# Petition — Grace v. Butterworth

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1681%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 452 U.S. 917

## Text

sate tiaeet, 0

' 80-1825 Oe Se ED
f Inne 3!
NO. | oe Bo)
EXANDER L. STEVAS,
In The CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1980

FRANK GRACE, ET AL,
Petitioners

V.

FRED BUTTERWORTH, ETC., ET AL,
Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Norman F. Lazarus
7 Water Street
Boston, MA 02109
(617) 227-7830

Of Counsel:

Daniel F. Featherston, Jr.
7 Water Street

Boston, MA 02109

(617) 227-7830

March 31, 1981

°’?

NO.

In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1980

FRANK GRACE, ET AL,
Petitioners

oe

FRED BUTTERWORTH, ETC., ET AL,
Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Norman F. Lazarus
7 Water Street
Boston, MA 02109
(617) 227-7830

Of Counsel:

Daniel F. Featherston, Jr.
7 Water Street
Boston, MA 02109

(617) 227-7830

March 31, 1981

oa

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Factual Basis Common To Questions

After these habeas corpus peti-

tioners' Massachusetts murder convictions
were affirmed, the Massachusetts Supreme
Judicial Court granted a new trial in
another case iu which the same trial
judge in an almost identical charge to
the jury defined proof beyond a reason-
able doubt solely in terms of examples of
"important" decisions in their "personal
lives" and informed the jury of the
sentencing and parole consequences of
verdicts of first and second degree murder,
but petitioners’ convictions were then
reaffirmed by the state court by con-
structing supposed distinctions, and on
appeal of the dismissal of their habeas
corpus petition the First Circuit held
the state court had not been "less than
even-handed" because it could be making
the ruling in the other case prospective
only and, alternatively, the charge was
not constitutionally defective anyway.
About a month later, the state court
again held the same trial judge's same
charge to be erroneous in yet a third
case, however, this time it specified

7

-ii-
the same charge was "constitutionally
inadequate” and that "retroactive applica-
tion” of that holding was mandated. A
petition for rehearing was allowed by the
First Circuit, and upon rehearing, that
court recognized that its basis for deny-
ing habeas corpus had now been eliminated
by the state court, but rather than deter-
mine if it were "arbitrary and capricious"
for the state court to deny only these
petitioners a new trial after a convic-
tion under the same unconstitutional
charge, the lower court, in an unprece-
dented procedure, resubmitted the case
to the state court (specifically
"retain[ing] jurisdiction", however) for
it to attempt "in the first instance” to
reconcile its refusal of relief to
petitioners with its other decisions.
The state court, characterizing that
unique referral a "rehearing", then
reaffirmed the convictions by constructing
a new distinction, and then in a three
paragraph Per Curiam opinion the First
Circuit held the state court's "explana-
tion" removed any Fourteenth Amendment
error.

7%

-iii-

1. Was petitioners' jury instruc-
tion, defining "beyond a reasonable doubt"
in terms of specific examples of decisions
in the jurors' “private lives" and informing
the jury of the sentencing and parole
consequences of the available verdicts,
"constitutionally inadequate", as the
highest state court and other Federal
courts substantively so held, and the
conflicting opinion of the court below
erroneous?

2. Was the Massachusetts Supreme
Judicial Court itself “less than even-
handed" by constructing specious distinc-
tions to try and reconcile its other
precedents with its refusal to grant
petitioners a new trial and due process

therefore deniea??

lparties to the proceeding below: the
petitioner-appellants were Frank Grace and his
brother, Ross Grace, and the respondent-
appellees were Fred Butterworth and Michael Fair,
who were the respective Superintendents of the
Massachusetts correctional institutions in
which they were serving life terms when their
petition for habeas corpus was filed, both of
whom were represented in the court below by
the Attorney General for the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts.

-%

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW..... coccccccccccccce 1
JURISDICTION *eeeenee eeense#eenensenseeeeeee#eee 1A
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED............ 1A
STATEMENT OF THE CASE............. 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT..... 10

CONCLUSION... 2... ceecsescccccssecees 32

TABLE OF CASES

Bumpus v. Gunther, 452 F.Supp.
1060, 1061 (Mass. 1978)...... 15, 16,

Commonwealth v. Cook, Mass.

Adv. Sh. (1980) 885, 891-892.. 25

Commonwealth v. Garcia, Mass.

399 N.E. 2d 460 (1980)........ 5, 6,
7, 8,
10, 15,
24, 25,
26. oh
28, 30,
32

-V=

Commonwealth v. Frank Grace, 370
Mass. 746, 747-748, 352 N.E.
24 175, 176-177 (1976)... .ccce

Commonwealth v. Ferreira, 373
Mass. 116, 364 N.E. 2d
Dn ET TO 6 & oo oS 6 6 65M be 0 0 ks

Commonwealth v. Mutina, 366 Mass.
Daal See) Pennies be eis oe ee 6 08

Earl v. Commonwealth, 356 Mass.

174, 184 (1960) ...cccccccccees

Grace v. Butterworth, 635 F.2d
i eee, eee. Cir. 3980) ... 0+

Holland v. United States, 348
U.S. LZae aA es ed ek ete a ae

In Re Winship, 397 U.S. 358
(1970 e*e*eeesee#*sts5eesd@e#etc7@*e*es#ee#esecf$ge@esee#e#srs#se#e

Ivan v. New York, 407 U.S. 203
ck ok yt

Sandstrom v. Montana, U.S.
99 Sup. Ct. Rptr. 2450
Cre Site peer bs bade enh eee 66.8

Scurry v. United States, 347 F.2d
468 (D.C. Cir. 1965) cert.
denied, 389 U.S. 883 (1967)...

7
2; 3,
4, Se
6, 10,
14, 15,
19, 20
21, 23,
24, 26,
28, 30,
31, 32
21

25

3, 14
29

Ss, 13,
15, 16
5, 15
25

18, 19

Taylor v. Kentucky, 436 U.S.
478 SE nie acd CR aS: 6. ocho nok ale 8

United States v. Jacobs, 413
Pew Snes 40.Gs Gars.. SER ican

United States v. Moore, 435 F.2d
Dae tikes Che BeTO) ob aeccncece

Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S.
72 hog, SS Oe ere eee

22

23, 24

7%

OPINIONS BELOW

All the opinions of the United States
Court of Appeals for the First Circuit--
the original opinion, the opinion "On
Petition For Rehearing", and the "Opinion
After Submission of Case to State Court”
(sic)--appear at 635 F.2d 1 (1980), and
are also set out in the "separately
presented" Appendix hereto (hereinafter

cited as "App. "), on pages 1-21. 2

-the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
opinions also relevant hereto (opinions on
petitioners and two others) are cited in
those opinions of the court below, but they
are also set out in toto or, where noted,
in relevant part in the "sevarately presented"
Appendix hereto, on pages 37-57; 63-86
and the ones relevant to petitioners are
officially reported at 376 Mass. _, 381 N.E.
2d 139 (1978), and Mass. » 412, N.E. 2d
354 (1980).

7%

-1A-
JURISDICTION

The judgment on the Petition For
Rehearing here sought to be reviewed was
entered on December 31, 1980, and one
issue, which is the subject of the
first question presented, supra, is from
the original opinion of the lower court
of February 5, 1980, the appeal time on
which being tolled by the allowance of
the petition for rehearing. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. §§1254(1) and 2101(c), since
petitioners seek review of a decisicn of
a court of appeals on a civil matter
praying the issuance of a writ of
certiorari.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 1., Fourteenth Amendment,
Constitution of the United States of
America (in relevant part): "...[(NJor
shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person
within its jurisdiction the equal protec-
tion of the laws."

3

o2=

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The basis for federal habeas corpus
jurisdiction in the court of first
instance was 28 U.S.C. §2254.

Since "the facts material to the
consideration of the questions presented"
herein pertain only to events of legal
significance occurring after petitioners’
murder convictions were initially affirmed
"on the merits" by the Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court and the dismissal
of their first petition for habeas corpus
affirmed by the court below here , matters
relating to events of the murder and the
trial testimony need not be alluded to
herein.? Thereafter, on July 22, 1977,
the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
handed down its opinion in Commonwealth
v. Ferreira, 373 Mass. 116, 364 N.E. 2d
1264 (1977) (set out in relevant parts
at App. 63-77), in which it reversed a
murder conviction from years previous and

3411 those previous official opinions are
cited in the opinion here appealed from, 635
F.2d at 3, App. 1-36 should the Court wish to
apprise itself or those facts.

7%

a3e

ordered a new trial, holding that the same
judge who had presided at petitioners'
trial had erroneously defined proof beyond
a reasonable doubt and nad informed the
jury of the sentencing and parole conse-
quences of first and second degree murder
verdicts. A review of the jury instruc-
tions at petitioners’ trial disclosed that
on those same two issues the same trial
judge had, almost word for word, given the very
same instructions now held to be rever-
sible error in the Ferreira case,“ so a
motion for a new trial was filed, alleging
that a new trial for petitioners was now
mandated by Ferreira. The motion was

“there is no question or argument about the
fact that the two charges were almost identical.
The t ‘spondents have admitted that the two
instructions are "substantially the same", Grace
v. Butterworth, 635 F.2d 1, 8, n. 2 (lst Cir.
1980), never have argued any lack of identity, and
the court below ruled that the two instructions
are "substantially identical." Grace v. Butter-
worth, supra, at 4. In order that the Court may
assure itself that that is so, however, the
relevant portions of the two charges are set out,
word for word, phrase by phrase, in the separate
Appendix hereto on pages 87-94.

ry

-4-
denied by the trial judge and the denial
affirmed by the Massachusetts Supreme
Judicial Court because of supposed
differences in the two cases (App. 37-41)?
A petition for habeas corpus relief was
then filed in the United States District
Court for the District of Massachusetts,
the petition dismissed, and on February 5,
1980, the dismissal affirmed on appeal
without reaching “the merits of the [state]
court's attempts to distinguish the two
cases" because the state court had in pert
relied on the "procedural default" that
no exception was taken at trial, years
before Ferreira, to the reasonable doubt
portion of the charge, there was therefore
"a waiver", and that was “sufficient to
dispose of the issue”, because, even
though Ferreira had not excepted either,
Massachrizetts had complete discretion
over the retroactive application of its
newly established Ferreira rule, and,
alternatively, that the charge was not
constitutionally inadequate. (App. 20-36).

34 Petition For Rehearing was filed (App. 58-62)
in which petitioners pointed out to the court that
its proffered distinctions between this case and

Ferreira were specious and arbitrary and the

court itself was therefore creating needless
constitutional error, but the Petition was
summarily denied without opinion.

7%

-5-

A few weeks before that opinion of the court
below, however, the Massachusetts Supreme
Judicial Court had handed down an opinion

in the case of Commonwealth v. Garcia,
__Mass.__, 399 N.E. 2d 460 (1980),

(set out in relevant parts at App 78-86)

in which, again, the same trial judge's charge
defining reasonable doubt in terms of specific
examples in jurors' private lives was in
issue, but this time the court specifically
held "that the charge...,like that in
Ferreira, supra, is a constitutionally
inadequate definition of ‘beyond a

reasonable doubt'...[{and] that In re

Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970), made retro-
active by Ivan v. New York, 407 U.S. 203

(1972), mandates retroactive application

of Ferreira." (emphasis supplied), even
though Garcia had also not raised the errors
at trial. Petitioners filed a petition for
rehearing with the court below forthwith,
pointing out that Garcia wholly eliminated
the state procedure decisional under-
pinning of its opinion in holding Ferreira

retroactive, and also was in conflict with
the court's alternative holding, in that
the "definition of" "beyond a reasonable
doubt" was now specifically held to be
"constitutionally inadequate." The
petition for rehearing was promptly

Fy

-6-

granted, but "limited" "to the [single]

question whether, in light of the decision
in Commonwealth v. Garcia, the Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court's failure to apply

its decision in Commonwealth v. Ferreira

retroactively and grant petitioners a

new trial was arbitrary and capricious." 6
Actually, after its

holdings on unconstitutionality and the

retroactivity of Ferreira, the state

court ruled there was "overwhelming

evidence of [Garcia's] guilt", therefore

"harmless error", so his conviction was

affirmed (App. 78-86), but that question is

®rhe questions of the two courts’ conflicting
holdings on the fundamental unconstitutionality
of the definition of “beyond a reasonable doubt"
was not open upon rehearing, was not briefed or
argued by the parties, and neither of the sub-
sequent opinions of the Court of Appeals (App. 1-19)
mentioned the issue. The court's initial
alternative holdings in its first February 5, 1980,
opinion that the definition passes constitutional
muster is, therefore, unchanged, is in direct
conflict with the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial
Court, and is a duly presented question herein:
that even if neither Ferreira nor Garcia existed,
and there was no problem of reconciling them with
Grace, is this jury instruction violative of due
process in and of itself.

ry

P
not involved here in any way. The Court
is assured that “harmless error" does not
lurk in the record to perhaps avoid
reaching the stark constitutional ques-
tions presented or even to diffuse their
fine focus. | After rebriefing and re-
argument, the Court of Appeals, while
recognizing that "[t]he foundation for
{its initial opinion] was severely eroded
if not totally undermined by” the sub-
sequent Garcia opinion (App. 5-19)
did not then even reach the due process
issue, but, in an unprecedented procedure,
"resubmitted" the case to the state court,

"That argument was never assayed by the re-
spondents in any brief or argument in any court,
and when the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
first affirmed petitioners’ convictions on direct
appeal in 1976, it prefaced its summary of the
evidence by saying, "The evidence introduced by the
Commonwealth and the defendants was highly contra-
dictory." Two sentences further, after noting that
the identity of the victim and the place and time
of his dying were uncontradicted, the court con-
ceded: ".../TJhe remainder of the evidence was
sharply disputed, the Commonwealth's witnesses con-
tending that the defendant(s were] present and
shot the victim, and the defendant[s'] witnesses
corroborating the defendant[s']...own testimony
that [they were] elsewhere at the time of the
shooting." See Commonealth v. Frank Grace, 370
Mass. 746, 747-748, 352 NW.E. 2d 175, 176-177 (1976).

7%

- 8-
specifically retaining jursidiction, how-
ever, as a matter of "comity", in order
that the state court "in the first
instance” could attempt to "reconcile"
its refusal of relief to these petitioners
with its other decisions (App. 5-19).°
In the interim, between its Garcia opinion
and these petitioners' asking for re-
consideration per the Court of Appeals'
order, the Supreme Judicial Court happened
to hand down two other opinions on alleged
errors in defining reasonable doubt, one
of which particularly seemed only to com-
pound the confusion, signal a retreat from
the Garcia constitutional error holding,
and assay a distinction between this case
and Garcia. It was brought to the atten-
tion of the court below with the inquiry
whether it did not sufficiently demonstrate
the reconciliation the state court would
attempt in this case to make unnecessary
the ordered reconsideration. Petitioners
were ordered to persevere before the state
court.

Spetitioners do not contend that the Court of

Appeals did not have the inherent power to re-
submit the case to the state court so that it
could address the due process issue "in the
first instance."

7%

-9-

Characterizing that unique referral
as a "rehearing" the state court then again
denied the petitioners a new trial, now
distinguishing their case because the jury
instruction had "emphasized 'moral
certainty' " and they had waived the
constitutional error by not raising the
"defect in the charge on reasonable doubt"
at trial after it "had been disclosed in
an Opinion...published before the charge
was given", so the due process issue was
"not fairly presented" (App. 42-57).
Petitioners, as they had been directed
("to keep the court advised"), immediately
brought the state court opinion to the
attention of the Court of Appeals, pointing
out that the two words "moral certainty"
were mentioned in passing only twice (only
once, actually, with reference to the
definition of "beyond a reasonable doubt"),
not “emphasized”, and were not a suffi-
cient prophylactic to constitutional error
anyway, and that the "waiver" distinction
was specious because the error in denying
"beyond a reasonable doubt” was not only
not "disclosed" in the earlier cited case,
but the definition had been approved, and
that counsel for Ferreira and Garcia had
also not thereafter raised the error at

?%

-~10=-

trial but they had not been foreclosed
from arguing the issue by any rule of
"waiver", because, as the court had said
in Garcia: "...we do not require that
defense counsel foresee developments in
the case law" (App. 78-86), and the rule
of Ferreira was new law in Massachusetts,
so the state court was anew “arbitrary
and capricious” in requiring that only
petitioners' counsel be somehow prescient.
In a brief three paragraph Per Curiam
opinion the lower court then "adhere[d]"
to its original affirmance of the denial
of the petition for habeas corpus, because
"as explained" by the state court its
"disposition" did "not...even approach"
the constitutional dimension of Four-
teenth Amendment error. No explication
was proffered.

This petition for the issuance of a
writ of certiorari is now timely and duly

filed.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals holding here that
"the jury charge as a whole... [was]
essentially sound" and did not “amount to
a denial of due process" is in direct
conflict with holdings of the Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court, clear dicta in

-ll-
three opinions of the District of Columbia
Circuit, a square holding of a District
Court, and with the spirit, thrust and
purpose of recent opinions of this Court.
Such conflicts, traditionally, are
sufficient reason to evoke this Court's
clarifying interdiction, but this case
has another even more catholic and compel-
ling dimension warranting the Court's
increasingly seiged attention. It is a
clean and attractive vehicle to inject
some understandable reality into the often
semantic quagmire of the "constitutional
jury instruction" rubric. The two errors
in this charge, which petitioners maintain,
at least in tandum, are of constitutional
dimension, can be easily described and
denominated and excised with surgical
precision from the cherished essence of
Due Process--evermore a clear and useful
guide for every trial judge. Admittedly,
the cleanly drawable lines this case
permits have a narrow focus, would mark
no fundamental changes, but they would
assist clarity, be real, and be fair.
Lastly (sadly, always lastly, in the rari-
fied special advocacy these petitions
demand) were the Court to grant certiorari
and eventually hold due process was not

-%

-12-
here done, the resulting new trial would
be proof that justice can be done, and
two young men maybe not imprisoned for
life.

Here the trial judge defined proof
beyond a reasonable doubt almost entirely
in terms of the surety the jurors would
have had in "important economic or social
decisions" in their “own personal lives",
such as "(w]hether to quit school or get
a job, or to go on with your education or
whether to get married or stay single, or
whether to stay married or get divorced,
whether to buy a house or continue to rent,
or whether to pick up and move to another
location and leave your friends for the
offer of a better job." (App. 87-94 ).
These homely examples were essentially the
entire charge on the standard of reasonable
doubt, undiluted by some of the other
traditionally utilized equivalent concepts
(App. 87-94), and it is the use of these
examples as the essential explanation of
the burden of proof that petitioners
maintain was here a denial of due process.
People decide whether "to get a job", "to
buy a house", to "move", "or get divorced”
oftentimes on no rational basis, but, at
best, the decision is made by balancing

ry

-13-
the pros and cons. That does not comport
at all with the very special and far more
rigorous standard of "proof beyond a
reasonable doubt"--that is a preponderance
of the evidence test, and that is error
of constitutional dimension, contrary to
the holding of the court below.

The Court has made it ineluctably
Clear that proof beyond a reasonable doubt
is a constitutional command”, and, ironic-
ally, perhaps the most specific recogni-
tion that the use of these very same
examples, even by the very same judge,
denies due process are two opinions by
the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial
Court. The first was the case that
prompted these petitioners to seek a
new trial, particularly when the jury
charge in issue was almost word for word +
the same as theirs' (App. 63-77), and a
new trial was ordered, even though the
error was not couched specifically in

*rhe Court held in In re Winship, 397 U.S.

358 (1970), on page 364: "Lest there remain any
doubt about the constitutional stature of the
reasonable doubt standard, we explicitly hold
that the Due Process clause protects the accused
against conviction except upon proof beyond a
reasonable doubt...."

Fy

-14-

10 The second case,

constitutional terms.
however, handed down only a month after
the First Circuit had held this very
charge was not "a denial of due process",
specifically held that the use of these

same specific examples in the same charge

11

1074 Commonwealth v. Ferreira, 373 Mass. 116,
364 N.E. 2 1264 (1977), the court said (App. 20-36).
"We think these examples understated and tended to
trivialize the awesome duty of the jury to determine
whether defendant's guilt was proved beyond a reason-
able doubt...."

",...We think the examples used here, far from
emphasizing the seriousness of the decision before
them, detracted both from the sericusness of the
dectston and the Commonwealth's burden of proof."

"Accordingly, we conclude that the judgment mst

be reversed. We think that there was reversible
error both in the portion of the judge's charge
dealing with sentencing and parole consequences
and in his charge on the reasonable doubt
standard....The degree of certainty required to
convict ts unique to the criminal law. We do not
think that people customarily make private decisions
according to this standard nor may it even be possi-
ble to do so...."

lltne court below held that even though "this
use of the type of analogies invoked by the trial
judge to help explain the reasonable doubt standard
may in fact understate the degree of certainty
required for a criminal conviction,...the ordinary
life analogies...[did not have] a significantly...
detrimental impact on appellants' rights...[or] on
the trial to amount to a dental of due process."
Grace v. Butterworth, supra (App. 20-36).

-15-

by the same judge was error of constitu-
tional dimension. ** The only supporting
authority cited was Bumpus v. Gunther,
452 F.Supp. 1060, 1061 (Mass. 1978). In
that case, the trial judge had used only
one example of "the major affairs of your
life", whether or not to have heart sur-
gery, and that was used to define "'moral
certainty’ theretofore used in defining
proof beyond a reasonable doubt", and used
some otl.er expianations the court deemed
erroneous, yet the court had little
difficulty in holding that "the errors

in explaining the prosecutor's burden

12h court in Commonwealth v. Garcia, supra
(App. 78-8), made two decisive holdings which
impact on this case: "...We hold that the

charge in this case, like that in Ferreira ra
ts a constitutionally t e definition 7
"beyond a reasonable doubt.’ The use of specific
examples 'trivializes' the standard of proof in
the direction of the yor egg of evidence '
standard. Cf. Bumpus v. Gunther, 452 F.Supp.
1060, 1061 (D.Mase. 1978). Although we find
constitutional error in this charge, we mst also
consider whether this holding applies to the
present defendant, whose trial took place some
seven years before our decision in Ferreira

We believe that In re Winsh U.S.
68 (1970) made retroactive by Ivan v. New York
407 U.S. 203 (1972), mandates retroactive applica-
tion of Ferreira."

-16-
of proof were of constitutional dimen-
sion....*** The court below did not
mention this Bumpus v. Gunther case in
holding in this case that the use of
the examples did not have "a sufficiently
devastating impact on the trial to
amount to a denial of due process", but
there is no doubt, at least now, that the
First Circuit has considered well this

l3the court explained, citing In re Winship,

supra, and other decisions of this Court, on

pages 1062-1063:

",..Moreover, under the hypotheses stated to the
jury, a decision ‘either to have the operation or
not to have it’ could not be free from reasonable
doubt since death might reasonably follow either
course. Principally the analogy ts inherently
and necessarily confusing: to decide upon a
future course of action, whether to have an opera-
tion, change a job, get a divorce, etc., is
essentially different from accepting or rejecting
the truth of a factual proposition such as a
criminal indictment...."

”

",..Medical diagnosis is a form of opinion which
seldom rests upon proof beyond a reasonable doubt.
It ts almost always based upon a preponderance of
the evidence. A verdict in a criminal case is not
an optnion or diagnosis comparable to a medical
diagnosis....A much higher degree -, Pramaigasie
must exist in the minds of jurors before reaching
@ guilty verdict in a criminal case...."

-17-

patently conflicting holding, only to
reaffirm its holding in this case.
Eventually the District Court in Bumpus
v. Gunther, supra, held that the erroneous
instruction, "while of constitutional
dimension [was] harmless beyond a reason-
able doubt" because the evidence of guilt
was “overwhelming” (not an issue here, as
noted above) and, overall, the error did
not significantly effect the entire trial,
and the dismissal of the habeas corpus
petition was recently affirmed, but on a
slightly different "mode of analysis."
Bumpus v. Gunther, ___F.2d__, No. 80-1114,
(lst. Cir. Dec. 3, 1980). As to the heart
surgery analysis, the court cited its
opinion in this case ("...recently we
refused to classify such a comparison
as constitutional error..."), noted that
"the ordinary-life analogies accepted in
Grace were less momentous than the heart
operation described here", and concluded
that it did not “undermine the govern-
ment's burden, elsewhere reiterated, to
establish guilt beyond a reasonable
doubt" (Slip opinion, at 10).

Both the opinion below and the District
Court opinion holding the use of examples
was constitutional error cited Scurry v.

-18-
United States, 347 F.2d 468 (D.C. Cir.
1965), cert-denied, 389 U.S. 883 (1967).
The instruction there in issue had only
referred generally to "the more important
affairs of your own life", without the
use of specific examples, in defining
in part proof "beyond a reasonable
doubt." No objection had been taken at
trial to the instruction, so the court
affirmed the conviction, but said that
the analogy could not be equated with
beyond a reasonable doubt and to do so
was a denial of the defendant's rights,
rights this Court was of course later

14

Lanne court explained, on page 470:

",..4 prudent person called upon to act in
an important business or family matter would
certainly gravely weigh the often neatly balanced
considerations and risks tending in both direc-
tions. But, in making and acting on a judgment
after so doing, such a person would not necessarily
be convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that he had
made the right judgment. Hwnan experience,
unfortunately, ts to the contrary.

"...Thus there is a substantial difference
between a juror's verdict of guilt beyond a
reasonable doubt and a person making a judgment
in a matter of personal importance to him. To
equate the two in the juror's mind is to deny
the defendant the benefit of reasonable doubt."

|

-19-

to hold were of constitutional dimension.
The Scurry court again criticized similar
general references to the jurors' important
personal decisions in two later cases
15 and which
were not cited by any of the courts below.

It can therefore be seen that the
lower court's recent holding that the

otherwise inapposite here,

use of the examples in defining proof
beyond a reasonable doubt did not deny the
petitioners’ rights to due process is in
direct conflict with holdings of the
Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court, and
the Massachusetts District Court, and dicta
of the Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia. This Court should promptly
resolve this still very new conflict in.
such an important area of criminal law? ®
before it spawns increasing mischief.
The petitioners also maintain, as

noted above, that the jury charge

lSunited States v. Moore, 435 F.2d 113 (D.C.
Cir..1970), and Unit. United States v. Jacobs, 413 F.2d
1105 (D.C. Cir. 1969).

l6rhe Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court,
for instance, noted in its Ferreira opinion, on
page 128, "that no part of the usual instructions
to juries in criminal cases is of more significance
than the discussion of reasonable doubt.”

7%

-20-
contains a second error of constitutional
dimension: the trial judge informed the
jury of the parole and sentencing
consequences of verdicts of first and
second degree murder. He had done the
same thing in Ferreira, and in ordering the
new trial in that case the Supreme Judicial
Court discussed at length the long-
standing Massachusetts rule that a jury
should not be informed of those consequences
and concluded that Ferreira had been
prejudiced as a result of the judge's
ignoring that rule. It is hard to
determine from the court's opinion whether
that error alone was considered so fun-
damental that a new trial was mandated,
because after expostulating the error
and holding thet the defendant was
prejudiced thereby, the court said, on
page 128:

"We conclude, nonethe-
less that the defendant
is to have a new trial....
Any doubt we may have on
this score is resolved by
the judge's charge on
reasonable doubt."

(The court then went on to detail that
second error.)

-

-21-

The authorities relied on by the
state court were all opinions of that
court, so it at first might seem that
this is not error of constitutional
dimension, however the court's conceptual
basis smacks of due process considera-
tions, and one section of the opinion in
particular, in conjunction with a recent
decision of this Court, well makes the ©
point that this Court should now see
the error as of constitutional import.
The state court said, on page 125, of
Ferreira quoting from Commonwealth v.

Mutina, 366 Mass. 810, 817 (1975):

"The principal argu-
ment for rejecting the
practice of instructing
juries as to the legal
consequences of their
verdicts in criminal
cases seems to lie in
the conviction that, in
reaching their verdicts,
jurors should be shielded
from extraneous influences
and should arrive at their
verdicts only on a dis-
passionate consideration
of the relevant and credible
evidence presented to them
in the adversary process....
To inform jurors of the
consequences of their ver-
dicts is apprently seen...
as inviting result-oriented
verdicts and possible devia-

**%@

7%

o22@

from the basic issues of a
defendant's guilt or innocence.
This process, if allowed with-
out restriction, could lead

to the jury's usurpation of

the judge's sentencing preroga-
tives and duties and the Leg-
islature's policy determining
functions." (Emphasis supplied.)

Although the state court did not then
have before it this Court's opinion in
Taylor v. Kentucky, 436 U.S. 478 (1978),
the conceptual underpinnings of the
improprieties of informing the jury of
the sentencing and parole consequences in
verdicts of first and second degree and
even the language used is the same as
this Court's opinion. The court noted
that the presumption of innocence,as a
legal scholar would know, was but a way
of describing the prosecutor's duty to
prove guilt beyond a reasonable donbt,
but that the jury may draw additional
guidance from a separate instruction on
the presumption. The Court ruled, on
page 485 that a criminal defendant "is
entitled to have his guilt or innocence
determined solely on the evidence intro-
duced at trial, and not on the grounds of
official suspicion, indictment, continued

~2 3e

custody or other circumstances not
adduced at trial"--what it also termed,
on page 488 "extraneous considerations"--
exactly the same phrase as the state
court utilized in reversing in Ferreira.
When the jurors were told about the
sentencing and parole consequences of
their verdict, this obviously injected
"extraneous considerations" into the
jury's decision; petitioners were not
"Judged solely on the basis of proof |
adduced at trial", and that was constitu-
tional error.

The court below held (App. 20-36)
alternatively, that the mention of parole
and sentencing consequences was not of
sufficient detrimental impact to constitute
a denial of due process, and, since the
defendants had not argued this error in
their initial state appeal, the court
agreed with the state court's initial
holding that the error had been waived,
and that procedural default precluded
habeas corpus review even under the
rule of Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72
(1977). Under this court's Sykes rule
such a procedural default is not waived
if petitioners can demonstrate both

7%

-24-

"prejudice" resulting from the trial

‘court's rule and "cause" for their

failure to argue the issue in their
initial appeal. The lower court here
apparently accepted the fact that there
was sufficient "prejudice" but, noting
that this court had not defined either of
the crucial terms in Sykes, held that
petitioners had not demonstrated such a
sufficient cause.

Petitioners maintain in the court
below that until the Supreme Judicial
Court's opinion in Ferreira, handed down
after their initial appeal, informing
a jury of the sentencing and parole
consequences, had not as yet been held
to be reversible error in Massachusetts,
the state court's opinion notwithstanding.
They maintain that such is the case, and
that the Sykes rule should not be held
to have waived this error.

The second alleged error in the
charge is, petitioners maintain, of
constitutional dimension. The charge
in Garcia did not contain this error, so
the state court has yet to specify that
it is error of constitutional dimension
but a reference to the court's opinion
(App. 63-77) will demonstrate that the

7%

-25-

court speaks in essentially constitutional
tones. That being so, it is the long-
established law in Massachusetts that
there is no discretion to deny a new

trial when "the original trial was
infected with prejudicial constitutional
error." Earl v. Commonwealth, 356 Mass.
174, 184 (1960). The most recent restate-
ment of that rule of law, citing Earl ,

is Commonwealth v. Cook, Mass. Adv. Sh.
(1980) 885, 891-892. Such a rule is not
special to Massachusetts; it reflects

"the long...settled" holdings of this
court. See, Sandstrom v. Montana, _ U.S.
__-« 99 Sup.Ct. Rptr. 2450 (1979), and the
cases cited on page 2460.

Even if the erroneous disclosure
of the sentencing and parole consequences

of the prospective verdict is not sufficient

in and of itself to merit the new trial
here sought, when considered in conjunc-
tion with the constitutionally erroneous
instruction on proof beyond a reasonable
doubt, the two errors should at least
compel thé new trial.

After the state court handed down its
opinion in Commonwealth v. Garcia, Mass.
Adv. Sh. (1980) 21, the First Circuit
recognized, upon rehearing, that the state

ere ws

7%

-26-
court's opinion in that case, was,
ostensibly, directly contradictory to
its opinion affirming the denial of the
motion for new trial for petitioners here.
It uniquely ordered that petitioners bring
that issue before the highest state court,
and upon doing so, the Supreme Judicial
Court reaffirmed its affirmance of
the denial of petitioners' motion for a
new trial. This time, however, it
recognized that its Garcia opinion had
removed two of the three attempts to
distinguish this case from Ferreira, and
this time endeavored to construct a new

distinction. The point that the petitioners

had raised upon the Garcia case having
been handed down was that the state court
was “arbitrary and capricious” in a
"knowing refusal to apply precedent with
an even hand", as the First Circuit had
put it in its second opinion herein (App.
5-19).

The essence of the state court's last
opinion herein evolves like this:

1. the standard of review on a
collateral attack upon the denial of a
motion for new trial based upon an error
not previously raised is "to prevent a
miscarriage of justice;" (App. 42-57).

7

a27e

2. that standard is "discretionary",
involving an assessment of various
"factors"; (App. 42-57 ).

3. that the "main defect in the
charge on reasonable doubt [the use of
specific examples] had been disclosed in an
opinion of [the state court] published
before the charge was given", i.e. in

Commonwealth v. Bumpus (App. 42-57 ); and

4. that since there was "no objection
or exception" taken to the error at trial
and “experienced counsel failed to raise
the point in his first motion for a new
trial or in his first appeal", that
"suggest[s] that it was not thought to be
critical", therefore the court would
"adhere to [its] prior decision."

The fundamental holding, obviously,
is that since Bumpus made it clear that
the use of specific examples was reversible
error, the petitioners had waived the issue
by failing to except or argue it in their
first appeal. This was a newly devised
effort to distinguish th.s case from

Garcia, and this new theory of "waiver"

is not valid--it must be held to be
"knowing reversible error to apply
precedent with an even hand."

-%

=-28-

Petitioners will admit that if the
state court's opinion in Bumpus had set
out what was to be its opinion in .
Ferreira and Garcia, that the "waiver"
rule would foreclose the petitioners, but
the lack of "even handedness", the
"arbitrary and capricious" rulings of the
state court are obvious when its opinion
in Bumpus is examined. Bumpus was
published in 1972 and petitioners trial
was in 1974, but, counting a footnote,
only seven sentences in the 12-page
Opinion are even arguably relevant to
the instant issue and they are herein
set forth in their entire context, pages
681-682:

"10. The defendant
assigns as error certain as-
pects of the judge's instruc-
tions to the jury on reason-
able doubt. The defendant
argues that it was error for
the judge to illustrate the
meaning of reasonable doubt
by comparing the degree of
certainty required a juror
would want before he decided
to undergo major heart surgery.
We have previously approved
the practice of alluding to
important decisions in the
personal lives of jurors in
an attempt to explain the
concept of reasonable doubt.

|

-29-
See Commonwealth v. Libby,

358 Mass. 617, 621. The
inherent difficulty in using
such examples is that, while
,they may assist in explaining
the seriousness of the deci-
sion before the jury, they

may not be illustrative of

the degree of certainty re-
quired. It may be argued that
problems concerning health and
medical treatment, such as

the illustration used in this
case, are sometimes not sus-
ceptible to a decision based
upon proof beyond a reasonable
doubt. [The court's footnote 1.
there inserted reads thusly:
"Such illustrations undoubtedly
are of assistance to the jury,
but the examples must be
selected and described with
care, for the reasons shown

in the above discussion. ' ]

Even assuming the validity

of that argument in this
instance, the instructions as

a whole were comprehensive,
were based upon traditional
language, and adequately con-
veyed the concept of reasonable
doubt to the jury. See Holland
v. United States, 348 U.S. 121,
140."

It is, quite simply, incomprehensible
how the Supreme Judicial Court could
possibly infer from its opinion in
Bumpus the slightest hint that it held

or implied that the use of specific
examples was reversible error. On the

7%

-30-

contrary, any fair reading of Bumpus
plainly says that the court approved

of the use of specific examples, that
they “undoubtedly are of assistance to
the jury." Surely, it cannot be said
that Bumpus constituted such a clear and
definitive ruling of the state court that
petitioners trial and appellate counsel
should have perceived that the portion
of the subject charge constituted
reversible error such that their failure
to object made out "waiver."

Ferreira made new law on this point
in Massachusetts, subsequently, in Garcia,
held to be error of constitutional
dimension. The Commonwealth has never
controverted that contention. All
arguments accepted it as a "given" as,
impliedly at least, the court below also
did in its first two opinions in this case.

This rule of "waiver" was not
applied to counsel in Ferreira nor in
Garcia--only to counsel for petitioners.
In its Garcia opinion, the state court
pointed out that no objection or exception
was taken to the errors in the charge
(as none was taken here), and that it
would only review that error and reverse
if there were a “substantial likelihood
that a miscarriage of justice has occurred",
the same standard specified in the state

rs

-3l1-

court's i 29st recent opinion in this case
(App. 42-57; 80. The very next sentence
in the court's opinion (App. 78-86) reads
as follows: :

"...Because we do not

require that defense counsel

foresee developments in the

case law, we shall consider this

issue, and review the propriety

of the reasonable doubt charge

according to the standard stated

above ("miscarriage of justice".]"

The court then proceeded to hold that

the "constitutionally significant error",
"the use of specific examples" made "the
charge in this case, like that in Ferreira,
supra...a constitutionally inadequate
definition of 'beyond a reasonable doubt'."
Ferreira is the only case cited--it made
new law. Why was not the waiver rule
invoked against Garcia and the substantive
question of whether a "miscarriage of
justice" occurred there determined, but
never reached in petitioners' case?
The latter opinion arbitrarily never
hazards an explanation. Would not the
possibility of such a fundamental error
as a “miscarriage of justice” be so
transcendent that it would mandate over-

looking any technical procedural rule of

i

-32-
waiver? That seems to be what the state
court did in every other case except the
Graces. It would seem that that action
can surely be termed “arbitrary and
capricious." The holdings in Ferreira
and in Garcia are irreconcilable with the
state court's opinion in this case, and
display a "lack of even-handedness",
sufficient that the writ should issue
and a new trial be ordered, as is mandated
by the Fourteenth Amendment.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, it
is respectfully submitted that this
petition for a writ of certiorari should
be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

Norman F. Lazarus
7 Water Street
Boston, MA 02109
(617) 227-7830

Of Counsel:

Daniel F. Featherston, Jr.
7 Water Street

Boston, MA 02109

(617) 227-7830

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1681%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
