosecutor,

‘as is true of any litigant, is aware of what facts must be
present and which burden of proof must be satisfied before

he could successfully request capital punishment. The statute
itself serves as the guide in determining which cases are
appropriate for death penalty consideration.

Petitioner cites cases to this Court which, he
claims, exhibit "discrepancies among local prosecutorial
practice." Petition at 40. This is a highly speculative
conclusion, not based on facts in the record. Nothing
petitione has presented indicates that the prosecutors'
decisions inthe cases he referred to were based on mere
whim or caprice. Prosecutors, in deciding whether to request
a death penalty hearing, are not precluded from considering
the weight of mitigating factors they anticipate a defendant
will present.

Respondent submits that the Illinois Supreme Court
properly decided that the prosecutor's discretion to reqeust a
sentencing hearing is sufficiently guided. Therefore, further
review by this Court is unnecessary. |

Biba 4”

s ode pase emairia Riel FO eee ee ee CN Tee See
PE ee ee ea, oe ' o:
é

a CONCLUSION

For all these reasons and because this case is

not ripe for review, the petition for a writ of certiorari
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

| TYRONE C. FAHNER
| Attorney General
| State of Illinois

MELBOURNE A. NOEL, JR.,

CAROLYN B. NOTKOFF, 7
Assistant Attorneys General
188 W. Randolph Street (Suite 2200)
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(312) 793-2570

Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1745%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
