# Reply Brief — Collins v. Johnston

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1636%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 452 U.S. 940

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United Srey ok

No. 80-1754 ie ee ED

JUN 2 “aad

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

WEBSTER A. COLLINS, HERBERT R. MorRISON,
HELEN O. MORRISON, and GLEN A. WILKINSON,
Petitioners,

V.

DAVID R. JOHNSTON, THE NORTHWESTERN BANK,
and JAMES R. GILLEY,
Reapondente,

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

PETITIONERS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM

CALVIN H. Cosr, Jr.
(Counsel of Record)
STEPTOE & JOHNSON
1250 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 862-2000

T. WINFIELD BLACKWELL, JR.
JACK F. CANADY
~ BLACKWELL, DBL ACKWELL,
CANADY & ELLER
2100 Wachovia Building
Winston-Salem, N.C. 27102
(919) 722-7161

HENRY A. MITCHELL, Jr.
CARL N. PATTERSON, Jr.
SMITH, ANDERSON, BLOUNT,
DORSETT, MITCHELL &
JERNIGAN
P.O. Box 31
Raleigh, N.C. 27602
(919) 821-1220

Attorneys for Petitioners

————_—_——ee———

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co.. Inc. - 7869-0096 . WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Dana Vv. SEC, 125 F.2d 542 (2d Cir. 1942) .......... 2
In re Duplan Corp., 450 F. Supp. 790 (S.D.N.Y.
aR? SRS SAL SSIES TIMERS 9 OI Pek 8
In re_S. Jersey Land Corp., 361 F.2d 610 (3d Cir.
fF ER RE AERA 2829S RP) AON poe “CVU Oe 2
In re Wonderbowl, Inc., 515 F.2d 18 (9th Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 869 (1975) ...........00.2.0.. 8,4
Young V. Higbee Co., 8324 U.S. 204 (1945) ........... 2
Statutes and Regulations
55 As aes 1 OODELS, COS (ROT) ns ccncci ccc ieee 8
Be as Oe EE | wpnrciviceniecctosschenraconseencamanbuaabes 2
Miscellaneous
6 Collier on Bankruptcy (14th ed. 1978) ................ 2,38

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 80-1754

WEBSTER A. COLLINS, HERBERT R. MORRISON,
HELEN O. MORRISON, and GLEN A. WILKINSON,
a Petitioners,
DAvID R. JOHNSTON, THE NORTHWESTERN BANK,

and JAMES R. GILLEY,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

PETITIONERS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM

I. RESPONDENTS’ CHALLENGE TO THE STAND-
ING OF THE PETITIONERS IS UNSOUND

A new issue raised in respondents’ opposing brief in
No. 80-1754 concerns the standing of investors to peti-
tion this Court for a writ of certiorari. See Respon-
dents’ Brief at 21-27. Briefly summarized, respondents’
argument is that the investors were not parties to the
reorganization proceedings and were not aggrieved by
the lower court’s reversal of the bankruptcy court’s
order authorizing the trustee to pay the costs of their

7%

-X

2

litigation. This argument is based on a fundamental
misunderstanding, inter alia, of the nature of Chapter
X reorganization proceedings, as distinguished from
regular bankruptcy proceedings.’

In a proceeding arising under Chapter X, “(t]he
debtor, the indenture trustees, and any creditor or stock-
holder of the debtor shall have the right to be heard on
all matters ....” 11 U.S.C. § 606 (1976) (emphasis
added). This Court has stated that this provision cre-
ates an exception to the general rules pertaining to
standing to be heard and to appeal in bankruptcy cases:
“TSection] 206 of the Chandler Act... , contrary to
the general bankruptcy procedure, grants any stock-
holder or creditor the right to be heard on all matters
relating to corporate reorganizations. Courts have lib-
erally construed this language as authorizing appeals.”
Young v. Higbee Co., 324 U.S. 204, 210 (1945) (foot-
note omitted) .?

1 None of the decisions cited by respondents in their argument
on the standing issue involves proceedings under Chapter X. In
fact, at least one of respondents’ authorities comments upon the
significant difference between Chapter X and other bankruptcy
proceedings in the area of standing to appeal. 6 Collier on Bank-
ruptcy Part 2 9.28[2], at 1700-01 (14th ed. 1978).

2One of the decisions cited with approval by this Court in
Young Vv. Higbee Co. held that shareholders and creditors need
not intervene in the district court in order to have standing to
appeal to the circuit court of appeals. Dana v. SEC, 125 F.2d 542,
548 (2d Cir. 1942) (per curiam) (panel of L. Hand, Chase and
Clark, JJ.). Rather, creditors and stockholders may appeal from
any order deciding any matter in a Chapter X proceeding. Jd. In a
subsequent decision, the Third Circuit held that a creditor who
made no appearance at the hearing before the district court per-
taining to an alleged fraudulent transfer of the debtor’s property
to that creditor nevertheless had standing to appeal the district
court’s order requiring it to reconvey the property to the debtor.
In re S. Jersey Land Corp., 361 F.2d 610, 614 (8d Cir. 1966). The
law on this point was recently summarized by Judge Duffy of the
Southern District of New York as follows: “‘[T]he right to be

vy

i

3

As a result of section 206, creditors and stockholders
“are by statute parties to the case.” 6 Collier on Bank-
ruptcy Part 2 7 9.23[1], at 1694 (14th ed. 1978). The
record clearly establishes that petitioners are stockholders
and creditors* of the debtors herein. For purposes of
Chapter X, the term “creditor” is simply defined as “the
holder of any claim.” 11 U.S.C. § 506(4) (1976). The
term “claims” is defined to include “all claims of what-
ever character .. . whether or not such claims are prov-
able under section 103 of this title and whether secured
or unsecured, liquidated or unliquidated, fixed or con-
tingent.” Id. § 506(1).

As creditors and stockholders of the debtors, the de-
frauded investors have the same statutorily protected
interest in the order in question as do respondents. In
fact, all creditors and stockholders of the debtors have
a very clear interest in the issues presented. If the
bankruptcy judge’s January 16 order is upheld, the
trustee’s expenditure of the debtors’ funds for costs of
the Gilbert action is likely to result in a substantial re-
duction or elimination of the claims against the estate,
as well as a substantial improvement in the viability of
any plan of reorganization, and the prospects for finan-
cial recovery by all creditors and stockholders will there-
fore be greatly enhanced.‘ Therefore, the respondents’

heard’ provided for in Section 206 and Rule 10-210(a) (1) includes
the right of appeal even absent participation in the proceeding
resulting in the order from which the appeal is taken.” In re
Duplan Corp., 450 F. Supp. 790, 792 (S.D.N.Y. 1978).

®The class plaintiffs’ claims in Gilbert against the debtors’
directors, officers and agents could also be claims against the
debtors themselves. Indeed, the petitioners herein filed proofs of
claima in the reorganization proceedings on September 14, 1979.
Respondents’ Brief at 18.

* Far less substantial interests have been held to confer stand-
ing to appeal orders in reorganization proceedings. See, e.g., In
re Wonderbowl, Inc., 515 F.2d 18, 19 (9th Cir.) (stockholder

ao

4

assertion that the defrauded investors “have no rights
to seek this review” is without merit.

II. RESPONDENTS RELY UPON A DECISION OF
THE BANKRUPTCY COURT WHICH HAS BEEN
REVERSED ON APPEAL

Respondents have cited and appended to their oppos-
ing brief the entire text of an opinion written by the
< bankruptcy judge on May 15, 1980, which purported to
disallow the claims filed in the Chapter X proceedings
by petitioners. Respondents failed to report, however,
that upon appeal by the petitioners and the United
States Securities and Exchange Commission, the district
court has upheld petitioners’ right to file claims in the
Chapter X proceedings and reversed the bankruptcy
judge’s disallowance of those claims. Memorandum dated
May 18, 1981." Respondents also failed to disclose that
the bankruptcy judge’s May 15, 1980 order did not
alter or rescind his January 16, 1979 order which is the
subject of this petition. See Petition at 24a. Thus, the
bankruptcy judge’s now-reversed opinion and the un-
founded statements contained therein should have no
bearing on this Court’s decision to grant certiorari in

this case.

whose subordinated position renders his stock worthless neverthe-
less has standing to appeal order approving compromise in Chapter
X proceeding), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 869 (1975).

5 Attached hereto as Appendix A. This memorandum was trans-

mitted to counsel by the clerk of the district court on May 19,

1981, but counsel have previously been advised by the district

) court, on several occasions, that it intended to reverse the bank-
) ruptcy judge on this issue.

5
Respectfully submitted,

CALVIN H. Coss, JR.
(Counsel of Record)
STEPTOE & JOHNSON
1250 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20086

T, WINFIELD BLACKWELL, JR.
JACK F. CANADY
BLACKWELL, BLACKWELL,
CANADY & ELLER
2100 Wachovia Building
Winston-Salem, N.C. 27102

HENRY A. MITCHELL, JR.

CARL N. PATTERSON, JR.
| SMITH, ANDERSON, BLOUNT,
DORSETT, MITCHELL &
| JERNIGAN
P.O. Box 81

Raleigh, N.C. 27602

Attorneys for Petitioners
June 1981

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Post Office Box V-1
Greensboro, North Carolina 27402

CARMON J. STUART, Clerk
Telephone (919) 378-5847

May 19, 1981
TO: ALL COUNSEL OF RECORD

RE: C-80-342-G; Shelton and Collins, et al. v.
Gilbert, et al.
(B-77-695 ete. Appeal)

Gentlemen:

Please see the attached memorandum dated May 18,
1981, of Judge Erwin’s ruling on the appeals from the
Bankruptcy Court Order dated May 15, 1980.

Your proposed judgment should be submitted to this
office no later than June 8 for coordination and forward-
ing to Judge Erwin.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Carmon J. Stuart
CARMON J. STUART
bf

Enclosure

2a

UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT

are memorandum
Date: May 18, 1981

/s/ Richard C. Erwin
Reply to ;
Attn of: Richard C. Erwin, U.S. District Judge

Subject: C-80-342-G; Shelton and Collins, et al. v.
Gilbert, et al. (Appeal B-77-695 etc.)

To: Mr. Carmon J. Stuart
Clerk of Court

The Court is ruling as follows on the above-referenced
appeal from the May 15, 1980 order of Judge Reynolds,
Bankruptcy Judge:

(1) As to the Collins, et al. claim (filed Septem-
ber 14, 1979):

a. Reverse Judge Reynolds as to Webster A.
Collins, Herbert R. Morrison and Helen
O.: Morrison, W. 0. Gregory, and Glen A.
Wilkinson.

b. Affirm as to “[Names and addresses of all
other similarly situated shareholders of the
Debtors known to or reasonably ascertain-
able by the Trustee].”

(2) As to the Shelton, et al. claim (filed Septem-
ber 14, 1979):

a. Reverse Judge Reynolds as to Thomas W.
Shelton, William F. Suddeth, and George
W. Fulk.

b. Affirm as to “[Names and addresses of all
other similarly situated employees and for-

8a

mer employees of the Debtors known to or
ascertainable by the Trustee],” but remand
to Judge Reynolds with instructions that he
consider the Proof of Multiple Claims filed
October 5, 1979 by George W. Fulk in his
capacity as fiduciary with respect to various
profit sharing, pension, and retirement plans
listed in the claim.

(8) The Court requests that all parties file a pro-
posed judgment within twenty (20) days of this
date in light of the above.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1636%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
