# Opposition — Guzzardo v. Bengston

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1672%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 452 U.S. 941

## Text

ffice-Suprerce Cou
No. 80-1809 Office-‘ }
am, ie OS ES ae
MAY 20 198
ates PALEXANDL RL. OTE

CLE IPK

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1980

JOHN P. GUZZARDO,
Petitioner,

vs.

PAUL J. BERGSTON, Sheriff of Winnebago County, Illinois
and HONORABLE JOHN W. NIELSEN, Judge, 17th Judi-
cial Circuit, Winnebago County, Illinois,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TYRONE C. FAHNER,
Attorney General,
State of Illinois,
MELBOURNE A. NOEL, Jr.,
THOMAS E. HOLum,
WILLIAM M. WiIpPPOLD,
Assistant Attorneys General.
| 188 W. Randolph St., Suite 2200 .
Chicago, Illinois 60601,
(312) 793-2570,
Attorneys for Respondents.

Printed by the Authority of the State of Ilinois—5-81-40—P.O. $2447

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether petitioner was denied his constitutional rights
to confrontation and cross-examination of witnesses in his trial
in the state court.

; 2. Whether the Illinois statute under which petitioner was
convicted is unconstitutionally vague.

7X

3. Whether petitioner was denied effective assistance of
counsel at trial.

li

INDEX

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW..........00000......
NR ER phe cilia inictevebsingrndaivonesveshasdocsccsnsseoncscosaseee

I.
Il.

Il.

A.

NEITHER THE ISOLATED, UNRESPONSIVE
REMARK OF A STATE’S WITNESS NOR
THE SINGLE COMMENT IN THE PROSE-
CUTOR’S OPENING STATEMENT WAS SO
PREJUDICIAL THAT IT COULD NOT BE
CURED BY LIMITED INSTRUCTIONS TO
ITE aati iihavsncopencibdeckadatine scodusvevesesrovsccessvededs

THE ILLINOIS PANDERING STATUTE IS
NOT UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AS
IT PROVIDED PETITIONER WITH CLEAR
NOTICE OF THE CONDUCT IT PROSCRIBES

C;

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF AP-
PEALS CORRECTLY FOUND THAT
PETITIONER’S TRIAL COUNSEL AG-
GRESSIVELY AND COMPETENTLY DE-
PEPE CECE BMI INIOIR anes cccsescconsncccccnesescesecesncsive

SN Ish sic ccatinssosemsstiasecesennesencseepnsoasenctians

ill
CASES CITED

Bruce v. Estelle, 483 F. 2d 1031 (Sth Cir. 1973)...
Donnelly v. DeChristoforo, 416 U.S. 637 (1974)...
Frank v. Magnum, 237 U.S. 309 (1915)...
Kentucky v. Whorton, 441 U.S. 786 (1979)............
Matthews v. United States, 518 F. 2d 1245 (7th
ee UTEP db acictsial carn cracodovones balboa iaoaelensstintetabense>
Palmer v. City of Euclid, 402 U.S. 544 (1971) .......
Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156
TE Vos dicks i tnigb ic laaicasabn didilaveoieeddbiebbesnnsohiasabeieeess
Schneble v. Florida, 405 U.S. 427 (1972) 0.0...
Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974) we
United States v. Akin, 562 F. 2d 459 (7th Cir.
1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 933 (1978) ............
United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544 (1975)...
United States v. National Dairy Products Corp.,
A te NE bait a iidsinscbckesessesouscanchenves
United States v. Powell, 423 U.S. 87 (1975)...........
United States ex rel. Bibbs v. Twomey, 506 F. 2d
1220 (7th Cir. 1974), appeal after remand, 538
F. 2d 151 (1976), cert. denied, 431 U. S. 941
TE Milas tht en chair cn usacinaedibbinhsberesinnnsaoadiins
United States ex rel. Harris v. Illinois, 457 F. 2d
Sy IN Ee PEW ivi dctirscusotavcccchnnkenkbtadibiaadsacedesons
United States ex rel. Kirk v. Petrelli, 331 F. Supp.
792 (N. D. Ill. 1971), aff'd, 492 F. 2d 1245 (7th
Bais PED Nethd hid sh cs andantiacbuncdvisbndinatdtdiasbictcinbencstnc’
United States ex rel. Ortiz v. Sielaff, 542 F. 2d 377
CPU Gal FPP Bia. adetic chavtncdeetepenksveuakcotappicorthdscovcenes

3
3

p

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

JOHN P. GUZZARDO,
Petitioner,

vs.

)

PAUL J. BERGSTON, Sheriff of Winnebago County, Illinois
and HONORABLE JOHN W. NIELSEN, Judge, 17th Judi-
cial Circuit, Winnebago County, Illinois,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The respondents respectfully request that the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment and opinion of the
Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals entered on March 13, 1981,
be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The statement of the case provided in the petition for writ
of certiorari together with the opinion of the Seventh Circuit
Court of Appeals and the order of the district court are
sufficient to apprise this Court of the facts as they pertain to the
issues raised in the petition.

2

Il.
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

A.

Neither the Isolated, Unresponsive Remark of a State’s Wit-
ness Nor the Single Comment in the Prosecutor’s Opening
Statement Was So Prejudicial That It Could Not Be Cured
by Limiting Instructions to the Jury.

The general rule is that federal habeas corpus is not a
proper proceeding in which to attack errors that are made at a
state trial. Frank v. Magnum, 237 U. S. 309 (1915); United
States ex rel. Bibbs v. Twomey, 506 F. 2d 1220, 1222-23 (7th
Cir. 1974), appeal after remand, 538 F. 2d 151 (1976), cert.
denied, 431 U. S. 941 (1977). Unless there is an error of such
magnitude as to deny fundamental fairness, federal habeas
corpus courts must refrain from putting themselves in the role
of reviewing courts. United States ex rel. Harris v. Illinois, 457
F. 2d 191, 198 (7th Cir. 1972).

As with many issues of Fourteenth Amendment due
process, each case must be decided on its unique facts. United
States ex rel. Kirk v. Petrelli, 331 F. Supp. 792, 794-796 (N. D.
Ill. 1971), aff'd, 492 F. 2d 1245 (7th Cir. 1974). The holdings
of the trial court and the Illinois Appellate Court that any error
committed was harmless, while not conclusive proof of harm-
lessness, have probative value towards showing that petitioner
was not deprived of his constitutional rights. Jd. at 795.

Similarly, the district court concluded that, in the context of
the case as a whole, Gulbrantson’s single statement was
unimportant. Opinion at 10. His unresponsive and ambiguous
answer to a legitimate and relevant question posed by the
prosecutor was of insufficient magnitude to vitiate an otherwise
fair trial. Cf. Schneble v. Florida, 405 U. S. 427 (1972).
Whatever prejudice that might have occurred was mitigated by

3

the court’s prompt instruction te the jury to disregard the
statement. (TR. 46) An instruction advising the jury to
disregard any questions to which objections were sustained was
also delivered at the close of testimony. (TR. 135)

The second incident on which the plaintiff relies raises a
question of prosecutorial conduct. During his opening state-
ment, the assistant state’s attorney, asserted that Linda Wooten
would testify that on a prior occasion petitioner had paid her
twenty dollars to perform an act of prostitution with another
man. Petitioner objected. (TR. 22-30) Without ever ruling on
the objection, the trial court instructed the jury that opening
statements are not evidence and that the jury must decide
whether or not a party had proved all the assertions made
during opening arguments. (TR. 30-32) When, during the
State’s case-in-chief, the prosecutor attempted to elicit from
Miss Wooten the information supporting his opening remarks,
defense counsel again objected. (TR. 58) The court sustained
this objection after counsel argued that the witness’ response
would be evidence of a prior bad act and was intended to show
defendant’s propensity to commit the offense charged. (TR.
59-65)

Alleged prejudicial statements by the prosecutor in a state
trial are not reviewable in federal court unless they are so
inflammatory and so prejudicial as clearly to deprive the
accused of a constitutionally fair trial. United States ex rel.
Kirk v. Petrelli, 331 F. Supp. 792,'794-95 (N.D. Ill. 1971),
aff'd, 492 F. 2d 1245 (7th Cir. 1974). Petitioner must establish
that the aggregate effect of the prosecutor’s remarks had “a
significant impact on the jury’s deliberations,” Donnelly v.
DeChristoforo, 416 U. S. 637, 646 (1974), and that they “most
probably infected the whole decision-making process of the
jury,” Bruce v. Estelle, 483 F. 2d 1031, 1040 (Sth Cir. 1973).

Opening statements must be evaluated in light of the
totality of the circumstances in determining whether the de-
fendant received a constitutionally fair trial. See Kentucky v.

* >

4

Whorton, 441 U. S. 786 (1979). The weight of the evidence,
the intent of the prosecutor in making the statement, and the
statement’s probable impact on the jury are all relevant consid-
erations necessary to a determination of the issue.

Clearly, the prosecutor’s comments were not motivated by
any improper intentions. At the time of the opening remarks he
fully intended to introduce evidence of the prior contact
between Wooten and petitioner. The mere fact that the judge
subsequently and unforeseeably excluded evidence of the prior
contact should not impugn the intent of the prosecutor during
his opening statement. The prosecutor could not possibly have
known at the time that the trial judge would rule unfavorably
on the proffered testimony. See United States v. Akin, 562
F. 2d 459, 466 (7th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435 U. S. 933
(1978).

Moreover, the effect that the purported reversible comment
had upon the jury could not have been significant. During the
course of the prosecutor’s opening statement, the court in-
formed the jury that his statement was not evidence. (TR. 30)
This admonishment was incorporated into People’s Instruction
No. 4 and reiterated to the jurors before their deliberations.
(TR. 138)

In sum, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals and the
District Court were correct in finding that any injection of
objectionable evidence at petitioner’s trial was insubstantial
and did not result in a deprivation of any of his constitutional
rights, especially when weighed against all the evidence
presented and the limiting instructions that were given.

5

The Illinois Pandering Statute is Not Unconstitutionally
Vague as It Provided Petitioner With Clear Notice of the
Conduct It Proscribes.

The petitioner complains that the statute under which he
was convicted, Section 11-16(a)(2) of the Penal Code of the
Illinois Revised Statutes, is unconstitutionally vague on its face
and, therefore, deprives him of due process of law. The
relevant portion of the statute provides that:

(a) Any person who performs any of ihe following
acts for money commits pandering;

(1) * * *

(2) Arranges or offers to arrange a situation in which a
female may practice prostitution.

Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 38 § 11-16(a)(2) (1975).

A penal statute is void whenever it is so vague and lacking
in ascertainable standards of guilt that it fails to give fair notice
to a person of ordinary intelligence that his contemplated
conduct is forbidden. Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405
U. S. 156 (1972); Palmer v. City of Euclid, 402 U. S. 544
(1971). However, a statute is not automatically invalid as
vague simply because of difficulty in determining whether some
marginal offenses fall within its language. United States v.
Powell, 423 U. S. 87, 93 (1975); United States v. National
Dairy Products Corp., 372 U.S. 29, 33 (1963). Additionally, it
is well established that vagueness challenges that do not involve
First Amendment freedoms must be examined in the light of
the facts of the case at hand. United States v. Mazurie, 419
U S. 544, 550 (1975).

The petitioner relies substantially on the specificity require-
ments of Smith v. Goguen, 415 U. S. 566 (1974). The Seventh
Circuit Court of Appeals in its decision found this reliance

- |

6

misplaced. The court noted that Smith required a greater
degree of specificity when First Amendment rights are affected,
but specifically held that the Illinois pandering statute does not
infringe on the exercise of one’s freedom of expression. Thus,
all that the statute under scrutiny here need do is provide fair
notice to a person of ordinary intelligence that his contemplated
conduct is forbidden. The court found that the Illinois pan-
dering statute adequately meets these requirements and that
petitioner’s vagueness challenge was without merit.

G

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals Correctly Found That
Petitioner’s Trial Counsel Aggressively and Competently
Defended Petitioner.

In complaining of ineffective assistance of counsel, peti-
tioner has taken a scattergun approach. Petitioner lists four
mistakes of his trial counsel “based upon a reading of the entire
transcript.” Pet. Br. 23.

The Seventh Circuit also read the record and found:

Our reading of the record reveals representation which was
certainly adequate. Petitioner’s trial counsel aggressively
defended his client and provided competent legal repre-
sentation.

Pet. Br., Seventh Cir. Op. 19.

The court found that the representation provided petitioner
at least met the minimum standard of professional representa-
tion required by United States ex rel. Ortiz v. Sielaff, 542 F. 2d
377, 379 (7th Cir. 1976), and found that the points raised by
petitioner as evidence of ineffective represeritation “reflect
speculation and hindsight as to how petitioner’s defense might
have been improved.” Pet. Br., Seventh Cir. Op. 17-18.

Petitioner’s speculation as to how his defense might better
have been presented does not rebut the presumption that his

ie

7

trial counsel was conscious of his duties to his client and that he
sought conscientiously to discharge those duties. Matthews v.
United States, 518 F. 2d 1245 (7th Cir. 1975). Petitioner has
failed to carry his burden of demonstrating ineffective repre-
sentation.

-%

°?

8

Ill.
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the Respondents respectfully
request that the Petition for Writ of Certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

TYRONE C. FAHNER,

Attorney General,

State of Illinois,
MELBOURNE A. NOEL, JR.,
THOMAS E. HOLum,

WILLIAM M. WIPPOLD,
Assistant Attorneys General,
188 W. Randolph St., Suite 2200
Chicago, Illinois 60601,
(312) 793-2570,

Attorneys for Respondents.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1672%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
